Sterling Merit Award Winners




... Sterling silver medallions received by all 213 Sterling Merit Award winners, these students, a boy and girl from each school, received special certificates and traveling trophies for their schools last night at Exposition Gardens. They were selected by fellow scholars for leadership, character, community participation and ability to get along with others.

In pairs, from left, are Marcia Schunk and David Southard, Woodruff High School; Mary Anderson, Academy of Our Lady, and Stephen Gorman,Spalding Institute; Peggy Ivey and Dennis Knaub, Bergan High School; Paula Fiegand and Roger Ferris, East Peoria Community High School; Judith Draksler and Joseph Zerwekh, Manual High School; Leslie Linstromberg and John Gibson, Limestone Community High School; LindaAltorfer and Alan DeBord, Richwoods Community High School;
and Lynn Stever and James Farnum, Peoria High School. 
Seated at center is Jess Gorkin, banquet speaker.


Peoria Journal Star , April 27, 1966 From Sid Eslingers Collection, donated by Steve Slaughter 2011, Transcribed by C. Horton 2011, Genealogy Trails

Home  |  Schools

All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.