GEORGE H. FADDEN
George H. Fadden, a farmer residing in the village of Erie, and the son of Ira and Lucinda (Patterson) Fadden, was born in Clarenceville, Canada East, Dec. 8, 1847. His father is a native of the same country, as like- wise is his mother, and they are both at present residing in Stanstead Co., Can., where his father is engaged in farming. Their family comprised 12 children, 11 of whom still survive: George H. is the eldest; Mary and Hiram reside in Canada; Adelaide, in Kansas; Electa, in Canada; Marvin I., a farmer in this county; Harvey, a resident of Erie; Emma, wife of Wm. James, a barber in the same village; Elizabeth, living in Canada; and Charles and Gertrude. Mr. Fadden was reared on a farm in his native country, receiving such advantages as were obtainable at the common schools. In the fall of 1868, he came to Erie, this county, and was employed on a farm near that village a short time, and then on a railroad for about seven years. In June, 1875, he entered a butcher-shop in Erie, and two years later, in 1877, he bought an interest in the same, from Wm. Guthrie. They conducted the business for about 18 months, then sold, and Mr. Fadden again engaged in the same business, with L. E. Mathews, and the partnership continued for over six years, or until Feb. 9, 1885. Mr. Fadden then moved on the farm of his father-in-law, L. D. Gordon, consisting of 220 acres, which he rents, and which he expects to make a stock farm. Mr. Fadden formed a matrimonial alliance in Erie village, Sept. 27, 1875, with Miss Genevie Gordon. She is a daughter of Lorenzo D. and Orissa Gordon, and was bora in New York, Oct. 18, 1851. Two children constitute the issue of their marriage: Lester G., born July 27, 1876, and Mabel C, born April 27, 1881. The father of Mrs. Fadden is still living, and resides with his daughter. Her mother died May 7, 1884. The family of Mrs. Fadden s parents consisted of Mrs. Fadden, wife of the subject of this sketch, and one sister, Marien E., who was born in Allegany Co., N. Y., Oct. 15, 1848, and died Jan. 17, 1883 [Portrait & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885]
OMAR E. FANNING
Of Hopkins Township
Omar E. Fanning, farmer, section 14, Hopkins Township, is a son of Asa and Phebe A. (Cole) Fanning, natives of New England, who first settled in Chenango Co., N. Y., and afterwards removed to Broome County, that State, where he died in the summer of 1863; she came to Whiteside County in 1883 and now resides in Sterling. They had a family of three children, - Omar E., Franklin and Wallace.
Mr. Fanning, the subject of this biographical outline, was born in Oxford, Chenango Co., N. Y., Feb. 2, 1829, received a common-school education, in Broome Co., N. Y., and lived there till he was 22 years of age. He then came to Whiteside County in August, 1851, and engaged as a clerk for Joel Harvey at Empire. He was in his employment about three years at that time. He then engaged in carriage and wagon making at Empire, having learned that trade in Broome Co., N. Y., where he served an apprenticeship of about one and a half years. He continued in that vocation at Empire, about two and a half years, when he sold that business and bought a half interest in the mercantile establishment at Empire, with Joel Harvey, and the company was known as Harvey & Fanning. They continued together about three years, when Mr. Fanning sold out his interest to Mr. Harvey. In the spring of 1860 he rented a farm in Hopkins Towm,hip, which he carried on one season, and in the meantime he purchased 40 acres on section 14, which he afterwards sold. He has been engaged in farming since 1860, with the exception of four years, during which time he has bought and sold various tracts of land. He is now the owner of 160 acres in Hopkins Township all of which is tillable.
Mr. Fanning was first married in Round Grove, Hopkins Township, in March, 1855, to Miss Louisa Simonson, daughter of Frederick and Sabrina (Harvey) Simonson, who were natives of the State of New York. Mrs. F. was born in Tioga Co., N. Y., and died in Hopkins Township, Nov. 8, 1868. Mr. F. was again married Nov. 22, 1870, to Mary J., daughter of John and Mary A. (Stackhouse) Lefferts, natives of Pennsylvania, who came to Whiteside County in the spring of 1855 and settled in Hopkins Township, where they lived til their death. He died March 8, 1871, and she April 29, 1884. They had a family of six children, - Mary J., Carrie E., Anna J., Sarah E., Charles H. and Susanna. Mary J, (Mrs. F.) was born in Newtown, Pa., Aug. 20, 1840, and came to Whiteside County when about 5 years old, with her parents. She taught school a number of years, commencing in 1859, in Hopkins Township. Mr. and Mrs. F. are the parents of four children, Phebe, Frank C., Jessie and Omar A.
Mr. Fanning was an active member of the Patrons of Husbandry, having been Secretary of the State organization four years. He has held many of the township offices, as Commissioner of Highways one term, Collector two years, Township Assessor 12 years, Township Trustee, etc. In politics he is identified with the Republican party and its interests. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 266]
JOEL WILLIAM FARLEY
Joel W. Farley, constable and ex sheriff of Whiteside county, with residence and office at Fulton, was born Aug. 7, 1841, at Erie county, Pennsylvania, a son of Joel and Mary (Finch) Farley, the former of whom was born in New Jersey, and the latter in Canada. His parents spent the early part of their married life in Pennsylvania, from whence they removed to Indiana. A short time after, the father joined a company of forty-Niner's starting for the gold fields, with whom he crossed the plains in an ox team, being eleven months on the way. Three years later, having met with better success than the majority of miners, he returned via the Isthmus, bringing with him several gold nuggets. Locating at Mishawaka, Indiana, four miles south of South Bend, he there engaged in agricultural pursuits until 1862, when he came to Whiteside County, Illinois. Purchasing a farm about five miles east of Fulton he continued his chosen occupation until his death, in 1866. He was a Democrat in politics, and though never an office seeker was an active worker for his party. His wife survived him, dying in July, 1898. Of their nine children three died in childhood, one daughter and two sons. Six grew to years of maturity, namely: John, a farmer in Oklahoma; Ozias A., a farmer in Burt County, Nebraska; Joel W. , the special subject of this sketch; James Kendal Deceased; George, deceased; and Charles, deceased.
Joel W. was a sturdy youth of twenty-one years when he came with his parents to this county. He assisted in the improvement of of the new farm, and for a number of years after his father's death was sole manager of the estate. In 1871, or thereabouts, he left the homestead, coming to Fulton to assume the duties of constable. In 1891 he was elected sheriff of the county, an important position which he filled acceptably four years, after which he served as deputy sheriff under C. C. Fuller. Since April 1897, he has been constable again, and has his office in the Be Bey building, where he is also carrying on a lucrative business in real estate and loans, and negotiates sales, buying and selling estates. He is likewise interested to a considerable extent in both town and country property, dealing largely in both. He has been in public life almost continuously since coming to Fulton, and for three terms has rendered excellent service to the city as an alderman, having represented the third ward two terms, and the second ward one term. While living on the farm he was an office holder several years, having road commissioner and school director.
On September 7, 1880, Mr. Farley married Miss Sarah Collins, daughter of William and Jane (Buckner) Collins, of Putnam, Ontario, and they have one son, Perry C. Farley, born May 30, 1888. Politically Mr. Farley is a strong supporter of the principles of the Democratic party, and has the distinction of being the only sheriff ever elected in Whiteside county on the ticket, having then receiving a rousing majority of 660 votes. fraternally he is a member of Fulton City lodge, No. 189, A. F. & A. M.; and of the Fulton Presbyterian church, of which Mr. Farley is an attendant, and generous contributor towards its support. [The Biographical Record Of Whiteside County, Illinois 1900, Contributed By Rose Rathbun]
Of Prophetstown Township
John Farnum was born in Orange county, Vermont, in 1814, and came to Prophetstown in 1837, settling on Washington street, where he still reaides. His farm is one of the best conducted in the county, the neat appearance of his buildings and yards not being counterbalanced by weedy fields and broken-down fences. Mr. Farnum was married to Mrs. Irene Underhill, in 1846. There have been no childten by this marriage, but that has not prevented Mr. and Mrs. Farnum from taking care of those whom death had deprived of their natural protectors, as the. following list will show: Henry Leonard, living in Prophetetown; Maria Pease, living in New York; Julius Kane, living in Prophetwtown ; and Christine Farnum, who married Isaac Cohn Southard, Jr., and lives in Iowa. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
Of Lyndon Township
William Farrington came to Lyndon from New York in 1836 being induced to emigrate by John Pratt who desired him to break land on a claim in Lyndon township, and to assist in holding the same until Mr. Pratt arrived from the East. He first settled where the Rice farm now is, which he sold to Augustus Rice in 1837. Mr. Farrington married Miss Emma Brooks, in New York State. The children of this marriage were: Addison, born January 18 1823. Mercy L.. born March 14, 1825; Eunice E., born in 1827; Joseph A:, born January 2, 1829. Mrs. Farrmgton died, and he afterwards married Miss Sarah Teats. Their children were: Jesse T., Martin V. B., Francis M. Addison married Miss Jeanette P. Coburn, March 25, 1849; children Laura R., Mary Stella Bertha E. and Eunice T. Mercy L. married O. W. Gage, and lives in Prophetstown. Eunice E. married Cyrus W. Spaulding, and lives in New York. Joseph A. died in California. Francis married Miss Griffin, and lives in Whiteside county. Jesse T. died in boyhood. [Bent & Wilson History 1877]
Solomon Farwell, resident at Unionville, has been a citizen of Whiteside County since 1853. His parents, Solomon and Sabine (Burlingame) Farwell, were natives respectively of Massachusetts and Vermont. The former was born in Groton, Mass., March 23, 1773. The birth of the latter occurred in Wethersfield, Vt., Dec. 29, 1780. After their marriage they settled for a time in Vermont, afterward going to Lewis Co., N.Y., where they were pioneers and residents for many years. Late in life they went to Loraine, Jefferson co., N.Y., where the father died June 17, 1850. The mother died Feb. 5, 1856. Their nine children were born in the following order: Submit, Leonard M., Selah, Eunice, Sabina, Eliza, Lemuel, Phila A., Hannah E. and Solomon. Mr. Farwell was born Jan. 11, 1824, in Denmark, Lewis Co., N.Y., and is the youngest child of his parents. He attended the common schools and became a carpenter and joiner, following that business until his removal to Whiteside County, and since that time has continued to work at this trade in connection with his farming. In September, 1853, he bought 60 acres of land in the township of Ustick, where he was engaged in the pursuit of agricultural projects about 16 years, and then sold and purchased a farm in the township of Union Grove. He remained there but a short time, selling his farm and returning again to Ustick Township, where he bought another farm, on which he resided and operated until he determined to retire from active business life. In the fall of 1882, he sold his landed interests and removed to Unionville. He was married in Denmark, Lewis Co., N.Y., Feb. 4, 1848, to Margaret Plank, and they are the parents of nine children,- Celia H., Emma E., Carrie A., J.D., Nellie F., Minnie P., Fred B., Lulu G. and Gertie L. The child last named died when four months old. Mrs. Farwell was born Sept. 21, 1829, in Denmark, and is the daughter of John and Eleanor (Ostrander) Plank. Her parents were born in the State of New York, and four of their children reached mature life, Margaret, Hannah, Nancy and John H. Politically, Mr. Farwell is a Republican. He held the positions of Township Clerk and Assessor while a resident of Ustick. He and his wife are members of the Universalist Church. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen from Portraits & Biographical Pg 227 Whiteside County IL 1885]
CHARLES S. FEE
A well improved farm of one hundred and twenty-two acres, situated on section 17, Prophetstown township, Whiteside county, is the home of Charles S. Fee, who through his own well directed labors and careful business management, has attained to the success which he today enjoys, for upon starting out in life on his own account he had no financial assistance, so that he has worked his own way up in the world and may truly be called a self-made man.
Mr. Fee was born in Vinton county, Ohio, April 26, 1865, a son of Austin and Margaret A. (McGee) Fee, both of whom were likewise natives of Vinton county, the former born May 29, 1829. They were married in their native state and in 1865 removed westward to Illinois, settling in Hahnarnan township, Whiteside county, where the father purchased an unimproved tract of land, which he later improved and cultivated, owning at one time a section. Later he removed to Bureau county, this state, where he purchased land and made his home for a time. Disposing of that property, he once more returned to Whiteside county and rented the Nathan Thompson farm in Prophetstown township, whereon he made his home for fourteen years, subsequent to which time he removed to Hume township, where he purchased a fine farm and spent his remaining days, passing away April 23, 1904, when he had reached the advanced age of seventy-five years.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Austin Fee were born thirteen children, of whom ten are living, as follows: Thomas M., a resident of Portland township, this county; Joseph W. who makes his home in Hennessev, Oklahoma; John H. of Prophetstown. Illinois; Mrs. Sarah E. Bryson, who resides in Mason City, Iowa; Frank M., a resident of Montana; Samuel, who lives in Hume township; Charles S.. whose name introduces this review; Albert J., also of Hume township: Mrs. May Lane, who lives in Prophetstown township, and Della M., who lives with her brother Samuel in Hume township.
Charles S. Fee was brought to Whiteside county from his native state during his infancy, accompanying the family on their various removals in this state. He was reared to the occupation of farming and acquired a common-school education. He remained under the parental roof until he had reached the age of twenty-two years, when he started out in life with a cash capital of but two dollars and a half, but with a strong determination to succeed in the business world. He first secured work as a farm hand, working in this way for a time, or until he had acquired a sum sufficient to enable him to take up other pursuits. He then studied telegraphy and afterward learned the butter-maker's trade, after which he was employed in that line in Wisconsin for a year. Again turning his attention to farming, in 1901 he purchased his present farm property, comprising one hundred and twenty-two acres. which was entirely unimproved when it came into his possession. He at once undertook to develop the property, added many substantial buildings and now has one of the best improved farms in this section of the county. He is here engaged in general farming and stock-rasing, feeding all the grain which he raises. He is meeting with very gratifying success in his undertakings and is thus classed among the substantial residents of Whiteside county. It was on the 27th of February 1902, that Mr. Fee was united in marriage to Miss Jennie Francis, who was born in Prophet~town township. June 7, 1872. a daughter of Isaac and Anna M. (Thomson) Francis. The father was born in England, December 22, 1847. and came as a boy with his parents to America., the family home being established in New Jersey, where he grew to manhood. He was married in that state to Miss Anna M. Thomson, who was born in Moorest.own, October 9, 1848. In 1869 they removed westward to Illinois, settling in Whiteside county. The father purchased two hundred and forty acres of land in Prophetstown township, which he continued to cultivate until the time of his death, which occurred March 18, 1899, when he had reached the age of fifty years. He is still survived by his widow, who now makes her home in Prophetstown, at the age of sixty years. Their marriage was blessed with seven children, namely: Mrs. Laura Lancaster. who resides in Prophetstown township; Jennie, now Mrs. Fee; George, a resident of Davenport, Iowa; William and John, who make their home in Erie, Illinois; Edward, who lives in Prophetstown; and Bertha M., who is with her mother.
Mr. and Mrs. Fee are members of the Congregational church, in which he served one term as a deacon. Although he votes for the men and measures of the republican party, he takes a deep and active interest in the work of the prohibition party, laboring earnestly for the cause of temperance. No citizen of Whiteside county is more highly respected and no one more richly deserves success than does Mr. Fee, for it has been won through the most honorable and straightforward methods, and his life should serve as an encouragement to others who start out in life, as be did, without capital, dependent entirely upon their own labors to achieve success. [History of Whiteside Co by W.W. Davis]
Jacob Feldman, one of the native sons of Morrison, born in 1859, passed away April 3, 1891. His father, Jacob Feldman Sr., a native of Germany, died in March, 1895, at the age of seventy-two years. He came to Morrison in the ‘50s and for many years was actively identified with its business interests as proprietor of a restaurant. In his later years he lived retired, enjoying well-earned rest from the active cares of business. His religious faith was that of the Lutheran church and in his fraternal relations he was an Odd Fellow. At the time of the Civil war he was drafted for military service, but did not go to the front on account of physical disability, which incapacitated hm for active field duty. His political allegiance was given to the republican party. In early manhood he married Christina Swartz, who was born in Germany and survived her husband for a number of years, passing away in 1904, at the age of seventy-five. She, too, was a member of the Lutheran church and a lady of many estimable traits of character. The family numbered but two children and the younger died in infancy.
Jacob Feldman, reared in his native city, pursued his early education in the schools of Morrison and afterward attended a German school at West Chicago. On putting aside his text-books he entered his father's restaurant and was associated with him in business until his death. He had a wide acquintance in the city where his entire life was passed and where his many good qualities won for him favorable regard and popularity. In business he was energetic and throughly reliable and was therefore regarded as a worthy representative of the commercial interests of Morrison.
In 1882, Mr. Feldman was married to Miss Carrie Schoch, who was born in Geneva, Kane county, Illinois, in 1860, a daughter of Christian and Magdalena Schoch, the former a farmer by occupation. Both died during the infancy of their daughter, who was adopted by her uncle, Martin Schoch. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Feldman were born four children: Florence, who was born in 1884 and died in infancy; Alonzo J., who was born in 1886 and is a stenographer in Chicago; Elsie, born in 1888 and now at home; and Ella May, born in 1890 and a student in the public schools.
Mr. Feldman owned a fine home and business block in Morrison in addition to his restaurant interests. Fraternally he was well known, being affiliated with the Knights of Pythias, the Odd Fellows and the Masons. He attained the Knight Templar degree in the latter and the funeral services were conducted by the commandery of Sterling. His religious faith was indicated by his membership in the German Lutheran church while his wife is a member of the Presbyterian church. The fact that many of his stanchest friends were those who knew him from his boyhood, indicated that his life was honorable and upright and that he justly merited the confindence and good will of those with whom he was associated. His death was the occassion of deep regret, not only to his family but to many of Morrison's residents who had learned to esteem and honor him., [Contributed by Amy Anderson from the History of Whiteside County]
HENRY C FELLOWS
of Fulton Township
Henry C. Fellows, capitalist at Fulton City, was one of the first party of pioneers at that place, and also one of the proprietors of the first town plat. He is a native of New York, and was born in the town of New Lebanon, Columbia County, March 10,1813, and is the son of Joshua and Juliet (Darling) Fellows. His early life was passed on his father's farm, till he became ambitious of being his master. He learned the carpenter and joiner's trade, and in the fall of 1835 started for the West, arriving at Joliet, Ill., in November of that year. He worked at his trade in Joliet till the spring of 1837, when he started out in search of an opening for business. He was joined by a party of land-seekers; and, after fording swollen streams of ice-cold water and spending two nights on the open prairie without shelter, they reached the banks of the Mississippi at the present site of Fulton, on the first of March, 1837. Here they found a deserted shanty that had been built by John Baker, who had erected a better house to the eastward, over the hill, where he was then living. They took possession of the old shanty and for a considerable time it was headquarters, or bachelor's hail, for themselves and others who soon after joined them. In May of that year their party consisted of H. C. Fellows, James McCoy, John B. Jenkins, Geo. W. Kellog.
A bargain was made with Mr. John Baker, who claimed the town site, and who had made a rude survey of a plat, by which the old plat was abandoned and a new survey made, with the new-corners as joint proprietors. The survey was made by McCoy, Fellows, Jenkins and Kellog. The principal proprietors of the town site were H. C. Fellows,James McCoy, George W. Kellog, John B. Jenkins, Alvin Humphries, R. J. Jenks, Lyman Blake, John Baker and Jeremiah Humphries.
It was some time before the land came into market and real titles could be obtained. In the meantime other emigrants joined them, and the town of Fulton soon became an established fact. The founders of the young town had many privations to endure. The low prices of produce and great distance from market made incomes necessarily small. Had mosquitoes and malaria been marketable, the young colony would have been rich. However, the pleasure peculiar to a frontier life partially compensated for the lack of the comforts of more mature civilization
Mr. Fellows took an active part in encouraging the improvement and development of the town, and soon became prominent in public affairs. He was appointed Deputy Sheriff under John W. LeMore in 1844, for two years. He was elected Justice of the Peace in the early days of the town, was re-elected and held that office 14 years. Litigation was more common in early times than in later years, as the machinery of society could not be expected to run smoothly at first, where there were many conflicting interests and numerous turbulent spirits that naturally gravitate to the frontier. `Squire Fellows' Court was kept in active operation and justice was meted out with a view to equity as well as law. His decisions were deemed so just and fair that an appeal was seldom made from them. He was elected Supervisor of Fulton Township in 1857, and again in 1860-3-4-70, and was appointed in 1871 to fill a vacancy, and re-elected again in 1872. He was one of the first Aldermen of the city and has held other local offices. In April, 1850, he joined a party of his fellow townsmen in a trip to California, going across the plains. He spent two years in the gold regions, and returned well satisfied with his experience.
In 1859 he formed a partnership with Mr. Irving G. Gates, under the firm name of Fellows & Gates, lumber merchants, and carried on an extensive business from 1859 to 1862, when they sold out. In 1864 he removed to Union Grove, to one of his farms, where he was engaged in agricultural pursuits until 1868, when he returned to Fulton. In 1871 he went into the livery business, which he conducted till 1876. Mr. Fellows is a man of keen business sagacity, of unquestioned integrity, whose word is as good as his bond. By strict attention to business and judicious investment, he has acquired - a large and valuable property. He has several well improved farms, aggregating 1,500 acres, besides valuable city property and securities.
He was married in Union Grove Township, Nov. 9, 1843, to Miss Lydia Baker, daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth Baker. Mrs. Fellows was born in Trumbull Co., Ohio, and came to Fulton with her parents in 1839. Mr. and Mrs. Fellows have had seven children, - four daughters and three sons. The eldest, Robert J., married Hattie Burns, and resides at Union Grove, Ill. They have three children, all girls, - Augusta E., Lola M. and Mabel E. The second child, Augusta E., died aged 18 years. The third, Ella H., died aged 17 years. Florence A. resides with her parents. Mary died aged two years. William H., a lawyer, and Fred A. are in business in Northern Dakota.
In all matters of public enterprise calculated to benefit his town or county, Mr. Fellows has acted with his characteristic earnestness and decision, rendering wise counsel and material aid. When the project of constructing a railroad as an outlet fromFulton to the East was under consideration, he was one of those whose earnest efforts secured its accomplishment.
The portraits of Mr. and Mrs. Fellows are presented in this volume with much satisfaction, as the subjects are inseparably connected with the earliest history of Fulton and the county of Whiteside. Time has dealt kindly with them, as they deserve from their lives of thrift and usefulness. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois; 1895]
Henry C Fellows was born in the town of New Lebanon, Columbia county New York March 10, 1815 and came to Whiteside County in March 1837 and settled in Fulton, being one of the very earliest settlers in the town. On the 9th of November 1843, he married Miss Lydia Baker, daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth Baker, at Union Grove, in this county. The children of this marriage have been Robert J, Augusta, Ellen H, Florence A, Mary E, William H and Frederick A. Of these Robert J is married and lives in Union Grove, and Florence, William H and Frederick A live in Fulton. Augusta, Ellen H and Mary E are dead. Mr. Fellows was one of the original proprietors of the present city of Fulton, and has been identified with its interests from the very commencement. Together with the early pioneers he suffered all the hardships and privations incident to such a life, as well as enjoyed all the pleasures with which the people at that time were wont to season their otherwise monotonous existence. He early displayed capacities which fitted him for public position, and was consequently called upon to fill offices of honor and trust almost from the start. He was for a number of years Deputy Sheriff of the county, and a police magistrate of the city, and Justice of the Peace of the township of Fulton for fully 20 years. In 1857 he was first elected Supervisor of the Township, and was re-elected at 7 different times afterwards, making 8 years service in all as member of the Board of Supervisors. he has also held other township offices, and was one of the first alderman of the city. At the time when the project of connecting the lakes with the Mississippi river by railroads was being pushed, he took an active part in securing the western terminus at Fulton. In fact his influence has been felt in every project gotten up in behalf of the interest of the county. By industry and prudence he has secured a large property, and bids fair to enjoy it for many years to come. [Bent-Wilson Pg 186-187]
Of Mt. Pleasant Township
Simon Fellows is a native of Sandwich, Carroll county, ( formerly Strafford county,) New Hampshire, and was born November 20, 1815, and lived there until he came to Illinois in September, 1834. He first located in what is now the township of Palmyra, Lee county, where he remained until 1850 when he moved to Round Grove, Mt. Pleasant township, Whiteside county. Mr. Fellows was married to Miss Elizabeth Deyo, July 10, 1836, the marriage taking place in a little log cabin without any floor, situated in the northeast part of the present township of Jordan. Miss Deyo was born March 12, 1816. The children of this marriage were: Oliver E., born June 12, 1837; Albert, born April 16, 1839; Charles, born May 25, 1841; Margaret, born January 27, 1843; Electa, born June 6, 1845; Edward S., born September 22, 1848; Elizabeth D., born March 31, 1851; Emeline S. born February 3, 1854; Ernest, born June 14, 1856, and Omar D., born October 10, 1860. The children have all been married except Edward and Omar. Oliver E. resides in Palmyra, Lee County, Illinois. Albert served three years in the 4th Illinois Cavalry, and died February, 1866. Charles was also in the army, and served three years in the 75th Illinois Infantry; he now lives in Mt. Pleasant township. Margaret resides in Calhoun county, Michigan; Electa resides at Round Grove Whiteside county; Edward S. resides in Mt. Pleasant township; Elizabeth D. is a resident of Morrison; Emeline S. lives in Branch county, Michigan; Ernest, and Omar both live in Mt. Pleasant township.
During the winter of 1834-'35 Mr. Fellows taught the first school in Buffalo Grove, near Polo, Ogle county. The school was kept in the house of Oliver W. Kellogg, and among the patrons of Mr. Fellows were Mr. Kellogg, John Dixon, better known as Father Dixon, and Joseph Smith. In the same winter, his brother Samuel Fellows taught the first school in Elkhorn Grove, at the house of John Ankeny. In November, 1836, Mr. Fellows served as Clerk of Election in Cherry Grove Precinct, Jo Daviess county, and made return of the Poll book to Galena, a distance of forty miles. Mr. Fellows held the office of Justice of the Peace of Mr. Pleasant township for twelve consecutive years dating at 1856, his first commission being signed by the Hon. Joel Matteson, the then Governor of the State. He has been Postmaster twice, the first time when he received his commission from Hon. Amos Kendall, then Postmaster General, and the second time receiving his commission from Hon. Montgomery Blair, Postmaster General [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 303]
ALFRED W. FENTON
Alfred W. Fenton, one of the first-born citizens of Whiteside County, and still a resident of the same, is a native of Fenton Township, this county, where he was born May 13, 1837. He is a son of Joseph and Elizaheth (Durell) Fenton. The township of Fenton was named in honor of his father, who was one of the very earliest settlers in the county, coming here in the fall of 1835, and locating first in Erie Township and afterwards moving to Fenton Township. The parents both died in the latter. Alfred W. Fenton, subject of this biographical notice, was brought up to the calling of a farmer, to which vocation he has devoted the greater portion of his life. His days of minority were passed on the homestead farm, assisting in the labors thereon, and attending the common schools; and on attaining the age of majority he continued in the same vocation until about 12 years ago, when he moved to the village of Erie, and since which time he has engaged in' putting down drive wells and dealing in iron pumps; also in general teaming. He is the owner of one-fourth interest in the old homestead of 215 acres in Fenton Township. [Portrait and Biographical, PG 798]
JOHN D. FENTON
Of Erie Township
John D. Fenton, contractor and bridge builder, residing at Erie, this county, is a son of Joseph and Elizaheth (Durell) Fenton, and was born Nov 10, 1832, near Mt. Holly, Burlington Co., N. J. His father was a farmer, and was born in Burlington Co., N. J., Sept. 21, 1794; he died in Fenton Township, this county, Sept. 28, 1874, aged 80 years and 7 days. His mother was a native of the same State and county, born Oct. 16, 1803, and died in the same township as her husband, Jan. 15 , 1879. They were married in Burlington Co., New Jersey, April 11 , 1826, and there resided on a farm, and where five of their children were born. Oct. 6, 1835, they came to this county, and four more children were born to them. Of their nine children, eight are still living. Ellwood W. is head steward on the steamer Williamette, chief Oregon Transportation Co.; Joseph R. is a carpenter and bridge-builder for the Central Pacific Railroad Company in Oakland, Ca.; Elizaueth is deceased; John D., subject of this notice, is the next in order of birth; Robert S. is a farmer and resides in Erie; Alfred W. is engaged in putting in drive wells, and resides in Erie; Mary E. is the wife of Elson Medhurst, of Erie; Sylvester H. is a carpenter and joiner and lives in Fenton; and Henry C. is a resident of Erie. The parents came by water to Chicago, at which place they purchased two yoke of , oxen and a wagon, and drove with their effects to Erie Township, this county, and located on section 4. They built a log house after their arrival, Oct. 6, 1835, and resided there a few months. In 1836, they removed to Fenton Township, and located on section 33, and erected a log house, being the first settlers to locate in the township. They lived in the old log house till 1850, when they built a cement house. On arrival in the county, the father entered 200 acres of land, and at the date of his death he was the proprietor of 215 acres, which is at present owned by his four sons, John D., Alfred W., Sylvester H. and Joseph R., who bought out the other heirs. The father was a successful fanner, and possessed that energy and determination which in a new and undeveloped country is certain to achieve the aim desired. He came here with almost nothing, and by indomitable energy and pluck reared a large family and left his estate unincumbered. When but a boy he was bound out, and had, a hard life to lead. He first started to Milwaukee, Wis., but was induced to come here, by Ephraim A. Hubbard. When the Township of Fenton was first organized in 1852, it was named Eden Township, but was soon afterward changed to that of Fenton, in honor of the father of the subject of this notice, who was the first settler there.
Mr. Fenton, of this notice, was reared on the old homestead, receiving the advantages of the common schools, and where he remained until he attained the age of majority. He then rafted on the Mississippi River for a short tune and afterward returned and rented the old homestead, which he cultivated for a few years. In 1863, he came to Erie and taught school in township 19, range 3, one winter, after which he opened a wagon-shop, manufactured wagons and sleds and did a general repairing business, which he continued until about 1879, when he sold his shop, and has since followed farming and building of bridges. He has 40 acres of land, located,on section 28 , Fenton Township, which he farms; has been Assessor, altogether, nine years, Constable seven years, School Director several years, Collector one year, Justice of the Peace from 1873 to 1877 and was again elected in the spring of 1885. He is also a Notary Public, which position he has held for the past 16 years.
Mr. Fenton was united in marriage in Erie village, March 14, 1859, to Miss Marcia Wonser, daughter of Milden G. and Ruth M. Wonser. She was born in Ellisville, Ill. March 7, 1840. They had three children, two of whom are now living. The living are: Celona I, born July 20, 1862; and Ruth E., April . 19, 1866; Myra B., the first-born, died in infancy. The two daughters are both teachers in the public schools. Mr. Fenton was Deputy Sheriff from 1870 to 1872, under Ed. A. Worrell. [Portrait and Biographical 1895..]
Of Fenton Township
Joseph Fenton was born in Burlington NJ, September 12 1794 and came to Whiteside County in October 1835, settling upon the farm in Fenton Township where his widow and a part of his family still reside. He was married to Miss Elizabeth Durrell, at Burlington City, NJ in April 1826. The children of this marriage have been; Elwood W born Jan 23 1827; Joseph R March 27 1829; Elizabeth H Jul 9 1831; John D Nov 10 1832; Robert S Oct 6 1834; Alfred W May 13 1837; Mary E Dec 18 1839; Sylvester H Aug 27 1841; Henry C Jul 3 1845. The only death in the family has been that of Elizabeth H which occurred at the old home in NJ on the 25th of Jul 1833. Elwood W married Annette E Wonser, and lives at Amidore CA; Joseph R lives at Oakland CA and married since his settlement there; John D married Marcia Wonser and lives at Erie; Robert S married Josei Cross and lives at Fenton; Alfred W is unmarried, and lives at Erie; Mary E marreid Elson Medhurst and lives in Fenton, Sylvester H married Amanda Medhurst and lives at Alphage, Henry county IL; and Henry C married Amanda Smith and lives at Erie. Mr Fenton was the earliest settler in what is now known as Fenton township, and one of the earliest in Whiteside County. With the pioneers he suffered all the privations incident to a new and unsettled country, and with them grappled with all the obstacles i nthe way with an energy and perserverance born of a conquering will. Men of less determination than our pioneers might have given up in despair, and gone back to the homes where they were reared, but not so with them. They had come to remain, and with that view set themselves resolutely at work to overcome all obstacles. Many of them became affluent in worldly circumstances and amont these was Mr. Fenton. Those who knew Mr. Fenton in his lifetime speak of him as a man of strict integrity, sound judgment, great industry, and of a peculiarly kind and obliging disposition. He was averse to holding public positions, and only accepted some of the minor offices of the township. His great delight was his home. He died on the 28th of September 1874, at the age of eighty years. His widow, now 74 years of age, is still living at the old homestead. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 199]
John Ferguson, proprietor of the Revere House, Morrison, and a member of the Novelty Carriage Works Company, situated on Main Street, in that city, is a son of John and Jenett (Fairchild) Ferguson. His father was born in Argyleshire, Scotland, Nov. 1, 1804. He was a farmer by occupation, and came to the United States in 1831, stopping first at Albany, N. Y., and he then came to Indiana, where he spent one year. He then moved further West, becoming one of the pioneers of the great State, Iowa. He located in Cedar County, in 1836, and was the second settler in that county. He was an active, enterprising man, and did much to develop the country, which he had chosen for his home. He dealt very largely in land, handling several thousands of acres, during his active life, and was also a successful fanner. He retired from agricultural pursuits in 1880, and died on the old homestead, Sept. 11, 1884. The mother of our subject is also a native of Scotland, and at present resides with her son, Mr. Ferguson of this sketch, and is in her 60th year. The elder Ferguson and his wife, were the parents of eight children. The-father was also the parent of four children by a former marriage. All of the eight children, born to Mr. and Mrs. Ferguson, are still living, of whom our subject is the eldest. Bessie, the next in order of birth, is the wife of E. H. Jones, lumber dealer in Kingman, Kan ; Nellie J., wife of Barry D. Woods, grocer, Morrison, Illinois.; Isabel, wife of James Albright, farmer, Ida Co., Iowa; James D. and William A., resident on the old homestead, and Alice and Clara, now attending school at Mt. Carroll, Ill. The following are the names of the four children, by the first marriage: Hugh, farmer in Ida Co., Iowa; Ann, wife of A. Rogers, farmer in Dakota; Mary, wife of R. M. Davidson, farmer, Cedar Co., Iowa.; Margaret, wife of John G. Greig, farmer, Cedar Co., Iowa all are living.
Mr. Ferguson, the subject of this personal sketch, was born in Cedar Co., Iowa, near Tipton, Dec. 7, 1848. He was reared on his father's farm, enjoying the limited educational advantages offered at that time. When he reached the age of 21, he bought an interest in a drug store at Tipton, Iowa, which he retained until 1877, when on account of ill-health he was obliged to sell and select a different calling. For a period of one year following, he engaged in the lumber business, and for the next two years conducted a farm. In December, 1881, he came to Morrison, and engaged in the grocery business in company with B. D. Woods. In October, 1882, he formed a partnership with John Clark, for the purpose of manufacturing carriages. In February, 1884, he sold his interest in the grocery business to Henry Meyers, and turned his entire attention to the carriage business, in which he was interested until he became the proprietor of the Revere House. Dec. 16,1884. Mr. Ferguson still sustains his relation to the hotel, which is the leading place of public entertainment in the city. Mr. Ferguson was united in marriage with Miss Ella M., daughter of John and Margaret Culbertson, at Tipton, Iowa, Nov. 12, 1872. Mrs. Ferguson wTas born at that place Oct. 28, 1849. Her father was the leading merchant of Tipton for 25 years, and about 1870 retired from active business. Mrs. Ferguson died at Tipton, Aug. 19, 1879, of pulmonary disease. [Contributed by Christine Walters; Whiteside County History 1880]
Albert Ferris, farmer, section 7, Hahnaman Tsp. is a son of B. and Martha J. (Currey) Ferris, natives of Indiana, who came to Whiteside County in 1871, settling in the township of Tampico, where Mr. F. died, May 18, 1877; Mrs. F. survives. Their children were nine in number, namely, Edwin C., Ralph, John, Albert, Lucy, Mary, Chester, Noble and Nora. Mr. Ferris was born in Metamora, Franklin Co. IN March 4, 1859 and was 12 years of age when his parents came with thim to this county. In 1882 he purchased 80 acres of land in Hahnaman Twp., to which he added 80 more in 1884 on Section 7, where he resides. All his land is good. Mr. Ferris was married in this township, Oct. 12, 1882 to Rebecca J., daughter of A.J. Glassburn. Mr. and Mrs. Ferris have become the parents of two children - Daisy M. and Clarence E. In his political relations Mr. Ferris is with the Republican party. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg. 394]
B. Ferris, deceased, was for many years extensively engaged in agriculture in this county, on section 13, Tampico Township. He was born in Franklin Co., Ind., March 18, 1822. He was reared upon the farm, attending to the duties that fell to the lot of farmers' boys, and going to school during the winter months. In this way, he developed an excellent manhood, and obtained a good common-school education. After his marriage, which even occurred Dec. 28, 1848, Mr. Ferris continued to reside on a farm in his native county until 1873. Thinking to better his condition, or at least have a wider field to labor in, he came further West, selecting Tampico Township, Whiteside County, as a place for his home. Here he settled on a large farm, containg 680 acres of land, his resience being located on section 13. He improved the entire acreage, and developed it to that degree that it took rank among the valuable farms of Whiteside County, which as a matter of fact, contains as finely improved an agricultural district as there is in the great Prairie State. Mr. Ferris continued to reside upon this farm, enjoying the fruits of his hard and honest labor, until May 18, 1877, when he was relieved from further toil by death. At that time he was 55 years and two months old.
Mr. F. was united in marriage with Miss Martha J. Currey, in Franklin Co., Ind., on the date above mentioned. Mrs. Ferris was born in Franklin County, Aug. 9, 1829. Her father was a farmer, and she lived upon the home farm with her parents until her marriaage. She is the mother of nine children, two of whom are deceased. The following is the record of those living: Edwin is married, and lives in Canton, Dak.; Ralph, married, and residing in Montmorency Township; John S., married and lives in Hahnaman Township; Albert, Lucy and Mary are also married and reside in this county; Noble is living at home with his mother. Mrs. Ferris possesses rare business ability, and has managed the affairs of her late husband with great credit. Both she and her husband were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Mr. Ferris was a Republican in politics. Considering the brief period that Mr. Ferris resided in Whiteside County he was widely and favorably known. On coming he entered into sympathy with every movement to develp and improve both the material wealth and social and moral standing of the community. He was esteemed as a friend and neighbor, and loved as a husband, and in recognition of his services and position as a citizen of the county, we take pleasure in presenting a portrait in this Album, which appears in connection with this sketch. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 381]
Albert Field, a farmer, owning 278 acres of land located on sections 22, 27 and 28, Prophetstown Township, was born one-eighth of a mile from his present residence, Jan. 5, 1853. He is a son of Samuel and Olive (Paddock) Field, natives of Oneida County, NY and who reside inProphetstown Township. Mr. Field was reared on a farm in the latter township, receiving the advantages afforded by the common schools and assisting int he labors of the farm. In 1877 his father gave him 82 1/2 acres of land where he at present resides, and he has since added to his original tract until he is the proprietor of the number of acres mentioned. Mr. Field makes a specialty of dealing in cattle. He buys and fattens his stock on his farm and ships mostly to the Chicago market, usually shipping from one to two cars of cattle and the same of swine.
Mr. Field was united in marriage in Prophetstown March 25, 1877, to Miss Alice A. Jewell. She is a daughter of Lewis H. and Margaret Jewell and was born in Carroll County, this State, Oct. 31, 1856. Her parents are both living and reside in Lucas Co Iowa. Mr. Field has made a success in life, and has a fine farm under good cultivation and is one of hte representative and prosperous farmers of Whiteside County.
Samuel Field, the father of our subject resides on section 26, the same township. He is a son of Thoams and Anna (Fanning) Field, and was born in Oneida Co. NY Feb. 15, 1821. His father was a native of Rhode Island and his mother a native of Connecticut. Their family consisted of 11 children, four of whom are living. Edmund, a farmer, Samuel, our subject, Waterman, a farmer in California and Silas a rancher in British Columbia. Samuel Field was reared on a farm, and in 1852 wsa the possessor of 65 acres, which he sold and located on the Rock River bottom, where he bought 80 acres and subsequently added to it until he was the possessor of 630 acres, which he has since divided among his chidlren, except 88 acres. In 1865 he came to his present farm and has has 120 acres, 58 of which is on the river bottom.
He was married in Oneida Co NY to Olive Paddock, a daughter of John and Polly Paddock. She was born in Oneida Co Dec. 7, 1829. They have six children, one born in NY and five in Prophetstown. Helen is the wife of John Ellsworth, a farmer in Prophetstown Township. ALbert is also a farmer in the same township. Mary E. is the wife of Marion Green, a farmer in Hume Twp. George also follows farming. Nettie C. is the wife of William Washburn and Emma resides at home. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside Co 1885 Pg 562]
John Fieldsend, farmer, resident on section 15, Clyde Township, was born April 30, 1828, in the town of Thurston, Yorkshire, England. Benjamin Fieldsend, his father, was a tailor by profession and instructed his son in the details of that business, which he followed from the age of 14 years to that of 21. He also worked as a "jour" one year.
He was married Aug. 5, 1850, in Yorkshire, to Ann, daughter of William and Lucy A. (Askam) Greaves. The parents of Mrs. Fieldsend were born in Yorkshire and were residents there throughout their entire lives. Her father died Oct. 23. 1881 when he was 77 years old. The demise of the mother occurred in June, 1851. Mrs. Fieldsend was born in Snowdenhill, Yorkshire, June 24, 1826. To her and her husband eight children have been born, two of whom are deceased. William M., born in England, March 11, 1852, married Agnes Piatt and is a farmer in Dakota; Ben, born Nov. 19, 1853, in England, is deceased; Sarah, born Aug. 12, 1855. in Wisconsin, is the wife of James Davis, a farmer in Plymouth Co., Iowa; Lucy A., born Sept. 6, 1857, in Wisconsin, is the wife of Wm. West, a farmer in Clyde Tp.; Martha, born Dec. 30, 1860, also in Wisconsin, married William Comady, a farmer of Clyde; Isabella was born Aug. 19, 1863, in Wisconsin; Mary, March 27, 1866, in Illinois; and Caroline, born July 11, 1868, also in this State, is deceased. Mr. Fieldsend followed his business as a tailor four years subsequent to his marriage. In the summer of 1854 he removed his family to the United States and remained one season in Poughkeepsie, in the State of New York. From there they went to Dodgeville, Iowa Co., Wis. He passed some time working as a tailor and later purchased Government land, on which he "farmed" until 1864. In that year he settled in Illinois on the tract of land which has since constituted his homestead. His farm included 80 acres at the date of purchase, but he has made additional purchases until it now comprises 231 acres of well improved land, under the best kind of cultivation. He owns some fine stock, and is interested in its improvement. Mr. Fieldsend and his wife were reared in the English Church. Politically, he is a decided Democrat. [Portrait & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885]
Rev. N. H. Fife, for the past 12 years Pastor.of the Presbyterian Church of Sterling, was born in the village of Elizabeth, Allegheny Co., Pa., Feb. 19, 1840: both his parents were natives of the same State. His father, Andrew Fife, was a farmer and attained the age of 89 years. His mother, nee Sarah Robinson, died at the age of 84 years. Rev. Fife received his academic training at Elder's Ridge, Indiana Co., Pa., and entered the Junior class in Jefferson College in September, 1857, graduating when 19 years of age. After teaching one year at Middletown, Ky., he entered the Western Theological Seminary in Allegheny City, Pa., at which he graduated in April, 1863. Immediately afterward he was ordained to the work of the ministry by the Redstone Presbytery, and installed Pastor of the Presbyterian Church of Connellsville, Pa., which position he sustained five years. He then took charge of the Church at Long Run, in the same Presbytery, where he remained until November, 1873, when he came to Illinois and entered upon his present pastorate. (See the latter part of this volume for a sketch of the Church.)
June 9, 1869, Mr. F. married Miss Mary E. Paull, of Connellsville, Pa. Three children have been born to them, Eliza P., Charles A. and J. Paull. Mr. Fife is a Republican in his political views, and his long service in such an intelligent community as that of Sterling, with the continued approval of his Church, is sufficient evidence of his ability and faithfulness in the gospel ministry. [Portrait & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885]
General farmer, resident on section 1, Jordan Township, was born July 5, 1834, in Delaware Co., N.Y. At the age of 20 years he found himself possessed of the privilege of making a hand-to-hand struggle with the world on his own account. In March 1845, a few months before he reached the age of 21 years, he came to Illinois, and located at Buffalo Grove, Ogle County. He found ready employment as a farm laborer, and spent three years in the service of N.N. Shaver. Meanwhile he was married to Nancy Sanford. An account of her parents is to be found elsewhere in this work, her father, Vernon Sanford, being one of the pioneers of Whiteside County. Her marriage to Mr. Finkle took place Oct. 22, 1857. She is one of the first white children born in Whiteside County, where her birth occurred April 15, 1839. She has been the mother of eight children, all of whom are living with two exceptions. Irving is a farmer in Jordan Township; Mary J. married Fletcher Schryver, a farmer in Eagle Point Township, Ogle Co., Ill. David E., Arthur, Vernon and Sarah C. are at home; Adam V. died March 23, 1865; Cyrenus died March 3, 1879. After becoming the son-in-law of Mr. Sanford, Mr. Finkle acceded to the management of his homestead, and spent some years in the prosecution of its interests. He is now the owner of nine acres in Jordan Township, and 230 acres in Ogle County. Mr. Finkle is a Democrat in his political principles. [Whiteside County History 1880]
JUDGE CHARLES J. FISK, of the first judicial district of North Dakota, is one of the most prominent men of the state and although a young man, has gained the confidence of the people whom he serves. His career as a lawyer started in North Dakota and he has ever been among the earnest workers for the advancement of the state and his fellowmen. Our subject was born in Whiteside county, Illinois , March 11, 1862, and is a son of Clark A. and Delia E. (Reynolds) Fisk, natives, respectively, of Pennsylvania and Vermont . His father was a farmer and removed from Pennsylvania to Illinois in 1836, where he took up government land and resided there until his death. Our subject has one brother, Frank E. Fisk, of Bottineau, North Dakota.
Charles F. Fisk was reared and educated in Illinois, and attended the Northern Illinois College of Fulton, after which he taught school and read law at Morrison, Illinois, in the office of Woodruff & Andrews. He came to North Dakota in 1886 and settled at Larimore, where he was admitted to the bar in 1886 and was associated with W.H. Fellows, deceased. He continued at Larimore until February 1, 1889, when he located in Grand Forks , and was associated with Judge Cochrane, Tracy R. Bangs and George A. Bangs, at different times. He was elected to the bench in 1896 and is now ably filling the office of judge of the first judicial district of North Dakota.
Judge Fisk was married, in 1886, to Miss Ida M. Myers, who is also a native of Illinois. Two daughters have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Fisk, as follows: Helen and Doris. Mr. Fisk is a member of the Masonic fraternity, the Elks, the Knights of Pythias and the Modern Woodmen of America. He has filled minor offices in his profession as city attorney, etc., and is widely known as a man of much influence for good in the community. He is a stanch Democrat and a firm believer in the idea of free silver. He stands high in his profession and is a young man who deserves success. On June 19, 1900, he was nominated for a second term by his own party and June 23d was placed in nomination for the same office by the Republican judicial convention. [Source: Compendium of History and Biography of North Dakota , Publ. 1900. Transcribed by K. Mohler]
--- Justice Fisk was born in Morrison, Illinois, on March 11, 1862. He received his elementary and secondary education in the Morrison schools. He then attended Northern Illinois College at Fulton, Illinois, and received his law degree in 1883 at age 21. He came to the Dakota Territory and was admitted to the Bar in 1886 and immediately started a practice in what is now Larimore, North Dakota. Shortly thereafter, he moved to Grand Forks and practiced law until 1897. During this period he served as Grand Forks City Attorney for two years and also functioned as an Assistant United States Attorney. In 1897 he was elected to the position of District Judge for the First Judicial District with chambers in Grand Forks and served in that capacity for ten years. In the 1906 general election he defeated Justice Knauf for the position on the Supreme Court left vacant when Justice Young resigned. He assumed office in January 1907 at age 44 and was reelected to a full term in 1910. He was defeated by Luther Birdzell in the 1916 general election after serving ten years on the Supreme Court. Justice Fisk returned to private practice in Minot, North Dakota. He continued in practice until 1923 at which time he was appointed Referee of the State Guaranty Fund Commission. He served in that position until it was abolished, a short time before his death. Justice Fisk died on May 8, 1932, at age 70. [Source: Biographical Sketches of the North Dakota District Court Judges]
Dudley R. Fitch, farmer, section 8, Lyndon Township, is the oldest son of Erastus and Harriet (Beecher) Fitch, of whom an account is given in connection with that of George W. Fitch. He was born in Pike, Bradford Co., Pa., Nov. 20, 1820, and was a lad of 12 years when his parents became pioneers of Ohio. Four years later the family came to Lyndon Township, and Mr. Fitch passed the remainder of his minority in aiding his father on the homestead. He spent two subsequent seasons breaking prairie, and later he worked land on shares. In 1845 he bought a claim on section 8, which he secured when the Government sales were made, and also bought 40 acres adjoining on section 17. He built a dwelling on the latter in 1850. He has improved and enclosed his entire acreage. In 1874 he rented his farm and went to Lyndon, where he bought four lots and erected the dwelling he now occupies. The marriage of Mr. Fitch to Zelinda Merrill took place Feb. 12, 1852. She was born in Lowell, Mass. Mr. and Mrs. Fitch have had six children: Hattie married L. L Baiter and lives in Clinton, Iowa; Abbie A. is the wife of N. W. Martin, of Henry Co., IL. Ida M. was born Feb. 5, 1859, and died in February, 1884. She was the wife of R. S. Vaughn; Mary A. and Ernestine A. are the youngest; Grace died in infancy. [Portrait & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885]
Of Lyndon Township
Erastus Fitch came from Portage county, Ohio, to Whiteside County and settled in Lyndon in 1836. He married Miss Harriet E. Wells. The children were: Dudley R., born November 20, 1820; George W., born Feb. 21, 1822; Lois Philena, born November 25, 1823; Chauncey E., born November 23, 1825; and one child who died in infancy. Dudley R. married Zelinda Merrill; children, Harriet C., Abby, Ida, Mary and Ernestine. George W. married Miss Ellen Millikan; children, Robert, Charles, Emily, Frank, Flora, Nellie and one other who died in infancy. Chauncey E. married Miss Henrietta Pike; children, Jophanett, Herbert and George C. Mr. Erastus Fitch and his wife both died at the home of their son George W., in Lyndon, a few years since. George W., Chauncey E. and Dudley R. are well-known, enterprising business men. [Bent & Wilson History 1877]
GEORGE W. FITCH
George W Fitch farmer and business man of Whiteside County, has been a resident of Lyndon Township since 1837, when he accompanied his parents hither. Erastus Fitch, his father, was born in Massachusetts, where he grew up and received a good education. He began the career of a teacher in his native State, and afterwards taught school in New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont and Pennsylvania. He was married in the latter State to Harriet (Beecher) Wells, the widow of Cyrus Wells, and located in Pike, Bradford County, where he engaged in farming, spending alternate winter seasons in teaching. He removed with his family to Ohio in 1830, and obtained employment as a teacher in Shalersville, Portage County, where he was occupied in that calling four years. In 1834 he bought a farm in the township of Edinburg, on which he operated until 1836, the year in which he came to Whiteside County. He reached Chicago via the lake route, and walked from that city to his destination. He made a claim on section 30, Lyndon Township, and soon afterward built a log house, situated on the "bluff." He placed a few acres under improvement during the summer, and in the fall went to Ohio for his family. He left the Buckeye State April 28 and journeyed by way of the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers. The household occupied the primitive log house about nine years, and after that they were included in the family of their son, George W., under whose supervision they remained until the close of their lives. The father's demise took place Feb. 11, 1875 ; that of the mother June 6, 1877. They were aged respectively 86 and 89 years. Four of their five children survive : R. Dudley is a resident of Lyndon; George W. is next in order of birth; Lois, widow of P. Daggett, lives in Lyndon ; Chauncey E. resides at Sterling; and one child died in infancy.
Mr. Fitch, of this sketch, was born Feb. 21, 1822, in Pike, Bradford Co., Pa. He was 15 years old when he came to Illinois, and soon after became a member of the household of his uncle, W. D. Dudley, a pioneer settler of Lyndon Township of 1835, and lived with him until his minority was passed. Meanwhile he had secured a claim of 80 acres on section 9 of the same township, in which he began his labor as a developer of the agricultural resources of his county, and of which he took possession when he was married. His industry, frugality and energy met with success, and at the time he sold his estate in 1881 he was the owner of 320 acres of land.
In 1857 Mr. Fitch engaged in buying cattle for shipment to the cities of Boston, New York and Chicago, in which line of business he operated extensively for more than a score of years. At the same time he pushed his agricultural interests, and trafficked somewhat largely in the purchase and sale of land. At one period he held nearly 2,000 acres. He was one of the founders and original stockholders "of the Lyndon Hydraulic Manufacturing Company, and served as its President. Feb. 4, 1845, Mr. Fitch was united in marriage to Ellen D., daughter of Daniel F. and Amelia S. (Pease) Millikan, and they had eight children: Frank E., Emily A. (Mrs. J. N. Pollard, of Fairmount, Neb.), Flora A. (Mrs. C. H. Abernethy, of the same place), and Nellie A. are the only survivors. The youngest daughter is a teacher near Fairmount, Neb. Mr. and Mrs. Fitch are members of the Congregational Church. [Portrait & Biographical Whiteside County IL, 1885]
Isaac Fletcher, farmer, located on section 7, Clyde Township, was born April 23, 1826, in Saltford, Somersetshire, England. His father, Isaac Fletcher, was born in England,and belonged to a family of unmixed English ancestry. He was an employe of the government, and operated to a considerable extent as a contractor on public works, occupying positions of trust and responsibility. He died at Saltford, Somersetshire, in 1879, and was nearly 90 years of age. Betsey (Smith) Fletcher, the mother, was born Oct. 31, 1791, in the same shire, and was the daughter of Thomas Smith, an English yeoman. She died in 1862, aged 71 years. Their family included 10 children, one daughter and nine sons.
Mr. Fletcher remained under the control of his parents until he was 16 years of age, when he began to operate on his own account, and worked some years on the docks,"canals and railroads in the interests of his government. He was married in Liverpool, England, March 4, 1850, to Elizabeth, daughter of Valentine Shaw. The father was born Feb. 14, 1801, in Northamptonshire, England, and when he was in advanced age (1851) came to the United States, dying 18 days after landing at the port of New York, Deborah (Clark) Shaw, her mother, was born in Wei ton, Northamptonshire, and came to the United States with her husband, two daughters, one son and a son-in-law, in the year following the marriage of the daughter. The mother died at Morrison. March 11, 1869, aged 62 years. Mrs. Fletcher was born in Newnham, Northamptonshire, Oct. 15,1833, and was a resident there until she was 14 years of age, when she went with her parents to Liverpool. Mr. and Mrs. Fletcher have been the parents of 13 children, two of whom are deceased. Emma S. was born July 21, 1851, married Fayette Dimick, Oct. 12, 1874, and they live at Exeter, Fillmore Co, Neb. Mr. Dimick is a town official where he lives, and is engaged in the sale of agricultural implements. He is a prominent and enterprising citizen. Debbie A., born March 8, 1853, married Alexander Wilpon, June 15, 1876, and resides on a farm in Ustick Township. She was a teacher for many years. Mary E. was born Aug. 23, 1855. Phebe was born Nov. 28, 1859, and married James Stapleton, a farmer in Clark Co., D. T. She was also a teacher. Those named, besides one daughter, deceased, were born in Fredonia, N. Y. William was born Oct. 4, 1862; Charles, March 14, 1863; Allie E., Feb. 24, 1845; Jennie and James (twins) were born Dec. 19, r867 ; Arthur, Jan. 31, 1869; Theophilus, Nov. 14, 1871. Amelia, and another child who was not named, are deceased.
The family left England for America May 13, 1851, and they landed at the port of New York. From there they proceeded to Fredonia, Chautauqua Co., N. Y., where they resided some years. In 1860 they came to Whiteside County, and located on the section on which they have since resided. It was under some improvements, and at the date of purchase contained 80 acres. The farm now comprises 200 acres, all under excellent cultivation. The farm buildings are first-class, and the place is stocked with cattle of the best grade. Mr. Fletcher justly ranks among the best citizens of his township, and is considered a representative agriculturist. The younger members of the family are well educated, and their social position second to none. Mr. Fletcher is active and influential in political connection, and is a Republican. He has acted in the local offices of the township, and is at present Commissioner of Highways. He knows of no relative in America save his own family. [Portrait & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885]
Henry Flock, farmer, residing on section 22, Hahnaman Township, is a son of John and Anna (Fanenstihs) Flock, natives of Germany, in which country they both died. They were the parents of six children, Henry, William, Joseph, Kathrina and Margaret. Henry Flock, subject of this biographical notice, was born May 22, 1833, in Germany. He lived in his native country until 24 years of age (1857), when he came to the United States and soon afterward to this county. On his arrival here, he settled in Sterling Township and " worked out " by the month for about four years.
Mr. Flock enlisted, Aug. 11, 1862, in the 75th IL Vol. Inf., and served until the close of the war. He served in the infantry for about seven months and was then detached and placed on the pioneer corps, where he remained for about 14 months. He was then transferred to the First United States Engineer Corps, where he continued to remain until his discharge. On receiving his discharge, Mr. Flock returned to Whiteside County and settled in Hahnaman Township, where he has since resided. He is at present (1885) the owner of 276 acres in the township, 210 of which is tillable.
Mr. Flock was united in marriage at Polo, IL June 15, 1862, to Miss Barbara, daughter of Jacob and Catharine (Stroh) Pott, natives of Germany. They came to this country in 1853, and soon thereafter settled in Sterling, this county, where her father died Feb. 17, 1881. He and his wife were the parents of five children, - Christian, Henry, Barbara, Mathias and Mary.
Mrs. Flock was born in Germany, Oct. 18, 1846. She accompanied her parents to this country and county in 1853 and remained mostly at home until the date of her marriage. She is the mother of 11 children by Mr. Flock, namely: Catherine, John, Jacob R. W., Mary T., Anna E., Henry, Mathias, p Elizabeth B., William, Maggie and Nellie T. Mr. Flock has held the office of Overseer of Highways and School Trustee, and in politics is a Democrat. He and his wife are members of the German Catholic Church. [Portrait & Biographical Whiteside County IL, 1885]
Aaron Fluck & his wife Lydia A. (Tombow) Fluck
Aaron Fluck, a farmer on section 14, Hume Twp. is one of the enterprising agriculturists of Whiteside County of which he has been a resident principally since 1857. He first located at Sterling, where he passed several years working at his trade of carpenter and also as a general laborer. He went to Arkansas just previous to the outbreak of the Rebellion, where he found himself pressed into drill preparatory to the organization of the rebel army. He spent a month in the distasteful occupation, and escaped on the last steamer that passed up the Mississippi before it was closed by the rebel authorities, thereby forfeiting his wages. He returned to Sterling where he resumed his occupation as a mechanic. He was a resident of Sterling until 1866, working at his trade and engaging also, as opportunity offered, in the improvement of his farm which he had purchased in 1864. It comprised 160 acres, and at the time of his purchase it was unbroken prairie. He took possession of the place in 1866 and was its occupant until 1872, when he went to a small tract of land containing 14 acres situated near the city of Sterling, and which was the location of a valuable stone quarry. He operated there six years and in 1878 again removed to his farm, where he is engaged in the management of his agricultural interests. He also owns 40 acres on sectin 15 and 80 acres adjoining the land of his first purchase. The dwelling Mr. Fluck has erected on his place is the largest and most valuable in the township, and his barns are of the same comparative size and merit. He deals in high grades of stock. In political faith and connections he is a democrat, and has held several local offices.
He was born Sept. 22, 1833 in Bucks Co., PA. His family descent is from a erman ancestor who settled many years ago in Bucks County, where the descending generations maintained a residence through the succeeding years until 1857, when Mr. Fluck broadened the field of occupation by removal to Illinois. John Fluck, his father, was born in Bucks County in 1797, and married Elizabeth Leight. She was born in Northampton PA and was of mixed Scotch and German ancestry. Her birth took place in 1807 and she died in 1844. Her husband was a carpenter and was a prominent official in the German Reformed Church to which she also belonged. He died in Leigh Co. PA in 1881. Their family included seven children. The grandfather of Mr. Fluck was also John and he was a stone mason.
Aaron Fluck is the third child of his parents, and he was 11 years of age when he lost his mother by death. He continued under the care of his father until he came to his majority; but at the age of 17 he began to work at his trade of carpenter with Daniel Shafer, his cousin by marriage, who lived in Lehigh County. On reaching the age of 21 he entered the employment of his master as a journeyman, with whom he served one year, and with the exception of $5 gave his earnings to his father. He passed the three years subsequent in his native county, working at his trade.
Mr. Fluck was married Nov. 15, 1864 in Sterling to Lydia A. Tombow, and they have had eight childre, six of whom are still living. McClelland, John, Ida M., Aaron, Katie and Matilda. Benjamin and William are both deceased. Mrs. Fluck was born Aug. 26, 1846 in Lampeter Twp. Lancaster PA the daughter of William and Elizabeth (Borer) Tombow. Her parents were of Dutch descent, and her father was a stone mason by trade. Her mother died when she was seven years old, and she was placed in the charge of Mr. Landis, now of Sterling Twp., by whom she was brought up and with whose family she came to Whiteside County. Her father meanwhile had married again and had removed to Sterling a year previous to her coming to this county. She continued a member of Mr. Landis' family until her marriage. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 367]
Of Hahnaman Twp
In January 1908 it was the privilege of the writer to stand by the grave of the oldest man who ever lived in Whiteside. He was laid to rest in the Catholic cemetery at Tampico. It is a regret never to have met the veteran, and hear from his own lips the incidents of a career that started with the last century. Some of his younger neighbors who knew the old gentleman well, have given the writer various reminiscenes of their intimacy. Henry Pott and his brother-in-law, Henry Flock, ran a threshing machine, and frequently did work for Peter, on his farm. It was in the days when horse power was used. They had a pair of fine horses which they attached to the machine, the farmer furnishing the others. Henry did the driving with a long whip. Peter was lying barefoot by the stack, watching operations. The fat horses of the threshers were not pulling, and his own were doing most of the work, so Peter called out, "Henry, touch up your team with your lash, the whiffletrees are dangling against their legs." Peter was a close observer and saw everything. On another threshing occasion. the men started before breakfast to set the machine firmly to be ready to begin work early. But a blind horse balked, refusing to pull, and while the men rode back to the barn, on the way they had to pass a pond where a flock of geese were sleeping. The blind horse stumbled over the birds, bruising an old gander, and the whole troupe set up a furious screaming. Peter's kitchen door was ajar, and a face peered in the direction of the clamor. At breakfast, they told Peter of the catastrophe, claiming that a wolf had killed one of the flock during the night. "Wolf!" exclaimed Peter, "it was your horse, your blind wolf, that spoiled my fowl." To make the best of the disaster, Peter got the goose, and the two Henrys had the fat bird for dinner.
Several years ago Peter had a sore leg with an inflammation that refused to yield to repeated medical treatment, until a Spiritualist doctor was summoned from Polo, and the limb was restored whole as the other. This is not an advertisement, but belongs to our narrative. His house had low ceilings, and on Mr. Pott telling him that he had to be continually dodging as he passed through the house, Peter said he didn’t build the cottage for anybody taller than he was. Peter was a small man of light frame, and until recent years of active habits, laboring regularly on his farm.
At one time, he had a large plantation of several hundred acres, lying northeast of Deer Grove, on the borders of Whiteside and Lee counties. Various misfortunes, however, rendered it necessary to sell parts, and at his death, he was in moderate circumstances. His son took charge of the farm in later years, and Peter with his wife retired to a home in Tampico, where he remained to her death. Since that time. he lived with his daughter, Mrs. Coleman, in Deer Grove, where he breathed his last. His son Dominick lives in Sterling, and tells the writer his father at his death had a head of snow white hair, the color originally black. He had no full beard, simply whiskers on the chin.
His death occurred on Friday, May 17, 1907. Mr. Ford was born at Killala in county Mayo, Ireland, June 22, 1802. He was married to Miss Mary A. Muldoon on Jan. 24, 1834, and came to this country in 1840, locating near Utica, K. Y., where he worked on the Erie canal. Three years later his wife and two children came over and the family then went to Canada and made their home near Smith’s Falls until 1857. They came to Illinois that year and stayed in Dixon for a short time. Mr. Ford then purchased a farm in Hahnaman and engaged in farming. In 1887 he removed to Tampico, where he resided until his wife’s death in 1895, since which time he has lived with his daughter, Mrs. Coleman, in Deer Grove. Mr. and Mrs. Ford had nine children, seven of whom are now living. Mr. Ford retained his faculties well until his death. He was strictly temperate in his habits and never used tobacco nor intoxicating liquors although at one time he was employed for several years in a distillery. He had a retentive memory and easily recalled the war of 1812 and the Black Hawk and Mexican wars. He had a distinct memory of the death of every president of the United States except Washington
Mr. Ford came of a long lived race. All of his brothers and sisters lived to be over 80: one aunt lived to be 115 years of age and his grandmother also passed the century mark.
The highway commissioners of Hahuaman township are making arrangements to install two new steel bridges over Green river near Deer Grove. The structures spanning the river near Deer Grove have been in a daugerous condition for some time and these will he replaced with two good steel structures. The township of Hahnaman is one of the most costly townships of the county to be bridged, due to the many ditches and the green river which crosses it. His daughter, Mrs. Coleman, says her father had no faith in doctors, would not take medicine, and when sick, would often fast four days. He lost his last teeth ten years before his death. Although for the last four years, he sat much in his chair, he was not helpless. Appetite so good that he regularly took three meals a day. Took great interest in current affairs, and followed the operations of the Boer struggle and our Spanish-American war, he never wore glasses. [History of Whiteside County by W W Davis Pg 213]
Of Morrison, IL
Charles Foster, one of the solid business men of Whiteside County, resident at Morrison, has been for 30 years connected with its leading business enterprises. In 1855 he came to Sterling, and obtained employment as a clerk; but, his abilities in certain lines soon becoming apparent, he was intrusted with important duties, and in the course of a year he began to operate in his own interests, beginning on a moderate scale, and regulating his efforts as opportunity served to make profitable ventures, until he received the reward of his energy, thrift and exercise of judgment and good sense, and has for years ranked as one of the most deservedly successful men of his generation. He was born Sept. 2, 1831, near Ithaca, Tompkins Co., N.Y. His father, William Foster, was born in England, Oct. 10, 1807, and married Catherine Chandler, also of English nativity, having been born in that country, Oct. 1, 1805. On coming to America they settled in Tompkins Co., N.Y., where the father still resides, on the homestead, and where his children were born and reared, and where, also, his wife and mother died. Their children were born in the following order: Henrietta was born Jan. 8, 1828, and married John Supplee, of Yates Co., N.Y.; Mr. Foster is the next in order of birth; James E. was born March 16, 1833, and is a farmer in Iowa; John Chandler was born June 6, 1835, and is a seaman and ship-owner; Harriet E., born June 13, 1839, is the wife of Oscar Saunders, a farmer in the vicinity of Robinson, Mich.; George W. was born March 3, 1850, and is engaged in farming in Wells Co., Dak.
Mr. Foster was brought up on the homestead of his father, and when he was 23 years of age he became the owner of a small farm in his native county, which comprised 53 acres of land. On this he operated one year, and in 1854 he determined to seek the broader scope of the West, and test the virtues of its promises, which were so glowing as to tax credulity and tempt an ambitious man to risk his time, if not his resources, in the trial of their merits. Accordingly he came to DeKalb Co., and for a time was employed on a farm in the Township of Sycamore. In the spring of 1855 he came to Sterling, and spent three months as a clerk in a dry-goods store. At the end of that time he was sent by his employers to Morrison to buy grain and live stock, and he operated in their interests about a year. In 1856 he engaged in similar transactions on his own account, and from a small but profitable beginning he gradually increased his operations until the aggregate of his business amounted to $150,000 yearly, and his relations were quite as extensive in Iowa as in his own State. In addition to grain and stock, for a long term of years, he dealt largely in butter, eggs and poultry. As a representative of his operations some generation in the future may be interested in knowing that his purchases of butter reached 310,000 pounds in a single year; and at the time he was without doubt; the heaviest dealer in butter in Illinois outside of Chicago. In 1882 he relinquished this business, and turned his attention to financial enterprise, and organized the First National Bank of Norfolk, Neb., with a capital of $50,000, his own investment therein being $26,000. A year later he disposed of his interest in the banking house, with the design of withdrawing from active business life, which he has practically done, only occasionally yielding to force of habit and circumstances when he traffics in real estate and engages in lending money. Mr. Foster has never parted ownership with his original land property in Tompkins Co., N.Y., of which he is still the proprietor. He is also the owner of 60 acres of land in Whiteside County, a portion of which lies within the corporate limits of the city of Morrison. His other claims of real estate include his residence and two other dwellings at Morrison, 320 acres of land in Clark Co., Dak., 480 acres in Stanton Co., New., city property in Benton, Iowa, and in Oneida, Knox Co., Ill.
The first wife of Mr. Foster was formerly Miss Lydia A. Drake, and their marriage took place Nov. 1, 1860. She was born March 19, 1839, and was the daughter of Charles L. and Roxana (Bruce) Drake. From this union five children were born: William C. completed the prescribed course of study in the High School at Morrison, afterward becoming a student at Beloit College, Wisconsin, where he studied two years. He is now Deputy Treasurer of Brown Co., Dak., and is the owner of a half interest in the abstracts of that county; Gertrude M. is a graduate of the New England Conservatory of Music at Boston; she is a thoroughly accomplished musician; Josephine and Anna B. are the names of the younger children who survive; Charles E. is deceased. The death of the mother occurred at Morrison June 6, 1875. Mr. Foster contracted a second matrimonial alliance, with Lottie L. Corey, Oct. 3, 1876, at Sturbridge, Mass. She was born in that place April 9, 1844, and is the daughter of George V. and Martha Corey, both of whom are living. [1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co]
DEXTER N. FOSTER
Of Montmorency Township
Dexter N. Foster is a general farmer and grower of stock on section 34, Jordan Township. He was born Nov. 25, 1832, in Greenfield, Hillsborough Co., N. H. His father, Amos Foster, was born in the same county and was the son of Isaac Foster. The latter was born in Massachusetts and claimed lineal descent from the Pilgrims. The earlier generations were Puritans, and the grandfather of Mr. Foster maintained the customs and peculiar views of the sect. He accumulated considerable wealth and died in New Hampshire. He had eight children, Amos being the fourth in succession. The latter was reared to manhood in his native county and married Betsy, the daughter of Joshua Pratt. Her mother was a member of the Holt family, of distinction, and was a descendant of the celebrated Abbott family, of Massachusetts. The paternal great-grandsire of Mr. Foster was the father of eight children, and the grandfather of 88 members of the succeeding generation. Amos Foster and his wife became the parents of seven children. The mother died in 1853, aged 53 years. The father remained in Greenfield until his death, which transpired in November, 1882, at the age of 89 years. He had been a prominent member of society, and in the Church and in politics. He was a Republican and a Presbyterian. But one of his children is deceased, and the survivors are all married with one exception. Those who survive are named Amos H., Sylvia A., John E., Dexter N., Esther H., and Francis Jane. George H. died when he was 24 years of age, in Lowell, Mass.
Mr. Foster attended the common schools until he was 18 years of age, when he became a student at Francistown, then the seat of a popular academy, and he remained there during the school terms of four years, teaching school in the intervals. Subse. quently, he obtained a position in a bobbin factory, after which he taught about two years. In 1855 he came to Rockford; and shortly after went to Galena, Jo Daviess County. Early in 1856, he came to Whiteside County, and sought a friend who lived in Jordan Township, Dr. Pennington, a nurseryman and fruit-grower, with whom he remained three years. Within the first year he secured 94 acres of unimproved land on section 3I. In 1863 he bought 80 acres on section 6, in Sterling Township, lying nearly adjoining his real estate in Jordan Township. Two years after leaving Dr. Pennington, Mr. Foster was a teacher, after which he turned his attention to the improvement of his land during the summer seasons, teaching in the winter ensuing in District No .3, Jordan Township, and continued in that alternate method for five years. After that period he abandoned teaching, and gave his exclusive attention to the improvement of his land. He put it in thorough and complete agricultural condition, and erected suitable and creditable buildings. In the spring of 1876, he sold the place and purchased 320 acres of land on sections 33 and 34, which had been partially improved. The proprietor has completed the work of converting his acreage into a valuable estate, with three dwel1ings and all other necessary farm buildings. Mr. Foster is extensively interested in stock-breeding, and shows good results in grades and thoroughbred. He also owns some fine Norman draught horses.
He was united in marriage in 1859 at Sterling, to Harriet, daughter of Henry Deardorff. She was born March 13, 1839, in Defiance Co., Ohio. She was orphaned ia childhood by tbe death of both her parents. She came to Whitside County, where she was married as stated, and she became the mother of three children: Charles L. was born Oct. 6, 1860, and died at the age of 12 years. Elmer died when three months old. George died when he was about six years of age. Their mother died Feb. 3, 1867, when she was 28 years of age. She was a member of the Lutheran Church. Mr. Foster contracted a second matrimonial alliance March 11, 1868, at Boston, Mass., with Caroline E. Dinsmoor. She was born. Nov. 5, 1838, in Lowell, Mass. Her mother died when she was four years old, and she was brought up by her aunt, Mrs. Elizabeth D. Pillsbury, at Milford, N. H. After attending an excellent graded school, she completed. her education at Winding Wave Seminary at Ludlow, Mass. In the spring of 1860 she came to Whiteside County and engaged in teaching. She taught school at Joliet. and elsewhere. Five children have been born of her marriage to Mr. Foster. One died in extreme infancy. Fred died at the age of four months, Mabel D., Bessie P., and Robert D. are the names of the surviving children. In political faith, Mr. Foster is a Republican. In 1861 he was elected Supervisor. He has served two terms as Collector and as Assessor the same length of time. He has been Road Commissioner two years, Justice of the Peace 12 years, and has acted 10 years as School Trustee. He is a Presbyterian in religious sentiment.
Mr. Foster is a prominent member of the Patrons of Husbandry. The order in the State of Illinois was first established in Whiteside County, and Mr. Foster was among the members of thefirst organization; and he has since been actively prominent in the establishment of Granges in other locations. He acted as Secretary of the Executive Committee of the State Grange and as General Deplity of the State and county. In 1874 he represented the local order at the National Grange at Charlston, S. C., receiving much benefit and acquiring a gratifying knowledge of Southern men and affairs. [1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co, Pg 503]
of Tampico Township
Daniel Foy was born in 1812, in Napoli, Cattaraugus county, New York, and in 1839 moved to McDonough county, Illinois, remaining there for seven years. In 1846 he moved to Whiteside county and settled in Prophetstown where he lived, engaged in farming, until 1855, when he purchased a farm on section 29 in the town of Tampico, upon which he has since resided. Mr. Foy is one of the public spirited men of the town, and was elected Supervisor at the first election after the town became fully organized, and held the office during the years 1861, '62 and '63, and again in 1865. He has also been Justice of the Peace, and School Trustee of the town. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County, Page 454]
Prophetstown, Whiteside Co IL
George Foy is a farmer, residing on section 34 in Prophetstown Township, and the owner of 200 acres of land located thereon. He was born in Allegany Co., N.Y., August 29, 1818. His father, William Foy, was a native of Vermont and was born about 1788. His mother, Ruth (Morill) Foy, was also a native of Vermont, and was born about 1790. They had ten children, six of whom are now living (1885). Phoebe, Mahala, Harriet, George, Daniel and William. In 1839 the family came West to McDonough Co., Ill., where the father purchased a farm of 160 acres, and George also became the proprietor of 120 acres. In 1848 Mr. Foy, subject of this biographical notice, came to this county and purchased his present farm of 200 acres, located as above stated. He has two groves on his farm, containing five acres of ground, located near his residence and which is used by picnic parties. He has improved his place by the erection of a nice residence, barns, etc. and now has a well cultivated and finely appearing farm. Mr. Foy was united in marriage in McDonough Co., Ill., Tennessee Township, April 30, 1844, to Miss Nancy Dickenson. She was a daughter of John Dickenson, and was born in Kentucky in 1822. They have had 11 children, two born in Hancock County. Of their Children five survived, namely Charles E., a farmer and stock-raiser in Nebraska and owning a fine place in that State, containing 590 acres. Mary F. is the wife of George Klock, a resident in Sheffield, Bureau Co. Ill. Augusta E. is the wife of Hulbert C. Bunker , a farmer residing in Nebraska. Wilbur is a farmer located near Davenport, Iowa; and Freeman E. lives at home. The deceased were Augustus, Latitia, Albert E., who was a practicing physician in Elmira, Emma, and two who died in infancy. The parents of Mr. Foy came to this county a few years after their son, and the father died in Prairie City, Jan. 16, 1869; and the mother died in Prophetstown Township, Sept. 21, 1864; Charles E. was a soldier in the war for the Union, having enlisted in the 34th IIL Vol. Inf., and served two years, participating in all the engagements in which his regiment took part [Portraits & Biographical Pg 534]
Of Prophetstown, IL
Isaac Francis, one of the progressive farmers of Whiteside County and the owner of 240 acres of land located on sections 14 and 11 of Prophetstown Township, is a native of Lincoinshire, Eng., in which country he was born Dec. 22, 1847. His parents were John and Susanna Francis, natives of the same country. Their family comprised ten children, nine of whom survive: Charles follows the occupation of a farmer in England ; John follows the same vocation in the same country, and Susan is a widow, residing likewise in England; Job is a farmer residing in Ida Co., Iowa; Jane, a twin sister to Job, is married and resides in Moorestowri, N. J.; Mary is the wife of Edward Lancaster, a farmer residing in Prophetstown Township; William is also a farmer, and Eliza is the wife of Henry Clark, also a farmer of Prophetstown Township; Isaac, subject of this sketch, is next in order of birth. The deceased was Anna, who died when 12 years of age. His mother died when he was 16 years of age, and in 1864, in company with his father, he came to Moorestown, Burlington Co, N. J., from across the water. In the latter State he was engaged in farming until the spring of 1869, when he and his father came to Prophetstown, this county, and in the spring of 1871 rented land from George P. Richmond and J. H. Mosher, and engaged in the vocation of farming. Seven years later he bought his present farm of 240 acres. His father resided with him until the date of his death, April 25, 1883, aged 80 years, 2 months and 25 days. His mother died July 2, 1863, aged 57 years, 3 months and 14 days.
Mr. Francis has a fine farm, under a good state of cultivation, with good residence and outbuildings, and makes a specialty of stock-raising. He has 30 head of high—grade Short—horns, and usually has from 50 to 70 head of cattle. He has 20 head of horses, and his specialty in the latter line is confined to the Clydesdale breed, of which he has nine head he also has usually from 75 to 100 head of hogs on hand.
Mr. Francis formed a matrimonial alliance in Moorestown, Burlington Co., N. J., March 11, 1869, with Miss Thomson, a daughter of Pemberton and Margaret Thomson. She was born in Moorestown, Oct. 9, 1848. The issue of their union cornprises five children, all born in this county. Their record is as follows: Laura T., born May 1, 1870; Jennie, June 7, 1872; George Henry, May 19, 1875 Willie T., Jan. 19, 1879; John P., April 18, 1883. Socially, Mr. Francis is a member of the Order of Masonry, the A. 0. U. W. and the Order of Modern Woodmen of America. [1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co Pg. 665]
Of Montmorency Township
James Frank, a citizen of Montmorency Township, on section 28, has lived in Whiteside COunty since 1856. His parents, Jacob and Mary (Dill) Frank, were natives of Bucks Co PA and were born of German ancestors. They came in 1856 to Whiteside County, but not finding themselves contented they returned to PA after a stay of about six weeks. Their deaths occurred respectively in 1870 and 1879. Their children were Sophia, James, Abner and Noah. Mr. Frank was born March 12, 1825, in Montgomery Co PA. He was educated in German, which was the language of his parents and which was the prevailing tongue of hisnative township. At the age of 22 years he went to an English settlement and engaged as a laborer for about three years. During the winter seasons he went to school and acquired a practical knowledge of the the English language. After that he spent five years as a farm laborer, hiring by the year. He then left PA to seek a home in the West. He prospected at vairous points and spent three months in Ohio, a similar period in Indiana, and in the fall of 1854 came to Whiteside County. He returned to the State of his nativity two months later, with the intention of settling permanently in Whiteside County in the following spring, but he postponed his return until the spring of 1856. On arrival he engaged a year as a farm laborer, when he rented a farm in Sterling Township, which he managed three years. He then rented a farm west of Sterling, which he occupied seven years. He bought 200 acres of land on section 28, in Montmorency Township, on which he settled and where he has since lived. He is at present the possessor of 480 acres of land in the same township, about half of it being under culture. The buildings on the estate are of excellent character and rank among the best and most valuable in the twp. Mr. Frank herds about 70 head of cattle on an average, owns nine horses and colts, and fattens annually a considerable number of hogs.
Politically Mr. Frank is a Democrat. He has been collector two years, Schol Trustee for three years and Commissioner of Highways ten years, and has held the office of Assessor two years.
He was first married in Sugar Grove, Lee Co. IL. May 12, 1857 to Fanny Lingenfelter, a native of Lancaster Co. PA. She became the mother of three children - Theodore, Jacob and Mary A. The youngest child is deceased. The mother died of consumption June 3, 1864 in Sterling Twp. Nov. 8, 1866 Mr. Frank was again married, in Sterling to Anna W. Shuler. She was born March 10, 1841 in Germany. They have four children - Anna, James, Lizzie and Samuel. Mr. and Mrs. Frank are members of the German Lutheran Church. Mr. Frank, being a representative and prominent citizen of Whiteside County, and an exemplary and honorable gentleman is represented among the portraits of this Album. [Portrait and Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885 Pg 493]
J. E. FRARY
J. E. Frary, section 25, Portland Township, is a son of Myron and Martha (Morrill) Frary, and was born in Napoli Township, Cattaraugus Co., N. Y., April 3, 1843; his father was a farmer. Mr. Frarv finished his school education in the Randolph Academy in his native county. In the same village, Aug. 7, 1862, he enlisted in Co. H, 154th Regt N. Y. Vol. Inf., as a private, aud served until May 26, 1865, rising in the meanwhile to the position of Sergeant. At the battle of Chancellorsville he was wounded in the left elbow and the right hip, which confined him to the hospital; he came near losing his arm. He was brought home by his father, and his arm was saved. He then came to Portland Township, to which place his parents had moved in the spring of 1865; and he, being their only son, has resided with them nearly ever since. In 1884 he bought of his father the 120 acres he now occupies, and where he has a herd of 50 head of graded Short-horns, one full-blood, and 50 to 75 hogs. He was married in Morrison, this county, July 1, 1869, to Miss Mary Martin, daughter of James and Elvira Martin; she was born Jan. 10, 1849, in Palermo, Oswego Co., N. Y. They have two children, both born here, and named Nora A., who was born Aug. 14, 1871, and Claude E., April 19, 1877. [Portrait & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885]
Of Prophetstown Township
Marvin Frary was born in Massachusetts, in 1799. In 1802, he went with his father's family to Ontario county, New York, where he grew to manhood, and then located in Cattaraugus county, New York. In the early part of 1835, he came to Prophetstown, and made a claim between the present villages of Prophetstown and Portland, which he afterwards sold to Fred Dwight, and bought the claim of Norman B. Seely. In addition to farming he was engaged for a time in the distilling business in Portland. Mr. Frary first married Miss Mary E. Seely, but they were divorced, and he afterwards married Mrs. E. S. Ellithrope, widow of Sampson Ellithrope. The children by the first marriage were: Myron, who died in 1836, and Caroline who married Joshua Bennidum, and is now dead. By the second marriage there was only one child, Delia, who married Fernando Brewer, and lives in Lyndon. Mr. Frary died in Prophetstown. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 375-376]
Of Portland Township
Myron Frary, a farmer, residing on section 25 of Portland Twp. is a son of John & Rachel (Crook) Frary and was born in Ontario Co. NY May 14, 1811. He was reared on a farm, and when eight years old his parents removed from Richmond Twp. Ontario NY to Napoli Twp. Cattaraugus Co NY.
In 1846 Mr. Frary bought 90 acres of land in Napoli Twp. and resided there until 1865 when he came west and located where his son James E. now resides, half a mile south of Jefferson Corners. He bought 120 acres there and made an umber of improvement upon the same. In 1866 he bought his present farm of 45 acres, which he still owns. In 1884 he deeded the 120 acres which he had originally purchased, to his son, upon which he is at present residing. To his daughter Cynthia he presented 39 acres in Prophetstown Twp. where she at present resides. Mr. Frary was united in marriage in Napoli Twp., Cattaraugus Co NY to Martha Morrill, a daughter of Martin & Sally (Osborne) Morrill. She was born in Olean, cattaraugus Co NY. The issue of their union was two children; Cynthia, born Dec.7, 1841, is the wife of Gilbert Rogers; and James E. was born April 3, 1843. The first wife of James E. died in Portland Twp. Dec. 20, 1868 and he was again married in Portland Twp. Sept. 20, 1870, to Harriet E. Baird, a native of OH. She died March 10, 1885 without issue. [1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co Pg. 776]
JAMES W. FRASER
James W. Fraser, marble manufacturer, of Sterling, was born in Huron Township, Wayne Co., N. Y., Aug. 12, 1832. His parents, Henry and Lucinda (Stewart) Fraser, were also natives of the Empire State, and came West in 1849, arriving at Genesee Grove, this county, Sept. 1. Mr. Henry Fraser was a farmer, and on coming here he purchased 415 acres of land, on which he pursued his vocation until 1873, when he changed his residence to Sterling, where he spent the remainder of his days. Mrs. F. is also deceased.
Mr. James W. Fraser was an inmate of the parental home until he was 14 years of age, receiving a common-school education; he then went to Clyde, N. Y., to learn the printer's trade, serving at that business a year and a half, the proprietor then selling out; he continued four months longer in the vocation, working as a journeyman; returning home, he attended school during the winter of 1848-9; then he came to Illinois with his father's family, and taught school three terms at Genesee Grove; engaged in printing again for about six months, at Mt. Morris, IL.; worked on his fathers farm again; in 1851 he was engaged half a year in a printing-office at Galesburg, Ill.; worked on the home farm again, for a year; then about a year and a half, all together, in a printing-office at Mt. Carroll, IL.; the winter of 1855-6, taught school three months; in 1858 he and his brother commenced the manufacture of marble, which they continued for a year; 1861-4, was employed as a printer at Morrison; resided at Genesee Grove for eight years; and finally, in 1872, he moved to Sterling, where he has since resided, engaged in marble manufacture and conducting a prosperous business. He is a Republican in his political views.
Mr. Fraser was married Oct. 9, 1864, to Harriet E. Leland, and by this union six children have been born, in the following order: James L., Edgar L., Maud L., Pliny L., Grace L. and Annie L. [Portrait & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885]
of Erie Township
John Freek was born in Yorkshire, England, in 1806; emigrated to America in 1830, and settled at Geneva, N. Y., but subsequently went to New Jersey, where he was married. In October, 1835, he settled in Erie, with his brother-in-law, Joseph Fenton. Their settlement was near the present town line. He was instrumental in establishing religious services and Sunday schools in Erie and Newton townships, and did much to develop the new country which he found a wilderness upon his advent here forty-two years ago. His family experienced the privations of pioneer life, having gone to bed after making a meal of stewed pumpkins, their only food. The early settlers of Erie found many Indians, but they were friendly and traded with the settlers fish and game. With the exception of their thievish habits, the Indians were not bad neighbors. In 1875 Mr. Freek emigrated to Kansas, where he now resides. Children: William, born March 10, 1834 - died December 13, 1859; John Jr., born in Erie in 1837 - resides in Kansas; Samuel, born January 13, 1839 - died January 17, 1860; Ann, born July 4, 1843 - married Joseph Guthrie; Thomas E., who was in the 8th Illinois cavalry regiment - died January 15, 1865. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 152]
Nicholas Freek has been a resident of Albany since 1854, when he bought an acre of land, on which he built his present residence in 1855, having previously sent money on to purchase 80 acres in the country. He was born Feb. 9, 1820, in Selby, Yorkshire, Eng., and is the son of William and Ann (Abby) Freek. His father died when he was 12 years old, and on finding the burden of maintenance on himself, he engaged in a brick and tile factory, where he was occupied until 1841. On reaching his majority, he determined to emigrate to the United States. He took passage for the New World on the sailing vessel, " Ohio," and landed in New York after a passage of six weeks. He was accompanied on his journey by his mother, three brothers, two sisters and brother-in-law. The whole party proceeded to the city of Rochester. Mr. Freek and one of his brothers went thence to Toronto, Canada. The former was the possessor of $5 in cash, but he obtained immediate employment as foreman in a brickyard at $26 a month. In the year following, associated with his brother James, he established himself in the manufacture of brick and tile, which business they pursued till 1854. In that year Mr. Freek sold his claim in the business in Canada and came to Albany. He engaged in the manufacture of brick at that place, at Morrison and Savanna, in Carroll County. Mr. Freek is the owner of four acres included in the village plat, and all in excellent village.
He was married June 6, 1846, to Mary Rutledge. She was born June 16, 1816, in Market Weighton, Yorkshire, England. Their five children were named John, Thomas, Robert W., Ann E. and William Robert. John was born in Toronto March 17,1847, and died Nov. 3, 1859; Thomas, born Oct. 8, 1848, is a farmer in Newton Township; Robert W., born July 6, 1852, died July 21, 15 days after birth; Ann E., born July 20, 1850, married Robert Brewer, of Eau Claire, Wis; the youngest son was born Sept. 10, 1854, is a practicing physician and druggist and lives at Cordova, IL. Mr. and Mrs. Freek are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Albany. [Portrait & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885]
Of Hopkins Township
H.B. Freeman was born in Oneida county, New York, July 10, 1810, and in December, 1839, married Miss Z. Summers. The children of this marriage have been: Orpha, born November 17, 1840; Maria, born October 1, 1842; Amarilla, born February, 1844; Augustus, born October, 1848; Alice, born October 2, 1850, and Willis, born March 28, 1852. Amarilla, Augustus, and Alice, died in infancy. Orpha married Robert H. Carr; they had one child, Robert; Mr. Carr enlisted in Henshaw's Battery, in 1862, and was a Lieutenant; he died at Ottawa, Illinois, January 23, 1863, before the Battery was ordered to the front; Mrs. Carr married James E. Summers, June 4, 1877. Willis married Miss Ada Allen, December 6, 1873; they have one child, born February 29, 1875. William E. Boardman came West with Mr. Freeman, and married Miss Ellen Besse. He died soon after his marriage. [Bent-Wilson History of Whiteside Co.]
HENRY B. FREY
Henry B. Frey is a farmer on section 28, Jordan Township, and was born July 16, 1841, in Lancaster Co., Pa. His father, Henry Frey, was a native of the same State, and was a farmer by vocation. He was reared to manhood on his father's homestead, and, in 1865, was married to Lizzie Keider. She was a native of Lancaster County, where she was married, and has become the mother of 12 children. One named Annie died in infancy. Lizzie A., Hattie, John, Amos, Henry, Jacob, Abraham, Daniel, Mary, Martin and Noah were born in the order named. The family remained in Lancaster County until 1863, coming West to Sterling in the spring of that year. In 1869 Mr. Frey bought 80 acres of land on section 28, which had been partly improved. His farm now includes 240 acres in advanced agricultural condition, and well stocked with excellent grades of cattle. Mr. Frey is a Republican in political preference and relations. [Portraits & Biographical 1885]
CLARK C. FULLER
Clark C. Fuller, of the firm of W. H. Fuller & Co., grocers and general merchants, Spring Hill, is a son of John P. and Almira (Lanphere) Fuller. He was born at Sandytown, Portland Township, Nov. 4, 1847, and was reared on the farm, remaining at his parental home until he was 22 years of age; then, after working on the homestead, of 120 acres, a year, his wife died and he returned to Prophetstown and lived upon rented farms. In October, 1882, he came to Spring Hill and purchased an interest in a store with his brother Willis; they are carrying on a very prosperous business, with a stock averaging about $2,000, in groceries, ready-made clothing, notions, etc. Mr. Fuller also keeps a hotel. He has been Tax Collector three terms, Constable four years, being re-elected to that position in 1885 ; in the fall of 1882, he was appointed Deputy Sheriff, and is now serving in that capacity. He is a member of the Orders of Masonry and Odd Fellows. He owns his residence, barn and one and a half lots.
Mr. Fuller was married in Portland Township, April 14, 1870, to Miss Lois, daughter of Miles and Sarah Briggs; she was born in Erie Township, and died in Kansas, Aug. 25, 1873; and Mr. Fuller was again married, in Portland Township, Feb. 13, 1877, to Miss Carrie M. Rowe, daughter of Van Ransellaer and Jennie A. Rowe, who was born in Portland Township, Feb. 13, 1861. Her father came to this county when a boy, and is therefore to be counted among the early pioneers; he still lives in the village of Erie. Her mother died March 19, 1876. [Portrait & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885]
JOHN P. FULLER
John P. Fuller one of the old pioneers of Whiteside County a farmer residing on section 21, Portland Township, and the owner of 120 acres of land in the township, is a son of Levi and Betsey (Martin) Fuller, and was born in Cattaraugus County, Randolph Township, N. Y., July 4, 1822. His father was a native of Oneida Co., N. Y., and was born in January, 1793, and his mother in the same county in January, 1792. The issue of their union was 11 children, of whom five yet survive. Levi resides in Arkansas, John P. is the subject of this notice, George is a farmer in York Co., Neb., Rachel is the wife of John Zimmerman, a farmer in Portland Township, this county, and Lucinda is the wife of C. W. Lanphere, a farmer and veterinary surgeon in Portland Township. The father died in Portland Township, April 19, 1856, on the old homestead, and the mother is still living, aged 93 years. In 1835 the family drove from Erie, Pa., to Chicago, this State. The village of Chicago at that time was in its infancy, and neither Mr. Fuller nor any of his children realized for a moment the future of the great metropolis. The family remained in the village of Chicago until Feb. 2, 1836, when they drove to Portland Township, this county, where the father took up a claim of 160 acres of land located on section 10. He resided there a number of years and experienced all the trials incident to a pioneer life. He nevertheless was determined to establish a home for himself and family and laboriously entered upon the task of improving and cultivating his land. He first built a log house, and the product of his land he disposed of in Chicago, which consisted of wheat and pork. He was a Christian man and belonged to the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Fuller, subject of this biographical notice, remained at home until he was 21 years of age, when he set forth upon the road of adversity to fight the battles of life alone. He engaged to work by the day for Mr. Horace Burk, and while working for him in 1841 or 1842, a tornado came through the township at this time. He was in the house with 13 others, and the tornado entirely demolished the house; and when it was over he found himself some six rods from the house. He was terribly braised and nearly dead, and it took six hours and a half to revive the circulation of the blood in his veins. The disaster laid him up so he did nothing for about two years. Two others of the 13 were badly hurt, Mr. Burk and wife, and they never fully recovered from the injury they received. Mr. Fuller feels the effect of the injury received every day he lives, his spinal column being fractured at the time.
Mr. Fuller purchased 40 acres of his present farm about 1851, and now has 120 acres, also 12 acres of timber land in Fuller's Grove, Portland Township. His son-in-law, Henry Sibley, now works the farm. Mr. Fuller has been Highway- Commissioner 19 years. He was married in Warren Co., IL., June 25, 1844, to Miss Almira M. Lanphere, daughter of Caleb and Lucinda (Martin) Lanphere. She was born in Oneida Co., N. Y., Aug. 23, 1821. They had seven children, five of whom yet survive. The record is as follows: Clark C, born Nov. 4, 1847, is a merchant at Spring Hill. Willis H., born Feb. 27, 1849, is a merchant at Spring Hill. Guy, born March 14, 1850, died Nov. 8, 1864. Emma, born Aug. 2, 1851, is the wife of Charles Sibley, farmer in Portland Township. Lydia, born Nov. 18, 1852, is the wife of Henry Sibley, who is engaged in conducting the farm of Mr. Fuller. Katie, born Aug. 3, 1855 1s the wife of George Tolcott, of Spring Hill. Alma, born June 13, 1861, died Jan. 4, 1875. [Portrait & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885]
LEVI FULLER, Sr.
Of Portland Township
Levi Fuller, Sr. was born in Connecticut, in 1793. He married Miss Betsey Martin, and came to Portland, in 1836. His large family of seven sons and three daughters have all been identified with the history of the town. He died in 1849, but his widow is still living near Spring Hill at the ripe age of 85. The children have been: Rachel, wife of John Timmerman, living in Portland; Edmund, who married Miss Maria Turner, and is now dead; Levi, Jr., who married Miss Melissa Fuller, and lives in Erie; John, who married Miss Almira Lanphere, and lives in Portland; George, who married Miss Chloe Marvel, and lives in Nebraska; Horace, who married Miss Purleyetta Taylor, and lives in Iowa; Eliza, who married George Richardson, and is now dead; Lucinda, wife of Clark Lanphere, living in Portland; and James M. and Benjamin, both of whom are dead. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 353]
Of Portland Township
Simeon Fuller was born in Oneida county, New York, in 1789. He married Lucina Wade in 1816. He lived in Erie county, New York, 20 years, and came with his family to Portland in November, 1835. He is still living with his wife near Geneseo, Henry county. He was the first Justice of the Peace in Portland, receiving his commission in 1837, and was a highly respected citizen. Children: Lucy, Melissa, Merilla, and Charles. Lucy married John P. Welding, and is now dead; Melissa married Levi Fuller, and resides in Portland; Merilla married Alden Tuller, and lives in Prophetstown; Charles married Miss Catharine Brady, and is a resident of Henry county, Illinois. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 350-351]
LEVI FULTON, deceased, was one of Douglas Township's (Page County Iowa) representative men, esteemed and honored by all who knew him. He settled on section 26, in March, 1874, and lived there until the fell destroyer overtook him and cut short the usefulness for which he was well fitted. He was born in the State of Ohio, February 20, 1838, and is a son of Rev. David Fulton, a native of Fayette County, Pennsylvania, born in 1812. His mother's maiden name was Mary Knight. He grew to manhood in Fayette County, Pennsylvannia, the family having removed to Pennsylvania from Ohio. He passed his youth after the manner of most farmers' sons, attending the common schools during the winter season and working on the farm in the summer time. In his youth he also served an apprenticeship as a blacksmith.
In 1865 Mr. Fulton removed to Carroll County, Illinois, where he worked at his trade and did some farming. March 3, 1861, he had been married in Pennsylvania to Miss Sarah Jane King, and three children were born of this union: two died in childhood and one, David M., survives. Mrs. Sarah J. King died in Carroll County, Illinois, January 15, 1867. Mr. Fulton was again married September 23, 1869, to Miss Elizabeth Wingerd, a daughter of Jacob Wingerd. She was born in Franklin County, Pennsylvania, January 12, 1850.
Mr. Fulton removed with his family to Page County (IA) in 1874, and bought 160 acres of wild land, which he has improved in excellent manner. The farm is especially adapted to the raising of live-stock, as it is well watered by a number of pure springs.By his second marriage Mr. Fulton and wife had six children: Ann Marinda, wife of David Royer; Tina Catherine, Dora Alice, Mahlon R., Effie Pearl and Simon Relmer, deceased. These children and the mother were bereft of the father and husband March 12, 1884, a blow not easy to bear. He was a kind and indulgent father, and an affectionate husband, and was highly respected by all who knew him. In his death Douglas Township lost one of her best citizens. He was an active member of the Evangelical Church, and for fifteen years served as class-leader. Mrs. Fulton lives on the homestead, and her step-son David has charge of the farming interests. He was born in 1866, and is one of the energetic young farmers of the township. [Biographical History of Page County, Iowa, 1890; Contributed by Patty Jo Ringer-Brown, page 564-6]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright Genealogy Trails