Washburn Township High School - 1928/1929 
Woodford County, Illinois Genealogy Trails
transcribed and formatted by D. Whitesell

The Wa - To - Hi - Sco
Published by The Seniors of Washburn Township High School


We, the Class of Ninetten Hundred Twenty-eight of the Washburn Township High School, dedicate this volume of the Watohisco to our former Principal Superintendent H. L. Dyar as a small toke of appreciation for the years of unselfish service and devotion to our interests.

H. L. Dyar
Dixon College - Eureka College - University of Illinois

Top row:
O. F. Dyar, Pros. 1927-1928
Wm. G. West. Sec. 1914-1929

Middle row:
Bloom Faw 1914-1930
H. M. Strauch 1925-1928
N. L. Peabody 1921-1930

Third row:
F. C. Barnes 1917-1929
H. A. Iliff 1925-1928

For their interest in us, for their faithful and untiring services, and for their conscientious efforts to make our school an institution, the influence of which will be felt in the community for years to come. We, the pupils and teachers of Washburn Township High School, express our sincere appreciation.

The Watohisco Staff

Standing, left to right
Elizabeth Laible, Alumni Editor
Harriet Owen, Art Editor
Morris Braun, Athletic Editor
Zora Boon, Joke Editor
Mildred Torrence, Literary Editor
Mr. Chenoweth, Class Advisor
Miss Ritchie, Class Advisor
Catherine Tonkin, Sophomore Ed
John Schroud, Freshman Editor
Pauline Rowe, Asst. Typist
Jewell Wallace, Calendar Editor
Dorothy Fox, Asst. Typist

Seated left to right:
Ruth Hockenbury. Snap Shot Ed.
Violet  Trantina, Junior Editor
Grace Hockenbury, Sales Manager
Dorothy Ehringer, Business Mgr.
Kenneth Dyar, Editor in Chief
Elisabeth Parkin, Asst. Editor
Ruth Sheppard, Typist

Eugene C. Chenoweth, B. S.
University of Illinois
Principal. Public Speaking, Modern History, Latin I

Roberta Mae Butcher
James Millikin University, Hush Conservatory
Music: Girls Glee Club; Boys Chorus; Orchestra

Zell Berryhill, A. B.
Iowa State Teacher's College
Mathematics; United States History; Coach

Hazel Briscoe
Illinois State Normal University

Eunice Ritchie, A. B.
Upper Iowa University.
English; Director of Junior and Senior Class Plays.


Floyd E. King. B. S.
Eureka College, University of Michigan
Biology; Physics; Latin II.

Ethel Jury, B. S.
James Milllkin University
Home Economics; Physiology


George W. Doak, B. S.
University of Illinois, University of Iowa
Agriculture; General Science

Senior Class

Elisabeth Parkin

Arthur Uebler

Pauline Row

Julia Harms

Lorene Bratt

Kenneth Dyar

Vernice Pelz


Jospehine Kohl

Morris Braun

Dorothy Ehringer

Elizabeth Laible

Ruth Hockenbury

Eileen Harms

Harriet Owen

Dorothy Fox

Zora Boon

Raymond Robbins

Margaret Sommers

Helen Folsom

Emelene Seifert

Mildred Torrence

George Shultz

Jewell Wallace

Grace Hockenbury

Nelson Iunker

Caroline Zettelmeier

Ruth Sheppard


Class of 1929

Top row:
Winifred Braun
Dorothy Freeman
Ruth Bratt

Bottom row:
Wayne Hawk
Bernice Schall
Helen Shultz
De Los Haney

Top row:
Ileatha Jury
Alice Boon
Violet Trantina

Bottom row:
Dale Crawford
Virginia Abbott
Julia Robbins
Jay Laible

Top row:
Geraldean Scott
Gladys Glaub

Bottom row:
Frank Alton
Geraldean Thompson
Grace Peabody
Walter Owen


This is a FREE website.
If you were directed here through a link for which you paid $ for, you can access much more FREE data via our Woodford County index page at http://genealogytrails.com/ill/woodford/
Also make sure to visit our main Genealogy Trails History Group website at http://genealogytrails.com/ for much more nationwide historical/genealogical data and access to our other state/county websites.

Copyright to Genealogy Trails with all rights reserved to the orginial submitter