Genealogy Trails

CUMBERLAND COUNTY, ILLINOIS

TOWN AND TOWNSHIP HISTORIES


THE HISTORY OF HAZEL DELL

The village of Hazel Dell, as noted in an earlier History of Cumberland County, was platted in 1866, having been a small settlement of pioneers for more than twenty years previously. In the late Forties and early Fifties, mail was being brought in by horseback over a route from Neoga to Oblong, and delivered at the cabin home of John Duvall, one and one quarter miles south of the present town site.

Back East in Boston, a young music teacher, George F. Foot, began writing songs and ballads, and soon people in Illinois were singing his latest, "Hazel Dell". Now when the need for a post office in the community became urgent, and the charter was being prepared in Washington, D. C. and they required a name, what was better than Hazel Dell. In this way, says the local legend, the new town got its name. The first Post Master, John Duvall, was succeeded by P. B. Meeker, pioneer school teacher and father of a well known family in earlier days. Mr. Meeker lived in a three room cabin on the south west corner of the crossroads north, and the Post Office was moved to that location, the present site of Hazel Dell.

As with thousands of towns all over our country, hope for growth and future prosperity rested in the railroads. In 1882 the Danville, Olney and Ohio River Railroad completed laying its rails in this part of Illinois, as far south as Olney, and trains carrying passengers, express, mail, and freight of all sorts hummed through the village. In the Nineties and the first decade of the twentieth century two passenger trains and a freight whistled in and out daily. Merchandise for the various establishments was brought in by rail, while hay, grain, livestock, eggs, poultry, and cans of cream, the products of the neighboring farms, were shipped out to the city markets.

Business was lively enough that soon the community requested that a rural mail route be set up, out of Hazel Dell. This request was granted, by the postal authorities, and operated for many years.

The village of Hazel Dell reached its peak of activity from 1890 to 1916, At that time, the business section consisted of three general stores, a hardware store, a millinery store, a furniture store, a bank, two restaurants, a hotel, a barber shop, a harness shop, a shoe repair shop, a blacksmith, an undertaking establishment, at one time a coffin shop, a doctor's office with sometimes two doctors, a veterinarian, a feed store with a mill, a depot and a livery stable. This saying held true for the little village that "you could be born, live, and die without leaving your own community. "

Around 1864 a Union Church was built in Hazel Dell. Various church denominations held their services here. The Church of God people left the Union Church in 1890 and put up a new building across the street. At a later date the Christian denomination became the owners of the Union Church. Today, this church is known as the Church of Christ, Now in 1968, both churches have new modern buildings with active congregations.

The first school building in Hazel Dell was, supposedly, a log one. In 1877 a one room brick building was put up; this served the community until 1949. At that time ten rural schools consolidated and put up a five room building. Now this building has the four lower grades and is a part of the Casey Unit,

At an early date charters were granted to three lodges, namely, Odd-Fellows, Modern Woodman and the Masonic Order with their auxiliaries. Around 1912, the Odd-Fellows and Modern Woodman discontinued their lodges. The Masonic Lodge was moved to Yale, Illinois in 1946, but it still bears the name of Hazel Dell Lodge, and in October of 1968 it will be one hundred years old.

These memories of various happenings of the little village, in the old days of its activity, are still very vivid in the minds of the older citizens yet today. Some of these memories are recalled in the following paragraphs.

Both old and young residents enjoyed the band concerts of the Hazel Dell Band. These concerts were given from the band stand which stood just back of the bank building. Others recall the Fourth of July fireworks that were given from this band stand; one particular one, in which one man was severely burned by the fireworks going off unexpectedly.

The arrival of the salesmen, called drummers then, with their trunks of goods. At this time the patrons of the stores could look over the display of goods and have their merchant place orders for his selection of goods.

The old hitch rack also played an important part in the village. Here on a busy Saturday, you would find many horses^ hitched to many types of conveyances, tied at the rack.

In early spring the roads would become extremely muddy. One very wet season, a deep mud hole appeared in the center of town. People liked to place the blame on the road commissioner, so one night, some of the citizens placed an effigy of the commissioner in the mud hole, to the effect, that something be done about the roads.

The young people never lacked entertainment, for the winter months brought sleigh rides, ice skating on the creek or the ponds, square dancing, box supper and spelling bees in various schools, and street parties and picnics at the rivers in the summer months.

Other people like to recall the pleasant peal of the bells over the country side. On a Sunday it was always a joy to hear the two church bells and to be able to distinguish the sound of your own church bell. Throughout the week, on a still morning, you could hear as many as five school bells ringing out over the country side. Now the modern buildings have no bells so this is just a sweet memory of sounds that linger on.

Fires swept through the little village in 1925 and in 1937 taking out two sides of the business section; these buildings were never replaced. The coming of better roads caused people to be attracted to other trading centers, so today, all that remains of the once active little trading center is one general store, a blacksmith and welding shop and the Post Office. Around a hundred people reside in Hazel Dell where you will find a good school and two active churches. Though the towns may have passed on to memories, you will still find the same warmth and friendliness among the people, as in the days of old, and readiness to give a helping hand in a time of misfortune.

THE HISTORY OF CROOKED CREEK TOWNSHIP

Crooked Creek Township is located in the southeast corner of Cumberland County. The township is bounded by the Clark County line on the east, Jasper County line on the south, Greenup Township on the west, and Union Township on the north. The township was officially organized as a township on January 22, 1861. This township was originally a part of Greenup precinct, being one of the last portions of the county to be settled.

Flowing through the township, we have Crooked Creek, which becomes larger as it enters the Embarrass River just east of Newton.

As the settlers moved into this portion of Cumberland County, they found the country covered with timber land, hazel brush, and a dense growth of prairie grass. This prairie grass often grew to be six or eight feet high and would sometimes require four teams of oxen to break the sod. Around the timber, you would find an abundance of crab apples, plums, wild grapes, and berries. Wild game was also plentiful.

The township has always been considered an agricultural community. Many saw mills sprang up around the timber land so in a few years much of it was cleared and became farm land. Corn, wheat, oats, and hay became the leading crops. Due to the abundance of grass, stock raising became one of the important sources of income. As time went on, the oxen's place at the plow was filled by horses and mules. The flour mills, in the larger towns, soon took the place of the grist mills which had been a necessity in the early days.

When a farmer wished to sell his livestock, it was necessary to drive them to a near-by shipping center where they were sent on by river or rail. All the products needed in the homes, that were not raised on the farms, had to be hauled in by wagons; usually, in this area it was from Terre Haute or Vincennes since most the settlers were from Ohio, Indiana, Tennessee, and Kentucky.

The old Palestine trail crossed Crooked Creek Township from the southeast to the northwest. This trail was used by most early settlers, for the land office was located in Palestine; there they were able to secure their deeds for their land purchases in this area. Along this trail was a* store, where the post riders left the mail for the various families living in the southeast part of the township. At this location is where the old settlers claim the first Hazel Dell post office was

The village of Hazel Dell was platted in 1866, at its present location, two miles west of the Clark County line and two miles north of the Jasper County line. This village is the only town in the township. (The history of the town will be given in another write up.

The Danville, Olney and Ohio River Railroad came through the township, having a station in Hazel Dell. (The history of the railroad will follow in another story. ) From 1861 to 1865 Crooked Creek township furnished its share of soldiers for the Civil "War. Our quota has equally been filled in all of the later wars. Each Memorial Day over one hundred heroes graves are decorated in the two cemeteries in Hazel Dell.

In 1864 a union church was built in Hazel Dell. Previous to that time church services had been held in various school houses including the Washington School. The Church of God in Hazel Dell was built in 1890, then the union church was turned over to the Christian denomination, later to be known as the Church of Christ.

When the school system was laid out for the township, portions of land was set aside for the schools. Eleven schools were finally built in the township. These schools served the area for many, many years. The attendance in some of the schools became so low that it was necessary to combine some attendance centers. In 1949 ten rural schools consolidated to form the Hazel Dell Unit, but before a new building was put into use, they became a part of the Casey Unit. All of the rural schools were sold, but a few of the buildings still remain on their original sites.

The roads laid out in the township were dirt roads for many, many years. Each year when the spring thaws came they became almost impassable. People often cut poles putting them across the mud holes, thus when you rode across you had an extremely rough ride, which led to the name of "corduroy roads. " During Gov. Len Small's term of office, two bond issue gravel roads were built through Hazel Dell, Later, Route 49 came through the eastern portion of the township.

By 1900 many changes began to take place in farming, almost all the farms had a small strip of sorghum cane, in order, to cut down on the expense of buying sugar. Many sorghum mills sprang up through out the township. Tractors came into use around 1914 this gave the farmer a chance to farm more acreage. Later the farmers began to experiment with lime to fertilize the soil and this let to more production per acre.

Some of the crops that have yielded well in the township are broom corn, soybeans, alfalfa, red clover, wheat, sweet clover, and now hybrid corn. We have seen the old horse drawn machinery and the steam threshing machine become antiques as the new modern machinery brings forth a new world for a new generation.

UNION TOWNSHIP Union township is situated in the northeast corner of Cumberland County, consisting of about fifty-three square miles. It is bounded on the north by the Coles County line, on the east by the Clark County line, on the south by the Crooked Creek Township line, and on the west by Greenup and Cottonwood township lines. The west boundary is very irregular and in some places the Embarrass River is the boundary.

The surface is mostly level, fertile, farm land with hills and woodland along the river and streams. When the early settlers came they found prairie grassland and woodland. Believing that the grass land would not grow crops they settled along the river and streams. Another reason for settling along streams was the need of wood for building their homes and for firewood. The Embarrass River on the west side of the township cuts its way in and out of Union and Cottonwood Townships in different places and comes well into Union at Sconce Bend, the only place where the river flows to the north. Clear Creek empties into the Embarrass farther south. Opossum empties into Hurricane, Knight Branch into Range Creek, and Ruffner Creek flows south into Crooked Township where it empties into Birch Creek. These streams furnished the early settlers fish for food and now more than one hundred years later many people still enjoy fishing in them.

Union township is principally an agricultural region. The agriculture of the area has changed much in the last 100 years. This area produced lots of timothy and redtop which was one of the best horse and mule feed available. At that time horses were raised and sold. Red clover was included in the meadows for cattle feed. The hay was cut and stacked in June or July, then baled with a horse baler, (later gasoline engines were used on balers) and stored in barns. Some hay was stored in the barn loose using a hay fork attached to a rope running through pulleys in the haymow. A horse on the other side of the barn walked the distance it took to pull the hay up into the mow where it was released from the fork. Much of the baled hay was hauled to railroad cars in the fall and shipped to other parts of the country. Casey, just across the line in Clark was once the largest hay shipping center in the United States and much of the hay came from Union Township. Hay was also shipped from Vevey Park and a crossroads station in Crooked Creek Township. The first settlers broke some of the prairie with crude plows and oxen.

The main crops were oats, wheat, and corn. Oats and wheat were cut with binders and shocked then threshed. Some mention should be made of the threshing rings. After the wheat, oats, and timothy had cured in the shock the threshing machine would come through the area to thresh the grain or seed. There were regular rings or groups of farmers that worked together year after year. Steam engines were used for running the threshing machine. The machine men, one for the engine, one for the separator, and the water man, who hauled water for the steam engine, stayed over night where they were threshing. They had to get up early and start a fire in order to get up steam in time to start the day's threshing. It took a crew of 20 or 30 men to do the threshing. The bundles of grain had to be brought in from the field. This required six to ten bundle wagons depending on how far they had to haul it. Then there were four or five pitchers to load the bundle wagons. Three to five box wagons were needed to catch the grain from the machine and take it to the granary. Often there was an extra man or two to help unload the wagons for the grain had to be scooped by hand.

Things were just as busy around the house because this hungry crew would have to eat. They didn't go to town and eat the restaurant. When someone worked for you.he ate with you. The neighbor women would assist in getting the dinner. Each lady usually tried to set a better table than her neighbor. Each group ate in shifts. When the table was filled that was the first table; then others ate at the second table, third table and so on until all had eaten. The women ate last and then ti took hours to get the dishes washed and the kitchen cleaned. The threshing in one community might take two or three weeks and was quite a social affair. The man running the threshing machine usually called the schedule as the ladies needed to know when to have dinner ready. Unless something broke or went wrong all went well as predicted. The man would say "early dinner at one place or late dinner at another place. " He knew who fed light and who set the best table. Sometimes two ladies would be preparing dinner the same time as they didn't always know just when the crew would arrive. The coming of the combine makes the threshing ring just a memory.

This Township is in the area of Illinois that produced lots of broom corn. This required hand work in the harvesting and preparation for market. With the scarcity of labor and more mechanization the growing of broom corn has been discontinued. The cutting of hay and hauling it away reduced the fertility of the ground very much. Corn yields got down to 15 to 25 bushels per acre and wheat made 12 to 15 bushels per acre. Limestone, Phosphate, and potash was added and now corn makes 150 to 200 bushel per acre and wheat has made 60 bushels or better in good years. Commercial fertilizers and modern farm machinery make Union Township farming a big business today as in other parts of the state. In the last 25 or 30 years soybeans has been added as one of the main crops and today with certified seeds and the fertilized soil thousands of bushels of soybeans, wheat, and corn and hauled to the elevators in nearby towns each year. Since the R.E.A. brought us electricity in the 1940's most of the farm homes of Union Township have been remodeled and made modern and many new homes built. The homes throughout the township today would be quite a contrast to those of fifty or seventy-five years ago. In addition to the grain farming in the township many hogs and cattle are raised with modern facilities for feeding and watering. Very few farmers raise poultry today.

When the settlers began coming into this area as in all others there were no roads; only Indian and animal trails. These they used and soon other trails were made from one home to another usually across the prairie. After the county was divided into townships in January 1861 and a township government was set up. Union had a board of three "Commissioners of Highways." The township was divided into twelve districts with an "Overseer of Highways" for each district. Each overseer was responsible for a few miles of roads. According to the town records, "Each able bodied man above the age of 21 years and under 50 years old is to work on the highways within their respective district two days and all Real Estate is to be taxed 10 cents on each 100 dollars worth as valued on the assessors book of last year, " New roads were laid out by an application describing the proposed road signed by twelve legal voters living within three miles of the road. This petition was posted a number of days before acted upon by the Commissioners of Highways who personally examined the road proposed and granted the petitioners permission to lay it out. The roads were good only when dry then they were very dusty. Everything was hauled by team and wagon. A man with a small family had a buggy. Others had a carriage or surrey, which had two seats. The buggy and carriage were equipped with side curtains and a storm front for use in cold or rainy weather. Some had a sleigh for use when there was ample snow. The bobsled was used for the family and for hauling things. Bobsled parties were great fun when a group went together in one sled to a church meeting or to a party or a social gathering of some sort. The wagon and buggy wheels made deep ruts when the roads were muddy. Sometimes the wheels went into a hole hub deep. At the turn of the century (1900) very few roads were improved. They were merely graded and the holes filled with dirt using a team and a scraper. The roads were dragged by horse power. Then men could work on the road with a team and apply this to his taxes.

When cars began to appear they were no good in mud. Some of the main roads were graveled. Union Township was fortunate in having large deposits of gravel. This was hauled out pit run for use on the roads. The gravel was hauled with horses and wagons equipped with a gravel bed. The gravel bed was made in pieces so it could be taken apart to unload the gravel. Many of the farmers had gravel wagons and spent several weeks hauling gravel between the time their crops were laid by and time for harvest. Gravel was found in large deposits near the creeks, The farmer who owned the land received pay from the township road fund for the gravel. It was paid for by the "yard". Gravel wagons were made to hold 11/2 or 1 1/3 yards. When the gravel was wet that was about as much as a team of horses could pull out of the pit. Sometimes the men had to help each other by putting two teams together to pull out a heavy load. Gravel pits were found on farms of William Short, Marvin Lawyer, Sanford Fitzpatrick, Jake Walters, and others. While hauling gravel from the Walters pit skeletons were found in the bank or ridge running out from the eastern hills of Hurricane Creek. They were hurried about four feet below the surface. They were believed to be Indian skeletons, or people of a prehistoric age.

It was several years before washed gravel was produced. Today there are 3 gravel pits in Union Township producing washed and graded gravel for roads, building purposes, concrete mix, and sand for building purposes. The A, B.C. Gravel Pit east of Route 130 on the Union Center road operated by A. B. Cutright, The Greenup Gravel Pit west of Route 130 at the Jones corner operated by the Casey Stone Co., and Urban Sand & Gravel Co. managed by Darrell Owen located just across the road from the Greenup Gravel Pit.

Oil was discovered in Union Township in 1905. J. W. Siggins had come into this area in 1904 and leased some land and this field is known as the Siggins Pool, The production was from two breaks in the Pennsylvania Sand series, usually referred to as the upper and lower Siggins Sand. Shallow wells were drilled to this upper sand found at an average depth of 290 feet and an average thickness of 30 feet. The oil produced is a dark green color. Power stations were set up to pump the wells in small areas. Shackle rods ran out in all directions from powerhouse to the wells.

This was a rather haphazard pattern of 9 wells to each 40 acres or 440 feet between wells. Some of the wells were pumped while others rested. By alternating this way it didn't require as big an engine for power. When the wells were drilled everything was hauled and moved by horse power. This oil production helped the economy of the area very much. It was difficult to farm around the shackle rods and these fields remained in grass when possible and were used for hay and pasture. In 1942, a water flood was undertaken by the Forest Oil Corporation in the Siggins Pool. This was the first attempt of flooding in the state. Water wells were drilled between the oil wells and water was placed in the ground to force the oil out. Today electric lines are run to the wells for power. The shackle rods and old power houses are gone, another thing of the past. Union Township has never had a village big enough to really be called a town as we think of a town today but there have been four small villages or trading centers for the farmers of the surrounding areas. Diona is located on the Coles and Cumberland County line one fourth mile west of Route 130, part of it being in Coles County and part of it in Cumberland County. In the days of the Star Route the Post Office was located here and cared for by M. P. Neal and his daughter Mamie Neal Haddock. They performed the duties of Post Master in conjunction with their grocery and general store. There was an Undertakers establishment here run by Mr. Haddock, However in those days a business of this kind was just a place where you could go and buy a coffin. The body was cared for in the home by friends and neighbors and services were held in the home. Gustie Gill operated a millinery store, along with other wearing apparel for women, beads, ear rings, and jewelry for the well-dressed ladies. There are at least eight sites where stores were built and operated, though not all at the same time. Fire destroyed two of these buildings and the contents; the first belonging to Stull Brothers and the other belonging to Ernest Stanberry. A furniture shop was also located in this fair city and furniture was made and sold to many of the older residents. Diona was a place where you could sell turkeys, geese, ducks, chickens, eggs, cream , and butter providing the butter was put up in one pound molds. These products could be exchanged for almost any household article including boots, shoes, men's shirts and overalls, along with groceries and bolt goods where a woman could buy herself a dress for 35 cents. Calico sold for 5 cents a yard and 7 yards would make most women a dress. A little distance south of Diona was a grist mill where the farmers could take their wheat and exchange it for flour and their corn and have it ground into meal. You could also buy bran and shorts for livestock. These two items were about the only commercial feeds sold then. Near the grist mill was a large saw mill. Here much of the timber that grew on the surrounding farms was made into lumber. Many of the logs were hauled by ox teams. At the north edge of town a pair of scales and pens were located where the farmers drove their hogs and cattle to be weighed and delivered to the stock buyers who invaded the territory around Diona now and then. The buyer went from farm to farm and purchased directly from the farmer; then the farmer delivered it to these pens at a specified time. At one time Diona had three doctors' offices here; Dr. Franklin, Dr. Butler, and Dr. O'Conner. Other doctors came here and practice a while and moved on. For years Diona was never without the blacksmith shop. One day the road was filled with dogs near the blacksmith shop and a fight broke out along them. This sent dog owners scurrying to the scene to break up the disturbance and, when quiet had been restored, Uncle Johnnie Stallings stepped up in the door of John Muncie's Blacksmith Shop and shouted. "Hurrah for Dogtown. " This legend claims this was the way this burg got its name "Dogtown. " The government never did change the name of its Post office, but the town was "Dogtown" from then on. At the south edge of Dogtown a switchboard was installed in the home of John and Alice Haddock and this became the main office of the Diona Mutual Telephone Company; the exchange being operated by Mrs. Haddock, while Mr. Haddock operated a watch and clock repair shop in their home. Diona was also the scene of more than one Pole Raising and Political Speaking in campaign years. No medicine show or colored minstrel show ever missed Dogtown. Today all that is left to mark the place of this once busy burg are two old store buildings. One houses an Antique Shop (open only part time) and the other, an old brick building, probably one of the earlier buildings here, with the Masonic Lodge Hall above it that houses Hutton Lodge #698. The lodge still meets regularly. This brick structure was probably built by P. H. Smith who operated a store here in the building and later moved to Toledo the County Seat of Cumberland County where he became one of the leading merchants of the County. Others who have operated stores here are; Lee Rodebaugh, Mr. Ault, Mr. McCullom, Jim Phillips, Oscar Haddock, John C. Tipsword, John W. Tipsword, Harry Tipsword, Mark Neal, L. D. Rothrock, Mr. Abernathy, Ernest Stanberry, Robert Outright, Herman Reed, F:gene Lawyer, and Wayne Henderson. There may have been others.

Maple Point is located on the Union Center road east of Route 130 about 11/2 miles or about half way between Route 130 and Union Center. Peter Kahn came to this place from Ohio in 1883 and bought a farm from John A. Stull. Soon after he started a grist mill to serve the people in this locality. He also had a molasses mill where people could bring cane to have made into molasses and most farmers raised a small patch of cane m those days to have for their own use. Henry Kahn, a son of Peter worked in Jennings' store at Union Center; then deciding he'd like a store of his own sold a cow and started a store in Maple Point in 1909. While he had the store he ran a huckster wagon. On certain days he loaded the wagon with merchandise from the store, hitched the horses to the wagon and started out stopping at the homes in the neighborhood. The housewife knew which day the huckster would be by her house and she had her eggs and butter ready to trade for groceries, household articles and other things she might want from the wagon. She might even sell the huckster some chickens. It has been told that Mr. Kuhn carried a large tub in his wagon to put eggs into. When the housewife brought the eggs out in a bucket he could pour the eggs from the bucket into the tub without breaking an egg. After about eight years m the store business Mr. Kuhn closed his store and began another occupation. In the early 1900 's George Kuhn, a brother of Henry, and David Darling had a sawmill just north of the store. Later George and another brother, Tom, operated a grist mill. Not too long after Henry closed the store, he rented the building to Al Darling who operated a store. Later George operated the store paying his brother Henry $4 a month rent for the building. He kept the store here until he built a building of his own on a different location. Maple Point, too, has a nickname, "Kuhntown, " getting this name from the family who came here and started the businesses that have been here. George's son Clifford and his wife Merl still have a general store at "Kuhntown. " John C. Tipsword once operated the store here, too.

Union Center is located near the center of the township where the Greenup Mail Route running north and south crosses the Casey Mail Route running east and west. Some of the residents here have received mail on both routes. Union Center is the polling place for the township and election day is always a big day here. In the horse and buggy days many people came and stayed all day on election day. Usually a Ladies A d from one of the churches near by prepared dinner to serve hoping to make a good profit. With the electioneering, visiting and excitement it was almost like a picnic. We have not been able to find the exact beginning of Union Center. Oliver Cutright says his father had the first store here. Others tell us that they have heard that Union Center is as old as Chicago, As in Diona the early store bought chickens, turkeys, eggs and cream from the farmers and sold them feed, kerosene, groceries, hardware and clothing. All the produce purchased from the farmer had to be hauled to town in a wagon where it was put on a railroad car to go to the market. When the wagon returned it brought merchandise to the store which had come by train from Terre Haute, St. Louis or a wholesale house in some other town. The wagon had to go all the way to Casey or Greenup, which took a long day and many times into the night getting there and back. The roads were either muddy or dusty. When the roads were bad it sometimes took four horses to pull the load. There have been many stores in Union Center in many different locations. Several have burned. There have been as many as three here at one time, a blacksmith shop, a barber shop, a millinery store, and during one summer an ice cream parlor. In the 1880's the first store we find on record was that of P. W. Edwards which he started in 1876 although we know there were stores before that time. Mr. Edwards was appointed Post Master in 1881. The mail was hauled from Charleston in a wagon by Mr. Hall. From here he went on to Greenup with mail returning the next day with mail from Greenup, then on to Charleston. Later Lee Jenkins made a trip to Greenup daily by wagon and brought the mail to the post office in Union Center. After Mr. Edwards died his wife sold the store to Frank Jennings, who moved it across the road and a little south on the northeast corner of the cross roads. Mr. Jennings was also the post master. This store and post office burned. Other who have had stores here are; John Kuhn, John White, Ora Jobe, Jim Grissom, (the Jobe and Grissom stores both burned) Roy Lacey, Amos Redman, Alia Rosecrans, Royal and Nelson Luke, (this store burned) Tom Yanaway, James McMillan, then Luke brothers again. This time it was Nelson and Allen. At this store you could buy everything from needles and pins to rocking chairs and washing machines . We always bought our footwear here. In the spring you had your choice of white canvas or black patent leather, "baby doll" or plain strap with buckle or bow on the toe. In the fall for school it was ankle top shoes in black or brown, button or lace. Yanaways and McQueen had a store at this time too and about 1920 Luke's sold out to them. Allen retired and Nelson went to Hazel Dell and started a store. In 1921 this store burned. That same year Anson Carver and his niece Effie Roberts started a small store. Then Robert and Daisy Cutright came to the other building and there were two stores once more. After Effie married, she and her husband Vern McMillan ran the store. Later Herman Reed and Amos Cutright ran this store, while the McMillans were gone, for three years. Amos and Thelma Cutright had another store; then Ira and Marion Kuhn had one. The McMillans stayed until 1963 when they retired. Today there is no store. Some of the men who had a blacksmith shop were: Rob Wright, Mr. Ewell, Mr, Murphy, and John Bland. Doctors were: Dr. Duncan, Dr. Parks, Dr. Jones, Dr. Roberts, Dr. Paxton and Dr. Hokum. There may have been others. Mrs. Parks had a millinery store in her house and also sold sewing machines. Mrs. John Bland had a millinery store in this same house later; this is the house where Mr. and Mrs. Vern McMillan now live. Later Mrs. Dacia Hill had a millinery store in her house farther west. After the coming of the automobile, the blacksmith shop was no longer needed and Al Darling started a garage. Only a few years ago Ralph Handley had a welding shop. According to the old record book of town records the town meetings were held m "Union Schoolhouse" from 1861 to 1869, which leads us to believe that there might have been a schoolhouse here at one time. No one knows for sure. The present townhouse was built during the 1890s. It has been used for many purposes besides town meetings and a polling place. Religious groups of different faiths have held many meetings here. In the first part of 1900 Sunday School was held here on Sunday afternoon. Being Non-denominational was held in the afternoon so people from the other churches around could come after their own services in the forenoon. Children Services were held many summers. Sometimes they were inside the building and sometimes a platform was built on the outside and the program held outside. Farm meetings, club meetings, and various kinds of entertainment have been held here. In campaign years two or three meetings were always held when the township, county, and state candidates came to speak. There was always a crowd when there was a meeting at the townhouse. The grove behind the townhouse has also been the scene of picnics, family reunions, and various social meetings. Every year we looked forward to the coming of the "Big Tent" medicine show which stayed a week and drew a crowd with the "Most Popular Girl Contest. " The Woodmen had a lodge hall just east and north of the townhouse and there was another lodge hall up by the stores. In early days Union Center was a typical rough frontier trading center with its share of drunken brawls and fights. In fact there was so much "Slapping Around" that years ago it got the nickname of "Slap" which some people call it yet today. Six or seven families still reside here (none with small children) but as far as business is concerned Union Center is a "Ghost Town" with two empty store buildings and some other empty houses. It still comes to life on election day when the citizens of the township come to vote. The voters don't linger quite as long as they used to since there are no stores where they can loaf and visit.

Vevay Park is located in the southeastern corner of the township on the Old National Road, now Route 40, just three miles west of Casey. It is also situated beside the Pennsylvania Railroad which makes it some different from the other trading centers. This branch of the railroad known as the Vandalia Line was completed in 1869. They built a grade for the bridge over the creek and formed a pond for water as the old steam engines had to stop to fill the boiler with water in many places along the line, A water tank and pumping station was put up. Later the railroad built a dwelling for their section hand. Conel Hendrickson came from St. Jacobs to run the steam pump at the station. It was called Long Point Station and Long Point Creek. East from the station on the south side of the road A. L. Ruffner had a General Store in a frame building and received the appointment of postmaster. Finding there was another Long Point the post office had to have another name. Mr. Hendrickson had died and Mrs. Hendrickson's seventeen year old brother had come from Vevay, Indiana, to help her run the pump station. He suggested they name the place Vevay. Someone else added Park and the place became Vevay Park and at one time 92 families received their mail at this post office. This man who gave this place its name was Grant Pickett. He became the pumper here and stayed until he was promoted to superintendent of the water system for the railroad along this route and then moved to Terre Haute, Indiana. Mr. O. E. Shuey then became the pumper and remained until the coming of the Diesel engine and the water tank was no longer needed. The water tank and station has been torn down, but at one time hay and livestock was shipped from here and passengers could board the train and get off the train here. In 1895 A. L. Ruffner put up a new brick building on the north side of the road. The bricks were made and fired on his own place as he had a large brick kiln. The brick were made by William and Thurman Cutright with the Mercers helping some. This building contained living quarters and an upstairs room used by the Odd Fellows for a lodge hall. In 1908 the Odd Fellows built a new frame building east of the brick building with the lodge hall on the upper floor and the lower floor was rented for a store. The Odd Fellows and the Rebekahs were very active here for many years. About 1930 the Rebekahs consolidated with the Rebekahs in Casey and attended there. The Odd Fellows continued to have lodge in the hall until about 1950 when they consolidated with the Odd Fellows in Greenup. The hall was used for many other events during the time the Odd Fellows were using it. A few years ago they sold the building to Lloyd Stone who lives east of it. Mr. Ruffner moved into his new store building and continued in General Merchandise, much like the stores at Union Center and Diona, until 1907. In 1906 he was elected County Judge which necessitated his moving. He sold his stock of goods to John Gardner who became the merchant at Vevay Park. In 1913 Glen Ruffner, the son of A. L. Ruffner came back to Vevay Park and operated a store in the brick building. He lived in the living quarters at the back and had a garage back of the store. He stayed until 1920 when he sold out to George Garrett. Sometime during this time another store building had been put up on the south side of the road and west of the brick building. This store was run by Pearl Sweet, and later by Allen Lake, and by Marion Rhue. In the late twenties or early thirties Bob Funkhouser had a store in the brick building and Frank Diltz in the frame building. Later Everett Short was in the brick building and Pete Henry in the other building, Charlie and Lillie Schick also had a store here. After Route 40 was paved, a filling station was put up on the south side of the road and operated several years by Roy Stewart. After the rural schools were abandoned Everett Short bought the school house and converted it into a store and moved his stock of goods there. Today it is owned and operated by Pete and Marion Barnett. In 1966 the old brick building burned. Mr. Herring had had an antique shop there a few years. At one time there was a church in Vevay Park but several years ago it was moved into Casey where it was remodeled and is now the Southern Baptist Church. The school building across from the church burned and the present building was put up. Today Barnett's Grocery at Vevay Park and Kuhn's Store at Maple Point are the only two stores operating in Union Township.

Union Township has had at least thirteen churches: Clear Creek and Bethabera near Diona (Bethabera has been torn down); Jack Oak and Antioch on Union Center Road near Route 130; Mt. Zion (Nebo) and Union, north of Union Center; Macedonia in the northeast corner; Union Center just south of the town; Long Point on the Timothy Road; Pleasant Grove on Route 40, half way between Greenup and Casey, This church has been closed for a few years, but has been bought now to replace Pleasant Valley which was lost to Route 70. Fairview was moved to Union Center and Good Hope, once by the Yanaway School, was moved to Casey many years ago and was used for a church. It has now been made into a house, and Vevay Park was moved to Casey. Eight of these churches still hold services regularly.

There are also thirteen cemeteries in Union Township, although they are not all located where the churches are. Bell is near the Clear Creek Church, Johnson near Union Church, Mt, Zion at church, Macedonia at church. Long Point at church, Garrett near Vevay Park, Ruffner west of Vevay Park, Decker south of Maple Point, Herr or (Cutright) south and east of Union Center and four abandoned cemeteries: Hill, Neal, Kirkling, and (Davidson?),

Before the unit districts were formed in 1948 Union Township had fourteen rural schools: Neal, Haddock, Lockwain, McMillan, Tadpole Yanaway, Fairview, Hogback, Plum Grove, Reed, Lacey, Jack Oak, Vevay Park and LaFever, Neal and Jack Oak are now used for Community Centers, Tadpole has been torn down, Fairview and LaFever stand idle, Vevay Park is a store, and the other eight have all been made into homes. Lockwain burned and no one is living in the Haddock building now.

The citizens of Union Township are energetic and patriotic. They are always ready to do their part and give their share in politics. Red Cross, Heart fund, Cancer fund. Crop, etc. Being largely democratic, many candidates running for office have depended on Union Township to carry them to victory. Union Township has produced many professional people: ministers, lawyers, teachers, and others. At one time there were more teachers residing in the township than there were schools. Union Township has offered recreation to many. Not many years ago people came from Terre Haute, Chicago, and other places to hunt for rabbits and quail. Local people still fish in the streams and privately owned ponds, Stifal's Gun Club near Casey draws crowds from all over the United States, They have a big Shoot each spring and fall besides several others during the year. Another attraction worth seeing is "Casey Thoroughbred Farm" owned by C. D. Cochonour where horses are raised and trained to race there on their own track. We think Union Township is a good place to live.

Material submitted by: Clint Walters (Diona), Wayne Sidwell (Farming), Julia Luke, Allen Cutright, Oliver Outright, O Clifford and Ira Kuhn, Vern and Effie McMillan, Jake Tutewiler, Glen Ruffner, and Forest Oil Company (Facts and Personalities). Compiled by Ellen Decker.

SKETCH OF GREENUP IN THE OLD DAYS

This thriving little town is located forty-five miles west of Terre Haute on the old Cumberland (or National Road) one mile east of where it crosses the Embarrass river, eighteen miles due South of Charleston and five miles southeast of Prairie City, the geographical center of Cumberland county. It is surrounded by a splendid variety of farming country, consisting of rich bottom land, fertile up land and exuberant prairies. The small amount of hilly country near Greenup, that lies between the upland, and the river, will ere long compose the richest blue-grass pastures in southeastern Illinois. Therefore, so far as the surrounding country is concerned, Greenup is a success.

Greenup is the oldest town in Cumberland county, and looks backward to the laying of its corner stone, in a wild wilderness, a half a century ago. In 1828, just about where the west line of the present corporate limits cross the National Road, was established a village under the title of Rossville. This village, on account of its location, was after called "Natchez under the hill, " by the early settlers. In 1830 it assumed the name "Embarrass," which name it carried up to the 5th day of March, 1834. Up to this date no town had been legally laid out. On that day Thomas Sconce, then the county Surveyor of Coles county, surveyed off and made out a plat of the original town of Greenup. The land included in this survey then belonged to a man by the name of Greenup, and he being in fact the original legal founder, the town very naturally assumed his name. The original town contains 102 lots. Since that survey many additions have been made, among which may be mentioned that of Ewart and Austin, Greenup and Barbour, Austin and Cook, Boales, and one by Matteson. The town is not square with the world, but built to suit the direction of the National Road, which in a distance of five miles west runs one south.

For many years after the organization of Greenup, the country now composing Cumberland county belonged to and was part of Coles county, and Greenup was a mere post village, stage station, and voting point. But when Cumberland was struck from Coles in 1843 Greenup became the county seat and continued to be until the first Tuesday of April, 1855, on which day a vote of the people was taken as to whether the county seat should remain at Greenup or be located at Prairie City. Prairie City was victorious by a majority of 90. The golden days of Greenup lurked in the background then, until the completion of the St, L. , V. and T. H. Railroad, when it immediately changed from an inactive post village to a thriving railroad town and became an incorporated town on the 30th day of January, 1869. The first code of ordinances was passed February 5th, 1869. A. Cook was the first Police Magistrate, whose resignation occasioned the election of the present worthy incumbent, Luther B. McConaha. The first Fair that was ever held in Cumberland county, was on that beautifully elevated tract of land in the north part of Greenup, now occupied by the respective residences of Dr. Lekrone, M. Shull, Mrs. Long, and others, in the months of October in 1858-59. This tract of land is the highest point on the Vandalia line between St. Louis and Terre Haute, according to the report of the engineers who surveyed the road, and before it was cleared up was beautifully designed for a Fair ground. And although fenced in with a brush fence when these Fairs were held, the people (among whom were E. S. Meeker, Uncle Peter Shade and Charles Conzet, Jr.) took an active part to make them a success, and their efforts in that early day to advance the interests and improvement of Agriculture were well rewarded and merit the highest esteem.

The population of Greenup including School District is about 1,200. Greenup has two drug stores, one kept by Dr. N. G. James, the other by Dr. John W. Goodwin, six dry goods and grocery stores, viz: one kept by G, Monohon, one by A. J. Ewart, one by Wm. McElwee, one by John Shiplor and Son, one by Charles Conzet, Jr. , and one by Joe Batty; one clothing and grocery store, kept by Josh W. Arthur; an agricultural store by James Owings; a hardware and tin store by Chas. Peters; a confectionery and billiard hall by Julius C, Conzet; a restaurant and eating house by David Mumford; a billiard hall by Wm. Mumford; a barber shop and confectionery by Luther B. McConaha; a barber shop by Ed S. Meeker; two harness and saddle shops, one by Wm, Morgan, the other by Sam T. Moore; three boot and shoe shops, one by T. L. Norman, one by Alex Norman, the other by David Kester and Son, Jesse; a woolen factory by Robert Arthur; three milliner shops, one kept by Mrs. Lou Conzet, one by Mrs. Amanda Robinson and her daughter, Allie, and the other by Mrs. Ed S. Meeker and Mrs. Sarah Morgan. There are two hotels in Greenup, one kept by Mrs. Mary Conzet, the other by Fred Welsheimer; two livery and feed stables, one kept by Ray and Vandyke, the other by John Kellum, Jr. One Singer Sewing machine depot, kept by R. M. Smith and John Hankins. Smith is also General Agent for the Phoenix Insurance Co. There is but one lumber yard and it is kept by James B. Cook. Three blacksmith shops, one by Clint Young, in connection with which is a splendid wagon shop, another blacksmith shop owned by Frank Sapp, and run by Miles Cook, David Pearman, and others, the other is run by Matt McConaha, near the depot. One tailor shop by Wm. Patterson, and an excellent paint shop run by Frank P. Taylor; an art gallery, by a Mr. Sneidaker. Physicians- N. G. James, S. W. Qumn, W, L. Leckrone, W. Frank Witty, J. W. Goodwin, Anthony Goodwin, and Lafayette Minter, who is the proprietor of the Mineral Springs.

One professional gardener, Charles Conzet, Jr.; one silversmith and jeweler, John Conzet.

Carpenters- S, W. Huffcut and Henry Coulter. Ministers of the gospel -Rev. Mr. Rhoads, Rev. John Shiplor and Rev. Geo. Bliss. One cabinet maker and joiner -Benj. McGooslin. Plasterers- Benj. and James Peters, and the Button Bros. James Peters also runs a meat shop. The Talbott Gristmills is now run by Jacob Jenuine, Maj. Jno. W. Day is a general agent for tombstones and monuments, used to peddle clocks, and it might be said that he is from here to eternity, rather a lengthy Day, also clerk for N. G. James in his drug store. J. D. Borden is a general poultry, egg and butter vendor, the only man who makes his trade a specialty m Greenup. Greenup has one school house and a district containing about 230 pupils. It has but two church houses, one of which was built by the Methodist Society, the other by the Presbyterian society. The Universalists and Seventh Day Adventists hold their meetings in the school house.

Greenup has a Police Magistrate and two Justices of the Peace, the latter being H. F. Sperry and David Kester. Garrett Wall, constable, and John T. Covill, policeman. Two attorneys, James L. Ryan and Pete A. Brady, who are partners. G. Monohon also is an extensive grain merchant and keeps a good warehouse, near his store house. Greenup has one string band by L. McConaha and Sons and one cornet band by Dug Meeker, Charles and Frank Bosworth, David and John Carson, and others. There is a Lodge of Masons and of Odd Fellows, both of which meet in the same hall. The great evening resort of Greenup in warm weather, is the celebrated Mineral Springs of Dr. Minter, which were opened in the summer of 1868 by a joint stock company, and are located a quarter of a mile northeast of the Public Square, Greenup at present has no saloons.

Among the old and almost lifelong citizens of Greenup and vicinity, who are yet living may be mentioned Uncle Chas, Nicewanger and wife, who were for nearly twenty years in the mercantile business here, and it is a great pleasure to visit their beautiful flower and fruit garden and hear them tell of old times, Samuel W. Quinn, an old and respected physician, George Lewis, Sr., who was a fifer in the war of 1812, as we are informed. Joe Batty, a native of England, but for many years a citizen of Greenup township, Charlotte Ewart, widow of the well known and lamented Dr. Ewart. Uncle Charles Conzet, Sr., a native of Germany, but for nearly 30 years a citizen of Greenup and the well known proprietor of the Greenup Hotel, as well as the kind motherly Mary Conzet, his wife. Capt. Ed Talbott, soldier in the Mexican war, and captain in the rebellion. John Shiplor, Peter Shade, David Kester, G, Monohon, Robert Arthur, James B. Cook, Wm. Wilson, Hos, Tutewiler, Elizabeth Davee, Susan Ward. A. K. Bosworth, for many years county clerk and a merchant in Greenup, George Titus, F. Mattoon and a host of others.

The above sketch was taken from an old premium list of the Cumberland County Fair in 1875.

JEWETT
A CONCISE WRITE-UP OF OUR SISTER CITY

The Press being ever on the alert to give its patrons of Cumberland County the benefit of everything that will further their interests, has decided to give a series of write-ups of surrounding towns, which will appear in our paper from time to time. This innovation, if such it might be called, we introduce this week by devoting considerable space to the social and business interests of Jewett, Situated as it is, in the south part of the county, the town has not only the advantage of the trade of the immediate country, but also a goodly share of that in the north part of Jasper county. The bottoms surrounding Jewett have been cleared and the land enhances in value each year. Neat farm houses are everywhere springing up where a few years ago stood log cabins occupied by shiftless Micawber like citizens who were "waiting for something to turn up, " In keeping with this change in farming interests there has been like-wise noted a substantial improvement in the business interests of Jewett. Her business houses have increased, the population has increased, both in number and in the character of its citizens and public improvements go steadily on. She has a mile of graveled streets, which cannot be said of any other small town in southern Illinois. Jewett's citizens show a progressive spirit and work together for mutual good. Morally the town ranks favorably with any town its size. That the people do not lose sight of their spiritual welfare is evidenced by the number of the skyward pointing church spires, A brief resume of some of the business firms will serve as a criterion by which the town as a whole may be judged.

JEWETT HISTORY

A quiet little town just seemed to develop and grow on high ground between Cottonwood Creek, Muddy Creek and Embarras River in Woodbury Township, There have been times during very high waters when this town was cut off from those about it.

It is located on the old National Trail, which was traveled by the covered wagons and stage coaches on their way west,

A log house stood just west of the village limits and was a stage coach stop. Also an old house still standing in town was prepared with all accommodations for travelers. Benny Sheplor, grandfather of Estella Greeson was a stage coach driver and made regular runs and stops at Jewett,

The west half of Jewett was built up first and called Pleasantville. Mr. Jewett traveled west from Ohio and had four towns named after him in as many states. The village limits were laid out one mile square in 1870 or there abouts.

The Vandalia railroad was built through here m 1868-1869 with a single track. Later, Pennsylvania P. R, bought it and about 1926 built another track through here. Then in April 1968, with the consolidation of the Pennsylvania and New York Central R. R. 's, this is known as Penn. Central R. R.

A small residence on the south side of the tracks known as the Dan Beals home was the stop for the trains passengers and crews to eat. About 1895 a depot was built one block east of here. It was bought and moved west of Jewett by Frank Kingery in 1968. A little later the telegraph office was built, one block west of the Beals home. Telegraph operators were, Jimmy Brown, Claude Hutchison, and others.

On east of the depot and across the road on the Sullivan place were tracks for siding, on which engines received needed repair and cords of wood were ricked to be picked up for use in firing the engines. About 1945 diesel engines began to replace the coal fired steam engines.

For many years the town had three active churches. The United Brethern built the first in the west part of town. The Christian Church used to be west and south of the present one m the corner of the block. J. D, Morgan set a grass fire, which got out of hand, and the church burned. Then he donated the ground for the present site, and built the church, which is active now with Wilfred Cunningham, a lay minister, holding services since 1951. In the early 1900's a dispute over doctrine caused the church to split, and under the leadership of Rev, Hayden Cuppy, bought the U. B. Church (which was no longer active) and started the Church of Christ. It was sold to be used as a residence about 1951, and burned in 1967 when it was the home of Bill and Barbara Bauguss.

The Methodist Church had the largest attendance- one year with an enrollment of 240, with standing room only. This congregation also dwindled. The building was sold to the school to be used for a P. T.A, center, drama, etc. The Baptist Chapel started in Jewett in 1966, under the leadership of Rev. Harold Pyle, with the help of Casey, Effingham and Mattoon Baptist Churches.

The previous small school was located two blocks west of the last one. The last one was built in 1881, with the help of Alfred Williams, grandfather of Bess Laughter. It was built of red brick. Later a basement and furnace were added. In 1920 the inside burned, and was rebuilt. A one, then two years of high school work was added, A front hall was added to the entrance in 1926. A frame room was added to the north side and three year high school work made available. In 1928 an outside stairway was added to the basement to meet state fire codes. Later a small two story gymnasium was built of block construction. The school is now completely modernized, and a cafeteria is set up in the basement of the gym, and hot lunches are served. With progress, the three year high school was discontinued about 1949, with the consolidation of Jewett, Toledo, and Greenup. This left four rooms with two grades in each and a room for music, films, and such. There were four teachers namely, W. J. Jones, Mrs. Edna Clark, Mrs. Rosalie Chancelor and Miss Olive Holsapple, Mrs, Verna Gentry, cook, and Richard Niccum, janitor, who were with the school the last term which ended May 26, 1967.

The fall term of 1967 started in the new and scarcely finished consolidated elementary school, which included kindergarten thru eighth grade. It is a beautiful million dollar building which is adjacent to the high school.

The Jewett building was sold to be used as a Civic Center, and polling place for the Village of Jewett and for Woodbury township. Following is a list of a few of the teachers: Mr. Welsher, Nath Carey, Dick Tremble, Bill Brewer, Alburn Rhodes, Rev, Milnot Miller, Chloe Ratcliff, Lizzie Jay Glasener, Maude Cox, Oliver Starwalt, John Mock, Belva Reiner, Bessie Hazlett, Carrie Ray, Russell Anderson, E, D, Cornwell, Stella Beals, A, J, Van Tassel, C. A. Stickler, Wm. Birdzell, Maude Ray, Maurice Connor, Lela G. Funk, Norinan Goldsmith, Roy Hutchison, Lucille Grissom, Mrs. Wibking.

Jewett also had a bank for many years. It had two locations, and was robbed twice. John Mock, Holly Prather, Virgil Armer, Golden Vanderhoof are names to be remembered. In the early 1830's Jewett had saloons - -again in the early

1930's taverns became popular. The village found them to be a liability in every respect.

The laying of the pipe lines through the village by oil companies started in early 1900. At one time there were five. Electricity was obtained for the village about 1929 from Central Illinois Public Service Company. The minimum rate being $1.00, and the customer scarcely ever went over the minimum. With this utility came easier living and modern homes.

City water was voted in and in 1963 produced from deepwells.

In 1931 the side streets were graveled. The gravel was hauled from the river on the Huisinga place with horses and wagons loaded by hand.

For awhile a small settlement of Negroes was located 1 mile south of the cemetery and 1/2 mile west. They had their own tiny church and cemetery. The latter is being pastured now. The grave stones were very large rocks.

In 1921 with the completion of the hard road (as we called it then) the village boomed. Here is a list of some of the business people over the years: Lyons Hotel and Livery Stable, also he was a stage coach driver from Terre Haute west; Wade's Hotel and and Livery Stable; Hogan's Hall; Bud Oakley and Otis Vanderhoof, grist mill; Hiram Scranton, Attorney; Les Scranton, saloon; Cad Fry, Coleman Bay and Francis (Soaket) Ingram, undertakers; Pollen Bennett, pharmacy; Mr. Bennett also drove a huckster wagon; Jake and Em Hoover, photo gallery; Fannie Vanderhoof, Mrs. Judy, and Hannah, and Sarah Brown, milliners; Bett Downs, seamstress; Albert Fogle and Doug Garrett, blacksmiths; Cas and Phoebe Prather, restaurant; The Prathers also had a grain elevator; Fred Elms, Bill Bowman and Jim Parse, garages; Cricket Goldsmith had a hardware store on the first floor of his b building and skating rink on the second floor, which burned Feb. 13, 1912; Over the years Chas. Bersig had a tavern, hotel, meat market, and ice house; some who had general stores and bought eggs, butter, poultry and cream were; Frank Vanderhoof, Harve Glasener, Willis Jones, Herbert Morgan and Mont McConnell, Han Bean, Hugh Beals, Kenneth Connell, Clifford Glosser, Louis Vanatta, John Snedeker, Tom Callahan, Lance Van Tassel, J. R, Kuhn and Roy Barnes, Jr., Cal and Sissie Carter had a cafe and filling station, as did Joe and Sarah McElravy and Mrs, F. E. Anderson.

Al Hickman had a shoe repair shop, Clarence Glasener, second hand store; Saramy Mondy, pharmacy; P. C. Burlington (father of Otis) was a justice of peace; About 1880 Richard (Dick) Carrico, grandfather of Frank Kingery, lived just west of the cemetery and was a shoemaker. One of his most noted customers was Ben McKeen, president of Vandalia P, P.

About 1915 the Red Men Lodge was active here. Names of a few of the members that come to mind are; Otis Burlington; Cas Prather; A, J. VanTassel; C. L, Ray; A. M, Shoot; Frank Jay; Cricket Goldsmith; Everett Darling; Arch Feltner, and other attended from Greenup. The Odd Fellows Lodge also was known here

Otis and Guy Ray were barbers here for many years,

A track for horse racing was located here when the fair ground was at Toledo.

Many have left Jewett to serve in the armed forces. The last Civil War Veteran was William (Uncle Bill) LaMasters. This good man was a pillar in the M. E, Church,

In early 1950 route 40 was routed around Jewett, as it was about all other cities and towns.

The Jewett Elevator is now operated by the Siemer Milling Co. of Teutopolis,Ill., with Sylvester Preumer as manager and Rex Walker as full time employee. Past operators were: Leslie Vanderhoof; Mr. Schmidt; Paul Kuhn, and Max Winnett. About 1932-33, Jewett had its last doctor. Dr. L. Downs who had practiced medicine here as a young man and again after retiring being past 80 years of age. Other physicians and surgeons were: Dr, Rawlins and son Dr. John Rawlins; Dr. James; Dr. Myers; Dr. Mondy; Dr. Frisbie; and Dr. Zobrist.

The last duel in this area was on July 13, 1917 between Marcus Morgan and Charlie Hoover, each killing the other.

The post office has had many locations and some of the postmasters were: Mr. Booth, grandfather of Ella Cox; Fred B. Cox; Herbert Morgan; Lydia Alumbaugh; Oren Jay and Lance VanTassel. Recent rural carriers were: Frank Jay; Clark Ray; and Fred Cox, Alfrieda Kingery has been postmistress for several years.

Some of the village officers of later years were: Norris Ray; Les Vanderhoof; Raymond Kuhn; A, M. Shoot; G. N. Vanderhoof; Duel Darling; Joe Ray; John Ingram; John Brewer; Bert Stirewalt; Lloyd Powell; Roy Barnes, Jr. ; Jim Powell, Bill Adamson; Roscoe Trostle; George Trostle, Jr.; Robert O. Shafer; Evelyn Ray and Guy Ray.

The town, as all other small towns, has dwindled to a quiet, friendly, off the route town. Present businesses are: Robert O. Shafer, service station; Marj and Ed Roark, general store; Frank and Grace Kingery, antiques; Bob and Fern Yaw, new and used furniture; Wayne Watts, used furniture; and Lee Myers, electrician. Alfrieda Kingery, postmistress and John Snedeker, rural carrier.

Cemetery stones are dated to early 1800s. A few gypsy "babies are buried in the Jewett cemetery. We must not omit the Jewett Band, which was active in the 1920s, and furnished a concert each Saturday night, under the band master, Otis Ray. By Linda K. Trostle

LONG POINT AND LONG POINT CEMETERY

Long Point and Bear Creek were settlements with post offices in the early 1800's long before Neoga (1856) and many other Cumberland County towns that survived had any distinction. But with the coming of railroads Neoga grew and Long Point and its dreams of becoming a city faded away. The hub of Long Point was Turner's store containing the post office, a blacksmith shop, house and barn. A half mile south and about 100 yards southwest of the corner was a log school house with slab and peg leg seats, Mr, Turner one day while walking through the woods east of his store with his son stopped on a point of land, looked up a nice white oak tree and told his son "Top it and when I die, bury me at its foot, " And so he was. By 1885 Turner's corner was no more. The buildings were gone. The log school had been replaced by one of frame and weather boarding. The school continued until the Pioneer Consolidated School on Rt. 12 I took away all its pupils. It was torn down about I960,

One of Long Point's early settlers was Hamilton Curtis line (1832-1907) who in 1857 left his wife Elizabeth Frances (Bishop) Cline (1832-1897) and little daughter, Alfarata (1856-1867) behind in Stilesville, Indiana to go west and find a new homestead. He looked at land near where Mattoon now is that was for sale at $1.25 per acre. It appeared too flat and swampy and had little timber. He had to have timber for a log house, firewood and fences so he turned southward. He selected a patch of land near the breaks of Long Point Creek just south of Long Point and paid $3,00 per acre for it. He built a log cabin just .south of the present Long Point Cemetery. His wife and daughter then came there. His father-in-law, Joseph P, Bishop (1809-1862), his wife Susan and their remaining family of five sons also came and settled near by to the south. Joseph P. Bishop was a Methodist Preacher and carpenter. Up to that time the settlers had been having church in each other's homes. But then he, H, C. Cline and the neighbors got together and built a small frame church on the corner of H.C. Cline's land just east of the north entrance of the present Long Point Cemetery. In those days the road angled through woods from the school house past John Morrison's log house to the church then just past it, it turned following the present cemetery drive. The church had two doors on the west side, one for the men and one for the women, for in those days the men and the boys sat separately from the women and girls. Joseph P. Bishop was the first preacher at Salem Church south east of Toledo, and at Oakland. When he died Dec, 21, 1862, his family and neighbors thought it appropriate to bury him near the church. So H. C, Cline gave permission to bury him east of the church and soon deeded that patch of his ground for the start of a cemetery. The original Long Point burying ground was in the woods down the road east of the school, Soon people started moving the remains to the new cemetery and now the only known graves left there are of the Gilpin family. Although Joseph P, Bishop was first to be buried in the present Long Point Cemetery in 1862, older markers can be found there for that reason. In 1906 the old church was torn down and a new church was built west of the north cemetery entrance on ground donated by the Kingman family for that purpose additional cemetery space and a picnic grove. The cemetery has since expanded west over the original church and churchyard site and into the new part. The second church stood until it was torn down in 1966. The official name of the cemetery is Kingman-Cline Cemetery so as not to conflict with a Long Point Cemetery near Casey, 111. , but nearly everyone calls it Long Point.

H.C. Cline was a good steam engine and woolen mill technician. During the Civil War a new woolen mill came to Effingham, and his services were in demand to help set it up and train operators. He sold his farm and they moved there. After the war he bought another farm in the Long Point area, and they moved back. It is said he bought and sold or helped members of his family obtain as many as eight different farms in the area and at one time or other had owned nearly all the land touching the east side of Long Point road from Neoga road south past Long Point Cemetery, He also had owned some south of Rte, 121, nine miles west of Toledo, 111, Family records show he also helped start Drummond Cemetery, North Buck Branch School, and West Union School, donating land for some if not all of them. The last of his land remaining in the family is owned and occupied by his granddaughter, Golda Cline, and great-granddaughter Verda Diel. Three generations of his children had attended Long Point school and his mother-in-law, Susan Bishop, had taught there.

NEOGA

Among the first industries in Neoga was the Hooppole industry. The settlers on Mule Creek and along the Little Wabash cut white oak and hickory poles eight feet long, two inches in diameter at the butt, and one-half inch at the tip. Mr, John Husband bought these for shipment to barrel factories. These poles were used to encircle barrels of pickled fish, flour, salt, pickles, kraut etc., but many were sold for baling hay or cotton. Tin hoops and baling wire ended this industry. In the 1880's and 1890's, F.D. Voris helped to make Neoga the hay center of the United States and became president of the Hay Growers' Association of the United States. In Neoga's "hayday", the Kingman family owned and "operated" about 1600 acres of timothy hay.

In the 1800's H.A. Aldrich, F.D. Voris, and Ed Kraft were pioneers in apple production. In 1897 at about thirty cents per bushel, there were 50,000 bushels of apples shipped from Neoga. A 120 acre plot west of Neoga was for years the experimental station of the University of Illinois and was rated the finest orchard in Illinois, Other names connected with the apple and peach industry are: Newton Capps, Clarence Wallace, Elmer Coen, Everett Garrett, Ben Uran, Clark Young, Charles Allen, Charles Wolke, Ivimby Soliday, Russell Loveall, Norbert Moran, Frank Grewel, and Gray Gatlin.

Besides these there have been a tile industry, grist mills, broom corn buying and shipping, a glove factory, and three factories which produce articles of wearing apparel for women and men.

This was taken from October 4, 1900, Greenup Press: "F.D. Voris received notice that his apples had taken several second premiums at the World's Fair at Paris, France, and they would have taken first had they not been pulled a little green. The French people have a big advantage because they can leave their fruit on the trees two weeks that it takes to ship them from here. He also got eight or ten premiums at the State Fair at Springfield this week.

Powell's (Neoga Steam Bakery) 1902-1932 served towns within a 50-mile radius, the output at one time being 500,000 leaves of bread a year. Neoga's first native born baby was L. G. Morris, The first merchant, Dudley Keen Johnson, came to Neoga in 1854. The Martin Walk family, originally from Germany, came to Neoga in 1864.

THE SALEM NEIGHBORHOOD
(1934-1968)


Travel old route 40 west out of Greenup past the fairground entrance, cross the Embarras River, and up the hill. There in the first house on the south side of the road live Doyle Dillier, his wife Adah, and three daughters, all workers in the Salem church. This property was formerly owned by Thomas Lyons, whose family have long been associated with the Salem church. In 1934 it was occupied by the son, Roy and his family. Roy suffered ill health, but his wife, Clara was very active in the church affairs.

The house across the road on the north side is the Brandenburg home. Golda and her nine children were faithful attendants at church. Golda was active in the Ladies' Aid Society, and her sons donated many hours of labor to church projects.

North through the woods is the home of Etta Scales. She and her husband, Herschal (now deceased), were active members. Mrs. Scales took an active part in the work projects for raising funds, and was also helpful in obtaining much of the work for the Ladies^ Aid.

Back to the highway on the south side of the road was a house (destroyed by fire) occupied by the elderly Mr, & Mrs. Thomas Lyons. Mrs. Lyons was a faithful church worker, and was noted for her beautiful quilting. Across the road slightly to the west was the home of Blaine and Edna Holsapple (now deceased). While both contributed labor to the church, Mrs. Holsapple also gave it her love and devotion.

On the south side of the road lived the W. O. Shofner family. All were loyal church workers. This house has since been moved across the new highway 40, Mr, &: Mrs, Shofner are both deceased; the children are married and scattered.

Farther west on the corner is the Carson Jersey Farm. Mrs. Carrie Carson was among the charter members of the Ladies' Aid Society, and helped with the work of the Society,

Following the side road north is located the home of Luke and Ruby Holsapple, also members who have contributed time and service to the church's welfare. North across the railroad dwells the Yocum family. This farm, formerly owned by Lewis and Riegel was operated by James McCammon, wife Claudia, and sons. This family, although not members, were ready and willing to help with any projects started by the church. Then west to the Beasley Dairy farm. Here too, were once active members who now have forsaken the little church in the wildwood.

West and then north on the west side of the road stands a two story building, the home of Mr. and Mrs, Ivan Shupe. This family has been and still is one of the standbys of the church. Paralee has served as church treasurer for thirty-one years, and as pianist for the past twenty years. She has spent hours of labor in cleaning, painting, and even carpentering. Ivanhad also donated his services as an electrician (wiring the building for light), a carpenter, or whatever kind needed, Paralee and Ivan have two children, Doyle and Mildred. Doyle married Catherine Patterson and lives in Toledo. Mildred married Robert Carlin; they also reside in Toledo but are active in the church at Salem.

South again to the first crossroad where, on the northeast corner once stood the Christian Run schoolhouse, then look west to view the home of Clifford Sherwood. He and his wife Laura are among those interested in the Salem church. The former tenants of this farm, Charles Smith and family were quite active in the church, especially the youth group.

South across the railroad in a pretty new house live "Bud" (Raymond, Jr. ) and Teresa Houser. Bud, a schoolteacher, is the present Church Superintendent. His parents, Ray and Leona Houser, live south on the same (west) side of the road on the farm with the round barn. Both are active church members and regular in attendance. Mrs. Houser is the adult class teacher.

On the northeast corner of the crossroad was the home (now gone) of Hadley and Mary E, Mock, Mr. Mock, a cemetery trustee for years, did a great deal of work around the church and on the cemetery located just west of his home. His son, Oscar and family, lived just east on the south side of the road in the house now owned by Rex Brandenburg, Mrs. Eva Mock (deceased) and four of their children were members of the church. One daughter, Madge St. John, her husband, Eugene and son Johnnie live south of Toledo on the Jewett road attend church occasionally. The son's family, John H. Mock and wife Dorsa, live in Toledo but take an active part in the church.

The next house east, now occupied by the Southard family whose children attend church, was the home of Miss Jennie Bean who was pianist for several years, and took an active part in organizing church services at Salem, Although still a member, she now resides in Toledo,

Back to the crossroad and south to the first house on the west side is the old Stevenson place now occupied by Joe Gentry (an auctioneer) and family. Once the Oscar Mack house was the home of the Fogleman family. Mrs, Fogleman and her younger children were faithful in attendance. Guy Fogleman and his wife, the former Eileen Wood, reside on their farm south of Toledo, He, his wife, and daughters have contributed time, labor, and talents to their church. The next house south of Gentry's was once the home of the Ranee Brewer family. These people also contributed their part to the life of the church. However, Mrs. Vesta Brewer left the church to join the Pentecost Church at Toledo, taking with her Fern Ward and children who lived in the big brick building just east of the Hamilton school on Route 40.

West of the Midget (the site of the former Ross Keller home, whose family was connected with the church) to the first road south and just across the railroad was the home of Miss Lulu Cox, a member of the Ladies' Aid Society.

Farther south at the foot of the hill are two more houses. The one on the west side now owned by Vance Chancellor was the home of Joe Heath, wife Yolanda, daughter Maida, and young son Joe Bill, names frequently found in the church books. On the other side of the road lived the Forest Wood family. Mr, Wood and his two daughters Eileen and Marjorie, v/ere among the first members of the revived Salem Church. Mrs. Iva Wood, although not a member, was an active church worker. It was in this home that tragedy occurred in the year of 1943. Mrs. Beatrice Wright, while visiting the Wood family to help care for her ailing mother also at the Wood home, was slain by the neighbor boy Joe Bill Heath with his gun; just because, as the boy later stated, he had an "urge to kill. " Soon after this tragedy the Heath family sold out and left the county. The Wood family moved to another farm south of Greenup. This family had to face another tragedy when the father, Forest, met sudden death when his tractor was struck by a truck while traveling on Highway 40.

A brother, Harry Wood, moved to the vacated farm which he later purchased. Mr. Wood, his wife Jessie, and twin daughters still live there. For years Jessie has been in charge of the Nursery class of the Salem Sunday school. However, recently her husband's ill health and work out side the home has prevented her regular attendance.

Back up to the highway, then east to the next road south. The house on top of the hill was the home of the Golden Holsapple family; and later it became the home of the Edsel Brown family; both families were members or constituent members of the church, but finally the Brown family joined the Penecostal Church at Toledo. Edsel and Alberta Brown are beautiful singers and frequently sing at revivals or other special occasions. Kenneth Holsapple lived in his father's house at the foot of the hill, but when his family moved to a new home, the house was occupied by a brother Hugh, who with his family helped contribute to the welfare of the church.

Up the hill again to the highway, east to a lane leading south across the railroad to a deserted house on the hill, once the home of William and Ethel Curtner, church members who seemed to enjoy people. Their home like others was open to the social gatherings of the church.

Other families associated with the church were the Ivan Michaels family; Ivan and his son Dale (both deceased) furnished labor for the church repairs. Dale for a time was quite punctual in attendance. Mrs. Ruth Michaels, who also worked with the Ladies' Aid, now resides in Toledo. Mr. and Mrs, Ray Letner who transferred from the Morton Chapel church, were also associated with the church. Mr. Letner was suddenly called to his home beyond one year ago when his tractor turned over with him. The James Dryden family have contributed both to the church services and fund raising projects. Their son, Dennis, serving in the U.S. Army, has just returned from Viet Nam. Among others formerly connected with the church were the Joe Croy family, the Calvin Mills family, the John Slaton family, and the Brown family.

By Olive Holsapple

SPRINGPOINT HISTORY
THE HOLKENBRINK FARM

Frank Holkenbrink Sr, was born in Winkelsetten, Germany, and came to America when he was twenty years old, in the year 1868. He worked in the Teutopolis, Greencreek, Effingham areas and in 1873 took out Naturalization Papers at Effingham, which were signed by W.C. LeCrone. At that time the rules stated that only citizens could own property.

Looking around for a farm to buy, he found several, but money was very scarce. In January, 1874, he bought a farm in Springpoint Township, in section 28, from Frances Debendener. At the present time this farm with some additions is owned by Leo Holkenbrink, a grandson, and his family, Debendener lived on the place part of the time but never entered a plow or cut any brush. He kept good saddle horses and had many visitors that came mostly after dark. No one around there knew much about him and sometimes he was gone for weeks at a time. In the last few years it has been established that he was a ringleader of a gang of outlaws operating from the Springpoint area. Debendener could not read or write, but he knew how to make money and do it without working.

In June 1874, Holkenbrink married Anna Funnemann, a daughter of a pioneer family that lived at Salt Creek, north of Teutopolis. They soon moved out to the new farm with a few things on a farm wagon. A couple of chickens, a cow, and a team of horses; and they were in business. They also drove the farm wagon to church on Sundays, to Teutopolis as Lilyville,was not yet begun. The congregation and church at Lilyville, two miles west, was started in 1877, and it sure made things easier on Sundays

Breaking the wild prairie, little by little, was done by borrowing an extra plow and using three horses on the prairie breaker plow. The roots from brush and heavy weeds and the prairie grass that had not been disturbed for a thousand years was hard to turn over and sometimes had to be cut loose with an ax. The first year not much grew on the new sod but the next year it had started to decay and things looked better.

Neighbors were few then and far between, and I recall being told about the fire going out in the stove. They went through the field a half mile north and got some hot coals on the scoop shovel from Kummero, a neighbor, to get the fire going as they had no matches.

Each year a little more ground was worked up and finally the prairie was tamed. Money was scarce and sometimes for a month not a dollar changed hands. Butter and eggs were the trading stock when going to town to get some groceries. Later he also acquired some timber land along Spring Creek so he would have fire wood and fence rails and logs.

When they decided to build a new house, a sixteen year old boy called Cecil Plummer was hired to help pull the cross cut saw cutting down trees. Mother said this boy worked hard and was a good eater. She always had a large plate of fresh butter on the table and he just could not get enough of that. When asked about that he said this was the first butter he had ever eaten, "Yankee cows don't give butter, "

Early neighbors were Joe Luckner, Frank Willenborg and the Wente family on the west, Kummero and Duro on the north Frederick Reineke and Joe Shafer and John Hamilton on the east.

Mother told me many times when she was a girl that during the Civil War many things could not be had and one of them was coffee. Her mother would take a bread pan and put in a thin layer of rye and slowly roast it in the bake oven, keeping it stirred all the time. This was ground when ready, in a hand coffee grinder. This was known as Lincoln Coffee. During World War 11 it would have been called ersatz kaffee. In later years when out of coffee beans it was repeated many times. Slowly, during the years, the ground north of the house was worked up and crops were planted, A half mile north of the homestead was a patch of ground of a few acres traversed by a ravine. This was known as Rattle Snake Swamp. For a thousand years the snakes had lived there and many thousand snakes used it for their home. It was thick with prairie grass, briers, and small brush. Any small animal or rabbit that entered there did not come out. Any time of day, walking around the outside, a large number of snakes could be seen. It was unsafe for man or horse to enter.

Grandpa learned that the only animal that could compete with the snakes was a half grown hog in good condition. The snakes would bite the hogs but the poison would not affect them. A horse that got bit by a rattler on the leg or nose would immediately swell and in twenty minutes be dead. Grandpa hauled a number of loads of fence rails and fenced off a small patch and put in a few hogs. They were fed and watered in there, daily. From time to time the fence ring was moved further in. The hogs killed many snakes and some were driven deeper underground. The nice part of it was that the hogs enjoyed the battle. As soon as convenient, plowing was started where the hogs had been. To make it safe for the man behind the walking plow he put on leather boots, Leggins were made for the horses by cutting up old leather boots and strapping them around the horses feet above the hooves. My father told me that one time when he was plowing he counted 11 snakes under the team at one time. The best cure for the plowed up snakes was a heavy green elm or hickory club about three feet long that was always kept ready when needed.

The snakes have been gone about a hundred years and the land produces fine crops. If grandpa would come and take a look now he would be surprised to see his grandson with his tractors do as much work in one day as it took him, in the early days, two weeks to do.

By Frank Holkenbrink Jr.

HISTORY OF TOLEDO, ILLINOIS

The area which we now know as Cumberland County was a swamp land covered by prairie grass ten to twelve feet high. American Indians, principally the Kickapoos, were roaming over the area when the first white men came to this area. The Indians gradually grew less numerous and the Blackhawk War in 1832 took the remaining ones away.

In 1842 Coles County included the territory now embraced by Douglas, Coles and Cumberland Counties, and as this area was much too large for the convenience of the citizens the area was broken up into the three counties as of May 1, 1843. The act of the legislature provided that Greenup shall, for the present, be the County Seat, and that the County Seat shall, hereafter, be permanently located by an election to be held on the 1st Monday of August, 1843. This election resulted in Sconce's Bend (platted as De Kalb for election purposed) on the Embarrass River, in Cottonwood twp. , receiving a majority of a bare seven votes out of 431 polled. However, a question as to whether the county had good title to the property, resulted in the County Commissioners once again submitting the matter to the people. In Feb. 1849, an act of legislature authorized another election and a site of forty acres offered by Nelson Berry, being part of the land on which Toledo is located, was selected over Greenup, Pleasantville (now Jewett), Jerome, BucksKnoll and "Bill Dad" at the mouth of Bear Creek. Nothing came of this election either and the seat of justice remained at its temporary location.

On June 10, 1854, the Original Town of Prairie City, was platted by Nelson Berry, John Berry, Lewis Harvey and William P, Rush, They established sixteen blocks and a public square and named it Prairie City. Its site covers the geographical center of Cumberland County and was originated for the purpose of accommodating the Seat of Justice for the County,

In 1885 a third election was held and the result was 608 votes for Prairie City and 518 for Greenup, Neoga had sprung up almost overnight as a result of activity in building the Illinois Central Railroad and the citizens on the west side of the County desired a central location. In 1855 a contract was let to Wiley Ross and Bennet Beals for the erection of a Court House at a cost of $10, 500. 00 . The site of the public square was very unpromising as a pond of water covered most of it and much work was done in filling in the area. A jail did not seem a vital necessity to the County at an early date and no attempt was made to build one until 1859 when a contract was made with Reuben Bloomfield and William-i Jones to construct a jail. This was a one- story brick building divided into two parts one the jailer's quarters and the other divided into four small cells. This building was condemned and in 1890, the present structure, two blocks southeast of the square, was erected.

The Village began to grow and in 1866, a meeting was held to incorporate. At an election held on August 8, 1866, Joel Smith, D.B. Green, J. E. Mumford, M.B. Ross, and A, G. Caldwell were elected as the first Village Trustees. In 1874 the Toledo Democrat listed twenty business houses, six physicians, ten lawyers, and four preachers. At this time the Democrat listed the eighty-two families residing at Prairie City as follows: William Shaw, H.B. Decius, L, L, Logan, J.H, Yanaway, Thomas White, Rev. J. M. Scher, Charles Selby, Wiley Ross, Harris Orr, Josiah White, Lewis Brookhart, Alfred Payne, Andrew Carson, W,H. McDonald, R. Bloomfield, Joseph Morgan, C. Woods, H.T. Woolen, Henry Rhoads, J.& E, Ellis, M. Hurst, G. E. Mason, W.D. Mumford, A, J. Lee, A. G. Caldwell, Amos Stead, R. Long, Wm. Brown, Wm. Peters, M. Barrett, Mary Bradshaw, Chas. Hanker, E.B. Jones, D. H. Wohlers, Levi Ross, D. Bruster, Polly White, N. L. Scranton, John Prather, A, A. Lovins, Mary Bright, John Lee, C.B. Green, J. E. McCartney, Samuel Harvey, Al Rosencrans, Henry Green, D. Corderman, Joel Smith, W. Humphrey, Simony Lee, Wm. Logan, Flavius Tossey, Ed. Miles, Vol Clark, Chas. Akins, John Berry, T, Baichley, W.M. Shull, Anna Hannah, Bob Ray, Mary Croy, M.S. Ross, W.L.Bruster, SamMcMahan, R.E. Mumford, M. L. Mumford, Elias Armer, Wiley Shaw, Rev, Scholosser, Tom Brewer, Tom Shipler, Coleman Ray, Lewis Harvey, D.B. Green, Wm. Richardson, Geo. Starger, Hays, Perry Cox, Wm. Cottingham, and Levi Brewer.

The railroad that passes through Toledo was built in 1877 and was known as the-Mattoon and Grayville, later became the Peoria, Decatur, and Evansville, and is now part of the Illinois Central System. The first train came to Prairie City on June 23, 1877, and stopped across the Main street running East from the Court House, The citizens came in droves and brought a wagon-load of refreshments. The band played several numbers and Judge H, E. Decius made a speech. The engineer offered to take the crowd to Greenup, and jollier, happier company never boarded a train than the one that went to Greenup on the first train ever running into Prairie City.

The name "Prairie City" was found to conflict at the Post Office department with another village in the state, and for several years the name "Majority Point" was used by the post office department. The citizens remedied this situation by the selection of the name "Toledo. " An ordinance was presented and adopted on Aug, 27, 1881, changing the name of the Village of Prairie City to that of Toledo, Illinois.

On the night of Nov, 4, 1885, the Court House was razed by fire. All of the County records and files were destroyed in this conflagration. Following another election relative to the location of the County Seat, a new Court House, the present structure, was built in 1887.

The first schoolhouse in Toledo was a small one- story, frame building that was also used for church services. In 1862, a two story, frame building was erected and used for twenty years at which time the present brick structure was erected, to which, of course, several additions have now been added. Although many students had completed their studies, no graduation exercises were held under 1890 when five girls. Bertha Hanker, Ivy Connor, Nora Bloomfield, Ura Chapman and Mary Shull became the first graduating class.

The first church was a frame building erected by the Methodists on the site where their present edifice stands. The Christian denomination for a number of years held services in a two story frame building which is now known as the John Kelly grocery, which was then on the lot where their present brick building stands. The Presbyterian church on South Meridian Street was built in 1891. The United Brethren structure was built in 1908, and the Pentecostal people have in the last fifteen years built a neat frame church in the southwest part of Toledo.

The Baptists built a brick building on the Southeast corner of the public square, but their denomination shrank in size, their services were abandoned, and the building was purchased by the citizens for our Public Library. This building, still in use has been added to and is now the home of one of the finest public libraries to be found in any town of comparable size.

In I860 a ten acre plot of ground west of the Village was secured for holding a fair. Following the failure of this association, a ten acre tract was purchased north of town. Fairs were held here from 1866 to 1874, when this venture also failed. Another re- organization followed and forty acres southeast of the village was purchased and fairs held for several years. In 1883 another re- organization took place and ten acres added and a race track built. The officers of the Association in 1883 were C. G, Jones, Greenup, President; L. L. Logan, Vice Pres.; Wm. L. Bruster, Secretary and W. S. Everhart, Treasurer. This organization also disbanded and the Cumberland County Fair has since been held at the fine fairgrounds at Greenup.

The first grist mill was owned by Wm Richardson and John Riddle, and in 1872, an expert miller, George Starger, built a two-story frame building, added more equipment, and milled all kinds of grain. In 1884 Mr. Starger built a three story brick building in Harvey's 2nd Addition and had an up-to-date mill. Following Mr. Starger's death, the mill was operated by a Mr. Singer from Neoga and by the Mallinson's. At the present time this building has been remodeled and is owned and used by Edgar A. Neal(has since died ) and Burnham E. Neal as an oil and gas bulk plant.

Alec Caldwell was our first postmaster and Wiley Ross hauled the mail to and from Pleasantville, now Jewett, and Tom White carried the mail by horseback from Neoga. This of course, was in the days before the Railroad was built.

The Toledo Democrat, first known as the Cumberland Democrat, has had continuous publication since 1857, and is the oldest business institution in our County. Other papers published in Toledo include "The Republican Mail" which was brought to Prairie City from Greenup in 1874, by Edward Hitchcock. H. T. Woolen succeeded Hitchcock as editor, and J. A. Caldwell later purchased the plant. In 1879 the name was changed to "Toledo Express" during which time J. T. Connor was the editor. In 1889, Chas. M. Connor became the manager for his father, and in 1901 the plant was sold to R. P. Barr and the name again changed, this time to "Toledo Argus. " The Democrat was edited at various times by J. E. Mumford, Flavius Tossey, G. E. Mason, W. D, Mumford, Adolph and Leon Summerlin, Barton and Wood, Wm. Niccum and Minor L. Smith, and James M, Drakeford, the present owner, who has published the paper for twenty-five years with the exception of a period in 1949 and 1950 when the plant was sold to the publishers of the Mattoon Journal Co, who sold back to Mr. Drakeford.

The first lumberyard was owned by Frank Anderson who later sold to T. P. Prather, other lumber dealers of later years were Henry Tippett, Kelly and Wisley, Neola Elevator Company, and the Builder's Supply Company, of present times, under the ownership of Elmer B, Cutts and his sons. The lumberyard is now operated by Bob Scott,

In 1890 R. C. Willis moved with his family from Enfield, Illinois, and started the first bank known as the Willis Banking Co, This bank was the forerunner of our present First National Bank in Toledo, and a complete history of the institution is set out elsewhere in this publication. Other banks have been the State Bank of Toledo, which was formed by J, B, Cartmill. This bank was sold to Joel McAnally and was housed in the building now occupied by the Rhodes Furniture Mart. In the 1920's the bank became insolvent and was liquidated. Mr. Cartmill organized the Farmer's State Bank and it was operated successfully on the South side of the square until it was liquidated in 1948, with the First National Bank in Toledo taking over all of the assets and liabilities of the Farmer State.

Samuel McMahan was one of the early citizens and ran the first meat market, followed by his sons, Ira and William, Other early meat retailers were Philip Lawrence and Link Morgan. Alex Hughes established a tin shop in 1875 and his nephew J. K. Hughes carried on the business. Livery stables were kept by John Peter s, the first keeper and by Lewis Fields, Daniel Shubert, Carson Rodgers, Harap Rodgers, John Tracy, Elias Armer, Woolbery Bros., Jasper Bean and Grant Young,

In the early days Timothy hay was one of the main crops and large hay barns were erected and the community was quite a hay center. Those prominent in the hay business included Levi Ross, Wilson Turner, James Elder, John Schooley and Richard Richardson,

Charles Hanker was the first furniture dealer and undertaker, and after the early years when his frame building became inadequate, he erected a three story brick building which had living quarters on the second floor and a large hall with stage, on the third floor. This building burned while occupied by Riley Icenogle and James Connell as a grocery store, and was purchased and rebuilt and now owned by J. M, Connell (who has deceased) and Blanche Icenogle. Also, F. G. Robertson and O. C. Miller and Son, engaged in furniture and undertaking in years gone past,

Sam Harvey was the first restaurant keeper. Other early restaurant men include G. D. Bloomfield, W. S. Moore, Logan and Bates, Adkins and Zike.

Western Humphrey and C. E. Perry were early day druggists. Bakers were Richard Beany, A. A, Lovins, Link Morgan and Baichley and Harper,

In general merchandising we have had John Tossey, G. E, Mason, Wm, Richardson, May & Anderson, May Bros., F. M. Snyder, R, J, Smith, Robert Bean, Owen Decius, Richardson Bros,, Charles Humphrey, H. H. Croy, Gertie Yanaway, Connor &; Smith, Wiley King and of course the later day merchants.

Barbers include a Mr. Gordon, our first barber, and C, W. Croy, Colonel Young, J. D. White, Charles Wiley, Willis Pattison and others. Present day barbers are Dewey Roberts and Wilbur Evans.

D, H. Wohlers was one of the first businessmen and made boot and shoes. An early shoe store was run by G. I. Rominger and another by George Meriwether; old time milliners were Mrs, W. W. Park, Cynthia Orr Keeran, Mrs. A, Armer and Mrs, Zetta Lovins. Some of the early brick business houses were made of brick and burned in kilns near Toledo owned and operated by Lewis Duensing and another by Jack Wolf,

In early years Fred Baichley and Andrew Brewer operated small broom factories in Toledo. In 1926 Dewey S. Quinn started a broom factory in the abandoned creamery building and as his business grew moved to the old light plant where the business is carried on by his widow, Frona Quinn, and his son, Kenneth E. Quinn. Since this centennial history was written, Kenneth has built a new broom factory between Toledo and Greenup and at present is also building a new home nearby.

The first physician was Lewis Brookhart and the second was John Lee, Both came in 1855. It is reported that they thought this a fine location because of the "chills and ager, " Other early day doctors were J. H. Yanaway, Dr. F. Chapman, Edward Miles. Joseph Eskridge, W. W. Park, A. J, Reeves, D, C, Chambers, Robert Bloomfield, G, E, Lyons, Virgil Carter, C, R. Bird, R, F, Stephens, William Smith, and W, R. Rhodes, At present The Rhodes Clinic has two doctors, Dr, Lowell E, Massie and Dr. L. E. McNeill, Dr. David Boyce was inducted into the service in the fall of 1967,

Early day lawyers include H. B. Decius, L, L. Logan, N. L. Scranton, W. H. McDonald, C. Wodds, W. C. Prather, D. B, Green, Flavious Tossey, Thomas Brewer, Levi Brewer, W. S, Everhart, J. B. Atchison, Lewis Decius, Clint Brewer, A, F. Bussard, Walter Greathouse, Walter Brewer, and C. M. Connor (who had completed over 55 years of practice in 1954 and is now deceased). Present day lawyers are Theodore and John Cutright, Glen Neal, W, A, Carr,

Perry Cox was the first hotel keeper. Other early day hotel keepers were Wm, Brown, I. J, Pugh, Mrs. Thomas Grisamore and Eva Vandyke,

George Eskridge, A, Armer, John Hughes, Pinkard & Mc-Perhson add Joe Hughes ran hardware stores during the first fifty years of Toledo's existence.

Additions to the Original Town of Prairie City, now Village of Toledo, were laid off and platted as Wm P. Rush's Addition, Nelson Berry's Addition, George Titus' Addition, Lewis Harvey's 1st Addition, and Lewis Harvey's 2nd Addition, Kern's Addition, Warner's Addition, Kelly & Wisley's Addition, Conaroe & Willis' Addition, and W. S. Everhart's Addition. The Village is now composed of the original town, these additions and also a large unplatted area, particularly in the North and West sides, is built up and is within the corporate limits.

The Democrat of September 15, 1881, reports that a splendid sidewalk wide enough for two persons to walk on without crowding each other, had been completed from the depot to the public square. This apparently was a reference to the first board sidewalks. In the first years of the twentieth century brick and concrete sidewalks replaced the old wooden walks throughout the Village.

The reservoir was dug about the turn of the century and was intended for water supply but was never used as such. In 1901 the electric light plant was installed and water from the reservoir was used to run the light plant. Charles Pfister was the first village electrician and was assisted by Leonard Rhodes who later took over when Pfister moved from Toledo. The plant, badly in need of repairs, was sold to the Central Illinois Public Service Company in 1928.

ROSLYN

In 1872 the Methodists built a brick church at a place later to be known as Roslyn, The location was 17 miles south of Mattoon and four miles north of Montrose. In the early 1880's, Henry Snider, a merchant of Russian- Jewish descent, was traveling through the country on horseback and decided that the corner across from the church would be a good location for a country store.

Snider started his store in a very small building. The business soon outgrew these quarters and he built a larger place with living quarters included. He transported his merchandise se from the nearest railroads, Sigel or Montrose. Needing help in his store, he employed Sarah Frederick. Later they were married and continued to operate the store until about 1895 when they moved their merchandise to towns farther north in the state. Prospering in true Jewish fashion, their last store was in Danville, Illinois, where both died.

Soon after Snider left Roslyn (1895), Bean and Prather from Toledo moved part of their merchandise to the Snider building. Staying through the year of 1896 or 97. They were succeeded by Horace Conkrite and after a short interval by John Olmstead and son Emiory. Wishing to enlarge their business, they built a larger store building which included living quarters about a block north of the Snider building. This store was known for years as Olmstead and Son.

In the 1890's Roslyn was granted a Post Office, It continued in operation until a rural route from Sigel was started m 1903. The Post Office was located in the Olmstead Building.

In addition to handling the mail, the Ohnstead's business consisted of a wide variety of merchandise- barrels of coffee beans and crackers, dry goods and patent medicine, buggies and farm implements as well as iron bridges for Spring Point Township, All the merchandise was hauled by wagon from Sigel and Montrose, sometimes requiring four horses when the roads were muddy. Emory Olmstead bought the first car in the vicinity in about 1907, Soon after he moved to Mattoon. Later operators of the store were Winters and Brooks, and Zeno Gould.

The Snider store had, in the meantime, been taken over by Charles Cope in the late 1890's and continued in this family for many years. Later occupants were the McElhiney Brothers (Henry and Oscar), Charles Niccum family. Oscar Effner was the last to operate the store in 1940, In the year of 1900, a new frame Methodist Church was built to replace the original brick building which, because of faulty construction, had cracked during a crowded church service causing quite a panic. The same year, 1900, an Adventist church across the road to the west was built.

The year 1900 found the town of Roslyn at its peak- two churches, two stores, two blacksmith shops operated by Frank Wilson and Sid Cronk, five or six dwellings and a two-story town hall. The first floor was used for machine storage and a blacksmith shop and the upper floor was for the Woodman's lodge meeting and also for an occasional dance. Leon Easton's nearby sawmill provided lumber for buildings and slabs for the town's sidewalks. Hitch racks were built along the walks and each Saturday they were full of horses and buggies when the people in the surrounding countryside came to trade and visit.

A baseball team was organized and played on the nearby farm of Alex Stewart. Crowds from far and near attended.

The first rural telephone line in this area connected Teutopolis to Roslyn and several miles east about the turn of the century. It was built by Dr. Huffman and about 1904 it was organized as the Roslyn Mutual Telephone Co. In a short time many people saw the need of this modern convenience, and a central office was set up in Roslyn and was operated for years by Maggie McClain. Maggie was patient and efficient in answering calls night and day for doctors, fire alarms and emergencies as well as neighborly visits. About I960 the line was taken over by a larger company and converted to a dial system.

Now in 1968 all that remains of Roslyn is the Methodist Church which has continued to have services for almost a century. With better roads and transportation there was no longer a need for the country store.

By Mrs. Cyrus (Esther )Tolch

THE ROSLYN STORY BY

Frank Holkenbrink Jr.

The best story that we have been able to assemble regarding the town of Roslyn, begins with a man named Henry Schneider, a Jew from Jerusalem. He must have been a real go-getter and organizer and merchant. At first he had a store and stock of goods at Jim Town, a country place just north or east of the present town of Montrose, This was before the present Montrose got started. He decided to move in with the Irish settlement and started a store at Roslyn. He married a sister of the wife of Chas. McElheny, McElheny lived in later years west of Roslyn. The place is now owned by Claude Thompson,

Schneider was known as a pack peddler who would go out in the country on foot, carrying light merchandise like Irish Linen tablecloths, fancy watches, rings and other light goods. When the writer was a boy around the 1900's some came around there each year and if they got there around evening they would ask to stay overnight and the next morning they would get out their merchandise and mother bought what she liked.

Schneider, the storekeeper, also had in his store, all kinds of home remedies as real doctors were few and hard to get to the sick when the roads were poor. A Dr, Robey that lived west of Sigel on the Roby road, four miles away was a good country doctor. I have heard it said that when the roads were bad when called on a baby case, the new baby was generally three or four days old before he got there. Some of the remedies in the store were, Pain King Liniment, Lydia Pinkhams Compound , Dr, Kilmers Swamp Root Bitters, Foley's Honey and Tar for that Cough-all for the grownups and Mrs. Winslows Soothing Syrup for the babies.

In later years Schneider had a team and top buggy and before starting out on his route would put in a sewing machine, sausage grinder and medicine bottles and start out on the country roads to sell and take orders. He had a Post Office in his store and the mail and newspapers were brought from Toledo twice a week by Sam McElhenny, as the mail carrier, and came through a town named Croake before he got to Roslyn, Croake was a store and Post Office about three miles east of High Point Tavern. That Tavern was not there then.

In 1893 we find John Olmsted there in the store but did not find out when he moved in. His son Emory Olmsted operated it later and must have built up a vast empire. He bought hay all around and shipped it from Sigel. Also he bought turkeys and geese , in. season, and they were dressed in Roslyn and shipped from Sigel' One man that lived south of Roslyn, about six miles, said he hauled a load of geese there and got a better price than he could get in Sigel. Emery had one of the early automobiles around there and I have a picture of it. It looks like a 1910 two cylinder Maxwell. The high point of his career must have been around 1912. Later Emery Olmstead was in partnership with A. W. BigLer and Henry Gehl on Western Ave, in Mattoon, known as Mattoon Implement and Buggy Co,

Some of the Irish names were McKinney, McElhenny, McGinnis, McClain, McDurmit and many others, Wm. McKinney, the father of Jim McKinney first owned and lived on the place bought by John Sehi, the first of all the Sehis and also known as the Frank Lustig place. East and south of the present Frank Meyer place lived the Sanders, Buck and Wiley, Buck later lived in the Sehi area and was a trapper and hermit. He had some dogs and hunted and trapped and ate regular when he had something to eat. His father was a school teacher and a learned man but somehow not much rubbed off on his sons, William Sehi told me when he was a boy he was at the cabin many times and one time he was there he was dressing rabbits, then hang them up in the chimney of the fire place. He burned wood and had a slow fire and smoked the meat till it was real hard. Then he would take them down, wrap them in a newspaper and put them in a Fire and smoked the meat in a newspaper and put them in a wooden box. No flies would bother them in the summer. When he needed he "would saw a piece off with a hand saw and soak it in water before using. Buck Sander also had a wood stove with a fire door in line with his window. Have been told that one day he had a long piece of wood, one end burning in the stove and the other in the open window, as it was quite long. When it burned off he would push it up again. It would have been much warmer if he had thrown out the wood and shut the window.

Fred McClain, a middle aged man of 85, said his father was born in Philadelphia, and he came here with his folks when 12 years old. The home where Maggie McClain lived and had the telephone office, in Roslyn, was first built up by a man named Pierson, He had a saw mill, a big pond, a stone burr mill and ground the finest corn meal. Those days every family baked corn bread and the best ears of white corn -was used. He sold the outfit to Leander Easton who operated it a long time. Easton moved his mill along Spring Creek and sawed the timbers for the house and and barn built on the Holkenbrink place where my father lived. The buildings were built in the 1880's.

The telephone system north of Montrose, was organized by Dr. Hoffman in 1902-03. It was operated by Maggie McClain from her home in Roslyn and called the Roslyn Exchange, There were many German people who were subscribers. Sometimes when they were trying to get Central they would say, "Hello, iss dis de middle?" Some people of Roslyn thought that a very large word would not get through such a small wire but in time everything was worked out in fine shape.

According to Fred McClain the forty acres containing Roslyn belonged to Perkins in 1864. Around 1900 a Mrs. Perkins lived there with her son, Arnold. Chas. Tolsch and Fred McClain were visiting them one evening when Arnold was making Gun Powder. He put some in a long box stove that was burning, to test it and it exploded, blew the stove all apart and set fire to the house. They got his mother out in the yard and then went back and put out the fire. The experiment was a success. He used Salt Peter, charcoal and coal oil.

In 1893 Dr. Bannerman came to Roslyn to go into practice. He was drowned in Mule Creek when engaged with John Olmsted in getting lumber to put up his new office building.

The following news taken from the first issue of SIGEL ADVOCATE printed June 9th, 1893.

Doctor Bannerman Drowned

Dr. John Bannerman met with a tragic death on Thursday afternoon of last week. He and John Olmsted, a merchant of Roslyn, started to cross Mule Creek south of Croake, on the running gears of a wagon. The creek was bank full and the team had not proceed far when they were swimming, and the swift current was carrying them away below the landing on the opposite side. In some manner the horses heads were turned up stream and the wagon became upcoupled, and the rear part, upon which Dr. Bannerman was seated, floated down stream. The last seen of Dr. Bannerman, he was clinging to one wheel, sometimes above and sometimes beneath the water. Neither of the men could swim and it is said the water could be waded where the Doctor sank to rise no more. Mr. Olmsted and the horses came near drowning before they got out of the stream. The body of Dr. Bannerman was recovered the following day some 40 rods below where he was drowned. The remains were interred in a cemetery near Johnstown.

More news on Dr. Bannerman. 1893. Dr. Bannerman, who drowned last week was shipwrecked coming to this country from England. He was picked out of the ocean after four days and nights He saved himself by clinging to part of the wreck.

Nick Faber, Age 96, of Montrose, told me that at the time he had a livery barn there and that he hauled people to the doctor's inquest, which was held in Greenup.

By F. Holkenbrink

Springpoint Township History
Pioneers


I will begin with my mother and father A. M. Kingery, better known as Clell. My mother was a daughter of Robert Plummer, a Civil War veteran and my father was born in the east end of Lillyville, known as the Hess place just east of the Victor Will home. My father, as a young man worked on ranches in Kansas, back in 1885-86. In the winter he made railroad ties in the Ozarks, down in Arkansas, as it was called then.

The neighbors were the Czerwonka brothers, Christ and August. They came from Bremen Germany, to Champaign and later moved to Springpoint and bought farms where they lived until they passed away. An incident that happened to Christ's family was when they were coming over here, one of their children died, and according to navigation rules the body could not be kept on the ship. The child was strapped to a board and slid down to a watery grave. How heartbreaking this must have been to the family.

August, better known as Gust, told me that during the Cholera Plague, his mother buried his father one evening and the next morning his mother was dead. As a boy he took up blacksmithing and was a very efficient smith. He said the German Government required everyone to learn a trade so as to be self supporting. The German Government did not believe in W. P. A.

I might mention something of myself also. I served three years in the National Guard, Co. G. of Effingham. I was united in marriage to Iva Grissom, daughter of Welsey and Dollie Grissom in 1915, Nine children were born to our union, eight are now living. A son aged 22 died in 1952, I resided on a farm north of Montrose until 1952 when I moved to Effingham and took up carpentry. I lost my companion in 1967, which makes my life very lonesome.

The Wm. Lanus Sr. family came from Alsace-Loraine, a Province of France during the conflict between Bismark and the French. In the war of 1871-72, it was ceded to Germany and the German language used in the schools. The early Lanus family first settled south of Chicago and later bought land south of Montrose. Mrs. Lanus was a daughter of Nick Gehl, a German who lived then in Sigel.

The Sehi families also lived in the area in Springpoint Township, Louis, Amad, Pete and "William, I do not know what part of Germany they came from. They first settled in Indiana. Louis Sehi had a threshing outfit that had a rolling kitchen. A small house was built on wheels and when the thresher moved they hooked on the kitchen and could sleep and eat any place needed, John Sehi was the first of the Sehi's and he lived on the Frank Lustig Place. A good story about Pete Sehi is told by his daughter, Agnes Fearday. The Sehi's were married around 1889 and lived near Springpoint Town House. A stranger came to the house looking for work. He said he could shuck corn so a deal was on. They got the team hitched up to the corn wagon and Pete took him into the corn field so he could start. The Sehis went to town and returned before evening and saw the horses and wagon wandering around in the cornfield. The 'hand' had entered the house and got away with Pete's new wedding suit and his shot gun. They later found his old clothes in the woods v/here he too had become a dressed up gentleman. The man's name was Newberry.

In the winter of 1918 the flu epidemic struck in the area and few people escaped its ravages, Arthur Cerwonka lost his wife and and brother and Leonard Lanus passed away, all within a few days of each other.

In 1904 some of the bigwigs in New York City, that owned automobiles decided to drive to the World's Fair, in St. Louis, over the National Trail, It was all dirt road and went through Greenup and Montrose toward Effingham. The wheels on the cars were all wood, with spokes, and they would buy three quarter inch rope and wrap around the tire and rim for traction. It worked fairly well but not in a deep mud hole. Between Montrose and the Pumping Station were some fancy mud holes that required a good team of horses to pull an old Packard through after a wet spell, I have been told that between Montrose and Teutopolis was a superior mud hole and many a car was pulled out and after it started to dry up the old lady would get the boys to carry water in there, after supper, to keep it active,

I remember once in the early days of the automobile, one of the neighbors was driving along and met one of those contraptions, his team became frightened, so the tourist was very obliging, stopped his car and got out and asked the neighbor if he could help him manage his horses. He said, "Never mind, I take care of the horses, you just take care of ma, "

Then came the tractor which began to eliminate poor old Dobbin and Molley and now the days of the work horse is almost a thing of the past. Then came the Combine to eliminate the good old days of threshing, with twelve or fifteen men and the women would have a dinner fixed fit for a king. Now one man does the work of 15 with his combine and they wonder why our employment is so great. You don^t need much under your hat to figure that one out.

I'll throw in a little joke for good measure. I went to see my best girl one Sunday evening and back in that time they sort of reckoned time with the candle. She would light the candle and it was supposed to burn until midnight before it went out. When it went out it was time to go home. About nine o'clock a cat slipped in and ate the tallow candle and beat me out of three hours of courtship, I have never liked cats since. Goodbye now, see you in church.

Compliments of Granville Kingery, by F. Holkenbrink

The writer recalls well, a large sign was placed about a quarter mile west of Montrose for the benefit of tourists coming from the west. It read Go slow see our town; Go fast see our jail. This is Montrose around 1915.

By F. Holkenbrink.

Compiled by
THE CUMBERLAND COUNTY HISTORICAL & GENEALOGICAL SOCIETIES OF ILLINOIS




Return To The Main Index Page