Of Newton Township, Whiteside Co IL
John Abbey, farmer, resident on section 24, Newton Township, was born in November, 1833, in Licking co., Ohio, and he was four years old when his parents, Luke and Hannah Abbey, removed thence to Newton Township. Luke Abbey was a pioneer of 1837 in Whiteside County. He was born in March 1787, in Yorkshire, England. He belonged to the agricultural class in his native shire, and was trained carefully in all things pertaining to the business of a farmer. In 1818 he came to the United States, locating in Trenton, N. J., where he lived several years. He went to Ohio in 1833 and was a resident of Licking county four years. In August, 1837, he transferred his family and interests to Illinois. His household included his wife and seven children, and the journey hither was made overland. Mr. Abbey located a claim on section 23 of township 20, range 3, now the township of Newton. At first he built a log cabin, and later a cement house. He improved a fine farm, on which he resided until his death, in November, 1869. He was married three times. His third wife, Hannah Mills before her marriage, was born in Mr. Holly N. J. She bore him seven children: Sarah married O. A. Root, of Dickinson Co., Kan.; Charles W. is a resident of Aliceville, Kan.; Hannah L. is the wife of John Marshall of Cottonwood, Montana; John lives on the homestead; Marie, wife of Henry S. Eye, is living in Citrus, Los Angeles Co., Cal. Two children are deceased.
Mr. Abbey was reared on his father's farm. At 18 he went to California, starting April 7, 1852, with ox teams, to cross the plains. He arrived at Placerville Aug. 20 of the same year, more than four months elapsing before he arrived at his destination. He was occupied in mining at Placerville and in Calaveras County until 1853, when he went to Australia, and interested himself in gold-mining there. On the voyage to Australia the vessel became dismasted in a heavy gale, and a stop of 14 days for repairs was made at the Society Islands. An attempt to land at Norfolk Island was made, in order to procure coal and supplies, but the authorities refused permission, as the island was inhabited by English convicts. He spent five years on the island-continent, and visited Sidney and Melbourne and other places of interest. In 1858 he returned to San Francisco, and resumed mining in California, and also became interested in farming, spending two years in his two-fold business. In 1860 he went to Portland, Oregon, and proceeded thence to Lewiston, Idaho. He returned to Portland in the fall of that year and spent 18 months in Oregon. On his route home he went to Vancouver's Island and after a few days to San Francisco. He returned to Illinois by way of the Isthmus of Panama and New York. On reaching Whiteside County, he engaged in farming.
He was married March 15, 1864, to Annie E. Huff. Their children are named Luke, Lucy, May, Hannah, Sadie, Gertie and Elizabeth. Mrs. Abbey was born in Luzerne Co., Pa. And is the daughter of George H. And Hannah (Dodson) Huff. Her father was born in New Jersey and her mother in Pennsylvania. At the time of his marriage, Mr. Abbey settled on his father's homestead, which he now owns and occupies. In 1870 he built a fine residence, which was burned Feb. 19, 1884. He then erected the dwelling he now occupies. It is pleasantly located near a natural growth of timber, which shelters it on the north and east. Mr. Abbey is engaged in mixed husbandry, and is giving some attentio to the cultivation of fruit. [1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co Pg. 775]
Of Newton Twp., Whiteside Co IL
Luke Abbey was born in Yorkshire, England, in 1787, and died on his homestead in Newton in 1869. He emigrated to America in 1818, and settled at Mt. Holly, N. J.; removed to Ohio in 1832, and in September, 1837, located in Newton on section 24. Children: Matthew, now in Albany; Mark, now dead; Eliza (Mrs. Henry Rexroad), now dead; Sarah (Mrs. O. A. Root), now of Kansas; Luke, now dead; Charles Y., of Abilene, Kansas; Hannah, wife of John Marshall; John, a resident of Newton; Maria, wife of Henry Eye, of Kansas; and William, who died in the army. [History of Whiteside County - Bent & Wilson 1877]
of Ustick Twp., Whiteside Co IL
The name of Abbott is an old and familiar one in Whiteside county, for from its very earliest history representatives of the family have been closely identified with its agricultural development and progress. The gentleman whose name introduces this record was for many years identified with that field of activity, but his labors in former years now enable him to live retired, although he still retains his residence on his fine farm of two hundred and seventy acres, situated in Garden Plain township, this place constituting the old family homestead.
Albert T. Abbott was born in Chautauqua county, New York, July 20, 1842, a son of Clark and Betsy Crouch Abbott, native of New Hampshire and New York, respectively. The family was founded in America by thirteen brothers, who emigrated to this country from Scotland prior to the time that this country was engaged in the struggle for independence. Landing in New York city, they there separated, establishing their homes in various sections of the New England states. Most of the brothers engaged in farming and several of the served in the American army in the war for independence. However, Moses Abbott, the grandfather of our subject, was a cripple and was therefore incapacitated for service. His family numbered several children, but there is record of but five, these being: Moses, who served in the Mexican war; Clark; John; Relief, who married a Mr. Cook; and Nora. The father of this family died in Vermont.
Clark Abbott, the father of our subject, was born and reared in New Hampshire. In 1843, hoping to enjoy better advantages in the west, he made his way to Illinois, settling near Aurora, where he made his home until 1852, in which year he took up his abode in Whiteside county, taking up government land in Ustick township. At the time he settled in this locality there were but three other settlers in the township, these being Oliver Baker, Henry I. Burt and Aaron Ives. Here a long, strenuous task presented itself to him, but he met it with a steady, unwavering resolution. Wild game was still plentiful in this district and wolves frequently came in the dooryard. The houses, too were very crude, being built by driving posts into the ground and covering them with slabs or clapboards on the outside, while in the winter a similar wall was made on the inside, the space between the boards being filled with dirt in order that the inmates might be better protected from the cold. The roof of the house was also made of clapboards and many times members of the family who were sleeping in the attic have wakened in the morning to find several inches of snow on the bed. The father soon developed his farm of one hundred and fifty acres and each year gathered good crops, for the soil was made rich and productive through the care and labor he bestowed upon it. The family had to endure many hardships and inconveniences during the pioneer epoch of the section of the state, the nearest milling point being at Jacobstown, in the northern portion of the county. The trip was made with ox teams, the journey requiring a day, and often upon reaching the mill one would have to wait a week in order to get his feed ground into bread stuff, this being the only milling place for a great area of country. In 1861 the loyalty and patriotism of Mr. Abbott was displayed when he organized a company for service in the Civil war, this being known as Company F, of the Ninety-third Illinois Regiment. He did not go to the front, however, as his son enlisted and his services were needed on the home farm and in the care of the wife and children,. He continued to cultivate this property until 1868 and during this time took and active interest in public office. At various times he served as city marshal, being in the office about ten years, while for several terms he served as deputy sheriff and as constable. His death occurred in 1882, and thus the county lost one of its most valued and honored pioneer citizens, for from the time of his settlement here he had been known as a most industrious and useful man, whose probity was an unquestioned element in his career, and many times his energy was at the service of his community.
Clark Abbott was three times married. He was first married in the east to Miss Betsy Crouch, a native of New York, who died in 1845, tow years after coming tot his state. The children of that marriage, five in number, all lived to maturity, these being: Mariam, the deceased wife of Abner Ustick; Olive, the widow of John Johnson; Llewellyn, deceased; Leland, who served in the Civil war as a member of Company F, Ninety-third Illinois Infantry, and is now deceased; and Albert T., whose name introduces this record. The second wife of Mr. Abbott bore the name of Sarah Moore and by this marriage there was one daughter, Helen, who died of diphtheria, this being the first case of that disease in the county where death resulted. Mr. Abbot was married a third time to Mrs. Mary Wilson, nee Cocks, by whom he had a son and daughter: Clark, and Mary, the wife of Ollie Penoyer, a resident of Quincy, Illinois.
Albert T. Abbott was but a year old when he was brought from the east to Illinois and was a lad of eleven years at the time the removal was made to Whiteside county, so that he is thoroughly familiar with all the pioneer conditions that here existed at the time the family home was established in Ustick township. He shared with the other members of the household in all the hardships and privations incident to the development of a farm in a wild and unsettled district and acquired his education in a log schoolhouse in the neighborhood, the methods of instruction being equally as primitive as the building in which his studies were pursued. He assisted the father in the work of the home farm until 1861, when, the Civil war having been inaugurated, he displayed his loyalty by offering his services to the government and at the age of nineteen years became a member of Company F, Ninety-third Illinois Volunteer Regiment, serving in the Seventy-fifth Corps. He participated in the battles of Vicksburg, Raymond and Jackson, Mississippi, and engaged in many other skirmishes and battles of lesser importance. After the surrender of Vicksburg, his regiment was attached to the Seventeenth Corps and he was engaged in the Atlanta campaign and was with Sherman on his celebrated march to the sea. From Raleigh, North Carolina, the regiment marched to Washington, D. C., and from the latter place went to Louisville, Kentucky, thence making their way to Chicago, where Mr. Abbott was mustered out on the 5th of July, 1865, his term of service covering two years, eleven months and some days.
It was on the following day that Mr. Abbott returned to his home in Whiteside county and resumed his labors on the home farm. After two years, however, he established a home of his own by his marriage, in 1867, to Miss Eliza Wilson, a daughter of Mrs. Mary Wilson, nee Cocks, who became the third wife of Clark Abbott, the father of our subject. The young couple took up their abode upon a farm and in 1873 Mr. Abbott purchased the old homestead farm, comprising one hundred and fifty acres, for which he paid thirty-five dollars per acre. As the years passed and he prospered in his undertakings he added to his original holdings until his place now embraces two hundred and seventy acres, located in Garden Plain township. In his farm labor he has followed the most progressive and modern methods, so that his land is among the richest and most productive in Whiteside county, today being worth at least one hundred dollars per acre. For many years he was actively engaged in carrying on agricultural pursuits, but through his energy and careful management he has acquired a competence that now enables him to spend the evening of his days in honorable retirement, although he still maintains his residence on the old home farm.
The home of Mr. and Mrs. Abbott was blessed with two sons and a daughter: Louis, a resident of Garden Plains township; Lee, who is engaged in merchandising in Garden Plain; and Inez, the wife of Harry Bitler, who is engaged in farming at Albany. The wife and mother passed away in 1882. She was highly respected by all who knew her and her many friends and neighbors felt the deepest loss when she was called to from this life. Mr. Abbott's political views endorse the principles and policy of the democratic party and he has been called by the vote of his fellow townsmen to fill various public offices, having served as road commissioner for twenty-nine years, while for nine years he served as assessor of his township, his official duties having been discharged with the same promptness and fidelity that he displays in the management of his private business affairs. Having the pioneer conditions of this section of the state. He has seen the country developed into one of the foremost districts of this great state and through struggle and adversity has made his way to the front until today, crowned with a comfortable competence he stands in the same relation to his fellowmen as he did in his early years when struggling for a livelihood, recognizing and appreciating honest purpose and genuine worth and rating the individual by his merits and not by his possessions. Today at the age of sixty-six years he lives a contented and happy life and enjoys the rest which he so well deserves. [Contributed by Amy Anderson from the History Of Whiteside County]
ASA McFARLAND ABBOTT
of Ustick Township, Whiteside Co IL
A.M. Abbott is a native of the Green Mountain State, and came to Ustick in 1847, where he purchased a farm on section 32, on which he has since continued to reside. Mr. Abbott learned the gunsmith trade in his native State and when he settled in Ustick nailed up his sign by the road side, and being a skillful workman soon had all the work he could do, many of his customers coming a distance of over twenty miles, and some of them over thirty miles. He has always been an active and influential man in the township, and has been frequently elected to town positions. He was the first Town Clerk, holding the office some years; was Supervisor in 1855-56 and has been several terms Justice of the Peace, occupying the latter position at present. Mrs Dorcas (Noyes) Abbott, widow of the late Deacon Benjamin Abbott, and mother of Mr. Abbott, died at his residence February 27 1877 at the advanced age of ninety-two years. Mrs. Abbott was one of the old settlers of Ustick, having settled there with her husband in 1848. Deacon and Mrs. Abbott were among the original members of the Congregational church at Unionville,now the First Congregational church of Morrison, Deacon Abbott also being one of the first trustees. At Mrs. Abbott's death the last of those original members had passed away. Mrs. Phoebe Drake, sister of Mrs. A M Abbott, who died in Ustick in 1843, was the second person interred in the burial ground in Union Grove, west of Unionville. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 472]
ASA M. ABBOTT, farmer, section 32, Ustick Township, has been prominent in the affairs of his township since his removal hither. He is the son of Benjamin and Dorcas (Noyes) Abbott, and his parents were born in New Hampshire. In 1848 they came to Whiteside County to spend their remaining years with their son. The father died Feb. 24, 1854, at the residence of the latter in Ustick Township, when 67 years of age. The mother died at the same place Feb. 27, 1877, at the greatly advanced age of 92 years. Their children were born in the following order: Ephraim, (1st), deceased, Susan M., Ephraim (2d), Peter G., Enoch N., Asa M., Laura D. and Ruth M.
Mr. Abbott was born Nov. 16, 1820, in Hartland, Windsor Co., Vt. He lived in his native State until he was 14 years of age, when he went to Massachusetts to learn the trade of a machinist, and he spent about six years in the manufacture of shelf hardwire. He went next to Springfield in the same State, where he was employed in the arsenal about one year, after which he went to Richmond, Ky., where he spent a year in gun smithing. He then went to St. Louis, Mo., and was there employed at his trade about two years. He came thence to Oquawka, Henderson Co., Ill., where he opened a gunsmith's shop, which he managed about three years. In July, 4847, he came to Fulton, Ill. He worked at his trade about six months, and in the following spring he located in the township of Ustick, buy 120 acres of land on section 32, and there established his homestead. He has erected excellent buildings. His estate includes 420 acres of land in Whiteside, some timberland in Carroll County and a large tract in Kansas. Nearly all his land in Whiteside County is in tillage.
Mr. Abbott was married Dec. 6, 1846, in Oquawka, to Sarah, daughter of Jay and Mary (Lamoret) Sperry. Her parents were born respectively in Connecticut and New York. After her parents' marriage they went to Ohio, where they remained till 1837. They came thence to Hancock Co., Ill., where they resided till they went to Iowa, as stated. In 1846 they moved from Illinois to Iowa and located at Council Bluffs, where they remained until the termination of their lives. Their children were as follows: John, Mary A., Betsey, Phebe, Sarah, William, Aaron, Charles and Harrison. Mrs. Abbott was born Feb. 18, 1822, in Trumbull Co., Ohio. The family circle now includes six children, Charles E., Jay M., Theo. S., Edward L., William L. and Alfred N. Ruth M., third child, died of lung fever when she was three years old. She was not fully grown to the size common to children of her age and was considered a dwarf. The oldest son was educated at the (then) Military College at Fulton, and when he was 17 years of age he enlisted in the 147th Ill. Vol Inf., and was in the military service one year as a musician. He is now a conductor on the Denver & Rio Grande Railroad. J. Morton is a farmer in Kansas. Theo. S. was graduated at the State University of Illinois. He is operating as a civil engineer, and has occupied prominent positions at different points, and for some years in Mexico. Edward L. is a graduate from the same institution and is engaged in the same business, in the city of New York. William L. is also a graduate from the University of Illinois, and is a mechanical engineer in Chicago; Alfred N. was also graduated at the same University.
Mrs. Mary A. Oatman, the eldest sister of Mrs. Abbott, was murdered by the Indians in Arizona while on the way to Southern California in 1849. A full account of the massacre of the family is given elsewhere. Mrs. Abbott is a member of the Baptist Church. Mr. Abbott has been a trustee in the Methodist Episcopal church since its organization in 1872 in Ustick Township, although not a member. He belongs to the Masonic Order and to the I.O.O.F. He is a Republican in political opinions and connections, was in earnest sympathy with the North in the Civil War, and before it was the practical friend of the fugitives from bondage to whom his house was open for protection on their way to freedom. [Portraits and Biographical - Pg 464]
HORACE L. ABBOTT
Of Fulton, Whiteside Co IL
Horace L. Abbott, proprietor of a livery, sale and feed stable at Fulton, established his business there in March, 1874. He is a native of New York, was born in Chautauqua County, Feb. 12, 1840, and is the son of Clark and Betsy (Crouch) Abbott. His parents were natives of Vermont. Horace came to Illinois with his parents in 1842 and lived in DeKalb County till 1853, when the family removed to the township of Ustick, this county. He was brought up on a farm in Ustick, and continued his residence there till the second year of the war. He enlisted Aug. 9, 1862, in Co. F., 93d Ill. Va. Inf., and served till the close of that great conflict, being mustered out July 2, 1865. His regiment was in the 15th Army Corps or the Army of the Tennessee, and he participate in the battles of Jackson, Miss., Champion Hill, siege of Vicksburg, Miss., battles of Missionary Ridge, Lookout Mountain, Altoona Pass and Savannah, Ga., besides various minor engagements. On his return from the war he located at Fulton and engaged in threshing till 1871, when he engaged in farming. In 1874 he quit farming and entered the livery business.
Mr. Abbott was married in Ustick, this county, July 3, 1866, to Miss Martha Barber, daughter of Millard and Margaret (Glen) Barber , her father a native of Litchfield Co. Conn. She was born in Montour Co., Pa. They have three children, all boys: Charles, Lester and Willard. Mr. Abbott has served six years as City Marshal of Fulton and four years as Constable. He is a member of the Order of Modern Woodmen, and in politics an earnest Democrat. [1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co Pg. 228]
CHARLES E. ACKERMAN
Coleta, Whiteside Co IL
Possessing the sturdy, industrious characteristics of a long line of German ancestors, C. E. Ackerman, a well known merchant of Coleta, Whiteside county, has won success and an influential position in society. He was born September 19, 1851, in Baltimore, Maryland, a son of Paul and Lizzie (Buck) Ackerman, who were natives of Germany and were married in that country. The father, who had been a coachman, brought his wife to America in the spring of 1851, and after spending a year or so in Maryland, he located on a farm in Somerset county, Pennsylvania, and remained there for four and a half years. In the spring of 1855 he removed to Lee county, Illinois, and there farmed rented hand until the fall of 1860. At that time, he had accumulated enough capital to buy a tract of eighty acres, the land being an unimproved piece of property in Genesee township, Whiteside county. He did not settle there before 1862, and to his original purchase he added until he owned two hundred and twenty acres, all in one body. Stockraising claimed a large share of his attention, as he found it very profitable. In the autumn of 1877, he retired from active cares, moved to Sterling, where he lived five years, and thenceforward made his home in Coleta, his death occurring here in 1890, while his widow died about two years subsequently. They had four children, of whom Christian is a carpenter in Milledgeville, lllinois; Randolph, a farmer of South Dakota, and Barbara is the wife of C. P. Garwick, who is a partner of our subject. Paul Ackerman had married in his early manhood, in Germany, and of their four children two survive, namely; Martha, wife of Victor Wayman, of Madison, Wisconsin; and Anna, wife of Ernest Bussemyer, of Nebraska. After completing his education in the common schools C. E. Ackerman worked for his father on the farm for several years, and for a few months ran a meat wagon. He then went to Eldora, Iowa, where he found employment with Dr. Myron Underwood for a year, and then returned to this county. He continued to manage the home farm to some extent, and in February, 1883, he went to Clark county, South Dakota, where he entered three hundred and twenty acres, and it was not until November, 1884, that he was at liberty to leave his new purchase. On the 24th of January, 1885, Mr. Ackerman and Scott Crouch purchased the general store of Cobb, Howe & Crouch, at Coleta, and continued in business together until the fall of 1893. At that time Mr. Ackerman bought his partner's share, and in January, 1895, C. P. Garwick buying a half-interest in the business, the firm name became Ackerman & Garwick. They transact a large and profitable business, and have the respect of all with whom they have dealings.
The marriage of Mr. Ackerman and Dora Smaltz was solemnized December 27, 1877. She was born in Ohio, September 17, 1854, and by her marriage became the mother of three children. Elizabeth, who is a graduate of the Milledgeville high school, and is now a student at the Madison (Wisconsin) University (a member of the class of 1903), possesses marked musical talent. Anna died at the age of two years. Clara is now attending the young ladies' seminary at Mount Carroll (a branch of the Northwestern University). She is taking a literary course, and expects to devote special attention to music. Mrs. Ackerman departed this life March 12, 1896, and was placed to rest in the Morrison cemetery. Her parents, Jacob and Anna Smaltz, natives of Germany, were Ohio farmers for many years, later carried on a farm in Whiteside county, and passed their last years in Clinton county, Iowa. They were the parents of four sons and four daughters, Mrs. Ackerman being the third in order of birth.
As a citizen, Mr. Ackerman has performed his full share toward the betterment of his home town and state. He is a stanch Republican, and for six years was a member of the county committee. (For a period of ten years, he served efficiently as school treasurer, and, fraternally, he is connected with Milledgeville lodge, No. 345, F. & A. M, and with the Sterling chapter and commandery, besides being identified with Coleta camp, No. 76, M. W. of A.; Coleta garrison, No. 160, Knights of the Globe, in which he holds the office of chief justice. Religiously he is a member and trustee of the Methodist Episcopal church of this place. [Contributed by Myrna Bowman]
Rock Falls, Whiteside Co IL
George Adair, proprietor of the plow and wagon shop at Rock Falls, and general jobber in mechanical work, was born in Canada, May 2, 1827, his parents being John and Anna (Teezel) Adair, natives of New Jersey. He lived at his parental home until 16 years of age, receiving a limited education. He next served two years as an apprentice at the blacksmith trade, worked at the business as a journeyman six years, and then started in business on his own responsibility in Canada. At the end of two years he sold out, moved to WI where he established a smithy and conducted it until 1860. Next he resided four years in MI and then, until the fall of 1871, in the same place and business in WI he formerly had; then he sold out there and removed to Moline, where he wrought at his vocation for two years, and finally, in 1879, he commenced business for himself in Rock Falls. He is prospering most signally. In his political views he is a Republican, and he is a member of the A. O. U. W. He was married in 1849 to Martha Simkins, and they have had ten children, seven of whom still survive, Sarah J., George M. Belvia A., John E., Angie N., William S. and Ambrose. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg. 784]
Of Portland Township, Whiteside Co IL
Arbella Adams is a native of Rutland county, Vermont, and first came to Ottawa, Illinois, in 1835, and in 1840 to Portland, settling upon the same place where he now resides. He married Miss Olive Hawes in 1826. Their children are: Helen E., wife of W. H. Wellington, living in Sterling; Charles F., who married Miss Sarah Brown, and lives in Portland; Sarah F., wife of David B. Seely, living in Sterling; Egbert, who married Miss Sally Paget, and lives in Portland; and Mary, living in Portland, Mr. Adams was born in 1804. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
CHARLES F. ADAMS
Of Portland Township, Whiteside Co IL
Charles F. Adams, farmer, residing on section 13, Portland Township, has 332 acres of land in the township. He is a son of Abela and Olive (Hawes) Adams, and was born in Pittsford, Rutland Co., Vt., Aug. 24, 1829. In 1840 the family came to this county, and located in Portland Township, where his father bought a claim of 200 acres of land, located where the son, Charles F., now resides, on section 13. Both parents are still living, opposite their son, Charles F. When 22 years of age he left home and bought an interest in a saw-mill in Portland Village, and was engaged in running the same for about six years. He then sold his mill property, and went to Colorado, where he was engaged in mining, and was quite successful. He remained in the latter State five years, and then returned to Portland Township, this county, where he purchased 92 acres of the present farm. He has since added 40 acres, by subsequent purchase, to his homestead, and is at present the owner of 322 acres in the township, and also 120 acres in Henry Co., Ill. He makes a specialty of fine Short-horn cattle, and has usually 50 head of graded, and one thoroughbred, and also about 70 hogs and several horses. He has a fine, well-improved farm, good residence and buildings. Mr. Adams was married in Portland Township, May 2, 1853, to Miss Sarah Brown. She was a daughter of Samuel A. and Betsey Brown, and was born in Pittsford, Rutland Co., Vt., Aug. 19, 1833. They have one child, a daughter, Katie E., born in Portland Township, March 30, 1855. She is the wife of J. V. Washburn, now a resident on the homestead. They were married April 2, 1885. He was Deputy Postmaster of Portland village six years, and Township Treasurer for eight years. The father or Mrs. Adams, wife of the subject of this notice, is deceased, and her mother resides in Rutland Co., Vt. [1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co Pg. 567]
Of Hopkins Twp., Whiteside Co IL
Frank Adams was born in 1812. Married Miss Susan Tencke. Children: Jane Margaret, Rachel, James, Ann, and Francis. Jane married Charles Ingalls; children, Hettie. Margaret married John Richardson; children, Perce, Francis, A. D. Nettie, Burdell, and Lee. Rachael married John Charter; children, James' and John. James married Miss Delia Peoples; has two children, and lives at Red Oak, Iowa. Francis married William Yeoards; has one child. Ann died in infancy. Mr. Adams came to Como in company with Jason Hopkins, and Ii ved in a cabin on the bank of the river, near the ferry landing. Mrs. Adams was the first white woman who came to Como, and for a time was the only female in the place. They kept a boarding house, the first and only one at Como, at which everybody then took meals, and at night all slept on the floor. Prominent among these were Jason Hopkins, Brittell, Dr. Harding, Bridge, J. B. Harding, and J. D. Bingham. [Bent - Wilson History of Whiteside County]
GEORGE B. ADAMS
Of Lyndon, Whiteside Co IL
George B. Adams, editor and proprietor of the Herald, at Morrison, was born in Lyndon, Whiteside Co., Ill., Oct. 7, 1855, being the eldest of a family of eight children of A. D. And Mary E. (Snyder) Adams, and has always been a resident of the county. From Lyndon the family moved to Portland, where they lived several years, afterward removing again to Spring Hill, and in 1865 locating in Prophetstown, the present home. In each of these locations the father pursued his vocation of blacksmith, a trade in which he was a superior workman. He also purchased a farm in Prophetstown Township, on which the family lived a few years, finally returning to the village and subsequently disposing of the farm. Mr. Adams' education was acquired by studious attendance at the public school until 18 years of age, when he engaged as a teacher in one of the rural districts of the county. Not finding the calling a congenial one, however, he abandoned the teacher's profession, and in 1875, entered the general store of D. K. Smith, Prophetstown, as clerk, remaining until 1877. In March of that year he went to Morrison and became a law student in the office of F. D. Ramsay, varying the monotony of constant reading by writing an occasional contribution for the county press, as well as for more remote publications. In April, 1878, A. D. Hill founded The Whiteside Herald in Morrison, and being aware of Mr. Adams' newspaper inclinations, secured his services as local editor. He continued his legal studies, in connection with reportorial work, until the fall of 1878, when he finally abandoned the former and devoted himself exclusively to the latter, soon becoming a partner in the publication of the Herald, the firm being Hill & Adams. Three years later the junior partner withdrew from the enterprise, and on the first of July, 1882, leased the Herald of Mr. Hill, and the following April purchased the office and business where he is still engaged. The Herald is an independent paper, devoted to the local news of the city and county. Mr. Adams is also manager of the Telephone Exchange at Morrison. Nov. 19, 1879, Mr. Adams was united in marriage with Miss Lucy Euphemia, youngest daughter of Luther B. And Caroline M. (Smith) Ramsay, of Prophetstown. They have one child, Frank Ramsey, born July 7, 1883. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 239]
Tampico Twp., Whiteside Co IL
Robert Adams, farmer on section 13, Sterling Township, is the youngest son of Van J. Adams, one of the pioneers of 1836 of Whiteside County. The latter was a native of Ross Co., Ohio, where he was born in December, 1803. He was brought up to the business of a miller, which he abandoned at 19 years of age and passed ten years as a teacher. He was married Oct. 28, 1828, to Mary A. Ritchie, a native of Ohio. On their removal to Whiteside County they located on a farm east of Sterling, where the father resided as long as he lived. He became wealthy, and his abilities made him prominent in the local and general affairs of the county and State. He served one term as a member of the Legislature of Illinois, but declined further preferment. He died April 29, 1871, from the effects of an accident. His wife died in August of the same year. Their children were named Matthew R., Maria P., Josiah Q., Francis W., Jay H., and Robert. The latter was born in Sterling Township, Aug. 1, 1850. He obtained his elementary education at the common schools and afterward attended the college at Wheaton two years. After leaving school, Mr. Adams formed a partnership with J. W. R. Stombaugh in the sale of paints and oils at Sterling; and after operating in this joint relation two years, Mr. Adams sold out and bought the livery establishment and interests of Frank Maynard, associated with Henry H. Hoover. After operating four years, Mr. Adams became the proprietor of the entire business by buying the interests of his associate. After two years he severed his connection with the livery business by selling out. In December, 1881, he returned to the old homestead and has since carried on the farm of his father, in company with his brother. He is a Republican in his political principles.
Mr. Adams was married June 17, 1873, to Julia M., daughter of D. W. And Mary E. Lewis, in Sterling. Her parents came to Whiteside County in 1862. They settled in Sterling until 1880, when they went to Minnesota. Their children were four in number, and were named Isabella M., Julia M., Emma C. and Martin R. Mrs. Adams was born July 3, 1853, in Bradford Co., Pa. To her and her husband four children have been born, named Eva E. Mary., Robert H. and Van J. Mrs. Adams is a communicant in the Episcopal Church. Her sister Isabella is the wife of William Lindley and resides in Iowa. Emma married E. H. Reynolds, of Rochelle, Ill., and is now deceased. Martin lives at Albert Lea, Minn. Matthew R. Adams is a resident of Rock Falls. Maria P. married Edmund Bowman, of Sterling. Josiah Q. died in November, 1860. Frances married W. F. Eastman, of Sterling, and died Feb. 25, 1877. Jay H. Is a member of the law firm of Wilson & Adams, of La Fayette, Ind [Portraits & Biographical Pg 779]
of Erie, Whiteside Co IL
S. A. Adams, a successful agriculturist of Erie township, making a specialty of stock raising, was born in Rock Island county, Illinois, on the 30th of June, 1870, a son of D. S. and Sarah Clark Adams, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of Ohio. The parents removed westward to Illinois in 1858, and the mother passed away in this state in 1882. D. S. Adams, who still survives, had a family of five children, namely: J. C., of Rock Island county, Illinois; Laura, the wife of Ben Osbern, also of Rock Island county, Illinois; S. A., of this review; William, deceased; and Mary, the wife of Frank Taulbee.
S. A. Adams pursued his education in the common schools, remaining with his father until twenty-six years of age, when in 1896 he was untied in marriage to Miss Cora E. Cocking, further mention of whom is made on another page of this work. Two children, Floyd L. and Myrtle R., have been born unto Mr. And Mrs. Adams. Our subject now owns and successfully operates a part of the farm of his mother-in-law, Mrs. Mary E. Cocking, and in connection with the work of the fields also makes a specialty of stock raising. He has met with a gratifying measure of success in both branches of his business and is recognized as one of the enterprising and prosperous young agriculturists of his community. In his political views Mr. Adams is a republican and has held the office of school trustee, while fraternally he is a member of Bowling Lodge, No. 667, A. F. & A. M., having filled most of the chairs in this organization [Contributed by Amy Anderson from the History Of Whiteside County]
VAN J. ADAMS
Of Sterling Twp., Whiteside Co IL
Van J. Adams was born in Ross county, Ohio, in December, 1803, and was brought up a miller. At the age of nineteen he quit the milling business, and taught school for about ten years. Upon coming to Illinois he settled first in Sangamon county, where he remained for several years, and in 1836 came to Whiteside county and made a claim two miles east of Sterling, on which he resided until his death. After Mr. Adams moved to Rock river he devoted his entire time to the cultivation of the soil, and stock raising. He acquired a large property, and was one of the solid farmers of Whiteside county. From 1850 to 1852, he represented Whiteside and Lee counties in the General Assembly of the State with an ability that was duly recognized and acknowledged. Being domestic in his tendencies, he afterwards resisted the often repeated solicitations of his fellow citizens to accept public positions.
On the 29th of October, 1828, he married Miss Marian Ritchie, the children of the marriage being: Matthew R., born August 26, 1829; Josiah, born December 31, 1831; James, born September, 1832; Maria P., born October 19, 1836; Josiah Quincy, born April 22, 1842; Francis J. W., born January 19, 1845; Harden J., born November 16, 1847, and Robert, born August 16, 1850. Josiah and James died in infancy. Josiah Quincy died in November, 1860.
Matthew R., married Miss Mary Ann LeFevre, May 13, 1852; children, Van J., Emma Maria, and Edmund L.; Van J., died November 5, 1854; Mrs. Adams died January 16, 1860, and on the 29th of September, 1864, Mr. Adams married Miss Phoebe J. Whitney; children, Ada May, and Maud who died August 4, 1870; Mr. Adams enlisted as a Sergeant in Company B, 13th Illinois Volunteers, and served three years, the entire time of his enlistment; during the whole time, he was never on the sick list, and was on duty every day; he participated with his regiment in all its battles and marches; and was especially noted for his bravery and soldier like conduct; be was honorably mustered out and paid in Springfield,, Illinois, in June, 1864; he has been Supervisor of the township of Coloma for several terms, and is one of its worthy citizens.
Maria P married Ward Bowman, May 13, 1856; children: Frank J., Grant J., and Edmund.
Harden J. married Miss Louisa Williamson, December, 25,1870; children: Van J., and Mary F., the former dying in infancy; Mr. Adams is an Attorney and Counselor at Law, and resides at La Fayette, Indiana; he is an industrious and close student, and has an extensive practice.
Frances J. W. married F.W. Eastman, now one of the editors and proprietors of the Sterling Gazette, July 24, 1872, and died February 25, 1877, without children. Van J. Adams died April 1871, the immediate cause of his death being the kick of a vicious horse. Mrs. Adams died September 9, 1871. [Bent-Wilson History of Whiteside Co 1877 Pg 400]
VAN J. ADAMS, a native of Ohio, came to the Sterling area with his family in 1835 and settled on land two and one-half miles east of Sterling. Adams was a Mayflower descendant and traced his lineage back to Edward Fuller who came to America on the Mayflower in the year 1620. At the time Adams arrived here, Whiteside County was not organized and he was one of the delegates to the convention which organized the county. He was also elected justice of the peace of what was then called the "Elkhorn Precinct." Afterwards Adams was elected a representative for Lee and Whiteside Counties in the state legislature where he gained a reputation as a public official. Tow of Adams sons served in the Civil War. In politics he was a member of the old Whig Party and afterwards a strong Republican. [From the Daily Gazette, 1 July 1976 Bi-Centennial Edition]
Of Ustick Twp., Whiteside Co IL
William Aitken, general farmer on section 10, Ustick Township, was born Aug. 12, 1851, in Scotland. He is the oldest child of Robert and Margaret (Duthie) Aitken, and had two sisters, - Isabella and Annie. Mr. Aitken came to the United States on reaching his majority, and after spending about six months in the State of New York, he came in 1873 to Whiteside County. His father's family emigrated at the same time, and on their removal to Whiteside County, father and son bought 140 acres of land in partnership in Ustick Township. The latter is at present sole proprietor of 205 acres of land, in a good farming condition. May 7, 1880, he was joined in marriage, at Morrison, with Eliza H. Cowie, and they have three children, - William, Maggie A. and Bessie. Mrs. Aitkin is a native of Scotland. In political views and opinions, Mr. Aitken in independent. He has served as School Director. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 748]
Of Sterling, Whiteside Co IL
Samuel Albertson is a farmer on section 14, Sterling Township, where he settled in September 1841 on a portion of the land included in a claim made by his twin brothers, John J. and Isaac H. Albertson in 1835, the second year in which settlements were made in the township. Their father and mother, Joseph and Elizabeth (Ham) Albertson, were natives of Dutchess Co NY whence they removed to Monroe County NY. They continued to reside there during the remainder of their lives. They had a family of ten children, who lived to mature life, and were named Frederick, Isaac and John (Twins), David, Daniel, Jane, Maria, Phebe, Samuel and Willet.
Mr. Albertson was born in Dutchess NY Jan. 18, 1818. He was under the authority of his parents until he was 21 years of age and attended school until he was 16. He then took charge of his father's farm one year, after which he came to Whiteside County, whither his brothers had come six years before. The farm, of which he has since been the owner, contains a mineral spring, which is visited by many people during the summer season. It is known as the "Woodlawn Mineral Spring," and is highly esteemed for its curative properties. It is located about two miles east of the city of Sterling, and has become quite popular. It is in a grove, and accommodations for guests have been constructed in the way of bath-houses and other buildings. The farm of Mr. Albertson contains 135 acres of which 90 acres are under tillage. He was married Nov. 5, 1839 at Rochester NY to Hannah DeGarmo. Her parents, Elias and Clemma (Powell) DeGarmo were quakers and were born in Dutchess Co NY. They died in Monroe County. Their children were eight in number, and were named, John, Lydia, Mary Ann, Hanna, Rufus, Peter and Jane. Mrs. Albertson was born July 6, 1819 in Ulster Co NY. To her and her husband three children were born; Harriet J., Arthur and Ella M., only one of whom survives. Arthur died June 6, 1868, when he was 24 years and six months old; Ella died Aug. 22, 1878; she was 27 years old, and the wife of John E. Woodyatt. She left three children, Arthur, Gracie and Lulu M. Mr. Albertson is a Republican the family were believers in the Quaker doctrines preached by George Fox. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 645]
JOHN C ALDRICH
Of Tampico Township, Whiteside Co IL
John C. Alldrich came from Bradford county, Pennsylvania, to Tampico, in 1856, and at first purchased a farm in the southeast part of the town. When the village of Tampico sprang into existence he opened a dry goods, clothing, and provision store in the south part, combining with it the sale of farming implements, and wagons and carriages. He also entered largely into the real estate business, and now owns lands in different parts of South Tampico, as well as lots in the village. He continued in the mercantile business for some time, and at present is a manufacturer of brick, besides being a dealer in wagons and carriages, and a farmer. He has frequently been Supervisor of the town and held other town offices., thus showing the regard in which he is held by the people. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 453-454]
Of Tampico Township, Whiteside Co IL
Rufus Aldrich is one of the early settlers of Tampico, arriving there from Bradford county, Pennsylvania, on the 1st of July, 1855. He purchased a farm in sections 26 and 27 in the southeast part of the town, which he still owns. At present he is conducting the livery business in the village of Tampico, in connection with his own, the firm being, C.R. & R. Aldrich. Mr. Aldrich was first elected Assessor of the town in 1870, and then again in 1872 and 1875, and has held the office from the latter year up to the present. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
EDWARD V.H. ALEXANDER
Sterling, Whiteside Co IL
Dr. Alexander, dentist at Sterling (office on Locust Street), and the oldest operator in that line in the city, was born in Hartford, Conn., April 29, 1830 and was the fourth child in a family of six. His father, William Alexander died in 1832 and his mother, nee Maria Wilber, survived until April 14, 1885, the very day that this sketch was written. The subject of this biographical outline attended the common schools until he arrived at the age of 16 and after he became of age he attended Macedon Academy, Wayne Co. NY for two years and then for eight years he taught school during the winter seasons, alternating with farm work the remainder of the year. April 10, 1856 he married Mary Ada Hale, a native of Wayne Co NY. There are now two children living; Edward H. and Jessie. After marriage the Dr. moved to Beloit WI where a daughter, Mary Hellen was born. At this place he was engaged in farming and teaching for two years; then he returned to Clyde, Wayne Co., NY where the daughter died and was buried at Lyons, that county. There he purchased a farm of 80 acres, cultivated it one year, sold it and moved West again, this time to Sterling. Here for the first two years he conducted a grocery and drug-store; this he sold, and in April 1864 he visited the gold regions of Montana, being in the vicinity of Virginia City, Helena, the Yellowstone and Deer Lodge Valley, for three and a half years; next, he went to Portland, Oregon, for a few weeks and thence to Salem the capital of the State, where he remained two and a half years. At the latter place he finished his studies in medicine and surgery, when he had pursued years before and graduated at the Willamette University in 1870. Having acquired the art of dentistry and previously practiced it, upon returning home to Sterling in 1870 he entered the dental profession, in which he has remained to the present, a successful operator and a leading man in the profession. Dr. Alexander is a stanch Republican. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., and a representative and worth gentleman. Mrs. A. died May 16, 1882 while on a visit at Lyons, Wayne Co NY and was buried there beside her daughter. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 450]
Of Clyde Township, Whiteside Co IL
John Alldritt is a native of Armitage, Staffordshire, England, and was born April 24, 1814. While quite young he came with his parents of Lowell, Massachusetts, where he remained until May, 1846, when he came to and settled in Clyde, Whiteside County. Mr. Alldritt married Miss Nancy Kingsley, at Lowell Massachusetts, in May 1846. Mrs Alldritt was born at Athens, Summerset County, Maine, November 16 1817. The children of this union are: Ann, born February 23, 1847, now married; Mary, born May 16, 1849; Thomas Jackson, born October 19, 1851; Isaac born April 1 1854; and John Henry, born December 10, 1856. All the children live in Clyde. [Extracted from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 146]
Of Clyde Township, Whiteside Co IL
Richard Alldritt was born at Armitage, Staffordshire, England, January 4, 1819. He came to America at the same time with his brother John, and lived at Lowell Massachusetts until 1844, when he moved to Clyde, in this county. Mr. Alldritt married Miss Orrilla P Bosley, a native of Farmington, Trumbull county, Ohio, on the 31st of December 1848. The children of this marriage have been: Emily C born January 17, 1850; Albert October 5, 1851; Lucy A August 11 1853; Edward, June 2 1858; Alonzo E July 6 1860; Henry R March 31 1863; Orrilla B April 9 1865; Benjamin F January 22, 1867. Of these, Lucy A died September 14 1859 and Edward September 17 1859. Mrs Alldritt died March 21, 1875, aged nearly 47 years. Albert lives in Friendville, Saline County Nebraska and the rest in Clyde [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 146]
RICHARD ALLDRITT, general farmer, resident on section 20, Clyde Township, was born Jan. 4, 1819, in Staffordshire, England, and is the son of Thomas and Ann Alldritt, an account of whose lives may be found in the sketch of W. Alldritt in another portion of four years later. He was a manufacturer of earthenware in his native country. Mr. Alldritt lived in Massachusetts until 1844, when he came West and settled in Clyde Township, where he entered a claim of 200 acres of land on which he interested himself vigorously in establishing a home. The entire township was chiefly in an unsettled condition. He is still a resident on the place of which he holds 163 acres, and chiefly under the plow. He was married Dec. 31, 1848 in Unionville, in Whiteside County, to Orrilla, daughter of Elisha and Clarissa (Wilber) Bosley. Her parents were born respectively in Pennsylvania and Vermont, and after their marriage they settled in Trumbull Co., Ohio, where her father followed the profession of a millwright for many years, and where Mrs. Alldritt was born in Farmington, April 9, 1828. She was in early womanhood when her parents settled in Whiteside Co. Ill. She became the mother of nine children, three of whom are deceased. Emma is the wife of Julius Elftman, and resides in Canton, Minnesota. Her husband is a preacher in the M. E. Church. Albert married Anna Heacock, and is a stock-buyer at Friendville, Neb. Alonzo E. is a butcher by calling. Henry and Orilla, and Frank also, live at home. The mother died March 21, 1875. Lucy died aged six years. Edward died at the age of 18 months. Mr. Alldritt is a member of the Wesleyan Church, his wife belonged to the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is a Republican in political connection, and has been Poor Master and Road Commissioner. [Portrait and Biographical Pg 273]
OF Clyde Township, Whiteside Co IL
William Alldritt was born October 6, 1824, in Braidley, Staffordshire, England, and also came to Lowell, Massachusetts, with the rest of the family, when quite young. In May 1845, he settled in Clyde, and was married in that township to Miss Mary C Griffin, his first wife in January 1856. She died, and in 1860 he married his second wife, Miss Julia A Hiner. His children have been: Charles J born May 1864; William R born June 1866; Benjamin F born August 1868 and Nathan G born July 1870; all of whom live in Clyde. Mr. Alldritt has been Justice of the Peace of the township. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 146]
WILLIAM ALLDRITT is a farmer of prominence on section 29, Clyde township, and was born Oct. 6, 1823, in Bradley, Staffordshire, England. his parents, Thomas and Ann (Jackson) Alldritt, were natives of the same country and unmixed English descent, and his father was engaged in active business life in his own country until 1824, when he left England to found a home in the New World.
Mr. Alldritt is the seventh son and was less than a year old when the family emigrated to America. He was too young to walk alone, but he learned while on shipboard, and made his first trip on foot across the cabin of the captain. They made port in Boston harbor, and went from that city, after a short residence, to Lowell, in the same State. In that place Mr. Alldritt grew to a suitable size and age to attend school. His father died there in February, 1831, and when he was 12 years of age his mother removed to a farm in the country. The family remained there until 1845. In May of that year the mother, with four children, came to Whiteside County, whither Richard, an elder son, had come previous. They located on a farm which included 150 acres situated on sections 20, 29 and 33 and bought by the mother and her son Richard. William Alldritt was an inmate of his mother's home until his first marriage, which occurred Jan. 24, 1855, to Mary C. Griffin. She was born in 1827 in Methuen, Mass., and her parents were of New England origin. They have been dead some years. After their decease she came to the township of Clyde with an elder brother, and she was there married to Mr. Alldritt. She died Dec. 25, 1855, surviving her marriage but about one year. She was a lady of Prominent Christian character, and was highly respected. Mr. Alldritt was a second time married March 4, 1860, in Clyde Township, to Julia A., daughter of Leonard and Mary (Sparr) Hiner. Her parents were born in Pennsylvania of German ancestors, and were among the earliest settlers of the Keystone State. The daughter was born Jan. 2, 1841, in Wayne Co., Ohio, whither her parents had removed several years before her birth. When she was seven years of age her parents went to Mercer Co., Ohio, remaining there seven years. The family came to Illinois in 1855 and located in the east part of Whiteside County. Later they settled in Clyde Township, where the mother died in the fall of 1878, aged nearly 71 years. The father is yet living. Mr. and Mrs. Alldritt have had six children Charles J., born May 11, 1864; William R., June 4, 1866; Benjamin F., Aug. 10, 1868; Nathan G., July 31, 1870 ; William was born Feb. 2, 1861, and died July 19, 1863 ; Minnie M. was born Aug. 15, 1862, and died July 13, 1863. But six days intervened between their deaths. At the date of his second marriage, Mr. Alldritt became a resident of the homestead in Clyde Township which he has since occupied. It contains 145 acres all under cultivation except 10 acres which is in timber. The buildings on the place are creditable to its proprietor and a great addition to the general appearance. His stock is valuable and contains excellent grades. He is a practical agriculturist and has about 30 stands of bees in his yard on an average. He is a republican of liberal views and has officiated in various town offices. [Portrait and Biographical Pg 277]
ALBERT B. ALLEN
Albert B. Allen, a substantial farmer and prominent citizen of Lyndon, was born Nov. 18, 1826, in the town of Bennington, Erie Co., N. Y. When he was 17 years old he accompanied his parents (see sketch of George W. Allen) to Illinois, and he remained a member of the parental household until he became himself the head of a family. He was married Nov. 25, 1852, to Ann M., daughter of Alexander and Maria (Bumpus) Mann; she was born in Richland Co., Ohio. His father settled in the township of Rockville, Kankakee County, and he bought a tract of land adjoining the paternal homestead, where he was a resident until 1866, when he bought an improved farm in Iroquois County. After two years he came to Lyndon Township, where he bought land in company with his father. He has improved his property, and is now a leading agriculturist, owning 400 acres of land in most excellent agricultural condition, with valuable buildings suited to the variety of husbandry to which the farm is devoted. In political connection and views Mr. Allen is a Republican. Sophronia, Ida, May, Elmer, Maud, George, Sadie and Laura are the names of the children of Mr. And Mrs. Allen. [Contributed by Marji Turner form Portrait & Biographical History of Whiteside Co 1885. Pg 470]
FRANCIS MARION ALLEN
Francis Marion Allen, youngest son of George W. and Sophronia (Besse) Allen, resident on section 9, Lyndon Township, was born Oct. 30, 1835, in the township of Wales, Erie Co., N. Y. He was nine years of age when the family residence was transferred to Kankakee Co., Ill., where he attained to man's estate. A full personal account of his parents is given in the sketch of A. B. Allen. Mr. Allen was united in marriage with Melvina Mann, Aug. 8, 1858. She was born in Richland Co., Ohio, and is the daughter of Alexander and Maria (Bumpus) Mann. After his marriage Mr. Allen and his wife assisted his parents on the homestead until 1869, when he removed to Lyndon Township. He purchased a farm on section 9, and is now the owner of 265 acres, fenced and under advanced improvements, and including six acres of timber. Roderick D. Rhoda, Henry and Ralph are the names of the children of Mr. and Mrs. Allen. [Contributed by Marji Turner form Portrait & Biographical History of Whiteside Co 1885. Pg 447]
GEORGE A. ALLEN
George A. Allen, real-estate and loan agent at Sterling, was born in Kanakee county, Illinois, near the city of Kankakee, March 12, 1865, his parents being Albert B. and Anna M. (Mann) Allen, the former born near Buffalo, New York, and the latter in Ohio. The Allen family is of English lineage, the ancestry being traced back to a brother of Colonel Ethan Allen of Revolutionary war fame. George W. Allen, the grandfather, was born in the Empire state and in early life followed the blacksmith's trade, later, however, becoming a farmer. He arrived in Whiteside county in 1869 and here spent his remaining days to the age of eighty-two years. His wife, Bessie Allen, died in middle life. They had three sons and two daughters, including Albert B. Allen, who throughout his entire business career carried on general agricultural pursuits. When seventeen years of age he arrived in Illinois, settling first in Dupage county, whence he afterward removed to Kankakee county, living also in Iroquois county for a time prior to the year 1868, when he took up his abode in Whiteside county. At that time he settled on a farm in Lyndon township, where he owned three hundred and eighty acres of land, his remaining days being devoted to the further cultivation and development of the farm, which he brought into a rich state of fertility. He was born November 18, 1826, and died August 20, 1887. His widow still survives him and resides on the farm with her son Elmer. She was a daughter of Alexander Mann, a native of Ohio, who also followed farming as a life work and on coming to Illinois established his home in Kankakee county, where his remaining days were passed. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Albert B. Allen were born seven children, two sons and six daughters: Sophronia, the wife of Rasmus Rasmussen, of Bureau county, Illinois; Ida J., the wife of Frank J. Besse, of Houghton, South Dakota; Sarah May, deceased, who was the wife of B. J. Hedger; Elmer L., who resides in Lyndon township, Whiteside county, Illinois; Mande K., of Sterling; George A., of this review; Satie A., who died October 15, 1870, at the age of two years; and Laura B., who became the wife of James McCue of Hopkins township, Whiteside county, Illinois.
From the age of three years, George A. Allen has been a resident of Whiteside county. The removal of his parents to Lyndon township made him a farmboy of that locality and a pupil in the district school near his father's home. He was early trained in the work of the fields and was thus well qualified to carry on agricultural pursuits on his own account when he started out in business life for himself. He was identified with the farming interests of the county until 1902 when he removed to Sterling to engage in the real estate and loan business, in which he still continues. As a valuator of real property he is seldom, if ever, at fault in matters of judgment and keeps well informed concerning the property which is upon the market, thus making judicious purchases and profitable sales. On the 1st of January, 1891, Mr. Allen was married to Lydia A. Runyan, a daughter of Henry Runyan. She was born in Carroll county, Illinois, June 1, 1867. Her parents were natives of Pennsylvania and in their family were the following children: William Runyan, of Garrison, Iowa; Mary, the wife of Jacob Carney, of Iowa; Kate, who became the wife of David Cohnar, of Sterling; John, who makes his home in Iowa; Mattie, the wife of Joseph Myers, residing near Coleta, Illinois; Mrs. Allen; and George, who also lives in Iowa. After the death of the mother and father married again and there were six children by that union. Mr. and Mrs. Allen have but one child, a daughter, Clara M., who is with her parents in their pleasant home at No. 605 Sixth avenue. In his political views Mr. Allen is a republican but the honors and emoluments of office have had little attraction for him, as he has preferred to concentrate his time and energies upon his business affairs and the enterprise and diligence which he has manifested have proven strong resultant factors in winning him enviable success. [History of Whiteside County, Illinois : from its earliest settlement to 1908. Chicago: Pioneer Pub. Co., 1908]
GEORGE F. ALLEN
George F. Allen, of the firm of Allen Bros., dealers in hardware and agricultural implements at Morrison, was born Dec. 20, 1854, in Milford, Ill. George W. and Catherine (Hamlin) Allen, his parents, are yet living. They were born respectively in the State of New York and in Canada. Following is the record of their children: James A. is a merchant at Davis Junction, Ogle, Co., Ill.; Charles W. is the business associate with his brother, the subject of this sketch; Cora is a teacher in the High School at Rochelle, Ill.; Hattie is engaged in the same occupation near Bloomington, Ill. Mr. Allen is the second in order of birth. At the age of 15, he engaged in the acquisition of a knowledge of the trade of a tinner, which has thus far in life chiefly engaged his attention. After completing his trade he entered the employ of D. E. Edrington, of Creston, Ill., in whose interests he operated seven years. Subsequently he was employed by Patten Bros., of Fielding, five years after which, in company with I. W. Miller, he purchased the business of his employers. Their relations were in existence two years, when Mr. Allen came to Morrison, and in April, 1884, established his present business in partnership with his brother, and they are conducting a prosperous trade. Mr. Allen was united in marriage in Fielding, DeKalb, Co., Ill, Jan. 31, 1882 to Hattie Nash. Mrs. Allen was born Nov. 11, 1852, in Ogle Co., Ill. [Contributed by Marji Turner form Portrait & Biographical History of Whiteside Co 1885. Pg 791]
GEORGE W. ALLEN
George W. Allen, deceased, came to Whiteside County in 1869, and located on section 4 of township 20, range 6 east now Lyndon Township. Associated with his son, A. B. Allen, whose biography is given elsewhere, he bought 547 acres of land situated on sections 4, 9 and 16, most of which was already improved. Mr. Allen was born in Skeneateles, Onondaga Co., N. Y., Oct. 22, 1801. His father was named Ethan Allen. George W. grew to manhood in his native county, and was there married to Sophronia Besse, in 1825. She was born in Westmoreland, N. Y., March 11, 1802. after his marriage Mr. Allen bought a tract of land in Wales, situated in the Holland Purchase, on which he resided until 1844, when he sold and came to Illinois. He drove the entire distance, conveying his family and portable property in two covered wagons drawn by four horses. He first made a location in Du Page County, removing in 1846 to Kankakee County, and settling in the township of Rockville. He bought a soldier's warrant of 160 acres, on which he built a frame house and barn, and fenced and made the usual improvements. He sold the place in 1868 for $45 per acre. He came to Lyndon in the spring of 1869, and was a citizen of that township until his death, July 21, 1884.
The first wife of Mr. Allen died in 1850, in Kankakee County. Her successor was Mary Ann Kearns, to whom Mr. Allen was married Aug. 4, 1853. The record of the children of the first marriage, five in number, is as follows: Albert B. is the oldest, and a personal account of him is given elsewhere in this volume; Sarah Ann married L. G. Tubbs, and resided for a number of years in Iowa; she died in Kankakee, while visiting in that city; Seymour J. lives in Kankakee; Mandane married Milton Bloom, who entered the military service of the United States during the Civil War, and died before the expiration of his term of enlistment. His widow lives in Lyndon Township, with her son, Bernard Bloom. Two children were born of the second marriage, viz: Ethan G., who lives in Tennessee; and Ada, who is the wife of W. E. Freeman, of Lyndon Township. [Contributed by Marji Turner form Portrait & Biographical History of Whiteside Co 1885. Pg 461]
OREN W. ALLEN
Oren W. Allen, a farmer, residing on section 26, Portland Township, is a son of Reuben and Sarah Woodward, and was born in Rutland County, Vt., July 1, 1814. His father was a native of Connecticut, a farmer by occupation, and died in Fair Haven, Rutland Co., Vt., in 1839. His mother was a native of Massachusetts, and is also deceased. The parental family comprise six children, of whom five are yet living. Mr. Allen of this sketch is the eldest. He was reared on the farm, alternating his labors thereon with attendance at the common schools, and procuring a good English Education. He followed the vocation learned in early life in the East, where he rented a number of farms, until he came to this county, in March, 1855, and purchased from Col. Seely 40 acres of land in Portland Township. He located upon the land, which at that time consisted of unimproved prairie, and entered vigorously upon the task of its improvement and cultivation. He has continued to reside upon the place and cultivate it until the present time, except for about the last three years, having become too old to engage in active manual labor, and for the last two years has rented his place to his son Roderick.
Mr. Allen was united in marriage, March 18, 1840, to Miss Lydia Crossman, daughter of Robert and Pearly Crossman. She was born in Poultney, Rutland Co., Vt., Sept. 18, 1817. They have been the parents of eight children, only three of whom survive. The living are: Isabel, wife of E. J. Brewer, a farmer, residing in Greenwood Co., Kan.; Martha, wife of Watson Brewer, a farmer, residing in Lyons Co., Kan.; and Roderick, who now works the homestead farm. [Contributed by Marji Turner form Portrait & Biographical History of Whiteside Co 1885. Pg 796]
WILLIAM H. ALLEN
Of Erie Township, Whiteside Co IL
William H. Allen, lawyer, of Erie, is a son of S. V. R. and Sarah (Richardson) Allen, born in Dublin, Cheshire Co., N. H. His father is a farmer, and a native of Stillwater, Saratoga Co., N. Y., and was born Aug. 23, 1812 and resides two miles west of Erie village, on his farm. His mother was a native of Newton, Mass., born Feb. 14, 1803, and died at Erie, June 9, 1862. They had three children: William H., Colonel Samuel R., a lawyer at Little Rock, Ark., and Sarah A., a teacher, who resides with her father. The family removed from New Hampshire to Rushford, Allegany Co., N. Y., in. 1846, thence to Erie, this county, in 1856.
While at Rushford Mr. Allen attended Rushford Academy for a time. . After coming to Illinois he farmed, taught school, worked as engineer in mills, studied law in the city of Rock Island, and was admitted to the Bar at Ottawa, IL., April 16, 1866. Mr. Allen married Mary A Orr, daughter of John and Catherine (Bleecker) Orr, and granddaughter and grand-niece of Samuel and William Orr, and was born in the township of Sidney, Hastings Co., Province of Ontario.
Mr. and Mrs. Allen have seven children: William C., Samuel R., Sarah R., Solomon V. R., Henry W., Catherine Bleecker and John O. Allen, all minors. Three children, Helen, Jennie and Richard, died in infancy. Mr. Allen held the office of Justice of the Peace for a term, and that of Supervisor for eight years at different times, from 1862 to 1878; was Representative in the Illinois State Legislature for four years, being elected to the 31st and re-elected to the 32d General Assembly; was author of the drainage laws, and promoted the passage of the principal revenue laws passed by the last mentioned Assembly; was largely responsible for the legislation under the amendment of the Constitution changing the time of election of county officers, afterward sustained by the Supreme Court; was Chairman of the Committee on Revenue; advocated and defended the system of taxation; successfully resisted the attempts that were made to deprive municipalities, towns and counties of their portion of taxes derived from railroad property, and to abolish the State Board of Equalization; his argument thereon was printed and published by the State pursuant to a resolution of the House of Representatives. He is at present in the practice of his profession in the counties of Whiteside, Henry and Rock Island, devoting his attention to all departments of law and chancery, besides superintending his farms in Erie and Fenton Townships. He is a Freemason, Knight Templar, and a Presbyterian in religious faith. He resides on his homestead in the village of Erie. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 152]
JAMES R. ANDERSON
Of Jordan Township, Whiteside Co IL
In a history of the farming community of Whiteside county, mention should be made of James R. Anderson, who, living on section 12, Jordan township, is successfully engaged in farming, being one of the representative agriculturists of the community. He was born in Lanarkshire, Scotland, twelve miles from Glasgow, January 5,1842, a son of Robert and Marion Walker Anderson, who were also natives of Scotland and came to America in 1851. They were members of a company of eighteen people who crossed the Atlantic at the time, including the grandparents of our subject, his aunt and uncle, William and Elleson Anderson, James Barry, James Murray, Robert Pollock, James, Robert, Andrew and William Marshall, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Miller and Ellen Coates. All of the members of the party located in Whiteside or Ogle county, and of this number only two are now living: Mr. Anderson, of this review, and Ellen Coates, who resides west of the Elkhorn, in Whiteside county. The voyage across the Atlantic and the trip into the interior of the country was a very long one, for the methods of travel in those days were extremely slow as compared to the transportation facilities of the present. They left Scotland about the middle of May, and were six weeks and three days on the ocean, arriving in New York in the early part of July. From the eastern metropolis they made their way up the Hudson river, then to Buffalo, on to Chicago by way of the Great Lakes, and by rail from Chicago to St. Charles, which was then the western terminus of the line. At that point the party hired teams and proceeded to Buffalo Grove. The grandparents' family numbered eight children: James, John, William, Robert, Elleson, Janette, David and Alexander. The second mentioned died in infancy. Of the others, David is the only one living. Janette died in Scotland, while the remaining members of the family who have passed way were buried on this side of the Atlantic, in the East Jordan cemetery, in this county The grave of the paternal grandfather of our subject was the first one made in that cemetery.
Robert Anderson, with his family, settled near Polo, at Buffalo Grove, but a about a year later located on what became the old family homestead, which is now the place of residence of James R. Anderson. Robert Anderson first purchased a quarter section of land from John H. Page at twenty dollars per acre. At that time it was all wild prairie, but with characteristic energy he placed it under a high state of cultivation, erected substantial buildings, and made other valuable improvements. As time went on he gradually added more land, buying forty acres from R. N. Roberts, eighty acres from Hiram Jenkins, forty acres from the Illinois Central Railroad Company, and thus from time to time adding to his property, he eventually became the owner of four hundred and forty acres in Whiteside and Ogle counties. He was not only a prosperous, but also a most respected citizen of Whiteside county, and one of its worthy pioneers, who assisted materially in the early advancement and growth of this part of the state. He died at the age of sixty-seven years, and his wife passed away when about eighty years of age. James R. Anderson was about ten years of age when he came with his parents to the United States. In his native country he had the advantages of a common-school education, and after coming to America he remained at home, assisting in the operation of the farm until his father's death, when he assumed the entire management of the place, and has here resided continuously since. He has gradually added improvements, until today he possesses a fine farm, a beautiful home standing in the midst of attractive surroundings, the place being equipped with all modern accessories and conveniences. In his farm work Mr. Anderson has been very energetic and diligent, working on, day after day, in the improvement of a property that now returns to him an excellent financial income as a reward for the care and labor he bestows upon the fields.
Mr. Anderson was married March 21, 1867, to Miss Isabella Cross, a daughter of George and Jane Renwick Cross, who were natives of Lanarkshire, Scotland. The father came first to America, in 1855, and the mother followed a year or so later, completing the trip on the first passenger train over the Illinois Central Railroad to Polo. They settled on a farm a short distance north of Polo, where their remaining days were passed, the father dying at the age of forty-four years, and the mother in 1893, at the age of sixty-with years. The father was one of six children: Hugh, Robert, John, George, James and Elizabeth, but George was the only on who ever came to America, the others all dying in Scotland. The paternal grandparents of Mrs. Anderson were John and Anna Baird Cross, and the maternal grandparents were Gavin and Isabella Scott Renwick, both natives of Scotland, where they spent their entire lives. Mrs. Anderson had two brothers and four sisters: John, who died in Ogle county; Mrs. Isabella Anderson; Anna, living in Ogle; Gavin and George, who are living near Polo; Janette and Elizabeth, both deceased.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Anderson have been born eight children: Marion Jane, the wife of A. P. Shoemaker, a farmer residing in Ogle county; George Robert, who is living in Jordan township; Janette, the wife of Charles Scholl, a farmer living north of Eagle Point, in Carroll county, Illinois; John, who resided south of Penrose, in Jordan township; Elizabeth, Mabel, Rena and Clarence, all at home. The family are well known in the county, for the Anderson's have been represented here for more than a half century, and the members of the household who now occupy the old homestead are held in high esteem throughout the community. Mr. Anderson votes with the republican party, and has served as school director for eighteen years, the cause of education finding in him a warm and stalwart friend. He is a leading member of the Methodist Episcopal church, which has a Union house of worship on a corner of his farm. He has long been a trustee of the church and secretary of its board, and takes a deep and helpful interest in its work. His life has ever been upright and honorable, his actions manly and sincere, and as the years have gone by he has proven his right to be classed with the leading, trustworthy and respected agriculturists of Jordan township. [Contributed by Amy Anderson from the History of Whiteside County 1908]
Of Lyndon Township, Whiteside Co IL
Wesley Anderson came to Lyndon in 1837. He divided his time between teaching school and clerking in a store. At one time he was in business for himself. He was elected County Judge in 1860, and served in that capacity for one year. He married Miss Martha E. Harris, October 20, 1847; one child, Charles F. Mr. Anderson died at Lyndon May 26, 1871. Mrs. Anderson still resides at that place. [Bent & Wilson History 1877]
Sterling, Whiteside Co IL
Peter Andreas, farmer, section 14, Sterling Township, was born Jan. 19, 1822 in Lancaster Co PA, which was the native State of his parents, Martin and Nancy (Metzler) Andreas, who had four children - Peter, Henry, John and Martin. At the age of 23, Mr. Andreas rented a farm and was engaged in agriculture in PA until his removal to IL which event transpired in the spring of 1865. He bought about 160 acres on section 25, Sterling Township, on which he settled and lived 14 years. In 1882 he bought a small tract of land on Section 14, where he erected excellent farm buildings, and has since occupied the place. He owns 137 acres at present, which is all under tillage. Mr. Andreas is a Republican, and he has officiated in township offices 18 years.
He was married Oct. 10, 1844 in Lancaster Co to Mary Gist, and they have 8 children - Martin G., Mary A., Catherine, Philip, Amanda, Frank, Lizzie and Harry. Mrs. Andreas is the daughter of Philip and Mary (Book) Geist, who were born in PA and who were the parents of two daughters, Catherine and Mary. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 400]
ROBERT C. ANDREWS
Of Sterling Twp., Whiteside Co IL
Robert C. Andrews was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, February 18, 1817, and came to Sterling in March, 1838. He married Miss Rhoda C. Kingsbury, April 24, 1842, their children being: Robert P., born April 3, 1843; Henry C., born August 14, 1844; Hugh W., born March 7, 1845;, Frank B., born January 13, 1849; John W., born, November 13, 1851; Mary L., born June 6, 1853; and James D., born February 22, 1856. Henry C. died in infancy, Robert P. died February 26, 1849. Hugh W. enlisted in Company D, 27th Illinois Volunteers; was taken prisoner at the battle of Pleasant Hill, in Louisiana, under Gen. Banks, and died in a Rebel prison, August 16, 1865. Frank E. married Miss Kate Sides, March 16, 1876; one child, died in infancy. John W. married Miss Ada Austin, March 10, 1874; children: Herbert and Hugh. Mary L. is a teacher in the Second Ward School in Sterling. James is a teacher in Montmorency township. Frank B. is City Engineer for the city of Sterling. [Bent - Wilson 1877 Whiteside County History Pg 402] [** The marriage of Robert C Andrews and Rhoda C Kingsbury is said to be the 1st in the township of Sterling. The Whiteside Marriage records show John W. married Addie Austin 26 Mar 1874.]
Of Unionville, Whiteside Co IL
William Annan, miller, located in Unionville (the mill that is pictured), was born Nov. 2, 1848, in Scotland, and is the oldest son of William and Elizabeth (Murray) Annan, who were natives of the same country and of Scotch descent, through a long line of ancestors. They came directly from the "land of heather" to Whiteside County, and fixed their residence soon after in Unionville, where the former died, Jan. 11, 1882. The mother is still living, as are three of the four children, Barbara, William, Catherine and James. The last named is deceased. Mr. Annan was scarcely a year old when his parents came, with two children, to the United States. He obtained a good common school education at Unionville, and afterwards attended the commercial college at Davenport, Iowa.
His father, associated with John A. Robertson, built a grist-mill on Rock Creek in 1859-60, and in the intervals of school he assisted in its management, continuing to act in some capacity connected herewith until the decease of his father, when he assumed charge of the establishment and has since conducted its business. Its producing capacity is 75 barrels of flour daily and the trade is chiefly custom work. In political affiliation Mr. Annan is a Republican. He was united in marriage with Marian Ely, at Cortland, DeKalb Co., Ill., May 16, 1878, and to them three children have been born, who are named Frank W., George and Floyd J. Mrs. Annan was born in the state of New York, and is the daughter of C.F. and Lydia M. Ely. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 238]
Of Prophetstown Township, Whiteside Co IL
Horace Annis was born in Orange county, New York, in 1816. He came to Illinois in 1837, and located in Chicago, where he remained until 1839, when he came to Prophetstown, He was a blacksmith by trade, and worked at the business while a resident there. From 1854 until 1859 he was connected with the Plow Factory at the village, and afterwards moved to Colorado, and then to Montana, having been Probate Judge in both Territories He married Mrs. Portia Nichols in 1840, The children of this marriage have been: Mary, wife of Harmon Cleveland, living in California; Keene, wife of Lewis J. P. Merill living in Lyons, Iowa; Julia, wife of Hamden Sturevant, living in Prophetstown; and Paul, living in Montana. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
Of Coloma Township, Whiteside Co IL
Richard Arey, retired farmer, residing at Rock Falls, was born at Cape Cod, Wellfleet, Mass., Aug. 13, 1809. His parents, Reuben and Sally (Brown) Arey, were also natives of the Bay State. His father was a tanner by occupation. He made his home with his father until 24 years of age, receiving a common-school education, occasionally going to sea. He spent two years in Boston with B. & L. on Commercial Street, in the wholesale and retail of West India goods. Next, building a wharf in South Wellfleet, he engaged in the business of mackerel-packing and furnishing fishermen with their outfits, for ten years. Selling this position, in 1844, he came to Rapid City, on Rock River and purchased a farm comprising a quarter-section, one-half of which is now in town lots in the village of Rock Falls. He commenced business here in the line of sheep-raising, but the disease called "foot-rot" prevailed so extensively among his stock that he was compelled to abandon it. He followed agricultural pursuits on his first purchase of land until 1872, since which time he has been enjoying a retired life, still occupying the dwelling he purchased in 1844, and the only resident remaining of all that were here when he came. In his political views, Mr. Arey is a Republican, and, with his wife, belongs to the Congregational Church. He was the first Supervisor elected from Coloma and the first Justice of the Peace in Rapid City, later called Coloma. He has also held various other offices. He has for a long time been a leading and influential citizen. For his first wife, Mr. Arey married Martha Davis, daughter of Rev. T. Davis, of Massachusetts, in 1832, and they had ten children, seven of whom are still living,- John D., James C., Kathren D., Richard, Mary, Ezra W: and Martha. Mrs. Arey died in 1852, a great loss to the family and to the community. In 1864 Mr. Arey married Lydia A. King, a native of Vermont, a most excellent and highly esteemed lady, a loving wife and a priceless motherin-law. [Portraits and Biographical 1895 Pg 513]
THOMAS Z. ARMSTRONG
Thomas and Jane (Bell) Armstrong were natives of the city of Glasgow, Scotland. They came to the United States about 1829 and settled at West Union, Adams county, Ohio, where Thomas Z., the subject of our sketch, was born on the 28th day of February,1831. When about 9 years old his father died; he had lived on a small farm and was a contractor on the pikes or toll roads in use at that time. About 1846 Thomas went with an uncle to Whiteside county, Illinois. On the 22d day of August, 1850, he arrived at Placerville, California, and went to mining at Fort John on Dry creek. In 1851 he went to Volcano canyon in Placer county, and thence to Coloma, where he remained until 1867. For a number of years he had charge of the toll bridge, and was in the employ of Thomas H. Williams as ditch agent for some time. In 1867 he went to Jones' Hill and purchased a mining claim which he operated for over twelve years. In May, 1880, he became a resident of Georgetown. On June the 1st, 1881, he paid $200 for the Rich Gulch mine, from which in about sixty- five days he took out near $18,000. He associated with him in the ownership of the mine, Mr. Amos Baldwin, also an old time Californian. Mr. Armstrong came to California with less than enough to buy one meal to eat, but by perseverance and fair dealing has accumulated a handsome competence. He is a Royal Arch Mason and also an I. O. O. F. [Submitted by Brenda Wiesner; Source: Historical Souvenir of El Dorado County California with Illustrations and Biographical Sketches of Its Prominent Men and Pioneers, Paolo Sioli, 1883]
of Portland Township, Whiteside Co IL
Jacob Arnett was born in Elstein, France, in 1815, and came with his father to the United States in 1827. When coming West he stopped for a short time in Joliet, Will county, Illinois, and came to Portland in 1836, making his claim on section 35. He became early noted for his untiring industry and trading habits. He would dig ditches, put up fences, or work at haying and harvesting as far as Como, and take his pay in stock, or in anything he could afterwards barter, and in a few years accumulated a good property. When the California excitement broke out, it was an easy matter for him to fit out fine teams, and go with the adventurers to the land of gold. He used his teams to paying advantage while there, and when he was pretty well supplied with the precious metal returned to his home in Portland. He retired from farming some years ago, and moved to Geneseo, Henry county, where he is extensively engaged in dealing in agricultural implements. He married Miss Charlotte Summers in 1842, their children being: Lewis C., who married Miss Sarah Rose, (Roos) and lives in Portland; Samuel J., who married Miss Eliza Grozenburg, and lived in Geneseo; Phillip S., who married Miss Eliza Wagner, and lives in Portland; Mary, wife of Andrew Smith, living in Henry county; Albert, who married Miss Cella Parker, and lives in Portland; Clara, wife of Abram Rapp, living in Henry county; and Oletta, who lives in Geneseo, Henry county. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 356]
Of Portland Township, Whiteside Co IL
Lewis Arnett was a native of Alsace, France, and born in 1791. He came to the United States in 1827, settling first at Rochester, New York, and then in Warren county, Pennsylvania, and came to Portland in 1837, making a claim on the county line in section 35. He died in 1868. Mr. Arnett married Miss Clara Sheddick. Their children have been: Lewis, now dead; Jacob, who married Miss Charlotte Summers, and lives in Geneseo, Henry county; Mary wife of Samuel Cogswell, living in Pennsylvania; Anthony, who married Miss Mary Ann Graham, and lives in Colorado; Catharine, wife of David Heller, living in Henry county; Joseph, whose first wife was Miss Martha Warren, second Miss Marietta Butzen; Philip, now dead; Susan, who married S. Heller, and is now dead; William, who married Miss Maria Britton, and living in Henry county; George, who married Miss. Margaret Severance, and living Henry county; Samuel, who married Miss Catherine Urick, and lives in Henry county; and John, unmarried, who also lives in Henry county. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 356]
LEWIS C. ARNETT, farmer, residing on section 27, Portland Township, and the owner of 200 acres on the same section, was born in the township in which he resides, on section 35, Dec. 18, 1842, and has spent his life within the borders of the county. His parents were Jacob and Charlotte (Summers) Arnett. His father was a native of France, in which country he was born April 15, 1815. He came to this country in 1827, and located in Warren Co., Pa., where he was engaged in lumbering. In 1836
he came West and in the fall of the same year he came to Portland Township, this county. He was there engaged by the month one season and in 1837 located the old homestead of 160 acres on section 35, where the subject of this biographical notice was born. The parents of Mr. Arnett's father, Lewis and Clara (Shedeg) Arnett, came to this state in 1838 and located one mile south of the residence of Jacob Arnett, over the line in Henry County, and died in Lorraine Township, that county. Lewis C's father went back
to Pennsylvania and was there married in the village of Warren, in March, 1842, to Miss Charlotte Summers. They had a family of seven children, all living, of whom Lewis C. is the eldest. Samuel resides in Geneseo, Ill., and is a dealer in agricultural implements, in company with two other brothers, Philip and Albert. Mary is the wife of Andrew Smith, a farmer, who is residing in Lorraine Township, Henry County. Clara is the wife of Abraham Rapp, a farmer residing in the same township. Otilla is the wife of Charles
Albert, who keeps a restaurant and bakery in Kansas City. Mr. Arnett was reared at home until he attained the age of 21 years, receiving the advantages afforded by the common schools and assisting in the maintenance of the family. In 1866 he bought 120 acres of his present farm and in 1868 purchased the remainder. He now has 200 acres of good tillable land and also 25 acres of timber in Lorraine Township, Henry County. Mr. Arnett is a member of the Masonic Order. He was united in marriage in Lorraine Township,
Henry County, this state, September 6, 1868, to Miss Sarah Roos. She is a daughter of Martin and Elizabeth Roos and was born in Lorraine township May 22, 1849. They have six children, all born in Portland Township, this county, namely: Clara born June 23, 1869, Stacy born Nov. 15, 1870, Leroy born Mar 7, 1872, Ida born Aug. 20, 1873, Agnes, Feb. 14, 1875, and Winnie Sept. 5, 1876. [Portrait and Biographical 1885]
DAVID B. ARRELL
Of Garden Plain Township, Whiteside Co IL
David B. Arrell is one of the most prosperous and enterprising farmers in Garden Plain Township. He was born in the township of Veale in Daviess Co., Ind., Sept. 20, 1821. His parents, James and Sarah (Crab) Arrell, were natives of the township of Fallowfield, Washington Co., Pa., and emigrated thence to Indiana about 1817, traveling on flat-boats on the Monongahela and Ohio Rivers to Evansville on the latter, whence they went to Daviess County with teams. They located in Daviess County and were pioneers, building a log house in the depths of the timber. The structure was built without nails, covered with clapboards and had a puncheon floor. The door was furnished with a wooden latch, and the trite saying that "its string was always out," may be accepted in all its significations. The family left Indiana in 1823, returning to Pennsylvania.
So far as can be ascertained the first representatives of the name of Arrell in America were two brothers, Edward and William Arrell, who came from County Derry, Ireland, to America in 1774. They were descendants of the Scotch who went to the north of the Green Isle to escape the persecutions of the "kirk " in 1619, and who experienced perplexities scarcely less oppressive from the taxation of the Established Church, which presented their assimilation in any degree with the people of the country where they first sought refuge, for a long period of time. Hence the first Scotch-Irish who settled in America had no mixture of Irish blood in their veins. They were Scotch who were born in Ireland. Edward Arrell, paternal grandfather of Mr. Arrell of this sketch, espoused the cause of the Colonists in their rebellion against British oppression. He was employed in the commissary department at Bunker Hill, and while driving his team on the retreat his wagon tipped over. He restored its equilibrium, filled it with wounded soldiers and the procession made good its escape. He located after the war was done in Fayette Co., Pa. After his marriage he secured a claim of land on Maple Creek, in Fallowfield Township. He improved a farm on which he lived until his life's journey closed. His children numbered seven-four sons and three daughters.
James and Sarah Arrell became the parents of seven children. Following is the record of those of the number who survive: Matilda is the wife of Wilham Wood, and they reside on a part of the homestead in Daviess Co., Ind. David B. is the oldest surviving son. Alice married Hon. John B. Scudder, of Daviess Co.,Ind. Nancy is the widow of Fenwick Alexander. Rachel is the wife of G. McIlvaine, of Washington Co., Pa. William Arrell, the brother of Edward, settled in Chambersburg, Pa. He had three sons and one daughter. Only one of his sons was married. The son John located near Poland, Ohio, where some of his descendants yet reside.
Mr. Arrell of this sketch was two years of age when his parents went to Pennsylvania. After a residence there of seven years, the family returned to Daviess Co., Ind., where the son remained until he was 18. He returned to Pennsylvania in 1839 to live with his aunts. In 1846 he was married to Margaret J., daughter of Baptiste and Nancy (Arrell) Hopper. The year following they went to Monogahela City, where they resided until 1853. In that year they came to Illinois and fixed their first place of abode near Albany. Mr. Arrell bought a tract of unimproved land on section 32, of Garden Plain Township, of which he took possession in 1857. On taking up his residence thereon, he at once proceeded to put the place in the best condition for occupation and successful management. The entire property is in advanced cultivation and fitted with the best type of modern farm fixtures.
Eight children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Arrell. Tose now living are as follows: Effie is the wife of Dr. J.B. Ewing of Uniontown, Fayette Co., Pa. Hopper is married and lives in Newton Township. Gertrude married B.H. Quick, of Moline, David B., Jr. resides at home. [Portraits and Biographical Pg 193]
Of Coloma Township, Whiteside Co IL
Edward Atkins was born and reared in Ireland. He immigrated to Canada, where he settled and was known by his family name of "Watson". He was a miller by occupation and engaged in the business. He left the province of Canada in the year 1836, and came to the United States, leaving his wife and children. In 1837 he settled where Rock Falls now stands. In company with Isaac Merrill and Daniel Brooks he laid off the town of Rapids City. The plat was vacated, and Rock Falls now occupies the site. In 1837 he built a large frame house to be used for a hotel. Mr Richard Arey has occupied the house since 1843. Mr Atkins, sometime after his arrival in the county, again married. When the gold discoveries were made in California, he went thither, and engaged in trade and mining for about ten years. During his absence from Whiteside, Mrs. Atkins secured a bill of divorce and married again. Mr Atkins returned in 1860, and a reconciliation being brought about between himself and "first wife", they were married again, and lived happily until he left her. In the meantime, his second wife was divorced, and soon after the death of his first wife, Mr Atkins was married to her for the second time. He was engaged in business in Sterling, and had an interest in a distillery in Fulton County. The family that went by the name of "Watson" numbered seven children, and the "Atkins" family also numbered seven children. These last were born and brought up in Coloma, where many of them still live, and are worthy citizens. The Watson family never resided in Whiteside, but are reputed worthy and enterprising citizens of Wisconsin. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 131-132]
JOSHUA TAPPAN ATKINSON
Of Union Township, Whiteside Co IL
Joshua T Atkinson was born in Newburyport, Essex county, Massachusetts in 1810, and has resided only in that State and Illinois. He came to Whiteside county in November, 1834, and passed the following winter above the mouth of Coon creek, in old Prophetstown, occupying a part of a log cabin with J. W. Stakes and family. This was known as the McClure cabin, and was built by Bigelow & McClure, of Peoria, who had established a ferry on Rock river near the old Lewiston trail ford on that stream, it being the first ferry between the one at Dixon, and Van Ruff's at the month of the river. During a part of the same winter, in addition to the family of Mr. Stakes, and Mr. Atkinson, Messrs. Baxter, Benson, Bennett, and Charles Atkinson, with their families, made a home in the cabin. They had plenty of Indians for neighbors, but they were peaceable and friendly, and fond of fun and trade. Notwithstanding their limited quarters, Mr. Atkinson represents that all passed a pleasant winter, the only drawback being now and then a short allowance of provisions which would necessitate a journey to Fox river, or to Knox county.
In the spring of 1835 he went to Round Grove, which by-the-way received its name from him, and Mr. Stakes, with the intention of settling there, and in accordance with one of the rules in vogue at that day, "jack-knifed," a claim. As soon as this was done, he started to Henry or Rock island county to get a team for breaking purposes, and on his return found that he had been ousted by Messrs. Pilgrim, Nance, Jones, and others, who had broken patches all around the grove during his absence. There was nothing to do but submit,and he left there, and in company with J. W. Stakes, made claims to a large amount of land on both sides of Rock creek, in what is now Union Grove and Mt. Pleasant townships.
After leaving Round Grove, he that summer broke the first seven or eight acres where Morrison now stands. As the claim, or rather claims, made by Messrs. Atkinson and Stakes covered considerable territory, a division was made in June, 1836, Mr. Atkinson taking the part on the west side of Rock creek, and Mr. Stakes the part on the east side. Mr. Atkinson commenced making improvements on his claim, located in what is now Union Grove township, in the summer and winter of 1835, and built the first cabin in the township, and from the fifth to the eighth in the county In July, 1836, he moved his family to the claim, and continued to reside there until his removal to Geneseo, Henry county, in 1875. He has the honor of making the first prairie or breaking plow in the township, and perhaps in the county. He was assisted in the iron work by Mr. Hubbard, brother of Alexis Hubbard, of Lyndon, and in the wood work by C. G. Woodruff, of the same place. The timber for the plow, was cut in Union Grove, and considerable trouble occasioned in finding a tree of the right twist for the mound board. The land side bar of the plow was between four and five feet long, and the share between three and four feet, the plow turning a furrow from thirty-two to thirty-six inches. This unique implement of husbandry was constructed in 1836. Mr. Atkinson also brought the first reaper into the county. It was one of McCormick's first manufacture, and was bought in 1837 or 1838.
At the election held in the fall of 1836, the first one held in the county after its preliminary organization by the General Assembly, Mr. Atkinson was elected Justice of the Peace, and James Heaton, Constable. Mr. Atkinson was ordered to take the returns of the election to Galena, Jo Daviess county, a trip which consumed about four days time, at a cost of eight to ten dollars, for the customary fee of one dollar and fifty cents. He had to qualify as Justice of the Peace at that place, Whiteside county being then yet attached to Jo Daviess for judicial purposes. Mr. Atkinson was always one of the first to assist in pushing forward any enterprise which looked to the development of the township county of his adoption, and when the project of building a railroad through the county from Dixon to Fulton, was started, he entered at once heartily into the work and used all of his influence to obtain aid to construct it. He was elected one of the first Directors of the Company, which was then known as the Mississippi & Rock River Junction Railroad Company. The efforts of this company, strange to say, met with strong opposition from many along the proposed line, some urging one objection, and some another, while still others contented themselves with throwing ridicule upon it. One settler of influence said the road would not help to raise any more corn, pork or beef, and another, that it would be time enough fifty years afterwards to talk about building rail roads. These objectors are now beneficiaries of the road to a large extent, and would gladly give their thousands rather than have it destroyed, or have the track moved to a different location. Mr. Atkinson took a very prominent part in township and county affairs from the time he first became a resident of Whiteside, and being a man of more than ordinary ability and activity wielded a wide influence in shaping them for the best interests of the people. After the organization of the township under the township organization law, he represented Union Grove in the Board of Supervisors for seven successive terms, and has also held other township offices.
He was married in 1831 to Miss Emeline Little, of Plymouth, New Hampshire. Their children have been Anna K; James W.; Sarah L. ; Josiah L.; and George L. Of these, Josiah L. died in Union Grove in 1849, and George L. died in Colorado, in 1876. Anna K married B. P. Keyes, and lives in Boston, Massachusetts. James W. married Miss Sarah M. Savage, daughter of the late W. J. Savage, of Morrison, and lives in Moline, Illinois. Sarah L. resides with her parents in Geneseo, Henry county.
In a letter to the publishers of this work, Mr. Atkinson says: "The intercourse of over forty years with the citizens of Whiteside county has been friendly; their interests, and those of the county, have been my interests. May the future of Whiteside be as prosperous and happy as its past has been energetic and patriotic." [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 476-477] ** [NOTE: Joshua Atkinson (born 09 February 1810 the son of William and Anna (Little) Atkinson) died in Geneseo, Henry Co IL 28 May 1894]
DANIEL L. AUSTIN
Daniel L. Austin, of Lyndon Township, was born Oct. 22, 1823, in Cotton Township, Switzerland Co., Ind., and he is the second son of William and Margaret (Livings) Austin. While he was in his minority he attended school winters, and as soon as he reached a suitable age and degree of strength he aided his father in improving the farm.
He was married Nov. 15, 1846, to Myra A. Gary. She was born in Rushford, Allegany Co., N. Y., and is the daughter of Charles and Eunice (Spaulding) Gary. Soon after the event of his marriage Mr. Austin bought a portion of the land owned by his father in the town where he was born, on which he built a log house, and set about the work of reclaiming his land, which was in timber. Later he built a frame addition. In 1854 he sold his property in Indiana, and emigrated to Whiteside County. He bought a tract of unimproved land in Ustick Township, residing in Mt. Pleasant Township while engaged in its improvement. In 1862 he purchased wild land in Mt. Pleasant Township on section 31. Two years later he made a purchase of land adjoining, lying on the same section, which was supplied with a comfortable frame dwelling, of which he took possession with his family, and which they occupied until 1879. In that year Mr. Austin rented his farm in Mt. Pleasant, and went to Lyndon, where he remained three years. In 1882 he went back to his farm. In 1884 he again rented his place, and again went to Lyndon. He owns 131 acres of land, under good improvements and all enclosed.
Mrs. Austin died April 18, 1874. Following is the record of her surviving sons and daughters: Myra J. is the wife of J. G. McGregor; Celia married N. C. Vest, and lives in Lake City, Iowa; George W. resides near Storm Lake, Iowa; Charles W. resides in Cloud Co., Kan.; Augustus E. is a resident of Morrison; John is living in Cloud Co., Kan. Mr. Austin contracted a second matrimonial alliance Oct. 22, 1877, with Mrs. Priscilla (Magner) Hurd, a native of Richland Co., Ohio. Lou Belle is their only child. Thomas H. Hurd, the first husband of Mrs. Austin, died June 4, 1866. Their marriage occurred June 11, 1861. Their children were named William H., Arthur O. and Mary G. [Contributed by Marji Turner form Portrait & Biographical History of Whiteside Co 1885. Pg 462]
of Lyndon Township, Whiteside Co IL
Dennis Austin, a fanner on section 6, Lyndon Township, owns a valuable farm of 220 acres, pleasantly and desirably located about three miles south of Morrison. The place is increased in appearance and value by shade and ornamental trees and shrubs. Mr. Austin was born Dec. 30, 1825, in Allenville, Switzerland Co., Ind. William Austin, his father, was born in Oneida Co., N. Y., in 1794, and was descended from the early emigrants to New England. During the war of 1812 he raised a company of volunteer soldiers and started for Plattsburg, where a battle was in progress, but arrived too late to take active share in it. He married Margaret Livings, a native of New Jersey, of mixed English and German parentage. After their marriage they resided a brief period in the State of New York, and went thence to Hamilton Co., Ohio. They lived two years in the vicinity of Cincinnati, and then pushed on to what was in that day the western frontier, locating in Cotton Township, Switzerland Co., Ind. The, senior Austin bought a tract of land covered with the first forest, where he cleared a farm, removing from it after it was well improved to a second farm in the wilderness, where he repeated the experience and moved to a third tract of forest. He placed the latter in improved condition, and in 1854 made a final remove to Whiteside County, where he had previously bought 400 acres from the United States Government, which was located in Mt. Pleasant Township. He bought a house which he removed to section 27, and which constituted his residence until his death, in 1859. His wife died in 1877. Their children numbered ten, and seven are still living (1885). Miranda, the widow of Henry Murphy, lives in Jewell Co., Kan. Daniel, Silas R. and Dennis live in Lyndon Township. Martin B. is a resideni of Morrison. Georgianna, wife of Homer Olmstead, lives in Cloud Co., Kan. William Steward is a resident at Unionville. Mr. Austin was the assistant of his father on the pioneer farms from the time he had sufficient strength to operate with an ax. He improved the enforced leisure of the winters by attendance at the district schools, and he made his home with his father's family until he was 23.
In September, 1848, he was joined in marriage to Harriet Gary. She was born in Rushford, Allegany Co., N. Y., and is the daughter of Charles and Eunice (Spaulding) Gary. Her parents were natives respectively of Connecticnt and Vermont. Previous to his marriage Mr. Austin had purchased 50 acres of land under partial improvements in Cotton Township, on which he settled with his bride and began the world on his own responsibility. He operated as a farmer on his property, clearing and extending the improvements and increasing its value until 1854. In the autumn of that year he came to Whiteside County to engage in agricultural pursuits under more favorable circumstances. He purchased land in Lyndon Township, then known as township 20, range 5 east. His land was located on section 6, and was wholly guiltless of the arts of the husbandman. Mr. Austin rented a farm during the first year, and in 1856 began the work of improvement of his own property. He built a frame house of unpretentious character, which his family occupied 20 years, when he erected the dwelling in which they now reside. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Austin number eight: Millard married Alice Moss, and lives in Cloud Co., Kan.; Frank married Sophia Follinsby and resides in Clark Co., D. T.; Esther is the wife of S. A. Maxwell, of Unionville (see sketch); Olive married Frank Wenner, a farmer in Clark Co., D. T.; Lincoln is a farmer in Clark Co., D. T.; Hattie, Clara E. and Clark were born next in order; Harrison, fourth child, married Ellen Follinsby, and died in Exeter, Neb., aged 24 years. He left a child, who resides with the widowed mother in Clark Co., D. T. [Portraits and Biographical Pg 194]
HIRAM RAYMOND AUSTIN
Of Lyndon Township, Whiteside Co IL
Hiram Austin, a farmer in Lyndon Township on Section 4, is the oldest son of Stewart and Eliza (Reynolds) Austin. He was born Sept. 4, 1828 in Rutland Township, Tioga County, Pa., where his parents were early settlers. As soon as he obtained suitable growth he aided his father in the pioneer labors of the farm, helping to clear the timber away, and in the tillage of the soil. He obtained his education, attending school in the winter seasons. His father came to Illinois in 1847, leaving him to arrange the incomplete affairs relating to the estate. He set out to rejoin his family in September 1848 , leaving Elmira, and traveling to Buffalo on the canal. He came from there on a steamboat to Chicago, and walked from that city to Lyndon in three days. His first labor in Whiteside County was with a threshing-machine, and the next year he worked on his father's farm. In January, 1855, he was united in marriage to Laura, daughter of William C. and Emeline (Monroe) Morse. She was born Nov. 21, 1836 in Luzerne County, Pa. Mr. Austin and his brother had purchased the homestead, and on the event of his marriage he took up residence thereon. He still occupies the place, of which he is sole owner, having bought the interest of his brother. The farm comprises 180 acres, in the best condition for agricultural purposes, all in tillage, and fenced, with substantial buildings, fruit and shade trees. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Austin , eight in number, were names Celestia E.; Lyman R.; Emma; Cora Belle; Lester M.; Clara May; Phebe I.; and Raymond H. Emma died in infancy. [Portrait & Biographical Album Of Whiteside Co.,IL Chapman Bros. 1885 Chicago, IL Page 198]
MARK R. AVERILL
Mark R. Averill, at present residing in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, is a son of John and Rhoda Averill, and was born in Swanton, Vt., Dec. 22, 1811. He resided in the latter State until 1852, when he came West, and for two years resided in Lee Co., this State. In 1854, he purchased a farm from Fred Dwight, in Prophetstown Township, this county, consisting of 600 acres, and upon which he resided for a number of years. The farm is now owned by E. S. Ellithorpe. Soon after attaining his majority, Mr. Averill was united in marriage with Ada C. Durin, of Newfane, Windhan Co., Vt., with whom he is yet living. [Contributed by Marji Turner form Portrait & Biographical History of Whiteside Co 1885. Pg 690]
Of Portland Township, Whiteside Co IL
John Avery, a farmer on section 16, Portland Township, is a son of Milburn and Elizabeth (Green) Avery, and was born in Walton, Northamptonshire, England, May 29, 1809. His parents were poor and when he was a very small boy he went to work in a sack factory to turn a wheel (or spinning-wheel), and afterward engaged in farming. Feb. 21, 1854, he emigrated to this country, and after a residence in New York State of a few months, he came in the fall of 1854 to the township of Portland, this county, with no means in his possession. He rented a few years and then bought 75 acres where he now resides; but at present he is the proprietor of 135 acres. For the last two years he has rented his farm to his sons.
Mr. Avery was first married in Huntingtonshire, England, to Elizabeth Culpin, and by that marriage there were three children, all of whom are now deceased. Mrs. Avery died in the old country, and Mr. Avery was again married, in that country, to Hannah Coaten, Oct. 22, 1838; she was born in Helpstone, England, Sept. 1, 1811. By this marriage there were seven children, five of whom are now living. The record at present stands as follows: James a farmer in Portland Township; Hannah is the wife of Stanley Fuller, also a farmer in the same township; Martha is deceased; Ruth is the wife of Silas Dickerson, a farmer in Nebraska; John is a resident of this township; George is a farmer here, and Milburn is deceased. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 462]
JOHN P. AYLSWORTH
Of Prophetstown, Whiteside Co IL
John P. Aylsworth, one of the progressive and representative citizens, as well as prosperous and energetic farmers of Whiteside County, residing on section 27, in the township of Prophetstown, and the proprietor of 444 acres of land in the township, was born in Oneida County, Lee Township, New York May 19, 1841. His father, John B., was a carpenter and joiner by occupation, and died in the State of New York March 3, 1877. His mother died when John P. was four years of age, leaving two children of which the subject of this notice is the oldest.
In 1865 Mr. Aylsworth came West and located in Prophetstown Township. He worked b y the month two years on a farm, then rented land two years, when he purchased 221 acres of the farm on which he at present resided, and to which he has added by sub sequent purchases until at the present time he is the proprietor of 444 acres. He rents a portion of his land and cultivates the remainder. He makes a specialty of Short-horn cattle and Clydesdale, Morgan and English coach horses. He has one thoroughbred bull, registered number 19,765, raised in Lexington, Ky. He has some 15-16ths and others ½ and ¾ bloods, and in all has 83 head of cattle and 18 head of horses. He has a fine stallion named Clyde, ½ Black-Hawk Morgan and ½ Clydesdale, which he raised from a colt. He has also sold a number of fine horses. He has a nice flock of sheep, usually numbering about 50 head, and also about 100 head of hogs. Mr. Aylsworth was united in marriage in Sterling, this county, Dec. 25, 1866, to Miss Helen Field. She is a daughter of Samuel and Olive (Paddock) Field, born in Ava Township, Oneida Co., N. Y., April 21, 1851. They have three children, Eva Anna born Oct. 3, 1868; Ella Evangeline, born Feb 15, 1873; George Samuel, Jan. 217, 1883. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 357 - Contributed by Marji Turner]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright Genealogy Trails