Genealogy and History
Part of the Genealogy Trails History Group
Gochenaur's Hat shop was first a hat shop, and later a dress shop well into the mid-1950s. It was an institution. Alice Horner, contributor of the postcard, says she can still remember the little individual tables you sat at and the mirrors on them
C. H. Little To Reopen Saturday At Old Location -- New Building, Housing New Stock, Replace Those Destroyed By Fire --Business Established Nearly 70 Years Ago
Tomorrow the doors of the new C. H. Little & Company store will be opened. They are returning to their former location, 24 East Stephenson street, occupied so many years by this substantial business firm, established in 1859 - nearly seventy years ago. Things looked very dark last February, when the most destructive fire Freeport experienced in years destroyed the C. H. Little store, carrying with it art treasures that can never be replaced. There could be little salvage in a stork so fragile as china and glassware, but the managers, Miss Matilda Pfender and William Molter, have carried on for the past eight months in temporary quarters and are now returning to a strictly new fire proof building on the old site, with the past forgotten and the future looking never more rosy.
The plated tower, unique as an advertising medium throughout the United States, is back in place, and marvelous as it may seem, escaped without a crack. It has looked down on the progress and growth of the city for the past fifty years and more, and will hold its vantage point probably, for many more. The tiled arcade, with its broad display windows on either side is a fitting entrance for this attractive store. The door with leaded glass above and Florentine art glass on either side gives light and adds very materially to the beauty of the store. ONe gains the impression of greater depth to the main floor, upon entering the store, as there is a straight sweep from front to back door, the desk, which formerly occupied the center of the floor, has been placed at the side. The walls, a rough cream plaster are set off by the dark rich, walnut woodwork, with a green finish, which is used throughout the store in wall cabinets, show cases and shelving. The main floor, with its sparkling colored glass, etched and plain, all articles of silver and the many bewildering novelties occupy the front of the store, while the many patterns of China and porcelain, carried by this up-to-date store, hold a place in the middle of the store, where every customer may examine them. One the exchange street end of the building are the more practical need of the household - aluminum, Vollrath cooking dishes, tinware and baskets, etc. A broad easy staircase of tile with a wrought iron stiar rail, with a resting spot in the middle of the flight of steps, leads to the second floor. Here the toy section has found a home. Every conceivable toy and plaything of mechanical mechanism, known to childhood is to be found in this attractive section. Games, books, adorable dolls, of every nation are standing at attention, awaiting the admiration of passing crowd. In the front of the second floor, is the lamp department, where the light from many windows adds beauty to the bright colors of the shades of various shapes and sizes. A sky light lets in ample light in the toy section. The store room is on Exchange street. The basement holds furnishings for the laundry, and hotel supplies and is reached by another fire-proof stairway. The store is complete and convenient and is an ornament inside and out to the business district of Freeport. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - October 26, 1928 clipping]
Photo Taken By H. Reid Horner In The 1930's
The Quality Oil Station in the 700 block of South Galena Avenue, across the street from the intersection of West Broadway and South Galena Avenue was owned by Walter Ackerman. They pumped gas in the front but they had a big auto repair business in the back. The building was stucco, painted cream color as I recall, and you can see the back of the building with its clay tile roof.
The trucker in the semi is driving south on South Galena Avenue. (Photo on the right). The Quality Oil building is still there but it hasn’t been as a gas station for decades. The station pumped Skelly gasoline, and you can see the Skelly sign on the right edge of photo on the left which is of South Galena Avenue looking north toward downtown Freeport which about 6 blocks away. On the right is a small 1-story stone building on the east side of the street which housed the Prince Castle hamburger and ice cream shop. There was a chain of Prince Castle restaurants in the Midwest (maybe other places too) that I think all were in similar buildings. This particular one was popular in the 1930s and 1940s but may have been out of business by the early 1950s or even the late 1940s. It’s been used as an office since then.
Stover Manufacturing & Engine Company was founded by D. C. Stover in 1862, and was headquartered in Freeport, Illinois. Stover manufactured a wide range of products, including gas and diesel engines, tractor parts and accessories, grinders, saws, tank heaters, stock waterers, corn shellers, hammermills, bicycles, windmills and barbed wire. Stover ceased operations in 1942, and the company's records are preserved by the Stephenson County Gas Engine Club, Freeport, Illinois.
The directors elected the following officers:
The company will soon begin the manufacture of railway motor cars.
Furst-McNess Company was started in 1908 in Freeport, Illinois. The company served area farmers and small town people with a quality line of livestock remedies and household products. At that time, Frank Furst, a young Freeport lawyer, joined his talents and ambition with those of Frederick McNess, a brilliant pharmacist in this new venture. Horse drawn delivery buggy from early 1900's right from the start, our companys line included effective livestock products such as McNess Saltonic. In the late 50's, Furst-McNess answered farmers needs for vitamin/mineral premixes to be used in making livestock rations right on the farm. Midwestern farmers were provided these pre-mixes out of the Freeport, IL plant that also now serves as the company's headquarters
(This building is still standing and the company is still in business. Some of the Fursts still live in Freeport)
The ghost of a former empire stands silent and remote in a spot in northwest Freeport which many people don’t even know exists. An old factory building on Beech Street close to the Wallace yards of the Illinois Central Railroad is one of the few reminders left of the once distinguished S.N. Swan and Sons, piano and organ factory. The Swan Co. was a big employer in Freeport during the first quarter of this century. They put out 30 reed organs a day for shipment throughout the states and abroad to Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Germany, England and Scotland. The company employed "more than 100 hands." An astute Swedish immigrant, Swen Nilsson Swan, skilled cabinetmaker, was the dynamo behind the enterprise. He was born in Sweden in 1844, son of a butcher and tanner. A book called "History of the Swedes of Illinois," published in 1908 by the Engberg-Holmberg Publishing Co. of Chicago, tells his story.
"After receiving such education as the local public schools afforded." the biography states, "he was at age 15 apprenticed to a cabinet-maker." Young Nilsson, as he apparently later preferred to be called, rather than Swen Swan, spent about four years learning this trade and after finishing his apprenticeship, became a patternmaker at Kristianstad, Sweden, and later at Malmo, Sweden. In the latter city, he spent a year at piano-making. Nilsson, still unsettled though, decided to return to Kristianstad. Perhaps he was influenced by the introduction into his life of Ingrid Carison, for it was during this time, in 1866, in Kristianstad, that he married the Swedish maiden. There in Kristianstad he started his own furniture factory in 1867 when he was 23 years old. But the wanderlust of youth still had not let go of him and in the spring of 1868, "He embarked for America." On Easter Sunday 1868 he and Ingrid landed in New York City.
Something brought them to Wyanet, Illinois. where he was employed at cabinetmaking for a couple of years. But the Swans had still not found their permanent niche. In the fall of 1870 they moved to Mendota, lured by the Western Cottage Organ Co. He worked his way up in that factory and stayed there for six or seven years. But in 1887 he moved to Chicago where he bought into the Chicago Cottage Organ Co. and worked as a foreman contractor. The enterprising craftsman bought into the Hobart M. Cable Co., a distinguished American piano-maker, and took a position as manager and superintendent of the Burdett Organ Factory which had come to Freeport from Erie, Pa., in 1894. The Cable firm bought out the Burdett company in 1901. In November 1907 Swan bought this plant, gave it his name and became president. His two sons, David and Gustaf, were trained in the trade "from the ground up" and became partners with their father.
Within a few months Freeport will have another large industry and it is understood that it has passed all the primitive stages of development. Joseph Ambruster is the leading spirit in the new industry, and is now preparing to go to Chicago and Toledo O, to purchase machines and the necessary materials. It will be a fabric glove and mitten industry and the cold repellers will be manufactured of canton flannel. Already Mr. Ambruster has been visited by a number of local merchants who are attracted by the feasibility of the enterprises and by the feasibility of the enterprises and have not only offered to take a hand in financing their share of it, but offer to give their exclusive trade to the new concern. It is admittedly true that Mr. Ambruster has all the elements of executive ability, and the fact that he has strong backing renders the enterprise an assured success. Owing to the fact that there are no available quarters in the city at present, Mr. Ambruster has secured a lease of the the third floor of the Wagner building, which affords every facility. Mr. Ambruster has secured an order for 2,300 dozen gloves and mittens from a local merchant and from another businessman he has received an order for 2,000 which will be distributed among his patrons with his advertisement printed on them. The plant will start within a few months and within a year Mr. Ambruster expects to have between 75 and 100 employees, each one turning out eight dozen each week. As the plant prospers the number of employees and machines will be increased. Local business houses are interested in the new concern, and the trade all over this district will soon be canvassed as Mr. Ambuster promises the most liberal inducements. [The Morning Star 28 May 1908 - Rockford IL]
ARCADE MFG. COMPANY also known as NOVELTY IRON WORKS The forerunner of the Arcade manufacturing Company was a small concern known as the Novelty Iron Works which was founded in Freeport as early as 1868 by two brothers, Edward H. and Charles Morgan. The first factory of the company was on the corner of Chicago and Jackson Streets and the business was conducted from this location for nearly 20 years. Pumps, windmills, iron pavements, store fronts and a variety of castings were made by the company. In 1885 the business was discontinued and the Arcade Manufacturing Company was organized by Albert Baumgarten, Cyrus Tobias and Edward H. Morgan. The first products seem to have been a cork extractor and a screen door hinge, but within two years they began assembling box type coffee mills. In 1892, when the building to which they had moved in 1891 burned, a stock of 40,000 coffee mills went up in smoke. Charles Morgan joined the firm and in 1893 Loyal L. Munn, Sr. became a partner. The factory was again moved, this time to a newly platted site which has come to be known as the Arcade Addition. In 1910, they produced a miniature coffee mill which proved an immediate success. Five years later the line of cast iron toys included automobiles, banks, trains, fire engines, circus wagons, and by the 1920's there were more than 300 different toy items. Arcade toys were sold all over the world; a million toy coffee mills alone where shipped annually to France. Officers of the company in the 1930'2 and 1940's were: Loyal L. Munn, Jr., president; Byron C. Trueblood, vice president and treasurer; Isaac P. Gassman, secretary and H. Ford Zartman, assistant secretary and treasurer. During World War II the factory made war goods. In 1945 the company was sold to the Rockwell Manufacturing Company. A power tool division was added in 1946, but work was gradually moved elsewhere and only the armor plate division remained to be closed in 1953. Modern Plating Corporation now occupies the Arcade factory buildings. [Contributed by Karen Fyock]
AR-DEE SCREW CO.
Founded in 1940 by Mr. Robert Djidich. The original factory was located at 505 Sangamon St., Chicago, Illinois. They mad screw machine products and component parts for other manufacturers. In 1962, the company then located at 1885 Clybourn Ave., Chicago, purchased the Structo building at 112 N. Powell Ave., Freeport. The name was then changed to Ar-Dee Manufacturing Co., Inc. the company is still in the business of manufacturing screw machine products and light assembly, using steels of all varieties, stainless steel, brass, bronze and aluminum. The area served by Ar-Dee is mainly East of the Mississippi Rover, but they do ship into Minnesota, Texas, and California. They are now a division of Sundstrand Corporation of LaSalle, Illinois. Officers are: Robert Djidich, President; Marie Djidich, Vice President; Nathan Kaplan, Secretary and Treasurer. There are 95 employees in the organization. (about 1970) [Contributed by Karen Fyock]
AR-DEE PLANT IN FREEPORT - TAKEN OVER BY SUNDSTRAND
Our Freeport Bureau
Acquistion of the Freeport Ar-Dee Manufacturing Co., Inc., by the Sundstrand Hydro - Transmission Division, La Salle, was revealed at a public hearing here Friday. The division is part of the Sundstrand Corp., Rockford. The local firm, which has 100 employes and annual sales of more than $1 million, explained plans for a proposed expansion of its plant at a hearing before the city planning commission. The compnay seeks rezoning from R - 5, non - conforming residential to M-l, limited manufacturing, to allow construction of an addition and expansion of a parking lot A group of residents living near the plant at 112 N. Powell Ave. objected to the zoning change, indicating the expansion would decrease property values and increase traffic, noise, and congestion in their area. One objector questioned whether Ar-Dee, owned by Robert Djidich, who also is president of the firm, should petition for the change because he had “heard rumors" the plant was being sold to Sundstrand. Vincent R. Mertes, Ar-Dee plant manager, made public the the announcement regarding Sundstrand's acquisition of the company. Under the "difinite agreement," the Freeport company, will become a subsidiary of the LaSalle firm in exchange for Sundstrand common stock. Djidich will continue to head the local operation. The planning commission postponed action on the petition until a meeting July 30. Comnissioners indicated “more study" should be given the proposed rezoning. Meters said Ar-Dee, which moved here from Chicago six years ago and occupied facilities formerly owned by the Structo Manufacturing Co., needs space for expansion. Because the operation is classed as a non - conforming use, the plant cannot be enlarged without a zoning change. "We have to expand to exist," said Mertes. He indicated the firm would comply with all planning commission dictates. "We hope and intend this (expansion) will be a tremendous asset to the neighborhood," he said. The company, manufacturers of precision screwing machine products, had - about 15 employes when it located in Freeport. [Saturday, July 13, 1968 Paper: Morning Star (Rockford, Illinois) Page: 4]
BAIER & OHLENDORF
The Baier and Ohlendorf brewing establishment is the oldest in the city. It was established sixty-one years ago, in 1849, as a supply depot for malt liquors by Calvin McGee, and had a capacity of about two hundred barrels per annum. Mr. McGee did not find the business either pleasant or profitable according to the tradition, and sold it a year later to a Mr. Wade, who ran it until 1852. In that year the brewery buildings were rebuilt and sold to E. Hetrich, who carried on a prosperous business until his death, which occurred about twelve years later. His widow married William Beck, who took charge of the business, made some valuable improvements, and conducted the business until his death four years later. Mrs. Beck attempted to act as proprietor for a short time, but did not succeed in the undertaking very well, and sold out to Baier and Seyfarth in 1869. These gentlemen took charge of the Beck Brewery, and continued the manufacture of beers for a while with the amount of machinery possessed by the old brewery. Then they laid foundations for one of the finest plants in the country, and soon completed the building which is still standing on the corner of Adams and Jackson streets. In 1891, Mr. Ohlendorf succeeded Mr. Seyfarth, deceased, and the business has since been conducted under the firm name of Baier and Ohlendorf. The concern takes great pride in the quality of its product, and spares no effort to make it perfect. The main brand of beer manufactured at the Freeport Brewery is "Pilsener," which is put up both in kegs and in bottles. The capacity of the plant is about thirty thousand barrels of the liquid substance annually. Submitted by Ida Maack Recu (Source: Fulwider, A.M., Addison L. History of Stephenson County, Illinois. Chicago: The S.J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1910.)
BAUSCHERS FLORAL SHOP & GREENHOUSE
The Florist Business in Freeport was pioneered by John Bauscher Sr. in the year of 1868. Mr. Bauscher came to the United States from France. He started out with a couple small greenhouses in which he raised and sold plants and cut flowers. In the late 1870's his son John Bauscher Jr. entered the flower business with his father, and they in turn kept on expanding the green houses until they had over 100,000 square feet of glass and a total of 15 greenhouses. Some of the greenhouses were 320 feet long. By this time, the Bauschers were in the wholesale as well as the retail flower business. The retail store being located at 20 South Chicago Ave. John Bauscher Sr. passed away in the early 1900's and the business was then owned and operated by his son John Bauscher Jr., who in turn had five sons of his own who all joined with their father in the Florist Business. Their names being Arthur, George, Lester, Clarence C. and John J. In 1920 John Bauscher Jr. passed away and the business was then owned and operated by his five sons and was known as Bauscher Bros. Flower Market Inc. until 1939. By this time Arthur, George and Lester Bauscher had passed away and the business was being carried on by Clarence C. and John J. Bauscher, the two remaining brothers. So they decided to dissolve the corporation and this is when Robert J. Bauscher, the son of Clarence C., joined into the florist business with his father. They continued to operate the downtown retail business known as the C. C. Bauscher Floral Shop. Clarence C. Bauscher passed away in 1950 and the business was then taken over by his son Robert J. Bauscher as sole owner. The present location being 18 South Chicago Ave. in downtown Freeport. Robert J. Bauscher being the great-grandson of the founder John Bauscher Sr. The 100th Anniversary of the business was celebrated in 1968 with a total of four generations of florists in the same family. [Written by Robert J. Bauscher - June 15, 1970]
Tomorrow, May 12, is set for the opening by Borchers, Inc., of a new store, at 27 West Stephenson street - a fact which will be of interest to the women of Freeport. The store will be under the ownership and management of John and Emerson Borchers and they will have the assistance of Mrs. Emerson Borchers, all of whom have had long experience in department store buying and operation. This new store has many new angles that are especially attractive. In the front of the store in electric-lighted show cases is an unusual line of exquisite neckware, handkerchiefs, and charming "tuck-tite" bags, quite different, appropriate to carry with summer attire. Linen perforated flowers to set off gowns and sports wear, taffeta, organdy and linen blouses, and "La France" and "Holeproof" hosiery, as wll as hand embroidered pajamas and gowns - in fact all the little nice things that women love - are on display in this new store. Wash silk and organdy dresses in lovely pastel colors, and sports wear with separate coats, are also carried by this new firm. Under a long, narrow awning of striped green and silver are mirrors with dressing tables beneath, which hold heard with the latest models in millinery. This department will be in charge of Mrs. Wilbur Balles. The "Cotton Blossom Shop", another department within the store, carries wash frocks. The fitting rooms are well lighted and conform with the rest of the store in green and white enamel. Dividing the store and giving the effect of a library in the home, are the book shelves of the rental library, in charge of Mrs. Albert Barnes. In about three weeks the Isabel-Alex beauty shop will be opened in connection with the Borchers, Inc, store. It will be operated by Alex Krehl and Mrs. Louis Hess, old hands in barbering and beauty shop work. This shop will be furnished in beautiful new equipment in ivory, black and chrome with all the new up-to-date touches of the modern beauty shop. An added attraction to the opening of this new store will be the presence of Hugh Fulton, talented pianist, who will give programs of music during the morning, afternoon and evening, interspersing his playing with vocal numbers as he possesses a rich, pleasing voice. Mr. Fulton is hailed by Ned Wayburn, famous producer, as one of the leading modern pianists of the day beginning his public career at the age of nine. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - May 11, 1934 clipping]
CHARLES S. HEPNER CO.
Many Useful Articles Carried in the Stock of Chas. S. Hepner Co.
Advertised extensively over the radio, the Automatic Electric washing machines are carried by the Chas. S. Hepner Company. These machines are of the latest design and construction and most convenient for the housewife whose duty each week demands that she have something modern with which she may do the family washing. While most substantial in design and construction these Automatic Electric washers are priced $30 and $40 below others in a similar class. Clothes hampers for the bath room done in a variety of colors to match the modern trend in color schemes, such as gray, green, pink, and others which may be desired, are to be seen at the Hepner store, together with medicine cabinets of various designs. The CHas. S. Hepner company specializes in builders' hardware which is suitable for the modern home as well as a magnificent dwelling. It may be of interest to those who are in need of tin and sheet metal work to know that the Chas. S. Hepner company has the largest tin shop in northern Illinois outside of Chicago. With much equipment the company is able to do any kind of sheet metal work that may be demanded of them. They are equipped to repair eaves troughs and tine decks and roofs. They also carry a large assortment of gas stoves and ranges which are done in many colors, while ranges and gas stoves in black may be obtained from the Chas. S. Hepner company at 23 East Stephenson street. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - September 9, 1929 clipping]
E. BENGSTON JEWELER
Corner Jewelry Store
The advantage of Jewelry buying depends on the satisfaction of our patrons, and that is our aim, by showing an entirely New Stock in all our departments. We Extend a Cordial Welcome to all G. A. R. Convention Visitors To Visit Our Store - Special Souvenir Spoons - G. A. R. Handle Spoons - Lincoln and Douglas Spoons Diamonds and Watches
FRITZ BREWING COMPANY
Beer-Making Is Resumed Here After 16 Years; Fritz Brewing Company Has Modern Plant on East Stephenson St.; Owned By J. Fred Smith And Named For His Son
Capacity - 60,000 Barrels Annually - Product Not To Go on Market Until June
For the first time in more than sixteen years, legally brewed beer began flowing through brew pipes in Freeport this week at the newly constructed Fritz Brewery, located at 293 East Stephenson street. The plant owned by J. Fred Smith, and named for his son, Frederick G. Smith, represents the last word in modern type construction and its product is the first of its kind to bear a Freeport label since pre-prohibition days. The capacity of the brewery will be approximately 60,000 barrels annually. Before plans were made by Mr. Smith to operate a brewery, the firm of J. E. Seibel & company, Chicago, were consulted in an expert capacity, A survey was made to determine whether of not a local plant was feasible in serving this territory and if so what methods should be pursued in determining a product made in this city. The answer to this investigation is represented in the fine plant now beginning operations. The buildings of the brewery, which occupy two thirds of a block frontage on East Stephenson street and extend southward a considerable depth, are equipped with modern units of the combined capacity necessary for successful operation of a modern brewery. Cement and steel construction predominate throughout. Leaving ........ northwest corner of the main floor of the property, and proceeding on a tour of inspection of the plant, one finds the wash house a model of cleanliness. The bottling room is not yet equipped as no beer will be sold until some time in June, after it has been properly aged. The barreling room has an 8-inch cork insulation on walls and ceiling. Into this room is pumped beer which has passed through the ... , following a process in the huge settling tubs of California redwood. A copper .... of 150 - barrel,....... process of manufacture under ideal brewing conditions in which equipment and modern apparatus of shiny brass and glass predominate. Wort is given scientific chemical attention, since it is the foundation of the fermentation process in which only the finest quality of imported Bohemian hops, domestic hops and highest grade malt combine to make a beer which is produced not under the "hit and miss" method, but through sanitary, scientific and chemically accurate principles. In commenting on this phase of the manufacture, Mr. Smith said: "This Freeport product will be the very finest that modern methods can produce. If there is anything in the brewing line that has been left undone to produce the highest grade product, then it is because we do not know of its existence. Our desire is not to compete with other forms in this field, but to do just one thing - make the best product that modern methods will allow us to manufacture. A beer with a body foam that you can cut with a knife, and smoothness, a product made of highest grade materials and according to the most modern methods will be our aim in marketing our brand." Thermometers, graphs and charts which show each step in the process of manufacture bear out the assertion that this is indeed a modern plant. Huge steel girders support the processing tanks which convey their contents to the lower levels in the process of manufacture. Oblong metal tanks of 140 and 235 barrel capacity, more than thirty in number, occupy a vast amount of space for storage purposes. No metal kegs are used in the plant, all are of white oak of the finest quality timber. The pitch room is a large space devoted to the priming of barrels and kegs, and houses an 80,000-gallon-capacity water storage supply, obtained from a special well on the premises. A water softener, pressure system, electrically operated refrigeration machine are combined in one unit of the building. The boiler rooms give an indication of the size of the plant, which covers a larger area than is apparent from the street frontage. The two pressure vats and fermenting cellars occupy a vast floor area. Window glass will be painted yellow, in units where the outside sunlight requires softening rays which would otherwise be detrimental to the brew. The plant was approved by the government after four days' inspection. This speaks for its modern construction and cleanliness for usually several weeks pass before federal approval is received. Attendants will wear uniforms of dark gray when the plant is in full operation. Keeping in touch with most modern methods has been carried into all designs and trademarks of the concern. The bottle label represents a background of a German castle on which appears in black and yellow lettering the trade name "Fritz Beer." Nick Feller, for 14 years associated with the former Schmich Brewing company, is to be the brewmaster, and for the opening of the brewery the company has employed John Carstens, of the Seibel organization, Chicago, to supervise the manufacture of beer until the plant is in satisfactory operation. Mr. Carstens, who is Seibel-trained, has had more than 30 years' experience in the brewing business. He is a native of Germany, where he learned the business from his family, later having been in the employ of the United States Brewing company. He has made a study of chemistry as well as of brewing. R. R. Lamb, of Elgin, has been engaged as general sales Manager. Inquiries have been received by the company from twelve middle western states, and from other parts of the country, asking for territory rights and branch agency franchises in distribution in handling the product. Construction of the plant gave employment to as many as one hundred men at times during the past year, while the property was being made ready for re-building and remodeling. Steady employment will be given a large force of men in operating the brewery. The brewery will, it is anticipated by the owners, result in an increase in local business in this line which now goes into outside channels. [Contributed by Karen Fyock April 26, 1934 clipping]
CHECKER TAXICAB LINE
13 East Main St., Freeport IL
We have the most modern and up-to-date taxicab equipment of any line operating in Freeport," declares Oscar Becker, proprietor of the Checker Taxicab Line, whose office and garage is centrally located at 13 East Main street. "We maintain all day and all night service, having at our disposal for calls in all parts if the city, seven taxicabs, six of which are the seven passenger type while one is a five passenger car," says Mr. Becker, who has long been in this business, he having been one of the first taxicab operators in Freeport. "Any one desiring taxicab service which is as prompt as humanly possible, may call on the Checker Taxicab Line, whose phone number is Main 39," continues Mr. Becker, "and feel assured of prompt and courteous service." Not only does the Checker Taxicab Line operate taxicabs but the company engages in baggage transfer and hauling light freight. Similar to the taxicab line the baggage transfer service also operates 24 hours a day and provides facilities for those who wish to meet any train in or out of Freeport. Taxicabs and trucks operated by the Checker Taxicab Company are maintained in the best possible running condition by their own mechanics who are experienced in this particular line of the automotive industry, while the company is also equipped to repair private owned cars. Among the machines which are used in the repair department is an electrically operated riveting machine which is used for the purpose of installing brake lining. Motorists who are in need of new brake lining should not hesitate in calling on the Checker Taxicab Company where they will be assured prompt and efficient service. With a fleet of seven taxicabs and two trucks operated by efficient drivers this company is adequately equipped to provide every possible service demanded by the public. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - September 9, 1929 clipping]
DeARMIT PLOW COMPANY
The DeArmit Plow Co. was well established in Freeport in 1857 and doing a large business. The company employed 12 men and for power had installed a 14 horse power steam engine. The year 1856-7 DeArmit manufactured 300 stirring plows, 50 corn plows, 300 breaking plows, 50 shovel plows, a few drags and cultivators. He also did a turning lathe business and his total output exceeded $10,000 worth of business. The Boss & Burrough's booklet (1857) ways that this was very gratifying because it shows that Freeport can sustain home industries. [Contributed by Beverly Burnias]
EMMERT DRUG COMPANY
15 April 1938: Long Established Freeport Store Marks Anniversary This Year The Emmert Drug company store, 15 West Stephenson Street, is this year celebrating its 90th anniversary, for it was 90 years ago that this store was founded, when Freeport was but a small community. Only three other drug stores in Illinois have been in business longer than the Emmert Drug store of this city. As preparations were being made to mark this anniversary, an old almanac of 1854 was brought out of careful storage, and along with it came an account book of John S. Emmert, founder of the business, which shed light on the "ten thousand privileged scattered broadcast around every door." In 1847, the old account book reveals, one Henry Yutz bought a quart of whiskey for 10 cents, the old records reveal, and "it was good whiskey too." In 1846 one Michael Zeigler bought 73 pounds of beef for $2.92, and this also, the records show, was surpassed the following year when a man by the name of Levi Segner bought a cow for $14.50. In the almanac of 1854 appeared the first advertisement of the Emmert Drug store. The business was then in the name of the proprietor, who styled himself "John E. Emmert, General Dealer." Saddles, shoes, drugs, paints, perfumes and school cooks together with ginseng, mustard seed, beeswax, white beans and various other items were listed. The name Emmert is associated with Freeport in its trading post days when Indians camped along the Pecatonica river. In 1836, a year after William Baker built the first house, a log cabin, O. H. Wright arrived and started a store. In 1855, John Emmert was joined by his brother, Joseph Emmert, "Uncle Joe" as he was familiarly known, served as clerk at first and then bought the business. In 1882 he admitted John Burrell as a partner, but Mr. Burrell left eventually to join the grocery firm of Burrell Brothers, and Mr. Emmert continued the business alone. In 1912 Mr. Emmert retired because of his advanced years. The store was operated by S. H. Barnhart for a period of four years, later being sold to the present owners, who formed a corporation with Arthur A. Haas as president. The present three-story building with its many improvements is in striking contrast with the original Emmert Drug Store. The Emmert Drug store gives constant service to the needs of the public and carries a compete stock for the needs of Physicians and Dentists. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - March 9, 1936 clipping]
FAIRBANKS, MORSE & CO
Freeport Plant: In 1942, Fairbanks, Morse & Co. leased from the United States Government (and subsequently purchased) a plant in Freeport, Illinois which had previously been the Stover Manufacturing Company. The immediate use of this plant was to supplement production of opposed-piston diesel engines manufactured at nearby Beloit, Wisconsin, and under great demand by the military services. Since the war, the Freeport plant has been extensively retooled to specialize in the manufacture of electrical equipment. Here is built the axial air gap motor, and the complete Fairbanks-Morse line of conventional motors in the smaller ratings. Here is located the Company's largest research facility for development engineering on new electrical machinery. "Fairbanks-Morse A Name Worth Remembering" undated booklet, about 1950? [Contributed by Karen Fyock]
FREEPORT AGENCY AND LOAN CO
Here's Plan of the Freeport Agency & Loan Co.
To Assist Any Citizen of Freeport Who Wishes to Buy a Home
It seems that for some reason or other the majority of people are not familiar with the Freeport Agency & Loan Co. proposition. Here it is: The Freeport Agency and Loan Co. is a corporation that was organized May 7, 1920, for the sole purpose of relieving the housing situation in Freeport, and the whole community should stand back of the movement from a civic interest. We all know the serious condition that exists as to the lack of homes, to house those who deserve to come here and make this city their pace to reside and therefore help in the growth of Freeport. The various manufacturing interests have subscribed for a proportion of the stock in the Freeport Agency & Loan Company, as have doctors, bankers and business men. The total amount of stock subscribed to date is $72,600 and it is desired that the balance, $27,400, be subscribed at once. This subscription is not a donation but an investment on which the company expects to pay a dividend as well as solve the housing situation. Now as to the method of obtaining these houses, which are to be sod and financed through the Freeport Agency & Loan Company: There are a number of public spirited men who have pledged their money or credit to build one or more houses under the R. G. Hancock plan, which enables the building of the house at actual cost and a reduced cost, as we all know that building and buying in quantity, say twenty or thirty houses, gives one the benefit of carload shipments. The style of houses that R. G Hancock & Co. build were inspected by a committee of three gentlemen who visited Rockford, Beloit, Delevan and Elkhorn and came home very enthusiastic and much pleased with what they saw and learned about the construction from cellar to roof, and interior finish and decoration as well as exterior appearance, of their style of houses. The company is willing to co-operate in every way possible with the local labor contractors and dealers in all lines of material, and it seems that they will become an asset to the community instead of a competitor. "We must have immediate action if we wish to see immediate results, and with this experienced organization of R. G. Hancock & Co. to go ahead with these houses every man, woman and child should and will benefit," said an officer of the company today. "Now, then; after these twenty or more houses are completed and one of those interested parties who desires to buy a home makes his selection of the house he wants or should he show an immediate desire for a particular location, we will try and locate a lot and build a home in the desired location; or if any one has a lot he wishes to use the said lot will be built on. "We have upwards of 100 plans of different kinds of houses to select from and Mr. Frank M. Keck, the general manager of the Freeport Agency & Loan Co., with offices at 92 Stephenson street, third floor front over the Electric Light Co. office will be pleased to go into details on this subject. Now, the third step: the purchaser of a home should have at least 10 or 15 per cent of the total cost of a house to pay down when said house is purchased, then the Freeport Agency & Loan Co. will assist the said purchaser in financing the proposition." Contributed by Karen Fyock (8 July 1920 Clipping)
Dirksen Filigree was a business that operated in Freeport from the 1880's to 1908
DORMAN & CO
Henry Dorman Retires From Dorman & Co. (Change in Old Firm)
C. E. Brubaker Purchases His Interest
A change in one of the oldest business houses in Freeport goes into effect today, Henry Dorman, the well known head of Dorman & Co., wholesale and retail dealers in agricultural implements and vehicles, retires, his interest having been purchased by C. E. Brubaker, late manager at Ennega & Wagner's. Mr. Dorman retires on account of ill health. In addition he has well earned a rest, having been in the implement and livery business in Freeport for thirty-four years. Four years ago Dorman & Co. added a wholesale department to their trade. Two years ago the firm built a large storage warehouse at the foot of Douglas avenue. The firm's business has rapidly increased. It now employs three traveling men and expects to increase this force. Northern Illinois, southern Wisconsin and part of Iowa are covered. Mr. Brubaker was formerly with the Bartlett Hardware company and with the Freeport Hardware company. He is one of the foremost of the young business men of the community. The members of the new firm are H. F. Dorman, J. Fred Smith and C. E. Brubaker. The two first named are also prominent young business men with, in addition, a large experience in this particular line of trade. [Contributed by Karen Fyock -- May 24, 1906 clipping
E & W CLOTHING
E. & W. Observing 45th Anniversary of Its Founding
Firm Announces Large Sale in Celebration of Its "Birthday"
The 45th anniversary of the founding of the E. & W. Clothing house in the city of Freeport is being observed by the firm in an anniversary sale which begins tomorrow. The E. &. W. firm, was founded in 1889 by George Ennenga, father of the two Ennenga brothers, Oscar and Edwin, who today are president and treasurer and manager, respectively, in carrying on the family name and traditions along mercantile lines. Fred Wagner, grandfather of the present owners, became associated with the concern in 1891, which represented the name E. & W. as a combination of the family names of Ennenga and Wagner. The beginning of the establishment was a modest one and the store room occupied was a small one located in the east half of the present main floor of the building. Later space was doubled, giving a larger frontage on Main street. Remodeling and improvements furnished additional room during later years, until today the establishment occupies two floors and basement, and gives employment to twenty-four persons. Oscar Ennenga, president, in commenting on the 45th anniversary today, said: "We are glad to be able to say that after nearly half a century our store is completely home-owned and that we are celebrating our anniversary in the very best physical and financial condition that we have experienced in our years in business. This has been made possible through the co-operation of our patrons, many of whom are still customers after forty-five years of shopping acquaintance. In view of this fact we are enthusiastic over the future and believe that the recent crisis in mercantile as well as other lines of business and retail endeavor is being overcome and we are hopeful of a bright future for business in general. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - April 18, 1934 clipping]
The E. & W CLOTHING HOUSE originated as George Ennenga Clothier on Friday April 13, 1889 on Galena Street now known as Main Street with an original capitalization of $850. After two years the business was so successful that its assets totaled $3000. Frederick Wagner, George's father-in-law, entered the business with $3000 as an equal partner and the business was renamed Ennenga and Wagner. the original store was twenty feet wide by sixty feet deep. After a period of growth and expansion the store was incorporated as E & W Clothing House in 1912. Upon George's death in 1917 management was assumed by his sons Oscar and Edwin. successful operations continued through the Great Depression and World War II. After World War II Edwin sold his interest to Oscar and Oscar's son Thomas Ennenga assumed active management. The store was completely remodeled in 1948. In 1957, a disastrous fire progressed from the adjoining Stukenberg's Department Store through E & W and into Leath Furniture to the East. E & W moved to a temporary location while the store was rebuilt in its old location. In 1961, the adjoining forty feet of space numbered 13 and 15 West Main Street was acquired and a building erected to double the main floor space of the store. From its beginning, E. & W has been in the forefront of modern retailing. George Ennenga opened his doors with a "one price" policy then in use only by John Wanamaker of Philadelphia, and advertised " Where a child can buy as cheaply as a man." Also featured was adequate lighting, a novelty for that day and advertising called it "the Daylight Store." With changing times E. & W was among the first to adopt open selling displays and modified self service for more efficient operation. E & W clothing House celebrated its Diamond Jubilee in 1964. It looks forward to 1989 when a century of service to the community will be marked. [Contributed by Karen Fyock -- Handwritten copy - undated]
ELITE SMART SHOP
The Elite Smart shop, a new business enterprise in Freeport, Dealing in women's apparel, will have a formal opening Saturday morning in Hotel Freeport building, South Galena avenue and West Main Street. The new business is owned by B. Fuchs, of Chicago, and will be under the management of MRs. D. W. Woolen, Stephenson Court apartments, Freeport. Mrs. Wollen has had several years experience in ready-to-wear merchandising in Kankakee, Matoon and Decatur. Mr. Fuchs has been engaged in merchandising in several State street stores, Chicago, and also with Sears, Roebuck & company. Final touches to the furnishings and other equipment to be used in the operation of the establishment are being made today, and a complete stock of merchandise is being arranged. The Elite Smart Shop will handle a complete line of dresses, coats and suits. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - March 20, 1936 clipping]
~ To The Elite-Smart Shop of Freeport will always be given the credit for having a shop that has the touch of tomorrow that is so alluring and appealing to the ladies and misses in every walk of life. It may be said that Paris creates the styles, New York approves them and this store distributes them. The Elite-Smart Shop manager, makes no pretension to the gift of prophecy yet she is able to select the styles that are in advance of the season. Thus the ladies and misses who purchase at this store have all the advanced modes that are of fine quality and will last the wearer several seasons. The ladies of our territory have that rare distinction and native intuition of how to wear clothes so that they will hang in graceful and becoming lines. They are conceded to be among the best dressed women in America and many that you see having this air of individuality have selected their clothes at this shop located in the Hotel Freeport Bldg. Here the most exclusive gowns are found; every resource is brought to bear in finding the newest as it is first sensed, in all the leading style centers. You are invited to inspect their personal selection. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - About 1938]
ENGLE & STROHM HARDWARE
Freeport's Big Fire of 73 Years Ago is Recalled
Engle & Strohm Hardware Store Destroyed By Flames in 1855
Ghosts of seventy-three years ago looked on from across the street at yesterday morning's fire and recalled a winter's night, February 19, 1855, when the Engle - Strohm Hardware company store, occupying a two-story building where the Blue Bird confectionery is now housed, was burned to the ground. Bucket brigades were the only fire-fighting forces in Freeport in those early days, but the men worked hard to save the building and its contents, yet to no avail. Tobias Engle, the father of Albert and Tobias Engle, was one of the partners in the ill-fated store and vividly describes the night's work and the fire are often recalled. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - Freeport Journal Standard February 22, 1928
FREEPORT BEAUTY SERVICE
A new business, to be known as the Freeport Beauty Service, will begin operation during the coming week at 14 South Chicago avenue, in the building occupied for many years by the Bengston jewelry store. The establishment is home-owned and the six women operators are on a strictly co-operative basis, all sharing in the profits of the concern. Finished in light tan and brown, with furnishings of a corresponding hue and of chromium, the interior of the place will be pleasing to patrons in its arrangement and design. The equipment will include the latest in modern beauty appliances. Only soft water will be used. Six booths and eight driers comprise a part of the equipment, with innovations to be announced at the date of opening. [Contributed by Karen Fyock -- May 24, 1934 clipping]
FREEPORT GLASS COMPANY
At the Freeport Glass Co., at 23 E. Main in Freeport will be found the most up-to-date mirrors for console, buffet and many other uses. There is nothing that adds so much to the beauty of a room as does a beautiful mirror well placed. They also feature plate, window, auto and safety glass of all kinds. They have a well equipped establishment and offer a complete service in their line. The quality of their merchandise and the completeness of their service is the outstanding feature of this organization. If you are planning on building any kind of building or home, have them see your specifications and give you an estimate. Their quality and prices will give you a pleasant surprise and you will be more than pleased with their satisfactory work. We wish to point with pride to their excellent work and their large and growing business. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - About 1938]
FREEPORT MILLWORK COMPANY
This part of the state has produced no firm that has been more beneficial to its continued progress and development than this well known millwork factory located in Freeport at 1515 S. West Ave., Ph. Main 588. It has been very busy in the relief of the housing shortage and thus has been a beneficial factor in the life of the community. The millwork is in charge of an authority on interior work. In forms of millwork the greatest accuracy is practiced and they are able to get anything you desire or will furnish you with both ideas and the goods. Their work has gone into some of the largest buildings in this part of the state. They specialize in built-in cabinet works, cupboards, screens, doors, frames, windows and partition work. Service is a feature of this plant. When you order, whether in person or by phone, you will find that you will get exactly what you order in good time and will not be bothered by having to send it back or be inconvenienced in any way. We desire to compliment the management of this well known establishment upon the position occupied in the business world and to refer it to our readers when desiring to transact business with efficiency, courtesy and service. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - About 1938]
HALE'S COMFORT SHOP
Only licensed operators are employed at Hale's Comfort Shop, 111 1/2 West Stephenson street, owned by Mrs. Caroline Hale, who has been engaged in business in Freeport for the past thirty years. The Hale Comfort Shop, which is well known in this city, specializes in chiropody, shampooing, marcelling, scalp and facial treatments in a manner which is entirely to the satisfaction of its patrons. This beauty parlor is equipped to do facial work, such as taking care of various kinds of trouble with the skin, oily or dry condition. Treatments are given with high grades of oils to improve the condition of the scalp, while similar treatments are given to improve and restore the growth of hair, which Mrs. Hale declares, becomes dry and brittle after it has hone through the process of a permanent wave. These hot oil treatments says Mrs. Hale give nourishment to the hair as well as giving it renewed life. The Hale Comfort Shop is also equipped to give all kinds of electrical treatments for the face and scalp, this feature keeping the scalp in good condition as well as stimulating the growth of hair. Those who feel the desire to keeping their hair in a healthy condition should visit the Hale Comfort Shop at 117 1/2 West Stephenson street where its patrons will have the services of operators experienced in marcelling, scalp and facial treatment. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - Undated clipping]
HIGHLAND PARK AMUSEMENT
Highland Park was a privately-owned amusement park (1910 era) located southwest of the intersection of West Stephenson Street and South Park Boulevard. There was a roller coaster, a merry-go-round, pool hall, movie house and concession stands. At one time Dr. Poling donated some of the animals he had in his private zoo to Highland Park. In 1918 those animals went into the zoo being established in Krape Park. Highland Park was abandoned as Krape Park grew in popularity. [ - contributed by Karen Hutmacher]
HECHT'S READY TO WEAR
Max Hecht, proprietor of Hecht's ready-to-wear store, West Stephenson street, today returned from New York where he has been purchasing extensive early spring stocks. Mr. Hecht declares the new styles are more beautiful than ever before, that New York manufacturers are looking forward to the greatest spring season of all. [February 20, 1928]
The Howard Rosenstiel building, 11 West Stephenson street, not only has a new front but was rebuilt into an attractive store for the Hecht's ready-to-wear. This, too, was done at an expenditure of $10,000 or more. [January 11, 1933]
Mr. and Mrs. Max Hecht, Park boulevard, have returned from the west coast. They visited Mr. Hecht's brother in Las Vegas, Nev., and bought spring goods for the Max Hecht's Ready-to-Wear store. [February 6, 1948; submitted by Karen Fyock]
C.F. HILDRETH COMPANY
Service is not determined by the activities of any organization over only a limited period of time. It takes years, and many of them, to arrive at any sort of valuation. Since 1893 the C. F. Hildreth Company has been serving this community in a constructive manner. Dealing in real estate, loans and insurance, it has intimately witnessed the growth of the community during the last 33 years. During that time it has transacted business for thousands of clients and personally has handled much of the best residence property of the city. Because of its plan of financing clients in need of aid, it has enabled many prospective home-owners to become actual home-owners, thereby proving itself a constructive force in the community. In an effort to serve the people, this company, through its unique policies, has enabled men of very limited capital to secure permanent homes. No one has been turned away when sincere in a desire to have a home. Rather they have been helped and encouraged in a very unusual way with the same attention given the man of small means as that given the man of more affluent circumstances. Those who have had business associations with the C. F. Hildreth Company will attest the truth of this. For there have been many cases where homes have been sold on small payments where, because of reasons of sickness or other misfortune, payments have been temporarily stopped. And in each instance clients have been given abundant time in which to make up back payments. That this company has contributed generously to the upbuilding of the city is not to be doubted. Hundreds of Freeport homes, both modestly priced and the more costly ones, are material proof of its community benefit. While it has willingly financed some of the finer homes, it has more particularly sought to be helpful to the man of small income, by loaning capital at a reasonable margin of interest and arranging a schedule of payments so small and liberal as to represent amounts only slightly larger than actual rent. It should not be forgotten that while the C. F. Hildreth company has been unusually active in the field of real estate and loans, it has also been active in the sale of insurance, serving some of the finer and older insurance organizations as local representative. All kinds of insurance are available. Those who have been insured by this company and later sustained losses covered by their policies, have only words of satisfaction to express for adjustments made. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - 1928 clipping]
HOUSE of LINDBERG
The House of Lindberg, 201-207 West Main street, will hold open house Thursday and Friday night this week from 7 to 9 o'clock, offering people of Freeport and vicinity an opportunity to visit the new "model house" display rooms which cover the second floor of the building, where the Wishmaker's 18th century ensemble will be exhibited. Freeport is the only city in Illinois, except Chicago, in which the Wishmaker's "house" with its 1500 or more articles for parlor, living room, dining room, bedroom, bathroom, and boudoir, may be seen in a harmonious, decorative setting, showing authentic 18th century reproductions and using as a backgound artistic combinations of seven basic colors, York yellow, Garrick green, Abbey stone, Mayfair mauve, Romney rose, Bristol blue and Thames tan. Flattering draperies, rugs, lamps, linens, china, accessories and wallpapers in one or more of the seven colors, or fused in various harmonious effects, are installed in the rooms. Paneled scenic paper, brocaded damask on the chairs, striking cretonnes, Wedgewood plaques, chintz with a classic motif, formal velveteen, stately urns, antique velvets, gilded mirrors may be coordinated in artistic effects to accent the 18th century atmosphere. Exquisite pieces of furniture displayed include reproductions of Chippendale, Sheraton, Adam, Lawson, Pembroke Queen Anne and ladder back chairs, tables, sofas and cabinets, all adaptable to one's home. On rows of glass shelves are Chinese figurines, twin lamps, urn lamps, tole urns, ivory ware tea services, stemware, hand-colored Watteau prints, dinnerware, steeplechase prints and sunburst clocks. Miss Marion Rice is manager of the Wishmaker's house, her assistant being Mrs. William Newberger, C. E. Lindberg, Rockford, president of the House of Lindberg, will be in Freeport both Thursday and Friday evenings for the open house. Otto E. Landgraf, general manager of the Freeport store, George Price and Kenneth Raih, of the sales department will be on hand to assist in directing the people who come to see the display. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - September 16, 194___ clipping]
1910 Newspaper Ad: Freeport Passengers are here reminded of the Central's frequent and efficient train service to and from Chicago, arriving and leaving same station with no change or inconvenience whatever. Omnibus transfer eliminated. Delightful rest rooms for the ladies in I. C. Central Station of Lake Front. Separate smoking quarters for the gentlemen. [submitted by Karen Fyock]
J.D. STROHM COMPANY
Cedarville IL: The J.D. Strohm Company was owned by John D. Strohm, son of Isaac & Sarah (Jackson) Strohm. He was born in May 1866, Cedarville, Stephenson Co IL. John was married to Ida Ellen Diemer 30 November 1892 in Stephenson County. Their family consisted of two daughters Corrall Marie and Leila Strohm. The 1910 Census shows John & Ida in Winslow and by 1920 they are in Buckeye Township, Cedarville Village. John is the owner of a Butcher Shop / General Store. This remained his occupation through 1930 at which time he was 63 years old.
KAHL APPLIANCE COMPANY
The Kahl Appliance company is celebrating its 10th anniversary during the present month. Larry Kahl started in business in June of 1939 with a trailer as his first store, traveling the country roads to bring bottle gas to homes beyond the gas mains. The first little store and warehouse was in the old Brubaker cement company building, now the site of the Henney assembly plant. In the fall of 1939, the business moved to a small store on South State avenue. Two years later the need for larger quarters was met by moving to 122 East Stephenson street, and outgrowing the ground floor location, the company now utilizes three floors. In 1945, Mr. Kahl organized the K-L Gas division of the Kahl Appliance company and enlarged its service department and during the war received necessary priorities for steel for cylinders and regulating equipment for K-L gas. Today more than 5,000 persons eat food cooked with K-L gas, and the red and yellow trucks are familiar sights over a 40 mile radius. During the celebration the Kahl organization is holding open house and home service directors of four companies are aiding in this event. Free gifts will be distributed to all who attend. One of the special features of the 10th anniversary celebration will be the presence of Nancy Butler, home economist for the Hotpoint company June 6 to 11th. Miss Butler, a graduate of the University of Illinois and a former high school cooking instructress, is also widely known for her timely articles that have appeared in many trade journals. In achieving a minimum cooking time, Miss Butler uses the latest model pushbutton range. She then disposes of the tiresome task of washing and drying dishes and utensils with the latest automatic dishwasher. Her recipes and refreshing menus can be prepared in less than one quarter of the time the average housewife spends in her kitchen and Miss Butler makes a practice of having enough copies available for everyone present at her demonstrations. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - June 4, 1949 clipping]
DR. WILLIAM L. KARCHER
Dr. William L. Karcher, who was associated in business with the late Dr. Firestone, has purchased the equipment of the office and taken over the business which he will maintain as before. Dr. Karcher will take in an assistant in the near future, and the same office and nursing staff will be retained. Dr. Karcher is one of the city's promising young physicians and has built up a large patronage by his ability and courtesy. In addition he is a very pleasing young man and has legions of friends. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - January 11, 1907 clipping]
JOHN KNOBEL & SON
John Knobel & Son are moving their commission business from the building occupied for the past two and a half years at the corner of Chicago and Exchange streets to the three story structure formerly occupied by the Buss Barn company. F. Kornblith, the successor to Six-...... will occupy the building vacated by Knobel & Son the first of the month. As soon as complete removal has been effected by the latter firm, Mr. Kornblith will begin remodeling the interior and exterior of the building with a view of establishing the largest and most completely equipped tailoring establishment in the city. The growth of his business necessitates larger and more modern quarters as does that of Knobel & son. Both firms have gone rapidly, forward during the past 18 months. Mr. Kornblith's plans for improving the structure he has leased will unquestionably give the neighborhood a considerably changed appearance. He will occupy the entire ground floor. Knobel & Son have long required additional floor space, being forced some time ago to make use of room outside of the building at Chicago and Exchange streets. The firm has leased the front half of the entire ground floor and the two floors above. [July 22, 1920 Clipping; Submitted By Karen Fyock]
KRAFT CHEESE CO.
"CHEESE HAS BEEN MADE SINCE BIBLE TIMES," according to John H. Kraft, assistant general manager of the J. L. Kraft & Brothers company, who will speak before a meeting of young Business Men's association at the Nelson hotel Tuesday evening.
"It remained for the Kraft company to improve old methods by pasteurization and packing in tins so that cheese can now be kept indefinitely without spoiling." he says. "More than that, the company perfected the idea of cheese in packages which could be handled successfully and profitably by the merchant and woold have an irresistible appeal to the consumer." The speaker is the youngest of eight brothers who have built up a business, started in 1912 with a one horse wagon, to the place where they are now considered the "Cheese purveyors to the World." Last year it did a $22,000,000 business. Plans have been completed for the spring party, to be given to wives and guests, sometime in June, which will close the first half of the association's work for 1923. [Sunday, May 6, 1923 Paper: Morning Star (Rockford, Illinois) Page: 2]
KRAFT/PHENIX CHEESE CORP
A contract for a new building, which will house a shipping department and heating plant of the Kraft-Phenix Cheese corporation, to be erected on the south part of the property at 323 East Stephenson street, to cost $125,000, and which will also include a five-story cold storage plant, has been awarded to the Campbell, Lowrie, Lautermilch corporation, Chicago. Equipment will cost approximately the same sum as expended for construction, and it is anticipated that the new building will be completed by July 1. This will give the local plant one of the largest and best equipped factories in the chain and will allow for further increased storage of finished products, adding to the local employment situation. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - March 21, 1936 clipping]
EXPANSION OF PLANT MAPPED
Cheese Factory Work Will Cost $50,000 At Freeport Freeport, Jan. 20 - A $50,000 improvement and expansion program for the Freeport branch of: the Kraft-Phenix Cheese corporation was announced tonight by, Martin J. Dorst, local manager. Work on the program, which will include the remodeling of a one-; story building - at the rear of the Kraft-Phenix main building into a refrigerated storage unit and the creation of recreational quarters for employes in the main building, will be started next week, Mr. Dorst said. The work will be supervised by Kraft-Phenix architects and engineers, but local labor will be used for the actual construction, according to Mr. Dorst. A one-story building at the rear of the Kraft-Phenix main building, 323 East Stephenson street, has been leased from J. Fred smith of Freeport and will be entirely remodeled so that between 4,000,000 and 5,000,000 pounds of cheese may be stored in it. Three rooms will be constructed in the building, which at present is unoccupied. Partitions will be lined with a two-inch thickness of cork and floors will be constructed of cork material with a cement top. The three rooms will be refrigerated and part of the building will be used as receiving quarters. A combination gymnasium-auditorium for use of employes will be created at a cost of between $4,000 and $6,000 in the main building. An extensive athletic program is being arranged for employes. Mr. Dorst said.
S.S. KRESGE COMPANY
The new S. S. Kresge company store, located at 27-29 West Stephenson street, in the building erected by the company especially to house its Freeport place of business, will be formally opened at 9 o'clock tomorrow morning. THe store is in charge of D. E. Landes, as manager, and H. C. Johnson, as assistant manager. Mr. Landes has been with the Kresge company for the past four and one-half years, coming here from Madison, Wis., while Mr. Johnson has served two and one-half years with the company in Chicago. A force of fifty young women clerks will be on hand for the formal opening of the store Saturday morning. The Freeport store is the 509th store opened in the United States by the S. S. Kresge company. The local place is very nicely furnished throughout the arrangements being such as to afford the greatest possible convenience to both patrons and employees. The ground floor is used for the store purposes, the company andling 5, 10, and 25 cents articles in this store. The basement of the bulding is used as a stock room. January 4, 1929 (This store was locally known as the Upper Kresge's because there was another Kresge store on the east end of the same block.) [Contributed by Karen Fyock - March 21, 1936 clipping]
After doing business at the same location for a period of 64 years, the Lichtenberger Bros. meat market, 18 South Chicago avenue, goes out of business today and the location will be taken over by the Jerrold company, dealers in men's clothing and now located at 3 East Stephenson street. The discontinuing of the business of the Lichtenberger firm marks the passing of one of the pioneer business places of Freeport. Established in 1886 by the late Henry and George Lichtenberger, under the firm name of Lichtenberger Bros., it continues until today, the proprietor, A. F. Lichtenberger, having decided to close out his business due to the fact that he had been ill for the past several months and felt that the continuation of business would be an injustice to himself and his family. In 1907 the business was taken over by A. F. and William Lichtenberger, brothers, and the original firm name was retained. It was conducted in this manner until the death of William Lichtenberger, a few years ago, after which A. F. Lichtenberger remained in charge of the place. While the latter is recovering his health, he has announced that he will retire from active business, at least temporarily, after 23 years of service to the public. For many years the Lichtenberger market was one of the best known markets in the city, their business having been founded on honesty and fair dealing which enabled it to continue for such a long period of years. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - February 1, 1930 clipping]
Grand Opening of New Location - July 2-10, 1955
The corner site (northeast corner of East Main and South State) which originally was the location of the Palace Garage is now the new home of the Freeport Lincoln-Mercury Co. The building, modern in every detail is one of the largest in this area. The three floors can accommodate 275 cars. (Designed by Cheeseman Const. Co. of Freeport)
Owner - Gene Marchesi
General Manager - Tony Pizzolato
Office Manager - Paul DiModica
Service Manager - Laverne Bocker
Parts Manager - Harold Lausch [Contributed by Karen Fyock
LUTZ MOTOR COMPANY
The Lutz Motor company has been named as the distributor for Studebaker cars in Freeport and vicinity. The line now comprises ten models with five types each in the "President" and Dictator." manufactured by the Studebaker organization. The local representation of this make of car through the Lutz company furnishes owners of Studebakers with an opportunity to obtain complete service. Other makes of automobiles and trucks also will be serviced through the double place of business maintained by the Lutz Motor company, one at 115 North Galena avenue, where the cars are displayed, and the other the filling station next door, at North Galena avenue and West Exchange street, where the Sinclair brands of gasoline and oil are handled. Both locations are on highway U. S. 20, just north of the court house square. Under a new arrangement in service hours, which will become effective later, motorists will be able to receive attention at one or both of the two Lutz places of business 24 hours a day. Z. E. Lutz, who for 12 years was local distributor for the Ford Motor Company, is proprietor of the two establishments. He is well known to motorists within a wide trade area. William Mook is chief mechanic of the shop and Clinton Daacon is manager of the filling station. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - March 5, 1936]
THE MANNY REAPER COMPANY
Contributed by Beverly Burnais
Pells Manny was a pioneer manufacturer of Stephenson County. His work and fame and the services of his inventive genius was too great to be confined to one county, and the world over his name stands far, towards the head of the list of early inventors and manufacturers of reapers. It is said that he got his idea of the Manny reaper from reading a description of a machine used by the Gauls over 350 years ago. His first machine was one which cut off the heads of the grain. After much experimenting, he produced the Manny reaper which soon supplanted the header. The new invention struck the rocky roads encountered by most inventions. It required time and labor and over $20,000 to perfect the machine so that it would work successfully. This was accomplished in 1852 and in 1853. Mr. Manny's son, J.N. Manny, began the manufacture of reapers in Rockford. In 1856 the Mannys established a factory in Freeport. The company found a great demand for its product and the annual output soon rose to several thousands. In 1857 the Freeport factory run by Mr. Manny manufactured reapers, hay presses, and the Manny Subsoil Plow. The Freeport booklet (Boss & Burrought's) 1857, says that the Manny Company had enough orders ahead that year to make it necessary to employ from 250 to 400 men. It was believed that this company alone would increase the population of Freeport 1,200 to 2,000.
METAL SPECIALTIES: The Metal Specialties company, one of the pioneers in northern Illinois in rebuilding wrecked cars, is observing its 25th anniversary. The company is offering free safety-lace check for cars Tuesday through Friday this week as part of its celebration. The company was founded in 1924 by the late C. E. McCool, and from the first specialized in rebuilding smashed cars and trucks. This phase of the business originally was largely woodworking, as little metal was used in car bodies 25 years ago, and a mechanical jack was the only specialized tool of the trade. A metal parts department made fenders, running boards and other parts for the Stephens Motor Car company, makers of the one-time "Stephens Salient Six." The Metal Specialties company claims another "pioneer" record - from the first, the business was departmentalized, certain workers handling the woodworking, others the metal working, others the painting and trim-and-glass departments. The modern business of rebuilding wrecks was progressed from the jack, hammer and saw days to the use of all kinds of specialized machinery, including hydraulic presses to press bodies and frames back into shape, and frame machines for checking alignment after straightening. The company is an official safety lane station for the state of Illinois for checking trucks and trailers, and an official service station for the Chicago Motor club. The business was originally located on East Stephenson street on property now incorporated in the Kraft factory site. From there it moved to the Henney building. In 1946, when its new building operations started, the company moved into temporary quarters with the Freeport Motor Sales. The building at 406 South Adams avenue, four blocks south of Stephenson street, completed in 1947, is owned by Mrs. F. D. Eastman, mother of C. P. McCool and R. J. McCool, who own and operated the business their father founded. C.P. McCool has been with the company since 1930 and R. J. McCool since 1937 except while in military service. The company employs about 20 persons. John A. Johnson, 828 West Homer street, has been with the Motor Specialties company since it started operations 25 years ago. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - June 13, 1949 clipping]
Some background of Pells Manny
Born 17 August 1802 Amsterdam, Montgomery Co NY
Died 12 September 1883 Freeport, Stephenson Co IL. Burial Waddams Grove
Married Sarah Swart 16 February 1825 St. George Episcopal Church Schenectady, NY
She was born 25 March 1804 in NY the daughter of Josiah J. & Elizabeth (DeGraff) Swart. She died 24 September 1854 in IL
John Henry Manny 28 November 1825
Josiah Manny 8 September 1827 in Amsterdam, Montgomery Co, NY
Eliza Manny 27 November 1829 in Amsterdam, Montgomery Co, NY
Rebecca Ann Manny 2 May 1832 in Amsterdam, Montgomery Co, NY
Gabriel Manny 2 June 1835 in Amsterdam, Montgomery Co, NY
He married the second time on 23 August 1860 to Magdalene A. Marselus (7 September 1816 - 20 December 1873)
MICHEL'S SHOE AND ZIPPER REPAIR
Michel shows that, at 90, the shoe still fits
by Tara Baer - Journal-Standard
Cut-out figures of shoes hang in the window. The smell of shoe polish lingers. An energetic man hops from corner to corner, working magic on the shoes he's reparing. Watching him gracefully put on new soles, and mischievously pull practical jokes on his customers, it's hard to believe the owner of Michel's Shoe and Zipper Repair turns 90 today. Clem Michael has more to celebrate than his birthday. His shop, which he opened in 1920, still keeps him busy and he has no plans to retire. In 2001 I'll be 100. Then I'll quit. My wife says I'm nuts, I guess I am," Michel said, tilting his head and laughing. "I like the work. I just like people." In the early days, Michel worked 15 hours a day. That lasted 30 years before he cut his workload down to seven hours per day. Now at 90, Michel works a six-hour day at a bustling speed. He complains that people are always in a hurry. Meanwhile, he's seen the demand in Freeport for shoe repairs drop. In 1920 he'd do nine a day. Now he does about three. "Oh, its not like it was. There's too many tennis shoes," Michel said. Another reason for the recline in demand, Michel said, is that people are more wasteful today. People now would rather throw away shoes than have them repaired, he said. People throw their money away," he said. "They'll pay for it in the end." "Look at this, " Michel said, pointing to a modern dress shoe. "It's nothing but a hunk of rubber. It can't be repaired." Michel doesn't let his age get in the way of a little fun. Michel demonstrated one of his favorite jokes. He picked up a phone and started jabbering. Handing the phone to an invisible customer, Michael said "the phone's for you." He started laughing and said, "You damn fool. This phone is dead." He then placed the obviously toy phone back on his desk. Michel then turned his head toward a plastic plant. Whistling, the battery-powered plant jerked from side-to-side. Michel's eyes became slits as he slapped his leg and laughed. Michel turned towards another one of his toys, pointing out his sign that reads - "No credit to skiers or drunks." A customer walked into the store. Michel grinned as though he couldn't wait to tease the customer. "Here's a pen," he said, throwing a pen at a customer and marching to get the shoes. As his customer wrote the check, Michel rans around the counter and attached a sticker to her back. He laughed and removed it. As she left, Michel yelled "See you later" and returned to his post among clamps and shoe horns. The fiesty old man returned to putting life into worn out shoes. As he did, one couldn't help but feel he was planning his next prank.
M.L. MILLER SALES CO
"We serve Our Patrons" are the words which greet those who buy automobiles and automobile trucks from the M. L. Miller Sales Company, located at the corner of East Exchange street and North State avenue. Starting in 1920 as a one man sales agency located in small quarters the M. L. Miller Sales Company has grown and expanded until it has now reached a stage where it is an organization composed of 24 employees housed in two buildings with a combined floor space of 28,800 square feet. Engaged in the selling of automobiles and automotive trucks and M. L. Miller Sales Company is adequately equipped to give every possible attention to those who wish the best of service in the line of automobile repair work. The main offices of the M. L. Miller Sales company are located in the building at the corner of East Exchange street and North State avenue. Upon entering this building one steps into the beautiful show room where an attractive display of automobiles such as coupes, sedans and other types of cars, representing the designing and construction ingenuity of automotive engineers, may be seen. It is the police of the M. L. Miller Sales Company to render every service which the motoring public demands. Not only does the automobile sales company take pleasure in selling automobiles but the patron receives the same courteous treatment and attention when he desires service on his car. Many special tools and machinery costing upwards of $3,000 compose the equipment which is used to make repairs and adjustments on automobiles which have been purchased from the M. L. Miller Sales Company, while various parts valued at $10,000 are carried in the repair stock department. This feature alone means a great deal and is a distinct advantage to the owner of an automobile or automobile truck purchased from the M. L. Miller Sales Company.
In addition to a large stock of repair parts the company has a line of auto accessories, such as tires, tubes, spot lights, mirrors, conveniences for the family car together with a line of gasoline, lubricating oils and greases. These features together with a modern wash rack, equipped with the well known Curtis air washing machine, operated under pressure in such a manner that it does not harm the finish on a car, make the M. L. Miller Sales Company one of the most modern garages in northern Illinois. This company also maintains a thoroughly modern paint shop equipped with the latest deices known with which automobiles may be painted and finished in a manner similar to the original finish of a car. A lacquer outfit is used to spray on the paint in the same manner it is done at the factory when the car is built. Cars may be refinished either with the lacquer or by the use of brush. This particular department is in charge of Howard Herrick, who has had many years experience in the line of automobile painting and finishing. The repair shop, which is equipped with modern machinery and special tools used in automobile work, is in charge of Walter Kieckhoefer, a mechanic who has spent his entire life in automobile work and is familiar with all departments of a car. He has been associated with the M. L. Miller Sales Company for the past five years. The sales department of the M. L. Miller Company is in charge of Edward Engelhardt, well known Freeport man who was formerly in charge of the inspection and repair department of the Stephens Motor company. The M. L. Miller Sales Company has had the Dodge Brothers contract since 1920 and since that time has sold many cars manufactured by the Dodge Company which have given great pleasure to their owners throughout this section of the state. The Dodge line includes the New Six, the Senior Six, many other beautiful, and attractive cars together with trucks ranging in capacity from a one-half ton to three ton trucks. The M. L. Miller Sales Company also have the Plymouth contract, one of the products of Chrysler Motors, one of the largest automotive industries in the United States. When interested in an automobile of the latest design and construction do not fail to call on the M. L. Miller Sales Company where motorists are always greeted with courtesy and receive the assurance of "Service to Patrons." [Contributed by Karen Fyock - September 9, 1929 clipping]
NOESKE BROTHERS - PALACE GARAGE
It is with a good deal of satisfaction that Noeske Brothers, proprietors of the Palace Garage, who today are celebrating their first anniversary of their business, look back upon the past year. Success far beyond what they had hoped for has come to them and on the threshold of their second year prospects are indeed pleasing to them. It was in July, 1919, just one year ago this month that two brothers, Chas. E. Noeske, then employed in this city, and Benj. E. Noeske, who had returned from army service but a short time previous formed a partnership as Noeske Bros., to operate a garage and deal in automobiles, tires and accessories. What is known as the Palace Garage, located at the corner of Galena and Mechanic streets, was taken over by them, remodeled, enlarged and opened to the public with a guarantee of first class service in every particular. By following out this policy and by working hard and paying close attention to business the Noeske Brothers have built up and are enjoying a fine growing business and have won the confidence of the automobile trade. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - July 1920 clipping]
Tomorrow will be open house at Noeske Brothers new garage, 207-217 South Galena Avenue. The place will be thrown open to the public for inspection when formal dedication will be made. Although Noeske Brothers have been housed in the new building since mid-December, the work of installing the last of the fine modern equipment and the business of getting settled has prevented a formal opening previously. But now with everything complete and business moving along a well organized channel, a formal opening of the building, costing together with equipment, $125,000, will be staged. And the invitation that Noeske Bros. extend to the public to visit the new building is open to everyone. Considering the frequent changes that come about among car distributors, Noeske Brothers may be considered an old established business. It was organized about 12 years ago by Charles E. and Benjamin Noeske. Until recently the business was housed in the Otto building at 10-16 West Exchange Street. Prior to that time it occupied the old Palace Garage, corner of East Main street and South State avenue. The new building housing Noeske Brothers was built specially for them by Anton Billerbeck who, for a long time, has owned the property. It was planned to meet the growing needs of the business. It is a two story structure of concrete and buff pressed brick. The ground floor is used for display and sales rooms for Wily-Knight and Whippet and the DeSoto lines for which Noeske Brothers are distributors. Still another department is maintained on the ground floor, in addition to the business offices, a tire department that features Seiberling and Goodyear tires. To the rear of the sales and display rooms are servicing rooms, workshops for car repairs, etc., while the entire second floor, reached by a curved concrete ramp, is devoted almost exclusively to car storage. The building is fire-proof. Not only is the building modern in every detail of construction, but it is most modernly equipped with the newest mechanical features that could be bought. At the entrance of the main floor is a Weaver wheel alignment machine, that records just how perfectly or imperfectly aligned the wheels of a car are by merely driving upon it. The whole operation of testing requires less than a minute of time. In the work shops a Reiss brake testing machine has been installed, the Weaver washing system in the wash room, while a Heintz all electric tire vulcanizer is to be found in the tire servicing department. All this equipment, together with other small items, was purchased from the Schact-Tuck Company with headquarters in the Henney building. The petroleum products of the Johnson High Test Oil company will be featured exclusive by Noeske Brothers at their new garage. These are Hi-Duty and Jonsunite motor oils, greases, and Jonsunite True Gasoline. In view of the fact that Noeske Brothers new garage will be open all night, users of the Jonsunite line are assured of having these petroleum products available at all times. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - January 14, 1930 clipping]
NORTHERN APPLIANCE CO.
Today through Monday is grand opening for the new quarters of the Northern Appliance Co. at 16-18 West Main street. It is the former location of Stukenberg's department store. Grand opening features include two daily performances by Anne Jones, singer and composer of western ballads. The interior of the building has been redecorated and displays a complete line of appliances. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - October 12, 1949 clipping]
NORTH RIDGE BRUSH COMPANY
North-Ridge Brush Company to Build $200,000 Factory ~ Construction of Large Modern Fire-Proof Plant Next Year Decided On ~ Buckley Site on Exchange Street To Be Disposed Of
New Location, With Better-Shipping Facilities, to Be Purchased; Several Available
From $150,000 to $200,000 will be expended by the North Ridge Brush company in building and equipping a fire-proof manufacturing and office building, to be erected in Freeport next year. In making the foregoing announcement this morning, J. H. Nortridge, founder, owner and manager of the company, said that the site in Exchange street, known as the Buckley place, acquired two years ago, is not large enough to accommodate a structure of the size required by this rapidly growing industry.
"Our company, which has a force of 600 representatives in the United States and Canada," he said, "will need more factory room and office space to handle the business. I have decided to sell the Buckley site and shall purchase a much larger tract of land somewhere on the railroad, so as to have trackage that will eliminate heavy drayage expense. Our new plant will be complete in every detail and embody the latest approved equipment to facilitate manufacturing, assemblage and shipping. The office will be modern in every respect. When we moved the two factories to the Tuckett building, owned by Dr. Stealy, at Chicago street and Clark avenue, less than a year ago," Mr. Nortridge said, "it was thought that these quarters would serve our purpose for a time, but from the beginning the business increased so rapidly that we have been cramped for room for months." In answer to a question, Mr. Nortridge said that tentative arrangements were made two years ago to erect a building on the Exchange street property, but in sizing up the situation it was found that a site containing several times the footage of this building would be necessary.
The uncertainty of business conditions created by the war was sufficient reason to delay the building of a factory on the Buckley site. It will be recalled that Mr. Nortridge was ready to go ahead with the building. In fact, the old stone house, a land-mark for more than 65 years, was razed and excavations were made for a manufacturing plant. Mr. Nortridge is glad now that he did not build. Mr. Nortridge has in view several desirable sites in other parts of Freeport, "and it is likely," he said, "that negotiations for the purchase of one of them will be closed within the next 90 days." The North Ridge Brush company, which is less than six years old, is making remarkable progress. The first brush was manufactured in Freeport on March 1, 1914, in the Held building opposite the post office. The brush was presented to former Mayor Harry H. Stahl, then acting mayor. The beginning of the world war, soon afterward, made it difficult to secure brush-making materials, but in spite of these handicaps the company has been climbing, growing larger year by year. The company's selling force is constantly increasing. The company now maintains a training school in Chicago, in one of the finest office buildings in the loop - suite 1122 Republic building. This school is for the training salesmen as office managers and executives. Mr. Nortridge announces that distributing stations are to be placed in five central points of the United States so that one-day service can be given to salesmen anywhere in the United States and Canada. The distributing depot already established in Spokane, to serve Washington, Oregon and Idaho, is doing a thriving business and is showing increases month to month. Branch offices have been established in 15 of the larger cities and it is officially announced, that a branch office will be established in every large city in the United States and Canada. Mr. Nortridge has been searching the country for the most efficient help available, believing that the right quality of brains will build any kind of business. A number of capable men have been added to the North Ridge organization. "These men," Mr. Nortridge said, " are putting heart and soul into the work and are going at things with the regular North Ridge spirit." Mr. Nortridge is looking forward to the day when the North Ridge Brush company will be one of the big industries in Freeport. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - November 29, 1919 clipping]
THE PALMS BALLROOM
The Palms Ballroom in Freeport on S. Walnut Rd. Ph. Main 3071 is one of the wonders of this section of the state and should be visited by everyone. Its present great proportions as an amusement center are continually being added to by the management. Dancing is gaining in popularity all the time. It has been endorsed by medical authorities as being highly beneficial, and the public dance has largely succeeded the occasional gathering of yesterday. During the course of the season various entertainments are put on showing the dances of the ages and the advancement up to the present time so that people attending here keep right up to the times upon the history and technique of the art. It is conducted in such a manner that it appears to the public, the best of order invariably prevails and all that is good in dancing, is here brought out, with any other features eliminated. The leading people over this part of the state are seen here and are among the enthusiastic supporters. There is always something attractive to please the eye. In making this review we are glad to call the attention of the public to the Palms Ballroom in Freeport and to say that many pass through life and do not realize the importance of thoroughly enjoying life. They are to be congratulated upon the progressive efforts in bringing modern dancing to the fore and are doing a great work in the amusement of the people with the most advanced ideas of the day. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - Undated clipping]
F. A. Read Store's "Grand Opening" Held Nov. 3, 1877
Announces New Department Featuring Well Known Line of Merchandise - Firm Marks More Than 6 Decades of Existence - Establishment Enjoys Wide Acquaintanceship in This Territory
Sixty-one years ago, on Nov. 3, 1877, the F. A. Read company store held what was termed "a grand opening." Today, doing business only a few feet distant from where the original site of the establishment bore the name of "Seely & Read," the firm, in keeping with its program of expansion and catering to the modern needs of its patrons, announces the opening of a new department featuring the nationally known "Munsingwear" line. Although the department is modern, a glance at the records of the Read store shows that a long friendship has existed between the store and the manufacturers of this line of merchandise. The first order placed by the firm of Seeley & Read for Munsingwear merchandise was dated Nov. 11, 1892. It was taken by a Mr. Gold, now deceased, who at that time was treasurer of Munsingwear. Known among the trade as "Father" Gold, he was considered one of the foremost business builders of his time. He served his Munsingwear accounts until he was 88 years of age. On Dec. 21, 1892, an item shows that the first order for women's black underwear was placed with Munsingwear. Some of the older residents of this trade area will recall that on Dec. 29, 1892, the Seeley & Read store was destroyed by fire. All records were lost. Advised of the fire, the merchandise firm furnished duplicate invoices and also made immediate arrangements for replenishing with new stock. The Seeley & Read partnership was dissolved on Feb. 1, 1899. Since that date the store has been known at the F. A. Read Co. Today this establishment enjoys a wide acquaintanceship with patrons in northern Illinois and southern Wisconsin, and in keeping pace with the time is offering its patrons the same dependable merchandise and high quality of service which has been its policy throughout the more than half-century of its establishment. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - October 26, 1938 clipping]
New Lease Is Given To F. A. Read Company For Term of 35 Years
In a transaction concluded yesterday, the business properly at 18-20 West Stephenson street, occupied by F. A. Read and Company, was leased for a renewable term of 35 years to the F. A. Read company. The building was a part of the estate of the late F. A. Read. In order to settle that part of the estate, which is held in trust a charter was issued to the Roland Hyatt company, Freeport, incorporated for the purpose of "buying, holding, leasing, selling real estate, and dealing in all kinds of tangible property." Officers of the company are: Roland W. Hyatt, Jr., president; Marie Merck, secretary; and Roland W. Hyatt, St., vice president and treasurer, all now connected with the F.A. Read company. Although no figures were made public concerning the amount of the lease, revenue stamps on the instrument when recorded indicated that the amount involved was approximately $100,000. The F. A. Read management announced today that the transaction will not in any way affect the present policy of the company and that there will be no change in connection with the business, which was established 66 years ago and has for the greater part of that time been conducted at the present location. Elwyn R. Shaw was attorney for the newly-formed company in the transaction. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - June 17, 1943 clipping]
Read's Celebrate 72nd Anniversary Here This Week
A feeling, not only of pride, but also of challenge was expressed by Eugene A. Tetzlaff, president of the F. A. Read company addressing employees on the occasion of the 72nd anniversary of the store. At a breakfast meeting held this morning in the Garden room of the Hotel Freeport to open the 10-day celebration, Mr. Tetzlaff compared the long service of the store in the average length of life for a department store, which is considered to be seven years. He cited briefly the history of the company, which dates back to 1877 when F. A. Read bought into the dry-goods business of Cyrenus H. Seeley. It is now a part of the P. A. Bergner company, also founded by a man from this area, Peter A. Bergner, former resident of Baileyville. He was introduced by Everett D. Lyons, general manager of the store, and in turn introduced Hillis Hauser, who led community singing. Mr. Tetzlaff expressed particular pride in presenting service pins to 21 members of the group who had been with the store five or more years. Employee with the most years of service was Mr. Oscar La Grand, who has been with the company 44 years. He and the following received gold and diamond pins for 20 years or more of service: Miss Rose Mensenkamp, 40 years; Miss Dorothy Hageman,36; Miss Marie Merck, 36; Mrs. Jessie Reinert, 27; Miss Lou Schriner, 27; and Miss Ethel Stewart, 24. Receiving gold pins for 10 - 19 years service were Miss Frances Rodemeier, 15 years; Mrs. Freda Barnes, 15; Mrs. Teresa Mann, 14; Paul Wheat 13; and Mrs. Corlyn Sieferman, 11. Silver pins for five - nine years service were given to Carl Falkenau, 9 years; Mrs. Florence Yarger, 9; Mrs. Marie Glasser, 9; H.H. Prescott, 8; Everett D. Lyons, 7; Mrs. Ethel Witte, 7; Miss Elsie Pashley, 7; and Mrs. Ella Roth, 5. [Contributed by Karen Fyock (1949)]
The opening days, Saturday and Sunday of the 1934 season at the Read Park pool, found hundreds of swimmers enjoying the water, Although only one diving board was in place, and other arrangements had not been completed, the warm weather was such that park commissioners believed the public would appreciate the opportunity to bathe, even under curtailed accommodations. Last season the admission fee was waived in view of financial conditions the country over, but it has been found necessary to charge a small fee this season in order to keep the pool self-sustaining. No charge will be made at any time for persons under 15 years of age. Others will pay 15 cents. The parks were well filled Sunday by visitors and local residents, with the baseball diamond in Read Park taxed to capacity and the parking area nearby filled with cars. Until further notice the pool will be open only between the hours of 1 and 5 p.m. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - May 21, 1934 clipping]
REED & SEYER
Cedarville IL: - Purifier Manufactory - The invention of a middlings purifier, of superior excellence, is of recent date, and is due to the genius of Joseph P. Reel, a resident of Cedarville, and head of the firm of Reel & Seyer. In 1877, these gentlemen erected a building on Main Street, and having perfected the patent, began to manufacture the machine, which is rapidly attaining an extensive demand both in America and Europe. The building cost $1,100 to finish, wherein the firm employ six hands, at a weekly compensation of $60; turn out one hundred machines annually, and doa business of $30,000 per year.
Freeport is to have another new industry known as "The Salient Sales Corporation". According to the incorporation papers it is organized to sell automobiles and accessories at wholesale and retail. The incorporators have secured the selling rights for 10 counties for the Stephens Salient Six automobile, extending from Rockford to Dubuque, which will include many splendid towns for agencies and should become a very large and profitable business. Later on they expect to add more territory and extend their operations over several states. They will also add some other makes of cars to their line and do a jobbing business in automobiles, tires, batteries, chains, etc., as well as operating a repair establishment. The corporation has leased the new O. H. Wright building being erected at the corner of Stephenson and Mechanic streets, which is 63X120 feet and will have a model retain salesroom and garage.
The offices will be on the east side, facing Stephenson street, and the sales and display room west of that and extending to the corner. This will give five large windows for display purposes. The storage space for cars will be immediately back of that and partitioned off, and the repair department and work some in the extreme rear. There will also be a ladies' retiring room in the front part of the building, just off from the salesroom, that no doubt will be greatly appreciated by the lady tourists. The salesroom will have a white tile floor, brass rail around the windows, wicker settees, flower boxes and ferns, and will be beautified in other ways. Take it all together it will be one of the finest display rooms and garages in this part of the state. The retail department and garage will be in charge of Carl Jurgensmeier, one of Freeport's rising young automobile men. He has had the Cadillac agency for several years and has been very successful. Ferd Gibler will be in charge of the wholesale department and no doubt will bring in many handsome orders for The Stephens Salient Six cars and accessories He has been connected with the purchasing department of the Stephens plant for some time and thoroughly understands the business. He is a man of pleasing personality and good business ability and will make a valuable asset to the organization. The officers of the corporation are:
President - A. J. Stukenberg
Vice President - Ferd Gibler
Secretary - Carl Jurgensmeir
Treasurer - Dr. C. L. Best
The new concern received its incorporation papers last week and is now ready for the wholesale and retain business. As soon as the handsome building is completed, which they are to occupy, they will be ready for all sorts of repair work also. The president and treasurer of the organization are among the best known men of the city, both having met with marked success in their ventures in Freeport, Mr. Stukenberg, as head of the firm of Stukenberg & Borchers, is one of the leading business men of the community and is a man of sound business knowledge and experience. Dr. C. L. Best id one of Freeport's leading physicians and surgeons, having been practicing in Freeport for a number of years. He has met with much success in his profession and is a man in whom the people of the community have unlimited confidence. The new firm should develop into one of Freeport's big business industries. [July 12, 1920 Clipping Contributed by Karen Fyock]
THE SAVAGE MACHINE COMPANY
In Larger Quarters, The Savage Machine Company Now Located In Dorman Building
The E. E. Savage Machine Co., a newly incorporated concern for the manufacture of air cooling and refrigerating machines, which was established in this city some time ago, has moved its quarters from the Lamb building to rooms in the Dorman warehouse on Douglas avenue and will continue the manufacture of its machines there. The company reports a large growth since its organization and it is the plan to enlarge its quarters in the spring and also to increase its output. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - Freeport Daily Journal February 1, 1909]
SCHOFIELD AND COMPANY
Schofield & Company is a new firm in Freeport. It is a private corporation composed of S. C. Schofield, August Bergman, and Fred and Henry Dorman, and was organized for the manufacture and sale of Mr. Schofield's new horse power corn sheller and feed grinder combined, his corn shellers and other patents. Mr. Schofield is to give his time and experience and the other gentlemen furnish the capital. The articles will be manufactured by contract at first. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - Feb. 7, 1885 clipping]
SCHWARZ FUNERAL SERVICE
The funeral home or mortuary, according to B. Leo Schwarz of the Schwarz Funeral Service is distinctly an American institution. Establishments of this kind are not found in other countries. Mr. Schwarz says that this new development in funeral service originated in the western states and is now being adopted by progressive funeral directors all over the county, These establishments, Mr. Schwarz says further, "are an expression of the high standard of having in America. They grew out of the increasing demand of the American people for beauty and order in all things." We have institutions to take care of every phase of life, says Mr. Schwarz. "We have schools for the education of our children, churches in which to worship, hospitals to care for the sick, and institutions for the blind, the aged, and every kind, the aged, and every disability. And now we have an other institution - a perfectly equipped and reverently beautiful place in which to take care of those who have passed from this life." In Mr. Schwarz's opinion the funeral home has two great advantages. It relieves the burden of the bereaved because it takes away the confusion in the home which comes with the reversing of the usual customs and arrangements. And it enables the funeral director to perform his duties more efficiently and satisfactorily. Mr. Schwarz also stated. "Instead of making funerals more expensive, the modern funeral establishment tend to reduce the cost of a funeral director's service. It simplifies his duties because he can work more efficiently in a properly equipped room, and it makes it unnecessary for him to transfer his equipment. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - Undated clipping]
HARRY W. SCHWARZ PAINT SHOP
"Save the surface and you save all" is a precept which no one should ignore. The deterioration of property in value is very rapid and the rewards of preserving and beautifying it with paint and varnish are great. But be prudent in your choice of the paint and varnish you use. Do not choose blindly because you endanger the money you invest in labor and materials, and also risk an unsatisfactory result. The management and clerks at this "Esser" paint headquarters have made a scientific study of the business and will intelligently explain to you that each surface, indoor and out, requires its own type of paint. The same is true of varnishes, stains and enamels. Their expert knowledge and authoritative recommendations will save you money and also protect you from using the wrong materials. The next time you are in Freeport drop into this store and see and learn the many interesting things in reference to the broad scope covered in handling a complete service in this department. We wish to compliment the management of the Harry W. Schwarz Paint Store, in Freeport, upon the position the store occupies in the everyday life of this section through the supply of high grade "Esser" paints and varnishes which will beautify the many homes and increase the value of your property to a great degree. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - Undated clipping about 1938]
SCIOTO FLOURING MILLS
Farmer, and proprietor of Scioto Flouring Mills Sec. 11 ; P 0. Freeport; born in Ohio, Scioto Co. September 11, 1823 he was a farmer in his native State, aud started for the West on July 1. 1841; stayed one winter in Jersey Co., Ill., then came here, and, beside the mill property, owns 450 acres of land, valued at $40 an acre: he has held township and school offices. Is a Republican, having cast his first vote for James K. Polk. Mr. Cockrell has never married. His father, a native of Virginia, had a family of nine children — T. Moses, George, Mary (now married to Mr. Bodkin), Scynthia, Thompson, Harriet and Patsie Jones; beside these, two stayed in Ohio — Susan and Lina. Mr. Cockrell came into full possession of the flouring mills in 1855; the Scioto Flouring Mills are 40x50 feet on the ground, three and a half stories high, and have three runs of stone — one for feed and two for custom-work; the water-power is an Eclipse turbine wheel, ten-horse power, thirty inches in diameter, with a capacity of grinding eight bushels an hour; the mill was built by Rezin Wilcoxon, William Irvin aud Samuel Sutherland; building commenced in 1850, and it started on the 1st of January, 1852: in 1853. Mr. Irvin sold his interest to Samuel Sutherland; Rezin Wilcoxon dying near the close of 1853, Mr. Cockrell purchased his interest in the flouring mill in the year 1854, and in 1855 Samuel Sutherland sold his interest to Mr. Cockrell, and he has full possession of the mill property up to the present date; there is a saw-mill run by the same power; it was built in 1837 by Levi Rezin and Thompson Wilcoxon, and was running in August of the same year: it is 20x50 feet, with one up-and-down saw, capable of turning out 2,000 feet a day of hardwood lumber; Levi sold his interest in 1S41 to his brother Rezin, and on the division of his estate among the heirs, the saw-mill was left to Thermuthis who has possession now. [Biography of Thompson W. Cockrell; History of Stephenson County Western Historical Co. 1880]
SEARS ROEBUCK & CO
Punctually at 8:30 this morning as had been announced, the new Freeport store of Sears, Roebuck & Co., was thrown open to the public, the occasion being observed by a quiet but interesting ceremony, in which officials of the store, Mayor Nelson and Edwin Hall, owner of the building, participated. A large crowd had assembled on the sidewalk in front of the store, to witness the event. The key to the store was presented by Richard Drew, manager to Mayor James W. Nelson, who responded with a brief address. The mayor said he had been, for sixty-five years, a patron of the William Walton and William Walton Nephews' store, which had occupied this location. He said he considered it significant that the new store was entering upon its activities in this particular site, and felt that if, as he anticipated, the new proprietors should observe the same high ethical standards in dealing with the public, which had always characterized its predecessors, it would be a valuable asset to the city. Edwin Hall, joint-owner of the property, for many years proprietor of the Walton Nephews store, then accepted the key from the mayor and unlocked the front door, He was the first to enter the new establishment. The crowd followed him and all began inspecting the three floors of the store, where the new sales force, dressed in tan uniforms, waited to act as guides and salesmen. In addition to H. F. Murphy, retail zone manager, and F. DuDevoire, assistant retail zone manager, a number of other Sears officials attended the opening of the Freeport store, among them being the managers of five stores in this zone; Messrs, Duncanson, of Rockford; Lantz, of Sterling; Morse of Madison, Wis.; Laudig, of Janesville, Wis.; and Bowen, of Beloit, Wis. Aiding Richard Drew, manager, and R. R. Mather, assistant manager, in the conduct of the new institution are fifty-five employees practically all being natives of Freeport and most of them with long experience in the departments to which they have been assigned. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - October 31, 1935 clipping]
SECURITY TRUST COMPANY
Tarbox Building - Directors: Addison Bidwell, Edwin Hall, A.J. Charity, E.A. Blust, C.W. Chapman, J.H. Snyder, Joseph Emmert
George Tree, who formerly conducted the Smoke Shop, a tavern located on West Main street, has leased the storeroom at the east end of the Senate Hotel building and has opened a tavern in the latter location to be known as the Senate Buffet. The new place formally opened for business today. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - March 13, 1936 clipping]
STANDARD SHEET METAL WORKS
The Standard Sheet Metal Works, with offices and shop located at 22 W. Exchange street, is one of Freeport's leading firms engaged in the installation and repairing of furnaces. This firm, which has gained a wide reputation in this section for efficient work, is owned by George Muench and Walter Kutz, both of whom have been residents of this city for many years. Mr. Muench, one of the members of the firm declared this morning that the Standard Sheet Metal Works is unusually busy at this time, the company being engaged in repairing furnaces which are in need of attention. Furnaces in many homes in Freeport have seen considerable service, continued Mr. Muench, adding that repairs at the proper time will place heating plants in such condition that years of additional service may be obtained. Furnaces which are not properly taken care of become inefficient and fail to function properly, obviously causing the owner much inconvenience during the season of the year when such heating plants are in operation. The Standard Sheet Metal Works, with much modern equipment in their plant, gives prompt attention and efficient service by men who are experienced in their particular line of work. Mr. Muench stresses the importance of installing a furnace properly. Although a furnace may be of high grad construction, improper installation will result in unsatisfactory performance and an excess consumption of fuel. Costs of operating a furnace is frequently determined by the manner in which it is constructed. Proper construction declares Mr. Muensh, results in a material reduction of fuel bills. Heat delivered through the fire pot is frequently lost as a result of faulty register pipes. The Standard Sheet Metal Works recently received a large shipment of pipe and with their equipment are in a position to install such pipe as has become rusted or burned out. The Standard Sheet Metal Works also carry a complete line of high grade furnaces, and prospective home builders and invited to visit the offices of this firm whose owners will be pleased to furnish estimates on costs of installation and five every possible advice as to the manner of heating plants required for the home. This firm handles only high grade furnaces. Mr. Muench stating that much more satisfaction may be obtained from a high grade furnace than one of inferior quality. They carry the Mueller furnace, which is manufactured in Milwaukee, and the international, a widely advertised furnace made in Utica, New York. These types are of modern design and have many advantages not to be found in some of the other heating plants. Several types of these furnaces are on display at the offices of the Standard Sheet Metal WOrks at 22 West Main Street, where prospective buyers may see the manner in which they are constructed and have the various points of operation, construction, etc., explained. A feature which will be of interest to the prospective buyer states Mr. Muench, is the fact that "we install furnaces strictly in accordance with the standard code adopted by the National Heating and Ventilating Association." The Standard Sheet Metal Works has installed an average of over fifty furnaces a year since they have been in business in Freeport. This certainly speaks well of their work and the confidence which they enjoy from their many patrons in Freeport and surrounding territory. This leading Freeport firm also engages in the repairing of sheet metal work on homes or business buildings. Readers of this page should feel free to consult the owners of the Standard Sheet Metal company where they will receive courteous and prompt attention in the various types of work in which the company is engaged. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - Undated clipping]
STEVE'S BUMP SHOP
Steve's Bump Shop in Freeport at 118 E. Exchange, Ph. Main 2551 is an auto renewal establishment that is noted for completeness and efficiency of its service. They offer a very complete auto body and fender repairing service and have equipped their establishment with the latest equipment for the complete repair of bodies and fenders. No matter what kind of a smashup you might have been in you will find that they will be able to take the car or truck and put it in such condition that you would never know it had been in a collision. They also feature Bee-Line-Equipment, Frames and axle straightening. Their Bee-Line equipment detects by gauges the alignment of your wheels in number of feet slip per mile. If in motoring over the highways you have been bumped by the road hog or a mad driver and the body of the car is dented or fenders bent, lamps crushed, etc., just drive around here and they will fix you up so that all will look like new. This institution has kept many a truck and auto on the road that might have found its way to the auto graveyard much sooner if it had not been for their comprehensive and rapid service. Too many people think that when something gets wrong with the car it is done for. No matter what you might think it will always pay to take it around here and see what can be done, often for a few dollars it will be placed in good condition and will run a long time. In making this review of the onward progress of our country we compliment the manager upon the efficiency of the work and direct our readers here when in need of anything in this line. [Contributed by Karen Fyock]
The Marchesi brothers, owners of a midwestern string of theatres, plan to open their newly-constructed theatre on East Stephenson street in about two months. The drawing shows the architects conception of the new front of the theatre, including a sweet shop which will be run as an adjunct to the theatre is shown. Alex J. Clawson is the decorator and architectural designer of the theatre, which will include he said, the latest in seating, movie projector, sound system, screen and other facilities. Howard Beck is the local manager of the present State theatre and will continue as manager of the new State. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - March 3, 1948 clipping]
STOVER AND MEYER RADIO SERVICE
Freeport Young Men Open Radio Laboratory
D. H. Stover and W. F. Meyer have announced the opening of a radio service laboratory at 109 1/2 W. Stephenson street. The laboratory is equipped with many modern instruments used for the purpose of testing and repairing radios. Mr. Stover and Mr. Meyer have had many years experience in the radio line, they being among the pioneer radio men of Freeport. For a number of years both men have been connected with the Ridgway Elective company of this city. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - September 4, 1929 clipping]
STRAND FILM THEATRE
The New Strand Film Theatre To Open On Sunday
Baer-Carnera Fight Pictures Feature of First Day's Program
Improvements just completed will present a New Strand theatre to the public, at the opening show beginning at 2:30 o'clock Sunday afternoon, at which time the Max Baer-Primo Carnera fight pictures will be a feature on a program of other sound pictures in a continuous policy under the new opening, which will continue daily and Sunday from 2:30 until 10 o'clock. Patrons will find many changes in the New Strand which has been closed for remodeling for some weeks past. On the interior, new sound apparatus has been installed, together with new seats, of which 160 are on the main floor and 105 in the balcony, the balcony having been rearranged to provide better visibility. New electrical fixtures, redecorating of walls in cream and tan, installation of two new type typhoon fans, with rear exits rearranged to provide plenty of cool air and outside ventilation, carpeted aisles with padding to reduce sound, aisle lights on seats, a new rest room and a remodeled room for men on the opposite sides of the basement stairways are among the improvements. The lobby has been redecorated and on the Stephenson street frontage a marquee has been built, 25 by 12 feet in dimensions, with a six-foot star giving a mirror effect in illumination in the center of the underside. Neon signs will flank each end of the canopy and the large elective sign carrying announcements of current events has been raised to furnish vision from both directions on Stephenson street. J. F. Dittman, who for 19 years has been owner of the house, has announced that the policy of the theatre will be the presentation of films from all the major studios, with change of bill four times weekly, probably showing a western action picture on Friday and Saturday. Many of the leading films are included in future bookings. Hal Chasey will be the house manager of the New Strand. [June 22, 1934 clipping; Contributed by Karen Fyock]
STUKENBERG & BORCHERS
Stukenbergs To Again Operate Business Here
A. J. Stukenberg Heads Corporation Which Repurchases Local Store
It was recently announced that Lauerman Brothers & co., operators of several stores in Wisconsin and Iowa, had purchased the Stukenberg & Borcher's store at a trustee's sale. The Lauermans consented to sell the store, and a corporation was immediately organized to consider the proposal. This was consummated yesterday, when A. J. Stukenberg and son, Wesley Stukenberg, motored to Marinette, Wis., and closed final arrangements for the purchase of the stock and business. Stockholders of the new corporation include several prominent citizens of Freeport and control of the business, which was established more than thirty-six years ago, will remain in local hands. The store is conducting business as usual today, and further plans as to its future will be announced within a few days. the Stukenberg & Borchers' concern has served a wide area of shopping territory and was known as one of the leading institutions of its kind in northwestern Illinois. Bankruptcy proceedings were instituted March 19, following which Robert P. Eckert, Jr., was appointed receiver. The sale to Lauerman Brothers & Co., took place after several creditors' meetings had been held. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - April 20, 1934 clipping]
Announcement was made today that Simon Hoefer, 837 West Lincoln Blvd, had disposed of his interest in Superior Dairy, 920 South Locust avenue, where he has been actively engaged in business for the past five years. The business was acquired by A. R. Clem, local manager of the J. H. Patterson Co., who will not himself actively direct the enterprise, but has acquired it as an investment. The condition of Mr. Hoefer's health following a serious illness about two years ago has compelled him to retire from responsibilities incident to an active business life. He has been confined to his home almost continuously since last November and has not been able to devote his efforts to the proper management of his business. The Dairy was originally established by Mr. Hoefer to provide a market for the large quantity of milk produced on his dairy farm near Pearl City where two of the largest Guernsey and Holstein herds in northwestern Illinois are separately maintained. The farm is stocked with over one hundred head of dairy cattle and is operated by Amory Minear, who, with Mr. Hoefer are making plans to expand facilities and increase the size of the herds to supply increasing needs of the Superior Dairy. Mr. Hoefer, who has always been actively interested in farming, has announced that he expects, so far as his health permits, to devote more attention to the operation and further development of his farms east of Pearl City. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - March 20, 1936 clipping]
S.N. SWAN PIANO FACTORY
Chicago Cottage Organ Company
Some notes from Tom Kornfeind:
Company history of the Chicago Cottage Organ Co -- Started in 1879 in Chicago as the Wolfinger Organ Co. by F.R. Wolfinger, John A. Comstock and Herman D. Cable. About 1885 Comstock sold his interest to E.E. Wise, and George W. Tewksbury, both formerly connected with the Western Cottage Organ Co., and the name changed to Chicago Cottage Organ Co. In 1889 Fayette S. and H.M. Cable came into the business, which after H.D. Cable's death in 1899 became The Cable Co. with F.S. Cable as president. A second factory was built in St. Charles, Ill. in 1899.
-- This is from Pierce Piano Atlas: "H. D. Cable was born in York 1849. In 1880 with Wolfinger Organ Co. which was changed to Western Cottage Organ Co. then to Chicago Cottage Organ Co. In 1890 he consolidated with Conover and two brothers, Fayette S. and Hobart M. Cable." These instruments were shipped by Horse Drawn Wagon from Chicago to Frontier Western States and many ordered for traveling preachers. History preserves that in 1879 the Organ Company started in Chicago as the Wolfinger Organ Co. by F.R. Wolfinger, John A. Comstock and Herman D. Cable. About 1885 Comstock sold his interest to E. E. Wise, and George W. Tewksbury, both formerly connected with the Western Cottage Organ Co., and the name changed to Chicago Cottage Organ Company in 1885. In 1889 Fayette S. and H.M. Cable came into the business, which after H. D. Cable's death in 1899 became The Cable Co. with F.S. Cable as president.
-- This one from History of Stephenson County - "Burdette Organ Company moved from Erie, Pennsylvania to Freeport in 1894 and was incorporated with F. J. Burdette as President. 3 story building was erected on Manufacturers Island, but the company left it in 1898 to occupy the larger Johnson Wheel Company factory in the northwest part of Freeport. Hobart M. Cable bought the firm and changed it to his name in 1901. D.E. Swann, general superintendant of the Cable Company, became a member of the new firm. S. N. Swann and Sons, which bought the plant in 1907 when the Cable operation was moved elsewhere. The Swann company closed in 1923"
TONY GUCCIONE TAILOR
Offers the highest quality in Men's Custom Tailored Apparel in his location at 10 N. Chicago Ave., Freeport. Ph. Main 782. Tony Guccione operates a shop where men know good clothes are made, only the highest grade of material and workmanship used. Observant men know the value of good appearance. Men in this community patronize this popular Tailoring shop for another reason. Few men are capable of judging what they can best wear. They know that this tailor can be trusted to tell them what they can best wear and they know too, that they will never leave the shop with a suit which is unbecoming to them if they follow advice. Tony Guccione knows how to measure you and how to make your clothes after having taken your measure. It is one thing to go to a tailor who knows his business and quite another thing to go to one that turns out work no better if not worse than the ready mades. Tony has a reputation of being among the best merchant tailors in this section of the state and when you order here you can do so with confidence that your suit or coat will fit you as it should and that the workmanship and material will be of the highest quality and well worth the price that is charged for it. This publication takes pleasure in recommending Tony Guccione, the Tailor, to all men in this section. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - Undated Clipping]
UNION DAIRY COMPANY
John Lelle has purchased the Union Diary ice cream parlor here from Donald Aurand. Mr. Lelle's daughter, Miss Elizabeth and grandson Lawrence Bausman will assist him. [The Freeport Journal - 18 September 1939]
JACOB WALKEY COMPANY
Jacob Walkey in 1853 established a planing mill and furniture factory on Chicago Street. In 1857 he was doing a big business and employing a large number of men. He used a thirty horse power steam engine to run his machinery. His building was a two story, with 60 feet frontage. He had two planing machines, scroll saw, four turning lathes, boring and mortising machines. In the Exchange Block on Stephenson Street he had a furniture sales room, "One of the most creditable features of Freeport" in 1857, and "does a $37,000 annual business." [Contributed by Beverly Burnias]
WILLIAM WALTON NEPHEWS - DRY GOODS
One of the oldest retail businesses of Freeport, one which has be in operation under the same management for three-quarters of a century, will prepare to close its doors and cease operation when William Walton Nephews, dealers in dry goods, men's clothing and women's ready-to-wear, commences its liquidation sale this week. The liquidation is necessitated by the desire of the heirs of William J. Hall, one of the nephews of William Walton, and a former partner in the concern, to settle the estate. The estate is half owner of the store, and the heirs now wish to have the estate settled and distribution made. The closing out sale will begin Thursday, Nov. 23, at 9 a.m. and the store will be closed Tuesday and Wednesday in order to give time to remark goods and make other arrangements for the sale. The firm was established as a dry goods and clothing store in November, 1858, by the late William Walton, who came to this country from England. Mr. Walton conducted the business himself for a number of years. As he was a bachelor without any family of his own, he invited three of his nephews, William J., Joseph W. and Edwin Hall, to come to this country from their home in Newcastle-on-Tyne, and participate in the enterprise with him. When the three nephews came to Freeport, William J. Hall, the eldest, assumed charge of the men's clothing department and Edwin Hall assisted his uncle, Mr. Walton, in the dry goods and other departments, later taking oven their management. Mr. Walton was also the owner of a good deal of real estate in and about Freeport, the supervision of which was assumed by Joseph W. Hall. When Mr. Walton died, on Nov. 26, 1897, he left the store and his other property to the three nephews and a sister of theirs who resided in England. He expressed the wish that the business should be continued in the name of William Walton Nephews. This was done, and the three nephews managed the store until the death of Joseph W. Hall on June 21, 1912. After that ,it was conducted by William J. and Edwin Hall. William J. Hall died in 1923, leaving his estate in the hands of his brother Edwin and Robert A. Hunter as trustees for the benefit of his widow and nine children. His widow, now Mrs. George Harrison, now lives in Galesburg. The only one of the children still living in Freeport is E. Joseph Hall, the others residing in Chicago, Galesburg and Mendota, Ill. The stock, all of which is to be liquidated as soon as possible, includes dry goods of all sorts, silks, woolens, velvets and cottons, men's wear, ladies' ready-to-wear, rugs, draperies and linoleums. The establishment has a wide reputation throughout this territory, having won a name for conservatism, quality, fair dealing and the exclusive handling of certain lines of merchandise. E. D. Floyd of Chicago, will act as liquidator during the sale. Mr. Floyd is experienced in these matters, as a public accountant and has conducted business affairs of this sort for many years. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - November 20, 1933 scrapbook clipping]
Discovery of an old sales slip of the William Walton store, representing goods sold to the late O. B. Bidwell, in 1860's, has led to some interesting reminiscences. The sales slip, which was found by Mrs. J. Hewitt Rosenstiel, in the attic of her home, was turned over to Edwin Hall, for many years proprietor of the Walton store and the advertising printed on the reverse side of the slip recalled many things to Mr. Hall. Advertising on the back of sales slips was, it seems customary in the 1860's, and the late William Walton founder of the store used to spend many hours in careful composition of his "copy". On the slip just discovered, Mr. Walton quoted, with pride, a brief letter he had just received from A. N. Dickens, 568 North Clark street, Chicago. Mr. Dickens, who was a brother of the famous English novelist, Charles Dickens, wrote Mr. Walton as follows: Dear Sir: I have to state that Mrs. Dickens is perfectly satisfied with the bill of goods I purchased of you, when in Freeport. She maintains the quality of the goods cannot be beaten, very rarely equaled in Chicago; while she claims to save ten per cent on her dealings with you. You will have her entire trade. Yours truly, A. N. Dickens.” A son of this Mr. Dickens, well-known in Freeport, and for a time employed by William Walton, was Bertram G. Dickens. F. A. Read and other Freeporters, as well as Mr. Hall himself, recall him very well. It appears that the mercantile exploits of Bertram Dickens, nephew of Charles, were not sufficiently promising to induce him to remain in commerce, and so he went into the ministry At one time he lived in Davenport, and at another time in Amboy. Edwin Hall, who came to Freeport with his brother, William J. Hall, in 1878, to be associated with their uncle, William Walton, remembers many amusing incidents of the early years of his activity in the store. One of them, which he told the other day to a member of the news staff of The Journal-Standard has to do with the custom of exchanging goods which prevailed at the Walton store. The store always made it a point to exchange goods if the buyer found any fault with them, and this was well known. One day a lady came to Edwin Hall, and asked him if he would be willing to exchange some goods she had bought. He said he was willing, but presently she revealed the fact that she had bought the goods in Chicago. He had to tell her that the store was not quite prepared to exchange goods bought anywhere, or from anybody. In describing some of Mr. Walton's habits, Mr. Hall spoke of his custom of spending his leisure time on holidays and on Sundays after he attended service at the First Presbyterian church, in thinking over and writing the advertising notes which appeared on his sales slips. However, that was not his only form of relaxation. One of his most enjoyable diversions was to gather with Dr. W. S. Caldwell and Attorney J. A. Crain in Mr. Crain's law office during the hours when they were all off duty. At such times they had long discussions, but one of their favorite pastimes was to sit in Mr. Crain's office while Dr. Caldwell read aloud to them from the novels of Sir Walter Scott. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - Scrapbook Clipping May 29, 1937]
F.B. WILLIAMS THRESHING MACHINE CO.
The F.B. Williams Threshing Machine Company begain in 1851 and employed ten men in 1857. In 1856 the Company made and sold ten threshing machines at about $1,000 apiece. The company made the Fowlersville thresher. [Contributed by Beverly Burnias]
W.T. EDWARDS CO.
212 N. Walnut Ave, Freeport IL
Leading Roofing Firm
Known as one of the leading firms in this section of the state the W. T. Edwards Roofing Company, 212 North Walnut avenue, renders unusually prompt and efficient service to its many patrons in this city and other places where the company has been awarded contracts for construction of roofs on many of the larger buildings. Not only does the W. T. Edwards company, who has a force of experienced men in their employ, construct roofs in this part of the state, but the local firm has many contracts in the southern part of Wisconsin. The firm has a reputation in this section of being efficient and prompt in the service it renders. The Freeport roofing concern lays various types of roofing, including what is known as the built up roof, together with those which are laid with asbestos and asphalt shingles. The shingles used by the W. T. Edwards Roofing company are of high grade materials while the various layers are cemented together in such a manner that they will not become affected by wind storms which frequently destroy roofs where inferior grades of shingles are used. Those who are in need of new roofs should not fail to call upon this company for estimates on new roofing and repairs on old. They will be pleased to render any possible service to the prospective builder while repair work will be given prompt attention. One of the features offered by the W. T. Edwards Roofing company of Freeport, is insurance against cyclone, hail, windstorm, fire and other damage to roofs which have been applied by this leading concern. The firm carries the insurance without additional coast to the builder, an important fact to be considered when planning to apply roofing on a home or business block. Readers of this page who are in need of this particular line of service may call upon the W. T. Edwards Roofing company, 212 North Walnut avenue, their telephone number being Black 376. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - September 9, 1929 clipping]
YORDY & KERCH TRANSFER COMPANY
No other dray line in Freeport can lay claim to better service than we render," says C. C. Yordy, of the Yordy & Kerch Transfer company 115 South Walnut avenue, one of the oldest drayage concerns in the city. With a new three-ton International van together with six other trucks, the Yordy and Kerch Transfer line is equipped to haul household furniture short or long distances, to the east coast or to the west coast and south to the Mexican border. Their new moving van is equipped with a special compartment in which may be packed china ware, dishes, mirrors and other breakable articles, all wrapped in specially made pads and blankets to prevent breakage while in transit. Furniture is packed in pads made for every sized piece which the family may desire to move, while those who wish to ship household furniture may have the furniture crated and hauled to the depots in the city. "In fact," said Mr. Yordy, "we are equipped to move anything anywhere. We do not confine our activities to moving household furniture, for we have moved pianos, safes, machinery and freight. We have moved pianos for every dealer in Freeport, and on a single day moved as many as 31 pianos. Our men have been instructed," continued Mr. Yordy, "to use great care in moving household furniture. The men in our employ have had from 5 to 38 years experience in the drayage business, and those as signed to the moving of household furniture take particular attention in handling such goods and at the same time they do not mar woodwork in the home. The Yordy & Kerch building on South Walnut avenue has adequate space in which furniture may be stored during the year, in fact, furniture may be crated and stored the year round." The firm has just started installation of a heating plant which will provide heat for the entire building during the winter. This will be a feature of interest to livestock men especially, as many livestock sales have been held in the Yordy & Kerch building during the past number of years. The drayage company was organized about 38 years ago by C. C. Yordy, and as his business expanded equipment was added to that which was already in use. Associated with him in the transfer line is William Kerch, the firm having been operated for the past number of years under the name of Yordy & Kerch Transfer company, known as one of the largest in this section of the state. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - Undated clipping]
BACK to HISTORY
BACK to MISCELLANEOUS INDEX
- HOME -
© Genealogy Trails