Genealogy and History
Part of the Genealogy Trails History Group
FRANKLIN J. MIDDLEDITCH
Franklin J. Middleditch, of the firm of Middleditch & Potter, wholesale and retail dealers in foreign and domestic wines and liquors, at No. 47 Stephenson street, is one of the go-ahead and enterprising citizens of Freeport, evidences of whose success are shown in all his surroundings. Mr. Middleditch is a native of the State of New York, and was born in Erie County, near Buffalo, on the 22d of November, 1831. Alonzo Middleditch, his father, was a farmer of modest means. He married Miss Silvia Frost, a native of New York. Franklin J. Middleditch had the advantages of a good common-school education, which he improved to the best of his ability. He grew to manhood in the State of New York, and began his business career early in life. He came to Freeport in 1865, and soon thereafter established his present business. In 1865 he formed a partnership with Mr. O. B. Potter. The firm of Middleditch & Potter have successfully carried on the business for the past twenty-two years, and have earned an enviable reputation and built up a large and profitable trade in the States of Illinois, Wisconsin, Iowa and Nebraska.
Mr. Middleditch was elected a member of the Board of Supervisors, in which capacity he served for two years, discharging the duties of the office to the entire satisfaction of the people. For a considerable time he held the office of chief-engineer of the fire department, and during his incumbency the efficiency of the department, as well as the discipline among the men, was above the average. Besides the establishment at No. 47 Stephenson street the firm owns another at No. 143 Stephenson street. Mr. Middleditch was married in 1854 to Miss Mary Ryan, of Buffalo, N. Y., and they are the parents of two children, Marie and Francis, the latter of whom is deceased. He occupies an elegant residence upon Galena avenue which he has furnished comfortably. The business house first named above is 24x74 feet, and is three stories high, not including the basement. In politics Mr. Middleditch is a Democrat. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 207]
DAVID C. MILLER
David C. Miller owns a large and highly cultivated farm in West Point Township. He was the son of George and Mary A. (Seese) Miller, and was born May 27, 1840. His father was a native of Westmoreland County, Pa., where he was reared and where his marriage took place. His, wife was a native of the same county. After his marriage, George Miller moved to Clarion County and purchased a farm, which he cultivated until 1850, when he sold out and started West, coming via the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers to Galena, IL. Here he hired a team and by this means conveyed his family across the open country to Stephenson County. The journey was rugged and tiresome, but was much enjoyed by the children, who always find pleasure in novelty, and are too young to appreciate the anxieties and trials which a knowledge of the world brings to older hearts. The first season of his arrival here he rented a farm, and subsequently purchased the tract of land upon which his son, David C., now resides. About twenty acres of it had been broken and fenced; and a log cabin was already standing upon the place, awaiting its new occupants. In the autumn of 1850, before the snow fell, the family moved into their new home on the western frontier, and here, by courage and self-sacrifice, he wrested from the wilderness around him a heritage for his children. In December, 1850, the family circle was broken by the death of the beloved wife and mother, and within three months of her death, two sons and a daughter also died. The following is a record of their family: Caroline became the wife of Joseph Uhl, and resides in Logansport, Ind.; John died in 1850, at the age of twenty-three; Sarah died in the same year at the age of twenty-one; William P. died in 1887 in Butler County, Neb., where he had been extensively engaged in farming: Mary Ann became the wife of Henry Shrecrengost, and resides in Butler County, Neb.; Eliza A. died in 1850, at the age of fourteen; Armstrong, who died in infancy, and David C., the subject of this biography. David C. Miller was in his tenth year when he came to Illinois with his parents. His boyhood was passed attending school and assisting his father on the farm. At his father's death he became the head of the family and assumed the management of the farm, which he has carefully cultivated and improved, erecting thereon commodious and tasteful frame buildings. His estate, which is divided in two farms, comprises 280 acres of valuable land. In 1860 he was married to Miss Rosetta Schudt, a native of Germany. They have a family of five children - George H., Augustus C., Oscar W., Mier and Celia. Mr. and Mrs. Miller are prominent members of the Lutheran Church. Mr. Miller is one of the substantial men of the township; he has always taken an active interest in educational affairs and held the offices of School Director, and Road Commissioner. He votes with the Democratic party. [Transcribed by Christine Walters from History of Stephenson County 1888 Portrait & Biographical Album, pg. 493]
JOHN H. MILLER
John H. Miller, of Oneco Township, was born in Lewisburg, Pa., Oct. 23, 1852, and is the son of Charles S. Miller, born in 1826, in York County, that State. Mr. Miller is a comparatively young man, and is a prosperous lumber-dealer, whose progenitors were people of renown. Our subject's paternal grandfather was a native of York County, Pa., and his great-grandfather came from Germany and settled in the Keystone State at an early day. The grandfather was a farmer by calling, and also worked at the cooper's trade, spending the last years of his life in Clinton County, Pa. He had a family of twelve children, of whom ten are living. Our subject's father was the eighth child of his parents, and lived with them until 1848. That year he was married, and rented his father's farm in Clinton County, remaining on it two years. He then removed to Union County, and farmed in that section of Pennsylvania until 1858, when he took up his residence near Harrisburg, that State, remaining there until 1862. He then went to the war as a substitute. Charles S. Miller was in the army ten months, participating in several skirmishes, and then returned to his family, who were at that time with his wife's people. He engaged in farming in Union County, Pa., until the spring of 1866, when he came to this county, and a year later bought a farm in Waddams Township. He lived there two years, then sold out and moved to his present farm in Oneco Township. The mother of our subject was of English descent on her father's side, and on the maternal side of the house, German. Her grandparents were natives of Pennsylvania. Mrs. Miller's maiden name was Elizabeth Dersham. She is the daughter of Samuel Dersham, and was born in Union County, Pa., and is the fourth child in a family of eleven children. John H. Miller lived with his parents until he was married, in 1877. His early days were spent in working on the farm and attending the district school. In 1871 he attended the Northwestern College at Naperville, Ill., and was an apt scholar. After marriage, he kept books, the same work he was doing the year before his marriage. In the fall of 1880 he engaged in the creamery business with a firm that was already established, and followed the same two years. He then farmed one year on property he had purchased. Leaving the farm he went back to book-keeping, and continued it until the spring of 1887, when he started a lumber-yard. He was married to Miss Lilah Bobb, daughter of David Bobb, in 1877. She was born Feb. 1, 1856. His son, who was named David Stanley, died June 25, 1886. Both Mr. and Mrs. Miller belong to the Evangelical Church, and both sing in the choir of that church. Mr. Miller is a Republican, politically, and has served as Township Clerk, besides occupying other local offices. [Contributed by Carol Parrish - Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 275
JOHN L. MILLER
John L. Miller, a retired farmer of Oneco Township, was born on the 20th of July, 1828, in Perry County, Pa. He is the son of Samuel S. Miller, whose father was a farmer of Lancaster County, Pa., where he was born, spending his early days with his parents at home but subsequently learned the trade of a carpenter. At the age of twenty-five he married Miss Esther Zimmerman, whose father and mother lived in the same place. Samuel rented his father's farm after marriage and occupied it for several years. He then went to Perry County, Pa., and lived on a rented farm for several years, from thence going to Union County, where he worked at his trade for the rest of his life, dying in that county at the age of sixty-two years. After his death his wife lived in Union County two or three years, then in Clinton County, where the family owned a house and lot, for two years, after which she discontinued keeping house and went to live with her daughter, Mrs. Johnson, with whom she resided ten years. Then for four years she lived in Clinton County, and in 1865 removed to Stephenson County, Ill., spending the last years of her life with her children, and dying at the age of eighty-five years. John L. Miller lived with his mother until one year before his marriage. He worked on a farm for monthly wages until about sixteen years of age, when he began an apprenticeship of one and one-half years at the shoemaker's trade in Clinton County. He then returned to Union County and teamed for two years, and worked by the day for one year. In August, 1849, he was married to Miss Mary Kurts, whose people were natives of Lebanon County, Pa. Her father, Stephen Kurts, was a farmer, and married Susan Royer, a native of Lebanon County, in which county they spent the last days of their life. After his marriage Mr. Miller moved to Clinton County and prosecuted his trade of shoemaking for a period of three years. He then emigrated to the West, arriving in Stephenson County, Ill., in August, 1853. He located near Rock Grove, where he bought a house and lot and began the business of shoemaking. At the end of one year he sold out and moved onto fifteen acres of land near the State line, on which he built a house, and for ten years farmed the land and worked at his trade. He then lived on a rented farm in Wisconsin for seven years, when he sold his personal property and bought the farm in Oneco Township on which he remained until one year ago, when he rented it to a son and retired from work. Mr. and Mrs. M. have had four children: Mrs. W. H. Gift (see sketch elsewhere); Joseph T., who is married and occupies the homestead; Franklin, married and living on a farm near the home place, and John W., who died in the fall of 1865. Mr. Miller has always been identified with the Republican party, as was also his father. [Contributed by Carol Parrish - Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888)
JONAS C. MILLER
The subject of this sketch, who is one of the oldest citizens of Stephenson County, was born in Wayne County, Ohio, July 5, 1819. He resided in Ohio until 1845, when he was seized with the western fever, and started West. Arriving in Stephenson County he was so enamored of the appearance of the country that he concluded to stop here, and settled in Harlem Township, where he has resided continuously up to the date of this sketch. He is the owner of 100 acres, which under the manipulation of his hand has been made to blossom like the rose. His harvests have been bounteous, and a full recompense for the labor and care bestowed. Mr. Miller has not been unmindful of the comfort of those in his care, and for his family has erected comfortable and commodious buildings, and for his animals which draw his loads and turn his soil he has provided ample shelter. In the 25th of November, 1841, in Stark County, Ohio, our subject was married to Miss Elizabeth Clause. This lady was born in Northampton County, Pa., Sept. 27, 1823. Mr. and Mrs. Miller became the parents of six children: Eli, Edwin, Allen, Carrie, Meda and Ira. Eli married Miss Eliza Sheetz, and resides in Nebraska; Edwin died April 8, 1864, when eighteen years old; Allen died Sept. 28, 1851, when two years old; Carrie is the wife of W. J. Fye, and resides in Nebraska; Meda and Ira are unmarried, and live at home with their parents. Mr. and Mrs. Miller are both members of the German Baptist Church. Mr. Miller gives his adherence to the Democratic party. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 538
WILLIAM M. MILLER
William M. Miller, whose farm lies on section 34 of Kent Township, sprang from the Miller family of Columbia County, Pa. His parents were John and Catherine (Moore) Miller, who were natives respectively of that and Luzerne Counties, and were reared and married in Columbia County. They both died in Carbon County, Pa. The father was a farmer and teacher, and during his life followed several other occupations. They had thirteen children, ten boys and three girls. William M. Miller, whose sketch is herewith given, was the fourth child. He was born in Northampton County, Pa., on the 27th of September, 1826. His residence in Pennsylvania was in Carbon and Luzerne Counties until he came West. While living in Pennsylvania he found his principal occupation in the lumber regions of that State. In the spring of 1869 he set out for the West, and came almost directly to Stephenson County, settling in Kent Township, where he has since been a resident, and all the time engaged in agricultural pursuits. His farm consists of 170 acres, 140 of which are improved. He has a good residence, barn, and all necessary out-buildings for the storing of grain and shelter of stock. Mr. Miller was married at Beaver Meadow, Carbon Co., Pa., on the 17th of June, 1847, to Martha Stivers, who was born in Wilkes Barre, Luzerne Co., Pa., on the 25th of December, 1826. They have had eight children - Emma C., James A., Matilda, Alice, William H., Lizzie A., Jesse F. and Minnie. Emma C. is the wife of Frank H. Pitcher, and resides in Kansas; James married Catherine Auman, and resides in Nebraska; Matilda died when she was but two years of age; Alice married Frank Keister, and resides in Kent Township; William married Catherine Fraser, and resides in Nebraska; Lizzie is the wife of Harrison Willet, and resides in Kansas; Jesse married Mary Allison, of Kent Township; Minnie is at home with her father. Mrs. Miller died in Kent Township on the 14th of October, 1883. She was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and died as she had lived, a Christian in every sense of the word. Mr. Miller is also an attendant of the same church. On account of his peculiar fitness for the position, Mr. Miller has been chosen the Director of Schools in his district. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 587]
JOHN THOMAS MILLIKEN
John Thomas Milliken was born 5 July 1845, Walker Township, Centre County, Pennsylvania, son of Samuel and Catherine (Kephart) Milliken. He died 13 October 1914, Stratton, Hitchcock County, Nebraska, of typhoid fever. He married 24 March 1867, at the home of her parents, Black Hawk Township, Black Hawk County, Iowa, Ann M. Merwin, who was born 27 October 1847, daughter of Joseph and Jeanette (Beers) Merwin and died 26 August 1929, Stratton, Hitchcock County, Nebraska.
John was about two years old when he moved with his family to Stephenson County, Illinois. There he attended school and grew to manhood. Between February 1661 and February 1864, they moved to Black Hawk County, Iowa. There at Poyner Township, 23 February 1864, he volunteered for service in the Civil War for the term of three years. He mustered in at Fort Dodge, Davenport, Iowa as a private in Company C, 9th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, receiving bounty pay of $60 and advance monthly pay of $13. He was described as having grey eyes, dark hair, light complexion and a height of five feet five inches. He was discharged on 18 July 1865 at Louisville, Kentucky, the war being over before his enlistment was up. He owed the U.S. $5.90 for clothing account and $6.00 for arms and equipment. He received $120, the remaining amount of his bounty. It is a tradition that he took part in the Grand Parade in Washington, D. C. after the war. He had a three section, leather bound, telescope which he carried in the war and that was later in the possession of his grandson, Merwin Milliken. Merwin then gave it to his son, Merwin Jr. After their marriage in 1867, John and Ann rented the farm of her father in Black Hawk Township , Black Hawk County, Iowa, and remained there until 1879 when Joseph Merwin sold the farm. They made their home in Lester Township until 1882 when they moved to Lincoln County, South Dakota with his parents, brothers and three sisters. Family tradition tells of the "boys" herding cattle all the way to the James River. John's sons would have been aged 9 to13 when they moved to South Dakota. John, not finding land in South Dakota that suited him, then moved to Dundy County, Nebraska where on 8 June 1888 he made a homestead entry on SE ¼ of Section one, township three north, range thirty-six, west in Dundy County, Nebraska.
These people were truly pioneers. The land was a plateau deeply gouged with coulees and canyons which were often impassable by team. This divided the area in a way in which neighbors across the coulee were virtual strangers, bonding together according to the lay of the land rather than distance and making a different town their market place. Highland area was settled by the Shillingtons, before mentioned in the family of Mary Jane (Milliken) Ochs, while Ash Grove was settled by Harrison and Milliken families, Stratton was their market town. Harrisons donated land for Ash Grove Cemetery where most of our family is buried. The first school was in Reichart's two-room "soddy." Light was provided at church or school with families taking turns bringing their own lanterns, kerosene and song books. Tradition attributes Ann (Merwin) Milliken as the leader of the Sunday School.
People did their laundry on wash boards, burned cow chips, carried water from the well and doctored with home remedies such as skunk oil, goose grease, and burnt sulphur. This area became part of the United States in a 1854 treaty. Nebraska was a territory which included the present states of Nebraska, North and South Dakota, all of that part of Montana east of the Rocky Mountains, three-fourths of Wyoming and parts of Colorado. By 1885, most of the good land had been taken, making the transition from Indians and buffalo to complete settlement in just 20 years. The drought in 1890 reduced the settlers population by half. Those who had money left and they who were too poor had to stay. Buffalo had been hunted there for many years and large quantities of bones were strewn over the prairie. After the coming of the railroad, they were marketed for $2 or $3 per ton. Some of the homesteaders turned "bone pickers", exchanging a wagon full of bones for needed groceries. The prairie was swept clean of the bones and many of the homesteaders used this means of hanging on to their claims during the times of grasshoppers and drought. John went to Colorado and dug the new irrigation ditches to help supplement the income. It is believed that John and Ann lived in a sod house while getting settled. In July 1888, they commenced building a frame house, 12 by 24 feet, 1 1/2 stories high and moved into it on 1 October. They also built a barn 22 by 50 feet, a shed 14 by 35 feet, a granary 10 by 16 feet, corn crib 10 by 16 feet and a wind mill. John cultivated 30 acres the first year and 30 to 80 acres were cultivated each season after that until the entire farm was in production.
It was prairie farming and grazing land. On 28 July 1904, under a revised status, he applied for additional land, the SW ¼ of SW ¼ of section six, township three, north, range thirty-five and the N ½ of NE ½ section 12, township three, north, range thirty-six and Lot 7 section 6, township three, north, all in Hitchcock County. On 14 September 1909 when he made final papers he described 20 acres under cultivation in section 1 and the rest all rough, not fit for cultivation. He grew barley and used the balance for grazing 20 head of cattle and horses which he owned and harvested 6 tons of hay each year. He later purchased lots 5 & 6 in Darnell's addition in the Village of Stratton, Hitchcock County. On 8 May 1897 he applied for a Civil War pension and he was granted $6.00 per month for being disabled by disease of the heart. On 27 December 1907 he applied for reissue of the pension and was granted $12 per month. After his death, Ann received a widows pension. Both are buried in Ash Grove Cemetery, Dundy County, Nebraska.
Children of John T. and Ann M. (Merwin) Milliken:
Frank T. Milliken born 28 December 1869, Cedar Falls, Black Hawk County, Iowa; died 21 July 1949, Wauneta, Chase County, Nebraska at the home of his cousin Frank Ochs with whom he had made his home since 1932. He had worked as a carpenter. He made a violin on which he entertained in the community. His book of his jigs and reels is in the hands of the compiler. He had retired to the Masonic Home but did not find it to be what he wanted so he moved to the home of his cousin. He was unmarried.
James E. Milliken, born 12 September 1871, Cedar Falls, Black Hawk County, Iowa; died 17 September 1905, Walla Walla, Walla Walla County, Washington of rocky mountain spotted fever. He had gone to Washington to work to earn a grub stake to go to the Klondike gold fields in Alaska when he was stricken with the disease. He is buried in Ash Grove Cemetery, Dundy County, Nebraska. He was unmarried.
Dick Merwin Milliken born 2 February 1873, Cedar Falls, Black Hawk County, Iowa; died 8 November 1930, Topeka, Shawnee County, Kansas. Married Q. R. Harrison 30 April 1895, Forsyth, Taney County, Missouri, Eugenie Allen born 7 May 1874, Pella, Marion County, Iowa, daughter of Monroe and Amanda (Coit, alias Pritchard) Allen. She died 30 January 1953. Dick and his brothers had gone to Missouri to hunt wild turkey and he met and married Eugenie Allen who was living there with her family at the time. Dick was nine years old when the family moved to South Dakota and 15 when they moved to Nebraska. He was involved in the family farming and he also learned fine woodworking, perhaps from his uncle Frank Milliken. After their marriage, Dick and Eugenie lived in a sod house on a rented farm north of Stratton, Hitchcock County, Nebraska where their first two children were born. About 1900 they moved to Morrowville, Washington County, Kansas and rented a farm. The parents . . . . . . . (who adds this note: The typewritten note ended at this point, and I could find nothing more. Contributed by Sherri Gregory, who adds: This typewritten note, author unknown, was found in with the obituaries kept by Everett Sutton. The note itself appears to be a printout of a family genealogy software with numbers of generations, etc.]
Both in age and point of residence the subject of this sketch, who is a retired farmer, living upon section 31, is one of the oldest citizens of Stephenson County. He is the son of John and Maria (Rinehold) Mishler, who were born in Lancaster County, Pa., the father on the 20th of January, 1788, the mother on the 17th of July, 1789. After marriage they settled in their native county, where they reared their family and lived until their death. The mother passed away March 24, 1877; the father preceded her Oct. 10, 1875. The father of our subject was a stock-dealer and farmer, and his family consisted of ten children, eight boys and two girls, of whom the subject of this sketch was the sixth child. Emanuel was born in Lancaster County, Pa., Sept. 13, 1822. At the age of sixteen he was thrown from a horse, and his left arm was broken, which accident for a consider-able time unfitted him for work. He served an apprenticeship of two and one-half years at the tailor trade, followed it while in Pennsylvania, and since his residence in Stephen-son County he has at intervals engaged in that occupation. In 1844 Mr. Mishler left his native State and moved to Summit County, Ohio, where he worked at his trade for two and one-half years, then removed to Elkhart County, Ind., where he also followed his trade, and engaged in farming in a small way. In May, 1850, he concluded to go further West, and after spending a month or more in Iowa, and finding that there was no convenient market, he retraced his steps as far as Stephenson County, Ill., and in June of that year bought a tract of 240 acres of land in Kent Township, where he has since lived and given his attention principally to agricultural pursuits, including the raising of stock. The measure of his success can be gauged by the fact that he now owns 465 acres of land, most of which is under cultivation. His farm buildings are ample and commodious. Having reached an age when one must husband his strength, he has relinquished the active management of his farm, and leased it to other parties, and is now living a quiet and retired life. Mr. Mishler was married in Summit County, Ohio, Sept. 10, 1845, to Miss Susanna, daughter of Joseph and Mary (Palmer) Mishler. Her father was born in Juniata County, Pa., and her mother in Hagerstown, Md. They settled in Stark County, Ohio, and afterward moved, first to Miami, and then to Summit County, in which latter county they passed away. They had twelve children, eight boys and four girls. Mrs. Mishler was the fourth child. She was born in Stark County, Ohio, on the 2d of March, 1825.
Mr. and Mrs. Emanuel Mishler became the parents of ten children: Maria, born May 18, 1846; Joseph, who died in infancy; Elizabeth Day, born Nov. 24, 1850; John F., Jan. 7, 1853; Phares, Sept. 2, 1855; Calvin H., Aug. 21, 1857; James L., Feb. 4, 1860; Susie S., Jan. 2, 1862; Levi, Dec. 10, 1864; Marcus, Dec. 12, 1867. Levi died Aug. 11, 1886, in Elmwood, Neb., Maria is the wife of William Boop, and resides in Kent Township; Elizabeth J., Mrs. Isaac M. Royer, resides in Cass County, Neb.; her husband died there in June, 1883; she is Postmistress of that village, and also proprietor of a small store. John F. married Eva Stafford, and resides in Kent Township; Phares lives in Hagerstown, Md.; Calvin married Louisa Miller, and resides in Iowa; James L. resides at home, as do also Susie and Marcus. Mr. Mishler has held the offices of Highway Commissioner, Township Assessor, School Trustee, and Director. He is a member of the religious body known as the United Brethren of Christ, and Mrs. M. is connected with the Dunkard Church. The Mishler family is remarkable for longevity. Of the children of John and Maria, no deaths have occurred, and the youngest child is now fifty-three years of age. Two remarkable circumstances of the family of Mishlers' of whom our subject constitutes one, are as follows: there was but three days' difference in the ages of the father and mother at the time of their death, and but two days' difference in the ages of two of their sons at the time of their death. In politics Mr. Mishler is an independent Democrat; his sympathies are usually with the party, but when that party enunciates a principle or performs an act which he does not endorse, he invariably "kicks over the traces." The strong and earnest character of Mr. Mishler is fully depicted in the finely executed lithographic portrait which is rightfully placed among the other strong men of Stephenson County. [Contributed by Carol Parrish - Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 320]
JOHN F. MISCHLER
John F. Mishler, whose farm is located on section 31, Kent Township, is a native to the manor born, and is a son of the venerable Emanuel Mishler, a sketch of whom is given in another place. John F. Mishler was born in Kent Township, Jan. 7, 1855. From the time he was old enough, up to the time when it became necessary for him to assume the duties of manhood, he attended the common schools, and was an exceptionally studious pupil. He has never regretted the time he devoted to study in the schools, and at odd hours out of school. He remained at home with his parents until he was twenty-three years of age, when he married and settled in Kent Township, where his home has always been. He is the owner of eighty acres of land, which is highly cultivated. Our subject was married in Nora, Ill., Oct. 7, 1875, to Miss Eva Stafford, daughter of Amos and Susan (Kaufman) Stafford. Her parents were natives of Maryland and Virginia, respectively, and had eight children, of whom Mrs. Mishler was the seventh. She was born in Green County, Wis., Jan. 30, 1857. Mr. and Mrs. Misler are the parents of three children - Nellie M., Carrie S. and Bell S. Mr. Mishler is independent in politics, choosing not to attach himself to either of the old parties, and reserving to himself the right to vote for whom he pleases on election day. [Contributed by Carole Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. 1888]
JACOB P. MITCHELL
Jacob P. Mitchell, one of the oldest settlers of the township of Lancaster, and whose portrait is given in this connection, is now living in retirement at his commodious residence on section 11, where he has resided since June 11, 1842. He was born in what is now Clinton County, but formerly Center County, Pa., Sept. 18, 1818. His father, William Mitchell, was born in the Highlands of Scotland and came of pure Scottish ancestry. When a boy he came to the United States in company with some relatives and his brothers and sisters. They first located at Liverpool, Pa., but later removed to Penn's Valley, where the father of our subject was married to Miss Rebecca Knoss, who was born in Harrisburg, Pa., and of German extraction, her grandfather having come to the United States with William Penn and his colony. The Knoss family were sturdy, hard-working people, and usually long-lived, the grandfather having lived to be over a century old, while other members of the family also became very aged.
William Mitchell, the father of our subject, was a resident of what is now Clinton County, Pa., where he died, which event occurred at his home in Brush Valley, when he was but thirty years of age. At that time his son, Jacob P., was but a child, one of seven who were left to his mother's care. After they had all grown up they came West by the river route to Galena, then to Buena Vista, in Stephenson County, where a short time afterward the children scattered about, each seeking to make his own living. The mother resided, until her death, at the homes of her several children. She died in Lancaster Township at the residence of her widowed daughter, Margaret Sedan, at the venerable age of seventy-eight years, full of years and full of honor. Mrs. Mitchell was a member of the Evangelical Church. She was a woman noted for her kindness, a beloved mother and a devout Christian. Her seven children still survive her: Mrs. Margaret Sedan, living at Hickory Grove, Dakota Township, Stephenson County, and now aged eighty years; Mrs. Emily Brown, now aged seventy-seven, resides in Dakota Village; Massina resides in Lancaster Township, his age being seventy-five, and William, who is seventy-two, is also a resident of the same township and is a farmer; our subject is the next in order of birth; Mrs. Anna Needler, aged sixty-five, now resides at Long Grove, Lake Co., Ill., and Robert, aged sixty-two, now resides on a farm in Dakota Township.
Our subject, Jacob P. Mitchell, grew to manhood in his native county under the charge of his good Christian mother, working around some of the time to earn his own living, his mother being in reduced circumstances. Just five days before coming to Illinois, May 5, 1842, he was married at Coverley Hall, Nitney Valley, Pa., to Miss Ellen Pollock, who was born in Buffalo Valley, Nov. 5, 1821. She was the daughter of John Pollock, a Pennsylvania farmer of Irish descent. His wife, as well as himself, died before their daughter Ellen was married. Mr. Mitchell with his bride departed with the other members of the family for Illinois on May 10, 1842, and, having reached Stephenson County, engaged in farming on his own account. At that time he entered forty acres of Government land, upon which he erected a house, and from that day to this has made his home here. At the time of his coming this county was sparsely settled, and in fact it required one year before he could obtain his title from the Government, the land at that time not having been put upon the market. He began to make improvements and from time to time added adjoining land, until he now owns 206 acres on section 11, all of which is well improved and contains excellent buildings. Mr. Mitchell lost his first wife at their home by death on March 14, 1882. She was the mother of eight children, two of whom are now deceased, and six married, viz: Norton, who married Margaret Chambers, now resides on a farm in Lancaster Township; Robert married Ellen Deery, and also resides in Lancaster Township; Martha is the wife of William Yarger, who resides on a farm in the same township; James married Miss Sarah Ertel, and lives in Marshall County, Iowa; Austin, the third son, now living in Chicago, is a painter by trade; Sarah, the wife of John Lapp, resides on a farm in Dickinson County, Iowa.
Mr. Mitchell was married the second time July 3, 1884, his choice being Mrs. Mary Babcock, who was the relict of Frederick Babcock, who died Oct. 4, 1877. She is the daughter of James Kelly, who lived and died in New York State. Mrs. Mitchell is the mother of two children by her former husband: Omer, who married Miss E. Potter, now living in Waterloo, Iowa, and Elnora, who resides with her brother. Mrs. Mitchell is a member of the United Brethren Church, to which she has been attached for fourteen years. Mr. Mitchell is a very prominent citizen in the township where he lives, and is active in all public enterprises, and in the estimation of his neighbors there is none more highly respected or more influential among the farmers of Stephenson County. He is a man who has a fixed political belief and is a member of the Republican party, which he gives a very active support. [Contributed by Carol Parrish - Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 300
JOHN P. MITCHELL
John P. Mitchell, one of the progressive farmers of Ridott Township, is living on section 25, but owns lands on both sections 25 and 36. His possessions comprise 240 acres, all of which is under the plow and is exceedingly fertile land. Mr. Mitchell was born in Geauga County, Ohio, Dec. 25, 1853. His father, David Mitchell, was a native of New York State, and a farmer by occupation, having come to Geauga County in his boyhood. He was reared and married there, choosing as his wife Miss Amelia Smith. She was born and reared in the State of Ohio, having lived there until her marriage. After the birth of three children, the eldest of whom died in Ohio, the parents with their two remaining children, our subject being the younger, came to Illinois in the summer of 1854, and at once took up a Government claim on section 36, and which is still in the possession of Mr. J. P. Mitchell. This became their home until 1869, when they moved to Pecatonica, Ill., and are now living in that town. The father is now a Republican, having been converted from the Democracy. The subject of this sketch was educated in Ridott Township and in Pecatonica, and was married in the latter place, Jan. 23, 1877, to Miss May Henderson, who was born in Boone County Oct. 23, 1854, and was reared and educated in Pecatonica Township, living with her father, Zina Henderson, until her marriage. She was unfortunate enough to lose both her parents. They came from New York State to Boone County, and afterward to Pecatonica Township, where they both died. Mrs. Mitchell is the mother of two children, one of whom is dead. Robert D., born May 8, 1880, is at home with his parents. A little girl died unnamed. She was born July 19, 1878, and died Jan. 4, 1879. After his marriage Mr. Mitchell lived in Linn County, Iowa, thinking to earn his living there, but returned to Illinois at the expiration of three years and made the old homestead his place of residence. Mr. Mitchell is a man of good education, taking a thoughtful interest in public affairs. He is interested in the educational facilities of the township, and is a member of the School Board. In politics he is a solid Republican. A handsome lithographic view of Mr. Mitchell's residence is shown on another page. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 450]
ROBERT F. MITCHELL
Robert F. Mitchell is one of the well-known Mitchell family of this county, who have been established here since 1842. Our subject first saw the light in that part of Centre County now known as Clinton County, Pa., his birth occurring June 11, 1824. His father is William Mitchell, Esq. The early life of our subject was spent at his father's home until he was eleven years of age, when he went out into the world, living among strangers until 1842. He then came with the rest of the family to Illinois, and lived with his mother for one year. Since that time he has looked out for himself, doing a general farming business. Mr. Mitchell first purchased eighty acres of land in Lancaster Township, and lived on it until 1864, when he came to Dakota Township, and purchased 125 acres of land. He now has 120 acres, on which he has made his home. Pursuing the life of a farmer he has paid attention to his property, and has well improved it. He was married in Lancaster Township, in 1848, to Miss Zero Oak. She was born Dec. 31, 1831, in Bucks County, Pa., and is the daughter of George Oak, who was a musician and public school teacher of standing. Her father, Mr. George Oak, married Miss Susanna Clevercy, who is now living in Rock City, in this county, and is past eighty-five years. Mr. Oak died in Lancaster Township, this county, in October, 1847. Mrs. Mitchell was reared at home, came West with her father and mother, and is the mother of seven children, two of whom are now deceased. Permilla resides at home; Reuben married Margaret Hayse, and resides in Dakota Township on a farm; Joseph is married to Elizabeth Stahl, and is living in Bennet, Lancaster Co., Neb., where he is a mechanic; Charles E. married Emily Smith, and also lives in Bennet, Neb., where he is a saddler; George W. is now living at home, but has been four years with the Eclipse Windmill Company, of Beloit, Wis. The deceased children are John L. and Andrew M. Mr. Mitchell and family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church; politically he is a Republican. He is an honest, upright citizen, much esteemed in the community where he resides. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portraits & Biographical 1888 Stephenson Co IL Pg 355
WILLIAM B. MITCHELL
William B. Mitchell, an old and highly esteemed resident of Lancaster Township, and one of its prominent and successful farmers and stock-growers, has been identified with the interests of its people for a period of more than forty-seven years. He possesses those substantial and reliable qualities which long years ago secured him the confidence and esteem of his fellow citizens, and which from the first have rendered him one of the leading men in all good works which have tended to insure the welfare and prosperity of the people. He has contributed liberally and cheerfully to the various worthy enterprises set on foot in this locality and is looked upon as one of its benefactors, without whose aid it would scarcely have attained to its present position. Mr. Mitchell is the representative of a fine old family which dates its ancestry back to Scotland and Germany, the former nationality representing the paternal branch of the family and the latter the maternal. The first ancestor of whom they have any record was Robert Mitchell, who was born in the Highlands and emigrated to the United States when a young man, locating in Dauphin County, Pa., where he made a comfortable and respectable living on an ordinary sized farm. He was of pure Scotch blood and came of stanch Presbyterian stock, whose principles he advocated all his life and of which he was a strict adherent. He married and became the father of two sons and one daughter, and died in Dauphin County when of middle age. His children were Margaret, Robert, Jr., and William, and the latter became the father of our subject. Robert, Jr., migrated to North Carolina and but little was known of him afterward. The sister spent her entire life in her native State. William remained with his mother after she was married to Robert Frickelton, of Dauphin County, until reaching manhood. William Mitchell was mostly reared in Centre County, Pa., and was there married to Miss Rebecca Noss, who was of German parentage and the daughter of George Noss, who was born in Germany and emigrated to the United States prior to the Revolutionary War. He was a baker by trade and in this capacity made himself of use in the Federal army. At the close of the war he located in Dauphin County, where he lived to an advanced age, and died near the city of Harrisburg. He kept a public house for a number of years in Cox's Town on the banks of the Susquehanna River. The mother of our subject was reared in Dauphin County and was first married to William Walker, who died a year later leaving her with one child, who died soon afterward. After her marriage with William Mitchell they located in Armstrong, where they conducted a public house for a few years, and then Mr. Mitchell went to work at his trade of cabinet-maker. They became the parents of seven children, and the father died when William B. was a lad of eleven years. The mother nobly kept her little family together until they were old enough to care for themselves. They finally came to Illinois and the mother spent her last days at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Sedam, in Lancaster Township, where her death took place June 22, 1859. William Mitchell was the fourth of seven children born to his parents, their family consisting of four sons and three daughters. His birth took place in the village of Aaronsburg, Centre Co., Pa., Dec. 16, 1815. He remained with his mother until reaching his majority, and while still unmarried came to his county, in 1840, and employed himself as a mechanic and farm laborer until he had saved sufficient money to buy a tract of land. His first purchase consisted of 160 acres, and after his marriage his wife also became the owner of a like amount, their property being located upon sections 12, 13 and 19. On section 13 there was a perpetual spring and here they decided to establish their permanent home. The first dwelling was a small log cabin, fifteen feet square and six feet high, with a huge fireplace extending across one end and a chimney constructed of mud and sticks, without. Within this humble dwelling the young people commenced life together, living economically and saving what they could of a limited income. Mr. Mitchell improved his land as fast as possible and in the meantime obtained his cash income by working as a carpenter, which trade he had learned in his native county. He now felt the need of a companion and helpmeet, and accordingly, in September, 1842, was united in marriage with Miss Lydia Furst. Mrs. Mitchell was a native of the same county as her husband, where she was reared and whence she came to this State with her parents, George and Rachel (Snyder) Furst, with whom she remained until her marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Furst were numbered among the earliest settlers of this county, to which they came in 1839, establishing themselves in a humble abode on the wild prairie, upon which they eventually built up a comfortable home and lived to a good old age. Mrs. Mitchell was reared and educated in her native county and remained under the home roof until her marriage at twenty-four years of age. Of her union with our subject there were born eight children, of whom the record is as follows: Layard married Miss Sallie Chambers, and is now a successful farmer of Rock Run Township; Duncan married Miss Sophia Lye, and is carrying on farming in Dakota Township; Ann is the wife of Edwin D. Herbert, who is farming in Lancaster Township and is Township Clerk; Jerusha is the wife of Jacob L. Thoman, a carpenter by trade, and they are living near the old homestead; Laura married Charles Lye, a farmer of Rock Run Township; William married Miss Carrie Bokmeier, and is farming in Lancaster Township; John and Ellen are at home with their parents.
The real-estate of which Mr. Mitchell is the possessor includes 650 acres of land and comprises five farms most of them supplied with suitable buildings and machinery. The greater part of the land is under cultivation and the proceeds net a handsome sum annually. Although Mr. Mitchell has had little time to devote to public matters, he keeps himself well posted upon current events and uniformly labors for the success of the Republican party. He has served as Road Commissioner and been a Justice of the Peace for the last thirty years, discharging the duties of his office with rare good judgment. His uniform kindness of heart and courteous manner to all have endeared him to the people of his township, of which he is one of the most important factors in its agricultural and business interests. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 398]
JOHN MC. MIZNER
On section 2, Kent Township, is located the admirable farm of 170 acres owned by the subject of this sketch. He is of German-American descent, his mother being a native of Germany, and his father of New Jersey. The names of his parents were James and Elizabeth (Huff) Mizner. They were married, and settled in Trumbull County, Ohio, where they lived and died. Their family consisted of six children, of whom John was the second. He was born in Trumbull County, Ohio, on the 11th of October, 1816, where he lived until he was thirty years of age, being raised on a farm. In the spring of 1846 our subject disposed of his possessions in Ohio, and with his wife and four children came to Stephenson County and settled in Kent Township, where he has since made his home, and has been continuously engaged in agricultural pursuits. His farm now consists of 170 acres, a large proportion of which is cultivated after the most approved methods. Mr. Mizner has been twice married, his first wife being Keziah G. Goodwin, whom he married in Mercer County, Pa., Aug. 3, 1840, while he was a resident of Trumbull County, Ohio. After sixteen years of happy married life, she died on the 5th of December, 1856. At the time of her death she was the mother of ten children - Mary E., Clarissa F., Phoebe C., Henry C., Hiram M., John L., James W., Reuben D., Edward P. and David E. Mr. Mizner's second marriage was to Rachel Pray, the widow of Joseph Hinson, which occurred on the 6th of June, 1856, in Kent Township, Stephenson County. She was born in Delaware County, Ohio, on the 18th of December, 1828. By this marriage five children were born - Rosetta J., George F., Charles W., Jasper C. and Francis M. Mr. Mizner has been selected to fill the honorable position of School Director for two terms. He has never sought any other office, nor has he held any other. Mrs. Mizner is a member of the Baptist Church, and in politics, Mr. Mizner is a Republican. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), Pg 600]
LEWIS W. MOGLE
Lewis W. Mogle is a successful farmer living on section 15, in Kent Township. His parents were Frederick and Harriet (Wolf) Mogle. The father was probably born in Centre County, Pa., and the mother was born in Berks County, Pa., July 22, 1807. They first settled in Lebanon County, Pa., and came from there to Stephenson County, Ill., in 1846, settling in Rock Grove Township, where the mother died in the early spring of 1882. After the death of his wife, Mr. Mogle, Sr., removed to Kansas, where he makes his home with his youngest son. They had eight children, six boys and two girls. Our subject, the sixth child of the family, was born Sept. 20, 1840, in Centre County, Pa., and was about six years old when his parents came to Stephenson County. His education was received in the common schools of Stephenson County, and he remained at home until February, 1864, when he enlisted in Co. B, 46th Ill. Vol. Inf., and was a soldier until near the close of the war, when he came home on a sick furlough, did not return, and was mustered out of service in January, 1865. He was in several small engagements and skirmishes during the time of his service in the army. He continued to make his home in Rock Grove Township until May, 1866, when he removed to Union County, Ill., where he married and remained about three months, when he returned to Rock Grove Township, and quite soon afterward came to Kent Township. This was in the fall of 1866, since which time he has been a resident here, except for about eleven months, when he lived at Lena. Farming has been his chief occupation.
Our subject married, in Jonesboro, Union Co., Ill., May 6, 1866, Miss Harriet Sausman, daughter of Joseph and Hannah (Lauver) Sausman, who were natives of Pennsylvania, where they first settled when they began their married career, and subsequently came, in 1847, to Stephenson County and settled in Kent Township, where they lived until their death. Her father died in the fall of 1859, and her mother on Christmas Day, 1882. Mr. and Mrs. Sausman had a family of ten children, four girls and six boys, of whom Mrs. Mogle was the eighth child. She was born in Juniata County, Pa., Feb. 4, 1844. Mr. and Mrs. Mogle are the parents of four children - George A., Luetta, Berton S., and one child who died in infancy. Mr. Mogle has been School Director, Commissioner of Highways and Constable of Kent Township. Mr. and Mrs. Mogle are active members of St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church, and in politics Mr. Mogle is a Democrat. For the last thirteen years he has been an auctioneer in Stephenson and Jo Daviess Counties. He is the owner of 245 acres of land, on which he has erected good and substantial buildings. Mr. Mogle has been Deacon in his church for a number of years. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 594-595]
Pioneer Nears Evening of Life -- Jacob Molter, of Silver Creek Township, Respected by All -- Passes Ninetieth Milestone -- Happy and Contented in the Reflection of a Well-Spent Life
Jacob Molter / Daniel Molter / Edward Molter and Emerson Molter
Perhaps among the oldest residents in this section of the state, or for that matter, among the pioneers of the northern central states, may be classed Jacob Molter, who resides in Silver Creek Township. Picture to yourself a man about five feet ten inches in height, with strong and powerful features, dark-gray eyes and a ruddy and intelligent countenance, and you have an image of this hardy American pioneer, for although he was born in Germany, he is as ardent an American citizen as can be found in Illinois today. He is one of the few who successfully braved the unknown perils and dangers of an ocean voyage in the year when travelers made their last will and testament before embarking for a foreign land to dwell among strange people. He sailed in the age when the steamboat had just been perfected and when the sailboat was still the chief means of navigation on the high seas, leaving for the shores of liberty-loving America. He is to such as he that we owe the progress which characterizes the American people and the American home in the twentieth century. To the pioneer who faced the danger of drought and food, to the individual who had the moral and physical courage to transplant himself and his family into an unknown wilderness, an unknown climate and different customs and manners, does the prosperity of the modern American look back to and recognize as the foundation and basis of all progress in the business and agricultural world. Jacob Molter was destined to be a professor in one of the German universities by his parents. He was thought to be fitted for the position on account of his extraordinary aptitude for all kinds of reading and the other scholastic pursuits. In arithmetic, particularly, was he an expert student and in the passing of his ninetieth milestone he still transacts and manages his many business interests. Instead of following the path mapped out by his parents, however, he became a farmer and followed agriculture until coming to the United States. Although past his ninetieth milestone, Mr. Molter is still vigorous in mind and partly so in body. There are few men who live to be four score and ten, and still fewer who have the complete possession of all their faculties at that age. There are probably not more than five men in Stephenson county who have attained the age of ninety years and are able to write and read. Mr. Molter is a vigorous man and the muscles in his arms, developed by the hard work of earlier days, are still in good condition and able to deal a powerful blow. Mr. Molter, however, has not the perfect use of his lower limbs. With the aid of a cane he is able to walk from the house to the barn and also take short jaunts around the farm. His iron-gray eyebrows hide a pair of twinkling, but earnest gray eyes. Until this month he has been able to read without the aid of spectacles. He is an interested reader of the German papers and has kept abreast with the trend of events. During the last few weeks, however, his eyesight has been failing. That his eyes are still able to perform their functions was evidenced while a Journal reporter was obtaining an interview. His little granddaughter was amusing herself with a number of pennies and one happened to drop from her hand and roll over the carpet. The little one immediately made known her loss and all proceeded to hunt for the lost treasure. While all were engaged to the quest, Mr. Molter first spied it lying under a chair where it had found lodgment. During the entire conversation, Mr. Molter displayed marvelous remembrance of dates and events. His reasoning and thinking powers seem as perfect as those of a man of sixty winters. Many an individual thirty years younger would have no more definite idea of happenings in the earlier part of their career. But not so with Mr. Molter. He recited incident after incident which occurred to him while still in Germany. He even remembered a foot race in which he participated and was the winner. Events important and unimportant, having found a lodging place in this old man's mind. That he is a great reader is evidenced by the variety of the subjects upon which he talked when questioned concerning different inventions and topics. He is at his ease in discussions regarding any subject, whether it is politics or religion, and he is a most entertaining conversationalist. Mr. Molter has always associated will all the prominent Germans of the county and can speak both English and German fluently.
Jacob Molter was born in the little village of Hintswiller, which is situated in the canton of Laudrecke, in Germany. The date of his birth was August 19, 1815, just three years after the beginning of the second war between England and Germany and eight months after the concluding battle of that contest. It was also contemporaneous with the formation of the German Empire, which was made into a unified nation in 1815, immediately following the fall of Napoleon. Mr. Molter was the second child, having an elder brother named Peter, who was three years older than Jacob. While Mr. Molter was in his native village he worked as a farmer. He received an education in the primary schools and being an exceptionally bright student was urged to study for a professorship in the university. This life, however, did not agree with the tastes of the young man and after a few years he determined to go to America. Preceding him to the United States was his brother Peter, who arrived at the port of New Orleans in 1845. One letter was received by his parents in Germany and since that time nothing has been heard concerning his whereabouts. Jacob Molter sailed from Germany, accompanied by his wife, April 19, 185?. He arrived at the port of New York, after a comparatively uneventful voyage, fifty days after embarking. From New York he journeyed by rail to Albany the capital of the State. Although a railroad had already been constructed between the eastern coast and Chicago, the fare between the two points was almost prohibitive to an immigrant. It was on that account that Mr. Molter went by water from Albany to Buffalo, choosing the Erie canal as a means of transportation. From Buffalo he shipped to a steam-propelled vessel for Chicago, going by way of the great lakes.
An incident occurred on this voyage which Mr. Molter graphically described. The lake travel at that period was insignificant when compared with the modern figures and the courses for steamers had been only partially charted and very often incorrectly. The result was that accidents were frequent, often resulting in the loss of life and property. While sailing around Lake Michigan, the vessel in which Mr. Molter made the journey grounded on a hidden sandbar. Mr. Molter described the manner in which the passengers were forced to aid in moving the ballast of the vessel by gathering first on one side and then on the other, in order that the vessel could again be floated and proceed on its journey. He arrived in Chicago without further incident and went by rail to Elgin, where he remained with friends for one or two days. At Elgin oxen and wagons were procured to convey Mr. Molter and his wife to their final destination, at Ridott, about seven miles from this city. Former friends who had resided in his native village had preceded him and they found a warm welcome at the hospitable home of John Hoebel. The family arrived at Ridott on June 25, sixty-six days after starting from Germany. They remained here for five months and then began to make preparations for building a home of their own. Mr. Molter purchased eighty acres of land from Mr. Hoebel, which that year produced 20 acres of wheat, one acre of potatoes and ten of oats. Mr. Molter clearly remembered that the potato crop was extremely light that year and that he obtained only a few bushels of the tubers from his purchase. The purchase price of the land was $725.00 or about $9.45 per acre. In those days that amount was considered a goodly sum. . . . . . (Continued on page 2 - but the remainder is lost) [Contributed by Jessy Moyer from the Freeport Journal November 16, 1905]
HENRY CLARK MONTAGUE
As is well known the Montague family is a large one, scattered all over the United States. It originated in England, the first representative in this country being Richard, who settled in Hadley, Mass., in 1660, where his descendants lived for several generations, among them being Seth Montague, the grandfather of our subject, who was born July 2, 1763, and came to the West during its earliest settlement, locating in Edgar County, this State, where his death took place in 1827. The subject of this sketch was born in West Point Township, Jan. 23, 1846. His father, Luman Montague, was a native of Bennington County, Vt., born March 30, 1803, and when a young man came West to this county, during the pioneer days. Before leaving New England he had became a resident of Massachusetts, and was there married in February, 1831, to Miss Elvira Clark, a native of the Bay State, her birth occurring Nov. 1, 1806. Soon afterward they started from Westhampton, Mass., with a pair of oxen and a wagon, on the journey of 1,000 miles to the prairies of Illinois. They located first in the southern part of the State, whence they afterward came north into Stephenson County and took up a tract of land on section 18, in West Point Township. This county was then included in Jo Daviess and the land was still unsurveyed. Mr. Montague, however, took possession of his claim, and when the land came into market secured his title from the Government and put up the first house in that vicinity. This, of course, was erected after the manner of those days and without even the aid of a saw. The logs were chopped with an ax and the floor was made of puncheons. Upon the farm thus inaugurated was planted the first nursery in Stephenson County, and in time Mr. Montague beheld an orchard of 1,200 trees in good bearing condition. He was a man of brave enterprise and energy, and nothing gave him greater satisfaction than to watch the development and settlement of the country around him. He lived to enjoy the reward of his labors, and to see the uncultivated prairie transformed into smiling farms and beautiful homesteads. In October, 1875, he closed his eyes upon earthly scenes with a clear conscience, and at peace with all men. The brave wife and mother who had been the true companion and helpmeet of her husband, passed to the other side ten years before his death. They were Methodists in religious belief, and their house was the stopping place of the itinerant, and always open for the holding of religious meetings. The family occupied their first primitive dwelling until 1850, when Mr. Montague put up a frame structure which was considered very fine for those days. Four of the children lived to mature years: Rachel M., now the widow of Reason Baysinger, is a resident of West Point Township; Mary J. died while pursuing her studies at Mt. Carroll Seminary; Henry C., of our sketch, was the third child; Martha F. is the wife of J. P. Fair, of Mankato, Kan. The subject of this history was born in the pioneer log cabin spoken of, and prosecuted his first studies in the log school-house a half-mile away. His education was principally carried on in the winter season, as his services were required on the farm and in the nursery the balance of the year. He remained a member of the parental household until twenty-five years of age, and then starting out for himself, crossed the Mississippi into Iowa and engaged in merchandising at Anamosa for a period of ten years. He then sold out and returned to the old homestead, where he engaged in farming until 1880. In the fall of that year he became a resident of Lena, where he has since been engaged in farming. He still owns a part of the home farm, comprising 240 acres, the land being cultivated by a tenant.
Mr. Montague, in 1883, crossed the plains to California and visited the most interesting portions of that State and New Mexico, being absent nearly a year. He claims that the scenery of the far West can scarcely be eclipsed by anything in Switzerland or Italy, and that Americans anxious to visit among the wonders of nature need not by any means seek the Old World, there being enough that is picturesque and beautiful on their own continent. The marriage of Henry Clark Montague and Miss Annie Drew took place on the 18th of January, 1870. The wife of our subject is a native of Perth, Lanark County, Ontario, Canada, and was born Sept. 8, 1847. She is the daughter of Elisha and Caroline (Smith) Drew, and became the mother of five children, three deceased: Frank L. and Blanche E. departed this life at the home of their parents, Jan. 19, 1880. Isaiah Drew, the grandfather of Mrs. M., was a native of Vermont, whence he removed to Canada during the early settlement of Glengarry County. He afterward removed to Leeds County, where he spent the last years of his life. His son Elisha, the father of Mrs. M., learned the carpenter's trade, which he followed in his native country of Glengarry until reaching his majority; soon after this he was married and settled in Perth. There he followed his trade until 1850, when he came into Illinois and purchased a farm in West Point Township, which he occupied until 1876. Then selling out he retired to Lena, where he has since lived without engaging in any active labor. His wife was formerly Miss Caroline Smith, born in Leeds, Canada, Oct. 9, 1819, and the daughter of Timothy Smith, of Vermont.
Capt. Jehial Smith, her grandfather, commanded a company during the Revolutionary War, and after the independence of the Colonists was established took up his residence in Leeds, Canada, whence he came to this State during its early settlement and spent his last years near the little city of Peoria. The father of Mrs. Drew took up a tract of Government land near the home of his father in Leeds County, Canada, where he secured a farm which he occupied during his lifetime. Mr. and Mrs. Drew became the parents of twelve children: James is a resident of Sterling, this State; Alfred is farming in West Point Township; Charles died when about forty years of age; Elisha is farming in Texas; Isaiah is a resident of Marion, Kan.; Joseph, during the late war served as a Union soldier in Co. G, 92d Ill. Mtd. Inf., participating in most of the important battles of Sherman's campaign, during which he was wounded, but recovered and returned home; after being mustered out he went to Kansas where he engaged in farming, and where his death took place in May, 1870, Annie, Mrs. Montague, was next in order of birth; Carrie is a resident of Rockford; Mary lives in Iowa; Alexander, in California; Hill, in California, and Jessie is a teacher in the public schools of Lena. [Contributed by Carole Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. 1888
Herman Moogk, junior partner in the well known drug firm of Hoebel & Moogk was thirty-seven years old yesterday. Among his many friends is Mr. Ed. Seifert, a well known Chicago cigar man. He arrived in town yesterday, and on finding out that it was his friend Herman's birthday, he saw a few of the boys, and they decided to give him a little surprise party in the evening. They consulted Mrs. Moogk, and she entered heartily into the scheme. The party met at the residence of Mr. D. R. Schulte, and about 9:30 they reached Herman's home over the drugstore. He was down stairs waiting on customers, and had no idea what was going on above. When the company had all assembled he was sent for. Imagine his surprise to find his house in possession of his friend. It was indeed a surprise. But a cap the climax Ed Seifert stepped forward, and on behalf of the friends present, presented to Herman, in a neat little speech, an elegant upholstered easy chair as a slight token of their regard for the young druggist. Herman could hardly find words to express his feelings for their kindness. They all had a good laugh over the matter, and spent a very pleasant evening in social pastimes. Mrs. Moogk had prepared excellent refreshments to which all did ample justice. The party consisted of Ex-Ald. Chas Neiman and wife, Clarence Loveland and wife, Nels Degon and wife, Ed Kraft, Louis Hughes and wife, Al Freuh and wife, Louis Dickes and wife, Otto Schulte and the Misses Schulte and Ed Seifert, of Chicago. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - September 2, 1887 Clipping
EDWARD T. MOORE
E. T. Moore, miller, Orangeville; came to Stephenson Co. in 1848 with his father & family; they stopped in Cedarville, and ran the mill for John H Adams; removed to Freeport. and at one time run the old Lurch mill, which is now destroyed; in 1866, they moved to Orangeville and bought the flouring-mill of Hefty & Legler, which E. T. Moore now runs; the mill is 40 x 60 feet on the ground, and three and a half high stories high running three pairs of buhrs with the Leffler water-wheel, Turbine, capacity of 200 bushels a day. The old family is Ann S., now Mrs. Kaufman; Edward T., Oscar C., deceased; Rebecca, now dead; Aaron, deceased; Agnes A., now Mrs. Wade, William H., now dead; John J., now dead; Ellen R., now Mrs. Tucker; and Mary A., deceased. E. T. Moore was born in Northampton Co., Penn., in 1832; has been a miller all his life. In 1859, he married Miss Sarah Fink, of Pennsylvania; he has a family of six children - Anna, Stephen, Tillie, Mary, Arthur and Stella. He has held township offices. Is Evangelical in religion, and a Democrat in politics. [Contributed by Karen Holt from "History of Stephenson Co. IL. by Tilden 1880]
Edward T. Moore, one of the most substantial citizens of Orangeville, has been a resident of the county for nearly forty years.
His early home was in Northampton County, Pa., where he was born May 12, 1832. His parents were Charles and Josephine Moore, to whom reference is made in the sketch of J. J. Moore, which will be found elsewhere in this work. Our subject remained under the parental roof until fourteen years of age, and then commenced to learn cigar-making, which he followed until 1849. In the spring of that year he came to this State with his parents, via the lakes and railroads to Chicago, where they hired a team to transport them to Freeport. Young Moore afterward occupied himself at various kinds of work in this county until the following year, when he went up into Wisconsin, and for two months was employed in the lead mines near Argyle. He then returned to Freeport, and for seven or eight years following, was engaged with his father in a flouring-mill, after which he went to Ogle County, but returned in a few months to Freeport. Subsequently his father operated a mill in Rock Run Township and he was employed with him there for about ten years. In 1868 he became connected with the mill at Orangeville, of which he has since mainly had charge, conducting the business for his father. He is regarded as an honest man and a good citizen, and is filling the place assigned him in a creditable and conscientious manner. The marriage of Edward T. Moore and Miss. Sarah Fink took place at the home of the bride in Rock Run Township, in 1858. Mrs. Moore was born in Lehigh County, Pa., in 184O, and by her union with our subject became the mother of six children, namely, Anna, Stephen, Tillie, Mary, Arthur and Stella. Tillie lives in Eastern Pennsylvania; Anna in New York City, and the rest are at home. [Portraits and Biographical 1888]
JOHN J. MOORE
John J. Moore, of Orangeville, a native of Lehigh County, Pa., has been a resident of Stephenson County, Ill., for a period of nearly forty years, coming here with his parents when a child four years of age. He was born Oct. 30, 1844, and is the youngest son of Charles and Josephine (Switzhoupt) Moore, natives respectively of Bucks and Northampton Counties, Pa. Charles Moore was born Sept. 27, 1806, and was the son of Thomas Moore, a native of Maryland. The great-grandfather of our subject, as have been most of his male descendants, was a farmer by occupation, and spent the last years of his life on a comfortable homestead six miles from Carlisle, Pa. His son Thomas, however, learned the trade of a miller, which he followed during his early manhood, but finally located on a farm in Northampton County, upon which was a mill, and operated both farm and mill until called from his earthly labors. His wife was formerly Miss Elizabeth Yeager, of Bucks County, Pa. She died in 1812, in Lehigh County.
Charles Moore, the father of our subject, availed himself of his opportunities for securing an education, although the facilities then provided would at this day and age appear extremely limited. There were no houses devoted to this purpose, but the school, conducted on the subscription plan, was carried on in any vacant room which could be secured. The buildings erected in those days were mostly of logs, and the desks and seats furnished the pupils were constructed of slabs. After his studies were completed young Moore commenced assisting his father in the mill, and remained under the home roof until twenty-two years of age; then, starting out for himself he worked first by the month and afterward rented a flouring-mill in Northampton County, until 1848. In the spring of that year he started with his family for this State, and locating in Cedarville took charge of a mill belonging to J. H. Addams, which he operated two years, and then removed to Freeport, running a mill there for two years. Thence he removed to Brookville, Ogle County, but after a year returned to Freeport, where he took charge of the Webster Mills for four years following, then purchased a flouring-mill at Rock Run, which he operated in connection with a farm until the spring of 1866. Soon afterward he took possession as proprietor of the Orangeville flouring-mills and sawmills, and has since operated these successfully and profitably. He rebuilt the sawmill in 1867, providing it with the more modern machinery, and has since enjoyed the patronage of the people throughout that section. The mother of our subject was born Nov. 13, 1807, and became the wife of Charles Moore Oct. 26, 1828. Her parents, Joseph and Rosanna Switzhoupt, were natives of Pennsylvania. She became the mother of eleven children, five now living: Annie S. is the wife of Franklin Kaufman, a resident of Orangeville; Edward T. also lives there; Agnes, the wife of John Wade, is a resident of Polo; Ellen married Edward Tucker, and lives in LaFayette County, Wis.; John J., of our sketch, was the tenth child. Our subject pursued his early studies in the district schools, and assisted his parents on the farm until his marriage, since which time they have resided with him. For some years past he has been associated with his brother Edward in the management of the mills and farm. The marriage of John J. Moore and Miss Lucinda Woodring took place in LaFayette County, Wis., March 25, 1871. Mrs. M. was born in Northampton Co., Pa., in 1848, and is the daughter of Daniel and Catherine (Zeller) Woodring. By her marriage with our subject she has become the mother of two children - Maud M. and Ralph W. Mr. Moore is a member of Orangeville Lodge No. 687, A. F. & A. M., J. R. Scroggs Lodge No. 372, I. O. O. F., and Orangeville Camp No. 82, M. W. A. [Transcribed by Carol Parrish from History of Stephenson County 1888 Portrait & Biographical Pg 364]
When you were here last summer if you remember I had a letter sent to me which was supposed to be a letter sent by John Mowry to his family, Written August 1st, 1864. Well I have typewritten a copy off of it and sending to you. You were speaking of Aunt Em, that you had visited her frequently perhaps she would be interested in reading it I would suggest you would show it to her. NO doubt it is a letter by her father (our Grandfather). Miss May Brown found the letter among some old papers of her parents, as I understand they lived at one time at Lanark, Ills. Well I believe this is all I can think of that might interest at this time. So write soon, Yours Truly, C. G. Mowry"
Calhoun, State of Georgia - Aug. 1, 1864
We are at present camped at this place which has been a considerable town before the war, but, like all the rest of the towns in this part of the country is very much damaged. We move around a great deal, as you can see, but do not generally go very far at a time. I am in tolerable health; I have a bad cough, but an able to do my share of duty. I have a tolerable good horse at present and can ride wherever we move. I hope these lines will find you all in good health. I have been looking for a letter from you for some time; I have not learned whether you received that money which I sent home by Mr. Thomas; He promised to leave it at Stone's Bank in Freeport. I have written two letters before this since I sent the money and have not yet heard whether you received it or not. Henry is well and with the regiment. Whenever I am not on duty and I feel well I make finger rings and it takes a good deal for tobacco. I generally sell the rings for one dollar apiece. The Loran boys are all well as far as I know. Henry Harpster is not with the regiment, but I think he is well. David Wingert is in the Hospital he has been very sick but is getting better, Samuel Harsburger is also in the Hospital. I have not been in any battle yet, but do not know how long I will escape getting in one. Our regiment is acting as Cavalry and are not likely to get in a fight soon; We are used as scouts and guards. The weather is tolerable pleasant to be so far south; it is not as hot as I expected it to be and the nights are cool. I would like you to write soon and let me know who the crops look and how things are going at home. I always feel anxious to know, Five my respects to all. As for war news, I suppose you know about as much as we do. But there has been some hard fighting down about Atlanta and we see a good many prisoners pass here; We are about 40 miles from Atlanta. I shall close by saying to the children, behave well and be good. When you write let me know whether those small rings came through safe and if so I will send some more. No more, but remain faithful.
John Jr. born in Stephenson Co, Illinois, August 21, 1846. Parents were natives of York and Lancaster counties, Pennsylvania. John Sr. born April 19, 1821 and Lydia Bruebaker Mowry born Oct 16, 1822; they married in 1843. Moved to Illinois where they lived when Civil War broke out. John Sr. and John Jr. both enlisted. John Sr. was mustered out and on the way home was accidentally killed. They had 12 children: Henry F., John, William, Christian, Paul, Mary, Daniel, Oscar, George, Emma, Lincoln, Grant. John Jr. settled in Tennant, Iowa. [History of Shelby Co., Iowa; Contributed by Karen Fyock]
Edward Mulnix is the name of a well respected farmer who resides on section 5, in Harlem Township, Stephenson Co., Ill. He is the son of Stephenson and Phoebe (Robinson) Mulnix, who were natives of the land of the Pilgrim Fathers, New England. They left that portion of the country and settled in Delaware County, N. Y., where they resided for a considerable time, after which they removed to Greene County in the same State, and there remained until the time of their death, after an active life. They left eight children surviving them, four boys and four girls. Edward Mulnix, the subject of this sketch, the sixth child, was born in Delaware County, N. Y., and his youthful days were spent in acquiring the practical knowledge of the farmer boy until he was twenty-three years of age, when he was married, Feb. 24, 1844, to Miss Anjlin Kelly, daughter of Ezekiel and Chloe (Smith) Kelly, both natives of the East. The parents of Mrs. Mulnix settled in Delaware County, N. Y., where they died, leaving seven children, five girls and two boys. Mrs. Mulnix, the third child, was born in Delaware County, in 1828. Mr. and Mrs. Mulnix had eleven children, five of whom are now surviving, viz.: Chloe A., Halem A., Theresa, Alvin E. and Schriver M. Chloe A. is now the wife of N. Smith, and resides at Grand Forks, Dak.; Halem M.[he is given two different initials] married Mary Adella Buffington, and resides in Houston County, Miss.; Theresa C. is the wife of Charles Bentley, who resides in Harlem Township; Alvin and Schriver still remain with their parents at home. The deceased children are Abigail, Carolina A., Paris and Ade, three of whom died in infancy. Mr. Mulnix is held in great respect among his acquaintances in Stephenson County. From time to time the people have demanded his services as an official in the minor township offices, and his stewardship in the discharge of the duties pertaining thereto has been of the most gratifying character to his constituents. Mr. Mulnix is a man of energy and perseverance, and has by his thrift and industry built a good home and is content to rest under his own vine and fig tree. In politics he adheres strenuously to the doctrines of the Republican party. He is also a member of Lena Lodge, A. F. & A. M. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888)
ELI R. MULNIX
Among the farming element of Stephenson County, there are those who have attained financial success through their own irresistible energy and perseverance. Of this number the name of E. R. Mulnix is entitled to a prominent place. He is engaged in the prosecution of his vocation on his fine farm on section 16, Harlem Township, where he has met with good success. The parents of our subject, Stephen and Phoebe (Robinson) Mulnix, were born in Dutchess County, N.Y. After their marriage they removed to Delaware County, and subsequently to Greene County, where the father died Sept. 2, 1854. His good wife had preceded him to that better home, dying April 3, 1852, and while they were yet residents of Delaware County. Stephen Mulnix was of English and his wife of Scotch descent. Their family of nine children consisted of four sons and five daughters.
E. R. Mulnix was the eighth in order of birth of his parents' children. He first saw light in Delaware County, N. Y., Aug. 23, 1826, and was there reared to manhood. He continued a resident of the parental home until 1852, and then entered upon the duties of a school teacher. His education had been acquired in the district and select schools of his native town, and also at an academy in Charlotteville, Schoharie County. He continued teaching in New York until 1855, when he went to Iowa and was engaged in teaching in that State in the winter, and farming during the summer season. His teaching extended through about fourteen years. After going to the State of Iowa, he still further added to his fund of information by attending the Northwest University in Fayette County one winter.
E. R. Mulnix was married in Fayette County, Iowa, March 27, 1856, to Desdemona, daughter of Martin and Mary S. (Mariner) Dunham. Her father was born in Mercer County, Pa., and her mother in Trumbull County, Ohio. Martin Dunham and wife, soon after their marriage, located in Mercer County, Pa., whence they migrated to Fayette County, Iowa, in the spring of 1852, where they died, the latter Feb. 15, 1860, and the former Jan. 16, 1863. They had four sons and six daughters, of whom Mrs. Mulnix was the eldest. She was born in Mercer County, Jan. 16, 1829. Prior to her marriage she was engaged in teaching, which she followed in Pennsylvania, Illinois and Iowa. Of her union with our subject six children have been born, namely, Mahlon D., Stella, Romana D., Corintha A., Sarah D. and Lola. Mahlon married Miss Eva Hinds, and they are living in Dakota; Stella died in Harlem Township, when seven years old; Romana is the wife of John J. Ames, of Harlem Township; and Corintha married John Holmes, and they live in Waddams Township; Sarah and Lola are living at home. In the spring of 1869 Mr. Mulnix came to this State and located in Harlem Township, this county, where he purchased 105 acres of land. He located on this land and made it his home. He has erected good and substantial buildings upon the place, and in addition to the raising of the cereals, he has devoted a great portion of his time to the conducting of a dairy Mr. Mulnix has added to his landed interests in this county until he is now the owner of 220 acres, nearly all of which is under an advanced state of cultivation. He keeps about sixty head of cattle and six head of horses upon his farm, and fattens from forty to 100 head of hogs annually. A view of the place is shown on another page of this work. While a resident of Iowa, Mr. Mulnix held the offices of Township Clerk, Township Treasurer and Justice of the Peace. In politics he is a substantial Republican with decided prohibition views. Mr. and Mrs. Mulnix are both members of the Christian Church, and are respected by all in the community in which they reside. [Contributed by Karen Hammer from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Illinois Chicago: Chapman Brothers, 1888 p. 642]
LOYAL L. MUNN
Loyal L. Munn, capitalist, and Grand Secretary of the Grand Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of the State of Illinois, was born on the 1st of September, 1829, in the village of Madrid, Lawrence Co., N. Y. His parents were Abel and Susannah (Barnum) Munn. The father was born in Massachusetts and passed his youth in Adams County, Vt. He was a Captain under Ethan Allen and was the third man to enter Ticonderoga at the surrender of the English.
The subject of this sketch was the recipient of a common-school education. In 1846 he removed to Freeport, Ill, in order to join an elder brother, and there was occupied in working on a farm in summer, and attending school in winter. In 1849 he attended for a year the sessions of a neighboring select school. In 1849-50 he taught school in the northern part of Stephenson County, and in the course of the latter year established himself in business in Freeport, representing several New York insurance companies for the States of Illinois, Iowa, Wisconsin and Indiana. In 1853 he organized the first insurance company in Freeport, called the Stephenson Insurance Company, of which he became Secretary, continuing to act in that capacity until 1865, when he resigned on account of continual ill-health. In 1866 he established a dry-goods business in partnership with his brother, under the style of O.V. & L. L. Munn. This business, subsequently made entirely his own by the purchase of his brother's interest, he disposed of in1869. In 1871 he bought a half interest in the Freeport Gas Light and Coke Company, which business he still carries on. In 1862 he became interested in real-estate operations and built the block known as Munn's Building. In 1857 the American Insurance Company was organized in Freeport, and he was closely connected with its organization. He was appointed to its Presidency in 1867 and officiated in that capacity until 1870, when the company removed to Chicago and he became one of its Directors. He is a man of great resources and unusual energy, and is widely and favorably known as an enterprising and indefatigable initiator of movements which have invariably met with great success. He was married in 1857 to Miss Lenora Lott, formerly a resident of Ogle County, Ill. In 1861 he was again married, to Mary Louisa Hardy, of Haverhill, N. H.
Mr. Munn united with the Masonic fraternity at an early age, being made a Master Mason in Excelsior Lodge No. 97, at Freeport, Oct. 27, 1853. He received the Capitular Degrees in Freeport Chapter No. 23, being exalted therein June 27, 1856; and in the month of March, 1857, he was created a Knight Templar in Janesville Commandery No. 2, of Wisconsin. He united with the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite in April, 1864, and June 18, 1870, was raised to the grade of Sovereign Grand Inspector General, or 33d Degree. He has served in official stations all the time and in all places, we think, for no one of his fellow craftsmen or Royal brethren can remember when he was not on hand, ready and willing to do his part and the part of anyone who was absent. As Worshipful Master, High Priest, Thrice Illustrious Master, Eminent Commander and First Officer of the respective bodies of the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, he has been an able and efficient worker. As Grand High Priest and Grand Commander he was a wise and skillful executive officer. As President of the order of High Priesthood in Illinois since 1867 he stands unequaled as a dispenser of the beauties of that rank. As Grand Secretary of the Grand Lodge of Illinois Ancient, Free and Accepted Masons for several years past he has made an enviable record. In all these stations he has been genial and courteous. Among the many prominent citizens of Northern Illinois who are distinguished for their personal qualities and high moral worth none is worthier of a place in this portrait gallery than Loyal L. Munn, and we take pleasure in presenting a full-page picture of him on a preceding page. [Contributed by Carol Parrish - Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill., 1888]
ORRIN B. MUNN
Orrin B. Munn, one of the earliest settlers of Stephenson County and the pioneer insurance man of this part of the State, has also been fond of country life and agricultural pursuits, and at one time was considerably interested in stock-raising. He is now retired from active labor, and is passing his later years in one of the handsomest homes in Freeport. Mr. Munn was born in Madrid, St. Lawrence Co., N. Y., March 16, 1817. His grandfather, Daniel Munn, was a Captain in the Revolutionary army, under the direct command of Ethan Allen, of historic fame. He took part in the capture of Ft. Ticonderoga and went through the war without serious injury, and afterward settled in Connecticut. The Munn family is of Welsh extraction. The father of our subject, Abel Munn, was born in Connecticut, and when a boy removed to Vermont, where he grew to manhood and was married to Miss Susanna Barnum, daughter of Deacon Stephen Barnum. The parents of our subject after their marriage removed to St. Lawrence County, N. Y., and settled on a farm, where the latter was born and grew to manhood. Abel Munn served in the War of 1812, and was in the battle of Plattsburg, on Lake Champlain. The parental household included four sons and four daughters, who, with the exception of one daughter, Calista, grew to mature years. The latter died at the age of seventeen. Abel Munn with his family came to this county in 1848, and located in Freeport, where he spent his last years, his death taking place in 1855, and that of the mother in 1873. The latter was in the eighty-second year of her age.
Our subject pursued his early studies in the village school during the winter, and in summer made himself useful at home. During his childhood days he was much of the time with his grandfather, Deacon Barnum. He preceded his father's family to this county seven years, coming in 1841. He entered Lancaster Township with a cash capital of $184, part of which he applied on a claim for which he was to pay $90 in work. He then entered the land at the land-office at Dixon. He made his purchase of O. H. Wright, for whom he worked the first winter and then rented another tract of land of Mr. W., where he commenced tilling the soil and upon which he provided a shelter for his prospective family. Mr. Munn was married, Jan. 9, 1845, to Miss Ellen W., daughter of John VanDyke, who had removed from Union County, Pa., with his family in 1843. Mr. Munn first met his wife at a 4th of July celebration, where she was one of five young ladies who took part in the proceedings of the day. The young people at once settled upon the land which our subject had secured possession of, and which is still in the family.
Mr. Munn, during the first few years after his marriage, experienced with his brother pioneers the usual difficulties attendant upon life in a new settlement, with a market many miles away and transportation effected only by horses and ox-teams. Wheat then sold for twenty-five cents per bushel, and other farm produce in proportion. Money was scarce and the crops were prepared for market in the most laborious manner. In due time, however, the country slowly settled up, the value of land increased, and the advent of a railroad lessened to a great extent the labors of the pioneers. Mr. and Mrs. Munn continued on their first homestead until 1868, when they removed to the present family residence, which embraces thirteen acres and lies just outside of the city limits of Freeport. The dwelling is a commodious brick structure, two stories in height, and the ample grounds surrounding it have an abundance of choice shade and fruit trees.
Mr. Munn commenced his operations as an insurance agent about 1848, and had the lead of this business in and around Freeport and the counties adjoining Stephenson. After his removal he became Adjustor for the American Insurance Company, of Chicago, and was employed in the settlement of most of its claims in Iowa, Missouri and Wisconsin, for a period of four years. He is now retired from active business, upon a competency, and surrounded by his many friends, is taking life in an easy and sensible manner. He became the father of three sons and one daughter, namely, Joseph O., Charles H., Edgar W., and Mary E., the wife of Dr. C. W. Leigh, of Chicago.
Mr. Munn was one of the organizers of the First Presbyterian Church of Freeport, the society being formed in 1842, and since 1860 he has been an Elder. He served as Assessor of Lancaster Township three terms and was Road Commissioner nine years. He has been the friend of education and progress, and was one of the most lively encouragers of the free school system, serving as Director for many years. In the spring of 1887 he was elected Trustee, which office he still holds. He first identified himself in politics as an old-line Whig, but since the dissolution of that party he has affiliated with the Republicans. His life has been characterized by habits of strict temperance, the result of which we now see in his healthy and happy old age, he being now in his seventy-first year. Mrs. Munn also enjoys good health, and has been in all respect the suitable companion and helpmeet of her husband. She is a native of Union County, Pa., and was the fifth in a family of ten children, the offspring of John and Margaret (Adams) VanDyke. She is also a member of the Presbyterian Church, with which she became connected when a little girl. As one of the representative old settlers of Stephenson County, we take pleasure in presenting a lithographic likeness of Mr. Munn in connection with this brief sketch of his busy and useful life. [Contributed by Carole Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. 1888]
OSCAR V. MUNN
Oscar V. Munn, insurance agent and dealer in real estate, in Freeport, has a conveniently equipped office at No. 123 Stephenson street, and is representing some of the best companies in the United States. He is adjuster for several Chicago and western companies, and has had an experience of thirty-seven years, which, with his natural adaptability to this brand of business, has contributed to make his services valuable. Mr. Munn was born near Odgensburg, in St Lawrence County, N. Y., June 4, 1820. His parents, Abel and Susannah (Barnum) Munn, were natives of Vermont, the latter born in Addison County. The paternal grandfather of our subject was a Captain in the Revolutionary War. The Munn family is of Scotch ancestry, the original stock emigrating from the Highlands in the seventeenth century. Grandfather Stephen Barnum was of English descent, and was one of the earliest settlers of Connecticut. Abel Munn, the father of our subject, removed after his marriage, and was a resident of St. Lawrence County, N. Y., until 1848. He then came to this county, locating in Lancaster Township, where his death occurred in 1856. The family which ten remained consisted of the mother with four sons and one daughter. The latter, Mary A., is the wife of A. W. Hart, of Freeport. The boys were named respectively, Orin B.; Oscar V.; our subject; Lucius W. and Loyal L. Mr. Munn passed his boyhood and youth on the farm in his native county, receiving his education in the district school, and remained with his parent until eighteen years old. He then went to Vermont and worked on a farm twelve years. He came to this county in 1850, bringing with him his wife and son. He had been married in Addison County, Vt., in January, 1847, to Miss Lydia F. Sunderland, and they became the parents of one child, Leslie A., who is now a traveling salesman for a stove house in Buffalo, N. Y. Mr. Munn at one time served as Assessor of Freeport, but, aside from that, has had little to do with public affairs. He is a decided Republican, politically, and the active supporter of those measures tending to the well-being of the community. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 585
Resides in Waddams Township, and was born in County Kilkenny, Ireland, Oct. 11, 1813. His father, John Murphy, was a native of the same county, where he lived and died. The elder Murphy was a wood-worker, and was principally engaged in manufacturing flax and spinning-wheels. The mother of our subject was, before her marriage, Miss Nancy Jordan, County Wexford, Ireland. John and Nancy Murphy were the parents of twelve children, ten of whom grew up, and two of whom came to America, one being Martin, of whom we write, and the other Mary, who married Mr. William Stewart, a resident of Lena for many years, and later of Friendville, Neb., where both died. Mr. Stewart was a soldier in Co. G, 92d Ill. Vol. Inf., in the late war. Martin Murphy was but eight years of age when his mother died, and very soon afterward he was thrown upon his own resources, and was obliged to take care of himself. He first went to Derby County, England, and located at Buckland Hollow, where he apprenticed himself to a firm of marble workers, and for seven long years applied himself faithfully to his new vocation. His employers were D. Whitcroft & Son, who paid him eight shillings a week. After finishing his apprenticeship, he secured employment at twelve shillings a week, and worked at his trade in that vicinity until the year 1844, when he went to Lancaster, and there worked in a foundry until 1847. On the 6th of September in that year, with a view of bettering his condition, he set out from Liverpool for America, reaching New York thirty-six days later, when he started for the West via the Hudson River and Erie Canal to Buffalo, thence to Chicago by lake, and thence to Peoria by way of the Illinois and Michigan Canal. From Peoria he traveled by team to Freeport, which place he reached with only fifteen cents in his pocket. With a brave heart and a determination to succeed in this strange land, he obtained work of any kind that he could get to do, and finally succeeded, making a residence in Harlem Township, where he resided for three years. In 1853 he bought eighty acres of land in Waddams Township, one and a half miles from Lena. The lands were wild and barren, but feeling assured of their future value in the hands of an energetic man, he made the purchase. He erected a log cabin on the premises, and also cleared up forty acres of the land, and placed it under cultivation and there lived for nineteen years, when he sold out and purchased lands on sections 24 and 19, upon which he made his home until 1871, when, selling this farm, he purchased the property occupied by him at present. The present residence of Mr. Murphy is a very substantial brick house. He has also a large frame barn, and the land is in an excellent state of cultivation, indicative of the progressiveness and industry of the owner. Mr. Murphy was married in 1844 to Miss Ann Stocks, who was born in Derby, England. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Martin Murphy are eight in number, as follows: Louisa, the wife of Henry Vansickle; Ann, who is married to Charles Vansickle, and Eliza, the wife of William W. Sisson, live in Waddams Township; Peter, who died at the age of fifteen; Mary, wife of George Sprague; John who resides in Freeport; and Elizabeth and Martin, who yet remain at home. It is a pleasure to write of such a genial, self-made man as Martin Murphy, who, with only fifteen cents in his pocket at the time of his arrival in Illinois, has with his own strong hands carved a magnificent home out of the wild prairie. At the time of his arrival, as he aptly expresses it, "he was wanting his dinner," but he proceeded at once to rent a house in Harlem Township, where he found no difficulty in obtaining work, because when asked his price, he always answered, that as money was scarce, he was glad to get work at any figures. With a man of the determination of Mr. Murphy, there can be no such word as fail. He would have succeeded anywhere, and certainly there is no one in Waddams Township who is more deserving of the success he has obtained than genial, honest Martin Murphy. Mr. and Mrs. Murphy have for many years been communicants of the Methodist Church, being leading members of that organization in their vicinity. In politics Mr. Murphy is a Republican. The fine portrait of Mr. Murphy, which ornaments another page of this work, is a deserved tribute to his many excellent traits as a man and a citizen. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), Pg 633]
The life history of this quiet and unobtrusive citizen of Erin Township, is in its main points as follows: He first drew breath in County Cork in the southern part of Ireland, June 15, 1815, and spent his childhood at the home of his parents, his father being engaged in farming. The latter possessed but modest means, and our subject at an early age was thrown upon his own resources and obliged to "paddle his own canoe." He was not particularly in love with the institutions of his native country, and when fourteen years old decided to seek his fortune in America. He embarked on a sailing-vessel at Queenstown and after a voyage of six weeks landed at Quebec, Canada. For three or four years afterward he made his home in the Dominion and employed himself at whatever his hands could find to do. He then determined to try the States, and going into New York, was there occupied as a carpenter in Buffalo for two years. Thence he migrated to Ohio, of which State he was a resident two years, and in 1840 started for the West. Mr. Murray upon reaching Illinois made his first stop in Freeport, this county, where he worked as a carpenter for a period of eleven years. By the practice of economy he had managed to save something from a limited income, and in 1851 decided to become the possessor of a farm. He purchased eighty acres on section 15, in Erin Township, where he built up a good home and brought the soil to a fine state of cultivation. There was great room for improvement at the time he took possession of his purchase, and the present appearance of the homestead indicates the manner in which he has spent his time and invested his money. The land is enclosed by neat and substantial fences and the farm residence and buildings are in keeping with the thrift and industry of the owner. He has a moderate amount of farm stock and all the machinery necessary for the modern agriculturist. During his residence of thirty-six years in this section, he has established himself in the esteem of his neighbors and is numbered among the valued members of the agricultural community. One of the most important events in the life of Mr. Murray was his marriage, which took place in the city of Buffalo, N. Y., Sept. 2, 1837. The maiden of his choice was Miss Ellen Stanley, a native of his own country, born in Dublin in 1819. This union resulted in the birth of eight children, and the parents have been greatly afflicted in the loss of five of these. Mary, the wife of Oren Mullerkey, is a resident of Iowa; Emeline married Thomas Foley, and died at her home in Lena, this county, in 1879; William continues with his parents; James enlisted as a Union soldier in the late war and yielded up his life in the hospital at Camp Butler, in 1865, when eighteen years of age; Sophia became the wife of John Rees and died at her home in Kent Township, in 1877, when twenty-seven years of age; John S. died when an infant of seven months; Ellen obtained an excellent education and is now employed as a teacher in the district schools of this county; Hannah when twenty years of age married Levi Stocks of Eleroy, and died at her home in Erin Township in September, 1883. Mr. Murray religiously, adheres to the Catholic faith of his fathers. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 559]
Charles Musser, a thrifty and prosperous farmer of Oneco Township, owns and occupies a comfortable homestead on section 32, which he purchased in 1879, and to which he has since given his undivided attention. The land is fertile and well cultivated, and mostly devoted to the raising of grain and wheat in connection with the provisions required for the family consumption. He keeps a limited number of cattle, horses and hogs, and takes life comparatively easy, generally keeping pace with his neighbors around him in the effort to maintain himself and his family comfortably, and looking well to his position as a worthy member of the community. Mr. Musser first opened his eyes to the light in Centre County, Pa., Dec. 15, 1844. He is the son of Jonas and the brother of James Musser. His father was born in 1800, and spent his entire life in the Keystone State, where his death took place in 1852. Two years later our subject, accompanied by his brother James, came to this county. They settled in Buckeye Township and Charles lived with them two years thereafter, and for six years afterward was employed on a farm for his board and schooling. His first wages were fifty cents per day, which be earned by working for his brothers. He was thus employed two years, then going to Buena Vista engaged as a clerk in a store, where he remained one year, and subsequently took up his residence in the city of Freeport. The war had now been in progress for some time, with no immediate prospect of an adjustment of difficulties. Young Musser, who had now reached his twenty-first year, decided to be one of those responding to the call for additional troops, and in February, 1865, enlisted in Co. A, 46th 111. Vol. Inf., in which he served until the close of the war. In the meantime he met the enemy at the siege of Mobile and the battles of Spanish Fort and Ft. Blakesley. The surrender of Gen. Lee not long thereafter, was followed by the disbandment of many regiments, and our subject with his comrades, was discharged and mustered out of service at Springfield, IL, a year from the time he had enlisted. He subsequently returned to his old home in Pennsylvania, where he spent about six months, then coming back to Illinois, was employed for a time by his brother, and afterward rented land a year in Oneco Township. This last venture not proving what he had hoped, he subsequently employed himself for a time at whatever he could find to do, and then going to Orangeville, was engaged as a clerk by his brother James, for two years. In 1870 he was united in marriage with Miss Mary A. Pollock, who was the daughter of Thomas and the sister of Samuel R. Pollock, prominent residents of this county, and a sketch of whom will be found on another page. Mr. and Mrs. Musser after their marriage, continued to reside at Orangeville until the spring of 1871, and then Mr. Musser rented the homestead of which he is now the owner, for a period of nine years. His labors in the meantime, had been crowned with success, and he was now happily in a condition to purchase, and in the spring of 1879 he received the warranty deed, and resumed his labors with renewed courage upon his own property. He has effected many improvements, and stands well among the neighboring farmers both socially and financially. There were born to our subject and his wife three children, of whom only one is living, Thomas O., whose birth took place April 4, 1871, and who continues with his parents. Winnie M., who was born May 21, 1879, died Jan. 13, 1883; Charles R., born Oct. 25, 1881, died Nov. 29, 1882. [History of Stephenson County 1888 Portrait & Biographical Album]
Daniel Musser a prominent citizen and farmer of Buckeye township is the scion of an excellent old Pennsylvanian family who were residents of Greggs township, Centre County, for many years, and were widely and favorably known throughout that section. Our subject was born on the farm of his father, Jonas Musser, Oct. 26, 1836. The latter was a native of Lehigh County, where his father, Michael Musser, was also born. The great-grandfather of our subject, it is believed, was a native of Switzerland. He owned a large tract of land in Lehigh County, Pa., where he carried on agriculture, and spent the latter part of his life. The grandfather of our subject was reared and married in his native county and afterward, with his brother Philip, removed to Centre County during its early settlement. He was a man of many peculiar traits, extremely fond of his gun, and a great hunter, becoming famous throughout that region for his skill in the use of the rifle. He was also a thorough business man, progressive in his ideas, It was through his influence that Pea Creek was dredged and made navigable for flatboats, or "arks," as they were then called. These boats in time became indispensable to the farmers of that region who availed themselves of this means to transport their grain and produce to the Susquehanna River. Grandfather Musser spent his last days in Greggs township and was accounted one of its most useful and enterprising citizens. Jonas Musser, the father of our subject, was but a boy when his parents became residents of Centre County, Pa. He there developed into manhood, and was united in marriage with Miss Maria Durst, a native of Dauphin County, and the daughter of Peter Durst, of Swiss ancestry. Mr. Musser, after his marriage, purchased of his father a tract of heavily timbered land in Greggs township from which he cleared a farm; he subsequently erected a hotel where he operated as "mine host," in connection with farming, for a number of years, and where his death took place in the spring of 1853. The wife and mother survived until Dec. 12, 1880. She had removed to this State and spent her last years with her son James in Orangeville. The parental household included eleven children, nine sons and two daughters. A son and daughter died in infancy. The balance grew to mature years. George is a resident of Buckeye township. John is written of elsewhere in this album, Michael J. is a resident of Rushville, Neb. Daniel, of our sketch, was the fourth son; William and Benjamin are residents of Jewell City, Kan.; James is a resident of Orangeville; his biography will be found on another page. Charles is farming in Oneco township; Helen is the wife of George Dale, a farmer of Centre County, Pa. Daniel Musser spent his childhood and youth after the manner of most farmers' sons, attending the common school and assisting in the labors on the homestead. The year after the death of his father he commenced learning the tanner's trade, which he followed until the spring of 1856. He then migrated westward to this State, and located on land included in his present homestead. This at first embraced sixty acres, upon which was a small frame house. He operated here in company with his brother, Michael P., until the spring of 1870, then purchased the interest of the latter, and as time passed on added to his real estate until he became the possessor of 155 acres, which now, with its buildings and other appurtenances, constitutes one of the most desirable homesteads in Buckeye Township. The marriage of Daniel Musser and Miss Rebecca Dreibelbis took place at the home of the bride in Centre County, Pa., in the spring of 1864. Mrs. Musser was born Aug. 21, 1841, in Berks County, and is the daughter of Martin and Hannah (Rothermal) Dreibelbis, natives of the same county. They emigrated to Illinois in 1866, but moved the following year to Wisconsin, settling in Clarno township Green County. There the mother died Jan. 31, 1873, and the father Jan. 31, 1886. Mr. and Mrs. Musser became the parents of the following children - William L. Mary E., Carrie A., Minnie M., Burchard C., and Susie B. Our subject is a Republican, has been school director a number of years, served as Assessor and Commissioner of Highways. He also represented Buckeye Township in the County Board of Supervisors for nine years, a member of the committee on building at the time the jail was erected. Mrs. Musser is a member of the Reformed Church. [History of Stephenson County 1888 Portrait & Biographical Album, pg 520]
One of the finest homesteads in Buckeye Township is located on section 7, and comprises 220 acres of finely cultivated land with a handsome brick residence and substantial out-buildings. The farm stock and machinery are of the best description, and the whole presents one of the most attractive features in the landscape of Stephenson County. Mr. Musser came to this section in the fall of 1864, purchasing the land which he now occupies, and upon which he labored industriously for many years, effecting the results which are now admired by the passing traveler, and which aid greatly to the value of the adjacent farms, just as a fine large building in a prosperous city adds to the value of its surroundings. The main barn is provided with an ample stone basement and all the facilities for the storing of grain and the shelter of stock. Our subject is a native of Penn Hall, Centre Co., Pa.. his birth taking place Oct. 20, 1828. He is the eldest son of Jonas and Maria Musser, to whom reference is made in the sketch of Daniel Musser, found elsewhere in this Album and who were also natives of the Keystone State, where they spent the greater part of their lives, and where their remains were laid to rest. The early education of Mr. Musser was conducted in the subscription schools of his native county, and completed in the free schools after their establishment there. He was trained to habits of industry, and employed his summers assisting his father on time farm, remaining a member of the parental household until twenty- four years of age. He was then united in marriage, in November, 1852, with Miss Lydia Condo, and soon afterward purchased the old place at Penn Hall, where he operated as "mine host" keeping a hotel which was patronized by large numbers of travelers through that section. He lived there until the fall of 1863, then sold out, and coming to this county, purchased in 1866 the tract of land which he had since transformed into a beautiful and desirable homestead. It is hardly necessary to say that he has effected great changes in the condition of the soil since first taking possession of it, which now yields each year the choicest products of the Prairie State. The farm and its appurtenances are not excelled by any in the township. The wife of our subject is a native of Aaronsburg, Centre Co., Pa., and was born in 1827. Her parents were Daniel and Mary Condo. Mr. and Mrs. Musser became the parents of three sons and two daughters, who are recorded as follows: Howard, the eldest, is at home with his parents, and assists his father in the management of the farm; Jonas is engaged in farming in Floyd County, Iowa; Daniel, Lena and Augusta are also at home. Mr. Musser cast his first Presidential vote for Gen. Scott as a member of the old Whig party, in 1852. Upon the dissolution of that party and the organization of the Republican, he cordially endorsed the principles of the latter. He has never been ambitious for office, but has preferred to give his entire attention to his private concerns, having little to do with politics otherwise than casting his vote at the general elections. He is a fair representative of one of the best families in the county, and has built up a good record for his descendants to reflect upon in coming wars. [History of Stephenson County 1888 Portrait & Biographical, Pg 645]
James Musser, Supervisor of Oneco township, and also carrying on general merchandising in Orangeville, has for a number of years served as an important factor in the business and social interests of that locality, where his genial qualities as a man, and his worth as a citizen have commended him to universal favor. Mr. Musser was born at Penn Hall, Centre Pa., Jan. 17, 1843. His father, Jonas, and his grandfather, Michael Musser, were natives of the same State, where they spent their entire lives. John Musser after his marriage, purchased a farm near Penn Hall, and in connection with it conducted a hotel on the Lewisburg Turnpike, where he resided until his death in 1855. The mother of our subject was formerly Miss Maria Durst, also a native of the Keystone State, and by her marriage with Jonas Musser became the mother of nine children. The youngest of these was eight years old when the father died. That same year, the widow with some of their children, came to this county, which remained the home of the mother during the rest of her life, she in her later years residing with her children. James Musser was a lad of eleven years when his father was called hence. For two years afterward he lived with his oldest brother on the homestead in Pennsylvania, and in 1857 found his way to Stephenson County, this State, being then thirteen years of age. He went out to work by the day, and in the winter season attended school, working mornings and evenings for his board. In 1860, when sixteen years old, he repaired to Beloit, where he attended the academy, remaining until the outbreak of the late Civil War. Although but a youth, he proffered his services in defense of the Union, becoming a member of Co. A, 46th 111. Vol. Inf., and after serving his first term of enlistment, veteranized in December, 1863, and served until the close of the war. After retiring from the army, Mr. Musser in September following established himself in the mercantile business at Orangeville, in company with his brother Benjamin. They operated, together ten years, when James purchased his brother's interest, and has since carried on the business alone. Our subject after reaching his twenty-seventh year, was captured by the charming qualities of Miss, Kate Zimmerman, and they were united in marriage in Rock Grove Township in June, 1870. The tie thus established was in due time cemented by the birth of five children, who were named respectively, Herbert A.., Mabel E., Royston D., Marc J. and Clive Newcomb. They occupy a comfortable dwelling on Main street, and enjoy the society and friendship of the best people in Orangeville. Mr. Musser, by his genial and courteous, manner and straightforward business methods, has built up a good patronage, and is a general favorite among his townsmen. He has one of the largest and best-arranged general stores in the Northwest, and carries a well-selected stock of goods, doing an annual business of some $65,000. He is a prominent figure in Masonic circles, belonging to Orangeville Lodge No. 687, A. F. &.A. M., Freeport Chapter No. 87, R. A. M., also Freeport commandery No. 7, and Freeport Consistory, together with J. R. Scroggs Lodge No. 37, I. O. O F., and John Musser Post No. 365, G. A. R. which he has been Commander since its organization. He takes a lively interest in the welfare of the people of his community, and with uniform cheerfulness gives his time and attention whenever required, to those matters pertaining to its progress and well-being. [History of Stephenson County 1888 Portrait & Biographical Album, pg 382]
ISAAC M. MYERS
Isaac M. Myers, the subject of this sketch, is the son of Conrad Myers, who was a native of York County, Pa., of German or Pennsylvania Dutch extraction, Isaac's grandfather having come from Switzerland. Conrad, Isaac's father, was married in Centre County, Pa., where he had gone when a young man, the name of his wife being Lydia Lucanbaugh, who was of the same nationality as her husband, and was born and reared in Centre County. After their marriage of the parents of our subject they settled on a farm in Centre County and there remained about fourteen years, or until 1846, when the whole family came to the State of Illinois and settled in what is now Oneco Township, Stephenson County, which remained their home for nine years thereafter, when they sold out and moved to Lancaster Township in the same county, and here purchased land on section 11, which farm they improved and resided thereon until Conrad Myers died, Jan. 21, 1880, having attained the age of about sixty-six. The mother who is now living is approaching near to threescore and ten years of age, and still resides with her daughter, Mrs. Elizabeth Pentecoff, of the township of Loran, Stephenson County. The parents of the subject of this sketch were active and zealous members of the River Brethren Church, of which order the father was a minister. He was a good man, a Christian, and very much respected by all who knew him. Isaac Myers, the subject of this sketch, was born in York County, Pa., on Oct. 15, 1844, and when he was two years old his family landed in this county. He remained at home until about eighteen years of age, when he enlisted late in the fall of 1861, in the Government service as a mechanic, being connected with the Army of the West. Having served for a considerable time as a mechanic and having become familiar with much of the territory in the Southwest, he after the first year became a spy and was thus engaged for three years in the service of his country, during which time he was once taken prisoner by the enemy. He was afterward paroled, but was left 300 miles from any federal post, and in consequence suffered greatly from hunger and fatigue, being compelled to subsist on herbs, grass, etc., for some days. He next went with the Sheridan raid through the West and was out the full three years of active service. He received a slight wound in the left leg, which came near crippling him for life. He was at length honorably discharged from the army at St. Louis, Mo., being there paid off for his invaluable services. Mr. Myers was never mustered in the service, but was paid by the Government for his services as carpenter and spy. He then came to Freeport and later went to the ship-yards at Savanna, Ill., and was there employed for some time and on the Mississippi River, following his original occupation as carpenter. He afterward purchased land on section 14 and began farming to which vocation he has since given his time and attention, and is now the owner of ninety acres of well-improved and splendid land. He was married, in Freeport, Ill., to Miss Amelia Heald, who was born and reared in Germany until she was seven years of age, when she came to the United States with her parents, and located at Freeport, where they are now living and where Mrs. Myers resided until her marriage. She is the mother of three children, of whom Oscar is living, and Harvey J. and Lydia A. are deceased. Mr. Isaac Myers in politics is a solid Democrat and as such has considerable influence in his immediate locality. An excellent view of Mr. Myers' residence and its tasteful surroundings is shown on another page of this work. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from History of Stephenson County 1888 Portrait & Biographical Album, pg 708]
HENRY H. MYNARD
Retired farmer, who has been a resident of Stephenson county since 1863, was born in Greene county, New York, November 3rd, 1822. After marriage his parents, Elisha B. and Persis (VanHorn) Mynard, both of Columbia county, New York, moved to Greene county where they resided until 1841 when they removed to Cook county, Illinois, and there engaged in farming until the death of the former in 1845. He served in the war of 1812. Mrs. Mynard died in Lee county, Illinois, in 1865. They had six children, two of whom are now living - Henry H., our subject, and Francis V. H., a retired farmer, now living in Blue Island, Cook county, Illinois. William H., George W., Julia Maria and Mary Eliza are deceased. Henry H. Mynard received his education in the common schools, after which he began farming in Cook county, Illinois. March 13th, 1845, he married Miss Caroline C. Cool, who was the daughter of Benjamin R. and Lois Cool. Her father was a farmer in Cook county where he and his wife both died. Mrs. Mynard died January 25th, 1885, leaving one adopted daughter, Roselle G. In 1853 Mr. Mynard came to Stephenson county and bought a farm in Ridott township where he engaged in farming until 1875 when he removed to Freeport, purchasing the property at 184 Union street which he still occupies, having himself made all the improvements on the place. Mr. Mynard has held the offices of school trustee, supervisor and other minor offices, and was at one time a member of the Grange society. He has always voted the republican ticket. Mr. Mynard is a prominent citizen of Freeport and a member of the Methodist Episcopal church of that city. [Footprints of the Pioneers Pioneer indexed Publ. 1900]
BACK - HOME
© Genealogy Trails