EDWARD S. GAGE
Of Prophetstown Township
Edward S. Gage was a native of Addison county, Vermont, and born in 1815. His mother was the first white child born in the town of Ferrisburg, Vermont. In the fall of 1834 he came as far west as Ohio, and remained in that State until the fall of 1836, when he came to Prophetstown. In 1844 he purchased the farm upon which he now lives. He is one of the thorough farmers of the township. Mr. Gage married Miss Orpha Reynolds in 1840. The children of this marriage have been: Savilla, wife of George P. Richmond, living in Prophetstown - Mr. Richmond is one of the most successful farmers in the county, and is largely engaged in stock raising and feeding; Sophia, living in Prophetstown; Frances, wife of Emmet Underhill, living in Prophetstown; Phoebe, now dead; and two sons who died in childhood. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
JOHNSON W. GAGE
Of Prophetstown Township
Johnson W. Gage was born in Addison county, Vermont, in 1818, came to Prophetetown in 1839, where he has resided ever since. He has held the office of Towhship Assessor for fifteen years, and School Director for years. Mr. Gage married Miss Emily Williams in 1842. Their children Oakman C., living in Prophetstown; George, who married Miss Josephine Cox and lives in Iowa; and Nathan, Charles, Elizabeth, Dell, Joseph K., Rector, Lucy, and Sarah, all of whom are living at home. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
OBEDIAH W. GAGE
Of Prophetstown Township
Obediah W. Gage is a native of Addison county, Vermont, and was born in 1813. He came to the State of Illinois in the fall of 1838, and in the spring of 1839 to Prophetstown, first working at his trade as a shoemaker, and afterwards opening a farm on Jackson street, where he still resides. He was County Commissioner in 1848, and for six terms Supervisor of Prophetstown township. He married Miss Mercy L. Farrington in 1851. There have been two children by this marriage: Augusta, and Euretta, both of whom are living at home. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
JOHN B. GALT
John B. Galt, living retired at No. 1204 West Third street, Sterling, has through intense and well-directed energy become one of the prosperous citizens of Whiteside county, where he located at an early period in its development. There are few residents of the county who have more intimate or accurate knowledge of its history. He came here with his parents when this was a frontier region and the family were prominent in reclaiming it for the purposes of civilization. As one looks abroad today over the fine farms with their splendid improvements it seems hardly possible that it is within the memory of living man when almost the entire countryside was wild and unbroken prairie, much of it being still in possession of the government. Wild game was quite abundant here in the early days another proof of the unsettled condition. Comparatively few roads had been made and in June the prairies were starred with millions of wild flowers and in December covered with one unbroken, glistening sheet of snow.
John B. Galt was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, May 7, 1835, at the family home, bordering the Conestoga creek. Several generations of the family had previously resided in Pennsylvania. The ancestry was Scotch and the first settlement in America by any of the family was made in Pennsylvania about 1710. There is a Galt family cemetery at Piqua Valley, Pennsylvania, not far from the old Piqua Valley Presbyterian church. Robert Galt, the founder of the family in America, was the father of James Galt and the grandfather of Thomas Galt, the last named being the great-grandfather of the subject of this review. Thomas Galt and his wife, Isabelle, both died in Pennsylvania. Their son, James Galt, was born in that state, March 19, 1757, and on the 3d of February 1791, wedded Mary Martin, who was born in 1772. He died October 7, 1821, in his sixty-sixth year, while his wife passed away August 2, 1847. They were the parents of eleven children, as follows: Eliza, William, James, Catharine, John, Alexander, Thomas, Lydia, Mary, Isabelle and Martin.
Of this family John Galt, a native of the Keystone state, followed merchandising there for a number of years prior to 1844, when he journeyed westward to Illinois, settling in Sterling. He became one of the early merchants of the city and also purchased a farm that included the present site of the town of Galt, which was named in his honor. After residing in Sterling for two years he located upon his farm, which he purchased from Mr. Passmore. There was a log cabin of one room and thirty acres had been broken. The remainder of his farm he purchased from the state and government. The family never lived in the log cabin, however. It was in the spring of 1846 that the family removed to the farm and with characteristic energy the father began its improvement, erecting there one of the first brick houses in the county. It contained eight rooms and is still standing one of the landmarks of the early days and a. mute witness of the history that has been enacted in that part of the county. In the early days the family hauled grain to Albany on the Mississippi river and the pork market was at Galena and La Salle, where dressed pork sold for a dollar and a half per hundred. Mr. Galt of this review has known wheat to sell here for as low as twenty-five cents per bushel, and other farm products also brought very low prices. His father in the early days would go down the river to St. Louis to buy his groceries and dry goods the frontier settlers being thus far separated from the source of supplies. John Galt continued to supervise his agricultural interests until his demise, which occurred in 1866 when he was in his sixty-sixth year. His wife long survived him, passing away in 1898 at the remarkable old age of ninety-four years. They are Presbyterian's in religious faith and were numbered among the worthy pioneer people of the county, contributing in substantial measure to its early development and progress.
In their family were thirteen children, eight sons and five daughters, of whom four are now living: Elizabeth M., who resides in Sterling;. John B., of this review; Letitia, the widow of D. M. Crawford, of Sterling; and Frances, the widow of John Buyers, also of Sterling. The daughter Elizabeth resides with her brother John. She always remained at home with her parents, giving to them the utmost filial devotion and love, caring for them through all the years of old age, the mother being ninety-four at the time of her demise. Her kindly spirit, neighborly assistance and her many good traits of heart and mind have endeared her to those with whom she has been brought in contact. The deceased members of the family are : James ; Mary, the wife of James A. Galt; Robert A., Thomas, Alexander, Joseph, William, Henry and Josephine. Thomas was a physician and at one time mayor of Rock Island. William and Henry died in infancy. Joseph was a student of medicine in New York city at the time of his death, and Robert was a farmer and merchant. In the maternal line John B. Galt is descended from Captain Robert and Jean Buyers, the former a captain of the Continental army in the Revolutionary war. Their son, Robert Armour Buyers, was a native of Pennsylvania, but of Scotch descent. He followed the occupation of farming and as a companion and helpmate for life's journey chose Elizabeth McCalls. He died of typhoid fever at the comparatively early age of thirty-five years and his widow survived him for but a few years. They left a daughter, Mrs. Sarah Maria Galt, and two sons, John M. and James A. Buyers.
John B. Galt was only nine years of age when he came with his family to Whiteside county. One can hardly imagine the conditions that then existed here. There were only four houses on the south bank of the river beyond Sterling and the county seat was a small village, giving little promise of industrial or commercial importance. The removal of the family from the city caused Mr. Galt to spend his life in the usual manner of farm lads and while the work of the fields became familiar to him he also acquired a knowledge of the common branches of English learning as a pupil in the public schools. The first school he ever attended was at the corner of Broadway and Fourth streets in Sterling, held in a small frame building and taught by James McElmore. He later attended a school taught by Mrs. Worthington and William Cole. He likewise spent a short time as a student in Knox College in Galesburg, Illinois, and then began farming on his own account, continuing in that business until he came to Sterling. He is now the owner of the original farm which his father purchased in Hopkins township upon his arrival in Whiteside county. The place comprises three hundred and twenty-nine acres of rich and productive land and John B. Galt resided thereon until about 1877, when he removed to the city. In the meantime he had made judicious and extensive investments in property in other parts of the country. He owns twenty-two hundred and forty-nine acres north of Duluth in St. Louis county, Minnesota, in the Messaubic iron range. He spent one year as a commercial traveler, but during the greater part of his life has concentrated his energies upon agricultural pursuit's or investments. He has, however, traveled broadly for pleasure, visiting Alaska and many parts of the western country as well as the older east, the southern district around the gulf of Mexico and the upper sections of the country surrounding the Great Lakes. He has no active business interests now save the supervision of his property and other investments.
Mr. Galt has never married and lives with his sister, Elizabeth M. Galt, at No. 1204 West Third street, where they own a pleasant modern residence. They are members of the Presbyterian church, of which their father was one of the founders and also the first elder. Politically Mr. Galt is a stalwart republican, casting his first presidential vote for Fremont and for every republican candidate for president since that time. Before the organization of the party he was an abolitionist, being in hearty sympathy with the movement to blot out slavery in America. He has in many instances been identified with the movements for reform and improvement and in Whiteside county is known as a representative and valued citizen. He has witnessed the transformation of the county from a wilderness to its present fine development and has borne his share in the work of progress as the years have gone by. He can remember when Sterling was but a small village and when outlying districts were largely unimproved prairie land. He has seen deer on the site of the present city and has seen them swim across the river to the island. He has lived to witness a remarkable change in all the countryside and has always cooperated in the work of improvement. The name of Galt has been long and honorably associated with the upbuilding of this section of the state, and John B. Galt, like the others of the family, has stood for all that promotes progress. [Portraits and Biographicals 1885]
THOMAS ALEXANDER GALT
Of Sterling Township
13 January 1828 - 01 January 1912
Thomas A. Galt was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, January 13, 1828. His education was obtained at the common school, and even this was inturrupted at intervals by work on the farm upon which he was brought up. The death of his father when he was only fourteen years of age, compelled him to rely entirely upon his own exertions for a livelihood. He first engaged as clerk in Concord, Pennsylvania, and afterwards at Strasburg, and Philadelphia, same State, and continued as such until 1849 when he entered into business for himself at Strasburg, in which he was quite successful. Finding the place unsuited to his enterprising nature he sold his property there in 1855 and upon leaving the town came to Sterling with the intention at first of visiting some relatives. Upon arriving there he found a good point for business and determined to remain. His first enterprise was in the hardware trade in company with D. M. Crawford, the firm name being Galt & Crawford. This firm continued until 1858, when Mr. Crawford retired, and Mr. Galt admitted his brother, John M., into partnership, the firm name being then changed to Galt & Brother. The business was continued under this name until 1863, when two additional partners were brought into the firm. During the same year Mr Galt, in addition to his hardware store, commenced the manufacture of farm implements, and shortly after doing so became associated with George S. Tracy who was then carrying on a planing mill in Sterling. Under this consolidation the mill and the manufactory were merged into one establishment, under the firm name of Galt & Tracy. The title of "Keystone Works" was shortly afterwards adopted.
In 1864 the manufacturing undertaking had grown to such an extent as to demand Mr. Galt's whole attention, and he therefore sold his interest in the hardware business to his other partners, and retired finally from the retail trade. The wholesale manufacturing business as he continued in it became highly successful. In July, 1867, the whole premises and stock of the factory were destroyed by fire, causing a loss to the firm of some thirty thousand dollars, the property being uninsured. The activity and vim which were characteristic of Mr. Galt's nature, were not crushed by this blow, and measures were soon taken for the restoration of the firm's business. The factory in Sterling was rebuilt, and so vigorously was the work pushed forward that in three weeks from the fire the new structure was not only finished, but furnished with machinery, including engine and boiler. This factory was appropriated to sash and door manufacturing, and planing mill. In the meantime, the firm purchased a water privilege and some land at Rock Falls, opposite Sterling, and commenced a new factory, including foundry, machine shops, and implement works, which were pushed on so vigorously that within three months from the burning of the old works, the new were all in working order. This manufactory was the first one of any kind erected in Rock Falls. Within fifteen months after commencing business the firm turned out about fifteen hundred agricultural machines of all kinds, besides a large amount of wood work from the planing mill. In 1870 the trade had increased so much that a joint stock company was incorporated under the name of the Keystone Manufacturing Company, with a capital of $150,000, which has since been increased to $350,000. The officers were: Thomas A. Galt, President, and George S. Tracy, Vice President and Superintendent. This Company is now among the largest manufacturers of farm implements in the West, and their trade extends throughout the United States, and Central and South America. Mr. Galt is also interested in several other manufacturing firms in Rock Falls, and Sterling. In addition to his other enterprises, Mr. Galt commenced the erection of the Galt House, in 1876, and completed it in 1877, at a cost of $65,000. A description of this structure will be found in the history of Sterling. In connection with George S. Tracy, he is engaged the present year (1877) in erecting a large block on the soutbeast corner of Locust and Fourth streets, at a cost of $45,000. The building is three stories in height, with a basement, and has a front of one hundred and forty-two feet on Locust street, and ninety feet on Fourth street. The first floor is divided into three large double stores. The south part of the second floor will be used for the Free Reading Room and Library, and the fronts on Locust and Fourth streets, on the same floor for offices. The Fourth street front will be occupied as a Conservatory of Music, and the main part of the third floors is designed for an Academy of Music, to be used for public purposes. Mr. Gait may fairly be regarded as the manufacturing pioneer on of the country, and his successful progress from the condition of fatherless boy to his present position of wealth and influence, is an evidence of the natural result of determined and persistent effort. He was elected Mayor of Sterling in 1867, and served one term, besides which he has has held no official position. [Pg 445 History of Whiteside Co. Bent-Wilson 1877]
Thomas A. Galt, a pioneer manufacturer of Sterling and a member of the banking finn of Galt & Tracy, was born in Lancaster Co., Pa., Jan. 13, 1828; was reared on a farm and received only a common-scbool education. Being only 14 years of age when his father died, he was early thrown upon his own resources, and for the first year he worked only for his board and lodging, but thenceforward until he became of age he received over $100 annually.
He was first employed as a clerk in Goncord, Pa., and afterward at Strasburg, same State, and at Philadelphia, until 1849, when he entered into business for himself at Strasburg, in which he was very successful. Being of an enterprising nature, he sold his business there in 1855, and emigrated West, first engaging in the hardware business with D. M. Crawford at Sterling. The firm of Galt & Crawford continued until 1858, when the latter withdrew and Mr. Galt admitted his brother, John M., the firm name becoming Galt & Bro. In 1863 two more partners were admitted, and under their joint management their business grew to significant proportions. During the same year Mr. Galt, in addition to his hardware store, commenced the manufacture of farm. implements, and soon after he became associated with George S. Tracy, who was then carrying on a planing-mill in Sterling. The mill and the manufactory were merged into one establishment, under the firm name of Galt & Tracy. The title of "Keystone Works" was soon after adopted.
In 1864 the manufacturing business had grown to such an extent as to demand Mr. Galt's whole attention, and he sold his interest in the hardware business and retired from the retail trade. The wholesale manufacturing business, as he continued in it, became highly successful. In July, 1867, the whole premises and stock of the factory were destroyed by fire, causing a loss to the firm of about, $30,000, the property being uninsured. The activity and vim which were characteristic of Mr. Galt's nature were not crushed by this blow, and measures were soon taken for the restoration of the firm's business. The factory in Sterling was rebuilt, and so vigorously was the work pushed forward that in three weeks from the time of the fire the new structure was not only finished but furnished with machinery, including engine and boiler. The factory was appropriated to sash and door manufacturing and planing-mill.
In the meantime the firm purchased a water privilege and some land at Rock Falls, opposite Sterling, and commenced a new factory, including foundry, machine shops and implement works, which were pushed on so vigorously that within three months from the burning of the old works the new were all in working order. This manufactory was the first of any kind erected in Rock, Falls. Within six months after commencing business, the firm turned out about 1,500 agricultural machines of all kinds, besides a large amount of woodwork from the planing-mill.
In 1870 the trade had increased so much that a joint-stock company was incorporated, under the name of the "Keystone Manufacturing Company," with a capital of $150,000, which has since been increased to nearly half a million. Mr. Galt was elected President, and George S. Tracy Vice President and Superintendent. This company is now among the largest manufacturers of farm implements, in the world, and their trade extends throughout the United States and Mexico, and Central and South America. They employ usually about 200 to 250 hands. Mr. Galt is also interested in several other manufacturing firms in Rock Falls and Sterling.
Messrs. Galt & Tracy have also engaged in the banking business in the Galt House Block, where they do a general banking business, dealing in foreign and domestic exchange, stocks and bonds. They also own the Academy of Music building. Mr. G. has large real-estate interests in Sterling, among which is a fine residence of brick, with stone trimmings, on Third Street.
In addition to his other enterprises, Mr. Galt commenced the erection of the Galt House in 1876, and completed it in 1877, at a cost of $65,000. He also owns the Galt House, Wallace House and Waverly House, which are all the hotels in town, and several large store buildings on Third Street. He is a Director and Trustee of the Presbyterian Theological Seminary of the Northwest, located in Chicago. He and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Ch urch. He has also been Mayor of the city one term.
Mr. Galt has been twice married, first in 1850, to Miss Julia Jones, of New Hartford, Conn., who died in 1853; and he was married again in 1856, to Miss Catherine Anthony, of Onondaga Co., N. Y., daughter of Isaac and Permelia Anthony, and a sister of Dr. J. P. Anthony, of Sterling, and also of Judge Anthony of the Chicago Superior Court. Mr. Galt had two children by his first wife, which died in infancy; and by his second wife eight children, three of whom died in infancy. The living are: E. Leroy, Treasurer of the Keystone Manufacturing Company; one daughter is the wife of E. L. Brookfield, President of the Rock Falls Manufacturing Company; the others, daughters, are at home. [Portrait & Biographical 1895 - Pg 376]
CHARLES P. GARWICK
Charles P. Garwick is the junior partner of the firm Ackerman & Garwick, well-known merchants and bankers in Coleta, Whiteside county, Illinois. He is a wide-awake, energetic business man - a true type of western progress and enterprise - and in his undertakings has steadily prospered until he is now one of the substantial citizens of his section. Mr Garwick was born on the 11th of December, 1853 in Butler county, Pennsylvania, and is a son of Jacob and Lena (Wolff) Garwick, natives of Alsace, Germany, who on coming to the new world located in Butler county, Pennsylvania, where they spent four years. The following year was passed in Cook county, Illinois, and at the end of that time they took up their residence in Carroll county, this state. In his native land the father had followed the miller's trade, but during his residence in Pennsylvania took up the occupation of farming, and in 1856 purchased eighty acres of uncultivated land in Carroll county, Illinois, to which he subsequently added a one-hundred-and-sixty-acre tract, making a fine farm of two hundred and forty Acres in Fair Haven township. Upon that place he continued to make his home until called from this life in 1878, at the age of sixty-six years. He was quite a progressive and successful farmer, and was highly respected by all who knew him. His wife died in 1884 at the age of seventy-four.
To this worthy couple were born eight children, of whom six reached years of maturity, namely: (1) Jacob, a resident of Clyde township, Whiteside county, married Sarah Zook, and died at the age of sixty-two years, leaving five children. (2) Henry, also a resident of Clyde township, is married and has six children. (3) George was member of the Thirty-fourth Illinois Volunteer Infantry during the civil war, and was killed in a skirmish. He was unmarried. (4) Frederick, formerly of Clyde township, but now a retired citizen of Chadwick, Carroll county, married Macky Deitz, and has four children. (5) Louis, also a retired farmer of Chadwick, who was a resident of Fair Haven township, Carroll county, married first Louisa Smith, who died leaving one child, and for his second wife he married Bertha Gragorious, by whom he has two children, and Charles P. is the youngest.
Our subject grew to manhood upon the home farm and acquired his literary education in the district schools of Fair Haven township. He remained with his father until he married, December 17, 1877, to Miss Barbara Ackerman, a sketch of whose family is given in connection with that of C.E. Ackerman on another page of this volume. By this union three children have been born: Jacob, who resides with his parents in Coleta; Lizzie, who is attending the high school of Milledgeville; and Lettie, who is also attending school at that place. After his marriage, Mr Garwick took charge of one hundred and twenty acres of the home farm, to which he subsequently added eighty acres, making a fine farm of two hundred acres on section 25, Fair Haven township, Carroll county, which he successfully operated until January, 1895, when he rented the farm and moved to Coleta, purchasing a half interest in the general mercantile business of C.E. Ackerman at that place. They also do a banking business under the firm name of Ackerman & Garwick, and in both under-takings have been eminently successful. They are sagacious, far-sighted business men of known reliability, and have the confidence and respect of their many patrons. Fraternally Mr Garwick is a member of Layfayette camp, No. 76, M.W.A, of which he is one of the three directors, and also belongs to Coleta garrison, No. 160, K. of G. He is a member of the Lutheran church, but as there is no church of that denomination in Coleta, he now attends the Methodist Episcopal church. His political support is given the Republican party, and while living on the farm he most efficiently served as school director for nine years. [THE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD OF WHITESIDE COUNTY ILLINOIS, 1900; Contributed by Myrna Bowman]
Jacob Garwick, a farmer on section 2, Clyde township, is a citizen of the United States by adoption, and was born Dec. 13, 1834 in the province of Alsace, France. (This territory has since been recovered by its original owner, Germany, by whom it is still held. Jacob Garwick, senior, his father, was a native of the same province and was of German parentage. He was a miller by vocation and married Magdalene Wolff. She was of mixed French and Swiss ancestry. Both her grandsires came to America during the progress of the Revolutionary War, under the command of General Lafayette, and were among his corps of officers. Several other male relatives were among the French soldiery who came to assist in the Colonial struggle. The senior Garwick removed to the United States with his wife and children, the family locating on a farm in Butler Co., Pa. Mr Garwick, of this sketch, is the oldest of his parents' children, and he left his native province in November, 1852, arriving in Pennsylvania a year before his parents. He made a home for them, and after seeing them comfortably settled he set out for Illinois, locating in 1854, in Clyde Township, this county. Three years later his father's family followed and fixed their residence in Fair Haven, Carroll County, locating on a farm. The father died in June, 1878, and in May 1884 the mother followed him to the world of the hereafter. Mr. Garwick operated as a general laborer after coming to Illinois, but while in Pennsylvania had followed the calling of a miller, in which he had been trained by his father in his native country. He had not sufficient money to pay for his breakfast on the morning of his arrival in Chicago, but he made his way to friends in De Page County, where he obtained aid and employment. His life, to the age of 27 years was one of continued experience and toil and hardship. He spent three months on board the ship on his way to America, not knowing a soul on the vessel. The entire period was one of storm and peril by sea. Food was exhausted and distress signals were flown from the masthead three successive days before their condition was discovered. They anchored near an island belonging to Portugal, in the South Sea, and secured supplies sufficient to enable them to proceed on their voyage. After his arrival in Whiteside Co., he became a farm laborer. He was married Feb. 27, 1861, in Clyde Township, to Sarah, daughter of Abraham and Anna (Gsell) Zook. Her parents were of Swiss and German origin, and were natives of Lancaster Co., Pa. Their ancestors settled in America about the date of the Colonial struggle for independence. They were farmers and were married in Co., Pa. where the daughter was born Jan. 19, 1843. She is one of a family of eight children and accompanied her parents when she was 13 years of age to Illinois. They located at first in Newton Township. Two years later they came to the Township of Clyde and located on the section which has since been their home. Three of nine children born to Mr. and Mrs. Garwick are deceased. Those who survive are George E;, Anna, Sarah, Lizzie, Dora and Katie. The son was a student at college and all have received careful educational instruction. William H. died at age 17 years. Abraham and Lena were aged respectively five and two years at the time of their decease. The parents at first fixed their residence on 70 acres of land, and Mr. Garwick expanded his last dollar to secure his place. (He had but $25.) In a few years he was free from debt and is now the owner of 300 acres of land, which is all in the best agricultural condition. Mr. Garwick is also interested in improved cattle, and makes a specialty of the Short-Horn breed. His farm is as well stocked as any other of similar grade in Clyde Township and the farm buildings are of excellent and creditable type. His entire acreage was wholly unbroken at the date of purchase. He has been for many years a minister in the River Brethren Church. In his native country he was educated in German and French, and acted for some time as an assistant teacher in the schools where he had been a student. [Source: Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois: Chicago: Chapman Brothers, 1883 pp.290-293]
The history of Clyde Township would be incomplete without the record of Jacob Garwick, a man whom to know was to respect, because his life was active, useful and honorable. He started out to himself empty-handed and for many years struggled earnestly to gain a substantial position in the business world. The methods which he followed were ever honorable and upright and thus in his death, which occurred October 21, 1895, Whiteside county lost a valued citizen. He is well remembered as a progressive farmer living on section 2, Clyde township, and also as a minister. That his business interests were capably managed is indicated by the fact that he left a valuable estate of three hundred acres lying partly in Carroll County and still carried on by his widow.
The birth of Jacob Garwick occurred December 13, 1834, in Alsace, which was then a province of France, but has since reverted to Germany, the original owner. His father, Jacob Garwick, Sr., was also a native o that province and was of German parentage. In that country he learned and followed the miller's trade. In early manhood he wedded Magdalene Wolff, who was of French and Swiss lineage. Both of her grandsires came to America during the progress of the Revolutionary war under the command of General LaFayette and served on his corps of officers. Several other male relatives were among the French soldiery who came to assist the colonies in their struggle for independence. Jacob Garwick, Sr., came to the United States with his wife and children in 1853 and located upon a farm in Butler county, Pennsylvania. His son Jacob was the eldest of his children and left his native province in November, 1852, arriving in Pennsylvania a year prior to his parents. In his native country he had been liberally educated in the German and French languages and for some time acted as an assistant teacher in the schools where he had been a student. He spent three months on shipboard on his way to America, not knowing a single soul on the vessel, haused and distressed signals were flown from the masthead three successive days before their condition was discovered. They then anchored near an island in the South sea belonging to Portugal and secured sufficient supplies to enable them to proceed on their voyage. At length, however, the long trip was ended and Mr. Garwick landed safely in the new world. Here he made preparation for a home for his parents and when he saw them comfortably settled he started for Illinois. When he reached Chicago he had not enough money to pay for his breakfast, but he succeeded in making his way to friends in Dupage County, where he obtained aid and employment. In 1854 he located in Clyde Township, Whiteside County, and three years later his father's family followed him to Illinois and took up their abode upon a farm at Fair Haven, Carroll county. There the father died in June, 1878, while the mother survived until May,1884.
After coming to Illinois, Jacob Garwick, of this review, worked as a general laborer, but while in Pennsylvania he followed the miller's trade, which he had learned under the direction of his father in his native country. His life to the age of twenty-seven years was one of continual hardship and toil, but he possessed strong determination and unfaltering courage and gradually worked his way upward. After his arrival in Whiteside county he became a farm hand and was thus employed until he could make arrangement to purchase land and engaged in farming on his own account. As a companion and helpmate for life's journey Mr. Garwick chose Miss Sarah Zook, whom he wedded in Clyde township on the 27th of February, 1861. Her parents, Abraham and Anna (Gsell) Zook, were natives of Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, and of Swiss and German descent. Their ancestors settled in America about the time of the colonial struggle for independence. Mr. and Mrs. Zook were farming people and were married in Franklin county, Pennsylvania, their daughter Sarah being there born on the 19th of January, 1843. She was one of a family of eight children and accompanied her parents to Illinois when she was thirteen years of age.
Mr. and Mrs. Garwick first settled in Newton Township, Whiteside county, and two years later removed to Clyde township, establishing their home on the farm where Mrs. Garwick has since remained, now owning three hundred and fifty-five acres of land. Of the children born unto them the six who still survive are as follows: George E., the eldest, who now follows farming near Garden Plain, this county, acquired a college education and married a daughter of Henry Brubaker. They have three children - Floyd, Florence and Eber. Anna Garwick is the wife of William Geesey, and resides at home. They, too, have three living children - Hattie, Jacob and Ethel - and they lost one child, Lucille, at the age of four years. Sarah Garwick became the wife of Martin Hanna, of Carroll county, and has two children - Paul and Lenora. Lizzie is the wife of Charles Dial, of Carroll county, and they have one adopted child, Charles. Dora is the wife of J. O. Elwing, a resident of West Union, Iowa, and has one son, Lillo. Katie is the wife of Dr. Cecil R. Rogers, an osteopathic practitioner of New York city. Of the children who have passed away Edith Esther, born November 25, 1885, died at the age of eight years and eight days. William H. died at the age of fifteen years, and Abraham and Lena died at the age of five and three years, respectively. When Mr. and Mrs. Garwick came to what is now the old home farm he invested twenty-five dollars, his entire capital, in the property, and made arrangements for future payments. Soon, as the result of his earnest and unremitting labor, he was enabled to discharge his financial obligations [Whiteside County History - W. Davis 1908]
REV. HARRISON GARWICK
The agricultural interests of Walnut township find a worthy representative in Rev. H.H. Garwick, who is living on section 6. He is thoroughtly progressive as a farmer, stockraiser and dairyman and he is also well know as a minister of the Brethren of Christ church. Born in Carroll County Illinois, on the 14th of August, 1862, he is the son of Henry Garwick, native of Germany and one of the earliest settlers of Carroll county. Subseqently he removed to Whiteside county, Illinois, where he opened up a farm, clearing the land and developing a good property. It was upon that place that he reared his family and spent his remaining days, his death occuring in September, 1902, while his wife passed away in 1890. Their family numbered four sons and two daughters, all of whom reached mature years and reared families. Rev. H.H. Garwick was reared in Whiteside county, Illinois, where he acquired a common-school education. His privileges, however, were somewhat limited in that regard, but prosessing an observing eye and retentive memory he has added largely to his knowledge since attaining man's estate.
As a companion and helpmate for life's journey Rev. Garwick chose Miss Barbara Stoner, to whom he was married in Franklin county, Pennsylvania, on the 15th of February, 1887. She is a native of Pennsylvania and spent her girlhood days in that state. After their marriage they located on a farm in Whiteside county, Illinois, where Mr Garwick carried on general agricultural pursuits until 1892. In February of that year he came to Dallas county, Iowa, where he first purchased eighty acres of land, which he began to cultivate and develope. He has rebuilt and remodled the house, which is a two story frame structure, has also built barns and other outbuildings for the shelter of grain and stock and has added to the productiveness of his land by tiling, has fenced his fields, and has purchased forty-eight acres adjoining the original tract, so that he is now the owner of one hundred and twenty-eight acres, constituting a good farm. He also makes a specialty of raising stock, keeping good grades of hogs, and he is likewise successfully engaged in the dairy business, having high-grade Herefords for this purpose. The labor he has bestowed upon his place has made it a well improved and valuable farm, which in its neat and thrifty appearance indicates his careful supervision.
Unto Mr and Mrs. Garwick have been born eight children, four sons and four daughters: Noah S., Aaron, Jesse, Ruth, Rachel, Esther and Rhoda. They also lost an infant son.
Politically Mr Garwick is a prohibitionist. He was always believed in and worked for temerance and does everything in his power to promulgate temperance principles. He is a believer in good schools and the employment of competent teachers and has served as treasurer of his school district. His life has always been honorable and upright and he is well known as a minister of the Brethren of Christ church, having been one of its active members since a young man of nineteen years. He was ordained to the ministry in 1888 and has charge of two churches, one in Dallas Center and the other at distric 6 in Sugar Grove township. For not less than fourteen times in fifteen years has his home been open for the annual meetings or lovefeast occasions of the Brethren in Christ, at which members from all parts of Iowa and from other states have been present. He has served as a delegate to the conventions of the church in Pennsylvania, Kansas, Iowa and also Ontario. He is well known in northern Illinois and in this state., having been a resident here for fifteen years, during which time his genuine worth, his active life and his high principles have commended him to the good-will, trust and respect of all with whom he has been associated. [Source: Wood, Prof. R.F. "Past and Present of Dallas County, Iowa" Chicago: The S.J. Clark Publishing Company, 1907, pp327-328. Contributed by Myrna Bowman]
Wendel Gaulrapp, who follows general farming on section 23, Hume township, was born in the province of Hessen, Germany, August 18, 1838, his parents being Peter and Margaret Smith Gaulrapp, both of whom were born in Germany in 1806. They were reared and married in their native country and in 1846 crossed the Atlantic with their family, settling first in New York city, where the father followed the stone-mason's trade for fifteen years. He then came to the middle west, settling in Whiteside county near Sterling, where he turned his attention to agricultural pursuits, carrying on general farming until his demise. He died in 1888 and was survived for about two years by his wife, who passed away in 1890. Of their family of five children only two are now living, the brother of our subject being John Gaulrapp, a resident of Denver, Colorado.
Wendel Gaulrapp was only about eight years of age when his parents crossed the briny deep to the new world and at that time he began work in a match factory, being employed in that and other factories until he was apprenticed to learn the upholsterer's trade. His educational privileges were necessarily limited but to some extent he attended night school and he has since learned many valuable lessons in the school of experience. In 1858 when about twenty years of age, he came with his parents to this county and engaged in farming with his father until 1865. He then purchased eighty acres of land in Deer Grove township which he broke and cultivated, making his home thereon until he traded the improved tract for a farm of two hundred and forty acres, which he sold about 1868. He then bought eighty acres where his home now stands on section 23, Hume township. About 1873 he removed to Sterling and for two years thereafter conducted a dray line. He later established a furniture store, which he carried on for three years, when he sold out, and, withdrawing from the field of merchandising, returned to his farm. From time to time he has added to his property, each time buying eighty acres of valuable land, until he has four hundred acres, all in one body. His home place is finely improved and in the midst of the farm stands a beautiful residence, while near by are good and substantial buildings. He also has another set of buildings upon his land, his son occupying the second dwelling. As the years have passed he has not only carried on the work of plowing, planting and harvesting in the production of cereals but has also raised a large amount of stock and has found this a profitable source of income.
On the 16th of October, 1886, Mr. Gaulrapp was married to Miss Sarah Fisher, who was born in Trumbull conty, Ohio, November 13, 1847, her parents being native of Germany. They came to America about 1838, settling in Ohio, and the father died before the birth of his daughter, Mrs. Gaulrapp. In their family were nine children, six of whom are libing, as follows: john, Manuel, Mrs. Lucy Malby, Mrs. Kate Smith and Mrs. Mary Folsom, all of whom are residents of Ohio; and Sarah, now Mrs. Gaulrapp. The mother afterward became the wife of Philip Baker and died in the year 1867, at the age of sixty years. The home of Mr. and Mrs. Gaulrapp has been blessed with seven children: Ella, the wife of Robert Lane, a resident of Hume township; William, who wedded Mary Schwank and resided in Coloma township; Anna, the wife of Evert Dennison, who lives in Canada; Frank, who wedded Susie Martin and makes his home in Hume township; Henry, who wedded Emma Delp and also reside in Hume township; Clarence, who wedded Maude Vandermark and lives in Hume township; and Aaron, who is at home.
Mrs. Gaulrapp is a member of the German Lutheran church. The family is well known in this community and the members of the household occupy an enviable position in the regard of many friends and neighbors. Mr. Gaulrapp served as school director for several years and gave his political allegiance to the democracy for a long period but his political preference is now for the republican party. he belongs to Sterling Camp, No. 12, M. W. A. A resident of the county for more than four decades, he has thus been a witness of much of its development and growth and has contributed his full share toward its material progress. His life record is another proof of the fact that success comes from enterprise and diligence as well as from favorable circumstances and the most honorable success is that which is gained through individual effort. [Contributed by Amy Anderson from "History of Whiteside County 1908"]
of Sterling Twp.
Samuel Geer came with his family from Fountain county, Indiana, in 1835, and settled on the farm in the present township of Sterling, known as the Lumm farm, now owned by John Martin. He afterwards sold the place, and located the farm where Peter Bressler now resides. His wife was the mother of Hezekiah Brink, by her first husband. He had one son, Samuel Geer, Jr., who married Miss Nancy Hill, daughter of Jesse Hill Sr., of Genesse Grove, and has lived in Oregon for the past fifteen years. [Bent-Wilson History of Whiteside County Pg 399. NOTE: Samuel Geer, Jr. married Nancy Hill 23 January 1842 in Whiteside County]
CAPT. AUSTIN M. GEORGE
Capt. Austin M. George, a resident of Garden Plain Township, was born Feb. 16, 1803, and is the oldest son of Daniel and Elizabeth (Morse) George. Father and son were born in Conway, N.H. The mother was a native of Peacham, Vt. When Capt. George was 16 his father died, leaving a widow and five children. The son passed three years succeeding in farming in the neighborhood, after which he engaged in a floor-mill at Conway unit 1837, when he went to Hiram, Maine. He operated as foreman in a flour-mill at that place one year, after which he went to Poston, Mass. He entered the employment of James Vila, with whom he remained eight years. In 1846 he came to Whiteside County to make a permanent stay. In 1844 he had come here, and entered a claim of land on section 14, of Garden Plain Township, and in 1845 had employed help in breaking 14 acres of land. In the year in which he took possession of his property he built a house and fenced the part of his farm that was under improvement. He raised his first crop of weather in 1847. The farm is at present under advanced cultivation, with all improvements common to this section. Capt. George has been an extensive traveler in his own country, and has visited nearly every portion of the United States. He has been twice married. Sophronia Bachelder became his wife June 19, 1836, and died Jan. 20, 1850, leaving four children; Daniel lives in Paola Co., Kan.; Charles is a resident of Cordova, Rock Island Co., Ill.; King resides in the same place; Sophronia lives near Blunt, D.T. Capt. George was a second time married, at Cordova, Mach 13, 1851, to Mrs. Caroline A., widow of Ira Stowell. She was born Feb. 20, 1823, in New York, and is the daughter of Jeremiah and Abigail (Witchell) Rice. Mr. Stowell left one son, Andrew, who lives in Garden Plain Township. She has been the mother of five children from her second marriage; Mary and Martha are twins; the former married Hiram Sweet, of Sanborn, Iowa; Martha is the wife of William Page, of Garden Plain Township; Dewit and Etta are the youngest; one child is deceased.
Capt. George received his commission in the State Militia of New Hampshire when 18 years of age. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885]
GEORGE M. GERDES
G.M. Gerdes, merchant at Sterling, was born in Wuppels, Oldenburg, Germany, April 25, 1845, received the usual public school education and at 15 years of age left home, entering the mercantile establishment of B. Eden, Oldorf, where he acted as salesman from April 27, 1859 to May 27, 1864, when he left this firm and went in the employ of H.W. Henrich, Heppens, from April 1, 1864 til Nov. 1, 1864, and with John G. Peters, Mariensiel from Nov. 1, 1864 to April 1, 1866 and J.C. Kleiss, in Jever, from April 2, 1866 to April 2, 1869. Hence he only lost four days during his ten years employment in Germany. Then he took a rest until he sailed from Bremen, on the 24th day of April 1869, landing in NY on May 7, and at Sterling May 12, and on June 11, 1869 he continued his vocation, for R.B. Witmer for six years. June 14, 1875 he commenced his business for himself, at Nos. 119 and 121 Mulberry Street and has since then enlarged his sphere of operations from time to time until he has become one of the principal businessmen of Sterling. He has all hisl ife been an industrious man. Since coming to Sterling he has lost only 23 days time. He belong to Lodge No. 3. A.O.U.W., and also to the Modern Woodmen of AMerica. He votes the Democratic ticket. Mr. Gerdes was married July 5, 1871 to Miss Martha Herman, a native of IL who was born July 27, 1850. The two children of Mr. Gerdes are Andrew J. born Aug. 6, 1874 and Fanny Nov 16, 1878. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 711]
of Portland Township
Robert Getty was born in Washington county, New York, in 1810. He came to Portland in 1835, and settled near Sharon, in the vicinity of the county line. His death occurred in 1864. He married Miss Eliza Elliott, and after her death was marricd to Miss Agnes Mead. Children: Frances Maria, who married H. Fletcher, and lives at Brooklyn, N. Y.; Ann Eliza, who married Henry Slade, and, after his decease, P. C. Langdon, and also lives in Brooklyn, N. Y.; Agnes, who married Orlando Wells, and resides in Geneseo, Illinois; Luella Jane, who is a deaf mute teacher in the State Asylum at Jacksonville, Illinois; Kate, who resides in Geneseo. [Extracted from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 351]
of Newton Twp., Whiteside Co IL
Isaac Gibler, a well-known citizen of Newton township, owns and operates a good farm of eighty-two acres on section 10. As a judicious tiller of the soil he has met with success, and as a man and citizen holds a high position among his neighbors. He was born in Ohio, March 20, 1845, and is a son of Jeremiah and Mary (Nevitt) Gibler. The father was a native of Pennsylvania, but when young went to Ohio, where he spent the greater part of his life engaged in farming. He died November 26, 1871. In his family were eleven children, namely: Amanda, deceased; Isaac, our subject; Christian A., a resident of Oregon; Amos and John, both deceased; James, a farmer of Newton township, this county; Disberry, deceased; Rhoda S. married L. E. Booth, a resident of Albany, Illinois; Elizabeth, wife of John Ray, of Albany; Joseph, a resident of Iowa; and Carrie, wife of Charles Natt, of Clinton, Iowa. The boyhood and youth of our subject were passed under the parental roof, and there he remained until he was married, May 21, 1874, to Miss Mary E. Switzer, who was born July 26, 1853, a daughter of Anthony I. and Martha Switzer. Her mother died December 25, 1898. Mr. and Mrs. Gibler have a family of eight children, whose names and dates of birth are as follows: Leslie, March 8, 1875; Martha E., January 4, 1877; Arthur, May 7, 1880; Carrie Ann, February io, 1883; Ralph, October i, 1885; Edith, May 11, 1888; Rowland, February 28, 1892; and Clide, February 21, 1895. With the exception of Ralph, who died February 22, 1887, all are still living and reside at home. After his marriage, Mr. Gibler commenced farming on his own account, and lived on several different farms until, in 1880, he purchased his present farm. He has always given more or less attention to stock raising, and for several years operated a threshing machine in connection with his regular farm work. In politics he is a pronounced Democrat and his support is given every measure which he believes will prove of public benefit. [Whiteside Biographical Record 1900 Pg 508]
SOLOMON P. GIDDINGS
Solomon P. Giddings, jeweler, with the firm of Clark, Giddings & Co., Sterling, was born in Poultney, Vt., Nov. 2, 1837, his parents being Daniel N. and Beulah (Brown) Giddings, natives also of the Green Mountain State. He remained at home until he was 22 years of age, assisting on the farm and attending the common school. Then he was with Clark Bros. three years, learning the jeweler’s trade. Next, he purchased the interest of Norman Clark, one of the proprietors, engaging in business with H. G. Clark. After a few years Mr. Clark sold his interest, and the firm became Giddings & Adams. At the end of two years, Mr. G. sold his interest in the establishment, and in 1872 opened a jewelry house in West Rutland, Vt., which he continued to conduct for two years. He then sold out and came to Sterling, forming a partnership with Norman Clark, in the jewelry trade, under the style of Clark, Giddings & Co., on Third Street, where he is at present carrying on a successful business. In his political sympathies Mr. G. is a Republican. He and his wife are members of the Congregational Church of Sterling, and he is also a member of the A. 0. U. W. and of the Masonic Order. He is a Christian gentleman and a worthy citizen. Mr. Giddings was married in 1867, to Miss Emaroy Capen, a native of Fair Haven, Vt., and a daughter of Jonathan and Emaroy (Blanchard) Capen. By this union there have been two children, named Beulah E. and Capen N. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 731]
of Jordan Township
Jabez Gilbert was born at Harrington, Litchfield county, Connecticut. He was married to Miss M. West, May 30, 1815. She was born April 9, 1796. Mr. Gilbert settled in Jordan township in 1839, and died January 1, 1844, from small pox. Children: Eunice M., born March 10, 1817; Clement W., born August 21, 1819; Flora F., born August 23, 1821; Julius E., born October 9, 1823; Abner, born December 2,1825; Hannah, born July 10, 1828; Jabez Jr., born September 26, 1833; Hezekiah W., born October 20, 1835; John B., born December 25, 1841. Eunice married Benj. Davis. Children: Ellen M., Benjamin C., Maria L., Homer B., Emma A., and Iola A. Mrs. Davis died in New York in 1865. Benjamin Davis died in Libby Prison during the war. Ellen, Maria, and Iola are dead. Abner married Clara Enderton. They have had three children, now all dead but Frank. Mr. Gilbert died in April, 1858 Jabez, Jr. died October 6,1858. Clement married Betsey Daggett, who died in 1869. He was subsequently married to Mary Goodrich, and after her death to Helen Stevenson. Hezekiah married Mary Beman, who died in 1873. He was afterwards married to Harriet Root. Flora married Manoah Hubbard, in 1841. Children: Lucinda M., Mary J., and William. The two daughters are dead. William lives in Sterling. Manoah Hubbard died in April, 1859. Mrs. Hubbard married John B. Rogers in September, 1875. Hannah married John Pettigrew. Children; Maurice, Emma, Ella, and Florence, The latter died in 1870. Julius F. was first married about twenty-five years ago. Mrs. Gilbert dying, Mr. Gilbert was married to Viola Higgins, in 1864. Children: Jabez, James E., Julius, Cora, May, and Minnie. John married Katie Higgins January 30, 1871. Children: Grace and Jerome B. Grace died in infancy. [Pg 262 Bent-Wilson 1877]
Of Lyndon Twp.
William W. Gilbert was a native of Worcester county, Massacbusetts, and married Miss Mary Melinda Smith, daughter of Capt. Harry Smith. Their children were: Charles S., Eunice Melinda, and two who died in infancy. Charles S. enlisted in Company C, 8th Illinois cavalry, and was killed in the army. Eunice Melinda married Restore C. Sperry. Mr. Gilbert first moved from his native State to the State of New York, where he engaged in the mercantile business, and in 1836 came to Lyndon. Here he commenced farming, but not being inured to the hardships of prairie life, did not succeed according to his anticipations. In 1839 he was elected Recorder of Whiteside county, and continued to hold that office until 1848, when it was abolished by the adoption of the constitution of 1848, and its duties merged with those of the Clerk of the Circuit Court. He performed the duties of the office to the entire satisfaction of all. It was a pleasure to him to impart information to anyone having business with him in his public capacity. In his intercourse he was genial, whole-souled and manly to a fault, never letting an opportunity of doing a kind act pass unimproved. In 1855 he was taken as a partner in the firm of J. D. Odell & Co., at Lyndon, without capital, as his ability as a salesman was of a high order, and continued with th,at firm until it dissolved, when he became a partner in the firm of White, Anderson & Co., at the same place, and remained in business several years. He died in August, 1860. Mrs. Gilbert died July 19, 1858. [Bent - Wilson 1877]
ANDREW J. GLASSBURN
Albert J. Glassburn, a farmer on section 5, Hahnaman Township, is a son of John and Jane (Fee) Glassburn, natives of Ohio. They had a family of six children, - David, John, Thomas, Albert J., Sally A. and Mary J. The subject of this sketch was born in Gallia Co., Ohio, Ssept. 26, 1842, attended the common school until about 18 years of age, and remained a resident of Ohio until 25 years ld, engaged in the vocation of agriculture. In the fall of 1867 he came to Whiteside County and purchased 120 acres of land in Hahnaman Township, where he erected good buildings and has since resided. He now owns 200 acres, about 150 of which is a state of good cultivation. He has a fine farm. Mr. Glassburn was married in Gallia Co., Ohio, Sept. 26, 1861 to Miss Mary., daughter of James P. and Rebecca (Mauck) Wood, her parents being natives of Ohio, and havingin their family seven children, viz: Irene, Mary J., Harrison, Lydia M., Jospeh M. James P. and Kate S. Mrs. G was born in Gallia Co., Ohio, April 29, 1842. Mr. and Mrs. Glassburn have had eight children, five of whom are living, namely: John P. Rebecca J., Ina I., Albert J., Jr., and William G. The deceased were named Effie M., Charles D. and Edward T. In his political principles he is identified as a Democrat, and in religion both himself and wife are members of the Baptist Church. [Portrait & Biographical History of Whiteside Co 1885]
ANDREW THOMAS GLASSBURN
Andrew Thomas Glassburn is cashier of the Bank of Tampico, the only one in the village, and while his father, John W. Glassburn, retains the presidency, the son is the manager of the business, which is one of profit to the community as well as to the owners. In tracing the early history of the Glassburns we note that John Glassburn, grandfather of our subject. was a native of Virginia and in his boyhood days went with his parents to Ohio, where he met and married Miss Sarah Ann Fee, a native of Vinton county, that state. In later years they removed to Whiteside county, Illinois, and John Glasshurn purchased a farm about six miles southeast of Tampico, becoming owner of this property in the `80s. He made it his home throughout his remaining days and passed away when about sixty-seven years of age, while his wife died at the advanced age of eighty-two years. In their family were six children: David, Thomas, John, Albert, Sally Ann and Mary, all of whom were farming people, but John W. is the only one now living.
For many years John W. Glassburn has figured as one of the prominent and influential residents of Tampico and this part of the county, successfully controlling constantly increasing business interests, and now in the evening of life living retired in the enjoyment of well-earned ease. His birth occurred in Springfield township, Gallia county, Ohio, June 26, 1834, and there he resided on the home farm with his parents until he attained his majority, when he resolved to see something of the world and find better business opportunities elsewhere if possible. In the meantime he acquired his education in the district school, he and his brother riding several miles on horseback in order to pursue their studies. Later a little log schoolhouse was built nearer their home and John W. Glassburn had the privilege of attending school from two to two and a half months in the winter seasons. In the school of experience, however, he has learned many valuable lessons, and reading and observation, coupled with an observing eye and retentive memory, have constantly broadened his knowledge and increased his effectiveness as a factor in the business world. As a boy of nineteen years he came to Whiteside county to look over the country and for a time worked for a man on the Fox river. Later he hired out. to Jacob Black, proprietor of a gristmill at Milford, with whom he continued through the winter. Pleased with the country, Mr. Glassburn purchased one hundred and sixty acre of land from Mr. Black. or rather made arrangements for the purchase, as he had no money. He then returned to his old home in Ohio and induced his father to come out and buy the farm of one hundred and sixty acres upon which he is now living, for the village of Tampico has been built upon this farm.
On the 14th of June, 1855. John W. Glassburn was married to Miss Olive Johnston, whose birth occurred in Gallia county, Ohio, January 10, 1836. The marriage was celebrated in their native state and in the fall of 1856 they journeyed across the country from Ohio to Illinois, making the trip in a wagon after the primitive manner of travel of those days. Mr. Glassburn then set the cover off the lumber wagon and used it as a shelter until he could build a house. The place was two miles north of Yorktown. it was not the farm which his father had purchased, but he lived there for two years, or until he broke the land and made some improvements upon the present farm. Since the spring of 1861 he has lived continuously upon the farm which his father purchased. The first building erected was a granary and he occupied it as a dwelling until a frame house was erected. He continued to occupy that dwelling for a number of years, when it was moved away and replaced by his present fine brick residence in 1887. Mr. Glassburn carried on general farming until the railroad was built, through in 1871, when he platted the town of Tampico. He gave his entire attention to the work for a yea.r and then engaged in the grain and stock business, shipping grain and stock from Tampico. That venture proved successful and he continued in the grain and stock business for about thirty years, meeting with prosperity. In 1882 he, with W. W. Craddock, established a private bank to accommodate the people of the vicinity, but for a time regarded banking as a side issue. This continued until March 1, 1885, when Mr. Craddock retired from the bank and A. T. Glassburn purchased his interests. About 1882 he built his present bank building and made a separate business of his banking interests. This was t.he first and is today the only bank in the village. Mr. Glassburn is still its president, but several years ago turned over the active management to his son Thomas, and admitted his son Fred to a partnership in the grain trade. He has always engaged to a greater or less extent in real-estate operations. buying and selling land on quite an extensive scale and eventually becoming the owner of fourteen hundred acres in one body west. of the town. It was known as the Lawndale farm, and in addition to this property he had several smaller tracts of land. He has since disposed of much of his realty, however, although he is still the owner of two good farms. He has also erected a number of dwellings and business houses in Tampico and has thus contributed in substantial measure to the welfare and improvement of the village.
John W. Glassburn gave his early political support to the democracy, but voted for Abraham Lincoln and other candidates of the republican party and is now a prohibitionist in political principle. He casts an independent ballot, however, as the prohibition party often has no ticket in the field. His fellow townsmen, recognizing his worth and ability, have frequently called him to office. He has been president of the town board for many years and would have filled other offices to which his fellow townsmen would have elected him had he not declined to do so. He belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church, but is not aggressively sectarian, and on the contrary no good work done in the name of charity or religion solicits his aid in vain. He has given lots to all of the different denominations represented in Tampico and has assisted all in building their churches. He likewise gave the lots for the school grounds and has taken a deep and helpful interest in the cause of education, advocating the employment of good teachers and the constant improvement of the school system. As a member of the school board he has done effective work in this regard, and as a private citizen he is continually laboring for the interests of the community along lines of material improvement. He is a prominent Mason, holding membership in the lodge, the chapter and the commandery.
In 1905 Mr. Glassburn was called upon to mourn the loss of his wife. who died on the 21st of September of that year. She was a lady of many excellent traits of heart and mind, and her death was deeply deplored by many friends. The family numbered six children: A. Thomas, who is cashier of the bank; Jennie E., the wife of Glenn Reeve. of Denver, Colorado; May, the wife of Silas Hovey, of Independence. Iowa ; John E., who died at the age of fifteen years; Fred E., who died at the age of twenty-seven years; and Ina, who died in infancy.
Andrew Thomas Glassburn, whose name introduces this record, was born in Springfield township. Gallia county Ohio, October 4. 1856, and was therefore only a few months old when brought by his parents to Whiteside county in January, 1857. Here he has lived continuously since-an interested witness of the changes that have occurred, bearing his full share in the progress that has been wrought as the county has kept pace with modern civilization. His youth was spent as that of most farm boys and he attended the common schools until 1875. He then entered his father's grain office in the capacity of clerk and in 1879 was admitted to a partnership under the firm style of J W. Glassburn & Son. This business relation was maintained until March 1, 1885, when he became connected with the bank, giving up his interest in the grain business and becoming sole owner of the Bank of Tampico in 1887. Although his father is nominally president, he has been the active manager for the past twenty years; his official designation being that of cashier. He has developed the bank in accordance with the growth of the village and surrounding district and the institution has become a valued enterprise in this locality.
On the 10th of September, 1878, Mr. Glassburn was married to Miss Minnie V. Smith, a native of this county and a daughter of A. M. and Laura Smith. The mother is now deceased and for the past twelve vears the father has lived with Mr. and Mrs. Glassburn. There are now two sons in the family: Asa Clyde, who is acting as cashier of the bank; and Vernon Lynn, who is a student in Phillips Academy at Andover, Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Glassburn are members of the Methodist Episcopal church in the work of which they take an active and helpful part, doing all in their power to promote its progress. Mr. Glassburn has been for the past fifteen years, been superintendent of the Sunday school and is also a member of the church board of trustees. His political views were formerly in accord with the principles of democracy, but during the past ten years he has announced his belief in the principles of the prohibition party, but casts an independent local ballot. He has been a member of the village board for a number of years and its president for some time. While in office his course was char- acterized by the utmost devotion to the general good and in every relation of life he is known as a man reliable, enterprising and progressive. The fact that his staunchest friends are among those who have known him from his boyhood to the present is an indication that his has been a most honorable career. [History of Whiteside Co by W.W. Davis]
JOHN W. GLASSBURN
of Tampico Township
John W. Glassburn, senior member of the firm of Glassburn & Son, at Tampico, was born June 26, 1835, (Headstone in Tampico Cemetery where he is buried, reads 1834) in Gallia County, Ohio. John Glassburn, his father, was a native of Virginia, and was descended from German ancestors. His parents removed their family to Ohio when he was a small boy, and he grew to the estate of manhood in the Buckeye State. He was married in Vinton County, to Jane Fee. She was the daughter of an Ohio farmer, whose family were early settlers in the State of New York. The elder Glassburn resided in Gallia County till 1867, when he removed to the township of Hahnaman and settled on a farm. The father died there, in the fall of 1870, aged 64 years. The mother is yet living, and is a member of the family of her son in Hahnaman Township. She is about 74 years of age. Mr. Glassburn attained to manhood under the authority of his parents, and acquiied a fair education, though school facilities were limited, indeed. June 14, 1854, he was married in his native county to Olive Johnston, the daughter of Andrew and Olive (Weed) Johnston. She was born in January 1838, in Gallia County, Ohio, whither her parents removed from the State of New York, in the pioneer period of Ohio. They were residents there until their deaths. Two of six children born to Mr. and Mrs. Glassburn are deceased. Thomas, the oldest son, is a partner with his father in the banking business and the grain trade, at Tampico. Jennie married William G. Reeve, and they reside at Peru, Ill. Mr. Reeve is Vice-President of the First National Bank at that place. May is the wife of Silas C. Hovey, of Independence, Iowa. Silas H. is a real-estate agent. Fred lives with his parents. John E. and Ina are deceased.
Mr. Glassburn located in Tampico about two years after his marriage. He located on a claim of 80 acres of wild land, which was the condition of most of the surrounding country. Later he bought 120 acres lying in Bureau County, adjoining Tampico Township. In 1861 he sold his estate and purchased 80 acres on each of sections 14 and 15, where he was the first permanent settler. In March, 1872, the Clinton Branch of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad was completed, and the line of the survey led. 7 through his land. Mr. Glassburn succeeded in inducing the corporation to lay the depot grounds in the center of his farm,. for which he paid $2,000, and he laid out the village, which he named after the township. When the road was open for transit, he established the business in which he has since been interested, and it-i May, 1882, he built and organized, with W. W. Craddock, the. Tampico Bank, of Glassburii & Craddock, and was elected President of the bank. He first formed a partnership with Marcus Bryant, and later with his son, Thomas, on the latter becoming of age. Their lines of business include traffic in grain, stock, flour, coal, salt, real estate, and their establishment is supplied with all fixtures and conveniences for the transaction of their business, which covers several hundred thousand dollars in value in the course of a year. J. W. owns about 1,400 acres of land. The elevator connected with their business has a capacity of about 30,000 bushels, and they held at one time 150,000 bushels of corn. Mr. Glassburn had all of his farm platted in the village of Tampico. He is the founder of Tampico, and has ever been alive to its permanent well being, and it is today the "apple of his eye.". His efforts have made it a convenient shipping point for the produce of the vicinity. Mr. Glassburn is a Democrat. He has held various local township offices. His wife and children are members of the Methodist Episcopal church. [Source: Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, pg 755]
John W. Glassburn is a native of Gallia county, Ohio, and came to Whiteside county in 1856, settling at first on a place near Yorktown where he remained until 1861, when he moved to his present location. His farm then consisted of 160 acres, and included. the whole of the present village of Tampico. Mr. Glassburn was a successful farmer for years, until the railroad passed through the town, when he bought the interest of Fisher and Thompson, of the firm of Fisher, Thompson & Bryant, grain dealers, and the firm then became Glassburn & Bryant. Soon afterwards this firm erected a large elevator, and entered largely into the purchase, storage and shipping of grain, pork and produce, making Tampico a good and convenient market for the farmers and producers of the surrounding country. The tornado of July 6, 1874, completely demolished this elevator, but Mr. Glassburn with characteristic energy went to work and erected a still larger and more capacious one, which is still standing. Since the death of Mr. Bryant, which occurred some two years ago, Mr. Glassburn has conducted the business individually. He is also a manufacturer of, and dealer in harness. He has been frequently called to fill public positions in the town and village. Indeed, the village in a great measure owes its existence to him. Mr. Glassburn is yet in the prime of life, and is justly regarded as one of the foremost men of Tampico. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County, Page 453]
STEPHEN W. GOFF
OF Ustick Township, Whiteside Co IL
Stephen W. Goff, was born in Granville, Hampshire county, Massachusetts, in 1805, and first moved from his native State to Jefferson county New York. in 1844 he came to Whiteside county, and settled upon his present farm on section 33, in Ustick township. Mr GOFF was married to Miss Almira Buell, in Watertown, Jefferson county New York in 1827. Their children have been: Franklin, Martin, Johnson B., Lorenzo, Sarah, Delos, Olive, James and Austin.. They are all married. Mr GOFF has now twenty seven grandchildren and two great grand children. He has been Road Commissioner, School Director, etc, in Ustick, since his residence in the township.[Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 471]
Of Montmorency Township
Alonzo Golder is a native of the sturdy old county of Dutchess, New York State. In 1844 he emigrated to Hartland, McHenry county, in this State, and remained there until the spring of 1856, when he came to Whiteside county and settled upon his present farm in the town of Montmorency. During his residence in McHenry county he was for several years Postmaster at the village of Hartland. Mr. Golder early became convinced that to become a successful agriculturist, the science of agriculture should be understood. He believed there was theory as well as practice about farming, and he profited by his researches. He soon became known as a skilled agriculturist, and when the State Grange of the Patrons of Husbandry was organized in Illinois, in 1872, the different subordinate Granges unanimously agreed upon him as the proper person to be the Master, and he was elected accordingly. Previous to his election as Master of the State Grange, he had been Master of Rock River Grange, No. 7. He held the position as Master of the State Grange for two terms, and was afterwards Representative to the National Grange of the Patrons of Husbandry for four successive terms. He is now a member of the Executive Committee of the National Grange, his associates being Henley James, of Indiana; D. Wyatt Aiken, of South Caralina; Dudley T. Chase, of New Hampshire, and W. H. Chambers, of Alabama. Mr. Golder has retired in a great degree from the active pursuits of farming, but his interest in all that concerns its improvement is in no way abated. [Bent & Wilson 1877]
Alonzo Golder, section 10, Montmorency Township, has been a resident of Whiteside County since 1856, and he has reached prominence as an agriculturist and promoter of the general welfare of the locality where he has lived nearly 30 years. He was born April 24, 1807, in Dutchess Co., N. Y., and is the oldest son of William and Mary (Chase) Golder, who were born respectively in New York and Rhode Island. The native county of William Golder was the same in which his son was born, and there he settled with the bride of his early manhood, who died after giving birth to six children - Ellen, Alonzo, Elizabeth, Emmeline, Phebe and Joseph. The father was married a second time to Phebe Hewett, a native of New York. She died in Ilinois. One child, Jane H., was born of the second marriage.
The portion of New York where Mr. Golder was born and grew to maturity was in an undeveloped condition, and although he acquired such education as was afforded by the schools of that time he gathered a more useful and mental training by observation and from the force of circumstances He attended school during the winter seasons until he was 14 years of age, after which he was a laborer on his father's farm until he was 23 years old, with the exception of a single year when he was engaged in boating on the Hudson River. He passed another year im the employ of an uncle, after which he established a country store at Pleasant Plains, Dutchess County, in partnership with John Bard, the son of a Hessian soldier. Their business connections were in existence one year, and, after their dissolution, Mr. Golder prospected for a time in search of a favorable location. He fixed upon Clinton Hollow, in his native county and again established his mercantile enterprise on connection with a flouring mill, associated with Charles Slate. At the end of the first year Mr. Golder became the sole proprietor by purchase, and shortly after formed a partnership with Spencer Bennett, under the firm style of Bennet, Golder & Co. After three years the business was closed. Mr. Golder bought a farm in Cayuga Co., N. Y., where he operated as farmer four years. He sold his property at the end of that time for the purpose of moving West, but he yielded to the solicitations of friends in Dutchess County, and returned there to engage in mercantile and lumber traffic, settling at Hyde Park. He did not meet the success he anticipated, and after a fair trial of four years' duration he sold out. In 1844 he came to Illinois and located at Hartland, McHenry County, where he engaged in farming, in which he was interested until 1855, when he sold his farm, and in the fall of the same year he came to Whiteside County. In the spring of 1855, he purchased 400 acres in Montmorency Township, in company with his son Joseph. Their joint ownership of real estate includes 680 acres, of which 500 acres are in tillage. They have an average herd of about 70 cattle, 10 horses, and fatten for market yearly about 60 hogs. They have erected suitable and substantial buildings, where father and son reside together.
Mr. Golder was one of the most active and prominent promoters of the Grange movement and was made first Master of the State organization. He represented Illinois four successive terms in the National Grange. In his native State he was actively interested in the militia and belonged to the cavalry. He was made Brigade Inspector under General I.I. Platt, and was a compeer of the late General Van Rensselaer. He is a Democrat in his political affiliations, and cast his first Presidential vote for Andrew Jackson. While in McHenry County he served as Supervisor and has been Justice of the Peace in the township where he now lives about 16 years.
The marriage of Mr. Golder to Caroline E. Lloyd occurred in Blanford, Hampden Co., Mass., June 3, 1833. Mrs. Golder was born in that county, and is the daughter of Isaac and Eunice (Gibbs) Lloyd, who were natives of Massachusetts, of English and Welsh descent. Her father died in his native State. The mother joined the daughter in McHenry Co., Ill., where she died. Joseph M. is the only son of Mr. and Mrs. Alonzo Golder, and both are represented by sketches on other pages. Ellen M. is their only daughter and is the wife of Alvin Roper of Washington Territory. The portrait of Mr. Golden which appears in this work accompanying the above sketch is engraved from a photograph taken in 1875, and presents the facial features of a worthy citizen of Whiteside County. [1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co Pg 485]
Judge Joseph Golder, is a resident of Sterling, and was born on the Hudson River, in Dutchess Co., N. Y., Sept. 20, 1814. His father, William Golder, was also a native of the Empire State, and a farmer; and his mother, me Mary Chase, was a native of Rhode Island. Judge Golder was only eight years of age when his mother died, and 12 years old when his father died. After the latter event he went to live with M. J. Conklin, his brother-in-law in Western New York, where he was a laborer on a farm and a pupil at school until he reached the age of 18 years. At the age of 22 he came to Illinois, and in 1838 he bought 200 acres in McHenry County, where he followed the vocation of a farmer until 1848. Being then elected Judge of Probate for that county, he sold out and moved to Woodstock, the county seat, where he remained four years in the discharge of his official duties. He was also Justice of the Peace for 12 years, and County Treasurer and Assessor, by appointment. In 1852 he left Woodstock and came to Sterling, this county, where he resided six years, when he bought a half section of land in Montmorency Township, this county, moved upon it and improved it. While there he was elected to the office of Supervisor, he resided there from 1858 to 1868, when he sold the place and returned to Sterling, where he has since made his home, with the exception of one winter spent in California, one in Texas and three in Florida.
In his political principles he is a Republican; both himself and Mrs. G. are members of the Congregational Church of Sterling. Judge Golder was married March 23, 1837, to Prudence S. Goodrich, a native of New York Stale, and they have had five children, four of whom are living, namely: William A., who was born May 30, 1838, married Hellen Green, and has two children, Hugh and Lena; Alonzo C, who was born April 4, 1840, and died April 2, 1862; Eliza I., who was born April 10, 1842, married L. C. Jenkins and has seven children, William, Harry, Lotta, Ella, Lewis, Robert and Prudence; Emma J., who was born March 22, 1845, and became the wife of Moses Dillon and the mother of Mary, Maggie, Alice, Joseph J. and Moses, Jr.; Ella A., who was born July 1, 1847,-and is now Mrs. N. G. Van Slant. [Portraits & Biographical 1885]
JOSEPH M. GOLDER
Of Montmorency Township
Joseph M. Golder, an agriculturist of extensive relations in Montmorency Township, and resident on seclion 10, was born March 8, 1834, in Dutchess Co., N. Y. He is the only son of Alonzo and Caroline E. Golder, of whom a sketch is presented on other pages. His education was obtained in the public schools, and he also attended a school of higher grade for a time. He has always lived with his parents; and on arriving at a suitable age he became associated with his father in business operations. He was 22 years of age when they made their joint purchase of land in Montmorency Township and he is the practical manager of their large estate, his father being now in advanced life. Mr. Golder is a Democrat in political sentiment. He is a useful and able citizen, and has officiated as School Treasurer 18 years and as Director six years. He has served for many years as Elder in the Presbyterian Church. He was married Dec. 11, 1861, in Montmorency Township, to Helen A Church. She was born Oct. 15, 1839, in Oswego Co., N. Y., and is the daughter of Artemus and Elizabeth (Peck) Church, who were both natives of the State of New York. John F., Carrie E., Lee and Ly1e (twins), William L. and Maud V., are the names of the children of Mr. and Mrs. Golder. The latter is also a member of the Presbyterian Church. [1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co, Pg 478]
WILLIAM S. GOODELL
Goodell, William S. merchant, Emerson P. O.; was born May 7, 1837, in Madison county, New York. At an early age he moved with his parents to Wyoming county, New York, where he remained until January 1862. The foundation of his education was laid in the common schools of the Empire State, and finished at Lima, New York. In 1863, he went to Ashtabula county, Ohio, and remained until 1865, being engaged in farming. He then moved to Whiteside county, Illinois, remaining until 1872, when he came to Emerson. He engaged in the stock and grain trade and in general merchandising until 1874, when the firm with which he had been connected as a member divided, and Mr. Goodell assumed the merchandising portion. He was married to Miss Mary E. daughter of Gilbert Cole, January 1, 1862, and to them have been born two sons, Frank E. and Fred R. Mr. Goodell and lady are both members of the Baptist church, of which Mr. G. is also a prominent official member. He is a large property holder, owning the Commercial hotel, and three residences, besides his fine residence and business block, and a farm of some 120 acres. the Goodell & Schaul elevator was built while the firm of that name was in existence. It is not necessary to say more of Mr. G., his business record is a history and a prophecy in itself. [Contributed by Mary K. (Cole) Ward, From "History of Mills County, Iowa," Indian Creek Township; State Historical Company, Des Moines, 1881, pp 711-712]
GEORGE E. GOODENOUGH
Of Union Grove Twp.
George E. Goodenough, farmer, section 10, Union Grove Township, was born April 11, 1843 in Jefferson Co. NY. He is the son of Willard A. & Jane (Hull) Goodenough. He was 22 years of age when he came with his parents to Whiteside County. He is one of the prominent agriculturist of Union Grove and is the owneer of 230 acres of land, the principal part of which is under cultivation. In political faith he is a Republican. He formed a matrimonial alliance with Mary DeGroodt, and they have four children - Minnie J., John W., Arhtur L. and Bertie E. John W. died when he was five months old. Mrs. Goodenough is the daughter of John & Mary DeGroodt, natives of NY. She was born Feb. 15, 1849 in Rockford IL and is a member of the Baptist Church, to which her husband also belongs. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside Co 1885 Pg 226]
WILLARD A. GOODENOUGH
Union Grove Twp
Willard A. Goodenough, farmer, section 10, Union Grove Twp., has been a resident of the saem farm which he now occupies since he first took possession of it at the time of his settling in the county in 1865. He is the third child of John & Betsy (Cobleigh) Goodenough. His parents wer natives of Vermont, and removed from there to Jefferson Co. NY, where they were farmers and reared their children, 11 in number. Mr. Goodenough was born March 24, 1822 in Jefferson Co NY, where he grew to manhood and there obtained a good common-school education. About the time he arrived at the period of his legal freedom, he bought a farm in his native county, on which he labored until his removal to Illinois in the year named. He made a purchase of 120 acres of land on the section where he has since maintained his homestead. He isn ow the owner of 230 acresof land which is the source of the wealth and prosperity of Whiteside County. It is chiefly under cultivation. He is a Prohibitionist in his political views. His marriage to Nancy J. Hull took place Jan. 13, 1842 in Oswego Co NY and they have been the parents of five children - George E., Esther J., Lewis E., Emma L. and Ella L. (Twins). Lewis died at the age of 16 months. Mrs. Goodenough was born Aug. 22, 1820 in Morristown, St. Lawrence Co NY and is the daughter of Nathaniel and Prudence (Fish) Hull. Her mother was born in Massachusetts and her father in Connecticut. They had four children. Mr. and Mrs. Goodenough are members of the Baptist Church. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 321]
of Sterling, Whiteside Co IL
Darius Gould, furniture dealer in the Farwell Block, on Locust Street, Sterling, was born March 9, 1824, lii Saratoga Co., N.Y. and was one year old when his parents, Tobias and Dina (Degroff) Gould (also natives of the Empire State), moved to Bradford Co., Pa., where his father, a farmer, died, in 1831: his mother died in Georgia, in 1875. On the death of his father, Mr. Gould went with his grandparents to Cayuga Co., N. Y., and remained with them until 17 years of age, attending school winters. He then went to Tioga County, same State, and served a three years apprenticeship at shoemaking. His health failing, he returned to Cayuga County and worked at carpentry three years, when he came to Genesee, this county, purchased a farm of 40 acres, cultivated it and also worked at his trade. This farm he sold in 186o, and purchased another in the same town, comprising 120 acres. Two years afterward he sold this farm also, went to Hickory Grove, bought 8o acres and followed farming there until 1870, when he sold out and moved to Sterling, where for 14 years he followed building by contracts, being very successful. Sometimes he had as many as ten men in his employ. Jan. 1, 1884, he purchased the interest of Joshua McKenny in the furniture and undertaking business. He has one partner, and now the firm of Stakemiller & Gould are enjoying a prosperous trade. Mr. Gould owns a house and lot on Sixth Street, between Locust and B, where he resides.
Politically, Mr. Gould is a Republican; religiously a consistent Christian gentleman being a member of the Baptist Church at Sterluig, to which body Mrs G. also belongs. He is also a Freemason.
Mr. Gould was married to Miss Lucy Ann Southard, of Cayuga Co., N. Y., March 17, 1848. she died in 1876, leaving four children, Francis A., William L., Sarah A., and Ida A. Mr. Gould was married a second time Sept. 5, 1877, to Mrs E.S. Phillips, of Sterling, and by this marriage there is one daughter, Jessie by name. [Portraits & Biographical of Whiteside County 1885 Pg. 310]
THOMAS C. GOULD
Of Lyndon Township
Thomas C. Gould was a native of Massachusetts, and first came to Whiteside county in 1837, and soon afterwards located on the bluff with Deacon Hamilton in Lyndon, and worked at his trade, that of blacksmithing. In 1841 his wife and family came, and he then moved into the village of Lyndon, where he continued to work at his trade until his eyesight failed him. He then purchased a farm two miles north of Lyndon, and resided upon it until his death, December 26, 1876. Mr. Gould was married to Miss Sarah Rock (Lock), in 1832. Their children have been: Thomas C., Jr., born October 5, 1833; Sarah L. born March 19, 1836; Lucy N., born March 3, 1838, and Nahum Harvey, born January 7, 1847. The latter died January 15, 1849. Thomas C., Jr. married Martha Pierce. Sarah L. married John W. Hazard, and Lucy N. married Henry E. Helms. They are all living in Lyndon township, Thomas C. Occupying the old farm. [Bent & Wilson History 1877]
WILLIAM F. GOULD
William F Gould was only about eighteen months old when his father died. He lived with his mother to the age of gourteen years and acquired a common-school education. He then traveled westward by steamer to Wisconsin, settling in what was then Racine county, bit is now Kenosha county. This was in 1844. A few years later, he retruned to the Empire state, taking up his abode in the town of Cato, Cayuga County, where he learned and followed the trade of a carpenter and joiner, being identified with building operations in the east for a number of years. In 1858 he came to Illinois, settling in Whiteside County, and for a time worked at his trade, after which he purchased a farm of forty-eight acres in Jordan township, on which a small frame house had been erected by the first settler, he being the second to locate there. Subsequently he bought forty acres more from the Illinois Central Railroad and still later another forty-acre tract from Joseph Sowles. He improved all this, bringing the land under a hight state of cultivation, his fields producing rich crops of cereals best adapted to sail and climate. Upon that place he made his home until 1882, when he rented his farm and took up his abode in Sterling, where he has since made his home. He followed his trade until about 1904, since which time he has lived retired. He was thus for twenty-two years identified with building operations in Sterling, and many substantial structures of the city are an indication of his handi-work and skill. He now owns a good home at No. 208 East Seventh Street, two other residences and still other town property. The lady who now bears his name and whom he wedded on the 14th of April, 1853, was in her naidenhood Miss Mary A Davis, a daughter Esek and Charlotte (Ward) Davis. The former was a son of Echabod Davis, who removed from Argyle to New Haven, New York, and ther died at an advanced age, while his wife, Peace Davis, passed away in middle life. They were the parents of ten children. The maternal grandparents of Mrs. Gould were Adam and Sarah Ward. The former was one of the patriots of the American Army in the Revoluntionary war and lived in Saratoga, New York. Esek Davis was a native of Argyle and his wife of Saratoga county, New York. They removed to New Haven, Oswego coutny, that state, where Mrs. Gould was born April 2, 1830. There the parents remained for some time and then went to Cayuga county, where her father died at the venerable age of ninety-seven years, while his wife reached the age of eighty-one years. They were the parents of nin children, four daughters and five sons, but only three are now living: Mrs. Mary A Gould; Martin L., of Cayuga County, New York; and Elizabeth E., the widow of John Laird and now a resident of Cayuga County, New York.
Mr. and Mrs. Gould have but two children. The elder, Charles W. Gould, who is conducting a typewriter exchange in Seatle, Washington, married Etta Depell, nowdeceased, nd to them were born three children, Mabel, Edna and William J. After losing his first wife, Charles W. Gould wedded Nettie Dudley. Frank E. Gould is a traveling salesman living in Chicago and married Margaret Tighe, by whom he has one child, Frank E.
Mr. and Mrs. Gould are members of the Baptist church and are much esteemed as people of genuine worth. He is a veteran of the Civil War, having enlisted on the 14th of March, 1865 as a member of Company E, Thirty-fourth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, with which he served until the close of hostilities. He was on detailed duty most of the time and after thet war returned to his farm. He in now a member of William Robinson Post, G A R of Sterling. He has been one of the world's workers and his diligence and persistency of purpose constitute the basis upon which he has builded the success that now enables hime to live retired.
Through the years of an active business career William F Gould followed farming and carpentering, but is now living retired in Sterling, his prosperity in former years supplying him withtne necessities and comforts and some of the luxuries of life. He has long since passed the Psalmist's span of three score years and ten, his birth having occurred in Bradford County, Pennsylvania, July 20, 1829. In bother the paternal and maternal lines he represents old families of the Empire state. His two grandfathers, William Gould and Gideon De Groff, were natives of New York, were farmers by occupation and lived to old age. Tobias Gould, father of our subject, was born in Saratoga County. New York, was reared to agricultural pursuits and made farming his life work. Removing to Pennsylvania, he settled in Bradford County, where he conducted a farm and also filled the office of coutny sheriff for a time. In early manhood he married Diana De Groff, likewise a vative of Saratoga County, New York. His death occurred in 1831 and his widow afterward married Samuel Scott. By her first marriage she had three sons and a daughter, of whom only William F Gould is now living. By her second husband she had two daughters, one of whom has passed away, while Mary Jone Scott in now the widow of Charles Ayers and resides in Sheldon, Iowa. [History of Whiteside County Pg 887; Contributed by Sheila Smith]
Of Portland Township
James Graham was born in Ireland in 1796, and came to the United. States in 1836. He settled in Portland in 1837. He married Miss Eliza Martin, and their children have been: Mary A., wife of John T. Reynolds, living in Portland; Eliza Jane, who married Burton T. Bosworth, and is now dead; Thomas W., who married Miss Sarah Dunbar, and lives in Portland; Emily, wife of Henry Marquet, living in California; Wesley, who married Miss Lucina Fuller, and lives in Portland; Eva, living in Portland; Margaret, wife of Willis Fuller, living in Portland; and Isabella, wife of Alfred Booth, living in Portland. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877, NOTE: Isabella & Alfred D. Booth are both buried at Grove Hill Cemetery. Their son Clarence A. Booth is also buried there, he married a woman named Ethel.]
WESLEY C. GRAHAM
Wesley C. Graham, Justice of the Peace and farmer of Spring Hill, is a son of James and Eiiza (Martin) Graham, and was born in Portland Township, this county, Dec. 14, 1845. His father, a farmer, was a native of Ireland, came to this country, resided in Cleveland, Ohio, then in Chicago for a time, and in 1837 or 1838 came to this county, settling in Portland Township, on 120 acres of land, which he had purchased, near Rock River; he died there, in September, 1865; the mother of the subject of this sketch still lives on her farm in this township. They had 12 children, eight of whom are living.
Mr. Graham was reared on the farm, and after working the homestead on his own account several years, he came, in 1874, to Spring hill and opened a general store. He conducted this alone a year, and then admitted to partnership Mr. A. D. Booth, and they managed the business together three years; then, dividing their stock, Mr. Graham was engaged in trade in Geneseo for two years. He then sold out there and returned to Spring Hill, purchasing 117 acres of land, where he is now conducting his agricultural pursuits. He is a Freemason in his social relations, and he has been Township Collector tow years and School Director of number of years. He was elected a Justice of the Peace in 1882, and re-elected in 1885. Mr. Graham was married in Spring Hill, Jan. 29, 1871, to Miss Lucina, daughter of Levi and Melissa Fuller. She was born in Portland, Sep. 20, 1843. The two children of Mr. and Mrs. Graham are Lorena Dell, born Nov. 13, 1871, and Franklin, May 16, 1875. [Contributed by Marji Turner Pg. 781; Whiteside County History 1880]
Of Portland Township
William Graham was born in Ireland, in 1792. He married Miss Rosa Murphy, the following the children of this marriage: Mary Ann, wife of Anthony Arnett, living in Colorado; Hercules, now dead, and Jane, wife of Fernando Jones, living in Chicago. Mrs. Jones is an active worker in behalf of all Public charities, and a prominent leader in the Woman’s Rights movement. [Bent & Wilson 1877 History of Whiteside County]
ABRAHAM L. GRATER
Of Clyde Twp.
Abraham L. Grater, general farmer on section 35, Clyde Township, was born Sept. 12, 1845, in Limerick Township, Montgomery Co., Pa. Henry and Elizabeth (Landis) Grater, his father and mother, were natives of the same county and were both descendants of German ancestors. The father was married twice and by the first marriage there were three children. Ten chlidren were born to the parents of Mr. Grater, and he is the fourth in order of birth. His father and mother now reside with him, and are aged respectively 76 and 72 years. When he was 18 years of age he left his father's household to learn the business of a carpenter, and entered upon an apprenticeship with his brother-in-law, Samuel E. Horning. After working under instructions three years, he operated as a journeyman, remaining some time in his native State, and in the city of Philadelphia . He was united in marriage Sept. 12, 1867, in his native county, to Hannah Spare. She was born in Limerick, Montgomery Co., Pa., Sept. 8, 1845, and is the daughter of William and Delana (Poley) Spare. She is four days older than her husband, and is the mother of seven children,-William H., Lizzie, Jacob W., John, Mary E., Benjamin F. and Abraham E. After marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Grater resided eight years in their native county, where the former engaged in farming. In April, 1875, they came. to Illinois and located on a farm in Clyde Township, situated near the projected village of Malvern, and during one year after locating there, Mr. Grater operated as a carpenter. He then engaged in farming, and he now owrls 75 acres of first-class land under excellent improvements. He is the owner of a herd of 33 cows of good grades and has for some time been engaged in the dairy business, in which he has met with satisfactory results. Mr. Grater is a Republican in political principles. He is a member of the Dunkard or Brethren Church, and in 1879 was made a Deacon. In 1883 he was elected minister and has since filled that position. Mrs. Grater is a member of the same religious denomination. [Portraits & Biographical Pg. 218]
Warren Graves, farmer, section 26, Ustick Township, was born April 18, 1830, in Lewis Co., N. Y., where he lived 22 years with his parents, David L. and Polly Graves. The family came in 1841 to Ustick Township. Both parents are deceased. Mr. Graves is the only survivor of four children born to his father and mother. His farm comprises 120 acres of land in a tillable condition. He was united in marriage July 3, 1856, at Sterling, Ill., to Mary, daughter of William Annan, a pioneer settler in Whiteside County. No children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Graves, but they have adopted Hattie, daughter of Henry Canfield, a resident of the city of Morrison. Mrs. Graves is a member of the Presbyterian Church. [Contributed by Marji Turner - Pg. 471, Whiteside County History 1880]
JOHN S. GREEN
OF Morrison, IL
John S. Green, dealer in drugs, books and stationery, at Morrison, and senior member of the firm of J. S. Green & Co., grain, lumber and coal merchants at the same place, was born Dec. 13, 1831, in Walton, Delaware Co., N. Y., and is the son of Thomas J. and Delilah N. (Fitch) Green. His father was a native of Vermont, where he was born Feb. 10, 1810. He went in early life to Walton, where he was married, his wife being a native of that place (born in July, 1812). In 1842 the family removed to Deposit, in the same State, where the demise of both parents occurred, that of the mother being in 1870, and that of the father in May, 1877. They had eight children, of whom six survive. Mr. Green of this sketch is the oldest. Sherman K. is a boot and shoe dealer at Kansas City, Mo. Charles H. is a salesman with the latter. Elizabeth N. is the wife of Lyman M. Fitch, a farmer of Walton, N. Y. Emma M. is the wife of Charles H. Bradshaw, of Galesbnrg, Ill. Eliza J. is unmarried. Mr. Green was about ten years of age when his parents removed from his native place to Deposit. His education was conducted with the judgment which characterizes the better classes in the mental training of their children, and he was sent for several years to an academy. After completing his course of study, he obtained a position as clerk and later as a station agent on the line of the Erie Railroad, in which capacity he operated until he was about 25 years of age.
In 1857 he went to Kansas City, Mo., where he was occupied as a book-keeper, and also became interested in speculations in real estate, in which he was occupied until the war between the North and South destroyed all business relations in the latter section. In April, 1862, Mr. Green closed his affairs in Missouri and came to Morrison. He formed a business opening in the drug trade, in which he has. since been interested, purchasing the stock of Dr. W. L. Coe. His business has been uniformly prosperous and the average value of the stock he carries is about $10,000. He employs three assistants and occupies the two lower stories and cellar of the building of which he is the proprietor. It is constructed of brick and is 21 by 52 feet in size. In December, 1883, the business firm of J. S. Green & Co. was formed, comprising Mr. Green, Vy. F. Johnson, a commission merchant of Chicago, and M. H. Potter, of Morrison. The business transactions of the house are extensive and include traffic in grain, coal, lumber, lime, salt, cement and all other building materials. In the last named commodities (builders' supplies) they hold a monopoly at Morrison, no other establishment in the city being similarly engaged. Their facilities for the transaction of their business are complete and consist of an elevator, lumber and coal-yard with sheds, limehouse and a dry-lumber room 50 by 98 feet in extent, the whole occupying an area of about two acres.
Mr. Green has been actively interested in municipal affairs since his location at Morrison and has served 12 years as City Tr.easurer. He has been Alderman two terms and officiated in other minor positions. Jan. 5, 1864, Mr. Green formed a matrimonial alliance with Nellie A., daughter of Harvey E. and Wealthy A. Williams. Their marriage took place at Dixon, Ill. Mrs. Green was born Oct 31, 1844, in Genesee Co, N. Y. Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Green as follows: Harvey S., April 9,1866; Ivy, July 6, 1869; Olive, June 28, 1877; and Florence M., Feb. 18, 1881. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885]
MOSES A. GREEN
of Ustick Township
Moses A. Green is one of the leading and progressive farmers of Ustick Township where he has been a resident since 1864. His farm of 200 acres is situated on section 1, and is, practically, all under cultivation. He was born Nov. 26,1817, in the township of Monroe, Licking Co., Ohio. Hazel Green, his father, was born in Virginia, and married Susanna Mullen, who was a native of Germany. After their marriage they settled in Ohio, in the county where I their son was born. The senior Green died there in August, 1841. Their children were 12 in number, and were named Moses A., Merinda, Diana, Noah, James, Lovica, Abner, Lucretia, Charity, Archibald, Emily and Malvina. The mother is yet alive.
Mr. Green was brought up in his native State, and. was there trained to the pursuit which he has followed all his life. In February, 1841, he came first to Whiteside County, and lived three years in Union Grove Township. In 1844 he went to Carroll County, where. he resided nearly 20 years, coming, in December, 1864, again to Whiteside County, having exchanged his property of the farm in Ustick Township, on which he has since operated. He is a Democrat in political views and connection, and he has held various township offices. He belongs to the Masonic Order.
The marriage of Mr. Green to Sarah M. Kent took place Sept. 27, 1838, in Licking Co., Ohio. She I was born in New Jersey. Their children were 13 in number, and the survivors are named as follows - Charlotte A., Nancy K, Abby M., Lewis D., Malvina and Naoma. Seven are deceased. The mother died suddenly Sept. 7, 1882, of heart disease, while attending a fair at Morrison. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885]
of Fulton Township, Whiteside Co IL
Richard Green came to Fulton from Bono, Lawrence county Indiana, on the 29th of September 1849 and engaged in business as a merchant, opening first in the old store building of Chenery & Phelps, just above the present Pottery, where he remained for 2 years and then sold out to Martin Knox. After that he moved into a new brick store built expressly for him. This building stood next to the present residence of Mr. W. P. Hall. He sold goods there for 4 years and then moved his store into his present dwelling house and continued business there for over 3 years and closed out in 1860 to enter into the grain trade, in which he remained until 1870. The store, however, was again opened in 1866 in his dwelling house and remained there for a year in charge of his son, Wm. C Green 2d , and then moved to the present corner, his son continuing in charge until 1870, the firm being R. Green & Son. This firm continued until 1877, when another son, Nathaniel, entered the partnership and the firm became R Green & Sons. The Store now occupied by the firm is a fine, substantial brick one, 75 feet deep, 24 wide, 2 stories in height with cellar under the whole building and was built by the firm in 1877. The largest stock of dry goods in Fulton is kept in this store. Mr. Green has been one of the leading business men in Fulton ever since he became a resident, and among other public positions has been supervisor and collector of the town. He was also Postmaster at Bono Indiana before he came to Whiteside. [Source: Pg 189, Bent-Wilson; 1877. **Note - Richard Green 22 July 1814 - 27 December 1886 is buried at Fulton Cemetery as is his wife Cornelia P. (Johnson), 1836 - 1917. They were married in Whiteside County 20 August 1854 B#172. In the same family plot lies Nathaniel Green, 14 August 1855 - 16 December 1922, along with his wife Sarah "Elizabeth" Baker, 28 November 1857 - 16 June 1937, they were married 24 May 1882 #5812 in Whiteside County]
WILLIAM CLARK GREEN
OF Fulton, IL
William C. Green, (1st) - this "1st" is used to distinguish Mr. Green from a nephew of the same name - Mayor of Fulton, and by occupation a wagon and carriage maker, was born in Bono, Lawrence Co., Ind., Dec. 14, 1822, and is the son of David and Margaret C. (Coots) Green. He was brought up upon his father's farm, and varied farm life by running flat-boats between Bona and New Orleans, carrying produce to market. He became expert as a pilot, and made a great many flat-boat trips. He also learned the carpenter and boat-builders trade, at which he worked several years. He came to Fulton in the middle of October, 1849, and was engaged for a time with his brothers, N. and R. Green, in merchandising. He quit the store, and spent one year an a farm near Fulton. He then returned to the city, and re-entered the store with his brothers, and continued with then till the business was closed, in 1860. He then engaged at carpenter work and in 1864 opened a wagon and carriage shop, since which time he has carried on the business continuously. He was married at Fulton, Nov. 21, 1850, to Mrs. Harriet Carpenter, widow af Ralph Carpenter, and daughter of Jesse and Mary (Webb) Johnson. Mrs. Green was born in Lowville, Lewis Co., N. Y. She had two children by her former marriage, a son and daughter. The son, Ralph, was a soldier. of the late war, and died in his country's service at Kennerville, La. The daughter, Minnie, is the wife of Joseph Pierce, of Green County. Mrs.Green's father, Jesse Johnson, was among the pioneers of Fulton of 1838. Mr. and Mrs. Green have four children, two sons and two daughters: Harriet E., William E., Clarence and Clara, the last two being twins. Mr. Green has frequently been chosen to fill public positions of honor and trust. He has served as School Director 14 years, and as Alderman four years; is now serving his sixth year as Assessor and his third term as Mayor of Fulton. He is also the present Clerk and Director of the School Board. In politics he is a Democrat, of the Stephen A. Douglas school. It is no idle compliment to say of Mr. Green that he has always discharged the duties of office with ability and fidelity, while his private life is without reproach. His fellow citizens paid him the handsome compliment, in the spring of 1885, of electing him the third time as Mayor, and without opposition. Mrs. Green is a member of the Presbyterian Church of Fulton. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885.]
ADDED NOTES: William Clark Green, 14 December 1822 - 15 July 1896, is buried at the Fulton Cemetery next to his wife Harriet Johnson Carpenter, 1828 - 1887
Also buried in the family plot:
. Daughter Clara (1858 - 1904)
. Daugher Harriet E. (1857 - 1928)
. Son Clarence (September 16, 1858 - January 14, 1938) - twin brother of Clara.
. Next to him is who I believe to be his wife Laura G, April 3, 1858 - Oct. 13, 1950.
. Bruce Clarence Green 17 Aug 1886 - 18 Sep 1908 who I suspect is the son of Clarence and Laura
. Next to Bruce is Helen Green (probably his wife) Feb. 3, 1885 - July 30, 1885
SAMUEL H. GREENAWALT
Samuel H. Greenawalt, dealer in grain, coal and lumber at Galt and Round Grove, was born Jan. 18, 1841, in Franklin Co., Pa. His father, Jacob Greenawalt, was born in Pennsylvania and there married Mary Diehl, also a native of the same State. Their 12 children were born in Franklin County, where the father died, in 1865. The mother survives. Mr. Greenawalt is the seventh child of his parents. He received the advantages of the common schools of his native county, where he remained during his minority, serving meanwhile two years in the shop of his father, who was a tailor. On arriving at the age of 21 years he came to Illinois. After passing a y ear in Lee County, where he worked on a farm, he came in 1863 to Whiteside County and passed the first season as a farm laborer. In the winter of 1864-5 he engaged as a clerk in a general mercantile establishment, and afterwards entered the machine shop of Galt & Tracy. He continued in their employment until the fall of 1866, when he formed a partnership with J. K. Carolus. The firm style becoming Carolus & Greenawalt. They transacted a business in general merchandise at Empire until the spring of 1885, when they disposed of their stock, in order to devote themselves exclusively to the management of the trade in which they now operating, and which they inaugurated in 1881 at Galt, their firm style being transposed, and their business has since been managed under that of Greenawalt & Carolus. They have a branch establishment at Round Grove. Mr. Greenawalt is a Democrat in political sentiment and he has been Clerk of Hopkins Township four years. He is a member of the I. O. O. F., and belong to the English Lutheran Church, with which his wife is also connected. He was united in marriage in 1866 at Sterling, Ill,, to Melinda, daughter of George and Elizabeth (Kuhn) Carolus, and is the sister of the business associate of her husband. She was born in April, 1842 in Franklin Co, Pa., and came in April, 1862 to Whiteside County. Ollie M. and Frank H. are the names of the two children of Mr. and Mrs. Greenawalt. [Contributed by Marji Turner - Portraits & Biographical]
One of the leading and extensive agriculturists of Whiteside County, residing on section 12, Lyndon Township, a son of Benjamin T. and Hetty (Wilson) Greene, and grandson of William and Mary A. Greene, also of Tibbets and Phoebe Wilson. He was born at Willett, Cortland Co., N. Y., March 13, 1822. His father was a native of Rhode Island, and a member of the New York State Militia during the War of 1812. He was a farmer by occupation, and went to Cortland County with his parents in 1809, where he resided and followed his vocation until the date of his death. Giles Greene was reared on a farm and educated at the Cortland and Oxford Academies. He commenced teaching at the age of 18, and continued in that profession winters and farmed summers, until after the death of his parents in 1853, when he came west, arriving in this county in 1854, and locating in Lyndon Township. He made his first purchase of land in 1854, in the township where he has since lived, and where he has risen to prominence through his own efforts and judicious management. His land, at the time of purchase, was located on sections 1 and 12, and included about 15 acres which had been plowed. It could boast also of a frame house of diminutive proportions and a straw stable. From this beginning Mr. Greene has progressed by the usual methods of energy, industry and thrift until he owns 750 acres of land, in excellent condition for progressive farming. The buildings for the protection of his fine stock are of the most approved construction, and are admirably adapted to their purposes. At Cincinnati, Cortland Co., N. Y., Feb. 6, 1855, Mr. Greene was married to Laura Mann, daughter of Aristarchus and Sophia (Kneeland) Mann, and grand-daughter of Oliver and Content (Hill) Mann; also of Daniel and Grace Kneeland. Mrs. Greene was born at Franklin, Delaware Co., N. Y., Dec. 27, 1827. Their family consists of five children, namely: Hattie, Mary, Ray, Ben and Stark Greene, all of whom reside at home. [Portrait and Biographical 1885]
JAMES G. GRIDLEY
Of Union Grove Twp., Whiteside Co IL
James G. Gridley, one of the prominent land-holders in Union Grove Twp., resident on section 12, became a citizen of Whiteside County in 1855. He located at Morrison, then in its first year of existence, and his genius as a mechanic was in immediate requisition to meet the demands of the throng of new comers to the incipient city. He was active in the work of incorporation, and was elected one of the first Trustees. He was a member of the Board for several successive years, and he was a resident there until 1861. He was the builder of the main part of the school building at Morrison, and the church edifice of the First Presbyterian Society. He built the second warehouse in Morrison, which is now occupied as a livery stable by M.G. Preston, and, in partnership with L.H. Robinson and J.V. Giles successively, engaged in the business of shipping grain and stock, and in the sale of lumber. On relinquishing his business at morrison, he purchased a farm in the township of Ustick. He is now a resident of Union Grove and is the owner of 500 acres of land in the county, which is all practically under excellent cultivation.
Mr. Gridley was born Oct. 1, 1811 at Middleburgh Schoharie Co NY and is the son of John & Margaret (Stopplebeen) Gridley. His parents were born in the state of NY and had nine children. Mr. Gridley is the third and he grew to man's estate in the place where he was born. Previous to his removal to Whiteside County, he lived some years in the counties of Columbia and Otsego.
He has been thrice married. His first to Jane E. Miller, in Columbia Co NY, June 11, 1837 and they had three children - Margaret, Stephen and Rachel. The oldest child is the wife of Joseph Sholes of NE. Rachel died at Moline IL Oct. 15, 1877. (Rachel married William Clendenin. They had 3 children Robert Gridley Clendenin, Frank Joy Clendenin & Mabel H. Clendenin). Mrs. G. died Jan. 4, 1849 and Mr. Gridley was again married Oct. 15, 1850 to Sarah J. Duffin in Otsego Co NY where she died, Nov. 8, 1854. He was a third time married June 2, 1857 in Columbia Co NY to Sarah J. Hornfager, and they have three children - John, Charles E. and Mary. The youngest daughter died Feb. 24, 1883 in Union Grove twp. when 17 years of age. Mrs. Gridley was born Oct 3, 1822 in Columbia NY. Mr. Gridley is a Democrat and has held varous local official positions. [Portraits and Biographical 1885 Pg 335]
LEWIS L. GRIFFEN
General farmer and stock- raiser, section 20, Tampico Township, was born Sept. 30, 1834, near Lake George, Town of Bolton, Warren Co., N. Y., his parents being Garles B. and Lucinda (Kenney) Griffin, natives also of the Empire State. His father was a follower of agriculture. Until 25 years of age Mr. Griffin was an inmate of his paternal home, being brought up on the farm and in attendance at the common schools. After marriage he resided in the town of Chester, Warren County, for two years, when, in 1865, he came West and settled in Sugar Grove, Kane Co., IL. After a year's residence there he removed to Bristol Township, Kendall County, this State; thence to Piano, same county; and in 1872 he settled upon the quarter section where he now resides. His farm is well improved, and he makes a specialty of raising fine Durham cattle. Mr. Griffin was married in his native county and township, Jan. 29, 1860, to Miss Emily, daughter of John R. and Judith (Bradt) Bradley, natives of the Empire State. Mrs. Griffin was born in Rensselaer Co., N. Y., May 26, 1843, and when they were, three years of age her parents moved with their family to Bennington Co., Vt. and nine years afterward to Warren Co., M. Y. Mr. and Mrs. Griffin are the parents of three children, namely. Marvin L., who married Miss Flora Winchell and resides in; Tampico; Dora, who married Joseph Scherett and lives in Logan Township, Ida Co., Iowa; and Hattie, who married Marion LuDue, and is a resident of Prophetstown. Mr. Griffin is a staunch Republican. [Portrait & Biographicals 1885]
Henry M. Grinnold, deceased, a pioneer of Whiteside County, and in his life time a resident of Fulton, was born in the State of New York, Jan. 1, 1813, and removed in his youth with his parents to Berkshire Co., Mass. He learned the shoemaker's trade in the town of Egremont, of that county, and in 1838 came to Whiteside Co., IL, settling near Thompson. He was married July 18, 1939, in the township of Garden Plain, to Miss Eliza T. Parker, daughter of Abel and Eleanor (Howe) Parker. Mrs. Grinnold was born in Wells Township, Ruthland Co VT. March 10, 1823. Her people were from Connecticut, and had moved to Wells about the time of the war of 1812-14. Her father carried on milling extensively at Wells, and emigrated to Garden Plain, this county, in 1836. Mr. G. had a fine farm of 160 acres at Garden Plain Corners, but he worked at his trade more or less, and in 1854 opened a general store in Fulton. In 1855 he moved his family to the city, where they have continued to reside. He continued in business till Oct. 1858, when he was burned out, sustaining a heavy loss. In the spring of 1859, when the Pike's Peak gold fever was geginning to rage, Mr. Grinnold became infected with it and made a trip to the mountains, hoping also to improve his health, which was greatly impaired. He returned in the fall of that year somewhat encouraged, spent the winter at home, and the following spring set out for Pike's Peak again. During the summer his health failed rapidly, and he started for the home which he was never destined to reach, his death occurring on the road Aug. 11, 1860. Mr. and Mrs. Grinnold had eight children; Henry the eldest, was accidentally shot on the cars, while traveling in the West, and killed; John died aged 16 years; Jones an dLydia E. died in infancy; Mellie A. is residing with her mother at Fulton; William S. died aged five years; Mary E. died aged 21 years; and Hattie, the youngest resides with her mother. Mr. Grinnold was a Republican and while a resident of Garden Plain held the offices of Justice of the Peace and Town Clerk. Mrs. G. and daughters are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. [Portraits and Biographical - Whiteside County IL 1885]
CHARLES A. GRISWOLD
One of the leading physicians of Western Illinois, and the oldest resident medical practitoner of Fulton, was born in Saybrook, Conn., Nov. 24, 1830, and is the son of Selah and Rosana (Bull) Griswold. His father was a descendant of the Griswold family prominent in the early history of Connecticut, after whom Fort Griswold was named, and whose membership included one Governor of the Slate. The grandfather of Dr. Griswold was a pensioner of the War of the Revolution, while his father was a pensioner of the War of 1812-14.
Charles A. received his primary education at Cheshire, Conn., entered Yale College, where he took a regular course, and graduated in the class of 1852. He took two courses of medical lectures at Yale, and spent three years in study in connection with the State Lunatic Asylum, at Utica, N. Y. He finished one course at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, of New York City, and received the degree of M. D., in March, 1856, from the last named institution. He came to Fulton, Ill. early in September, 1856, and, unlike most young physicians, he entered upon a successful practice almost immediately. He pursued his profession at Fulton till October, 1862, when he entered the service of the Government, in the late war, as Assistant Surgeon of the 93d Regiment, Ill. Vol. Inf. He was in the Yazoo Pass expedition, in the siege of Vicksburg, and entered the city after its surrender, remaining there till September. He was at the battle of Mission Ridge, and followed Sherman in his celebrated march to the sea. He was detailed for special duty on many occasions, and in December, 1864, he was promoted to Regimental Surgeon of the 93d. He served in the 15th and 17th Army Corps, till the close of the war, and was mustered out in July, 1865, having served three years, without meeting with a casualty, or failing for a day to be on hand for duty. While he endured many hardships incident to army life, his experience gained on the field, especially in surgery, has amply repaid him. In fact, his term of service in the late war marks an epoch in his life, of which he may well be proud, while the vivid recollection of the scenes through which he passed, often terrible, and sometimes humorous, will always supply interesting matter for retrospection.
After his return from the war, the Doctor resumed his practice at Fulton, and has steadily advanced to an honorable position in his profession. He was prominently identified with the Union Medical Society, of Whiteside Co., Ill., and Clinton Co., Iowa, and is also a member of the Whiteside County Medical Society. He was appointed Delegate to the American Medical Association, which convened at Minneapolis, Minn., in June, 1882- He was connected with the Northern Illinois College three years, during which time he lectured on Physiology, Anatomy and Hygiene. He was appointed Examiner of Pensions, on his return from the war, and has held that position continuously since. He has held various local offices, having served as Mayor of Fulton in 1868, Supervisor of Fulton Township two terms, and three terms as School Director. He has been a Freemason many years, and is a member of Fulton City Lodge, No. 189, A. F. & A. M., of which he has been Master four years.
Dr. Griswold was married at Cleveland, Ohio, July 5, 1866, to Miss Alice E. Smith. They had four children, three daughters and one son, namely: Marietta Alice; Joe Adelaide, born March 8, 1870, died Sept. 30, 1870; Henrietta Beaumont; Charles Richard, born Dec. 1, 1874, died July 19, 1875. Marietta and Henrietta, his surviving children, are attending school at Cleveland, under the care of relatives. Mrs. Griswold died Dec. 10, 1874. The Doctor has been addicted to literary pursuits, more or less, as the spirit moved him, and has been a liberal contributor to the local press. At one time he was associate editor of the Fulton Advertisery a Republican paper of this city, since changed to the Journal. He is a terse and expressive writer, whose articles are always of interest, on whatever subject he may touch. In politics he is a "stalwart Republican." He has always taken a lively interest in politics, and has done good service for the party. He has been a delegate to many local conventions.
There is one episode in the Doctor's life that he will never forget, and from the effects of which he will never fully recover. He was returning from Connecticut, where he had been to attend the funeral of his father, who died in his 97th year, and was a passenger on the ill-fated train that made the fearful plunge through the Ashtabula bridge, Dec. 29, 1876, a distance of 140 feet, to the river below! He was taken from the wreck in an insensible condition, but with whole bones. He is satisfied that one such experience in a lifetime is enough. [Portraits & Biographical 1885]
DAVID B. GROVE
David B. Grove, farmer, residing on section 3, Hahnaman Township, is a son of David and Margaret (Bruner) Grove, natives of Pennsylvania, in which State they resided until their death. Their family consisted of six children, namely: Charles, David, Philip, Mary, Anna and Catharine. David B. Grove, subject of this biographical notice, was born in Bucks Co., Pa., Aug. 15, 1828. He received the advantages afforded by the common schools of his native county and was engaged in mercantile pursuits until he came to this county, in 1855. On arrival here he located at Sterling, where he continued to reside until 1864. During that year he returned to his native State and engaged in the hardware business in Philadelphia. He continued in the business at the place last named until 1878, when he returned to this county and settled in Hahnaman Township. Mr. Grove had previously, in 1860, purchased 155 acres on section 3, Hahnaman Township, and on this land he settled, on his return to the county in 1878, and entered vigorously and energetically upon its cultivation. About 140 acres of the tract is in good tillable condition. Mr. Grove was united in marriage in Montgomery Co., Pa., Nov. 15, 1849, to Elizabeth, daughter of Jacob and Mary (Smith) Sorver, natives of that State, and where they resided until their death. Their family comprised nine children, namely: Oliver, Elmira, Joseph, Mary, Elizabeth, Jacob, John, Barbara and Jennie. Mrs. Grove was born in Montgomery Co., Pa., Aug. 12, 1830. She and her husband are the parents of six children, namely: Cordelia, Lizzie, David V., Edward E., Mary and Kate. Politically, Mr. Grove is a Democrat. [Portraits and Biographical Whiteside County History 1880]
ELAM R. GRUBB
Of Genesee Township
Elam R Grubb, farmer and blacksmith, resident on section 33, Genesee Township, was born April 1, 1842, in Lancaster Co., Pa. The sketch of his parents, Samuel and Mary (Rowe) Grubb, may be found on other pages. Of two sons, which comprise the entire number of children, Mr. Grubb is the younger. He attended school in his native county from a suitable age until he was 14, when his parents removed to Sterling. There he was engaged in study one year. Meanwhile, his father purchased a farm in Genesee Township, to which the family removed, and father and sons entered into the work of establishing a home, such as was possible on the prairie, that only needed the application of the commonest methods of agriculture to respond generously. Mr. Grubb worked on the farm summers and went to school winters for some years. He remained unmarried until he was 28 years old. Feb. 27, 1870, he formed a matrimonial alliance with Eliza A., daughter of Charles B. and Jane (Loudon) Peugh, of whom a personal account is inserted in this work. Mrs. Grubb was born Oct. 11, 1848, in Washington Co., Ind. She was a child of four years when her parents came to Illinois and settled in Genesee Township in its days of first things, a condition of things fully realized by Mrs. Grubb, as she was one of the oldest children. She is the mother of two children: Charles L., born Aug. 11, 1871, and Fanny A., Oct. 7, 1876. Mr. and Mrs. Grubb settled on 40 acres of land, which had been purchased by the former previous to his marriage, and was then totally unimproved. He had made it ready for a home, and on removing thither pressed the work of improvement. He has purchased an additional tract of 80 acres, and has improved the entire quantity. Mr. Grubb is a Republican. Mrs. Grubb has been a member of the Christian Church since she was 16 years of age. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 239]
Of Genesee Township
Nehemiah Grubb, farmer, section 33, Genesee Township, was born Dec. 4, 1840, in Lancaster Co., Pa. He is the oldest of two sons born to Samuel and Mary (Row) Grubb, of whom a sketch appears on other pages of this work, and that of Elam R., the younger son, appearing elsewhere, gives a complete record of the Grubb family in Genesee Township. Mr. Grubb was about 14 years of age when the family abandoned their native State and came to Illinois. They came at once to Whiteside County and settled for the first year in Sterling. In the second year (1855) the parents bought a farm on section 33, Genesee Township. The sons had obtained a fair education, and on taking possession of their homestead the father and sons gave their undivided attention to the conversion of the hitherto untilled prairie into a valuable and fertile farm. Mr. Grubb became the possessor of 40 acres of land previous to his marriage, which was situated on the same section as that purchased by his father, and on which he began to make improvements. He was married July 7, 1870, in Hopkins Township, to Amanda, daughter of Peter and Charlotte (Mellengar) Gara. The family of the wife were natives of Lancaster County, and were of German ancestry and descent. They were farmers and came to Illinois in 1865. Mrs. Grubb is the oldest child and was born in Lancaster County, Nov. 7, 1850, and she was 15 years of age when she came with her father’s family to Illinois. Mr. and Mrs. Grubb have one child, Frank R.,--who was born Jan. 2, 1871. After their marriage they took possession of the small farm where Mr. Grubb had prepared a home for his family. It has been enlarged and now contains 80 acres, all of which is under improvements, with buildings and equipments suited to a farmer who is making a substantial start in the world. Mr. Grubb is a Republican of decided type. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 240]
Samuel Grubb is a farmer on section 33, Genesee Township. His parents, George and Catherine (Smith) Grubb, were natives of Pennsylvania and belonged by parentage and descent, on the mother’s side, to the Dutch of the Keystone State. The ancestors of the father came from Germany. He was a mechanic and both he and his wife resided all their lives in Lancaster Co., Pa. They have been some years deceased. Mr. Grubb is the second of 11 children born to his parents, his birth-place being Lancaster County. He was married there to Mary Rowe. She was born in the same county and is descended from German parents. Mr. and Mrs. Grubb have two sons, Nehemiah and Elam R., who are represented by sketches on other pages of this work. They continued their residence in their native State 14 years after their marriage, and in 1854 Mr. Grubb came West. He traveled by railroad to Chicago, and from there to Sterling by stage. A year later the family located on a farm in Genesee Township, on which they were the first settlers. It contains 80 acres, and from its original condition has all been converted into a tillable and valuable farm. The place gives unmistakable evidence of first-class management. Mr. Grubb is a Republican of decided principles, and is well known for his efforts in behalf of the general welfare. [Whiteside County History, 1880, Transcribed by Christine Walters]
DAVID B. GSELL
Farmer, located on section 7, Clyde Township, was born Dec. 15, 1852, in Franklin Co., Pa., and is the son of William and Maria (Burkhart) Gsell, for an extended sketch of whom see the biography of Wm B. Gsell on another page. The family removed to Whiteside County, wither an older son had come the previous year, in 1864. Mr. Gsell was then 13 years of age, and he had passed his boyhood in his native State, obstaining a rudimentary education, to which he materially added by further attendance at school in clyde Township, which he maintained until he reached the period of his legal freedom. Whe he was 21 years of age he engaged in farming, in which he ha since contnued with the exception of one year which he spent in Johnson Co., Neb. He married Feb. 25, 1879, to Margaret M., daughter of John and Jane (Blue) Wilson, a biographical sketch of whom appears in connection with that of William Gsell, who married another daughter. Mrs. Gsell was born April 28, 1857, in clyde Township, and was educated in the district school and lived with her parents until marriage. She is the mother of two children, - Clifford, born Nov. 7, 1880, and Maud, born Nov. 18, 1884. Mr. Gsell is a Republican and his wife is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. His farm contains 72 acres of well-improved land. [Whiteside County History, 1880]
John Gsell, deceased, was formerly a resident upon section 30, Clyde Township, and was born Feb. 21, 1842, in Franklin Co., Pa. The full biographical sketch of his parents may be found in the account of William Gsell, which appears elsewhere in this work. Mr. Gsell was brought up on his father's farm, and was carefully trained in a knowledge of the details of agriculture, in which hewas engaged all his life. He lived at home until he was 21 years of age, and, a few months after reaching that period, he became a householder. His marriage to Elizabeth Elter took place in Franklin Co., Pa., Oct. 25, 1863. She is the daughter of John and Mary (Huber) Elter. Her father was a German by birth and was educated in his native land. He came in young manhood to the United States, and his passage across the ocean was memorable for its lenth and hardships. The scarcity of food necessitated the use of bread which had become so moldy from age tht clouds of dust would fly from it when the peices were bitten. Mr. Elter located in Pennsylvania and married his wife at Rocky Springs in the same State. He was a farmer, and, after their marriage, the parents of Mrs. Gsell always lived in the same place. The mother died in 1841, when her daughter was but five years of age. The father was a second time married, and died of paralysis about 1861, after he had attained to a great age. Their family included four daughters and two sons. The surviving children of Mr. and Mrs. Gsell were born as follows: Aaron, May 25, 1865; Maria, Jan. 20, 1867; Barbara, July 23, 1868; Sarah, June 13, 1870; William John, Oct. 8, 1873. They have all been educated with care in the public schools. Two children died in infancy. After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Gsell lived on a farm in Franklin co., Pa., about two years, when they removed to Illinois. They settled on one of the best located farms in Clyde Township, which they improved in the best possible way until it was greatly increased in value by the character of the buildings, stock and fixtures. Mr. Gsell died Sept. 8, 1880. He was Republican and member of the Mennonite Church. Mrs. Gsell retains in her own right 133 acres of the original homestead estate, and is its manager. She belongs to the Dunkard Church. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 278]
WILLIAM B. GSELL
William B. Gsell, farmer, section 30, Clyde Township, ws born Feb. 15, 1854, near Chambersburg, Franklin Co., Pa. William Gsell, his father, was a farmer, and was also a native of the State of Pennsylvania, where he attained to the estate of manhood, and married Maria Burkhart. In 1864, the family removed to Clyde Township, where they settled on section 30. The father died Sept. 8, 1881, aged 61 years. He was the proprietor of 627 acres of land which, upon his decease, was divided among his 11 heirs. His death occurred in Ustick Township, where the mother still resides, and has reached the age of 64 years. Mr. Gsell obtained a practical common-school education, and passed 21 years of his life under the guardianship of his father. The two years, subsequent he lived with his oldest brother. He was married Oct. 7, 1879, in Sterling, at the residence of Rev. J. T. Mason, to Katie Wilson. John Wilson, her father, was born in Scotland, and married Jane Blue, who was born in Nova Scotia of Scotch parentage. They were married in Whiteside County, whither they had come a short time previous. They were thereafter residents of Whiteside County, and were among the agricultural class. The father died March 9, 1883, in Clyde Township. The mother is 69 years of age. Mrs. Gsell was born in Clyde Township, Nov. 9, 1861, and is the mother of one child, Earl, born Aug. 18, 1882. After the event of his marriage Mr. Gsell located on 115 acres of land on section 30, Clyde Township, and has every prospect of a successful career as a farmer. He is a Republican and has held several official positions i the township. Both himself and wife occupy a good social standing, and are generally esteemed. [Portraits & Biographical 1885]
DAVID DANIEL GUILES
OF Sterling Township
Daniel David Guiles was born November 3, 1819, near Saratoga Springs, New York, and came to Sterling in 1837. He married Miss Eliza Ann Platt, March 1833. Their children were: Edgar P., born September 14, 1835, Sarah, born January 14, 1838; Phoebe Adelia, born November 22, 1840; Ellen M., born June 13, 1843; Charles U., born July 22, 1846; George, born March 3, 1849; d Mary E., born December 20, 1852. Edgar P. died in 1841, at Sterling. Sarah married M. S. Andrews, June 16, 1856. Phoebe Adelia married W. B. Chambers, December 25, 1855. Ellen M. married Crila C. Ellis, November 20, 1862. Mrs. Guiles died October 22, 1854, and Mr. Guiles married Mrs. Amanda Augustine, August 19, 1857. He succeeded John D. Barnett as Postmaster Sterling. [Whiteside Co. History, Bent & Wilson 1877 Pg 402. **NOTE: Daniel married Mrs. Amanda Augustine in LaSalle Co IL and had relocated to that area by 1880]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright Genealogy Trails