Knox County Illinois
Galesburg Biographies (continued)
New England was founded by men and women who had left for conscience sake all that men naturally hold dear. They were, in general, a well-to-do class, and could have lived in the mother country in peace and plenty, had they been willing to have no religious convictions. But they were a strong and sturdy race, and when they had accepted the Bible as the word of God, and had seen how ritualism trampled alike on the teachings of that word and the rights of man, they resisted the authority of priest and King at cost of property, liberty, or life. The struggle which ensued ended in the planting of New England, and their ideas, after a contest of more than two hundred years, were nationalized at Appomattox Court House.
Years have brought changes; but in large measure, the men and women of our Atlantic border still retain love for the Bible, faith in popular government, and the determination to follow conscience at whatever cost, which animated their fathers. As the sons and daughters of the Puritans have moved westward through New York, Ohio, Michigan, Illinois, Iowa and still on to the “bluffs which beetle over the blue Pacific,” they have reproduced in the churches and towns which they have founded the same glorious characteristics which marked the communities on the rock-bound coast of New England.
Of this stock, in Fairlee, Orange Co, VT., on April 13, 1809, was born Royal Hammond. His father, Calvin Hammond, was a farmer, and carried in his given name a reminder of the stern and uplifting views of divine truth which his fathers and his descendants fed upon. His mother was Roxana (Field) Hammond. Of her, we know but little; but if we may judge the mother by the child, she must have been a woman of pure and devoted life. One thing we do know, that it was her hope that her son might be a minister of the Gospel.
Six years after Deacon Hammond was born his father removed to the western reserve in Ohio. He settled at Bath, a town twenty-four miles south of Cleveland, in a region called New Connecticut. This section of that State is noted for the great men it has produced, and here, in the healthful labors of the farm and the prosecution of his studies, the boy grew to manhood. People, who would name their home-land New Connecticut, would be likely to have good schools, and Mr. Hammond studied in those which were located near his Ohio home. First, in the common schools, then in Talmage Academy, he studied, and, as his health did not favor further study, he entered on his life task.
He was for a time a teacher in the public schools. While yet a young man he was superintendent of the Sabbath school and deacon of the Congregational Church in Bath. The religious element in his character, thus early evidenced, was strong until the last. He always conducted family worship, was eager for revivals, and felt all departures from Christian faith like personal injuries.
In business life, he was noted for integrity, industry, and economy—a triad of virtues often associated. In Bath he was a merchant in company with his cousin, Horatio Hammond. When he came to Illinois, with the intention of settling on a farm, he drove a flock of fifteen hundred sheep. All his movements exhibited energy and wisdom, and presaged for him a successful life.
Next to a man’s home training, perhaps to even a greater extent than that, his marriage decides his destiny. In Chesterfield, MA. lived in the early forties, Mr. Rufus Rogers and wife, Evangelia (Booth) Rogers. Into this home came six sons and two daughters, one of whom was Emeline, who afterward, for almost sixty-two years, was the comfort and inspiration of Mr. Hammonds’ life. Mr. Rogers was a carpenter and builder. In 1837 he moved to Bath, Ohio. By this circumstance these two lives were brought into contact.
Mrs. Rogers was a member of the Congregational Church in MA. Her husband united with this church in Bath. In 1837 the Rogers family moved from MA. to Ohio and on May 24, 1838, Mr. and Mrs. Hammond were married. Six years later they moved to Illinois, settling on a farm in Ontario Township, where they lived for six or seven years, when they moved to Galesburg, which was thereafter their home. In Galesburg Mr. Hammond clerked for Levi Sanderson one year. In 1851 he engaged in business for himself, carrying on the first exclusive grocery store in Galesburg. When about 65 years old he retired from active life and occupied himself with the care of his property and the religious interests of the community until his death, at nearly 90 years of age.
Mr. and Mrs. Hammond were always identified with the Congregational Church. At Bath, Ontario, and Galesburg, they were earnest and devoted adherents of this communion. But, though loyal church people, they never substituted that loyalty for fidelity to Christ, and Mr. Hammond’s later years were saddened by the inroads of worldliness in the Church he loved and served so long.
In early life, Mr. Hammond was a Whig; this led him naturally to the republican party, and in this he found his political home, until the abolition of slavery. He then wished that party to free itself from the lodge and saloon, and when it appeared hopeless to obtain such results in the part of Sumner and Lincoln, he united with the American party, and during his latter years, voted with that and the prohibition party. It was because of his interest in these two causes, opposition to lodges and saloons, that he had so deep an affection for Wheaton College, to which he left generous gifts in his will.
There was a personal element in this regard for Wheaton College also. Mr. and Mrs. Hammond were life long friends of President and Mrs. Jonathan Blanchard, and the ties of Christian love which were so strong during life have not been loosened by the departure of one and another, but still remained firm and unyielding to the last.
During the later years of his life, Mr. Hammond with his wife traveled quite extensively. They spent one winter in California, one in Florida, and a summer in Wyoming. Several times, they made journeys to Ohio and New England. The present never lost its interest to them as is the case with some elderly people; but they kept in touch with the social, religious and political world. They gave to the local churches where they worshiped, to the Sabbath school work, to the Mission Boards and to Wheaton College.
During the winter of ’98 and ’99, Mr. Hammond remained quietly at home in Galesburg. The writer saw him only a few weeks before his death. He seemed very well; but ninety years is a long march and he was weary. The prevailing disease, LaGrippe, attacked him and he had not sufficient strength left to ward it off. Very quietly and gently he passed away, while his life companion sat with aching heart and could not accompany him. Mr. and Mrs. Hammond will be tenderly remembered by all who have enjoyed their friendship.
son of Hakan Bengtson and Marta Pherson, was born in Harlunda Smaland, Sweden, Jan. 9, 1841. His father was a farmer and lived in a rural district in Sweden. Gustaf had no very marked educational advantages in his youth. He attended school in his native place until he was thirteen years old, making commendable progress in the various branches taught. He then spent five years in learning the baker’s trade, which was completed in 1860. He next received employment from the government, building bridges. He worked in its service for ten years. Then he came to America, reaching Galesburg June 23, 1869. He first worked for a year on the railroad here; then was engaged for a short time in a tannery; and lastly on a railroad in the east. In 1873 he returned to Galesburg and embarked in the bakery business. He continued in this occupation until 1892, when he sold out, and lived a life of retirement and ease. In July, 1898, he embarked again in the bakery business, in which he is now engaged.
Mr. Hawkinson has lived a busy life, and in business, has been uniformly successful. His first venture in the bakery extended through more than twenty years, and he built up one of the largest and most flourishing establishments in the city. He has always striven to make his enterprise worthy of praise. He is a thoroughgoing man in everything to which he turns his hand. He is intelligent, a great reader, and entertains clear and decisive views on questions of government, religion, and philosophy. He is temperate and calm in his judgments, and is not easily driven from his positions when once taken. He is honest in his dealings with men and upright in his daily walk and conversation.
Mr. Hawkinson has never held or sought office. He is a director in the Commercial Union Grocery, and is now a director in the Cottage City Hospital. To the latter, he has given a great deal of interest and much valuable time. His charity and benevolence are shown in the fact that he is one of the largest donors to this most important and necessary institution. He has also aided other worthy causes.
In political affiliations, he is a republican, but his partisanship is never offensive. He belongs to the party, because he believes in its principles.
Mr. Hawkinson was never married.
born in Skona, Sweden, May 7, 1837. His parents were Hawkin Anderson and Hannah Hawkinson. His father was a farmer, and as a boy Olof was employed in assisting him upon the farm. His education he received in the common schools.
In 1856, Olof emigrated to America. He landed at Boston and thence came direct to Galesburg. For seven years he labored steadily, at the end of which time he found himself, by his industry and thrift, the possessor of one thousand dollars. But his fortunes soon experienced a serious reverse; for the bank in which his money had been deposited suddenly collapsed, and the young man was left penniless. However, he was not to be daunted even by so severe a blow; he set himself more earnestly at work and gradually came to be recognized as a substantial and successful business man.
At various times Mr. Hawkinson was associated with the following firms: W. L. Roseboom and Company, broom corn, Chicago; Hawkinson and Willsie, livery; and Olof Hawkinson and Company, lumber. He was one of the organizers of the Bank of Galesburg and conducted an extensive stock-raising business in Nebraska.
In 1883 he was elected Supervisor; served as Alderman of the City of Galesburg, having been elected on the liberal ticket, and was a member of the District Fair Association. He was a member of the Order of Knights of Pythias, and was a prominent member of the Swedish-American Old Settlers’ Association.
Mr. Hawkinson always responded freely to the demands of public enterprise. At the building of the Santa Fe Railroad, he contributed liberally and assisted in raising funds. His donations in private charity have been generous, and he gave material aid to the Nebraska sufferers at critical times.
In religious belief Mr. Hawkinson was a Lutheran; in politics he was a republican.
March 22, 1862, Olof Hawkinson was married to Lousia Ericson. Six children were born to them: Emma, William, Minnie O., Henry W., Fred A., and Elmer E.
Mr. Hawkinson died March 28, 1896.
Oscar C. Housel
was born at Akron, Summit Co, OH., Sept. 10, 1855. His parents were Martin and Margaret (Viers) Housel. When a very young lad, he was dependent upon his own resources. His father died when he was three weeks old, and he was made an orphan by the death of his mother when he had reached his ninth year. He received his education in the public schools, after which he found employment in a match factory at Akron for two years. He then ran an engine for a year and a half and later worked as a millwright. Although too young to participate in the Civil War, his family was well represented at the front, three brothers and two brothers-in-law serving in the Union Army.
In 1877, Mr. Housel removed from Akron to Galesburg, where he lived until 1880, when he went to Peoria. In 1887-88 he lived in Altona, Knox County, IL., where he managed a farm, and in 1889, he returned to Galesburg, and entered upon his successful career as contractor and builder. Mr. Housel has built many of the finest residences and most conspicuous public buildings in Galesburg. Among the latter may be mentioned the Marquette Building, the Dick Block, the Craig and Johnson buildings on Main Street, the Central Congregational Church, the Universalist Church, the Knox Street Congregational Church, and the remodeling of the First Methodist Episcopal Church. Nor have Mr. Housel’s labors been confined to the demands upon his skill in the town where he resides. He was the builder of the annex to the County Alms House at Knoxville, and of the annex to the State Asylum for the Deaf and Dumb at Jacksonville. At present he is engaged in the erection of a Presbyterian Church at Davenport, Iowa.
Mr. Housel belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America, and is one of the Knights of Pythias. In 1878, he became a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is a republican.
June 1, 1880, Mr. Housel was married to Lenora Cummings. Her father, L. B. Cummings, was a veteran of the Mexican War, and one of the gold hunters of 1849. Upon his return from California, in 1852, he settled on a farm near Altona.
Mr. and Mrs. Housel have three children: Ralph B., Alice Maree, and John Frederic.
Reuben William Hunt
Reuben William Hunt, School Director, Alderman, member of Library Board, member of Knox County Agricultural Board,
City Treasurer, Supervisor, member of Executive Committee of Knox County, President of Republican League, was born in Brooklyn, New York, June 14, 1827. He was the son of Jeremiah North and Elizabeth (Manley) Hunt.
His father, the fourth child in a family of thirteen, was born in Trenton, New Jersey, in 1803. Considering the condition of the schools in that early day, he obtained a good practical education, and was well fitted to enter upon the active duties of life. At different times, he became a grocer, school teacher, farmer, and nurseryman. He engaged in business in Brooklyn and other places in the vicinity of New York City, and about this time, married Elizabeth Manley, daughter of Robert Manley, a minister of the Dutch Reformed Church. In 1833, unattended, he came West and opened a store in Chicago. The next year he settled in Naperville, Illinois, and sent for his family.
Young Reuben Hunt did not have the advantages of a college education, but he drank deeply at the Pierian fountains of knowledge. He availed himself of the instruction of public and private schools, and became, through untiring energy and perseverance, a well educated man. Both he and his brother were well versed in the Latin grammar before they studied the English. Notwithstanding his fondness for Latin, he was a thoughtful reader and was well posted on the current events of the day.
In youth, he was sedate and studious, shy and retiring. He was fond of music and natural scenery -- a lover of flowers and the
song of birds. Replying to one who spoke of his strength and activity, he said, "When I was young in years, I was old, and now, when I am old in years, I am young."
Mr. Hunt came to Illinois when only seven years of age. In the Spring of 1857, he moved from Naperville to Galesburg and established a nursery and greenhouse.
In May of the following year, a severe wind and hail storm destroyed his entire nursery stock and swept away his greenhouse, leaving him much in debt. Not despairing or discouraged, both he and his faithful wife took hold with renewed energy, and finally their labors were crowned with success.
Mr. Hunt was a member of the Masonic fraternity, Vesper Lodge, A. F. & A. M., which he joined about 1876. He was a member of the Galesburg Horticultural Society and the State Society, adding much to their life and interest by his discussions and the papers that he presented and read on his practical experiments in horticulture.
Mr. Hunt was naturally a religious man. He united with the Baptist Church at Naperville in 1843. On his removal to Galesburg, both he and his wife connected themselves with the Baptists, but when the old church was divided they did not join the present organization.
Politically, he was a whig until the organization of the republican party. From that time until his death, he was an earnest republican, never opposing party measures or party methods.
He was united in marriage, November 18, 1856, to Mary (Wolcott) Hunt, his brother Robert's widow, daughter of Asa and Elizabeth (Stanton) Wolcott, who was born at Coburg, Canada, October 2, 1825. To them were born three daughters and one son, Mary Elizabeth, Julia (Rogers), Lillie, and Reuben W., Jr.
Mr. Hunt possessed many Christian graces. He was always generous and kind, aiding those around him by his counsel, and bestowing his sympathies upon the unfortunate and despairing. He was charitable and hospitable, true to his friends and ever ready to serve them. He was fond of his home and home joys, uniformly sweet-tempered and loving in his family, and thoughtful of their welfare and comfort. He was always cheerful and always had a pleasant word for every one.
He was fond of both prose and poetry and could express his thoughts clearly in either. His writings were of the incisive and laconic style, as the following extract will show: "Faith reaches, prayer opens, but purity of heart alone enters the portals of Heaven."
Mr. Hunt had two marked characteristics: honesty of purpose and purity of action. He lived the life of a Christian and died universally lamented. [Tr. by Karen Seeman]
A.M. Ph.D., son of Tyrus and Charlotte (Heck) Hurd, was born in Kemptville, Ontario, Canada, Nov. 6, 1823. His father’s ancestors came from England to Connecticut. His great-grandfather moved to Arlington, Vermont, in 1764, and about 1812, his grandfather, Phineas Hurd, moved from Vermont to Canada West, now Ontario.
His mother’s ancestors were among the 6,000 Protestants who, near the close of the seventeenth century, fled from the Rhine Palatinate to England in consequence of the religious persecutions of Louis XIV. A number of these Palatine Tentons finally formed a settlement in Ireland, where her grandmother was born in 1734. In 1758, John Wesley visited the settlement, and many of them became Methodists; her grandmother, Barbara Ruckle, and her grandfather, Paul Heck, were among the number. They, with many other “Irish Palantines” emigrated to America, landing in NY Aug. 10, 1760. There, Barbara Heck began the organization of the first Methodist service and the first Methodist Church in the New World. Her name is first on the list, and to her is given, by the entire Methodist Church of America, the exalted honor of being their spiritual mother and founder. “Wesley Chapel”, the first church structure of the denomination in the Western Hemisphere, came from the heart and head of this devoted woman. It stood on the present site of the John Street Methodist Church, New York. The family afterwards moved to the neighborhood of Troy, NY, and finally to Canada.
The early educational advantages of Albert Hurd were the customary ones of that period. He obtained a good English education in the common schools. He fitted for college, partly in the preparatory department of Victoria College at Coburg, Ontario, and partly at Ogendsburg Academy, NY. He matriculated at Middlebury College, Vermont, in 1846, and graduated in 1850. Subsequently he studied chemistry and the natural sciences at the Lawrence Scientific School of Harvard University under Professors Horsford and Louis Agassiz.
Professor Hurd, whose father was a farmer, passed his youth upon the farm at home. Like many a New England boy, he worked on the farm in the summer and attended school in the winter. He was always fond of books, and when he was 17 years of age, had read thoughtfully and lovingly much of the best English poetical literature. Before reaching the age of 16, he was the teacher of a district school near his home, and for the next five years, continued that work more or less.
For the first year after leaving college, Professor Hurd became Principal of the Vermont Literary and Scientific Institution, located at Brandon. At the end of the year, he accepted an invitation to become Tutor and Lecturer on the Natural Sciences in Knox College, Galesburg, IL. Since the fall of 1851, he has remained in this institution, pursuing the quiet and uneventful, but laborious life of a western College Professor. For three years, 1851-1854, he was Tutor and Lecturer on the Natural Sciences; for 43 years, 1854-1897, Professor of Chemistry and Natural Sciences, and from 1897 to the present time, he has held the Latin Professorship, having previously, for nearly 20 years, been the acting Professor of Latin in addition to his other duties. He says of himself, “I am not conscious of having ever deliberately chosen the profession of teaching for my life-work. I have always been of the opinion that an over-ruling Providence decided that matter for me. From boyhood, I loved books and study. The door of the teacher’s life was always open wide before me. Other doors did not invite my entrance. I merely passed through the open door and have been led along through a life of contentment and satisfaction, teaching, more or less, every year for sixty years.”
Sixty years of earnest toil with the mind of youth! Sixty years of untiring energy and labor in erecting the temple of manhood and womanhood! Sixty years in developing the latent powers of the human soul! How full of interest, how full of thought the reflection. What joys, what hopes, what ambitions were inspired during the recital of the daily lessons. How many can look back and say, the inspiration and impulse of my life-work and life-deeds were given, when receiving instruction from this teacher of sixty years’ experience. How many can say, then was opened to me my pathway of life. Truly, sixty years, as a teacher and Professor, is a holy sacrifice on the altar of devotion. It is almost impossible, in any department of labor, to accomplish a greater life-work.
As a teacher in the class room, Professor Hurd stands pre-eminent. He has but few equals. He is clear and logical in thought and _expression, and has a most incisive way of imparting instruction. His lessons are always well learned, and he never meddles with subjects that are hazy in mind or not well understood. He is positive and commanding, and no student can fail to see the lucidness of his teaching and illustrations.
As a man and citizen, he has never made himself popular by his sociability. In the broad sense, he is not social, and yet, when thoroughly acquainted, he is one of the most social of men. He is especially known for his decision of character, purity of motives, and fair-mindedness in his relation with his fellow-men. He despises all shams and detests all sycophancy and demagoguism. In a word, he is acknowledged as a man of ability, of sound learning, and as one who always acts with prudence and discretion.
Professor Hurd has always shown a commendable interest in the prosperity and welfare of this city. At the commencement of the legal existence of the Young Men’s Library Association in January, 1860, he was elected its President. After holding that office for a year, he became its Librarian and served in that capacity until April 1867, when the continued existence of the Association had become assured and it was possible to pay the Librarian a small salary.
In religious faith and belief, Professor Hurd is a Congregationalist. On his arrival here in 1851, he became a member of that Church. He never has been identified with any of the various secret or social organizations. Politically, he is a republican, believing, in the main, in republican principles and republican doctrine. Sometimes he has voted the prohibition ticket because of his life-long and earnest opposition to the use of intoxicating drinks.
He was married Jan. 11, 1855, to Eleanor Amelia Pennock, who died Aug. 11, 1895. To them were born two children: Harriet Sophia (McClure), wife of the founder of McClure’s Magazine, and Mary Charlotte, teacher of French in Knox College.
Paul Raymond Kendall
was born in Phillipston, Massachusetts, Aug 27, 1822. He was the son of Paul Raymond and Jane (Nickerson) Kendall, both of whom were natives of Massachusetts.
The Kendall family are of English descent and came to this country in 1636, settling in Woburn, MA. They are of a strong and sturdy race and are endowed with superior intellectual powers.
Paul Raymond, in his youth, had all the trials and experiences of the average New England boy. He was not born into luxury and wealth; but even in his early years, he had to do his part to earn the means of subsistence. He laid the foundation of his education by attending the district school of his native town. Having a quick mind, and naturally studious, he soon became a proficient scholar. He next entered an academy at Swanzey, N. H., where he fitted for college. He then matriculated in Norwich University, which was under the charge of General Truman B. Ransom, who fell in storming the heights of Chapultepec, Mexico, and graduated with very high honors, July 7, 1847.
Immediately after his graduation, he entered upon his life-work as an educator. He first took charge of an academy in Sharpsburg, Kentucky, where he remained about two years. In 1849, he became the Principal of the Western Liberal Institute, located at Marietta, Ohio. The success of this institution led to the founding of a similar one at Galesburg, IL, and in the autumn of 1852, Professor Kendall became its Principal. The following year, college powers were granted to it, and he became its first President. He soon conceived the idea of converting it into a real college. He stood alone. There was not a single Trustee that favored his project. In June, 1854, he invited the Rev. Dr. Weaver, who was then pastor of a church in St. Louis, to plead the cause of the prospective college before the Board of Trustees. Dr. Weaver came, and a day was spent in discussion of the subject. At last consent was given under the conditions that Professor Kendall should raise the necessary funds for an endowment and for the erection of buildings. He invited Dr. J.V. N. Standish to become the Acting President while he was in the field canvassing for funds. During his three years’ work, he secured from $60,000 to $75,000, and from the largest contributor, Benjamin Lombard, for whom the institution was named, $20,000. The college charter was secured Feb 14, 1857. No college ever had a more indomitable worker than President Kendall. His zeal always outran his execution; and yet, his execution was two-fold. Without his mighty efforts, assisted by Drs. Weaver and Standish, Lombard University would never have been. It stands today as a monument to his brain and labors.
President Kendall had not only a military education, but a heart full of patriotism. In 1861, he engaged in the volunteer recruiting service in Illinois, Kansas, and Missouri, and raised the greater part of the Eighth Kansas Infantry Volunteers, the Eighty-third, Ninety-second, and One Hundred and Second Illinois Infantry Volunteers, and the Twelfth Missouri Cavalry. In 1863, he was commissioned First Lieutenant and Quartermaster of the Twelfth Missouri Volunteer Cavalry. In 1864, he was assigned to General Hatch’s staff as Quartermaster of his division of the Army of the Tennessee. At the close of the war, he was ordered to Fort Leavenworth, as recorder of a military commission, and remained till 1866.
In 1868, he became a teacher again, taking charge of Clinton Liberal Institute in Central New York. In 1870, he was invited to the Presidency of Smithson College at Logansport, Indiana, where he remained for four years. Again, he became connected with Clinton Institute and effected its removal to Fort Plain, New York. For this institution, he raised a large fund and served one year as Professor. He then retired to private life, crowned with many honors.
Intellectually, President Kendall was a superior man. He had a diversified talent and was a superior scholar. He was known for his quickness of perception, kindness of heart, sincere affection, and true friendship. He labored for others rather than for himself and was constantly making personal sacrifices for the public good. He believed in every kind of improvement and spent his life in working for the elevation of humanity.
In 1894 he was stricken with partial paralysis, from which he never recovered. He lived with his daughter in Canton, NY, where he died April 4, 1897; in the seventy-fifth year of his age.
President Kendall was twice married. First, Nov. 6, 1847, to Abby A. Weaver, of Rockingham, VT, who died a few years later, leaving one daughter, Mrs. Abbie S. Cleveland. His second marriage was Nov. 6, 1853, to Caroline S. Woodbury, of Bethel, Vermont. Of this union three daughters were born: Marion, Flora and Gertrude. The first two are living.
William Owen Lovejoy
whose name immediately suggests relationship with one who was famous in the earlier annals of Illinois, was born near Quincy, Feb 13, 1841. His father, Jabez Lovejoy, was a farmer, and a cousin of Owen and Elijah Lovejoy. The mother of William was Catherine Waldron, a descendant of a German baronial house. In 1830, the parents removed from Schoharie Co, NY to Adams County, IL. and settled on 160 acres of land deeded to Mr. Lovejoy by his sister, the widow of General Leavenworth. When William was a boy ten years of age, his parents died, and he was sent to live with an uncle in Dutchess Co, NY. He received a common school education, and spent one term in the Oxford Academy, Oxford, CT. He afterwards took the entire four years’ Chautauqua course, in the “Pioneer” class.
William O. Lovejoy’s first employment after leaving school was as a clerk in a store at Brooklyn, NY, and later in NY City. He was afterwards employed as clerk on his uncle’s steamboat, which carried freight on the Hudson River, between Red Hook and New York. In 1862, Mr. Lovejoy returned to the old homestead in Illinois, and for several years managed the farm. In 1870, he entered the Galesburg offices of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad, as a telegraph operator. Since 1894, he has been President of the Evening Mail Publishing Company.
Mr. Lovejoy has filled important positions, including those of Town Clerk and Collector, in Honey Creek Township, Adams Co, and for nine years he has been City Assessor of Galesburg. He is a member of the Masonic Fraternity and is a Knight Templer; he also belongs to the Order of United Workmen; and to the Modern Woodmen of America. In these various organizations, he has been honored with high official work; he is Generalissimo in the Galesburg Commandery, K.T.; Secretary, Royal Arch Masons; Master Workman, A. O. U. W.; Venerable Counsel, M.W. A.; and Representative to the Grand Council in both orders.
In his religious connection, Mr. Lovejoy is a member of the Central Congregational Church of Galesburg. He has always been a republican in politics.
Sept.3, 1862, Mr. Lovejoy was married to Elizabeth A. Near, a native of Dutchess Co, NY. She is of German descent. Their only child, a son, died in infancy.
Capt. Thomas Leslie McGirr
son of Mahlon and Sarah Lodema (Barbero) McGirr, was born in Maquon, IL., Jan. 12, 1854.
His father was born in Stark Co, Ohio, afterwards moving to Washington County, and then in 1851 to Maquon. For a while, he worked at the carpenter’s trade, and later, in company with his brother, established a general store of merchandise, continuing in the business until his brother’s death in 1855. He then engaged in farming.
His mother, a native of New York, came to Illinois at a very early date, 1839.
The McGirrs are of Scotch descent. Arthur M. McGirr, Leslie’s great-grandfather, was born near Glasgow, Scotland. He was a linen draper, and on a visit to Ireland, became acquainted with Nancy McClintic, whom he married Oct. 22, 1783, in the County Tyrone. They then came to Dover, Delaware, and of their numerous family of children, the seventh, Thomas McGirr, was the grandfather of the subject of this sketch. He married Ann Wileman in Stark County, Ohio, Dec. 12, 1821. They were Quakers, and in language, simplicity of manners, and style of dress, they adhered strictly to their faith.
On account of the newness of the country and a want of proper facilities, Leslie’s educational advantages were somewhat circumscribed. He attended the public schools of several different townships and received what instruction they were able to give. Besides the branches pursued in school, he studied chemistry, physics, botany and history. He began teaching in Elba Township in Dec. 1873. Afterwards he taught in Haw Creek and Maquon townships—was principal of school at St. Augustine, taught a summer school at Greenbush, and was principal at Prairie City for several years. For some time he was a student in the college at Abingdon, but left in 1876.
After leaving college, he made a tour of some of the western states—Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri—and visited the Centennial at Philadelphia. He then became a law student under the late Judge Douglas, of the Knox County Bar, and was admitted to general practice in all the Courts of the State, Nov. 13, 1882. He first opened a law office at Maquon, and practiced there until he moved to Galesburg Aug. 4, 1887; he afterwards visited New Mexico, Arizona and Mexico.
March 14, 1891, he was elected Captain of Company C, Sixth Illinois National Guards, re-elected in March 1894, and again in March 1897.
Captain McGirr has always shown a patriotic spirit. At his country’s call, he has never hesitated or wavered. On June 10, 1894, he was ordered by the Governor to Pekin to guard and protect the town against mob violence and mob rule. He was ordered to Spring Valley, July 8, 1894, to enforce the law and maintain order against the striking miners. Here he had command of Company A, of Rock Island and Company C, of Galesburg. He also entered the United States Volunteer service in the late war with Spain and marched to the front. Sept. 1, 1899 he received notice of his appointment to a captaincy in the Fortieth Regiment, United States Volunteer Infantry, to rank from Aug. 17, 1899. The appointment was accepted by him, and he was assigned to recruiting service for his regiment on Sept. 8.
Captain McGirr has been an honored member of the following societies: Has passed through all the chairs in the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Past Grand; A.F. and A.M.; Sachem of Tribe two terms, Improved Order of Red Men; Great Keeper of the Wampum two years; and Great Sachem one term for States of Illinois, Wisconsin, and Minnesota.
Captain McGirr is a man of commanding presence and of a genial disposition. In personal relations, he is affable and agreeable, and meets all with the warmth of friendship and the impressiveness of sincerity. In his religious views, he is not connected with any organization. He believes more in good works than in creeds. He is an unwavering adherent of the republican party.
Captain McGirr was never married.
born in Oldham County, near Louisville, Jan 7, 1829. He was the son of Andrew and Elizabeth P. (Whips) Mars and was reared on a farm. His father was a farmer and a planter, and both parents died when he was quite young. After their decease, his home was with his maternal grandfather, and under his care and watchfulness, young Mars was raised to manhood.
His early educational advantages were of the poorer sort; for at that early day, the modern school system of that State was not as yet established. He attended private schools during his boyhood and became proficient in the various studies pursued. He came to Illinois when about seventeen years of age, and entered Illinois College at Jacksonville, remaining there three years. After leaving college, he went to Quincy and remained there until 1856, when he came to Galesburg. His first occupation here was in connection with a planing-mill and sash factory, in which business he was engaged for two years. Then for two years, he worked in the lumber yard of Mr. Edwin Post. In 1863 he was connected with the Revenue Department on the Mississippi and was located at Memphis, Tennessee, and served for two years, when he returned to Galesburg.
In the spring of 1865, he again entered the lumber yard of Mr. Post and served for the period of six years in the capacity of bookkeeper and salesman. At the end of this service, he purchased the lumber yard and was associated with Mr. Norman Anthony as his first partner. Afterwards, he was associated with Stanley and Hitchcock, and two or three years later, he again formed a co-partnership with Mr. Anthony, which continued for several years, or until Mr. Anthony withdrew. Then Mr. Mars took as a partner Mr. Hamilton of Chicago, and the firm was known under the name of Hamilton and Mars. This firm continued its existence until 1888, when it was dissolved by mutual consent. Since that time, Mr. Mars has carried on the business alone.
Mr. Mars has earned for himself the name of a trustworthy man. By fair dealing and strict integrity he has won the confidence of his fellow citizens. He has never sought office, but has been called to several places of public trust. He has been on the Board of Park Commissioners for fifteen years, and his knowledge in this department has made him a most valuable member. He was a member of the Public Library Board for nine years; was Treasurer of Veritas Lodge of Odd Fellows for twelve years; was Trustee of the Presbyterian Church about the same length of time; was a member of the Building Committee, when the late, new church was erected; and has served as one of the City Aldermen for two years.
Mr. Mars has lived an uneventful but industrious life. He has shown praiseworthy diligence in business and the work of his hands has been crowned with success. The essential elements of his nature can be expressed in three words—temperance, frugality, economy. He has always shown himself to be a public spirited citizen and an honest man.
Mr. Mars’ religious creed is rather broad than otherwise. From childhood, he has attended the Presbyterian Church, though not a member. His political convictions are republican. With that party he has acted since its organization. He was formerly a whig and cast his first vote for Zachary Taylor.
Mr. Mars was first married in 1852 to Louisa Barr of Quincy, IL. One daughter was born to them, Nettie L., now the wife of F. H. Holmes, of this city. His first wife died in 1864. His second marriage took place in 1873, to Elizabeth H. Smith of Wellsburg, West Virginia. To them were born three children: Katie M.; James A.; and Mary Elizabeth.
Seth Weller Mead
son of Orrin and Rhoda (Weller) Mead, was born in the town of Hinsburg, Vermont, April 13, 1835.
His father was a farmer, and it was in cultivating the sterile and unyielding soil of the home farm that Seth spent his boyhood. His mother, in the maternal line, was a direct descendant of General Green of Revolutionary fame.
Seth Mead was educated in the public schools and academies of his native State. His early life was not blessed with superior educational advantages. Like other New England boys, he worked on the farm summers and attended school winters. But he improved every opportunity and made even necessity a means of improvement. He became a teacher in the public schools, and in them took his first lessons in discipline and command. Afterwards, he became a country merchant—a line of business which he pursued for many years.
For several years his prospects for success in his native State were not bright, and he resolved to try his fortunes in the west. In 1875, he came to Illinois, and in the following year, to Galesburg. For the first five years, he was engaged as clerk in the Union Hotel and in Brown’s Hotel. In 1882, under the clerkship of Mr. A. J. Perry, he was appointed Deputy County Clerk, which office he held until the time of his death, July 10, 1898.
Mr. Mead had no great fellowship for societies, whether secret, religious, or political. When a young man at Hinsburg, Vermont, he joined the fraternity of Free Masons, but never removed his membership from that lodge. He belonged to no church; he had no creed but that of kindness and mercy towards his fellow beings. He was uncompromisingly republican and was thoroughly conversant with the party organization and party measures. He believed in right living and right doing, and lived a most exemplary life. He was known for his kindness of heart and gentleness of disposition, and possessed the innate power of drawing around him a host of friends. He was loved and beloved by all who knew him. In his daily labors, and especially in the office which he held, he was intelligent, kind, and affable; and it may be said that no Deputy County Clerk ever performed the duties of that office more acceptably than he. So conversant was he in county matters that he was regarded as an authority. He filled every station in life well, and his memory is cherished for the good he has done.
Mr. Mead was twice married. He was first married in 1851, to Celia J. Furguson. There were born to them three children, one daughter and two sons, Abbie H., Seth Earnest, and Herbert Furguson.
His second marriage was Oct. 27, 1873 to Sarah M. Gregg. The issue of this union was two children, Frank L. and Mabel L.
Charles C. Merrill
was born in Orwell, Vermont, Sept. 10, 1833. His father was Horace Merrill and his mother’s maiden name was Deborah Paine. After their marriage, they resided in Amherst, MA until about 1830, when they removed to Orwell. About the year 1836, they went west, settling in Chardon, Geauga Co, Ohio, where they continued to reside until their death. They came from good New England stock, and had all the sterling qualities of that industrious and thrifty people. In their natures, they were quiet and retiring, but were tenacious and unwavering in their religious opinions, which were Presbyterian. To their neighbors and friends, they were always kind, sympathetic, and generous, and spent their lives in doing good. The son has embalmed their memory in the following words: “A happy, well mated couple, taking great delight in each other, and rearing a large family, who will ever revere their memory. They both died at a good old age.”
C. C. Merrill’s father was the son of Captain Calvin Merrill, and was born in Amherst, MA, Aug 31, 1789. He died Sept. 6, 1873, at the advanced age of 84 years. His mother was born in Vernon, CT., Aug 31, 1788 and died in Kingsville, Ohio, Aug. 5, 1874, at the age of 86. They were married in Amherst, Oct. 19, 1809, and had nine children, four sons and five daughters. Two daughters and three sons are deceased.
C. C. Merrill received an excellent common school education at Chardon, Ohio. At fifteen years of age, he attended the Western Reserve Teachers’ Seminary at Kirtland and became well qualified to give instruction in those branches usually taught in the common schools. Mr. Merrill’s experience as a teacher is not a long one. He taught for a short time in the seminary at Kirtland, and one term in a district school.
The boyhood of Mr. Merrill was spent at the paternal homestead in Chardon, Ohio. His older sisters were teachers, and this circumstance gave him a most excellent opportunity for study, for which he had a strong desire. His father was not a man of affluence. Consequently young Merrill was obliged to “shift for himself” and earn in part his own support.
In the fall of 1853, when he was only twenty years of age, Mr. Merrill came to Illinois. He spent a few days in Galesburg with his uncle, Roswell Paine, who was one of the original Galesburg Colony. He then went to Oquawka, IL, and took a position as clerk in the store of James McKinney. He remained here from the spring of 1854 to Sept. of the same year, when he went to Greenbush, IL. Here he formed a partnership with his brother, F. H. Merrill, and Alfred Osborn in a general store, under the firm name of Merrill, Osborn and Merrill. In the fall of 1860 he came to Galesburg and was first employed as a clerk in the dry goods store of E. F. Thomas. In the fall of 1863, he engaged in the clothing business for himself, and continued in that business at the same place, 136 Main Street, for the long period of nearly thirty-six years. April 27, 1899, he disposed of his stock of goods and retired.
Honor does not always come to the deserving, or merited praise to the public benefactor. By a consistent and conscientious life, Mr. Merrill has won both praise and honor from his fellow townsmen. In 1873-4, he was elected to an aldermanship from the Second Ward of the city and served his constituents faithfully and honorably. From 1885 to 1894, he served as a member of the Board of Education, and in 1898 he was again elected, which position he still holds.
As a citizen, Mr. Merrill is a good example of a just and honorable man. He is patriotic in spirit, has great decision of character, and has always been known for his fair dealings in business. He is possessed of kindly feelings towards all, is charitable towards the failings of others, and does not believe in temporizing where principle is concerned. He has lived an upright life, faithful to duty, and his example is worthy of imitation.
Mr. Merrill joined the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1867, and has since been a reliable and consistent member. In political faith, he is a republican. He says: “I cast my first vote for John C. Fremont, in 1856. I have never changed my views, and am a firm believer in the political platform of the republican party and in William McKinley as President of the United States.”
Mr. Merrill was married Aug. 27, 1855 at North Bloomfield, Trumbull Co, Ohio to Cornelia Converse Osborn. Her father was a farmer and one of the earliest settlers in that part of Ohio. The family came from Connecticut, with ox teams, requiring many weeks to perform the journey. There were nine children. Mrs. Merrill’s brother, Dr. R. H. Osborn, now living in Detroit, Michigan, was for about forty years, the resident physician for the Hecla and Calumet Mining Company, located at Calumet, Michigan. Her older sister, Mrs. David Parscus, was for many years a prominent teacher and was the first woman elected on the Board of Education at Detroit, where she still resides.
was a prominent man in every sphere of life. He was born in Washington Co, NY, May 18, 1812. His father, whose name was also Timothy, was a farmer and a Canadian by birth. The mother’s maiden name was Rachel Curtis, a native of Washington Co, NY. Here they were married, and five sons and four daughters were born to them. At the early age of 47 years, the father died in Cayuga County, Aug. 4, 1828. The mother died in the same county at the age of 69, having outlived her husband 23 years.
Of the five sons, Timothy was the eldest. He lived at the paternal home, and was engaged in the routine of the farm until he was 16 years of age. His early educational advantages were limited; but the spirit of the boy, which is the index of the man, was shown in his ability and sound judgment to make the best use possible of the means at his command. In a scholarly sense, he was not educated; but the great lessons of experience and of life were so impressed upon him that he became better educated than many a graduate of the college.
At 23 years of age, he left Cayuga County, NY for Cass Co, Michigan, where he remained for three years. In 1838, he went to the Platte Purchase in Missouri, remaining there for five years, and then came to Warren Co, IL. Here for ten consecutive years, he was a successful farmer. Here he laid the foundation of that financial prosperity that seemed to lie along his pathway. In 1852, he removed to Galesburg and was engaged in farming, stock-raising, and trading. In 1864, he became greatly interested in the establishment of the First National Bank of Galesburg. He was the largest stockholder, and a director, from its organization until the day of his death—a period of nearly thirty years.
In whatever occupation Mr. Moshier was engaged, he was eminently successful. He seemed to possess the wizard’s power of transmuting even the clods of earth into gold. He started poor and died rich. He was a man of great natural ability and was blessed with an almost unerring judgment. He was courageous and self-poised, and was not easily betrayed into false positions. He was practically a lawyer, well versed in the intricacies of the law, and could manage cases at court shrewdly and wisely. He was a great reader, a thorough historian, and a critical scholar in the history of our country. He was a good talker, full of information, and on political history and governmental topics, could make a most effective and impressive speech.
Physically, he was a man of fine figure, tall and commanding. His manners were pleasing but not finical. He was fond of horses and was a good horseman. He sat in the saddle with stateliness and elegance, winning the admiration of every beholder. He was gentle and kind towards his fellow citizens, and a lover of friends and home. He wore the dignity of manhood, possessed unswerving honesty and integrity, and had the intellectual power and keen foresight that is necessary for a successful life.
In religion, Mr. Moshier was not narrow or bigoted. He had very decided views on religion and a future life. He did not belong to any church, but favored the Universalist faith. He gave for the support of the Gospel as he thought best. He believed that a good act was better than burnt offerings or any such sacrifice.
Mr. Moshier was naturally a politician. The political history of this country and of men was to him like the alphabet. He could repeat it without an effort. He was an ardent and staunch republican. His views of currency, tariff, and government were of the Websterian kind—a name that he held in the highest veneration. He was a party man, because he believed his party was right.
Mr. Moshier was twice married. He was married in Michigan, Nov. 7, 1837, to Sarah Garwood, daughter of William and Mary (Thatcher) Garwood. She died in Warren Co., IL., Feb. 22, 1851. There were born to them six children: Perry, who died in Michigan; David H., of Denver, Colorado; George S.; Henry Clay; Ada M., who married D. H. Pankey, of this city; and William Weston, who died in infancy.
His second marriage was at Knoxville, Dec. 27, 1854, to Adelia Gardner, daughter of Richard and Mary (Bronson) Gardner. The issue of this marriage was one daughter, Cora, who married Fred Seacord.
son of Nels and Hanna (Johnson) Bengtson, is a self-reliant and self-made man. He was born in Ebbared, Weinge Parish, Halland, Sweden, July 13, 1840.
His father lived on a small farm which he tilled, and worked also at carpentry in order to secure the necessary means of subsistence for his family. June 1854, he left Sweden for America, leaving for lack of funds the oldest son, Nels, behind, who was then fourteen years of age. Shortly after the arrival of the family in Chicago, the father and youngest son contracted the cholera, which was epidemic there, and died of that disease. His mother, with her three children, then went to Andover, Henry Co, IL., and soon after to Galesburg, where they have lived ever since.
Young Nelson had no schooling in Sweden, but he learned to read at the paternal fireside. When only eight years of age, it seemed necessary that he should earn his own living, and for that purpose he secured employment in herding stock. In that manner, he supported himself until he was fourteen. Afterwards, the burden was lighter, but no time was given him for study or recreation.
At sixteen years of age, an opportunity to go to America came to him, which he most joyfully embraced. It was here that he received his first instructions in the public schools. He arrived in America, July 15, 1856, and immediately joined the broken family of his mother, two sisters and a brother. His first work, was farming in Mercer and Henry counties, until he had earned enough to pay his fare from Sweden, which had been advanced by a friend, Bengt Nelson, to whom he yet feels indebted for his great kindness. He next found employment at the round house of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad at Galesburg, working during the summers and attending school winters. In the fall of 1860, he went into the furniture factory of Bartlett and Judson, and in the following year, he enlisted in a company of Swedish Americans, organized at Galesburg, in Aug. 1861. He served as sergeant until Mar 3, 1865, and then, for meritorious service in the field was promoted to the First Lieutenancy. He not only took part in many skirmishes, but was in the battles of Shiloh (Pittsburg Landing), siege of Corinth, and Vicksburg. He was mustered out of service, Nov. 30, 1865, arriving home in December.
He then commenced clerking in the grocery of Bancroft and Lanstrum, and also for a short time for O. T. Johnson and Brother at Altona. On Jan. 1, 1867, he started the grocery firm of Bengtson, Nelson and Company at Galesburg and soon built up a prosperous business. But owing to failing health, from the effects of his army life, he was compelled to retire from that business in Jan. 1871. From this time until Nov. 1875, he held the position of City Treasurer. Again failing health necessitated his retirement from all active duties. After recuperating, he again embarked in the mercantile business, which was continued until Oct. 1883, when he was elected secretary of the Scandinavian Mutual Aid Association.
Mr. Nelson has filled other important positions and offices, and always with great credit. He served four years as a member of the Board of Education, served seven years on the Library Board, acting as its President for one term, and as Secretary four years; has been a member of the County Board of Supervisors for many years; and is at present Chairman of the Committee on Judiciary and Clerk’s Offices in the Board; was a Director in the Cottage Hospital four years; and has also served on many committees appointed to act in the advancement of public enterprises.
Mr. Nelson’s benevolent sympathies are broad and charitable. In every worthy enterprise, he has always aided to the extent of his limited means. His ruling desire has always been to be useful; aiding those in distress, cheering and encouraging the despondent and giving counsel to those asking advice. For thirty years a wide field of work has been open to him in assisting the many emigrants coming here from the Old Country. Much he has done to initiate them into the American ways of life.
In religious faith, Mr. Nelson is Lutheran. He was confirmed by the minister of the Lutheran Church of Weinge Parish, Sweden, when fifteen years of age. He is a member of the Swedish Evangelical Lutheran Church of Galesburg, and a teacher in the Sabbath school. He has served as Trustee and Treasurer of the church for thirteen years.
In politics he is a thorough-going republican. A firm believer in republican principles, he has always taken active interest in the success and welfare of the party.
He was married May 19, 1868, to Sarah Nelson, who died Dec. 1898. To them were born two children: Arthur U., born July 29, 1869; and Edmund L., born March 1880, died in infancy.
Mrs. Nelson’s parents died in Sweden. She came to this country in 1862. All her brothers and sisters were here, and all died before her.
Peter T. Olson
was born Feb. 10, 1860, at Hastveda, Christianstads Lan, Sweden. His first impetus to his successful life work, that of builder and contractor, was his father, Trued Olson, who was a carpenter and natural mechanic, and constructed his own tools and farm implements out of wood. His mother, Kerstin Truedson Olson, was a woman of strong character, and a devoted wife and mother. Her son, Peter Olson, was a capable and ambitious boy, who saw beyond the rim of his surroundings. His duties or pastimes on the farm were not allowed to interfere with his fortunate educational advantages, and in 1875, at the age of fifteen, he graduated at the High School at Hastveda, ranking third in a class of 150 members. Thus equipped, he longed for broader fields, which seemed to him to be America, but, yielding to the solicitations of his parents, he postponed his journey to this country until May 1879.
In 1882, Mr. Olson settled in Galesburg and desiring to learn the bricklayer’s trade, entered the employ of contractor T. E. Smith, to whom he rendered faithful and efficient service until 1890. Appreciating the benefits of an independent line of work, he started in business for himself as a contracting mason and plasterer. Considering the breadth and excellence of Mr. Olson’s work, the amount accomplished by him is remarkable for a man of his years, and the city of his adoption contains many evidences of his skill. Among the buildings erected by him may be mentioned the following: The Hitchcock School building, the Commercial and Triola blocks, the Young Men’s Christian Association building, Lombard Gymnasium building, the Galesburg High School building, the Galesburg National Bank building, the Scott and Jordan block, the Bateman School building, and numerous handsome residences.
One of the fine traits of Mr. Olson’s character is his open acknowledgment and appreciation of the good work of those upon whose efficiency and co-operation he is more or less dependent. He employs only skilled labor, and pays good prices, believing that to his employees, he owes much of his success in life. The greatest good fellowship exists between employer and employees, many of whom have been with him since he started in business. Through the medium of periodicals and correspondence, Mr. Olson keeps in touch with the progress in his line in all parts of the world, and tries at all times to obtain the most convenient, substantial and artistic results.
Mr. Olson was married Nov. 1, 1888, to Caroline C. Edoff, who was born in Sweden, and came to America in early childhood. She is an exemplary wife and mother, and presides over a pleasant home on the corner of Bateman and Dudley streets. To her, Mr. Olson attributes much of his good fortune in life. Mr. and Mrs. Olson have five children: Oscar Mauritz, Agnes Mildred, Karl Natan, Helen Marie, and Earnest Joshua.
Isaac Augustus Parker
son of Isaac and Lucia (Wood) Parker was born in South Woodstock, Vermont, December 31, 1825. His grandfather, Eleazer Parker, removed from Mansfield, Connecticut, to South Woodstock, Vermont, about the year 1780, and cleared land for a farm, which remained in his possession and in that of his son for nearly a century. Records in the State Library of Connecticut show that Eleazer Parker responded to the Lexington alarm in 1775.
Mr. Parker's mother was the daughter of Joseph Wood, a revolutionary soldier, who removed from Middleborough, Massachusetts, to Woodstock, Vermont. Joseph was a direct descendant of Henry Wood, who went from England to Holland, and afterwards to Plymouth, Massachusetts. The wife of Joseph Wood was the daughter of Gershom Palmer, a descendant of Walter Palmer, who came from England and settled in Charlestown, Massachusetts, in 1629, and removed to Stonington, Connecticut, in 1652.
Mr. Parker spent his boyhood on his father's farm, assisting in cultivating it, and attending the district school in the winters. He enjoyed the advantage of a select school in the fall for two or three years. A library, to which he had access, which had been established at an early period in the village near his father's residence, was of great benefit to him, as he was fond of reading. In the Fall of 1846, he attended Black River Academy in Ludlow, Vermont, with the view of fitting for college. The next Spring, Summer and Fall, he studied Latin and Greek at an academy in Hancock, New Hampshire, devoting a large portion of his time to teaching some of the higher branches of mathematics, to which had given considerable attention, and the study of which he enjoyed. He completed fitting for college at Green Mountain Liberal Institute in South Woodstock, Vermont, and entered Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire, in the Fall of 1849, and was graduated from that institution in 1853. He was a member of the Alpha Delta Phi Society, and at graduation became a member of the Phi Beta Kappa Society.
Commencing at the age of seventeen, he taught district schools for ten successive winters. Immediately after graduating from college, he became Principal of Orleans Liberal Institute in Glover, Vermont, and held this position for more than five years. Having been elected Professor of Ancient Languages in Lombard University, in Galesburg, Illinois, in the Fall of 1858, he resigned his position in Glover and at once entered upon the duties of his professorship. He continued to discharge the duties of this professorship till 1868, when he was made Williamson Professor of Greek Language and Literature in the same institution, which position he now holds. He has, however, continued to give forty years of continuous service to Lombard University.
He receive the degree of Master of Arts from Dartmouth College in 1856, and that of Doctor of Philosophy from Buchtel College in 1892. For several years he has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Galesburg Public Library. He is a member of the Universalist Church in Galesburg.
In 1856, he was married to Sarah A. Labaree, daughter of William and Parthena (Whitmore) Labaree, of Hartland, Vermont. Mrs. Parker died in 1889. A daughter and son survived her, both of whom were graduated from Lombard University. The daughter, Izah T., died of consumption in 1891, at the age of thirty-four, having spent the last four years of her life in southern California, whither she had gone in the hope of regaining her health in the salubrious climate of that favored region. While she was there her father spent his summer vacations with her.
The son, William A., for the last seventeen years, has pursued the vocation of a civil engineer. He is now in the employ of the Union Pacific Railroad Company.
James Fulton Percy
is a physician, and was born in Bloomfield, New Jersey, March 26, 1864. His father was James Percy, who was born in Soho, New Jersey, and his mother was Sarah Ann Fulton, who was born in New York City.
Dr. Percy's ancestors are of Scotch-Irish descent. His paternal grandfather was Francis Percy, who was born in Belfast, Ireland, and his paternal grandmother was Mabel Wilson, who was born in Gatside, County of Antrim, Ireland. She was the daughter of Stafford Wilson, who was born and lived in the same place. His maternal great-grandparents were born in Ireland, and lived and died in the land of their nativity. His material grandparents were James Fulton and Mary Rogers, who were born in County Dowie, Ireland.
Dr. Percy received his early instruction in the common schools of New Jersey. On account of ill health he was sent to Minnesota at the age of fourteen, where he remained for three years. Here he availed himself of school advantages, and by his perseverance, acquired such education as to fit him for higher duties and responsibilities. He then went to New York City, and took a four-years' graded course in medical college there, when the law required only two years. By reason of the pleasant memories of his boyhood experiences and the thought of better opportunities, he returned West after graduating, and located at Mazeppa, Minnesota. Here he practiced general medicine and surgery for two years. Considering his field of operation too narrow and desiring a larger one, he came to Galesburg in February 1888. Here he found himself among strangers, having the acquaintance of but one person, the Rev. J. W. Bradshaw, pastor the "Brick Church". His fame as a physician soon spread, and to-day, he is one of the best known men in Galesburg. Besides his professional duties, he has engaged in other worthy enterprises. He called the first meeting out of which the Galesburg Cottage Hospital Association grew. It was in his Bible class in the First Congregational Church Sabbath School, that the idea of the union of the "Old First" and the First Congregational Church was first considered. It was at his house that the first meeting was called to consider the question. At this time, the plan of union was not completely accepted, on account of a previous call of the "Old First" Church to the Rev. Dr. Sherrill, which had been accepted. Soon after, these churches were united under a new name, the Central Congregational Church. Dr. Percy also interested himself in the establishment of the Congregational Church on Knox Street, which led to the organization of the Congregational Church on East Main Street.
Nor are his special labors confined wholly to church work. His surgical operations attest his knowledge and ability. He was the first surgeon in Galesburg to perform successfully an abdominal operation, which was done August 1, 1893. In order to perfect himself in the study and practice of surgery, he went, in 1896, to Europe, remaining there nearly a year. He was under the instruction of specialists, Professors Springel and Kraske, two of the best know surgeons in Germany. He then returned to Galesburg and continued the practice of his profession, which has been uniformly successful. In 1898, he was offered and accepted the chair of the Principles and Practice of Surgery and Surgical Clinics in the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Keokuk, Iowa. From time to time he has made contributions to the medical and surgical literature of the day.
Dr. Percy has not been backward in performing his duties as citizen. He is a progressive man, and has shown originality in planning and execution. He is an independent thinker and is bold in the expression of his views. He is intelligent with strongly marked characteristics, and is a better leader than follower. He is amiable in his public and private character, generous in spirit, and gentlemanly in his bearing. He believes in the elevation of humanity; is charitable and kind; and has always shown himself a public-spirited citizen. He is a republican and labors for the interest and welfare of his city and country.
Dr. Percy was married at Mazeppa, Minnesota, June 12, 1888, to Josephine L. Robinson. They are the parents of one child, Sarah Katherine.
Isaac Stiles Perkins
son of Walter and Harriet Perkins, was born in Southwick, MA, June 4, 1832. He received all the advantages of a New England farmer’s son, and obtained his early education at the public schools of his native town. He also attended the Southwick and Westfield academies. After he became of age, he resolved to seek his fortune in the great west. His first residence was at Terre Haute, Indiana, where he was employed in teaching a district school for one year. Preferring a more active life to the confinement of the schoolroom, he engaged himself as a commercial traveler for a period of five years. He then returned to Massachusetts, continuing in the same business until 1863, when he came to Jacksonville, IL., where he was connected with a hardware firm for one year.
In 1864 Mr. Perkins came to Galesburg, and was employed as the traveling salesman for George W. Brown. By the geniality of his nature and his personal address, he was peculiarly fitted for this work, and the business prospered greatly under his efforts. In a short time Mr. Brown had learned to place so much confidence in his integrity and ability, that he made him general manager of his large and increasing manufacturing interest. As head of the factory, he labored for the company for 22 years, until ill health compelled him to retire. He was instant in season in all his work. He labored not for himself, but for the great good and the best interest of his employer.
In 1880, the company was reorganized and incorporated under the firm name of George W. Brown and Company, and Mr. Perkins was elected vice-president, which position he held until his retirement. By his untiring energy and shrewd management, the patent litigation and the demand for royalties were carried through to a successful issue.
His efficiency was shown in every department in which he was engaged, and on account of the success that attended his efforts, he received the hearty commendations of his employers.
Mr. Perkins had a decided talent for business. He had quick perceptions, and his affability and gentility of manners especially fitted him to deal with men. Two characteristics were always manifested in his life and dealings with others—honesty and integrity. These shone out so conspicuously as to inspire confidence in all with whom he came in contact.
On all moral questions, Mr. Perkins was ever on the side of right. He had high ideals, and for the better in both church and state. Although he never sought or held any public office, yet he was interested in and actively identified with the affairs of the city of his adoption. For fourteen years he was a member of the city Library Board, giving his services freely without compensation. For nearly five years he was a member of the Park Commission, and his service in this capacity were always considered most valuable. He was also, for a short time, a Director in the City Hospital. In a like capacity, he served the Galesburg Printing Company. For more than twenty years he was a Director in the Second National Bank, and it may be truly said that in all these positions he was called to fill, he acquitted himself as a man of large experience and of excellent judgment. His associates always regarded him not only sociable and companionable, but of keen insight and wise in counsel.
Mr. Perkins, in his political faith, was a republican, having been identified with that party from its organization. In religious belief, he was a Congregationalist, having united with the Old First Church during the pastorate of Dr. A. R. Thain. And it may be said that during these many years of his connection, he kept the laws and ordinances blameless, and walked and demeaned himself as becomes a Christian gentleman. For several years he was a member and President of the Board of Trustees, and with the same untiring energy that was displayed in his business relations, he labored for the interests and up-building of the church.
Mr. Perkins’ father died several years ago in Massachusetts. His mother was once a member of his household, living in Galesburg, but died in Tuscola, IL, in July 1885, while visiting her son.
Mr. Perkins was married in Westfield, MA., July 31, 1866 to Miss Eliza Clark, who was a graduate of the State Normal School and a teacher in the public schools of her native state for several years. To them were born, in Galesburg, Nov. 24, 1873, one son, Clayton Clark Perkins.
Mr. Perkins died in Galesburg on the 21st day of April, 1898.
Henry M. Robbins
son of Cyrus and Polly Maria Robbins, was born in Sparta Township, Knox Co, IL., Aug. 28, 1842. His parents, actuated by a sincere missionary motive, left their home in Eastern New York and came in 1836 to this western country, which was then almost a wilderness. Their children, growing up in such an atmosphere of self-sacrifice and devotion, became men and women of faith and unselfishness.
Henry’s first months in school were in an old shop on the Churchill place, West Main Street, Galesburg, and in the Robbins District School in Sparta Township. Here Miss Mary Allen West, who was prepared for Knox College, but who was too young to be admitted, was spending the waiting time in teaching. Later, Mr. Robbins attended Knox College for several years, and afterwards Bryant and Stratton’s Commercial College in Chicago.
In early manhood, the spirit of adventure took possession of him and he left the farm and went to California and Idaho, by way of New York and the Isthmus, where he spent some time in mining, prospecting and teaching. Some of his prospecting trips took him for months into the wildest portions of the west. But the unsettled condition of the country was not congenial to him, and he decided to return east. There was no railroad in that section of the country, the Union Pacific reaching only to the Missouri River, and the journey was a dangerous one. Mr. Robbins started with only one companion, but was soon joined by others until there was a company of about 100. In those days whole trains of travelers were sometimes annihilated, and they saw along their route traces of ruined goods, and sometimes the dead bodies of men. He returned to Knox County in December 1865, and settled on the old homestead in Sparta Township. In 1888 he came to Galesburg.
In early life Mr. Robbins united with the Baptist Church in Ontario Township, but later became a member of the Advent Christian Church.
In politics he was for many years a firm republican, but when that party would not declare itself against the liquor traffic, he voted with the prohibition party as a protest, hoping that the republican party would embody the issue in its platform.
In 1867 Mr. Robbins was married to Louisa Babcock, daughter of Ransom and Mary (Miller) Babcock, who were among the earliest settlers of “Old Henderson”. Three children were born to them: Jennie M., wife of W. T. Smith; Mary M.; and Frances Zilpha. Jennie and Mary are students at Knox College.
Mr. Robbins is Treasurer of the Galesburg Brick and Terra Cotta Company. He has served for two years as Supervisor for the City of Galesburg. He is an upright man, a fearless citizen, and enjoys the confidence and respect of all who know him.
born in Whittington, Northumberland Co, England, March 5, 1827. His father, John Robson, was a farmer and raiser of stock. His mother, Mary (Brown) Robson, was of Scotch descent. He received his education in the English common schools, and spent his youth upon the farm. As a young man, he found employment for a time in a railroad office in the vicinity of his birthplace; but in 1850 he came to America and settled in Knox County, not far from Galesburg. Two brothers, Robert and William, joined him here in the spring of 1851, and together they purchased land and engaged in farming. Three years later, John bought a farm for himself, just north of Henderson, where he continued to reside until his removal to Galesburg in 1889. This farm is still the property of Mr. Robson. As an agriculturist, Mr. Robson has met with notable success, and, like his brother Richard, has conducted his operations on a generous scale. For many years he has been a prominent stockman, buying, feeding, and shipping cattle for the Chicago market.
Lack of time and taste have kept Mr. Robson from an active participation in politics. He is an independent republican, and was elected County Supervisor in 1873.
He is a stockholder in the Galesburg National Bank, and is President of the Glenwood Ice Company. He is a member of the Business Men’s Association of Galesburg. He is an attendant on the services of the Congregational Church.
In Oct. 1873, Mr. Robson was married to Pamela Davis. They have no children living.
will ever be remembered by the citizens of Galesburg as a kind hearted and true man. He never sought popularity or the applause of the multitude, and yet, by virtue of his genial character, he was a popular man. He was a native of Vermont, and was born in Rockingham, April 30, 1813. His boyhood was spent on a farm and his education was obtained at the district school. He was well informed, as he had been a student, more or less, all his life. In business affairs, he always showed great acumen and was blessed with a keen insight and a sound judgment. When only nineteen years of age, he went to Philadelphia and was engaged in mercantile pursuits. He traveled through the Southern States for a large publishing house for a period of nearly five years. In the Spring of 1837, he came West with Mr. Robert Wiley, as a traveling companion. Their route was by way of Buffalo, across Lake Erie to Detroit. At this place they purchased a horse and carriage, making their journey across the country to Chicago, and thence to Winchester, Illinois.
Mr. Sanborn remained at Winchester for a few months, then went to Brimfield, Peoria County, and purchased a farm, where he was engaged in agricultural pursuits until his removal to Galesburg. In 1840-41, he was elected Assessor of Peoria County, which position he filled most acceptably. In 1850, he was elected to the Legislature to represent the county of Peoria. On his removal to Galesburg in the Spring of 1851, he engaged in the mercantile business for nearly three years, until he was appointed to the office of Secretary and Treasurer of the Central Military Tract Railroad, which has now become a part of the Burlington system. Under President Pierce he was appointed Postmaster of the City of Galesburg, and in 1857-58-59, he was elected City Assessor. In 1859-60-61, he held the office of General State Agent for the Hartford Fire Insurance Company.
When the Internal Revenue Department was established during the Civil War, Mr. Sanborn was appointed Assistant United States Collector under Collector Bryant, of Princeton. But his great work was in organizing the Second National Bank of Galesburg, which stands as one of the strongest and most reliable monetary institutions of the city. Mr. Sanborn was elected its first President, which position he filled with the greatest satisfaction to stockholder and patron until his death.
Mr. Sanborn's long period of service was in connection with Lombard University. No man ever served an institution of learning more faithfully or in a kinder spirit. He was elected Trustee in June 1859, and was re-elected every year until his death, April 9, 1883. He was a member of the executive committee for twenty-four years and Treasurer of the University for twenty years. As a guardian of the college, he was a most efficient and indefatigable worker. He gave liberally of his means, and there was no enterprise entered into for its up building and advancement without his benefactions.
As a man and citizen, he was the peer of any man. His character was open and unvarnished and his manners were plain and unassuming. His kindness of heart and his charitable feelings threw a glamour around him that was pleasing and attractive to everyone. His genial look was an inspiration, and his friendly address a benediction. He was noted for his sincerity and candor, and was no patron of evil in disguise. He was a thorough student of human nature, and in his business relations knew how to deal with the foibles of men. He was sincere in his convictions, honest in his purposes, and upright in all his dealings. He was honored by all who knew him, and lived a life above reproach. Another has said, "He trod life's journey, and performed its duties well, and upon the verge of three score years and ten, laid down its burdens without the throes and agonies usually accompanying nature's dissolving ties. In his track lie no bruised or crushed hearts, no empty hand of pinched want, no imprecations from betrayed trusts".
Mr. Sanborn was a man of liberal principles and broad views, and was not hemmed in by creed or doctrine. He was a member of the Universalist Society, and was a faithful worker therein. He believed in the good and true and in a happy home for all God's children. In political faith, he was once a democrat, but in later years he was a republican. He was not a partisan, but always voted and acted for the best interest of the country.
Mr. Sanborn was married on his twenty-seventh birthday to Sophia A. Ramsey an adopted daughter of Alpheus Willard, of Brimfield, Illinois. They had had born to them five children: Ellen, the wife of Dr. George Churchill; Mary, who married J. K. Mitchell; Lelia; William D., who lives in San Francisco, and is General Western Agent of the Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad; and Lake W., who is engaged in insurance at Galesburg, and is Secretary of the Mechanics' Homestead and Loan Association.
Henry McCall Sisson
son of Pardon and Abba McCall Sisson, was born in Clinton, New York, September 29, 1829. His parents were natives of New England. They were married, September 30, 1837, in Lebanon, Connecticut, and settled in Oneida County, New York, for fifteen years, or until they came to Galesburg, Illinois in 1842. Four children were born to them: A daughter, who died about 1863; a son who died in infancy; William Pardon, now of Peoria; and Henry McCall.
The ancestral line of the Sisson family, on the mother's side, has been traced back to a very early period. Its length stretches through thirty-seven generations; to Egbert, who became King in the year 802, and was styled "Rex Anglorum" or "King of the English".
Henry's great-grandfather was Captain Veach Williams a man of considerable prominence in his day and generation, who was born in Lebanon, Connecticut, April 23, 1727. He was the same family as Ephraim Williams, founder of Williams College; and of William Williams, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, and Speaker of the Colonial Congress. Veach married Lucy, fourth daughter of William and Mary (Avery) Walworth, of Groton, Connecticut. Her family was related to Chancellor Walworth, of Saratoga, New York, and were descended from General John Humphrey, Deputy Governor of Massachusetts Bay Colony, whose wife was descended from King Egbert. The genealogy of this family presents many noted and historical names. In this country, and to some extent, in the Old World, families are so broken up by emigration, marriage, and other conditions, that it seems wonderful that so long and authentic a lineage as this of the Sisson family could be secured.
Henry M. Sisson, who stands almost at the end of this ancestral line, had, in his youth, all the educational advantages that the common schools of his native town afforded. "Multum in parvo" was his motto, and from the little offered, he possessed the spirit and ability to extract much. After leaving the common school, he entered the Clinton Grammar School, where he received thorough drill in some of the more advanced branches. After arriving in Galesburg, he continued his studies, in the district school, and afterwards, entered Knox Academy in the Fall of 1843. He recited in the college classes and made considerable proficiency in the study of Latin. But his bent of mind turned to mathematics, which was easy to him, and which he regarded as more closely connected with the business of life. When only sixteen years of age, he made such advancement as to become manager and teacher in a public school.
Mr. Sisson lived in Galesburg thirteen years, and in the Summer of 1855, removed to his farm in Henderson Township. He has been engaged in agricultural pursuits and fine stock raising from that time to the present, and has been entirely successful. As a stock raiser and a judge of fine stock, he is regarded as an authority and his reputation in that line extends far and wide.
Mr. Sisson has the confidence of his fellow citizens, and has been called to many places of public trust. He was first elected Supervisor from Henderson Township in 1869; again in 1876, 1877, 1878, then in 1885, holding the office thereafter for eleven consecutive years. He has been a School Trustee; member of the County Agricultural Board; President of the Farmers' Institute; Road Commissioner; member of the Farmers' Congress, for the World's Fair; delegate to the Farmers' National Congress, held at Fort Worth in 1898; President of the Old Settlers' Association of Knox County; President of National Poland China Swine Association; and for ten years President of American Poland China Record Company.
Mr. Sisson is a man plain in his manners, and possesses a nature free from all disguises. He is a lover of friends and home, strong in his attachments, and unyielding in his purposes and plans. He is intelligent, a great reader, and keeps himself abreast of the times. The history of the country and party politics is familiar to him, and his ability and discretion make him strong in the defense of his principles. He has always been regarded as an upright citizen, and as one worthy of confidence and trust.
In his religious creed, Mr. Sisson is broad and liberal. He believes in the religion of deeds, rather than in ritual or ceremony. He attends the Presbyterian Church. In politics, he is an uncompromising republican, and takes a deep interest in every election.
Mr. Sisson was married, December 25, 1860 to Eliza Jane Miller daughter of John and Jane A. Crane Miller, who then lived in Chicago. Ten years after the death of her mother, Mr. Miller moved to Galesburg. He was one of the early settlers of Chicago, and was elected one of the first trustees. He died in Galesburg, January 22, 1858.
The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Sisson are the following: John Miller, died December 1, 1863; Mary E., died April 4, 1863; Della Abba; Dora Eliza; Fanny Owen; Margaret Miller; Helen McCall; and Anna Miller
Arthur A. Smith
Judge Arthur A. Smith, for his sterling qualities, is entitled to the respect and veneration of every citizen. A life of duty well done is always interesting, and commands universal approbation.
Judge Smith, son of Eratus and Martha Hulick Smith, was born in Batavia, Claremont County, Ohio, May 9, 1829. His father was a New Englander by birth, a native of Rhode Island; his mother, a native of Ohio. The family removed to Illinois in the Fall of 1840, and settled upon a farm in Knox County.
Young Arthur spent his boyhood at the paternal fireside, attending school and performing the customary duties of a farmer's son. On account of the newness of the country and the unsettled condition of the schools, his early educational advantages were not the best; but he had the ability and will to make the best use possible of the means at his command, thus laying a firm foundation for his future success. After arriving in Knox County, he remained a member of his father's family until 1848, when he became a student of the Preparatory Department of Knox College, and afterwards entered college, graduating with high honors in 1853.
Immediately thereafter, he commenced the study of law under the instruction and supervision of Abraham Becker, an able practitioner of Otsego County, New York. After remaining with Mr. Becker for a year, he finished his course in the office and under the tuition of Hon. Julius Manning, of Peoria, Illinois, and was admitted to the Bar in 1855. He opened his first office in Galesburg, and continued in active practice until the breaking out of the Civil War. Inspired by a patriotic spirit, he then left home and friends for his country's service. With General A. C. Harding, of Monmouth, Illinois, he organized the Eighty-third Regiment of Illinois Infantry; General Harding being elected Colonel and Judge Smith Lieutenant Colonel. This regiment was mustered in at Monmouth, August 21, 1862, and was immediately ordered to Forts Henry and Donelson, where for a time, it performed guard duty along the Cumberland. February 3, 1863, the Confederate Generals, Forrest, Wheeler, and Wharton with 8,000 men, made an attack upon the Eighty-third Illinois, a company of the Fifth Iowa Cavalry, and a section of the guns of Flood's Battery. Colonel Harding commanded the post, and Colonel Smith the regiment.
This engagement is regarded as one of the greatest triumphs of the war. The Confederates were determined to capture Fort Donelson. They surrounded it and demanded its surrender. The little Spartan band, with heroic faith, resolved to stand their ground and die, if needs be, in their country's cause. The Confederates succeeded in capturing one gun of Flood's Battery. Colonel Smith proposed to recapture it, and with the assistance of a few men, made the attempt, but without success. The battle raged until nightfall, and this little band of patriots withstood this vastly superior force, and at last, the rebels were forced to retreat. The gunboats coming up, Colonel Smith was ordered to go aboard and direct the fire. This caused the rebels to abandon their plan of taking Fort Donelson. General Lowe, the commandant at Fort Henry, gave both Colonels Harding and Smith great praise for their bravery and meritorious conduct in this battle.
The following incident will show something of the spirit and character of Colonel Smith as a military man:
Lieutenant Gamble with six men was dispatched to guard a train going to Nashville. He was attacked by rebel guerillas, and both he and his men were captured. They were stripped of their shirts and arranged in line for the final tragedy, with this tab attached to each one: "Killed by Guerrillas." As the deadly aim was taken, Gamble made a leap for liberty and escaped. The others were butchered on the spot. This act so outraged the feelings of Colonel Smith that he issued orders that these inhuman butchers be captured, dead or alive. Subsequently, they were captured; dead.
Lieutenant Gamble reached the camp in safety. Subsequently, for meritorious service, General Harding was made a Brigadier General, and Colonel Smith was assigned to the command of the District of Tennessee with headquarters at Clarksville. This position, he held until the close of the war, when in 1865, he was mustered out and brevetted with the rank and title of Brigadier General.
With these well-earned honors, General Smith returned to his home in Galesburg; but soon thereafter left for Clarksville, Tennessee, on a business venture with W. A. Peffer, afterwards United States Senator for Kansas. In this position he did not remain long; for the passions and animosities of the Southern people had been so aroused against the North during the rebellion, that it was extremely dangerous for a Northern man to attempt to live in or pass through many sections of the South. Frequently, under the cover of night, General Smith was shot at, and he also received many threatening letters. By the advice of friends, he left Clarksville, and, in 1866, returned to Galesburg, entering again upon the practice of law, which he continued until 1867, when he was appointed by Governor Oglesby Judge of the Circuit Court to fill the unexpired term of Judge John S. Thompson. In June 1867, he was elected to the same position, and for five successive terms, he received the almost unanimous suffrages of the people for that office. For the long period of twenty-nine years, he sat on the bench as Circuit Judge, performing his duty faithfully, wisely, and justly, with few decisions of his reversed in the higher courts. On account of ill health, he resigned two years before the expiration of his last term of office.
In public and private life, Judge Smith has shown himself to be a superior man. Rigid integrity, a sound judgment, prudence, and discretion are some of the elements of his character. As a lawyer, his reputation is established for his fairness towards his opponent and for his candor in speech and argument. As a Judge, his impartiality and the justness of his decisions were the predominating characteristics. As a citizen, his views are broad, liberal, and charitable, looking towards the improvement and welfare of his city, his State, and his country. He is regarded as an upright and trustworthy citizen, and is highly honored for his services in the dark days of the rebellion, and as a Judge of the Circuit Court.
Judge Smith's religious creed is not narrow. He accords to every man the right of worship as he pleases. Early, he was a member of the Methodist Church, but in later years, he has been an attendant at the Congregational service, though not a member of that Church.
In politics, he is a staunch republican. He is a believer in party principles more than in party machinery. He was a member of the Legislature in 1861, and worked faithfully for the interests of his constituents. He is a member of the G.A.R.; member of the Loyal Legion, and has been a trustee of Knox College for more than twenty years.
Judge Smith was married in 1855 to Mary Delano whose death and the death of one child occurred the following year. He was again married, November 12, 1856, to Mary E. Benner, of Galesburg. To them were born five children: Blanche V., who is an accomplished musician, having spent five years in Europe studying music; Arthur A., an attorney-at-law; DeWitt, who is engaged in the jewelry business in Chicago; Loyal L., an attorney in Chicago; Benner X., a leading attorney in Salt Lake City, Utah.
William H. Smollinger
President of Covenant Mutual Life Association, and son of John Martin and Anna M. (Maurer) Smollinger, was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Sept. 20, 1858.
His parents were natives of Germany and were married in Wertenberg. They came to America in 1852, settling in Milwaukee, where they remained for sixteen years. They then removed in 1869 to Aurora, IL. where the father died. The father’s occupation was that of a live stock and grain dealer.
William H. received his early instruction in the excellent public schools where he lived. His first school days were spent in Aurora, IL. Afterwards he took a course of study at the North Western College at Naperville. Thus equipped, he was well fitted to enter upon the active duties of life. In February 1880, he came to Galesburg to act in the capacity of Assistant Cashier in the Covenant Mutual. In December 1882, he resigned that position to take charge of the correspondence of the Parlin and Orendorff Company, Canton, IL. He did not remain long in this position, but returned to the Covenant Mutual in August 1883. In 1889 he was elected Assistant Secretary, and in 1890 Secretary, which post he held until March 1897, when he was elected President of Covenant Mutual, which position he now holds.
Mr. Smollinger is a man highly respected by all who know him. Kind in disposition, affable in manners, learned in his profession, he has won the confidence of every one with whom he is associated. Free from all vanity and vain-gloriousness, possessed of urbanity and suavity, he addresses himself favorably to every one. He is modest, unassuming, and never, in an obnoxious way, pushes himself to the front. After the waters are stirred, he finds his opportunity and improves it with a sound judgment and keen discretion.
Mr. Smollinger has been connected with various societies. He was initiated into Veritas Lodge 478, Galesburg, Oct. 21, 1880; into the Colfax Encampment 28, in 1882; has filled all the offices in local lodges; represented the Lodge and Encampment, of which he was a member, in the State Grand Lodge and State Grand Encampment; was elected Grand Junior Warden of Grand Encampment of Illinois, November 1891; Grand Senior Warden November 1892; Grand High Priest in 1893; Grand Patriarch of the State of Illinois, Nov. 20, 1894; and Grand Representative to the Sovereign Grand Lodge, Nov. 19, 1895. He was also an active member of the Patriarch’s Millepost (Military Order of I.O.O. F.), and served for some time in the National body of that branch of the order as Adjutant General, Third Army Corps.
Mr. Smollinger has never been abroad, but he has gathered much information and broadened himself by his travels at home. He has visited every State in the Union, and has also made extensive trips into Mexico and Canada. He belongs to no church organization. His political creed is republican. He firmly believes in republican principles, and never has had a desire to affiliate with any other party.
Mr. Smollinger was never married.
John Van Ness Stand
is a lineal descendant of Captain Miles Standish, of Pilgrim fame, and was born in Woodstock, Vermont, Feb. 26, 1825. His father was John Winslow Standish, who was born in Pembroke, MA., July 19, 1785. He was a man of many virtues. He was kind, affectionate, trustful, and had a heart full of love for everyone. He possessed good natural powers of mind, and lived to his ninetieth year an exemplary and honorable life.
His mother was Caroline Williams Myrick, who was born in Woodstock, Vermont, Dec. 20, 1790. She was the daughter of Lieutenant Samuel Myrick, who served his country through the Revolutionary War. She was devoted to her family and friends, domestic in her home life, untiring in industry, frugal, discreet, intelligent, and her whole life of sacrifice and duty is stamped indelibly upon the memory of her children.
The ancestry of the Standish family reaches back to a very early period in English history. In the thirteenth century, there were two branches to the family; one called the “Standishes of Standish”, and the other the “Standishes of Duxbury Hall.” Their location was near the village of Chorley, Lancashire. The first of the name was Thurston de Standish, who was living in 1222. He had a son Ralph, who had a son Hugh. In 1306, on account of differences in religious views, one being Catholic, the other Protestant, the estate was divided: Jordan Standish becoming the proprietor of Standish, and Hugh, of Duxbury Hall. In 1677 Sir Richard Standish occupied the Duxbury estate and in 1812, it came into the possession of Sir Frank Standish. Titled nobility came into the family in the following manner: Froissart relates in his chronicles that when Richard II and Wat Tyler met, the rebel was struck from his horse by William Walworth, and then John Standish, the King’s Squire, alighted, drew his sword, and thrust it through Wat Tyler’s body. For this act he was knighted. This baronetcy, which was established in 1676, became extinct in 1812.
The history of the Standish family in America begins with Miles Standish, the great Puritan Captain, who was descended from the Standishes of Duxbury Hall. He was born about 1784 and died at Duxbury, MA., Oct. 3, 1856. He inherited in a pre-eminent degree the military qualities of his ancestors. He was the Moses of his time and led the Pilgrim Band into the “Promised Land” of Liberty. Without him, New England for a generation or two would have remained a wilderness and that little Plymouth colony would have become extinct.
Miles Standish’s first wife was Rose, a most beautiful woman. She died in about a month after landing at Plymouth. According to tradition, his second wife was Barbara, a sister to Rose. By this second marriage there were seven children. The eldest was Alexander, who built the cottage in 1666 now standing on the “Standish farm” at Duxbury. For his first wife, Alexander married Sarah, daughter of John Alden. His second wife was Desire (Sherman) Doty, by whom he had four children. Their eldest child was Thomas, who married Mary Carver. Thomas had six children, the third birth being a son whose name was Thomas, the great-grandfather of John Van Ness. This second Thomas married Martah Bisbee and had two sons, one of whom was named Hadley. Hadley married Abigail Gardner and became the father of eleven children. The third child was John Winslow, who married Caroline Williams Myrick. They had six children, the fourth birth being John Van Ness.
John Van Ness Standish belongs to the sixth generation from the Pilgrim Captain. He was not born in affluence, and consequently, has been obliged to depend upon his own exertions in the great contest of life. He received the rudiments of his education in the common schools of his native town. From these, he passed into private schools, in which he spent several terms. He next became a student, for several years, in an academy at Lebanon, New Hampshire, which would vie in thoroughness and scholarship with many of the colleges of today. Having finished here the entire course of mathematics save the Calculus, and being thoroughly prepared, he matriculated in Norwich University in 1844, and graduated as salutatorian of his class July 7, 1847. While in college, he was regarded as a most excellent scholar, and in mathematics, the leader of his class. To meet his expenses during these years of study, he taught school winters, commencing at the age of sixteen, and worked on the farm summers. He made study a business, squandered no time, and had but little leisure for recreation or games.
After leaving college, he taught a select school in Perkinsville, Vermont, and when this was closed, he became principal of a graded school in the same village. Not satisfied with the prospects in his native State, he resolved to seek his fortunes in the west. In the fall of 1850, he went to western New York and taught in the graded schools of Farmington, Bergen, Macedon, and Victor, until he was called to the Professorship of Mathematics and Astronomy in Lombard University. Rev. P. R. Kendall, a classmate, was its president, and the letter of invitation sent by him to Dr. Standish contained the following: “You and I are to build a college. I want you to take charge while I collect money.” And it may be said that Lombard University owes its existence to the labors of these two men.
On Oct. 22, 1854, Dr. Standish arrived in Galesburg, and on the following day, he entered upon his duties as Acting President and Professor of Mathematics and Astronomy. He was Acting President for three years, and the institution prospered greatly under his management. From 1854 to 1892, a period of thirty-eight years, he held his professorship. Nor was he confined to his own department. For seven or eight years, he taught the natural sciences, and if any new branch of study was introduced, Dr. Standish was elected as the teacher. A professor said to him, “You have taught the whole college curriculum.” Dr. Standish replied, “Not quite.” Counting Geometry, Calculus, Logic, Cicero, Virgil, and Livy, as distinct studies, he has taught over seventy—more perhaps than any other two professors in Galesburg.
In 1892, he was elected President of Lombard University, resigning in June, 1895. For the first seven months, he canvassed for funds, and raised by subscription forty-one thousand five hundred dollars—a larger amount than was ever raised in so short a time by any other man working in the interest of the University. The catalogues will show that during his administration, the patronage gradually increased.
Dr. Standish performed signal service for the college outside of his professorship. He planned the cabinet cases and, with the aid of Mrs. Standish, raised the money to pay for them. He raised the money and purchased the Cabinet of Corals. He obtained the Cowan collection. He secured the means to build the bookcases. He arranged and planned the shrubbery on the college campus. As another has said, “There is scarcely a place but that you see his hand.”
As a teacher, Dr. Standish had but few equals. He was original in his illustrations and methods, and cared little for the opinion of men as written in books. He was a law unto himself, and his teaching was neither by book nor by rote. He was clear, incisive, and never allowed the dullest student to pass from him without a full comprehension of the subject. Many of his pupils used to say, “I can carry away more of his instruction than that of any other teacher.” Dr. Anson L. Clark, a graduate of Lombard University in 1858, a Professor and President of Bennett Medical College in Chicago for more than a quarter century, and a member of the State Board of Health for as long a period, pays him the following tribute: “As a teacher, Professor Standish had few equals, no superiors. With the subject so completely in hand himself, it was always a wonder, how for the benefit of some dull pupil he could go over a mathematical demonstration again, again and again, without the slightest appearance of impatience. And to those observing this conflict between light and darkness, it was especially pleasing to note the kindly light of interest and satisfaction which would pass over his countenance when at last he saw that he had won, and that the problem was comprehended. He made such victories a life-work and acknowledged no defeat.”
Rev. John R. Carpenter, whose pastorate is at Rockland, Ohio, and who graduated at the University in 1887, says: “Dr. Standish was an ideal instructor. He was a man of leading characteristics, original, positive in his convictions, clear-sighted, and always worked with a definite and good object before him. He was a growing teacher, always bringing forth some new view of the truth. Those who have been students of Dr. Standish are always grateful for the privilege of sitting at the feet of one of the best instructors that his country ever produced. He would carry his pupils up to the heights and give them a view of the promised land just beyond. But when once on the heights, no true student ever came down to his old position.”
D. L. Braucher, a civil engineer and surveyor, and one of the best mathematicians ever connected with the University, gives him impressions in the following words: “Professor Standish was always thoughtful, dignified in his bearing, and anxious to make his pupils see the truth as viewed from foundation principles. He seemed more like a sympathetic companion than teacher, while we were delving for the hidden truths of higher mathematics. The more knotty the problem, the more persistent the labor, till victory perched on our banner, as she always did. Time has tinted those memories as delicately as the sunshine has painted the rainbow.”
As a scholar, Dr. Standish stands preeminent. He is really an all-round man. Not only is he well versed in the lore of books and the teachings of the schools, but he has been a great student in the broad fields of the world. He is well posted in almost every department of science, literature, and art. In criticism, he has but few equals. He excels in rhetoric and in grammatical construction in the use of words, and has been called by some scholars a dictionary man. At the Ministers’ Institutes, held in Chicago and other places, he was selected above all others as the critic for the entire sessions.
In his labors and zeal for the advancement and improvement of the common schools, he has hardly been excelled by any one. He has held teachers’ institutes, and lectured all over the State—from Jackson and Macoupin counties on the south to Lake and Jo Daviess counties on the north. He was chairman of the first meeting to establish graded schools in Galesburg, and attended other meetings held in their interest. From 1854 to 1880, he was a constant attendant at the Knox County Institute of Teachers, and was a leading member of the State Teachers’ Association. The later body, in 1859, elected him President.
Dr. Standish has been a great traveler. In company with Mrs. Standish, he has visited the old world three times—in 1879, 1882-3, and in 1891-2. With the exception of Denmark and Portugal, he has visited every country of Europe, Egypt, and the Holy Land, and Asia Minor, went to the North Cape within nineteen degrees of the North Pole, saw the midnight sun seven nights, and took a trip of a hundred miles out on the Sahara Desert. Both Dr. and Mrs. Standish have gone abroad for study, as well as pleasure. In his own country, he has visited every State in the Union excepting the Carolinas.
Both Dr. and Mrs. Standish are lovers of art. They have visited every large picture gallery in the world, and many small ones. They are conversant with the museums of Europe and have studied cathedral and park wherever they have traveled. Egypt and Assyria, Greece and Rome, have been laid under contribution, and their treasures have been spread out before them.
As a public spirited man, Dr. Standish holds a conspicuous place among his fellow citizens. He has done much to improve the city, and has given more hours of labor without compensation than any other man in it. For more than thirty years, he has made his own grounds the most attractive in the city. Another said to him, “Your handiwork is seen all over Galesburg.” He has an aesthetic nature, and is fond of mountain scenery and beauty of landscape. He is a horticulturist and for nearly ten years, was president of Knox County Agricultural Society. He was once elected a member of the Board of Education, and for many years has been a director in the Second National Bank.
As a man, Dr. Standish is kind, benevolent, and charitable, and will make sacrifices for the public good. He is open-hearted, and believes in honesty of purpose and intention. He has no use for double-minded men. In religion he is a Universalist. In politics he is a republican.
Dr. Standish was married March 24, 1859 to Harriet Augusta Kendall, daughter of Francis and Rebecca (Stowe) Kendall. She was a teacher of painting, French, and Italian in Lombard University for twelve years.
William Lucas Steele
son of William Lucas and Anna (Johnson) Steele, was born in Adams Co, Ohio, July 22, 1854. His parents were Scotch-Irish Covenanters. His father, who was a farmer, and a teacher in the winter season, died at the age of 39, when William L. was a year old.
In 1859, his mother moved with her family of three children to Randolph County in southern Illinois. In 1869 she moved to Monmouth, IL, in order to secure the educational advantages presented there for her children.
Young Steele’s elementary training was obtained at the various public schools where he lived. His ambition was to make the most of his opportunities. Even at eight years of age, he performed the ordinary work of a man on the farm. Not satisfied with merely a common school education, he entered Monmouth College and graduated in the classical course with high honors. After graduation in 1876, his first employment was teaching. He took charge of the Yates City schools in this county, remaining there for seven years, when he was elected County Superintendent. The latter office he resigned to accept the superintendency of the Galesburg City schools, which position he has held with distinguished credit since August, 1885.
At Yates City he laid the foundation for the school library, which has been flourishing for over twenty years and has at present over two thousand volumes. As County Superintendent, he wrote the first “Outlines for Ungraded Schools,” which was published by the Board of Supervisors. As City Superintendent, he has introduced “Manual Training” and “Elective Studies” for the High School.
As an educator, Professor Steele is a popular man. He is popular among his teachers and among the citizens. In the educational fraternity throughout the State, he is well and favorably known. Before the State Teacher’s Association, he has frequently been invited to read papers on educational subjects which have reflected great credit upon his ability. In every moral enterprise, he is a worker. He never has affiliated with any society, secret or otherwise, but is a firm adherent of the Presbyterian Church. He has been the secretary of its Board of Trustees for the past six years.
In his political sympathies, Professor Steele is a republican. On that ticket he was elected County Superintendent.
He was married Oct. 20, 1887, to Helen Carter Benedict, who died May 3, 1893. She had been a teacher in the city schools for three years. To them were born two daughters: Gertrude Helen, born July 27, 1889, and Helen Benedict, born Feb. 11, 1893.
Hon. Loren Stevens, son of Cassius P. and Clamentia (Smith) Stevens, was born in Westford, Vermont, May 23, 1845. His father was a farmer, whose sturdy habits were acquired and strengthened among the rocks and green hills of his native State. In early life, he joined the State Militia and attained to the rank of Major.
Young Loren passed his childhood and his youth at home on his father’s farm. He was helper in the fields, when not attending school. His early educational advantages were not the best, but he was possessed of a spirit and disposition for improving all his opportunities. At the common schools in Essex, Vermont, to which town his parents removed when he was three years old, he acquired his early education. At the age of fourteen, he attended the Essex Academy, and subsequently, at the age of eighteen, took a course in Bryant and Stratton’s Business College in Burlington, Vermont.
After leaving home at the age of seventeen he spent the first eight months in driving a team for a manufacturing establishment. Afterwards, he was a brakeman on the Central Vermont Railroad, and while so employed, met with an accident, which incapacitated him for work. During the period of convalescence, he attended the Business College at Burlington and after completing the course, was employed as a teacher in the same institution for a year and a half.
Not satisfied with the business opportunities presented to young men in Vermont, he left on November 12, 1865, for the West. He came directly to Cleveland, Ohio, and remained there and in Bedford, Ohio, until the following Spring, when he came to Galesburg, Illinois, arriving on May 25, 1866.
He was first employed in the office of George W. Brown, where he remained for one year. He then went into the office of B. Lombard, Jr. remaining for two years. He next returned to the office of George W. Brown, remaining there for the long period of seventeen years, when he tendered his resignation as Secretary, July 1, 1886. During the next ten years, he devoted his time to his personal affairs and to buying and selling real estate. On June 1, 1896 he assumed the duties as Cashier of the First National Bank of Galesburg, which position he now holds.
Mr. Stevens has won for himself a good degree of popularity and is highly esteemed by his fellow-citizens. He was elected Mayor of Galesburg on the Citizen’s ticket and held the office for two years. He is also a member of the City Park Commission and still holds that position.
Mr. Stevens is a public spirited man, and is ever ready to aid any enterprise that will be of benefit to the city. He has taken great interest in the establishment and management of the Galesburg Hospital. He was elected one of the first trustees and still holds that position. He is also Secretary, Treasurer, and Director of the Galesburg Electric Motor and Power Company; was a charter member of the Galesburg Club; was one term a director of the same, and has always retained his membership.
Mr. Stevens has traveled quite extensively in his native land, having visited thirty-six States and territories and taken trips into Canada and Mexico. By these travels, he has become well acquainted with the industries of his own country and has enlarged materially the sphere of his knowledge. Moreover, in his charitable gifts, he has been liberal as the Hospital, Y.M.C.A., Dorcas Society, and Universalist Church will testify.
Mr. Stevens is well informed and industrious. His manners are frank and simple, and his actions are courteous towards every one. His record is that of a faithful, conscientious, and patriotic citizen.
In his religious views, he is liberal, not bound by creed or ritual. He attends the Universalist Church, but is not a member. In politics, he is a republican. He is not a politician, but an earnest believer in the principles of that party.
He was married May 25, 1870 to Lizzie C. Simmons, a native of New York State. To them was born, December 11, 1876, one daughter Ethel; died August 30, 1877.
Mary Evelyn Strong
Mary Evelyn Strong, Principal of the Galesburg Kindergarten Normal School, was born at Glens Falls, New York, February 14, 1854. Her parents, Ira Harrington and Mary Ann (Holt) Strong, were natives of New York, spending the larger part of their lives in Glens Falls. They were a frugal and industrious people, and brought up their children in the strict rules of morality and right living. They came to Galesburg, Illinois when Mary Evelyn was only three years old. In the Spring of 1861, the mother was left a widow without means and with the care of five children. She was a frail woman with great energy, which enabled her to support her family. The children’s success is largely due to the tender care of early training of the mother.
Miss Strong, when only six years of age, met with an accident which disabled her. Consequently she was never able to attend school. She had, however, excellent teachers at home and learned much from the open book of nature. Every bud and flower, bird and insect and sparkling dew drop had an attraction for her. She saw in them God’s handiwork.
Though an invalid, her childhood was a very happy one. Her waking hours were spent in reading the instructive books furnished her by loving friends. Much time was spent with pets; and the raising and care of chickens was a pleasant pastime. She engaged too in rifle practice and became an expert marksman. Her skill was never exercised in taking life; for her humane feelings were too sensitive to kill the innocent beings that God has made.
Her love for teaching was an inborn passion, and when only a child, she gathered children about her to instruct. At the age of twelve, she taught Bible stories to the children of the neighborhood on Sabbath afternoons. The numbers increased until her home was not large enough to accommodate them, and finally this school was made a part of the City Mission School. Her first real teaching, however, began when she was fourteen. It was a private school, which she taught for two years. On account of ill health, this was discontinued. She still pursued her studies, and in order to obtain the necessary books, she engaged in embroidering and similar work, as this could be done in a reclining position. Soon, however, she was sent to the National Surgical Institute at Indianapolis, for surgical treatment and while there, she took a six year’s course in Miss Alice Chapin’s Training School for Kindergartners, spending part of the time in her school and part of the time teaching at home.
Miss Strong’s first kindergarten was begun in her mother’s dining room, in the Spring of 1879. In the Fall of that year, a pony and basket phaeton was secured to bring the children from different parts of town. This conveyance was nick-named the “Kindergarten Clothes Basket.”
In the Fall of 1880, Miss Strong’s mother moved to Creston, Iowa making it necessary to find other quarters for the school. Rooms were obtained over O. T. Johnson’s store; but Main Street was found to be an undesirable place for little children. Then apartments were obtained over the old fire-engine house on Prairie Street, which proved to be less desirable. All this time the kindergarten was making friends, and among whom was the Rev. Dr. Thain, pastor of the “Old First Church”. It was he that secured for the school the First Church Chapel, where it remained for six years. From this time, may be dated the kindergarten’s real success and recognition as a school.
In 1885, Miss Strong first began the training of public school teachers, who wished to use kindergarten methods in their work. Having never attended the public schools, she found that her lack of knowledge concerning grade work would be a barrier to her success. So she closed her school at the end of the Winter’s term, in order to study the common school system. She took an agency in Iowa, canvassing half a day and visiting school the other half, until she became thoroughly acquainted with common school methods. She says: “This trip proved to be financially so successful that my friends urged me to give up teaching and accept a permanent position offered me by the firm for which I worked. I had no such thought, how ever, and September found me again in the schoolroom, with my little ones and my first Normal School.”
In order that this school should be a success, permanent quarters must be obtained. The old Christian Church property was secured, and the church and the school occupied it in harmony for six years—Miss Strong residing in the same building.
In 1890, Miss Strong took the initiatory step to form a “free kindergarten”. A free kindergarten association was organized, composed of three members from each church in the city, and today this school is in successful operation.
Miss Strong is a living example of one who not only has pursued, but has acquired knowledge under difficulties. With poor health and for many years prostrate upon a couch of pain and extreme suffering, she has risen to a height that the physically strong might envy. In this city she has done a noble work for the cause of education, and in the hearts of the people, she is not without honor. In her work, she is thorough, and never attempts to give instruction on subjects in which she is not well versed. She is gentle and kind, and her moral influence over children and others is great and of a highly exalted kind. In the cause of temperance, she has labored, and in 1894 she was elected a member of the Board of Education on the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union ticket, which was endorsed by the general public. She was re-elected in 1897, with no opposition, although there were four tickets in the field. In religion, she is an earnest Christian, and for many years was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, but later united with the Central Congregational Church. Her travels have been somewhat limited and connected mostly with her work as a speaker on educational subjects. For education, for morality, for temperance, she has been a faithful worker, and her reward is found in the universally expressed sentiment of all, ---”Well done, good and faithful servant.”
is a "Green Mountain Boy." He is the son of Joseph Foster and Clementine (Lyman) Tilden, and was born in Rochester, Vermont, February 14, 1830. His parents were natives of Hartford, Vermont, and were married in that town, January 16, 1828. After marriage, they lived in Rochester, until 1840, when they removed to Newbury in the same State, living there fourteen years. In April, 1854, they came to Galesburg, Illinois, where they resided until 1864. They then went to Rochester, New York , in order to make their home near a daughter who resided there. In early life, the father's occupation was that of a merchant, livestock, dealer, a wool-buyer and shipper. He was an industrious man and a good citizen.
The name Tilden is common in the Country of Kent, England. At an early date, one of the "dens" or "dales" bore this name before the period of the adoption of surnames. The name is found in the will of John Tilden, of Benenden, England, recorded September 12, 1463. He was born about the 1400. Another of the name, Joseph Tilden, was one of the merchant adventurers of London, who fitted out the Mayflower, and furnished quite a portion of the means, which enabled her passengers to found and maintain the infant settlement in America.
Nathaniel Tilden, with his wife Lydia and seven children, came over in the ship Hercules in March, 1634. On the list of passengers, his name stands first, and the first conveyance of land, recorded at Scituate in the Massachusetts Bay Colony, was made to him in 1628.
Another of the Tilden family, Stephen, married Hannah Little, of Plymouth, whose ancestors came over in the Mayflower in 1620. One of the same name, Stephen Tilden, living in Lebanon, Connecticut, in 1724, moved to Hartford, Vermont, 1767, settling near White River Junction. He purchased a proprietor's right of four hundred acres of land for two dollars and fifty cents. Afterwards, he bought for his children several other proprietor's rights.
Josiah Tilden received the customary education given in the district schools of that early day, supplemented by a course in the seminary at Newbury, Vermont. He seemed to have the ability to extract much from little, for he is a well informed and a well-educated man. After leaving school, his first occupation was clerking in the store of Freeman and Henry Keyes in Newbury, where he remained six and a half years. His work was very laborious, and his wages were small. With the greatest economy and self-denial, he scarcely saved enough to defray his expensed to Galesburg, Illinois, (a trip he had planned with a view of bettering his fortune. He came across Lake Michigan to Chicago; thence by "limited" canal to LaSalle; thence down the Illinois River to Peoria; and lastly by stage-coach to Galesburg, arriving, October, 1851, at the celebrated "Palmer House" which stood at the corner of Main and Cherry streets. After spending a little time visiting his sister, who was then Principal of the Ladies' Department of Knox College, he began to look around for employment. So poor was his success that he was on the point of returning East, when a fortunate opportunity was offered him. The Central Military Tract Railroad Company employed him to open its accounts. Before this, no books had been opened, and the papers were kept in a box in a loose condition. Thus it may be said that Colonel Tilden was the first person to open the books of what has now become the great Burlington system.
On January 6, 1852, Colonel Tilden began clerking in the store of Silas and Warren Willard, situated on the southeast corner of the "Square" and Main street. He remained with them until March, 1853, when, with David Sanborn as partner, he bought the general stock of goods of William Butcher. This store was situated two or three doors east of the Willard store, and was known from the sign over the door as "Uncle Sam." This co-partnership continued for two and a half years, when Colonel Tilden sold out to Mr. Sanborn, and built a modern building, twenty-five by sixty feet, the first store room then in Galesburg. It was the first building with large glass in the windows, four to the window, and was rendered attractive thereby. He continued in the mercantile business until the Civil War broke out, when he sold out to Warren C. Willard.
Colonel Tilden's military record is a worthy one, and he is deserving great credit for the part he took in the War of the Rebellion. He was appointed Paymaster in the United States Army, May 27, 1863. His commission bears the signatures of Abraham Lincoln, and Edwin M. Stanton as Secretary of War. Hon. Owen Lovejoy, then member of Congress from this district, was the bearer of the document to him. During his service in the army, he paid to soldiers nearly ten million dollars. Colonel Tilden was one of eight paymasters, going on the steamer Ruth, August 4, 1863, to Vicksburg, Mississippi, with two million six hundred thousand dollars, when she was set on fire by a rebel and burned with all the money. His clerk, Simeon Martin, son of Deacon Martin, of this city, was drowned with about thirty others, among who were two paymasters' clerks, who could not swim. Colonel Tilden swam ashore, saving nothing but the clothes he had on. It was midnight, and the struggle was with fire and water, and impenetrable darkness. The rebels had offered a prize for the destruction of United States boats. To counteract this, summary punishment was meted out to all when captured, which made the attempt. Without delay, a court-martial was held and the guilty one was loaded down with heavy pieces of iron, taken to the rear of the boat and commanded to swim ashore.
Colonel Tilden, during the war, had several very fortunate escapes from capture. At one time, at Springfield, Illinois, he had in the safe two hundred thousand dollars for payment to soldiers on the following day. The next morning, he was to go to the camp to disburse this money. During the night his office was broken into, and his clerks, probably chloroformed, were robbed of about three hundred dollars of their own money. Colonel Tilden says: "The largest check I ever drew was two hundred eighty thousand dollars, and many others for large amounts. I remember well, coming over from Indianapolis to Springfield one night, bringing four hundred thousand dollars in two carpet satchels, tied up with a rope. I dressed in old clothes, my clerk carrying one satchel; and I, the other, to pay soldiers mustered out, and waiting for their pay. I felt a relief when I had turned it in at the First National Bank, Springfield, to Cashier Tracy, now President of the bank.
For three years of faithful service, and it might be said, for honesty and ability, he received a commission as Lieutenant Colonel, dated April 15, 1866, and signed by Andrew Johnson, President, and Edwin M. Stanton, Secretary of War. His certificate of non-indebtedness and adjustment of accounts from the Second Comptroller of the Currency and E. B. French, Auditor, is dated, August 27, 1870.
Colonel Tilden, by his manliness and upright character, has won the respect and confidence of his fellow citizens generally. In some good degree, they have tried to repay him for his services in the field. May 6, 1867, he was appointed Deputy United States Collector by William Kellogg, Collector, for the counties of Knox, Henry, and Bureau. At the end of one year, he resigned, went to Missouri, and bought 1,525 acres of land near Carthage. In the Spring of 1870, he moved there with his family and lived for twelve years. Impressed with the duty and responsibility of educating his children, he returned to Galesburg in 1882. Since his return, he was elected Justice of the Peace in April, 1884, and has been re-elected three terms, serving in that office thirteen years. He was also Secretary and Treasurer of the Galesburg Gas Company, owning stock in the same, which he sold when he went to Missouri.
Colonel Tilden is decisive and unswerving in his political views. When in Vermont in 1851, he voted the Whig ticket. He has been identified with the republican party since its organization. He says: "I have voted that ticket first, last, and all the time." His travels in this country have been quite extensive; having visited more than twenty-five States.
Colonel Tilden is a man of great moral worth. To his convictions and to his friends, he is true as steel. Double-mindedness is no element of his character, but firmness of purpose and stableness of action are his ruling traits. He is open hearted and franks, and despises all innuendoes and deceit. He is thoroughly patriotic, and benevolent and charitable in his dealings with his fellow-men. In his church relations, he is a Congregationalist, and was one of the fifty-one persons that organized the "Brick Church" of Galesburg. He went to Boston with Warren W. Willard to invite Dr. Edward Beecher to become their pastor. In church, city, and county, h has acted a conspicuous part, and the reward that comes from duty is his.
Colon Tilden was united in marriage at Galesburg, Illinois, October 26, 1857, to Jeannette Lucretia Abbott, born in Vernon, Connecticut, June 3, 1836. The marriage ceremony was performed by the Rev. Edward Beecher, D. D. She was the daughter of Bickford and Amelia Abbott.
They have had seven children, four sons and three daughters; Emma, Edward, Alice, Jeannette, Bertrand Josiah, Joseph Abbott, Earnest Lyman, and Amelia Clementine.
Emma, Edward, and Joseph Abbott are deceased.
George Wallace Thompson
was born in the Dominion of Canada, near St. Mary's, Ontario, August 9, 1850. He is the son of Robert and Theresa (Lee) Thompson and was brought up on a farm. His parents came to Knox County in 1872, and are now living on a farm near the city of Galesburg. They were born in the northern part of England, and the father in his younger days was a stonecutter.
Judge Thompson received the customary instruction of the common school of his native town. Afterwards, he attended the grammar school at St. Mary's, working on the farm during summer. He then entered Upper Canada College at Toronto, and finally Toronto University, where he took a fully literary course. He graduated in 1874 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts, winning a scholarship every year and a gold medal at graduation. By the labors of his own hands, he earned the means, principally, to meet the expenses of his college course. He read law while a student at college, and afterwards, with William Davis in Galesburg He was admitted to the Bar in Iowa at Fort Madison in 1875 and practiced at Sibley, Iowa, for two years. In June, 1877, he came to Galesburg, and practiced uninterruptedly in the courts of Knox County and the State, until he was elected to the office of Circuit Judge.
His boyhood was passed on his father's Canada farm, which was stony and once heavily wooded. Early, he had a great fondness for books and a desire for learning. While attending the district school in winter, he borrowed books to begin the study of the classics; and while working on the farm during the day, he spend the early morning and the evening with a portion of the night in reading and study.
A chancery suit, involving his father's farm, was the immediate cause of Judge Thompson's removal from Iowa to Illinois. His first co-partnership was with Mr. Davis under the firm name of Davis and Thompson. This co-partnership was dissolved, and from 1883 to 1893, he practiced alone. Then the firm of Thompson and Shumway was established, and in 1896, that of Thompson, Shumway and Wasson. Judge Thompson remained a member of this firm until June, 1897, when he was elected Judge in the Ninth Judicial Circuit of Illinois, comprising the counties of Knox, Warren, Henderson, Hancock, McDonough, and Fulton.
Judge Thompson has never been an office-seeker. He has held but few offices. He was elected Alderman of the First Ward of the City of Galesburg in 1880, and held the office until 1884. He is a member of several societies and has filled important positions therein. He is a member of the Masonic Order, Odd fellows, and Knights of Pythias. He joined the Alpha Lodge of Masons in 1877, and was an officer continuously therein from 1878 to 1898. He was Worshipful Master four terms, and Eminent Commander of Galesburg Commandery the same length of time.
As a lawyer, Judge Thompson has always borne a very high reputation. His fame expanded and spread by reason of his intelligent management of cases at court, and his fair treatment of witnesses on the stand. He has always been sought after for his reliability and fair-mindedness and for his superior knowledge of common and statute law. As a Judge, he is known for his quickness of decision and impartiality. He is just in his citations of points of law, and has earned the respect and esteem of both counselor and jury. As a citizen, he is kind and forbearing, and is worthy of public confidence. He is charitable in speech and act, is helpful in all needed reforms and improvements, and never withholds a helping hand from the needy and suffering.
Judge Thompson is broad and liberal in his religious views. He belongs to no church, but is a regular attendant at the Baptist Church, of which his wife is a member. He is a strong republican, and has been identified with that party from the time he was old enough to cast his first vote.
He was married September 12, 1884, to Hettie Linsley, who was born at Galva, Henry County, Illinois. She is a graduate of Knox College, and was Librarian in the Galesburg Public Library five years prior to her marriage. Her father, James H. Linsley, up to 1899, was Road Master of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad. With this road, he was connected for forty-six years.
Judge and Mrs. Thompson are the parents of three children: Alma C., Ruth L., and Wallace L.
Frank David Thomson
Principal of the Galesburg High School; was born one half mile west of the Lapham bridge in Truro Township, Knox County, March 6, 1864. His parents were Presson Wheeler and Mary S. (Lapham) Thomson. They came to Illinois in 1851, soon after their marriage, and settled in Truro Township, where Mr. Thomson bought a saw mill on Spoon River in 1853. He also worked a farm; and when in the later sixties the saw mill was burned, he gave his entire attention to farming.
Mr. Thomson was born in Ohio; his family were of New England stock. One brother, David Thomson, was a general in the Civil War.
Presson Thomson was gifted with a genius for inventing; he was greatly interested in all mechanical devices, was original in his ideas and, in his inventions, was far ahead of his time. Thus he invented a cultivator, a sulky and gang plow, a road scraper, a three-horse evener, a corn-planter and checkrow with original features which are highly commended. He is also endowed with a talent for music, and plays the violin. This musical ability has been inherited in a remarkable degree by his five sons. Mr. Thomson served for several terms as Supervisor from Truro Township. Mrs. Thomson has always been entirely devoted to her family; she is a woman of rare judgment and strong personality. Mrs. Thomson’s ambition has been to see her sons well educated, and respected men.
Her father, Augustus Lapham, was of Welsh and English parentage. He was born in Rhode Island in 1806, settled in Marion County, Ohio, and then came to Illinois in 1851. He was the first Supervisor for Truro Township after Knox County adopted township organization. He had three brothers, who, like himself, were teachers; two of them had attended Yale University.
In 1874, the Thomsons removed to Canton, Illinois, and in the following year to Yates City, where they now live. Frank D. Thomson spent his boyhood upon the farm. He lived an active, outdoor life, and enjoyed nothing better than a ramble in company with his dog, or a boat-ride on the Spoon River. Like his father he too is clever and ingenious in mechanical construction. His mother’s ambition, also, had taken possession of his mind, and he was early conscious of the desire “to be somebody”—as he often heard his mother express it.
When a boy he attended the district school in Truro Township, the public schools in Canton and Yates City. During his high school course in the last named place, he studied under the principalship of Mr. W. L. Steele, now Superintendent of the Galesburg public schools. With the assistance of his brother, Leroy, Mr. Thomson was enabled to attend Knox College, receiving from that institution the degree of A. B. in 1892, and that of A. M. in 1895. When the latter degree was conferred, Mr. Thomson delivered, at the invitation of the college, the Master’s Oration. During his college course he united with the Christian Church at Galesburg. By the advice and with the material assistance of Mr. Albert J. Perry and Superintendent Steele, Mr. Thomson spent two years, 1892-4, in Baltimore at the John Hopkins University, making a special study of history, political science, economics, and sociology. While fortunate in having had the assistance of willing friends, Mr. Thomson, after all, owes the attainment of his education and his successful career largely to his own industry and pluck, for he belongs to that interesting group of young men who have a mind to help themselves and the spirit to work their way. Appreciating the conditions of his own advance, it has been his pleasure to assist in his turn the brothers who have followed in his steps.
Mr. Thomson’s professional success has been rapid. He had charge of the village school at Douglas for three years; of the Yates City High School for two years, 1889-91, although he gained his first experience in teaching, as “Master” in the district school at Arkansas Corners, Truro Township, several years before. During the school year 1894-5, he was principal of the Sumner School in Peoria, and then was called to the Principal-ship of the Galesburg High School, a position which he has held ever since.
On his coming to Galesburg the “elective system” was introduced into the high school and his work, together with that of an efficient corps of assistants, has been to show that this system can be effectively operated in the high school. His idea in education has been that the school should be of the greatest service to the greatest number, and that the “elective system” when properly handled, produces that result by adapting the school more easily to the needs of individuals who need the most help. Owing largely to the success of this plan the school has increased in number from 214 in 1895 to 495 in 1899. Mr. Thomson has been successful as an instructor and as an executive, and by both teachers and pupils is held in high esteem. For a number of years he has been employed as a teacher in summer institutes. He takes a just pride in the spirit of the institution in which he works.
Joseph Tonello, pastor of Saint Patrick’s Church, Galesburg, commands the eminent respect of all who know him as a priest and as a citizen. He was born in Turin, Italy, March 16, 1851. His parents were Michael and Laura Gingia Tonello. His father carried on the business of a contractor. Both parents were lovers of art and were especially proficient in music. They were exemplary Catholics, and it is told of Laura Tonello that she was able to repeat in both Italian and Latin all the Psalms, a great part of the Book of Job, the whole of Ruth, the four Gospels, and some of the Epistles of Saint Paul, besides other portions of the sacred writings. Of the earlier ancestry, the majority had followed a military career, both grandfathers served under Napoleon I., and one participated in the fateful campaign against Russia. Besides the soldiers, however, this family had produced several magistrates and artists, one of whom, La Tonello, was a famous soprano in her time. One of his relatives was the well known Italian diplomat, Michael Tonello, who was commissioned by the Italian Government to negotiate with Pope Pius IX for the unity of Italy.
The childhood of Joseph Tonello was spent for the most part at home, during the winters in town, during the summers among the Alps of Switzerland and Northern Italy. His association was with artists and with those of artistic tastes. His own favorite recreation, even as a boy, was drawing and music. Before the time came for military service, he attended the Gymnastic and Military School for seven years. His school training began with the Society of Christian Brothers, at the age of six. At nine he entered the public gymnasium at Turin, and after completing the five year’s course required in that institution, was admitted to the Lyceum, or College. He later became a student in the University of Turin, where he specialized in mathematics and architecture. Following his course in the university, he traveled and studied in Switzerland, applying himself now more directly to the classics, to philosophy and modern languages. He finally became a student of theology and a member of the Order of Charity. In 1878, Father Tonello was ordained a priest and settled at Domodossola. In 1879, he was made Vice Rector in the college at that place, teaching various branches until his departure for this country in 1892. Upon his arrival in America, Father Tonello was employed for a time in missionary work among the poor miners; but in October, 1893, he was appointed to the charge of Saint Patrick’s, where he has since remained.
In musical circles, Father Tonello fills a conspicuous place. Some of his artist friends of early days, now famous in their profession have been brought to Galesburg because of his presence in that city. He is himself a musician of acknowledged talent, and among his numerous compositions, one in particular, “Cuba’s Dream”, has achieved widespread fame.
John James Tunnicliff
Hon. John James Tunnicliff, lawyer, son of Nelson and Mary (Smith) Tunnicliff, was born in Penn Yan, Yates County, New York, March 17, 1841. His father was a merchant and son of John Tunnicliff, who was one of the early settlers of Herkimer County, New York.
The educational advantages of Mr. Tunnicliff were of the better kind. After receiving the rudiments of his education in the public schools of his native town, he was placed under competent instructors and fitted for a more advanced course of study. He entered Hamilton College, located at Clinton, Oneida County, New York, and graduated with high honors in 1863. Immediately after graduation, he took a course in the Albany Law School and was admitted to the Bar in 1864. He then came West and entered the office of Judge D. G. Tunnicliff at Macomb, Illinois, where he remained until he came to Galesburg in September, 1865. His first partnership here, in the practice of law, was with the late Thomas G. Frost, one of the leading lawyers of the State, under the firm name of Frost and Tunnicliff. This partnership continued until 1871, when it was dissolved by the removal of Mr. Frost to Chicago. This firm had a large and extensive practice in the counties of Knox, Warren, Henry, Mercer, and Henderson, and also had many cases in the Supreme Court of Illinois and some cases in the United States Court.
Mr. Tunnicliff has been called to positions of honor and trust, which is an evidence of the confidence of the people in his ability and integrity. At the general election in 1872, he was elected State’s Attorney for Knox County, and was re-elected five successive times, holding the office until 1892, a period of twenty years, and then declined a re-election. He was elected Mayor of the City of Galesburg in April 1895, and held the office until 1897.
Mr. Tunnicliff ranks high as a lawyer, and when he was State’s Attorney, he prosecuted several criminal cases of national notoriety. He prosecuted John Marion Osborn for murder, who was hanged at Knoxville, March 14, 1873---being the first and only criminal suffering capital punishment in Knox County. He also prosecuted the notorious “Frank Rand”, known as the “Bandit of the Wabash”, who was sentenced to the penitentiary at Joliet for life, where he tried to murder the Deputy Warden and afterwards hung himself in his cell.
Mr. Tunnicliff holds no official position at present. He is engaged in the practice of law—the firm name being J.J. and G. Tunnicliff.
As a citizen, he has lived a life above reproach. He is esteemed as a man of stern integrity, consistent in his views, wise and discreet in judgment. He is affable towards all, and with friends, frank and familiar, without the appearance of affectation. In religious faith, he is Presbyterian. His political creed is republican.
Mr. Tunnicliff has been twice married. He was first wedded July 4, 1866 to Catherine Ludlow Burrows, who was born at Avondale, Ohio; died April 1871. By this union, one son was born to them: Fredrick B.
He was married a second time January 23, 1873 at Saginaw, Michigan, to Margaretta Willoughby Duffield, daughter of Rev. George Duffield, D. D., late of Detroit, Michigan. To them were born three children: George Duffield, Augusta Willoughby, and John J., Jr.
John Bowen Vivion, M.D.
son of Harvey and Mildred (Ryon) Vivion, was born in Clark County, Kentucky, October 23, 1810. At eight years of age, his father's family moved to Warren County, Kentucky, where they remained for six years. Then they moved to Howard County, Missouri, where they lived until the father's dearth at the age of seventy-nine. The mother afterwards resided in Clinton County, Missouri, with her oldest son, James, and died at the advanced age of ninety-five years and four months.
The parents of Dr. Vivion were natives of Virginia, being raised on farms about forty miles from Alexandria. They moved to Clark County, Kentucky, into a region called the "Canebrakes," at a very early day, when the county was almost an unbroken wilderness. They were firm believers in the Christian religion, and were members of the Baptist Church, until that church in Missouri separated into two divisions. Then they joined the Reformed Christian Church, remaining in that faith until their deaths.
During this time, the father was the owner of ten or fifteen slaves, which were held in accordance with the institution and laws of the State in which he lived. He was ever regarded as a good citizen and a thrifty farmer. He was always charitable to the poor. The benevolent traits of his character are illustrated by the following incident: In 1822, the scarcity of corn caused great suffering among the poor. He refused to sell at the high price of a dollar a bushel, saying that what he could spare should be given to the poor.
Dr. Vivion's opportunities for education were meager, but he availed himself of all the advantages that the country schools afforded, until he was eighteen years of age. For two or three years, he was a teacher; but his intention of making medicine the professional business of his life never forsook him. During his spare hours, when teaching, he studied those branches which belong to that profession. At the age of twenty-two, at Huntsville, Missouri, he commenced the study of medicine, and for a year and a half, was under the tuition and instruction of two most excellent teachers, Doctors Head and Rutherford. He then went to Winchester, Kentucky, and for the same length of time, studied with Doctors Frasier and Vivion. During all these years, he was engaged in practice as a student, under the direction of his preceptors. Afterwards, he attended courses of lectures in the Medical Department of the Transylvania University at Lexington, Kentucky, and May 1, 1836, settled as a physician in Dover, Missouri, a profession which he has followed assiduously for sixty-three years.
Dr. Vivion's first thirty years of practice was in accordance with the rules of the allopathic system, but in 1866, he changed to the homeopathic system, being convinced of its superiority. To practice the latter system, he received a diploma from the Hahnemann Medical College and Hospital.
In 1851, Dr. Vivion moved from Dover to Waverly, Missouri, and in 1853, he purchased a farm two miles from Dover, on which he lived seven years, practicing his profession in the meantime. In 1860, he disposed of his farm and moved to College Mound near Macon City, Missouri. In 1865, he moved to Ursa, Illinois, a few miles north of Quincy, and in 1868, he came to Galesburg, where he has been an honored resident ever since.
In 1840, Dr. Vivion was elected to the Legislature on the Whig ticket, being the first successful candidate of that ticket in Lafayette County, Missouri. He did not seek the office, but the office sought him. He never has been an aspirant for political honors. After becoming a resident of Galesburg, he served as Health Commissioner for several years; was City Health Officer for two years; held the office of City Physician about five years. At a meeting of the State Medical Society, he was elected President pro tem., and by the same body, he was elected permanent President, but resigned in favor of a younger man.
In politics, Dr. Vivion was a Whig until the Whig party was disorganized in 1856. He then became affiliated with the democratic party, although not strongly a party man.
In religion, he is a member of the Christian Church, having connected himself with that church at Dover, Missouri. In the same year, 1843, he was elected Elder and ordained, and has filled that office ever since. After coming to Galesburg, he made his church home temporarily with the Baptists, until 1871. a small number of similar faith held meetings in a hall over the Second National Bank. During the Winter of the same year, services were continued in the Doctor's office in the Matthews Block. The sacrament was administered every Lord's day, and the weekly meetings were conducted with great regularity.
In the following Spring, the hall over L. B. Miller's music store on the Square was occupied, and there services were continued until a church organization was effected in February, 1872, with twenty members. Dr. Vivion filled, without compensation, the place of minister in this church nearly half the time from its organization until 1890. Since then a regular pastor has been employed. The number of church members in 1898 was two hundred and twenty.
Dr. Vivion is possessed of a deeply religious nature. His correct tastes and habits are largely due to the religious training of his parents, who required him to take the New Testament to school and read it every day. In all his long life, he never saw a moment when he doubted the truth of the Christian religion. Even when a boy of sixteen he saved a sufficient amount to purchase Buck's Theological Dictionary, the price paid being two dollars. He made good use of his opportunities, and his wisely chosen profession afforded an ample field for exercise of his powers.
Although having passed the period of life set by the psalmist, he still enjoys good health and is practicing his profession, and fills his place at church regularly.
He was united in marriage to Maria Jane Atkinson, an only child, September 26, 1836. Her family was of the Presbyterian faith, but she joined the Christian Church at the same time her husband joined. She was a kind and faithful wife, ever ministering to the wants of her family. She died August 24, 1887. Eight children were born to them, four of whom died in infancy. The names of the others are Sarah Ann Mildred, born June 15, 1839, married to T. L. Gorham; Robert, born November 10, 1848, died February 5, 1866; John G., born July 18, 1853; Edward L., born November 22, 1857.
A second marriage to Lucy Neely was contracted May 16, 1888.
Wellington W. Washburn
was born in Akron, Ohio, September 18, 1836. He father was Leander Washburn, whose occupation was that of a carpenter and builder. He was born in Kingston, Massachusetts, December 9, 1811, and died in Galesburg in 1881. His boyhood was spent in his father's family, almost in sight of Plymouth Rock. His father, with his family, moved to Troy, New York, when Leander was about twenty years of age. After living there about a year, they went West, setting in Akron, Ohio.
Wellington's mother was Elise Upson, who was born in Tallmadge, Summit County, Ohio, January 21, 1813, and died in Oakland, California, in 1893.
The "Washburn family," without doubt, are of English descent, as the name indicates; although tradition says that they came into England with William the Conqueror, and one of them was knighted by him, on the battlefield, for meritorious service. In Worchester and Gloucester counties, England, there are two villages know by the name of Great Washburn and Little Washburn, where the family have lived for many generations.
The "Washburn family" in America not only in numerous, but contains many distinguished men. John Washburn came to Duxbury, Massachusetts, about 1628-32. His wife Margerie came with her two sons, John and Phillip, in 1635. He is said to have been the first secretary of the Plymouth Colony Company in London in 1628-9.
John, who belonged to the second generation in the line, married Elizabeth Mitchell, whose mother was Jane Cooke, daughter of Francis Cooke, who came over in the Mayflower in 1620. He was one of the signers of the "Compact" on the deck of the vessel before landing.
The third generation contains the names of Joseph and Hannah, who married a Mr. Latham. In the fourth generation, we again find the name John with Mehitable or Lydia. In the fifth, is Jabez, who was born in 1708, and Judith, who married a Mr. Faunce. In the sixth generation is to be found Jabez and Mary, who married a Mr. Sherman. The seventh generation contains the names of Abiel and Rebecca (Adams) Washburn, the grandparents of Wellington W. Thus it appears that Wellington W. belongs to the eighth generation from John Washburn, who settled in Duxbury about 1631-2.
Wellington W. Washburn belongs to the class of self-mad men. He had the care of loving parents and attended the public schools of his native town. For a time, he pursued a course in the High School under the Principal ship of General Leggett, noted teacher. On May 3, 1852, when only sixteen years of age, he left the High School and entered a jeweler's store to learn the watchmakers' and jewelers' trade. He was under the instruction of H. S. Abbey, one of the leading jewelers of Akron. Here he remained until 1859, when he came to Galesburg, Illinois. His capital was his ability and the few tools that he brought with him. His first co-partnership was with J. K. Armstrong, from 1867 to 1872, under the firm name of Washburn and Armstrong. He continued in the jewelry business until April, 1875, when he sold out to E. W. Trask, of Aurora, Illinois, who continued it under the firm name of Trask and Gentry.
In 1877, he was elected cashier in the Second National Bank of Galesburg, remaining there until after the death of the President, David Sanborn, in 1883. He then organized the Galesburg National Bank with a capital of one hundred thousand dollars, which opened for business May 3, 1884. He was elected its first President and held that position until May, 1889, when business called him to California. He resided at Oakland until May, 1895, when he returned to Galesburg, where his home has been ever since.
The name Washburn is imperishably written in the archives and history of the nation. Two of them, Emory and William B., have been Governors of the Old Bay State. Israel was Governor of Maine. Peter T., of Woodstock, Vermont, was once Governor of that State. Elihu B., was once a Congressman from Illinois, Minister to France, and Secretary of State under President Grant. Cadwell C. was Major General in the Civil War and afterwards Governor of Wisconsin. John D. was once Speaker of the Massachusetts House of Representatives and Minister to Switzerland. William D. was United States Senator from Minnesota. Charles A. was Minister to Paraguay. Washburn Maynard, commander of the gunboat Nashville, in the son of Hon. Horace Maynard, of Tennessee, and Laura Washburn, of Randolph, Vermont. Truly, such a list of patriots and statesmen have honored the name of Washburn.
Wellington W. Washburn was shown himself to be an enterprising citizen. He has aided greatly in the improvement of Galesburg. In 1869, he built the "Washburn Block," which, at that time, was one of the best in the city. He was erected several dwelling-houses, which stand as an evidence of his enterprise. He has labored for the up building of the city, and has aided by his means in all undertakings which his judgment approved. As a man, he is social in his intercourse, kind in disposition, charitable in his relations towards his fellows, and popular in his every-day life. He has ever shown himself to be an honest, intelligent, and trustworthy citizen. His religious views are broad and without cant. He is a member of no church, but attends the Universalist. In politics, he is a republican if the party candidates for office are good men.
Mr. Washburn was married, February 9, 1876, to Margaret Lockwood, who died in June, 1883. She was born in New Albany, Indiana. Her father's family were long residents there, and were held in high esteem. By this union, one son was born to them: Fred Lockwood, born May 10, 1878.
His second marriage was December 28, 1893, to Etta P. Burrows, of Chicago
Eugene William Welch
one of the most active and industrious men of Galesburg, was born in LaSalle, LaSalle County, Illinois, October 28, 1852. He is the son of William W. and Jane (Chadwick) Welch. His father is a physician of ability, and of considerable education, acquired in the practical school of the world. In his profession, he rose to a degree of prominence after years of effort and struggle, and became also a writer of some note. When the war of the rebellion broke out, he enlisted as a surgeon of a regiment. He was promoted to be a Brigade Surgeon, then Acting Staff Surgeon of the Western District of Mississippi. He entered the volunteer service in 1861, and was mustered out in 1865.
Eugene's early education advantages were very limited. However, he made the best use possible of his opportunities, availing himself of the instruction afforded in our public schools. This preparatory training was supplemented by attendance at St. Patrick's Academy, at LaSalle, and for a short time, as an "irregular" at Knox College.
His first occupation after leaving school was teaching. He taught in the district schools of Knox County for eight consecutive winters, commencing in 1870-71, and three summer schools during this period. Being anxious to earn an honest dollar whenever possible, he worked on the farm during the interim between terms of school. Many a farmer will remember him as a faithful hand in the harvest field.
As a teacher, he held advanced and independent ideas. He believed that the teacher should conduct his school without the use of books, if required; that he should be the book and the active spirit of his school. With such views in imparting instruction, his teaching was always practical and successful.
Mr. Welch's early life was spent in LaSalle. In the latter part of 1869, he moved with his parents to Galesburg, where he has lived ever since.
He was elected City Attorney for two years, 1889-91, and re-elected for 1891-93, both times on the liberal ticket. He was elected State's Attorney for four years, 1892-96, and re-elected for four years, 1896-1900, both times on the republican ticket.
The societies with which he is connected are the following: Vesper Lodge, No. 584, A. F. and A. M., Master of the same for two years; Galesburg Lodge No. 142, I. O. of O. F., now Noble Grand, heretofore Vice Grand; Galesburg Camp, No. 667, Modern Woodmen of America, being Venerable Consul: was a member of Edvall Camp, No. 50, Sons of Veterans; member of Galesburg Club; member of the Illinois State Bar Association, and Association of State's Attorneys of Illinois.
As an attorney, Mr. Welch has been eminently successful. He stands in the front rank of his profession at Knox County bar. As State's Attorney, his work was been prosecuted conscientiously and thoroughly. The indictment is the lawyer's work, and its preparation is a safe indicator of his knowledge and ability. If there is the least flaw, the indictment is quashed. For the past six years, as State's Attorney, he has prepared 450 indictments, and the records show only two quashed. It is doubtful whether a cleaner record than this can be shown by any other State's Attorney. For the last three years, the jury, in every case, have returned the verdict, "We, the jury, find the defendant guilty."
When he was City Attorney, important improvements to the amount of $344,000 were made. Street pavements were put in and waterworks constructed. Ordinances were to be framed, contracts draw, and confirmations in courts attended to. All this work was so well done that the city was never required to pay one dollar, owing to the blunders of the City Attorney. These things speak volumes for his efficiency.
Mr. Welch has always had for his motto: "Never be idle." A kindred sentiment he has also cherished: "He who would enter through the door of success, much observe the sign, 'Push.' "
He commenced the study of law in June, 1875, and before the entire Supreme Court, in June, 1877, was admitted to the bar. He read for a short time, with the firm of Lanpher and Brown, composed of the late Judge George C. Lanpher and A. M. Brown. His reading mostly was with Douglas and Harvet, the partners being Judge Leander Douglas and Hon. Curtis K. Harvey.
Mr. Welch is a public spirited man, and is always interested in public improvements. His charity is of the kind to help those that help themselves, He is a member of the Christian Church. His political sentiments are intensely republican.
Mr. Welch was married in Galesburg, June 24, 1879, to Ida Spencer, a lady of intelligence and refinement. Of this union, four children were born: Nellie M., Frank A., Bessie S., and Sidney Post.
Lloyd Franklin Wertman
son of Elias and Mary Wertman, was born in Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, November 7, 1845.
His father was both a merchant and a farmer, being engaged in the mercantile business in the East, and giving his attention to farming after settling in Illinois. The Wertman family came to this State in the Spring of 1864, when Lloyd was 19 years of age. They moved on to a farm seven miles east of Knoxville, known then as the "Bob White" farm, when was owned by George Stevens. Here the family lived for three years, and then purchased a farm in Elba Township, where they lived until the Spring of 1879.
In the meantime, young Wertman engaged in farming for himself. In 1870, he rented lands in Elba Township of George A. Charles, and these he cultivated for three years. Then he purchased his home place, where he devoted himself to farming until the Spring of 1879. He then moved from Elba to Yates City, and was employed as a bookkeeper and salesman for one year in a co-operative store. He then formed a partnership with J. H. Nicholson and W. P. Parker in the purchase of the Farmers' Bank, Yates City, which was owned by J. M. Taylor. He was elected Cashier - a position he occupied until January, 1889. He was then elected Cashier of the Farmers' and Mechanics' Bank, Galesburg, Illinois, and served for six years. In January, 1895, he was elected Vice President of the First National Bank, serving for two years. Then in January, 1897, he was elected President of the same, which position he now holds.
Mr. Wertman has held several other offices of honor and trust. He was Township Clerk of Elba for eight years, Collector for two years, School Treasurer for four years, Supervisor of Salem Township for two years, Vice President and Director in the Galesburg Printing Company, Director in the Board of Education, and Director in the Mutual Loan and Building Association.
The life and success of Mr.Wertman should encourage every young man who may read this sketch. By probity and strict integrity, he has risen to places of honor and trust. His early educational advantages were greatly circumscribed, but he availed himself of all the opportunities the common school afforded. With this preparatory education, he completed his studies at the Academy and Missionary Institute, Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania. Thus equipped he has gone on from on position to another, and won for himself an enviable reputation.
In political faith, Mr. Wertman is a staunch republican. In religious affiliations, he is an attendant at the Presbyterian Church. He is a believer in moral and benevolent institutions of every name.
Mr. Wertman was married January 11, 1870, to Miss Isabella J. Oberholtzer whose parents settled in Knox County, in 1840. Of this union, four daughters and one son were born: Mary Estella, Martha Leora, Maud S., and Norma Blanch, now living.
Mary Allen West
Haw Creek Township; born in Indiana January 5, 1819; daughter of Joshua Gullett; educated in the common schools of Indiana; came to Knox County May 31, 1838. She was married to Samuel West , who was born in Vermont, April 25, 1807, and died in Knox County January 31, 1860. Mr. West's parents were John and Anna West of Vermont, who were of English descent; he was educated in the common schools of Vermont and Cincinnati, Ohio. His occupation was that of a sawyer and miller, and he came to Knox County May 1, 1838, and helped build the Selby saw mill on Spoon River in Haw Creek Township, Section 34, which was the first saw mill in Knox County. He later remodeled it into a grist mill, which he operated for several years. After his marriage he settled on a farm, and at the time of his death owned about three hundred and fifty acres of land. He was a good friend and neighbor, and a kind husband. He affiliated with the Presbyterian Church. In politics he was a democrat. Mr. and Mrs. West had six children: Anna; John; Elizabeth, now Mrs. McTier; Joshua; Daniel; Philemon. Anna is the wife of Rev. Newton G. Clark, who was educated in the common schools, and at Valparaiso, Indiana. They had two children, Elsie, wife of Bert Bays; and Mary L., wife of Dr. James U. Long. Mrs. West has been successful in the management of her farm.
This distinguished educator and theologian, the third son of Justin Morgan White and his wife, Lydia Eddy, was born January 25, 1835 at Wallingford, Rutland County, Vermont. His ancestors were among the earliest settlers of New England. Nicholas White, the first American of the family, was living at Dorchester, Massachusetts (now a ward of the city of Boston), in 1642. In 1653 he removed, with his family, to that part of Taunton, Massachusetts, which in 1712, became the township of Norton. Nicholas White, the grandson of the first Nicholas, was one of the most influential citizens of the province. He was an officer to the little army which took part in the series of struggles between the whites and the aborigines between 1695 and the close of Queen Anne’s War, in 1713. He was equally prominent in civil life, and was twice a representative to General Court of the colony. Philip White, grandson of Nicholas (third) was born July 28, 1734 at Norton, Massachusetts. He married Abigail Campbell, March 2, 1758. A few weeks after his nuptials he joined the army under Abercrombie. The object of the expedition was the reduction of Fort Ticonderoga, and with other Massachusetts volunteers took part in the storming of that stronghold, July 8, 1758. He was also a soldier of the Revolution and served through the campaign of 1776. His son, Nehemiah, born August 6, 1765, married Mercy Miller at Tinmouth, Vermont in 1787. The third son of this marriage, Justin Morgan White, was the father of the subject of this brief biographical memoir.
Nehemiah White received his early education in the common schools of his native town, and entered upon his life’s work as a teacher at the early age of sixteen years. In the Fall of 1852, with the design of preparing for college, he entered Green Mountain Liberal Institute, then a well attended and prosperous institution, under the charge of Dr. John Stebbins Lee. In August 1853, he entered Middlebury College and graduated in 1857. Immediately upon leaving his Alma Mater, he became Associate Principal of the Green Mountain Liberal Institute, and in April 1859, took charge of Clinton Liberal Institute, at Clinton, New York. This post he resigned at the close of the year, on account of the failing strength of his wife. In 1864 he was offered the position of Assistant Principal of Pulaski Academy at Pulaski, New York, and on the resignation of the Principal, was made executive head of the school.
In 1865 he accepted the Professorship of Mathematics in Saint Lawrence University at Canton, New York. The funds of the young college were at that time very meager and the instructors few in numbers, so that the range of his teaching (or of what he tried to teach) was correspondingly wide. He not only gave instructions in the various branches of mathematics, but also in natural science and the modern languages. Here, however, he first enjoyed the advantages of a good library. Through the munificence of Mr. Herring, of New York City, the valuable collection of books gathered by Dr. Credner, an eminent Biblical critic, was presented to the University. Mr. White became greatly interested in patristic literature, began the study of Sanserit, enlarged his knowledge of the Gothic tongues, and earnestly sought to lay the foundations of a broader culture. He resigned his professorship in 1871.
In 1872 the chair of Ancient Languages was tendered by the Trustees of Buchtel College, at Akron, Ohio. This institution bears the name of its founder, Mr. John R. Buchtel, who ultimately devoted his whole fortune to its endowment and support. Here the work of Professor White covered a narrower field than before, his chair embracing only instruction in the Latin and Greek classics. The work prospered under his care, but in September, 1875, he accepted a call to the Presidency of Lombard University, and entered upon his duties in the following month. The inaugural ceremonies took place January 6, 1876. He tendered his resignation as President of the University in 1892, but by request remained as Instructor in the Ryder Divinity School, a department of the same institution. This charge he still holds.
Professor White married Frances Malona, daughter of Orasmus White, of Huntington, Vermont, at South Woodstock in that State, March 11, 1858. The fruit of this union was a daughter, Lois Melinda, born July 17, 1861. She died January 1, 1882, Mrs. White having passed away on April 29, 1864.
May 29, 1871, Professor White married Inez Ling, daughter of Lorenzo Ling, of Pulaski, New York. Two children have been born to them: Willard Justice, on April 19, 1872, at Wallingford, Vermont, and Frances, on July 3, 1876, at Galesburg, Illinois. Willard Justice graduated from Lombard University in 1891 and from Barnes Medical College, of Saint Louis, five years later. He is now a practicing physician at Rio, Illinois. Frances graduated from Lombard in 1897.
Professor White received the degree of Ph. D. from Saint Lawrence University in 1876; and in 1889, the degree of S. T. D. was conferred upon him by Tuft’s College.
Matthew Chambers Willard
Matthew Chambers Willard lived a life worthy of all imitation. His tastes and habits were simple, his manners suave and gentle, and his actions controlled by a keen and deliberative judgment. His qualities were those of a Christian gentleman, and inspired confidence in all with whom he came in contact. He was the son of Silas and Hannah Cordelia (Chambers) Willard, and was born in Washington, Illinois June 1843.
His father was a Vermonter, born in Barre, April 21, 1814. In 1834 he came to Illinois, in his private conveyance, with his elder brother, who was far gone in consumption, in the hope of arresting the disease. He supported himself on the way by working at his trade of harness maker. His efforts to save the life of his brother proved unavailing, for he died soon after reaching his journey’s end. After working three or four years at Alton and Jacksonville, he established himself in the harness business at Washington, Tazewell County, until nearly the time of his removal to Galesburg in 1849. A short time in Washington, he entered upon a mercantile career, which he pursued in Galesburg with great success. He at once became interested in the various railroad schemes that were agitating the community. He looked with disfavor upon the Peoria and Oquawka project as wanting in proper objective points. He then gave his attention to the Burlington system, and by his untiring efforts, with others, the road was finally brought to this city. The marked traits of his character are portrayed in the following: “His business operations have been bold, but guided by a strong judgment, and carried out by strenuous exertions, they have always proved safe and commonly successful.” While the town was small and comparatively feeble, he took the money from his own business, which gave the town the first flouring mill. And when the proposition for our first railroad was at a crisis in the struggle for existence, he boldly risked in the enterprise almost all he was then worth. Others made like exertions, and the little town is become a flourishing city.
But while risking nearly all his means in the road, he, a stockholder and director, quietly yet boldly, resisted all infringement on the Sabbath for its operations, and was especially decided against its becoming a shelter for intemperance. He was called away at the early age of forty-three. But one scarcely meets in the whole course of life with a man at once so unambitious and at the same time so capable and energetic as he. His life, like his taste and turn of mind, has been one of unpretending usefulness.
Matthew’s mother was a native of Vermont, born in Bridgeport, September 19, 1820. She came to Illinois with her parents in 1836. She enjoyed the distinction of being one of the pupils of Knox College on the first day of its collegiate year.
Matthew’s maternal grandfather was Matthew Chambers, Jr. He was a soldier in the war of 1812, and on his settlement in Galesburg, became a charter member of the Board of Trust of Knox College. His maternal great-grandfather was an officer in the Revolution, and had the confidence of Washington, as is shown by testimonials in possession of the family. He was one of General Wayne’s picked men for storming Stony Point.
Matthew C. Willard received his elementary training in the public schools of this city. He then entered Knox Academy and prepared for college. He entered college and graduated in 1864 with honor and distinction. After graduation, he was employed in mercantile business, and afterwards in the sale of real estate. In 1872, his Alma Mater elected him a member to the Board of Trustees, a position he held to the day of his death, September 15, 1894.
Aside from his domestic relations, there were two objects that were uppermost in his mind—the college and the church. Of the former, he was elected Secretary, serving for several years, and was a member of the Executive Board. Its interests and welfare were ever dear to his heart. His good judgment and persistent activity were acknowledged, and to these qualities much of the success and prosperity of Knox College is due. The old First Church also claimed his attention. Here was the religious home of his parents, and here he was consecrated in May 1858. His love and zeal are shown by his strict attendance on all appointments of the church. Divine service, prayer meetings, and business meetings were not neglected. As a Christian, he fulfilled his mission faithfully and well. For several years he was Superintendent of the Mission Sunday School.
Politically, Mr. Willard was a republican, but he was not of that sort that would condone wrong-doing in his own party. He was a strong temperance man, and believed in purity of government, purity of home, and purity of life. He lived a life of honesty and integrity, and died with the plaudits of every citizen—good and faithful servant.
Mr. Willard was twice married. His first wife was Helen Frances Dieterich, a daughter of George Dieterich of this city, whom he married May 9, 1872. Her father was a man of great influence and note.
His second marriage was to Ideletta Henry, of Princeville, March 30, 1886.
Of this last union, there were born three children: one son and two daughters: Cordelia, Silas and Louise.
Thomas Rigney Willard
Thomas Rigney Willard was born in Groveland Township, Tazewell County, Illinois, November 18, 1844. He was the son of Warren C. and Caroline (Cottle) Willard. His parents were natives of Vermont, and came West at an early period; the father in 1834, at the age of eighteen; the mother in 1820, when she was three years old. Her father, Andrew Cottle, settled at St. Charles, Missouri, where he died, and she was reared in the family of her aunt, Sophronia (Cottle) Hayes. Warren C. Willard became a student in the Illinois College at Jacksonville, with the intention of preparing for the university, but failing health compelled him to seek other work. After his marriage, he built a log house and began life as a farmer. By labor in the open air his health was restored, and in 1847 at the invitation of his older brother, Silas Willard, he moved to Galesburg, and assumed the management of a general merchandise business, which his brother had established. He died in Florida in March 1871; his wife died in 1879.
Thomas R. Willard graduated from Knox College in 1866, and the next year taught Greek and Latin at Knox Academy. In the Fall of 1867, he entered the Chicago Theological Seminary, but took the middle and senior years of his course in divinity at Andover, Massachusetts, where he graduated in 1870. He spent the following year traveling with his parents in California and Florida, on account of his father’s failing health. During the college year, 1871-72, he was instructor in Logic and Rhetoric at Knox College. July 9, 1873, he married Mary L. Wolcott, of Batavia, Illinois, at the home of her parents. They spent the greater portion of the next two years at the university town of Leipzig, Germany, where Mr. Willard attended lectures on the Greek language and literature. In the Spring of 1875, he visited Greece, and made a pedestrian tour through portions of the Peloponnesus and the north of Greece.
At the opening of the college year, 1875-76, Professor Willard entered upon his labors in Knox College, in which he is still engaged. At first he was the sole instructor in Greek and German, but as the course in German was lengthened, the elementary work in that language was assigned to others. In June 1899, on the resignation of Dr. John H. Findley from the presidency of Knox College, Professor Willard was appointed, by the trustees, Dean of the Faculty.
He has for many years been interested in the development of the manufacture of paving brick, first with the Galesburg Brick and Terra Cotta Company, and more recently with the Galesburg Paving Company, of which he is a present director.
Professor and Mrs. Willard have five children: Frank C., Superintendent of Schools in Tombstone, Arizona; Nelson W., Instructor in the Classics in St. Albans Military Academy, Knoxville, Illinois; Alice; Florence; and Mary. The three daughters are students in Knox College; the two sons graduated from that institution in 1896.
In national politics Professor Willard is a republican. He is a member of the Congregational Church.
Moses O. Williamson
Moses O. Williamson can boast of a birthplace broader than the vast prairies of Illinois. He was first “rocked in the cradle of the mighty deep”. He was born on the Atlantic Ocean, July 14, 1850. His parents, William and Margaret Williamson, were natives of Sweden, and it was during the ocean voyage while coming to America, that Moses was born. They came directly to Illinois, and settled in Sparta Township, Knox County. His father purchased a small farm on Section 22, where he lived until his death, in 1854. His mother died in 1886. They had a family of six children, who lived to manhood and womanhood.
Moses remained at the paternal homestead until he was twelve years of age, assisting in the farm labors and farm duties, according to his ability. At this time, he went from home to work on a farm of a neighbor, where he remained two years. He then came to the village of Wataga and engaged himself to Olson & Gray, to learn the harness trade, where he served for three years, afterwards working one year as journeyman. He then bought out Mr. Gray, one of the partners, and from 1867 to 1879, was in partnership with Mr. Olsen. His next venture was the purchase of Mr. Olsen’s interest in the harness business, which he carried on, single-handed and alone, until 1890 when he came to Galesburg.
Mr. Williamson has the ability to please. His rigid life of honesty and integrity has won for him implicit confidence and universal respect. Places of honor have been given him without stint, and no word of criticism or censure has ever been spoken justly against him. Before coming to Galesburg, he held the office of Councilman, Justice of the Peace, Village Clerk, and Town Clerk, and was ever regarded as a careful and reliable public man.
In political faith, he is an earnest and conscientious republican. He believes in his party creed, and has done much for the success of his party candidates and party principles. In 1884, he was made Secretary of the Republican County Central Committee, and has been its Secretary or its Chairman ever since, being its Chairman at the present time. He was elected County Treasurer in 1886, County Clerk in 1890-1894-1898, was one of the organizers of the Swedish American Republican League of Illinois, was its President in 1897, and was one of a committee of five, associated with the Republican State Central Committee, in 1906, that had charge of the Swedish part of the campaign in that year in Illinois.
Mr. Williamson is not a bigot. He believes in the freedom of religious convictions. He is an attendant at the Congregational service, though not a member of that church. Both his private and public character are above reproach. His early educational advantages were very limited, and yet by his assiduity and love of learning, he became thoroughly fitted for fields of great usefulness. In his sympathies, he is patriotic and charitable, loving country, home, and friends, and has always discharged his public and private duties ably and honestly, winning for himself the commendations of his fellow citizens.
Mr. Williamson married October 18, 1871 to Mary Driggs, a native of Oneida County, New York, and the daughter of William M. and Millicent (Housted) Driggs. Three children have been born to them, two of whom are now living: Ada and Nellie.
BACK -- HOME -- NEXT
Copyright ©Genealogy Trails