Frederick Wahl, farmer, residing on section 22, Hahnaman Township, is a son of Mathias and Rosa (Schwartz) Wahl, natives of Germany. They came to the United States in 1854, and first settled in Ohio. In 1857 they came to this county and located in Sterling Township, afterward removing to Genesee Township, where, in 1862, the mother died. The father still survives. The issue of their union was six children, namely: Frederick, Frederika, Louisa, William, Caroline and Lucinda. Frederick Wahl, subject of this biographical notice, was born in Germany, Feb. 8, 1834. He lived in his native country until 1853, attending the common schools until 14 years of age. In the spring of 1853 he came unaccompanied to this country, and for three years “worked out” in Ohio. In the spring of 1857 he came to this county, and “worked out” until 1861, when he went to Iowa and purchased a farm. He lived on the latter place four years; then sold, and, returned to this county and rented a farm, which he cultivated for two years. In 1868 Mr. Wahl purchased 160 acres of land, situated on section 22, Hahnaman Township, on which he has since resided. He has erected fine farm buildings on his home place, and by subsequent purchase has increased his landed possessions in Hahnaman Township to 560 acres, 440 of which is tillable. Mr. Wahl was united in marriage in Sterling Township, Fe. 22, 1858, to Miss Ana, daughter of George and Catharine (Buhler) Kirges, natives of Germany. They came to America in the fall of 1855, and settled n Jordan Township, this county, where the father was drowned, in July, 1858. The issue of their union was five children: Mary, Barbara, Catherine, Anna, Christian.
Mrs. Wahl was born in Germany, March 8, 1838. She and her husband are the parents of 12 children, namely, Catherine, Caroline, William W., Frederick George, Ethel A., and Glenn F. Mr. Wahl has held the office of Road Commissioner, School Trustee, School Director and School Treasurer, and politically is an adherent to the principles of the Republican party. He and his wife are both members of the Lutheran Church. [Portraits & Biographical 1885]
Of Genesee Township, Whiteside Co IL
William Wahl, farmer, section 35, Genesee Township, was born Feb., 26, 1843, in Wurtenberg, Germany. His parents, Matthew and Rosena (Schwartz) Wahl, were also natives of the “father-land,” and were weavers and flax-hatchelers in Germany. The family emigrated to the United States in 1854, arriving in April. They located in Warren, Trumball Co., Ohio, where they were engaged in farming until the fall of 1856, when they proceeded farther West and located on a farm four miles north of Sterling. The family included six children, who are all living, surviving the mother, who died in Genesee Township, about 1862. Since 188, the senior Wahl has resided in Sterling.
Mr. Wahl is the fourth child, and he spent his youth and early manhood at home, obtaining his education in the public schools of the township of Sterling. March 11, 1866, he was married in the city of that name to Dora, daughter of Michael Smith. Mrs. Wahl was born in Germany about 1845, and came with her parents when she was two years of age to the United States, locating in the city of New York, whence they subsequently came to Tecumseh, Lenawee Co., Mich., settling there about 1860. Her parents are still residents there. She came to Sterling to spend a short time with relatives, and was married there. She died at her home in Genesee Township, Dec. 10, 1876. Her six children were born as follows: C. Henry, Nov. 1, 1866; Carrie L., Jan. 28, 1868; Emma, July 13, 1871; Albert A., Aug. 27, 1872; Nettie M., June 23, 1874; William M., March 11, 1876. Mr. Wahl was again married March 1, 1881, in the village of Empire, Hopkins Township, to Mary C., daughter of Lewis and Susannah (Etter) Diehl, descendants from the sturdy class known as "Pennsylvania Dutch." They were farmers and were residents of St. Thomas, Franklin Co., Pa. Mrs. Wahl was born Aug. 31, 1857, near Chambersburg. She was nearly 18 years of age when she accompanied her parents to Illinois, who fixed their residence at Empire, in Whiteside County. They have since moved to Clark Co., D.T., where her father is engaged in the livery business. Mrs. Wahl is the oldest child of her parents and is the mother of one daughter, Lydia A., born March 20, 1882.
Mr. Wahl made his first purchase of land in Genesee Township in April, 1867. The tract at first comprised 80 acres, and he has since added 80 acres more, which he purchased in 1876. The homestead exhibits the best quality of agricultural effort. Mrs. Wahl is a member of the Lutheran Church. In political affiliation Mr. Wahl is a Republican. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 241]
Luman Wakeman, farmer on section 18, Montmorency Township, is a son of David and Helen (Waltermire) Wakeman, who were natives respectively of Connecticut and New York State. Mr. David Wakeman died at his home in Dutchess Co., N. Y., April 28, 1833, and his widow afterward married Hiram Witherwax, and they came to Whiteside County in 1866, settling in Hume Township, where she died April 4, 1881. They had five children, George, Clarissa, David, Sarah and Luman.
Mr. Wakeman, the subject of this sketch, was born in Red Hook, Dutchess Co. N. Y., Feb. 27, 1831, and was about two years of age when his father died; consequently he was very young when he started out in the perilous voyage of life for himself. At the age of 14 years he was apprenticed to learn the saddlery trade, to which he applied himself for something over two years. Up to this time his school education was very limited, owing mainly to feeble health. From the same cause, and partly from choice, he abandoned the trade that had been chosen for him, and sought outdoor employment on the farm. After being thus engaged about 14 years, he purchased the farm which he now occupies, and upon which he permanently located in 1858; he had previously spent a short time in this county, and also in Winnebago County and Iowa. In Winnebago County he followed farming about three years and was married. From the age of 20 to 24 he was engaged in the lumber woods and in a saw-mill, and also for a time had charge of the engine. In 1858 he purchased 80 acres where he lives, erected good farm buildings and subsequently added other land by purchase, so that he is now the proprietor of 225 acres, all of which is in cultivation.
In his political action, Mr. Wakeman is independent; in religion he is a member of the Congregational Church, and in the community he enjoys a high social standing. Officially, he has held many positions of trust.
Mr. Wakeman was first married in Yates Co., N. Y., March 16, 1852, to Sarah A. Bradbury, a native of that State, and they had one child, David L.
His second marriage occurred in Guilford, Winnebago Co, Ill., Sept. 19, 1859, to Mrs. Emily A., daughter of Hiram and Nancy (Boss) Cunningham, and widow of Peter Christie, who died in Oakland, Jefferson Co., Wis., Nov. 15, 1856. By her first marriage there were three children, - Orson, Katie and Henry. The first named died Jan. 8, 1885, when 32 years of age, and Katie died March 21, 1856. Mr. and Mrs. Cunningham were natives of Oneida Co., N. Y., moved to Jefferson Co., Wis., thence to Winnebago Co., Illinois., and finally to Delaware Co., Iowa, where Mr. C. died, Nov. 18, 1868. Mrs. C. survives. They had a family of nine children, - Edwin, Emily A., Benjamin, Horace, Henry, Freeman, Marshall, Guy and Putnam. Mrs. Wakeman was born in Oswego Co., N. Y., Jan. 20, 1831, and by her present marriage there are three children, - Emma A., Aetna D. and Edwin. ["Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois...", page 358]
FREEMAN S. WALKER
Of Prophetstown Township
Freeman S. Walker was born in Stanton, Vermont, in 1812, and came to Prophetstown in 1837, settling on Jackson street where he followed farming until 1870, when his health failed, and with the hope of restoring it, sought his native hills, without avail. He died in 1876. Mr. Walker married Miss Emily Gage in 1838. Their children are: George, and Freeman, living in Prophetstown; Almara, wife of David Cleveland, Jr., living in Hume; Loraine, wife of William H. Adams, living in Hume; and Catherine, living in Prophetstown. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
Adam Wallace, retired farmer, resident of Morrison, was born May 7, 1816, near Loch Winroch, Scotland, and is the son of Robert and Jane (McLachlan) Wallace. His father was a tradesman and acquired a worldwide celebrity as a philanthropist. During the later years of his life he devoted his time principally to the personal investigation of the condition of the poorer classes and in exertions for the amelioration of their necessities. He was the author of a pamphlet entitled "The Christian Soldier." Adam's mother was also a native of Scotland. They were the parents of 11 children and four are living; William is a retired farmer and resides at Morrison; Mary is a widow and lives near Chicago; Agnes is the wife of Robert Ralston, a painter in Clinton Iowa. Mr. Wallace is the second child of his parents now living. After he was 16 he was an assistant in a cotton factory in his native country until 1840, when he came to the US, locating in Saco, Maine, where he obtained a position of overseer in a cotton=mill. He has been a resident of Whiteside County since 1856, when he settled in Ustick Twp. In 1878 he quit the farm and moved to Morrison. He took a prominent part in religious matters in the township of Ustick and aided materially in the construction of the Presbyterian church edifice in that township. He was one who helped to purchase an organ for the Sunday-School, and through the mutual efforts of himself an the minister he was instrumental in its being played during the services, notwithstanding the determined opposition of many members of the society who, true to their educational prejudices, believed it sinful. The feeling grew to such strength that some of the Scotch members took the offending instrument a mile away and burned it!!! His marriage to Olive Peabody took place in Kennebunk Maine. Four children were born of their union and two are deceased. William H. is a banker in Exeter Nebraska; Susan P. is acting as cashier in the banking house of her brother. The mother died in Biddeford, Maine. Mr. Wallace was a second time married in Chicago to Hannah Roberts who was born at Holly Center Maine. Two children born of the second marriage are deceased. [Whiteside County History 1885]
Of Hopkins Township
Elijah Wallace came from Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, in the spring of 1838, and bought the claim of Anthony Sells, near Empire. He went back in the autumn of the same year, and brought on his family, coming from Cumberland county with carriage and horses to Pittsburgh, and thence by water by the way of the Ohio, Mississippi, and Illinois rivers, to Beardstown, Illinois, when cold weather setting in, he came across the country in the carriage one hundred and fifty miles to Sterling, crossing Rock river on the ice, November 10, 1838. Mr. Moore, and his daughter Rebecca, now Mrs. George H. Wells, came with them. Mr. Moore died the next summer with intermittent fever, a disease peculiar to the climate at that time. Mr. Wallace was a farmer, and had a thorough business education. He improved a large farm, and planted upon it one of the finest orchards in the county. He died a number of years ago at the old homestead. [Bent-Wilson History of Whiteside County 1877]
Todays modern farmers in Whiteside County play a number of roles in their important contribution to "feeding the nation" and among them are basic agriculturalist, businessman, marketer and others. Those necessary roles are not new, but by name only and the modern farm today is a mere reflection of efforts by early settlers who migrated to this county to till the fertile soil and they were to be the forerunners of the complex farm business of today.
Among the early settlers who came to Whiteside county with the intent to farm was Elijah Wallace who settled in the county prior to 1840. While many of the early settlers and frontier people migrated westward and engaged in a "short-span" type of farming, they were to continue to move on to "greener fields." Elijah Wallace was one of the true farmers who came with the intent to stay where he settled. It was this type of permanent farmer who bought and laid out the land, built the saw mills for the lumber for their home and farm buildings, who cleared the land, erected mills and plowed and sowed and cultivated the fields and remained on the land with plans to enlarge and better the farm occupation as the times went by. It was this type of early settler who reared the families and then provided the schools to educate them and the churches for their individual worship services. In 1838 Elijah Wallace was enroute to Whiteside County from his native PA. His wife, Elizabeth and their first child remained in PA. Elijah Wallace was a young man when he opened his 400 acre farm in Empire, now Emerson. He selected the site by Elkhorn and Spring Creeks which included a woodland and meadow and was known at one time as one "of the most romantic inland spots in Whiteside County." One of the earlier county farmers, Wallace had been born near Shippensburg, Cumberland County PA in April of 1808. He was of Scotch-Irish ancestry. He married Elizabeth Cassatt Armstrong of Hunterstown, Ada County PA on Oct. 16, 1833 and five years later they were moving to be among the first Whiteside Settlers. Elijah left in the spring of 1838 taking with him the household goods, and he returned in the fall for his wife and small son. A letter dated May 12, 1838 written by Elijah to his wife described the conditions and some hardships of travel at that particular time. He apparently traveled via canals through PA.
Saturday May 12, 1838
I would have written sooner if I had known the name of the boat.
Our goods left Harrisburg for Pittsburg on Tuesday at 75 cts per 100 lbs, on Wednesday we left in the fast packet and lay over at Hollowdaysburg until they arrived there and were loaded into the cars to cross the mountain, from that we got along pretty well until we came to the brake on the canal 13 miles east of Pittsburg.
From there on Tuesday morning we were taken in on steamboat, our freight did not arrive til morning. We are now on the Tremont, Captain Loucus, with our freight at 59 cts per 100 lbs, can passage $16.00 to St. Louis I suppose you have read an account of the steamboat explosion at Cincinnati and may think it unsafe to go aboard of any boat whatever.
I for my part do not feel so much afraid now as befoe the late accident because they will be more careful now than before. Our boat run by Capt Loucus is not celebrated for a fast moving boat but is for her slow and steady gate so there will be no danger of being blown up on account of her racing.
I expect to have a pleasant journey down the river but would feel a good deal nearer home if you were along.
On his return trip that fall to claim his family, Wallace left Cumberland County with horses and carriages to Pittsburg and then by water by way of Ohio, Missisippi and the Illinois River to Beardstorn, IL., when cold weather setting in, he was forced to come across county in the carriage some 150 miles to Sterling, crossing the Rock River on the ice on Nov. 19, 1838. The Sells Brothers emigrated from Ohio in 1836 and Anthony Sell settled west of the Elkhorn Creek. Afterwards he sold his claim to Elijah Wallace for $1,500 cash. A saw mill was built by Elijah Wallace in the summer of 1838 on Spring Creek, just west of the present village of Emerson, and where the old Oak Grove Academy (Emerson School), was built. The Elijah Wallace farm of some 400 acres was finely situated along the clear wates of Spring Creek adn the Elkhorn and it was said to be one of the more picturesque sites in the county at that time. Wallace built a log cabin where the family children were born with the exception of the youngest son, Robert. It was some years later the present day "Wallace Mansion" was built across the road from the log cabin site. The lumber used to construct the Wallace Mansion was from native trees felled and prepared at Wallace's saw mill. in return for the work on his home, Wallace gave the contractor some 80 acres of land to the north as part payment.
Wallace was an enthusiastic sportsman and the community abounded with game including deer, wild turkey, prairie chickens and other in addition to fish from the nearby streams. Wallace was very active in his family affairs as wella s civic affairs of that period. He was a township road commissioner in 1839 when road was surveyed (now ALternate US Rt. 30), laid out and platted. Wallace also was part of the group of men who laid out and platted the village of Empire (Emerson) on July 28, 1855. Wallace and his wife were the parents of two daughters, Mary Cassatt Wallace and Nancy Ann Elizabeth Wallace and four sons, James Hamilton, George Lashels, David Middlecoff and Robert Galt Wallace.
Death claimed Elijah Wallace on Aug. 8, 1861 at the age of 53 years. His early departure left the entire area in mourning. It is believed his untimely death was partially caused by injuries he received after being attacked earlier by a bull at his farmyard. In an article in the Sterling Gazette in 1861, the writer W.W. Davis paid the following tribute to Mr. Wallace: "The major will missed indeed. The seat on the hearth will be vacant now; the voice that wont to enliven the social circle and festive board will be heard no more; the familiar form and accustomed saluation will no longer greet the traveler by the wayside; the fond affections of the father, the faithful consideration of the friend, are all over now forever." He is gone, however, but not forgotten. Dead, he is not, but departed - [The Daily Gazette Bi-Centennial Edition 1 May 1976]
Of Sterling Twp.
Hugh Wallace was a native of Cumberland county Pennsylvania, and was born August 10, 1812 (Think this should be 1802), and came to Sterling in 1837. Mr. Wallace was married March 16, 1830, to Miss Mary Galt, a member of a large family of that name, several of whom came West, and are now the leading business men of Sterling and vicinity. Their children have been: James G., born May 10, 1831 Agnes, born July 10, 1832; Mary Isabella, born June 17, 1834; Elizabeth C born June 10, 1837; Kate, born October 28, 1839; James M., born October 25, 1841; Jesse, born June 10, 1844; Hamilton, born July 29, 1847; Ann Eliza born September, 1852. They also had four children who died in infaney . James G.., died in childhood. Mary Isabella married Wm. L. Patterson, March 20, 1860; they immediately left Sterling, and settled in Mannchchunk, Pennsylvania, where they remained eight years; Mr. Patterson afterwards engaged in building a portion of the Union Pacific Railroad; then returned to Sterling where be has since resided, and is now one of the firm of Patterson & Co., bankers, and is also extensively engaged in manufacturing and other enterprises; children; Nathan, Mary, Susan L, Hugh W., Stella, Lillian, and Isabella. Agnes married Roswell Champion. Hamilton married Miss Anna R. Spencer, September 17, 1870; children, Hugh S., and Jessie E. Ann Eliza married W. B. Leffingwell, December 17, 1874; children, Robert Bruce, and William Wallace. James M. enlisted in Hawthorn’s Battery, in 1862, and was afterwards transferred to Henshaw’s Battery; was in the service about three years, and during the entire time was Sergeant Major; he is now a practicing lawyer in Sterling,, and has been Alderman of the city, and Supervisor of the township. Hugh Wallace graduated at Washington College, Pennsylvania, and read law with Gen. Porter, in Lancaster city, and upon being admitted to the bar, opened an office in that place, practising for several years, when be returned to his native county. Upon his emigration to Sterling he pursued the mixed employment of law and farming until business improved, when be devoted himself to the practice of his profession. Mr. Wallace was elected a member of the house of Representatives of the General Assembly of the State in 1846, and in 1852 he became Senator. He also served four years as Register of the Land Office at Dixon, receiving his appointment from President Pierce. He was earnest and perservering whenever enlisted in any pursuit or undertaking, entertaining and holding opinions upon all subjects with inflexible tenacity. He never adopted any new theory, or engaged in any new enterprise, without full examination as to its merits, and whence once fully embarked never doubted his ultimate success. His social qualities were of a very high order, and his table and fireside free to all. His great leading trait of character was hospitality of the old fashioned pioneer style. His death occurred on the 18th of August, 1864. The city of Sterling was named at the suggestion of Mr. Wallace as a compliment to his friend, Col. Sterling, of Pennsylvania. His widow still resides at the homestead in Sterling. [Extracted from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 398]
HUGH WALLACE, deceased, was born Aug. 10, 1812, in Cumberland Co., Pa. He was a graduate of Washington College, Pa., and read law with George Porter in Lancaster, Pa. On being admitted to the Bar he opened an office in Lancaster, where he continued to practice for a time, and then returned to his native county. In 1837 he came to Whiteside County, and located at Chatham, now the city of Sterling. The country being new and the county not yet organized, the law business could not be very profitable; and so he followed the business of farming for a few years, or until the country became more densely populated, when he devoted himself to his profession. As a lawyer he took high rank at the Bar, and when he undertook a case de determined to win at all hazards. Hugh Wallace was a man of energy, and in every enterprise calculated to build up his adopted city he was very active. To him, more than to any other man, is due the construction of the dam at Sterling. He served the county as a member of the General Assembly of the State, both in the House and Senate. He also served four years as a Register of the Land Office in Dixon. A leading trait of his character is said to have been his great hospitality. The latch-string of his door was always out, and his hospitality was treated by hundreds. Mr. Wallace was united in marriage with MissMary Galt, March 16, 1830. The following are the names of their children - James G, Agnes, Mary, Isabella, Elizabeth C, Kate, James M, Jesse, Hamilton and Ann Eliza. Mr. Wallace died Aug. 18, 1864. His widow resides in Sterling. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 382]
JAMES M. WALLACE
OF Sterling Township, Whiteside Co IL
James M Wallace is a native of Whiteside county, and was born October 25, 1841. He was educated at the Mt. Carroll and Galesburg Academies and upon coming home commenced the study of law which he had continued after returning from the army, and was admitted to practice January 1, 1867. In the fall of 1862 he went into the army as a member of Hawthorne’s Battery, afterwards Henshaw’s Battery, serving as Sergeant Major. This Battery was incorporated in the 23d Army Corps, and their first duty was to assist in driving Morgan the rebel raider, out of Ohio. The Corps followed him for seven hundred and fifty miles , and finally drove him back into the rebel States, capturing before doing so a large part of his force. Mr. Wallace was in all the principal campaigns in East Tennessee and Kentucky, and was honorably mustered out of the service July 19, 1865. He is in the insurance business, in partnership with his brother Hamilton, besides conducting his legal business, and is also connected with several of the enterprises of Sterling. During the present year Mr. has re-purchased the Wallace House property, and has added largely to the size of the building, besides refitting it in a splendid manner, which will make it in every respect a first class hotel. He has also erected during the year the fine three story brick block on the corner of Third and B streets, occupied by the Sterling Mercantile Company, and is engaged in other build projects in that part of the city. While occupying the position of School Director He superintended the erection of the present elegant school building in District No. 8, Third Ward. He has also been Alderman of the city, and assistant Supervisor of the township, holding each position for several terms. He is a gentleman of enterprise and ability. [Pg 448 History of Whiteside Co. Bent-Wilson 1877]
Robert Wallace, Mayor of Morrison, was born June 17, 1841, in Lochwinnoch, near Paisley, Scotland. His parents, William and Margaret (Dinsmore) Wallace, were natives of the same country, and the father was born in 1812. The son was less than a year old when the family emigrated from “auld Scotia” to the New World, and located at Newburgh, N.Y., where the father maintained his family by labor in a cotton factory. They came in 1851 to Whiteside County, and located in Clyde Township, where the father bought a farm of 120 acres. On this Mr. Wallace was reared, and when he attained to the period of independent manhood, purchased 80 acres of land in the township of Ustick. He conducted its agricultural progress for four years, and at the expiration of that time came to Morrison, where he bought the hardware business of W.I. Robinson & Bro. He became associated with N.S. Forsting in its interests and relations, and they managed their affairs jointly about two and a half years. He operated alone about the same length of time, after which he sold his business to its original proprietors.
In 1879, in partnership with his cousin, William H. Wallace, he established a private banking enterprise at Exeter, Neb. It was operated as a private institution until February, 1884, when a stock company was formed, and the establishment was converted into the National Bank of Exeter, with Mr. Wallace as its President, which position he still holds, and at intervals he gives its affairs his personal superintendence. In May, 1879, he was appointed to the position of cashier of Smith & Mackay’s Bank, at Morrison, and discharged its obligations until July, 1884. At that date he resigned his connection with active business interests. He was elected Mayor of Morrison in the spring of 1883. He is a member of the Congregational Church.
Mayor Wallace was married Oct. 10, 1866, at Milledgeville, Carroll co., Ill., to Malinda, daughter of George B. and Mary M. Dodd. Mrs. Wallace was born in Ohio. The family includes an adopted daughter, Julia Wallace. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen from Portraits & Biographical Pg 462 Whiteside County IL 1885]
Robert Wallace, Mayor of Morrison, was born June 17, 1841, in Lochwinnoch, near Paisley, Scotland. His parents, William and Margaret (Dinsmore) Wallace, were natives of the same country, and the father was born in 1812. The son was less than a year old when the family emigrated from “auld Scotia” to the New World, and located at Newburgh, N.Y., where the father maintained his family by labor in a cotton factory. They came in 1851 to Whiteside County, and located in Clyde Township, where the father bought a farm of 120 acres. On this Mr. Wallace was reared, and when he attained to the period of independent manhood, purchased 80 acres of land in the township of Ustick. He conducted its agricultural progress for four years, and at the expiration of that time came to Morrison, where he bought the hardware business of W.I. Robinson & Bro. He became associated with N.S. Forsting in its interests and relations, and they managed their affairs jointly about two and a half years. He operated alone about the same length of time, after which he sold his business to its original proprietors.
In 1879, in partnership with his cousin, William H. Wallace, he established a private banking enterprise at Exeter, Neb. It was operated as a private institution until February, 1884, when a stock company was formed, and the establishment was converted into the National Bank of Exeter, with Mr. Wallace as its President, which position he still holds, and at intervals he gives its affairs his personal superintendence. In May, 1879, he was appointed to the position of cashier of Smith & Mackay’s Bank, at Morrison, and discharged its obligations until July, 1884. At that date he resigned his connection with active business interests. He was elected Mayor of Morrison in the spring of 1883. He is a member of the Congregational Church. Mayor Wallace was married Oct. 10, 1866, at Milledgeville, Carroll co., Ill., to Malinda, daughter of George B. and Mary M. Dodd. Mrs. Wallace was born in Ohio. The family includes an adopted daughter, Julia Wallace. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen from Portraits & Biographical Pg 462 Whiteside County IL 1885]
Of Prophetstown Township
Lawrence Walls is a native of Londonderry, Ireland, and was born in 1803. He came to Illinois in 1838, and was foreman for Sanger and Nichols in their contract on the Illinois & Michigan Canal. In 1840 , he same to prophetstown, and purchased a farm east of Coon Creek, where he now resides. Mr. Walls married Philena Clark, and after her death, Clarissa White. He has one child, a daughter. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
Charles Ward, farmer, resident on section 1, Mt. Pleasant Township, was born June 17, 1823, in Niagara Co., N. Y. Nahum M. and Diadamia (Diver) Ward, his father and mother, were born in Massachusetts and had four children, named John H., Charles, George W. and Nelson. Mr. Ward was a resident of his native county more than 40 years, removing thence in the spring of 1864 to Whiteside County. He bought the farm on which he has since prosecuted the purposes of his life, comprising 197 acres of land, situated in Mt. Pleasant Township; and has added thereto by later purchase until he is at present the proprietor of 287 acres of land, nearly all of it being under excellent tillage. Mr. Ward is an adherent of the Republican party. [Contributed by Christine Walters, Whiteside County History 1880]
Edward Ward, resident at Lyndon, was born in 1816, in Nottinghamshire, Eng. He was there reared in the vocation in which his ancestors had been bred for many years, that of farming. He was married in 1838, to Albina Dorr. She was a native of Lincolnshire, and was born in 1812. In 1849 they sailed for the United States on the " Montezuma," and the passage from Liverpool to New York occupied four weeks. On their arrival at the port of the latter, they went by steamboat to Philadelphia, thence by canal to Pittsburg, from there down the Ohio River and up the Mississippi River to Albany. They came to Lyndon by stage, and Mr. Ward at once entered upon the business of selecting a location for a home. He entered a claim on the northeast quarter of section 2, township 20, range 5, bought a frame house, and moved it to the place for the accommodation of his family, and, without farther delay, began the work of improvement. In the spring of i860 he began to make an addition to his dwelling, but before it was completed the tornado of June 3, of that year, destroyed the whole structure, and left his family homeless. The members of the household were all injured, and Mrs. Ward has never entirely recovered. They found shelter under the hospitable roof of Harry Smith, until Mr. Ward could rebuild his home. In 1867 Mr. Ward rented his farm, and has since lived in the village of Lyndon. He owned his residence there previously. Mr. and Mrs. Ward have three children. William lives in Lyndon; Emily J. is the wife of P. C. Riley, of Lyndon; John E. is the youngest. [Contributed by Christine Walters Whiteside County History 1880]
AMOS W. HARDY
Has been a life-long resident of Mount Pleasant town-ship, Whiteside county. His natal day was June 27, 1854, and from early boyhood to the present time he has been identified with agricultural interests here. His father, William Hardy, who carries on general farming on section 13, Ustick township, has made his home in the county since 1853 and was a resident of Mount Pleasant township until 1877, when he removed to Morrison. In 1879 he became a landholder of Ustick township by his purchase of one hundred and sixty-two acres, which he still owns. He has since added about sixty acres by a later purchase and almost the entire tract is now under a high state of cultivation, comprising one of the rich farming properties of Whiteside county. Mr. Hardy was a young man of twenty-one years when he arrived here, his birth having occurred in Lincolnshire, England, January 27, 1832. His parents were Isaac and Sarah Hardy, both of whom died in England. William Hardy is their fifth child and has seven brothers and sisters. He was reared to farm life and remained a resident of his native land until 1852, when he came to the United States, spending a year in New York city, whence he removed to Whiteside county in 1853. He has been a stalwart republican since becoming a naturalized American citizen and has served as school trustee but has never been active as an office seeker. In early manhood he married Keziah Richardson, at Unionville. Illinois, and to them were born seven children: Amos W., Richardson I., Wingfield J., Horace G., Olive, Alice J., and Ruby K. Mrs. William Hardy had been previously married, her first husband being Thomas Hardy, who died in Mount Pleasant township. Her death occurred in August, 1869, and William Hardy afterward wedded Alicia Richardson, the widow of William Kennen, who passed away in Mount Pleasant township. The death of Mrs. Alicia Hardy occurred April 2, 1885, in Ustick township.
Amos W. Hardy, whose name introduces this record, was reared to the occupation of farming and in his youth acquired a good English education in the public schools. He was married on the 27th of November, 1878, to Miss Harriet Bowen, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Sylvester Bowen. Her father was born September 8, 1805, and came to Illinois in 1853. Here his death occurred November 16, 1876. His wife, who was born May 1, 1817, died February 8, 1889. They were the parents of five children: Randall, who is married and lives in Lyndon; William, of Denison, Iowa, who is married and has five children; Mrs. Myra Loucks, of Traverse City, Michigan, who has one daughter; Mrs. Helen Tuller, who died leaving a daughter, who is now a resident of Lyndon; and Mrs. Hardy. Mr. and Mrs. Bowen were earnest, consistent Christian people and held membership in the Methodist Episcopal church. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Hardy has been blessed with four children: Ralph W., born September 1, 1879, resides at home and follows the machinist's trade. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen. R. Alice, born October 24, 1881, is now teaching in Mount Pleasant township and she belongs to the Royal Neighbors. Sylvia K., born November 20, 1883, is at home. Ross L., born December 20, 1886, is an engineer. All the children yet remain under the parental roof. The family home is a fine farm of one hundred and ten acres situated in Mount Pleasant township. It belongs to his father, but A. W. Hardy has entire management of the place and in the cultivation of the fields is meeting with good success. He belongs to the Modern Woodmen Camp and his wife is a member of the Royal Neighbors and also of the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. Hardy gives his political allegiance to the republican party and has served in several of the township offices, wherein he has discharged his duties with promptness and fidelity. [Whiteside County History - by Wm. Davis 1908]
JAMES N. WARD
James N. Ward, druggist, at Fulton, was born in Essex Co., N. J., June 19, 1822, and is the son of Reuben and Electa (Condit) Ward. He spent his early life in his native county, and in 1836 removed with his parents to Delaware Co., Ohio. He learned the trade of carpenter and joiner, at which he worked in Ohio till April, 1856; in August of that year he came to Fulton and engaged in business as contractor and builder, which he continued till December, 1870. He then went to Maquoketa, Iowa, and engaged in the lumber trade. He carried on the lumber business in Iowa about three and a half years, still maintaining his residence at Fulton. In October, 1875, he purchased the stock of Mr. John Hudson, druggist at Fulton, and succeeded to the business. Mr. Ward has had ten years experience as a druggist, and has a tasteful, well stocked store in his line,—that of drugs, medicines, paints, oils, toilet articles, wall paper, etc. The average value of his stock is $3,000. His course as a business man has won him a reputation for fair dealing and conscientious and careful attention in serving his customers. He was married in Delaware Co., Ohio, April 3, 1849,to Miss Sarah J. Thatcher, daughter of Elisha and Sarah J. (Dana) Thatcher. Mrs. Ward was born in Delaware Co., Ohio. They have three children, all sons. The eldest, George A., was born at Columbus, Ohio, Oct. 17, 1851, and is a resident of Fulton; James F. was born in Columbus, Ohio, Jan. 4, 1853, married Miss Sedate Houghton, and is also a resident of Fulton; the youngest, William W., was born in Fulton, Sept. 23, 1856, and is living in Chicago., In politics, Mr. Ward is a Democrat, tried and true. [Contributed by Christine Walters, Whiteside County History 1880]
CARLOS W. WARE
Carlos L. Ware, general farmer, section 14, Fulton Township, is the son of Leonard and Nancy A. (Thomas) Ware. They were born in the State of Vermont, where the father yet lives. The mother died there April 3, 1882. Following are the names of their five children: Harriet, Emily, Carlos L., William W., Julia A.
Mr. Ware, of this sketch, was born May 5, 1833, in Pomfret, Windsor Co., Vt. After obtaining his elementary education in the common schools, he attended Thetford Academy, where he completed his education. He remained in Vermont until the fall of 1852, when he came to Illinois. He spent a winter in teaching in Du Page County. In the spring of 1854 he came to Whiteside County, where he has been a resident most of the time since. He was engaged to some extent in rafting on the Mississippi River. Her came to Fulton for the purpose of working on the Mississippi & Rock River Railroad, on which he was employed one year. He is now one of the most extensive land owners of the county, and associated it his son, is the proprietor of 400 acres of land. He was married Jan. 13, 1858, in Fulton, Ill., to Mary Johnson, and they are the parents of four children, of whom one, Julia, died in infancy: James, Jessie and Georgie still survive. Mr. Ware is a Republican in political persuasion. He has been Street Commissioner at Fulton, and has held other offices. He belongs to the Order of Masons, and is a member of the Presbyterian Church, to which his wife also belongs. [Contributed by Marji Turner, Whiteside County History 1880 Pg 512]
Of Prophetstown Township
Jabez Warner was born in Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1787. In 1806 he moved to Missouri, it being then French territory, and settled near St. Louis. During his residence there he served as Sheriff, and also as Probate Judge of St. Louis county. He was a cooper by trade, and carried on a large cooper shop in St. Louis, in which he made four barrels for the mills of that city. When the news of the victory of the Americans over the British, at New Orleans, on the 8th of January, 1815, reached St. Louis, Mr. Warner lost his right arm while assisting in firing a salute over the triumph. He was a Lieut. in the war of 1812, and with his company made a trip up the Mississippi river to keep the Indians in check. During this expedition the captain of the company was wounded, and died soon after, leaving the command to Lieut. Warner. He was universally esteemed as a man of clear judgment, unswerving integrity and great kindness of heart. He died in 1847.
Mr. Warner was married to Miss Elizabeth Conner in 1811. Mrs. Warner was born in Charleston, S. Carolina, in 1794, and is still living with her sons in this county. Their children have been: John H.; Mary E., who married Job Dodge, and lives in Philadelphia; Elias Burchard; Andrew J.; Sarah C., who married Silas Sears, a lives in Prophetstown; Edward B.; Eliza A., who married Andrew J. Tuller, and lives in Sterling; Martin P.; and Ellen M., who married B. H. Bacon, a lives in Philadelphia. John H. married Miss Clarissa E. Bryant, and resides the village of Prophetstown. He owns a large and well cultivated farm in the township, and has been a very successful agriculturist. Elias Burchard married Miss Statira Clark, and upon coming to Prophetstown commenced farming, which occupation he continued until 1851, when he engaged in mercantile business in the village with his brothers Edward B. and Martin P., and maintained his connection with them until 1856, when he retired. Andrew J. first married Miss Elvira Rowe, and after her death Mrs. Eliza M. Woodard. He was engaged in the mercantile business with Andrew J. Tuller from 1849 to 1851, and for several years was part owner of the plow factory and saw mill in the village. In 1862 he was appointed an Assistant United States Revenue Assessor, and 1865 was promoted to the office of Revenue Assessor for the Third Congressional District, holding the latter position until 1873. He has also held various offices in the township, and has been a member, and for several terms, President of the Board of Trustees of the village of Prophetstown, and in all of these offices he gave unqualified satisfaction. Edward B. married Miss Elizabeth Bryant, and for several years was engaged in business in the village of Prophetstown. In 1858 he was elected County Treasurer of Whiteside county, when he retired from business, and devoted all his energies to the duties of his office the county finances being then in not a very prosperous condition, and county orders below par. The county seat had been but recently moved to Morrison and county buildings had to be erected.
Added to this was the breaking out of the war, and as it continued, drafts were ordered which could only be averted by paying large bounties, and to do this bonds had to be issued and put upon the market. Resting under a cloud as to her financial matters, the way looked rather difficult for Whiteside to realize upon her bonds, but under the able management of its financial officer they suffered but very little depreciation, and that only for a short time. Through Mr. Warner’s influence taxes were levied to pay them, and long before the times had reached hard pan, the war debt was extinguished. In the meantime the county buildings had been erected, and paid for, and the credit of Whiteside county in all respects fully reestablished.
The twelve years during which Mr. Warner held the position of Treasurer were trying ones for the county, and had there been a less able, faithful and judicious officer at the head of the financial department, it is difficult at this day to determine what its condition would have been. In 1872 Mr. Warner was elected a member of the State Board of Equalization, and re-elected in 1878, his recognized financial abilities placing him at once among the leading members of that body. In 1859 he moved to Morrison, where he has since resided. He has been Mayor of the city of Morrison, and one of the school directors nearly all the time during his residence in that city, and had also very acceptably filled a similar position in Prophetstown while a resident of that place. Martin P. was engaged in business for some time in Prophetstown, but for the past fifteen years has been connected with the County Treasurer’s office, residing in Morrison. Jabez F. married Miss Statira U. Cutler. He owns a fine farm in the township, which he has brought under a high state of cultivation. His residence is in the village. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 382-83]
JOHN S. WARNER
Of Prophetstown Township
John S. Warner was born in Springfield, Mass. in 1784 and came to Prophetstown in 1837. He was a surveyor by profession, and was one of the leading minds of the place from the time he became a resident until his death, which occurred in 1864. He married Miss Sybil Perry in 1806. Mrs. Warner died in 1865. Their children were Irene who married Rev. Wm. Palmer, and is now dead; Ruby, wife of David Underhill, living in Prophetstown and Mary the wife of Alonzo Davis, also living in Prophetstown. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Pg 383]
Of Portland Township
Russell Warren was born in New England, in 1778. He early moved to Livingston county, New York, where his children were all born, and subsequently settled in Steuben county, in the same State, and in
1838 came to Portland, his sons having preceded him. His children were: Lyman, who married Miss Sarah Palmer, and is now dead; he came to Portland in 1838, and had six children, all of whom are in Iowa, if living; George, who married Miss Julia Eaton; he came to Portland in 1836, and settled near Spring Hill, and in 1846 returned to Steuben county; Elizabeth, who married John S. Logan, and is now dead; Daniel, who married Miss Mary Baker, and is now dead; Fanny, who married John Laird, and is now dead, and Martha, who married Joseph Arnett, and is also dead. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
ABRAHAM S. WEAVER
Sterling Township, Whiteside Co IL
Abraham S. Weaver, a farmer on section 13, Sterling Township, is the son of John and Anna (Snavely) Weaver, of whom a persoanal sketch may be found elsewhere. The son was born Oct. 23, 1835, in Lancaster Co., Pa. His father came to Whiteside County with his family when he was 17 years of age, and he has been a farmer in Sterling Township since that date (1852). He was married Jan. 20, 1861, to Mary, daughter of John and Martha (Kreider) Hoover, and they had one child, Mary, who died when six years of age. The mother died July 10, 1862. The second marriage of Mr. Weaver, to Annie Hoover, the sister of his first wife, took place in Sterling Township. She was born Sept. 24, 1842, in Franklin Co., Pa., and has become the mother of four children: Benjamin, Louetta, Corand Emma G. Mr. Weaver is identified in politics with the Republican party, and has been School Director. [Portraits & Biographical 1885]
John Weaver, a farmer on section 24, Sterling Township, has been a preacher in the Reformed Mennonite Church for 20 years. He was born Oct. 12, 1806, in Lancaster Co., Pa., and his parents, John and Barbara (Landis) Weaver, were natives of the same State where they passed their entire lives. Four of their children lived to maturity, John, David, Henry and Nancy.
Mr. Weaver was brought up a farmer and engaged in that calling in his native State until his removal in 1854 to Whiteside County. He bought 270 acres of land in the same township of which he is now a resident, and his estate in Whiteside County includes 817 acres of land, all of which is in Sterling Township. He is also the owner of 150 acres of land in Lee County. Nearly all his estate is under tillage.
The first marriage of Mr. Weaver took place March 3, 1831, to Anna Snavely. She was born in Pennsylvania, and bore eight children, named Benjamin, Abram S., John S., Frank S., Elizabeth and Israel. Two children died in infancy, and Israel when a small boy. The mother died in Lancaster Co., Pa. He was again married in the same county, to Fanny Hoover, also a native of the same State. One child born to them died in infancy. The mother died Aug. 1882. [Contributed by Christine Walters, Whiteside County History 1880]
JOHN S. WEAVER
Of Sterling, IL
John S. Weaver is a farmer on Section 23, Sterling Township, and is the son of John and Anna (Snavely) Weaver, whose sketch appears on another page of this volume. He was born Jan. 15, 1838 in Lancaster Co.PA and came with his parents to Whiteside Co. He obtained a fair common-school education and since arriving at the estate of manhood has been interested in agricultural pursuits. He is the proprietor of 80 acres of land, which is under good improvement. Mr. Weaver was married in Sterling Feb. 21, 1864 to Mary A. daughter of Michael and Julia (Grim) Delp. Her parents are natives of Pennsylvania and came in 1851 to Whiteside County, locating at first in Jordan and later removing to the township of Sterling. Their 10 children were named Benjamin, Charles, Mahlon, Caroline, Mary A., Michael, Julia, Samuel, Babara adn Martha. Mrs. Weaver was born in Montgomery Co PA Dec. 31, 1841. Their surviving children are five in number, and are named IRving L, Agnes and Alice (twins), Mammie and Julia A. Three are deceased - Ira, Elam and Franklin. Mr. Weaver is a Republican in politics. [Transcribed by Christine Walters 23 May 2006 - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885]
Joseph Weaver, one of the energetic and progressive farmers as well as self-made men of Whiteside County, residing in Erie village, and the proprietor of 240 acres of land located on sections 7, 8, 1,7 and 18, is a son of William and Margaret (Reynolds) Weaver, and was born in Washington Co., N. Y., Sept. 8, 1807. His father was born in Newport, R I., was of New England extraction, and was a farmer and mechanic. His mother was born in Exeter, R. I., and was of Quaker descent. The issue of their union was eight children, four of whom are living. Mr. Weaver, subject of this biographical notice, was the seventh child of his parent's family, and was reared on a farm in Montgomery Co., N. Y., until the family moved to Allegany Co., same State, when he engaged in farming. In 1856 he came with his family to Erie, this county, and purchased 340 acres of land, 240 of which constitutes his present farm, having sold 100 acres of the same. His farm lies contiguous to the village of Erie, 27 1/1 acres lying within the corporate limits of that village. He is engaged in general farming, and has made numerous improvements upon his place, having erected a fine residence, good buildings, etc. He rents his land, except some pasture land and 20 acres which he cultivates with the assistance of one hand. Mr. Weaver has held the position of Justice of the Peace eight years. He was united in marriage in Monroe Co., N. Y., Dec. 29, 1834, to Miss Melissa, daughter of Nahum and Rachel Benedict. She was born in Montgomery Co., N. Y.,- March 8, 1808, and has borne to her husband eight children, six of whom survive: Homer and Herman (twins); Rachel is the wife of N. E. Lyman, President of the People's Bank in Rockford, Ill.; Julia is the wife of Mortimer Wonser, attorney and Postmaster at Tarna City, Iowa; Emily resides at home; and J. D. is the youngest living: William and Mary are deceased. [Portrait and Biographical PG 719]
WILLIAM ELSWORTH WEAVER
William E. Weaver, A.B. (Sic) For almost a quarter of a century, the city of Morrison has had at its command in the office of superintendent of schools, the scholarly services and marked executive ability, of William E. Weaver, A. B. Professor Weaver has nobly performed his task in this city and the high stamdard here maintained through so long a period, has been of great educational value all over Whiteside County.
William E. Weaver belongs in this county by birth and rearing, social and material interests. He was born on his father’s farm in Union Grove Township, January 5, 1866, a son of Henry C. And Jane (Nightser) Weaver, of English ancestry on the paternal and of Holland-Dutch on the maternal side. Few better than he can lay claim to be of real old American stock, for he is in the sixth generation, tracing back through Henry C., Henry, Jacob, and Henry Weaver to the Henry Weaver of English birth and Quaker religious belief, the emigrant, who crossed the Atlantic ocean in 1682 and established the family with William Penn, in Pennsylvania. Henry C. Weaver was nineteen years of age when he adventured as far west as Whiteside County, Illinois, acquired rich farming land in Union Grove Township, prospered and spent the rest of his life here. He was married in this county to Jane Nightser, who like her husband was born in Pennsylvania. The first American progenitor of her family, Jeptha Nightser, was born in Holland and settled in New Jersey, his descendants subsequently becoming established also in Pennsylvania and still later came as pioneers to Whiteside County, Illinois. The mother of Professor Weaver died here in 1910, at the age of seventy-five years, but his father survived until 1922, having passed his eighty-sixth birthday. They were people of sterling character, widely known and universally esteemed, and for many years had been attendants of the Methodist Episcopal Church. They had three sons: William E., John C. And Clarence E.
William E. Weaver spent his early life on the home farm, attended first the country schools and later the high school at Morrison, from which he was graduated in 1883, when but seventeen years old. Too young to secure a teacher’s license, he assisted his father on the farm through the next year, but through the following year he taught school, making a very successful beginning in a field of effort to which he has most faithfully devoted many years of his life. After one year of teaching, he entered Knox College at Galesburg, where he spent two years in the academic department, afterward completing a full four-year literary course and graduating in 189` with his A. B. Degree. In 1892, well prepared for the career he had chosen as his life work, Mr. Weaver accepted the principalship of a school at Columbus, Nebraska, later becoming assistant principal and subsequently principal of the Columbus High School, where he continued until 1902, nine years, when, entirely unsolicited, he was recalled to Whiteside county, to take charge as superintendent of the city schools of Morrison.
In 1903, at Columbus, Nebraska, William E. Weaver was married to Miss Minnie F. Becker a native of that city, daughter of John Peter and Philipina (Schram) Becker, old settlers there of German extraction. They have one daughter and two sons: Jane Philipina, John Peter and William Henry, the sons being twins. All are graduates of the Morrison High School, and the daughter is a graduate also of the Francis Shimer Seminary, which is affiliated with the University of Chicago. Professor Weaver and his family are members of the Presbyterian Church. He is identified with many educational bodies and is a valued member of such representative organizations as the Whiteside County, the State District and the Illinois State Teachers associations. A stanch republican, as was his father, he takes an earnest, broad-minded interest in public affairs but has never consented to accept any political office. He is a member of the Rotary Club at Morrison. [From - HISTORY OF ILLINOIS AND HER PEOPLE by Professor George W. Smith, M. A.;Published by The American Historical Society, Inc.Volume 4, Page 150 & 151;Contributed by Mary Bookout/Grove]
WILLIAM ELSWORTH WEAVER, professor of sciences, at the township high school in Morrison, his native city, was born on the 5th of January, 1866. His father, Henry Weaver, was a native of Pennsylvania, and is now living in Morrison at the age of seventy-three years. He comes of English ancestry, the first representatives of the name in America arriving here with the colony of William Penn. The grandfather Jacob Weaver, a farmer by occupation, and the great-grandfather was Henry Weaver, who served as a soldier in the Continental army of the Revolutionary War. Daniel Flenner, the father of Mrs. Jacob Weaver, was also a Revolutionary soldier and had his great toe shot off in battle.
Henry Weaver, father of our subject, also followed agricultural pursuits, and in 1855 came to Illinois, settling on a farm west of Morrison in Union Grove township. There he spent his active life, carrying on general agricultural pursuits until his retirement in 1896, when he removed to Morrison, where he has since made his home. In his farming operations he prospered and now derives a good income from two hundred acres of improved farm land in Union Grove township. While upon the farm he engaged quite extensively in raising hogs for the market, and found this a profitable source of income. His political allegiance is given to the republican party. In early manhood Henry Weaver was married to Mary J. Nightser, a native of Pennsylvania and of German lineage now living at the age of seventy-three years. Her parents were Jeptha and Rebecca Nightser, who removed from Pennsylvania to Ohio in 1836, and there remained until 1855, when they came to Illinois, settlling in Union Grove township, Whiteside county, where they spent their remaining days. The marriage of Mr. And Mrs. Henry Weaver was celebrated in 1864, and unto them were born three sons: William Elsworth; John C., who was born Jan 29, 1868, and is now living on a farm in Union Grove township; and Clarence E., who was born May 1, 1870, and resides upon the old homestead.
At the usual age William E. Weaver began his education by attending the district schools, and later he became a student in the high school of Morrison, from which he was graduated with the class of 1883. He afterward gave his assistance to his father in the further development of the home farm for a year, when he entered the field of educational activity, and for one year taught school in Ustick township. Not content with the educational advantages he had himself received, in 1887 he entered Knox College at Galesburg, and was graduated in 1891 on the completion of the classical course with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. A year later he became a teacher in the Como school, and afterward went to Columbus, Nebraska, as principal of the Third ward school, continuing there for six years. He next became teacher of science in the high school there, and so continued for three years, also acting as high school principal during the last year. In 1902 he returned to Morrison and accepted the superintendency of schools in his native city, filling the position until 1906, when the township high school was organized and he became professor of sciences in which capacity he has since served. He is an able educator, recognized as one of the leading members of the profession in this part of the state, and his work has been eminently satisfactory. He is constantly studying out new methods to increase the effciency of his department, and has the ability to inspire his pupils with much of his own zeal and interest in the work.
On the 8th of July, 1903, Mr. Weaver was married to Miss Minnie Fredericka Becker, who was born in Columbus, Nebraska, October 7, 1877, a daughter of John Peter and Philipina Becker. The father was born in Warsaw, Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, May 29, 1833, and died January 14, 1892. The mother was born in Massillon, Ohio, March 12, 1851, and is now living in Columbus. Mr. Becker was a contractor, grain buyer and banker, and was quite successful in his business operations. In the family of Mr. And Mrs. Weaver are three children: Jane P., who was born in Columbus, Nebraska, July 15, 1904; John Peter and William Henry, born October 13, 1906. Mrs. Weaver is a member of the Presbyterian church. They have a beautiful home in Morrison and its hospitality is greatly enjoyed by their many friends. It constitutes the center of a cultured society circle. In his political view Mr. Weaver is a republican, but has never been active in the party ranks. He is well known in Morrison, his native city, and his fellow townsmen feel a pride in what he has accomplished, having gained a position of more than local distinction as an educator. [From - HISTORY OF WHITESIDE COUNTY, Illinois; from its earliest settlement to 1908. Chicago Pioneer Pub. 1908-Page 1022-1024; Contributed by Mary Bookout/Grove]
JOHN P. WELDING
Of Portland Township
John P. Welding came to Portland in 1837, and was a carpenter by trade. He married Miss Lucy C. Fuller. Their children were: Lucina, now dead; Ovid P., who married Miss Harriet Lanphere, and lives in Portland; Simeon, living in New Mexico; Arthur, who married Miss Mary Witt, and lives in Portland; and William, living in Davenport, Iowa. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877]
CHARLES CHRISTOPHER WELLS
Now actively identified with the business interests of Malvern, was born in Carroll county, Illinois, October 20, 1861, but was reared on the old home farm in Whiteside county. He is a son of John Wells, of whom mention is made above. Early in life he aided to some extent in carrying on the home farm and later engaged in drilling wells and operating a threshing machine in Whiteside and Carroll counties. Withdrawing from these lines of activity, he has for the past five years conducted a general store at Malvern, where he carries a good line of general merchandise and is meeting with success in its sale. Hi? store is tastefully arranged and his reasonable prices and courtesy to his customers secure him a liberal patronage.
Charles C. Wells married Miss Nettie Zollers, of Genesee township, this county, and they have three children: Joshua, Irvin and Marjorie. Mr. Wells is a member of the Knights of Pythias Lodge at Morrison and of the Mystic Workers of Malvern. His political views accord with the principles of the republican party and he has served as town clerk of Clyde township for the past five years. He is now filling the position of school director and his official duties are discharged with a promptness and fidelity that make his services very acceptable to the general public. He represents one of the old and prominent families of this part of the county and his record is a credit to the untarnished family name. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - History of Whiteside County, Illinois 1908 By William White Davis]
Of Sterling Township
George Wells was a native of Massachusetts, and came to Sterling in 1838. With the exception of a short stay in Fulton, he resided in Sterling until his death, which took place about four years ago, at the age of seventy years. His first wife died twenty-five years ago, without children. He afterwards married Miss Rebecca McMoore, sister of Andrew McMoore, who still resides at the homestead near the old court house. Mr. Wells was a tailor by occupation, but gave up that trade, and kept the Sterling Hotel. He had no children, but adopted a child, known as Samuel Wells. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
Of Hopkins Twp.
Horatio Wells was born April 10, 1796, at Greenfield, Massachusetts, and made his claim at Round Grove in 1838. He married Miss Sarah Swan, who was also a native of Greenfield, Massachusetts, February 6, 1821. Their children were: Samuel, born September 24, 1824; Sarah, December 9, 1826; Louisa, May 26, 1831; Horatio, February 28, 1834; Charles J., August 3, 1836; Caroline, May 26, 1840; Joseph W., August 7, 1843, and two who died in infancy. Charles J. died September 22, 1872, and Joseph W. in September, 1848. Martha married Russell Lockwood, who died in 1863. Samuel married Miss Mary Jennings. Louisa married William McDearborn, January 23, 1861; children, Horatio, Louisa, Arthur, and Edith. Horatio married in December, 1872; children, Clarence. Caroline married Charles Toby, March 10, 1870; children, Marshall W., and Grace E. Mr. Wells made most of his journey from Massachusetts, with his family, to Whiteside county, "prairie schooner" fashion. He was one of the few men who engaged., prior to the building of railroads, in the transportation of goods from Boston to the interior and western part of Massachusetts. This was done in wagons drawn by six horses, over the mountamS, and required as much skill, and presence of mind as are necessary to handle a ship in a storm, or a train of cars over a bad railroad. Mr. and Mrs. Wells celebrated their golden wedding a few years ago. Since then Mr. Wells has died.. [Bent-Wilson History of Whiteside County, 1877]
HORATIO WELLS, deceased, a pioneer of Whiteside County, and formerly a resident of Como, was born in Greenfield, Franklin Co., Mass., April 10, 1796, and was a son of Samuel and Electa (Bascom) Wells, both natives of the Bay State. He was reared to agriculture, his father's farm lying contiguous to the vil1age in which their residence was located. In 1821 he married Sarah Swan, who was born in Greenfield, May 30, 1800, and was a daughter of Benjamin and Mary (Wait) Swan, also natives of that village. Mr. Wells resided upon the farm of his mother-in-law two years, when he purchased a farm in Deerfield, lived there a few years, then bought a farm in Heath and occupied it a short time, and then moved to Athol. While a resident of the latter place before the day of railroads, he was engaged in hauling goods between that place and Boston with a six-horse team.
In the fall of 1836 he started with his family for the great Prairie State, then the distant West, coming by way of Troy, the Erie Canal, Buffalo and the lakes to Milwaukee, where he hired a conveyance and brought his family to Sterling. In the spring of 1839 he settled upon his claim at Round Grove, built a log cabin and commenced making improvements. He made that place his home until 18??, when he moved to Como, where he lived in retirement until his death, in 1874. His wife survived until 1878. They were members of the Congregational Church. They had a family of ten children, five of whom are now living, viz.; Samuel, who lives in Ransom Co., Dak.; Sarah Louisa, widow of William McDearmon; Horatio, a resident of Mercer Co., Ill.; Carrie, wife of Charles Tobey, and residing in Adams Co. Iowa. [Portraits & Biographical, Pg 633, 1885]
John Wells is now living retired, his home being in the village of Malvern but he still owns his farm of two hundred and ninety acres on sections 22, 23 and 26, Clyde township. He left the farm five years ago, after residing there continuously from 1802. In the interim hi* labors and energies wrought a marked transformation in the place, which was converted from a wild tract of land into one of rich fertility, annually producing large and abundant crops.
Mr. Wells is a native of Berkshire, England, his birth having occurred near the boundary line of Wiltsshire, December 12, 1834. His parents were Charles and Lucy (Nash) Wells. The father, who was born in England in 1800, came to America, May 15, 1851, and took up his abode in Cuyahoga county, Ohio, where he followed farming for four years, when he was stricken with cholera and died in 1835. His wife died when their son John was about eight or nine years of age. The family numbered six children: Mrs. Mary A. Ferguson, now living in Polo. Illinois; Mrs. Eliza Carnett, whose home is in Dixon, Illinois; Thomas, William and Maria, nil of whom are deceased. The other member of the family is John Wells of this review, who was reared in England. His educational privileges were extremely limited, as he practically hud no opportunity of attending school, either in his native country or in America. He was but sixteen years of age when the family crossed the Atlantic to the new world, and following his father's death he and his three sisters came to Illinois, settling in Carroll county in 1855. There he resided for seven years and in 1862 came to Whiteside county, where he has since made his home. He took up his abode upon a farm in Clyde township and there continued to carry on general farming with excellent success until about five years ago, when he put aside the more active work of the fields and removed to Malvern, where he now resides, deriving a good income from his farm. He and his brother started out here with one hundred and sixty acres, which John Wells had purchased. He sold sixty acres, however, to his brother. He had gone in debt for the entire farm and paid seven per cent interest on the purchase price in advance. In the early days he endured many hardships while trying to meet his payments and suffered many privations, but he possessed a resolute and determined spirit and in course of time overcame all of the difficulties and obstacles in his path. As the years went by his unfaltering industry brought him success and he is now a prosperous agriculturist.
Mr. Wells was married in Ohio, returning to that state in 1859 to wed Miss Catherine Ruckel, who was born in Ireland and came to Ohio in 1848, when about eighteen or twenty years of age. Unto Mr. and Sirs. Wells have been born nine children: Charles, who is now a merchant of Malvern; Glenwood, a farmer residing in this state; Frank, a successful farmer and sheep- raiser of Fort Collins, Colorado; George, who follows farming in Rock Island county, Illinois; Fred, who carries on general agricultural pursuits in Clyde township; Ulysses, at home; Edward, who is operating the old home farm; Agnes, the wife of Samuel James, a farmer of Clyde township; and Irene, the wife of William Detra, who resides at Clarksdale, Iowa.
Mr. and Mrs. Wells have reared a family of children of whom they have everj* reason to be proud. In connection with his sons he owns ten hundred and fifty-five acres of the rich fanning land of Illinois, lying in Whiteside and Ogle counties. His success is well merited, for it has come as the reward of earnest, persistent labor, and his example in this respect may well serve as a source of encouragmcnt arid inspiration to others, showing what may be accomplished when one has energy and perseverance. In politics Mr. Wells has always been a republican and has filled some local offices. He served for three years as road commissioner and for twenty-seven years was school director, while his son succeeds him in that position. He has always stood for advancement and improvement in public affairs and his aid and cooperation have ever been counted upon in advancing community interests. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - History of Whiteside County, Illinois 1908 By William White Davis]
JAMES A. WESSEL
James A. Wessel, farmer, section 8, Union Grove Tp., bought 40 acres of land on the same section on which he is now residing, where he pursued the vocation of farming, to which he had been bred in his native State. In February, 1876, he sold the land of his original purchase, and bought 120 acres on the same section (8), where he has since prosecuted his agricultural projects. Mr. Wessel was born Jan. 30, 1835, in Oswego Co., N. Y. His parents, Luke and Nancy (Allen) Wessel, were natives of the Empire State and lived for some time after their marriage in Oswego County, removing thence, in 1842, to Jefferson County in the same State, where they both died. They had eight children,—John, Maria, Belinda, Jane, Mary, Charlotte, James A. and Henry. Mr. Wessel was seven years of age when he accompanied his parents to Jefferson Co., N. Y. He there received his education and was brought up a farmer by his father, removing when he was 30 years of age to Whiteside County. His entire farm is under the plow and compares favorably as to value with the farms by which it is surrounded. Mr. Wessel is a Republican in political views and connections. He was united in marriage to Esther J. Goodenough, Jan. 8, 1863, in Oswego Co., N. Y. He was married the same day of the month, and in the same town, county, house and room in which his wife's father and mother were married. She was born in Jefferson Co., N. Y., Sept. 9, 1845, and is the daughter of Willard A. and Nancy J. Goodenough, who are now residents of Union Grove Township and whose sketch may be found on another page of this work. Mr. and Mrs. Wessel have four children,—Frank E., Gertie J.. Bessie E. and Myrtle L. [Contributed by Christine Walters; Whiteside County History 1880]
OF Morrison, IL
A. West of the firm of Hollinshead & West, dealers in clothing and gentlemen's furnishing goods at Morrison, was born April 8, 1856, in Clyde Township, Whiteside County. He is a son of Benjamin and Mary (Whitley) West, and was reared on a farm, receiving a good common-school education. He came to Morrison when 21 years of age and entered the employ of Knox & Brown, grocers, as a salesman, operating in their interests two years. He officiated in the same capacity for Brown Bros. and John Snyder & Co. respectively, one year. In 1881 he formed a partnership with R.P. Hollinshead and embarked in the business enterprise in which they are still jointly interested. Their stock includes a full line of well assorted goods common to their business. They own the building they are occupying. Mr. West is one of the Councilmen of Morrison, and he belongs to the Order of Odd Fellows. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 201]
Of Clyde Township, IL
Benjamin & Mary (Whiteley) West
Benjamin West, one of the prominent and enterprising farmers in Clyde Township, is located on section 17. He was born in the vicinity of the village of Penistone, Yorkshire, England, April 23, 1820. John West, his father, was a mechanic of more than ordinary claims, possessing a complete and practical knowledge of the craft of a carpenter, millwright and wagon-maker. He was an inventive genius, and was the inventor of a variety of wagon axle, which was so contrived as to be oiled without the removal of the wheel. He was a fine scholar and was college bred. He did not accumulate much property, but held a good social position. He was born in Yorkshire, England, July 12, 1796 and died about 1876, in the place of his nativity. His wife, Ann Fieldsend before her marriage, was born May 10, 1799 in Yorkshire. She was carefully brought up and educated. She died near Penistone in 1837. Both she and her husband were communicants in the Church of England. Of their children - 10 in number - but two are living, Thomas and Benjamin. The first is still a resident of his native country, where he is prominent in Church and social circles. Through his connection with Lord Caverly he has been enabled to give his sons a collegiate education.
Mr. West was educated in the schools of Yorkshire, and when he was 15 years old he went to Holmfirth to learn the trade of cloth-making in the large establishment of John and George Hirst. He served an apprenticeship, which lasted until he was 21 years old, and acquired a complete and practical knowledge of the processes from first to last. He went from one place where he learned his business to Brown Hill, where he took charge of a woolen factory owned by James Booth, in whose interests he operated three years. At the expiration of that time he sailed for the US, making his first stop at the city of NY. He went thence to Poughkeepsie, NY and remained one year, and proceeded thence to Washington Hollow, Dutchess Co., NY where he engaged in the management of a mill for Messrs. Burch & Sullivan. He remained there one year, and then returned to Poughkeepsie, and spent some time in a carpet-mill. He passed two years in Haverstraw, in the same State, after which he returned to England and was married to Mary, daughter of Jeremiah and Mary (Hirst) Whiteley. She was born in Yorkshire, and was English in nativity and descent. Her father and all the members of her family were manufacturers of cloth. Her parents died in 1836 and 1846 in their native country. They had 12 children; John, Betty, Joseph, Joshua, Maria, James, Mary, Hannah, William, Mathew, Sarah and Jane. All lived in England with the exception of Mrs. West and her brother Joshua, who came to America in 1851. The brother was killed Jan. 24, 1853 while chopping in the woods. Failing to return to his home at nightfall, he was found crushed to death between the stump and fallen trunk of a tree he had been cutting.
Mrs. West was born Dec. 5, 1819, in Yorkshire, where she was reared. She is the mother of eight children; Henry, a miner in Arizona; William married Lucy A. Fieldsend, and they reside in Clyde Township; Anna is a music teacher; Jennie is next in order of birth; Joshua is a member of the mercantile firm of Hollinshead & West, doing business at Morrison; Thomas is a miner in Colorado; Benjamin and Charles are conducting the homestead estate. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. West came to America and passed one year in Haverstraw. They came thence to Clyde Township, where they arrived Sept. 19, 1849, and they were among the earliest of the permanent settlers. They entered claims on sections 17 and 21, where they purchased a land warrant of 200 acres. That portion of the township was so unsettled that there was not a fence between their location and Fulton, a distance of 12 miles. The land had never been touched by the plow, and Mr. West set himself about improving his property, and also exerted his influence in the development of the town. He induced numbers of his friends to locate in the township. He was one of the first Englishmen to fix his residence in Clyde Township. There are 15 other English settlers who came hither through his representations, and that nationality predominates. Mr. West is the proprietor of 298 acres of land, all improved and stocked with fine graded cattle.
Mr. West is independent in political views and has represented both parties in their conventions. He takes great interest in local politics, and he has been the recipient of all the official honors pertaining to his township. He has crossed the Atlantic five times, having twice revisited the home of his birth. Jennie, the second daughter, visited the birthplace of her parents in 1881. She left morrison Nov. 21, 1881 and sailed from the city of NY six days later on the steamship Furnersia, and reached Glasgow, Scotland, December 7. She went by rail to Penistone in Yorkshire, England, where she spent four months on the soil where her family had its origin. She sailed for America April 13, 1882, and derived much benefit to mind and body from the trip.
Mr. West is a genuine Englishman of the middle class, the type which constitutes the bone and sinew of the government under which he was born; and he is as genuine an American citizen, appreciating the abundant privileges accruing to him as such, and giving the hertiest support to the institutions of the Republic. His genial mirth-loving temperament secures its reward in the general esteem he wins and the broad influence he wields. [Portrait and Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885 Pg 531]
J. A. West, of the firm of Hollinshead & West, dealers in clothing and gentlemen’s furnishing goods at Morrison, was born April 8, 1856, in Clyde Township, Whiteside County. He is a son of Benjamin and Mary (Whitley) West, and was reared on a farm, receiving a good common-school education. He came to Morrison when 21 years of age and entered the employ of Knox & Brown, grocers, as a salesman, operating in their interests two years. He officiated in the same capacity for Brown Bros. and John Synder & Co., respectively, one year. In 1881 he formed a partnership with R.P. Hollinshead and embarked in the business enterprise in which they are still jointly interested. Their stock includes a full line of well assorted goods common to their business. They own the building they are occupying. Mr. West is one of the Councilmen of Morrison, and he belongs to the Order of Odd Fellows. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County IL, 1885, Pg. 201]
EmiL Westphal, liquor dealer at Morrison, was born June 24, 1828, in Holstein, Germany. At an early age he was sent to the University of Kiel, where he remained until he graduated, March 28, 1848. At the breaking out of war between Denmark and Schieswig-Holstein, he served on the staff of General Baudissin until the close of the contest. He also took part in the French and Italian revolution. At the insurrection of Milan, Italy, he was again engaged in the cause of liberty, under General Mazini. He came to the United States in 1858, first locating in Fulton, Ill. He found it necessary to engage in active labor and obtained a situation in the employ of the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad, by which he was placed in charge of a corps of wood-choppers. In 1863 he inaugurated his present business at Morrison, which he has prosecuted for more than a score of years with satisfactory results. He is a member of the Knights of Pythias.
Sept. 22, 1867, (Transcriber's Note: IL Records have Sep. 25) he was married to Paulina Nommsen, a native of Schleswig. Their four children were born in the following order: Carl, Paula, Fritz and Julia. Paula died in 1881. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 208]
CHARLES ADAM WETHERBEE
OF Sterling Township
They were a sturdy band of people, the old pioneers and early sett1ers who came to Whiteside county, seeking a more favorable district than the overcrowded east. They were people of strong and noble character, with a determination that enabled them to combat with the trials and hardships and deprivations of the new west. Such conditions developed not only physical powers of endurance but also brought forth the moral, kindly and generous attributes of manhood and womanhood. There was something so akin to nature in all their surroundings, in the vastness of the boundless prairies, in the waving grasses, wild and rank, and in the uncut forests. which constituted the freedom and beauty of the new world, that the best and strongest in men were brought out and developed. When an individual came to the west he largely left his past behind him and was judged by his Personal worth and the manner of his conduct. His surroundings were such as to stir the heart's best impulses and develop a hospitality, a kindliness, a benevolence and charity unknown and unpracticed in the older, richer and more densely populated commonwealths. Whiteside county is today numbered among the rich and prosperous counties of the state, but it owes much of its character and its splendid advancement to the influences established by its early pioneers.
Among the first settlers who came to Whiteside county and left the imprint of their individuality upon its uphuilding and progress was Luther B. Wetherbee, of Barry, Massachusetts, who settled on section 12, Sterling township, in 1838. The founder of the Wetherbee family in America settled in Massachusetts at an early period in the colonization of the new world and one of his descendants, Charles Wetherbee, was a soldier in the patriot army in The battle of Lexington The religious principles of the family have remained the same for centuries, as succeeding generations have been connected with the Congregational church. Luther B. Wetherbee had formerly been a steamfitter but upon coming west he turned his attention to farming interests, in which he was very successful. He possessed more than ordinary ability and marked force of character. In all public affairs he took a deep interest and was ever ready to lend his aid to movements and measures calculated to promote the county's welfare, Tie stood fearless in defense of what he believed to he right and his life was actuated by the spirit of christianity. He was the founder of the Congregational church in Sterling' and one of its most earnest and effective workers. In politics he was also a factor and was recognized as a stanch republican. Material, social, intellectual, political and moral progress were promoted through his labors and Whiteside county benefited greatly by his work. His wife, who prior to her marriage was Charlotte Adams, was also a native of Massachusetts and traces her lineage back to the Mayflower, being a direct descendant of John Quincy Adams. Luther Wetherhee built the first frame house between Sterling and Sugar Grove. Soon after his settlement in Sterling township there was an attempt made by some foreign parties to appropriate a part of his land that he had entered from the government and the erection of a building was undertaken. Mr. Wetherhee, however, informed the land committee and soon afterward, upon a certain night, the partly completed building was entirely destroyed, after which there was no further attempt made to seize Mr. Wetherbee's rights, For seventy years the name of Wetherbee has figured prominently and honorably in the history of this section of the state. Born in 1809, Luther Wetherbee died November 6, 1873, and thus ended a useful career, the county being deprived of a most valued citizen.
Charles Adam Wetherbee, whose name introduces this record, a son of Luther B. and Charlotte (Adams) Wetherbee, was born on the old homestead farm in Sterling township. December 17, 1839. Few, if any, of those who reside today within the borders of the county can claim so long a residence as this native son. He attended the public schools, which were somewhat primitive in character owing to the fact that this was a frontier district. Later, however, he had the opportunity of attending school at Kalamazoo, Michigan, and was there preparing for a collegiate course when Civil war was inaugurated and thus his school life ended, for in answer to the call for troops to crush out the rebellion in the south he offered his services to the government and in September, 1861, enlisted as a member of the Thirty-fourth Regiment of Illinois Infantry. At the front he participated in the battles of Atlanta, Shiloh, Liberty Gap, Stone River and others. He was taken prisoner at the battle of Stone River but was recaptured by the Union forces before leaving the field. He has a very vivid recollection of the sensation experienced in looking into the end of a loaded revolver held in the hand of an enemy and can testify to the persuasive influence felt under such conditions. After a military service of three years, during which time he experienced all the vicissitudes and hardships of war, he was honorably discharged at Atlanta,Georgia, and returned to his home in Whiteside county. The marriage of Mr. Wetherhee to Miss Margaret L. Penrose was celebrated in Sterling township, October 5, 1865. The lady was born May 26, 1840, in Belmont, Ohio, and is a daughter of Mark and Harriet (Jones) Penrose. who were natives of Pennsylvania and England respechvelv. The year 1844 witnessed their arrival in Sterling township, where the mother died February 17, 1848, while the father has also passed away. Their family numbered six children: Robert F., William M., Margaret L., Rachel C., Edwin J. and Harriet. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Wetherbee were born four children: Mary P., who is living at home; Ella D., who died March 26, 1904, Charles Earle, an architect in Sterling; and Harriet Addie, the wife of Clarence C. Johnson, who is assistant superintendent of the American District Telegraph and in charge of nearly half of the western offices.
Mr. Wetherbee, although approaching the limit of years allotted to man by the psalmist, is still strong and vigorous in mind and body. Like all broadminded and public-spirited men, he is intensely interested in the history of his county and in all that has been accomplished during the long period of his residence here. Few men have more intimate knowledge of the events which form its annals and he relates in most entertaining way the story of pioneer life. He has lived to see the cabin home replaced by large, commodious and substantial farm residences the prairies and woodland converted into beautiful and productive farms and the hamlets and villages grow into thriving towns and cities, while churches, schools, business interests and all the evidence of a modern civilization have been introduced At all times he has kept abreast with the trend of modern progress, not only in agricultural lines but also in his interest in the issues and questions of the day which are shaping national as well as local history. He is one of Whiteside county's most esteemed and honored citizens and no record of this section of the state would he complete without mention of the Wetherhee family.
Taking an active part in political affairs, he has been called upon to serve as road commissioner for six years and as supervisor of Sterling township for thirteen years, resigning the latter office when elected to the legislature in November 1902. Fraternally he is a member of the Masonic order. At the present time he is engaged in preparing a book describing his life in the army, the facts being taken from a diary which he kept during his service and in which he wrote of his experience every day. [History of Whiteside Co by W.W. Davis]
LUTHER BILLINGS WETHERBEE
OF Sterling Township
Luther B. Wetherbee was born in the town of Hardwick, Massachusetts, June 23, 1809 and came to Whiteside county in 1837, and made a claim on section 12, in the present township of Sterling, where he built a small frame house, and brought his family the next year, the families of Col. Jacob Whipple and Moses Warner accornpanying them. After remaining on his farm sixteen years, he concluded the avocation of an agriculturist was not remunerative enough, as prices at that time were low, roads almost impassable except in dry weather, and no market nearer than Chicago. He therefore returned to Barre, Massachusetts, and became foreman again in the same machine shop be had left when he came West. He remained there until 1848, when he came back to his farm, and with the exception of an occasional visit to his old home, and a tour in Europe in 1847, did not leave it. Upon his return to his farm he found the farming business better, owing in part to nearer markets, and was very successful,, accumulating a handsome fortune. Intelligent, enterprising, and moral, be was a good specimen of the old-fashioned May Flower stock. His death occurred November 6, 1873. Mr. Wetherbee married Miss Charlotte W. Adams, November 9, 1831. Their children were: Martha A., born November 13, 1833; Jane L., born May 26, 1835; Charles Augustine, born September 13, 1836; Charles Adams, born December 17, 1839; Mary Adelaide, born in 1841; and Edwin C., born April 29, 1843. ‘Martha A, died January 1, 1837; Jane L., February 20, 1840;, and Charles Augustine, February 25, 1838. Charles Adams married Miss Margaret Penrose, October 5, 1865; children: May P., Ella D., Harriet A., and Charles E. Mary Adelaide married Henry Gaston, January 6, 1869, and resides in Piatt county, Illinois; children: Charlotte W., Josephine, and Laura. Edwin C. married Miss Hannah Eckles, March 4, 1868, and resides in Marshall county, Iowa; one child, Harry L. [Whiteside Co. History, Bent & Wilson 1877 Pg 401]
Of Hume Township
Daniel Wetzell, general farmer, section 27, Hume Township, was born Sept. 21, 1815, in Stark Co., Ohio. The record of his parents may be found in connection with the sketch of Jacob Wetzell. He was the oldest child and was a member of the parental household until his majority.
He was married in Holmes Co., Ohio, Sept. 5, 1839 to Mary Beidler, and they have had six children - Elizabeth, Margaret, Catherine, Mary A., Martha and John H. They are all married. Mrs. Wetzell was born Dec. 3, 1819, in Holmes County, where her parents belonged to the wealthy agricultural class. Her mother died when she was a year old, and she was cared for until her marriage, by her stepmother. Her father died in Ohio. In 1855 Mr. Wetzell left Ohio for IL, settling in Genesee Township in Whiteside COunty. After some years residence on a farm, he went to Hopkins Township and was farmer there for five years. In the fall of 1865 he located in Hume Twp. He has been extensively interested in buying and improving land, andhas settled each of his children comfortably in life. In 1885 he removed to 55 acres on the section where he now resides. Mr. Wetzellis a Republican politically and both himself and wife are active in religious matters. [Portraits & Biographical]
DAVID R. WETZEL
Hopkins Township Whiteside Co IL
David R. Wetzel is a retired farmer of Hopkins Township, and resides on section 27. His parents, John and Margaret (Reese) Wetzel, were born in Pennsylvania and were of German lineage. They went thence in 1814 to Ohio, whence they came in 1855 to Whiteside County. The father, a direct descendant of Lewis Wetzel, the Indian hunter, died in Genesee Township, Sept. 18, 1860. The death of the mother occurred Feb. 2, 1882. Their children were born in the order named: Catherine, Daniel, Jacob, John, George, Elizabeth, David R., Andrew, Josepb, Hannah, Margaret and Louis.
Mr. Wetzel was born April 7th 1823, in Summit Co., Ohio. He attended the public schools of his native State, and afterwards was interested in farming there until his removal in the fall of 1855 to Whiteside County. He was a farmer in Genesee Township until the spring of 1883, when he changed his residence to Hopkins Township, where he had bought a farm during the previous fall. The combined area of his land in the townships of Genesee and Hopkins is 640 acres, and the entire extent is under tillage. He has rented his estate and is living in quiet retirement. He has built up his possessions by industry and economy, having begun in the world by small means, and has made his way unaided. He is one of the heaviest land-holders in Whiteside County, and in politics is identified with the Republican party. The publishers of this album take pleasure in presenting a fine lithographic portrait of Mr. Wetzel in connection with this sketch. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 263]
Jacob Wetzel, of Genesee Township, is a farmer of Whiteside County of 29 years standing, having removed here in 1855. He accompanied his parents, John and Margaret (Reese) Wetzel, from Stark Co., Ohio, where he was born, Sept. 12, 1814. His father was born in Franklin Co., Pa., and was the grandson of John Wetzel, who came from Germany to America and located in Pennsylvania near the line of Maryland. He was a miller and erected flouring mills, where he manufactured bread-stuffs for the Colonial army during the War of the Revolution. A male member of the preceding generation had married one of the Indian women belonging to one of the tribes of New England, and the celebrated half-breed chief, Wetzel, was a member of the same family. John Wetzel (1st) died in Pennsylvania, at a greatly advanced age. His sons were born, lived and died, in the same State, except one who died in Michigan. On coming to Whiteside County, John Wetzel (2d) located on a farm in Genesee Township, where he died aged about 70 years. Margaret Reese, his wife, was born in Maryland and was the daughter of John Reese. He was a native of Maryland, and, late in life, went to Pennsylvania. The family of which he was a member, was extensive in numbers, possessions and influence. A considerable number of them settled early in the present century in Stark Co., Ohio. Canton, the county seat, had then three buildings. The grand-parents of John Wetzel's wife died in Stark County, as did her father, Jacob Wetzel. Her mother died in March, 1882, in Genesee Township, aged 92 years.
Jacob Wetzel is one of the older members of a family of 12 children, eight sons and four daughters. He was educated with care in both English and German, the language of his ancestors being carefully preserved in the descending generations. When he was 23 years of age he began to teach in both languages in Tuscarawas Co., Ohio, and he pursued that vocation three years. He was married Dec. 4,, 1842, in Tuscarawas County, to Susanna, daughter of Henry Bidler. The latter, was a native of Pennsylvania and was a farmer in that State. He settled in Monongahela County, on the river of that name, and there the daughter was born Sept. 27, 1815. Subsequent to her birth her parents removed to Holmes Co., Ohio, where her mother died when she was but four years old. Holmes County was in its primal wilderness condition, and the little pioneer home which sheltered the family was in the dense forest. The father married again, and the daughter was a member of the family until her marriage. Her father died in 1852, two years after her removal to Illinois. Following are the names of nine children born to Mr. and Mrs. Wetzel: Henry, Sarah A., Elizabeth, Samuel, Mary, Catherine, Frank, Jacob, Caroline. Mary and Jacob are unmarried. Caroline was married and died soon after. Another child died a short time after birth, unnamed.
From the date of his marriage to his removal to Illinois, Mr. Wetzel was a farmer in Ohio. Since his location in Genesee Township he has handled a considerable amount of real estate and has improved the great proportion of that which he has owned at different times. He is prominent as a farmer and stockman. In social, religious and political connections the family are among the most valuable members of Genesee society. Mr. Wetzel and his wife are foremost in Christian work, and are passing the afternoon of life in the enjoyment of the consciousness of efforts made in unselfishness for the best interest of mankind. As they have understood their duty, they have done it. Mr. Wetzel is an active, zealous and uncompromising Republican. [Contributed by Christine Walters, Whiteside County History, 1880]
JOHN H. WETZEL
John H. Wetzell, farmer, section 34, Hume Township, is a native citizen of Whiteside County, having been born April 20, 1857, Genesee Township. His parents had a family of six children. He is the youngest, and also the only son. In 1865 the family removed to the township of Hume. Mr. Wetzell was fond of study, and made good use of such school privileges as the times afforded. When he was 18 years of age he put his education to practical use by teaching in Genesee Township. He supplemented his stock of knowledge by attendance at five local Normal institutes. He passed the winters of five years in teaching, and worked farms summers. At the end of that time he found his health was suffering from confinement and the routine of the duties attendant upon his profession, and he abandoned it to make a specialty of agriculture. He became the owner of his father's homestead, and after his marriage fixed his residence thereon. He is now the owner of 338 acres of land, chiefly under a good order of cultivation, and furnished with convenient and well-built structures suited to the necessities of the farm. He is in accord with the tenets of the Republican faith, and is at present a Township Trustee.
On the 14th day of June, 1881, his marriage to Katie Horlacher took place. She was born Nov. 26, 1859, in Genesee Township, and is the daughter of Godfrey Horlacher, of whom a personal narration is given in this work. Mr. and Mrs. Wetzell have two children, who were born as follows : David A., May 16, 1882, and Emma E. Oct. 30, 1884. Mr. Wetzell is a member of the Wesleyan Methodist Church, with which he has been connected since he was 11 years old. [Contributed by Christine Walters Whiteside County History 1880]
Lewis Wetzel, a farmer, section 17, Hopkins Township, is a son of John and Margaret (Reese) Wetzel, who were natives of Franklin Co., Pa., of German and English descent. They first settled in Ohio and lived there till 1855, when they came to Whiteside County and settled in the township of Genesee, where they lived till their death. He died Sept. 18, 1860, and she Feb. 2, 1882. They had a family of 12 children, namely; Catherine, Daniel, Jacob, John, George, Elizabeth, David, Andrew, Hannah, Joseph, Margaret and Lewis. Mr. Wetzel was born in Stark Co., Ohio, June 3, 1837. He received a common-school education and came to Whiteside County with his father when he was 18 years old. He lived in Genesee Township till the fall of 1861, when he purchased a farm of 160 acres on section 17, Hopkins Township, where he settled and has since lived. He isnow the owner of 206 acres, most of which is tillable. He has erected some very fine buildings on his farm. Mr. Wetzel was married in Sterling, Ill., March 25, 1858, to Mary, daughter of Frederick and Catherine Lawyer, natives of Germany, who had four children, - Jacob, Mary, William and Frank. Mary (Mrs. W.) was born in Stark Co., Ohio, March 1, 1836. Mr. and Mrs. W. are the aprents of four children - Rebecca E., Delilah J., John G. and Rollin E. Mr. Wetzel has been Overseer of Highways and School Director. In politics he is indentified with the Republican party. [Portrait & Biographical History of Whiteside Co, 1885]
Samuel Wetzell, resident on section 10, Hume Township, is a farmer and teacher. He was born Feb. 17, 1848, in Tuscarawas Co., Ohio, and is the son of Jacob and Susannah Wetzell. When he was seven years of age his parents settled in Genesee Township, this county. He became a pupil in the common schools of that township, and afterward entered the seminary at Mt. Morris, in Ogle County. He left school in 1870 and began teaching in the year following, making his initiatory effort in his home district, where he was engaged three years. After teaching six years in situations adjoining, he went to Coleta, to assume the duties of Principal in the schools of that place.
Mr. Wetzell was married at Franklin Grove, Lee Co.,IL., Nov. 14, 187 2, to Leona V. Wingert. Their two children were born as follows: Lester W., March 7, 1874; Clarence A., March 27, 1875. Mrs. Wetzell was born Jan. 24,1851, in Ohio. Her father and mother, Henry and Anna (Bentz) Wingert, were natives of Franklin Co., Pa., whence they removed after their marriage to Ohio. The daughter was yet in childhood when her parents came to Lee Co., IL. She was educated at Mt. Morris, in Ogle Co.,IL, and began teaching in Lee County, when she was 18 years of age, and pursued that vocation several years. After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Wetzell located at a point a mile west of Coleta, where they owned a farm of 110 acres, situated in Genesee Township. They removed thence to Sterling, where Mr. Wetzell engaged in the boot and shoe trade, in which he was interested two years, and conducted his affairs in that line with reasonable success. Meanwhile he purchased 230 acres on sections 10 and 15, Hume Township, of which he took possession in 1879. He has improved 175 acres and erected good and suitable buildings. The stock on the place include; good grades of Short-horn cattle. Mr. Wetzell still continues to teach winters. He is an uncompromising Republican. In 1881 he was elected Assessor of Hume Township, and held the office two years. He has served as Supervisor one term.[Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside County, 1885]
WILLIAM Y WETZELL
Of Fulton Township
William Y WETZELL was born in the city of Washington, and first came to Illinois in May 1836, locating first in LaSalle County and afterwards near Oregon City, Ogle County. In 1848 he came to Whiteside and settled in Albany and afterwards in Newton Township and in 1865 came to Fulton. He was Postmaster at Albany from 1848-1851 and Supervisor of that town in 1853. In 1875 and 76 he was Mayor of the City of Fulton and in 1876 was elected Supervisor of the town and re-elected in 1877. Mr Wetzell is a merchant, and an enterprising, thorough, business man. [Pg 189 Bent-Wilson 1877]
CHARLES H. WHEELER
of Fulton Township, Whiteside Co IL
Charles H Wheeler is a native of Sharon, Litchfield county, Connecticut, and was born December 27, 1827. He moved from the "Land of Steady Habits" in 1840, and located at Union, Broome county, New York, where he remained until December, 1853, when he came to Fulton. In 1856 he, in company with Charles B. Mercerean, built the brick store on the southwest corner of Cherry and River streets, now owned and occupied by ex-Mayor William Y. Wetzell, where the firm, then known as Mercereau & Wheeler, carried on the grocery business. In 1865 Mr. Wheeler purchased the interest of Mr. Mercereau, and continued the business about a year, and then sold to Mr. Wetzell. The following year he remained out of business, and in 1868 purchased the hardware business of C. F. Welles, situated on Base street, and conducted the business at that place until the building burned down in November, 1871. Not dismayed by this disaster, he opened another store at the corner of Base street and Broadway, now occupied by A. Volkinan as a tailoring establishment, and remained there until he built his present brick store, on the site of the burned building, next door south of the bank. This building is 76 by 24 feet in size, and two stories high, the first story being used as the hardware store, and the second as a tinshop and storage room. Mr. Wheeler carries a very large stock of all kinds of goods in his line, and has an extensive trade. In 1850 he built the residence he now occupies. Mr. Wheeler has been an Alderman of the city of Fulton, and was Mayor for two terms, being elected first in 1867 and again in 1869. In 1858 he was Supervisor of the township. At present he is Treasurer of the Fulton Business Association. This Association has for its object the encouragement of all business, enterprises in the city. Mr. Wheeler is one of the lending business men of the county, public spirited, a good citizen, and bears an excellent reputation. [Bent-Wilson 1877 Pg 191]
ANDREW JACKSON WHEELOCK
Andrew J. Wheelock, one of the energetic as well as progressive farmers of Whiteside County, residing on section 14, Erie Township, and the owner of 323 ½ acres of land, was born in Genesee Co., N.Y., June 1, 1827. His father, Rew Wheelock, was a native of Massachusetts, in which state he was born in 1794. His mother was a native of Vermont. The father was a farmer by occupation and also a manufacturer of potash. They were the parents of eight children.
A. J. Wheelock was the seventh child of his father’s family, was reared on a farm, and received the advantages afforded by the common schools. When five years of age, his father’s family moved to near Ann Arbor, Mich., where his father purchased a farm, and cultivated it for a period, and then moved to Bridgewater Township, Washenaw County. Andrew left home when a boy of 12 or 13 years, and went to Ypsilanti, where he engaged in working in a livery stable, which occupation he followed for about two years; then, when about 20 years of age, he opened a livery stable in Grand Rapids, and conducted the same for his own individual benefit, for about six years. In 1853 he came to Rockford, Winnebago Co., this state, where he engaged as a runner for a stage company, in which business he worked for a time, then went to Kane County, and afterwards worked on a railroad at Rochelle, and La Salle.
About 1855, Mr. Wheelock came to Sterling, this county, and engaged in the grocery business. He was married at that place, Aug. 14, 1855, to Miss Bridget Evans, a native of Ireland, in which country she was born Dec. 27, 1826. They are the parents of five children, two of whom are living. The record is as follows: William A. Born July 31, 1856, died when six years old; Mary E., born Nov. 21, 1858, is the wife of Eugene Chainberlain, a resident of Newton Township and is a teacher; George H., born Oct. 28, 1860 and teaches school during the winter season; he is a graduate of the Fulton College. Rosanna, born Dec. 23, 1862, died aged seven years; Charles J., born in 1864, died in 1869.
After marriage, Mr. Wheelock was engaged in railroading one year, and afterward kept boarders for about five years. About 1865, he came to Erie Township and purchased 128 acres of the farm he at present owns. Three years later, he left and again engaged in keeping boarders on the cars, building the Rockford, Rock Island & St. Louis Railroad. He then returned to the farm, and has resided upn and cultivated the same ever since. He has erected a fine residence, good barns, planed an orchard, and fenced his land and has from 50 to 60 head of cattle, and from 30 to 40 head of hogs, and is meeting with success in his agricultural and stock pursuits. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 714]
Samuel L. Wheelock, a farmer, on section 36 of Hume Township, has been a resident of Whiteside County since 1855. He was born Jan. 26, 1825, in Berkshire Co., Mass. Luther Wheelock, his father, was a native of the same county,, and passed many years there in agricultural pursuits. He was of Irish ineage. Clarissa (Marcy) Wheelock, the mother, was born in Massachusetts, of similar ancestry, and her marriage occurred in Berkshire County. The father died there at a greatly advance age; the mother resides in Tampico village, and is 81 years old.
Mr. Wheelock grew up and was educated in his native county, living at home until he was 20 years of age. His first venture of importance was his marriage to Almena R. Langdon, Nov. 27, 1842. She was born June 7, 1822, in Hampshire Co., Mass., and descended from parents who were born and reared in the same state, where the father died; the mother died in Hume Township. Mrs. Wheelock was reared to mature age in her native county, and was there educated. To her and her husband four children have been born; Amanda married William Dennison, who was born in the state of Massachusetts. He died at the age of 35 years, in May 1873, at Prophetstown, leaving two children, Hubert and William; Elbert married Edla Linkletter, and they reside in Tampico Township; they have four children; Cora, Bertie, Brace and Jay; Ozro died before he was a year old; Luther married Katie Freeby, and they live with his parents; they have two children, Charles and Cecil.
After marriage Mr. Wheelock was interested in farming in his native county about ten years, when he removed with his wife and children to the village of Prophetstown, where he lived six years. He became a farmer in that township, and was interested in agriculture in the capacity of a renter four years, during the last of which he purchased 190 acres on section 33, Hume Township, of which he took personal possession in March, 1866. The place consisted of unbroken prairie, and settlers were few in that immediate vicinty. The proprietor has pressed his agricultural projects with success, and has increased his possessions until he owns 400 acres under excellent improvements and supplied with good farm buildings, including a fine residence. Mr. Wheelock is a Republican, of decided type, and has been a useful citizen of his township. He was made Supervisor in 1880, and officiated during the years 1883-4 as Assessor. He is now serving as Township Trustee. [Portraits & Biographical, Pg 382]
OF Sterling Township
Jacob Whipple was born in Sutton, Massachusetts, April 3, 1782, and was for a number of years Colonel of the Third Regiment, Second Brigade, tenth Division, Massachnsetts Militia. He came to Whiteside county, and settled a little west of Sterling in 1838. He was appointed by the County commissioners, Superintendent for the building of the Court House in Sterling 1842, and performed his duties faithfully. Although eminently qualified to fill places of public trust, and personally very popular, he declined to accept positions frequently offered him, preferring to give his undivided attention to his favorite employment, the cultivation of the soil. He died February 10, 1872, at the advanced age of nearly ninety years. Col. Whipple’s children were: Almanza, born August 11, 1811; Lithuana, born February 13, 1813; Alonzo J.,born March 26, 1815; William H., born December 5, 1816; Leander J., born August 22, 1818; Mary S., born August 17, 1820; James M., born November 8, 1822; Lauriston W., born April 19, 1825; Susan J., born January13, 1828; and Massena B., born October 12, 1829. Alonzo J. died May 11, 1842; Massena B., October 12, 1832; and Susan J., October 17, 1855. Almanza married Charles King, May 7, 1835; children, Mary, Frank, and Ada; Mr. King was accidentally drowned about twenty years ago; Mrs. King died May 21, 1857 Leander married Miss Julia Stacy; children: Ellen, Mary, Clarissa, Fred, and Hattie; Mr Whipple died August 1, 1869 Lithuana mamed William Carruth, May 2, 1843; children: Florence, Louisa, and Will. William H. married Miss Mary J. Johnson, and lives on the old homestead; he is one of the few remaining sturdy old settlers and is well known and universally esteemed as a man of integrity and intelligence. James M marned Miss Anna McKim, in December 1872, one child, Madora. Lauriston W. married Miss Elmira Woodley, March 9, 1848; children, Albert F., Mary F.; Belle, Blanche, and Bertie; he lives in Sedalia, Missouri, is a carpenter by trade, and is also licensed as a baptist minister. [Whiteside Co. History, Bent & Wilson, 1877, Pg 401]
GEORGE A. WHITCOMB
Morrison, Whiteside Co IL
George A. Whitcomb, retired manufacturer, formerly of the firm of Ely & Whitcomb, carriage manufacturers at Morrison, was born in Granville, Washington Co NY Oct. 23, 1837, and is the youngest son of Benjamin B. & Sabrina B. (Dual) Whitcomb. His father was a native of New Hampshire and his mother of New York.
In 1856 he came to Unionville, this county, and engaged as a clerk for James A. Fisher, a general merchant. In 1857 he came to Morrison and was employed as a clerk in a drug-store for Dr. Coe. He bought out Dr. Coe in 1858 and carried on the drug business three years, when he sold out and engaged in the grain trade. In 1865 he bought an interest in the drug-store of John S. Green and maintained that connection till 1867, when he sold out. He then formed a partnership with Mr. Ely in the real-estate business. In 1875 he bought a half interest in the Morrison Carriage Works, the property of R. S.W. Ely and the business was conducted under the firm name of Ely & Whitcomb. The factory did an extensive business, furnishing employment for an average force of 22 men, and turning out from 250 to 300 carriages annually. He was still interested with Mr. Ely in extensive real-estate transactions. In November 1882, he sold out his interest in the factory, but still retains his connection with Mr. Ely in the real-estate business. Their operations extend over several states including IL, WI, MN, IA, KS and NE, wherein they own upwards of 5,000 acres of valuable farming land, besides city and town property, including dwelling houses and business buildings. During the past year they have operated quite extensively in real estate in Minneapolis, where they have much valuable property.
Mr. Whitcomb was married at Mt. Carroll IL, June 22, 1861 to Sarah A. Town, daughter of Salem & Mary A. Town, pioneer settlers of Whiteside County. Mrs. Whitcomb was born in Union Grove, this county, Jan. 14, 1841. Mr. and Mrs. Whitcomb have three children, all born in Morrison; Nettie, Aug. 22, 1863, now taking a collegiate course at Oberlin Ohio; Annie born Oct. 22 1865 now taking a musical course and George G., born April 11, 1876.
Mr. Whitcomb in early life was a Republican of abolition sympathies and continued an earnest support of that party during the war and up to Grant's administration, since which time he has been an independent, strong opposed to so-called "protective tariff." He has been a thorough student in political economy and American politics. He supported the Democratic national nominees in 1880 and 1884 and has won a reputation as a candid and fair speaker, whose campaign arguments were logical and well supported by unimpeachable authority. He has been twice chosen Mayor of Morrison and has held minor offices. Mr. Whitcomb is one of the pioneers of Morrison, having been a resident of this city upwards of 28 years, during which time he has been identified with its leading business interests, and foremost in support of every public enterprise calculated to benefit the city or to improve its advantages.
Mr. Whitcomb is a thorough business man, cool and clear headed, of quick perceptive faculties and sound judgment, scrupulously exact in all his dealings and rigid in his notions of justice, honor and veracity. Naturally quick and impulsive, he has won that greatest of victories, self-control. These few remarks are offered in no spirit of laudation, but simply as the briefest possible mention of some of the characteristics of an old settler who is held in high esteem as an upright man, true friend, and kind neighbor by many who will read these pages. [Portraits & Biographical, 1885, Pg 337]
SAMUEL M. WHITCOMB
Albany, Whiteside Co IL
Samuel M. Whitcomb, living at Albany in retirement, was born July 22, 1816, in Grafton, N.H. Benjamin Whitcomb, his father, was a native of the saem place, and was of unmixed English origin. Benjamin Whitcomb, father of the latter, was a Major in the War of the Revolution. Sarah (Young) Whitcomb, mother of Samuel, was born in Grafton, of Scotch parents. her mother was a sister of Gen. Wolf, hero of Quebec, and died in Grafton, aged 113 years.
In 1824 the father removed to New Hampshire, Scioto Co. Ohio. Samuel was then 8 years of age, and when he was 14 he went to Cincinnati to live with a brother. While there he served an apprenticeship as a millwright. After four years spent in the acquisition of his trade he operated four years as a journeyman, traveling through many States in the pursuit of his business, as was then the custom. He first came to Illinois in 1835 and proceeded to Iowa, where he was engaged int he survey of the western boundary of the State or Territory. In the course of his travels he was occupied a portion of the time as an engineer on the steamboats on the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers.
Mr. Whitcomb located in Albany, in 1849. April 1, 1850, he started for California by the overland route, and reached the land of gold Aug. 12, following, making the journey principally on foot. After a stay of two years he returned to Illinois, by way of the Isthmus of Panama and New orleans. After returning to Albany, he engaged in steamboating, and was occupied on the river about 8 years. During the winter seasons he kept a gunsmith shop, in which he exercised his natural talent as a mechanic and the skill he acquired while living in Cincinnati. In 1860 he began to interest himself in the cultivation of small fruits, and at one time had 25 acres stocked with strawberries, raspberries, grapes and currants. He was a pioneer of fruit culture of that class at Albany. He married in 1847 Catherine (Kirtland) Clemons. She was born in Chenango Co NY and was a widow. Edward Clemons, her son by the first marriage, lives in Colorado. Orrin A., only child of Mr. and Mrs. Whitcomb was born March 4, 1850 in Albany. With the exception of one year, which he passed in Colorado, he has always lived in Albany. He is now engaged in small-fruit culture. He married Julia Burlingame, and they are the parents of three children, Lillie, George and Teresa. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County, 1885, Pg 751]
Rev. Edward White, a resident of the township of Garden Plain, is a citizen of the United States by adoption, having been born in Sunderland, Durham Co., England Jan. 1, 1815. His father, John White, was born in the same shire and was for many years employed as a clerk in a stone quarry. Mr. White was sent to school in his native country until he was 13 years of age. In 1828 he was apprenticed as a clerk in a general mercantile establishment and served seven years, according to the custom of the country. He went then to Newcastle and was employed for a short time in the capacity of a shipping clerk, after which he obtained a position as foreman in a store at Houghton, Lee Springs, continuing to discharge its duties between three and four years. Later, he went to Lancashire, where he embarked in the sale of dry goods and operated in his own interests until 1843. In the next year he came to the United States. He took passage on a sailing vessel in March, and six weeks after landed at New Orleans. He proceeded directly from the Crescent City to Albany, in Whiteside County. He made his way to Garden Plain, Township, and found a suitable location on section 33,, where he bought a farm. He has applied the habits he acquired in his native land to the development of his estate and now has one of the best farms in the township, which is noted for its fine agricultural advantages. Among other prominent features of the place is an exceptionally choice orchard, and the proprietor has manifested good sense and judgment by setting out numerous shade and ornamental trees.
Mr. White's connection with religious matters began with his conversion at 14 years of age. He joined the communion of the Wesleyan Methodists, soon after becoming an exhorter, and later a local preacher. He connected himself with the Methodist Episcopal Church in Garden Plain and has since exercised his talents as a local preacher on occasion. Mr. White was married in 1842, to Mary A. Mathew. She was born Aug. 26, 1819, at Houghton, Lee Springs, and is the daughter of a physician of that place. They have five children - John, Alice, wife of Frank Peck, Hattie, widow of Samuel Curry, Thomas and Mary.["Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois...", 1885]
Henry White, whose landed possessions aggregate two hundred and seventy acres, his home being situated in Lyndon township, is one of the worthy residents that Germany has furnished to Illinois. He was born in the fatherland, September 22, 1869, and was but three years of age when brought to the United States by his parents, Henry and Dora Kraken. The mother died of small pox soon after their arrival in the new world, and the subject of this review then went to live with Mathew and Sarah M. White, who resided upon a farm which our subject now owns. He received from them the care and attention of loving parents, being legally adopted by them and ultimately coming into possession of the old homestead. It was upon this farm that his foster father died, in 1882. Mrs. White still survives, and is now living in Nebraska, at the age of eighty-nine years, with her daughter, Mrs. Zella Slater, who is her only living child.
Mr. White is indebted to the public-school system for the educational privileges he enjoyed and he received thorough training in farm work, so that he was well qualified to take charge of a farm of his own when he was enabled to purchase one. In 1893 he bought one hundred and sixty-acres and later he purchased the old homestead property upon which he now resides, this comprising one hundred and ten acres. At the present time his landed possessions aggregate two hundred and seventy acres on ssections 3 and 4, Lyndon township, upon which he has two sets of buildings. His farm is largely devoted to stock and in this connection he makes good profit from his investment and his labor. In the fall of 1907 he suffered a loss, having a barn destroyed by fire but altogether as the years have passed by he has prospered, owing to his unfaltering diligence and persistency of purpose.
In 1891 Mr. White was married to Miss Cora Pope, who was born in Manchester, Iowa, September 27, 1871, a daughter of Thomas and Mary Pope. They now have three children, Ernest, Ruby and Roy. The parents are well known in the community and have many warm friends who esteem them highly for their good traits of heart and mind. Mr. White gives his political support to the republican party and in matters of citizenship is progressive and enterprising, realizing the fact that earnest labor is the basis of all desirable success, while in h is business dealings he indicates his thorough understanding and belief in the old adage that honesty is the best policy. [Whiteside County History, 1908, W.Davis]
JOHN WILBUR WHITE
Of Sterling, IL
John W. White, attorney at Tampico, was born Oct. 7, 1852, in La Salle Co., Ill. His father, John White, was born near the city of Rome, Oneida Co., N. Y. The family are descendants of ancestry that settled in the Empire State in the earliest period of its history. The senior White went in his early life to Allegany County, in his native State, and was married in Danville, to Thankful Clark, who was of similar birth and ancestry. Mr. White became Captain of the State Militia, of the section where he resided, and held his commission under Gov. Seward until he resigned to come West. In 1851, the family removed to La Salle Co., Ill., and fixed their residence at Northville. The mother died there in 1854, when John W. was but two years old. The father removed after her death to Whiteside County, and lived in Hahnaman Township, settling later in the Township of Tampico, where he died, in 1879, aged 69.
Mr. White of this sketch was a member of his father's family till 1875, working on the farm and attending school. In that year he went to Minnesota and thence to Iowa. He became a student of law with the legal firm of White & Vamer, of Adel, Dallas County, and read for his profession under their preceptorship until 1877, when he came to Tampico, and established his business. He has conducted his affairs singly. Mr. White was admitted to the privileges of the Courts of Iowa, at Des Moines, in 1876, and of those of the tribunals of Illinois, in 1878, on examination before the proper authorities. Mr. White has met with the success which is the just reward of industrious application in his business relations. He has acquired by purchase farm and town property in Tampico Township, and in the village where he resides. He is also the owner of a very complete law library.
Mr. White was married April 7, 1883, at Rock Falls, Whiteside County, to Lizzie (Mary Elizabeth), only daughter of Charles E. and Mary (Russell) Payson. She was born Oct. 21, 1857, in Chemung Co., N. Y. her parents moved to Sterling when she was 12 years of age, going later to Rock Falls. Before her marriage, Mrs. White was engaged in the business of dressmaking. Bessie, born Feb. 11, 1884, is the only child. Mr. White is a Republican of decided type. He is at present (1885) Village Attorney, and has held the office a number of years. He has also been Supervisor several terms. He is Senior Warden of the Masonic Lodge at Tampico, of which he is a member. Mr. and Mrs. White are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, he being one of the Church officers. [Portrait & Biographical 1885, pg 771]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright Genealogy Trails