Cornelius Bachelor, farmer, residing on section 12, Montmorency Township, is a son of Ebenezer and Hannah (Ellis) Bachellor. They were married and settled in Vermont, where the mother died. Cornelius was the only child born of his parents' union, and was born in Essex, Chittenden Co., Vt., Aug. 30, 1829. Four years after that event, in 1833, his father moved to Ohio, his mother having previously died. In the latter State he passed his years of minority, working on his father's farm and attending the common schools.
In 1856, Mr. Bachellor purchased 80 acres of land in Montmorency Township, this county. From 1857 to 1861 he resided at Rock Falls, and during the latter year moved on his land in Montmorency Township. He erected good substantial farm buildings on his land, and entered vigorously and actively upon its cultivation. By energetic effort and good management Mr. Bachellor has increased his landed possessions in the county to 240 acres, one-half of which is in a good tillable condition. Mr. Bachellor was united in marriage, in Licking Co., Ohio, April 8, 1852, to daughter of James and Elizabeth (Frank) MacClintic, natives of Ireland and Virginia. The parents settled in Ohio, where the father died. The mother afterward came to this county and died in Rock Falls, Aug. 3o, 1877. The issue of their union was one child, Mrs. Bachellor. She was born in Columbiana Co., Ohio, Jan. 29, 1831. Mr. and Mrs. Bachellor are the parents of eight children, namely: Mary E., William A., Cordelia, Martin it, Ida M., Clarence, Charles and Lewis. The two latter are deceased. Mr. Bachellor has been Highway Commissioner, School Trustee and Overseer of Highways in his township. Politically, he is identified with tenets of the Democratic party. [Portraits & Biographical 1885]
John P. Badgley, of the firm of Stilson & Badgley, general merchants at Tampico, was born Dec. 6, 1831, in the township of Gallipolis, Gallia Co., Ohio, where his parents, Anthony and Sallie (King) Badgley, became residents before their marriage. The ancestors of both lines of descent were natives of New England. Mr. Badgley passed the years of his minority in his native State. In 1852 he came to Kendall Co., Ill., whither his father came soon afterward, and is now resident there, aged 78. The mother died in Ohio in 1845. In Kendall County, the father and son engaged in farming, and operated jointly some years. In 1857 the latter located on a farm in Tampico Township, and was its occupant until 1883. In that year he went to Brown Co., Dak, whence he returned eight months later and formed his present business association. He is the owner of 320 acres of land in Dakota. In political faith and relations Mr. Badgley is a Republican. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and he has been many years officially connected with the society. He has also been identified with the local affairs of Tampico village. Mr. Badgley was married in January, 1854, to Sarah A. Glassburn. She was born in August, 1837, in the township of Gallipolis, Ohio, and is the daughter of a farmer. Following are the names of the children of Mr. and Mrs. Badgley: Mary J., John, Ida, "Jed" and Minnie are married; Hettie E. and Perry are not living; Hallie resides with her parents. [Contributed by Marji Turner - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 657]
JONAS H. BAER
Jonas H. Baer, farmer, section 26, Jordan Township, is the son of Martin Baer, of whom an extended personal sketch appears on other pages. He was born Jan. 16, 1853, in the township of Manor, in Lancaster Co., Pa. He is the second of seven children born to his parents, and the entire family are living: the household circle is still unbroken by death. Mr. Baer was four years of age when his father removed to Illinois. The family located in Jordan Township, on the section on which they have since resided without intermission. The farm purchased by the senior Baer was almost wholly unimproved, an the sons gave their attention and efforts to the work of converting the place into a homestead of value and beauty, with all possible speed. Mr. Baer continued at home until he was 22 years of age, attending the public schools during the winter seasons.
His marriage took place at Sterling, Sep. 12, 1876, when Anna H. Rutt became his wife. Mrs. Baer is the daughter of Jacob and Fannie (Harnley) Rutt, who were born in Lancaster Co., Pa., of German ancestors. They were married in that county, and became farmers in Franklin County, in the same State, locating near Chambersburg, whence they removed in 1865, on account of the unpleasant condition arising from the rebellion of the South, which the loyal people found so distasteful, and from which many fled to relieve themselves of the horrors of war. The family located in Palmyra Township, Lee Co., Ill., where they lived 20 years. Mrs. And Mrs. Rutt are quite aged. Their eight children are all living, and are all married. Mrs. Baer is the youngest. She is the mother of two children: Roy R., born Jul 7, 187, and Bert R., born March 1, 1883.
After his marriage Mr. Baer managed 160 acres belonging to this father, on section 26, working it on shares until 1885 (current year), when he became the proprietor of the property by purchase. It is all under tillage, and is stocked with graded Short-horn cattle. Politically Mr. Baer is a Republican, and he has officiated six years as School Director. He is now serving a term as School Trustee. [Contributed by Marji Turner - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 384]
Of Jordan Township
Martin Baer is one of the leading farmers of Whiteside County, owning a large and valuable farm on section 26, Jordan Twp., was born Nov. 7, 1824 in Manor Township, Lancaster Co., PA. His father, Martin Baer was born in the same county and was of Swiss lineage. The latter was a farmer and a man of unblemished rectitude of character, holding an honorable position in the German Reformed Mennonite Church. He died in Lancaster County in October 1875 at 86 years and 6 monts. Elizabeth Harnish was the name of the mother of Mr. Baer of this sketch, before her marriage. She was of German origin and was born in Lancaster County. Her father was a prominent and wealthy farmer in Lancaster County. She died in June 1880 in the city of Lancaster, and was upwards of 83 years of age.
Mr. Baer is the oldest of seven children. David his brother, next younger, is deceased. Esther, Lydia, Susana, Francis and Franklin are named in the order of their birth. Mr. Baer is the only one who has left his native State. He attended school till he was 18 years old and also assisted on the homestead farm. After the age named he devoted his attention exclusively to the business of a farmer until he wsa 26 years of age.
He was married Dec. 17, 1850 in Lancaster City, PA to Mary Herr, daughter of Henry and Catherine Herr. Her parents lived and died in their native county of Lancaster, where they were prominent farmers. Her father died Dec. 20, 1884, being nearly 84 years of age. The mother was 59 years old when she died, in Feb. 1863. Mrs. Baer was born July 13, 1825 in Manor Township, Lancaster County and is the oldest child of her parents. She resided at home until her marriage and received a good education in both German and English. The seven children of which she is the mother were born as follows - Henry, Oct. 2, 1857 and resides in Ogle County, Jonas was born Jan. 16, 1853. His personal record is given on another page. Elizabeth was born Jan. 1, 1854 and married John P. Hey, a farmer in Jordan Township (see sketch). Ezra, born Aug 19, 1859 is engaged in farming and bee culture in the township of Palmyra, Lee Co IL. Abraham, born March 19, 1861 lives on a farm in Hopkins Township. Catherine born Aug. 13, 1863; Franklin Aug 15, 1866.
Subsequent to his marriage Mr. Baer conducted the affairs of his father's farm six years. In April, 1857 he came to IL, going at first to McDonough County. In August following, the family came to Whiteside County, to the city of Sterling. In the same year the father purchased 160 acres of land in Jordan Township, to which he removed his family in March of the 1858. The places has been improved until it ranks with the best farms in the county, and is supplied with a good and commodious residence, excellent arm buildings and stock. Mr. Baer is justly estimated as a skillful and judicious farmer. He is an adherent of the Republican party, and has served as Township Clerk and in several other official positions of less importance. The entire family has strong predilections for books, and are accordingly well red and intelligent. Mrs. Baer is a member of the Reformed Mennonite Church. [Portrait and Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885 Pg 509]
Jacob Bailey, farmer and carpenter, section 5, Hopkins Township, is a son of Elias and Elizabeth (Trueax) Bailey, natives respectively of New Jersey and Pennsylvania, who settled in Fulton Co., Pa., where they resided until their death. They had a family of eight children, viz.: Sarah, Levi, Ellen, John, Jacob, Elizabeth, Job and Jessee. Mr. Bailey, the subject of this sketch, was born in Fulton Co., Pa., Oct. 28, 1828, and lived in his native county till 28 years of age. At the age of 20 he was apprenticed for two years to learn the trade of carpenter and joiner, which he followed till he came West. He came to Whiteside County in 1856 and remained for two years, engaged at his trade, and then went to Central City, Col., where he remained for nine years working at his trade and in millwright business. He then returned to Whiteside County, and purchased 60 acres of land in section 5, Hopkins Township, where he settled and has since lived. He is now the owner of 140 acres, most of which is in a good tillable condition. Since his return from Colorado he has engaged extensively in farming. He keeps about 20 head of short-horn cattle, four head of horses, and fattens annually from 30 to 40 head of hogs. In politics Mr. Bailey is a Republican. [Contributed by Marji Turner - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 258]
JAMES H. BAIRD
James H. Baird, farmer, residing on section 30, Prophetstown Township, and the proprietor of 340 acres located theron, is a son of James and Mary (Wilson) Baird, and was born in Perry Co. Ohio, Jan. 7, 1834. His father was of Scotch-Irish lineage, and a native of PA and his mother, of Scotch-Irish descent, a native of Washington, same State. His father died when Mr. Baird was five years old, and he resided with his mother and sisters until he had attained the age of thirty years. At the death of the father the family were left in straitened circumstances, and James H. was compelled to labor for their maintenance, receiving only the limited education by the common schools. His mother was a sister of Colonel Wilson, of Sterling, this county, who is deceased. Mr. Baird was united in marriage in Hopkins Township, at the residence of his brother, May 24, 1864 to Martha Brown. She was the daughter of Isaac and Ellen Brown and was born Dec. 12, 1834. Mr. Baird returned with his bride to Ohio, where he had previously purchased the interest of the heirs of the old homestead. In the fall of 1864, he sold his farm and came to this county and bought the place on which he at present resides. He moved his family here in March 1865 and has made this his residence ever since. He has made a number of improvements on his place, erected a nice residence and one of the finest barns in this part of the county, He has some exceedingly fine horses and cattle.
Mr. and Mrs. Baird have five children, born in Prophetstown Township - Ada I., April 30, 1867; Zella April 14, 1869; Mary E., Jan. 13, 1871; Jessie July 2, 1875 and Emma June 10, 1877.
Mr. Baird is Drain Commissioner of his district, has spent considerable time in the exercise of his office, and takes great interest in the work. He was an officer of the School Board 12 years. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 686; Contributed by Wilson DeCamp]
FRED L. BAKER
of Mt. Pleasant
Fred L. Baker, who carries on general farming and stock-raising upon a tract of land of one hundred and twenty acres on section 15, Mount Pleasant township, which has come into his possession as the result of the energy and capable management he has displayed in earlier years, was born in Tipton, Cedar county, Iowa, October 9,1861 his parents being Jason L. and Martha Van Meter Baker, native of New York and Ohio respectively. The father came to Whiteside county over sixty years ago. After living here for a time, he removed to Iowa but later returned to this county, where he made his home until his death in December, 1877, when he was forty years of age. His widow still resides at Sterling, at the age of sixty-six years. They were married in Tipton, Iowa, where the father carried on work at the carpenter's trade. In fact throughout his entire life he was thus identified with building operations. His widow, a most remarkable lady, holds membership with the Fourth Street Methodist Episcopal church. Their family numbered five children: Etta J., who became the wife of Andrew Knox and died in November, 1884; Fred L., of the review; Will H., who is married and resides in San Diego, California, where he carries on business as a contractor and builder; Bert F., who at one time taught school and was superintendent of schools at Chadwick and afterward at Warren, Illinois, for five years but now resides near Minot, North Dakota, where he follows farming, although in the meantime he engaged in the insurance business; and Cora Belle, who died in 1881, at the age of eleven years.
Fred L. Baker was reared in Whiteside county and attended the public schools at Unionville, where he received instruction in the branches of learning that usually constitute the public-school curriculum. He has followed farming throughout his entire life. In 1894 he purchased his present place, known as the Henry Knox farm. Much of the improvement here has been done by Mr.Baker, who keeps in touch with modern ideas of progressive agriculture. He uses the latest farm machinery to facilitate the work of the fields and annually produces large crops, which indicate that the methods employed in carrying on his farm are of a most practical character.
In March, 1886, Mr. Baker was untied in marriage to Miss Etta Stone, a native of Prophetstown township, and a daughter of Reed and Esther Garrison Stone, who came very early to Whiteside county. Here the father engaged in farming and later removed to Michigan but subsequently came again to this county, where he died in June, 1894, at the age of seventy-nine years. His wife passed away in 1897, at the age of seventy-three years. Mr. Stone had served as school director and was interested in all that pertained to up-building and progress here. He and his wife had come to the west from the state of New York and their personal worth was indicated by the high regard in which they were uniformly held. They had a family of nine children, seven sons and two daughters. Nelson, now a farmer of South Dakota, married Miss Potter and has a family. Sarah married Orrin Moran and lives in Michigan. Charles, who wedded Rosetta Moran, is a resident farmer of Michigan. Arthur makes his home at Spring Hill in this county. Philip, who married Miss Digby, is employed in the wire mills at Rock Falls. Mrs. Baker is the next of the family. Erastus, who married Miss Wilson, of Morrison, is employed in the Keystone Mills at Rock Falls. Carson, who wedded Miss White, is a barber of Battle Creek, Iowa. Harry, who married Miss Rosetta Crump, of Mount Pleasant township, this county, is now located in Nebraska. The home of Mr. and Mrs. Baker has been blessed with two sons and a daughter: Clarence L., who at the age of twenty-one years, aids in the operation of the home farm; Vernon L., who at the age of sixteen years is attending the Mount Pleasant high school; and Edna B., twelve years of age, also a student in the schools.
Politically Mr. Baker is independent, supporting men and measures rather than party. He has been school director for many years and is now serving as highway commissioner, which office he has filled for two years. In this position he is giving excellent service and has done much to improve the public highways. Socially he is connected with the Modern Woodmen camp of Morrison and his wife is a member of the Mystic Workers and also of the Woman's Relief Corps, and she attends the Methodist Episcopal church. While a native of Iowa, Mr. Baker has spent the greater part of his life in this county and the fact that many of his warmest friends are those who have known him from his boyhood to the present time is an indication that his has been an active, upright career. [Contributed by Amy Anderson from the History Of Whiteside County]
Of Union Grove Twp
Jacob Baker was born in Wilkes Barre, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, October 6, 1796, and at the age of one year went to New York State with his parents, where he remained until after he was twenty-one years of age. On the of 12th of October, 1817, he married Elizabeth Wilbur, and in the same month moved to Farmington, Trumbull county, Ohio, where he lived, with the exception of a few years in Portage county, Ohio, until 1839. In 1818 he joined the Methodist church in Portage county, Ohio, and in 1823 was given a license as an exhorter. In 1830 he was elected to the position of Circuit Steward, and held it until he moved to Illinois. In 1828 he was elected Justice of the Peace. Mr. Baker has been a strong advocate of the temperance cause since 1830, when he became a member of the old Washington Society. In 1834 he joined an Abolitionist Society, when to be an Abolitionist meant persecution. His last political act in Ohio was to serve as a delegate to an Anti-Slavery Convention at Youngstown, in Trumbull county, to nominate a candidate for the Legislature.
He left Ohio on the 18th of September, 1839 with teams, and his family consisting of thirteen persons, and arrived at Fulton, Whiteside county, October 12, 1839. There he bought a lot, and an unfinished frame house, finished the house and resided in it until 1842, when he purchased a claim in Ustick, from which he soon removed to Union Grove He formed the first Sabbath School in the county at his residence in Fulton in the fall of 1840. He was also a local preacher in the early times in Whiteside, preaching at different places in the county, and at Lyons, Iowa, He brought his radical abolition sentiments with him when he came to Whiteside, and took an earnest and active part in the Anti-Slavery movement which first began to be agitated in the West in the fall of 1840, when James G. Birney was the candidate of that party for President, and cast his vote for that gentleman, who received in this State only 159 votes. The great Anti-Slavery champion, Elijah P. Lovejoy, used to run slaves to Mr. Baker, on the "underground railroad," on their way to freedom. In the latter part of 1844 he withdrew from the M. E. Church because his views on the Slavery question were objected to, and on the 19th of January, 1845, called a meeting at the school house, in Union Grove, to organize a church that would sustain the Anti-Slavery movement.
At that meeting Jacob Baker, Elizabeth Baker, Daniel B. Young, Betsey Young, Abigail Young, Henry Boyer, Sylvia Graves, and Olive Upson, were present and formed a Wesleyan church, the first in the county. Soon after others joined, and the number increased weekly. Rev. Chas. Drake was secured as pastor the next spring. For the lack of accommodations it was decided to build a church, which was done through the efforts of Mr. Baker and Daniel B. Young. The building was frame, 32 by 36 feet and stood on Mr. Baker’s farm near Unionville, on the Morrison and Fulton road. It was taken down a few years since. In the fall of 1848 Mr. Baker was one of the delegates from Illinois to the General Conference of the Wesleyan church, held in the city of New York, and in the fall of 1868 a delegate to the General Conference of the same Church, held at Cleveland, Ohio. In 1852 he was a candidate of the Anti-Slavery party for Representative to the Legislature from the district of which Whiteside then formed a part, and received 47 votes, polling more than the party vote. On the 8th of April, 1863, he sold his farm in Union Grove, and moved to Morrison, and in the spring and summer of 1865, in connection with E. L. Worthington and Robert Paley, built the Revere House in that city.
Since then he has lived a retired life at his residence in Morrison. Mr. Baker’s first wife died on the 14th of May, 1874, at the age of ‘78 years. Mr. and Mrs. Baker had lived together as husband and wife for fifty-eight years, and raised a family of eleven children all of whom grew up to man and womanhood. On the 6th of May, 1875, Mr. Baker married Mrs. Phoebe Wilbur, his present wife, at Hammond Station, Michigan. The names of his children are in order as follows: William R., died May 14, 1859; Sylvia M., wife of J. W. Battis, and living in Morrison; Oliver, living in Morrison; Benoni, died February 15, 1844; Lydia wife of Henry C. Fellows, and living in Fulton; Reuben, living in Kansas, and Presiding Bishop of the Protestant Methodist Church in that State; Billings P., living in Ustick; Isaac W., died September 28, 1853; Dillon P., living in Sycamore, Illinois, and is publisher of a newspaper called the Free Methodist and minister also of the Free Methodist Church; Hester Ann, died December 13, 1865, and Martha J., died November 22, 1872. [History of Whiteside County IL - Bent - Wilson / 1877]
JOHN W. BAKER
of Garden Plain Township
John W. Baker is a native of Queen Anne's county, Maryland, and was born on the 26th of April 1812. He came to Fulton in December 1836 being attracted thither by the glowing accounts of the wonderful Mississippi Valley, sent to him by his uncle, John Baker, the first settler in Fulton and in Whiteside county. These accounts were so seductive that he bid good-bye to "My Maryland." and, with his wife, three sisters, and a niece, undertook the laborious journey to the then far West. Arriving in the winter and finding only a small cabin on the Cattail creek in which to place his family and household goods, he made up his mind that "Uncle John" had drawn considerably upon his imagination when he wrote about the beauty and delights of the great Mississippi Valley. Added to his other troubles was the death of his niece during the winter, an account of which is given in the history of Fulton Township. But with the advent of spring things began to look more cheerful, and it was not long before he, too, began to chant the praises of the beautiful valley. Mr. Baker was married to Miss Mary H Wright in Queen Anne's county, Maryland, on the 24th of December 1833. Their children have been as follows; Annie, died in 1836 in Maryland; John T. died in Fulton in 1843; Albert J; married and lives at Denver Colorado; John W. Jr living in Oregon; Ellen married and living in Marshall county Iowa; Thomas, living in California; William H. living in Utah; Edward M., Ramsay M., Mary and Lizzie E. all living in Garden Plain. Mr. Baker remained in Fulton until 1843 when he purchased his present farm in Section 11, in Garden Plain township, where he has since resided. He also owns land in sections 3 and 10 in the same township. During his residence in Fulton, he was one of the Constables of the Precinct, and in Garden Plain township he has held different offices. He was elected School Director in 1845, with David PARKER and David MITCHELL, the three being the first School Directors of Garden Plain. Mr Baker is one of the famous Garden Plain Missionaries, and is one of the most zealous and effective temperance workers in the country. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 214]
Of Hume Township
Lyman Baker was born in Washington county, New York, January 31, 1818, and was married to Miss Anna J. Treadwell, July 19, 1836. They have one child, Clarence A., born January. 11, 1858. Mr. Baker is an old resident of Hume township, and owns a fine farm on section eleven, He is a good neighbor, friend, and a respected citizen. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877]
OF Ustick Township
Oliver Baker is a native of Trumbull county Ohio, and was born February 23, 1822. He came to Whiteside county with his father Mr. Jacob Baker on the 12 of October 1839, and settled at first in Fulton. During the time he was a resident of Fulton he worked occasionally for John Baker, the original settler, and had the honor of planting the first fruit trees in Northwestern Whiteside on Mr. Baker's place near the Cattail creek. In 1842 he went to Ustick, and lived for a year with his father's family on the farm now owned by Stephen W Goff, and in 1843 purchased the large farm now owned by him in that township. This farm contains four hundred and eighty acres and is situated under the bluffs, on section 18. Immediately upon its purchase he commenced active work in bringing it under a proper state of cultivation and in a few years had one of the finest and most productive farms in the county. He continued to live upon it until 1867, when he moved to Morrison and engaged in buying and shipping stock, leaving his two sons to till its fertile acres. His eldest son, Barney G in a few years joined him in the stock business at Morrison and the youngest son, Anson L took charge of the farm, and still continues its management. Mr Baker was married to Miss Elizabeth Graves, daughter of Lewis Graves of Ustick on the 22nd day of June 1843. The children of this marriage are Barney G married Miss Deborah SYLVESTER, and lives in Morrison; Anson L married Miss Anna PIERCE and lives in Ustick. Mrs. BAKER died July 5, 1874 and in August, 1875, Mr BAKER married Miss Deborah BEDELL. There have been no children by this marriage. During all the period Mr. BAKER resided in Ustick, he took an active and prominent part in the affairs of the township and county. In 1857 he was elected Supervisor of the township, and held the office for three successive terms. During his first term the Board of Supervisors met at Sterling. He also held the office of Justice of Peace for quite a number of years. When the mail route from Fulton by the way of Thompson, Savanna and other towns, to Galena, was established, it passed by his residence in Ustick, and a Postoffice was located there, for which he was appointed Postmaster, and retained the position until the office was abolished. He is at present Alderman from the Second Ward of the city of Morrison. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 471]
Of Genesee Township
Rensselear Baker came from NY. He had a wife and two children, a son and daughter. He went to California, leaving his wife on the farm and has not been heard from recently. Mrs. Baker died about 2 years ago. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877]
LEVI D. BALDWIN
Levi D. Baldwin, dealer in coal, feed, flour and meal, lime and cement at Lyndon, became a resident of that place in 1873. In 1879 he bought the business interests he is now conducting of G. W. Fitch. He is the owner of a considerable amount of village property, which he purchased a various times. Mr. Baldwin was born Oct. 1, 1825, in Manchester, Bennington Co., Vt. His parents, Silas G. and Hannah (Church) Baldwin, were both born in the same State. His paternal grandfather was a native of England, and in the company with two brothers came to America. They resided for a time in Connecticut and removed thence to Washington Co., Vt., going from there to Windham County, where the grandsire died. Mr. Baldwin was but six years old when his mother died, and his father went soon after to Jamaica, in Windham County, where he was again married. Mr. Baldwin began to take care of himself when but nine years old, obtaining work in summer and attending school in winter. In 1842 he left his native State and went to Massachusetts, where he remained three years, returning at the expiration of that time to Vermont. Mr. Baldwin formed a matrimonial alliance Nov. 4, 1845, with Samantha Hogeboon. He remained in Vermont until 1855, and during the last year of his stay in that State he worked as a brick and plaster mason. On coming to Illinois he purchased a considerable acreage of land in Fairfield Township, Bureau County, consisting of both wild and improved land. He began to apply himself industriously as a farmer and also worked a the trade of a mason. In 1871 he sold his farm and went to Washington County, whence he returned after a stay of eighteen months to Bureau County. In February, 1872, he came to the township of Lyndon, this county. Mrs. Baldwin is the daughter of John Hogeboon, a member of the family of his son-in-law, and 91 years of age. [Contributed by Marji Turner - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 558]
ORSON G. BALDWIN
Orson G. Baldwin, residing in Prophetstown, is the son of Harley M. and Eliza S. (Sherman) Baldwin, and was born in Hinesburg, Chittenden Co., Vt., Dec. 13, 1845. He was reared on a farm, and in 1867 left home and came west to Prophetstown, this county, where his brother, Sherman, had preceded him, and formed a partnership with him in the general mercantile business. They were very successful in trade, and in 1872 erected the brick building the brother now occupies. Mr. Baldwin retired from the business July 19, 1884, which at that time was the leading commercial house in town. Since his retirement from the mercantile business, Mr. Baldwin has dealt largely in stocks, and has interested himself in farming. He has 80 acres of land, on half mile south of Prophetstown, and also owns, in connect with his brother, 320 acres of land in Woodbury Co., Iowa. Himself and wife are the joint owners of 160 acres of land, in Suez Township, Mercer County, this State. Mr. Baldwin also owns a fine residence in the northern part of Prophetstown, and a store building on Washington Street. He is a member of the Masonic Order, belonging to the Royal Arch Chapter; he was also a member of the Town Board two terms. Mr. Baldwin was united in marriage in Prophetstown, Oct. 20, 1869, to Miss J. Mina Shaw, and they have two children – Blanche, born Nov. 7, 1870, and Beth, born Aug. 13, 1875. Mrs. Baldwin died in Prophetstown, July 4, 1881, and Mr. Baldwin was again married, in Aledo, Mercer Co., Ill., Feb. 20, 1884 to Miss Vesta Ransom. She is a daughter of Asa W. and E. Susan Ransom, and was born in Suez Township, Mercer Co., Ill., Nov. 22, 1859, and was one of eight children born to her parents. When the First National Bank of Prophetstown was organized he became a stockholder, and continued as such during its existence. [Contributed by Marji Turner - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 587]
SHERMAN G. BALDWIN
Sherman G. Baldwin, dealer in general merchandise at Prophetstown, and Supervisor of the township, is a son of Harley M. and Eliza S. (Sherman) Baldwin, and was born in Hinesburg, Chittenden Co., Vt., Nov 26, 1843. His father was born Oct. 4, 1804, and was a farmer by occupation. His mother was a native of Roxbury, Conn., and was born May 5, 1808 and resides in Hinesburg, Vt. They were married Oct. 8, 1826, and the father died in Hinesburg, Vt., Jane. 24, 1874. They had eight children, six of whom survive: Myron H., a merchant in Lincoln, Neb.; Mary E., wife of Lewis Sanctuary, a boot and shoe dealer, residing in Hinesburg, Vt.; Susan A. Ray, a widow, and resides in Burlington, Vt.; Orson G. resides in Prophetstown; Sherman G. is the subject of this notice; Frederick W., a farmer, and resides in Lincoln, Neb.
Mr. Baldwin was reared on a farm and received the advantages afforded by the common schools. When 18 years of age, he enlisted in Co. G. 14th Vt. Vol. Inf., as a private, and served in the Army of the Potomac about one year, receiving his discharge July 30, 1863, at Brattleboro, Vt. He participated in the battle of Gettysburg. On receiving his discharge, he returned to Vermont, and in October of the same year came to this county and located at Morrison, where he had a sister (wife of C. W. Sholes). Soon afterward he went to Fulton, this county, and was employed as clerk in the mercantile establishment of Rice Bros., remaining with them for three years. He then went to Davenport, Iowa, was there engaged in the dry-goods house of Wadsworth & Co., one year, when he returned to Morrison and was employed by Charles Spears for a short time. He then went to Prophetstown, and in April, 1867, in company with his brother, Orson G., opened a general store. In 1871 they built the fine brick he now occupies, 24 x 75 feet in dimensions, being two stories with basement and a brick warehouse adjoining 18 x 60. They enlarged their business from a $2,000 stock to about $20,000, and largely engaged in buying and shipping produce. In July, 1884, his brother retired from the business. Mr. Baldwin employs three assistants, carries a line of groceries, dry-goods, ready-made clothing, boots and shoes, hats and caps, carpets (on second floor), and does an annual business approximating $60,000. He owns his residence, two lots on Second Street, also 320 acres of land in Woodbury Co., Iowa. He is a member of the Masonic Order, Blue Lodge, Royal Arch Chapter 174, Prophetstown, and Sterling Commandery, No. 57; also a member of the A. O. U. W.
Mr. Baldwin was united in marriage in Prophetstown of Cook Co., Ill., and born Jan. 29, 1849. They have four children, born in Prophetstown: Kate, Dec. 23, 1872; Cass, June 3, 1875; Mary, April 9, 1878; and Louane, July 18, 1881. When the First National Bank of Prophetstown was organized, he was a stock-holder and director, and continued to be such until the bank was changed to a private one. He was appointed as Supervisor to fill a vacancy in 1879, and in 180 was elected to the position and has been re-elected each term since.
Politically, Mr. Baldwin is identified with the interests of the Republican party, and at the last Republican National Convention held at Chicago, and also at the State Conventions of 1880 and 1884, he was a Delegate. [Contributed by Marji Turner - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 568]
ROBERT G. BARBER
Robert G. Barber, a farmer on section 27, Ustick Township, is the son of Millard and Margaret (Glenn) Barber, natives respectively of Connecticut and Pennsylvania. They removed with their family to Whiteside County in the spring of 1856, settling in Ustick Township, where the father died April 5, 1874. The mother is still living. Mary, Robert G., Martha J. and George P. are the names of their children. Mr. Barber was born in what is now Montour Co., Pa., Sept. 2, 1841. He was educated in the common schools, and came in 1856 to Whiteside County with his parents. He engaged in the business of farming, in which he operated independently until 1868, when he removed to Fulton and engaged in the omnibus business, in which he was interested until 1874, when he returned to the homestead. He is now the owner of 198 acres of land, which is all improved. The marriage of Mr. Barber to Delia E., daughter of A.C. and Amerita (Pierce) Crouch, took place at Morrison. Their five children were born as follows: Cora A., Aug. 9, 1868; Percy L., Sept. 24, 1870; Harley P., Sept. 10, 1874; Mirtie M., March 7, 1876; Delia M., Sept. 30, 1879. Mr. Barber was a second time married, in Garden Plain Township, to Jane, daughter of James K. and Rachel (Phinney) Kinard. She was born Nov. 6, 1849, in Ohio, and has had one child, Inis V, born July 8, 1884. For 12 years previous to her marriage she was engaged in teaching in Kansas and Illinois. Her parents reside in Kansas, whither they emigrated in 1869. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen (April 2008) from Portraits & Biographical Pg 413 Whiteside County IL 1885]
Alfred Barnes, of Genesee Township, has been a farmer on section 13 since 1869. He came to Whiteside County in 1854, when he purchased a farm on section 24, on which he was a resident 15 years. He has been connected with the agricultural development of this section of the State of Illinois over 30 years. Mr. Barnes was born Nov. 28, 1824, in Fabius Township, Onondaga Co., N. Y. His father, Truman Barnes, was born in the State of New York; of parents who were natives of New England. He was a private soldier in the war of 1812, and was married in his native county to Azuba Kinney. She was born in the same county and township, and her parentage was the same in nationality as that of her husband. They passed their entire lives in their native State, and died in the township of Pike, Wyoming County. The father died in 1835, when about 47 years of age. The mother died in 1860. Three of their nine children are living: Mr. A Barnes is the seventh child of his parents, and he lived in his native place until he was eight years old. His father then removed his family to Wyoming County, where he received his education. He was 11 years of age when his father died; and four years later he went to Pike in the same county to enter upon an apprenticeship under Messrs. Hull & Smith, woolen manufacturers. After completing the period of his instructions, he engaged in their service and remained with them 15 years, becoming general manager of their factory. In 1824 he decided to devote the remawder of his active life to f arming, and in accordance with that purpose he came to Whiteside County, where he has since been occupied as stated. The farm he first bought contained 40 acres and was wholly unimproved. He had placed it in good agricultural condition when he severed his conection with it by sale. The farm which he has owned since 1869, was under partial improvement when he became its owner. It is at present in excellent condition, and supplied with creditable farm structures. It is one of the best improved farms in the township. Mr. Barnes is a Republican of well known stability and consistent record. He has occupied several local official positions, interested in school matters since he came to the township, aud has been School director 15 years in succession.
March 21, 1848, he entered into matrimonial bonds with Adaline Olin, in Pike, Wyoming Co., N.Y . Mrs. Barnes is the daughter of Justin and Mary (Tiffany) Olin. Her father was born in Vermont, and is a cousin of Stephen D. Olin, a famous clergyman in the Methodist Church, and is a relative of Senator George F. Edmunds, of Vermont. Her mother was born in the State of New York. Mrs. Barnes was born June 5, 1826, in the township of Eagle, in Wyoming County. She is the daughter of a farmer and was educated in her native county. Her parents came to Illinois, and her father died in 1863, in Whiteside County. Her mother died in 1883 in Carroll County. Mr. and Mrs. Barnes have been the parents of six children. Mary L., Evaline. P., and S. Henrietta are married. Eugenia L. and Emma E. are at home. Sarah A. died in infancy, Mrs. Barnes is connected by membership with the Methodist Episcopal Church. [Portrait & Biographical 1895 - Pg 533]
WILLIAM S. BARNES
William S. Barnes was born in Woodstock, Vermont, May 11, 1808, and settled in Lower Albany July 23,1839. He was married to Miss Adaline Howe at Lowell, Mass., in 1830. The children of this union have been Frances D., born May 28, 1831; Lucia, born April 15, 1833, now dead; Sarah, born February 16, 1835, married and living in Vermont; Adaline, born April 1, 1839, married and living in Iowa; William Henry, born Septermber 12, 1841 living in Albany, Mary, born September 20, 1842, now dead; Louisa, born May 20, 1846 now dead; Charles S., born March 16, 1848, living in Albany.
The next year after Mr. Barnes' arrival in Albany he erected the present Eagle Hotel using it for the first few years as a store and boarding house. In 1846 he opened the hotel, and it very soon became under his able management, the best known and most popular hotel in all this section of the country. Mr. Barnes was personally a very genial and popular man, and was honored by his fellow citizens and by the General Government with different Positions of trust. He was the first Supervisor of the township after its organization and was elected to the same position several times afterwards. During his lifetime he was a prominent member of the Masonic Fraternity. His death occured on the 20th of July, 1872, and the funeral was attended by a large number of his Masonic brethren. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
HENRY M. BARNUM
Of Montmorency Township
Henry M. Barnum, farmer, section 16, Montmorency Township, was born January 18, 1843, in Greene Co. N. Y. His parents, Abraham and Sarah (Ingraham) Barnum, were natives respectively of Connecticut and New York, and in the latter State they were married and made their life-long residence. Their children numbered 11, and were named as follows: George, Amanda, Watson, Mary, Angeline, Henry M., Sarah, William, Adelia A., Dexter, and Georgiana.
The death of the father while the children were yet small, left the support of the family on Mr. Barnum and his brother, a duty which they fulfilled until its various members were able to care for themselves. Consequently, Mr. Barnum was deprived of the opportunity of obtaining much education beyond the ordinary English rudiments. He was 18 years old when the war broke out, and within the first year of the conflict he enlisted in the 20th N.Y. Inf. for three months. He re-enlisted at the expiration of the time in the same regiment for three years, but was discharged in February, 1863, for disability. Soon after, he came to Whiteside County, and for two years after his arrival he operated as a farm laborer. He then rented land and continued that method of operation until 1878, when he bought 80 acres of land and established a homestead. His place is all under tillage. Politically he is a Democrat, and has discharged the duties of the positions of Collector, Assessor and Township Clerk three years respectively.
Mr. Barnum was united in marriage, Feb. 19, 1865, in Greene County in his native State , to Emmeline, daughter of Simeon and Julia (Middaugh) Reynolds. The parents of Mrs. Barnum live in Ulster County, N. Y. They had eight children, - Mary J., Gideon B., Emmeline, Elizabeth, Willard H., George H. Oscar and Henry E. Mrs. Barnum was born Aug. 11, 1845 in Greene County. To her and her husband seven children have been born, - Ermina, Rena, Julia, Dora, Mary A., Wilbur H., and Daisy E. The oldest child died when 16 months old. The mother is a memeber of the Baptist Church of Sterling, having united with it in December, 1878. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885., Page 521]
THEODORE S. BARRETT
Of Hopkins Township
Theodore S. Barrett, a retired farmer living on section 25, Hopkins Township, was born April 17, 1808, in Madison Co., N.Y. He was educated in the public schools, which he attended until he was bout 18 years old, and at that age entered the academy at Cazenovia, N.Y., where he was a student two years. After becoming his own master, he engaged in dairy farming and operated in his native State until 1856, when he came to Whiteside County. After a stay of two years at Sterling he bought 100 acres of land on sections 25 and 26 in Hopkins Township. On this he fixed his place of residence, and it has since been his home. His estate includes 125 acres of land, which is chiefly under tillage. Mr. Barrett is an adherent of the Republican party. He has officiated as Township Clerk and in other minor offices.
The first marriage of Mr. Barrett, to Caroline Damon, took place Nov. 14, 1830, in Madison Co., N. Y. Frances G., Theodore H., Lorenzo M. and Lucia C. are the names of the children of whom they became the parents. The mother died July 8, 1860, in Hopkins Township. Mr. Barrett formed a second matrimonial alliance Oct. 10, 1864, at Sterling, with Jerusha B. (McCune) Eggleston. She is the daughter of Stephen and Polly (Davenport) McCune, and was the widow of Daniel Eggleston, who died in Indiana in 1858, leaving two children, Adella and George W. Mrs. Barrett was born May 16, 1822, in Oswego Co., N. Y. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 266]
[ADDED NOTE: Caroline Damon was the daughter of Isaac & Diodema (Phelps) Damon. Frances G. Barrett b 29 Aug 1832, Theodore H. Damon born 27 Aug 1834, Lorenzo M. Damon born 18 Aug 1836 and Lucia C. Barrett born 16 Jun 1844.]
Dr. William Bassett, deceased formerly a resident of Fulton, and one of the pioneer physicians of Whiteside County, was born in Hinsdale, Berkshire Co., Mass., Sept. 20, 1808, and was a son of Isaac and Mary (Knight) Bassett. He received his medical education at the Berkshire Medical Institute, of Pittsfield, Mass., and graduated in the class of 1834. He was married at Granby, Hampshire Co., Mass., April 16, 1835, to Miss Louisa A. Ayres, daughter of Chester and Lois (Preston) Ayres. Mrs. Bassett's people for many generations were natives of Massachusetts. Dr. Bassett removed to Bertrand, Mich., and began practice in 1836. The following year he removed to Sycamore, De Kalb Co., Ill., where he was in practice till 1842. He then went to Iowa, and from Iowa he came to Fulton in 1849. He entered upon the duties of his profession at this place, where he had an extensive and successful practice. He was afflicted with lung trouble and was often obliged to decline answering calls on account of failing health. he made his home at Fulton continuously from 1849 to the time of his death which occurred Jun 23, 1867, except a few months at a time spent in Colorado and in Mt. Morris and Union Grove, Ill., for his health. Dr. and Mrs. Bassett's family consisted of two sons and a daughter: William E. married Geneva Estabrook and re sides in Alabama; Helen S. is the wife of b. F. Woodward, of Denver, Col.; and Langdon, the youngest son died aged four and a half years. Dr. Bassett was a Republican and one of Fulton's most respected citizens. As a physician he was skillful in his profession, especially in the diseases incident to the early settlement of this country. His wife, an estimable lady, survives him and continues to reside at Fulton. She is a respected member of the Presbyterian Church. [Contributed by Marji Turner - Portraits & Biographical]
A.W. Bastian of the firm of F.K. and A>W. Bastian, publishers and proprietors of the Fulton Journal, a semi-weekly independent paper, was born in Geauga Co., Ohio, June 26, 1846 and is the son of Van S. and Ann E. Bastian. He removed to Rochester NY with his parents in 1850, and received his primary education in the schools of that city. In 1861 he came to Prophetstown, this county, where he was engaged in farming and teaching school. He subsequently removed to Bureau County, this State. Being ambitious to acquire a thorough education, while his circumstances did not justify the necessary expense, he was obliged to earn the money with which to pay his way through college. This he did in teaching school and working on a farm til he succeeded in obtaining three terms at Dover College and two at Wheaton, finally receiving a State certificate. His attendance at Wheaton occurred after he was married. He taught the Yorktown school, organized the Tampico school, graded it and served as Principal seven years. He came to Fulton in August 1881, and purchased a half interest in the Journal office and has since devoted his entire attention to conducting that business. The history of the paper under the management of the Bastian Brothers proves that it is ably edited and that the office is conducted on sound business principles. Mr. A.W. Bastian was married in Yorktown IL, March 4, 1872, to Miss Eva A. Patterson, daughter of Orrin and Lucy M. (Chubbuck) Patterson. Mrs. Bastian was born in Bureau Co., IL. They have one child, Sidney A. born Dec. 13, 1875. Mr. Bastian is a Democrat in his political views. [Portraits & Biographical transcribed by Christine Walters]
FRED K. BASTIAN
Fred K. Bastian, senior partner of Bastian Bros., publishers and proprietors of the Fulton Journal (see history of the paper elsewhere in this work); was born in Rochester, N. Y., Sep. 23, 1856, and is the son of Van S. and Ann E. Bastian. He came to Illinois with his parents in 1861, and was brought up on a farm near Prophetstown, this county. He received his primary education in the district school, became a student of Princeton (Ill.) High School and of Wheaton (Ill.) College, and subsequently attended the Whiteside County Normal School three terms. He received a first-grade certificate and taught school three years. He was engaged in various employments till October, 1879, when he was employed as reporter on the Sterling Gazette. That connection continued till April, 1881, when he purchased the Journal office of the Sterling Gazette Company. He changed its politics from Republican to Independent-Democratic. Aug. 21, 1881, his elder brother, A. W., purchased a half interest in the office, and the business has since been conducted under the firm name of Bastian Brothers. In September of that year they changed the paper from an eight-column folio to a nine-column folio, weekly, patent inside; and in November following the patent business was discontinued and the paper wholly printed at home. The paper was issued in that form till October 30, 1882, when it was made a seven-column semi-weekly, all home print, and published Tuesdays and Fridays. The Journal was the official paper of the county during the years 1883-4-5, The office is supplied with a power press and good outfit of material for all sorts of job work. Without severing his connection with the Journal, Mr. Bastian went to Grand Forks, Dak., in July, 1882, and engaged as a reporter on the Grand Forks Daily and Weekly News. He continued on the News staff until November of that year, when he returned to Fulton and the Journal office.
Mr. Fulton has served one year as City Marshall of Fulton. In politics he is a Democrat. He was married at Mendota, Ill., Aug. 21, 1884, to Miss Nellie J. Barton, daughter of William and Maria L. Barton. Mrs. Bastian was born in LaSalle Co. Ill. [Transcribed by Marji Turner from Portraits & Biographical History of Whiteside 1885 Pg. 206]
DANIEL F. BATCHELLER
OF Coloma Township
Daniel F. Batcheller was born in Bethel, Vermont September 8, 1803. January 4, 1826 he married Miss Caroline Maynard. In 1831 he moved to Medina County Ohio where he pursued the trade of a carpenter. In May, 1840, he settled in Sterling Illinois, making a claim in Coloma, to which he removed in a short time. Mrs. Batcheller died in March, 1838, and he was married to Elizabeth A Warner. Children: Mary, born in 1826; Henry F in 1834 and Caroline. Mary married William Lashell January 19 1847, and resides in Carroll County. Henry F married Mary McNeil, July 1 1852; children - Addison M born August 6 1855, Imogene, born May 5 1861 and Carrie F born March 22 1868; Addison M married Ella Price, October 18 1877. Caroline married Andrew Sherwood August 30 1869, who died in California in 1873; in 1876 she married Charles Best. Mrs Elizabeth Batcheller died November 5 1855 and in 1857 Mr Batcheller married Mrs. Jane McNeil. In 1858 Henry F Batcheller invented and secured a patent upon a hand corn planter, and with his father immediately began its manufacture in a small way. Twelve were manufactured and sold the first year. Mr Batcheller, Sr., retired in 1870 and in 1876 A. M. Batcheller became a partner, the firm name being H. F. Batcheller & Son. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 132]
HENRY F. BATCHELLER
Of Coloma Township
Henry F. Batcheller, manufacturer, Rock Falls, was born Jan. 13,1834, in Peninsula, Ohio. His parents were Daniel F. and Caroline (Maynard) Batcheller, natives of Vermont, who moved to Ohio in 1837. Daniel F. was a carpenter by trade, and owned a farm at Peninsula, where his wife died, in 1838. The subject of this sketch came to Sterling with his father and family, where they remained five years. They then bought an 80 acre farm in Coloma, where they resided until the death of the father. Henry F. remained at his parental home until of legal age, receiving a common-school education and learning the carpenter's trade, of his father, with whom he worked until 1867. He commenced the manufacture of corn-planters, on a style of which he had received a patent in 1859. At first he manufactured only by hand, but by 1873 the increase of his business enabled him to erect a shop, with machinery, which he is now conducting. In addition he manufactures dog-powers, churns and other dairy appliances. A year ago he also added a foundry, and during the year 1884 he did a business amounting to $30,000. He has bought three lots adjoining one another, and at presert his buildings cover the ground of all three.
In his political views Mr. B. is a Republican, has held the office of Supervisor since 1873, has been School Director, etc. He is one of. the representative men of Rock Falls, and deeply interested in the public weal. He attends religious services at the Protestant Episcopal Church. He was married July 1, 1852, to Mary McNeil, a native of Scotland, and they have had three children, namely: Addison M., who is married and lives at Rock Falls; Imogene M. and Carrie Fay. [Portraits and Biographical 1895 Pg 322]
OF Portland Township
John Baxter was born in Barnstable, Massachusetts, in 1800, and was Captain of a schooner on the Providence and Philadelphia line until 1835, when he came to Portland and purchased a claim of Alexander Seely. Upon concluding his purchase he returned for his family, and brought them on in November, 1835, remaining at the cabin of J. W. Stakes, near Prophetstown, until the next spring, when he moved his farm on the Dutch bottoms, also keeping a store near Sharon, in 1847 or 1848. In 1855 he went to Geneseo, Henry County, where he now resides. Mr. Baxter married Miss Esther Howe, in 1825. Mr. and Mrs. Baxter had thirteen children, nine of whom are living: John, who married Miss Melvina Andrews, and lives in New York; Amos, who married Miss Minerva Emery, and lives in Portland; Esther, who married Samuel Dennison, and lives in Moline; Louisa, who married Andrew Crawford, and lives in Chicago; Azula, who married Hiram Fogg, and lives in Moline; Augusta who married Chas. W. Perrin, and lives in Genesco. Hiram lives in Iowa; Samantha in Chicago, and George W. in New York, and are unmarried. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 351]
Rev. Oliver Beach, of Unionville, has been a resident of Whiteside County since 1853. His parents, David and Mary (Peck) Beach, were natives of Connecticut, and removed thence to Portage Co., Ohio, in 1825. In 1839 they made another removal to Iowa, where they resided as long as they lived. They had six children: Oliver, Eliada, David, Bernice, Calvin and Elinor.
Mr. Beach is the eldest child of his parents, and was born Jan. 26, 1827, in Portage Co., Ohio, where he began the acquisition of his education in the common schools. He was 12 years of age when his parents went to Iowa, where he continued to attend school and also engaged in farm labor at home until he was 20 years of age. He then engaged as a farm laborer and operated in his own interests about three years. About 1850 he purchased a limited number of acres of land in Iowa, which he exchanged in 1853 for land in Whiteside County. In the spring of that year he came hither and located on his property in the township of Newton, where he was a resident until his removal to Garden Plain Township, where he owns 129 acres of land, which is all under tillage.
Mr. Beach is an adherent of the political element known as Prohibitionists.
He was united in marriage Oct. 26, 1854, to Margaret McNeil, and they had three children: James O., David E. and William. Their mother was born in Ireland and was brought in infancy by her parents to the United States. She died Aug. 7, 1873, in the township of Garden Plain. Mr. Beach formed a second matrimonial alliance, with Mrs. Mary (Nevitt) Gibler. Their marriage took place July 15, 1876, in the township of Garden Plain. Mrs. Beach is the daughter of Isaac and Rhoda (Johnson) Nevitt, and was the widow of Jeremiah Gibler. Her parents were born in Ohio. He first husband died in November, 1872, and by him she became the mother of 11 children: Amanda J., Isaac M., Christine, Amos, James, Rhoda, Joseph, Elizabeth, Carried, Disbury and John. Mrs. Beach was born May 13, 1825, in Harrison Co, Ohio. She is a member of the religious body known as the United Brethren. Mr. Beach is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1860 he received a license as an exhorter, and since 1876 he has been a local preacher. Feeling that he is called to preach, he has tried as well as he could to preach, the gospel in schoolhouses as opportunity presented itself. He has also taken great interest in Sabbath-schools, organizing and superintending schools in school-houses in the country in the afternoon, after taking part in one of the forenoon in the church where he holds membership. Often he has been a member of two schools at once, laboring earnestly for the religious instruction of children. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen (April 2008) from Portraits & Biographical Pg 247 Whiteside County IL 1885]
THOMAS SHULER BEACH
Thomas Shuler Beach, Sheriff of Whiteside County, resident at Morrison, was born at Battle Creek, Mich, May 8, 1847, and is the son of Asahel and Martha Ann (Cady) Beach. His father is the son of Thomas and Mary Beach, who were natives of the State of New York, and so far as can be ascertained was the youngest in order of birth of a family of four children – three sons and a daughter. The latter was named Polly. Thaddeus, Thomas, John and Asahel were all disciples of Esculapius and became eminent in their practice as physicians and surgeons. Ashahel Beach was born Dec. 25, 1799, at Cambridge, Washington Co., N.Y. He went in early manhood to Western New York, where he was married, Oct. 24, 1826, in Mendon, Monroe County. His wife was born there Oct. 24, 1809. She was the daughter of Cholett and Martha (Vandeveer) Cady. Dr. Beach removed his family to Michigan in October, 1834. His household included his wife and infant daughter – Martha A. The later was seized with fatal illness on the journey, and died and was buried at Grass Lake, Mich., where her parents stopped to secure needed assistance. Three children were born after Dr. Beach and his wife settled at Battle Creek –- Mary Adelpha, Cholett Cady and Thomas S. The daughter married Frank Bennitt and died at Battle Creek Nov. 25, 1880. C. C. Beach is general collection agent for the manufacturing firm of Nichols, Shepard & Co., of Battle Creek.
The mother died in March, 1878. Dr. Beach died Dec. 29, 1879. He was in the prime of his manhood in one of the most important eras in the history of his country, and he was ever keenly alive to the obligations of his citizenship. He was a Whig at the beginning of his political career; but became an Abolitionist of the most radical type and conducted his relations to his generation from the standpoint of an inveterate antagonism to the traffic in humanity. He became a Republican in 1856, and served the interest of his part without swerving. He was active in the management of the transportation system known as the Underground Railroad; and, on the advent of civil war, he exerted all his influence in behalf of an integral union. Although he had relinquished his practice from advancing age, he tendered his services to his adopted State in the capacity of surgeon, but his infirmities precluded the possibility of his entering the military service.
Mr. Beach was educated primarily in the High School at Battle Creek and took a course of business instruction at Eastman’s Commercial College, where he was graduated in 1866. He obtained a position with George McKinney & Co., of Chicago, and officiated as clerk and book-keeper about 18 months. He then entered the employ of S. H. McCrea & Co., upwards of five years. Within a year after the fire of October, 1871, Mr. Beach engaged in traffic in grain, in which he operated at first at Onslow, Iowa, whence he transferred his business relations to the then rising and plucky little village of Tampico, and prosecuted his operations in the same line of business there until he was first elected to the official position of which he is still the incumbent, in November, 1880. His transactions at Tampico were proceeding prosperously when the tornado of June 6, 1874, destroyed an elevator and its contents, which inflicted a loss that interfered materially with the profits, though the substantial method in which he conducted his business relations prevented disastrous consequences.
Mr. Beach is a Republican of decided stamp, and has always sustained the general and local issues of the party. While a resident of Tampico he was made Town Clerk by several successive re-elections, and vacated the office on account of his election as Sheriff of Whiteside County. He was re-elected in 1882 for the term of four years. In the administration of the duties pertaining to his position, the course of Mr. Beach has been such as to justify the wisdom of his appointment, and his terms have been marked by judicious use of the powers vested in him by virtue of his office. He was united in marriage Dec. 25, 1872, to S. Janie, daughter of David and Martha A. (Townsend) Miller, of Chicago. She was born in Leroy, Mich., July 8, 1846. Mary Adnah, only surviving child of Mr. and Mrs. Beach, was born Sept. 27, 1873. Asahel was born Nov. 8, 1874, and died Dec. 18, 1880. [Transcribed by Marji Turner from Portraits & Biographical History of Whiteside 1885 Pg. 666]
Of Newton Twp.
John Beardsworth is a native of England, and was one of the earliest settlers of Newton township. He is a man of great industry and force of character, and has accumulated a large landed property in the township. JESSE K. BLEAN is one of the prominent citizens of the township, and is a man of excellent mind and unblemished character. He has represented the township in the Board of Supervisors for several hears, much to the benefit of his immediate constituents and of the county at large. [History of Whiteside County - Bent & Wilson 1877]
EPHRAIM M. BECHTEL
Ephraim M. Bechtel, a farmer on section 10, Clyde Township, was born March 23, 1833, in Columbiana Co., Ohio. Benjamin R. Bechtel, his father, was a native of Berks Co., Pa., and was a stone mason by trade. He learned his business in the State where he was born, and was there married to Rebecca Myers. Both parents were of German ancestry and descent. After the birth of their eldest child they removed to Ohio, where they located in Columbiana County. Mr. Bechtel of this sketch was born soon after, being the third child of his parents. When he was five years of age the family removed to Chester Township, Wayne Co., in the same State. He was there brought up and educated and was an inmate of the paternal home until he was 20 years of age, when he learned the trade of a cooper, and was engaged in that business two years. Subsequently he engaged as a mechanic in the employ of the Chicago, Fort Wayne & Pittsburg Railroad corporation, and, after two years in their service, he came to Illinois. He was first employed by the Chicago & Rock Island corporation, in whose interests he operated one year. He then came to Whiteside County, whither his parents had removed in 1855. He purchased 40 acres of land in Clyde Township, which was his second purchase of real estate, he having previously become the owner of 40 acres of land in Benton Co., Iowa. This he afterwards sold and devoted his entire time to the improvement of his property in Illinois. His parents were residents on a farm in the eastern part of Clyde Township, where they passed the remainder of their lives. The father died about a year after removing to Illinois. The death of the mother occurred about 1872. Both were in advanced years.
Mr. Bechtel devoted his time and strength to the improvement of his farm in Clyde Township until March, 1859, when, in company with James Wood, Thomas Aldritt and Richard Frye, he started for the promised land of Pike’s Peak. They drove across the plains, encountering hardship, privation and fatigue, and finally arrived at Denver. They went thence up the Platte River, prospecting for gold but with success far below the hopes which had induced them to leave the certainties of a life of effort on the beautiful and fruitful prairies of Illinois, to chase the will-o-the-wisp promises of speedy wealth in the Rocky Mountains, and they learned that the gold that came through the medium of their toil was just as swift recompense as the placer yields of the Platte, and a deal more certain. Their tarry in the mountains was brief, and selling their equipments they purchased provisions with the proceeds and set out on their return homeward. They made the route in hungry weariness, encountering throngs of starving and distressed emigrants pressing on to repeat the experiment which had proved to them anything but a success.
Mr. Bechtel resumed farming in Whiteside County, and added further purchases to his acreage. A few years later he made a change in location and purchased 80 acres on section 10, which he bought with the purpose of making it a permanent location. It was wholly unimproved, and he entered vigorously into the work of converting it into a farm. Later, he purchased 80 acres on section 9, and still later bought 80 acres additional on section 10, on which some improvements had been made. He is now the owner of 240 acres, all of which is under cultivation, and constitutes one of the splendid estates which gives Whiteside County its value. Its buildings are valuable and serve to increase the attractions of the place. The proprietor is heavily interested in stock and sends to market annually upwards of 100 head.
Mr. Bechtel inclines to the principles of the Republican party, but is in no sense aggressive in his political affiliations. He is a Deacon in the Dunkard Church. His marriage to Sarah Wilson took place Feb. 22, 1861, in Clyde Township. She is the daughter of John and Jane (Blue) Wilson, and is a native of Clyde Township, where she was born March 29, 1841. (See sketches of David and William Gsell) To Mr. and Mrs. Bechtel four children have been born as follows: John, Feb. 17, 1862; Ella, July 1, 1866; Lana, Nov. 1, 1876; and Rebecca, who died when nearly 15 years of age. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885 Pg. 237]
JOHN H. BECKER
Coleta, Whiteside Co IL
John H. Becker, blacksmith and wagon manufacturer at Coleta, was born Oct. 3, 1853, in Prussia, Germany. His parents, Peter and Margaret Becker, were natives of the same country as their ancestors had been for generations before. The former died in Prussia about 1857, when his son was a small lad. He was an only child, and when his mother chose another husband he went to live with his grandfather, where he remained two years; and at the expiration of that time he accompanied some relatives to the United States, and was taken by them to Ohio. His mother had, meanwhile, emigrated to the New World, and had become settled in St. Joseph Co., Ind., whither he went soon after and was again under maternal care until he was 15 years of age. About 1868 he came to Genesee Township, in Whiteside County, and he became a farm laborer, in which occupation he passed two years. At the end of that time, he came to Coleta to learn his trade under the instructions of L. H. Porter. After a service of four years he bought the shop and business relations of his employer and began to operate on his own responsibility. During the four years he learned the, details of wagon-making at Sterling, and he has since pursued both callings. He has two forges and in wagon-making he has acquired an excellent reputation through successful competition at the fairs at Morrison and Sterling. His work is accomplished with skill, and is ranked as first-class in reliability. He owns his business buildings and residence. Politically he is a Republican. He was united in marriage in Genesee Township, April 30, 1874, to Esabinda Nance, and they have three children,- William, Mary and Arthur. Mrs. Becker was born July 8, 1856. She is a member of the Christian Church. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 216]
EDGAR R. BECKWITH
Edgar R. Beckwith, grocery and provision merchant at Albany, was born March 29, 1838, at Chazy, Clinton Co., N. Y. His father, Ransom Beckwith, was born in Vermont, and married Lois Graves, who was a native of Greenbush, Columbia Co., N. Y. Her father was a pioneer of Clinton County, and was the found of the village of Chazy. The Beckwith family removed about 1841 to Malone, N. Y., and after a residence there of two years, went to Madrid, in St. Lawrence County. Edgar obtained a good common-school educating at Madrid, and studied three terms at the Academy at Potsdam. At 18 he began a contest with the world on his own responsibility, and came to Illinois in 1856. His health was poor, and he passed the winter of 1856 and 1857 in travel in Jo Daviess, and counties adjoining. In the following spring he went to Kane County, and remained there during the ensuing summer. He came to Albany in the autumn of 1856. Soon after, he obtained an appointment as surveyor on the Illinois & Grand Trunk Railroad, and acted in that capacity until the second year of the Civil War. Aug. 10, 1862, he enlisted in Co. CV, 8th Ill. Cav. He served two years as a private, and in August, 1864, he was discharged by special order of the Secretary of War, to enlist as hospital steward in the regular army of the United States. He was stationed at the office of the provost-marshal in Philadelphia. June 24, 1865, he was discharged by order of the President. He returned to Whiteside County in September, 1865, and located at Union Grove. He had lived there 18 months, when, in company with his brother bought a similar establishment at Albany. In 1874, the firm style became Beckwith & Quick, by the sale of the interest of Thomas Beckwith to Benjamin Quick. The senior partner sold out to Mr. Quick in 1880, and Mr. Beckwith engaged in his present business enterprise. He sold out soon after, but again established his trade in 1881. He has met with reasonable success in his mercantile ventures, and is the owner of a very pleasant residence, located at a desirable point on the bluffs of the river, and commanding a beautiful view of the Mississippi and country adjacent. Mr. Beckwith was married Oct. 6, 1873, to Jennie E., daughter of Benjamin S. and Mary A. Quick. They have one child, Edgar Q. Mr. and Mrs. Quick are pioneer settlers of Whiteside County. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 749 Contributed by Marji Turner]
Edward Behrens, whose business career was ever active, honorable and upright, loft to his family, at his death, an untarnished name. He was born in Oldenburg, Germany, August 30, 1850, and was a son of Frederick and Rinsty (Wilms) Behrens, also natives of Germany. In their family were two children, one of whom died in infancy. After losing his first wife the father married again and there were two children of that union: Bernard, who died when a young man; and August, who lives in Montmorency township, this county. In 1806 -the father came to America with his second wife and settled in Whiteside county, Illinois, near Dinsmoor. A few years later he bought a farm in Montmorency township, comprising one hundred and sixty acres of land, which he brought under a high state of cultivation, successfully carrying on tho work of the fields for many years. He was born February 27, 1819, and died April 6, 1891, at the age of seventy-two years, having for some time survived his second wife.
Edward Behrens acquired a good education in the schools of Germany, manifesting special aptitude in his studies, and for one season he was a student in an English school in this country. He was reared on his father's farm, making his home with his parents until he attained his majority, although he occasionally worked out by the month. He was a youth of fifteen years when the family crossed the Atlantic to the new world and for forty-years was a resident of Whiteside county and an interested witness of the events which have shaped its policy and formulated its history.
On the 2d of May, 1878, Mr. Behrens was married to Miss Catharine Bongartz, a daughter of Wilhelm and Gertrude (Evan) Bongartz. Mrs. Behrens was born at Cologne, Germany, and came to America with her widowed mother and two brothers in 1870, after the French war, her father having died in Germany when she was six years of ago. The death of her mother occurred in Sterling in 1890 when she was about seventy-two years of age. The family numbered two sons and four daughters: Elizabeth, the widow of Adam Hutton, of Sterling; Maria, the widow of Martin Roff, of Chicago; Frank Bon- gartz, who makes his home in Sterling; Agnes, the deceased wife of Robert Babclick, her death occurring in Germany; Mrs. Behrens; and Henry Bongartz, who lives in Sterling. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Behrens were born throe sons, but all died in infancy.
Following his marriage, Mr. Behrens worked for a time in the wire mill in Sterling and subsequently bought a farm of eighty acres in Montmorency township. There he lived for seven years and afterward bought another farm of forty acres. Subsequently he disposed of both of those places and invested in one hundred and fifty-six acres in Montmorency township but removed to Sterling, where he established a coal business. After his father's death Edward Behrens became administrator of the estate and. withdrawing from the coal trade, took up his abode upon his father's farm, which he conducted for a year. He then sold his interest in the place to his brother and became a dealer in agricultural implements at Rock Falls in partnership with Jacob Hoffman under the firm style of Hoffman & Behrens. They continued together for several years with good success, after which Mr. Behrens retired. During all this time he retained the ownership of his farm of one hundred and sixty acres but since his death Mrs. Behrens has sold it to his brother August. It was on the 10th of May 1906, that Mr. Behrens passed away, when nearly fifty-six years of age. He belonged to St. John's Lutheran church, having been confirmed in the Lutheran faith at the age of fourteen years. He became a charter member of the organization of that denomination at Rock Falls and when he removed to Sterling transferred his membership here. He was a highly respected citizen, who in every relation of life was found true to his duties and to any trust reposed in him. He held membership with the Knights of the Globe and was president of the local organization at the time of his death. He served as a school director in Montmorency township and the cause of education ever found in him a warm friend. He was a manly man. who held to high ideals in citizenship and in business, while friendship with him was inviolable. Those who knew him entertained for him the warmest regard in recognition of his genuine worth, and his death was the occasion of deep sorrow to many who had known him and had learned to appreciate his good qualities of heart and mind. Mrs. Behrens still survives her husband and owns a good home at No. 310 Fourth avenue, where she now resides amid the many friends whom she has made in Sterling. [Whiteside County History 1908 by Davis; Transcribed by Christine Walters]
JAMES R. BELL
Sterling, Whiteside Co IL
James R. Bell, dealer in clothing, furnishing goods, boots and shoes, hats and caps, Third Street, Sterling, was born in New Hampshire, June 8, 1825, his parents being Jonathan and Lydia (Dow) Bell, natives also of the old Granite State and residents upona a farm.
Of ten children in their family, James R. was the eighth. He remained at home until 18 years of age, receiving a common-school education. After leaving home he obtained a practical knowledge of the boot and shoe trade, serving three years. He then went to Rushford, Allegany Co. NY and worked at his trade by the piece, for an uncle, two years. Buying him out at this time, he carried on the business for five years, often employing three assistants. Then, for the sake of out-door and more pleasant and healthful employment, he bought a small farm and followed dairying for two years. This he sold, and in the spring of 1854 came to Whiteside County and purchased a farm of 240 acres near Erie, where he followed agriculture for two years and also kept a dairy of 26 cows. That place he sold and moved in the spring of 1856 to Sterling where he at first entered the boot and shoe trade on Third St.; in 1875 he added clothing, hats, caps and furnishing good to his trade. He is a "Square" business man, and therefore is prosperous. He is also a stockholder and President of the Sterling National Bank, is an Alderman and a Republican. He was married July 19, 1847 to Soloma Gordon daughter of Wm. Gordon of Rushford NY. Mr. and Mrs. Bell have two sons, - William J who married Mary Cochran a native of PA and has two children, Russell and Verna; and Samuel G. is the name of the other son. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 717]
OF Lyndon Township
Benjamin Belt is one of the early settlers of Lyndon Township, whither he came in November, 1845. He settled in 1846 on section 7. He was born Dec. 7, 1802, in Huntington Co., Pa., whence he went with his parents eight years later to Ohio. They were pioneers in the valley of the Licking. Mr. Belt passed his minority in Licking County and was a resident there until his removal to Illinois. He was married April 30, 1823, to Deborah Callihan, a native of Ohio. Seven of their ten childien are living: Samantha is the widow of David Ray; Hannah is the wife of G. H. Hamilton, a leading farmer of Lyndon Township, of whom a full account is given elsewhere in this album; Elizabeth married John Belt; Salathiel lives in California; Celona is the wife of H. Daily and they live in Dakota; Sabrina is the widow of George A. Coleman; Frank lives on the homestead. Augustus is the name of an adopted son. Mrs. Belt died Feb. 17, 1878. [Portraits and Biographical Pg 195]
Joseph Benner, farmer, section 1, Hopkins Township, is a son of Philip and Mary (Fralich) Benner, who were natives of Pennsylvania. They married and resided in their native State until her death. He afterwards removed to Canada, where he lived till his death. They had a family of ten children, of whom Joseph was he seventh. He was born in Lancaster Co., Pa., March 30, 1817, and lived in his native State till 21 years of age, when he went to Canada, where he engaged in farming until he came to Whiteside County, in the spring of 1868, and bought 160 acres of land in Hopkins Township, on section 1. Here he has since lived. Al his land is profitably tillable. He was married in Canada, April 13, 1847, to Mary, daughter of George and Mary Eaton, who were natives of Ireland. She was the seventh of a family of ten children, and was born in Ireland,May 26, 1824. Mr. and Mrs. B. are the parents of 11 children, namely; Maggie A., Barbara, Elias D., George W., Elam E., Mary E., Angie, Sarah E., Alice, Maria and Joseph H. Alice died in infancy, when four months old. Mr. and Mrs. B. are members of the Evangelical Lutheran Church. In politics Mr. Benner is identified with the Democratic party. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885 Pg 561]
OF Albany IL
Lyman Bennett was born at Springfield, Mass., November 8, 1802, and came to Whiteside county in the fall of 1835. His route to the West was by way of Lake Erie from Buffalo to Detroit, and thence by team to Rock River Valley, where he lived for three months with John Stakes, near Prophetstown, and then took a claim one mile below Portland, upon which he remained three years. In the spring of 1839 he moved to Newton, and selecting a farm near Kingsbury lived upon it until February, 1854, when he became a resident of Albany where he has since made his home. His wife was Miss Susan Lathrom, a native of Norwich, Connecticut. Their marriage took place at Cazenovia, N.Y. The children are Elizabeth, Helen, and Emily, born in Cazenovia N.Y. and Jane, Harriet, Lewis, Sophronia, Alice, and Irene, born in Whiteside county. Elizabeth married Charles H. Slocumb, and lives in Newton; Helen married D. C. Hanks, and lives in Albany; Emily married S.B. Hanks, and lives in Albany; Jane married A. T. Jenks, and died some years ago; Harriet married A. T. Jenks, and lives in Albany; Lewis married Amy Chandler, and is a resident of Anamosa, Iowa; Sophronia married Dr. Robert Hill, and lives at Dubuque, Iowa; Alice married J. T. Happer, and lives at Albany, and Irene married Charles Paddock, and lives at Albany. Mr. Bennett has followed the occupation of a farmer during his lifetime. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
OF Portland Township
Christian Benson was born in Gottenburg, Sweden, in 1805, and came to this country in 1820 with Capt. Benoni Cook, of Providence, Rhode Island as a sailor. He was employed in 1822 on the Robert Fulton, one of the first successful steamboats then running between New York and Providence. He soon became a pilot, and for years followed the business on that route. Hell Gate familiar to him as a straight path, and the storms of Point Judith had no more terror for him than an April shower. Becoming tired of the water, he came West with his old comrade Capt. Baxter, and arrived at Dixon late in November, 1835. In company with Smith Rowe, they started out on the prairie for Portland, and when on the road to Prophetstown Mr. Benson got into a slough, and in trying to extricate himself became thoroughly wet, and it being cold both of were frozen, so that he was obliged to remain at Mr. Stakes’ cabin five weeks. He settled first on the bottom, but afterwards built on the high land. In 1849 he went to California, where he remained two years, and then returned, and is still living with his only son, Benoni C., near Spring Hill. His children are: Emily, who married James Bryant, and lives in Portland, and Benoni C.; who first married Miss Ammisetta Martin, and after her death, Miss Susan Bulger and lives in Portland. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 352]
OF Morrison, Whiteside Co IL
Charles Bent, the subject of this sketch, was born in Chicago, Illinois, December 8, 1844, at the family residence, No. 185 Michigan avenue, upon which lot, with others, the Leland Hotel is now situated. At the time of his birth Chicago contained a population of less than nine thousand people, and during the year in which he was born the first public school building in the city was erected. In his childhood days the shore of Lake Michigan, which fronted his home, was not obstructed by railroads or breakwater, but its water laved the sandy beach as in the days of the early discoveries. Before the construction of water works, he remembers seeing large two- wheeled carts, surmounted by a large hogshead, backed into the lake to be filled, and then driven to residences, to fill the home barrel for a stipulated price. The city's boundaries were not so extensive then as now. Quite a resort until into the `fifties was known as the Bull's Head,'' which was the sign of a tavern located at what is now the intersection of Madison and Halstead streets. Adjoining this locality was the country where picnics and celebrations were held.
In his native city young Bent attended school until eleven years of age, when the family moved to Morrison, Illinois. Here he first attended school in what was known as Jacobtown for one winier, and then in the school house one mile east of the present city of Morrison. His school life ended with 1857, and in June, 1858, he entered the office of the Whiteside Sentinel and served a three years' apprenticeship, receiving for the first year thirty dollars, for the second year, fifty dollars, and for the third year one hundred. dollars. The paper was not quite one year old when he entered the office, and with it he has virtually been connected ever since. After finishing his apprenticeship he worked in the office as a journeyman until in April, 1864, when he enlisted as a private in Company B, One Hundred and Fortieth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and was appointed third sergeant of his company. The regiment went into the camp at Dixon, Illinois, from where it was sent to Camp Butler, near Springfield, where it was mustered into service. It enlisted under the call for one hundred days, and was sent to Lafayette, Tennessee, to hold the outposts while the veterans pushed ahead. It remained in that vicinity until about the time of the expiration of the term of service, when it was ordered to Chicago to be mustered out. While enroute, General Price gave the citizens of St. Louis a scare, the people fearing an attack, and so the regiment was ordered there, where it remained a number of weeks doing guard duty until all danger of attack from Price was over. It was then sent to Chicago and duly mustered out.
Returning to his home in Morrison, Mr. Bent again entered the office of the Sentinel, in the capacity of foreman, and there remained until February 2, 1865, when he again enlisted in the army as a private in Company B, One Hundred and Forty- seventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry, under the call for one year. The regiment was mustered in at Camp Fry, Chicago, and was sent south, being attached to the First Brigade, Second Division, Army of the Cumberland. It was first stationed at Dalton, Georgia, and as General Sherman had cut loose and commenced his march to the sea, it had considerable guerrilla fighting to do. Mr. Bent, on the organization of the company, was appointed first sergeant and was later commissioned second lieutenant of the company. His brigade received the surrender of the rebel army of northern Georgia, and, later his regiment was at Albany, Georgia, and a part of the brigade were among the first troops at Andersonville alter the surrender.
Immediately after the surrender of the southern army, the cities of the south were so overrun with negroes that the troops had to be detached to keep them on plantations. Lieutenant Bent was detailed with a number of men to go to Newton, Georgia, as assistant provost marshal and agent of the Freedmen's Bureau, his duties being to protect citizens in their homes, and as agent of the Freedmens Bureau to go through the country and make contracts between former slaves and their old masters, and to require them to work. After being there a short time he was appointed assistant provost marshal of his brigade and stationed at Americus. Going to Hawkinsvmlle, Georgia, he was later detailed to go to the region where Jeffrson Davis was captured, and his headquarters were in the saw mill where Davis spent his last night before capture. After that he went to Savannah, Georgia, and there received orders for the faithful execution of which mention is made in the History of the One Hundred and Forty-seventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry, published in the adjutant general's state reports, as follows: `December 6, 1865, Lieutenant Charles Bent and twenty men of Company B were sent to Fort Pulaski, as a garrison, Lieutenant Bent being responsible for the government property, amounting to several in million dollars, and which he satisfactorily turned over to his successor when relieved."
With his regiment, Lieutenant Bent was mustered out of service January 20,1866, and was paid off at Camp Butler, Springfield, Illinois. He at once returned home, and once more resumed his position in the office of the Whiteside Sentinel, serving as foreman until in July, 1867, when, in company with his brother-in-law, Maurice Savage, he purchased the Sentinel office from its original proprietor Alfred McFadden. The partnership between Bent & Savage continued until May, 1870, when Mr. Bent purchased his partner's interest and published the paper alone until February, 1877, when he sold the office, and at once commenced collecting the material for a history of Whiteside county, which is considered authority in matters pertaining to the county's history, and which enters into detail coucerning the early development of the county. as well as its growth and progress. The history was published in 1878. In March, 1879, Mr. Bent repurchased the Sentinel office and has since been sole proprietor and editor of the paper, which is one of the oldest county papers in the state. A well equipped job office is connected with the paper, and is supplied with modern material and type. The paper is Republican in politics, and neither paper or editor has ever bolted the party ticket. In 1887, Mr. Bent erected the office building -- and the rest is lost. [Whiteside County Biographical Record 1900 pg 106]
E. S. Bentley, a harness-maker residing in the village of Prophetstown, is a son of Levi P. and Julia (Montague) Bentley, and was born in Franklin Co., Vt., Sept. 9, 1837. His father was a native of the same State, a farmer by occupation, and died in his native State. His mother was also a native of Vermont, and died there. The issue of their union was five children, four of whom are yet living. Jane is the wife of Allen Leach, a farmer residing in Vermont; Mr. Bentley of this sketch is next in order of birth; Orrin D. is a sawyer by vocation, and resides in Michigan; George C. is an attorney, residing in Hancock, Mich.
Mr. Bentley was reared on a farm until he attained the age of about 17, when he went to North Brookfield, Worcester Co., Mass., where he learned the harness trade, and remained for two years; he then went to Plattsburg, N.Y., and worked in a sawmill for a time, then came to Spring Hill, this county, arriving in 1857. He was engaged in farming here until March 1860, when he went to Pike’s Peak, Col. He was engaged in mining near the latter place until the year 1862, when, in the fall of that year, he enlisted in the 1st Col. Cav., Co. F, as private, and served three years, his company being engaged mostly in fighting the Indians. He was also quartermaster saddler. He then followed his trade for about 18 months, and finally came to has conducted ever since. He keeps a good stock of harness, saddles, whips, etc., does repairing, and usually has one assistant, and is doing a good and increasing business. Mr. Bentley was united in marriage in Prophetstown, Sept. 29, 1868 to Miss Hester Hill, a daughter of William and Ann Hill. She was born in Prophetstown, Jan. 28, 1847. The parents of Mrs. Bentley came here in November, 1834, and may be classed as among the very first settlers of the township, and are yet living, one and a half miles southwest of Prophetstown, where her father is engaged in farming. Mr. Bentley owns his shop and residence and one lot; he is a member of the Masonic Order and of the A.O.U. W. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen (April 2008) from Portraits & Biographical Pg 786 Whiteside County IL 1885]
DANIEL S. BERRY
Daniel S. Berry, City Attorney of Savanna is regarded as one of the most talented men of the bar in this part of the State of Illinois, and his legal ability has already won him an enviable reputation in the front rank of his profession in Carroll County. He was born in Sterling, Whiteside Co. IL May 13, 1858. His father Timothy Berry was born in County Limerick, Ireland and was there reared and married. After the death of his wife he came to the US, bringing with him his tow children, William and Catherine; the latter now Mrs. William Winters. He subsequently married in this State, Mrs. Margaret (Kelly) Brearton, a native of County Silgo, Ireland. She came to America when ayoung lady, and resided for awhile in Kingston, Canada and was there married. She accompanied her husband to Sterling, this State in 1852, and there he died, leaving her with one son William, now a citizen of Morrison. After his arrival in this county in 1844, Mr. Berry made his way to Dixon, in Lee County, and there found employment at various kinds of work. He removed to Sterling in 1856, and resided there until 1860 and then went to Morrison and from thence to Chicago. A year later he returned to Morrison and bought a farm a mile and a half south of that place, and engaged in agricultural pursuits, continuing his residence there until 1885, when he removed to Fulton and bought a home in which, he closed his eyes to the scenes of earh, Jan. 29, 1887, thus ending a life of uprightness and strict integrity. There were two children born of his second marriage; our subject and his sister who died in infancy. The mother now makes her home with her children, surrounded with all teh comforts that filial love can provide.
The subject of this sketch received his early education in the district schools of IL and when not in school he assisted his father in the labors of the farm until he was 14 years old. He then became self-supporting, being a manly, independent lad, and worked on a farm at $15 a month during eight months of the year, and in the winter attended school at morrison. The following year he was employed as a farm-laborer for $18 a month for five months; and when his employer paid him the $90 due, he was so pleased with the efficiency and fidelity that the lad had displayed in performing his duties, that he added $10 to the sum, making $100 in cash, which our subject determined to use to advance his education; he having an honorable ambition to make a name and place for himself in the professional world. He became an earnest student in the Morrison High School, and was graduated from there in the class of 1877. He then began teaching at Galt Station and taught there two years at $60 a month. At the end of his first term he employed the two months' vacation in studying law in the office of Henry & Johnson in Sterling. In 1879 he resumed his legal studies in the law office of W.J. McCoy at Morrison and subsequently taught four months at Prairie Centre district. After that he studied law with Mr. McCoy until September, 1880, when he again took up the profession of teacher and taught nine months in the McEliath district. He then entered the law office of O.F. Woodruff of Morrison and studied diligently until the fall of 1882, when he was admitted to the bar of the Appellate Court at Chicago, Jude Bailey, now of the Supreme Court, presiding; and our subject was also admitted to teh supreme Court.
He then married and established himself in Morrison, whence he came to Savanna, May 1, 1883. His progress in his profession has been very rapid, and he is already considered one of the best lawyers in the county. He holds the responsible office of City Attorney and of Attorney for the C.B. & N.Railroad. He takes an active part in the management of civil affairs, especially with regad to educaional matters and he is President of the City School Board.
Mr. Berry was married to Miss Mattie L. Tucker in October 1882 and their pleasant household circle is completed by the two children, Ethel and Ivy, who have been born to them. Mrs. Berry is, like her husband, a native of Illinois, having been born in Mt. Pleasant Twp. Whiteside County. She is a daughter of Henry and Jane (Hiddlesen) Tucker, a native of the Stae of NY.
Mr. Berry, notwithstanding that his brilliant success has brought him a large practice, still finds time to devote to legal studies, and but few men of his age are so well read in law as he. His keen, analytical mind quickly grasps the most difficult points of a case, and in clean-cut, vigorous languard he makes them clear ot his hearers. He possesses in a marked degree the personal magnetism and the eloquent tongue of the true-born orator, so characteristic of his Celtic origin, and also the warm, generous nature, always open to appeals for sympathy and help; and socially he and his wife move in the highest social circles of the city. Mr. Berry is identified with the A.F. & A.M. and with the K. of P. [Portrait & Biographical Carroll Co IL Pg 995]
P. BACCHUS BESSE
OF Portland Township
P. Bacchus Besse was born in Oneida county, New York, in 1812. He moved to Erie county in 1819, and from there came to Portland in July, 1835, and made a claim where he now lives. In 1843 he married Sarah, daughter of Asa Crook. He has always been one of the leading men of the town, having been County Commissioner several years, Supervisor and Township Trustee 12 years each, and Justice of the Peace three years. Children: Eugene L., now dead; Josephine, who married E. Paddock, and lives in Prophetetown; Louisa, who married Erastus Fuller, and resides in Portland; George, who married Miss Emma Allen, and lives in Kansas; Sarah, who married Jos. Fones, and also lives in Kansas; Henry Clay, who married Miss Alice Crossley, and is a resident of Hume township; Robert, Kate, Albert, Merriam, James E., and Lucy, who live at their home in Portland. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 351]
RODERICK M. BESSE
Of Portland Township
Roderick M. Besse was born in Oneida county, New York, in 1816, and came to Portland in 1836, locating his farm adjoining that of his brother, P. B. Besse. He was Justice of the Peace, and Assessor of Portland township for several terms. He married Miss Marietta Green, in 1855, and is now living in the village of Prophetstown. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877]
OF Clyde Township
Richard Beswick was born in Yorkshire, England, September 12, 1810. He emigrated to Canada in 1830 and followed the occupation of a farmer while in that province. He was also a volunteer in the "Patriot War." In 1839 he came to Clyde and settled on section 32; he remained there but a few months, when he removed to section 30, where he has since resided. Mr Beswick has secured a fine property in Clyde, and has been well rewarded for the privations of pioneer life. From 1859 to 1872, inclusive, he represented his township upon the Board of Supervisors. Mr Beswick married Miss Sarah Patrick, near Toronto, Canada, in 1836. She died in 1844. In 1849 he married Mrs. Anna E Humphrey, of Fulton Township, Whiteside County. Children: Belinda, born January 29, 1838 - married Richard Trye in 1860, and lives in Dakota; George R, born February 10, 1840 - died in the Army at Rolla, Missouri January 18, 1862; William A born January 1, 1850 - married Mary Wood, January 1, 1875; Thomas L , November 15, 1852 - married Sarah Millard, December 27, 1875; Lizzie, born March 31, 1855 - married William Milnes, February 4, 1875; Sarah A, born September 25, 1858 - died July 19, 1864; Carrie E born August 24, 1861. All the children reside in Clyde except Belinda. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 144-145]
RICHARD BESWICK deceased, was formerly a resident on section 31, Clyde Township where he settled in 18--, He was born Sept. 12, 1810 in scarborough, Yorkshire England, and died at his home July 7, 1884. His demise was very sudden and was the result of blood clot obstructing the action of the heart. Richard Beswick, senior, and Elizabeth (Naggs) Beswick, his wife, father and mother of the subject of this biographical sketch, were natives of England and belonged to the old class of yeomanry. The son was 19 years of age when the family came to the New World and located in the vicinity of the city of Toronto. Richard Beswick, junior, was there married and resided in the Dominion about three years after that event, when with his family he removed to Clyde Township. Both township and county were in the earliest period of their development and the former was still unnamed. Mr. Beswick at once purchased a tract of land and began the tedious though pleasant work of making a home. The first grain be raised was marketed at Chicago and Galena, and drawn thither by horse teams. His wife, Sally (Patrick) Beswick, died about 1844, leaving a son and a daughter. George died of measles while serving as a soldier for the Union. Belinda is the wife of Richard Tyre, an extensive farmer of Dakota Territory, owning 400 acres of land in Union County.
After the decease of his wife Mr. Beswick returned to Canada and removed his parents to Clyde Township, where they remained during the rest of their lives. They died at the residence of their son, but had chiefly made their home with a married daughter in Clyde Township. They were aged, respectively, about 75 and 60 years.
March 24, 1849, Mr. Beswick was married to Mrs. Hannah E. Humphrey, She was born March 16, 1821, in Northport Township, Waldo Co., Maine, and is the daughter of George W. and Lydia (Duncan) Knight. Her parents were natives of the Pine Tree State, born of New England ancestry, and of English extraction, save a slight admixture of Irish blood in the predecessors of the father. The mother died in 1831, leaving 11 children, eight of whom yet survive.
Mrs. Beswick was sixth in order of birth and was but ten years of age when her mother was removed by death. Her father was again married, in Maine, and of the second union one son (now deceased) was born. Later the father took six of the younger children and went to Ohio and settled on a farm near Grandville, Licking County. He was again married while living there, and later came to Fulton, Whiteside County. The father died there Feb. 12, 1866 His wife died at her brother's home, in the southern part of Illinois, shortly after coming to the State. Both were in advanced life.
The first marriage of Mrs. Beswick, to Alvaro Humphrey, occurred June 22, 1838, in Licking Co Ohio. He was a native of the county and was the son of a farmer who was horn in New England and who had become a pioneer of the Buckeye state in its earliest development. His father died in Cincinnati, the mother in Licking County. The death of Mr. Humphrey took place in the county of his nativity April 22, 1847, and he left two sons,- George and Lorenzo. The former married Lucy Van Damark and is a farmer in Brown Co., Kan. The younger child died in Fulton soon after the removal of his mother to Illinois. After the death of her husband Mrs Beswick came to Whiteside County and was an inmmate of the family of her brother, William Knight, until she became the wife of Mr. Beswick. Of this union five children have been born,- William A. Thomas L., Lizzie, Carrie and Sarah. The latter died when five years of age.
Mr. Beswick was a useful and influential citizen of his township aud served 14 years as Supervisor, acting continuously during that period. He held various other offices and was actively interested in educational matters. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. [Portraits and Biographical Pg 204]
THOMAS L. BESWICK
Thomas L. Beswick, farmer, section 30, Clyde Township, was born Nov. 15, 1852, on section 3 of the township of which he has been a life-long resident. He is the son of Richard and Hannah E. (Knight) Beswick, of whom a biographical narration appears on other pages of this work. They were among the first settlers of the county and the son is one of the first white children born in Clyde Township. Mr. Beswick was educated in the common schools and brought up with a complete practical knowledge of farming. He was married Dec. 30, 1875, to Sarah, daughter of Chester W. and Ann (Milnes) Millard. The father was born in Pennsylvania and was of English descent. The mother was born in England and when but four years of age came to America with her parents, who located in Whiteside County in the very earliest period of its history. The parents were married in Clyde Township, where they resided during the entire period of their married life, which was terminated by the death of the father in August, 1881. Mr. Millard was a miller by vocation and erected the first mill in Clyde Township, which was located on Rock Creek, in the east part of the town. He sold that property later on and constructed a second mill on a branch of the creek, sit- uated about the center of the town, of which he retained the ownership during the remainder of his life. He died of cancer on the hand, at 63 years of age. Mrs. Beswick is their only child and was born April 9, 1855, in Clyde Township. She was educated at the common schools of her native township and at Morrison, obtaining a more extended course of study at Lowell, Mass. She devoted some time to teaching previous to her marriage. Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Beswick in the order named: George C., Nov. 19, 1876; Florence A,, Aug. 2, 1878; Clarence W., June 23, 1880; Carrie E., Aug. 15, 1882. After marriage Mr. Beswick rented farms situated at different points in Clyde Township, and operated in that method until 1885, when he purchased 210 acres of the homestead of his father. He is an experienced and skillful farmer and is making a speciality of raising Poland China swine and Short-Horn cattle. He is a Democrat and has served his township for some time in the capacity of Collector. Mrs. Beswick is a member of the Episcopal Church. [Whiteside County Portrait & Biographical 1885]
William A. Beswick, a prominent agriculturist of Clyde Township, and a resident on section 30, was born where he now lives, Jan. 1, 1850. Richard Beswick, his father, was a native of Yorkshire, England, and was of unmixed English lineage. When he was 18 years old he emigrated to the New Work and settled in the province of Ontario. He was there married to Sarah Patrick, a native of the province, and born of Scotch parents. After that event they removed to Illinois and settled in Clyde Township, then it its pioneer days. The father secured a claim, where he began the labors and efforts o a pioneer settler on the unbroken prairie, building at the outset a home suited to the necessities of a family. A few years later the wife died, leaving two children. Of these a daughter survives. A son died not long after the mother. The second wife of Mr. Beswick was Mrs. Hannah (Knight) Humphrey. She is a native of Maine and was married to her first husband in Ohio, where he died and left her with two children, both boys, one of whom is deceased. After she became a widow she came to Illinois and married Mr. Beswick. They had five children, and the mother is still living on the homestead estate, aged 64 years. The father died on the farm July 7, 1884, aged 74 years. Mr. Beswick of this sketch lived at home until he was 25 years of age, and his first important step was h is matrimonial alliance with Mary, daughter of Frederick and Sarah (Milnes) Wood, which occurred Jan. 1, 1875. The father of Mrs. Beswick was a native of England and came in childhood to the United States. When he was 20 years of age he came to Illinois and located in the then new county of Whiteside. His wife was born in Massachusetts and came to Whiteside County when she and it were in the early periods of their existences. After their marriage they became the owners of unbroken prairie, which they improved, and which they made their homestead. They now own 200 acres on which they are living in retirement. Mrs. Beswick was born April 22, 1854, on section 29, Clyde Township, and was reared at home and educated in the public schools. Her children by Mr. Beswick are all living and were born as follows: Elmer M., Nov. 24, 1876; Lorenzo, Feb. 13, 1878; Sarah, Aug. 26, 1879; Richard F., Oct. 10, 1881; and Hannah, June 21, 1883. On settling in life Mr. and Mrs. Beswick rented a farm which they managed for some time. In 1876 they bought 80 acres of land on section 30, which was partly improved, and included 20 acres of timber, whose value in a prairie country needs no demonstration. The estate of Mr. Beswick now includes (1885) 189 acres, and of this 160 acres are under cultivation. He has a well earned repute as a grower of stock, and has a fine herd of thoroughbred Durham cattle and a valuable lot of Poland-China swine. The buildings on the homestead place are first-class farm edifices and greatly enhance the value and appearance of the place. In addition to his own farm, Mr. Beswick has been conducting the agricultural affairs of 400 acres of land situated on sections 30 and 31. He is a Democrat in political views and connections. He has been active in local township affairs and has served in several official positions. He is a Director in the Mt. Pleasant Mutual Fire Insurance Company. [Whiteside County Portrait & Biographical 1885]
FREDERICK J. BEUZEVILLE
Frederiek J. Beuzeville, dealer in boots, shoes, harnesses, etc., at Morrison, was born April 17, 1849, in Vienna, Ontario Co., N. V., and is the son of George and Miriam (Prescott) Beuzeville. His parents were born in England, and in 1842 emigrated to the United States, and located in Ontario Co., N. Y. In 1854 the family came to Morrison, and nine years later went to Lyons, Iowa. They went thence in 1882 to Plankington, Aurora Co., Dak., where they are still resident. Mr. Beuzeville learned his trade of his father, who has followed the business of a harness-maker in the various places where he has been located. The son began to acquire a knowledge of its various details at Lyons, Iowa, when he was 17 years of age, and after working under his father's supervision until 1869, he came to Morrison and established the business enterprise in which he has since been engaged. In 1872 he bought the building which he first operated, and the site therewith, and on the latter in 1875 he erected the brick building which he now occupies, situated on the principal business street at Morrison. Mr. Beuzeville owns also his residence and two valuable city lots in the vicinity of the fairground.
Jan. 5, 1874, he formed a matrimonial alliance with Maria Evans, and they have three children: Eva, born Jan. 20, 1875 ; Lela, April, 17, 1877 ; and Mabel, May 7, 1879. Mrs. Beuzeville was born March 2, 1855, at Auburn, Steuben Co., MD., and is the daughter of Erastus and Caroline (Frink) Evans. Her mother was born May s, 1827, in Eaton, Madison Co., N. V. Her father was born in 1824, in Hastings, N. V., and died when be was 31 years of age, before the birth of his daughter. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Pg 205, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885.]
Of Hopkins Twp.
James D. Bingham was born in the State of Connecticut, April 9, 1810, and married Miss Jane Adams, August 11, 1836. The children were: Eliza Jane, born June 9, 1838; Susan, born May 19,1840, and Frank, born March 23, 1842. Eliza Jane married Daniel Ross; children, Jennie, Jessie, and Nellie. Susan married Henry Griffin; no children. Frank married Miss Ella Hopkins; children, Dimple, and Frank. Mrs. James D. Bingham died February 26, 1848, and on the 4th of October, 1852, Mr. Bingham married his second wife, Mrs. Lura A. Chapman, by whom he had one child, Nellie B., born January 9, 1855. Mr. Bingham's second wife died in Colorado August 6, 1877. Nellie married Clarence E. Smith, in April, 1875. Frank Bingham enlisted, at the commencement of the late war, in Company H., 75th Illinois Volunteers, and was promoted several times for meritorious services. He served out his term of enlistment, and was in all the battles and marches of his regiment during the war, and was honorably mustered out of the service. He is now living in Colorado, where he is keeping a ranch. James D. Bingham is now living in Sterling. Mrs. Margaret Adams and family came to Como in 1837, in company with James D. Bingham and family. Of her children, Samuel died in Missouri, on his return home from Pike's Peak. Eliza died in 1839, and John in 1840. Robert married Miss Lydia Niles; children, Josephine, Mary and Retta. [Bent - Wilson History of Whiteside County]
EDMUND N. BIRDSALL
Edmund N. & Sarah J. (Fleming) Birdsall
Edmund N. Birdsall, farmer, section 8, Hopkins Twp., is a son of James & Lydia (DeGarmo) Birdsall, natives of New York, who married and resided there till 1845, when they came to Whiteside county and settled in Sterling Twp. They died in the city of Sterling - he July 11, 1866 and she June 27, 1868. They had a family of five children as follows: Edmund N., Elias D., Henry L., Harriet W., and George A.
The subject of this sketch was born in Dutchess Co. NY Feb. 16, 1830 and was 15 years old when he came to Whiteside County. He received a common-school education and lived at home till he was 30 years of age, although he was married some years previously. He has been engaged in agricultural pursuits. He is the owner of 154 acres of land in Hopkins and Genesee Twps. besides property in the village of Sterling; 140 acres of his land is tillable. In 1876 he erected a fine frame house and in 1881 built a fine barn, and his buildings are second to none in the county.
He was first married in Genesee Twp. Feb. 16, 1854 to Clarissa Danes, a native of this State, who bore him one child, George D., but he died at the age of five months. Mrs. Birdsall died Aug. 9, 1855 and Mr. B. was again married in Carroll Co. Oct. 20, 1860 to Sarah J., daughter of Robert L. and Jane (Wilson) Fleming; her parents are natives respectively of NY and PA and came to Carroll County in 1848 where they lived till their deaths. He died January 27, 1879 and she Sept. 9, 1881. They had a family of eight children - Jasper, Sarah J., Hugh M., Angeline, Margaret, Nancy, Bruce and Eveline. Mrs. B. was born in Washington Co IN Feb. 22, 1836. Mr. and Mrs. B. are the parents of two children - Charles and Pinkie. Charles was married Sept. 6, 1883 to Ida Baker, daughter of George and Mary baker. They have on child, Edmund G. In politics Mr. Birdsall is an Anti-monopolist. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 315]
HENRY L. & MARY (FLEMING) BIRDSALL
Henry L. Birdsall, farmer, section 4. Hopkins Township, is a son of James and Lydia (De Germo) Birdsall, natives of New York State, who came to Whiteside County in the spring of 1845, settling in Sterling Township, where they lived until their death. They had five children, named Edmund N., Elias D., Henry L., George A. and Harriet. The subject of this sketch was born in Mendon, Monroe Co., N. Y., Sept. 11, 1834. He received a common-school education and came when he was ten years old, with his father, to this County, where he has since lived, engaged in farming. He first bought a farm on section 8, Hopkins Township, where he settled and lived about eight years, when he sold and bought 147 acres on section 4, where he at present resides. He has erected fine buildings on his farm. and most of his land is in a state of good cultivation.He was married first in Carroll Co., Ill., Nov. 19, 1857, to Mary A. Fleming, a native of Indiana, They have had one child, Clara J. who is now the wife of Henry Stevens, and resides in Stephenson Co.,Ill. Mrs. B. died in Hopkins Township, Jan. 28, 1863, and Mr. Birdsall was again married March 15, 1864, in Monroe Co., N. Y. to Joanna Wood, daughter of Robert and Ann (Moran) Wood, natives of Ireland, who married and settled in Rochester, N. Y. Mr. Wood was a member of the 140th N. Y. Vol. Inf., and died in the army, in the fall of 1863 ; Mrs. Wood died Dec. 18, 1883, in Mendon, Monroe Co., N. Y. They had a family of eight children, namely, John, Mary A., Joanna, Thomas, Frank, Margaret and Anna; one died in infancy. Mrs. B. was born in Monroe Co, N. Y., Nov. 3, 184.3, Mr. and Mrs. B. are the parents of four children: Alonzo G., Loren E., Estella and Harry L.
Mr. Birdsall has been School Director and Overseer of Highways. In politics he is identified with the National party. As a prominent citizen of Whiteside County, and one who has been intimately identified with the best interests and growth of the county, we take pleasure in placing the portrait of Mr. Birdsall in this album. Coming to the county when a mere boy, he has grown and developed in all that goes to make a representative citizen of this splendid portion of the great Prairie State. As a fitting companion picture. we place beside his that of his estimable wife. These pictures were made from photographs taken in 1885. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 253]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright Genealogy Trails