Genealogy and History
Part of the Genealogy Trails History Group
JO DAVIESS WADAMS
JoDaviess Wadams, of West Point Township, is the proud possessor of a tract of land entered by his father from the United States Government. He has been a resident of this county since a child four years of age, when his parents came hither to enter upon the vicissitudes of life in a new and untried section of country. They located upon an unimproved tract of prairie and erected a dwelling after the fashion of those days, at a time when their neighbors were few and far between, and in a locality where there were no schools established for many years later. The father of our subject, however, who was a man of more than ordinary intelligence and forethought, determined that his children should not grow up in ignorance, and hired a teacher to come to his house and instruct them. The children of the parental household were also taught those habits of industry which became the secret of their success in after life, and the economy which formed so large a part of the principles of the old pioneers that their descendants in the midst of plenty still hold contempt for waste and extravagance. This principle, if more thoroughly taught, would be the means of saving many from loss of property and the embarrassment and suffering consequent upon the idle outlay of money. Young Wadams remained under the home roof until the death of his parents, assisting in the development of the farm and becoming an important factor in the cultivation of the soil and the best means of managing the farm. His father added to his first possessions after the land came into the market until the farm included 300 acres. At the beginning the nearest market was among the lead mines at New Diggings and across the line in Wisconsin. The farmer received for his oats but ten cents per bushel, and for pork from one and one half to two cents per pound when dressed. Mr. Wadams is a native of Illinois, born Oct. 2, 1829. His father, William Wadams, a native of New York State, was born in Auburn Dec. 2, 1786, where he grew to manhood and was united in marriage with Miss Lucy Holland, who was born in Corinth, Vt., Aug. 31, 1799. In 1814 they removed to the Territory of Indiana, locating in La Fayette County, where, with the exception of two years spent in Lorain County, Ohio, they remained until 1827. This latter year was marked by their emigration to this State, and they settled on the present site of the flourishing city of Galena. The only features which then attracted attention to the spot were a few straggling log cabins and one or two stores carried on after the fashion of those days, also in cabins. After the breaking out of the Mack Hawk War the family repaired to White Oak Springs, in Jo Daviess County, to which many other settlers fled for safety. Mr. Wadams had been engaged in mining, but afterward rented land and occupied himself in farm pursuits. Subsequently he made a claim on section 13, in that part of Jo Daviess County now included in West Point Township, Stephenson County, where he put up a log cabin, of which he took possession with his family after the close of this war. He then commenced in earnest to cultivate the soil and establish a permanent and comfortable homestead, where he spent the remainder of his days and where his death occurred May 15, 1856. The wife and mother survived him for twenty-two years, her death taking place at the homestead Aug. 31, 1878. The grove near which the father of our subject first located was named in his honor, as was also one of the townships in Jo Daviess County. The father of Jo Daviess Wadams was characterized by energy and industry, and became prominent in the local affairs of Jo Daviess and Stephenson Counties. He served as Justice of the Peace for several years, and presided at the weddings of many of the young men and maidens in that locality. While living near what is now Galena, he put up a flouring-mill, which was operated by water-power and had its machinery fashioned considerably after the style of the modern coffee-mill. It was the first mill of the kind in that section, and was valued accordingly by the pioneers. Mr. Wadams after a time added to his facilities for grinding by procuring two good burr-stones, which greatly assisted operations. He was a man of decided opinions, and in early manhood a stanch adherent of the old Whig party. After its abandonment by the organization of the Republicans, he cordially wheeled into the ranks of the latter party and remained an earnest supporter of its principles until his death. Like many of the sturdy spirits of that time, he had little sympathy with "new-fangled notions," and was averse to change unless it appeared decidedly for the best. His wife never rode in a steam-ear, and saw but few of them during her life. The parental family included thirteen children. Our subject, with the exception of one winter spent in Iowa after he was twenty-one years old, remained continuously a resident of this and Jo Daviess Counties until December, 1880. That winter he spent in Florida, returning north in June, 1887. The log cabin where he was born remained his dwelling-place until about the outbreak of the late war. In 1863 he completed a frame house which occupies the site of the primitive structure which he for so many years called home, and was content to consider the dearest spot on earth. [Portraits and Biographical Album - Stephenson Co IL 1888]
Daniel Wade, deceased, deceased, formerly one of the most prominent citizens of Lancaster Township, where he had settled in 1847, when that neighborhood was nearly all a wild unbroken territory, was born in Lancaster County, Pa., Feb. 19, 1822, his father, John Wade, being also a Pennsylvanian by birth, of English ancestry. The elder Mr. Wade became identified with the German people, among whom he lived. He died at the age of thirty-five in Lancaster County, Pa. His wife, Susan (Warfle) Wade, survived him, dying in 1835 at the age of forty-seven, being at the time of her death a devout member of the Mennonite Church. Daniel Wade was second child of five in the family. He was reared and educated in the common schools of Lancaster County. Having lost his father when he was but seven years of age, he was compelled to earn the most of his own support, in doing which he acquired the trade of miller, which vocation he followed until his marriage to Anna Mayer, which event occurred in the township of Westanfield, Lancaster County, Dec. 19, 1844. She was born in Lancaster County, the daughter of Jacob and Mary (Mayer) Mayer; although their names are the same, they are no relation. The father was brought up on the same farm which was for many long years held by the family, the same being located near the city of Lancaster, Pa. It was there Mrs. Mayer grew to womanhood and was married. They moved to this county in 1847, and there resided until July, 1870, when she died at her home in Freeport. The father is now living in this township at the advanced age of eighty-three years. He was married a second time, his partner being Maria Kaler, who is yet living, comforting him in his old age. Mrs. Wade, wife of Daniel, is the eldest of the family of ten children, five sons and five daughters. Four of the former and two of the latter are yet living. Mrs. Wade was brought up and educated in the city of Lancaster at her home where she remained until her marriage, having learned, however, before that event the trade of a tailor, and became very efficient in the use of the needle and thimble. She and her husband after marriage settled on a farm in Lancaster Township, this county, in 1847, the year they came West, and made their home since in Lancaster until the death of Mr. Wade. He was the owner of twenty-five acres of timber besides his farm of eighty acres. Mrs. Wade, since the death of her husband, together with her good, hard-working and intelligent children, have added to the home a fine 80-acre tract on the west of the old homestead. The farm has now, properly speaking, two sets of good farm buildings. Mrs. Wade is the mother of twelve children, two being dead. The names of the children are as follows: Susanna, now residing at home; Maria M., widow of Elias Good, now living in Carroll County, Ill. (On the 18th of August, 1887, Mr. Good was killed by being kicked by a horse.) Anna is the wife of Joseph Lapp; they live in Otoe County, Neb.; John W., deceased; Daniel M. married to Maggie Fink, living at Freeport; Jacob M. married to Hannah M. Clump, residing on the homestead; Olivia C. at home; Esrom M., who assists in conducting the home farm; Sarah E., William L., Lizzie N. and Carrie E., are also at home. Mrs. Wade and her husband were active members of the Mennonite Church. Mr. Wade when living voted the Republican ticket. Mr. Wade died on the 31st of March, 1879, and is buried in the Mennonite Cemetery. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portraits & Biographical 1888 Stephenson Co IL Pg 232]
E. S. WAGNER
E. S. Wagner, one of the men who have assisted in making Oneco one of the best townships of Stephenson County, is a native of Northumberland County, Pa., where he was born on the 14th of February, 1833. He is the son of Jacob Wagner, who was born in 1799, and died in 1867. The grandfather's name was also Jacob; he was born in Berks County, Pa., and was married in Northumberland, and died May 27, 1833, at the age of seventy-five. The latter years of his life were spent in Northumberland County. The grandmother was Miss Eva Ranchler, who died May 7, 1813, aged fifty-two years. The father of the subject of this sketch was by trade a carpenter. He learned his trade in Northumberland County, where he was born, and at the age of eighteen or twenty he went to work for himself, visiting different towns throughout that section of Pennsylvania. At the age of thirty-three, in Northumberland County, he married Miss Sarah Seiler. After his marriage he farmed a property he had bought, consisting of thirty acres, and worked at his trade at such times as the farm did not claim his attention. He accumulated land as his means increased. In the year 1846 he went overland, to Pittsburgh, Pa., and from there by boat on the Ohio and Mississippi, to Savanna, Ill., and from that point overland to Ogle County, where he remained several weeks. From there he removed to Oneco Township, Stephenson County, where he had purchased a farm of 320 acres, 100 of which were under improvement, and on which stood two log cabins. The farm cost him $1,000, and was situated half a mile south of the present home of E. S. Wagner. He lived there until his death, and during his residence was School Director and filled several other local offices. His wife was the daughter of Mr. Seiler, a native of Pennsylvania, as were all of her people. Her father was a miller by trade. There were born to them twelve children, of whom Mrs. Wagner was the second child. Eight of the children are living in this county and other parts of the West. Five of them were born in Stephenson County. E. S. Wagner lived with his parents until he was twenty-five years old, and worked on the farm during the summer, and attended the district schools during the winter months. At the age of twenty-five he rented a portion of his father's farm for three years, then purchased a part of the old homestead for which he worked four years, and which he subsequently sold back to his father, purchasing his present home, which consists of eighty acres in Oneco Township, and twenty-four acres over the line in Wisconsin. He paid for this land $30 per acre. In 1880 he bought eighty additional acres, paying therefore $45 per acre. He has resided on this land continuously since. He is now serving as Assessor for the third term. He has been School Director and President of a farmers' cheese factory. Mr. Wagner was married, in 1858, to Miss Mary C. Hassinger, born in 1842, and daughter of George Hassinger, of Pennsylvania. Their children are Addie M., born June 8, 1863; Samuel G., March 7, 1864; Ira J., Nov. 2, 1866. Willard is married and is living on the home farm; George S. is a merchant, and conducts a clothing store and express office at Monroe, Wis.; Samuel is a druggist in Beloit, Kan., and Ira is at home. The brothers and sisters of Mr. Wagner are Selinda J., born July 13, 1831; Carolina, Oct. 14, 1834; Harriet, Oct. 24, 1836; Franklin, born Nov. 19, 1838, and died March 30, 1840; Amanda, born Jan. 10, 1841, and died Oct. 23, 1861; Emanuel, born March 5, 1843, and died Aug. 5, 1851; Sarah Ann, born Feb. 16, 1845; Mary Ellen, born Aug. 3, 1847, and died Aug. 13, 1851; George, born May 24, 1849; Amelia C., March 21, 1851; Daniel S., April 8, 1853. Mr. Wagner's father died March 30, 1867 and his mother Feb. 2, 1883. Mr. Wagner is an Elder in the Lutheran Church, and for several years has been the Sunday-school Superintendent. He has lived a Christian life as nearly as it is possible, and enjoys the esteem and respect of all. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 196]
Joseph Wagner is a very successful and thrifty agriculturist, residing on section 35, in Ridott Township, where he owns 195 acres of land in a good state of improvement. He came to the county, locating first in Lancaster Township, where he lived for two years. After coming to Ridott Township he purchased 110 acres, to which he has since made additions. He was born in Centre County, Pa., May 4, 1831. His father, William, was a small farmer, and was born in York County, Pa., of German parentage. The ancestors emigrated to this country prior to the Revolutionary War, and Joseph's grandfather, John Wagner, was a participant in that struggle for American freedom. He lived and died in Centre County, Pa., where he was a farmer in a small way. He was a defender in the War of 1812, the fight to resist British encroachments, and married a Pennsylvania lady of German descent, who died in Centre County, Pa. The father of our subject, William Wagner, was born and reared in York County, and when a youth went to Centre County. He married Julia A. Rider, who was also born in York County, but was reared in Centre County. She became the mother of eleven children, six sons and five daughters of whom our subject was the first son and fifth child. All the sons and three of the daughters are now living, and all are married and have families. Our subject, however, is the only child living in Illinois. The early life of Mr. Wagner was spent at home in the county of his nativity. When twenty years old he set out to learn the carpenter's trade under Eli Bitner, of Clinton County, Pa. He was in Mr. Bitner's employ for two years, and afterward worked on his own account, having come to Illinois as soon as he completed his trade, which he followed in Illinois for about eight years. He was married in 1855, in Fayette County, Iowa, to Miss Mary Hershey, who was born in Canada, near Buffalo, N. Y., June 6, 1837, and came to the United States and settled in Lancaster Township, this county, with her parents in 1841. Her parents afterward went with their family to Iowa, and lived there for some time, but finally came to this township, and died at the home of their daughter. Mrs. Wagner lived with her father until about one year after her marriage. She is the mother of three children: Abraham A. married Jennie Halstead, and is a farmer living in Ridott Township; Nancy A. is the wife of James Morris, who also lives in Ridott Township; William, the remaining child, lives with his father, and married Elizabeth Cronemiller. Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Wagner are members of the United Brethren Church, of which he is a Trustee. Mr. Wagner is an upright, respected citizen, and is a solid Republican. A handsome lithographic view of Mr. Wagner's residence is shown on another page of this work. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 672]
WILLIAM H. WAGNER
William H. Wagner is editor and proprietor of the Deutscher Anzeiger, at Freeport, established there by his father thirty-four years ago. He struggled at first with many difficulties, but after ten years commenced making good headway and has a finely equipped office with all the facilities for steam printing and the materials for doing job work with neatness and dispatch. His paper is issued each Wednesday, and has become indispensable to the people of that section. It is a neat and well-edited sheet and reflects great credit upon its projector, who has labored with such persistence and industry and is now reaping his just reward. Mr. Wagner was born on the other side of the Atlantic in the Grand Dukedom of Baden, Germany, March 14, 1841. His education was commenced at an early age in his native Province, and in 1852 he emigrated with his parents to the United States. They at once sought the great West and located in Freeport, and in the same year William H. began his career in a newspaper office. He subsequently formed a partnership with his father, William Wagner, Sr., which continued until the death of the latter, in November, 1877, since which time our subject has continued alone. The business block known as the Anzeiger Building is located on the corner of Galena and Chicago streets, and is a fine two-story brick, completed in October, 1886. It covers an area of 21x100 feet and is mostly occupied by the newspaper and job office of the Anzeiger. This includes two cylinder presses for newspaper work and large bills, and there are smaller presses and the other machinery necessary to a first-class office. Mr. Wagner has developed into a business man of excellent judgment and occupies with his family a handsome home on Carroll street. He was married to Wilhelmine Seyfarth in 1861, and has seven sons, all living. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 575]
The grandfather of our subject was probably born in Ireland, and came of Irish parentage. He was unmarried when he came to the United States, and after settling in Pennsylvania he there married a lady of German descent; they both died in the Keystone State. The father of our subject, Philip Walker, was born in Northampton County, Pa., and there reared and educated. He married Miss E. Barbara Brown, who was of American parentage and was born in Northampton County. The Brown family were large, strong and stout people, while the Walkers were persons who were short and stout. After the marriage of Philip Walker, about 1801, he went to Centre County, and there resided until his death, in 1854, at the age of eighty-three years or thereabouts. Where he had made settlement, later became divided into what is now known as Clinton County. He was a man of very amiable disposition, and a successful farmer and influential citizen. His wife survived him some years, and died about 1864, within a month of being eighty-five years of age. She was the mother of nine children, four sons and five daughters, our subject being the sixth child. Three of the children are yet living, namely: George; Susan, who is the widow of Daniel Wisor, recently murdered by a desperado while he was performing his official duty as Marshal of Valley Falls, Kan.; Mrs. Wisor makes her home in Valley Falls, and is aged sixty-two. The brother's name is Philip, Jr., and he is now living on part of the old homestead in Clinton County, Pa., aged sixty-seven years. The early life of our subject was spent at home. He received a good education and was a close student, acquiring a large fund of information from his readings. By reason of the commanding position he took in the county, in 1831 he was made First Lieutenant of the home militia, held the office for five years, and was made Captain of the 10th Company of the 111th Pennsylvania State militia. He acquitted himself so ably in this office for a period of seven years that he was made Lieutenant Colonel of the same regiment. There he continued for seven years, the three last as aid-de-camp of Gov. Shunk, the State Executive. In the fall of 1849 Col. Walker came to Illinois, taking up his location in Rock Run township. This was before the era of railroads, and the Colonel came Overland, using that useful vessel in general service at that time, a prairie schooner, which was propelled by animal power, and required five weeks to make the journey overland. On landing here the Colonel secured 380 acres of land, which he got directly from Uncle Sam. He began to make improvements here on section 19 in Rock Run Township, although part of his land was in Ridott Township. He began on a pioneer scale to build himself a home, and first erected a low building of one story and a half in height, and 13 x 21 feet in size, built of oak timber. After improving his house and land somewhat he moved to Dakota Township, locating on section 24, which was a tract of excellent land. Col. Walker lived on this farm until 1868, when he retired to the village of Dakota, purchasing a good property, upon which he erected a substantial dwelling. He also purchased other property in the village, which he still owns. His home in Dakota Township comprises 160 acres of land located on section 24, on which there are good farm buildings. In 1836 our subject was married near his old home in Clinton County, Pa.; the lady was Miss Mary Gamble, a relative of the late Gen. John A. Gamble, and Judge James Gamble, of Lycomirig County, Pa. She is the daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Williamson) Gamble, of Cumberland County, Pa., of Scotch-Irish descent. They were farmers by occupation. Her parents came to what is now Clinton County, then Centre County, where they lived some years, and where the mother died when the daughter, Mrs. Walker, was eleven years old. Later on the father went to Monroe, Wis., and there died at threescore years of age. Mrs. Walker was born in Centre County, now Clinton County, Pa., Dec. 16, 1816, and died at her home in Dakota, IL Aug. 16, 1883. The Colonel is the father of nine children, two of whom are now deceased: James W. and Franklin reside on a farm in Dakota Township; Catharine, wife of Emanuel Lambert, late of Pennsylvania, but now living with the Colonel, Mr. Lambert being a carpenter; John S. is a farmer living in Rock Grove Township; Nancy E., wife of farmer Sam Askey, residing in Montgomery County, Iowa; Amanda is the wife of Howard Barr, a farmer residing in Rock Run Township; George V. married Miss Ora Klingman. The deceased children are an infant and Emma S. The Colonel has been one of the live men of the township and county, and has held most of its offices. In politics he is an uncompromising and unimpeachable Jacksonian Democrat. His first vote was cast for that father of the Democracy, and he has continued stead Cast in that faith ever since. [History of Stephenson County 1888 Portrait & Biographical Pg 313]
Cuthburt Walters, located in Winslow Township in 1885, where he put up the first and only cheese factory in the township, and in connection with dairying began the cultivation of 200 acres of land on section 4. He is the owner of a good property, the accumulation of his own industry, and illustrates in a forcible manner that which may be accomplished by steady perseverance and resolution. Mr. Walters first drew breath in the eastern part of Scotland, in May, 1833, and when an infant of two months old, was taken by his parents to Ireland, where he remained with them until seventeen years of age, and then came to seek his fortune on this side of the Atlantic. Upon reaching American shores he proceeded to Philadelphia, Pa. He had learned of his father the art of weaving, and now followed his trade in Pennsylvania until about 1853. He then pushed toward the far West, and coming to this county, commenced working by the month, and was thus employed until the breaking out of the late war in 1861. Mr. Walters had acquainted himself sufficiently with the political affairs of this country to determine at once with which party he would take sides in the impending conflict, and in July of that year, enlisted in Co. K, 52d Ill. Vol. Inf., and rendered good service as a Union soldier until the fall of 1864. In the meantime he had been present at the battles of Ft. Donelson, Pittsburg Landing and Corinth, also at the siege and capture of Atlanta. After his term of service had expired, he received an honorable discharge, and returned to the scenes of his later operations in this county. In the fall of 1864 Mr. Walters was united in marriage with Miss Ellen Brown, who was a native of New York State, and was brought by her parents when a young child, to Elgin, Kane Co., IL., where Mrs. W. was reared and received a common school education. Her father, Lewis Brown, was born in Canada, and was of French ancestry. He is now in Chicago. Mr. and Mrs. Walters became the parents of six children, namely, Ella, Nettie, Willie, Frank, Cora, and a little daughter still unnamed. They are all with their parents, and the family presents an interesting group, occupying a home in the midst of plenty, and surrounded by all the comforts of life. Mr. Walters has a herd of sixty cows, and realizes each year from his cheese factory, a handsome sum of money. The father of our subject, Hugh Walters by name, was also a native of Scotland, where he grew to manhood, and was married to Miss Emeline Craig. He removed to Ireland in 1833, and settled near Londonderry, where he followed weaving for nearly forty years, and then in his old age emigrated across the water, and located in the city of Philadelphia, Pa., where he spent the remainder of his life. He was twice married; the mother of our subject was Miss Emeline Craig, a native of Scotland, who died three weeks after the birth of her son Cuthbert. [Portraits and Biographical Album]
William Walton, the leading dry-goods merchant of Freeport, occupies Nos. 104 and 106 Stephenson street, where he has been located for the last thirty years, and by his thrift and energy has placed himself in the front rank of the representative men of Stephenson County. He is a native of Birmingham, England, where he was reared and received a common-school education, and began his mercantile experience early in life in the capacity of clerk. In 1855, after reaching manhood, he emigrated to the United States, and after a brief sojourn in New York City proceeded to Chicago. From there, in the fall of 1858, he came to the city of Freeport and established himself in trade in a modest manner at No. 88 Stephenson street. By strict application to business and upright dealing he soon secured a good class of customers, and his progress since that time has been steadily onward. In due time he was obliged to enlarge his facilities, and in 1877 removed to the building which he now occupies. This is a large double brick, three stories in height, all occupied by Mr. Walton, and thoroughly packed with a valuable and finely assorted stock of dry-goods. The first floor is utilized as the retail department, the second, which is 155 feet deep, is used for carpets, cloaks and house furnishing goods, of which he has a large stock, and the third floor is devoted to the manufacture of ladies' cloaks and men's clothing. The latter branch especially includes a large and varied assortment The entire business moves on with clock-like precision, giving ample evidence of intelligent supervision. Mr. Walton gives employment to a large force of clerks, and as will be seen is an important factor among the trade interests of Livingston County. Mr. Walton, in 1887, added to his already commodious quarters by putting up an addition which he uses for displaying a special class of goods, including silks, velvets and black dress goods. The different departments are so admirably arranged that the proprietor can have a complete oversight of what is going on, and his employees are of first- class ability, and are paid accordingly. His long experience in the business and his extensive acquaintance in the city and county have given him the advantage of being-able to determine what the public requires, and this has resulted in the most satisfactory returns. Although having upon his hands great interests, Mr. Walton has always signalized himself as a public-spirited man who has contributed liberally and cheerfully to those enterprises calculated for the progress and welfare of the city. His capital, employed in putting up tenement houses for the accommodation of a steadily increasing population, brings him a fair rate of interest. In manner he is retiring and unobtrusive, and although keeping himself well posted upon matters of general interest, meddles little with politics or the various other questions which agitate the country. Mr. Walton is unmarried. [Contributed by Christine Walters, Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill., 1888]
Jack Warhop (Wauhop)
Jack Warhop was born John Milton Wauhop on July 4, 1884 in Hinton, Summers County, West Virginia and he died on October 4, 1960 in Freeport, Stephenson County, Illinois. His parents were Walter Raleigh Wauhop and Maggie Martin. Walter was born February 21, 1857 and died May 20, 1938. Maggie Martin had at least two sisters, Nannie Mae Martin, who married William Goff and Ella Martin, who married Joseph Nihoof. Nannie and Ella's parents were William Thomas and Sarah Martin, both of whom were born in Virginia.
In 1902, Jack Warhop was playing with the local C & O (railroad sponsored) team in Hinton, West Virginia. In 1904, a Cherokee Indian baseball team, the Nebraska Indians, arrived in Hinton to play the C&O team. According to an undated article by Eugene L. Scott in a Beckley, West Virginia newspaper, the Indians star pitcher was sick and they asked if a local boy could fill in. Someone suggested Jack Warhop. He won the next 3 games and then joined the team. He had come to Freeport the summer of 1906 as a pitcher with the Nebraska Indians ball club. Warhop started his baseball career in Freeport in 1906 with the old Wisconsin - Illinois League. After he played a 12-inning 2-2 deadlock game, he was signed by the Freeport club at $80 a month. He won 26 out of 32 games in 1907 and 30 out of 36 games in 1908. In 1907, he struck out 339 batters in 325 innings. His apparent reason for returning to Freeport is that he had married Grace C. Nichol on November 23, 1907 in Stephenson County. She was the daughter of Thomas Scott Nichol and Fannie (Clair) Nichol, and born January 8, 1886 in Lanark, Carroll County, Illinois. By 1900 she lived on State Street in Freeport with her mother and younger brother Lloyd and was going to school; her mother worked as a clerk in a confectionary store. Jack left Freeport on March 3, 1910 for Athens, Georgia to join the New York Americans on their training trip.
[Picture from the collection of Lucas Luecke]
Jack Warhop's major league baseball history was widely known to baseball fans in that era. He pitched his entire major league career with one team, the New York Highlanders, who changed their name to the New York Yankees at the start of the 1913 season. He had at least three nicknames: "Chief" because his surname sounded like "war hoop," "Crab," because of his bad disposition, and "the Little Flea," referring to his short stature; he was barely 5' 9" tall. Warhop held impressive baseball records and pitched against some of the best hitters ever to play baseball. On May 6, 1915 he pitched the first ball Babe Ruth hit for a homerun and he pitched Babe Ruth's second home run as well, on June 2, 1915. He also pitched Shoeless Joe Jackson's first home run, in 1910 when Joe played with the Cleveland Naps. Eugene L. Scott told his readers that in 1915 Jack Warhop lived in an apartment at 145th and Amsterdam Avenue in New York City and walked to the Polo Grounds on game day. He loved to talk to people along the way, and being a Yankees player, he was well known. Warhop played his last game with the New York Yankees on August 12, 1915. He and 2 other teammates were released to the Richmond Club of the International League. By September 2, 1918, when Jack signed his World War I Registration Card, the constant travel that is part of baseball may have taken a toll on his marriage. Although the registration card gives John Milton Warhop's address as 148 Stephenson Street, Freeport, Illinois and shows Mrs. Grace Warhop as his nearest relative (who also lived at the same address), it gives his occupation as an iron worker at the Robinson Dry Dock Company in the Erie Basin of Brooklyn, New York. He signed the registration card in New York City (and it is stamped with a registration office at a NYC address) but apparently the card was sent later to Freeport because it is overstamped Stephenson County, though there is no indication Warhop actually served in World War I. Being an iron worker probably exempted him, since ship building was a war industry. There seems to have been a baseball angle to this. Charles Clark, writing about Warhop on June 13, 1958, possibly for the Freeport paper, reports that Jack Warhop worked for the Erie Basin Shipywards and hurled their baseball team to two straight championships. After that he was a player-coach of the Hoboken Fletcher Shipyard.
By January 1920, Jack and Grace Warhop were divorced. Grace Warhop appears on the 1920 US Federal Census for Freeport, Stephenson County, Illinois as divorced and living on South Chicago Ave. (near Stephenson Street) with her two daughters, Betty J. Warhop and Nancy B. Warhop. Betty J. Warhop was born December 9, 1914 in Illinois (date provided by Social Security Death Index) and she died in Freeport in November 1980. She did not marry. Her sister Nancy B. Warhop (sometimes called Natalie Warhop) was born June 29, 1916 in Illinois Sometime later in 1920, Grace C. Nichol Warhop married Robert C. Schofield, who was born July 22, 1879 in Freeport, a son of Silas Charles Schofield and Mary Adelia Whitney. He had operated Schofield Manufacturing in the west side of Freeport, a factory which made potato planters and diggers. He discontinued the business at about the time of the First World War.
By 1930, Robert C. Schofield appears on the Freeport census operating a clubhouse. He and Grace had two children of their own, Robert C. Schofield Jr. and Jeanne B. Schofield. Robert C. Schofield (Sr.) and Grace C. Nichol Warhop Schofield are both buried in Oakland Cemetery, Freeport. He died July 21, 1941 in Freeport. The Oakland Cemetery office only has burial records (not death records); it shows Grace was buried March 12, 1963. Robert C. Schofield Jr. died March 22, 2005 in Freeport, Jeanne B. Schofield Gundry died March 5, 2004. (The Social Security Death Index is the source for both.) Jeanne is buried adjacent to Betty J. Warhop in Gund Cemetery, east of Freeport.
Nancy B. Warhop married Arno Zimmerman and lived in Wisconsin in 1960. Their son John Milton Zimmerman was born September 15, 1943 and was married. He died September 8, 2003. Nancy B. Warhop died December 5, 1984 in Glendale, Arizona.
Jack Warhop married Frances M. Helsinger in about 1918. She was the sister of Grace's brother Lloyd Nichol's wife, Esther Helsinger. The parents of the Helsinger sisters were Ira Francis Helsinger (1871 - 1927) and Dora Althea Sarber (1876 - 1908). The sisters spent their early years in Lanarkand and are buried in the Lanark Cemetery. The 1920 US Federal Census for Islip Township, Suffolk County, New York shows John M. Warhop and Frances living on Grand Avenue and he gives his occupation as "Ball Player, Pro Ball."
The 1930 census for Islip,Suffolk County, New York, shows them living on Columbia Avenue in the village of Islip and gives his occupation as chauffeur for the highway department. But he didn't leave baseball entirely. By 1937, Jack Warhop played the occasional exhibition game; the June 2, 1937 edition of the Appleton Post Crescent reports Jack Warhop "can still go to town….He's 55, but stepped in and hurled four innings of shutout ball for a semi-pro team here Sunday. Jack spends most of his time umpiring and coaching sandlot teams on Long Island." And the March 16, 1939 edition of the Freeport Journal Standard reported he was living in Islip, Long Island and umpire-in-chief of the Bay Shore circuit. Charles Clark states that Warhop played his last game in 1939, an all-star game at Bay Shore.
By the 1950s, Warhop worked as a caretaker on a large Long Island estate. Sometime during the 1950s, probably about 1955, he appeared as a mystery guest on the popular TV show "What's My Line?" Relatives who knew him then remember him for his great sense of humor. He enjoyed playing practical jokes on his family and friends. Jack loved to cook and also had a big garden. He could grow any kind of flower. He smoked cigars and saved the ashes to put on his plants! He said it helped them grow.
In early 1958, Warhop's health began to fail. So about June 1958, he and Frances moved back to Freeport where they had relatives to look in on them. They moved into an apartment at 621 South Chicago Avenue. Frances died first, in 1959, from a heart attack probably brought on by the strain of the move. Jack lived a little longer, until October 4, 1960. His funeral was held in Freeport and he was buried in the Lanark Cemetery, next to Frances. [Written by Alice Horner]
The gentleman whose name heads this notice and whose portrait is given in this connection, has followed the vocation at which he is at present engaged thus far in life, and by dint of his own industry and perseverance, has made a success of the same. He is pleasantly situated on his farm of 200 acres on section 3, Florence Township, where he is passing the sunset of life in the enjoyment of a well-earned competency, and respected by all. Mr. Washburn is a son of Gael and Rebecca (Garfield) Washburn, the former of whom was born in Massachusetts, and the latter, it is supposed in New York State. After their marriage the parents settled in Ontario County, N. Y., where they continued to reside until their death. The father was a farmer by calling, and became the head of a family of seven children, four sons and three daughters. The names of the children were Sarah, Rebecca, Lucy, Alvin, William, Amos and Elisha. Amos and William are the only survivors. Amos Washburn was born in Ontario County, N. Y., Dec. 16, 1808. He was reared to manhood on a farm, and has always followed the calling of a farmer. At the date of his father's death our subject was only about ten years old, and from that time until the present he has been compelled to do for himself. He made his home with his eldest brother for a time, and when about seventeen years old, accompanied by his youngest brother, went to Kentucky. Not being favorably impressed with that State they went to Licking County, Ohio, whence they removed to Delaware County, that State, and there continued to reside until 1856. In the spring of that year Mr. Washburn, having been previously married, came with his wife and three children overland to this county. On our subject's arriving here he located near where Florence Station is now situated. There he made his home for about thirteen years, when he removed to Freeport and lived there five years. A city life not meeting his approbation, he purchased the farm where he now lives, and has made that his home since 1873. His farm comprises 200 acres of choice land, is under an advanced state of cultivation, and has a fine set of farm buildings upon it. Amos Washburn was united in marriage with Maria Lane in Licking County, Ohio, March 4, 1836. She is the daughter of Benjamin and Desire (Philbrook) Lane, natives of Maine. The father followed the sea a portion of his life, but in 1817 he removed to Licking County, Ohio, where he engaged in farming and stock-raising. Selling his farm in that county he moved to Delaware County, whence he came to this State and located in Freeport, in 1854. He made that his home for some fourteen years, when he purchased a farm in Florence Township, where he lived a few years, and then went to Baileyville, Ogle Co., Ill., where he died. His wife's demise occurred at the residence of her youngest son, Lorenzo D. Lane, in Iowa. Benjamin and Desire Lane became the parents of six children: John, Maria, Susan, Rufus, Margaret and Lorenzo D., of which number Maria, Rufus and Lorenzo survive. Mrs. Washburn was born Sept. 18, 1815, in Maine. Removing with her parents to Ohio, she continued to reside in the parental home until her marriage with our subject. Her union with Mr. Washburn has been blest by the birth of three children - Laura, John and Christopher. Laura is the wife of Thomas Webb, and they live in Freeport; John first married Miss Emma Fellows, who died in Florence Township, and he subsequently married Martha McCracken, and they are living in Kansas; Christopher married Miss Sarah Brownlee, and they are residents of Florence Township. Mr. and Mrs. Washburn are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and in politics he is a Republican. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 725]
Christopher Washburn, who resides on the home farm on section 3, of Florence Township, is the son of Amos Washburn, of whom a sketch is given in this volume. He was born in Licking County, Ohio, on the 3d of June, 1839, and came to Stephenson County with his parents in 1856, and has been a resident of Stephenson County since, spending, however, in the meantime, three years in the army. In August, 1862, he enlisted in Co. D, 93d Ill. Vol. Inf., and served until the close of the war. He was with his command in nearly all the engagements in which it participated, and while on duty during the siege of Vicksburg, the Gibraltar of the South, received a wound in the knee, and on the 22d of May, during that memorable siege, he was sunstruck while on duty, from the effects of which he has never entirely recovered. At the close of the war he was mustered out of the service at Louisville, Ky., after having participated in Sherman's glorious march to the sea, which will go down the ages, in poetry and history, as the greatest military accomplishment of the century. Mr. Washburn was married, in Freeport, Ill., on the 26th of February, 1867, to Miss Sarah Brownlee, daughter of Lorenzo and Abbie (Smull) Brownlee, natives of Pennsylvania. She was born in that State on the 4th of December, 1844. They have had four children: Jessie M., Winnie, Henry, and one child died in infancy. Winnie died in the early part of September, 1882; Jessie is the wife of Jacob Ingle, and they reside in Lancaster Township. Mr. Washburn is a Republican, and as he expresses it, "believes in voting the way he shot." He and his wife are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 732]
HARVEY P. WATERS
Harvey P. Waters, who is widely known throughout Ridott Township as an intelligent farmer and stock-raiser of more than ordinary business capacity, is one of the finest representatives of his substantial English ancestry, who distinguished themselves in the Colonial days by active sympathy with the American people in their desperate struggle for liberty. The paternal grandfather of our subject, Biglow Waters, held the commission of Major in the Colonial army. After the conflict had ended, he settled down quietly on a farm in Connecticut, where he lived for several years. Subsequently he removed to Chenango County, N. Y., where he built up a good farm from the uncultivated soil and continued to reside until his death. He died at seventy-eight years of age. The wife of his youth was in her girlhood Miss Hester Gardiner, who was born and reared in New England, being a member of the old family which owned the Island of that name. She survived her husband a number of years, and died at an advanced age on the old homestead in Chenango County, N. Y. The eldest son of their family, which included three sons and four daughters, was named Gardiner, and became the father of our subject. His birth occurred after the removal of his parents to Chenango County, where he was reared, educated, and became familiar with the various duties on the farm. He was also married in that State to Miss Clarissa C. Pardey, who was born in New York State of Scotch parentage. This union resulted in the birth of a family of four sons and one daughter. All of the sons, with the exception of Harvey, of our sketch, are now deceased. The daughter, Mrs. Harriet Anibal, resides on a farm near Hampton, Iowa. The brothers of our subject were Dennison, John and Edwin. Dennison died unmarried. He went to the war and was never heard from afterward. In the fall of 1833, the family all came West to this State, stopping for a time in Chicago, but subsequently the father took up a claim sixteen miles southwest on the Dixon Road. The land had not then been subdivided, but as soon as it came into market the father of our subject secured his title from the Government and there built up a good homestead. The mother passed to her long home in 1843, in middle life. Mr. Waters afterward married Miss Alvira Gravis and removed to Washington Township, Winneshiek Co., Iowa, where he purchased land and remained upon it seven years. He then returned to this county and located near the home of his son, our subject, where his death took place in 1864, at the age of seventy-seven years. His last wife survived him some years but is now deceased. Harvey Waters was born Oct. 30, 1815, in Chenango County, N. Y., and remained under the parental roof until twenty years of age, when he set out to do for himself. His first movement was to migrate westward, and he arrived in this county in January, 1836, where he employed himself until the following year at whatever his hands could find to do. He then made a claim of sixty-six acres in Ridott Township, which was afterward included in the fine homestead which he built up after years of active toil, and forms one of the most attractive spots in the landscape of Northern Illinois. He subsequently purchased additional land, and is now the owner of 300 acres with valuable improvements and fertile soil; this has been largely devoted to the raising of grain and stock. The latter included Morgan horses and thoroughbred cattle, besides a good quality of swine. Mr. Waters, in 1886, retired from the active labors of the farm which he has left in the hands of tenants, and is now living comfortably and quietly in a handsome home in the village. He is amply entitled to the comforts which now surround him, as he has labored worthily and well, and been one of the most important factors in the agricultural interests of this section. After he had laid the foundations of a permanent home Mr. Waters, feeling the need of a companion and helpmeet, to share his fortunes, was united in marriage with Miss Mary Lloyd, the wedding taking place at the home of the bride in Ridott Township, July 22, 1842. Mrs. Waters is the daughter of John Lloyd, a native of Pennsylvania of Welsh ancestry. Her father was born in Pennsylvania, and in early manhood became a resident of Upper Canada, where he met and married Miss Lydia James, who was born in Pennsylvania, and afterward became a resident of the Dominion. The young people after their marriage remained in Canada, where they became the parents of three sons and five daughters, of whom the wife of our subject was the youngest but one. Mrs. Waters was born March 11, 1826, and was thirteen years old when her parents and a part of their family came to Illinois. They located in Winnebago County, where the mother died in middle life, near Pecatonica, in 1844. The father afterward removed to Iowa, where his death took place in 1881, he having arrived at the advanced age of ninety-eight years. Mrs. Waters was educated in the common schools, completing her studies at Mt. Morris, and remained with her parents until her marriage. Of the eight children born of her union with our subject, two are now deceased, namely, Gardiner and Cornelia. Clara C., the widow of J. M. McCracken, is a resident of Ridott; Lyda married Frederick Stockberger, a carriage-maker of Pecatonica; Frederick is single and lives in Missouri; Carrie and Emma are at home with their parents. Mr. Waters votes the straight Republican ticket, and with his estimable lady, is a valued member of the Methodist Church. [Contributed by Carol Parrish - Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 284]
Although America was not discovered by Englishmen, the people of England were among the first to appreciate the fact that the New World was to be the home of those of the Old World who desired to better their condition, both in form of Government and in the vocations of life. The advanced forms of civilizations which have prevailed in this country since the first nucleus of government was created can be traced to the earliest colonists who came from England. We are led to these reflections by the fact that the subject of this sketch was born in England and lived there until he was nineteen years of age, at which time he crossed the ocean and tried his fortunes in the New World. He engaged in burning lime in Lycoming County, Pa., until 1845, when he came to Stephenson County and settled in Freeport, where he remained until the spring of 1846, when he moved to Harlem Township and settled on section 26, where he has since lived. He is the owner of 245 acres of land, which is not excelled for fertility and adaptability to farming and stock-raising in that section of the State. He has erected good buildings and is provided with all the implements of agriculture. To some extent he has been a speculator in land, having at times owned various tracts. Our subject was married in Nottinghamshire, England, to Eliza Stocks, who was also a native of that country. They have had fifteen children, twelve of whom are living, their names being: Mary, Lizzie, Helen, Ruth, Thomas, Aleck, Fred, William, Frank, George, Charlie and David. Mrs. Watson died in Harlem Township on the 12th of July, 1887. She was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and in her life the beauties of Christianity were exemplified. Her husband is also a member of that church. Mr. Watson has several times filled the office of Highway Commissioner. His career as a citizen of an adopted country has been one eminently worthy and useful to the community in which he has resided, and his neighbors and old friends unite in testifying to his sterling worth, integrity and valuable services as a citizen. [Contributed by Carole Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. 1888]
O. D. WEAVER
The grandfather of our subject was Philip Weaver, a native of Germany, but of French ancestry. His coming to America dates back to the visit of La Fayette, who participated in the Revolutionary War. He served with him in the struggle for American freedom as an officer in the American army, and held an honorable position. Philip Weaver married Elizabeth Hyde, daughter of Abram Hyde, an Englishman, and was a farmer in Lancaster County, Pa., where he died. The father of our subject was Michael Weaver, one of a family of eight children, four sons and four daughters. The eldest was John. He lived and died in Franklin County, Pa. The father of our subject was born in Pennsylvania, and followed the trade of a tailor in Mechanicsburg, Pa., where he lost his wife, the son at that time being only six years old. Two years later Michael Weaver went to Ohio, and pursuing a man who was instrumental in causing the death of a son, went to New Orleans, where he was taken sick with the cholera and died. David Weaver was the next oldest brother; he had made an early trip across the plains to California. Weaverville in that State was named in his honor. In later life he was quite an extensive merchant. The fourth son was Jacob Weaver; he became a noted physician, and going to Lafayette, Ind., died there. He was man of fine presence, and elocutionist and author, and a skillful teacher of the elocutionary art. His "Treatise on Elocution," a practical work, was published in 1846, and had a large circulation. Dr. Weaver had a son, Alexander, who figured conspicuously in the early history and troubles of Kansas, having gone there as a physician. The Governor of the Territory entrusted him with the duty of visiting Jefferson City, Mo., to secure Government arms with which to protect Kansas. He was accidentally killed by one of the firearms while unloading it. The sisters of the father of our subject were all married before their death. Michael Weaver married Charlotte Krill, of Pennsylvania. She came of German ancestry, and died at Mechanicsburg, Pa. O. D. Weaver, our subject, was the third of the eight children born to his mother. Their names in the order of their birth are as follows: Theophilus, Elizabeth, O. D., our subject; Tictchum D.; Charlotte, Asaph J., Charlotte A. and Michael. Our subject is the only surviving member of the family, and was born Oct. 16, 1825. He lost his parents when a child, and was reared among strangers. He was eleven years old when he was bound to the trade of tailor, and in 1845 came West, and has since lived in Stephenson County, doing business as a farmer, and for some years following the trade of tailor at Freeport. Our subject has been one of the energetic men of this county, and has accumulated a comfortable property here, owning a good farm of eighty acres in Dakota Township, and some property in Dakota Village. He has been closely identified with the interests of the township, taking much concern in its affairs. Mr. Weaver spent over three years of his life in California, where he experienced some of the hardships of the early miners there. He was at the first gold mine at the time of its discovery in 1846. He built one of the first houses in this township; he had nine children, one of whom is dead. Our subject married Henrieta Ilgen, a descendant of an old Revolutionary soldier, one of the hired Hessians who participated in that conflict. Mrs. Weaver's ancestor, it is true, came here in the interest of the British, but after understanding the nature of the conflict the Americans were engaged in, he early joined their ranks, and fought on the side of the Revolutionists. Mrs. Weaver was reared and educated in Pennsylvania. Mr. Weaver's religious convictions lead him to avow the Methodist faith. He is a Republican, and has held some of the minor offices of the township. While Mr. Weaver has finally attained success, his pathway has not always been a bed of roses. Some friends in whom he placed implicit confidence, proved false, leaving him to suffer. His family and himself are all fine musicians, musical talent being largely developed in all his sons, one of whom is leader of the Freeport band, and plays almost every instrument well. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 555]
Many of the most thrifty agriculturists of this county are men who came from their native land across the sea poor, and without any other advantages in the world than a strong arm and a steady purpose to work until they had accumulated sufficient to secure for themselves a comfortable home. Prominent among this number is Mr. Weber, whose life history we will briefly review. He came to this county as early as 1855, about the time the fertile prairies were being opened up for settlement, and was among the first to turn the sod in Ridott Township, where he now has a comfortable home located on section 2, and a well-improved farm of sixty acres, besides owning forty acres on section 27 of the same township. Aside from this he has a small tract of fifteen acres of timber land, from which he secures necessary fuel and such timber as is needed on the farm. Mr. Weber has proved himself to be a first-class farmer, and by diligence and economy has been enabled to erect good and substantial farm buildings on his place, as well as to stock it with an excellent grade of farm animals. Mr. Weber is a native of Germany where, in the Province of the Rhine, he was born Oct. 15, 1834. His father, Jacob, was a German farmer, who lived and died in the same Province. He married a German lady, Miss Louisa Stock, who also passed her entire life in said Province, her death occurring in 1874, at the venerable age of seventy-eight years. She had been a widow for seventeen years, her husband dying at the age of fifty-two. Daniel was the second of a family of four boys, and was reared at home, where he lived until he came to the United States in 1855. He immediately came westward and located in Ridott Township, which has since been his home. He, however, did not purchase his present farm until 1878. After coming into this community he worked diligently and faithfully at whatever he could find to do that was honorable, and on the 28th of February, 1861, took unto himself a wife in the person of Miss Martha A. Brown. This lady was born in Ridott Township Oct. 9, 1840. Her father, who was one of the earliest settlers in this section of the county, passed away here, and was laid to rest beneath the sod of his new home. Mrs. Weber was reared and educated here, which has in fact been the scene of her entire life. She is now the mother of two children: Alfred, who married Miss Nettie Follett, of Boone County, and Owen H., a promising young man who is assisting his father in the management of the homestead. Mr. and Mrs. Weber and family are highly respected members of the community and religiously are connected with the Evangelical Lutheran Church. Politically the elder Weber is a Democrat, while his sons are Republicans. A handsome lithographic view of Mr. Weber's residence is shown on another page. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 547]
ROSA M. WEBSTER - Read bio
Henry Weiland, deceased, presented the admirable illustration of a self-made man, who by his own efforts arose from a humble position in life, and became the reliable business man and thoroughly respected citizen who formed one of the valued factors of the community of Winslow, among whose people he moved for a period of over twenty years. Mr. Weiland was a descendant of excellent German ancestry, and was himself born in the Fatherland, April 22, 1822. He was orphaned by the death of both parents when but three years old, and was reared by an uncle. He attended school during his childhood and youth, and later engaged in farm pursuits in his native Province, until emigrating to the United States. Upon his arrival in New York City he had a cash capital of thirty-seven cents in his pocket, and naturally made it his first business to seek employment. This he soon found in a restaurant, where he remained a year, and then started for the West. He was located for a time at Freeport, Ill., and then proceeded into Jo Daviess County, being employed on a farm by the month until his marriage. Subsequently he operated on rented land in West Point Township, and in the meantime saved what he could of a limited income. His industry soon met with its reward, and in due time he was enabled to purchase the land which is now included in the desirable family homestead. Upon it at that time was a partially finished house, and most of the land was broken. Mr. Weiland completed the dwelling, erected a good barn, and planted fruit, shade and ornamental trees. Upon the homestead thus established he spent many tranquil years, and there departed this life Feb.16, 1884. He mingled but little in public affairs, but after becoming a naturalized citizen cast his vote with the Democratic party. Mrs. Weiland, the wife of our subject, was born in Union County, Pa., July 1, 1837, and was the daughter of John and Mena (Walter) Babb, who were among the earliest pioneers of Stephenson County, and of whom a sketch will be found elsewhere in this volume. Of the union of Mr. and Mrs. Weiland there were born four children, namely, Mary, Cora, Emma and Minnie. The mother is a member in good standing of the Lutheran Church, and she and her daughters live together on the homestead, surrounded by all the comforts of life, and enjoying the friendship of a large circle of acquaintances. The Weiland homestead is situated on rising ground which commands a fine view of the adjacent country, and invariably attracts the admiring attention of the passers-by. Since the death of her husband Mrs. W. has managed her farming and business affairs in a highly creditable manner, and has aimed in every particular to keep up the standing of the home established by her honored husband, and which will remain for years to come as the monument of this thrift and industry. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 679]
MARGARET (DIVELEY) WELTY
Mrs. Margaret D. Welty, widow of the late Charles E. Welty, of Waddams Township, is the daughter of one of the oldest pioneers of Stephenson County, and was born near Portsmouth, Ohio, Oct. 6, 1834. Her parents were Isaac and Elvira (Graves) Diveley. She was two years old when they removed from the Buckeye State to Illinois, and was reared on a farm, receiving her education in the district school. She possessed more than ordinary intelligence, and at an early age became qualified for a teacher, which calling she pursued for some years before her marriage. This event occurred Jan. 2, 1872. The main incidents in the history of her husband are as follows: Charles E. Welty, a native of Adams County, Pa., was born March 2, 1825, and was the son of Daniel Welty, also a native of the Keystone State. The latter spent most of his life upon a farm near Gettysburg, where was fought one of the great battles between the North and South during the late war, the land included in the farm having resounded with the tramp of soldiery and the roar of cannon. The wife of Daniel Welty was formerly Miss Catherine Slothower, also a native of Pennsylvania. She became the mother of thirteen children, who in common with her son Charles were reared on the farm and received a common-school education. Charles remained a resident of his native county until about twenty-five years of age, and in the spring of 1850, repaired northwestward into Wisconsin, where he located in La Fayette County, and lived for six years following. He had in the meantime secured possession of a tract of good land which he now sold and with the proceeds came to this county and purchased a farm in Waddams Township. He proceeded with the cultivation and improvement of this until the outbreak of the late Civil War, then, laying aside his personal interests enlisted as a Union soldier Sept. 5, 1861, becoming a member of Co. B. 7th Ill. Vol. Cav. He served until October, 1864, and when his term of enlistment had expired he received his honorable discharge and returned home. Mr. Welty soon afterward sold his farm and purchased the land now included in the family homestead, which is well improved and provided with good buildings. The house is a commodious brick structure and the barn a frame building of ample size, and convenient for the purposes to which it is devoted. Mr. Welty, after returning from the army continuously engaged in agricultural pursuits. In politics he uniformly upheld the principles of the Republican party, and was a member of the Lutheran Church. He died March 9, 1863. Mr. Welty was first married, in 1849, to Miss Amanda A. Steck, who was a native of Pennsylvania, and the daughter of Rev. Michael John Steck, a prominent minister of the Lutheran Church. This lady became the mother of eight children, and died at the home of her husband, Dec. 22, 1868. The offspring of this marriage are recorded as follows: John S. is a resident of Seward County, Neb.; Henry lives in Osborne County, Kan.; Lavina L., in Fayette County, Pa.; Daniel and Gilbert M., in Seward County, Neb.; Bessie died when nineteen years of age; Charles E. is farming in Nebraska, and Amanda H. lives on the old homestead with her step-mother. Of the second marriage, with Miss Margaret Dively, there were no children. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portraits & Biographical 1888 Stephenson Co IL Pg 217-18]
Louis Wernicke, the owner of a fine estate of 200 acres, in West Point Township, is one of the solid, self-made men of the community. He is a native of Prussia, where he was born Sept. 3, 1834. His father, John Wernicke, was born July 12, 1807, in Prussia, and was reared on a farm there. In 1857 he emigrated to America and settled in Stephenson County, where he remained a number of years. He is now eighty years of age and resides in Le Mars, Iowa. His wife's death occurred in Freeport in August, 1865. Their family consisted of three children: Louis, the subject of this biography; Henry, living in Le Mars, Iowa, and Minnie, the wife of Henry Kruger, also living in Le Mars. Louis attended school until he was fourteen years of age, and then applied himself diligently to learning the carpenter's trade. In 1844 he procured leave of absence from the country for one year, and in September sailed from Bremen for America. After a voyage of seven weeks he arrived at New York, and for two years drove a milk wagon in that city. In 1856 he came West and located near Freeport. The first year after his arrival he worked on the farm of C. H. Rosenstiel, and continued in that employment until 1864. Belonging to a nation of soldiers, he then resolved to engage in the defense of his adopted country, and enlisted in October, in Co. G, 42d Ill. Inf., and joined his regiment at Columbia, Tenn. He was engaged in the battles near Franklin and Nashville, and also took part in many skirmishes. He served until the close of the war, and was discharged in June, 1865. He then returned to Stephenson County and located in Kent Township, on a farm of fifty acres. He lived there until 1880, when having a good opportunity he disposed of his property there and purchased the place where he now resides. His farm contains 200 acres of valuable, well-improved land, with a pleasant residence and excellent farm buildings. In 1860 Mr. Wernicke married Miss Catherine Ridel, who was born Jan. 16, 1842, in Wurtemberg, Germany, and is the daughter of Christian Ridel, who settled in Loran Township in 1850. He gave three sons to the service of his adopted country. His son Leonard died in July, 1887, near Yankton, Dak.; Christian lives near Kansas City, Kan., and Jacob was killed in the Civil War. Mr. and Mrs. Wernicke have four children: John C., Emma R., William C. and Henry L., all at home. The family are members of the German Methodist Church. Mr. Wernicke always votes with the Republican party. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 751]
Benjamin Wieland, a well-known resident of Oneco Township is a native of Pennsylvania, having been born in Muffin County, that State, on the 10th of June, 1814. His father was Michael Wieland, born in Lancaster County and his grandfather was also a native of Pennsylvania. The latter was a stonemason, which occupation he followed during his life. He had five children, the father of Benjamin Wieland being the eldest. The great-grandfather came from Germany. Every member of the family lived past the allotted threescore years and ten. Michael Wieland grew to manhood with his parents, and learned the trade of a stonemason with his father, which business he plied until he earned money sufficient to buy a farm, after securing which he still continued to work at his trade, while his sons managed the farm. As he grew older he rented his farm to his youngest son, and bought a smaller one a short distance away, on which there were suitable buildings, and there spent his last days retired from active life. He died at the age of eighty-three. His wife was Miss Salome Becht. They had twelve children, as follows: Hannah, Lydia, Benjamin, Rebecea, Washington, Sarah, Lucy, William, Christiana, Daniel, Anna and Bethsheba. Benjamin Wieland remained at home until he was twenty-four years of age, at which time he engaged as apprentice to a shoemaker, and served one year and four months with Samuel Shannon in Potter Township, Centre Co., Pa. He followed this occupation for eight years in different places, and then began business for himself. His health becoming impaired he engaged in carpentering with his brother-in-law, Elias Bartol, until 1843, when the financial panic of that year caused all building operations to cease, and there was no more work for carpenters to do. Mr. Wieland then resumed shoemaking, which he continued one year, when he again declined in health. In order to get as much outdoor exercise as possible, he concluded to become a Yankee notion peddler, and in that capacity traversed that region for nearly two years, when he purchased a tract of land in Centre County and began farming. He remained on this farm for seven years, then disposed of it and moved to Oneco Township, Stephenson County, in the spring of 1856, buying eighty-five acres of land, where he has since lived. In 1842 Mr. Wieland was married to Miss Maria Walker, daughter of John Walker, of Easton, Northampton Co., Pa. They have had seven children: Frank, a boarding-house keeper in Dakota Territory; William, a farmer; Ellen, now Mrs. Hale, also of Dakota Territory, Mary, John, Sarah and Lucy. The last three are deceased. Mr. Wieland has held several local offices; he was a School Trustee for several years but resigned, having removed from the township. One of his ancestors was John Martin Wieland, the famous composer of church hymns and sacred music. He lived in Wurtemberg, Germany. [Transcribed by Christine Walters from History of Stephenson County Portraits and Biographical 1888]
HON. LEW P. WILMOT
Hon. Lew P. Wilmot resides about two miles east from Keller and is engaged in mining. He has been closely identified with the various leading mining excitements through the west since the days of Elk City's boom, and is well known as an adventurous and active man in these villages. Lew P. Wilmot was born in Freeport, Illinois, on January 30, 1839, being the son of B. R. and Virginia (Hawkins) Wilmot, natives of Kentucky and Virginia, respectively. The father was one of the first settlers in Freeport, being the first postmaster and the first county commissioner of the county. He moved to Wisconsin in 1841 and located in Platteville. There he followed his trade of cabinetmaker, when in company with two others, they built a schooner, intending to go down the Mississippi and then by water to California. Upon arriving in New Orleans, they found their craft was not fit for the rougher voyage and so abandoned the trip. They returned to Wisconsin and later Mr. Wilmot went to Kansas. In 1860 we find him at Pike's Peak, after which he returned to Missouri, and in 1865 he came on to Washington. From this state he went to Idaho, where he died in 1887. Our subject was raised on the frontier and had almost no opportunity to gain an education; still by his industry and careful habits of inquiry, he became well informed. He remained with his father until 1862, then attended the Elk City excitement, and mined there for a good many years. In 1885 he came to Washington, located on the Columbia and put in a ditch to convey water for mining purposes. The ditch was fourteen miles long and on one flume he used over eighty-two thousand feet of lumber. After this, Mr. Wilmot went to work for the government in Okanogan county and was thus engaged eight years. Then he moved to his present place just east of Keller and has given his attention to mining since. In political matters, he is a strong Republican and is one of the commissioners of Ferry county. In 1878 he represented his section of Idaho in the legislature and in 1882 held that responsible position the second time. He is one of the worthy pioneers of the northwest and stands well in this community. Source: "An Illustrated History of Stevens, Ferry, Okanogan, and Chelan Counties in the state of Washington;" Western Historical Publishing Company, 1904 - tr. By Sandra Stutzman]
BETSEY (STEPHENS) WINCHELL
Betsey Winchell, widow of the late Ira Winchell, of Oneco Township, came to Northern Illinois in the pioneer days and has been a witness of the remarkable progress and development of the Prairie State. She is a finely preserved old lady of eighty-six years and her genial disposition, good memory, and intelligent manner of discussing the things connected with her early life in this region, make her an interesting companion both for old and young. The main points in a life history of more than ordinary interest are mainly as follows: The birthplace of Mrs. Winchell was the town of Fairfield, Herkimer Co., N. Y., and the date thereof Sept. 9, 1801. Her father, Leander Stephens, of New York State, married Miss Susan, daughter of Samuel Palmer, who had been a resident of the Empire State his entire life and it is believed was born there. Their daughter Betsey remained under the parental roof until reaching womanhood, and was trained in all needful household duties, becoming familiar with the various employments of farm life. She was married at the home of her parents, March 20, 1821, to Ira Winchell, a native of Washington County, N. Y., and the tenth son of Justice Winchell, a native of Vermont, who served as a soldier in the Revolutionary War and possessed all the brave and heroic qualities of the men of that day. After the close of the struggle and the establishment of American independence, he retired to a tract of land in Wayne County, N. Y., where he followed farming the remainder of his life. He had married early and the young people continued residents there for eight years, the husband engaged in farming. Then, hearing much of the rapidly growing State of Illinois, they decided to trace their steps westward in the hope of bettering their condition. The trip was made by water to Chicago and from there by teams to their present home in Oneco Township. After arriving in this county, Mr. Winchell located two claims, and a part of this land is now included in their present homestead. There was a log cabin which they occupied two years, after which they removed to section 32, where Mrs. Winchell has since resided. Our subject and her husband entered this county on the 12th of June, 1840. The latter proceeded at once to the cultivation of the soil, the building of fences and the erection of suitable farm buildings. He was remarkably quiet and unostentatious in manner of living, and although keeping himself well posted upon matters of general interest, could never be induced to hold office or otherwise identify himself with public affairs. His chief ambition was to provide a comfortable home for his family, and he is remembered by his household as a husband and father uniformly kind and indulgent. Before coming to the West he had served two years at the carding and cloth-dressing business, upon which he entered when a youth of seventeen. After reaching his majority he carried on business for himself until his marriage. After this event he located in Cayuga County and rented a manufactory, where the wool was spun and cloth was woven and dressed, and he was employed three years as a cloth-dresser. Subsequently they removed to Enfield, Tompkins County, where Mr. Winchell erected buildings and established a business which he conducted successfully nine years, and thus accumulated the money which he so wisely invested later in Western lands. The homestead includes 240 acres under a high state of cultivation, and there are forty acres of timber northwest of Orangeville, also belonging to the estate. Since the death of her husband Mrs. Winchell has managed her property with rare good judgment and still looks after everything in connection therewith. The farm is cultivated by a lessee. Mr. and Mrs. Winchell became the parents of eight children, of whom the record is as follows: Susan, Mrs. West, is a resident of Brodhead City, Wis.; Clarissa, Mrs. Hartley, of Stephen, Kan.; Emma, Mrs. Walkey, of Slowey, Kan.; George is married and engaged in day labor at Orangeville; Hiram occupies himself at farming in Oneco; Samuel, Amos and Angeline are deceased. Mrs. Winchell and her children are all church-going people, and although she frequently attends various other churches, she is connected with the Baptists. The portrait of this excellent lady, which appears on another page, finely exhibits her features, which are indicative of the tranquil disposition that swells beneath. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 593]
HIRAM P. WINCHELL
Hiram P. Winchell, who has been a resident of Oneco Township for the last forty-seven years, occupies a comfortable home near the village limits, where, since 1873 he has been industriously cultivating the soil and bringing about such improvements as his needs suggested and his means justified. He first drew breath in Erie County, N. Y., March 15, 1839, and is the son of Ira and Betsey Winchell. He remained a member of the parental household until the outbreak of the late war, and then enlisted Sept. 10, 1861, in Co. A, 46th IL Vol. Inf., the parents in the meantime having become residents of this State, he went with his regiment to Camp Butler, where they remained for a time, and then proceeded to the scene of conflict. Our subject, with comrades was present in the battle at Ft. Donelson, the siege of Corinth, and afterward at the siege of Vicksburg, which consumed a period of some forty days. Following this was the fight at Jackson, Miss., and our subject afterward met the enemy in many of the important battles of the war, serving until the close, the last service being in the charge at Ft. Blakesly. The regiment was mustered out at Baton Rouge. La., whence they proceeded to Springfield, Ill., where they received their final discharge. Our subject after being transformed from a soldier to a civilian returned to the home of his parents in Oneco Township, and rented his father's farm for the following seven years, after which he purchased his property. This is about half timber and half valley land, and from its proximity to the village of Oneco is quite valuable. Mr. Winchell was married in 1868 at the home of the bride's parents in Clarno Township, Wis., to Miss Phoebe A., daughter of J, C. West, formerly of New York State, but then a resident of Clarno Township. Green Co., Wis. The early home of Mrs. Winchell was not far from that of her husband in Erie County, N. Y., where her birth took place Dec. 29, 1845. She was' consequently twenty-two years of age at the time of her marriage. Her father was a carpenter by trade, and her paternal grandfather, Mathew West, also a native of the Empire State, was there engaged in agricultural pursuits his entire life. They were of Scotch ancestry, and came to America in the early days, during the struggle of the Colonists for their liberty. Mrs. Winchell departed this life at her home in Oneco Township, Feb. 3, 1887, when forty-two years of age. The one daughter born of this marriage, Myrtle C. came to the household on Aug. 1, 1877, and continues with her father. Our subject, like his honored sire, is a stanch supporter of Republican principles. Contributed by Christine Walters Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill., 1888]
Henry Wingart, of Lena, became a resident of this county in 1852, when Rockford was the western terminus of the Northwestern Railroad. He had started out from West Buffalo Township, Union Co., Pa., accompanied by his wife and child, to seek a home in the Prairie State. The first part of the journey was made by team to Millerstown. Thence they went by rail to Rockford and from there by team to Jo Daviess County. This was his first introduction to the West. Hitherto his life had been passed in the place of his birth above mentioned, where he first opened his eyes Feb. 7, 1828. His father, George, and his grandfather, Leonard Wingart, were natives of Schuylkill County, Pa., the former born in 1794. During the Revolutionary War the latter formed one of the body guard of Gen. Washington. His father was a native of Germany, whence he emigrated to America and was among the earliest settlers of Schuylkill County, Pa., where he spent the last years of his life engaged in agricultural pursuits. There also he reared a family, and among his sons was the grandfather of our subject, who followed in the footsteps of his father, and carried on farming, spending his entire life in the county of his birth. He married a lady by the name of Yoe, also a native of Pennsylvania, and their descendants became widely scattered throughout that region and were universally respected on account of their sturdy and reliable traits of character. Under their manipulation a large portion of the land in Central Pennsylvania was brought to a state of cultivation, and they were most eminently of that character who left their "footprints on the sands of time." George Wingart, the father of our subject, grew to manhood in his native county, but in 1816 removed to Union County, Pa., and settled among the pioneers of West Buffalo Township at a time when they were battling with the soil and struggling to maintain themselves and their families against the difficulties besieging the early settlers. He was a weaver by trade, which occupation he followed for a number of years and invested his savings in eight acres of land, upon which he put up a good house and established a comfortable homestead. From this, however, he removed later, and spent his last years in Clarion County, where this death took place in 1844. The mother of our subject before her marriage was Miss Elizabeth Johns, who was born in Mifflinburg, Union Co., Pa. After the death of her husband she joined her son in the West and died at Lena, Dec. 3, 1882, aged over eighty-two years. By her marriage with George Wingart she became the mother of six children, of whom the record is as follows: Anna, Mrs. Bowersox, is living in Iowa; Elizabeth married George Bowersox, a brother of her sister's husband, and died in Pennsylvania in 1844; Catherine, the wife of Levi Stichter, lives with her husband on a farm in Kent Township; Henry was the fourth child; Julia A. became the wife of Charles Schlotman, a farmer of Kent Township; Sophia married William Keeler, of Richardson County, Neb. Henry Wingart was the only son of his parents, and commenced attending school when ten years of age. He pursued his studies for six winters thereafter, and assisted his father on the farm the balance of the year. He was fond of his books and when seventeen years old commenced teaching, following this occupation during the winter while being employed in summer at brick-making until reaching his majority. This important event was accompanied by another of fully as much moment, namely, his marriage, after which he established himself with his young wife in Lewisburg, where he was employed in a machine-shop and boatyard until 1851. In the spring of that year he returned to his native township, where he remained until November, 1852, and the latter part of his time busied himself in preparing for his departure for the West. On the 21st of November, everything being ready, he proceeded as we have already described. Upon coming to this State, Mr. Wingart rented first a house in Jo Daviess County, near the line of Stephenson, where he spent the winter with his family and engaged in day labor. In the spring of 1854 he became superintendent of a brickyard at Mr. Carroll, where he continued one year, and afterward engaged in carpentering until the spring of 1857. In the meantime he had purchased forty acres of unimproved prairie in Berreman Township, and upon this, in 1857, he put up a house and inaugurated other improvements. He occupied this for ten years, during which time he had added to his landed interests and brought the whole to a good state of cultivation. He then rented his land and moving with his family to Lena, engaged in a planning-mill and sash factory for six years following. At the expiration of this time he traded his farm for the building which he now occupies. In June, 1873, he formed a partnership with George Steckel, and they engaged in mercantile business until the death of his partner, which occurred in less than a year. Mr. Wingart carried on the business until 1876, when he sold out and enjoyed a vacation until 1881. In the spring of that year he established another store, to which he has since given his undivided attention. He carries a finely selected stock of merchandise, including nearly everything required in the household and upon the farm. By his straightforward business methods he has built up a good patronage. Besides his stock he owns a handsome residence, and with his family is surrounded by everything calculated to make life pleasant and desirable. The wife of our subject, to whom he was married on Christmas Day in 1849, was formerly Miss Elizabeth Hildebrand, a native of his own township in Pennsylvania, and one of the playmates of his childhood. She is the daughter of John and Catherine (Ments) Hildebrand, natives respectively of Union and Northumberland Counties, Pa., and of German and English ancestry. Our subject and his wife became the parents of six children: Mary C. died when three and one-half years old; Isabelle became the wife of M. F. Holladay, who is engaged in business in Lena; John H., a bright little boy, died at the age of two years and four months; George E. is associated with his father in business; Frank J., a painter, is a resident of Lena; Cora E., an interesting girl of fourteen years, is at home with her parents. Mr. and Mrs. Wingart belong to the English Lutheran Church, and two of their children, Isabelle and George, to the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Wingart in early life affiliated with the old-line Whigs, but upon the abandonment of the old party, cordially gave his support to Republican principles. He cast his first Presidential vote for Gen. Winfield Scott. He has held various offices of trust in this and Jo Daviess County, having served as Road Commissioner, Justice of the Peace and School Trustee, and for a period of six years represented Berreman Township in the County Board of Supervisors. After coming to Lena he was Justice of the Peace four terms, and in 1870 was elected Police Magistrate. He is now serving his fourth term as Notary Public. In 1872 Mr. Wingart embarked in the insurance business and represents some of the best companies in the United States, including the Springfield, of Springfield, Mass.; the Niagara, of New York; the Phoenix, of Brooklyn, and the North American, of Philadelphia. In the West he is agent of the National, of Milwaukee; the German, of Peoria, and the German, of Freeport. His official course has been characterized by rare discretion and coolness of judgment, and in the various offices to which he has been called his duties have been discharged with conscientious fidelity. Commencing in life with nothing but his natural business talents and sound common sense, he has gained a good position among his fellowmen, standing well morally and financially, and is looked upon as a representative man of a highly intelligent community. We take pleasure in presenting in this connection a lithographic portrait of Mr. Wingart; which will be appreciated by all who know of him Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 666]
ELAM B. WINGER
Elam B. Winger, the "windmill man," is one of that class of men to whom the country is indebted for the upbuilding of her cities. It is an established fact in this country, that no town or city can reach large dimensions unless it is the seat of manufacturing interests, and any man, or set of men, who invest their money in manufacturing enterprises in a town, city, or even a village, but be looked upon as benefactors. As manufacturing increases, so does population. As population increases, so does the volume of all kinds of business. The man who establishes a factory that will employ 100 heads of families, creates a demand for that number of additional houses to accommodate them, which means the sale of a corresponding number of lots, and the employment of the different mechanics required in the construction of these houses. When they are completed, their value goes upon the tax duplicates of the city and county, and the wealth of both is added to that much. Manufacturers not only help towns, but they make towns, and in the making of Freeport such manufacturers as E. B. Winger have been no small factor. Elam B. Winger was born in Lancaster County, Pa., near the city of Lancaster, on the 24th of September, 1837. His parents were Joseph and Elizabeth (Buckwalter) Winger, who settled in Franklin County, Pa., when he was a child two years of age. The mother died in Franklin County in 1879; the father is still living in that county. During Elam B.'s youth, he assisted his father upon the farm in summer, and attended the common schools in winter. He made the best of his opportunities, and when he had attained to manhood, he was better equipped in the matter of knowledge of mathematics and other branches of knowledge which would be useful in after life, than most young men whose graduation was from the common schools. Soon after attaining his majority, he opened a store in Greencastle, Franklin Co., Pa., a business which he conducted successfully there and in Clay Lick and Quincy for fourteen years, at the end of which time he concluded to try his fortunes in the West. In 1877 he came to Freeport, where he at once entered upon the manufacture of the Stover Windmill, which he continued until 1882, when the present company was organized and incorporated, as the Freeport Machine Company. During these years his efforts have been attended with good success. Mr. Winger was married, April 18, 1861, to Elizabeth B. Stover, a sister of D. C. Stover, of this city, the well-known inventor, who was born in Greencastle, Pa. They have had four children: Oswald E., who is an inventive genius, and who has already produced some valuable inventions, took a thorough course in the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, of New York, and was graduated in the class of 1886; the others are, Frank S., Harry E. and Clarence A. The family of Mr. Winger lives in a brick residence at the west end of Stephenson street. It is surrounded with extensive lawns, driveways and walks, which are shaded by native and ornamental trees. Every surrounding of the place indicates general comfort as well as elegance. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 679]
DAVID EMERY WIRE
David Emery Wire, Assessor of Winslow Township, and a gentleman in the prime of life, came from his native State to Illinois with his parents when a child of seven years. His early home was in Taylor Township, Courtland Co., N. Y., where he was born Aug. 23, 1848. His father, David Wire, was a native of the same town. His grandfather, Ward Wire, and his great-grandfather, David Wire, were born in Litchfield County, Conn. His great-great-grandfather, Thomas Wire, a native of England, was kidnapped when a boy seven years of age, while living in the city of London, and on his way to school. He was put on board a vessel and brought to America, and bound out until twenty-one years old. He served as a soldier in the Revolutionary War, and was personally acquainted with Gen. Washington, and was one of the twelve men chosen as the General's bodyguard at Valley Forge. He also served in the French and Indian Wars, making a total of fifteen years in the army. David Wire, Sr., upon reaching manhood located in Cortland County, N. Y., during its early settlement, and there spent the last years of his life. He was a very large man, being six feet and six inches in height with well developed muscles, and was a man whom his enemies disliked to attack. His son, Ward, the grandfather of our subject, followed farming and spent the last years of his life in the town of Taylor. Among his children was David, the father of our subject, who grew to manhood in Cortland County, N. Y., where he was married and lived until 1855, when he came to this county and purchased a tract of uncultivated prairie in Winslow Township. Upon this he opened up a good farm, of which he continued in possession until 1870, when he rented it out and removed beyond the Mississippi, settling in the village of Jesup, Buchanan Co., Iowa, where he has since lived. The mother of our subject was in her girlhood Miss Catherine Pomeroy, a native of New York. Of her union with David Wire there were born seven children, recorded as follows: Rosalia, the eldest daughter, became the wife of L. B. Hakes, and is now deceased; Terressa, the wife of William H. Wickwire, is a resident of Winslow, living near her sister, Amanda, who is the wife of W. L. De Bell; David E. of our sketch was the fourth child; John E. is a resident of Kensley, Edwards Co., Kans., Frank A. lives in Sioux City, Iowa; Ross B. Wire also lives in Sioux City. Our subject attended school during his childhood and as soon as old enough began to assist his parents around the homestead. He remained under the home roof until seventeen years old, after which he worked out by the month for eight years. He began business for himself by farming on rented land and by this means accumulated enough to purchase the old homestead which he occupied until 1887. Then, selling out he came to Winslow and began dealing in provisions, building up a successful and profitable trade. He has signalized himself as a straightforward business man and has all his life voted the Democratic ticket. He has been School Director in this township, and socially belongs to Winslow Lodge No. 144, I. O. M. A. Mr. Wire was married in Winslow Township in August, 1870, to Miss Emeline A., daughter of Jonathan and Lodeskey (Kennedy) Lincoln, and born in Winslow March 15, 1855. Her parents came to this county during its early settlement, and a further account of them will be found in the sketch of Mrs. L. Crandall, published elsewhere in this Album. Mr. and Mrs. Wire became the parents of six children, namely, Edith A., Katie L., Bernice J., Jessie R., Ivah J. and David E. The wife and mother departed this life Feb. 16, 1887. [Contributed by Carole Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. 1888]
Ithamar Wire, deceased, was born in Cortland County, N. Y., Dec. 30, 1827, and was the son of Augustus Wire, a native of Connecticut. His grandfather, born in England, was kidnapped when a boy and brought to America, where he was soon thrown upon his own resources and obliged to look out for himself. His wise parents, however, began his training early, and he early became possessed of great self-reliance and independence of character, so that he was well fitted for the vicissitudes of his later life. His natural habits of industry set him on the road to prosperity in his youth, and he became a man of property and greatly respected in his community. He spent his early years in Connecticut, then removed to New York and settled in Cortland County, where his death took place at an advanced age. His family included eight sons and four daughters, of whom David, the father of our subject, grew to manhood under the parental roof, and after his marriage settled on a farm adjoining that of his father in Cortland County, where he spent his entire life. His wife was, before her marriage, Miss Louisa Neal, also a native of Connecticut. She survived her husband a few years, and departed this life at the home of her daughter in Cortland County. Ithamar Wire received excellent training from his parents, and was educated in the district schools of his native township. All the children were made useful as soon as old enough, and he, in common with the rest of their family, assisted his parents around the homestead, and early in life began to lay his plans for the future. After reaching his majority he started out for himself, working by the month for a time in his native State, and in 1850 decided to see something of the farther West. He made the journey to Chicago by the Lakes, and thence proceeded on foot and by stage to this county. He was still unmarried and, accompanied by his cousin, before locating, visited Southern Wisconsin and different parts of Northern Illinois. He finally selected the place now occupied by his widow, entering a part of the land from the Government, and for which he afterward paid $2.50 per acre. He at once commenced the improvement of his purchase, and kept bachelor's hall in a log cabin until the spring of 1858. He was then married, on the 12th of May, to Miss Maressie Butler, and the two commenced life happily and contentedly together after the manner of the pioneers. Mr. Wire had put up a small farm house for the reception of his bride, which they occupied for eleven years following, and where five of their children were born. Then the small house was abandoned for a larger and more pretentious one which was supplied with more modern conveniences and gave to the growing family a larger amount of room. Afterward Mr. Wire put up a substantial barn and other out-buildings, planted fruit and shade trees, and embellished his home by other methods as time and opportunity offered. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Wire consisted of three daughters - Addie, May and Jennie. Addie married Garver Lutz, who is farming in West Point Township; the others are at home with their mother. The latter, with her younger daughter, is a consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and a lady greatly respected for her upright character and kindness of heart. In the absence of sons of her own, Mrs. Wire, in 1871, adopted a motherless boy, Clinton B., when he was one year old, and who has since been a member of the household, receiving equal care and attention with that of her own children. He is now a lad of seventeen years, and assists in the management of the farm. The homestead includes 140 acres of well-cultivated land, and forms a most comfortable abiding-place for Mrs. Wire and her little family. The father of Mrs. Wire, James Butler by name, was born in County Waterford, Ireland, where he grew to manhood and was married to Miss Margaret Whaling, a native of the same locality. They emigrated to America soon after their marriage, and located in the town of Berne, Albany Co., N. Y., where their daughter Marinda was born, and where they continued to live until their earthly labors were ended. Mrs. Wire was well educated, and commenced teaching when fifteen years of age, in her native State, where she continued until 1857. She then joined her brother in this county and followed her profession until her marriage. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 608]
John Wirth is of German descent, and is endowed with all the perseverance of the people of that nationality. As a farmer he is persistent in compelling his acres to yield the largest per cent of product possible, and has earned the reputation of being one of the most successful farmers of Dakota Township and Stephenson County. He is the owner of 200 acres of highly cultivated land. In addition to this he owns ten acres of timber land in Buckeye Township, all of which he has acquired through his own efforts. His home is located on the 200-acre tract which lies on section 34, Dakota Township. When he first came to Dakota Township in 1854 he purchased eighty acres of land. With the exception of one year's residence in Lancaster Township he has been a constant resident of this township. Throughout this section of Stephenson County he is looked upon as a skillful farmer, and the improvements which he has made are emulated by his neighbors. Mr. Wirth was born on the 5th of September, 1826, in Wurtemberg, Germany, where his father, Adam Wirth, was also born and reared. The latter was the son of a German farmer, who was above the average in intellectuality, and was for many years an office-holder under the Government. He lived and died in Wurtemberg. Adam, the father of our subject, was one of ten children, nine of whom were boys. He married a lady by the name of Elizabeth Finkbeiner, and they reared a family of ten children, of whom John Wirth was the fourth child, and was eleven years of age when his mother died. He is the only survivor of the family of ten by this marriage. He father remarried after the death of his first wife, the lady being a Miss Brown. Of this marriage six children were born, making Adam Wirth the father of sixteen children in all. The father and step-mother both died in Fredstadt, Wurtemberg; the former was about eighty-four years of age when he died. He was a man noted for his industry and perseverance in whatever he undertook. In 1852 the son of whom we write came to this country with his uncle, John Wirth, now a well-to-do man of the Colony of Economy of Beaver County, Pa. After living two years in Buffalo, N. Y., he came to this county. While in Buffalo, on the 20th of February, 1853, he was married to Miss Catherine Haist, who was born in Buffalo Jan. 29, 1833. Her father, George Haist, also came from Wurtemberg, Germany, where he had married a Miss Burkhart, and soon after came to this country. He was a farmer and both he and his wife died in Erie County, N. Y. Three of the children are yet living, of whom Mrs. Wirth is one. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Wirth number eight, one of whom is deceased. John J. married Maggie Rutter, and they live on one of the finest farms of Dakota Township; Mary is the wife of Darius Elston, a successful farmer; George married Flora Corman, and they reside in Rock Run Township; Louisa married Otto Seyfried, who with Henry T., Anna and Kate reside at the home of Mr. Wirth. Mr. and Mrs. Wirth are members of the Lutheran Church, of which Mr. Wirth has been a Deacon for many years. In politics he is a Democrat, and has been chosen by that party to several township offices. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portraits & Biographical 1888 Stephenson Co IL Pg 252]
Hon. Alfred H. Wise, is a prominent farmer and stock-dealer living on Cedar Springs Farm, Harlem Township. His life is but another instance of what may be made from small beginnings. His parents were William and Hannah (Speese) Wise, who were of old German stock of Pennsylvania. They came from Lycoming County, Pennsylvania., in 1848, to Stephenson County, and settled in Florence Township, afterward removing to Freeport, where the father died in 1878; the mother's death took place eight years later, November 16, 1886, in Harlem Township, when she had attained seventy-seven years of age. She left a record of many Christian virtues and was held in high esteem by the community at large. She was a worthy member of the Baptist Church in Freeport, of which her husband was a Deacon. Her death was quite sudden, and she expired at the house of her son, Alfred H. Wise. Of their children, Elizabeth A., Sarah J., Mary, Emma B. and Katie are deceased; J. J. is President of the Clark & Wise Axle Grease Company of Chicago. E. E. Wise, another son, is President of the Chicago Cottage Organ Company.
Alfred H. Wise, the subject of this sketch, was born in Lycoming County, Pennsylvania., October. 22, 1830, and came to Stephenson County with his parents in 1848, when eighteen years of age. He had attended excellent common schools before leaving Pennsylvania, and continued to do so in Stephenson County until he was about nineteen years old. At twenty he started in business for himself, establishing a hack-line between Freeport, Elgin, Galena and Dubuque, which he operated several years and was very successful in making considerable money, which he faithfully turned over to his parents. During the latter part of the time, he associated himself with the Hon. David H. Sunderland, subsequently State Senator, when they ran a daily line from Freeport to Rockford. They ultimately sold out, and Mr. Wise went East for a visit. His life had up to this time been a ceaseless round of work, and he thought it was time to take a rest. On his return to Freeport he was employed in the grain warehouse of C. J. Marsh & Co., as a grain buyer. This house soon afterward was changed to Greenwood, Griffin & Co., and Mr. Wise remained with this firm as clerk and grain buyer until he formed a partnership with Mr. H. H. Taylor, under the firm name of Taylor & Wise. Up to this time he had given all the money he had made to his parents; now he thought he would put his earnings to business use. Taylor & Wise engaged in the grain and agricultural implement business, and continued together for about two years. When they dissolved Mr. Wise carried on the same business on his own account until 1873. He was very successful until his health compelled him to close his business. He had worked so hard that a complete cessation of business was deemed imperative, and accordingly he went to California, spending one winter with his family, then returned to Freeport and purchased the farm where he now lives, known as Cedar Springs Farm. As showing the estimation in which he was held by the community, he was elected President of the Second National Bank of Freeport, Aug. 22, 1882, to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Hon. John H. Adams. Mr. Wise had attracted the attention of the moneyed men of Freeport earlier in his career, and they had watched his upward progress with admiration. Before his election to the Presidency he was known to the bank as a shrewd financier, and the stockholders felt that they had an acquisition in putting Mr. Wise at the head of the bank. He was and is regarded as a man of the strictest integrity. He is at the present one of the Directors of the Second National Bank, having resigned as President on account of ill-health and at the urgent advice of his physicians. Mr. and Mrs. Wise are prominent members of the Baptist Church. In 1870 Mr. Wise paid the entire debt of the First Baptist Church of Freeport, amounting to $1,700, and has contributed largely toward that church for thirty years. He has also assisted liberally in building other churches in Freeport and vicinity. He has been engaged in various business enterprises in which he has met with uniform success. It seemed that an enterprise simply wanted his countenance directed toward it for it to succeed. His farm is one of the handsomest in Stephenson County, being fully equipped with modern buildings and implements, and presents a beautiful pastoral scene. Mr. Wise was married in Freeport, Nov. 24, 1854, to Miss Caroline Schofield, daughter of Rev. James and Caroline (McAllister) Schofield, who were natives of New York State and came to Stephenson County about 1844, where Rev. James Schofield organized the First Baptist Church of Freeport. He was pastor there for six years, when feeling it necessary to labor in the Master's vineyard without a settled charge, he resigned and engaged in home missionary work in Iowa. He has finally been compelled to give up his labors, being an almost helpless invalid at the residence of his daughter and son-in-law in Chicago. His wife died in Freeport May 9, 1852. Mrs. Wise was born in Chautauqua County, N. Y., Aug. 15, 1829. She is a sister of that gallant soldier, Maj. Gen. John M. Schofield. Mr. and Mrs. Wise have become the parents of seven children, two of whom are dead. The living are Burton W., Hannah C., James J., John M. and Henry A.; those deceased are Willie S. and Alfred S., who died in infancy. Burton W. married Miss Alice Shaffer, and resides in Freeport; Hannah is the wife of Henry G. Andress, and lives in Chicago; James married Miss Eliza Gaston, and resides in Beliot, Wis.; John N., named after his illustrious uncle, Gen. Schofield, resides at home with his father; Henry Alfred is with G. M. Gross & Co., manufacturers of cloaks, at Chicago, and already an ardent Republican. Mr. Wise is engaged in farming and stock-raising, callings which he finds health-giving, quiet, and every way congenial to his tastes. He and his wife are held in the highest esteem in the community in which they live. He has taken an active and prominent part in all social and business affairs of the county, and no man stands higher in the estimation of his fellow-citizens. He is the founder and proprietor of the famous Cedar Springs herd of Short-horn cattle, which has an enviable reputation both at home and abroad. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portraits & Biographical 1888 Stephenson Co IL Pg 221-22]
REUBEN JACKSON WISE
Reuben Jackson Wise was born August 31, 1829 in Williams Township, Northampton County, Pennsylvania, the son of Solomon and Anna Marie (Kotz) Weiss. He and Susanna Mathilda [MATILDA ] FINK married 15 Dec 1853 in Stephenson Co. IL. She was born July 7, 1834 in Allentown, Lehigh County, Pennsylvania. She was the daughter of Joshua and Elizabeth (Kaufman) Fink. Reuben and Mary had three sons and two daughters all born in Howard Township, Winnebago County, Illinois. Uriah Francis Weiss, born February 25, 1856; died August 21, 1931; married Theodosia Ernest Scott on June 4, 1893 in Elgin, Union Co. OR. Zeno N. Wise, born May 15, 1858; died February 23, 1940; first married Olivia Ream before 1887 and then Lillian Bean on December 18, 1895 in Chicago, Cook Co, IL. Mary Elizabeth Wise, born July 9, 1860; died January 10, 1949; married Joseph Carney on August 4, 1879 in Rockford, Winnebago Co. IL. Sophia Matilda Wise, born June 26, 1862; died January 14, 1923; married Theodore Zies on January 1, 1885 in Lee Co IL A. Franklin Wise, born September 29, 1864; died May 15, 1866. The wife and mother Matilda Wise died September 26, 1865 in Davis, Stephenson County, Illinois at 31. She is buried in Davis, Stephenson County, Illinois. On July 15, 1866 in Stephenson Co. IL, Reuben Wise married Josephine (Becker) Epley, the daughter of Jacob and Anna Becker. Their children were born in Winnebago, Illinois except as noted. Ida N. Wise, born April 28, 1867; died December 16, 1868 (places unknown). Frank Wise, born October 11, 1868; died 1968. Emma Wise, born October 10, 1869; died 1954. Linnie Wise, born November 15, 1872; died August 27, 1889. Nettie Wise, born January 27, 1880; married Charles Beck. Josephine died October 1911. Reuben died July 11, 1913 in Davis, Stephenson County, Illinois, shortly before his 84th birthday. He is buried in Davis, Stephenson County, Illinois. She is buried in Bethlehem Cemetery, Rock Grove Twp. Stephenson Co IL with her first husband John Jacob Epley. [Contributed by Karen Holt ]
Reuben Weise - Farmer; Sect. 30; P. O. Davis; born in Northampton Co., Pa, Aug 31, 1831; (Obituary and cemetery say 31 August 1829) came to this Co. with parents in 1853; located and lived 12 years on sec. 29; bought his present farm in 1865; married in 1853, Miss Matilda Fink, of Stevenson Co., she died Sept 26, 1865; July 5, 1866, married Mrs. Josephine, relict of I. P. Epley, and daughter of Jacob and Anna M. Becker, of Stevenson Co.; issue of first marriage, five children; four are living: Urius F, born Feb 25, 1856; Zeno, May 15, 1858; Mary E. July 9, 1860; Sophia, June 26, 1862; and Franklin, Sept 29, 1864 (decd); of present marriage: Ida N (decd); Frank, born Oct 11, 1868; Emma A., Oct 10, 1869; and Lena L., Nov 15, 1870; his mother, Mary, is in her 87th year, and lives with him; she is a devoted member of Evangelical Church; his father, Solomon, died Nov 3, 1865; owns 250 acres, valued at $15,000; Republican; Evangelical; was several years Path Master; is School Director. [Contributed by Karen Holt from Winnebago Co History, Illinois, Published Nov 1877, p. 617]
Thomas Wishart was born 1839 in Red River Settlement, Manitoba, Canada to a Scotsman, Thomas Wishart and a Metis woman, Barbara or Barbary Spence. Shortly after his birth, the family moved to Clayton County, Iowa, where the father, Thomas died in 1840 at Turkey Junction. This is recorded with the probate records for his estate. After Thomas' death, the widow went to live and work in the household of Edmund B. Lyons, the probate judge, and the children went to live in the Pearson household, as recorded in the 1850 census. Thomas Wishart was living in the household of Thomas Wilson in 1860. The 1860 Silver Creek, Stephenson County, Illinois, Roll: M 653_230, census enumerated on June 21, 1860 by J. A. Bigalow on lines 36-40 and on the next page on lines 1-11 in household # 446 lists: Thomas Wilson, 54, male, Farmer, Value of Real Estate - $7,000, Value of Personal Estate - $1,100, born in Pennsylvania; Atty A., 45, female, born in Pennsylvania; Mary, age 16, female, born in Illinois, attended school within the year; Isadore, age 13, female, born in Illinois, attended school within the year; Lucy, age 11, female, born in Illinois, attended school within the year; Victora Wilson, age 8, female, born in Illinois, attended school within the year; Lydia, age 3, female, born in Illinois; William Rinn, age 3, male, born in Illinois, attended school within the year; Thos. Washart, age 24, male, born in Iowa, attended school within the year; Adam Wilson, age 86, male, Farmer, born in England; Lucy, age 88, female, born in England; Mary A., age 52, female, born in Pennsylvania; Jane, age 44, female, born in Pennsylvania; Maria May, age 23, female, com. s. teacher, born in Vermont; Urias Eaton, age 28, male, born in New York; John Storer, age 26, male, Value of Real Estate - $800, born in Wisconsin. On April 19, 1861, at Freeport, Illinois, Thomas enlisted in the 11 Illinois Infantry Regiment, Company A when it was first formed and served until it was disbanded on July 30, 1861. Then on August 15, 1861, at Freeport, Illinois, Thomas enlisted in the 26 Infantry Regiment, Company B when it was first formed and served until his death on November 21, 1863. This is recorded in "The History of Stephenson County, Illinois", as well as in the complete military record of Thomas. The company muster roll shows he had been sent sick to Gayosa Hospital at Memphis, Tennessee on September 30, 1863. Interestingly, on the company muster roll dated February 29, 1864, it makes note of his death and accounts settled on final statement, but in another handwriting at the bottom, it states, "Name not borne on Co. muster out roll of Regt."
This is the transcription of his discharge: I certify, on honor, that Thomas Wishhart a Private of Captain James P. Davis Company (B) of the 26th Regiment of Infantry Volunteers, of the State of Illinois, born in Clayton County, State of Iowa, aged 24 years; 5 feet 7 inches high; Dark complexion, Black eyes, Black hair, and by occupation a Farmer, having joined the company on its original organization at Freeport, Ill., and enrolled in it at the muster into the service of the United States at Camp Butler, Ill., on the 28th day of August, 1861 for the term of three years and having served Honestly and Faithfully with his Company in 26th Ill. Infantry to the present date, is now deceased. Said Thomas Wishhart died of disease at the Gayosa Hospital, Memphis, Tenn., Nov. 21st, 1863.
The said Thomas Wishhart was last paid by Paymaster Major Greenawalt to include the 30th day of June, 1863, and has pay due him from that time to the present date; he is entitled to pay and subsistence for traveling to place of enrollment and whatever other allowances are authorized to volunteer soldiers, or militia, so discharged. He has received 68 28/100 dollars, advanced by the United States on account of clothing.
His clothing account was last settled Aug. 31st, 1862.
Given in Duplicate, at Freeport, Ill., this 25th day of Jan., 1864. James P. Davis Captain Commanding Company.
(I've been unable to locate the gravesite of Thomas, but I've been told he is probably one of the unknown soldiers buried in the National Cemetery at Memphis, Tennessee) Contributed by Mary Campbell Ballard
Henry Wohlford, who is numbered among the pioneers of this county, has been a resident of Waddams Township since 1843, his homestead occupying a good location on section 4. The land which he now owns and occupies, was entered by him from the Government and was without improvements, with the exception of a small log cabin, of which he took possession, and lived with his family until he could provide them with a more commodious dwelling. He is fully acquainted with all the vicissitudes of life in a new country, and in common with his brother pioneers, labored and waited the slow, but sure development of Northern Illinois, and has lived to see his labors rewarded, and the once uncultivated prairie transformed into beautiful and valuable homesteads. He has been no unimportant factor in the bringing about of this satisfactory state of affairs, and can look back upon a well-spent life with the satisfaction which brings its own reward. Mr. Wohlford is a native of Center County, Pa., and was born Dec. 9, 1811. His father, Philip Wohlford, a native of York County, removed to Center County after his marriage, and purchased a tract of timber land, where he cleared a farm, and there passed the balance of his life. His remains were buried in the cemetery at Rabersburg. Young Henry assisted his father on the farm until a youth of eighteen years, then learned the trade of a tanner, at which he served three years, and afterward worked as a journeyman fifteen months. Subsequently he established a tannery in Clinton County, where he operated until 1843, then selling out, turned his steps westward to Illinois. The journey was made via the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers to Galena, where he hired a team, and was thus, with his wife and four children, conveyed to Waddams Township, in this county. He first rented a farm east of Cedar Mills, and the year following purchased the land included in his present homestead, and of which he has since retained possession, covering a period now of over forty years. It is hardly necessary to say that the labors of the first few years were continuous, and sometimes with doubtful results, but he per-severed through rain and shine, with the same courageous and persistent spirit, and the result now lies around him in cultivated fields and two sets of ample and substantial farm buildings. Mr. Wohlford has always been the encourager of whatever tended toward the religious and moral education of the people around him, and St. James' Church is located on his farm. The first crops which Mr. Wohlford raised on his land were conveyed laboriously by ox and horse teams to Chicago, the trip consuming eleven days, and the receipts not being sufficient to pay expenses. The next season he transported his produce to Galena, concluding not to patronize the future great city thereafter. Deer were plenty, as well as other kinds of wild game, and the family were never without the luxury of sweet, fresh meat. The advance of civilization, however, long ago drove the deer and the partridge from their hiding places, and so scarce have they become that their flesh is now considered a rare dainty. The lady who has been the close companion and wise counselor of our subject for a period of over fifty years, was formerly Miss Catherine Wameldorff, and she became his wife Nov. 18, 1836. She is a native of Miles Township, Center Co., Pa., and was born Dec. 15, 1815. Her parents, Frederick and Barbara Wameldorff, were natives of Pennsylvannia. Mr. Wohlford and wife have had a family of ten children, who are recorded as follows: Elizabeth, the wife of Peter Roberts, is a resident of Clark County, Wis.; Joseph lives in Frontier County, Neb.; Amelia is the wife of Jacob Wauter, a resident of Iowa; Malinda, the wife of William Magle, resides on a farm in Franklin County, Neb.; Frank is farming in Redwood County, Minn.; Fayette married Miss J. Whittemore, and is farming in Waddams Township, this county; Charles lives in Oneco Township; Jane is the wife of Isaac Bechtold, of Harlem Township; Mary, Mrs. Ira Shippee, lives on a farm with her husband in Waddams Township; Wells, the youngest son, died in December, 1883, aged twenty-seven years. Mr. Wohlford, upon first exercising the right of suffrage, was identified with the old Whig party, but upon its abandonment, cordially endorsed the principles of the Republicans, and is to-day one of their stanchest supporters. He and his estimable lady are members in good standing of the United Brethren Church, and enjoy the respect of all who know them. [Contributed by Carol Parrish - Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888), p. 255]
ABRAHAM WOLF, PETER WOLF SR. AND PETER WOLF JR.
Abraham Wolf, who throughout life followed the occupation of farming, was married in Cumberland county, Penn., to a Miss Shauffner, and to them were born seven children - three sons and four daughters - namely: (1) Catharine, who married (first) John Hennigh, and (second) Phillip Grove. There was one daughter by her second marriage, who when about seventeen years of age, along with two other children, during the absence of their parents in Penn's Valley, at a camp meeting, was burned to death, their house it is supposed being set on fire by some men who were fishing at night by the aid of light from pine knots. Mrs. Grove, some years after her husband's death, went to live with her son, Jacob Hennigh, in Illinois, and there died. (2) Peter was the father of our subject. (3) Peggy married John Decker, and died in Potter township. (4) Jacob's death occurred in Illinois. (5) Polly K. married James McBride, and died in Venango county, Penn. (6) John, who was twice married, died in Kansas. His first wife was Mary Wagner, a cousin of our subject (daughter of his mother's sister); she died when her first child, a daughter, was born, and both were buried in one coffin. They resided at Sprucetown, Penn., and the interment was made in Egghill cemetery, the second grave made there. (7) Elizabeth married Samuel Friese, and resides in Wisconsin. The parents of this family passed away in Centre county, and lie buried in what is now known as Tusseyville cemetery (then the Loop cemetery), Potter township. Peter Wolf Peter Wolf, the father, was a weaver by trade, which occupation he followed through the winter season, while in the summer he engaged in farming. He married Sally Ream, of Penn township, Centre county, after which he located upon the old home farm of his father (at that time deceased), taking the farm at the appraisement. Here his wife died in 1831, and her remains were interred in Tusseyville cemetery. To this marriage there were born five children: Mary, who married Samuel Harter, and died in Iowa; Margaret, the wife of George Newcomer, of Iowa; John, the subject of this sketch; George a prominent citizen of Freeport, Ill., who served for one term as judge in Stephenson county, and died in September, 1896; and Peter, a resident of Dakota, Ill. After the death of his first wife, the father married Catharine Karr, of Union county, Penn., who also died on the old homestead, and lies buried at Egghill. Two children were born to this union: Leah, who died when young; and Catharine (now Mrs. Thomas Toot), of Bellefonte, Penn. After the death of his second wife, the father broke up housekeeping, and died at the home of his son, Peter, near Dakota, Ill., at the age of eighty-six years. He was a tall, robust man, and was successful in his farming operations, succeeding in accumulating a comfortable competence. In early life he was a Lutheran, but later joined the Albright Church; in politics he regularly supported the Democratic party. [Contributed by Mallory Smith from a bio of Peter Wolf Jr.'s brother John Wolf.]
Peter Wolf, Jr.
Peter Wolf Jr., of Rock Run Twp. is a man of honest and respectable antecedents, and bears the virtues of his ancestors in a marked degree. His grandfather was Abraham Wolf. He was a farmer by occupation, an demigrated from Germany to this country, locating in Center County, Pa., where his death took place. The father of our subject was Peter Wolf Sr. He was a native of Center County, PA and was also a farmer, but in early life learned the trade of a weaver, which he followed, however, only a short time. He was the eldest son of a large family and married Sally Ream, also a native of Center County. She came of genuine Pennsylvania Dutch stock, and was the m other of five children, one of whom is deceased. Our subject is the youngest of the four children living. John is a farmer, and resides on part of the old homestead in Center County PA; Mary married S.N. Harter, Esq., and is now deceased; Margaret married George Newcomber; she is a widow and lives with her children, George resides in Freeport; our subject is the remaining member of the family. The father was married the second time to Catherine Kerr, who dying in 1866, left two children - Leah and Catherine C. After the death of the second wife, Peter Wolf Sr., came West and lived with his children in Iowa and this State, until his death, which took place at the ripe old age of eighty-six years and four months. This was in February 1884. He was a good man, respected by all who knew him. Our subject was only two years old when his mother died. He was born April 10, 1830, was educated in the common schools and lived at home with his father until he was thirteen years old. He then started to learn the trade of a cabinet-maker with his brother-in-law, S.N. Harter of Center County. He was with Mr. Harter two years afterward working at mill-wrighting for a time. He then followed his trade, and later carpentering. Peter Wolf, Jr. was married in Center County, PA in 1848, to Miss Elizabeth Rowray, who was also a native of Center County, having been born there April 14, 1829. She was the daughter of John Rowray, who came West in 1854, and died in this township in 1865. After the death of her husband Mrs. Rowray made her home with her daughter, Mrs. Wolf, and died here in 1867. Mr. Rowray was a tinsmith by trade. Mrs. Wolf has become the mother of twelve children, two of whom are deceased; George W. married Miss Mary Mallery, and resides on a farm in this township; John P. lives in Dakota Village, this county; James F. is a farmer now living in Iowa; Katie C. is the wife of H.B. Tate, a farmer now living in Lancaster Township, this county; Elizabeth is the wife of Thomas Nible, who is engaged in farming in Ridott Township, this county; Ellen is the wife of F.S. Nestelrode, and lives in Clay County, Neb., on a farm; Frank F., Sadie, Edwin and Orrin reside at home; Mary and Charles died in infancy. On April 1, 1855, Mr. Wolf, wife and three children, first came to Illinois, locating for a time in Freeport, and then came to this township. He finally purchased land, and later went to Dakota, Dakota Twp. In the spring of 1858 he located on his farm in this township, where he now lives. Altogether he owns 193 acres of land, most of which is under the plow. Mr. Wolf and his family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Politically, he is a Republican. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Illinois Chicago: Chapman Brothers, 1888]
REV. T. W. WOODSIDE
Spending his early life on the farm, graduating from the Freeport High school in 1872, fitting himself for the ministry at Northwestern College, Naperville, spending the next seven years preaching the gospel in this county, and for the next nineteen years a missionary in the African field, is the life history of the Rev. T. W. Woodside, who with his wife and family, is now on a visit to this country. The notice of Mr. and Mrs. Woodside's arrival in Freeport was made in yesterday's journal, and they are here to spend some time with Mr. Woodside's sister and brother, Mrs. G. Smith and A. M. Woodside. They are the parents of four children, who are at Oberlin, O., attending school. The experience of Mr. and Mrs. Woodside in the foreign field is as interesting one and their reminiscences held the attention of their hearers by the hour. Mr. Woodside is a man nearly 55 years old, having been born on Christmas Day in 1852, at Brookville, Ogle county. He is a son of Me. and Mrs. John Woodside, deceased, pioneer settlers in Illinois, who moved to Stephenson county in 1864. They resided on a farm south of Freeport along the banks of the Yellow creek, and it was here that the man who was to spread the gospel in heathen lands was reared among influences which had a direct bearing on his life in after years. His parents afterward moved to Freeport and lived on Union street, where they died at a ripe old age. He not only assisted in the duties of the farm, but his desire for an education brought him daily to the Freeport public schools, and the class with which he graduated numbered nine scholars. Some of the names are still familiar to the people of Freeport. They are: Miss Flora Guiteau, now an instructor in the Freeport High school, and the Misses Etta Purington, Lila Sherman, Emma McCool, Mary DePuy, Clinton Miller, John Taylor, Cyrus Kryder and Mr. Woodside. The superintendent at that time was C. C. Snyder, who held the position for many years and whose demise occurred several years ago, and the principal was Miss Sarah Stocking, who is now living in California. After graduating from the Freeport High school, Mr. Woodside entered Northwestern college at Naperville, finishing in the theological course, and then for seven years he was assigned to a pastorate. In 1888 he decided to become a missionary and was assigned to service under the American board. His field since that time has been the West Central African mission, located in the Portuguese territory of Angola, which is inland from the old slave port Benguelia. The journey to the mission stations from the port is made by caravans, the distance being twenty miles. The women and children in the party are carried in hammocks by the natives. Slavery still exists in that section, each year the shipment of human beings being 5,000 the greater part of which are sent to St. Thomas. Mr. Woodside speaks the native tongue (Umbundu) and also the Portuguese language. Five stations and ten families and as many more lady teachers are in charge. The natives are quiet uncivilized, although they are not savages, and as for religions, they have never known the meaning. They do not worship idols, and in a vague way they realize there is a supreme power. Their language was never written until twenty years ago, with the advent of the missionaries, and the progress since then has been quite rapid. The people live in small villages, their houses being one-room affairs, plastered with mud and patterned without the least knowledge of architecture. Rubber is the principal export. although certain kinds of grain are raised, but principally for home use. Churches have been organized in the five stations, the membership of each ranging from 50 to 150. The attendance at the schools is between 3,000 and 4,000. Although the mission stations are twelve degrees south of the equator, Mr. Woodside says the days are never as warm as in Illinois during some of its hot days, but he explained that this is due to their altitude of 5,000 feet. There are no hot nights there and the foreign population sleep under blankets the year around. The rainy season is from September to May, when showers can be expected every day. The atmosphere then cools off and the rest of the day is delightful. It is interesting to note that money is not used in that section of the country. Cloth is the medium of exchange, and when a person buys grain, cattle, goats, and in fact anything, so many years of cloth are given in exchange. The cloth, for the most part, comes from Manchester, England, and is imported by the traders and missionaries. Mr. and Mrs. Woodside will remain in the United States until next August. Their children, who are at Oberlin, are staying with Mrs. S. C. Laird, their aunt, who formerly lived in Freeport, and who is the mother of Ray Laird, a graduate of Freeport High School and who was later a reporter on the Journal. The oldest daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Woodside graduated from Oberlin college a year ago. Their last visit to Freeport was in 1897, when Mr. Woodside spoke at the Y.M.C.A. and also at one of the local churches. He is greeting many of his old acquaintances in this city, and after an absence of so many years his remembrance of faces and names is remarkable. ]Freeport Journal Standard October 26, 1907, contributed by Karen Fyock]
BYRON L. WRIGHT
Byron L. Wright, who is engaged in general merchandising at Winslow, is a native of this county, born in Oneco Township, Sept. 27, 1846. His father, Joshua Wright, was born in Genesee County, N. Y., from which State his grandfather, Joshua Wright, Sr., removed, and located in Warren County, Pa., during the early settlement of that region. Here he purchased a tract of timber, built a sawmill, and engaged in floating lumber down the river to market. He also put up a flour and fulling-mill, and founded the town of Wrightsville, which still bears his name. He was a large property holder, at one time owning the whole of the ground comprising the town, which he sold for residence lots at a good profit. Mr. Wright was liberal minded and enterprising, always willing to assist in advancing the moral and educational interests of his community. He erected a neat little church building which was opened to preachers of all denominations. He lived to a ripe old age, possessing to the last in a remarkable degree the energy and industry which had been his chief characteristics. His family, consisting of six sons and two daughters, all married, and reared families of their own. Among these was Joshua, Jr., the father of our subject, who grew to manhood and was married in New York, where he decided to settle, and purchasing a tract of timber land in Genesee County, established a comfortable home there, which he occupied for two or three years. He then returned to the Keystone State, and became associated with his father in business, and settled on a tract of timber land one-half mile from the village, which he occupied until 1837. Thence he removed to Erie County, and purchased a tract of partially cleared land, upon which he operated until 1845, then sold out, and, accompanied by his wife and five children, started for the West. The journey of Joshua Wright, Jr., and family, to this State, over forty years ago, was performed overland by the aid of horses and oxen. After three weeks' continuous travel, during which they camped and cooked by the wayside and slept in their wagons at night, they landed in Stephenson County, and Mr. Wright selected as his future location a tract of uncultivated prairie in Oneco Township. The land had not yet some into market, but he erected a large hewed log house, and secured his title to the property as soon as the land-office was opened at Dixon. During the summer of 1846, he fenced and broke forty acres, but the following year was induced to sell his claim and remove to Waddams Township. There he purchased a claim of 200 acres, and as soon as possible received his warrantee deed from the land-office at Dixon. Upon this he labored a few years successfully, then sold out, and retiring to the town of Winslow, spent the last years of his life in the peace and quiet which he had so justly earned. The mother of our subject, formerly Miss Esther Benham, was born in Genesee County, N. Y., and was the daughter of Bartholomew Benham, one of the earliest pioneers. He went into that section of country while it was yet a trackless forest, and putting up a log cabin, commenced to clear the ground around it, and thus labored until he had cut the forest trees from a large acreage and opened up a good farm. He lived there until an old man and finally removed to Byron Center, where his death occurred in about 1855. The children of Joshua and Esther Wright, twelve in number, lived with one exception to mature years; nine of them still survive. Byron L., of our sketch, was the youngest of the family, and at an early age commenced attending school with his elder brothers. His education, begun in his native township was completed at Winslow, to which town his parents removed when he was a lad nine years of age. He remained under the parental roof until twenty-two years of age, and then with a capital of $150, which he had earned himself, and a sum borrowed from his father, embarked in general merchandising. In 1862 he was appointed Deputy Postmaster. Soon afterward he became the partner of his elder brother, Willard W. Wright, and they continued together until 1881. They then divided their stock, since which time our subject has run his business along. He carries a large and well selected assortment of dry-goods, groceries, and general merchandise, which is valued at about $6,000. In the spring of 1866 Mr. Wright was married to Miss Emily Chase. She was born in New Bedford, Mass., and is the daughter of Resolve and Delia Chase. Mr. Chase was for many years a sailor on a whaling-vessel, and died in New Bedford in about 1854. He married in early life Miss Delia Lincoln, a native of the same town. She remained in New England several years after the death of her husband and coming to this State in 1863, resided in Winslow Township for a time, then returned East to Providence, R. I., where she now resides. Grandmother Lincoln is still living at North Dartmouth, Mass., and is ninety-six years of age. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Wright are named respectively, Herman Frank, Minnie May, Cora D., Carried G., Elsie E., Elmer L. and Bessie C. Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portraits & Biographical 1888 Stephenson Co IL Pg 234]
FIRST COLORED MAN IN FREEPORT - Jerry Wright, Reported Dead, Greets Old Friends Here Today
"Ah jus' had to come back and see some o' my ol' frien's and visit the ol' home again. You all know Freeport was mighty good to me for many years." It was Freeport's original colored man, Jerry Wright, speaking. Jerry "came back" last evening after an absence of five years. It seemed as though the dead were raised to life, as Jerry had been reported to have "climbed the golden stairs" a number of times since leaving Freeport. "No I's not died yet, I's like father's ol' mule, 'he lived long, never refused work, and died kicking,' " said Jerry, while talking with a number of friends this morning. The reappearance of Jerry Wright in Freeport recalled many of the early happy days long past to many of the older residents of the community. He was the first colored man to settle in Freeport, coming here in 1879 from the west. He arrived here with a string of western horses owned by Carter and Bell. Jerry took a liking to Freeport and remained here until five years ago. For a number of years he was the only colored citizen of Freeport. He cast his first vote here and informed his friends today that he would be 60 years old next March. Most of the old-time residents of Freeport, however, think that Jerry is closer to the 70 mark, but Jerry says he came here in 1879 and that he was twenty years of age at that time. The colored population of Freeport has certainly grown since Jerry's early days here and it is estimated that there are over 600 colored people in this community at the present time. For years his name was a by-word in nearly every home in the city. When children were bad or unruly the admonishing mothers would frighten them into good behavior by threatening to get "Jerry" after them. However, Jerry is a lover of children and spent many hours in his early days entertaining the white youngsters of the city. With the possible exception of being a trifle more grey Jerry has not changed a bit since leaving Freeport. He was born in Oklahoma and raised to young manhood in Lawrence, Kansas. At the age of twenty he came to Freeport. Since leaving this city he has been employed by the F. W. Woolworth company, with headquarters at Oshkosh, Wisconsin. He has, however, worked for that company in Seattle, Omaha, and other large cities. Mr. Wright recalled many of the early incidents of life in Freeport in his conversation with older residents of the city today. "I's havin' my fuhst vacation in five yea's and I jus' had to come back home," he said. [July 13, 1920 clipping; Contributed by Karen Fyock]
JOHN A. WRIGHT
The first representative of this branch of the Wright family in America was a native of Lancashire, England, whence he emigrated in 1714, and settled in the town of Chester, Delaware Co., Pa., where he established a store of general merchandise. Fourteen years later he removed to Hempfield Township, resolved to change his occupation and engage in farming pursuits. He purchased 250 acres of land of Robert Barber, and tilled the soil the balance of his lifetime. He was a man of great energy of character, and became prominent in public affairs, officiating as Judge of the Circuit Court, and also as a minister in the Society of Friends. He was fluent of speech, and an address delivered before the grand jury was at one time published, and may still be found in Proud's History of Pennsylvania. James Wright, son of the foregoing, was the youngest of the family, and born in America. He was reared to manhood in Pennsylvania, where he married and became the father of a family of sons and daughters, among them being John, Sr., the grandfather of our subject. He also engaged in farming pursuits, from which he retired late in life, and spent his last years in Columbia, Pa. His son Samuel, the father of our subject, was born and reared in Lancaster County, but early in life thought that he would like something better than farming pursuits, and accordingly learned the trade of a hatter. Upon leaving home he went into Union County, settling in West Buffalo Township in about 1816. He abandoned the hatter's trade, and having been married, located on the farm of his father-in-law, where he remained until the spring of 1843. Illinois was then beckoning to the enterprising emigrant, and he joined the caravan coming hither, reaching Stephenson County after a journey of forty-two days. Quite a colony had started from his neighborhood at the same time, and there were fourteen teams in line. The journey was made overland, and was attended with many difficulties and hardships. The men of that time, however, were made of stern stuff, and prepared to meet every emergency. Samuel Wright selected his location on a part of section 12, Harlem Township, and in company with his sons entered a tract of land and remained with them in that vicinity until his death, which took place twenty-five years later, on the 3d of August, 1868. Samuel Wright was married early in life to Miss Mary B. Lewis, of Union County, Pa., the daughter of Paschal Lewis, who was the son of Daniel Lewis, a native of Wales. The mother of our subject departed this life at the homestead in Harlem Township, thirteen years after the death of her husband, her decease taking place Aug. 26, 1875. The parental household included six children, of whom four grew to mature years. Paschal died in Harlem Township, in October, 1872, and William Aug. 12, 1883. John A., of our sketch, was the third son; Elizabeth, the wife of Alexander Templeton, is a resident of Cleveland, Tenn. The subject of our sketch was born in West Buffalo Township, Union Co., Pa., July 6, 1825. In common with his brothers and sisters he attended school during his younger years as opportunity offered, but also became early acquainted with the more serious business of life. As soon as old enough his services were utilized on the farm, and he became imbued with those self-reliant qualities which have been of such good service to him in later years. When the family set out for the West he was a youth of eighteen years, and had charge of a team during the journey from Pennsylvania to Illinois. They started from Union County, May 25, 1843, and landed in Freeport, Ill., on the 4th of July following. The whole company camped and cooked by the wayside, and slept in the wagons at night. After their arrival and location in Harlem Township, our subject and his brother William farmed together for a number of years. Afterward John A. secured a tract of land of his own which he operated until 1873, then consigned the tilling of the soil to other hands until the spring of 1881, when he removed to Cedarville. At this time Mr. Wright had already become interested with the firm of J. W. Henney & Co., in the manufacture of buggies at that place, and retained his connection with them until 1881. Since that time he has given his attention to his private and official duties. Mr. Wright was first married, Nov. 6, 1851, to Miss Margaret Ewing, who was a native of Holmes County, Ohio, and came to Illinois with her parents in 1848. Of this union there were born two children: Emily L., Mrs. Parr, a resident of Harlem Township, and Oliver P., of Freeport, who is connected with the old firm of his father. Mrs. Margaret Wright departed this life at the home of her husband in Harlem Township, April 27, 1856. Mr. Wright was again married, Jan. 23, 1862, to Miss Mary B. Heise, a native of Columbia, Lancaster Co., Pa. She was of pure German ancestry, and her great-grandfather, Solomon Heise, settled near Hagerstown, Md., during the pioneer days. Her father, Samuel B. Heise, was born in Hagerstown in 1799, and from the time he was six years of age was reared by an uncle in Columbia. He became a skilled mechanic and an expert worker in wood and iron. He spent his entire life in his native county, and died in Columbia, in December, 1885, after arriving at an advanced age. The mother of Mrs. Wright was formerly Mrs. Emily (Boude) Lewis, a native of Union County, Pa. Of this marriage there was born one child, Margaretta H. The parents and daughter are members and regular attendants of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Wright cast his first Presidential vote for Martin Van Buren in 1848, and believed in the principles of Republicanism long before they were formulated into a name. Considering this it is not surprising that he abandoned the old Whig party, and cordially supported the Republicans after their organization. He has been a man who always enjoyed in a marked degree the confidence of his fellow-citizens, and has most of the time been the incumbent of some office within their gift. He was the first Police Magistrate, and has held the office since its first establishment. He has also served as School Director and Assessor, and has been Secretary of the Old Settlers' Association for the last eight years. When Mr. Wright first came to this county, deer and other wild game was plentiful, and frequently the settler had only to go a few steps from his cabin door in order to level his rifle at one of these. Hard cash was very scarce in those days, and the merchants at the little hamlet of Freeport readily took grain in exchange for their goods. The farmers frequently transported their produce to Chicago, which involved a round trip of several days, and considering the time and difficulty of getting wheat to market, and the low price which it brought, they were indeed sometimes but poorly paid for their labor, it often selling as low as thirty cents per bushel, and corn from ten to twelve cents. Mr. Wright relates that often while attending church the pioneer sportsman would be hunting for game, and frequently bring down a deer upon the present site of Stephenson County court-house. He commenced keeping a diary in 1869, and has now about 2,000 pages of foolscap paper covered with the relation of his thoughts and experiences. Under proper training and with favorable opportunities, he would have been a scholar and a penman. He now reports the weather to the Signal Service at Springfield each week. The incidents which may be gleaned from that diary it is possible sometime in the future may be compiled into an interesting volume which his descendants will peruse with pride. As a fitting accompaniment to this sketch we take pleasure in presenting the portrait of Mr. Wright. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portraits & Biographical 1888 Stephenson Co IL Pg 241]
J. LAWSON WRIGHT
J. Lawson Wright, of the firm of Wright & Harding, dealers in books, stationery, pencils, gold pens, picture frames, etc., at No. 115 Stephenson street, Freeport, was born in Union County, Pa., on the 10th of September, 1837. His father was Paschal L. Wright, who was a farmer by occupation, and his mother was Jane (Lawson) Wright. Both parents were natives of Pennsylvania, and moved to Stephenson County in the summer of 1838, settling on a farm not far from Cedarville, and four miles north of Freeport. This county was then very sparsely settled, and the neighbors were few and far between; not a house was erected where the city of Freeport now stands. At that time the family of Mr. Wright consisted of five children, three girls and two boys. Mr. and Mrs. Wright both died in the fall of 1872. J. L. Wright, who is the oldest child of the family, was less than a year old when his parents came to Stephenson County. His early education was obtained in the primitive district schools of those days. In 1870 he entered the State University at Normal, from which he was graduated in 1873, and then followed the occupation of school teacher until 1883, having taught in all forty-five terms of school in Ogle, Carroll and Stephenson Counties. The last term he taught was at Cedarville. His longest engagement as a teacher was for a term of four years at Forreston, Ogle County. Upon retiring from the profession he formed a partnership with C. G. Sanborn, which continued until the summer of 1884, when Mr. Sanborn sold his interest to I. F. Kleckner. This partnership was continued until 1887, when Mr. K. sold his interest to John R. Harding, who is Mr. Wright's present partner. Our subject was married, in 1871, to Miss Rose Clarridge, a native of the State of Ohio. Mr. Wright is a member of Moses R. Thompson Lodge N. 381, A. F. & A. M.; Freeport Chapter No. 23; Freeport Commandery No. 7, and Freeport Consistory. He was elected Alderman for the Second Ward in 1887, which position he holds at the time of this writing. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church; his mother was one of the charter members at the first organization of that church. The firm of Wright & Harding is one of the popular houses of Freeport, and is headquarters for all articles in their line. By a straightforward policy in business they have secured a good trade, which they have an admirable knack of holding. [Contributed by Carol Parrish from Portraits & Biographical 1888 Stephenson Co IL Pg 218-21]
Among the best of our citizens of this country, are those who came from foreign countries with the intention of making a home for themselves here, and at the same time have endeavored to promote the highest interests of the community in which they have east their lot. Prominent among this number is the subject of our sketch, who is a native of England, his birth taking place in that country on the 27th of February, 1838. When at the age of twenty, he emigrated to America from Sussex County, and founded a new borne in Stephenson County, 111. Ever since his advent here, he has been engaged in agricultural pursuits, and he now owns eighty acres of excellent land on section 2, Kent Township. His parents were William E. and Philadelphia Read, both of whom died in England. Being thus left alone, he was thrown entirely upon his own resources, and what he has accumulated, and the successes be has achieved, are due entirely to his own efforts and industry. When he arrived in this country, he came direct to Stephenson County, settling in Kent Township, where his home has been continuously ever since. His farm consists of eighty acres, which though small, he cultivates so thoroughly that it produces the equivalent of many farms of much larger area. As shown by the view given on another page, he has erected comfortable buildings, both for residence purposes and the shelter of his stock, and has one of the handsome and attractive homes of the township. Mr. Wybourn was married, in West Point Township, Stephenson County, on the 19th of June, 1861, to Miss Jane Daws, who was born in England, and came to America with her parents when but a child. Her parents were James and Jane Spilstead, both of whom died in Stephenson County. They have Ave children-Robert N., Walter H., Henry T., Charlie and Emma J. Mr. Wybourn holds the office of Highway Commissioner, a position which he has filled with conspicuous success and satisfaction to the community. [Contributed by Christine Walters Portrait and Biographical Album of Stephenson County, Ill. (1888)] Contributed by Mallory Smith: Five surviving daughters of Jasper Benjamin and Ella Jane "Elsie" (Luce) Mallory Back left: Josephine Mallory b 19 Jun 1871 Montevallo, Mo = Thomas Lincoln; Elizabeth 'Dilla' 'Lizzie' Mallory 27 Dec 1856 Lancaster Twp, Stephenson Co IL = Henry Brown Daniels; Romanza A 'Maggie' Mallory 1865 - William N Greeley; Front Row: Nellie Jane Ellen Mallory 28 Nov 1853 Rock Run Twp, Stephenson Co IL - Harvey Cole; Mary C 'Mollie' Mallory 18 Oct 1844 Rock Run Twp, Stephenson Co IL - George William Wolfe.
BACK - HOME
© Genealogy Trails