Stark County IL Biographies - H

J. Knox Hall

J. Knox Hall, a son of Dr. Thomas and Matilda (Manifold) Hall, is a native of Stark county, having been born in the town of Toulon, April 20, 1848. He was educated in the Toulon public schools and upon leaving school entered the office of the old Stark County News to learn the printer's trade. Later he was associated with W. E. Nixon in the publication of the Stark County Sentinel. Purchasing Mr. Nixon's interest, he continued as sole proprietor, editor and publisher of the Snetinel until 1885, when he was appointed postmaster of Toulon by President Cleveland--the first postmaster in Illinois to be appointed by the new administration. At the close of his term as postmaster he resumed literary work, in which he is still engaged.

Politically Mr. Hall is a democrat, though he is broad enough to respect the opinions of those who view the political situation from a different standpoint. For four years he was a member of the Toulon city council, at the time the waterworks and sewer systerm were under construction, and he has always taken a commendable interest in every movement for the improvement of his native city. In church matters he was formerly a Baptist but now belongs to the Congregational church.

Mr. Hall is a prominent member of the Masonic fraternity, being a member of Toulon Lodge, No. 93, Free and Accepted Masons; Wyoming Chapter, No. 133, Royal Arch Masons; Kewanee Commandery, No. 71, Knights Templar; and Mohammed Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Peoria.

[Stark County Illinois and Its People: A Record Of Settlement, Organization, Progress and Achievement , Volume II , Published 1916 by The Pioneer Publishing Company – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Samuel Hall

Samuel Hall, a prominent citizen of Bradford, is an extensive landowner and engages in stock raising on a large scale. He was born in Osceola township, two and a half miles northwest of Bradford, on the 4th of August, 1860, of the marriage of James and Elizabeth (Howe) Hall, both natives of Derbyshire, England, where they were reared and married. The father worked in a cotton factory until May, 1854, when he came to the United States, where his family joined him in 1856. Removal was made to Stark county, Illinois, and Mr. Hall worked by the month until he had saved enough money to purchase a team, when he began farming rented land. Later he bought eighty acres of land in Osceola township, paying therefore ten dollars per acre, and, although he had to go into debt to secure this property, it was not long before he was able to clear the farm of all encumbrances. The place has since remained in the possession of the family and is now owned by his daughter, Mary. He continued to prosper as the years passed and purchased more land from time to time until he held title to one thousand acres in Stark county. He gave his attention chiefly to cattle and hog raising and gave his personal attention to his extensive interests until he reached an advanced age. He then deeded his land to his children and removed to Bradford in 1904, where he lived in honorable retirement until his death on the 18th of February, 1915, when eighty-nine years old. He was supervisor of his township and was also called to other local offices, although he was too busy with his business affairs to take a very active part in politics. His wife also reached a good old age, passing away about 1908 in the faith of the Church of England, to which she belonged. To their union were born six children, of whom two died in infancy, the others being: Samuel; Jennie, deceased; James, also deceased; and Mary, a resident of Bradford.

Samuel Hall passed his boyhood and youth upon the home farm and received his education through attending the public schools. He continued to assist his father until the latter retired, and then received title to a portion of his father’s estate, subsequently increasing his holdings until he now owns eleven hundred and sixty acres of land in this county. He rents part of his land but is engaged in breeding Hereford cattle and in feeding both cattle and hogs extensively, finding the stock business very profitable. In addition to his large landholdings here he and his son own three hundred and twenty acres in North Dakota. He has given thorough study to the various problems that enter into the business of stock raising, and his success is not due to good fortune but to the care which he has taken to provide his stock with well balanced rations and the proper shelter and the close watch which he has kept upon the market. He is progressive, energetic and farsighted, and these qualities go far toward securing prosperity in any field of activity.

Mr. Hall was married on the 7th of March, 1889, to Miss Elizabeth Hawksworth, who was born in Peoria, Illinois, and is a daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Elm) Hawksworth. In 1854 her parents removed to the United States from their native Yorkshire, England, and settled in Peoria, Illinois, where the father engaged in farming, although he had previously been connected with merchandising. He passed away a short time after his arrival in this state, but his widow survived for many years, spending her last days with our subject and his wife. She was a member of the Episcopal church and was the mother of seven children, those besides Mrs. Hall being: Helen, the widow of John H. Mendenhall, of Peoria; Mrs. Eliza A. Marden; Esther, who became the wife of Amos H. Mendenhall and is now deceased; Mary Jane, who married Finis Fawcett, a resident of Nebraska; Charles, who is farming in Stark county; and John, a farmer of Peoria county. Mr. And Mrs. Hall are the parents of three children, Joseph Howe, Helen Hope and Martha Virginia.

Mr. Hall has always given his political support to the republican party but has never been willing to accept office, preferring to devote his entire time to his important business enterprises. His wife and children are all members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and his influence is consistently given to the side of fair dealing and righteousness. In 1907 he built a beautiful home in Bradford, where he has since resided, but he still gives careful supervision to his stock raising interests. He has been on a factor of no little importance in the development of his county along the lines of agriculture and animal husbandry and is justly esteemed for his ability and progressiveness.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 212-218. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Thomas Hall

Among the highly esteemed residents of Bradford is Thomas Hall, a retired farmer, who was born in Derbyshire, England, on the 27th of September, 1840. His parents, John and Elizabeth (Smedley) Hall, were also natives of that county and were there reared and married. The father was in the employ of a gentleman of that locality for some time but in June, 1856, emigrated with his family to the United States. He at once made his way to Stark County, Illinois, where he had a brother and sister living. He rented a farm near Bradford and subsequently purchased eighty acres of land, to which he added from time to time until he owned two hundred and forty acres. He passed away when eighty-one years old but his wife died in the year that they emigrated to this country at the early age of forty years. They were the parents of seven children: John, who died in Missouri; Thomas; Isaac, who passed away in Bradford; Mary, the wife of Henry Grife, a resident of Iowa; Elizabeth, who married William Warwick and is living in Nebraska; Charlotte, the wife of Frank Brock, also a resident of Nebraska; and Martha, who gave her hand in marriage to John Camey, a resident of Colorado.

Thomas Hall remained in his native land until he was sixteen years of age, when he accompanied his parents to the United States. Following his mother's death the home was broken up and he began working for Josiah Deyo of Stark county, in whose employ he remained for four years. At the end of that time he purchased a team and rented eighty acres of land, which he cultivated until he was able to buy an eighty acre tract, paying therefore one thousand dollars. He had to borrow some of the money, but his industry and good management soon enabled him to pay off that debt and as the years passed his resources increased. He continued to invest in land and at length acquired title to nine hundred acres in Stark and Marshall counties. He was actively engaged in agricultural pursuits until 1906, when he rented his farms to his sons and removed to Bradford, where he has since lived retired. His investments return him a handsome income, and he is enjoying a period of leisure which is well deserved.

On the 5th of April, 1877, Mr. Hall was united in marriage to Miss Rosie M. Wilson, who was born in New York on the 22nd of September, 1854, but was brought to Stark county when nine months old by her father. Her mother passed away when she was but six weeks old. Mr. and Mrs. Hall have become the parents of five children: Nettie Elizabeth, who died when a young woman of twenty-five years; Richard T., who is farming land belonging to his father in this county; George H., who is operating his father's farm in Marshall county; and Albert R. and Frank C., both of whom are farming land belonging to their father in this county.

Mr. Hall is a stanch republican in politics and has served with credit as school director and has also held other minor offices. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which he is also a trustee, and they seek to extend its influence in every way possible. Their lives are guided by high principles and Mr. Hall is recognized as a man of great personal worth and as a public-spirited citizen as well as an efficient and progressive agriculturist.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 146-147. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


F. B. Hallock

F. B. Hallock spent the days of his boyhood and youth in Lee county, Illinois, there remaining until after the outbreak of hostilities between the north and south, when his patriotic spirit was aroused by the attempt to overthrow the union, and on the 11th of January, 1862, he enlisted as a member of Company D., Fifty-third Illinois Volunteer Infantry, for three years, or during the war. After serving for thirteen and a half months, however, he was honorably discharged because of physical disability. Later he came to Stark county and here remained until he could no longer content himself to remain at home when the nation was battling for existence. He therefore enlisted again, joining Company D., First Illinois Artillery, with which he served for eighteen months, rendering valuable aid to his country. During his first enlistment he participated in the battles of Shiloh and Little Hatchet, and during the period of his second enlistment he took part in the engagements at Big Shanty, Vicksburg, Kenesaw Mountain, the siege of Atlanta and the battle of Nashville, returning home in 1865 with a most creditable military record.

Mr. Hallock once more took up his abode in Lee county, Illinois, where he began farming, residing there until 1875, when he established his home on a farm near Elmira. He then conducted a dairy and became the pioneer cheese maker of Stark county. After continuing at his original place for five years he bought a farm about two miles south of Osceola, where he continued in the manufacture of cheese for four years. He then began feeding cattle and devoted his energies to that business for five years. On the expiration of that period he came to his present place of residence, erecting a fine home, supplied with all modern equipments and conveniences and affording him all off the comforts life now that he is approaching the evening of his days. His farming property comprises two hundred and fifty acres of rich and productive land, which returns to him gratifying annual income.

In North Adams, Massachusetts, Mr. Hallock was united in marriage to Miss Anna E. Clarke, and they have become the parents of four children: Mabel, the wife of George W. Norris, living in Neponset, Illinois; Minnie, at home; Frank W., who is engaged in feeding cattle on his father’s farm; and William O., who is attending school at Pella, Iowa.

Mr. Hallock has always given his influence on the side of moral teachings and is one of the trustees of the Methodist Episcopal church and is serving on its building committee. In politics he has been a lifelong republican, supporting the party since age conferred upon him the right of franchise. He has filled some local offices, acting as collector for five years and as assessor for one term. In 1863 he became a member of the Odd Fellows lodge at East Pawpaw, Illinois, passed through all of the chairs and became a member of the encampment and also of the Rebekah lodge. He is a valued representative of the Grand Army of the Republic, passed through all of the chairs in James Jackson Post, No. 37, and has been adjutant for about twelve years. He enjoys this association with his former comrades, recounting the incidents when they went on the long, hard campaigns, fought in hotly contested battles or rested in winter quarters. The same spirit of loyalty in citizenship has characterized him throughout his entire life, and he is as greatly interested in the welfare of his country today as when he followed the stars and stripes upon southern battlefields.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 296-300. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Emery Halsted

Emery L. Halsted, a representative farmer of Toulon township, living on section 33, is well known not only as the owner of a highly improved tract of excellent land but also as a breeder of Clydesdale horses, and a stock feeder. His life record began in Marshall county, Illinois, on the 19th of March, 1881. His father, Nelson Halsted, was a business man of that county and was there married and reared his family. For years he was a proprietor of a meat market and butchering business but he passed away in 1881. His widow survived him for more than two decades, her death occurring on the 9th of February, 1903.

Emery L. Halsted was reared in Marshall and Stark counties and is indebted to the public school system of the state for the educational opportunities which he enjoyed. He is, however, largely self-educated and has gained many valuable lessons in the school of experience and from reading and observation. He lost his own father during infancy and from the age of fourteen years has been dependent upon his own resources. He worked for several years by the month as a farm hand for his stepfather but was ambitious to engage in business on his own account and utilized every opportunity that led to that end. He was married in Wyoming, November 9, 1904, to Miss Drusilla C. Cox, who was born and reared in Stark county and is a daughter of the late Monroe Cox, who was a well known citizen here. Mr. Halsted and his brother rented land which they farmed in partnership for five years and eventually E. L. Halsted took up his abode in Wyoming, where he engaged in clerking for a time and also did other work that came to hand. He afterward purchased the farm whereon he now resides, becoming owner of a one hundred and six acre tract of land adjoining another eighty-acre tract which his wife inherited, making their farm one of two hundred and forty acres of well improved land. He keeps everything about the place in good repair, has erected substantial outbuildings to protect stock, grain and farm machinery from inclement weather and has fenced his land, dividing it into fields of convenient size. In addition to cultivating the cereals best adapted to soil and climate he is engaged in raising and feeding stock for the market and annually ships one or more car loads of fat hogs and a car log of fat steers each year. He is also a well known breeder and dealer in standard bred Clydesdale horses. His business affairs are capably managed and enterprise and discrimination have brought him growing success.

Mr. and Mrs. Halsted have a daughter, Clara, now a student in the township high school at Toulon. In politics Mr. Halsted maintains an independent course, nor has he ever been ambitious for office. He belongs to the Odd Fellows lodge at Toulon and his wife is connected with the Rebekah degree. Much of his life has been spent in Stark county, so that his history is largely familiar to his fellow townsmen, who feel that he has fully won the success which is his and who name him with the progressive farmers and stock raisers of the county.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 282-283. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Samuel L. Hanks

Samuel L. Hanks, one of the active and progressive men of Stark county, is engaged in the hardware and implement business at La Fayette, where for sixteen years he has conducted his store. There have been no spectacular phases in his career but the persistent purpose which he displays in the control of his agricultural affairs have brought him a gratifying measure of success. Numbered among Illinois' native sons, he was born in Albany, Whiteside county, July 16, 1864. His father, Samuel S. Hanks, was born in Kentucky and was a son of Thomas Hanks, also a native of that state and a brother of Nancy Hanks, who became the mother of Abraham Lincoln.

Samuel S. Hanks was reared in Kentucky and when a young man removed to Illinois, establishing his home in Whiteside county. He later followed boating on the Mississippi river and became a pilot, devoting many years to that life and being a well-known figure in connection with the navigation interests of the upper Mississippi. He was married in Henry county to Miss Hannah Stagg, a native of Ohio, who came to Illinois when a maiden of ten summers. Following his marriage Mr. Hanks continued to act as a pilot on the Mississippi during his active life but is now living retired in Princeton, Iowa, enjoying a rest which he has truly earned and richly deserves.

Samuel L. Hanks was reared in Scott county, Iowa, from the age of three years and was educated in the Princeton schools. When a young man he went upon the river with his father and there learned the business of piloting. To that work he devoted eighteen years, continuing active in that field of labor until he reached the age of thirty-four. The year 1900 witnessed his arrival in La Fayette, at which time he purchased a half interest in a hardware store and thus became identified with the business interests of the town. Success attended him in this venture, and in 1903 he became sole proprietor of the business by the purchase of his partner's interest. He carries a large and well selected line of shelf and heavy hardware and farm implements, building up a good trade, his patronage increasing year by year. He has ever recognized the fact that satisfied patrons are the best advertisement, and he has always made it his aim and purpose to please his customers in the line of goods carried and in the reasonable prices offered. He was also one of the promoters of the La Fayette State Bank and is a stockholder of the La Fayette Fair Association, which he aided in organizing. He is likewise connected with the La Fayette Hotel Company, which erected an eight thousand dollar hotel in the town. In business affairs he displays keen discrimination and readily discriminates between the essential and the non-essential.

Mr. Hanks was married in Princeton, Iowa, October 26, 1898, to Miss Anna Schmalz, who was born and reared in that city, and by her marriage has become the mother of two children: Linian, who died in infancy; and Elinor Collette, who died in her second year.

Mr. and Mrs. Hanks are members of the Methodist Episcopal church and he is serving on its board of trustees. He is a member of the Masonic lodge at La Fayette, of which he is the treasurer, and he and his wife are identified with the Eastern Star. He is likewise connected with La Fayette Lodge, I.O.O.F., in which he has filled all of the chairs and is now a past grand, while in the Grand Lodge of the state he has twice represented the local organization. He and his wife are identified with the Rebekah degree. Their influence is always a feature in public progress and improvement in the community in which they live. Mr. Hanks has served for three terms as a member of the village board, and his active support of every movement and plan for the general good has been of great benefit to the town. He possesses many sterling traits of character, including progressiveness and reliability in business, fidelity in citizenship and loyalty in friendship.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 135-136. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Edwin Hartley

Edwin Hartley, who is living in Wyoming, still supervises the operation of his valuable farms in the county, from which he receives a gratifying income. He was born in Essex township, this county, on the 13th of June, 1857, a son of James Hartley, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work.

Edwin Hartley was reared upon the home farm and attended the district schools and the schools at Wyoming in the acquirement of an education. Following his father’s demise he inherited one hundred acres of land in Essex township and has since added to that tract until he now holds title to one hundred and eighty-three acres. In addition to this place he owns one hundred and thirty acres in Toulon township and three hundred and twenty acres in Potter county, South Dakota. He personally cultivated his land until 1906, when he removed to Wyoming, where he has since lived. He still looks after his agricultural interests, giving close attention to the operation of his farms, although the actual work is done by others. He understands all phases of farming, possesses good business ability, which enables him to manage his affairs well, and the success which he has gained is well deserved.

Mr. Hartley was married December 4, 1879, to Miss Mary E. Duckworth, who was born in Stark county and is a daughter of Henry Duckworth. To this union have been born two children: Arthur C., who married Miss Ella Russell and is operating one of his father’s farms; and Bertha, who married Lewis Wagner, of Wyoming, and has a daughter, Velda Loraine.

Mr. Hartley indorses the principles of the republican party and supports its candidates at the polls. Fraternally he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and his wife is identified with the Congregational church. He has been a lifelong resident of Stark county and is keenly interested in everything relating to the advancement of his community. Through the development of his farm he has gained financial independence, and he has also contributed to the wealth of the county, whose greatest resource is its rich land.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 210-211. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


James Hartley

James Hartley was an efficient and prosperous farmer of Essex township and at the time of his death owned three hundred and twelve acres there. His birth occurred in Lancashire, England, in 1837, and his parents were Edmund and Mary (Morris) Hartley, who in 1851 emigrated to America. Not long after arriving here they took up their residence at Trivoli, Illinois, where the father worked by the month until 1854. In that year he came with his family to Stark county and in partnership with a Mr. Ingram purchased one hundred and sixty acres of land in Essex township. He at once began the improvement of the place and as he managed his affairs well and practiced economy his resources steadily increased. He invested in more land and accumulated three hundred and twelve acres, all of which are under cultivation. He continued to follow agricultural pursuits until his demise, which occurred in 1871.

Mr. Hartley was married in Toulon to Miss Ann Miller, who was born in England in 1837, a daughter of Joseph and Mary (Holland) Miller. Her father came to America in 1846 and settled in Pennsylvania, where he remained until 1852, when he removed to Peoria, Illinois, whence he subsequently came to Wyoming. Her mother passed away in England. Mr. and Mrs. Hartley became the parents of seven children, two of whom died in childhood, the others being: Edwin, a retired farmer of Wyoming, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work; Mary, the widow of John Duckworth, of Wyoming; William, who resides upon the home farm in Essex township; Clara, now Mrs. Tom Taylor, of Lincoln; and Joseph, who is operating the homestead in partnership with his brother William.

Mr. Hartley supported the republican party and took the interest of a good citizen in public affairs although he never sought office. He discharged to the full all the obligations resting upon him, and his integrity, his industry and his ability gained him a high place in the respect of his fellow citizens.

Following her husband's death Mrs. Hartley remained upon the homestead supervising its operation. She not only proved capable in the management of the farm but she also added to the place until in embraced over five hundred acres. She was one of the best business women in the county and also possessed in a high measure lovable womanly qualities which endeared her to those who were closely associated with her. She passed away upon the home farm on the 21st of June, 1915.

[Stark County, Illinois and it's People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 27-28 – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Oran L. Hatch

An excellent farm of two hundred and sixty-two acres is regarded as one of the best improved farm properties of Elmira township, and to Oran L. Hatch, the owner, pays a substantial tribute in recognition of the care and labor which he continually bestows upon the fields. He was born December 27, 1869, upon his farm, a son of John M. Hatch, and a grandson of Moses and Jane (Gates) Hatch, who were natives of Maine and Vermont, respectively. The former was a man of prominence in his home locality, where he was frequently called to positions of honor and trust. He devoted his life to farming, owning two hundred and fifty acres of rich and productive land. he passed away April 18, 1858, at the age of sixty-four years, and his wife died at the age of thirty-four years. Their family numbered six children: Jane, who became the wife of A.L. Clark and died in January, 1848; Martha, the wife of Samuel Page, who died in 1851; Eliza, who died at the age of eighteen months; John M.; Horace, who died in March, 1883; Eliza, who became the wife of S.D. Lisle, of Neponset, Illinois, and died about four years ago.

John M. Hatch was born at Groton, Vermont, March 10, 1827, and after acquiring a common school education worked in a sawmill and in a brickyard for a time. He afterward learned the carpenter's trade and for one year he cultivated his father's farm, but in 1851 removed from New England to the middle west, settling on section 6, Elmira township, Stark county, Illinois. He acquired five hundred and fifty acres of land lying in Stark and Henry counties. While he carried on farming, he also engaged extensively in raising hogs. In February, 1895, he removed to Kewanee, Illinois, where he erected a fine residence, there spending his remaining days in the enjoyment of well earned rest, his death occurring January 20, 1906. He became one of the organizers and stockholders of the Bank of Kewanee but was not active in the management of the business. On the 24th of February, 1853, he married Miss Roxanna Lisle, who was born in Vermont, a daughter of William and Atlanta (Darling) Lisle, who traveled by wagon from the Green Mountain state to Illinois in 1835, and settled in Elmira township, Stark county. Her father secured a tract of raw land on which not a furrow had been turned nor an improvement made and at once began the development of a farm, being closely associated with the progress of the county in pioneer times. He died Oct. 5, 1858, while his wife passed away April 12, 1885, at the age of seventy-seven years. She was long a consistent and devoted member of the Congregational church. By her marriage she became the mother of fifteen children: Elizabeth, who married William G. Perkins and is now deceased; Thomas, who died in infancy; Thomas, the second of the name, who died at Pike's Peak, Colorado, in 1859; Stephen D., a resident of Neponset, Illinois; Mrs. Hatch; Walter, a farmer of Dakota, Nebraska; Janette, twin sister of Walter and the wife of John L. Price, of Republic county, Kansas; Julia, the deceased wife of Silas Patten; Lydia, who has passed away; George W., who enlisted in 1864 in response to a call for one hundred day men to defend the Union and died in service when but twenty years of age; Franklin, deceased; Norris, a farmer; Emeline, the wife of William Berry; Lucinda, the wife of David Moffitt, of Reno, Nevada; and Rufus D., living in Neponset, Illinois. Of this family, as previously stated, Roxanna became the wife of John M. Hatch. She still survives her husband and now makes her home with her daughter, Mrs. Charles N. Good. By her marriage she had a family of six children: Horace, who died at the age of thirteen months; Burton, who died at the age of fifteen months; Clara E., the wife of Charles N. Good of Elmira township; Cora, the wife of Albert Earley, of Kewanee township; Martha J., who died at the age of eleven years; and Oran L.

The last named pursued his education in the common schools near the home place and upon the retirement of his father took charge of the farm, on which he has remained continuously since with the exception of two years which he spent in Deadwood, South Dakota, there looking after his interests in a copper mine. He returned to the farm, however, in 1908, and is now busily engaged in the cultivation of two hundred and sixty-two acres of rich and productive land. He has put all of the improvements upon the place save the house and has one of the three best improved farms of the township. He has ever been progressive in his methods and has done whatever he has undertaken in a most efficient manner, following thoroughly modern processes of farming. For a number of years he has been at the head of the Kewanee Farmers Institute and he is now vice president and one of the directors of the C.B. Hurst Silo Company, which he aided in organizing. This company is engaged in the manufacture of a special wet mix silo. In years gone by Mr. Hatch has also devoted some attention to bee culture and is considered an authority on that subject. He has installed on his farm a repair shop, which is probably one of the best equipped of any farm shop in the state, and in fact would be a credit to a town or city. In recognition of this the Prairie State Farmer sent a representative from Chicago to obtain Mr. Hatch's views upon the subject of following such a plan. The shop was equipped at a cost of nearly one thousand dollars, and Mr. Hatch has become quite expert along mechanical lines. Here he has done much work of value in connection with the farm, including the building of a tractor which he uses in the heavy work, not only in the fields and on the road but in building work as well. His ability is not confined to iron work and machinery alone, as he is an artistic woodworker and when he built the barns upon his place he drew the plans for himself and the bill for lumber was made to tally with his own figures. In a word he is a very resourceful man, ready to do anything necessary in connection with developing and improving his farm. Mr. Hatch also has other business connections, for he was one of six men who organized the Farmers Elevator Company of Kewanee, and they have the material on the ground for the erection of a large elevator there.

On the 3rd of September, 1894, Mr. Hatch was married to Mrs. Minnie E. (Berry) Higgins, the widow of James Higgins. By her former marriage she had one child, Nevada, and by her present marriage had two children, Bertha and John, but the latter died when a year old. The former is the wife of C. E. Reece and lives on the home place.

In politics, Mr. Hatch maintains an independent attitude, considering the capability of the candidate rather than his party affiliation. He has never been ambitious to hold political office but has served as pathmaster and as school director. He holds membership with the Red Men, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Royal Arcanum of Kewanee, and he is also a member of the Kewanee Civic Club. In a word, he stands at all times for progress and improvement along those lines which work for the benefit of the individual and of the community. His efforts may well serve as a source of inspiration and encouragement to others, showing what may be accomplished, for he is justly accounted one of the leading agriculturists and business men of Elmira township and this section of the state.

[Stark County, Illinois and it's People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 28-31 – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Marion L. Hay

Marion L. Hay is one of the well known citizens of Stark county, filling the office of master in chancery and also that of city attorney in Toulon. He was born on the old family homestead in Bureau county, Illinois, June 28, 1884, and it was upon the same farm, a short distance east of Bradford, that his father's birth occurred, September 22, 1863. The latter, Leroy S. Hay, was a son of Robert Hay, who was born in Indiana and was of Scotch parentage, his father having come from Scotland to America in 1812. Robert Hay became a pioneer settler of Illinois, casting in his lot with the early residents of Bureau county. He there owned a large tract of land of three hundred and twenty acres, whereon he resided for many years. He likewise had land in Henry county. His son, Leroy S. Hay, was reared on the old homestead property in Bureau county, was married in the locality and afterward followed farming but subsequently turned his attention to business interests in Princeton.

Marion L. Hay, whose name introduces this review, is indebted to the public schools of Bureau county for the early educational opportunities which he received. He attended school for a time in Bradford and afterward entered Eureka College at Eureka, Illinois, where he completed the work of the sophomore year. Eventually he became a student in the Chicago Law School, and in 1910 was admitted to the bar, after which he began practice in Bradford, remaining there until March, 1914. He was appointed master in the chancery of Stark county in February, 1913, and took charge of the office. He was also made city attorney and in addition to his work in those capacities he keeps a set of abstracts and does other business. He has made a notable record for a young man as one of marked energy, laudable ambition and notably strong executive force.

Mr. Hay was married in Rock Island, June 28, 1907, to Miss Catherine Giles, who was there born and reared and is a graduate of the Rock Island high school. Mr. Hay erected an attractive residence at Maplewood, built in modern style of architecture, and there they are rearing their family, consisting of four children: Leroy Giles, Wilton Shriver, Doris Rowena and Margaret Catherine.

In his political views Mr. Hay is an earnest republican who has served as a delegate to county and state conventions and has taken an active part in campaign work. He and his wife hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal church, in the work of which he is most actively interested, and in the Sunday school he is teacher of a class of boys. He holds membership in Toulon Lodge, F. & A. M., and while in Bradford served as master of his lodge. He was a delegate to the grand lodge in 1913. He is also identified with the Odd Fellows lodge of Toulon. He displays many of the sterling traits of his Scotch ancestry and is regarded as one of the representative young business men of his city - a man who recognizes and utilizes opportunities that others pass heedlessly by and who in the conduct of his business affairs so directs his efforts as to produce the best possible results.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 58-59 – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Colonel William H. Henderson

from "Stark County and Its Pioneers" by Mrs. E. H. Shallenberger – Contributed by Karen Seeman]

This gentleman was born on the banks of Dick's river, in the county of Garrard, and state of Kentucky, on the 16th of November, 1793.

We can learn but little of his antecendents, of his early education or history. His parents seem to have led the eventful, adventurous lives, common to the fronier in those perilous times, dying at a good old age, however, at the house of their son, in Brownsville, Tennessee.

When this son was born, Kentucky was an almost unbroken wilderness and the opportunities for acquiring an education must have been very limited. Yet, he found means to make himself proficient in mathematics and surveying, following the latter as a business during many of the earlier years of his life, and it was said he seldom met his superior as a practical surveyor.

When only nineteen years of age he enlisted in Colonel Richard M. Johnson's regiment of "mounted riflemen," and served with this regiment during the war of 1812.

He participated with his regiment in the battle of the Thames, Canada West, under the command of William H. Harrison, October 5th, 1813. Soon after his return from this campaign, he removed to Dover, Stewart county, Tennessee, and was there married to Miss Lucinda Wimberly on the 11th of January, 1816.

During his residence here, he served the county as sheriff; in April, 1823, removed to the western district of Tennessee, but lately the dwelling place of savages, and settled near the present town of Brownsville, Haywood county. Here amidst all the hardships that environ the pioneer in a strange and almost uninhabited region, he was doomed to bury his young and lovely wife.

But his was not a nature to yield to discouragements or losses of any sort. Like the oak he could bend without breaking.

His force of character and versatile acquirements were sure to constitute him a leader in any new settlement, and we soon find him busy here, surveying and platting the town of Brownsville, and then building one of the first houses within its newly defined limits. He was the first "register of deeds" in Haywood county, besides holding several minor offices, and acting as "real estate agent" for several extensive landholders in his vicinity.

Although after his emigration to Illinois, Colonel Henderson became an active opponent to political abolitionism, and to the ends and aims of the old "liberty party," as many of the early settlers here have occasion to remember, yet his sons confidently assert, that in his earlier life, and when living in a slave state, "he was utterly opposed to human slavery." And that, although possessed of ample means for a resident in a new country, he steadily refused to own a slave, and even when one was tendered as payment for debt, preferred to suffer a heavy pecuniary loss rather than do violence to his convictions of right. They also state, "that at one time, when the people of Tennessee were about to elect delegates to a convention to revise the constitution of the state, Colonel Henderson prepared a circular, addressed to the people of his district, ammouncing himself as a candidate for delegate with the purpose of securing the incorporation of a provision "for the gradual emancipation of the slaves of Tennessee." A policy then urged by Henry Clay of Kentucky, of whom the subject of this notice was an ardent admirer and supporter; and finally, he was induced to leave the south, and seek a home n a free state, mainly that he might remove his sons from the demoralizing influences of slavery and rear them in a community where labor was not held to be degrading."

By those who remember the thunderbolts of denunciation this gentleman was wont to hurl, when roused by opposition or heated by controversy, at the heads of the unfortunate "abolitionists" of old, we know the foregoing statements will be received with distrust.

But coming from the source they did, as a faithful chronicler we could not refuse them due consideration, and would furthermore add that his apparently contradictory course upon this point, after he became a citizen of Illinois, is explained by the fact that he had a sort of prescience, that the unwise agitation of the slavery question in the free states, would evenuate in civil war, and endanger the Union, which he loved better than life itself. The candid reader could not be unwilling to give him the benefit of these explanations.

He lived and died an uncompromising whig; was elected to the senate of Tennessee in 1835, served during the winter of 1835-36; was personally and politically opposed to Andrew Jackson and his policy; yet he was capable of breaking even party trammels at times and exhibiting great independence in action, as the following incident will show. He lived in the congressional district represented by David Crockett, who fell at the battle of Fort Alamo, in the war between Texas and Mexico. And although Crockett was a whig, and Fitzgerald, his opponent, a democrat, yet Colonel Henderson regarding Crockett as an unsuitable man for congress, took the stump in favor of Fitzgerald, and largely aided in defeating Crockett in his first candidacy for congress.

In the spring of 1836, on his return from the state capital, he resigned his seat in the senate, in order to carry out his long cherished plan of removal to Illinois. This, however, was not the first attempt he had made in that direction.

Five years before, or in 1831, having some twenty thousand dollars at his disposal he had determined to invest it in Illinois lands, and for that purpose went to Chicago to be present at the opening sales, at the newly established land office -- Chicago being then but an Indian trading post. But the sales were deferred and he was compelled to postpone his venture until a later period. He did not return, however, until he had selected a place for his future home, on Indian creek of Fox river, some fifteen miles north of Ottawa, in what is now LaSalle county. As soon as he returned to Tennessee, he engaged in active measures for sending forward his little colony, mostly comprised of relatives, to the new home he had selected.

Accordingly in the spring of 1832, his aged father and mother, two of his brothers, one with a family, and two of his wife's brothers with their families, his oldest son John W., and a hired man by the name of Robert Norris, went forward and commenced improving their claims. The colonel had intended to move his family in the autumn of 1833, but after visiting the neighborhood to complete his arrangements, while on his way back to Tennessee, having reached St. Louis, he received the painful intelligence of "the Indian creek massacre," the killing of Robert Norris and the dispersion of his relatives. This must have been a heavy blow to his adventurous spritin, and for a time all his plans were thwarted.

The various relatives made their way back to Tennessee, save one brother of the Colonel, John H. Henderson, who on account of his deep rooted hostility to slavery refused to return, but went into central Illinois, and settled on the Sangamon river, where he lived for some years, and then went back to Indian creek to pass the remnant of his days. Soon after the massacre, Colonel Henderson urged his brother to return and hold possession of the claims, but the bloody deaths of his neighbors, then so fresh in his mind, naturally made him shrink from doing so.

This was a great disappointment to the colonel, who concluded to put the funds destined for speculation in and improvement of western lands, into a large steam saw and grist mill, which proved a most disastrous investment, as after the terms of sale were nearly agreed upon, it was entirely consumed by fire.

After this, he again visited the scene of his former colony in LaSalle county, only to find his claims occupied by strangers who refused to surrender them, although upon some he had already expended considerable sums of money. But possession was truly in those cases "nine points of the law," and the colonel seems to have concluded to surrender whatever rights he had in that vicinity rather than to attempt to regain them, under such circumstances.

One would think that even a man fertile in resources as this man was, would by this time have felt himself completely baffled in his attempts to establish himself in Illinois, but at Hennepin, in Putnam county, where he rested for a day or two, he met with an old man by the name of Leek, who was among the first settlers on Indian creek of Spoon river.

There surely could not have been anything alluring in the name to Colonel Henderson, but he purchased the land owned by Leek and immediately commenced preparations for moving his family from Tennessee. They arrived at their farm July 2d, 1836.

At that time, as T. J. Henderson remembers, there were about ten families living on Indian creek, above the old town of Moulton, near which the Wards resided; and Moulton consisted of one building -- the Sammis store! On the south and west side of the creek were Stephen G. Worley, Elijah McClennahan, senior, William Mahany, William Bowen, and Harris W. Miner. On the north and east side, were Colonel Henderson, Adam Perry, William Ogle who then lived in Lewis Perry's cabin, Minott Silliman and Ephraim Barrett; the latter living in a cabin owned by John Culbertson just north of the present town of Toulon.

As will be known by all who have read the preceding pages of this book, these settlements and contiguous ones were still in "Old Putnam, the mother of counties," and the people had to go to Hennepin, more than forty miles distant, over uncertain roads to attend court and transact all sorts of county business.

These pioneers were not slow in recognizing in Colonel Henderson a leading spirit, which might aid in bringing about a better state of things, and he was sent as an unoffical representative to Vandalia in the winter of 1836-7, to procure if possible suitable legislation in regard to the establishment of new counties.

He was a member of the last legislature that met in Vandalia, in 1838-39, and also of the first that met in Springfield in 1840-41. In 1842 he was a candidate on the whig ticket for Lieutenant Governor, Joseph Duncan being a candidate for Governor on the same ticket. He made a thorough canvass of the state from Cairo to Chicago, and although he was defeated in the contest, (the whigs being greatly in the minority at the time) yet wherever he addressed the people, he established the reputation of an able political debater. Stephen A. Douglas, who had heard the ablest political speakers in the United States, both on the "stump" and in the halls of congress, did not hesitate to pay Colonel Henderson a marked compliment in this regard.

But the labors he performed during these years, in behalf of public interests, form a part of the general history of our county, and as much will be found more in detail in a fomer part of this volume, and however remunerative such labors may be, in one sense, especially if crowned with success, to men of a certain mould, yet from a monetary point of view they were certainly far from profitable; at that time, the country was really too poor to suitably reward its servants, and the pilfering, swindling and chicanery, by means of which every pretender to politics now-a-days fills his own pockets at the expense of his constituents or of the public funds, had not yet come in vogue, and at any rate could not but have been abhorrent to the soul of such a man as Colonel Henderson. He could berate a man soundly, abuse him if you please, in a time of excitement, but it could never occur to him to fawn on his supporters, and pick their pockets meanwhile. Thus it came to pass, he grew poorer instead of richer as the years went by, and we infer that he was not a good practical farmer, that the crops were turned over to the care of "the boys," who probably found something more congenial to their tastes, a good share of the time, and these were the days when corn went begging for ten cents per bushel, and pork for $2 per hundred weight! Then, the demands of this growing family of the rude "home on the hillside," were neither few nor small. Seven hungry boys daily surrounded his table, which, indeed seldom lacked the presence of guests beside. As heretofore stated, one of their rooms was offered at the organization of Stark county, for the use of the court and the transaction of county business, county commissioners' court, &c.

At such times Colonel and Mrs. Henderson often provided food and beds for judges, lawyers, officers, jurors and witnesses, sometimes amounting to scores of persons entertained at a time, and all without thinking of a charge. Without exaggeration these were "hard times" for many settlers, but hardest for the overtasked wives and mothers, who were trying to make one dollar do the work of five, and to practice unwearying hospitality, at a fearful outlay of vital force.

In 1845, Colonel Henderson took the state census of Stark county, and poverty compelled him to accomplish the work on foot; the meager compensation he received for this service, he devoted to the purchase of a horse to make out a team with which to move his family to Iowa, and there in November of that year he went, settling in Johnson county, near Iowa city, hoping to give his sons better educational advantages than they had hitherto enjoyed; but in the spring of 1846, he was compelled to move further into the country, and after many hand to hand struggles with poverty and hardship, he finally secured and improved a large farm in the northern part of Johnson county, twenty miles from Iowa city, and eight or nine from Cedar Rapids. This fine tract of land he afterwards sold for $10,000, but unmindful of his former bitter experience with mill property made a similar investment with similar results.

In 1850, Colonel Henderson was again drawn into the political arena, was a whig candidate for congress. "But (writes one who had good opportunity of knowing the facts) "he was defeated, as the democracy was then dominant in Iowa, but succeeded in reducing their majority, and paved the way for a whig victory at the next election." In 1852, he was a candidate for presidential elector, on the whig ticket, but shared the general rout of the party that year, when it practically ceased to exist. This was his last venture on the suffrages of the people; not even politically could he be called a fortunate man, yet he certainly better deserved success than thousands who achieve it.

If in conclusion of this narrative we might venture to weigh for a moment the ingredients that went to make up the character we have been contemplating, we should place on one side the strong prejudices, that found vent in stronger expressions, that sometimes wounded as they flowed; the fiery vehemence, we often associate with southern blood, a general impetuosity and recklessness of danger, probably engendered, or at least fostered by the adventurous life he had led. To offset these, we should have a large brain and unselfish heart, manifesting themselves in an enlightened zeal for the public good, whether that public consisted for the time being of a large and intelligent community, or of a struggling settlement on the frontier. Though not a classical scholar, he was possessed of a vast fund of general information, and grasped with a master's hand the political issues of his time. He lived to see the war he had dreaded, lower upon his beloved country, to see his own sons, urged by their convictions of duty and fealty to the old flag, go to carry fire and sword to the very spot where they were born, and he deplored all this with a bitterness characteristic of his passionate nature. One can hardly repress a sign of regret that the brave old man could not have lived to see the termination of hostilities, and the binding up of the nation's wounds. But it was otherwise ordained by that Power before which we must all bow, the strong as well as the weak.

On the 27th of January, 1864, while the reverberations of canon were still jarring every hearthstone in our land, it was said of him as it will be one of these days, of every man, he died. Calmly, fearlessly he met his last enemy, realizing the situation, but shrinking not. With him in that solemn hour were his wife, his guiding star through so many dark scenes of the past, and his five sons; the other two, Thomas and Webster, being in the army, their names were among the last words his lips ever uttered. Let us hope "After life's fitful fever he sleeps well." Now it is meet we should as it were, roll back the scroll of years, that we may review very briefly the life and character of Mrs. Sarah M. Henderson, for more than forty years the wife of the principal figure in this group, and mother to five sons to whose lives we shall turn the reader's attention on a subsequent page.

This lady was a native of Sampson county, North Carolina, was born September 15th, 1804, being at this date, 1875, 71 years of age; her maiden name was Howard. When she was yet a child her parents removed with their family to middle Tennessee, but after several minor changes they finally settled in Haywood county, west Tennessee, where she was married November 6th, 1823. This county was not organized till the following spring, and in March 1824, its first election took place. From the outlines of her life furnished us, we infer that Mrs. Henderson was by birth and education a pioneer, always on the frontier. Those who understnad the full significance of that fact, will not be surprised to learn that this lady was not "educated" in the usual sense of that word. She was taught to read and write, and that was about all the mental culture permitted her until some years after her marriage. But she was possessed of good natural abilities, strong common sense, combined with many womanly graces and great purity of character. And to her, quite as much as to their father, do her children owe whatever of mental or physical vigor they possess. From her youth she has lived a devoted Christian; a member of the Methodist church for more than half a century, a self-constituted, self-sustaining missionary, wherever she went she carried the emblems of her faith, and with her woman's hands planted its standards wherever her lot was cast. Her devotion has been marked by a beautiful consistency, through all the vicissitudes of her long life, the best proof of which is the reverence she has inspired in the hearts of her children. And now, as the shadows lengthen, and the feebleness of age creeps on, she fears no evil, she knows for her "at eventide there shall be light;" with much of the quiet firmness, the cheerful fortitude that marked her earlier years, she accepts whatever life brings. And really, her age is crowned with blessings and honors, a rich reward for all the sacrifices and labors of the past.

Her home has been for many years at Marshalltown, Iowa, with her son Henry C., where she will probably remain until summoned to join "the loved ones gone before."

Colonel Henderson had three children by his first wife, Mary Anne, John and William P. Mary Anne, who died in 1834, was married and left one child who still survives, and lives in or near Brownsville, Tennessee, so long the home of the Hendersons.

John W., was for many years a prominent citizen of Stark county, and held important positions while here, mention of which has been made in the body of this work.

His first wife was Miss Mary Perry, a member of a pioneer family frequently alluded to in these pages. She died young and her remains rest in the Toulon cemetery. This bereavement left Mr. Henderson, as his father had been left, with three motherless children. He was afterward married to Elizabeth, daughter of Captain Butler, of Wyoming, Stark county, and removed to Cedar Rapids, Iowa, where he still resides, and has proven himself, as here, a good citizen and successful business man.

William P. is a farmer, and resides at present in Green county, Iowa. By his second marriage, Colonel Henderson had one daughter and five sons -- the daughter dying in infancy. The sons, mentioned in the order of their ages, are Thomas J., Henry C., Stephen H., Daniel W., and James A.

Of these, Thomas J. remained for a long time a resident of our county after his father's emigration to Iowa, holding many important trusts both as citizen and soldier; on this account we shall accord him a fuller notice on subsequent pages.

Henry C. is a lawyer, residing at Marshalltown, Iowa. He was a clerk in the treasury department at Washington, from 1849 to 1852. In 1850, he married Miss Ianthe Fuller, of Elmira, Stark county, by whom he has a large family. In 1853, he went to Rock Island, Illinois, and practiced law for three years, then removed to his present location. He was elected to the state senate of Iowa, in 1863, and in 1864, was a presidential elector on the republican ticket, voting for Lincoln and Johnson. This gentleman seems to have inherited much of his father as a political speaker and leader, but of late has devoted himself exclusively to the pratice of his profession.

Stephen H. read law in Rock Island, Illinois, and entered upon the practice; but soon abandoned the bar for the pulpit, becoming a Methodist itinerant. In 1862, however, he left the pulpit for the army, was chosen captain of company A, 24th regiment Iowa infantry, and was afterwards colonel of 44th regiment, Iowa infantry. He was with Grant at the siege of Vicksburg, participated in the battles of Port Gibson and Champion Hills, besides many minor engagements around Vicksburg. At the close of the war he returned to his clerical duties, and has been for several years, a presiding elder in the Methodist church, noted for the force and finish of his oratory and his devotion to his work.

Daniel W. was a lieutenant in the 22d Iowa infantry, under the command of Colonel, afterwards Governor Stone. He also was with Grant at Vicksburg, and participated in the battle of Port Gibson, where he was seriously wounded; served in Mississippi, Louisiana and Texas mostly; is now a respected citizen and successful farmer of Green county, Iowa.

James A. was admitted to the practice of law from his brother's office in Toulon, Illinois; was at one time master in chancery of Stark county, and here enlisted in company K, 47th regiment of Illinois volunteers. He was promoted to a lieutenantcy, but on account of poor health could not serve. This gentleman has been twice married to ladies well known here; first to Miss Burdell Turner, of Hennepin, grand-daughter of Captain Butler, second to Miss Frank Dewey of Toulon. Since the war he has resided in Iowa, at Marshalltown, and at Jefferson, Green county, and devoted himself to the practice of his profession.

Although most of this group have given the strength of their manhood to Iowa, yet as boys they belonged to us. Here their characters were formed, and it is their voluntary statement that whatever is valuable therein, they attribute in a large degree to the influences that surrounded them in those early years passed in Stark; that their memories still fondly turn to that cabin-home on the hill just south of Toulon, and recall with pleasure the scenes and friends of those days. In return we may say "the Henderson boys," will never be forgotten while an old settler remains on Indian creek of Spoon river.


General Thomas J. Henderson

The roster of officers and men serving in the late war from the grand old prairie state furnishes a long list of those who distinguished themselves in camp and upon the battlefield, and among that number there is not one with a better record for faithful service, greater bravery and exalted patriotism than the man whose name heads this sketch. He is a native of Tennessee, born in Brownsville, Haywood County, November 29, 1824 and is the son of Colonel William H. Henderson and Sarah M. (Howard) Henderson.

William H. Henderson was born in Garrard county, Kentucky, November 16, 1793, and there spent his boyhood and youth. At the age of nineteen years he enlisted in Colonel Richard M. Johnson’s regiment of mounted riflemen, and served during the war of 1812.

Having studied surveying, for some years he followed that profession in his native state, and in 1823 removed to Tennessee, locating in Stewart County. In that State he also engaged in surveying, and also filled a number of offices of honor and trust. He served as sheriff of his county, was elected to the state senate, which position he resigned in 1836, to remove to Illinois. He was the first register of deeds of Haywood county, in which Brownsville is located, and there recorded the first deed the same year our subject was born.

On coming to this state William H. Henderson located in Putnam, now Stark county, on a farm, but his business tact and abilities were soon recognized by the people, and two years after his arrival he was elected a member of the legislature, in 1838, and in the winter of 1838-39 met with that body in its last session at Vandalia, and where he was associated with Lincoln, Edwards, and other notable men. He also served in the first session of the legislature meeting at Springfield, in the winter of 1840-41. While a member of that body he was instrumental in the creation and organization of Stark County. In 1842 he was a candidate on the Whig ticket for lieutenant-governor, but was defeated. In 1845 he removed to Johnson county, Iowa, where he purchased and operated a large farm. In politics he was a Whig. His death occurred January 27, 1864, at the age of seventy-one years.

William H. Henderson was twice married, his first marriage being with Miss Lucinda Wimberly, in Stewart County, Tennessee, January 11, 1816. By this union there were three children: Mary, who married John T. Sevier, both now being deceased; John W., who twice served as a member of the senate from Linn county, Iowa, and who now resides at Cedar Rapids, that state; and William P., who resides at Jefferson City, Iowa. Mrs. Lucinda Henderson died in Haywood County, Tennessee, and later Mr. Henderson married Sarah M. Howard, who was born in Sampson County, North Carolina, September 15, 1804, and died in Marshalltown, Iowa, in January, 1879. By this union were five children: (1) General Thomas J., our subject, (2) Henry C., who is now engaged in the practice of law at Boulder, Colorado; during the war he was a member of the state senate of Iowa, and for some years, was district judge in that state. (3) Elizabeth H., the only daughter by the second marriage, died in infancy. (4) Reverend Stephen H., who was a member of the Iowa Methodist Episcopal conference for some years, and while there filled some of the best pulpits of the state, and who also served as presiding elder. He was later transferred to the Nebraska conference and filled the Methodist Episcopal pulpits in Lincoln and other cities. He married Miss Elizabeth Winterstein of Iowa, a lady of pleasing presence, of much culture, and most admirably for the wife of a minister. They reside at Lincoln, Nebraska. (5) Daniel W., who resides at Jefferson, Iowa. He was a member of the Thirty-second Iowa Infantry, and served three years in the late war. (6) James A., who became an attorney of note in Iowa, but who was compelled to abandon the practice of law on account of ill health. Removing to Toulon, Illinois, he there published the Stark County News until his death. He was a member of the Forty-seventh Illinois Infantry.

The boyhood of our subject was spent in his native state, and until eleven years of age he attended the common schools and the male academy at Brownville, Tennessee, and during the last year commenced the study of Latin. With his father’s family he came to Stark County, Illinois, where he attended the pioneer schools of that locality. Nine years later he again went with the family to Johnson county, Iowa, where he entered the State University at Iowa City and spent one term. Prior to this, however, he had taught country schools more than a year.

On leaving the university he returned to Stark County, and taught the first term of school inn a building just erected for that purpose at Toulon. He then clerked in a store for nearly a year, and in the fall in 1847, was elected clerk of the county commissioner’s court of Stark county and served as such until the office was changed to that of clerk of the county court, to which office he was elected and served until 1853. While discharging the duties of these offices which were not very arduous at that time, he continued his law studies, and in 1852 passed an examination and was admitted to practice. On the expiration of his term as clerk, in 1853, he opened an office in Toulon and commenced the practice of his chosen profession.

Law and politics seemed to go hand in hand that day, and in 1854, Mr. Henderson was elected a member of the Illinois legislature and served in that capacity a term of two years. In 1856 he was elected to the state senate, and served with such men as N. B. Judd, Silas I. Bryan, B. C. Cook and W. C. Goudy, and was at that time the youngest member of that body. Those were exciting times. The Whig party had ceased to exist, and the newly organized Republican Party had sprung into existence. As an anti-Nebraska man he was elected to the house, but as a republican he was elected to the senate. The celebrated Kansas-Nebraska act had been passed. The southern states were attempting to force slavery upon the newly organized territories, and the north, much against its will, was forced to recognize the great power wielded by the south, and that that section was determined to have its way regardless of consequences. In this political fight our subject entered heart and soul.

The election of Abraham Lincoln in 1860 furnished the pretext for the southern states to carry out their threats. Secession acts were passed, and the war for the preservation of the union was begun. It may well be surmised on which side our subject was to be found. In almost every school district in Stark County he addressed his fellow-citizens, urging enlistments, and pleading with all to stand by the administration and the union.

In the summer of 1862, when the call came for 300,000 more, Mr. Henderson determined to enlist, and at once took the field and soon succeeded in raising a company, which became a part of the One Hundred and Twelfth regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry. Assembling in camp, by permission of Governor Yates the regiment was permitted to elect its colonel and Mr. Henderson received the unanimous vote, both of officers and privates. On the 22d of September, 1862, the regiment was mustered into service and immediately ordered to the front. Its record for nearly three years following is a part of history of that great struggle. In the campaigns through Georgia and Tennessee, the One Hundred and Twelfth was ever at the front, its colonel winning the good will of his superior officers for his conscientious discharge of every duty devolving upon him. "Always hopeful, always prompt, always courageous, a most loyal subordinate, and a most able and devoted leader," was the record given him by Major-General J. D. Cox, under whom he long served.

At the battle of Resaca, Georgia, May 14, 1864, he was severely wounded and lay in a hospital for some time, after which he was granted a furlough and came home to recuperate. Returning to his regiment, the Third Brigade, Third Division, Twenty-third Army Corps, was organized for him, and he was assigned to its command. As commander of this brigade, he served until the close of the war, being brevetted a brigade-general for gallant conduct during the campaign in Georgia and Tennessee, and especially at the battle of Franklin, Tennessee, the commission dating November 30, 1864.

The war over, the regiment being mustered out of service, General Henderson returned to his home in Toulon, Stark county, and quietly resumed the practice of law. There he remained until March, 1867, when he moved to Princeton and formed a partnership with the late Joseph I. Taylor in the practice of his profession, which was continued until 1871. At this time the general was appointed by President Grant as United States collector of internal revenue for the 5th Illinois district, with headquarters at Peoria. During the two years he was connected with that office he collected and turned over to the general government more than nine million dollars. Returning home in 1873, he formed a partnership with Judge H. M. Trimble, which still continues, the firm being an exceptionally strong one.

In 1868 General Henderson was one of the presidential electors for the state at large, and cast his vote for General Grant. In 1870, he unsuccessfully sought the nomination for congress, and in 1874 was nominated and elected a member of the Forty-fifth congress from the sixth district. During that term he served on the railways, canals and pension committees, in the Forty-sixth on commerce; in the Forty-seventh he was chairman of the committee of military affairs; in the Forty-eight, Forty-ninth and Fiftieth congresses he served on the committee on rivers and harbors; in the Fifty-first he was chairman of committee on rivers and harbors; and in the Fifty-second and Fifty-third he served on rivers and harbors and also on banking and currency.

For eight years he served as a member of the sixth district, and for twelve years from the seventh. After his first term he was always re-nominated by acclamation. In all, General Henderson served the people faithfully and well for twenty years. His greatest service as a member of congress, as he regards it, was rendered as a member of the committees on commerce and on rivers and harbors, in the improvement of the waterways of the country, and his principal achievement was the securing of the construction of the Hennepin canal, and this is a movement of which he may well be proud. A man more honest and devoted to the best interests of his constituents never entered the halls of congress, and those that know him best do not hestitate to say that he is in every respect a noble type of American manhood. For twenty years he has been one of the most popular of the soldier statesmen in congress, and his name stands for honesty, integrity and everything that is good in politics and public life. No man in Bureau county in the past twenty years has stood nearer the hearts of the people.

General Henderson was married May 29, 1849 to Miss Henrietta Butler, of Wyoming, Stark county. She was born in New York City, August 11, 1830, and is the daughter of Captain Henry and Rebecca (Green) Butler of Wyoming, Illinois. By this union, four children have been born (1) Gertrude R., wife of Charles J. Dunbar, of Princeton, and they have two living children, Harry B. and Fred T. (2) Sarah E., wife of Chester M. Durley of Princeton, who also have two children, Leigh and Helen. (3) Mary L., wife of John Farnsworth of Washington, D.C., who have four living children, Gertrude, John, Eunice and Thomas H. (4) Thomas B., a boot and shoe dealer of Princeton and insurance agent.

Fraternally General Henderson is a Mason, holding membership, with blue lodge, chapter, commandery and consistory. As a citizen he is every ready to do all in his power to advance the interests of his adopted city, giving of his time and means for its material advancement. He and his estimable wife live in a beautiful home on Peru street.

The republicanism of General Henderson has never been doubted. He was a delegate at the last Whig state convention in Springfield, and was a delegate to the republican national convention at St. Louis in 1896, and cast his vote for Major McKinley, protection and sound currency. [The Biographical Record of Bureau, Marshall and Putnam Counties, Illinois, Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company 1896, Page 10-13 - sub. by Nancy Piper]


William H. Hewitt, D.D.S.

There is no more progressive dentist in this section of Illinois than Dr. W. H. Hewitt, of Wyoming, who has what is conceded to be the finest and best equipped dental parlor to be found in any town of its size in the state. He has a reception room, an office, a laboratory, a lavatory and a private rest room and is scrupulously careful to secure surgical cleanliness in his work and his apparatus is electrically driven. His offices are in the Scott, Walters & Rakestraw Bank building. A native son of Illinois, he was born in Bureau county in 1867, of the marriage of David and Drusilla (Spangler) Hewitt. The father was born in Ohio but in early manhood went to Bureau county, where he engaged in farming. Both he and his wife are deceased.

W. H. Hewitt spent his boyhood under the parental roof and accompanied his parents on their removal to Cass county, Iowa, in 1872. He completed a course in the public schools and subsequently was for two years a student in Oberlin College at Oberlin, Ohio, after which he entered the Chicago College of Dental Surgery, from which he was graduated three years later, in 1904, with the degree of D. D. S. He at once located in Wyoming, where he has built up a large and representative practice. He has equipped his attractively furnished rooms with everything that could promote his efficiency and add to the convenience of his patrons. He has gained unusual skill in his profession and has won a well deserved reputation for doing excellent work. His home, which he erected three years ago, is one of the finest residences in the town.

Dr. Hewitt was married in 1900 to Miss Sarah Elizabeth White, a native of Bureau county and a daughter of William and Elizabeth (Lewis) White, the former of whom is deceased, while the latter survives. The Doctor supports the republican party but has never had the time to spare from his profession to take an active part in politics. Both he and his wife are members of the Congregational church, and he is also well known in Masonic circles, belonging to the blue lodge and chapter at Wyoming, the commandery at Kewanee and the Shrine at Peoria. Dr. Hewitt has not only won high standing in his profession but has also gained the warm personal friendship of many, and his genuine worth is recognized by all who know him.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 189-190. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Charles Himes

Charles Himes (deceased), was born in Rutland, Vt., in the year 1810, on April 25, and is a son of Amos Himes and Anna Adams, his wife. Our subject was taken with his parents to Pennsylvania (Bradford county), where he grew to manhood. In 1837 he came to Farmington, this state, and resided a year, then returned to Pennsylvania, where he resided till 1846, when he removed with his wife and children, five in number, to Stark county, settling in what is now Goshen township, purchasing at that time 160 acres of prairie land. Here he settled, broke up, and got in cultivation his land and improved it, living thereon during his life and prospered. He was an energetic, public-spirited man, devoted to the cause of education and a supporter of the public school system, and for years stood at the head of school work in his district as director. He also served his townsmen in the capacity of road commissioner. He was a member of the Disciple church, with which he connected himself in Pennsylvania, and it was through his personal efforts that the Disciple church was organized at Lafayette. In about 1855 he connected himself with the Baptist church, of which he was a member at his death. He was married in Vermont to Laura Greno, who bore him nine children, viz.: Franklin, deceased; Moses A., deceased; Inman P., Arkansas; Austin C., Anna L., Clarissa L., Emma L., Jennie, Homer H. Mr. H. died November 21, 1876. Mrs. H. died January 10, 1869, born in 1809. In her early life she was a member of the Disciple church, and later in life joined the Baptist church. Mr. H. was a Whig up to the formation of the Republican party, when he joined it and was a warm supporter of its principles. All of his children, save Jennie, reside in Stark county, she in Kansas. Austin C. was born in Bradford county, Pa., in 1840. He was six years old when his parents settled on the prairies of Illinois, was reared on the farm land; in the district schools obtained a practical education. He was married to Miss Louisa M., daughter of A. M. Starr, in 1872, who has borne him seven children, five living, viz.: Charles A., Mary E., Ralph J., Ruby, and one deceased, unnamed. He and wife and family are members of the Baptist church. Politically, he votes the Republican ticket. He enlisted in 1862 in Company F., One-hundred-and twelfth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and served until the war was over. Was in the battles of the regiment up to the time of the Atlanta campaign; private, discharged in 1865. Inman P. was a member of Company B, Thirty-seventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry, enlisting in 1861; went out as corporal, rose to the first-lieutenant, and was breveted captain; was discharged in 1866.

History of Stark County, Illinois; M.A. Leeson, Chicago, M.A. Leeson & Co., 1887, p. 552. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Thomas Hoadley

Among Stark county's well known business men is Thomas Hoadley, who is engaged in the grain and lumber trade in La Fayette. He has been connected with this line of business activity for a longer period than any other grain merchant of Stark county, for he began dealing in grain thirty-seven years ago and for twenty-seven years has been thus engaged in the county in which he now makes his home. He is honored and respected by all, not alone by reason of the success he has achieved but also owing to the straight-forward business policy which he has ever followed, his course measuring up to the highest commercial standards.

Mr. Hoadley is a native of New York, his birth having occurred at Tuckahoe, Westchester county, December 27, 1854. His father, Richard Hoadley, was a native of the same county and was a son of Thomas Hoadley, a native of England, who was there reared and learned the blacksmith's trade. After working at the forge for a few years in England he determined to try his fortune in the new world and crossed the Atlantic to the United States, settling at White Plains, New York. There he largely devoted his time and energies to the business of tool making. His son, Richard Hoadley, was reared in the Empire State, where he learned the trades of blacksmithing and tool making, devoting a number of years to that kind of work. Before leaving New York he was married to Miss Hannah Mort, a native of New York and of English lineage. They afterward removed westward to Ohio and for a year Mr. Hoadley worked at his trade in Cleveland, after which he came to Illinois, settling at Long Ridge, Stark county, about 1850. There he built a shop and carried on business. He was a natural mechanic, possessing marked ingenuity along mechanical lines, and for some years he successfully continued in business at Long Ridge, but later disposed of his interests there and removed to Sparland, where he again engaged in business in the line of his trade. He was afterward employed in a shop in Toulon and then opened an establishment for the manufacture of carriages and buggies, in addition to which he maintained a blacksmith shop. He did very fine work as a carriage and buggy builder and his exhibits at state fairs won various premiums. He never lowered the standard of workmanship, which was of superior quality and finish. He carried on business at Toulon for a number of years and became widely known, the products of his factory finding favor among those who cared for the best that is to be obtained. While living in Sparland he lost his first wife and later he married again. He is now living retired in Toulon, where he has a circle of friends almost coextensive with the circle of his acquaintance.

Thomas Hoadley was reared in Toulon and at the usual age became a public school pupil. When his textbooks were put aside he obtained a clerkship in a store at Duncan and later had charge of the business, which was owned by A. J. Scott, whom he represented as manager for some time. Subsequently, however, he turned his attention to the grain trade, taking charge of an elevator. He was next sent to Nebraska and was connected with Mr. Brockway at Burchard, Pawnee county, where for more than a year he bought and shipped grain. He afterward returned to Illinois and took charge of an elevator in Peoria county, where he continued for two years. He then again went to Nebraska and represented a Chicago company in the grain trade at Ord.

It was while he was residing in Castleton, Illinois, that Mr. Hoadley was married, on the 22nd of June, 1898, to Miss Agnes B. Ruhl, a native of Illinois, who was born at Topeka. Her father, Dr. A. H. Ruhl, was a native of Ohio and was married in Fort Wayne, Indiana, to Miss Elizabeth Dickey. He has engaged in the drug business at various places, but is now devoting his attention alone to the practice of medicine in Oklahoma. He served his country as a soldier of the Civil War and has always been loyal in his citizenship.

Following his marriage, Mr. Hoadley engaged in the grain business at Castleton for ten years, and in 1903 came to La Fayette, where he purchased an elevator and grain business and also a residence. He has likewise invested in good land in Kansas, where he owns an improved farm. His business affairs are capably managed and in their control he has displayed sound judgment and keen discrimination. He has ever based his advancement upon industry, and his life record indicates what may be accomplished through resolute and determined purpose.

To Mr. and Mrs. Hoadley have been born two daughters, Grace and Dorothy, who are now students in the La Fayette school. The family home is an attractive one and its warm-hearted hospitality is greatly enjoyed by their many friends. Mrs. Hoadley is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and she and the elder daughter are active workers and teachers in the Sunday school. Mr. Hoadley supports the republican party but has never sought nor desired office. He is loyal in matters of citizenship, however, and works for those interests which he believes will be of value and benefit to the community.

[Stark County, Illinois and it's People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 46-49 – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Frank W. and Fred W. Hodges

Frank W. and Fred W. Hodges, who are successfully engaged in farming and stock raising in Valley township, Stark county, are operating under the firm name of Hodges Brothers. They are twins and were born on the 11th of June, 1878, sons of David and Nancy (Hutchinson) Hodges. The father was born in Kent county, England, on the 25th of February, 1822, of the marriage of Thomas and Mary (Hanford) Hodges. When thirteen years of age he accompanied his parents to the United States and for some time lived in Saratoga Springs, New York. In 1851, however, he came to Stark county Illinois, and purchased one hundred and sixty acres of land in Valley township. He soon afterward returned to New York but the following year again visited Stark county. In 1853 he took up his residence here. He was a practical farmer, and his well directed labors yielded him a good income. He was highly esteemed in his community, and his death, which occurred in 1910, was the occasion of much sincere grief. He was married in 1853, in New York, to Miss Jane Standish, a native of Saratoga county, and they became the parents of two children, Harvey and Joseph. The wife and mother died in 1859 and in 1860 Mr. Hodges was married to Mrs. Nancy Hutchinson, of Chillicothe, Illinois, by whom he had the following children: Otis Clarke, Sherman, Frank W. and Fred W.

The two last named received a good education in the district schools and early became familiar with agricultural work. Since the death of their father they have engaged in farming independently under the name of Hodges Brothers and they rank among the most substantial residents of Valley township. They own six hundred and sixty acres of arable land and also a thirty-seven acre tract of timber land. They raise grain to some extent but give special attention to the feeding of stock for market. They are up-to-date and enterprising and receive a handsome income from their well directed labors.

Both brothers are unmarried and their mother has charge of the household affairs. They support the republican party at the polls, and Fred W. has served as road commissioner and as school director. They are identified with the Masonic lodge at Speer, Illinois, with the Royal Arch chapter at Wyoming, and their lives are in harmony with the benficient teachings of the craft. They attend the Congregational church and take a notable interest in its work. They are highly esteemed wherever known and most of all where best known.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 325-326. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Otis Hodges

Otis Hodges, who holds the title to the Maple Ridge Farm comprising there hundred and twenty acres of land on section 1, Penn township, was born in Valley township, Stark county, on the 21st of November, 1860, of the marriage of David and Nancy (Hutchinson) Hodges. The father, who was born in England, came to the United States when only thirteen years of age and located in Saratoga, New York. He remained there for nineteen years but at the end of that time, in 1851, removed to Stark county, Illinois. He purchased land here, which he operated for two years, and then returned to New York state. At length, however, he came again to Stark county and his remaining days were passed upon the home farm here. He was a fine business man, and as the years passed and his resources increased he invested in additional land, becoming in time the owner of eight or nine hundred acres. His wife survives and still lives in Valley township.

Otis Hodges entered the public schools at the usual age and acquired a good education. After putting aside this textbooks he assisted his father on the farm until he was twenty-eight years of age, when he purchased land in Peoria county. He farmed there for a long period but in 1909 removed to his present farm, which comprises three hundred and twenty acres and is situation on section 1, Penn township. Ten acres of the land is in timber in Peoria county but all of the rest is under cultivation and aside from his home farm he operates an additional fifty-six acres. The place is known as the Maple Ridge Farm and is well improved and thoroughly modern in its equipment. He raises the crops best adapted to soil and climate and also feeds some stock, especially hogs. As the years have passed he has prospered financially and is now in excellent circumstances.

On the 11th of September, 1889, occurred the marriage of Mr. Hodges and Miss Elizabeth Graham, who was born in Scotland. They have become the parents of the following children: Sherman, who is living in Bradford, Illinois; Agnes, who is the wife of Mart Deyo, of Osceola township; Raymond, who married Elsie Drawyer and who is assisting his father; and Robert, Alma, Jesse, John and Edwin all at home.

Mr. Hodges casts his ballot in support of the candidates and measures of the republican party and for two terms served as road commissioner in Akron township, Peoria county. Fraternally he is identified with the Maccabees. He attends the Methodist Protestant church, to which some of the family belong, and his influence is always given on the side of righteousness and justice.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 285-286. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


HODGES, OTIS; Farmer; born in Stark County, Illinois, November 21, 1860; educated in the common schools. His father, David Hodges, was born February 15, 1822, in Kent, England; Nancy (Hutchinson), his mother, was born at Chillicothe, Ohio. David Hodges came with his parents to Saratoga, New York, in 1835; removed to Illinois in 1851 and purchased a farm on Section 35, in Valley Township, Stark County. He was twice married; first, in 1835, to Jane Standish of Saratoga County. They had two children: J. Harvey and Joseph K. Mrs. Hodges died March 23. 1858. His second marriage was with Nancy Hutchinson of Ohio, February, 1859. They had six children: Otis, Clark E., Sherman (died at the age of sixteen), a daughter (died in infancy), Frank W. and Fred W. (twins). The parents are still living. Mr. Otis Hodges was married to Elizabeth Graham in Akron Township, September 11, 1889. They had seven children: Sherman D., Agnes E., Raymond O., Robert C., Alma O., Jessie M. and John G., the last born June 6, 1901. Mrs. Hodges' father, John Graham, was born near Glasgow, Scotland, November 28, 1839, was educated there and married Elizabeth Bowman of Scotland. They had six children: Elizabeth, David (who died at the age of thirteen months). Robert B., (who died at the age of twenty-two years), John, Jr., Margaret and James. The Graham family came to the United States in 1873, locating in Akron Township. Mr. Hodges attends the Presbyterian Church, and is. a Republican. The families are of English and Scotch ancestry.

From Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Edited by David McCulloch, Vol. II; Chicago and Peoria: Munsell Publishing Company, Publishers, 1902. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


William Holgate

William Holgate was formerly active in various lines of business, and as all of his undertakings proved profitable he gained financial independence and is now living retired in Wyoming. His birth occurred in Penn township, Stark county, April 15, 1844, and he is a son of James Holgate, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. Our subject was reared upon the family homestead and entered the district schools at the usual age, attending for six months a year until he was twelve years old and for three months a year until he was seventeen years of age.

On the 12th of August, 1862, when little more than eighteen years old, Mr. Holgate enlisted in Company E., One Hundred and Twelfth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, under Colonel T. J. Henderson, and went to the front with that command. He was wounded in the shoulder at Atlanta and was in a hospital for four months. He was also held a prisoner at Belle Island for five months, but during the rest of the time was with his company and participated in the battles in which his regiment was engaged. He was mustered out on the 15th of July, 1865, and was honorably discharged at Chicago and then returned to Stark county, where he engaged in farming on his own account, owning two hundred and seventy-five acres in Penn township. In 1876 he bought out a private bank in old Wyoming, nationalized the institution and served as its president until the charter was given up. He has been president of five different banks and has never held any other position in any of them. For seventeen years he conducted a furniture and undertaking business in Wyoming and proved as successful as a merchant as he had as a farmer and financier. Although he has now retired from active life he still owns nine hundred and sixty acres of land in Kansas and derives a handsome income from that investment.

Mr. Holgate was united in marriage to Miss Charlotte A. Kissinger, who was born in Pennsylvania in 1845 and is a daughter of Alexander and Nancy (Snare) Kissinger, natives of Martinsburg, Pennsylvania.

Her father followed the tailor's trade in early manhood, but in 1847 came to Stark county, Illinois, and acquired title to two hundred and forty acres of land in Penn township, which he cultivated until called by death. His wife is also deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Holgate have two daughters: Carrie, the wife of Charles A. Smith, a merchant of Wyoming; and Cora, who married Lyman Graves, also a resident of Wyoming. There was a third daughter, Katie, who married M. A. Sparr, but who has passed away.

Mr. Holgate has always been a stalwart republican and has done all in his power to advance the interests of that party although all the rest of the family have been democrats and he was reared in that political belief. He is well known throughout the county, and all who have had dealings with him recognize his ability and sound judgment. He is one of the leading citizens of Wyoming, and his home is one of the fine residences of the town.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 105-106. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Dr. James R. Holgate

Dr. James R. Holgate, who has gained a creditable place for himself in professional circles of Stark county, is a native of the county, his birth having occurred in Penn township on the 24th of September, 1841. A sketch of his father, James Holgate, appears elsewhere in this work. As a boy and youth he divided his time between assisting his father with the farm work and attending the district schools and later he continued his education in the schools of Henry, Toulon and Cherry Grove and in Rush Medical College of Chicago, from which he was graduated in 1869 with the degree of M.D. He first opened an office for practice in Castleton and remained there for many years but in 1892 went to Alabama, where he purchased land and engaged in farming for five years. He did not find conditions there as much to his liking as in this county and so returned to Wyoming, where he has since practiced his profession with gratifying success. He has always studied his cases carefully and his long experience has supplemented the training which he received in school and the knowledge which he has gained through wide reading along professional lines. He has been very successful in the treatment of disease and is accorded a large and representative patronage.

Dr. Holgate was married April 26, 1873, to Miss Emma Stinson, who was born in New York state and was engaged in teaching school previous to her marriage. She passed away in Castleton, in the faith of the Congregational church. She was the mother of four children, as follows: Winsor R., who is in the employ of the Bell Telephone Company in Montana; Leslie M., who is also a resident of Montana and is working for the Bell Telephone Company; June Rhea, who died when nine years of age; and Bliss B. who is living in Great Bend, Kansas, and is in the service of the Arkansas Valley Telephone Company.

Dr. Holgate is independent in politics and although he has always kept well informed as to the questions before the people has never been an office seeker as his professional work has required his undivided attention. He holds membership in the Masonic lodge at Wyoming, an association which indicates the principles that govern his conduct. Not only is his ability as a physician recognized but all who know him testify to his genuine worth and his loyalty in friendship.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 61-62 – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Edwin Holmes

Edwin Holmes is one of the most venerable citizens of Stark county, having passed the eighty-fourth milestone of life’s journey. For a long period he was actively connected with farming on section 12, Penn township, but now lives retired, making his home with his daughter, Mrs. W. C. Bocock. He was born in Hyde, Cheshire, England, April 9, 1832, a son of Eli and Maria (Bailey) Holmes. The father, who was a clothier, died during the infancy of the son, who was one of eight children, of whom three sons came to the United States.

In the common schools of his native country Edwin Holmes mastered the elementary branches of learning and when about fifteen years of age bound himself out to Captain Jacob Gilles of the merchant ship Queen, a sailing vessel, on which he remained for three years. At New York he shipped as second mate on the L. & W. Armstrong, a vessel on which he sailed to Maricaibo, South America. While in charge of the deck one day a colored man refused to do his work and this brought on trouble, resulting in mutiny, but with the aid of some soldiers the disturbance was quelled, and of the four

– Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Mr. & Mrs. Edwin Holmes

Negroes who were prominent in the disturbance two were brought back in irons to New York, where Mr. Holmes was summoned to appear as a witness against them.

After four years spent as a seaman Mr. Holmes returned to Liverpool with the intention of going to the East Indies, but on landing was met by his mother and sister, who were en route for America, and he accompanied them, arriving at New Orleans in the spring of 1850. He then proceeded northward and found employment in a brickyard in Fulton county, Illinois, at fourteen dollars per month, working from two o’clock in the morning until after dark. He afterward spent several years in the coal mines near Canton, Illinois, and while thus engaged was married in 1855 to Miss Salina Savill, who was born at Oldham, England, but when four years of age was brought to this country by her parents, Abraham and Ann (Adee) Savill, who, after a winter spent in Cincinnati, removed to Canton, Illinois. Mr. and Mrs. Holmes began their domestic life at Canton but a year later came to Stark county, and for another year he was employed in the coal mines of Toulon township. He then returned to Canton and two years later went to Marshall county, Illinois, where he engaged in farming for a year. He then removed to a rented farm in Penn township, Stark county, and after two years purchased forty acres on section 12, in that township, taking up his abode on that place in 1860.

After two years, however, Mr. Holmes put aside business and personal considerations in order to defend the Union, enlisting on the 12th of April, 1862, as a member of the One Hundred and Twelfth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, under Colonel Thomas J. Henderson. In September the troops were sworn in and a few days later started for Kentucky, where they went into winter Quarters. After active experience of a year in the usual military routine, Mr. Holmes was detailed for a scouting expedition with three companions. At five o’clock in the afternoon of September 14, 1863, they crossed the Hiawassee river and at two o’clock in the morning arrived at Cleveland. In an engagement which followed three days later, where they fought against overwhelming odds, they were compelled to surrender. The captain of the company had been killed and Mr. Holmes was severely wounded in the leg. All of the company were sent to Richmond, save Mr. Holmes, who, unable to walk, was left at Cleveland. Two weeks later he was sent with a number of other prisoners to Dalton, Georgia, and after eight days there was sent fifty miles farther south to Cassville. His traveling greatly inflamed his wounds, almost causing the loss of his leg. He had suffered too from the neglect of the rebel surgeon, but was fortunate in that the surgeons were changed about that time, and from the new one he received kindness and attention. On the 25th of January, 1864, with other soldiers, he was removed to Atlanta, then the heart of the southern confederacy. He suffered all the hardships and privations of southern prison life with poor food and no comforts. In the last of February the good news was received that an exchange was to be made, and Mr. Holmes and his comrades were taken to Dalton, only to be disappointed, for after twenty-four men were exchanged the balance were sent back to Atlanta, where they were placed under strong guard. On the 24th of March again came the order for exchange, but this, too, proved to be a delusion and they were sent to Andersonville, where it seemed that rebel cruelty had reached its height such was the unmitigated misery and suffering which presented itself there within the prison walls. There was not a tent of any kind to shelter the twenty thousand there confined. The weather was cold and it rained constantly. The conditions were mostly unsanitary and they were deliberately and systematically starved, while many of the men were almost naked, the rebels having taken their clothes. All around were men dead and dying. Mr. Holmes was still lame and on crutches. Wrapping his blanket around him he sat down on his crutches, trying in that way to keep out of the mud, but he could not sleep owing to the cold and wet. Finally he heard someone say, “Has anyone come in from the Hundred and Twelfth?” and to his great joy found a soldier from his own regiment, and later some from his own company, who invited him to their mess to partake of such food as they had, which was nothing but a little corn meal. On the evening of the 29th of March, after having been enrolled, he drew his first ration at Andersonville, consisting of a pint of meal made from corncob and corn together, half a teaspoon of salt and two ounces of meat. That was a day’s ration. For six weary months he remained at Andersonville amid scenes of sickness, suffering and anguish, surrounded by dead and dying. Once more they were told that they were to be exchanged, again to be disappointed, and on the 28th of September were sent to Charleston, the rebels fearing that the Union troops would be released by Sherman, who had already taken Atlanta. At Charleston they were placed and kept under the fire of Union guns for two days, after which they were sent back about one hundred miles into the country to Florence, where they were kept under heavy guard until a stockade could be built, being most inhumanly treated. For three days all that they received to eat was a half pint of poor corn meal and about two tablespoonfuls of stock peas, or Negro beans, to a man. Some days they had nothing at all to eat, on one occasion being kept without food for three days as punishment because some of the Union soldiers had dug a tunnel under the prison walls, for which eleven thousand of the emaciated and suffering soldiers were compelled to endure the pangs of hunger for three days. The horrors of prison life seemed to reach their height at Florence, but on the 28th of November, 1864, the order for exchange again came and the men were put on cars for Charleston, where they changed cars for Savannah, arriving on the 29th. The next day they took the flag of truce and started for the Union lines, arriving on the same day on board a ship of the Union fleet. The relief and thankfulness of the men can better be imagined than described. Some of them had not been able to wash for months, and after washing they were furnished with new clothes and supplied a good supper, the first real meal they had had in nine months. After a few days they sailed for Annapolis and four days later landed on free soil. Mr. Holmes and his comrades were then paid off, after having been inmates of rebel prisons for fourteen months and twelve days. On the 16th of December he left for his Illinois home and when discharged from the service returned to the farm where his wife had remained during his absence.

He at once resumed the cultivation of his land, and in 1866, having saved some money, purchased twenty acres more. Two years later he bought another forty-acre tract and in 1892 bought one hundred acres in Toulon township on which was a coal mine in operation. He also has one hundred sixty acres of land in Texas, inherited from a brother. He developed his Penn township farm into a valuable property, on which he placed many improvements and for two years he engaged in general farming, meeting with substantial success.

To Mr. and Mrs. Holmes were born four children: Maria Ann, the wife of William Combs Bocock, of Wyoming, by whom she has a daughter, Mina; Mary Jane, the deceased wife of Walter Swett; Albert Oscar, who died at the age of eight years; and Alfred Edwin, in school.

In 1852 Mr. Holmes cast his first presidential ballot for John Winfield Scott, and in 1864 supported John C. Fremont, the first presidential candidate of the republican party. He has since been a stalwart supporter of the party, doing everything in his power to promote its growth and insure its success. He has never been an office seeker but has served as school director. He belongs to Dickerson Post, G.A.R., and has attended many of the reunions of his regiment and state encampments. He is a self-made man, owing his success entirely to his earnest efforts, close application and business ability. Throughout his entire life he has displayed many sterling traits of character and is today not only one of the most venerable but also one of the most honorable citizens of Stark county.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 224-230. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


H. P. Hopkins

H. P. Hopkins, who has been engaged in the lumber business in Bradford since 1884, is now vice president of the E. W. Houghton Lumber Company, which owns eight yards in this and adjoining counties. His birth occurred in Allegany county, New York, on the 25th of July, 1841, and his parents, Ezra M. and Fanny (Stacy) Hopkins, were natives of Rochester, Vermont, where they were reared and married. Subsequently a removal was made to Allegany county, New York, and there the father devoted his time to farming and dairying interest until 1806, when he came west with his family. He passed away three years later when he had reached the age of sixty-six years and his demise was regretted by those who had come in close contact with him, for he was a man of sterling worth. For twenty-two years he served as justice of the peace in New York, and he was a lifelong member and for many years a deacon in the Presbyterian church. His wife, who was also an active church worker, passed away when sixty-five years old.

H. P. Hopkins is the sixth in order of birth in a family of seven children. He has one sister living, Mrs. Fannie Thompson, a resident of Buda, Illinois. He grew to manhood in New York and after attending the common schools became a student in the Rushford Academy. In 1863 he came to Illinois and was here connected with the map business, but trade being dull, he turned his attention to other work, teaching during the winter months in Milo township. The following spring and summer he was employed in delivering a state map of Illinois and the next year he began farming in Milo township. In the fall he resumed teaching and continued to follow that profession until 1870. The summers, however, were devoted to farming in Milo township, but at length he decided that other pursuits would be more congenial and in 1870 he removed to Bradford and became a member of the firm of White & Hopkins, proprietors of a drug store. Later he also engaged in the clothing business, retaining, however, his interest in the drug store, which was managed by his partner, Mr. White. In February, 1884, Mr. Hopkins became associated with the E. W. Houghton Lumber Company, which was incorporated not long afterward, and he was made manager of the yards at Bradford. He has since remained with the company and in 1904 was made vice president. Following the death of Mr. Houghton, in 1912, he acted as president until January, 1913, when W. O. Houghton was elected president, since which time Mr. Hopkins has confined his attention to his duties as vice president. He understands the various phases of the business thoroughly, keeps in close touch with the trade and has had much to do with the growth and success of the concern. The company owned a half interest in both elevators at Bradford for several years and shipped a large amount of grain annually. Their home office is in Bradford and in addition to their yard there they own yards at Galva, Altona, Wyoming, Wyanette, Lamoille, Van Orin and Victoria, while they formerly also had a yard at Princeton but sold that to L. R. Davis and Ezra W. Hopkins, a son of our subject.

Mr. Hopkins was married in 1869 at Rushford, New York, to Miss Viola W. White, a daughter of Washington White and a native of Rushford. To this union have been born three children: Ezra W., who is a member of the firm of Hopkins & Davis, owners of the Princeton lumber yard; Carrie May, who died when seventeen years of age; and Harla, who is a manager of the lumber yard at Bradford and is also engaged in farming and dairying.

Mrs. Hopkins is a well educated woman, having attended the schools of Rushford and Clinton Seminary, and for two years was a teacher in Rushford Academy. While her husband was postmaster of Bradford she was his able assistant. She has taken an active part in the work of a number of organizations, having served as president of the Woman's Relief Corps of Bradford and as worthy matron of the local chapter of the Order of Eastern Star, and having been an active worker in the Baptist church and Sunday school.

Mr. Hopkins has given his political support to the republican party since age conferred upon him the right of franchise and during the last year of President Harrison's administration he was appointed postmaster, an office which he capably filled for four years. He was also president of the town board for several years and has likewise served as township trustee. The confidence which the public has placed in him has always been justified, as he has considered public office a public trust and has discharged his duties with a conscientious regard for the public welfare. He is now supervisor of his township. He belongs to Bradford Lodge, No. 514, A. F. & A. M.; and Wyoming Chapter, No. 133, R. A. M. He is one of the leading business men of Bradford and also one of its most popular citizens, as his attractive personal qualities and his proved integrity have gained him the warm regard of all who have been closely associated with him. He has passed his seventy-fifth birthday and is yet keen of mind and vigorous of body and retains also the spirit and courage of youth.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 177-179. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


J. W. House

J. W. House, living in Osceola, is the owner of valuable farm property in Elmira township, including three hundred and twenty acres lying on section 11. As the years have passed he has made judicious investments in farm property and from his holdings derives a gratifying annual income. A native of New York, Mr. House was born in the town of Memphis, March 9, 1856, a son of James T. and Miranda (Weaver) House, who were also natives of the Empire state, where they remained until 1856, when they removed westward to Illinois, settling in Osceola. Later they established their home three miles east of Osceola and upon that place continued to reside for many years. The mother died in 1894, while the father passed away about 1902, their remains being interred in the Osceola cemetery.

J. W. House is indebted to the district school system for the educational privileges which he enjoyed. He remained at home until he reached the age of twenty-three years and then removed to Bureau county, Illinois, spending about seven years in farming near Neponset. At the end of that time he removed to Osceola township, Stark county, and afterward located in Elmira township, where he resided for seven years. He purchased a residence in Osceola and is now the owner of extensive farm lands, including three hundred and twenty acres on section 11, Elmira township, and two hundred and forty acres elsewhere in Stark county. He likewise owns a tract of land of forty acres, at Palm Grove, Florida.

In 1880 Mr. House was united in marriage to Miss Lizzie Lackie, a sister of R. Y. Lackie, mentioned elsewhere in this work. She was born on the old homestead in this county and has become the mother of three daughters: Edna, the wife of Herbert Ford, of Elmira township; Mabel, who married Don Tracy, of Elmira township; and Lena, at home.

Mr. House and his family are members of the Baptist church and are people of the highest respectability, to whom is extended the hospitality of the best homes of the county. He also has membership with the Modern Woodmen of America, while both he and his wife are connected with the Royal Neighbors, the latter having been recorder for the Royal Neighbors since the lodge was started in 1890, save for one year. Mr. House has served as school director and the cause of education finds in him a stanch friend. In politics he has ever been an earnest republican since age conferred upon him the right of franchise, and for nine years he served as assessor of Elmira township. He is well known in this part of the state, where he has spent practically his entire life, and as an enterprising business man, a progressive citizen and a faithful friend he enjoys the warm regard and goodwill of all with whom he has been associated.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 211-212. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


William L. Hulsizer

More than a half century has come and gone since William L. Hulsizer became a resident of Stark county. He arrived here when a lad of twelve years and for a long period has been known as one of Toulon's valued and public-spirited citizens. He can give an accurate account of many events that have shaped the history of the county, having witnessed the greater part of its growth and upbuilding.

His birth occurred in Oxford, Warren county, New Jersey, December 3, 1846, his father being Abner Hulsizer, also a native of New Jersey, in which state he was reared and learned the blacksmith's trade. He and his brother, James Hulsizer, in early manhood drove with horse and buggy across the country to Illinois, after which the brother traded the horse and buggy for land in West Jersey. Abner Hulsizer made the return trip to New Jersey by stage when he found opportunity to travel in that way but covered much of the distance on foot. He worked at his trade at various places on the return trip and afterward conducted a blacksmith shop at Oxford for a number of years. He was married there to Miss Mary Ellen Correll, who was born in Pennsylvania but was reared in New Jersey. In 1853 they left the east for Illinois, traveling by train and by lake, with Stark county as their destination. They settled in West Jersey township, where Mr. Hulsizer purchased land at three dollars and a quarter per acre near the village of West Jersey. He afterward built a shop in the town and there carried on business, at the same time devoting every available opportunity to the work of opening up and improving his farm, whereon he spent his last years in honorable retirement from business, his death occurring December 19, 1898. His wife survived him for a few years and throughout the period of their residence in this locality they were numbered among the valued, worthy and respected citizens.

William L. Hulsizer, arriving in Stark county when a lad of six years, was here reared on the old homestead farm and in his youthful days attended the district schools. He is, however, largely a self-educated as well as self-made man and from experience has learned many valuable life lessons. He remained upon the farm with his father until he attained his majority and then made arrangements for having a home of his own by his marriage on the 23d of December, 1868, to Miss Luzetta C. Swank, who came from Pennsylvania and died during the early girlhood of his daughter, Mrs. Hulsizer. Her mother had passed away during the infancy of the daughter, so that she was thus early left an orphan.

The marriage of Mr. And Mrs. Hulsizer was celebrated in Toulon and they began their domestic life on a farm. He is the owner of one hundred and sixty acres in Goshen township and there for a long period he was actively engaged in general agricultural pursuits, his industry and capable management resulting in the annual harvesting of large crops. He likewise engaged in raising and feeding hogs and cattle and this constituted an important branch of his business. He built a good residence on the farm, also erected substantial barns and outbuildings for the shelter of grain, stock and farm machinery and his place became one of the neat and well improved properties of his township. Year after year he carefully tilled the soil until 1896 and then removed to Toulon, where he erected a very pleasant and attractive home. Although residing in the city, he still looks after his farm and is also engaged to some extent in the real estate business, handling Illinois farm lands and city property.

In 1903 Mr. And Mrs. Hulsizer started on a trip abroad. They visited the Madeira Islands, Spain, Portugal, Algiers, Greece, Palestine, Egypt and other points along the Mediterranean, and returning to the European continent, visited Switzerland and England, having a most enjoyable trip in foreign lands. They also traveled westward through the Pacific coast states and have visited Mexico. Both Mr. And Mrs. Hulsizer are members of the Methodist Episcopal church of Toulon, in which he is serving on the official board. He is very much interested in both church and Sunday school work and for twenty years served as Sunday school superintendent, filling that position for eight years in Toulon. He is a most public-spirited and progressive citizen and is a leader in many of the public enterprises which are of value and worth to the city. He was largely instrumental in establishing the Chautauqua and securing prominent and well known lecturers, speakers and entertainers, making the Chautauqua one of the attractive features in the educational and social life of the city. He stands loyally at all times for those things which are matters of civic virtue and civic pride and labors just as earnestly to advance the general welfare as he has done to promote his individual success along the legitimate lines of business. His prosperity, so honorably has it been won and so worthily used. There are those who regard public affairs as matters of no concern to them, but Mr. Hulsizer has always recognized the duties and obligations as well as the privileges of life and fully meets every obligation as it comes.

[Stark County, Illinois and its People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 206-210. – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Robert J. Hunter

Robert J. Hunter is a native son of Elmira township and lives on section 23. He was born May 29, 1871, his parents being Robert and Isabella (Lowrey) Hunter, who were natives of Ireland and came to America in 1850. In this country they became acquainted and were married in Philadelphia, December 18, 1864. In 1867 they came to Stark county, Illinois, settling upon the Davis farm in Elmira township. Later a removal was made to a farm near the Armstrong place, where they continued for seven years, and on the expiration of that period Mr. Hunter purchased the farm upon which his sons, Robert and George, now reside. He bent his energies to the development and improvement of that place up to the time of his demise and was numbered among the representative agriculturists of the district. He was born in County Tyrone, Ireland, in 1836, and from 1867 until his demise was a resident of Elmira township, this county. He was an earnest Christian, guiding his life by high religious principles, and when he passed away his funeral services were conducted by the Rev. W. H. Foulks, of the Presbyterian church, assisted by W. J. Drew. His widow is now living on a farm adjoining that of her son Robert. In the family were six children: Mrs. Mary J. Screeton, now deceased; Mrs. Letitia Dunlap, living in Toulon, Illinois; Robert J., George L., who resides with his mother; Elizabeth, and Isabella M., both deceased.

At the usual age Robert J. Hunter entered the district schools and when not busy with his textbooks, assisted in the work of the home farm. At the time of his marriage he began operating a part of the old home farm independently and he is now conducting the farm in connection with his brother George. The place consists of two hundred and forty-five acres, on which are two residences, in which the brothers live. Robert J. Hunter leads a busy life, and the result of his industry and perseverance is manifest in the success which is attending his efforts.

In 1896 he was united in marriage to Miss Carrie Osborn, who was born in Minnesota and came to Stark county with her parents when but four years of age. Mr. and Mrs. Hunter are members of the Presbyterian church of Elmira. In politics he is a republican but not an office seeker. At one time he belonged to the Modern Woodmen of America, and is interested in the educational development of his community, as is shown by his service as school director. His entire life has been passed in the township in which he still makes his home, and that he possesses many sterling traits of character is recognized by those who have been his associates throughout the entire period.

[Stark County, Illinois and it's People: A record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement, published 1916, p. 45-46 – Contributed by Karen Seeman]


Back to Stark County Illinois History and Genealogy