PETER A. QUACKENBUSH
Of Mt. Pleasant Twp., Whiteside Co IL
Peter A. Quackenbush, section 10, Mt. Pleasant Twp. has been a farmer in Whiteside County since 1856. He was born June 25, 1828 in Montgomery Co. NY. His parents, Peter P. and Magdalene (Speaker) Quackenbush, were also born in the Empire state. Mr. Quackenbush of htis sketch had one sister, Margaret A., who was his senior in birth. In his native state he was principally interested in mercantile pursuits, and in Feb. of the year named as that in which he removed to Whiteside County, he located in the township of Mt. Pleasant. His first farm consisted of 75 acres, which he purchased, and on which he located, putting into effective operation the purposes of his change of location and calling. He has added by subsequent purchase, and is now the owner of a valuable farm of 160 acres all under tillage. Mr. Quackenbush is identified with the Republican party. He was first married Dec. 12, 1850 in Montgomery Co. NY to Harriet Becker. She was born in the Empire state and accompanied her husband to Illinois. She died Aug. 11, 1861 in the township of Mt. Pleasant. He wsa united in marriage Jan. 9, 1862 to Harriet Drum at Sterling. To them four children have been born - Maggie M., Ainsley, Estella and Edward D. The mother was born Aug. 21, 1841 in Schoharie Co NY. Her parents, John adn Margaret (Becker) Drum, were born in NY and they had 11 children - Mary, Julia, Martha, Delevan, George, Melissa, Harriet, Lucy,Clarissa, Ellen and Nancy. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 296]
BENJAMIN STOUT QUICK
OF Albany, IL
Benjamin S. Quick was born in the town of Hopel, Hunterdon New Jersey, on the 20th of December, 1815. When quite young he went to Cayuga county, N. Y., and from thence to Louisville, Kentucky. From the later place he came to Albany, arriving July 17, 1839, and after clerking a time for W. S. Barnes, engaged in wagon making, his original trade.
On the 5th of April, 1843, he married Miss Mary Ann Slaymaker at Cordova, Rock Island county, Illinois. Miss Slaymaker was born at Williamstown, Lancaster, Pa., in June 1817. They have had four children, George D., born July 3, 1847, Margaret C. born July 15, 1850; Jane, born August 20, 1852, and Benjamin H., born December 3, 1856. George D. married Miss Villa Booth, and resides in Albany, Margaret C. married James H. Ege, and resides in Minneapolis, Minn., and Jane married Edwin Beckwith, and resides in Albany. All of the children are living.
Besides the wagon and carriage business Mr. Quick is engaged in merchandising and in the grain and stock business during his long residence in Albany, the latter of which he still follows. Although averse to holding any public position his fellow citizens have called upon him to hold several town offices, as well as the School Directorship for the town. He has always been an active, energetic business man. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
FRANK D. RAMSAY
Of Morrison, Whiteside Co IL
Frank D. Ramsay, attorney at Morrison, is one of the leading lawyers of Whiteside County, of which he is a native. Luther B. Ramsay, his father, is a pioneer of the county, and came here from his native State when he was at the threshold of manhood. He was born Sept. 19, 1818, and in 1839 came to the township of Coloma, as an assistant of Leonard H. Woodworth, chief engineer in the construction of the canal around the rapids in the river above Rock Falls. He spent six months in the work, meanwhile securing a claim in territory that is now included in the township of Hume. In the fall of 1839 he went back to his native State, returning in the autumn of the succeeding year to take possession of his property in Hume Township. He removed thence in 1843 to Prophetstown, and has since been a resident of that township. He has been prominent in its agricultural development, and is the proprietor of one of the magnificent farms which gives Whiteside County its prestige among the agricultural districts of Illinois. The farm contains 320 acres and its contiguous to the village of Prophetstown,w here Mr. Ramsay is now living in retirement, after a life of unusual activity. He spent some years in mercantile business at Prophetstown.
Caroline M. (Smith) Ramsay, his wife, wsa born in May 1827 in Poultney, Rutland Co VT. Her parents, Stephen D. and Tilly (Manly) SMith, settled at Prophetstown in 1840, where they are still living. Mr. Smith was born in 1798 and is 87 years of age. In 1855 he purchased a farm adjoining the village of Prophetstown, in which he then resided; and in 1871 it was platted and a portion of the village is now located thereon. The families of Smith and Ramsay are inseparably connected with the history of the early days of progress and improvement in Whiteside County.
Mr. Ramsay is the oldest child of his parents, and he has one sister, Lucy E. who is the wife of George B. Adams, editor of the Morrison Herald. Christine is the adopted daughter of the senior Ramsay and his wife, and lives with them at Prophetstown. Mr. Ramsay was born in Prophetstown Sept. 27, 1846. He obtained his elementary education in his native county and completed his course of study at Dixon University. After leaving school he engaged as a clerk and also became interested in various other avenues of employment until 1867 when he entered the law office of Frederick Sackett at Sterling, to fulfill a long cherished purpose and obtain a comprehensive knowledge of law and familiarity with office routine under competent instruction. He had by previous study and reading at odd intervals, obtained a general knowledge of the profession he purposed to enter; and after a course of diligent application under the preceptorship of Mr. Sackett, he was admitted in the spring of 1868 to practice in all the State Courts of Illinois. He has since been admitted to the privileges of the Federal Courts. On obtaining his credentials, he came to Morrison and opened an office in company with O.F. Woodruff. After a partnership of a year's duration, they severed their business relations. During the construction fo the branch of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy RR through Whiteside County, MR. Ramsay officiated as attorney for the corporation and acted in the same capacity for some years subsequent. His practice has gradually extended and is one of the largest in Whiteside County.
The rank of Mr. Ramsay in his profession is such as might be expected of a man of his caliber, possessing a disciplined mind, combined with perseverance, energy and unimpeachable integrity. He inherits the directness, clear foresight and sturdy adherence to purpose which distinctively characterize the ancestral stock to which he graces his origin. The Scotch-Irish, who came from Londonderry to escape interference with what they considered their religious liberty, have given to this country an element which manifests as little deterioration through descending generations as any other which enteres into our composite nationality. It is noted for independence of character and freedom from ostentation and while its representatives possess a laudable and normal ambition to rank fairly with others in the world's contest, they covet no place or position which involves sacrifice of others. They are champions of common rights and arrogate to themselves no privileges save those which secure their right to lead pure and honorable lives of effort and usefulness. Of this class Mr. Ramsay is a representative. In his professional relations he holds a degree of confidence which is in itself the best possible evidence of the quality of his efforts in behalf of his clients. He is fitted by nature and training for an effective advocate; he is direct in method, imbued with an earnest belief in his work, and formulates his comprehension of points at issue in language that is chiefly noticable for its pertinence to the case, and its entire freedom from effort to produce oratorical effect. He is a clear logician and is able to present the course of an argument with a perspicuity that is far more effective than rhetorical display. Mr. Ramsay is still a young man, but has achieved htrough hard work and a persistent determination, a position in his profession and in his relations generally, which is a safeguard to this future.
He was united in marriage Feb. 1, 1872 at Prophetstown to Lovisa McKenzie. Their two children were born as follows; Luther R. May 18, 1876; Robert M. Feb. 14, 1879. Mrs. Ramsay was born Aug. 7, 1848 in Prophetstown. Her parents, William R. and Harriet (Martin) McKenzie, came to that township in 1837. [Portrait & Biographical 1885 Pg 283]
OF Hume Township, Whiteside Co IL
David Ramsay was born in Londonderry, New Hampshire, in 1787, and married Miss Lydia Butler, in Vermont, in 1812. After his marriage he emigrated to Oneida county, New York, remaining there until 1840 when he came to Whiteside county, and settled on what is now the Morse farm, on section ten, in the present township of Hume. He built a frame house upon this farm, which was considered a large one in those days, and though not intending it for a hotel, it was used as the central stopping place between Rock Island and Dixon, on the main road from Chicago to Rock Island. The old Indian trail from Chicago to Rock Island was about a mile south of his house. Mr. Ramsay died in 1852, and Mrs. Ramsay in 1860. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 240]
LUTHER B. RAMSAY
Of Prophetstown Township
Luther B. Ramsay is a native of Deerfield, Oneida County, New York, and was born in 1818. He came to Whiteside in 1839 in company with Leonard Woodworth, as one of the engineers in the construction of the canal around the rapids above Rock Falls, and continued at that work for six months, and then returned to New York State, having previously, however, made a claim in what is now the township of Hume. In the fall of 1840 he came back to Whiteside, and lived for three years in Hune, and then moved to Prophetstown where he has sincc resided. Since his last return to Whiteside he has been constantly engaged in farming, and in 1853 and 1854 was also engaged in the mercantile business in the village of Prophetstown. For quite a number of years past he has manufactured cheese to a considerable extent, and has a splendid dairy farm near the center of the township. He is one of the leading citizens of Prophetstown and resides in the village. Mr. Ramsay was married to Miss Caroline M. Smith in 1845. Their children have been: Frank D., an able and successful lawyer, who married Miss Lavisa McKenzie, and lives in Morrison; and Lucy E., and Christina, living in Prophetstown. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
of Hume Township
William Ramsay is a native of Oneida county, New York, and was born February 16, 1815. On the 3rd of February, 1845, he married Miss Lucy Church, a native of Oxford, Chenango county New York. . The children of this marriage have been: William F., born April 27, 1846; Ann Maria, born August 8, 1847; Lucy E., born April 22, 1851; Lehman McNeal, born July 11, 1858, and one son who died in infancy. William F. married Miss Alida Kleespie, December 20, 1876. Mr. Ramsay has long been a resident of Hume township, and is one of its reliable and solid citizens. He was brought up as a farmer, and has always followed that occupation, together with stock raising. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 240]
WILLIAM RAMSAY, general farmer and stockgrower om section 2, Hume Township, is a representative of the days of first things of a permanent character in the township where he has lived about 46 years. David Ramsay, his father, was born in 1787, in Londonderry, N. H., and was a member of one of the Scotch-Irish families who emigrated to that place from a place of the same name in the North of Ireland prior to the War of the Revolution. The grandfather of Horace Greeley and the progenitors of General Stark were of the same race. William Ramsay, father of David, was born in Londonderry, and went with his son to Caledonia Co., Vt., where his life terminated. The son (David) was a young man when he went to Vermont, and he was there married to Lydia, daughter of Luther and Hannah (Wilson) Butler. The family was of long continued standing in New England. They were farmers, and in their old age they went to Oneida Co., N. Y., where they died, at a greatly advanced age. The marriage occurred in 1812, and about a year later the removal to Oneida County was effected. In 1840, David Ramsay removed his family to Whiteside County,settling in the township of Hume. They were among the first settlers in the township, who made a permanent location, and they settled on a claim on section 10. David Ramsay died in February, 1852, aged 65 years. The mother died at Prophetstown, in the fall of 1859, at 69 years of age.
Mr. Ramsay was born Feb. 16, 1815, in Oneida Co., N. Y. where he remained until he reached his majority, engaged in the acquisition of his education in the public schools and in practical farming. After becoming 21 years old, he worked for his father by the year for the three subsequent years. He had four brothers and sisters, and is the oldest child. Hannah M., his sister, was 15 months his junior, and she died in Hume Township, unmarried. She was 26 years of age. Luther B. Ramsay is a resident
of Prophetstown, Euphemia J. married and is a resident of Hopkins Township. Lydia A. is also married and lives in Prophetstown.
When he was 24 years of age, Mr. Ramsay secured a team and set out alone for Illinois, then the West. He thus made his way to Buffalo, where he took passage on a boat. He made the acquaintance of Sidney Barber, a passenger like himself, now living in Whiteside County, and they came together to Cleveland, proceeding thence by land to Whiteside County, reaching Rock Falls Oct. 18, 1839. They found hospitable quarters with L.H. Woodworth, of whom a personal account is elsewhere given. Mr. Ramsay boarded with Mr. Woodworth until March 24, 1840, when he settled on 160 acres of land in Hume Township. He made a preemption claim, and boarded with a man in the vicinity, who lived in a sod house, while he entered vigorously into the work of converting the raw prairie acres into fertile fields. He was the first permanent settler in the township. In the summer of 1840 he built a house, of which his parents took possession on their arrival in the fall of the same year, and of which he was also an occupant. The place is on section ro. Mr. Ramsay continued to work the place until his marriage, which transpired Feb. 3, 1845, in Lee Co., Ill., to Lucy, daughter of Bradford and Anna (Barnes) Church. Her father was a native of Chenango Co., N. Y., and her mother was born in Litchfield Co., Conn. The father of Mrs. Church was mechanic, and an Ensign in the Revolutionary War. The marriage of the parents took place in Cortland Co., N. Y., and they went to Chenango County, in that State, where Mrs. Ramsay was born in Oxford Township, March 30, 1820. She had one brother and three sisters, all of whom are deceased. They were named Jane E., Elizabeth E., Fitche M. and Frederick R. They came to Lee Co., IlL, in the fall of 1841, and there the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Ramsay occurred. In 1876 her parents became inmates of her home in Hume Township. Her father died Dec. 26, 1884, and was 89 years old. Her mother died in October of the same year, aged 86. They spent 65 years of married life together, and were separated by death by a few weeks. They were active and consistent members of the Congregational Church. Mrs. Ramsay is their oldest child, and the only one who survived them. She has had five children: William F. married Alida Kleespie, and lives in Mitchell Co., Kan. They have two children - David M. and Royal R. Kale, Elizabeth and Luman live at home. Mrs. Ramsay had been a teacher from the age of 15 years to her marriage. She was educated at Oxford Academy, in Chenango County, which was one of the best schools of that period. The Ramsays resided on section 10 for seven years, when they went to Como for the purpose of educating their children, and were resident there seven years. Tn the fall of 1858 the family took possession of a new farm purchased by the father, including 182 acres lying in the "OxBow." of Rock River, below Como, in Hume Township, and situated on sections 2, 3, and 11. The homestead residence is situated on section 2, and is beautifully located near the river. The entire property was unimproved, and the work of transformation has been all done by the proprietor. One of the most noticeable belongings of the household is a finely selected library, all its members being readers of sense and judgment. Mrs. Ramsay is interested in the progress of the Congregational Church, of which she is a member. Mr. Ramsay is an active and zealous Republican.
Mr. Ramsay was the first individual to assume the bonds of matrimony in Hume Township. His sister, Hannah Maria, died in the fall of 1842, and her demise was the first event of that character in the township.
EDGAR & EMMA (REDFIELD) RANDOLPH
Of Sterling, Whiteside Co IL
Mrs. Emma Randolph, corner of Third and A Streets, Sterling, is a daughter of Abiah and Polly Redfield; came to Illinois in 1855; married Edgar F. Randolph in 1860, who died Nov. 3, 1877, after a residence in Sterling, this county, of twenty-two years. [Portrait & Biographical 1885 Pg 513; **NOTE: Emma Randolph was the proprietor of the Randolph House in Sterling for many years)
OF Portland Township
Guy Ray was born in Berkshire county, Mass., in 1806. In the year 1835 he came West by canal and the lakes to Chicago, where he purchased horse, and proceeded to explore the country. On his route he stopped at Dixon, and from thence went to Rock Island where there were but three log cabins at the time. As he returned he stopped at Prophetstown, and at that place found the only white settlers between Rock Island and Dixon. Being pleaaed with the viciuity he made a claim one mile south of Portland Village, and contracted for the building of a log house. He then went back for his family, and in the following June brought them to Portland. On his arrival he found himself without a shelter, as the party with whom he had contracted to build a house had failed to perform his agreement. Not dismayed he went to work in the heat of the summer, and cut logs on Indian island, floating them down the river, and built himself a double log house. On the 10th of September, 1836, his wife died, being the first adult death in the township. He brought a few goods with him when he came in June, which he sold in his house, thus becoming the first storekeeper in the town. Mr. Ray was interested in the construction of the race from Lyndon across the bend, upon which a mill was erected, but the enterprise proved a failure. His farm was one of the best managed in the town, and his stock equal to the best in the county. He was the first County Clerk of Whiteside county, being elected in 1839. He also filled the office of School Treasurer of the township for a number of years. In 1876 he moved to Vinton, Benton county, Iowa, where he now resides. Mr. Ray was married three times, first Elizabeth Harmon, second, to Samantha Harmon, and third, to Louisa Pomeroy The children are, Emma, wife of Homer Slate, living in Henry county, Illinois; Camilla, wife of Rev. Mr. Daizell, living in Baltimore, and Frank and Elizabeth living in Vinton, Iowa. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 353-354]
Frank E. and William G. Redline, proprietors and editors of the Albany News, are the sons of John G. and Sarah (Bull) Redline. Mr. F. E. Redline was born July 17, i860, in Pecatonica, Winnebago Co., IL. When he was seven years of age his parents removed to Carroll County, where he grew to manhood. At 14 he left school and obtained a position as salesman in a grocery at Lanark, where he was employed five years. Subsequently he taught school a year, after which he turned his attention to the acquisition of a knowledge of telegraphy. In 1882 he secured the appointment as station agent at Albany, which he filled two years. Dec. 12, 1884, associated with his brother, who was a practical printer, he published the first number of the local journal with which they are still connected. Mr. Redline was married June 30, 1879, to Delia, daughter of Erastus and Harriet (Persons) Leland. William G. Redline was born Feb. 23, 1863, in Pecatonica, Ill. He was educated in the public schools of Carroll County, and in 1882 entered the office of the Lanark Gazette to acquire a knowledge of printing, where he was employed until, in company with his brother, he established an independent journalistic enterprise. [Transcribed by Christine Walters from Portraits and Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885]
OF Genesee Township
Eli Redman was born December 22 1794, in Greenbrier County VA. When young his family removed to Ohio, from thence to Tazewell county, IL in 1827. He enlisted as a private in the war of 1812, in a Virginia regiment. He was afterwards Second Lieutenant in a company of IL Militia. He came to Whiteside county with William Wick. He married Catherine Owen September 29 1833 in Indiana. Children: W H born March 5 1840; Phebe J January 5 1842, Sarah E born February 17 1844; Nelson L born Nov 16 1847, Eli M born November 22 1849; Margaret L born May 1854; Samuel C. born March 13, 1856 and Frank O. August 10 1861. William H. enlisted in Company C 12th IL Volunteer Cavalry; he served from January 1 1862 to June 18 1866. For meritorious services, he was promoted Captain of his company; he was captured once, and escaped from the enemy in Virginia; was in every battle in which his regiment took part. He is now living at Montezuma, Poweshiek county Iowa. After framing two years, he studied law at the University at Iowa City; since then he has been practicing his profession successfully at Montezuma Iowa. Nelson L and Eli M are farmers; Phebe J married Edward F Scoville. The family now reside in Powechiek county Iowa. Sarah E was married and resided at the same place until her death. Eli Redman was familiarly known in Whiteside and Carroll counties, from the very earliest settlement of the county up to the time of his death, as "Uncle Eli Redman." He was liberal to a fault, as every one would testify. No man ever asked a favor of him in vain. Mrs. Eli Redman is now living with her children in Iowa. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 223]
Samuel Reecher, general farmer, section 17, Genesee Township, was born Nov. 5, 1828, in Frederick Co., Md. Jacob Reecher, his father, was of German parentage and was by calling a shoemaker. The latter was reared in Maryland, where he married Catherine Chrise, who was of the same nationality as himself. In 1832, they transferred their residence to Washington County, in the same State, settling in the name village of Ringgold, which was then Ridgeville. There, among the mountains, was then Ridgeville. There, among the mountains, they reared six of their seven children to maturity, and laid down their life's armor after years of usefulness and honorable struggle. The father died in the autumn of 1866, aged about 78 years. The mother died in February, 1871, when she was about 72 years old.
Mr. Reecher is the fourth child in order of birth, and, until he was 24 years of age, he lived at home, securing such education as he could in the common schools of Washington County, augmented by home reading, study and observation. The first prominent event of his life occurred on the day made historical in the annals of the United States by the election of President Pierce, whose administration covered, four of the most portentous years in the history of the republic. That day preceded his 24th birthday. Nov. 4, 1852, he was joined in marriage with Leah Hoffman, in Waynesborough, Pa. Jacob and Madelina (Stoffer) Hoffman, the parents of Mrs. Reecher, were of unmixed German descent and were farmers. Their family comprised seven daughters and three sons, all of whom attained adult age. They lived most of their lives in Washington County, and there the father died in 1866, aged 68; the demise of the mother took place in 1884, and she was 85 years of age. Mrs. Reecher was educated in the same common school as her husband. She has been the mother of 15 children. Ten of the number still survive, and three are married. Following is the record: William married Sarah C. Mentzer, and is present (1885) proprietor of the Transient House at Coleta. Emma C. married Henry Donahue of Coleta. Aaron married Hattie C. Pratt and resides on his father's homestead. Louis lives at Coleta. Anna, Isaac, Samuel, Margaret E., Leah and Jacob are under their parents' care. Sarah, Alice, Benjamin F., Ida M. and John H. are the names of the children who are deceased.
After he was 12 years of age Mr. Reecher assisted his father, as occasion required and leisure afforded opportunity, in the business of shoemaking, of which he acquired a complete knowledge, and after his marriage he operated one year as a craftsman in that avenue of employ, after which he turned his attention to the business of a marketman, in which he was engaged as long as he remained in Maryland. In February, 1865, with his wife and five children, he came to Illinois, leaving forever the early home, made dearer by the fact that the old soil contained the remains of two deceased children. Mr. Reecher first sought a home at Sterling, where he operated as a shoemaker a little more than a year. He went thence to a point seven miles north of that city in the township of Jordan, where he did a country business for one year. At the end of that time he decided to combine farming with his trade and he removed to a farm near the eastern county line containing 100 acres of land. He conducted his two-fold business one year, and in March 1868, he purchased 200 acres of land in Genesee Township, on which he has since resided. A large proportion was in timber, and the place was wholly unimproved, but has been converted into a good farm. A spring of underground origin situated centrally on the farm supplies a perpetual flow of water of remarkable coldness and purity and large volume, being the fountain head of a considerable stream which empties into Rock Creek. The owner is constructing a pond on his farm for the artificial production of fish, which will cover 15 acres in area. He designs to stock the pond with German carp.
Mr. Reecher is in accord with the Democratic element in politics and has held several township offices. Mrs. Reecher is a member of the Mennonite Church. [History of Whiteside County - Portraits and Biographical pg 482]
William Reecher, proprietor and manager of the Transient Hotel and restaurant, at Coleta, is the son of Samuel and Leah (Hoffman) Reecher, of whom an extended personal account appears elsewhere in this volume. He was born in the village of Ring old, Washington co., MD July 19, 1856. He was nine years old when his parents removed their family from "My Maryland" to Sterling IL, and was an aid on the farm in Jordan Township where the family was resident one year, and he proved a valuable assistant on the home place in Genesee Township, as he was the eldest surviving child. His education was meanwhile looked after, and he obtained a fair degree of mental cultivation in the district schools. He continued a member of the home circle until he was 24 years of age, when he went back to his native State. While there he made the acquaintance of his wife, then Sarah c. Mentzer, to whom he was married in Sterling, Jan. 17, 1882. Mrs. Reecher is the daughter of John W. and Esther (Hoffman) Mentzer, and was born in Washington Co., MD, May 8, 1855. Her great-grandparents were natives of Germany, and emigrated thence to the United States in early life. Her parents were married in Washington County and there passed their entire lives, acquiring a competency. Her father died Jan. 11, 1879, aged about 55 years. The death of her mother transpired Jan. 22, 1881. She was then 54 years of age. Mrs. Reecher was brought up at home, and at the age of 18 years learned the trade of a tailoress, in which she was occupied until she was married. She is the mother of two children - Elsie M., born Nov. 20, 1882 and John W., born Jan. 21, 1884.
After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Reecher located at Coleta, where the former obtained a clerkship in the mercantile establishment of S.S. Cobb. On leaving his employ he established a restaurant business, in which he was interested a short time and sold out, after which he again became a clerk in the store in which he had formerly been employed, and which was then under the management of Messrs. Cobb & Howe. A year later he purchased a hotel, and soon after added a restaurant to its regular business, and has since conducted their joint relationships. Mr. Reecher is a Democrat in political connection and he has officiated as Constable of his Township, Mrs. Reecher belongs to the Evangelical Lutheran Church. [Portraits & Biographical transcribed by Christine Walters]
CINDA T. REED
Mrs. Cinda T. Reed, of Fulton, and widow of Dr. Daniel Reed, is deserving of appropriate mention in the biographical department of this work. She was born in the town of Bethlehem, Litchfield Co., Conn., May 13, 1801, is the daughter of Dr. Jesse and Hannah Pritchard Meigs, and a cousin of ex-Governor John R. Meigs, of Ohio, and of Dr. Charles D. Meigs, President of the Philadelphia Medical College.
Her father was a popular physician of Litchfield Co., Conn., and she, while a child, accompanied him in his professional visits, and soon evinced a marked interest in the nature of medicines and the mnethod of treatment of the cases under his care, so much so that her father, in answer to her numerous questions, incidentally imparted to her much valuable information. She married a physician, Dr. Daniel Reed, at Sandy Creek, Oswego Co., N. Y., May 1, 1828. She often accompanied her husband, as she had her father, in his professional rounds, and having access to his books, she availed herself of them to perfect her knowledge of medicine.
On coming to Fulton with her husband in 1838, she rendered valuable assistance to Dr. Reed in the care of his patients, especially during the sickly seasons so common in the early settlement of this region. At one time, during the absence of the Doctor from the city, the care of a large number of sick fell to her charge. She turned her house into a hospital, and several of the leading business men of Fulton were thankful to be under her skillful treatment. Her husband retired from practice about 1860, and she became the doctor iin earnest. She went to every call, at all times of day or night, in storm or sunshine. Many a cold wintry night she was called out of her bed to travers snow-drifted streets to attend some patient. She was successful to a remarkable degree, and continued to practice upward of 20 years.
An adventure that befell Mrs. Reed many years ago is deserving of mention. She had been visiting Dr. Bassett;s family at Lyons with her husband in early spring, before the break-up began, and was returning in the evening on the ice on foot to Fulton. Her husband carried a pole with which to test the ice, but in spite of his caution, when about two thirds of the distance had been traversed, the ice gave way and they found themselves int the river and in imminent danger of being carried under the ice by the strong durrent. Mrs. Reed worked herself around to the strongest part of the ice where by a desperate effort she succeeded in raising herself upon it; then, by the aid of the pole which her husband had carried, she pulled him out! He was in favor of returning to the Iowa side, but Mrs. Reed had left a family of children at home and was determined to make the crossing, which they did, in safety, although with clothes frozen stiff. This incident goes to prove the heroic energy of the lady, who by her cool courage and nerve saved her own life as well as that of her husband. During the late war Mrs. Reed was President of the Soldiers' Aid Society, and did noble service in the sanitary cause.
She united with the Methodist Episcopal Church when 16 years of age, and has been a consistent member of that denomination continuously since. She is now 84 years of age, but with eyes as bright and faculties as perfect as many a lady of half her years. She is a remarkably bright and intelligent lady, possessed of many estimable qualitites of mind and heart. Her life has been rich in acts of usefulness and kindess, and now, as the shadows lengthen she is happy in the assurance of a safe place in the love and esteem of a large cirlce of acquaintances and friends. She reared a family of six children, of whom mention is made in the sketch of her husband. [Portraits & Biographical 1885]
Of Fulton Township
Dr. Daniel Reed is a native of Onondaga county NY and was born Sep 4, 1803. He remained in that county until he was 32 years of age, during which time he studied medicine, for the most of the time, in the office of Dr. Daniel T Jones, at that time one of the ablest and most successful physicians in the interior of New York State; and upon being admitted into the brotherhood of Doctors of Medicine, commenced practice at Amboy, in the same county. In 1835 he came West and settled in Chicago, where he remained 2 years and then moved to Fulton, where he has resided ever since. Dr. Reed married Miss Lucinda F Meigs, a native of Bethlehem, Litchfield county, Mass., May 1 1828. The children of this marriage have been as follows: William May 15 1829; Helen M October 28 1831; Athalie Dec 14 1833; James H Jan 26 1836; Cynthia J Mar 26 1838; Harriet E May 15 1841. Of these Harriet died Sept 6 1841; Helen M November 6 1857 and William April 17 1872. James H is the celebrated photographic artist at Clinton IA. The Doctor's services as a physician, as well as those of his wife (for its universally acknowledged by those who knew her in the early days of Fulton that she was as good a doctor as the very best of them), were called into active requisition during the first years of their residence in Fulton, and especially in 1839, when almost everybody in this section of the country was sick. For days and nights together during that year neither the Doctor nor Mrs. Reed found any rest, the latter especially going from one bedside to the other in her efforts to relieve the stricken ones, and many to this day gratefully remember her care and kindness during their long and severe illness. Dr. Reed has been frequently elected to public offices both in the city and township of Fulton, and was Coroner of the county from 1856-1858. [Pg 187-188 Bent-Wilson]
DR. DANIEL REED, deceased, the pioneer physician of Fulton of 1838, was born in Camillus, Onondaga Co., N. Y., Sept: 4, 1803. His parents were William and Elizabeth (Mix) Reed. His mother was a relative of ex-President Hayes. He was educated at Fairfield College, New York, and studied medicine with Dr. Daniel T. Jones, then a popular physician of Central New York. Having taken his degree, he began practice at Auburn, N. Y.
He was married at Sandy Creek, Oswego Co., N. Y., May I, 1828, to Miss Cinda T. Meigs, daughter of Dr. Jesse and Hannah (Pritchard) Meigs. Mrs. Reed was born in Bethlehem, Litchfield Co., Conn., May 13, 1801. Dr. Reed pursued the practice of his profession in New York till the fall of 1836, when he removed to Joliet, Ill. Two years later he came to Fulton (in the fall of 1838 ), and engaged in practice at this place. A great deal of sickness prevailed here the following year, and the Doctor, assisted by his wife, who was also a doctor, had their hands full. The Doctor had an extensive practice for a few years, when he removed to Galesburg, Ill., in order to afford his children better advantages of education. Five years later he removed to Chicago, where he spent one year. He next went to Belvidere, and after three years spent at that place they returned to Fulton. On his return to Fulton he retired from practice, but made this his home till his death, which occurred Feb. 16, 1882.
Dr. Reed was chosen to fill various public offices. He served as Assessor in 1863, Justice of the Peace in 1866, Coroner of Whiteside County from 1856 to 1858, and held other minor offices. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church and took an active and prominent part in the building of the church at Fulton.
In politics he was a Republican. Dr. and Mrs. Reed had a family of six children, four girls and two boys; William died April 17, 1872; Helen M, was the wife of Wm. P. Culbertson and died Nov. 6, 1857; Athalia, wife of J.B. Hall, of Columbus Ohio; James H. maried Annie Pomeroy and is a photographer at Clinton; Cynthia J. is the widow of Wm. E. Baldwin and lives at Lyons; Harriet died Sept. 6, 1841 in childhood. Daniel E. Reed, conducting a large bakery and delicatessen business in Rogers Park and widely known as one of our leading business men of that attractive suburban section of the city, was born October 31, 1862 on a farm adjoining athe village of Empire, Whiteside county, Illinois, his parents being William Henry and Mary (Jasper) Reed. The father died in 1879 and the mother is still living. She owns the homestead but spends much of her time among her children. In the family were three sons and four daughters; Jasper, living on a farm adjoining the old homestead in Whiteside county; Charles, who died in infancy; Nettie, the wife of Lewis Ulm, an griculturist of Kansas; Daniel E., of this review; Elizabeth, living in Morrison IL, the wife of Jerome Kerling, who recently purchased a large wheat farm in Minnesota; Ida, the wife of Harry Carolus, owner of a wheat ranch near Almira Washington; and Lovie who gave her hand in marriage to Edward Williams, a farmer residing near Bolivar MO.
Daniel E. Reed was educated in the country schools and in the town schools of Emerson, Illinois, and started in business life on his own account when 17 years of age, purchasing a cigar store in Sterling, Illinois, which he conducted for about a year. During that period his father died, so that he was obliged to dispose of his business and take charge of the farm for his mother, thus devoting his energies to general agricultural until the removal of the family to Freeport, IL in May 1892. There he worked for D.C. Storer, a manufacturer, for about two years, after which he came to Chicago in February 1894. His sister-in-law, Dr. Laura C. Bush, who was the first lady physician of Rogers Park, owned a drug store, in which he bought a half interest. At that time he had no knowledge of drugs but he at once made a thorough study of his busines, becoming in time a good practical drugist as well as capable manager. In 1902 he bought out his sister-in-law and conducted the store alone for the next two years. On the expiration of that time he sold out to Albert Shulz, turning his attention to other interests. In February 1894 while conducting the drug store, the first telephone exchange in Rogers Park was installed in his store. Evidently the citizens of the community were familiar with the fact that the line was to be instituted, for, notwithstanding a great blizzard was raging, he was called upon to carry a number of toll messages to distant parts.
Following the sale of the drug store, Mr. Reed went to Mammoth Springs AR, expecting to buy property and locate in that vicinity, where his wife's people were living. But the death of his father-in-law changed his plans, so that he returned to Rogers Park and from 1904-1907, in company with Peter Phillips (now in the banking business in Rogers Park) and William and C.T. Daniels, he engaged in the manufacture of a proprietary remedy, in which they were quite successful. On the 9th of Nov. 1907 Mr. Reed established his present bakery and delicatessen store, which he has since successfully conducted. His business has grown steadily from the beginning. He makes it attractive by the line of goods which he carries and his sales have increased annually, so that he is now at the head of a profitable and growing enterprise.
On the 12th of Oct. 1892 he was married to Miss Eva Julia Bush and they now have a son Daniel, four years old. Mrs. Reed is the daughter of Martin Luther and Catherine (Wheehsler) Bush. Her father was the first white male child born in Sterling Illinois, but is now deceased. Her grandfather, Luther Bush, was a captain in the war of 1812 and assisted in building the battleship Constitution. His sword now hangs over the fireplace in the Reed home and is one of the prized possession of his grandaughter.
In religion Mr. Reed is a Lutheran and fraternally is well known as a chapter Mason, as an Odd Fellow and as a member of the Royal League and the American Fraternal League. He was reared in the faith of the democratic party to which all of his family adhered, and he cast his first presidential vote for Grover Cleveland in 1888. Since that time, however, he has always voted with the republican party, for careful consideration of the questions of the day has led him to the belief that the republican platform is
most conducive to good government and to the interests of the country at large. ["Chicago: Its History and Its Builders" by J. Seymour Curry 1912]
Of Sterling Township
Jonas Reed is a pioneer of Rock River Valley, and has been a resident of of Sterling for the past ten years. He was born in Delaware county, New York in 1819. He first came West as far as Ohio, and in 1830, came to Fort Clark, now Peoria, in this State, where he remained until May, 1831, when he settled Buffalo Grove, Ogle county. This was during the trouble with the Indians under Black Hawk, and on the following June the family was compelled to fly to Apple river for protection. In the meantime Gen. Atkinson negotiated a treaty with the Indians at Prophet's Town, agreeing to furnish them provisions for two years upon the condition that they would be peaceable, and leave the country. This they did, and west west to the Mississippi river. The Reed family then returned to their home, after a month's absence. But the Indians with their characteristic disregard for promises, returned at the close of one year and renewed hostilities.
The State then refused to furnish them supplies, and ordered out the militia under Gen. StiIlman. This force overtook them on a branch of Rock river called Stillman's Run, between Dixon and Rockford, but the Indians by a stragetic movement, in the dusk of the evening surrounded the men,and killed, wounded and made prisoners of a large portion of the command. Those escaping reached Dixon the next morning, the same day of Stillman's defeat, Black Hawk's son, and two Indian chiefs took dinner at Mr. Reed's cabin, and kindly advised the family to seek some place of safety. Acting upon this advice the family fled to Dixon, where they remained ten days. While there, Mr. Reed, and a companion, drove two teams to the foot of the rapids, where Rock Falls now stands, for army supplies, as Gen. Atkinson had sent a boat up the river with provisions and ammunitions as far as the rapids, the river not being navigable above that point.
The wagons were loaded, and after a good deal of effort reached Dixon. Of the families at Dixon, three, including the Reed family, were sent under the protection of a guard of soldiers to the La Salle prairie settlement. The settlers of the prairie united and built a fort, in which they remained until September, when Mr. Reed, his father and one brother, returned to Buffalo Grove, the family following soon afterwards. During their stay at La Salle, a treaty of peace had been concluded with the
Indians. One of the Indians told Mr. Reed that three of them were lying in ambush one morning when he was driving up the cattle, with the intention of shooting him, but a dispute arose as to who should fire first, and before it was settled he was beyond.the reach of their guns. In the spring of 1833 the Indians were again in the country with hostile designs, and once more the family were compelled to take refuge in the La Salle fort; but, in May, Gen. Dodge came up Rock river, which so alarmed them they fled,
and did not disturb the settlers again. Mr. Reed has been a resident of Rock River Valley for forty-six years. [Bent-Wilson History of Whiteside County Pg 411]
WILLIAM H. REED
Of Whiteside Co IL
William H. Reed is a farmer on section 12, Hopkins Township. he was born Dec. 8, 1831, in Franklin Co., Pa., son of Isaac and Ann (Commerer) Reed, and his parents were also born in the same State, where they were residents until 1852. In that year they settled in Hopkins Township. In August, 1881, they went to Sterling, where they are now resident. Their children were born and named as follows: Elizabeth C., William H., Mary, Anna M., John C., Martin L., George T. and Emma R. Mr. Reed is the oldest son and he received only a common-school education. He accompanied his parents and their family to Hopkins Township, locating near Empire, where he has since resided. He owns 41 acres of land, which is under partial improvements.
His marriage to Mary J. Hacker took place Oct. 26, 1856, at Sterling. Her parents, William and Elizabeth (Jasper) Hacker, were born in England and came to the United States in 1834, settling in Ulster Co., N. Y. In 1845 they came to Whiteside County, settling in Elkhorn Grove, where they passed the remainder of their lives. They had nine children, born in the following order: Richard J. Nathaniel S., Elizabeth G., Annabella V., Eliza B., Jane H., Mary J., Edward W. and John T.
Mrs. Reed was born June 19, 1834, on Prince Edward's Island. She is the mother of seven children, as follows: Nathaniel J., Charles H., Newttie B., Daniel E., Mary E., Ida L. and Lovie D. Mr. Reed is a Democrat. He has been somewhat active in local official matters. He belongs to the I. O. O. F., Lodge No. 174, at Sterling. [Contributed by Marji Turner - Portraits & Biographical]
OF Hahnaman Township
Amos Reeves is a native of NY and came to Whiteside county with the intention of making it his home in 1857. Upon arriving here he heard of the cheapness and fertility of the so-called swamp lands and upon looking them over purchased a large tract upon which he now resides. In the winter of 1856-57 he taught school in what is known as Brakey's settlement. When the town of Hahnaman was organized he was elected its first Town Clerk, but before the expiration of his term resigned to enlist as a volunteer in the Union army, joining the celebrated Yates Sharp shooters. He remained in the service during the entire war, and although participating in many battles and skirmishes with courage and zeal, came back unwounded. Almost immediately upon his return he was elected Supervisor of his town, and from 1869 to 1875 was continuously Town Clerk. In 1876 he was elected Supervisor and again in 1877, no holding the office. He is one of Hahnaman's public spirited men, and is always at the front when her interests are at stake. Mr Reeves is a bachelor in the prime of is life. [Bent-Wilson 1877 Pg 236]
JOSEPH C. REEVES
Joseph C. Reeves, farmer, section 20, Hahnaman Township, is a son of Howell and Phebe (Howell) Reeves, his father a native of New York and his mother of New Jersey. They passed their entire lives in the Empire State. They had eight children, as follows: Stephen, Hila, David, Amos, Fanny E., Joseph C. Harlan P. and Charles E.
The subject of this sketch was born in Wayne Co., N. Y., April 26, 1840, and obtained his education at the common school until 17 years of age and then for two years at the Marion Collegiate Institute in Wayne Co., N. Y. In the fall of i860 he came to Whiteside County; taught school in Hahnaman Township the following winter, and the next autumn returned to Wayne Co., N. Y., for the purpose of - enlisting in the army. He enrolled Sept. 19, 1861, in the Eighth N. Y. Cav., and served nearly four
years, being in about 60 general engagements, besides numerous skirmishes. At the battle of Five Forks, Va., in April, 1864, he was wounded in the neck by a minie ball, which incapacitated him for further service, and he remained in the hospital at Washington until the close of the war.
After receiving his discharge he came directly to Whiteside County and, in company with his brother Amos, purchased 200 acres of land in Hahnaman Township which time he has resided there, with the exception of nearly six years, when he lived in the township of Tampico. He is now the owner of 160 acres on section 20, all of which is in cultivation. Mr. Reeves is a member of Samuel G. Steadman Post, No. 491, G. A. R., has held the office of Township Assessor one year, is a Republican in his political views, and both himself and wife are members of the Baptist Church. He was married in Washington, D. C, Nov. 30, 1869, to Fanny R. Brewer, daughter of Hiram and Clarrissa (Hollister) Brewer, natives of Massachusetts and now residing in Washington, D. C. Their children were six in number, and named Mason H., Auren S., Hiram H., Maria C, Fanny R. and Daniel E. Mrs. Reeves was born in Berkshire Co., Mass., Nov. 26, 1843. Mr. and Mrs. Reeves are the parents of four children, viz.: Auren C, J. Mason, H. Edson and Walter E. [Transcribed by Christine Walters from Portraits and Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885]
JOSE ALEX REGALADO
OF Sterling, IL
Among First Spanish-Mexican Descent to Settle in Sterling 1916
Jose Alex Regalado of Sterling has a special reason to observe the nation's Bicentennial celebration as July 4 this year is the date which marks the 60th anniversary of his arrival in the City of Sterling.
Regalado, now 83 years young, was but 24 years old when he stepped off the Chicago Northwestern train at the Sterling Depot around 11 AM on July 4, 1916. He had the distinction of being among the first of Spanish-Mexican descent to settle in Sterling and he is currently the last survivor of the first group of Americans of Spanish-Mexican descent who migrated here shortly before 1916, the year he arrived. The slightly built and graying MR. Regalado said when he arrived in Sterling there was but a small group of "Latino's" who resided here and most were single men who came seeking jobs. Possessing and unusually keen memory for dates and past events, Regalado, during an interview explained the hardships he endured after losing his father when he was but two weeks old, being raised by his grandmother in a small town in Mixico, and later the years of wandering in search of any type of employment.
During the interview, Mr. Regalado sat on a small chair in the sun-parlor portion of their trim, neat home at 812 Avenue D. And despite his physical impairments, including the loss of his left leg, he is unusually mobile and the day prior to the interview, was spent at one of his favorite pastimes - fishing. In a mixture of English and mostly in his native spanish, Regalado explained he was born in a small town in Mexico July 17, 1892. Misfortune struck early when his father died at the time he was only two weeks old. The family then moved to another small town, Michoacan, Mexico, where he went to live with his grandmother. During the time he was raised by his grandmother, he tended the domestic animals and attended school for less than one year. It was 1913 and Regalado was 21 years old when he decided to migrate to the United States. He was single and looking for work as many others at this particular time and apparently heard that job opportunities were greater "across the border".
Regalado crossed the Mexican border to Larado Texas in 1913 along with 14 other men, all who paid the equivalent of 25 cents, to cross the International Bridge joining the two countries. He explained the group did not stay in Larado but immediately set out for San Antonio, Texas by train.
Regalado explained he did not know his ultimate destination even after reaching San Antonio, but the main goal was that of employment. He did secure employment and his first job was in construction work digging a canal which connected the city of Larado with a point eastward to a connection with the Rio Grande River. He stayed in San Antonio but one day and spent the next two months working on the canal project. This canal work apparently completed, Ragalado returned once again to San Antonio and after three days of job junting was successful and was hired by the Missouri, Kansas and texas Railroad. He recalled being hired with 30 other men to make up a railroad work camp and they were soon afterwards dispatched to St. Louis Mo. They worked at St. Louis until September of the year 1913 and at this time, he was transferred to Oaklahoma along with the men in the work camp. Here, at Sapulpa OK, he spent the entire winter working in the railroad yard. In the spring the camp broke up and Regalado went to Tulsa, Okla. and found work with the Sante Fe Railroad as a laborer. He worked here about a month and then went to Kansas City MO and here, along with 35 other men, made up the camp, they were assigned to Alton, Iowa in September of 1914. It was hard times again when Regalado was laid off at Alton and he and six other men obtained farm work until February of 1915.
He again left Iowa seeking employment and his travels brought him to Omaha, Neb. only to find there was no work available. He left for Kansas City MO, and it was here he was among 25 men hired by the Burlington Railroad. In March of 1915 he was assigned by the Burlington to Leland Ill, continued his work as a laborer. He continued at Leland until 1916. June of 1916 a friend of Regalado's in Leland came to Sterling because he had a friend who worked for the Chicago and Northwestern. This friend offormer railroad days wrote Regalado and urged him to come to Sterling and told of the job opportunities here. He decided to make the move along with two friends and they begain the trip to Sterling by train and recall stops at Mendota, Dixon and finally Sterling. He said he recalls steppin off the C & NW train for the first time around 11 am and the date was July 4, 1916.
The stories told about work opportunities were true and the day after, July 5, 1916 he was hired by the C & NW as a laborer. Soon after his arrival he noted only a small group of Latino's resided here and most of them single men, like himself attracted by the job opportunities. He worked for the C & NW until September of 1916 when he was hired by the Northwestern Steel & Wire Co. He was hired as a laborer and his firt job consisted of unloading wire from railroad gondola cars for the cleaning house. At this time Regalado was to begin a career which spanned some 26 years with the "wire mill". While there he worked in several departments including the cleaning houes, fencing, barbed wire department and as a wire drawer.
In 1935 he incurred a leg injury in an industrial accident and he retired from NW & W in 1942 due to health reasons. When asked what he has been doing in his retirement, the spry gentlemen said he enjoys work in the garden and fishes a lot. When asked when he bought his first care, he said he "never owned a car and has never driven an auto in his life". His family and friends have always provided transportation for him.
Regalado and his wife, the former Miss Antonia Gonzales of Sterling were married Nov. 27, 1928. From this union, five sons and five daughters were born and all survive but one daughter, Mary Ann. The sons include, Joe, Michael, Andrew, Louis and Thomas all of Sterling. The daughters are Mrs. Peter (Helen) Delgado, Sterling; Mrs. Stanley (Theresa) Williams, Rock Falls; Mrs. Jessie (Mary) Estrada, Sterling and Mrs. Jubencio (Sylvia) Manzano , Sterling. In addition they have 37 grandchildren and several great grandchildren.
Mr. Regalado concluded the interview commenting on the "better life" he has enjoyed in the Sterling area and when asked what he would do if he had to start all over again, he replied - I'd rather be here. He went on to comment on the better lifehere and the abundance of better type jobs and more opportunities to raise and educate a family. He concluded saying he was "very happy for the family and we're united in a close area". [Sterling Daily Gazette July 2, 1976]
JOHN J. REIMERS
OF Morrison, IL
John J. Reimers, a well-known veterinary surgeon of Morrison, where he has been in successful practice since 1881, was born in Wiemerstedt, Province of Holstein, Germany, August 13, 1852, and is a son of Hans and Antje (Boe) Reimers. His ancestors lived in Feddring from 1500 to 1864, but prior to that time had made their home in the birthplace of our subject and took an active part in the war for independence, one of them being a leader of the forces. The father was an independent farmer, a man of prominence in his community and held office similar to that of our supervisor. Both he and his wife were members of the Lutheran church and died in their native land, honored and respected by all who knew them. Our subject was educated in the schools near his boyhood home until fourteen years of age and then attended the gymnasium at Meldorf for six years. He then took up the study of veterinary surgeon at Berlin, Hanover, Stuggart and Giessen, and was graduated from a veterinary college at Hanover, in 1876. Five years of preparation, including a post-graduate course of a year and a half, riiade him veiy proficient in his chosen calling. In 1877 he came to the United States and first located at Davenport, Iowa, where he remained for four years, and in 1881 came to Morrison, where he has since engaged in practice with excellent success, having the best practice of any veterinary surgeon in the town or surrounding country. He devotes his entire time and attention to his professional duties and has secured the patronage of the best class of people. In his political views he is a Democrat.
On the 30th of April, 1884, Mr. Reimers married Mrs. Mary E. Carter-Hall, a daughter of James E. Carter, a native of New York, who has made his home in Morrison for the past thirty years. [Whiteside County Biographical Record 1900 pg 68]
GEORGE W. REMAGE M.D.
Of Coleta, IL
George W. Remage, M. D., physician and surgeon at Coleta, was born Jan. 29, 1837, in Holmes Co., Ohio. Abner Remage, his father, was born in Pennsylvania, and was of Scotch and French extraction. The ancestral stock located in America prior to the Revolutionary War, in which the paternal great-grandfather of Dr. Remage was a participant and was captain of a company. His grandfather and two uncles were soldiers in the War of 1812. Their business relations were in the vocations of farmers and mechanics.
Abner Remage settled in Holmes Co., Ohio, in 1826, where he was a pioneer, and located in the woods on a farm which was in its primeval condition. He made it his home until his death, which occurred in November, 1861. He had lived a life of usefulness arid honor and had proved a valuable citizen in the progress of the county from its primal condition to the advanced state to which it attained with great rapidity. The mother of Dr. Remage, Susan Custer, before her marriage, was a member of one of the old Dutch families who were identified with the pioneer history of the State. She died in Holmes Co., Ohio, in 1855, aged 47 years. They had ten children, five sons and five daughters.
Dr. Remage is the third son and seventh child. He remained at home until he was 17 years of age and obtained a rudimentary education at the district school, which at that age he began to turn to account in teaching, in Berlin, in the county where he was born, and he passed alternate seasons in attendance at school. He had cherished a project to fit himself for a professional life, and he commenced to read medicine in the office of Dr. W. N. King, in Millersburg, Holmes County. In the winter of 1858-9, he entered the Medical Department of the University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, where he pursued the prescribed course of study until the following spring, when he went to Middletown, in his native county, and commenced practice in company with Dr. Joel Poerene. Two years later, the nation was convulsed by civil war, and Dr. Remage, then in the full vigor of young hopes and ambitions, resolved to risk the fate of war, and he enlisted as a private soldier in Co. H, 23d Regt. Ohio Vol., under Capt. J. L. Drake. The regiment was assigned to the Department of West Virginia. He was under fire Sept. 10, 1861, at Carnifex Ferry, which was the only occasion in which he was in active service. His heal th became seriously impaired and he received honorable discharge in November, 1861. He resumed his practice, which he progecuted until the fall of 1862, when he went again to the University at Ann Arbor and completed his course of medical study and was graduated March 25, 1863. He received from Gov. Tod, of Ohio, a commission as Assistant Surgeon of the 96th Regt. Ohio Vol., and thus officiated until Feb. 13, 1865, when he was promoted Surgeon and assigned to the Fifth Tenn. Reg. in the Dept. of the Cumberland. At the close of the war, July 17, 1865, he was mustered out of service, when he resumed the practice of his profession at Somerville, Union Co., Ohio. He operated as a physician at that point five years, and in 1870 transferred his interests to Paulding, the county seat of the county of the same name, where he established his business and operated with marked success until December, 1877. He became worn with constant attention to his professional duties and sold out for the purpose of travel and recuperation, in which he was occupied some months. In September 1878, he located at Coleta, where he has since resided and prosecuted his business as a physician with satisfactory results.
Dr. Remage was married at Wooster, Wayne Co., Ohio September 20, 1859 to Louisa C. Schwartfager, and they have had three children. Laura is deceased, Lola married Archie McAdow and lives at Pauldin, Ohio. Herman is a student at Paulding. Mrs. Remage was born in Coshocton Co., Ohio [Portraits & Biographical Pg. 219]
John Renner, farmer, section 18, Hahnaman Township, is a son of William and Elmina (Rheinhart) Renner; natives of Pennsylvania, who married and lived in that State until Dec., 1842, when they emigrated West, and, after spending the ensuing winter at Deer Grove, Hahnaman Township, this county, removed to Bureau County, this State. They they resided until 1859, when they returned to Hahnaman Township, settling upon section 17, where they resided until Mr. Renner's death, which occurred Nov. 20, 1859. They had a family of 11 children, whose names were William D., Emanuel, Uriah, John R., Thomas, James, Margaret J., Susan E., Ruth, Frank and Freddie. Mrs. Renner was again married, in Tampico Township, to William K. Harvey, who afterward died in Hahnaman Township, Feb 28, 1862. Mrs. H. was again married in February, 1867, in Hahnaman Township, to William Beqal, who died in Iowa about 1871. Mrs. Beal is the owner of 80 acres of land in Hahnaman Township, all of which is in a state of cultivation.
Mr. John R. Renner, the fourth in order of birth in his parents' family of children, was born in Greene Co., Pa., Feb 17, 1842, and was a young child when his parents moved with him to this county, since which time he has lived in this and Bureau Counties. His education was such as was common to farmers' sons. Aug. 15, 1862, he enlisted in the 112th Regt. Ill. Inf., and served nearly three years in the cause of the Union, participating in numerous battles and skirmishes. While on picket duty at Columbia, Tenn., in November, 1864, he was taken prisoner, in company with thirty comrades of his regiment, and was confined in the awful prison at Andersonville most of the time for five months, when the war closed and he was consequently liberated, barely escaping with his life. He received his discharge at Springfield, Ill., and returned to this county, where he has since made his residence and followed agricultural pursuit. He now owns 228 acres of land, 130 of which is in a good state of cultivation. He is a member of Samuel G. Steadman Post, G. A. R. In his political views he is a Republication, and he has held the offices of Road Commissioner, School Director and Overseer of Highways. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 357]
Of Mt. Pleasant Twp.
Justus Rew, resident of Mt. Pleasant Twp. is the senior member of the firm of Rew & Thompson, real-estate and loan agents at Grundy Center, Iowa. He was born May 3, 1811 in the township of Orwll, Rutland To VT. He is the son of Henry and Anna 9Benson) rew, and when he was eight years of age his parents removed to the township of Sullivan, in Tioga Co PA where the father and mother both died. Their family included two sons, Benjamin, the younger was a farmer in Sullivan Twp. and died there in 1883. The father was the second man who mined coal in the now extensive field fo Blossburg PA when he died in 1818.
Mr. Rew of this sketch, passed ihs boyhood and later youth in PA and in 1833 he came West to Portage OH where he remained three years. In 1836 he proceeded thence to WI, where he engaged in farming near the city of Milwaukee. In 1839 he decided on a return to PA where he remained until 1845, and was variously employed while there as a carpenter, blacksmith and farmer.
In 1845 Mr. Rew determined to establish his home permanently in the then far West, and he came with that intent to Whiteside County. He bought 200 acres of land in the townshp of Lyndon of which he took possession and entered and proved his claim when it came into market. He remained its occupant until 1877 and had converted it into a fine and valuable farm, having excellent buildings and all necessary farm equipments. The death of his wife in 1877 set aside the necessity and inclination to maintain a home in his changed circumstances, and he sold the place that had been for over 30 years the object of his efforts, and on which he had expended the best energies of his manhood's prime. He has since been an inmate of the families of friends in Mt. Pleasant Twp.
In 1881 Mr. Rew formed a partnership with Samuel Wilkinson of Morrison, and I.G. Johnson and they established a banking institution at Ordway, Brown Co., D.T., which they continued to operate until the spring of 1884. In Feb. 1883, Mr. Rew entered into his present relations with M.J. Thompson, of Grendy Center, Iowa, and they are engaged in an extensive traffic in real estate and are operating with success as loan agents. He was one of the corporatoin in the construction of the Rockford, Rock Island and St. Louis RR and also one of its directors. He was also a director of the Rockford and Rock Island RR. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity at Morrison. He is a Democrat and acted as supervisor of Lyndon Township seven terms, officiating one year as Chariman of the Board. His height is six feet and four inches, his frame is firmly and compactly built; he has the brawn and sinew of the ideal pioneer, fitted to contend successfully with the condition of pioneer existence. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 663]
Of Newton Twp.
Henry Rexroad was born in Pendleton county, Virginia, in 1815. He resided there until 17 years of age, farming and teaching school, when he removed to Wood county, Virginia. In 1836, when 21 years of age, he came to Rock Island county, Illinois. The same year he prospected in Newton township, and in the winter of 1837-'38 he located in the township, where he has since resided. In 1839 he married Eliza, daughter of Luke Abbey. After her death he was married to Miss Huffman, sister of Adam Huffman, by whom he has had two children - A. F. Rexroad, now a telegraph operator in Wyoming Territory, and Augusta, now Mrs. Rouse, of Grand Island, Nebraska. Upon the death of his second wife, Mr. Rexroad married Miss Mary Thompson, who is now living.
Of Portland Township
Chauncey Reynolds was born in Connecticut, in 1812, and moved early to Erie county, New York, where he remained until the fall of 1837, when he came to Portland. His death occurred in 1851. Mr. Reynolds married Miss Amanda Aylesworth in 1835. Their children were: Smith, killed in battle during the War of the Rebellion; Gardner, who married Miss Elizabeth Stakes; Augustus, who married Miss Ella McKenzie; and Edwin, who married Miss Mary Lanphere - all of whom live in Prophetstown. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL, 1877]
CLARK G. REYNOLDS
Clark G. Reynolds, a farmer, owning 320 acres of land on sections 15 and 19, Prophetstown Township, is a son of Nathaniel and Phebe (Brace) Reynolds. He was born in Erie Co., N.Y., April 19, 1833. His father was a farmer and merchant, and was for several years Probate Judge of Whiteside County. In the fall of 1835, he drove through with three teams from New York to this county, accompanied by his wife and four children, one of his children having remained in New York to finish a two years' term of school. On his arrival here, he located three-quarters of a mile west of the present village of Prophetstown, on what is known as the Quigley farm. When the land came into market he purchased 320 acres from the Government, and remained on the place until about 1855, when he moved to Sterling, having been elected Probate Judge. He held the office eight years, from 1849 to 1857. His death occurred in Sterling, Jan. 21, 1866. He was Justice of the Peace in Prophetstown Township for a number of years. Politically, he was a Republican, and socially a member of the Order of Masonry. The mother of the subject of this notice was born in Black Rock, N.Y., and died in Prophetstown Township, April 18, 1876. They were the parents of five children, all living, namely: Phineas B., a farmer residing in Nebraska; Linus C., a farmer of Prophetstown Township; Orpha G. is the wife of Edward Gage, a resident of the same township; Amanda was the wife of Edson Smith (formerly a farmer but now deceased), and resides in Prophetstown.
Clark G. Reynolds, subject of this biographical notice, received his education in the common schools and was reared to the occupation of a farmer, which calling he has since followed. After his father's death, who owned 640 acres of land where Clark G. now resides, he and his brother Linus C. purchased the land and paid off the remaining heirs. Mr. Reynolds took the 320 acres on which he at present resides. He makes a specialty of fine stock and usually has from 75 to 100 head. He raises a few horses of the Black Hawk stock and fattens from 50 to 60 hogs for the market annually. He owns two dwellings and three acres of land in Prophetstown, which he rents, and has nine and a quarter acres of timbered land in Portland Township. Socially, he is a member of the Odd Fellows' Order.
Mr. Reynolds was united in marriage, in Morrison, this county, Feb. 21, 1862, to Miss Amanda E. Conner, a daughter of John H. and Catherine M. Conner, She was born in St. Louis, Mo. They have been the parents of five children. The record is as follows: Katie B., born May 4, 1866; Carrie B., born July 11, 1868, and died Dec. 21, 1873; Millie O., born Oct. 20, 1870; Pearlie I., born Sept. 7, 1873; and Nathaniel C., born June 8, 1877. [Portraits & Biographical, 1885, Pg 796]
DRAPER B. REYNOLDS
Of Lyndon Township
Draper B. Reynolds came from New York State in 1837, made his claim and went back in the fall. In the spring of 1838 he returned with his family and goods, taking the water route by the way of the Alleghany, Ohio, and Mississippi rivers, landing at Fulton, from which place he came to Lyndon by wagon and remained a number of years, and then moved to Iowa, where he now resides. He married Harriet L. Smith; children - Julia, Anna, Harrison, Warren, Jasper, Leonora, and Lotta. [Bent & Wilson History 1877]
DANIEL W. REYNOLDS
Daniel W. Reynolds has been a farmer in Whileside County since 1853. In April of that year, he bought 150 acres in Lyndon Township, settling thereon and continuing a resident of that township 16 years. In 1869 he sold that farm and bought 160 acres on section 32, in Hopkins Township. On this he fixed his homestead and has made further purchases of real estate until he is the owner of 371 acres, which is all practically under cultivation. In political sentiment and action he is a Republican. While a resident of Lyndon Township he was Treasurer and held other local offices.
He was born May 1, 1824, in Aurora, Erie Co., N. Y., and he is the son of Nicholas and Mary (Wright) Reynolds. They were natives of Vermont and removed thence to Erie Co., N. Y., where the father died. After the death of her husband, the mother came to Whiteside County, and died in Hopkins Township. She had had eight children, born as follows: Charlotte, Almos H., Harriet, Almond V., Weston W., Marinda, James A. and Daniel W, Mr. Reynolds was educated in the common schools and obtained a more extended knowledge of English branches at the academy at Aurora, his native place. He remained at home until he was 27 years of age. Several years afterward he came to Whiteside County, as stated.
His marriage to Cordelia L. Besse took place April 15, 1S51, in Erie Co., N. Y. They have had five children, who were born in the following order: Mary L., Frank W., Edward, Charles E. and Helen E. Edward died in infi.ncy. Mrs. Reynolds' parents, John and Cassandra (Patten) Besse, were born in the State of New York, which was also her birthplace. [Transcribed by Christine Walters from Portraits and Biographical Whiteside Co IL, 1885]
LINUS C. REYNOLDS
Of Prophetstown, IL
Linus C. Reynolds, farmer, residing on section 23, Prophetstown Township, and the owner of 520 acres of farming land on the section, and 12 acres in Portland Township, consisting of a grove, is a son of Nathaniel G. and Phoebe B. (Brace) Reynolds, and was born in Erie NY Aug. 18, 1830. His father was a native of Mass. and was born in Hancock, Berkshire Co, that State, March 14, 1794. HIs mother was also born in the same State and died April 18, 1876 aged 76 years, 11 months and 3 days. They had five children, all of whom are living - Phineas B. a farmer in Nebraska; Orpha the wife of Edward Gage, a farmer in Prophetstown; Amanda the widow of Edson Smith residing in Prophetstown; Linus C. and Clark G. a farmer in Prophetstown. The grandparents of Linus C. on his father's side were Griffin, born April 14, 1772 and Martha born Feb. 10, 1775.
The elder Reynolds was Orderly Sergeant during the War of 1812 and after the war, in 1816 settled in Genesee Co NY. In 1835 he came with his family to Detroit and drove from there to this county and became one of the pioneer settlers on Rock River. He located in Prophetstown Township, three-quarters of a mile from the present village of Prophetstown, on what is now the Quigley farm. During those primitive days he was compelled to go to Knoxville, a distance of 70 miles for provisions, following an Indian trail through an unsettled country. For many years he was a strong temperance man and a consistent Christian. He was Justice of the Peace for a number of years, and was also elected Judge of Probate, which position he held for eight years. He was a prominent Mason as well as a member of the Order of Sons of Temperance. He died Jan. 21, 1866.
Mr. Reynolds of this sketch was reared principally in this county on a farm, performing the labors common to farmer’s sons of the time and locality in which he lived, and receiving the advantages afforded by the common schools. His father sold out the original tract which he owned and purchased 640 acres on sections 15 and 22, and at the date of his death, Linus C. and his brother, Clark G., bought the interests the other heirs had in the property. Mr. Reynolds still owns his 320 acres and also
the homestead of 200 acres where he resides, making a total of 520 acres of land. He also owns the house and two lots in Sterling, where his father formerly lived, and a house and one-half acre of land in Morrison. He is a member of the Order of Sons of Temperance, and has been for a number of years. When the Grange was in active operation, he was a member of it.
Mr. Reynolds was united in marriage to Miss Sarah M. Conner, Dec. 22, 1858. She was a daughter of John H. and Catherine Conner, and was born in St. Louis Co., Mo., March 12, 1836. They have four children, all born in Prophetstown Township: Fred A., born Nov. 18, 1859, is a manager of the Gothenburg Bank, at Gothenburg, Dawson Co., Neb.; Belle was born April 10, 1861; Earl H. was born March 24, 1862; J. Burr was born July 24, 1865. Two children died in infancy.
Mr. Reynolds has grown up as a son of Whiteside County and became a prominent factor in its growth and progress, and it is fitting that he should be among those chosen to represent the leading men in the galaxy of portraits given in this volume. [Portraits & Biographical, 1885, Pg 657]
NATHANIEL G. REYNOLDS
Of Prophetstown, IL
Nathaniel G. Reynolds was born in Hancock, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, in 1794, and came to Prophetstown in 1835. From a biography of his life, written several years before his death, we gather the following facts: In 1796, his parents moved to St. Armands, Lower Canada, where they remained until 1809, when they returned to Massachusetts. Soon afterwards Mr. Reynolds was indentured to Deacon Levi Clarke, of Lanesborough, Massachusetts, to learn the business of tanning, and making shoes. In 1812 he was drafted in the State Militia, but as Gov. Strong refused to place the Militia under United States officers, he enlisted in 1813 as Sergeant in the 40th Regiment, and served during the war, being honorably discharged at Boston, in 1815. In 1816, he went to Genesee county, New York, and took a sawmill on shares, where he sawed lumber for a shop and tan vats, and commenced work at his trade. He also superintended the opening of the road from Warsaw to Buffalo, through a dense wilderness. In 1820 he moved to Black Rock, near Buffalo, and built the second tannery in the latter place, conducting it for five years, and then disposed of it to good advantage and went to Aurora, Erie county, New York. He remained at Aurora, working at his trade, erecting buildings, and selling goods, until October, 1835, when he started for the then far West.
The balance of the biography we give in his own language, as it relates more particularly to his life while a resident of Whiteside county, and to incidents similar to those experienced by many of the old settlers. He says, "I came with my family, consisting of my wife and five children, from Buffalo to Detroit by water, and from thence to Chicago by team over roads as bad as one could possibly want to see. From Chicago to Rock river my road was an Indian trail, and for the last forty-four miles before reaching Prophetstown, I crossed the prairie without a road, and not a house in sight, my only guide being the lone tree. The weather was inclement, and crossing the sloughs very difficult. In most cases we had to swim the streams, but we finally reached a cabin near my destination, where we were made happy with refreshments, and a fire, and had a good night's rest on the soft side of a hewn plank. Three days afterwards I returned for the wagons which I was compelled to leave at a slough; camped out during the night, and returned the next day all right. This was in November, and the cold had increased, with a fair prospect of winter setting in. Here I was with five horses, one yoke of oxen, and seven dollars in cash, but no hay, grain, or provisions, except what we had in the wagons, nearer than seventy miles, and no roads or bridges on the way. Knoxville was the Egypt for us, it being the nearest point where provisions could be obtained, and for that land of corn I started with my teams, one of my neighbour acting as pilot. We swam Green river, Edwards river, Big and Little Page creeks, and arrived safe, but on account of high water could not return with any load until the water fell. We were weather bound for thirteen days. In that time I exchanged one span of horses for such things as I wanted. In the mean time ten men with teams, on the same errand as ourselves, joined us, their company being very acceptable. We loaded up and started, making quite a respectable caravan. It was eighteen miles to the first house or cabin. We crossed the two creeks without difficulty, although the weather was excessively cold. Edwards river had so fallen in consequence of the freeze that we thought we could ford it, but the banks were so steep and frozen that one pair of horses or oxen could not hold our loads down nor draw them up on the other side, so we coupled six yoke of oxen together and made fast to the hind axle with sufficient length of chain, and thus eased the load down into the stream. Then we took the cattle across, and drew the loads up the other bank. In that way we succeeded in getting all our loads across safely, except mine. In raising the bank with it, and when about half way up, the cattle broke the chain, and my wagon run back and upset the load into the river. We soon righted the wagon, and I jumped into the river and collected my load, which was principally in barrels. I offered a good price for help, but the parties refused, and advised me to let the load go down stream, as I would get my death by such exposure, but I could not spare the articles. I floated them to the shore, put a chain around them, and run a pole through, when those on the bank, with my help in the rear, pulled them up, and loaded them again, when we went on. It was three and a half hours from the time I went into the water before I reached a fire and what is somewhat remarkable, I did not freeze in any part, while every one on the bank were frozen, some of them badly. We succeeded, however, in getting along after that, but had often to put all the teams forward of one wagon. When we came to Green river we had to unload, and take our stuff over in a trough, or canoe; swim our teams, and fasten a rope to our wagons, and pull them over as a seine is hauled. Then we had good going on the prairie, as the sloughs were all frozen solid. We arrived home well and hearty, having been absent twenty-one days in going seventy-five miles and back. I found thirteen out of nineteen in our cabin down with the measles, with no doctor within thirty miles, but all lived and got smart soon.
Troubles did not come singly, for in a day or two I broke my wagon tire, and had to load it in another wagon and take it to Naperville, a distance of one hundred miles, to be mended, and get my horses shod, it being the nearest shop I could get to without swimming. It happened well enough, as I got a good price for bringing a load back from Chicago. There was a heavy emigration that winter, and in the spring of 1836 provision were scarce; and commanded a high price, flour from $16.50 to $20,
per barrel; pork 18 3/4 cents per lb. or $32 per barrel. In 1837, I was chosen President of the Rock River Land Claim Association, and the Society no doubt prevented a number of law suits, and claim fights.
In the fall I was elected Justice of the Peace. At the organization of the County of Whiteside, in 1839, I was elected one of the County Commissioners, and in 1840 was appointed Deputy Marshal, and took the census of the county, the Marshal stating that my returns were the most correct of any Deputy in the district. In 1842 I was elected Justice of the Peace, and in 1847 appointed Colonel of the 103d Regiment Illinois Militia, and commissioned by Gov. French. In 1849, was elected Judge of the County Court of Whiteside, and Justice of the Peace in Prophetstown for four years, and in 1853 I was again elected Judge of the County Court for the term of four years. So much for the offices.
I am now, and have been for several years, a thorough going Temperance man. I have said in the fore part of this brief sketch, that I moved to Rock river in November, 1835. I omitted to mention that I came out here in June, and made a claim. There were only three cabins then within a distance of a hundred miles I drew up a petition for a postoffice, to be called Prophetstown Postoffice, and got four residents and three travelers to sign it. I then went back for my family with as much speed as possible, fearing some one would come and "jump" my claim, as it was called. I have also said that provisions were high, but as soon as I began to have a surplus everything was on the decline. Still I kept on breaking and improving for five years, until I had one hundred and thirty acres under cultivation, and considerable stock. Since I have been in Illinois I have been engaged in agriculture and in the improvement of horses, cattle, and hogs, which will long be remembered by the inhabitants of Whiteside county, some of whom know that I came here poor. I have had rather an up hill road to travel, yet I have plenty of this world's goods to make me and mine comfortable to the end of life.
Mr. Reynolds moved to Sterling about the year 1860, and died there January 21, 1865. He was married July 13, 1819, to Miss Phebe B. Brace. The children all live in Prophetstown, and are: P. Bates, who married Miss Polly Smith, and after her death married Miss Elizabeth May; Orpha, wife of Edward S. Gage; Amanda, wife of Edson Smith; Linus, who married Miss Sarah Conner; Clark, who married Miss Amanda Conner. The three brothers are engaged in the occupation of farming, are enterprising, thorough men, and stand high in the community. P. Bates has filled various town offices has been township Treasurer for a number of years, for the last two years Supervisor of Prophetstown, and is Chairman of the present Board of Supervisors of Whiteside county, a position which he ably fills. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 377-379]
Of Lyndon Township
Augustus Rice was born in Rockfield, Worcester county, Massachusetts, August 25, 1800. He early studied navigation, and went to sea, spending four consecutive years on board a vessel, and visiting nearly all the seaport towns of Europe and America. In 1825 he married Miss Esther Brooks, a sister of Pardon. A. Brooks, of Rockfield, Massachusetts. He emigrated West, with his family and goods in wagons, making the overland route to Illinois, and arrived at Lyndon on Christmas day, 1836. He first rented apartments in a log house now in the township of Fenton, from John Freek, where he remained during the Winter. He made a claim adjoining, which he afterwards sold, and bought the claim of William Farrington, in Lyndon township, where he continued to live until his death, which occurred November 24, 1864, in the sixty-fifth year of his age. He was County Commissioner for several years before the county was organized into townships. Mr. Rice became a member of the Baptist Church at Lyndon, May 19, 1839, and was chosen Deacon February 9, 1850.
His family consisted of four sons and one daughter, John B.(Brooks) is a well known prominent lawyer of Ottawa, Illinois. F.(Franklin) A., a farmer, died September 5, 1854 aged twenty-four years. Lucius E. (Eli) lives on the old homestead, and is a prominent and esteemed citizen. F. H. practices law in Boston, residing at Watertown, Massachusetts. Esther D. married H. G. Putnam, of Lyndon, and resides in that place. [Bent & Wilson History 1877; **NOTE: Augustus Rice was the son of John Rice & Catherine Walker]
John Richards was born in Radnorshire, Wales, in 1791. During his residence there he was married in 1824, to Miss Ann Mitten, a native of the same place. At the age of 39 he concluded to change his place of residence, and with his wife came to the United States, and located in Ohio, where he remained four years. In 1836, he came with his family to what is now Union Grove township, making the journey by way of the lakes. While on lake Erie the vessel in which they were making the trip was wrecked, and the family barely escaped with their lives, losing all their money and goods, except one trunk, and the garments they were clothed in. Mr. Richards made a claim on section 34, and until his death, which occurred a number of years ago, devoted himself entirely to farming. He was highly respected, and enjoyed the esteem of all who knew him. Mrs. Richards still survives, and resides with her daughter on the old homestead. Their children have been: Margaret, born in 1825, and died in Wales; John, born in 1828; William, born in 1831; Richard, born in 1835; Eliza, born in 1838. John was married in 1848,. to Mrs. Mary Swarthout; children; William E., George, Mary, Linda, and Lewis. William was married in 1859, to Miss Margaret Savage; children: Anna, Raphael, Delbert, and Mettie. Richard was married in 1862 to Miss Luceba Hopkins; children: Alice Jane, and Rosa Rebecca. Eliza was married in 1854, to Lester Wells, who is now dead; children: Royal, Almena, Eveline, and Ralph. [Bent Wilson History of Whiteside County 1877]
Edward Richardson was an eastern man. He came to Genesee Grove in 1838; boarded with Mr. Colcord until his family came in 1839, when he lived in the same cabin with Uncle Watty Doud. Soon afterwards his wife died. He had one child - a daughter who married Charles Weed, and settled in Rock Island county. Mr. Richardson was the first Postmaster in Genesee Grove, in 1839. Soon after his wife's death his health failed, and he shortly afterwards died. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL, 1877]
Of Lyndon Twp.
Daniel Richmond, farmer, section 5, Lyndon Twp. is a pioneer of Whiteside County of 1844. He was born Feb. 24, 1814 in Virgil, Cortland Co., NY and is the son of Thomas Richmond. His father was born in NJ and was an early settler in Cortland County. He married Sallie Osborn who was a native of the state of NY. The parents moved to Tompkins Co NY in 1821. After a residence there of 10 years, they settled in Tioga Co. PA where the father made a contract for a tract of timber in Rutland Twp. He built a log house, which he covered iwth elm bark and floored with puncheons. He lived on the place during the remainder of his life and his wife also died there.
Until he became a family man himself Daniel lived with his parents. He was married Jan. 11, 1835 to Mahala Reynolds. She was born May 3, 1817 in Sullivan, Tioga Co PA. After their marriage they became the managers of the homestead. In 1844 Mr. Richmond, accompanied by his family, set out for an overland journey to IL. They reached Lyndon Twp. July 16 after a month of travel and the father made a claim on section 5. The family were received under the hospitable roof of Lyman J. Reynolds, a broher-in-law of Mr. Richmond, where they lived until the fall of 1845, when they took possession of a "dug-out" which served for a shelter until the following fall. It was covered with hay, and proved a comfortable home through the winter, when the prairie wind seemed too severe for safety. (This is the first domicile of a house of this character recorded in this volume. In the fall of 1846 Mr.Richmond started to build a frame house, but was unable to finish before the winter came on, and the family passed that season in its cellar. By the fall of 1847 it was enclosed and in suitable condition for occupation. In 1845 Mr. Richmond broke 10 acres of prairie, which was the first improvement made on the farm. This is still in his possession. It is now in progressive agricultural condition.
The first wife of Mr. Richmond died Nov. 29, 1860. She had borne nine children, and six of them are still living; Draper lives in Lyndon; Mary is the wife of Henry Aldrich, of Henry Co. IL; Samantha married M.M. Aldrich, and lives in the same county; Hannah is the wife of Joseph Hicks, of Troy, NY; Phebe is Mrs. Henry Potter of Harlan Iowa; Perry J. is a farmer in Lincoln NE. Mr. Richmond was married after the death of his first wife to Jane Randall. Their marriage too place June 24, 1861. She was born in Canada, Jan. 3, 1837 and died Sept. 4, 1872. She had one child, Walter who is now deceased. In October 1873 Mr. Richmond contracted marriage a third time, with Fannie M. Barber. She was born May 22, 1854 in Alabama. Wyllie and Nellie are their children of the last marriage.
Mr. Richmond is a man of excellent abilities, and is remarkably well preserved. He takes a lively interest in current affairs, and is well informed. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 512]
DRAPER B. RICHMOND
Of Lyndon Twp.
Draper B. Richmond, a farmer of Lyndon Township, section 4, was born Feb. 19, 1836, in the township of Rutland, Tioga Co., Pa., and is the son of Daniel and Mahala (Reynolds) Richmond. When he was eight years of age he came to Whiteside County, where he was educated in the common schools, and was reared to the vocation of farmer. He was a member of his father’s family until his marriage.
He became the husband of Dorothy A. Hutchinson, Dec. 25, 1857. She was born March 25, 1842. With his bride, he settled on section 33, Mt. Pleasant Township. His claim was unimproved, and he erected necessary buildings, and set himself vigorously to work to put his farm in prosperous agricultural condition, and the prospects of the little household were in most promising condition when the tornado of June 3, 1860, two years and six months after the marriage of the young couple, forever wiped out
of existence their home and their plans. Their house was blown to fragments and scattered beyond finding. Mrs. Richmond, who was then but 18 years old, was found fatally injured a few rods from the site of her house, and died within an hour. Mr. Richmond was permanently hurt, and at the time thought to be fatally so, but partially recovered. When he was again able to do business, he sold his place in Mt. Pleasant Township.
Sept. 5, 1861, he was again married, to Maggie Gibson. She was born Oct. 17, 1843. Mr. and Mrs. Richmond settled on section 5, Lyndon Township, where he has since resided with the exception of three years, which the family spent at Morrison for the purpose of securing better school advantages. Five children are included in the family circle, named Mary E., Dorothy A., Mina M., Frank D. and Rew J. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 575]
GEORGE P. RICHMOND
George P. Richmond, one of the leading agriculturists of Whiteside County and a prominent stock-horse raiser, residing on section 35 Prophetstown, wsa born in Adams Twp. Berkshire Co MA, Oct. 24, 1827. His parents, John and Chloe Richmond, were New Englanders, the former a native of Connecticut and the latter of Massachusets. in the early part of his life, his father was a farmer, but later engaged in mercantile business. He died in 1838. His mother died in Berkshire County in 1841. They were the parents of four children, all of whom are living; John, the oldest, is a farmer in Adams Twp. MA; Mary, wife of R.M. Cole, a merchant and farmer in Cheshire, Berkshire Co MA; the subject of this sketch, the third in order of birth; and Rufus, a farmer in Pittfield Twp. MA.
When ready to go into the world, Mr. Richmond looked for a wider field of operation than his native state offered. With thousands of others, he looked to the great and growing West, and in 1849 came to IL and located in Prophetstown, where he purchased 160 acres of land, located on Section 26. He has been quite successful and accumulated property, until he now has about 2,000 acres in this township, besides a few village lots in Lyndon. When Mr. R. first came to the county he had but little money, all told only $1,500; but by energy and the display of rare business ability, with which he is gifted, he has accumulated until he is now quite wealthy. Being one of the early settlers, however, he endured much privation and had many obstacles to contend with, in carrying forward his business, that the young men of today know little or nothing about. When he first came he raised a number of cattle, and drove them all the way to the Chicago market.
Mr. Richmond is quite extensively engaged in stock-raising, usually buying a large number of young stock, which he raises and fattens for the market. He gives his special attention tot he raising of horses, having at present aver 100 head. The Hambletonians are his principal breed, of which he raises very fine and fast horses. He has been a prominent competitor in the fairs of his own county and those of Chicago, having exhibited some very fine colts and cattle at these exhibitions. He is a member
of the IL Breeders Assoc. and takes great interest in all matters pertaining to the development of farm stock. Mr. Richmond was united in marriage in Prophetstown Feb. 22, 1860 to Miss Sevilla daughter of Edward and Orpha Gage. His wife was a native of this township born April 30, 1842. She was the mother of three children, all born in Prophetstown Township. John Sept. 24, 1861 resides at home and is interested with his father in the horses and other stock; Mary, wife of C.L. passmore, a jeweler at Savanna. She was born Sept. 9, 1863; Harry B. born Feb. 25, 1871 now at home. [Portraits & Biographical
1885 Pg 763]
OF Portland Township
John Riley, retired physician, residing at Spring Hill, Portland Township, this county, was born in the city of New York, Sept. 30, 1818. His father was born in the same city, and was quite an extensive manufacturer and dealer in boots and shoes. His mother was born in Poughkeepsie, the same State. Their family comprised eight children, of whom ten survive. Richard J. was a farmer in Wright Co., Iowa, and John is the subject of this notice. The parents died in New York city when the subject of this sketch was quite young, and he was taken by relative to Montgomery County, same State, and raised on a farm. He remained on the farm, alternating his labors thereon by attending the common schools, until he attained the age of 17 years. He then attended the seminary in Amsterdam and also Kingsbury, and taught school for several years. He taught for the purpose of procuring means to assist him in attaining a knowledge of medicine. He studied medicine in Fulton County, and then attended the Castleton Medical College in Vermont, and graduated in 1843. Soon after the completion of his education, he went to Saratoga Co., N. Y., where he followed his profession for about three years, and then came to Knox Co., Ill., and located near Galesburg. In 1853 he came to Portland village, and practiced there a short time, and then went to Spring Hill, at which place he followed his profession until about 1873, when he retired from active practice.
Mr. Riley has a farm of 80 acres adjoining Spring Hill, also 40 acres one mile southwest of the village and seven acres of a grove. He also has 160 acres of land in Nebraska and the same in Dakota. In 1877 he opened a store and dealt in groceries, boots and shoes, crockery, glassware, hardware, wagons, etc., which he successfully conducted until lately, when he sold out. He still owns his store building.
Mr. Riley was Coroner of the county one term, 1872-?? and Justice of the Peace four years, having been elected in 1873. He was married Dec. 24, 1845, in Saratoga Co., N. Y., to Abigail Burnett. She was the daughter of Isaac and Azubah (Slocum) Burnett, and was born in Saratoga Co., N. Y., Dec. 17, 1825. They have seven children, all sons, one born in Knox Co., Ill., one in Henry Co., Ill., and the others in Portland Township, this county. Charles graduated at the Soldiers' College at Fulton,
Ill., and enlisted in the war for the Union in the 112th Ill. Vol. Inf, when he was 16 years of age. He is not Superintendent of the Genesee Schools. John is a physician in Exira, Audobon Co., Iowa. William is an attorney in Grundy Co., Iowa. George W. is an attorney in Albion, Boone Co. Iowa. Bruce is now studying medicine at the Iowa State University. H. Clay is a land and insurance agent at Clearwater, Antelope Co., Neb. Lincoln is now attending the Fulton College. He is aged 17 years, and is studying for
the medical profession. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois; Chapman Bros., 1885, pg 537]
JOHN E. RIPLEY
John E. Ripley, farmer, section 30, Montmorency Township, is a son of Pomeroy and Sarah (Merricks) Ripley, natives respectively of New York State and Virginia, who settled in Ohio, afterward removed to the Empire State, and in 1852 located in Jordan Township, this county, where Mr. R. Died, Jan. 1, 1864, and Mrs. R. still survives. During his life, Mr. R. served in many places of trust in local affairs, being Supervisor, Justice of the Peace, Tax Collector, etc., a number of years. They had seven children, -- Eliza A., Frances C., John E., Ezra P., Henry C., Sarah D. and Charles P. Four of this number are now living: Eliza A. Christie, of Hume Township this County; Henry E., who now resides at Owego, N. Y., is the proprietor of a large boot and shoe store and is a graduate of the Sterling Business College; and Charles P., who is yet living at his mother’s home in Hume Township; and John E.
Mr. Ripley, of this sketch, was born in Jordan Township, this county, July 31, 1855, and has all his life been a farmer. He received a common-school education, and at the age of 22 left his paternal home, bought 82 acres of land in Montmorency Township, on section 30, where he settled and has since resided. He now owns 122 acres, nearly all of which is in cultivation. He was married in Nelson, Lee Co., Ill., Feb. 28, 1878, to Flora E., daughter of Lewis f., and Sevilla (Hasse) Long, natives of Pennsylvania, who came to Lee County in 1876, where they still reside; they had seven children, viz.: Sophia A., Flora E., Norman H., Ida C., Nettie A., Samuel T. and Grace. Mrs. Ripley was born in Somerset Co., Pa., March 12, 1856. She and her husband have two children, -- Bessie G. and Blanch E. Mr. Ripley’s politics are Republican, his religion that of the Baptist Church. Mrs. R. is a member of the English Lutheran Church. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 379]
ARBUTHNOT W. RITCHIE
Of Ustick Township
Arbuthnot W. Ritchie, farmer, section 15, Ustick Twp., is a citizen of the United States by adoption, his birth having taken place may 1, 1825 in Scotland. His parents, George and Margaret (Reed) Ritchie, were born in Scotland. While a resident in his native land he was interested in agricultural business and in quarrying stone. In the summer of 1853, he came to the US and located in Ustick Township. He owns 334 acres of land, which is chiefly under cultivation. Mr. Ritchie is a Republican in political connection, and he has filled several of the township offices. His marriage to Rachel Adan took place June 9, 1854 in Ustick Township. They have had nine children - Charles A., George A., William A., Margaret J., James A., Steward D., John N., Agnes N. and May E. Mrs. Ritchie is the daughter of Charles and Margaret (Rae) Adan. She was born March 2, 1831 in Scotland of which country her parents also were natives. She and her husband are members of the Presbyterian Church. [Portrait & Biographical 1885 Pg 452]
JOHN ALEXANDER ROBERTSON
OF Union Grove Township
John A. Robertson was born in Washington county, New York, August 5, 1812. He remained in his native State until 1836, when he started for the west on an investigating expedition, coming by way of the Lakes to Detroit, from there to Chicago on foot. Starting from the latter place he visited Peoria and some other points in Illinois, and then returned to the east. Being pleased with the country, he came back in 1838, accompanied by Henry Ustick, Sr., and settled where Unionville now stands. He soon afterwards, in connection with Mr. Benjamin Burns, erected a saw mill on the site of the flouring mill now owned by Mr. William Annan, which latter mill he was also largely interested in building. Mr. Robertson was one of the proprietors of the village of Unionville, and assisted in laying out the town in 1839. As showing the contrast between the past and the present, he used to relate that while attending to his saw mill he had shot deer as they came down to the creek to cross. He also kept a hotel at Unionville, in the palmy days of the town, which was widely celebrated for the excellence of its table, and the superiority of its accommodations. Early in 1870 he retired from business, and resided with his daughter, Mrs. D. S. Spafford, in Morrison, until his death, December 5, 1875. He was a man of quiet disposition, of fine business abilities, and was highly esteemed by the entire community.
Mr. Robertson married Miss Emily Young, daughter of D. B. Young, of Union Grove, August 7, 1842. Mrs. Robertson died May 13, 1858. Their children have been: Ann Eliza, born January 15, 1844; Andrew J., born November 26, 1845; Lewis, born March 16, 1848; Beers Y., born February 24, 1850; LeRoy, born August 7,1852; Ida May, born April 9, 1855; and Fred Y., born May 3, 1858. Beers Y. died July 31, 1855. Ann Eliza married Dwight S. Spafford, November 16, 1865, and resides in Morrison; children: Frank S., Earl J., and Rob Roy. Lewis married Miss Hannah S. Williams in February, 1873, and resides in Kewanee, Henry county, Illinois; no children. Andrew J. and LeRoy are engaged in stock raising in Wyoming Territory; and Ida May and Fred Y. reside in Morrison. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 479-80]
JOSEPH K. ROBERTSON
Joseph K. Robertson, farmer, section 23, Ustick Township, is one of the leading agriculturists of Whiteside County, with whose development he has been identified since his removal here in 1853. He first bought 200 acres of Government land in Ustick Township, on which he established his homestead. His operations have met with success, and he is now the owner of 250 acres additional in Whiteside County, 160 acres in Iowa and 240 acres in Missouri. On his home place he has erected buildings which add greatly to its value and beauty. Politically, Mr. Robertson is a Democrat. He has served as Collector two years, and as School Director 27 years.
He was born Sept. 7, 1825, in Clark Co., Ind., and is the son of John and Rebecca (Riddle) Robertson. To his father is accorded the honor of having been the first child of American parents born in Indiana. The mother was a native of Kentucky. After their marriage they located in Clark Co., Ind., and were residents of that State until the fall of 1828, when they came to Illinois and settled in that part of Cass County which was then included in Morgan County. The mother died there in January, 1839. The death of the father occurred Dec. 22, 1870. Their children were named Margaret, Joseph K., Isaac R., Susan E., Cornelius and Mary. At the time the family came to Whiteside County, Mr. Robertson's father wanted him to go to Missouri, but he refused, preferring to live in a free Slate. Mr. Robertson has been a resident of Illinois since he was three years old. He grew to manhood in Cass County, and was there engaged in farming. In 1853 he fixed his residence in the county of Whiteside, as stated. He was married in Virginia, Cass Co., Ill., May 27, 1852, to Mary, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Pashley) Needham. She was born May 11, 1834, in England, and is one of two children born to her parents.
Mr. and Mrs. Robertson of this sketch have had nine children, as follows: John H., Sarah J., James B., Joseph, Isaac, Mary A., Susan, Margaret and Christian C. Isaac and Susan died in infancy; John and James are farmers in Missouri, where they are engaged in stock-raising. [Transcribed by Christine Walters from Portraits and Biographical Whiteside Co IL, 1885]
FRANK H. ROBINSON
Frank H. Robinson, of the firm of S. W. Robinson & Brother, dealers in hardware and agricultural implements at Morrison, was born March 5, 1837, in Zanesville, Ohio, and is the youngest surviving child of his parents, Robert P. and Mary J. (Culbertson) Robinson.His father, whose business career is outlined in the sketch of S. W. Robinson on other pages of this work, put him when 14 years of age in the position of an assistant in the hardware store, of which the former was proprietor at Zanesville for more than 20 years.
In the spring of 1856 he came to Sterling in this county, and continued in the capacity of salesman there until the subsequent autumn, when he came to Morrison and opened a branch hardware store in the interest of his father. He conducted its relations singly until the spring of 1857, when he was joined by his brother, Samuel W. In the fall of the same year the latter became the owner of the stock and business interests by purchase, Mr. F. H. Robinson continuing to operate as a clerk until he became interested in the progress and issues of the Civil War.
The awakening of his zeal and enthusiasm resulted in his enrollment as a soldier of the Union Army. In July, 1861, he enlisted at Lyons, Iowa, as private in Co. B, First Iowa Cav., under Capt. Wm. E. Leffingwell. The regiment was assigned to the Army of the Frontier in Missouri. Mr. Robinson remained a member of the :First Iowa: two years. He was mustered out July 14, 1863, to accept a commission as First Lieutenant of Co. H, 11th Mo. Cav. He entered upon the work of recruiting, and after enlisting 57 men at Rolla, Mo., he was made Captain, his commission dating Dec. 27, 1864. He continued to hold his command until his dischaarge. He was musted out of the military service of the United States in August, 1865, at St. Louis, Mo., and returned to Morrison. He purchased a half interest in the business of his brother, and the firm of S. W. Robinson & Brother have since continued their operations as dealers in hardware and agricultural implements without interruption. They carry a stock of extensive value and well assorted, making a specialty of agricultural machinery. Their business requires three regular assistants, and at times neccessitates the employment of a force of double that number. In addition to the avenues of business named they do all varieties of work as tinners, as roofing, spouting, the manufacture of creamery goods, etc. Mr. Robinson is connected with the Order of the Grand Army of the Republic.
His marriage to Carrie E. Clark took place Dec. 23, 1873, at Morrison, and their three children were born as folows: Frank C., Jan. 5, 1877; Minnie B., April 1, 1880; Edith A., born April 7, 1882, died Sept. 5. 1883. Mrs. Robinson was born in Lyndon Township. She is the daughter of Alpheus and Augusta Clark, and her parents were among the earliest of the permanent white settlers of Whiteside County. Her father was a Major in the Eighth Ill. Vol. Cav., and died from the effects of a woud received at Beverly Ford. Post Alpheus Clark, No. 116, G. A. R., at Morrison, is named in honor of his devotion to the Union cause and gallant services in its defense. [Portrait & Biographical 1885 - Pg 260]
GEORGE M. ROBINSON
George M. Robinson, Secretary of the Williams & Orion Manufacturing Company, of Sterling, was born in Zanesville, O., June 7, 1854. His father, Robert P. Robinson, died in 1871, and his mother, nee Margaret Culbertson, died in 1881. Mr. Robertson received a common-school education, and at the age of 17 years he accepted a position in Patterson's bank at Sterling, remaining there until 1873, when he became book-keeper for his present employers; he was appointed Secretary in 1877. He is an exemplary man, worthy of official trusts. His residence in on Third Street. He was married Nov. 24, 1880, to Miss Mary B. McCloy, and they have one son born Dec. 13, 1882, and named William A. Mr. Robinson is a Reublican in his political views, and as to his religious relatuions he is a member of the Presbyterian Church of Sterling. He has played the organ and lead with his voice the congregational singing in said Church for the last nine years. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 731]
Dr. R. E. Robinson, physician and surgeon at Albany, was born Dec. 19, 1848, in Mercersburg, Franklin Co., Pa., and is the son of M. F. and Martha (Rankin) Robinson. His father was a medical practioner, and a graduate from Washington College, in Baltimore, Md. Dr. Robinson obtained his elementary education in the public schools, and afterwards improved his supply of knowledge at the Normal and Classical School at Newville, Pa. He began to study for his profession under the instructions of his father. He attended his first course of lectures at Jefferson College, Philadelphia, finishing his course at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, whence he graduated March 30, 1870, and began his career as a practitioner as his father's associate in Newville, remaining with him a few months. In the fall of the same year, he came to Albany and opened his business. In the spring of the year following, he formed a partnership with Dr. H. M. Booth, and their connection was in existence three years. In the autumn of 1874, he went to Pennsylvania and embarked in the sale of drugs, and also in the practice of medicine, successively at Mt. Holly Springs and Newville, remaining in his native State until the fall of 1880, when he returned to Albany and resumed his practice. Dr. Robinson was married in October, 1870, to Annie W. Woodburn, a native of Newville, Cumberland Co., Pa. Their five children are named Laura E., Mary M., Robert B. Arthur W., Annie R. and Nellie. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 785]
SAMUEL W. ROBINSON
OF Morrison, IL
Samuel W. Robinson, senior member of the firm of S.W. Robinson & Bro., hardware merchants and dealters in agricultural implements at Morrison, was born Jan. 5, 1835, in Zanesville Ohio. Robert P. Robinson, his father, was born in Pennsylvania in 1809, and acquired a knowledge of the business of a foundryman and hardware merchants. He married Mary J. Culbertson, who was born in 1812 near the city of Zanesville, Ohio, and was raised in Pittsbmg, Pennsylvania, and a few years after transferred his family and business interests to Zanesville, where he engaged in the sale of hardware, and operated there more than 20 years. In 1857 he came to Dixon, Ill., and passed about four years in the foundry business. About 1861 he went to Sterling and established a trade in agricultural implements, in which he was interested to the time of his death. The mother died at Zanesville. Of their seven children only the brothers who are conducting a joint business at Morrison are living.
Mr. Robinson was placed at school as soon as he reached a suitable age, and his education was conducted with care in the best schools at Zanesville until he was 16 years of age, when he became an assistant in his father's hardware business. This he has made the vocation of his life, and he has pursued it without intermission for 34 years (1885). It is probably safe to venture the statement that he is the senior hardware merchant in the county of Whiteside. Entering his father's store in 1851 continued in the position of salesman and assistant six years, and in 1857 came to Morrison and began business independently on the site now occupied by the Revere House. Almost simultaneously he began to make arrangements to establish himself permanently, and in the same year he built the store he now occupies. It is constructed of brick, is three stories in height above the cellar and is connected with a large warehouse of brick, located on the railroad. In 1859, he admitted his brother, Frank H., to a partnership. (A biographical sketch of the latter may be found elsewhere in this volume.) The business of the Robinson brothers is extensive, and includes all the branches common to establishments of similar scope and purpose. Their stock comprises full and complete lines of hardware and agricultural implements and machinery. They make a specialty of farm machinery of every description. Their business requires the aid of three assistants.
Mr. Robinson was united in marriage, Dec. 6, 1859, to Anna Gibbs, and they have had six children: William G. was born Sept. 6, 1860, and is a clerk in his father's store; Paul, born Jan. 29, 1862, is engaged in the same capacity; Mary C. was born May 2, 1864; Maud was born May 6, 1870. Two children died in infancy. Mrs. Robinson was born in 1841 Steuben Co NY and is the daughter of Alanson and Sophia Gibbs. She was brought up at Lyndon, this county, to which place her parents moved from NY when
she was about 6 years of age. Her education was completed at the seminaries of Mt. Carroll and Rockford IL. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885]
Of Clyde Township
Wesley Robinson, a prominent farmer on section 12, Clyde Township, was born March 20, 1820, in the village of Manchester, Dearborn Co., Ind. Stephen Robinson, his father, was a native of Maine, and was of mixed English and Scotch lineage. He was married in the State of his nativity to Mahitabel Plumer, also born in the Pine-Tree State. She was of English extraction. Some years after their marriage they removed to Indiana, where the mother died, at the place already recorded as the birthplace of the son, in the spring of 1842. In 1850 the father removed to Illinois and was a member of his son's household until his death, about 1857, when he was nearly 87 years of age. They had six children - five sons and a daughter.
Mr. Robinson is the second oldest child, and remained under the authority of his parents until 1843 when he removed to Lee Co., Iowa, where he spent some years as a general laborer. He then yielded to a fancy to try life on the river, and he engaged in boating. His route terminated at New Orleans, where he has passed several winters after having been occupied as a boatman through the summers. In the spring of 1844, he came to Whiteside County and located near Sterling, where he fixed his residence. In April 1847, he was married to Maria, daughter of Martin and Lois (Waite) Montgomery. Her father was of Irish extraction and was born in Vermont. Her mother was of mixed Welsh and French origin and was born in Rhode Island. After their marriage they settled in Roxbury, Delaware Co., N. Y., and at that place Mrs. Robinson was born, Nov. 6, 1818. In 1839 her father moved his worldly belongings to Illinois, his family accompanying him, with the exception of two children. The family located near Sterling.
Three years after their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Robinson removed to Clyde Township, where they took up their abode on 241 acres of unbroken prairie, situated on sections 11, 12, 13 and 14. Nearly all the place is under cultivation and it is fairly stocked.
Frank C. Robinson is the only child of his parents, and he was born Sept. 4, 1855. He was married March 20, 1878, to Millie E. Barrett. They located on his father's farm in Whiteside, where she became the mother of a child. who is also deceased. She died in Wheaton, Ill., in 1881, where she went for medical treatment. The son resides on the homestead. Father and son are Republicans in political principle. [Portraits and Biographical]
Gilbert Rogers, a farmer residing on section 19, Prophetstown Township, is a son of William and Hannah (Wildes) Rogers, and was born in Cattaraugus Co., N. Y., Feb. 11, 1838. His father was a native of Washington County, that State, where he was born Feb. 20, 1807. His mother was likewise a native of New York, and was born in Schoharie County March 16, 1810. She died in Cattaraugus County, Dec. 12, 1865, and the father still resides there. Their children were five in number, four of whom are living. George is a farmer in New York ; Giles is a fanner and manufacturer of shingles, and resides in Randolph, Cattaraugus County, same State; Gilbert R., subject of this notice, is next in order of birth; Jane L. is the wife of Alfred J. Samples, a farmer residing in Chautauqua Co., N. Y.; Jerome, deceased, was killed at the battle of Malvern Hill, while fighting in the 72d N. Y. Vol. Inf.
Mr. Rogers was reared on a farm, assisted in the maintenance of the family, attended the. common schools and developed into manhood. Sept. 3, 1862, he enlisted, in Randolph, N. Y., in Co. H, 154th N. Y. Vol. Inf., and served until the close of the war, receiving an honorable discharge in June, 1865. He attained to the rank of Sergeant, and participated with his company in the battles of Chancellorsville and Buzzards' Roost. After receiving his discharge he returned to the farm and worked the old homestead for a time.
Mr. Rogers was united in marriage in Randolph, N. Y., Aug. 9, 1864, to Miss Cynthia A. Frary, daughter of Myron and Martha (Morrill) Frary. She was born in Cattaraugus Co., N. Y.. Dec. 7, 1841. Her mother is deceased, and her father resides in Portland Township, this county. Mr. and Mrs. Rogers are the parents of two children, one born in New York and one in Portland Township, this county. Frank E., born July 17, 1866, and Myron C, Dec. 15, 1877.
Mr. Rogers came to this county in 1867, and located in Portland Township, where for eight years he was engaged in the occupation of farming, on rented land. He is at present the owner of 38 acres, has a nice residence and his place is well improved. He has held numerous offices, among which were Justice of the Peace in Portland Township four years, Commissioner of Highways three years, during one of which, in 1884, he was Treasurer; he has held the position of School Trustee for two years and
is at present acting in that capacity. He is also Secretary of the Prophetstown Farmers' Mutual Insurance Company. In the spring of 1885, Mr. Rogers was elected Supervisor of his township. [Transcribed by Christine Walters from Portraits and Biographical Whiteside Co IL, 1885]
CHARLES RANDOLPH ROOD
Of Garden Plain Township
Charles R. ROOD is a native of Grandville, Washington County, New York, and was born July 24, 1813. He came to Whiteside county in October 1836, and settled first in Albany where he remained three years. During this time he located his present farm on section twenty-two in Garden Plain, then a part of Albany Precinct, and in the fall of 1840 when back to the East, remaining until 1844, when he returned with his wife and settled permanently in his new home. Mr. ROOD was married to Miss Sarah S CHURCHILL at Mooers, Clinton County New York, on the 27th of October 1842. Mrs. ROOD is a native of Champlain, Clinton county, New York, and was born November 11, 1815. The following are the names of their children; Myra, born August 12, 1845; Albert Lawrence born October 11, 1847; Nellie, born November 12, 1848 and Julia, born March 11, 1856. Albert Lawrence died January 3rd, 1848, Nellie married James NIMON and is living in Leavenworth, Kansas. Myra and Julia are residing at home. Probably no man in Whiteside took a more prominent part in the affairs of the county at an early day than Mr. ROOD, or was more thoroughly acquainted with its people. In 1837 he was appointed Deputy County Surveyor by Mr. Crawford, the County Surveyor of Ogle county, Whiteside being then attached to Ogle for county purposes, and in 1838 received the appointment of Deputy Sheriff from the Sheriff of Ogle county. Upon the complete organization of Whiteside in 1839 he was elected its first County Surveyor, the term being for four years, but vacated the office in 1842 during his absence at the East. Soon after his return he was appointed Deputy Surveyor for the county, and holds that position at present. Mr. ROOD surveyed and laid out the towns of Harrisburg and Chatham (now Sterling), Lyndon, Albany, and a part of Fulton, and has surveyed and located most of the leading roads in the county. Besides these public surveys, his services have been very frequently in demand since he first came to the county, to make private surveys of lands, lots and blocks. As a Surveyor he has no superior in this section of the country. His knowledge of the profession, and his accuracy are unquestioned. Of township offices he has been Supervisor several terms, also Highway Commissioner, School Director and Township School Treasure. When the Postoffice was established at Garden Plain he was the first Postmaster. He has always been an ardent friend of the Temperance cause, and as early as 1837 assisted in forming a Temperance Society in Albany, which was probably the first organization of the kind in the county. This Society was organized in the spring and by the following June it numbered over forty members, showing that the leader were not only zealous, but effective in their labors. Mr. ROOD is the owner of one of the finest farms in Garden Plain township - a town, if we may use the expression, running over with splendid farms. The land rolling, the soil rich and deep, and under his careful management produces abundant crops. His talent and success as an agriculturist are only equaled by those exhibited and attained in his profession. When the Order of the Patrons of Husbandry came into being he took an active part in organizing subordinate Granges, and was the first Master of the County Grange. He is at present connected with the Farmer's Co-operative Manufacturing Company, whose works are at Lyndon. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 215]
CHARLES R. ROOD, whose name is associated with the history of Whiteside County in the year 1836, when he located in Albany,. He was born July 20, 1813, in Granville, Washington Co., N. Y. He is the son of Robert R. and Elizabeth (Holden) Rood. His parents were both natives of Connecticut and went, about the year 1800, to Clinton Co., N. Y., where they were among the pioneer settlers at Mooers. They left Clinton County in 1812, on account of the embarrassments caused by the war, and passed the next two years in Washington County, returning at the end of that lime to Mooers. His fatner owned timber land in Clinton County, where he engaged in the lumber business and cleared several farms; he was a resident there until his death.
Mr. Rood returned to Washington County when nine years of age, and spent three years in the family of his uncle, after which he again became an inmate of the paternal household, passing the time principally in attendance at school. At 19 he began to teach school, and operated alternately as teacher winters, and a farmer summers, for some years. In 1836 he came to Illinois to seek a suitable location for the efforts he desired to make in the way of securing a'home and fortune. He came by the lakes to Detroit and thence by stage to St. Joseph, Mich. He operated there three months as a surveyor, and early in the fall of the same year he took lake passage for Chicago, coming from that then small city to Ottawa by stage. In company with nine others, with a span of horses and a wagon, he made his way to Albany, where he remained during the winter. In the spring of 1837 he made a claim, situated on section 22 in township 21, range 3, now Garden Plain. In the winter of 1837-8 he taught the first school in Albany, in a frame house he built at that place. He was made Deputy Sheriff and also Deputy County Surveyor of Whiteside County, in 1837, by appointment from the officials of Ogle County, to which Whiteside County was attached for municipal purposes; and in 1839 was elected County Surveyor, being the first incumbent of the office on the completion of the county organization. At the land sale at Galena in 1839, he was appointed to bid in for the several purchasers the land that was sold in the townships of Albany and Garden Plain. In the fall of 1840 he resigned, as he was about to return to the State of New York. On his return about four years later, he was appointed Deputy Surveyor, and has held that position most of the time since. The result of his operations as a surveyor may be traced throughout the county. He surveyed and platted Chatham and Harrisburg (now Sterling), Lyndon and Albany, and located the principal thoroughfares. He has also performed an enormous amount of labor in private interests, surveying land for all purposes. He has held some of the township offices, notably Township Treasurer, Commissioner of Roads and Supervisor several terms, and gives his best efforts to the public welfare, both as a citizen and as an official. On the establishment of a postoffice in Garden Plain, he was elected as being well qualified to attend to its relations. He has been a declared temperance advocate all his life, and assisted in the organization of the first temperance society in the county, located at Albany. Mr. Rood was the first Master of the County Grange, and also the first Master of the subordinate grange in Garden Plain. For the last five years he has been a member of the Board of Trustees of the Northern Illinois College at Fulton. He was originally a Whig, but became an adherent of the Republican party in 1856.
Mr. Rood returned to Clinton Co., N. Y., in 1840, and in the ensuing winter taught school in the village of Mooers. He was married Oct. 27, 1842, to Sarah S. Churchill. She was born Nov. ir, 1815, in Champlain, Clinton County. After marriage, Mr. Rood located in the Province of Quebec, 40 miles from Montreal. He bought a farm, where he erected a saw-mill and engaged in the manufacture of lumber. He bought standing timber for the supply of his mill. In 1844 he returned to Whiteside County and
settled on his land on section 22 in Garden Plain Township. Pie at once set about the erection of a frame house and engaged in the cultivation of his farm. His estate is in fine and profitable condition, and ranks more than fairly with farms of the township. Mr. Rood has taught several terms of school since bis return to Whiteside County. Three of six children born to Mr. and Mrs. Rood are now living: Myra A. is the oldest; Nellie married James Nimon and they live in Dennison, Tex.; Julia E. is the youngest.
The parents are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. [unknown source]
Samuel Rosenkrans, resident at Albany, was born Feb. 15, 1834, in Smithfield, Monroe Co., Pa. He is the oldest son of Simeon and Mary (Zimmerman) Rosenkrans.
Simeon Rosenkrans, his paternal grandsire, was born in Sussex Co., N. J. He was a physician, and married Sarah Shumaker, who was born in the same county. They were both of Holland Dutch descent. They went from New Jersey to Steuben Co., N. Y., where they died. Simeon Rosenkrans, the father, was born in Wall pack, Sussex Co., N. J., and his mother was a native of Smithfield, Pa. She died in Cohocton, Steuben Co., N. Y., in June, 1884, at the age of 79. His father died in the same place in May,
1872, at 65. He was second cousin to the distinguished General of the late civil war.
Mr. Rosenkrans is the only survivor of three children. He was in infancy when his parents went to Steuben Co., N. Y., and his father bought a farm in Avoca Township. He grew to man's estate, and obtained a good degree of education in the common schools. He afterward attended four terms at the High School at Bath, and one term at Franklin Academy. At 16 he became a clerk in a general store at Bath, where he operated three years, after which he obtained a situation as agent of the New York & Erie Railroad at Wallace Station, in Steuben County. He retained the position nine years, and, on relinquishing it, engaged in the management of his father's farm, in which capacity he was occupied two years. He then bought a farm in the adjoining town of Cohocton, and conducted his agricultural interests there six years. He sold his property in 1870, and came to Illinois on a visit and to prospect. He remained until the 1st of July in the same year, when he returned to New York to make preparations to return and locate in Whiteside County. In September he came to Albany, and, in partnership with James Early, he engaged in traffic in grain and stock. They continued their joint business operations two years, and, on their dissolution, Mr. Rosenkrans continued the management of his trade singly. He is also engaged in farming on sections 25 and 26, Albany Township, and is also interested in raising stock. He was married in 1859 to Harriet A. Armstrong, and they have four children—Mary, Henry, Louisa and Myron. Mrs. Rosenkrans was born in Cohocton, Steuben Co., N. Y. [Transcribed by Christine Walters from Portraits and Biographical Whiteside Co IL, 1885]
JAMES WATKINS ROSS
Of Ustick Township
James Watkins Ross, farmer on section 30, Ustick Township, was born May 25, 1838, in Clarendon, Rutland Co., Vt., and is the oldest son of Walter and Eliza (Webb) Ross. His father was born July 14, 1800, in Grafton, Vt., and was married in Shrewsbury, Vt., whither his parents had removed early in the 19th century. His mother was born March 16, 1805, in Hardwick, Worcester Co., Mass., and removed with her father's family to Vermont. Their children, nine in number, were born in the following order: Catharine, Melvina, Loantha, Luceba, James W., John W., Aldis D., George W. and Elbridge. The two oldest daughters are living, and Mr. Ross has three brothers who still survive. His youngest brother is deceased. His father died Sept. 28, 1871. The demise of his mother occurred July 7, 1874.
Mr. Ross received a common-school education in his native county and was thoroughly trained in a knowledge of agriculture on his father's farm. His marriage to Harriet Barney took place Jan. 2, 1867, and they have two daughters. Frances L. was born in Clarendon, Vt., Jan. 25, 1870; Gertrude E. was born in Ustick Township Nov. 18, 1874. Mrs. Ross was born Aug. 14, 1840, and is the daughter of Jeffrey A. and Harriet (Ewing) Barney. Mr. Barney was born June 17, 180I, in Shrewsbury, Vt., and was married there in 1823. He died Oct, 26, 1880, in Schoolcraft, Mich., while on a visit to his sons. His wife was born March 18, 1806, in Rutland, Vt., and died Nov. 12, 1879, in Shrewsbury. Their children, ten in number, were named Allen, S. Rolla, Edward, Frank, Rush, John, Mary, Duane, Harriet, and Carnelia. They are all living.
Mr. Ross was a resident of Clarendon four years after his marriage when in 1871 he settled in Ustick Township and purchased 76 acres of land. He has added by later purchases until he is now the proprietor of 193 acres, with 140 under tillage. He is engaged in mixed husbandry - grain and stock raising. In political beliefs and relations he is an uncompromising Republican. [Portraits and Biographical Pg 660]
ARMINIUS S. ROUND
Of Fenton Twp.
Arminius S. Round, a farmer on section 25, Fenton Township, is the son of George and Rebecca (Potter) Round. His father was born in Scituate, R.I. and went with his parents to the state of New York when he was 16 years of age. The mother’s history was much the same. She died in Fenton at the home of her son. The senior Round had a large family and limited resources.
The son, who is the subject of this biographical notice, set out in his single-handed with the world when he was fourteen years old. He was born Feb. 23, 1836, in Richfield, Otsego Co., New York. He hired out to a farmer in 1850, to work one season at $5.00 per month. In the winter ensuing he did chores for his board and went to school. Two successive summers he worked for $6.00 and $8.00 a month and went to school winters. He continued to operate in this method until he was twenty years of age. In 1856 he went to Grand Rapids, Mich. and worked on a farm one summer, teaching school in the winter following. The next year he took up a claim in Kansas, and lived there until fall, when he returned to the state of New York, and spent a year in farm labor. He next came to Grundy County, Illinois, and passed two years teaching school winters. He went next to Missouri, and thence to Memphis, Tenn. Where he remained two months. He returned to Illinois, and reached Whiteside county June 10, 1859.
He was interested in farming until the breaking out of the Southern Rebellion, when he hastened back to his native state to enter the military service of the United States. He enlisted May 1, 1861, twenty days after the first of the insurgents fired upon Fort Sumter. He enrolled in Co. G, 34th N.Y. Vol. Inf. He was in action at Fair Oaks, Savage Station, White Oak Swamp, Malvern Hill, South Mountain, Antietam and the Second Battle of Fredericksburg. Co. G went into the fight at Antietam Sept. 17, 1862, with 35 men, and in less than five minutes after forming in line of battle nine men were killed and eight wounded. Mr. Round was shot through the right lung in the first vollery, and before he could leave his position a canister shot passed through his left leg, and he was reported in the list of casualties as killed. He lay 26 on the field, during which time our own and the rebel line of battle passed over him three times in charging and recharging, and when fighting finally ceased, he lay midway between the two lines of battle. Five months later he rejoined his command at Falmouth, Va., where he was commissioned Second Lieutenant. He was mustered out of service at Albany, N.Y. June 30, 1863 at the expiration of his period of enlistment. Jan. 1, 1864 Mr. Round reenlisted in Co. L 2nd N.Y. Heavy Artillery; as a private. He was promoted to the rank of Sergeant March 1. His regiment joined the army of the Potomac after the Battle of the Wilderness, leaving their siege guns at Washington, and going to the front as infantry, and doing service as such until the war ended. The regiment was under fire at Spottsylvania Courthouse, May 19, 1864; North Anna River, May 22; Tolopoyomy Creek, May 31; Cold Harbor, June 2-10; Petersburg, June 16, 17, 18, and 22; Strawberry Plains, July 28; Deep Bottom, August 14 and 16; Ream’s Station, Aug. 25; Hatcher’s Run, Dec. 9; Battle of the Second Corps, near Petersburg, Mar. 25, 1865; Five Forks, Mar. 1; South Side Railroad, April 22; Amelia Springs (Sailor's Creek) April 6; Farmville (Round Fort), April 7; Surrender of the Rebel Army by Gen. R. E. Lee to Gen. U.S. Grant, at Appomattox Court-house, April 9, 1865.
Mr. Round was with his regiment through the entire list which has been given, and was in the nine months’ of Petersburg and Richmond, and at Deep Bottom on the James River. At the close of the last engagement, he was the only commissioned officer left to his company, which went into action with three who ranked him. He was made second Lieutenant July 26, 1864; Dec. 24, 1864 was commissioned first Lieutenant, and Feb. 20, 1865 became Captain of his company. He assumed command of his company Aug. 14, 1864, and was its chief officer until Oct. 11, 1865. On that day the command was mustered out on David’s Island (N.Y.) Harbor. Mr. Round sustained the honor of the blood which descended to him from his ancestral stock, and proved the quality of the patriotism which laid the sure foundations of freedom in New World. Barthrum Round, his grandfather, was a soldier of the Revolution, with the rank of Ensign, and drew a pension from the government.
Mr. Round returned to Illinois in the fall of 1865, in the capacity of a civilian. In the spring following he bought the farm on which he has since resided. He formed a matrimonial alliance Dec. 28, 1866, with Helen J., daughter of Asa and Elvira Adams. Mrs. Round was born in Aurora, Erie Co., N.Y. Nov. 9, 1843. Morris, Thaddius, Nora, Daisy, and George are the names of the children of Mr. and Mrs. Round, thwo of whom, Daisy and Frank are deceased.
George Round was born April 21, 1779 and died Oct. 4, 1872; Barthrum Round was born Dec. 22, 1741 (Father of George) and died Oct. 1, 1833, aged 92 years. Alice Round, Paternal grandmother of A.S. Round, was born Nov. 6, 1774, and died April 11, 1828, aged 84 years. The parents, whose birth and deaths are given at the opening of this paragraph, were 73 at the time of their decease. The estate of Mr. Round is situated on section 24 and 25 and comprises 215 acres, in valuable condition. [Contributed
by Dan Hand from Portraits & Biographical 1885]
OF Portland Township
James Rowe was born in Steuben county, New York, in 1803, and settled in Portland in 1836, making a claim one and one half miles west of Spring Hill, where he opened a fine farm upon which he resided until his death in 1871. He was a good citizen, a man of clear judgment, and his death was universally regretted, He was twice married, his first wife being Mary Ann Huff, and his second wife Hannah Avery. Children: Algina, who married Mason Blaisdell, and lives in Portland; John S., who married Miss Nancy Briggs, and resides in Kansas. Elizabeth, who married Clover Laird, and also resides in Kansas; Van Rensselaer, who married Miss Jane Brooks, and lives in Portland; William Almont, and Lewis Edward, are unmarried, and also live in Portland. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 353]
JOHN SMITH ROWE
OF Portland Township, Whiteside Co IL
John Smith Rowe was born in 1800. He came from Steuben county New York, in 1835, and made a claim in Portland adjoining Horace Burke. He lost nearly everything he possessed in the tornado of 1844, and two of his sons -Delanson and William-were killed at that time. He married Miss Rachel Shirror, who died in 1852. Children: Delanson, and William, deceased; George W., who married Miss Julia Kempster, and lives in Henry county; Louisa, who married Lafayette Crandall, and resides in Erie; Elvira, who married A. J. Warner, and is now dead; Eliza, who married John W. Kempster, and lives in Portland; Mary, who married James Cocking, and lives in Erie; Robert Emmet, who enlisted in the army of the rebellion, and was killed at the battle of Chickamauga, Tennessee. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 351]
Of Lyndon Township
John Roy is a native of Basking Ridge, New Jersey, and was born July 31, 1798. He went to Knox county, Ohio, in 1824, and came to Lyndon in October 1839. On the 5th day of January 1826, he married Miss Elmira Davis. The children of this marriage have been: Joseph Edwin, born February 7, 1827; Ann E., born November 29, 1828; Peter P., born May 20, 1830; Martha E., born April 5, 1833; Aaron D., born March 26, 1836.
Mrs. Roy died March 20, 1838, and Mr. Roy married Miss Martha J. Foster, September 26, 1839. Their children were: John F., born August 18, 1840; Charles A., born February 8, 1842, and Katie, born November 2, 1848. John F. died October 4, 1841. Aaron D. died August 18, 1857, at Lawrence, Kansas, and Peter P., August 3, 1877: at Denver, Colorado. Joseph Edwin married Miss Emily Hatch, June 21, 1853, he is a minister of the Congregational church, though now District Superintendent of the Home Missionary Society of the United States, with his field Northwest, and resides in Chicago. Ann E. married Thomas Fearnside, January 2, 1849, and resides at Rockford, Illinois. Peter P. married Miss Sarah Keim, in September, 1855. Martha E. married Joseph Ware, July 22, 1858 resides in Morrison. Charles A. married Miss Francis Lathe, November, 1865, resides at LeRoy, Minnesota. Katie lives with her parents, at Morrison.
Mr. Roy opened the first store in Lyndon, keeping an assorted stock, and and trade of all the surrounding country. He also kept the second hotel opened at Lyndon, and as it was the stage stand, a good business was done. The house was small, but everything was in the best shape, Mrs. Roy doing her part well and faithfully. The hotel was kept on strictly temperance principles. From 1841 to 1848 Mr. Roy was Clerk of the County Commissioners' Court, and received the highest commendation for the able and faithful manner in which he discharged the duties of his office. After he retired from the mercantile business at Lyndon, he became a farmer, and was very successful. In March, 1869, he moved his family to Morrison, where he has since resided. He has always been a devoted christian, and for many years a deacon of the Congregational church, a position he now holds in that church at Morrison. He is over seventy-nine years of age. [Bent & Wilson History 1877, page 278]
C. F. Royer, farmer, section 7, Hopkins Township, is a son of Christian and Mary (Whitmer) Royer, natives of Pennsylvania, who still reside in their native State. They had a family of 13 children, whose names are Jacob W., George A., David and Christian (twins), Cyrus E., C. F., Washington, Ellie C, Mary E., Alice G., Elam and Ezra (twins) and Ida F. The subject of this sketch was born in Franklin Co., Pa., June 24,1856, received his education mostly in the common schools and remained at home till the spring of 1877, when he came to Whiteside County, and for three years worked out by the month, farming, and then went to Kansas, where he remained one year and then resided also a year in Iowa, most of the time dealing in stock. He finally returned to this county, where he rented a farm of 200 acres on section 7, where he now resides.
He was married in Coleta, Jan. 5, 1882, to Clara, daughter of James S. and Hester (Hanawalt) McCauley, who were natives of Virginia and Ohio. They came to Whiteside County in the year 1853, settling in Hopkins Township, where they have since lived. They had a family of eight children, namely: Marcellus, Mary C, John W., Alice A., Ida R., Clara and Willie; one died in infancy. Mrs. R. was born in Hopkins Township, April 6, 1861. She and her husband are the parents of two children,- Bertha M.,
born Jan. 22, 1883, and James Christian, born April 20, 1885. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In political matters, Mr. Royer is identified with the Republican party. [Transcribed by Christine Walters from Portraits and Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885]
CHARLES N. RUSSELL
Of Hopkins Twp.,
Charles N. Russell, a retired merchant of Sterling, was born Feb. 3, 1826, in Greenfield, Mass. His parents, Charles and Adeline (Nash) Russell, were natives respectively of Massachusetts and Vermont and of English ancestry.
From the age of 15 to 20 Mr. Russell lived with the Rev. A. Harding, of New Salem, Mass.; then coming to Como, this county, he worked a year on the farm belonging to S. B. Harding; then for two winters he taught school in Princeton, Bureau Co., Ill.; next, he was employed at farm labor until the following August, when he went with a surveying party north of La Crosse, Wis. The next four years he was employed as clerk in Holmes & Hapgood's store at Como, and four years more he was engaged in the grocery business with A. C. Hapgood at Como; then he bought out Mr. Hapgood and conducted the business alone for four years, and sold out. Two years subsequently he removed to Sterling and purchased a house and lot on Spruce St.; subsequently built on the corner of Seventh and Spruce streets, which he now occupies as a residence. He also owns a farm of 190 acres at Big Bend, which he rents.
Mr. Russell is a Republican in his political principles. He takes special interest in public improvements and institutions for the public welfare.
He was married Dec. 25, 1851, to Miss Julia T. Sampson, a native of Duxbury, Mass. She came west in 1836 with her parents, Capt. Henry and Nancy (Turner) Sampson, who settled in Como, kept hotel for a time and finally died there. Mr. and Mrs. Russell have two children, - Annie F. and Charles T. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 298]
SAMUEL W. RUTT
Samuel W. Rutt, retired farmer, and a resident of Sterling, was born October 7, 1821, in Lancaster Co., Pa. His parents, Samuel and Susannah Whistler Rutt, also natives of the Keystone State were members of the farming community. He was brought up, as farmers' sons usually are, at school and on the farm, and when 22 years of age he left the parental roof-tree and rented a farm, which he conducted for 4 years. He then bought 65 acres in Lancaster Co., and followed his calling there for 3 years, at which time he sold that place, and purchased a farm of 120 acres in Franklin Co., Pa., where he followed farming another 5 years. Selling out again, he bought a farm of 125 acres which he kept for 5 years. Selling out again, he packed his goods and emigrated to the Great West, settling first on a farm in Lee Co., Illinois, where he remained 14 years. Finally in 1878, he came to Sterling, Illinois, and bought a house and lot on the corner of Spruce and Fifth Streets, where he now lives.
October 12, 1843 he was married to Magdalene Rutt, and they had 11 children, 7 of whom are living, namely: Levi R., born August 3, 1844; Abraham R., born August 17, 1852; Henry, July 8, 1856; Leah, April 22, 1859; Fanny, January 28, 1862; David, May 26, 1865; Emma, January 19, 1869. Levi married Elizabeth Weaver, a native of Pennsylvania, and they have two children, Ella and Leroy. Henry married Amanda Bressler, a native of Illinois, and is the mother of three children, two of whom are living, Lura Belle and Edith Merl; Abraham married Maria Landis, a native of this State, and has four boys, Clarence, Amos, Lorin and Ralph. Mr. Rutt is a Republican in his political principles, and in respect to religion is a member of the Mennonite Church, as is also Mrs. Rutt. [Contributed by Nancy Watkins, Whiteside County History 1880]
An excellent farm of two hundred and forty acres on sections 32 and 33 pays tribute to the care, industry and supervision of James Ryan. It is the old family homestead upon which he spent much of his boy hood and which be has purchased in recent years. He is one of Illinois native sons, his birth having occurred in Lee county, December 29, 1861. His parents, Michael and Johanna (Conners) Ryan, were both natives of Ireland and in 1854, crossing the Atlantic to the new world, they made their way to Dixon, Illinois, where the father worked as a common laborer for six years. Eagerly availing himself of every opportunity for advancement, he next rented a farm for five years and, carefully saving his earnings during that period, he purchased in 1865, eighty acres of land on section 33, Montmorency township. Later he invested in eighty acres on section 32 adjoining the original place, thus becoming the owner of one hundred and sixty acres of rich land capable of high cultivation and large production. As the year passed he devoted his time and energies to the further development and improvement of the property, which under his care became an excellent farm. Unto him and his wife were born a daughter and three sons: Nora, now in Sterling; James; Patrick, deceased; and John, of this county. The father died in the year 1892, while the mother survived for fifteen years, passing away in 1907 at the advanced age of eighty-five years.
The boyhood and youth of James Ryan were quietly passed, his time being divided between the duties of the schoolroom, the interests of the playground and the labors, of the home farm. His training in the work of the fields was not meager but on the contrary he began work in the cultivation of the place almost its soon as he was old enough to handle the plow. After attaining his majority he rented a part of the old homestead for a number of years and then in 1892 purchased eighty acres on section 32, Montmorency township. To this he afterward added by purchasing the old home- stead of one hundred and sixty acres, so that he now owns a valuable tract of land of two hundred and forty acres on sections 32 and 33, Montmorency township. His farm presents an attractive appearance, for everything about the place is kept in good condition and pasture land and fields are all rich and productive.
In 1889 Mr. Ryan was united in marriage to Miss Mary Reardon, who was born in Tennessee, a daughter of William and Katherine Reardon, who are now living in Sterling. Their family numbered six children. Unto Mr and Mrs. Ryan have been born two daughters, Katie and Marie. The parents are communicants of the Catholic church and in politics Mr. Ryan is a democrat. His fellow townsmen have several times called him to office and he is now accessor of Montmorency township, having been the incumbent in the position for five years. He has likewise been school director for five years and is also treasurer of the drainage district. Coming to this county when four years of age, he has now lived within its borders for about forty-three years and has been an interested witness of the many changes and the transformation which has been wrought by time and man. The onward march of civilization has made this one of the richest agricultural districts in this great state, affording to its citizens all the advantages that are known to the older east. Mr. Ryan rejoices in what has been accomplished and has borne his full share in the work of general improvement and progress. [Transcribed by Christine Walters, Whiteside County History 1908 by Davis]
Martin Ryerson, carpenter and farmer, section 14, Hopkins Township, is a son of David and Esther (Burr) Ryerson, who were natives respectively of New Jersey and New York State. They married and settled in thai State and lived there, where he was engaged in farming, till their death. They had a family of seven children, namely: Martin, Harriet, Lilah, John, Mary, George and Sarah.
The subject of this sketch was born in New Jersey, Sept. 28, 1824. He received a common-school education, and at the age of 16 was apprenticed for four years, at ten cents per day, to learn the carpenter's trade, which vocation he lias followed mostly up to the present time. In the spring of 1850 he came to Whiteside County and engaged in carpentering, and soon afterward bought 80 acres of land on section 14, on which he has erected fine buildings. He owns 125 acres of land in Hopkins Township, 120 acres of which is tillable.
He was married in Sterling to Margaret Johnson, daughter of Robert and Rebecca (Truax) Johnson, who were natives respectively of Maryland and Pennsylvania. Mrs. R. was born in Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. R. are the parents of four children, Sarah, Esther, Martin J. and John. John is deceased and Esther is now the wife of Pardon Angel and resides in Como.
Mr. Ryerson has been Overseer of Highways. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is identified with the Republican party. [Transcribed by Christine Walters from Portraits and Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright Genealogy Trails