Winnebago County, Illinois
O. W. JOHNSON
The subject of this sketch was born in Ontario, Canada, in 1873, and came to Rockford in 1894. when he engaged in business with Root, Johnson & Co. He continued with this firm one year, when J.E. Johnson and Tilson bought the interest of Mr. Root, Mr. O.W. Johnson remaining with the firm. In 1899 he purchased the interest of J.E. Johnson and the firm continued as Johnson & Tilson. In 1901 Mr. Frank Ward bought the interest of Mr. Tilson and these parties have since constituted the firm. A general commission and wholesale business is carried on by this firm. Vegetables and fruits of all kinds are handled in carload lots or in smaller quantities. They have one of the finest cold-storage systems in the country, where their goods are kept sound and fresh and are delivered to the dealer in the best possible condition. In connection with fruits and vegetables, the company handles, annually, millions of eggs. An office is maintained at 105 South Water street, Chicago, from which point Wisconsin, Illinois and a part of Indiana are supplied with goods. The Rockford trade covers northern Illinois and southern Wisconsin. In order to handle the trade in central Wisconsin the firm has opened a branch office at Madison, which point will be used as a purchasing point for eggs as well as a distributing point for fruits and vegetables.
HON. WILLIAM LATHROP
Hon. William Lathrop was born in Stafford, Genesee county. New York, April 17, 1825, and was educated in the public schools. Mr. Lathrop studied law at Atica, New York, and was admitted to the bar in 1850. He removed to Knox county, Illinois, in the spring of 1850, and to Rockford January 1, 1851, where he has since resided. When the city government was organized in 1852 he was elected to the office of city clerk. Mr. Lathrop is not a politician, but was elected to congress on the Republican ticket in 1876, and served one term with marked ability and to the satisfaction of his constituents. He has a large law practice and enjoys the confidence of the people of the community. Mr. Lathrop was married to Miss Adeline Potter of Rockford, and has five children, Julia, Anna, Edward, William and Robert. Edward and Robert are attorneys and have offices in the building with their father. The family residence is at No. 408 Rockton avenue.
Ralph Emerson, son of Ralph and Eliza (Rockwell) Emerson, was born at Andover, Mass., May 3, 1831. He was a teacher in New England, where he also studied law. He removed to Bloomington, Illinois, when twenty years of age, where he continued the study of law. He became intimately acquainted with Abraham Lincoln, which acquaintance continued during the life of the latter. Through Mr. Lincoln's advice, he abandoned law and engaged in industrial pursuits. He removed first to Beloit, Wis., and to Rockford in 1852, where he has since resided. He first engaged in the hardware business and then became a manufacturer. He has been prominently connected, either as president, vice-president, director, trustee, sole owner, leading partner, or otherwise, with the organization and working of over forty different manufacturing, commercial, financial, agricultural, educational and charitable enterprises, some of national reputation. These enterprises include such interests as the manufacture of agricultural implements, knitting machines, hosiery, cotton goods, woolen goods, lumber, two insurance companies, two national banks, and two electric companies, one of which does the entire electric lighting of the city of Rockford. He at one time owned a farm with over three square miles under the plow. He is still in active control of several of Rockford's most important industries. He is president of the Emerson Manufacturing Company, one of the largest institutions in the country. Mr. Emerson married Miss Adeline Elizabeth Talcott, daughter of Hon. Wait and Elizabeth Anna (Norton) Talcott, September 7, 1858. She was born at Vernon, Oneida county, N.Y., October 12, 1837, and was graduated at Rutger's College. New York City, with the class of 1856, and previous to marriage taught school at Rockton and Rockford. Mrs. Emerson has occupied positions of great honor and importance in philanthropic, patriotic and social organizations, not only in the city, but in state and national organizations, representing some of them as delegate at inter- national conventions in Europe and elsewhere. Her printed volumes, "Love Bound and Other Poems" and "Memorial" of her son, have met with a glad welcome and high commendation. Mr. and Mrs. Emerson have had eight children, five of whom are now living: Adeline Eliza, wife of Norman Frederick Thompson, banker in Rockford; Harriet Elizabeth, wife of William E. Hinchliff, manufacturer of Rockford; Mary, wife of Edward Potter Lathrop, lawyer in Rockford; Charlotte Belle, wife of Darwin Mill Keith, M. D., of Rockford; and Dora Bay, wife of Prof. William Morton Wheeler, Ph. D., cura- tor in the American Museum of Natural History, New York City. The family residence is at No. 427 North Church street.
CAPT. JOHN H. SHERRATT
Captain John Hall Sherratt was born in Winnebago county. Illinois, April 12, 1844, and was educated in the public schools. His parents, Thomas and Lydia Holmes Sherratt, were among the early settlers of the county and first resided upon a farm, but later his father opened a harness shop in Rockford. August 7, 1862, he enlisted as a private in the 74th Illinois volunteers. The regiment was with the army of the Cumberland and participated in several of the most noted battles of the war. He was mustered out of service January 31,1866, with the rank of captain. Upon returning to Rockford, he became identified with the Rockford Insurance Company, as general agent for a time and later as assistant secretary. January 1, 1880, he severed his connection with the Rockford and became the secretary of the Forest City Insurance Company, which position he held ten years, and was then elected president, which position he still holds. He was a director of the Third National Bank for several years, and at the death of Mr. Spafford, in 1897, was elected president of this institution. Under his administration the business of the bank has met with marked success, and is one of the strong financial institutions of the city. Captain Sherratt was elected mayor of Rockford in 1889, and served two years. He assisted in the organization of the Country Club and was its first president. He is a member of the G.A.R. and Military Order of the Loyal Legion. He is the president of the board of trustees of Rockford College and a trustee of the Rockford City Hospital, in both of which institutions he is deeply interested. Captain Sherratt was married to Miss Harriett E. Wight, daughter of Hon. James M. Wight, of Rockford, July 9, 1873. Mrs. Sherratt is prominent in literary circles, is the author of " Mexican Vistas," and several beautiful poems. The family residence is at No. 1907 Harlem avenue.
HON ARTHUR H FROST
The subject of this sketch was born in St. Johnsbury, Vermont, May 12, 1856, and came to Rockford in 186l. where he received his education, being a graduate from the East Side High School. Judge Frost studied law in the office of the late N. C. Warner, and was admitted to the bar January 19, 1879. He was elected to the office of states attorney in 1892, and re-elected in 1896 and 1900. He resigned this office February 24, 1901, and was elected judge of the circuit court February 25, the same year, and was re-elected to this office June 1, 1903. Judge Frost has executed the duties pertaining to these several judicial offices with distinction and fidelity, and enjoys the confidence of the bar and the people, without exception. He practiced law as a member of the firm of Frost & McEvoy, from December, 1888 to March, 1901, with marked success. Socially he is a member of the K. of P. and the Masonic order. He was married to Miss Ida Southgate, May 17, 1883, and has four children: Bertha Helen, aged 19; Raymond Southgate, aged 17; Arthur H., aged 12, and Walter K , aged 7. The family residence is at No 712 North Church street.
HON. RUFUS C. BAILEY
Hon Rufus C. Bailey was born in Auburn, Maine. July 28, 1833. His primary education . was received in the public schools of his native town, and preparation for college was made in the Auburn and Waterville academies. He was graduated from the scientific department of Amherst College in 1855, and came to Rockford in October of that year. He served as a civil engineer from 1855 to 1858 and then took up the study of law. He was admitted to the bar August 18, 1860, and practiced this profession in this city until 1873, when he was elected county judge which office he has held with honor and distinction continuously since. He was made city clerk in 1860 and held the office during six years. In 1863 he was elected to the office of city attorney. It is an unprecedented fact that Judge Bailey has most acceptably filled the office of county judge in Winnebago county a greater number of years than any other incumbent in the history of the county. Judge and Mrs. Bailey reside at No. 702 North Main street.
The subject of this sketch was born Nov. 30, 1817, at Watertown, N, Y., and is a son of Mr. and Mrs. Frederick Woodruff. During his boyhood days he attended public school during the winter terms and worked on his father's farm during the summer. Having completed the common branches then taught in the public schools, he engaged, while still young, in the grocery business with a small capital, in his native city. At the end of six months he sold out his stock and opened a large store, which he con- ducted most successfully for two and a half years. By prudent and economical management during this time he had increased his capital so that he was enabled to invest considerable sums in real estate, and this business soon assumed large proportions. While engaged in the real estate business be built many important structures, among which was the Washington Hall block in Watertown. In 1857, he closed out his business in the east and removed to Dubuque, Iowa, where he spent a year looking after his financial interests. While engaged in the real estate business in Watertown, he loaned considerable money to parties in Wisconsin and Iowa, and had also In- vested in lands in both states. Mr. Woodruff came to Rockford in 1858, and during the first three years was engaged in the real estate business, exchanging his Wisconsin and Iowa lands for property in Rockford and vicinity. During this time he became possessed of forty farms in Winnebago and Ogle counties, which he after- ward exchanged for city property. Rockford owes much of its prosperity, beauty and progress to the enterprise and devoted public spirit of such men as Mr. Woodruff has proved himself to be. He has ever taken a lively interest in all progressive improvements for the betterment and welfare of the city, and acceptably served as its mayor from 1873 to 1875. Woodruff's addition to the city will become an honorable monument to the family. He has seen the place grow from an humble village to the magnificent proportions of a beautiful city and has personally aided, by his influence and a liberal use of his money, in securing the location of manufacturing and industrial institutions in Rockford until it is conceded to be one of the most important manufacturing centers west of Chicago.
He was one of the originators of the Rockford National Bank and was elected its president in 1871, which office he has success- fully administered continuously since. He was one of the founders of the Forest City Insurance Company in 1873 and acted as its president for many years. In 1875 he organized the Forest City Furniture Company of which he is still president, and this has become one of the largest industries in the city. To him is due a great share of the credit for the development and wonderful growth of the busy business thoroughfare known as Seventh street. He was among the first to erect business buildings in that section, had firm faith in the future of the street and has expended much money in business blocks along it, adding greatly to its beauty and stability. He can rightly be termed the Father of Seventh street, and its marvelous growth has always been to him a matter of special pride and satisfaction.
He also built two of the finest business blocks on West State street, one of which is the Rockford National Bank building and the other the Woodruff block, just across the street. To him can also be given much of the credit for the excellent street railway system enjoyed by Rockford today. He invested heavily in the property when it was far from a paying proposition, assisted in bringing about a reorganization and consolidation of the two city lines, together with the interurbans, with the result that the service has been perfected, the lines extended, and it is today one of the best investments in the west. He was one of the organizers and a heavy stockholder in the Insurance Company of the State of Illinois, of Rockford, and was ever willing to back his faith in its future with his money. Time showed his wisdom and the company is now on a solid, paying basis.
Mr. Woodruff is an active member of the First Congregational church of Rockford. He is one of the trustees of Rockford College, which ranks high among the educational institutions of the west. He is a staunch republican. Socially he leads a quiet, unostentatious life and is always accessible to the most humble of his fellow citizens. He has bestowed with a liberal hand and an unselfish spirit in all cases of necessity and distress when called upon for aid. In his business career and through life he has maintained a reputation of the highest integrity and most scrupulous honesty and among the long list of Rockford's honored citizens there are none more highly honored and esteemed than is Mr. Woodruff, the quiet citizen. Mr. Woodruff was married to Miss Nancy Fay in 1840, and seven children were born to them, four of whom are still living, they being Mrs. Sarah W. Parmele. Volney D. Woodruff, Mrs. Duncan H. Ferguson and William F. Woodruff. Mrs. Woodruff died in 1875, and in 1879 Mr Woodruff was married to Mrs. Augusta Todd and they now reside at the old homestead on South Third street.
HON. E. B. SUMNER
Attorney and counselor-at-law, was born in Pecatonica, Illinois. Nov. 14, 1850, and was graduated from the Rockford High School, class of 1866, In 1867 he entered the University of Michigan, and was graduated from the Literary department in 1873, and was admitted to the bar for the practice of law, at Detroit the same year. His admission to the practice of law in Illinois, took place at Mount Vernon, June, 1873. He then located in Rockford where he has since resided. He was elected city attorney in 1879, and to the lower house of the state legislature in 1 880 and re-elected in 1882. He was elected to the state senate in 1884 and served four years. He filled the office of Vice- President of the Rockford Forest City Bank for some time. Mr. Sumner has a large amount of fine city and farm property, to the care of which he devotes the most of his time. He is always accessible to his many friends and is able to give counsel or advice in matters political or financial. He is a bachelor and resides at 516 North Church street.
HENRY W. PRICE
Henry W. Price, one of Rockford's most eminent citizens and city builders, was born in Lakeville, Genesee county, New York, May 22, 1837. His parents removed to Chicago while he was but an infant, where they remained until Henry was twelve years old. His father then started for California to make his fortune in the gold fields of that state, but died on the way. The family then returned to Lakeville and Henry made his home with his grandfather, Deacon John Holmes, and attended school at the Temple academy in Geneseo. When eighteen years old he went to Buffalo and bought a stock of shoes, where he remained in trade until coming to Rockford in 1858. Upon his arrival in the Forest City he at once entered a business career which grew to such proportions as to place him in the front ranks of financiers and masters in giant business enterprises. His life was his business which was conducted upon a scale that would cause one less timid to hesitate. Mr. Price never faltered. His plans in all business enterprises were well laid and carried out with mathematical precision. If they failed, it was not due to any lack on his part, but to circumstances beyond his control. He relied upon his own resources in planning for future success for himself and the city he loved so well. In the best sense of the term, he was a self made man. When first coming to Rockford he engaged in the shoe business, but in 1860 he commenced the manufacture of gloves, which he carried on with great success the remainder of his life. He was widely known in the glove trade and was one of the largest dealers in the country. While he was deeply absorbed in his own business, he always manifested a lively interest in the city's welfare, and to him belongs the credit of promoting and instituting some of Rockford's most valuable industries and improvements. Mr. Price was one of Rockford's prominent citizens and, in fact, he had no peer in his self-sacrificing liberality for the up building of the city. His life was a part of the city's life, as he was one of its early settlers and it grew to its present proud position under his magic touch and inspiration. "New industries" was the keynote he always sounded and others would get into harmony with his music and when all moved together, wonderful results followed.
He it was who inspired the institution of the watch factory, silver plate works, bolt works, tack factory, city railway, and the Ingersoll Milling Machine company. He invested large sums of money in these industries, and in some instances large sums were lost, but he pushed all the harder to win success for the good of the city. He favored public improvement notwithstanding the fact that he would be heavily taxed therefore. His civic pride, when placed in the financial balance, outweighed all other considerations. Among other public enterprises in which he was a moving spirit, was the North End addition in which he invested $250,000.00. Mr. Price was the president of the H.W. Price Glove Company, president of the Rockford Silver Plate Company, and vice-president of the Rockford City Railway Company, in all of which institutions he was a heavy investor. Mr. Price was liberal to a fault and many were the charities extended to both public and private enterprises. Mr. Price experienced heavy losses in some of his enterprises, about $500,000 having been swept away as reverses came, but at this he did not falter. New energy was thrown into his business and much of the losses recovered. After spending the best part of his most active and valuable life in the up building of the city of his adoption and of his best love, he was called to his long home at five o'clock in the afternoon of May 20, 1903. Mr. Price married Miss Frances Irene Warner of Milan, Penn., in 1863, and had one child who is Mrs. Maude Price Knight. Mrs. Price, the daughter, Maude, and two grandchildren, Henry Price Knight and Mary Daphne Knight, are now living. The family residence is at No. 929 North Main street.
NORMAN F. THOMPSON
Norman F. Thompson was born in Perry, Georgia, June 27, 1856, and came to Rockford with his parents in 1857, where he received the benefit of the city schools and where thorough preparation was made for a broad and finished education. He was graduated with honors from the Yale University in the class of 1881, and has since been identified with important business interests in New York City, Buffalo and Rock- ford. He was for several years connected with the Equitable Mortgage Company of New York, as assistant secretary and treasurer, and later became the treasurer of the Equitable Securities Company of New York. He resigned this position to take charge of reorganizing a machine screw company in Buffalo, and as assistant receiver of the Equitable Mortgage Company, On the completion of this work he returned to Rockford to take charge of the private affairs of Mr. Ralph Emerson. At the election of officers for the Manufacturers' National Bank in 1900, Mr. Thompson was made the vice-president and acting officer of this institution. His large experience in connection with important financial institutions in the east, made him a desirable person to fill this important position in one of Rockford's strongest, most reliable and deservedly popular banking houses. Mr. Thompson was city treasurer from 1901 to 1903. He is trustee for the Y.M.C.A. and Archean Union, No. 1. Socially he is a member of the Twentieth Century Club, Chicago; Graduates Club, New Haven, Conn.; Bankers Club, Chicago; and Country Club and Beefsteak Club of Rockford. He is a member of the board of directors of the Burson Knitting Company and the Manufacturers' National Bank. Mr. Thompson married Adaline E. Emerson, oldest daughter of Ralph Emerson, on January 10, 1883. Their children are Norman F. Thompson, Jr., aged 19, at Yale University; Ralph E. Thompson, aged 15, at Hotchkiss School; Adalyn Thompson, aged 13, at Rockford College.
is a son of the late Jeremiah Carleton of Barre, Vermont, and his wife Betsey Robey Carleton of Dunstable, New Hampshire.
Ingalls Carleton was born in Marshfield, Vermont, March 30th, 1824, of English descent, and is a representative of the twenty-sixth generation from the noted Baldwin De Carleton, who lived in England in the year 1066, and whose descendants occupied Carleton Hall for six hundred years. Later, other descendants of prominence appeared, among whom were Sir Dudley Carleton, a statesman, who was created Viscount Dorchester by Charles I., died in 1651 , and Sir Guy Carleton, first Governor Gen- eral of Canada, and the first Lord Dorchester. Among the Carleton family of this country are found farmers, soldiers, ministers and men of letters. Mr. Carleton's son, Leonard Ingalls, represents the twenty-seventh, and his grandson, Robey Freeman Carleton, the twenty-eighth generation of Carletons of the tenth century. Mr. Carleton, his son and grandson, are entitled to the family coat of arms of Oxfordshire, Lon-don and Surrey, the motto of which is, " Non ad Perniciem." Mr. Carleton was educated in the public schools of his native town, and when young taught three winter terms of school. He represented his district in the Vermont legislature in 1855. In 1856 he came to Rockford, but soon returned to his Vermont home, where he was re-elected to the legislature. In 1857 again came west and located in Rockton, where he formed a copartner ship with the late George H. Hollister, and built a large flouring mill and elevator, and engaged in the milling and grain business. After a successful ten year's business the firm sold its milling interests. Mr. Carleton removed to Rockford, where he has since resided in retirement, looking after his large real estate interests in this county and South Dakota. His residence in East State street is one of the most beautiful homes in this city, and has been occupied by the family since 1877. Mr. Carleton is one of the few surviving attendants who heard the great Lincoln-Douglass debate in Freeport in 1858, and the many stirring incidents of the occasion are still fresh in his memory. He has always taken a deep interest in public affairs, and by his generosity has aided in the development and substantial growth of the city. He was married at Rockton in 1869 to Miss Amy Lawrence, a daughter of Luther Lawrence, and his wife, Adelia Loomer Lawrence, of Rockton. Mrs. Carleton's father traces his ancestors to Sir Robert Lawrence of Ashton Hall, England, who was knighted in the year 1190. Among his descendants have been many people of prominence and worth. Conspicuous in this country were Amos and Abbott Lawrence of Groton, Massachusetts, the original home of John Lawrence, of Suffolk, England, who settled there in 1635. Mr. and Mrs. Carleton have one son, Leonard Ingalls, who was born at Rockton. His wife is Alice Freeman Carleton. a daughter of the late William Edward and Sarah Hill Freeman of Cheltenham, England. Two children have been born to them, Leonard Ingalls, Jr., who died January 20, 1902, aged two years, and Robey Freeman Carleton, who was born August 28, 1902.
ROCKFORD HON. JOHN C. CARVER (DECEASED)
The subject of this sketch was a son of John Carver, who came from Pennsylvania and settled on a farm near Pecatonica in an early day, where John C. was born November 16, 1843. Judge Carver spent his boyhood days upon his father's farm, and received his primary education in the public schools. He took a course at the Wittenburg College in Springfield, Ohio, where he received his degree. He studied law under the tutorship of Gen. Keifer, of Ohio, who was at one time Speaker of the House of Congress. He was admitted to the bar in 1871, and commenced the practice of his profession in Rockford. He quickly gained the confidence of the people and the bar, and rose rapidly in his profession. He was elected States Attorney, which office he filled two terms with marked ability. In 1882 Judge Carver was a candidate for Congress, and would have received the nomination and election but for the sudden death of Major Hawk, which occurred shortly before the meeting of the convention which occasioned its adjournment without action. At its next meeting Robert R. Hitt and Col. B.F. Sheets both entered the race and Mr. Hitt was nominated, although Winnebago county stood by Judge Carver. In 1886 Mr. Carver was elected to the Circuit bench to succeed Judge James Cartwright who had been elevated to the Supreme bench to succeed Judge Bailey who had died. After fill- ing out the unexpired term of Judge Cartwright. he was elected to the office for the full term. He served frequently upon the bench in Chicago with great acceptance. Judge Carver was a hard, conscientious worker as a lawyer and an exemplary and upright judge. Socially he was a Past Master of E.F.W. Ellis Lodge of Masons, Past Commander of Crusader Commandery, a member of the Consistory and Shrine, Knights of the Globe, Forest City Lodge of United Workmen, Odd Fellows and Woodmen. He was married to Miss Sarah A. Segur, of Rockford, November 25, 1875. Mrs. Carver is the daughter of John Segur, who is still living in Rockford. Six children were born to Judge and Mrs. Carver, five of whom are now living; Laura. M., Lewis C., Earl, Eva and Howell. The family residence is at No. 1103 South Main street. Judge Carver died November 27, 1901, loved and mourned by the entire community.
MAYOR CHARLES E. JACKSON
With no other name could the title of this work, " Rockford Today," be more aptly associated than that of Charles E. Jackson who was, in May of this year, installed as mayor of this city. In early life he has won success in business, is liberal and progressive in his political views, stands for good city government and is essentially a home man. Those estimable qualities so typical of Rockford, are reflected by its new mayor, who is a product of its public schools and its business institutions. Mr. Jackson was born on a Boone County farm, four miles from Belvidere, Ills., Nov. 30, 1867, When he was four months old his parents moved to Rockford, which place he has ever since respected as his home. After completing his studies in the public schools he entered business life as a clerk in a retail clothing store. Reaching a more useful era of efficiency, he went out as a traveling salesman, in which vocation he continued for several years. In 1891 he established the whole-sale portrait and frame business, which he has since conducted successfully extending his sales to every state in the union and into foreign countries. As an energetic worker for the commercial supremacy of the city he was chosen president of the East State Street Business Men's Association. In that position he displayed qualities for leadership which caused his name to be mentioned as a candidate for alderman from his home ward, and, after a spirited campaign which usually follows in a bailiwick where citizenship is appreciated, he became Alderman Jackson. In his new office he surprised his best friends by his temperate demeanor debate, his uniform courtesy toward his colleagues and the clear cut manner in which he cared for the interests of his people. During his two years service as alderman he became the central figure of a movement to modify the existing ward lines of the city so that all voters could be equally represented in the council. The successful termination of that movement made him the logical mayoral candidate of a majority of his fellow citizens, a majority which increased in number as election day drew near. His first official acts have justified the claims made by his friends as to his fitness for executive honors. He has selected his lieutenants with impartiality as to geographical lines and has inaugurated a progressive business policy which will contribute toward the city's welfare. While essentially a home man he is a member of the Royal Arcanum, Modern Woodmen of America, and A.O.U.W. fraternal orders, in which he has seriously interested himself. Mr. Jackson was married in 1898 to Nellie L. Brown, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Chas. E. Brown. If Mr. Jackson has ambitions of a political nature other than those which make for good city government, he has not disclosed them to even his closest friends, and the belief obtains that his foremost aim is to see the best interests of Rockford developed along broad, peaceful and permanent lines.
HON. CHARLES A. WORKS (DECEASED)
was a native of this county, having been born at Guilford, Illinois, May 4, 1848, and was graduated from the East Rockford High School in 1868. He served as a clerk of the Supreme Court, at Ottawa, Illinois, from September. 1873, to September, 1875. He was appointed superintendent of the city schools of La Salle, Illinois, in 1875, and served with distinction in this capacity two years. Mr. Works was then made deputy clerk of the Circuit Court at La Salle, Illinois, and served one year. During the year 1878 he was in the government employ in the Indian service on the Missouri river. He began the practice of law in Rockford in January, 1879, and soon became one of the most brilliant advocates at the bar in the state. He was elected States Attorney for Winnebago county in 1880, which office he held for three consecutive terms, with honor to himself and to the perfect satisfaction of the people. He was elected as a member of the State Board of Equalization in 1892 and again in 1900, which office he administered with distinction, having served upon one of the most important committees of the board, and was acknowledged to be an authority in the determination of intricate legal questions coming before the board in transacting its business. Mr. Works was married to Miss Eva Enoch, daughter of Hon. A.I. Enoch, in November, 1880, and had four children, Marein S., Mabel J., Helen K. and Charles Enoch.
John Lake was born on Blackford Farm, Selworthy Parish, England, March 27, 1821, said farm was then the possession of his paternal grandfather, who was a farmer, dairyman, miller, malster. and a dealer in all kinds of seeds. William Lake, the father of John Lake, was also born on Blackford Farm in 1798, and died when John was but six months old. John's mother married again, and he was reared by his grandmother in the old home. Mr. Lake was given excellent educational advantages by private teachers. He commenced to earn his own living when fourteen years of age by working on a farm. In May, 1836, he proposed going to the United States, but was opposed in this by his family. He told them he had resolved to go the following year, and they finally gave their consent. The first week in May, 1837, when but sixteen years of age, he left his beautiful English home to gain a competence for himself in the United States. He secured passage on the "Severn," a sailing vessel, loaded with iron for Philadelphia. The voyage was beset by fearful storms and continued through seven long weeks before the arrival at Philadelphia. He immediately set out for Rockford, where he expected to join his uncle Thomas, but was detained by illness at Rockport, a small town on the Ohio river, and did not arrive in Rockford until December 1, 1837. He did farm work for three years, and then apprenticed himself to Thomas Thatcher, a joiner, carpenter and architect, with wages at $5.00 per month and board. At the end of one year he felt competent to start in business for himself in the same line. He worked by the day and did contract work until 1853, when he formed a partnership with P. Howes to engage in the lumber trade. Their yard was located where the East Rockford, Chicago &. Northwestern passenger station now stands, which was. at that time, the terminal of the Chicago & Galena railway. When the railway was extended across the river in 1853 they removed the yard to the West side, where they did business until 1856, when they sold out to Mr. Freeman.
In November, 1856, Mr. Lake visited his old home, returning to Rockford in February, 1857, and engaged in the lumber business again on the corner of Third and State streets, where he did business until 1859, when he sold out to Cook & Bro. In 1863 he formed a partnership with Henry Fisher on the West side, and carried on the lumber business until 1867, when he again sold out and revisited England, extending his journey to Ireland, Scotland, France, Italy, Switzerland and Germany, returning to Rockford in the fall. In 1868 he formed a five-year partnership with Seely Perry, which was terminated in 1874, after which he spent three years in Europe. He visited California in 1885. He was vice president of the Rockford Fire Insurance Co. from 1866 to 1886, when he was made president. In 1873 he was elected an alderman from the Second ward, and served continuously for ten years, a part of this time he was also its supervisor.
In 1877 he was the chairman of the Board of Education. He was Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of the I.O.O.F. and Representative to the Sovereign Grand Lodge of the United States for six consecutive years. Mr. Lake was married to Miss Almeda M. Danley, daughter of Cornelius and Sarah Danley, of Harlem, Illinois, October 11, 1849. Seven children were born to them, but three died in infancy. The family residence is at No. 2211 East State street.
Horace Brown was born in Springfield, Windsor county, Vermont, June 24, 1824. He is a descendant, on his father's side, of one of our oldest American families which traces its lineage to Edward Brown, who was born in 1591, in Horton, Kenby county, Kent, England, and who came to America, arriving February 17, 1634, on the ship Hopewell from London, England, and settled in Ipswich, Mass. The grandfather of our subject, Elisha Brown, was born in Ipswich, Mass., January 7, 1748, and removed to Hingham, Mass., where he married Merriel Bates, and settled in Winchendon, Mass., in 1773. He was a patriot of the Revolutionary War, and participated in the battle of Bunker Hill. He removed to Springfield, Vermont, in 1778, where the father of our subject, Jonathan Brown, was born October 5, 1796. His mother, Hannah Stocker Brown, was of English and Scotch descent, whose father was a soldier in the war of the Revolution, and participated in the battle of Bunker Hill and at Yorktown, when Cornwallis surrendered. His great grandfather Bates was killed at the battle of Bunker Hill. Horace Brown was educated in the schools of his native county. He assisted upon his father's farm until twenty years of age when he engaged to work one season for William Thayer, whose daughter, Mary A., he afterward married. In 1845 he engaged in the manufacture of floor oil cloth in Lansingburgh, N. Y., where he remained until 1850, when he came to Illinois, arriving in Rockford May 12th. The population of the township at that time was about 1,800. He purchased a farm in New Milford township which he leased, and returned to his home in the east where he was married September 12. 1850, to Miss Mary A. Thayer, who was born February 16, 1827, and immediately returned to Rockford. The following spring he returned to Lansingburgh, where he worked in the oil cloth factory until June, 1853, when he again returned to Rockford and traded his farm for West side property, and engaged in the livery business in partnership with W. G. Reynolds. After two years of successful business he sold out his interest and returned to his native town, where he engaged in several lines of business. In the spring of 1859 he again returned to Rockford, where he has since resided on what is known as Park Ridge, on the East side of the river. The home is one of the most beautifully located in the city. Mr. Brown is a charter member of the Rockford National Bank, and has served as its vice president since its organization in 1871. He was also a charter member of the Forest City Insurance Co., and has served as a member of its board of directors and as treasurer and vice president. He was elected president of the Skandia Furniture Co. upon its organization. He also served as director and president of the Insurance Company of the State of Illinois during the first years of its business. Upon the death of Gilbert Woodruff he was elected president of the Rockford National Bank. William Thayer Brown, only son of Horace and Mary Brown, was born in Rockford, Illinois, March 2, 1854. is a member of the firm of A. G. Spaulding & Bros. He resides in East Orange, N. Y. His office is at 126 Nassau street, New York. He married Miss Mary L. Spaulding, August 24, 1875, who was born October 23, 1854, and has four children, Horace S., Harriet Irene, William Thayer, Jr., and Elizabeth. Alice C. was born March 26 1856. She married D. H. Ferguson, of Denver, Colorado, and had one son, Donald Brown Ferguson. She died March 23, 1890. Carrie A. was born July 27, 1860, and died April 10, 1885.
JOHN DEXTER WATERMAN
was born in Decatur, Otsego county, New York, December 27, 1846, and is a son of Hamilton and Mary Waterman. When sixteen years of age, he became a clerk in a general store, at Worcester, New York, Eighteen months later he entered the United States Naval service and served on Admiral Porter's flagship during the last year of the civil war. At the close of the war he came to Rockford and engaged in railroading and manufacturing interests. He served as Rockford's postmaster under both Cleveland administrations. He organized the Forest City National Bank and was made its president, which office he still holds. Although this bank is one of the youngest in the city, its business and reliability ranks second to none. Mr. Waterman married Miss Emma J. Wolford, of Cohoes, New York, in 1871. The family residence is at No. 754 North Church street.
HON. E. W. BROWN
The subject of this sketch is a son of the late Judge William Brown, and was born in Rockford. August 8, 1857, which city has since been his home. There is no other resident of Rockford today, whose life and development has been so much an integral part of the city's growth and vital interests as that of Mr. Brown. Here is where he received his education, in the city schools, and developed business abilities which are rarely attained by the most astute in business matters. For a time he attended the school at Mt. Morris, but was obliged to give up study on account of the strain upon his eyes and entered an active business life. He was a member of the firm of Brown & Eckstine Drug Co., which did a prosperous business for five years, the volume of business reaching as high as $60,000.00 per year. After disposing of his interests in the drug business he entered the wholesale oil business. He secured a contract with the Standard Oil Co. by which he was able to get oil on the best possible terms and to supply many surrounding towns with this product. He built the first oil-tank in Rockford, and equipped himself thoroughly for doing a large business. His success in this business is measured by the fact, that he did a cash business amounting to $30,000.00 in six months on a capital of $3,000.00, when he sold his oil business to John R. Porter & Co. In 1884 the Illinois Central Railroad Company was planning to build an air line from Chicago to Freeport, and in their survey decided to build leaving out Rockford and locate their line east of New Milford, crossing the river at Hoisington Rocks below Rockford. Judge Brown, who was personally acquainted with Mr. E. T. Jeffries, general manager of the Illinois Central, and Stuyvesant Fish, president of the road, made it a personal matter to see that Mr. Jeffries came to Rockford to look the city over prior to a final settlement upon the location of the line. Mr. Jeffries visited Rockford with Isaiah Randolph, chief engineer of the road, and was entertained at Judge Brown's home. They met with a number of prominent manufacturers, including Ralph Emerson, W. A. Talcott, John P. Manny, H. W. Price and Gilbert Woodruff, and that night Mr. Jeffries decided to build into Rockford. The services of Mr. Brown were secured, and he at once proceeded to obtain a right of way for the new line. Active operations in promoting this valuable enterprise for the city of Rockford were instituted on the first day of November, 1884. Mr. Brown was constituted the first agent of the company in this city, which position he still holds. His thorough business ability is recognized by the company, and his advice is sought after in important matters, and his judgment is implicitly relied upon. There is doubtless no other agent in the service of the company that has so great an influence in the conduct of its business as does Mr. Brown. Through his effort, sagacity, and business tact, a small business in 1884, has grown until it exceeds that of any other railway interest in the city today in its property investments and volume of business. The company now owns a frontage of 800 feet on South Main street, and a yardage three-quarters of a mile in length free from grade crossings. Its passenger and freight buildings are the finest in the city. Its freight business now averages eighty cars per day and its passenger business is large. Forty people are given employment in the various departments of the company's business in the city. In 1885, Mr. Brown was elected an alderman from the old Second ward for seven years. His work in the council demonstrated the fact that he was admirably fitted to preside at the head of the city's affairs, and in 1895 he was elected mayor. This honor was conferred upon him again in 1897 and 1899. After a continuous service of six years as mayor of the city, Mr. Brown felt that his railway and private business imperatively called for so much of his time that he could not possibly give the attention to the duties imposed upon the mayor and declined further service in this office. In 1903, great pressure was brought to bear upon him to secure his consent to a re-election, but for the reasons above stated, he steadfastly declined the honor. During Mayor Brown's administration, many of Rockford's most valuable permanent improvements were made, Through his effort and recommendation the present system of water supply was instituted in 1897, and was put into effective operation by Mr. D. W. Mead, at a cost of $50.000,00 and affords a supply of 7,000,000, gallons of water daily. The water works park was a product of the general improvements instituted. The present system of macadamizing was instituted, which is doubtless the most economical and the best in the world. As a result of this system, Rockford now enjoys the use of more than forty miles of macadamized streets. The fire department was provided with more efficient means for doing effective service. Mayor Brown's appointees to the various city offices were men eminently fitted for the position they occupied. A review of Mayor Brown's several annual messages to the council, demonstrates a determination to adhere to a rigid economy in the expenditure of the city funds, a just and exact enforcement of the laws, and together with the co-operation of the council to so administer the city government as to insure stable progress and permanent good. Mr. Brown married Miss Lizzie A. White, a daughter of Joshua White, a prominent citizen and large land owner of Stillman Valley, Illinois, and has three children. The family residence is at No. 312 South Third street.
Was born at Pomfret, Conn., in 1823, and was educated in the public and private schools of New England. He came to Rockford in 1854, where he has since resided. Mr. Sabin engaged in the drug business shortly after his arrival here, and, when he retired in 1893, was the oldest druggist, with reference to number of years engaged, in this city. His business career was one of integrity and honor, and was marked with that success to which such a career is justly -en- titled. He was recently the honored guest of his friends and associates in business at a banquet given at the Nelson, which occasion was greatly enjoyed by all those participating. Mr. Sabin was married in New Hampshire, in 1846. His present residence is No. 835 North Church street, where he has resided during the last forty years in the same house. This house is now in the central part of the city, but, when first occupied by Mr. Sabin, was quite out in the country. During his business career here, he has seen the place grow from the habiliments of a hamlet to those of a magnificent city, and his life has been an integral part of this growth. Indeed the city owes its prosperity and substantial growth to the integrity and business energy of such of its solid business men as Mr. Sabin has proved himself to be. He is entitled to the laudation of his fellowmen and to the rest he now enjoys.
LOREN L. MORRISON
Was born at Hebron, Jefferson county, Wisconsin, November 18, 1852, and was educated in the public schools of Sherburne, Woodstock and Hartland, Vermont. He was a student at the Worcester Academy. Worcester, Massachusetts' and at Waterville Classical Institute, Waterville, Maine, and was graduated in the classical course from Knox College, Galesburg, Illinois, June 26, 1879. During the first four years after graduation he occupied the position of Principal of the graded and high schools of Lyndon, Whiteside county, Illinois, and at the same time gave his attention to the study of law under the direction of the Hon. John G. Manahan, of the firm of Manahan & Ward, of Sterling, Illinois, and later continued his legal studies with the firm of Staples & Goulding of Worcester, Mass. He came to Rockford June 12, 1883, where he has since resided. Shortly after his arrival here he was admitted to the bar, and has since given his attention to general law practice, devoting considerable attention to practice in the United States courts and patent cases. Mr. Morrison has served the city as police magistrate during the last sixteen years, and the administration of the office has been eminently satisfactory to the people. Socially he is connected with the Masonic order, having been made a Mason in 1 889, joining Rockford Lodge No. 102. He has taken the Scottish Rite degrees up to and including the thirty-second, his membership being with Freeport Consistory. He is also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias, and the Royal League, of which he is past supreme vice archon. Judge Morrison was married to Miss Mary Louise Ball of Holden, Massachusetts, June 19, 1882, and has three children. Mr. and Mrs. Morrison are members of the State Street Baptist Church. Politically, Judge Morrison is a staunch Republican.
HON. ROBERT H. TINKER
Is a son of Rev. and Mrs. Reuben Tinker, and was born at Honolulu, Sandwich Islands, (now the Republic of Hawaii) December 31, 1836, and came to Rockford in 1856. He has been identified prominently in the manufacturing interests and substantial growth of Rockford, and is largely interested in the water-power, the source of Rockford's wealth and prosperity. He was promoter and president of the Chicago, Rockford & Northern Railway Co., which road is now merged in the Burlington system, has served as mayor of the city, (1875-6), president of the Rockford Water Power Co., and of the Rockford Bolt works, and is connected officially with many other Rockford industries. Mr. Tinker is a connoisseur in art work and his aesthetic taste is conspicuously shown in and about his beautiful home. Nature has done much to make this spot romantic, and Mr. Tinker has so harmonized his improvements with the imprints of nature that the place is a "thing of beauty and a joy forever." In the home is a large collection of curio, obtained by Mr. Tinker in his foreign travels. It also contains a library, unique in construction and filled with rare and costly volumes. In 1870, Mr. Tinker was married to Mrs. Mary Manny, the widow of John H. Manny, the noted inventor and manufacturer of harvesting machines. His inventions paved the way for much of Rockford's wonderful growth and success. Later on, Mr. and Mrs. Tinker disposed of the beautiful Manny home on South Main street and made their permanent residence in the Swiss cottage, where, after years of happy wedded life, Mrs. Tinker was called home, leaving a devoted husband and a host of friends to mourn her loss. Mr. Tinker's skill and aesthetic taste will be called into service in the beautifying of the public Library and Memorial hall grounds.
COLONEL WILLIAM NELSON.
Col. William Nelson was born at Sycamore, Illinois, October 29, 1857, and was educated in the city schools and high school of Rockford. He entered a business career while young, in which he has attained eminent success, and now holds prominent official and executive positions in several of Rockford's most substantial institutions. Col. Nelson and brothers erected the beautiful Hotel Nelson as a memorial to their father, the inventor of the Nelson Knitting Machine, and founder of the Nelson Knitting Company. The Nelson is a popular hostelry, and its parlors are utilized for the purpose of holding elaborate social functions and political committee meetings. Mr. Nelson is president of the Nelson Hotel Company, vice-president of the Forest City Knitting Company, vice-president of Barnes & Company, and director in the Nelson Knitting Company. Socially, he is a member of the Freeport Consistory, Shriner Tebala Temple, Rockford. and Knight Templar Crusader Commandery, of Rockford, and the Elks. He was appointed as one of the Governor's aids, with rank as colonel, January 28, 1901. Colonel Nelson was married to Miss Lizzie Olson of Rockford, October 6, 1888, and has five children, Loiza, Elsie, William Jr., Hilding and Dorothea. The family residence is at No. 737 North Main street.
WILLIAM F. WOODRUFF
Was born at Dubuque, Iowa, in 1858, and came to Rockford with his parents in 1859, where he has since resided. He was educated in the city schools and the Rockford Business College. When eighteen years of age he entered the Rockford National Bank as messenger, and was elected to the position of assistant cashier of the bank January 11, 1881. In January, 1888, he was elected cashier, which position he still holds. The bank, with which he has been identified for so many years, is one of the strongest and most reliable financial institutions in the state. Its capital is $100,000.00, and has a surplus of the same amount. Mr. Woodruff has been instrumental in the development of many of Rockford's most important improvements. Seventh street, one of the finest business streets in the city, owes its success largely to the efforts and financial aid of Mr. Woodruff. The railway system found a friend in Mr. Woodruff, and its success and perpetuity are due to his timely aid. He is a large real estate owner, and devotes much time and money in its improvement for the beautifying of the city and the good of its citizens. Mr. Woodruff is a director and treasurer of the Rockford and Interurban Railway and the Rockford and Freeport line. He is a director and treasurer of the Insurance Company of the State of Illinois and assisted in its organization. He is the vice president and director of the Forest City Furniture Company, treasurer of the Central Heat and Power Company, director in the Hixon Map Company, and treasurer of the Country club. He was elected to the office of city treasurer in 1893 and served two years and was again elected to this office in 1903. He was elected to the presidency of the Forest City Land and Lumber Company in 1903. The company owns 10,000 acres of timber land in the Yazoo Valley, in Mississippi, and is now erecting a mill at Woodruff, named in honor of Mr. Woodruff. The principal office of the company is in Rockford. Mr. Woodruff married Miss Lizzie C. Cotton, of Rockford, and resides at No. 515 North Main street.
HON. FREDERICK HAINES
Is a son of Anthony and Adaline (Rowse) Haines, who settled in Rockford in 1854. His father was a native of Marietta, Pa., and his mother of Bucyrus, Ohio, who were married in 1853. Anthony Haines was engaged in the grain business in Rockford for many years, and carried on an important manufacturing plant for several years. He was a member of the county board of supervisors for eighteen years, and represented the First ward in the city council in 1863 and 1864. The subject of this sketch was born in Rockford, August 30, 1863, and was educated in the city schools, graduating from the High School in the class of 79. He first engaged in business with J. McDermaid in the coal trade with whom he remained one year. He assisted in the organization of the Rockford Street Railway Co., and was its superintendent until the plant was changed to electric power. He then spent two years with the Rockford Construction Co. In 1900 he was elected to the important position of treasurer of the Forest City Insurance Co., which position he now holds. This company's business ranks with the foremost companies of the country and is widely and favorably known. In the political campaign of 1902 Mr. Haines was nominated on the Republican ticket as a candidate for representative in the State legislature, and was elected by a large majority. At the session of 1903 he was placed on several important committees, and his services were most acceptable to his constituency. Socially, he is a Mason, K. of P., and Elk. Mr. Haines was married to Miss Minnie Bushnell, of Sterling, in 1887, and has one son. The family residence is at No. 620 East State street.
RUSSELL BROUGHTON. M. D.
Was born in Racine, Wisconsin, May 16, 1842. His parents, John and Amanda Broughton, removed from Hoosick Falls, New York, by horse team, in 1841 , to Albany township, Green county, Wisconsin, where they entered a quarter section of government land. His father died upon the farm in 1896. His mother is still living. Dr. Broughton attended Milton College at Milton, Wisconsin, and Bryant & Stratton's Commercial College at Milwaukee. He graduated from Rush Medical College in 1869, and practiced medicine at Brodhead, Wisconsin, twenty-one years. He was in charge of all opium and other drug patients for nine and one- half years at the Keeley Institute, at Dwight, Illinois. Two years ago he opened a Sanitarium in Rockford, where he gives special treatment in nervous and drug cases. The Sanitarium is beautifully located , and is a quiet retreat for those desiring medical attention for such ailments. Socially, Dr. Broughton is a member of Bicknell Lodge No. 91, A. F. & A. M., Brodhead, Wisconsin ; Evansville Chapter, No. 35, R. A. Masons, Evansville, Wisconsin ; a charter member of the W. W. Patton Post No. 90, Brodhead, Wisconsin, a member of the Wisconsin Medical Society since 1877, and of the American Medical Association. He resides at the Sanitarium.
Dr. Broughton was married to Miss Julia A., daughter of the late Hon. Daniel Smiley of Albany, Wisconsin, in 1869, and has two sons, William S., who is a medical student at Washington, D. C., and James R., in the employ of a large electrical power plant company at Provo, Utah.
HON. HENRY ANDRUS
Is a native of Illinois, having been born on a farm in the town of Harlem, Winnebago county, November 4, 1844, and was educated in the public schools. He resided on the farm until his marriage to Miss Jennie Love in 1868, when he removed to a farm in the township of Pecatonica, where he resided six years. He then removed to a farm in the township of Cherry Valley, where he remained until his removal to Rockford about five years ago. Mr. Andrus served as the supervisor of the town of Cherry Valley for nineteen consecutive 102 years, and during that time he was honored by the Board of Supervisors by being made its chairman for seven consecutive years, a distinction not attained by any of his contemporaries. He was elected to the lower house of the State legislature in 1896 and re-elected in 1898. In 1900 he was elected to the upper house, and still represents the Tenth Senatorial district as its senator. Socially, Mr. Andrus is a thirty-second degree Mason, member of the Order of Elks and a Modern Woodman. He is married and has two children living, a daughter, Mrs. Edith Scott, who resides on the farm in Cherry Valley, and a son, Dr. S. C. Andrus, a practicing physician of this city. The father and mother of Mr. Andrus are still living and reside with their daughter. Mrs. J. A. Atwood, at Stillman Valley. Mr. Andrus has a brother who resides at Mason City, Iowa. The present home of Mr. Andrus is at 624 North street in this city.
Among the more important measures, for which Senator Andrus is entitled to credit in securing enactment into law, is the enabling act, which gave the people of Winnebago county the right and privilege of voting for an appropriation, by the Board of Supervisors, of a sum of money for the building of the Memorial Hall in memory of the soldiers and sailors of Winnebago county. He also rendered conspicuous service in securing the enactment of the measure providing for the building of the monument at Still- man Valley. Also several measures in the interests of public libraries. Hon. John Lake, attending school at the old East side high school. Professor Freeman, who was then principal, placed him in the Intermediate
Was born in England in 1855. When eight years old he was set to work on a farm, receiving as wages four cents a day, continuing until in his twelfth year, during which time his wages were annually raised until they reached thirteen cents a day. At that time there were no free public schools in England, and young Rew acquired the first rudiments of education at night school and Sunday school. In 1867 he came to Rockford, where he has since resided. He first lived in the family of Hon. John Lake, attending school at the old East high school. Professor Freeman, who was then principal, placed him in the Intermediate department, but so well did he apply himself to his studies that he reached the high school in three years, about half the time usually required. In 1871 he engaged with Mr. Reuben Sovereign on the latter's farm, just east of the city, for twelve dollars a month and board. After working about five months he returned to Rockford, determined to continue his course in school. Out of his wages he had saved forty-four dollars, and obtaining a place at the home of the late Hon. John Early, doing chores for his board, he succeeded after much self-denial and privation, not only in getting through another year of school, but in actually saving out of his forty-four dollars, sixteen dollars. In the summer vacation he hired out for two months to work for Mr. Joshua White on his farm at Stillman Valley, for thirty dollars a month and board. At the end of two months, with $59.75 the young man returned to Rockford, again staying at Mr. Early 's, doing chores for his board, and attending school, graduating the same year, 1873, valedictorian of his class. During the summer vacation he again went to work in the harvest field at thirty dollars a month and board. After working two months with the sixty dollars earned, Mr. Rew went to the Northwestern University, at Evanston. After paying a term's tuition, a month's board and buying text books, his money was all spent. Obtaining work at digging cellars and unloading vessels at the wharf, he succeeded in earning enough money to pay his way through the first year in college. Returning to Rockford in the fall he taught a district school during the winter, at the same time keeping up with his class in the University, and by dint of hard work, hard study and much privation, succeeded in completing three years of the college course. At the end of the third year he came back to Rockford in July with only fifty cents in money left. The first thing necessary was to find some work, and on East State street he found a cord of wood to be sawed. Borrowing a buck and saw the young man went vigorously to work. While at work the late Judge William Brown passed by, and requested Mr. Rew, after he had finished his job, to come and stay at his home for the rest of the summer and tutor "Eddie," "Frankie" and "May," as the Judge lovingly called them. The Judge had scarcely gone out of sight when the late J. T. Miller, for a long time assessor of the town of Rockford, and then a member of the school board of the city of Rockford, came by and after a short conversation hired Mr. Rew to teach in the Second Grammar School of East Rockford. The wages were $450 per year for ten months' work. The first year there was an assistant teacher, but the second year Mr. Rew contracted to do all the work for $600 a year. The four following years Mr. Rew taught in the schools of Rockford, in the high school on the East Side, under the late Professor Freeman, and in the high school on the West Side, under Professor Blodgett. Among his pupils were the Hon. Charles W. Ferguson, Hon. Frank S. Regan, Mr. Frank Brown, Hon. Wm. C. Butterworth, Mr. Hosmer Porter, Mr. Samuel Stanley, Mr. Charles Porter, and many other well known citizens. He not only taught in the schools, but as tutor of Latin and mathematics after school hours, prepared pupils for entrance to the universities. Among those whom he so tutored are Mrs. Stanwood, formerly Miss Louisa Brockway, Miss Julia Lathrop and Mrs. Fred Thompson. In 1879 Mr. Rew was united in marriage to Miss Nellie T. Goodwin, daughter of the late Dr. A. E. Goodwin. While teaching he studied law nights, and in 1882 was admitted to the bar. The following spring he was elected Justice of the Peace to complete the term of the late Justice Works. When the first public sewer was laid in Rockford, the commissioners appointed to assess the cost were the late Hon. Thomas Butterworth, the late J. T. Miller and Mr. Rew. This was the Church street sewer. Every property owner but one filed objections, and every lawyer at the then Rockford bar appeared to contest the assessment, but the assessment stood. The same commissioners also made the assessment for the Market street sewer. In 1885 Mr. Rew was appointed, with the late Mayor N. C. Warner, to revise the city ordinances. Mr. Rew has a large law practice, especially in the handling of estates. He has traveled quite a little, having been to Europe twice, and all over the United States and the British possessions in North America.
H. C. SCOVILL
The parents of the subject of this sketch, were natives of Connecticut, but removed to Oneida county, New York in 1816. H. C. Scovill was born in Oswego county, New York, and was educated in the public schools. He spent his boyhood days upon the farm. He came to Illinois in 1 853 and settled in Ogle county, where he still worked at farming. He was a student at the Mount Morris Seminary. In Aug. 1862, he enlisted as a private in Co. K, 92nd Illinois Infantry. He was made a second lieu- tenant of his company and afterward promoted to first lieutenant and captain. His regiment was assigned to the Army of the Cumberland. The regiment was afterward ordered mounted by General Rosecrans and to be equipped with Spencer rifles. This was done and the regiment then joined General Wilder's Lightning Brigade of mounted infantry. Captain Scovill was captured April 23, 1864, while on picket duty, near Tunnel Hill, Georgia, and remained a prisoner ten months at Macon, and Atlanta, Georgia; Charleston and Columbia, South Carolina; and Charlotte and Raleigh, North Carolina. He was exchanged at Wilmington, North. Carolina, March 1, 1865. He rejoined his regiment at Concord, North Carolina, and, with the regiment, was mustered out of service at that place, June 21, 1865. The following September, he came to Rockford and engaged in the lumber business until 1896. He was a member of the board of supervisors five years. He represented the Second ward as an alderman in the council from 1878 to 1886, and in 1887, was elected mayor, which position he held two years. In 1897 he was elected city clerk, which office he still holds. Captain Scovill was married in Rockford to Miss Rosa Zoller in 1872, and has two children, Gertrude, who is Mrs. W.W. Bennett, and Charles, who is ticket agent at the Illinois Central office in Rockford. He resides at 617 Seminary street.
SAMUEL H. RECK
Samel H. Reck was born in Rochester, Pa., December 14, 1866, and was educated at Augustana College, Rock Island, Illinois, where he took his degree in 1886. He was graduated from the Lutheran Theological Seminary, Philadelphia, in 1890, and from the law department of the Northwestern University in 1895. He was the founder of St. Mark's English Lutheran church in Boston, Mass., 1890-93, which is the first institution of the kind in that city. Mr. Reck practiced law in Chicago and Rockford from 1895 to 1899. He is one of the organizers of the manufacturing company, B.F. Barnes Company, of Rockford. Mr. Reck entered the employ of the Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States in April, 1902, and has been the general agent of the Rockford district since January, 1903. The offices are at Nos. 312 and 314 West State street, Rockford, Illinois. Mr. Reck married Miss Anna C., only daughter of John Nelson of Rockford, 111., June 29, 1892, and has three sons. Socially he is a member of the Masonic order and the K. of P. The family residence is at No. 906 Seminary street.
William Knapp was born in Eldred, McKane county. Pa., April 23. 1839, and was educated in the public schools of his native town, also at the academy of Olean, N. Y. He removed to Winnebago county, Illinois, in November, 1854, and located in the town of Burritt, and paid his first taxes in this state in 1850. He was a pioneer in the well drilling business in which he was very successful, both practically and financially He followed this business for about fifteen years, during which time he acquired several farms at the price of about fifteen dollars an acre, which he was able to sell later on for seventy-five dollars per acre. Mr. Knapp served as town clerk for ten years and was then elected town supervisor which office he held from 1879 to 1888. In 1888 he removed to the city of Rockford and was here again elected to the office of supervisor in which capacity he has since served continuously, with the exception of about three years. His service as supervisor covers a period of about twenty-four years, during a considerable portion of which time he has been the purchasing agent for the county, rendering most acceptable service.
He served as a director of the Forest City bank for several years. He was elected to the city council as an alderman from the first ward in 1895 and served two years. Mr. Knapp engaged in the real estate business in 1886, in which he has met with marked success. His son, C. H. Knapp, joined him in this business, under the firm name of Wm. and C. H. Knapp, which was later changed to Knapp, Barnes & Co.. at which time Wm H. Barnes came into the firm. The firm has a fine office at the corner of State and Main streets, on the ground floor of the Second National Bank building, and is one of the leading and most reliable real estate firms in this section of country. The firm buys and sells houses and lots, and farms, and also writes insurance. The motto of the firm is "Small margins and quick sales," The loaning of money is one of the principal features of this business. Mr. Knapp has been a member of Star in the East Masonic lodge for many years, and is a Modern Woodman. Mr. Knapp was married to Miss Martha Scott of Burritt, in 1 864, and has seven children, one of whom, Charles H,. is married. The family resides at 1506 East State street, which has been the family home since 1870.
FRED E. STERLING
Was born at Dixon, 111., June 29, 1869, being the third son of Edward and Irene Bivins Sterling, early settlers of that section. The first ten years of his boyhood were spent in Dixon, where he attended the public schools until 1880, when his parents moved to Huron, S. D., and settled on a farm near that place. They were among the pioneers of Central Dakota (then a territory), the subject of this sketch assisting his father and brothers in developing one of the first farms in Beadle county. He attended the public schools at Huron during the winter terms and worked on his father's farm during the summer until the age of fourteen years, when he entered newspaper work with the Huron Daily Times, which avocation he has since followed, until within the past two years. Mr. Sterling, in his boyhood, was constantly thrown in with men of much more mature years than himself, socially, politically and in a business way, in the development of the Territory and thus acquired a knowledge which the schools could not give him and which has proved useful in the years since. On the promotion of Judge Louis K. Church of Huron, to the Governorship of Dakota, Mr. Sterling, who in spite of his youth had been his close friend and companion, was appointed to the position of assistant commissioner of immigration, in which capacity he had much to do with the preparation and distribution of literature and statistics extolling the wonders of the Territory, resulting in its rapid settlement by home-seekers from the eastern states. Near the close of his term of office he resigned this position to accept the management of the Dakota edition of the St. Paul Daily Globe, a supplement issued with the daily each Saturday and devoted to the interests of the Territory. In 1890 he came to Rockford to accept the city editorship of the Morning Star, which paper he served for a year and left to take a similar position with the Register-Gazette on the consolidation of the two afternoon newspapers. In the service of the latter he continued for nine years when he resigned to take up a different line of work. During that period he also served as the special Rockford correspondent of the Associated Press, Inter-Ocean, Times-Herald, Evening Post, Globe- Democrat and other metropolitan papers. Ever since he became a resident of Rockford Mr. Sterling has taken an active, aggressive part in the political, social and business life of the city and lent his hearty assistance to every movement looking to its progress, welfare and up-building. He enjoys the honor and distinction of having been the youngest man ever elected in Rockford as a member of the City Council, being chosen to succeed Alderman Sturtevant of the third ward. He continued to represent that ward as an alderman for eight years, until the spring of 1903, when he declined a unanimous caucus re-nomination because of other conflicting duties. He was recognized as one of the leaders of the council, a fine parliamentarian and ready debater. During his term of office he served either as chairman or a member of the most important council committees, was for three years secretary of the board of local improvements, and secured for his ward many needed improvements, including the new Blake school building. On his retirement from the council he was presented by his friends with a very handsome diamond ring.
Mr. Sterling is a stanch republican and has taken an active part in county and state politics, serving as a delegate from Winnebago county in every state convention for half a dozen years past. He is now serving his third term as secretary of the Winnebago County Republican Central Committee, and during the presidential and gubernatorial campaign of 1900 was secretary and manager of the Press Bureau conducted by the Republican State Central Committee in Chicago, supplying party literature and statistics to the country press. In 1901 he was appointed by Gov. Richard Yates as land commissioner of the Illinois & Michigan Canal, and during the legislative session of 1903 served as assistant secretary to the Chief Executive at Springfield. He enjoys an extensive acquaintance with and the friendship of a host of prominent citizens and politicians throughout the state. In February, 1901 , Mr. Sterling was appointed receiver of the Manufacturers' & Merchants' Mutual Insurance Company of Rockford, by the Circuit Court. He made an enviable record for himself in winding up the affairs of this company, paying all loss claims in full and securing his final discharge within two years from the date of his appointment, a feat never before accomplished by the receiver of a mutual insurance company in the United States. He is a member of the Elks, Knights of Pythias, Royal League, Modern Woodmen and Home Fraternal League. On October 1, 1903, Mr. Sterling purchased an interest in The Register-Gazette, of which paper he is the editor. On December 17, 1891, Mr. Sterling was married to Miss Anna C. Parmele and two children have blessed the union, Arthur and Olive. His home is at 110 West street.
R. H. SHUMWAY
R. H. Shumway was born in New Milford, Illinois, July 26, 1842, and was educated in the public schools. His boyhood days were spent upon the farm and there is where he acquired the knowledge requisite to the success of his present business. In 1871 he began to realize the importance of the production of thoroughly good seed as the best means of success to the farmer and gardener, and gave special attention to their development. By close attention to business and economical investment he has made a grand success of his undertaking and has acquired a large competence, valued at about a million of dollars. His customers reside in every state and territory in the Union, and for the last several years have numbered 100,000 annually. During the busy season he employs from seventy-five to eighty people. He employs no traveling salesmen, but advertises his business by means of catalogues and agricultural papers. It requires two carloads of paper for each edition of his catalogues, and these are sent direct to the planters. The Rockford post office receives a large business and revenue from the Shumway seed business. Mr. Shumway removed from New Milford to Rockford in 1873, and resides at No. 325 South First street. His warehouse is at Nos. 118, 120 and 122 South First street. Mrs. Shumway died in 1899. Five children are now living. Mr. Shumway's parents came from Vermont and settled at the mouth of the Kishwaukee river in 1836, soon after the Black Hawk war. His mother, Sallie Greeley, was a cousin to Horace Greeley, of newspaper fame. The country was then "the wild and woolly west," and infested by the notorious outlaws, called the Banditti of the Prairie.
Peleg Remington Walker was born in Brooklyn, Windham Co., Conn., July 1, 1835. When four years of age the family removed to East Brooklyn, now Danielson, where he attended the district school until twelve years old. He then worked on the farm summers and attended school winters. At the age of fifteen he attended the West Killingly academy during the fall and winter. In November, 1852, he began teaching in the North Bigelow district in Hampton, Conn. The following summer he worked with his father who was a carpenter and builder. In the winter of '53 and '54 he taught the South Parish school in Killingly. At that time he began preparation for a college course, and attended school the following winter. In the spring of 1855 he was obliged to forego study on account of weak eyes, brought on by an attack of measles. In April, 1856, he removed with his father's family to Scott township, Ogle county, Illinois. During the following fall and winter he taught a seven months' term of school at Lynville. The following summer he broke prairie, and taught the Smith-Woodburn school during the winter. His success in teaching was such that he felt it to be his duty to prepare himself for this profession and at the close of his school he entered the Normal University at Bloomington, 111., where he took a full course and such advanced work as was afforded at that time. He graduated from the University in June, 1861, and taught at Dement the following year. The Civil war being in progress Mr. Walker felt it to be his duty to enlist in the army in defense of his country, and on August 12, 1862, he enlisted as a private in Company K, 92nd Illinois Volunteers. The regiment was sent to Camp Fuller where it remained until October 10, 1862, when it left for the front, The regiment was mounted in July, 1863, and supplied with repeating rifles. He participated in the advance on Chattanooga, was with Hooker at Lookout Mountain and saw the battle of Mission Ridge, and was with Sherman, in Kilpatrick's cavalry, from Chattanooga to Atlanta on the march to Savannah. He received a slight wound when in the advance on Raleigh. He was promoted to sergeant, first sergeant, lieutenant and had charge of his company during its last year's service. Before being discharged from the army, he was engaged to teach the Dement school, where he remained eight years. He was then invited to Rochelle at an advanced salary which he accepted. After twelve years of successful work at Rochelle, he was appointed superintendent of the Rockford city schools, to which position he has received his twentieth appointment. The schools have made excellent progress under his supervision and rank among the best in the state. His report for 1902 will be found in the school article in this work.
Mr. Walker has been a regular attendant at the National and State Teachers' Associations. He served several years as treasurer of the State Teachers' Association, and in 1890 was its president. He has been the president of the Northern Illinois Teachers' Association and a member of the State Board of Education for more than twenty years. Socially he is a member of the G.A.R.
Mr. Walker married Miss Martha E. Webb of New York, and has one daughter. The family residence is at No. 716 North Church street.
WILLIAM WORTH BURSON
William Worth Burson was born in Pennsylvania and the family removed to McDonough county, Illinois, in 1842, and to Fulton county the following year, where his boyhood and early manhood was passed, thus sharing the experiences of pioneer life. For the successful operation of his farm work, he invented and constructed a self-rake reaper in 1858, which was the first machine to regulate the size of the gavel by weight. Mr. Burson was a pioneer in the invention of grain binders and obtained a patent on a twine binder in 1860. This was the first patent on a machine to make the present grain-binder knot. He followed this model with two machines, using wire instead of twine, for the harvest of 1860. These machines were attached to the reaper and operated by hand. These were first brought into prominence by being operated at the great reaper trial at Dixon, Illinois, in the harvest of 1862. Emerson & Company contracted to make one thousand machines for Mr. Burson for the harvest of 1863, the first one thousand grain binders ever made He came to Rockford for the purpose of carrying out this contract, where he resided until 1881, when he removed to Chicago. On account of imperfect workmanship, lack of field experts and other adverse circumstances, these machines were a failure financially and the venture disastrous, leaving a heavy debt upon Mr. Burson, which was not entirely liquidated until 1901. In 1866, in company with the late John Nelson, under the firm name of Burson &. Nelson, the invention of a family knitting machine was jointly undertaken. Mr. Nelson was obliged to give his attention largely to his sash, door and blind factory for some time, but Mr. Burson applied himself closely to the business in hand and after much tedious labor by both, a power machine was perfected. Upon these machines patents were issued to Burson and Nelson in 1868-1870 and 1875, and in 1874 one on hose. On December 25, 1869, the part now known as the "presser hook" was developed. On July 23d, 1870, the first sock was knit by an automatic machine at Rockford. The socks came from the machine joined together and were separated by hand, and the toes closed. This was the first practical automatic knitting machine. In 1872-3 the parallel row machine was developed. This was the beginning of Rockford's present great knitting industry. These machines were automatic and closed to toe and heel, producing a stocking ready to wear, without hand work. "Rockford Seamless Socks" were pioneers in seamless hosiery, driving the old line of goods out of the market. In 1878 Mr. Burson, having withdrawn from active participation with the Burson & Nelson business, built an automatic grain binding harvester, and a knitting machine with a mitten pattern having a double wrist, with the letters "Pat'd" knit therein, also a patent office model, knitting a stocking with narrowed ankle and fancy top. containing the letter âB," a ribbed scarf with letters at each end, and a shirt sleeve with fancy cuff and widening to the body. All of these articles knit with change of yarn and on a single pattern. During 1879 to 1891 he developed a number of important harvesting inventions which were purchased by Whitely, Deering, McCormick, Walter A. Wood, and Milwaukee and Piano Harvesting Companies. In 189 1 he applied himself again to the perfection of, knitting machinery and in 1892 brought one of his machines to Rockford. These machines were modeled after those of 1878 and their product is being shipped from Rockford to all parts of the United States. Mr. Burson has been a tireless inventor, and has been allowed more than fifty United States and foreign patents on grain binders, grain and corn harvesters, automatic knitting machines, knit fabrics and other lines upon which he has worked and on which he is still actively engaged.
Hon. Amasa Hutchins was born in Guilford, Winnebago county, Illinois, June 1 , 1 843, and was educated in the public schools. He was engaged in farming until 1862, when he enlisted in the Union army and served through the war. Mr. Hutchins has been a very successful politician, having been elected sheriff of the county and mayor of the city of Rockford twice. In 1880 he was elected sheriff on the Republican ticket, and filled the office with credit to himself and with honor to the county. His term of office as sheriff was six years. In 1887 he engaged in the monument business, which he successfully carried on for fourteen years. His home has been in Rockford since 1880, and he has had the best interests of the city at heart, and many of Rockford's most important improvements are due to his efforts and official acts. He took a deep interest in the new library building, and did much toward making the enterprise a success. In 1893 he was elected mayor by a large majority, and gave the city an excellent administration. In 1901 he was re-elected to this office, and during this administration many notable municipal improvements were made. He was the builder of the fine steamer " Illinois," and was thus the pioneer in the navigation of Rock river for pleasure. Since the building of the Illinois other pleasure boats have made their appearance, and Rockford has become a center for pleasure seekers from the surrounding country. Captain John T. Buker is interested with Mr. Hutchins in the management of the boat, and together they make a fine success of the business. Socially, Mr. Hutchins is a member of the G.A.R., Elks, and K. of G He was married to Miss Elizabeth Harrod in 1873, and has three sons and two daughters. The family residence is at No. 323 Bruce street.
JOEL B. WHITEHEAD
The subject of this sketch was born on a farm near Hillsboro, Illinois, January 31, 1864, and was educated in the public schools. He was also a student at Beloit College two years. After leaving Beloit, in 1885, he taught one term of school in a district northwest of Beloit. Mr. Whitehead came to Rockford in 1886, where he has since resided. He began his business career here in the office of H. W. Price, where he remained five years. During the last twelve or thirteen years he has done a prosperous business in real estate, loans and insurance, and is a very popular dealer on account of strict integrity and fair business methods. He has served as a member of the board of education, two years as a member of the county board of supervisors from his ward, and was recently re-elected for another term of two years, a director in the Insurance Company of the State of Illinois, a director in the Rockford National Bank, secretary of the Winnebago County Agricultural Society for nine years, and a director in the Rockford Chautauqua Association. As a supervisor Mr. Whitehead has served on several of the most important committees, and exercised a strong influence in preventing the placing of the Memorial Hall on the Court House square and the selection of its present site. He served as the secretary of the Memorial Hall committee of the board of supervisors for the construction of the building, the duties of which were most efficiently discharged. During his long service as secretary of the Agricultural Society, he made the annual fair a success, and was the means of bringing much business to Rockford. Mr. Whitehead married Miss Emma A. Leach, youngest daughter of the late Shepherd Leach, one of the early pioneers, who came to Rockford in 1838, in company with David S. Penfield. Mr. and Mrs. Whitehead have two children, Ruth and Loren L., and reside at 848 North Main street.
AUGUST P. FLOBERG
One of the most popular, strong and flourishing financial institutions of Rockford is the Manufacturers' National Bank of which August P. Floberg is the able and efficient cashier. He was director and stockholder from this bank's inception and was one of the organizers of the same. He is now treasurer and director of the Mechanics' Furniture Company, which employs one hundred men, and has a capital of $75,000. Mr. Floberg was also one of the chief organizers of the Rockford Manufacturing Company which was formed in 1889, with a capital stock of $200,000, employing one hundred employees, and is treasurer of the same. He is director and treasurer of the Forest City Bit & Tool Company, was one of the founders of the Rockford Posten Publishing Company, and is a director and treasurer of the Swedish Building & Loan Association. Our subject was born in "Wester Gothland" Province, Sweden, October 5, 1856. He was but eleven years of age when he came to Rock- ford, and he received a good practical education in the schools of the city. Later he accepted a position as office boy, and with the earnings thus saved, gave himself a good education in the Business College of Rockford. He was then bookkeeper for different institutions and later was for seven years secretary for the Central Furniture Company. He soon became familiar with his business, and has developed into one of the most thorough-going, enterprising men of the city. He is a bank officer of marked executive ability and vast practical experience and is possessed of those characteristics of energy, promptness and sobriety, which ever secure success.
Miss Augusta Ekeberg, who became his wife in Rockford in 1880, was born in "Wester Gothland" Province, Sweden, and attained her growth and received her education here. She came to this country with her parents In 1870, and has since been a resident of this city. The political sympathies of Mr. Floberg have brought him in line with the Republican party and in public movements he has ever taken a deep interest. He and Mrs. Floberg are identified with the First Lutheran church and he was trustee for a number of years and is the present treasurer. Their marriage resulted in the birth of four children, Adelbert R., Frances E., Mamie L., and Freddie F.
JOHN T. SAVAGE
John T. Savage, of the firm of Savage &. Love Company, is one of Rockford's well known manufacturers. He was born in Canada, April 16, 1842, and was educated in the public schools. Mr. Savage came to Rockford in 1866, where he has since resided. In 1876 he engaged in business in the firm of Savage & Love. This firm is now known as Savage & Love Company, and is doing a successful business, the factory and business being located on South Main street. Mr. Savage has been married and has six sons. Mrs. Savage died in 1901. Socially he is a member of the G.AR., Royal League, M.W.A., and I.O.O.F. The family residence is at No. 927 Ferguson street.
William Dobson, one of Rockford's prominent manufacturers, was born in Winnebago county, where he spent his boyhood days upon a farm in the town of Burritt. He came to Rockford in 1868, and was employed as a clerk and in other work for several years. He served one year as janitor at the old court house and jail. In 1872 he entered the employ of Mr. F. Lander, who was engaged in the manufacture of doors, sash and building material on the water power. Some time after the death of Mr. Lander, in 1880, Mr. Dobson formed a partnership with Mr. Benjamin Blakeman, and continued the business, which in 1883, was incorporated as the Blakeman & Dobson Manufacturing Co., and the manufacture of dairy churns and supplies was added to the business. Mr. Dobson assumed entire control of the business in 1897, when the manufacture of building material was discontinued, and the name was changed to the Dobson Manufacturing Co., which is now engaged in the manufacture of a general dairy line of goods. The company has built up a large and prosperous business, and its product is shipped to its patrons in many states.
The subject of this sketch was born in Portsmouth, England, in April, 1852, and was educated in a private school in that city. His father was in the employ of the English government and was killed while engaged in placing an engine in the steamship "Furg." Mr. Collis learned the trade of coppersmith while young, and was employed in this business for twenty-six years. He removed to Canada in 1879, where he continued work at his trade. He came to Rockford in 1891 for the purpose of joining with Mr. Charles Andrews in the wire works business, and is now the secretary and treasurer of the Andrews Wire & Iron Works. Mr. Collis is an earnest, conscientious Christian and an efficient worker in the church. He has also advanced in Masonry to the Royal Arch degree, he is a member of the Royal Arcanum and Ben Hur in this city, and retains his membership in the Ancient Foresters to which he has belonged since 1871. He takes an active interest in the welfare of young men whom he delights to welcome to his home, where his good wife entertains them with good things to eat. and he strives to inculcate all that is best in manhood. Mr. Collis is married and has a family of five children, and resides at 1726 Chestnut street.
The subject of this sketch is the President of the Andrews Wire and Iron Works of this city. He was born in London, England, May 30, 1845. and was educated in the public schools of that city. He came to America and located at Hamilton, Canada, in 1870, where he resided seven years. He removed to Rockford in 1877, where he has since resided. His first engagement here was with Lockwood & Lyman in the wire goods manufacture on the water power, and remained with them eight years, when he began the manufacture of those goods on his own account in the John Spafford building on Madison street. Twelve years ago the company removed to its present location, and has met with phenomenal success. Mr. Andrews has four of his children with him in the business. He is a member of the Royal Arcanum, the Tribe of Ben Hur, and the Second Congregational church. He resides with his wife and family of six children at 813 Kilburn avenue.
GEORGE L. WILEY
George L. Wiley was born in Janesville, Wis., March 17, 1864. His early youth was spent in the city of Lanark, 111., some fifty miles southwest of Rockford, where he received his education in the public schools, and later took a short college course, fitting himself more especially with a view of engaging in a commercial occupation, selecting the banking business For several years after completing his studies, he resided at Omaha, traveling throughout Iowa for a wholesale hardware company. Following this he was admitted to a full partnership in a private banking firm at Leaf River, 111., assuming the position of cashier and manager of the bank, which position he filled for six years. He also had charge of quite an active local fire insurance agency, which was one of the departments of the bank. While in charge of the fire Insurance department of the banking business, he decided to give more attention to insurance business, and when the opportunity offered, resigned from the bank and accepted a position with the Insurance Company of the State of Illinois, one of Rockford's foremost fire insurance companies, of which he is at the present time secretary and manager. He is one of the original stockholders of the company, which was organized in 1895, and served as a director and assistant secretary for a number of years prior to his election to his present position. The home office of the company is on the fifth floor of the Brown building. Mr. Wiley is married and has one daughter, residing at his residence, 1120 North Main street.
THOMAS D. REBER
Thomas D. Reber was born in Reading, Pa., December II, 1863, of Pennsylvania Dutch stock, whose ancestors located there in 1738. His father, Bennville B. Reber, died in 1865, and his mother, Mary Ellen (Dechert) Reber, died in 1899. He was educated in the public schools, Reading Business College, and a three years course in the State Normal, at Millersville. Pa. In April, 1883. he came to Rockford and worked for Peter Sames, and then for the Central Union Telephone Co. for a time, after which he served as mailing and shipping clerk in the office of W. F. & John Barnes Co. In September, 1884, he entered the employ of Perry & Lakin, lumber dealers, and in January, 1885, he purchased the interest of Mr. La- kin, and the firm name was changed to Perry & Reber. Five years of successful business followed, when in April, 1890, the firm of Perry & Reber and that of Lawler & Keeler were united under the firm name of the Rockford Lumber & Fuel Company. Mr. Reber was elected treasurer, which office he held until the death of Mr. Perry, the president of the company in 1900, when he was elected to the office of vice president, which position he still retains. During the thirteen years of successful business of this company, the number of employee has increased from eight to forty-five, the number of horses from six to twenty-six. The company now has four yards and offices in Rockford, besides those at Beloit and Whitewater, Wis. The company's business, at each point, exceeds that of any other concern engaged in these lines. The main office is at No. 201 East State street. Mr. Reber was an original stockholder in the Forest City National Bank, the Star Printing Co., Superior Brick Co., and one of the organizers and member of the first board of directors of the Rockford & Freeport Electric Railway Co., one of the organizers and first board of directors of the Rockford Merchants' and Business Men's Association, also of the Rockford Manufacturers and Shippers Association, being elected treasurer of each without opposition. In 1884 he enlisted in Company H, Third Regiment, 111. N. G., as a private, and February 2, 1886, was elected first lieutenant. Socially, he is a member of Rockford Lodge A.F. & A.M. No. 102; Winnebago Chapter Royal Arch Masons No. 23; Crusader Commandery No. 17; Knights Templar; Freeport Consistory; Ancient Scottish Rite Mason 32nd degree, and Tebala Temple A.A.O.N.M. S. He has filled the highest offices in most of the above bodies. He is also a member of the B.P.O. Elks, National Union, Royal Arcanum and Rockford Germania Society. Mr. Reber married Miss Lydia Loyul, daughter of Wm. and Jane Loyul of Rockford, May 20, 1886, and has two children, Helen Jane, born June 17, 1889, and Edwin Perry, born September 1 , 1891 . The family residence is at No. 315 South Third street.
E.H. KEELER. E. H.
Keeler was born at Janesville, Wis., August 13th, 1863. In 1869 he moved with his parents to Beloit, Wis. He was educated at Beloit public schools, Beloit College and Andover, Mass. He entered the employ of the lumber and coal firm of Peet & Keeler at Beloit after leaving school and there secured his early training in business. After three years service he was made a member of the firm at the age of twenty-two. In 1888 Mr. Keeler came to Rockford and formed a partnership with Col. Thomas G. Lawler under the firm name of Lawler & Keeler, dealers in coal. In 1890 the Rockford Lumber & Fuel Company was organized, Mr. Keeler being made secretary and treasurer, which position he now holds. He is also secretary and treasurer of the Keeler Lumber Company of Beloit, Wis., and Rockton, 111., vice-president of the Forest City National Bank and President of the Superior Brick Company. Mr. Keeler is a republican in politics, is married and has three children.
Levi Rhoades was born in Hinsdale, Cattaraugus county, New York, June 25, 1830, and died at his home, No. 710 North Court street, Rockford, Illinois, November 19, 1891. In 1836 Mr. Rhoades removed from his native town with his parents, to Troy, Wisconsin, where they settled on a farm. He assisted in the farm work and attended school as he could get opportunity until seventeen years of age, when he came to Rockford and worked at anything he could find to do for self support. In 1848 he entered the cooper shop of Harry Landers, and at the end of three years purchased a half interest in the business. In 1853 he bought out Mr. Landers, and continued this business until 1884. In 1865 he formed a partnership with Isaac and C. M. Utter & Company, for the manufacture of paper, and was still at the head of the firm at the time of his death. When the People's Bank was organized, Mr. Rhoades was one of its heaviest backers and was a director. He was a prime mover in the organization of the Rockford Watch Company, was its first president, and a director, until his death. He aided in the removal of the Watch Case Company from Racine to Rockford, and was a stockholder in the Phoenix Furniture Company, and also in the Boot & Shoe Company. At the time of his death he held responsible positions in many of Rockford's important industries and had acquired a handsome competence. He was a member of Court Street church and aided liberally in the construction of that fine edifice, his donation being about $6,000. He was elected mayor in 1876 and served one term. Mr. Rhoades married Mrs. Frederica (Reik) Rhoades, his brother's widow, December 24, 1854, and had three children, two of whom are now living.
Jeremiah Davis was born in Steuben county, New York, June 2, 1826. When thirteen years of age he removed with his parents to Milton, Rock county, Wisconsin, where he attended the public schools and Milton Academy. His first business effort was the purchase of eighty acres of land which he cultivated until 1850, when he made an overland trip to California in company with L.P. Knowlton of Waterloo, Wis. He located a miner's claim near Georgetown, California, which he worked successfully for one year. Having established a residence in the territory, he voted for the adoption of the first constitution for California, in September, 1850, after which he returned to Milton, Wis. He removed to Ogle county, Illinois, in 1859, and, when the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway was projected in 1874, he laid out and founded the town of Davis Junction, which bears his name. He owns valuable farm lands near Davis Junction in Ogle county, In 1881 he removed to Rockford, establishing a residence at No. 216 North Second street, where he has since lived. Mr. Davis represented the town of Scott on the board of supervisors of Ogle county for eight years. He was the representative from Ogle county, in the State legislature, in 1871 and 1872. After coming to Rockford he was elected to the council from the First ward in 1885 and served one term. He has been a member of the Masonic order for forty years, and is a member of the Western Society of California Pioneers. Mr. Davis married Miss Jane Goodrich of Milton, daughter of Hon. Joseph Goodrich, in the spring of 1852, and has six children : J. Milton, Olive, now Mrs. Woodman of Chicago, Henry G., a physician at Monroe Center, Charles E., Elbert Lincoln and Mable, now Mrs. Vandemark of Rockford.
L H. BALEY
L.H. Baley is a native of New York state and was born in 1843. He was educated in the public schools. He removed to Illinois in 1855, and came to Rockford in 1883. Soon after coming to the city he engaged in the ice business with Mr. Leonard, under the firm name of Baley & Leonard. In 1893 he organized the Rockford Ice Company of which he is the secretary and treasurer. The company's business has grown to large proportions. It owns immense ice houses and supplies the larger part of the trade in the city with ice. From fifteen to eighteen wagons are operated during the busy season. Mr. Baley married Clara Miller of Marengo, Illinois, in 1868, and has one daughter. The family residence is at No. 222 North Second street.
THEODORE F. HOPKIN
Theodore F. Hopkins was born in western New York and was educated in the public schools and Pike, N.Y., seminary. He came to Rockford in 1866 while in his teens and engaged with J.S. Sherman as bookkeeper, in the nursery business. During this engagement he acquired experience in the business and after leaving Mr. Sherman's employ he took up the nursery business in connection with farming, on a tract of land south of town, which he had purchased for this purpose. In 1876 he exchanged his farm for an interest in the tannery business, which he has since carried on with eminent success. His business partner is Mr. L.M. Hess. In 1883 a corporation was formed which is known as the Hess & Hopkins Leather Company and the business facilities were very much enlarged. From a small beginning with but few employees, in close quarters, the business facilities have expanded until a large area of land is covered with fine brick structures and the number of people employed increased to two hundred. The company is doing practically the exclusive business in this country of manufacturing harness leather and then manufacturing this into harness goods. Their trade covers a wide area, their goods being shipped both east and west, and the demand for them is constantly increasing. Mr. Hopkins is the secretary-treasurer of the company and its business manager. Mr. Hopkins served in the city council as an alderman from the seventh ward during '1885 and 1886, and was a member of the board of school inspectors from 1896 to 1900. Socially he is a Modern Woodman. Mr. Hopkins was married to Miss Alice Wheat of Rockford, in 1878, and resides at No 704 North Church street.
The subject of this sketch moved from Center county, Pennsylvania, where he was born, with his parents, and settled on a farm near Freeport, Illinois, in 1848, and where he was educated in the public schools. In 1862, though young, he felt it to be his duty to enter the army in defense of the Union, and enlisted as a corporal in the 93rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, and went into camp at Camp Fuller, and from there to Camp Douglass where the regiment was organized. The regiment joined the Army of the Tennessee and participated in the battles of Jackson, Miss., Vicksburg, Champion Hill, Chattanooga, Mission Ridge, Altona Pass, Yazoo campaign, and was with Sherman in his notable March to the Sea. He participated in the Grand Review at Washington, D. C., and was mustered out of service at Louisville, Kentucky, in 1865, and returned to Freeport. In 1866 he came to Rockford and engaged in the manufacture of leather upon the site where the Hess & Hopkins Leather Co.'s plant now stands. He was first connected with two other gentlemen from Freeport in establishing the plant, which was later leased to Benjamin Hess, his father, and Mr. Tanner. In 1875 Mr. Hess took the business, and in company with Horatio Stone instituted the old method of tanning, and built up a prosperous business. In 1877 Mr. T.F. Hopkins bought an interest in the institution, and the business was materially enlarged. In 1883 a corporation was formed under the name of The Hess & Hopkins Leather Co., and the plant was again enlarged. Additions have more recently been made, making the establishment one of the largest in the country. Mr. Hess is the vice president of the company, and with his large experience and constant attention to business is meeting with unbounded success. Mr. Hess was married to Miss Elizabeth Eveland, October 27, 1870, and has four children living, two sons and two daughters, B.F., E.L,, Edith and Ruth. The family residence is at No. 701 Kilburn avenue.
ELIJAH WHITTIER BLAISDELL
Was a descendant from an ancestry among whom many have been numbered with the most prominent of the nation. They came from the old Norse stock, a Danish family of that name, having immigrated to Wales before the country was subdued by Alfred the Great. Its members were mostly forge-men and sailors. Sir Ralph Blaisdell, Knight, married a member of the royal family, and several of his descendants were members of parliament. The progenitors of the American branch of the family was Enoch Blaisdell, who died in Wales. His widow and three sons. Enoch, Abner, and Elijah came to America about twenty years after the landing of the Pilgrims at Plymouth Rock, and settled at Newburyport, Mass. The youngest son is the direct ancestor of Elijah Whittier Blaisdell, the subject of this sketch, and throughout the successive generations this and other Bible names appear, thus showing the religious element of the family. A descendant of Elijah Blaisdell died at Amesbury, Massachusetts, and his widow married Nathaniel Whittier, a member of the same family as the noted poet, John G. Whittier, whence comes the name of our subject. The grandfather of our subject, Parrett Blaisdell, served in the Revolutionary War and that of 1812. He is referred to as being "hasty, brave, and fixedly determined," as well as noted for his blunt honesty and his hearty and sincere piety. He reached the advanced age of eighty- six years, and died at Fort Covington, New York, in 1836. His brother Daniel was also a prominent citizen, and served as a member of Congress in 1808. Elijah Whittier Blaisdell, Sr., was born in Montpelier, Vermont, in 1800, and removed to Middlebury, that state, in 1837. He was previously married in Montreal to Miss Ann Maria Deacon, a native of Wexford, England, and a member of the Methodist church. On the 18th of July, 1826, their son, Elijah Whittier Blaisdell, was born in Montpelier, Vermont, where he passed his boyhood days. He attended the public schools, and later, when his father removed to Vergennes, Vermont, where he published the Vergennes Vermonter, he attended the classical school in that village. After leaving school he entered his father's printing office, and with this experience and extensive reading, in later years, he acquired a broad and general education that surpassed that of many a university bred man. He shortly assumed the editorship of the paper, and was also appointed postmaster of Vergennes by President Taylor. To a man of his ambition his environments soon became too narrow, and he resolved to seek a home in the west. Acting upon this determination he came to Rockford and purchased the Forum, which he published for ten years. Changing the name to the Republican he again resumed editorial work, and this at a time when vital questions of public concern were being agitated. He was soon recognized as a power in the community and acquired an extended reputation. Activity in public affairs brought him in contact with Lincoln, Palmer, Schneider, Browning and others at the meeting in Springfield when the Republican party was organized. He made a strong speech in favor of the new principles at this meeting, and upon his return to Rockford he placed the name of Abraham Lincoln at the head of the columns of his paper as the new party's candidate for the presidency. It is a matter of history that the Rockford Republican was the first paper to suggest the name of Lincoln for president. Mr. Blaisdell called a convention in Rockford for the purpose of nominating a Republican candidate for Congress, and as a result Elihu B. Washburn was the first man nominated for Congress by the Republican party. Mr. Blaisdell vigorously espoused the interests of the farmer in behalf of a lower rate of interest, as they were obliged to pay as high as twenty per cent, to the money leaner. Upon this issue he was elected a member of the Illinois legislature in 1859, where he continued the fight. In behalf of his measure he made one of the most noted speeches ever delivered in the house, which attracted widespread attention. The measure was enacted into law, and was a blessing to the people of the state. He was also instrumental in securing the enactment of a law giving to a wife the right to use her own property under certain circumstances without regard to her husband's wishes. Having accomplished his desires at Springfield he refused a renomination and disposed of his paper, which then became known as the Register, and is now the Register-Gazette. Mr. Blaisdell then took up the study of law, and after reading thirty or forty of the best text- books on the subject, made application for admission to the bar. Judge Peck, one of the examining committee, having heard his speech in the legislature, expressed surprise that he was not already a member of the bar. Such was the effect of this speech that he was admitted to practice without examination a most graceful compliment to his ability. His success as an attorney was pronounced from the beginning, and his business netted him, the first year between three and four thousand dollars, and he was equally successful during his thirteen years of practice. In 1884 he changed his political views and supported Mr. Cleveland for the presidency. He was a staunch friend of John M. Palmer, and did much to advance his political interests. After leaving the bar he gave much of his time to literary pursuits. The Petersons published one of his novels, which elicited favorable comment from the New York Sun, World, Evening Post and Boston Journal. He also wrote a political burlesque entitled, "The Rajah," which met with great success. He also wrote a number of poems of much merit, and a play entitled, " Eva, the General's Daughter," founded on incidents of the Black Hawk War, which was well received by A.M Palmer, the well known theatrical manager of New York. Mr. Blaisdell was twice married His first wife, Frances Robinson, died soon after coming to Rockford, the second wife was Miss Elizabeth J. Lawrence, daughter of Judge Ville Lawrence of Vermont, and a sister of the late Chief Justice C.B. Lawrence of Illinois. Mr. Blaisdell died January 14, 1901, and left a widow and five children, Byron Richard of Chicago ; Henry, a lawyer of Chicago; Elijah W., an artist of New York, and George and Shelly Pierpont at home. The family residence is at No. 1240 Council Hill.
E. C. DUNN, M. D.
The subject of this sketch is one of Rockford's most foremost and best known citizens. He is a descendant of a prominent Scotch Irish. family, which traces its history back for many generations. The grand parent, Joseph Dunn, had eight children, of which Hiram, the father of Dr. Dunn, was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. Dr. Dunn is the youngest of six children, and was born in Ontario county, New York, in 1840. When a mere boy he manifested a roving disposition and a spirit of investigation. It was his good fortune to meet Dr, Peebles when but fifteen years of age, who became interested in him and took him to his own home, where he was surrounded with all the advantages for culture and education that large wealth could secure. Through Dr. Peebles munificence Dr. Dunn received a very broad and liberal education, being a graduate from the University of Pennsylvania, the American Eclectic College of Medicine, and holds a certificate from the State Board of Health of Illinois. Dr. Dunn is a noted traveler, having visited all the inhabited countries of the globe, and has obtained a knowledge of the habits, religions and characteristics of the various peoples of the world. His fund of information is inexhaustible, and his stories of travel most instructive and interesting. During his travels he made a very large collection of curios, gems and precious stones of inestimable value, but met with the loss of many of these, in a museum, in Chicago during the great fire of 1871. Dr. Dunn served as secretary of legation at Trebizond, Turkey, where his benefactor, Dr. Peebles was minister from this country. Dr. Dunn established a home in Rockford in 1863, but has spent much of the time since in travel and upon the lecture platform. His lecture themes cover a wide range of subjects, being equally at home in matters of science, religion, art and politics. He has lectured In many of the largest cities in the world, and has spoken to audiences ranging from a few hundred in number to many thousands. His palatial home in Rockford is one of the most beautiful of the many beautiful homes in the city. Externally it is of oriental design, and its internal arrangement and finish is one of the most artistic of the Queen Ann pattern. The parlors are finished in ebony and gold. The dining room is octagon in shape, and is finished in walnut and cherry and lighted by windows of opalized glass. The house is fitted with the most modern and convenient appliances and is a model of beauty. Dr. Dunn was married to Miss Carrie Etts, in Marshall, Michigan, July 27, 1859, and has two children, Aeola, wife of Richard Hamlyn of Rockford, and James, who married Miss Emma Patterson, and resides in Chicago. Mrs. Dunn displayed great ability as an artist, and her work has received high commendations from the best artists. Her latest work, "Pythias Before the Block," is a painting six feet by four feet six inches in size, and is valued at $1,000.00. Mrs. Dunn died in 1893. In later years Dr. Dunn has lived a retired life, devoting his attention largely to a study of the habits and characteristics of the lower animals, especially the horse and dog. He recently edited a remarkable work which was published by a Boston firm, entitled The Sagacity of Dogs." The volume is beautifully illustrated and a charming work. Socially, he is an Aid-de-Camp of the Supreme Commander, Gen. Carnahan, of the Knights of Pythias, and meets with the order in State and National conventions, Knight Templar, member of Crusader Commandery No. 17, and an Odd Fellow. The family residence is at No. 807 West State street. Dr. Dunn does not aspire to political preferment, but was elected as an alderman from the old Seventh ward in 1894, which position he filled with credit to himself and with honor to his constituency for four consecutive terms. He was a strong prospective candidate for the office of mayor, and had the support of a large number of the best men of the city for this position, but did not decide to make the race. Had he done this he doubtless would have been elected by a large majority.
REV. JAMES J. FLAHERTY
The subject of this sketch was born in Bureau county, Illinois, in 1853, where he resided until his ordination. He was educated at the Niagara University, at Niagara Falls, N. Y., at which institution he was ordained to the priesthood June 7, 1879, and on July 3, was assigned to duty in the city of Chicago, where he served six years as assistant priest. Rev. Flaherty came to Rockford in 1885, and was made immovable rector of St. James church in 1 887 , and Dean of the Diocese in 1 90 1 . Under his wise and economical administration of the affairs of this branch of the church, its membership has more than doubled since the beginning of his pastorate. A fine winter chapel and school have been built and all departments of the work are in a flourishing condition. Father Flaherty is beloved by his people and has made many friends in the city.
J.A. Walker was born in Ohio and removed with his parents to Iowa in 1857. He spent his boyhood days on the farm and was educated in the public schools. He accepted a position with the Singer Sewing Machine Company in 1874 and remained with the company twenty-five years. He was rapidly promoted by the company, from the position of solicitor to that of general manager of the company's business in the northern territory of Illinois, which he handled with marked success. Upon the termination of his business relations with the sewing machine company, he spent a year in San Francisco, Cal., as manager of the city's manufacturing department. In 1883 he came to Rockford where he has since resided during which time he has built fourteen residences, and accomplished much other work in important improvements and the beautifying of the city. The recent organization of the Central Heat & Power Company of Rockford, is due to his wise management and energy in the promotion of important and substantial enterprises. He was instrumental in securing a franchise from the city for the installation of the company's plant, and was made its general manager in which capacity he is now serving. The innovation of this system to furnish heat, power and light to the city and for private use, is a credit to the company and to the city. The work of installation is being pushed forward as rapidly as possible and when completed will be an up-to-date institution. The use of this system by private individuals will result in a great saving of time, money and inconvenience and will reduce to a minimum the danger from fire, thereby securing lower rates on insurance. Socially Mr. Walker is a member of the Royal Arcanum and the Royal League. He was married to Miss May McCleery in 1876, and has two children, Edward R., who is his assistant in the management of the Central Heat &. Power Company's business, and Elsie B. The family residence is at No. 215 North Court street.
Was born in the City of New York, July 4, 1841 , and received a liberal education. He was a teacher for a time in the public schools. His parents were of Irish extraction and loyal citizens. When William was an infant they removed from New York to Harvard, Illinois, where the subject of this sketch spent his boyhood days. Upon reaching his majority he embarked in business in Belvidere. In 1872 he came to Rockford, where he resided until his death, which occurred August 4, 1899. Mr. Grotty was a " self-made man " in the best sense of the term. He relied upon his own efforts to accomplish for himself, or for others, that which seemed best for all interests concerned. He had the best interest of the city always at heart, and never failed to do that which would promote the public welfare. In 1892 he engaged in the real estate and insurance business and rapidly pushed his way to the front. In a short time his ability became apparent to leading business men and he was made a confidential agent, handling large sums of money for investment for others. He was a tireless worker, the soul of honor, strong mentally and physically, and performed faithful service for others, while he amassed a considerable competency for himself and family. He was the owner of a large amount of real estate, the value of which, probably reached the $150,000.00 mark. He was a devout Christian, and contributed liberally toward the support of his church and toward the building and maintenance of benevolent institutions. He aided largely in the institution of the St. Anthony Hospital, and it may well stand as a monument to his memory. He was a member of the East State street Business Men's Association, and did much in the promotion of business interests. Socially, he was a member of Skandia Lodge A.O.U.W. and the Y.M.C.U. Mr. Crotty was married to Miss Frances M. McLain, of Rockford, May 19, 1874, and had eight children, who, with their mother, survive him. The family residence is at No. 727 East State street.
WILLIAM H. BARNES
William H. Barnes was born in Steuben county, New York, December 5, 1873. He came to Rockford with his parents when but three months old, and was educated in the city schools. His father having died when he was a mere lad, he was thrown upon his own resources when only thirteen years of age. At this time he began working for the Blakeman & Dobson Manufacturing Company that he might aid in the support of a widowed mother and a large family. He worked for this company for about three years. He then took up the carpenter's trade at which he worked about four years, when he engaged with O.W. Wheat and while there but a short time gained considerable knowledge of the photographer's art. Mr. Barnes next accepted a position with the William and C. H. Knapp Company in the real estate and loan business, and acquired a partnership in the business in March, 1902, under the name of Knapp, Barnes & Company. He has the distinction of being the youngest man engaged in this important business in the city. By faithful attention to business, persistent energy and integrity he has acquired a position in business circles which is an honor to himself and a credit to his family. The company's offices are located on the ground floor of the Second National Bank building, at the corner of State and Main streets, where a large business is being done in buying and selling city and farm property, placing insurance and loaning money. The firm has the confidence of the community and enjoys a large patronage at home and abroad. Socially Mr. Barnes is a member of the Illinois Club, Masonic Order, M.W.A.,M.W.W., and Royal League. He was married to Miss Lucretia Franklin, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Oscar Franklin, May 24, 1 894, and has three children. The family resides at No. 605 Woodlawn avenue.
C. F. HENRY
Was born in Plymouth, Plymouth county, Massachusetts, March 15, 1854, and was educated in the schools of Plymouth and Rockford, having come to Rockford when ten years of age with his sister, Mrs. Joseph Schmauss. Mr. Henry's first employment was in a fruit and confectionery store at a salary of one dollar per week with board and washing, where he remained two years. He was next employed by Isaac Bacharach in the clothing business, where he remained nine and one-half years. He then went into business on his own account, forming a partnership with H. W. Allen and engaged In the crockery business. At the end of one year he sold his interest to Charles W. Haskell and formed a partnership with Henry Stern in the clothing business in the store now occupied by the Hemming Shoe Co. on the corner of State and Wyman streets. In March, 1883, the business was removed to the corner of State and Main streets, where Mr. Henry's central store is now located. Mr. Henry has spent thirty-eight years of his life on State street as clerk or proprietor in mercantile business. He has occupied the entire building, at the corner of State and Main streets, Nos. 211-213 during the last twenty years. By fair dealing and generous treatment of his patrons his business increased so rapidly that it soon outgrew its environments, and he was forced to enlarge his facilities by establishing branch stores. Accordingly, a fine clothing emporium was established at No. 347 East Bridge street, Beloit, Wis., and another at No. 417 Fifteenth street, Moline, Illinois, where he is meeting with merited success. Socially, he is a member of Star in the East, Blue Lodge No. 166, Rockford Chapter, Crusader Commandery No. 17, Freeport Consistory, charter member Tebala Temple and its first treasurer, K. of P. in 1875, charter member of first Elk's Lodge, and a Woodman. Mr. Henry married Miss Fannie S. Skinner, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James B. Skinner, in May 1878, and has two children, Rupert J. and Charlotte E. The family residence is at No. 619 Mulberry street.
A. C. BREARLEY
The subject of this sketch was born in Lake county, Illinois, August 10, 1850. He came to Rockford in 1855 with his parents and was educated in the city schools. When about seventeen years of age he became the bookkeeper for the Rhoades, Utter & Company's paper mills and remained with this company twenty years. In 1887 he organized the Rockford Clothing Company and became its secretary and treasurer. During the first two years the factory of the company was located where the Silver Plate works now stand, and then the present quarters were occupied where the business has grown to large proportions. The company enjoys a large patronage in custom-made goods for the local trade and does a large wholesale business throughout the northwest. The principal manufacture of the company for the wholesale trade consists of pants, overalls, working-jackets and shirts. They make a specialty of uniform shirts and supply the city police and firemen, generally. The company also does a large jobbing business in suspenders and hosiery. Mr. Brearley is married and has four children and resides at 727 Cherry street.
P. BYRON THOMAS
Broker and real estate dealer, was born in Belvidere, Illinois, of Welsh descent. His family traces its history back one hundred and fifty years and has been one of note in the beautiful Isle of Wales. He was the youngest child of Peter Cruth and Sarah Thomas who came from Ontario and settled upon a farm near Belvidere, in the early days. Mr. Thomas spent his boyhood days upon the farm and was educated in the public schools of Belvidere. He came to Rockford in 1886, where he has conducted a large loan and real estate business. His office is on the ground floor of the Second National Bank building. He has several thousand acres of land, situated in Illinois and South Dakota, and is also engaged extensively in farming and stock raising, especially in South Dakota, where he has done much in promoting the development of a fine grade of stock. He places loans to the satisfaction of the borrower and safe to the investor. His business is constantly growing and now reaches a large volume annually. His residence is on East State street, a cut of which is shown in this volume.
Joseph Beale was born in Twickenham, Middlesex, England, November 23, 1836, and died in Rockford, Illinois, April 16, 1902. Mr. Beale came to Rockford in 1858 and engaged in the jewelry business with Clark & Mitchell, which relation continued several years. In 1866 he formed a partnership with his brother, Thomas Beale, and went into business on the present site of the Manufacturers' Bank. In 1892 his son, Joseph, joined him in the business. Mr. Beale was twice married. His first wife was Miss Maria S. Jones of England, by whom he had two children, Joseph and Arthur. Mrs. Maria Beale died, July 6, 1891. His second wife was Miss Mary Hewett of Rockford. The family residence is at 128 South First street. His sons, Joseph Jr., and Arthur, are now doing business at the old stand.
Leonard Schmauss was born in Schneidach, Bavaria, Germany, in 1826, and was educated in the public schools of his native country When twenty-two years of age he came to America and settled in Milwaukee where a large number of his countrymen had preceded him. An older brother, Joseph, had already located in Rockford, and was engaged in the meat business in company with J. J. Andrew and Thomas Kettlewell. Joseph was so highly pleased with the business outlook and the beauti- ful situation of Rockford, that he wrote his brother, Leonard, to visit him with a view of locating here. Leonard had engaged in the meat business shortly after his arrival in Milwaukee and was making a success of his undertaking, but accepted Joseph's urgent invitation to visit him and look over the city. In 1854 he came to Rockford and was immediately and favorably impressed with the beauty of the city and the surrounding country, and upon his return to Milwaukee sold out his business the following day, and the next day made his way back to the Forest City. He immediately purchased the interest of J.J. Andrew in the meat business, and the firm be- came that of Schmauss Brothers & Kettlewell. Later on Schmauss Brothers bought out the interest of Kettlewell and the firm became that of Schmauss Brothers and they continued the business for three years, when the partnership was dissolved and the brother continued the market on the west side and Leonard took charge of the east side market at No. 313 East State street where he remained until succeeded by his sons, Leonard and Joseph, December 9, 1889. Mr. Schmauss carried on extensive farming operations in connection with the meat business, having owned in 1861 400 acres of fine land in Ogle county, Illinois, and later 1,200 acres in the same county. His love for his adopted country was most intense and he never failed to speak of Rockford and its environments in the highest terms of praise, whether at home or abroad. His business career was marked by a degree of steadfast integrity and honorable dealing that redound with honor to his memory. Mr. Schmauss died December 9, 1889. He was married to Miss Margaret Shlenck of Milwaukee, in 1850, and had nine children, five of whom are living.
FRED H. HUTCHINS
Was born on a farm in Guilford, Winnebago county. Illinois, October 8, 1869, and was educated in the public school and the Rockford High School. He came to Rockford in 1880, and for eleven years was in the employ of the People's Bank. He made a trip to Arizona where he remained three years. He is now engaged in the real estate, loan and insurance business under the firm name of F. H. Hutchins & Co., and is meeting with fine success. The company is one of the more recent organizations, but it has the confidence of the community and its business is rapidly growing. Mr. Hutchins was married to Miss Nellie Miller, of Rockford, in April 1897, and has two children, Geneva and Alta. The family residence is at No. 1908 East State street.
JAMES M. REID
James M. Reid was born on a farm in Harlem, Winnebago county, Illinois, May 28, 1876, of Scotch parentage. His father, James S. Reid, was born on the same farm, his father having settled there in an early day and obtained a government patent on the land. Mr. Reid was educated in the public schools and the Rockford high school, after which he took a course in the Rockford Business College. He entered the employ of Holland, Ferguson Si Company in February, 1896, and was made the secretary and manager in 1901, which position he still holds. The company is the pioneer in the abstract business, having been established in 1869, and has a very large patronage. The reliability of the work done in this office has secured the confidence of the public, which it justly merits. Socially Mr. Reid is a member of the Elks.
ROCKFORD & INTERURBAN RAILWAY
The Rockford & Interurban Railway Company comprises an urban system in the city of Rockford, with a suburban branch extending to Belvidere on the east, and the Rockford & Freeport Electric Railway, which is now under construction, will be consolidated with the present system, making a through route of forty-three miles in length, of which Rockford is the central point. The system had its beginning twenty-three years ago, when the first mile of city track was built in Rockford, on which two short horse cars were operated. The Rockford Street Railway Company was organized in 1880, with a capital stock of $20,000. A state charter was secured January 1,1881 , and a franchise was granted by the city council June 27, 1881. In September of the same year it was decided to build an extension of the line to the Fair Grounds, and the capital stock of the company was increased to $80,000. During the first six years of its existence the company made a little money, but when it commenced to extend the lines to the more thinly populated parts of the city, the property ceased to be a paying one.
In 1889 the property of the old company was purchased by the present owners and the power was changed to electricity. Under the new management the name of the company was changed to the Rockford City Railway Company.
In 1890 a new company was organized under the name of the Rockford Traction Company, which built a road to the West End for the purpose of developing this section of the city. Subsequently the new company extended its lines to South Rockford and to the East Side. This company met with great opposition from the old company and eventually went into the hands of a receiver. In 1895 it was sold and passed into the hands of the present company in 1898.
When the Rockford City Railway Company and the Rockford Traction Company were consolidated, the name was changed to the Rockford Railway, Light & Power Company. The latter name was changed to the Rockford & Interurban Company a few months ago, when the Rockford Railway, Light & Power Company and the Rockford & Belvidere Electric Railway Company were consolidated.
The entire route serves a population of about 65,000, exclusive of the farming population along the line. Starting at Belvidere, with a population of 7,000, it passes through Cherry Valley, with a population of 400, Rockford, 32,000, Winnebago, 400, Pecatonica, 1,200, Ridott, 250 and Freeport, 12,300.
The officers and operating staff of the Rockford & Interurban Railway Company are as follows: President, R. N. Baylies; vice-president, John Farson ; secretary, G.G. Olmsted ; treasurer, W.F. Woodruff; general manager, T.M. Ellis; auditor, F.W. McAssey; superintendent of transportation, Charles C. Lines ; express and passenger agent, J.H. Groneman; superintendent of track and lines, C.J. McCarty.
R.N. Baylies born in St. Helena Parish, Louisiana, Sept. 5th, 1845. Moved with his parents to Griggsville, Pike County, Illinois, in 1852, from there to Des Moines, Iowa, in 1858. Raised on a farm. Attended the Iowa State University at Iowa City. Graduated in Iowa State University law school in 1868. Practiced law in Kansas eight years and returned to Des Moines, Iowa, in 1876, and practiced his profession there many years. Was at one time judge of the circuit court in Des Moines. Was one of the organizers of the first Electric Railway in Iowa at Des Moines, and president of the company, until it was sold and became a part of the present Des Moines system in 1889. He with W. E. Andrews purchased a controlling interest in the Rockford Street Railway Company in November, 1889, and became its president, and changed it over to an electric road in the summer of 1890. He has remained the president of the company and its successors until the present time. He was also for several years a part owner and president of the Springfield City Railway Company, changing it from a horse car road to an electric road in 1890 and selling it in 1893. He was also formerly interested in the South Bend, Ind., Street Railway, and also president of the Brazil Electric Railway Company, Indiana, and sold that to the present Terre Haute Company.
Mr. T.M. Ellis, general manager of the company, is a New Yorker, having been born in Whitestown in 1861 . At the age of eighteen he started in the street railway business as a conductor and steadily advanced until he was made assistant superintendent of the Utica Belt Line. He was next employed in a responsible capacity by the Edison General Electric Company of New York, from which place he came to Rockford in July, 1892, as general manager of the Rockford City Railway Company. Under his management the Rockford system has been almost entirely rebuilt, new lines have been extended to cover all parts of the city, the service has been improved and larger cars have been put in use, and the system in general has been put into a first class condition. Mr. Ellis enjoys the utmost confidence not only of the directors but of his employees as well, with whom he has established the most friendly relations. Although a strict disciplinarian, no one is quicker to appreciate and reward faithful service. He is a hard worker and keeps in touch with the smallest detail of every department under his management.
Mr. McAssey, auditor of the company, was born in Ripon, Wis., and educated at Ripon College. After graduating from college, in 1892 he was made cashier and bookkeeper of the Rockford Railway, Light & Power Company. He has been continuously connected with the Rockford system since that time and was advanced to the position of auditor of the Rockford Si Interurban Railway Company in 1902.
Mr. Lines, superintendent of transportation, was born and educated in Monroe, Ill., and at the age of eighteen entered the business college in Rockford. He was first employed by the Rockford Railway, Light & Power Company in 1895 as motorman, and advanced by successive promotions to the position of superintendent of transportation, in which capacity he has served the company since 1898.
Mr. Groneman, general passenger and express agent, is a native of Rockford where he was, for three and a half years, water works inspector for the city. He then went into newspaper work and for eight years was connected with the Register-Gazette of Rockford, as circulation manager. In this capacity he became widely acquainted in Rockford and the surrounding territory. He has also acted at different times as manager for various shows and entertainments. In June, 1902, he was appointed to his present position with the railway company and much of the success of the express department is due to his active and able management.
C.J. McCarty was born in Logansport, Ind., in 1875. Was educated at the University of Illinois. Located at Champaign, Ill. Became superintendent of electric light plant at Rock Falls in 1898. Started with electrical department of the C. B. & Q. R. R. in 1899, and in 1900 accepted a position with the Elgin, Aurora & Southern Traction Company, taking charge of track and overhead work. In 1902 going with the Aurora, Elgin & Chicago, from where he accepted in March, 1903, the position of superintendent of track and overhead work of the Rockford & Interurban Railway Company.
R. J. BRYHN.
The subject of this sketch was born in Norway, March 19, 1864, and came to New York with his parents when thirteen years of age, where he remained six years, employed as a shipping clerk. He removed to Chicago in 1883 and was employed as a shipping clerk for C. Jevne & Co., where he remained two years. He then engaged with the Standard Oil Co. in a like position in Chicago, and at the end of five years was transferred to Rockford and remained with the company until 1896, when he engaged in the oil business on his own account, but at the end of one year he sold his interests to the Standard Oil Co. and engaged with the company as its local manager, in which capacity he has met with eminent success. He has supervision over a large territory, covering some sixty towns and agencies which are supplied with oil from the Rockford branch. Socially, Mr. Bryhn is an Odd Fellow and a Modern Woodman. He is married, and with his family resides at 316 South First street.
CAPT. LEWIS F. LAKE
Circuit Clerk and Recorder, is a native of Illinois, and was born in Owen township, Winnebago county, in 1846, and was educated in the public schools. He enlisted in the army and did service during the Civil War. He was captured at Atlanta in July 1864, and confined in the Andersonville prison until he was released by a special exchange of prisoners the following September. During a portion of his enlistment he did service in Taylor's Battery, First Illinois Light Artillery, and was engaged in several of the most noted battles of the war. Capt. Lake's pride in military life is further evidenced by fifteen years of service in the Illinois National Guard, eight years of which as a member of the famous Rockford Rifles, and seven as regimental adjutant with rank of captain. Upon his return, at the close of the war, he worked at the carpenters trade, but soon went into the shops of the Emerson Mfg. Co., where he worked thirteen years. In 1881 he was a candidate for the office of collector and was elected by a good majority. At the expiration of his term of office as collector he was made deputy county clerk in which capacity he served six years. He was then elected to the office of circuit clerk, and is now serving his fourth term in this office. Socially, he is a member of the G.A.R., Masons, Royal League, A.O.U.W., Elks, K. of P. and various other beneficiary orders. Capt. Lake was married to Miss Martha A. Allen, June 20, 1866. and has had three children, one of which, a daughter, is now living. The family resides at 229 North Church street.
MARCUS A. NORTON
The subject of this sketch was born in the town of Bridgewater, Michigan, January 16, 1841. His parents removed to Ann Arbor, Michigan, in 1844 so as to be able to give their children the excellent educational advantages offered in that city. In 1852 the family came to Rockford and made a home on the South side, in the, then, new Fifth ward, since which time Mr. Norton has resided nearly continuously in this city. Mr. Norton was among the first to respond to the call for volunteers in defense of the Union, and enlisted as a private in Company G, 44th Regiment Illinois Infantry for three years. At the battle of Chickamauga, September 20, 1863, he was severely wounded and was left on the field when his regiment retreated. He was found by the rebels and taken prisoner, but was paroled with others also severely wounded and was taken to Chattanooga October 1st, 1863. After an exchange of prisoners had been accomplished he returned to his regiment and participated in the Atlanta campaign under General Sherman, and was present when that city capitulated. He was mustered out of service at Atlanta, Georgia, September 17, 1864. Mr. Norton participated in many of the most noted battles of the war, among which were Perryville, Stone River, Chickamauga, Lost Mountain, Kennesaw Mountain, Peach Tree Creek, Jonesborough and many skirmishes and engagements around Atlanta. He has never applied for nor received a pension. During the last twenty years Mr. Norton has been honored by being made the recipient of various offices of public trust. In 1883 he was elected supervisor from the Fifth city ward and held the office during three terms, but being a candidate for the office of county clerk in 1 886 he declined a re-nomination for supervisor. At the Winnebago county Republican convention, in June 1886, he was nominated by acclamation as a candidate for the office of county clerk and was elected the following November. He is now serving his fifth term in this office, having been nominated by acclamation at each recurring convention. Mr. Norton was married to Miss Henrietta Gardner, in May 1866, by the Rev. Dr. Thomas Kerr. One child was born to them who died in infancy. He now resides at 610 North street.
JAMES H. CARSON
Is of Scotch-Irish parentage, and was born near Belfast, Ireland, March 10, 1846. His father, Robert Carson, was a native of Belfast, Ireland, and his mother, Jane (McVey) Carson, was a native of Greenock, Scotland, where they were married, and shortly after removed to Belfast where James was born, but returned to Greenock when he was a year old, where they resided about six years. In 1853 they came to America and settled on a farm near Rochester, N. Y. James H. Carson was the eldest of eight children, five of whom are still living. He was educated in the public schools. In 1865 he came to Illinois and was engaged in farming. At the age of twenty-three he was married to Miss Ella M. Thompson, daughter of Hiram Thompson, one of the early settlers of Winnebago county. In 1873 he removed to Rockford where he has since resided. Three children blessed their union, Robert D., the eldest son, died five years ago aged twenty-six, Frank A., aged twenty-seven, deputy county treasurer, and Mrs. Mabel F. (Carson) Wetherell resides in Beloit, Wis. Mr. Carson has been identified with the working men of Rockford for many years, having been employed in the Emerson, Talcott & Co.'s works, the N.C. Thompson manufacturing plant, the Briggs & Enoch works, and the Trahern Pump Co.'s works. In 1891 he was elected a supervisor from Rockford, in which capacity he served ten years, and was chairman of the committee on fees and salaries and served on several other important committees. He was appointed by the Board of Health of the City of Rockford as water and plumbing 'inspector, in which capacity he did efficient service. The Board of Supervisors appointed him to the office of overseer of the poor in which position he served three years. At the election in November, 1902, he was elected to the office of county treasurer, receiving the unanimous vote of every town in the county and precinct in the city, which office he now holds. Politically, Mr. Carson has ever been a staunch republican, but in local matters he is conservative, and will support the candidate who, in his best judgment, is best qualified to fill the office regardless of party lines. Socially. Mr. Carson is a Mason, having served as secretary of E.F.W. Ellis Lodge No. 633, A.F. & A.M., for a number of years; K. of P., K. of G.. Tribe of Ben Hur and I.O.O.F. Mrs. Carson is also a member of the Ladies' Auxiliaries to these societies. She is a Post Matron of the Order of the Eastern Star and Past Grand of the Rebecca Degree of the I.O.O.F. Mr. Carson is fifty-six years old and bids fair to live yet many years as his ancestors were noted for longevity of years. His father and mother are still living, aged respectively eighty- six and eighty-three years. They reside on the old homestead in Monroe county, New York. Mr. Carson has a pleasant home in South Rockford, No. 1129 Ferguson street.
Sheriff of Winnebago county, was born in Chenango county, New York, March 8, 1848, where he was educated in the public schools, and re- sided until twenty-one years of age. His occupation, while young, was that of farming. He settled in Roscoe, Illinois, in 1869 and engaged in the milling business. He adopted the miller's trade as a profession and became an expert in the business. After doing a successful seven year's business in Roscoe, he became the head miller at the Rockton and Beloit mills. On account of his health, he left the mills and re- turned to the farm where he remained six years. Mr. Collier represented the town of Harlem in the county board of supervisors three years. In 1881, he came to Rockford and engaged with the City Railway company as general manager of its stock and employees, but was shortly after appointed superintendent of the county farm by the board of supervisors, which position he filled to the entire satisfaction of the board and the people, for eleven years. In 1902, he was the unanimous choice of the Republican party as a candidate for sheriff of Winnebago county, and was elected to that office at the November election. Socially, Mr. Collier is an Elk and a Mason. He married Miss Eliza J. McMullen, of Fairdale, DeKalb county, Illinois, in 1876, and has two children, a daughter, Ida Marie, and a son, Charles T.
County Superintendent of Schools O. J. Kern, was born in Moultrie County, Illinois, Jan. 1, 1861. He attended the district school during a few months in the winter, and after he was twenty-one years old he earned enough money to enable him to take a four years classical course at De Pauw (Old Asbury) University, Greencastle, Indiana. Over study so affected his eyesight that he was compelled to give up further study and return to the farm. After remaining there a year he decided to attempt teaching. Entirely without friends, influence or experience, he secured a position as principal of a four room school. He came to Winnebago county in August 1888, a stranger, with funds enough for two weeks board, and taught his first day of school as principal of the Cherry Valley school. After remaining there three years at an increase of salary, in September, 1891, he became one of the instructors of the Rockford High School. This position he held for seven years. In April, 1898, he was unanimously nominated by the Republican County Convention for the position of County Superintendent of Schools, and was elected the following November. He was re-nominated in 1902, and was elected the same year. Mr. Kern is a fine type of the up-to-date educator who makes the most of the means at his command. He has enlisted the co-operation of teachers, pupils and board of supervisors so that fifty-eight traveling libraries, for district schools, have been purchased, representing about 2800 volumes, at an outlay of $1300. He has organized a Farmer Boy's Experiment Club of 325 members and conducted educational excursions to the Experiment Station and Agricultural College. New schools are being built and grounds and buildings made attractive. During his administration three district schools have been consolidated and a new central building will be erected in 1903, the first school of this kind in Illinois. This school will be located in Seward township. That his talent is appreciated is shown by the steady demand for his presence at farmers' and teachers' institutes, and for articles from his pen. He is a regular contributor to the local press and to the School News, published at Taylorville, Ill. He is also an occasional contributor to other periodicals. His 1902 report of the Winnebago County schools entitled " The Country School and the Country Child," was called for from all over the United States, and requests for it came from South America and Canada. His report of a visit to the Centralized Schools of Ohio received as wide a notice and was reprinted in the report of the National Commissioner of Education at Washington, D. C. Supt. Kern is not content to travel in the ordinary educational rut, and with the hearty co-operation of teachers, pupils and patrons, he will make the district schools of Winnebago county second to none in the state. Mr. Kern was united in marriage to Jessie C. Allen at Greencastle, Indiana, August 6, 1889. They have four children Esther, Evans, Louise and Russell.
FRANK M. MARSH
Frank M. Marsh was born at New Milford, Illinois, and was educated in the public schools of East Rockford, under the principal ship of Professor Freeman. After graduation he took a course in a business college where he became thoroughly equipped for a business career. In 1874 he engaged in the stock and grain business, which was successfully prosecuted for about fifteen years. In 1888 he formed a partnership with Mr. Maxwell, under the firm name of Marsh & Maxwell, and engaged in the undertaking business, as successors to William Logle. At the end of three years the firm dissolved partnership and Mr. Marsh continued the business alone until 1902, when he took his son, Louis, as a partner. This firm now conducts one of the leading undertaking establishments in the city. Mr. Marsh has served the town of New Milford acceptably as its supervisor and In 1896 was elected coroner of the county. In 1900 he was re-elected to this office in which capacity he is giving acceptable service to the people. Mr. Marsh's father had the honor of suggesting the name for his native town, New Milford. There was a new mill erected on the river, at a point at which there was a convenient ford, and this fact suggested the name, New mill-ford, which was written New Milford. Mr. Marsh is a member of several fraternal societies, is married and has a family of three children. He resides at 215 South First street.
The subject of this sketch was born at Pawpaw, Lee county, Illinois, in 1859, where he spent his boyhood days. He came to Rockford in 1879, and after taking a course in the Rockford Business College, was graduated in 1880, after which he served as a teacher in the college two years. He then turned his attention to farming, and was married to Miss Belle E. Miller, daughter of C. F. Miller, Esq., who served as a justice of the peace for many years in this city. He returned to Rockford in 1889, where he has since resided. Mr. Shoudy has the credit for the invention of the first tank-heater and took out the first patent ever issued from the patent office on this useful article. He manufactured tanks in this city two years, and then organized a stock company for the purpose of manufacturing them on a much larger scale. He was so unfortunate as to sell a majority of the stock and thus lost control of the business, and this resulted in its failure. He engaged in the real estate business in 1893 and in 1896 the present co-partnership, Shoudy & Melville, was formed. The company does, exclusively, a land business. Mr. Shoudy is the inventor of the first dumping car ever used, which he patented and sold to eastern parties. The same device is now being used on dumping carts. He also invented a railroad jack the patent for which was sold to the Southern Railway Company for $1,000.00. In 1893 he had a position in the land department of the Illinois Central Railway Company. After serving in this capacity for some time, he took a like position with the Yazoo Valley Company, in both of which positions he was very successful. In 1899 he handled a large amount of land in Clark county, Wisconsin. During the last year a large area of Texas land has been added to the list. The company now owns and controls more than 400,000 acres of land, located In many states. It employs 160 agents who reside in Illinois, Iowa and Indiana. These agents come regularly to this city, and bring many strangers with them, who help swell the great volume of business here. Doubtless this company employs more people and handles a greater amount of land than all other like concerns in the city, put together. They move along quietly but an immense volume of business is done every year. A portrait of Mr. Shoudy is herewith presented, also an illustration of his home at 2515 South Main street. The office of Shoudy & Melville is at 315-317 West State street.
Was born in Lake county, Illinois, 1861, and spent thirty years of his life upon the farm in that county. He came to Rockford in 1890 and took a course in the Rockford Business College, and. after graduation, taught two years in that institution. Mr. Melville then engaged in the real estate business, forming a copartner ship with Mr. I. Shoudy in 1896, since which time he has been an indefatigable worker in building up a business that is an honor to the firm and a credit to the city. This firm owns and controls more than 400,000 acres of land located in Kansas, Mississippi, Iowa and Wisconsin, and has 160 men in its employ. The volume of business transacted by it will probably exceed the aggregate of all other real estate concerns in this section of the country. Mr. Melville was married to Miss Sarah E. Eddy, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. E.F.W.F. Eddy of Lake county, in 1892. and resides at 830 Elm street.
Was born in Boone county, Illinois, May 26, 1870, and was educated in the public schools. He was engaged in farming until 1894 when he went into the business of stock buying, and at the same time conducted a meat market at Poplar Grove, Illinois, where he remained three years. In 1897 he removed to Brookings, South Dakota, and engaged in the real estate business. He came to Rockford in 1899, and has since been in the land business. In 1901 he formed a copartner ship with Mr. W. H. Marshall, under the firm name of Dimond & Marshall. They make a specialty of buying and selling farm lands. Their immigration business is larger than that of any other dealers in the country. They have sold, and also now have on hand immense tracts of land in the Dakotas and Kansas upon which they locate actual settlers. Their business makes it necessary to employ a large number of men located in different parts of the country. These men to the number of 100 or more frequently come to Rockford and thus contribute to its resources and popularity. Mr. Dimond is an Odd Fellow and Modern Woodman. Having lost his wife he resides with his three children at 813 Mulberry street.
W. H. MARSHALL
Is a prominent land dealer in connection with Jesse Dimond, under the firm of Dimond &. Marshall. Mr. Marshall was born in Winnebago, Winnebago county, Illinois, July 5, 1870, and was educated in the schools of his native town, and was graduated from the Winnebago High School. His first business venture was in the meat business, after which he engaged in the real estate business in which he has been very successful. The company handles a large amount of western land annually, and employs a large force of men who visit Rockford frequently in the course of their business, thus giving a large amount of free advertising and a splendid reputation to the city for which the community is indebted to this firm. Socially, Mr. Marshall is a member of the M.W.A., I.O.O.F., and the Masonic order. He is married and has two children. The family residence is at No. 1101 West State street.
H. W. WILLIAMS
Was born in Worcester, England, February 27, 1830, and was educated in the schools of his native country. He came to the United States in 1845, and spent some time at Ypsilanta, Michigan, where an uncle resided. He then went to Detroit, Michigan, and to Lake Superior points, where he remained until coming to Rockford in 1866. when he secured a position as bookkeeper in the office of N. C. Thompson, where he remained twenty-one years. The father of Mr. Williams was a celebrated English artist, whose works were widely known. He was married to Miss Lydia Lane Wright, formerly of Newport Pagnell, England, in Rockford, June 5, 1870. He visited his English home in 1887, where he remained one year to recuperate his health. He died in 1893 at the family residence No. 313 South Church street. His widow, four sons, Henry Wilson, William Howard, Joseph Thomas and Andrew Price, and one daughter, Lavinia Georgine, reside in Rockford. Mr. Williams was an honored Mason and a highly respected citizen.
Was born in Pine Creek township, Ogle county, Illinois, in 1844, and was educated in rhe public schools. Mr. Walkup's given name. Liberty, is an old family name, and was brought to this country by the Puritan fathers. The parents of Mr. Walkup in bestowing this name upon their son conveyed an heirloom to him of high distinction, of which he has reason to be proud. Mr. Walkup enlisted in Company K, 92nd Regiment Illinois Volunteers, in 1862, but on account of disability received an honorable discharge in 1863, when he returned to his home in Pine Creek, where he remained four years. He then removed to Iowa, where he resided six years, when he returned to Illinois. He came to Rockford in 1881, where he has since resided. Mr. Walkup is the patentee of the Air Brush. His work has met with much opposition and criticism by artists on account of its being, so called, machine work, but has been successful in overcoming this opposition, and today this work is highly appreciated. It is now in a very high state of perfection, and beautiful half-tones are now produced that excel the best hand-work. Delicate tints and shadings are placed upon the canvas, with the atomizer, that cannot be produced by hand. Air Brush work is sought after by people from all parts of the world, and there is no product of Rockford's many industries that is more widely known or more highly appreciated. Mr. Walkup has an office and studio in his house, where he enjoys his work, and has a large patronage. An uncle, Gen. James Ruggles, was one of three men who drew up the first republican platform and made possible the election of Abraham Lincoln president of the United States. Gen. Ruggles has visited Rockford several times. Mr. Walkup is married and resides at 209 North Main street.
HON. FRANK S. REGAN
Was born in Rockford, Illinois, October 3, 1862. His father settled in Rockford in 1840. Mr. Regan was educated in the city schools. He first took up the work of making a set of abstract books of Winnebago county in company with Girdon O. Williams, which required seven years to complete. He was appointed to the position of stenographer, in the Illinois legislature, in 1887. After completing the abstract work he resumed the reading of law in the office of A.D. Early, and was admitted to the bar in 1895. He then opened an office for the practice of law, and has met with marked success. Mr. Regan has been an active temperance worker for many years. He served as president of the No-License organization in Rockford. and was elected an alderman from the Fourth ward in 1895, and served two years. He identified himself with the Prohibition party soon after the campaign of 1896, and was elected as a representative in the legislature on the Prohibition ticket. His work in the legislature is highly commended. He was the only representative, that year, in the United States, elected on the Prohibition ticket. Mr. Regan was a candidate for representative in Congress, on the Prohibition ticket, in the campaign of 1902. Mr. Regan has been in demand on the lecture platform for some time, and has met with gratifying success. He is the secretary of the Rockford Chautauque Association, and was one of the promoters of this enterprise. Mr. Regan was married to Miss Helen M. Crumb, of Rockford, June 11, 1896, and has two children, Frances C. and Leland. Residence at 1201 North Church street.
CLINTON HELM, M. D.
Was born in Schoharie county, New York, in 1829. His father, Woodhull Helm, was born in Orange county, New York, in 1777, and was of English and Irish ancestry. The English branch has a coat of arms as a reward for distinguished service to the state. He was connected with the state militia for many years and earned the title of captain. He was three times married, and the third wife was Miss Lucy Buggies, the mother of the subject of this sketch, who was the youngest member of the family. When Clinton was six years of age his father removed to Jersey county, Illinois, and two years later to Ogle county, Illinois, where he died in Byron in 1845, being sixty-eight years of age. Dr. Clinton Helm was educated in the Rockford (IL.) Academy, and commenced the study of medicine with Dr. Lucius Clark of this city. He graduated from the medical department of the University of Iowa, at Keokuk, in 1852, and commenced the practice of his profession at Oregon, Ogle county, Illinois. He afterward re- moved to Byron in the same county, and later to Beloit, Wisconsin, where he remained eight years, acquiring a very large and successful practice. In September, 1862, Governor Yates appointed him surgeon of the 92nd Illinois Infantry, and during the succeeding year he was with that command in all its marches and battles. On September 20, 1863, he was captured by the Confederates at Chickamauga, Tennessee, and spent two months in Libby prison. During the last year of his service he was with General Kilpatrick, and was honorably discharged June 21, 1865. Dr. Helm located in Rockford in 1878, where he has since enjoyed a substantial and popular practice. He married Miss Hannah S. Payneer, who was a native of Connecticut and of French parentage. Mrs. Helm was a cultured woman, and was noted for her benevolent spirit and helpfulness in the community. Both the doctor and Mrs. Helm were members of the Second Congregational church, and were foremost in charitable work. They were the parents of six children, five of whom are still living ; Minnie E., wife of E. J. White of Chicago; Clinton, a practicing dentist of Rockford, Eva, Harry S., and Willis. Dr. Helm is a member of the Winnebago County Medical Society, and is called in consultation in critical cases, over a wide area of country. Mrs. Helm died in July, 1899. The residence is at 628 Mulberry street.
DR. E.P. CATLIN
Was born in Chester, Ohio, in 1837, and came to Rockford with his parents in 1838. His father, Dr. A. M. Catlin, upon arrival in Rockford, combined farming with the practice of medicine, but his services, as a physician, were so much in demand that he was finally forced to give up the farm and devote his attention to the practice of medicine. His practice extended over a wide area of country and his rides were long and tedious. He died in 1892 after a professional service of seventy years. Dr E. P. Catlin was educated in the Rockford district and high schools, and at Kimball Union Academy, New Hampshire. He graduated from Rush Medical College in 1864. Took a post-graduate course in College of Physicians and Surgery in New York city, and Bellevue Hospital Medical College in 1865. He was first assistant surgeon in the 152nd Illinois regiment. Dr. Catlin practiced medicine in Rockford one year, and then located in Manteno, Illinois, where he practiced his profession thirteen years, when he returned to Rockford, where he has since enjoyed a prominent position among his fellow practitioners and the community. Dr. Catlin was married in 1866 and has three sons, one of whom, Dr. S.R. Catlin, is now practicing medicine in Rockford, thus representing the third generation, in the same family, in the medical profession. The Catlin family of physicians represents sixty-six years of service in Rockford. Dr. Catlin is a member of Post No. 1 , G.A.R.
HENRY RICHINGS, M. D.
Is a son of the late Dr. Charles H. Richings, who was born in England, February 26, 1815, and received his preliminary medical education in Belgium, as a medical cadet serving with the French Army of Occupation. He came to the United States in 1836 and entered a large tract of land near Pecatonica, Illinois. He soon after returned to England, where he married Miss Mary Stephenson, a not very distant relative of the noted English engineer of this name. Upon his return to this country he settled upon his farm, where he not only cultivated the land but also took up the work of his profession. He was the second physician to locate in this section of country, he being preceded by Dr. L. Moulthrop, who came to Rockford in 1835. His practice grew until he was obliged to give up farming operations and removed to Rockford, where he died at his home, on West State street, August 13, 1884, after a successful practice of forty-eight years. Dr. Henry Richings was born on the farm, near Pecatonica, in 1842, and was educated in the public schools of Rockford and also attended school at Beloit, Wis. He studied medicine at Ann Arbor, Mich., and also at the University of New York, where he took his degree in 1864. Soon after he received the appointment of Acting Assistant Surgeon U. S. A., and was assigned to the United States General Hospital, Armory Square, Washington, D. C., where as executive officer he served until the close of the war, under Dr. D. W. Bliss, surgeon in charge, who had already become noted as an army surgeon. At the close of the war he formed a partnership with Dr. Bliss, and practiced his profession in Washington, D.C., for eight years. He located in Rockford in 1878, where he has since enjoyed a lucrative practice. Dr. Richings has served as consulting surgeon on the staff of the Rockford City Hospital since its establishment in 1883. He is a member of the Winnebago County Medical Society, the American Medical Association, the Illinois State Medical Society, the State Association of Military Surgeons of Illinois, the National Association of Military Surgeons of the United States, the State Board of Health, and is the local surgeon for the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul and the Chicago & Northwestern Railway companies, and is also the surgeon for the Third Regiment Illinois Infantry. Socially, he is a Mason, K. T. and a Shriner. Dr. Richings married Miss Maria Cammann, May 25, 1869, and has one daughter, who was born in Washington, D. C., and who is the wife of Dr. S. R. Catlin of Rockford. The family residence is at No. 305 North Main street.
W. H. FITCH, M. D.
One of Rockford's most eminent physicians, was born in Cherry Valley, Illinois, June 18, 1844. He is a graduate of Beloit College and of the Medical Department Northwestern University. He also pursued post graduate studies at Ann Arbor University, and the medical schools of Vienna, Berlin and London. Dr. Fitch commenced the practice of medicine in Rockford in 1870, and has met with eminent success. He has held the position of consulting surgeon for the Rockford City Hosp pal since its establishment. While the doctor pursues no specialty, he is considered to be one of the best all-round consultants in this section of country, and is called in consultation in critical cases to all points in Northern Illinois and Southern Wisconsin. He has been a member of the Board of Trustees of the Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary for eighteen years, and of the Rockford College during the last fifteen years, in both of which institutions he has taken a deep interest. Dr. Fitch married Miss Katherine Kountz, of Allegheny, Penn., and has two children. His offices are Nos. 303-305 Masonic Temple, and the family residence is on North Main street.
W.B. HELM, M. D.
Was born in Butlerville, Iowa, October 12, 1859, and was educated at Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, High School from which he graduated in 1876, Northwestern University in 1881, and from the Northwestern University Medical School in 1884. Dr. Helm comes from a family of doctors, and is among the foremost of the family as a successful practitioner. The doctor was married to Miss Mary Gibson, of Rockford, in 1887, and has two children. His office is on the fifth floor of the Brown building, and the family residence is at No. 740 North Church street. The doctor is a member of the Winnebago County Medical Society, the American Medical Association and the Central Wisconsin Medical Association.
ALBERT S. GREEN, M.D.
Is a well known Rockford physician, having come to the city in 1894, where he has established a successful practice. Dr. Green was educated at the Mount Morris Seminary, the Northwestern University, Michigan State University, and the Chicago Medical College, receiving his degree from the latter in 1878. He began the practice of medicine at Shullsburg, Wis., where he remained sixteen years. Since receiving his degree he has done much post-graduate work. In 1890 he took a post-graduate course at the New York Polyclinic. In 1891 a course at the New York Post-Graduate Medical College. In 1894 he attended a course at the Philadelphia Polyclinic, and in 1897 he took a medical course at the New York Post-Graduate Medical College. It is not every physician that spends his time and means in so thoroughly perfecting himself for the work of his profession, but Dr. Green would not stop short of the best possible equipment. His patients now get the benefit of his arduous work. Dr. Green is a member of the Winnebago County Medical Society, Wisconsin State Medical Society, Illinois State Medical Society, and American Medical Association. Socially, he is a Modern Woodman and a Mason. The family residence is at No. 806 North Court street. Dr. Green married Miss Estelle J. Wells, and has four children; John A., Walter C., Harry L., and Frances V.
DR. T. N. MILLER
Was born in Vernon, Oneida county, New York, August 24, 1849, and was educated in the public schools of Winnebago county, Illinois. He was graduated from Beloit College in the class of 1873, and from the Chicago Medical College, Medical Department Northwestern University in the class of 1880. Dr. Miller practiced medicine in Winnebago ten years and then removed to Rockford in 1890, where he has since enjoyed a successful practice of his profession. He is a member of the Winnebago County Medical Society and has been its president during the last three years. He is also a member of the American Medical Association. He is also a member of the Illinois State Medical Association and the Central Wisconsin Medical Society. Dr. Miller married Miss Arvella A. Lane, June 15, 1880, and has two children ; Edith A., who is now a senior in Rockford College, and Bertha Alvera, in the eighth grade in Church school. Socially, he is a member of the Royal Arcanum. His residence is at No. 1304 West State street.
GEORGE L. WINN, M.D.
Dr. George L. Winn was born in Cleveland, N. Y., March 10, 1851, from which place he removed to Syracuse, N. Y., and from there to Darien, Wis., in 1864. He received his primary education in the public schools, and for preparatory work attended the seminary at Allen's Grove, and attended the State University at Champaign, ILL., two years. He studied medicine in the office of Doctor Green, at Woodstock, ILL., and then attended the Ann Arbor University one year. He then took a course at the Northwestern Medical school and received his degree in 1876. He entered upon the practice of his profession at Allen's Grove, Wis., where he remained four years, after which he took a post graduate course at Bellevue Hospital, New York City. Doctor Winn located in Rockford in 1882, where he has since resided. Dr. Winn keeps well abreast in the progress that is now being made in the work of his profession. He is a hard worker and has met with well merited success in his practice. He has the confidence of his patrons and his practice is constantly increasing. Doctor Winn is a member of the Winnebago County Medical Society, the State Medical '45 Society and the American Medical Association. He is also the medical examiner for the Home Fraternal League, in Rockford. Doctor Winn married Miss Kate Dixon of Allen's Grove, in 1879, and has one son. His offices are Nos. 414 and 416 Masonic Temple, and the family residence is at No. 1225 North Church street.
C. A. WALKER, M. D.
Was born in Lake Geneva, September 3, 1872. He was graduated from the Lake Geneva High school in the class of 1892, and from the Chicago Homeopathic Medical College, in the class of 1896. As a result of his standing, through competitive examination, he was made house physician and surgeon of Cook County Hospital from October 1, 1896 to April 1, 1898. He came to Rockford in May 1898, to take the practice of J. W. Thomas, where he has gained prominent standing in the medical profession. His offices are in rooms 301 and 302 in the Masonic Temple. He is a member of the Rockford City Hospital attending staff, and is the examining physician for the Illinois Insurance Company, the A.U.O.W., the Royal Neighbors, and the Fraternal Tribunes. Dr. Walker married Miss Emma Sinclair, of Sarnia, Ontario, June 27, 1900, and has one daughter, Lornea.
DR. CHARLES VICTOR STARKE
Born March 25th, 1853, in Sweden, near the city of Jonkoping. After finishing the country school he passed through Jonkoping's Elementary School 1867-75. Student at Upsala University 1875, Medico-philosophic exam. 1876, Medicinae Cand.exam. 1885 and Medecina; Licenciate exam. 1889 at Upsala, Kingdom of Sweden.
Lived at Paris, France, Oct., 1878-May, 1879.
In March and April 1890 he passed the reqlementary examinations in the Facultad de Ciencias Me'dicas of the University of Buenos Aires for admission to the practice of medicine in the Argentine Republic, S. Am. Director of the Medico-mechanic Gymnastic Institute at Buenos Aires 1890-91. Practicing physician in the Province of Buenos Aires 1892.
Arrived in the United States of N. America Oct. 1st 1892, and has lived at Rockford. ILL., since Nov 1892, except 18 months passed at Omaha. Neb., 1894-95. Married 1899 to Anna Nordwall from Omaha. Dr. Starke's motto is: Nothing in humanity is higher than truth and justice. Do the best you can and don't fear anything. Judge people after their acts and not after their confessions. Let us live well for this world and not anxiously spend our lives preparing for destinies unknown. Try to live and let other people try to live (German: "Leben und leben lassen"). As a practicing physician Dr. Starke is not known In Rockford outside of the Swedish colony, probably because of his nationality. Still he considers himself a cosmopolite.
ROCKWOOD SAGER. M. D.
Rockwood Sager, M. D., one of the best known physicians of Rockford, was born in Belvidere, Illinois, in 1863. He was educated in the city schools of Belvidere, and is a graduate of Rush Medical College, Chicago. He commenced the practice of medicine in Rockford in 1880, where he has now a large and successful practice. Doctor Sager is a member of the Winnebago County Medical Society. Socially he is a member of the I.O.O.F. and Modern Woodmen. He was married to Miss Helma Hegberg of Rockford, in 1900, and resides at No. 1216 South Main street.
LEMUEL TIBBETS. M. D.
Was born in Payson, Adams county, Illinois, August 13, 1842, and was educated in the public schools and at St. Paul's College, Palmyria, Missouri. He commenced the study of medicine in the medical department of the University of Ann Arbor, Michigan, and completed his course at the Bellevue Hospital Medical College, graduating in 1867. He commenced the practice of medicine at Dallas City, Illinois, where he remained six years. He removed from Dallas City to Kirkwood, Illinois, where he enjoyed a successful practice for six years, and then came to Rockford in 1878, where he has since remained, and '47 has enjoyed the distinction of being one of Rockford's most eminent physicians. Before coming to Rockford, Dr. Tibbets took a post-graduate course in New York, where he made a special study of eye, ear, nose and throat diseases, and in connection with his regular practice gives special attention to the treatment of these ailments, having supplied himself with the most improved appliances for the successful treatment of these diseases. Dr. Tibbets was pension examiner under both administrations of President Cleveland. He was a charter member of the City Hospital Association, and is a member on the medical staff of St. Anthony's Hospital for the treatment of eye, ear, nose and throat diseases. Socially, he is a 32nd degree Mason, a member of the Freeport Consistory, and Crusader Commandery. Dr. Tibbets was married to Miss Cornelia E. Bradshaw, of Elida, Illinois, in 1872, and re- sides at No. 834 North Main street. His office is at No. 212 West State street, which he has continuously occupied for twenty-three years.
DR. RAY DANIEL WILLIAMS
Was born in Antioch, Illinois, and was educated in the public schools. Prepared for college at the Northwestern Academy at Evanston and received the degree of Ph. B. at Northwestern University in 1896. He studied medicine at the Chicago Medical College. Dr. Williams is a member of the Winnebago County Medical Society, the American Medical Society, and medical director of the Y.M.C.A. Dr. Williams attended the Marine Biological laboratory, at Boston, during the summer of 1895. His office is in the Blaisdell Block, and he resides at the Chick House.
W.A. MCDOWELL, M. D.
W. A. McDowell, M. D., was born in Kirkland, Illinois, in 1850, and was educated in the public schools and Beloit College. His medical education was obtained at the Hahnemann Medical College, Chicago. He commenced the practice of medicine in Rockford where he has met with good success. Socially, he is a member of the Masonic Order. He is married and has three children. His office is in the Masonic Temple, and his residence at No. 904 North Church street.
Is a native of Norfolk, England, and was born December 25, 1853. He came to Rockford with his parents in 1862, and was a student in the city schools six years, when he became a messenger boy for the Western Union Telegraph Company, and also learned the business of an operator. When fifteen years of age he was placed in charge of an office at Neenah, Wisconsin. He was in the railway service sixteen years, nearly all this time with the Northwestern Railway Company. He served as cashier in the Rockford office, ticket agent at Winona, Minnesota, and as chief clerk in the office of the F.E. & M.V. Railway Company at Missouri Valley, Iowa. He quit railway service and returned to Rockford in 1887. In 1890, he was elected to the city council from the First ward and served four years. In the campaign of 1894, he was elected to the state legislature on the Democratic ticket. At the municipal election of 1903, he was again elected to the city council from the First ward. Mr. Woolsey was one of the founders of the Skandia Furniture Company in 1889, and was its secretary two years. Socially he is a member of the K. of P., M.W.A and A.F. & A.M. societies. Being a lover of flowers, he built a small green house in 1899, and has increased the plant to three large houses besides the erection of a fine sales room. Mr. Woolsey was married in 1877 to Miss Lina Cora Howes, daughter of the late Phineas Howes, one of the early pioneers of Rockford, who settled here in 1839, and has had four children, Ralph, Harry, Ella and Beth, two of whom are now living. The family residence is at No. 1055 East State Street.
The genial proprietor of the popular hotel, the Chick House, was born in Devonshire, England, November 18, 1846. His parents, William and Hannah (Pengillie) Chick, were natives of Devonshire, and emigrated to the United States in 1851, when Thomas was five years old. He was educated in the public schools, and while still young learned the flour-milling business under the supervision of George Phillips. He also became a locomotive engineer and served in that capacity fourteen years, in the employ of the Chicago & Northwestern Railway Co. By steady application to business and the exertion of untiring energy he secured the confidence of his employers and met with gratifying success. In 1888 he invested his savings in Rockford property and opened the Chick House, which is one of the most popular and best patronized hostelries in the state. It is a model of neatness, and its patrons are made to feel at home during their stay at the house. Besides the hotel, he is the owner of considerable desirable real estate in the city and farming lands in the county. In February, 1871, he was married to Miss Lena Kennedy, a native of Vermont, who is most helpful in the management of the hotel, and is held in the highest esteem by the many patrons of the house. Socially, Mr. Chick is a member of E.F.W. Ellis Lodge No. 633, A.F. & A.M. He was exalted to the sublime degree of Royal Arch Mason in Winnebago Chapter No. 24, and was knighted in Crusader Commandery No. 17,K.T. He is also a member of Tebala Temple of the Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and has held various offices in these orders. He is also a member of the I.O.O.F. and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. Mr. and Mrs. Chick reside at the Chick House.
FRANK C. WHITE
The subject of this sketch, is a native of Illinois, born at Geneva, ILL., June 6, 1865, and was educated in the public schools. When only eighteen years of age he engaged to work for the Geneva Grape Sugar Co., and has made rapid progress in his profession, being promoted from a subordinate position to that of superintendent of one of the most important manufacturing sugar works in the world, during his twenty years of service. He started with the Geneva Grape Sugar Co. in 1883, and remained with that company five years during which time he was promoted to the position of night superintendent. In 1888 he accepted the position of assistant superintendent of the Peoria Grape Sugar Co., of Peoria, ILL., where he remained four years. After this he held the position of superintendent of the Firmenich Mfg. Co.'s works at Marshalltown, Iowa, the American Glucose Co.'s works at Buffalo, N. Y., and Peoria, ILL. In 1897 he accepted the position of assistant superintendent of the Chicago Sugar Refining Co.'s plant at Chicago, Ill., and in 1899 became superintendent of the same plant holding that position until he was transferred to the Rockford plant in Sept. 1902. Mr. White is a member of the Masonic Order being a member of Geneva Lodge No. 139 A.F. & A.M., Fox River Chapter No. 14 R.A.M., Aurora Commandry No. 22 K. T., Peoria Consistory 32nd degree S.P.R.S. In 1890 he was married to Hannah F. Prandy of Pontiac, ILL. He has two sons, Amasa L. White and Earl C. White.
S. J. PETIT
S. J. Petit was born in Rockford May 24, 1877, and educated in the city schools. He engaged with the Glucose Sugar Refining Company in 1899 as assistant shipping clerk, and was rapidly promoted through all the clerical positions of that institution until he was appointed agent of the company in September, 1902. Mr. Petit is a member of lodge No. 102, A.F. & A.M.; Winnebago Chapter, No. 24, R.A.M.; Crusader Commandery No. 17 K.T.; Tebala Temple A.A.O. Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is married and resides at 621 Rockton avenue.
H. H. HAMILTON
Comes from good Old Virginia and Tennessee stock, his parents having removed from Virginia to Rockford on account of the war, where Herbert H. was born in 1864. At the close of the war his parents returned to the south, but found their estate and old plantation destroyed. Shortly after reaching the old home, the father died and the mother and children returned to the north. Mr. Hamilton has been a resident of Rockford during most of his life and received his education in the city schools and at Colgate University, New York. It can be truly said of him that he is a self educated man, having worked his way through the Colgate University and the Union College of Law of the Northwestern University, from which he graduated in the class of 1883. He commenced the practice of law in Rockford in 1885, and has handled a large volume of business for his clients. He has always entertained a lively interest in the up building of Rockford and has contributed largely toward securing its present prosperous position. Mr. Hamilton was quick to see the future growth and possibilities of Rockford and with this same sense of perception for the future of the new west, he has taken up the work of assisting in the bringing of this realization to the people of North Dakota, where he is now locating a large number of actual settlers. Mr. Hamilton married Miss Caroline Shoudy of Rockford, and has one daughter. The family residence is at No. 933 North Second street.
A. W. BANKS
A. W. Banks was born in Cassopolis, Mich., and was educated in the ward and high schools of Des Moines, Iowa. He is a graduate of Ann Arbor High School. He also took a two years' course in the scientific department of the University of Michigan and a two years' course in chemistry in the same institution. From 1880 to 1888 he was engaged in the retail trade as pharmacist and manufacturing chemist in Detroit, Michigan. From 1888 to the present time he has held the position of district manager for the Mutual Life Insurance Company of New York, in Rockford. Through his efforts the business has assumed large proportions and his company has paid more claims and has more representative men insured than any other company doing business in the city. In fact, of all the life assurance representatives doing business in the city, when he came here, he is the only one remaining and therefore he has the right to say that he controls the oldest active life agency in the city. Mr. Banks could relate many pathetic experiences connected with his business were he so disposed. In all his life insurance work he has never had a contested claim, which goes to show that he knows how to write business right. Mr. Banks claims to be thoroughly posted in his line of business and holds a diploma to this effect from Prof. Wm. P. Stewart, professional actuary. Socially he is a member of Star in the East lodge, No. 166, A.F. & A.M. He is a member of the Second Congregational church, having served a term as trustee for this society. Mr. Banks is married and has four children, three girls and one boy. The daughters have unusual musical ability, and the son is a lover of athletics, is an expert swimmer, and has the distinction of saving three persons from drowning in the Rock river, before he was sixteen years of age. The family residence is at No. 1133 North Church street.
W. H. KEIG
The popular baker, was born in Rockford in May, 1863, and was educated in the city schools. He served an apprenticeship in the baker's profession and became an expert in this work. He engaged in the baking business with his brother-in-law, W. D. Clark, in 1886, and two plants, one on each side of the river, were operated by the company. At the end of two years this partnership was dissolved, and Mr. Keig took charge of the business on the West side. In 1898 Mr. Keig bought the plant belonging to the Forest City Baking Co.. on Cedar street, where he is now located. His retail business is still carried on at the West State street plant. He does a large wholesale and retail business in Rockford and surrounding towns, his shipments covering a distance of 300 miles. His goods are of excellent quality and have a very high and well merited reputation. Mr. Keig is married and resides at 1230 Grant avenue. Socially, he is an Elk and a Modern Woodman.
RUFUS W. FINLEY
Rufus W. Finley, M.D. C.D.V.S., was born on a farm in Peoria county. Illinois, February 3, 1863, and was educated in the public schools, Amity College. College Springs, Iowa; Hedding College, Abingdon, Ill., Prof. S. S. Hammell School of Oratory, Chicago; and Chicago Veterinary College. After graduating from the Hammell School Dr. Finley occupied the chair of oratory and voice training in the institution for some time, but on account of his health he was obliged to surrender his chair in this work, and take up the profession of veterinary medicine. He has met with excellent success in this work. He commenced his practice at Independence, Iowa, in 1891, where he made a specialty of lameness and dentistry of race horses. He was called to Rockford in 1896, to treat the well known pacer, "Wisconsin King." record of 2:11, Aegon, and Londell, all popular race horses at that time. Doctor Finley liked Rock- ford so well that he determined to make this city his permanent residence, and established a home at No. 224 South Court street, and an office at 222 South Court street. Doctor Finley married Miss Susan McKenzie of Waukesha, Wisconsin, in 1893, and has one daughter.
W. R. KEYT
Architect, was born in Piqua, Ohio, September 10, 1850 and was educated in the public schools of his native town, graduating from the high school of that city. He served three years as an apprentice at the carpenter trade and has been a thorough student of the profession ever since. One of the most marked characteristics of his work has been a constant effort to discover better methods of construction and to work out the details of these discoveries, upon his drafting board, before he let them pass. He has thus become one of the most reliable and thorough architects in this section of country. His services as a builder and architect have been sought in the construction of many of the most notable buildings in the city and surrounding country. Among these are the Centennial Church, Court Street Church, and the rebuilding of the Second Congregational Church. He is now devoting his entire attention to architectural work in all its branches, having opened an office in the Second National Bank building, at the corner of State and Main streets where he employs a strong force of skilled draughtsman and is receiving the patronage of those who desire perfect plans and detail drawings for the construction of important buildings. Constant study and close application to detail in the most approved methods of construction, gives Mr. Keyt a prestige which he well deserves. Mr. Keyt is a Modern Woodman and a member of the Royal League. He is married and has two children, a son and a daughter. His daughter is a valuable assistant in his office. He resides at 613 North Horsman street.
SWAN O. WIDELL
The subject of this sketch was born at Jonkopings Lan, December 2, 1866, and came to Rockford in 1887. After his arrival he did carpenter work in the city one year. In 1888 he engaged with the Central Furniture Co., where he remained two years, and then accepted a position with the Skandia Furniture Co. and remained one year. In both of these institutions he was employed as a cabinet maker. In 1891 he entered the real estate office of West & Hutchins, where he spent one year. In 1892 he formed a copartner ship with J.A. Swanson, and engaged in the real estate business at his present location, at the corner of Fifth avenue and Seventh street. At the end of two years Mr. Widell bought the interest of Mr. Swanson, and continued the business at the same place alone, doing a general insurance and real estate business. He was elected a justice of the peace In 1901, which office he still holds. He is a member of several social orders. Mr.Widell was married in 1891, and has a family of three children, and resides at 1854 East State street.
WILLIAM H. COOK
William H. Cook, contractor and builder, was born in Boston in 1859. He came to Rockford with his parents when eight years of age, where he was educated in the city schools. His first business engagement was with Henry Knowles in the commission business, where he remained two years. His next engagement was with the W. F. & John Barnes Company, where he remained two years and learned the machinist's trade. In 1896 his father died. He was a carpenter and builder, and Mr. Cook took up the business, which he has since followed with marked success. Mr. Cook has been interested in the construction of many of Rockford's most important public and private buildings, among which may be mentioned the Turner school, High school, Brewing Company's plant. Frank Brown's residence, Moran's building on West State street, John H. Sherratt's residence, Carnegie Public Library, Memorial Hall, and many other structures that are a credit to his genius and ability in his chosen profession. He is now engaged in the construction of two beautiful homes, one of which is for George O. Forbes, and the other for Dr. W.H. Fitch, on North Main street. Mr. Cook married a daughter of Mr. S. E. Lane of Rockford, and has one child. The family residence is at No. 340 North Avon street.
FRANK E. PEARSON
Was born in Rockford, in 1863, of Swedish parentage, his parents having come to Rockford from Sweden in 1852. He was educated in the city schools. He is at present the efficient superintendent of the Rockford Manufacturing Co.'s plant, in which he is a stockholder and director. He was elected to the City Council from the Second ward in 1898, which office he still holds, and is the chairman of the fire and water committee. He was a member of the board of local improvements one term. Socially, he is manager of Camp No. 51 M.W.A., and president of Lodge No. 2, Archean Union. Mr. Pearson is married and has two sons. The family residence is at No. 322 Baker Place.
The subject of this sketch, is one of Rockford's popular aldermen. He was born in Sweden in 1852 and came to Rockford when fifteen years of age. He worked as a finisher in the Rockford Furniture factory five years. He was then identified with Ugarff in the furniture and undertaking business two years. Ten years ago the Rockford Furniture and Undertaking Company bought out Ugarff's interest and Mr. Olson became a stockholder in the company and has since been identified with it and has charge of the undertaking department. Mr. Olson has served two terms as alderman from the Sixth ward, and since the redistricting of the city, has just been elected from the Second ward-his third term-by one of the largest majorities ever given an alderman in Rockford. He is married and with his family resides at 1203 Fifth avenue.
ED. F. CARTY
Was born in Dubuque, Iowa, in January, 1868. He removed with his parents to Cherry Valley, Illinois, when three years old, and came to Rockford in 1887. He engaged in business with the Schmauss Company at their main market, on the East Side. Eleven years ago he took charge of the business in South Rockford where he has very successfully managed the business since. Mr. Carty was elected to represent his ward in the council as alderman, at the municipal election of 1903, receiving a total of 1,581 votes, this being 191 more than the combined vote for four other candidates. Socially, he is a K. of P., K. of C., and a member of Council No. 24, Redmen. He resides with his mother at 1222 South Church street.
ANDREW J. ANDERSON
Was born in the City of Rockford June 7, 1862, and has made this city his home, with the exception of one year when he was temporarily located in Texas, and is of Swedish descent his father, Jonas R. Anderson, having been a native of Rydaholm, Sweden. Mr. Anderson was educated in the city schools and took a course at the Rockford Business College. He was first employed in the mechanical department of the Rockford Watch Factory, where he remained several years. In 1881 the Excelsior Furniture Company was organized with a capital of $50,000, and Mr. Anderson was made secretary and treasurer, which position he held for eight years. In 1890 he opened an office at No. 421 East State street, where he conducted a real estate, loan and insurance business. In January, 1898, he was made secretary and treasurer of the Union Overall Company, which position he has filled with marked success and still holds. He had charge of a large manufacturing plant in Texas during the year 1896, when he returned to Rockford. He served in the City Council as an alderman from the Second ward during the years 1890, 1891, 1892, 1893, 1894 and 1895, and was re-elected again in 1903. Mr. Anderson was married to Miss Hilma O. Johnson, December 30, 1896, and has one child, a son. He, with his family, resides at No. 942 Kishwaukee street.
HERBERT D. TICKNOR
Was born in Rockford, September 6, 1869, and was educated in the city schools. His first business engagement was with the Rockford Cabinet Company as shipping clerk, which position he filled until the destruction of the factory by fire in 1895. For a short time succeeding the fire, he was in the employ of the Rockford Tailoring Company. In 1896 he formed a co-partnership with H. H. Chase, under the firm name of Chase & Ticknor, and engaged in trade, handling bicycles, sewing machines and sporting goods. The firm dissolved partnership in 1901 and Mr. Ticknor has since conducted the business alone. He makes a specialty of bicycle repairing, and is doing a very successful business in his various lines. Mr. Ticknor made his first venture in political affairs at the recent municipal election, when he was elected an alderman from the Fifth ward. Socially he is a Modern Woodman and a member of Kishwaukee Tribe of Redmen, No. 24. Mr. Ticknor married Miss Atna N. Wigton and has three children, Raymond, Irma and Fern. The family home is at No. 1810 West State street.
Is a stone cutter by trade. He was born in England in October, 1846, and came to Rockford in 1857 where he has since resided. His first engagement in this city was with Thomas Ennett, and he remained with him until 1890 when he commenced work on his own account and located where he is at present. His first work was on the Graham Cotton Mills. He furnished the stone for the Library, Mendelssohn Hall, High School, Wight School, Church School, Third Ward School and the Lincoln School, Mrs. Warren's residence, C.& N.W. Railway depot, Y.M.CA. and many other buildings in the county, the Freeport Library and City Hall. He has the general contract for the addition to the City Hospital and will furnish the stone for the C.A. Works residence. Mr. Winchester is an Odd Fellow, is married and has five children, and resides at 720 Fifth Avenue.
Was born in England in 1839, and came to Rockford in 1870, where he has since resided. He is a contractor and builder, and the many residences and public buildings of his construction in this city attest to his ability in his chosen profession. He began contract work here in 1871 , and his first work was the erection of the John Faxon residence on East State street. He next built the A.D. Forbes residence on North Main street. Among the more notable structures over which he had supervision are the Watch Factory, St. Mary's Catholic Church and St. James Catholic School, the John Felch Block, the William Crotty Block, the Central Block, McPherson's Bakery, T. D. Robertson's Block on West State street and the Schmauss Co. Cold Storage building. The homes of A. Albertson and G. W. Reynolds. North Court street, might also be mentioned as specimens of his handiwork. Mr. Clarke is married, and has two sons who are following the same business, Robert W. and Thomas H. Clarke who also reside in Rockford. Residence, 825 North Winnebago street.
Is a contractor and builder. Was born at Forfar, Scotland, May, 1851, and came to Rockford in 1882. Upon his arrival in Rockford the 12th day of May, he immediately took up the work of his profession which he has since successfully prosecuted. He built the Northwestern depot here, Hutchins, Lake and Johnson block, the Charles Brantingham residence, Mrs. Julia P. Warren's residence on North Main street, the Hall School and Church School, the Adams School, Wight School, North Town bridge and many other notable structures in this city. He built the National Sewing Machine Company's plant in Belvidere. ILL. Mr. Alexander is married and resides at 1115 Harlem Avenue.
W. A. KEYT
Is one of Rockford's prominent contractors and builders. He was born in Grundy county, Illinois, in 1858, and removed with his parents to Piqua, Ohio, when seven years of age, where he was educated in the public schools of that city. He came to Rockford in 1882, and was employed in construction work with his uncle, David Keyt, during the first five years. In 1887 he formed a co-partnership with his cousin, W.R. Keyt, under the firm name of W.A. & W.R. Keyt, and during the next five years they were identified with the construction of a number of Rockford's prominent residences and business places. Mr. Keyt then continued the business in his own behalf, and has secured the contracts for the construction of many important buildings, among which might be mentioned the Lincoln and Brown Schools, the W.F. & John Barnes Factory buildings, the Taylor & Coats and Briggs Flats and the Rockton Public Library. He is now engaged in the rebuilding of the Mead Bros.'s Block which was recently destroyed by fire. Mr. Keyt is married and resides at 323 North Church street.
Contractor and builder, was born in Sweden and came to DeKalb County, ILL., in 1869. He then took a trip through the south, visiting many of its important cities and returned to Chicago at the time of the great fire where he remained four years engaged in contract work for masonry. He came to Rockford in 1874, and worked for H.F. Peterson nine years and then became one of Rockford's leading contractors. In 1882 he formed a co-partnership with Andrew Borg under the name of Palm & Borg, which continued two years. Mr. Palm then took up the work on his own account and has been identified in the construction of many of Rockford's important business '59 places and residences, among which are the Geo. Atkinson, B.A. Knight, John Chick, Stapleton, and John H. Sherratt residences, the Fisher flats, Rockford Wholesale Grocery Company's building and the Wheelock Crockery store. Mr. Palm built the larger part of the big stores on Seventh street and has been identified in the construction work of many other prominent buildings in Rockford. Mr. Palm is married and has six children and resides with his family at 224 Seventh street.
Is a well known carpenter and builder, and was born at Hamburg, Pa., January 28. 1854. When nine years of age he removed to Greene county, Wis., with his parents, where he resided for thirteen years. In 1875 he removed to Lena, Illinois, where he acquired the carpenter's trade, and constructed several important buildings in that city. In 1887 he removed to Freeport, Illinois, where he carried on his business until 1891, when he came to Rockford, where he has since resided. He has been identified with considerable construction work in this city, among which might be mentioned Frank Burr's residence, Knutsson's residence on Church street, the Rice flats on West State street, and the Flynn flats on North Main street. He also did the wood work in the construction of the Schmauss block. Mr. Johnson has the contract for the six double houses to be erected by Mr. Ziock, and the remodeling of the house on the grounds to be moved to Mulberry street, making seven houses in all, said contract obtained without opposition. Mr. Johnson is a Modern Woodman, a member of the Knights of the Globe and of the Mystic Workers. He is married and has four children, and resides at 121 North Winnebago street.
Was born at Inverness, Scotland May 8th, 1859. He served an apprenticeship in the art of stone cutting five years in the city of Edinburgh, Scotland. During this time he also acquired the mason's trade. He was educated in the public schools of his native country, which implies thorough equipment in all practical branches. Mr. MacKinzie came to Rockford when twenty-three years of age and immediately engaged in the work of his profession, contracting for the most important construction then going on. He furnished the stone and built the High school at Delavan, Wis., the Janesville High school at Janesville, Wis., the Kishwaukee school of Rockford, Ill., and the Davis Junction school at Davis Junction, Ill., and did the mason work on the St. Anthony hospital. He did the work and furnished the material for the Hess & Hopkins' building. He built the fine residence for B. B. Page, of native blue stone and blue Bedford trimmings, Charles Brown's residence, of Naperville stone, and the fine residence for Hosmer Porter. He was also the contractor for the building of the beautiful Mendelssohn Hall, W. T. Staplin block in South Rockford, the paper mills on each side of the river, the Bolt works, and five buildings for the Sewing Machine Company, and Trinity Lutheran church. Mr. MacKinzie resides at 950 Thomas street, in the fourth ward.
Contractor and builder, was born in Sweden July 15th, 1852, and was educated in the schools of his native country. He served an apprenticeship in the builder's trade, in Sweden. He came to Rockford directly from Sweden in 1880, and immediately began the work of his profession.- He constructed twenty or more of the principal business blocks on Seventh Street, did the carpenter work on the Republic building and Ma- sonic Temple, rebuilt the Appel store, built the Rockford Frame and Picture Co. 's building, the Rockford Palace Folding Bed Co.'s building, the Haddorff Piano Co.'s plant, the Brown & Son Piano Co.'s plant, the West End Furniture Co.'s plant, the B. F. Barnes Co.'s plant, a part of the Union Furniture Co.'s plant a part of the Chair and Furniture Factory, a part of Rockford Standard Furniture Co.'s plant, and a part of Love Mfg. Co.'s plant, the Globe Clothing Co.'s plant, the Stevens & Duel plant, a part of the W. F. &. John Barnes plant, the Church School, Aug. Floberg's residence and a number of other residences and flats, and has the contract for the construction of the new six story building for Andrew Ashton. Mr. Holm is married and has four children. His home is at No. 1604 Fourth Avenue.
W. J. SHAW
Carpenter and builder, was born in Owen township, Winnebago county Illinois, March 8, 1859, and was educated in the public schools. He is a son of Mr. and Mrs. John Shaw who came to Winnebago county in 1853, and are now residents of Guilford township. Mr. Shaw lived upon the farm until coming to Rockford in 1889, where he has since resided. He engaged in carpenter work, in Guilford, in 1881, and has continued this business in this city since. Among some of the more important structures over which he has had supervision are the residences of Dr. Franklin. Wm. Eddy on East State street, T. E. Buckbee on Kishwaukee street. Chris. Landen on Franklin avenue, H. K. Hall flats on East street, John Agnew on Franklin avenue, Miss Elizabeth Hancock flats on North First street, and many other buildings throughout the city and county that attest to his skill in structural work. His business during the past year amounted to over twenty thousand dollars in this class of work. He married Miss Lizzie F. Marsh, the daughter of Averill Marsh, of Guilford, June 27, 1889, and has three children, Ellis, Eleanor, and Hazel, and resides at 622 North Third street, this city.
Is a carpenter by trade and is a contractor and builder. He was born in Sweden December 15, 1855, and came to Rockford in 1881. He learned his trade in his native country where he became an efficient workman. Upon arrival here he engaged to work for Cahill & Tucker, with whom he remained two years. His first work on his own account was for the interior finishing of Zion Lutheran church in 1886. Then followed the erection of Trinity Lutheran Church, the Liljeholm residence on East State street, John Hart's residence on North Second street, (now owned by Mr. Golly) the carpenter work on the Skandia Hardware Co.'s building, the Charles Olander building on Seventh street, the Peterson block on Seventh street, the Rockford Furniture and Undertaking Co.'s building on Seventh street, two flats for Wm. Johnson on Second and Walnut streets, the A T. Barnes residence on National avenue, the Fisher flats on North Church street, the Rockford Mfg. Co.'s plant, residence for self on Second avenue, and many other residences and business places in this city and vicinity. Mr. Carlson is married and has four children. He resides at 1217 South Sixth street.
W. T. NORTON
Is a carpenter by trade, and is a contractor and builder. He was born at Homer, Minn., January 12th, 1866. He came to Rockford in 1889 and engaged to work for Reitch Bros., with whom he remained six years, when he commenced to do contract work on his own account. He has been a successful contractor and builder for eight years, having during this time built many prominent residences in this city, among which might be mentioned the William Moffatt residence, the Richardson flats, Mrs. VanDemark's residence, the Frank Green residence and the Wm. Knowlton residence. He now has in course of construction a fine residence for Lizzie Best, at the corner of Oakwood and West State streets. He erected two houses for Frank Marsh on Marsh Court, and is now building a fine residence for James Allen on Blaisdell street. Mr. Norton is a member of the Masonic and Woodmen fraternities.
B. R. LYDDON
Is a contractor and builder. He was born in Summersetshire, England, in 1866; came to America in 1877. Moved to Rockford 1890, and has been identified with the growth of the city since. His first business venture here was with his brother, and the partnership continued six years. He then continued business on his own account. He has built many residences and other buildings among which might be mentioned: The homes of Fritz Ulrici, Douglas Ulrici, Frank Regan, Harry Chase, T. S. Rider, H. D. Ticknor, W. W. Hixon, and over one hundred others. He has also done a large business building large frame barns. This represents a large amount of work to be accomplished in so short a time. Mr. Lyddon is married and resides at 1713 Chestnut street, a wife and three children constitute the family.
C. J. SWANSON
Contractor and builder, was born at Jonkopengs Lan, Sweden, in 1855, and was educated in his native country. He was a contractor and builder at Upsala, Sweden, from 1879 to 1881, when he came to America and located at Springfield, Mo., where he was employed as foreman in the D.E. Davis planing mills for two years. He then engaged with A. Skog, of Springfield, as foreman of construction work, and continued in this capacity four years. He then engaged in contract work on his own account and did a large amount of work in that city. Mr. Swanson came to Rockford in 1892, and engaged with the Rock River Planing mills as sash and door maker. He was the first man in Rockford to make veneered doors. He made the interior finish for the W.F. Barnes residence, North Main street. He was also the builder of Mrs. Julia Warren's residence on North Main street, the L. Johnson flats, First avenue and Fifth street, the C. Colby flats on North Third street, the J. Colville flats on South Third street, the D.S Hough flats on North Third street, Gust John- son's residence on Longwood street, McEvoy's residence on Spafford avenue, O.M. Brown's residence on Lawn place, four of the W.H. Miller flats on Fourth avenue and Twelfth street, C. Widman's residence on Fourth avenue, and He has been a successful contractor and builder, and has constructed many business places and residences on both sides of the river, the Wilmarth flats on Kishwaukee street, and many others. Mr. Swanson's shop and residence are at 1206 South Fifth street.
FRANK P. NEWBURG
Was born in Sweden in 1868, and was educated in the public schools of that country. He came to Rockford in 1888 and engaged in carpenter work for his brother. Later he took a position as foreman for Newburg & Nygren, contractors and builders, and remained with them three years. He then went to Belvidere where he did contract work for about two years. Returning to Rockford he formed a copartner ship with Mr. Nygren, under the firm name of Newburg & Nygren, and continued the business two years, when the firm dissolved, and he has since continued the business alone. Mr. Newburg is married, and with his family of wife and two children, resides at 1317 Tenth avenue. Mr. Newburg's motto is : Do justice to everybody and life is a pleasure and death is a gain.
Is a carpenter and builder and was born in Rockford, March 6, 1867. He was educated in the city schools, and this city has been his home continuously. He began doing contract work on his own account in 1 888 , and has been the builder of many important public buildings and private residences, among which may be mentioned the Renwick residence, corner Morgan and Church streets, J.C. Gregory residence on Hinkley street, McCormick flats on North Winnebago street, Bracken residence on South Winnebago street, and the John A. Lins residence, corner of Grant avenue and Napoleon street, Liner residence on Napoleon street, and many others. He has done the general repair work on the public school buildings in the city. Mr. McLee is a Modern Woodman of Camp No. 51, Knight of Columbia No. 792, and a member of the Archean Union. He has a family of three children, and resides at 1111 Chesnut street.
Was the first manufacturer of sheet metal cornices in Rockford. He was born in Canada and came to the United States when about twenty years of age. Although quite young, he was well advanced in the art of sheet metal work, having already served six years at the trade with his father who was engaged in the same business, and he has grown up, as it were, right in the work. He first came to Michigan and worked in the principal cities in that state and then traveled, working at his trade in most of the principal cities from Michigan to the Pacific in the west, and from Canada in the north to the Gulf of Mexico in the south. Having gained a wide experience in the sheet metal trade, through his travels, he decided to go into the business. Coming to Rockford about twelve years ago and seeing a good opening for a cornice business, as there was no business of the kind here at that time, he established the Rockford Cornice Works at the corner of South Third and East State streets. The business was carried on in this plant until two years ago, when it became necessary to have larger quarters. Mr. Martin decided to have a factory of his own for the business, and had the building at 312 and 314 Market street erected, where the business is now carried on. The factory is one of the largest and best equipped of its kind in northern Illinois. A large quantity of the product is shipped to jobbers in Illinois and Wisconsin. They manufacture and contract for sheet metal fronts and cornices, skylights, ventilators, steel ceilings, eaves troughs, conductor pipes, rain water filters, and metal, slate and tile roofing, etc. Mr. Martin personally superintends all work done by the firm. This company has furnished the work in their line for many important buildings in this city and vicinity, among which is the Turner school, the Blake school, the High school, Rockford Brewery, Memorial Hall, the Library building, Trinity church, also St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran church at Fort Atkinson, Wis., St. Mary's Catholic school, Freeport, sheriff's residence and jail at Belvidere, ., and many other large buildings in different parts of Illinois and Wisconsin, too numerous to mention. Mr. Martin is the patentee of the Perfection rain water filter which has a large sale over a wide area of country, and is well known in Rockford as there are hundreds of them in use in the city. Mr. Martin is a member of the Royal Arcanum and I.O.O.F. He is married and resides at 804 North Second street.
PETER T. ANDERSON
Is a plasterer by trade. He was born in Scotland, and came to Rockford in 1882, where he has since resided. He has had the contracts for plastering a large number of public and private buildings in the city and vicinity, among which can be mentioned H.W. Price's residence, John Sherratt's residence, J.B. Whitehead's residence, the Public Library, Memorial Hall, High School, Frank Bunn's residence, and the C.F. Henry flats, and others too numerous to mention. Mr. Anderson is a K. P., I.O.O.F., and Modern Woodman, and at present holds the position of Quarter Master General M.W.A. Forester with rank of colonel. His residence is at 218 South Court street.
GEORGE W. BALDWIN
Was born in Mt. Clair, New Jersey, June 16, 1836, and was educated in the public schools of his native town. He learned the plasterer's trade in all its branches, both plain and ornamental, at Newark, N.J. In 1855 he removed to Michigan, where he remained four years, and then returned to New Jersey. In 1865 he removed to Rochelle, Illinois, and to Rockford in 1881, where he has since resided. He was engaged upon the finishing work of many of Rockford's finest buildings, among which is the Second Congregational church, Y.M.C.A. building, Germania Hall, Christian Union church, nine city school buildings, Wait Talcott's new residence, Charles Brantingham's new residence, Wilkins' flats, Fay Lewis and Masonic buildings and Northwestern depot. Mr. Baldwin married Miss Emma F. Courder of New York city. His home is at No. 201 Summit street.
E J. RYAN
Is a plasterer by trade. He was born in St. Lawrence county, N. Y., in June, 1851. In 1871 he removed to Chicago where he acquired his trade and was employed as a plasterer there for six years. He then removed to Madison Wis., where he plied his trade for twelve years. He then came to Rockford where he has since remained. Among the buildings plastered by Mr. Ryan are the Nelson and Parmelee residences, the Roper and Treat flats, St. Anthony's hospital and the Mead block. Mr. Ryan is a Modern Woodman and a Royal Neighbor. He is married and has six children, and resides at 207 Longwood street. His office is at 110 North Court street.
This cut is that of J.F. Wisner, the well known contractor and builder of cement and tar sidewalks. Mr. Wisner was born in Lake county, Illinois, in 1848. He removed to Lafayette, Indiana, in 1873, and came to Rockford in 1888, where he has since resided. His business exceeds in magnitude that of all others in this line in the city, and extends over Northern Illinois, South Dakota and several towns in Iowa, and he is largely advertised by the imprint of his name in the walks he lays. Mr. Wisner has one of the finest homes on the East side, located on Rural street, opposite the East side cemetery. His good wife conducts an experimental fruit and flower garden, and is a breeder of pure blood White Wyandotte poultry.
The subject of this sketch was born in Rockford January 17, 1856, and has occupied his present place of business during the past ten years as agent for the United States Brewing Company of Chicago, ILL., distributing in Rockford and many surrounding cities and towns the celebrated Rheingold and Loewenbrau Beer, Rheingold Export, and Malt Liquid, Blatz Milwaukee Beer, Weiner, Private Stock, Export and Malt Vivine to wholesale trade and for family use. All have an absolute guarantee for purity. Special attention is given orders for all kinds of case goods for family use. The bottling works and storage are located at 328 North Madison street. Phone number 543 both Home and Central Union.
JAMES P. WALSH
Was born in Rockford in 1867. When quite young he engaged in the grocery business with his father. Later his father bought the Lincoln bottling works, located at 414 South Main street. His business so increased that he was compelled to secure more room and better facilities for handling his trade. The result was a move to 501-503 South Church street, where in 1895 he erected a new building, adapted to his needs. Here the father retired and the son conducted a prosperous business at this place for five years. He sold this property to the C.&N.W.R.R. company and removed to his present location, 502-506 Cedar street, corner Court street, having purchased the property of the American Cereal company.
Mr. Walsh now has one of the finest bottling establishments in the west, being equipped with modern machinery, and manufactures pops, ginger ale, mineral waters, and all carbonated beverages, selling these goods all over northern Illinois, southern Wisconsin and eastern Iowa. He also carries a full line of saloon supplies, such as glassware, flasks, corks, cordials, bromos, etc. He handles pure apple cider, and has been agent for Fred Miller, "The Best" Milwaukee beer, and Hemming's " Janesville " ales and porters during the last twenty years. The bottling works are open for inspection at all times. Visitors will be courteously received by Mr. Walsh or his gentlemanly assistants.
Was born in Hirshburg, Germany, September 5, 1867, and was educated in his native country. He learned the brewing business in Germany, where he was engaged in the trade seven years. He visited all the leading cities of Europe, and worked in several of the most important breweries of that country. He came to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, in 1891, where he was employed in the Pabst brewery, the largest institution of the kind in the world. In 1892 he came to Rockford and bought the interest of Charles Meyer as the agent for the Schlitz Brewing Co. in this city. In 1896 he secured the agency for the Pabst Brewing Co., thus representing two of the most noted institutions in this or any other country. He carries on a large wholesale and retail trade, and makes a specialty of bottling both Pabst's and Schlitz' beer for family use. His business is located at No. 218 Walnut street. Mr. Hoppe is married and has two sons. The family residence is at No. 129 South Madison street.
The subject of this sketch was born in Sweden in June, 1863, and came to the United States and settled in Rockford in 1882. He entered into an engagement with W.D. Clark and remained in his employ eight and one half years. Mr. Clark then sold his interest . to the Forest City Baking company and Mr. Sponberg remained with this company three years. He then went into business for himself, securing the agency for the Anheuser-Busch Brewing Company's beer, and to this he added the bottling works in 1895. He has now a fine whole- sale and retail business and makes a specialty of supplying private families. He handles Besley's Waukegan ale, Schlink ale and porter of Belvidere, Budweiser and standard grades of Anheuser-Busch 's celebrated beer. He also keeps on hand Malt Nutrine for medicinal purposes. Mr. Sponberg is married and has one child. He resides at 401 Seventh street.
One of Rockford's foremost Swedish citizens, was born in Ving Vestergotland, Province of Smoland, Sweden. September 8, 1848, and was but two years old when his parents emigrated to this country on board a sailing vessel and arrived in New York after a voyage of several weeks duration. From New York they came to Winnebago County and settled on a farm in the township of Cherry Valley, where the son grew to manhood . and was educated in the public schools. Being possessed of rare business abilities, he found his way to Rockford where a large field for enterprise and keen business acumen presented itself and of which he desired to possess himself. Capitalists and business men had confidence in his ability and integrity, and sought his services in the promotion of various manufacturing enterprises. Mr. Peterson's keen perception enabled him to see the advantages possessed by Rockford as a furniture manufacturing center, and the possibilities of the co-operative plan of production. This plan was at once put into effective operation, and its success has demonstrated the soundness of his judgment. He is now interested in more industrial undertakings than any other resident of the city. His interests are largely located on the East side of the river amid the Swedish population of the city. Mr. Peterson is directly or indirectly connected with twelve or fifteen manufacturing industries as an official or stockholder, all of which are meeting with satisfactory results. Mr. Peterson is a member of the Swedish Lutheran church, but is not identified with any social order.
Is a native of Illinois, and was educated in the public schools and Wheaton College. His boyhood days were spent upon his father's farm near Rockton. He began teaching in the district schools when eighteen years of age, and rapidly advanced in the work to the principal ship of the South Belvidere schools and at Rockton, Illinois. He also served as bookkeeper in the offices of W. A. Knowlton, late of Rockford, Peet & Keeler of Beloit, M. D. Keeney of Rockton, and Keeney Bros, of Rockford. He has written for the newspapers for many years, and has contributed scientific articles to several popular magazines. He served as city editor on the Laurel Chronicle, of Laurel, Mississippi, in which position he was very successful. In connection with his school work he has written a Natural History of Animals, which received high commendation from several eminent critics. His latest work is the writing of ROCKFORD TODAY. Mr. Austin married Miss Josephine A. Drury, of Beloit, who died several years since. He has four children; Harry S., who is a noted opera singer, Grace L. (Mellen) residing at W. Rockton, Etta M. (Harmon) residing in Milwaukee, and Ernest W. Socially, he is an Odd Fellow and Red Man.
CHARLES L. MILLER
Charles L. Miller's first newspaper experience was in Ogle county, where for a time he edited the Rochelle Register, and later was proprietor of the Oregon Reporter. In 1877 he came to Rockford, where he purchased an interest in the Weekly Register. In October of that year he established the Daily Register, the first daily newspaper in Rockford to achieve a permanent existence. The Register remained under his editorial and business management for fourteen years when he sold the paper to Mr. E.E. Bartlett, and removed to Quincy, Illinois, where he became one of the proprietors and editor of the Daily Herald of that city. In 1896 he returned to Rockford to become one of the proprietors of the Daily Republic. At present he is managing editor of the Republic and president of the Republic company, and president of the Quincy Herald company.
HOWARD O. HILTON
Was born upon a farm in Kansas in 1863, and was educated in the public schools and attended the University at Lincoln, for a time, but was not a graduate. His boyhood days were spent upon the farm, but early in life he engaged in newspaper work and has met with marked success. He has filled important positions upon the staff of papers in Illinois and other states. His work in Rockford has been in connection with the Register, and was one of the founders of the Rockford Republic, of which he is the political editor. His services have been sought after by the Republican party, in numerous campaigns, as a platform speaker and manager. He has twice represented his district on the state committee, in which capacity he did excellent work. He was state canal commissioner under Governor John R. Tanner, and is now Congressman Fuller's private secretary. Mr. Hilton, at one time, held a responsible position in a bank, but has never asked election to a political office. He is married and has two daughters.
J. E. WARFIELD
Business Manager of the Daily Republic, has been in the newspaper business, in Rockford. during the past twenty years. His first engagement was with the Register for a period of five years, and then for the same length of time with the Morning Star. In 1896, in company with C. L. Miller and H. M. Johnson, he purchased the old Republican. The name of the paper was changed to the Daily Republic, of which he is now business manager. Mr. Warfield has been a resident of Rockford since 1883. He was born at Mt. Carroll, ILL He married Miss Alma C. Bacon of Milton, Wisconsin, and has three daughters.
EDGAR E. BARTLETT
Publisher of the Register-Gazette, came to Rockford January 1st, 1891, and consolidated the old Register and Gazette into what has since been known as the Register-Gazette. Mr. Bartlett was for twelve years, previous to this, advertising and business manager of the Kalamazoo Telegraph, one of the strong papers of interior Michigan, and since coming to Rockford has made the Register-Gazette a potent factor in the newspaper field of the city. During this time the newspaper plant, over the business end of which he has presided, has been vastly improved by the addition of the telegraph, Associated Press news service, Mergenthaler Linotype casting machines and a fast press, all of which have combined to make the Register-Gazette a marked success.
HON. J. STANLEY BROWNE
Editor-in-chief of the Rockford Morning Star, was born in Albany, N.Y., in 1855, and was educated in the public schools of that city. His parents were people of culture and refinement, and were numbered among the well-to-do citizens of New York State, where they lived and died. Before coming to Illinois Mr. Browne was employed on the Albany Argus, where he developed acute political talent, and stumped the state in the interests of Tilden for president in the campaign of 1876. Later, he was twice elected on the Democratic ticket to the New York legislature from Otsego county. He also served as chairman of the Board of Supervisors of his county, and was secretary for a period of five years to Lieutenant-Governor Dorscheimer during the time Tilden was governor. Mr. Browne came to Rockford in 1887 and became the editor and publisher of the Rockford Journal, which was merged into The Star March 20, 1888, of which Mr. Browne became managing editor, which position he has since held with marked ability, Politically, Mr. Browne has been a life-long Democrat, and is the leader and teacher of pure democracy of the Cleveland school in Northern Illinois. Mr. Browne is a forceful and elegant writer, and his diction is rarely equaled. His eloquence has brought his services into great demand in political campaigns and social functions where he is always at ease. The wide circulation of the Morning Star is sufficient evidence of his ability as an editor, and is doubtless the finest encomium the paper can receive. Mr. Browne was married to Miss Evalyn Tallmadge of Otsego county, N. Y., who is a lady of culture and fine education, and is a leader in Rockford's social circles. Her ancestry were among the true patriots of the country, her father being a solder in the Civil War and her grandfather in the War of the Revolution. The family residence is at No. 917 North Church street.
ROSCOE S. CHAPMAN
Business Manager of the Rockford Morning Star, was born in Rutland, Illinois, January 6, 1868, and was educated in the public schools. From Rutland he removed to Lacon, Illinois, and came to Rockford October 1 1, 1886, and was employed by Warren Woodruff in the hardware trade. On January 1, 1887, he relinquished this business, and became identified with the Rockford Gazette. His work on this paper was for a short time only, as on January 1, 1888, he went to the Rockford Journal, which was merged into the Rockford Morning Star, March 20, 1888. Mr. Chapman is one of the original stock- holders of the Rockford Star Printing Co., and solicited the first subscribers on the daily list. The Rockford Morning Star is the only morning paper published in the city, and ranks with the best inland dailies of this country. He was married in Rockford, June 4, 1890, to Miss Mae Bills, of Garden Prairie.
JOHN V. RILEY
Who since January 1, 1895, has been active in the business department of The Morning Star and is now its advertising manager, came to Rockford from Grand Rapids, Michigan, where . he was identified with the sales department of several manufacturing concerns during the years he lived there. Prior to his residence in the Wolverine state he was employed in two department stores in Chicago. It was in those environs he acquired the liking for advertising work which eventuated into his present occupation. He is a director and one of the principal stockholders in the Rockford Star Printing Co., the corporation publishing The Morning Star. He is also a director of the Rockford Public Library. Mr. Riley was born in Henry, Illinois. In June, 1891, in Denver, Colorado, he was married to Miss Lenore Hooker, to whom was given a son, John Stewart Riley, who will be five years old February 4, 1904.
BACK -- HOME
Copyright © Genealogy Trails