Lane County, Oregon
Genealogy & History
Where to next?
Select a Topic:



Biographies & Biographical Sketches

A

Adair, L. G.
Adams, Oscar (1)
Adams, Oscar (2)
Aid, J. S.
Allen, Seward
Andrews, James
Ankeny, Henry
Armitage, George
Armitage, James
Ayers, Palmer (1)
Ayers, Palmer (2)
B

Bailey, Blackgrove
Bailey, John
Bailey, M.
Bailey, Orrin
Bailey, Thomas
Baker, William
Barr, John
Baughman, Samuel
Baughman, William
Bean, Louis
Bean, Robert
Bede, B. Elbert
Belshaw, Charles
Berger, Frank
Bilyeu, L.
Bingham, Isaac
Blair, Prier
Bogart, Garret
Bogart, William
Boller, P. J.
Bond, Allen
Bond, B. F.
Bonnett, A. T.
Bounds, Jesse
Bowers, John
Boyd, Joseph
Bristow, Darwin
Bristow, Elijah (1)
Bristow, Elijah (2)
Bristow, Elijah L.
Bristow, John
Bristow, William
Brittain, Thomas
Bryson, Edwin
Bryson, Roscoe
Buoy, Noah
Burg, T. J.
Bushnell, James (1)
Bushnell, James (2)
C

Caldwell, Rufus
Calef, E. N.
Callaway, Charles
Callison, George
Callison, Gilmore
Callison, R. M.
Callison, Robert
Callison, Rufus
Campbell, Alexander
Campbell, Ira
Campbell, Prince
Campbell, Robert
Cantrell, Philip
Carroll, Richard
Cartwright, D. B.
Castleman, Philip
Cherry, Harry & Robert
Chesher, James
Cheshier, William
Chrisman, E. C.
Chrisman, Scott
Church, J. C.
Cleaver, J. W.
Cochran, E. B.
Cochran, R. B.



Cochran, Robert
Cogswell, John
Cole, John
Cole, Josiah
Coleman, E. P.
Collier, Andrew
Collier, George
Comegys, Presley
Conger, John
Conger, Jonathan
Conser, Jacob
Cook, Isaac
Cooley, Alexander
Cooley, John
Counter, William
Cox, John
Currin, James
D

Davis, Benjamin
Davis, Caleb
Davis, Melancthon
Davis, Philetas
Davis, W. L.
Day, George
Diamond, John
Dick, J. M.
Dillard, Luther
Dillard, Samuel
Dorris, B. F.
Dorris, George (1)
Dorris, George (2)
Douglas, Samuel
Douglass, Matthew
Driskill, William
Driver, Isaac
Drury, W. R.
Drury, William
Dunn, F. B.
Duten, Thomas
E

Eakin, S. B.
Eakin, Stewart
Eaton, John
Ebbert, James A. (1)
Ebbert, James A. (2)
Ebbert, James E.
Edmunson, Margaret
Edris, William
Edwards, S. H.
Edwards, Thomas
Ellsworth, Stukley
Epps, W. W.
F

Fergueson, John (1)
Fergueson, John (2)
Ferguson, John (3)
Field, R. F.
Fisk, William
Fischer, Henry
Fisher, Charles
Foley, M. N.
Folsom, Frederick
Frazer, George
Freeland, Howard
Friendly, S. H.
G

Gardner, W. J.
Gates, Daniel
Gearhart, William
Geary, Edward
Gerred, David
Gibson, Lewis
Gilbert, Riley
Gilfry, George
Gilfry, John
Gillespie, Jacob
Gillespie, Marcellus
Gilpatrick, Lyman
Goodpasture, Thurston
Goodpasture, William
Gray, Joseph
Greenman, Frank
H

Hadley, H. G.
Hadley, Henry
Haines, W. W.
Handsaker, Samuel (1)
Handsaker, Samuel (2)
Harbaugh, Isaac
Harding, Benjamin
Hardy, Charles
Harlow, Mahlon
Harris, J. B.
Harris, John
Harris, Lawrence
Hawley, Jesse
Hayes, Richard
Hays, R. R.
Henderson, Enoch
Henderson, James
Henderson, John
Hendricks, Albert
Hendricks, Benjamin
Hendricks, James
Hendricks, Lafayette
Hendricks, T. G.


Hicks, William
Hill, H.
Hill, William
Hills, Cornelius
Hills, E. E.
Hodson, John
Hoffman, William
Holmquist, Hjalmar
Hollis, J. W.
Holt, James
Horn, James
Hovey, A. G. (1)
Hovey, A. G. (2)
Hovey, A. G. (3)
Howe, Norman
Huddleston, James
Hulin, Lester
Humphrey, George (1)
Humphrey, George (2)
Huston, H. C.
Hyland, Amos
Hyland, B. S.
I - J

Inman, Joel
James, B. H.
Jenkins, Thomas
Jennings, Joseph
Jones, Walter
Johnson, Gabriel
Johnson, James
Johnston, Clyde
K

Keeney, Andrew
Kelley, William
Kelly, John (1)
Kelly, John (2)
Kem, Omer
Kincaid Family
Kincaid, Harrison (1)
Kincaid, Harrison (2)
Kincaid, Harrison (3)
Kincaid, Harrison (4)
Kincaid, Nancy
Kincaid, Webster
King, Alex
Kissinger, Charles
Knox, O. F.
Knox, Oscar
L

Laird, Patrick
Lakin, D. R.
Lawrence, John
Lee, N. L.
Lee, Norman
Lee, William
Lockwood, Charles
Long, John
Luper, James
Lurch, Aaron
Lurch, Benjamin
Lyne, George
M

Markley, David
Martin, Nathaniel
Martin, William
Massey, Isaac
Massey, Phineas
Masterson, John
Masterson, R. M.
Matlock, E. D.
Matlock, J. D.
Matlock, Joseph
Maxwell, G. S.
Mays, Franklin
McAlister, E. A.
McClaren, James
McClure, Vincent
McCulloch, John
McCulloch, Thomas
McKinzey, J. K.
McLaughlin, Ara
Medley, John
Meek, Samuel
Melson, George
Midgley, George
Miller, Alexius


Miller, George (1)
Miller, George (2)
Miller, George (3)
Miller, Hulins
Millican, Ada
Millican, George (1)
Millican, George (2)
Millican, Robert
Milliorn, T. A.
Milliorn, Thomas
Mitchell, James
Moore, A. W.
Morris, Harley
Morse, Percy
Morss, John
Mosby, David
Mulholland, R. M.
Mulkey, Benjamin
Mulkey, Philip
Mulkey, Welcome
Mullen, John
Murch, George
Murphy, John
N - O

Nelson, Thomas
Ness, Sjur (1)
Ness, Sjur (2)
Nighswander, Francis
Noland, George
Numbers, Philip
Odell, George
Odell, W. H.
Orpurd, Luther
Orton, Alfred
Owen, Benjamin
Owen, J. W.
Ozment, George
P

Packard, N. L.
Paine, B. D.
Paine, DeWitt
Parker, James
Patterson, A. S.
Patterson, A. W.
Patterson, Robert
Patterson, William
Pengra, W. B.
Perkins, Joseph
Petrie, Jost
Pickett, William
Pitney, William
Pitzer, N. G.
Potter, Edwin
Powers, B. F.
Prentice, F. W.
Q - R

Ray, Leonard
Ream, J. R.
Redford, Edward
Reed, J. C.
Rhinehart, J. B.
Richardson, B. M.
Rickard, Caspar
Risdon, D. M.
Robinson, R. M.
Rouse, J. B.
Rouse, M. M.
Russell, William
Rutledge, Blasengim
S

Scaiefe, Benjamin
Scarbrough, L. D.
Scott, John
Scott, William (1)
Scott, William (2)
Sears, Carroll
Shacklett, Richard
Shannon, Wesley
Shelley, John
Shelley, William
Shelton, Joseph
Shields, James
Shortridge, James
Shortridge, William
Simmons, Archibald
Simpson, John
Skelton, William
Skinner, Eugene
Skinner, M. H.
Skinner, St. John
Skipworth, Marvin
Sloan, J. M.
Small, William



Smith, A. R. (1)
Smith, A. R. (2)
Smith, George
Smith, John
Smith, Isaac
Smith, William
Smith, William
Soverns, George
Spare, Alexander
Spencer, Septimus
Spicer, Samuel
Spores, Henry (1)
Spores, Henry (2)
Spores, Jacob
Spores, James
Stevens, Isaac
Stevens, William
Stewart, Edward
Stewart, J. W.
Stewart, John
Stoops, John
Strome Family
Swift, Samuel
T

Tait, John
Taylor, Alexander
Taylor, Henry
Thompson, David
Thompson, H. W.
Thompson, Frederick
Travis, Lee (1)
Travis, Lee (2)
Travis, Lee (3)
Tucker, Hester
U - V

Vanduyn, Isaac
Van Schoiack, Greenbury
VanVranken, Emmett
Vaughan, Floyd
Vaughan, John
Vaughan, Thomas
Veatch, Robert (1)
Veatch, Robert (2)
Veatch, Sylvester
W

Walker, Herbert
Walker, Robert
Wallace, David (1)
Wallace, David (2)
Wallace, John
Wallis, Mathew
Ware, Joel
Washburne, Charles (1)
Washburne, Charles (2)
Washburne, Charles (3)
Washburne, George
Watkins, William
Watson, James
Wells, Jesse
Wheeler, William
Whipple, Elisha
Whipple, Frank



Whiteaker, John (1)
Whiteaker, John (2)
Whiteaker, John (3)
Whiteaker, John (4)
Whiteaker, John (5)
Whitney, William
Whorton, Leland
Wilhelm, George
Wilkins, Francis (1)
Wilkins, Francis (2)
Wilkins, Mitchell (1)
Wilkins, Mitchell (2)
Williams, Elias
Williams, John
Williams, S. R.
Wilmot, M. L. (1)
Wilmot, M. L. (2)
Wingard, Samuel
Wintermeier, Charles
Withers, J. E. P.
Woodcock, Absalom
Woolridge, Edward
X - Y - Z

Yates, J. C.
Young, Charles
Young, Donald
Young Joseph
Zumwalt, Isaac
Zumwalt, T. L.




Adams, Oscar

Oscar P. Adams, a well-known resident of Cottage Grove, was born in Tioga county, Pennsylvania, in 1828, a son of Isaac and Sophronia (Lydda) Adams, natives of New York and Vermont respectively.  His parents removed to Pennsylvania about 1826 and remained there until 1834, when they went to Tecumseh, Michigan.  There were thirteen children in the family, Oscar P. being the eldest.  He attended the district school during the winter and in the summer he assisted his father on the farm.  In 1854 he left his home and friends and started across the plains to Oregon, paying $50 to John H. Stevens to be taken, and doing service in addition.  They went via the Barlow route and arrived at Foster's September 12. Mr. Adams then went to southern Oregon in the fall of 1854.  In the spring of 1855 he was engaged by the United States Government as head packer during the Indian war, as he had no gun.  He carried flour from Bear creek mills to the quartermaster wherever located. He first commenced mining in the fall of 1854 at Althouse, and mined there until the Indian war broke out in 1855.  After the Indian war was closed he came back to Althouse in 1856 and mined there until 1858.  He then returned to the Willamette valley, and in partnership with A. H. Spare he purchased 640 acres, a portion of which became the town site of Cottage Grove.

Mr. Adams was married in 1861, to Miss Mary Elizabeth Saylor, daughter of Sydney Saylor, a pioneer of 1853.  Settling upon a ranch, his chief interests have been in agriculture.  He has made frequent trips to the mountains to pass a summer in prospecting, never having lost his old love for mining.  In 1876 he discovered the cinnabar mines in the Calipoosa mountains, and in 1890 he located the Ophir and summit gold quartz claims in the Bohemia mining district, which show rich prospects and which are now being developed.  The partnership with Mr. Spare was dissolved in 1864 and the land divided, Mr. Adams retaining 120 acres. The death of Mrs. Adams occurred June 30, 1870.  She left a family of six children:  Levica H., wife of Charles Viles; Mary A., wife of George Hollay; Lucy M.; Lydia S., wife of Charles Van Buren; Theodocia, wife of Frank Cathcart; Hattie, wife of Wilbur McFarland.  Mr. Adams was married again November 23, 1873, to Miss Minerva Cromwell.

He is a member of Cottage Grove Lodge, No. 51, A.F. & A.M.  He has been actively interested in Republican politics, but has avoided all connection with public office, preferring the duties of his farm and other private enterprises.

An Illustrated History of The State of Oregon
Rev. H. K. Hines, D. D.
The Lewis Publishing Company; 1893
Ankeny, Henry

HON. HENRY E. ANKENY

Each community has its substantial citizens, representative of the spirit of enterprise that has been the dominant factor in the upbuilding of this great state. Actively associated with the mining interests of southern Oregon was Henry E. Ankeny, deceased, who was the owner of the Sterling gold mine and was numbered among the most successful mining operators of this section of the state.

Mr. Ankeny was born in West Virginia, April 29, 1844, a son of Alexander P. and Anna Ankeny, natives of Pennsylvania. They came to Oregon in the late '40s and located in Portland. The father became interested in the Wells Fargo Express Company and also engaged in the real estate business, in gold mining and in the lumber business and through the successful conduct of these various lines of activity he became the possessor of a substantial fortune, being classed with the men of wealth and prominence of his community. Whatever he undertook he carried forward to successful completion, and he knew no such word as fail. Long a resident of the state, he was an interested witness of its development and upbuilding and at all times lent his aid and cooperation to plans and projects for the general good. He passed away about 1890, having long survived his wife, who died about 1846.

Coming to this state in his early boyhood, Henry E. Ankeny acquired his education in the schools of Portland and when his textbooks were put aside he assisted his father in the conduct of the latter's extensive business interests. He was the possessor of large farm holdings at Klamath Falls, Oregon, and also owned and cultivated a farm of four thousand five hundred acres near Salem, to which he devoted his efforts and energy for a period of nineteen years, and he also operated a dairy and cheese factory. Upon the death of his father he took over the management of the Sterling gold mine in southern Oregon and for seven years he resided in the vicinity of the mine, bending every energy to its further development and winning substantial success in its conduct. In September, 1896, he removed with his family to Eugene, where he erected a fine modern dwelling at No. 212 North Pearl street, which is still the family home. About a year prior to his death Mr. Ankeny retired from active business, owing to failing health, and he passed away on the 21st of December, 1906, at the age of sixty-three years. He had led a busy, useful and active life and in the conduct of his extensive and varied interests he not only won individual success but also contributed in marked measure to the upbuilding, development and prosperity of his section of the state. Being a man of resourceful business ability, he extended his efforts into various lines and in all business affairs readily discriminated between the essential and the non-essential and discarding the latter utilized the former to the best possible advantage.

On the 10th of June, 1866, Mr. Ankeny was united in marriage to Miss Cordelia L. Stryker, a daughter of Henry F. and Mary A. (Hart) Stryker. The father was born in Auburn, New York, April 20, 1821, while the mother's birth occurred in Montgomery county, Wisconsin, July 3, 1827. The father was a physician and practiced at Kenosha, Wisconsin, until 1852, when ill health compelled him to seek a change of occupation. Thinking the milder climate of Oregon might prove beneficial, he crossed the plains to this state and located in Portland, where he engaged in the mercantile business for a time and then went to Vancouver, Washington, where he engaged in general merchandising the remainder of his life. He passed away December 31, 1861, while the mother's death occurred on the 2d of December in the preceding year. Mr. and Mrs. Ankeny became the parents of nine children, of whom three are deceased: Alexander, Ruby and Rolin. Those who survive are: Cordelia R., the wife of John S. Orth of Medford, Oregon; Cora B., who Is the widow of Frank Crump and resides in Medford; Nanie M., the widow of Roscoe E. Cantrell and a resident of Klamath Falls, Oregon; Frank E., also residing at Klamath Falls; Dollie A., who married Alfred H. Miller and resides at Medford; and Gladys, at home.

Mr. Ankeny was a Mason of high rank, having attained the thirty-second degree, and at the time of his death the honorary thirty-third degree was about to be conferred upon him. He was likewise a member of the Mystic Shrine and in the work of the order took an active part, his life being an exemplification of its beneficent principles. In politics he was a republican and in religious faith a Christian Scientist. He came to this state during the period of its early development and reclamation and as the years passed his contribution to the work of progress and improvement became a valuable one. A patriotic and public-spirited citizen, he took a deep interest in everything relating to the welfare of the district in which he lived and was most earnest in his support of those projects which are a matter of civic virtue and civic pride. In his death Eugene lost one of its most honored and valued residents, one whose life history should prove of inspirational value to all who read it. Mrs. Ankeny still occupies the family home in Eugene and is one of the highly esteemed residents of the city. Like her husband, she is a Christian Scientist, and in her work as a practitioner of that faith she has been very successful.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Bean, Robert

JUDGE ROBERT SHARP BEAN

Judge Robert Sharp Bean, who for eleven years has sat on the bench of the United States district court in Oregon, has since 1882 been continuously connected with the Judicial history of this state and has carved his name high on the keystone of the legal arch. He was born on a farm in Yamhill county, Oregon. November 28, 1854, representing one of the old pioneer families of the state. His father, Obediah R. Bean, was a native of Clay county, Missouri, born in 1832, and when a young man of twenty years left the Mississippi valley en route for Oregon. After the long journey was completed he took up his abode in Yamhill county and throughout his active life followed the occupation of farming, becoming one of the representative agriculturists of that section. In Yamhill county he married Julia Ann Sharp and both have now passed away, the death of the father occurring in 1890 and that of the mother in 1908. In political belief he was a republican and his position as a citizen was always on the side of progress and improvement.

Judge Bean spent his youthful days in the usual manner of a farm bred boy, living with his parents in Lane county, the family having there removed in 1855. He was a pupil in the district schools and afterward attended the Christian College at Monmouth, Oregon, from which he was graduated with the class of 1873. In further preparation for the active and responsible duties of life, he entered the University of Oregon and completed his course with the first graduating class - that of 1878. It was in the same decade that Judge Bean was admitted to the bar prior to the conclusion of his university course. He located for practice in Eugene, where he remained an active member of the profession until 1882, when recognition of the skill and ability which he had displayed as a lawyer came to him in his election as circuit judge of the second judicial district and he served on the bench in that capacity until 1890. In the latter year he was elected to the supreme court of the state, of which he remained a member for nineteen years, and then in 1909 was appointed by President Taft United States district judge of the district of Oregon and has since occupied that position. His is indeed a notable record, covering thirty-eight years of judicial service. It would be tautological in this connection to enter into any series of statements as showing him to be an eminent judge, strictly fair and impartial in his rulings, for this has been shadowed forth between the lines of this review, his long service on the bench being unmistakable proof of his superior judicial qualities.

On the 7th of September, 1880, in Eugene, Oregon. Judge Bean was united in marriage to Miss Ina E. Condon, a daughter of the late Professor Thomas Condon of the University of Oregon. Their children are five in number: Condon Roy, who was born in 1881 and is now in Los Angeles; Ormond R., Harold Cedric and Robert Douglas, all of whom except Robert are graduates of the Oregon State University, while Harold was also graduated from the Medical Department of Johns Hopkins University of Baltimore, Maryland; and Ernest Gerald, who was born in 1882 and has passed away.

Judge Bean is a member of the Arlington Club and in Masonry has attained the Knight Templar degree. His political endorsement is given to the republican party but he has never allowed political opinion to interfere in any way with the faithful performance of his judicial duties. That he is a warm friend of the cause of education has been manifest in many tangible ways and since 1882 he has been a member of the board of regents of the University of Oregon and for the past twenty years has been president of the board. His activities have constituted resultant factors in promoting good citizenship and upholding the best interests of city and state in many connections and Oregon is proud to number him among her native sons.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Bede, B. Elbert

B. ELBERT BEDE

B. Elbert Bede, publisher of the Cottage Grove Sentinel, has attained a prominent position in journalistic circles of Oregon, and in 1914 was president of the State Editorial Association and for five years secretary of the Willamette Valley Editorial Association. Mr. Bede is a native of Iowa, his birth having occurred in Randolph, June 28, 1881. His parents, J. Adam and Flora (Tibbetts) Bede, were natives of Ohio, the father being a well known newspaper man. He engaged in journalistic work in Iowa and in an early day went to Minnesota, becoming identified with the conduct of newspapers in various parts of that state. He also became prominent in political circles of Minnesota and for three terms represented the district of Duluth in the United States congress, where he rendered important and valuable service, his record being a most creditable one. He is now engaged in Lyceum and Chautauqua work, being connected with the Redpath bureau. He has continued a resident of Minnesota, his home being at Pine City. The mother of B. Elbert Bede passed away in 1884.

B. Elbert Bede attended the schools of Duluth, St. Paul and Pine City, Minnesota. At the early age of seven years he started to learn the printer's trade and when sixteen was editor of the Pine Poker, issued at Pine City, while later he became editor of the Sandstone Courier, published at Sandstone, Minnesota. He was engaged in editorial work in various parts of the state until 1911, when he came to Oregon and purchased the Cottage Grove Sentinel, which he has since owned and edited. He has greatly improved the plant, installing the latest presses and linotype machines until its equipment is now classed with the best in Oregon. The Sentinel is not only representative of first-class typography, in which Mr. Bede is expert through his long years of experience, but also excels on account of its trenchant style in setting forth the news events of the section in which it circulates. Its local columns are always full of interest, while the general news of the world is clearly and completely given. The principal policy of the paper has been to serve the public promptly and that Mr. Bede has succeeded is evident from the large circulation which his publication enjoys. In 1915 he admitted Elbert Smith as a partner and this association has been continued.

It was on the 5th of November, 1903, that Mr. Bede was united in marriage to Miss Olive L. Smith of Sunrise, Minnesota, and they have become the parents of three children, namely: Ruth C, whose birth occurred on the 8th of March, 1905; Harold E., born November 20, 1909; and Beth A., born January 14, 1913.

That Mr. Bede occupies a position of distinction in journalistic circles of Oregon is indicated in the fact that in 1914 he was president of the State Editorial Association and for five years served as secretary of the Willamette Valley Editorial Association. He is likewise prominent in the public life of the state, having filled the position of reading clerk in the legislature during the last two sessions. His interest in the welfare and progress of his city is shown in his membership in the Cottage Grove Commercial Club, which he has served as president and secretary and in this connection he has aided materially in promoting the substantial growth and upbuilding of his section. He is likewise a prominent Mason, being a past master of the lodge and a member of the Scottish Rite Consistory and the Shrine. His political allegiance Is given to the republican party and in religious faith he is an Episcopalian. Following in the professional footsteps of his distinguished father, he has attained a high position in newspaper circles of the state, and in promoting his own prosperity he has furthered the general development of his community, his influence being ever on the side of moral uplift and intellectual growth.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Bristow, Darwin

Darwin Bristow, a progressive and energetic merchant and banker at Cottage Grove, was born at Pleasant Hill, Lane county, Oregon, December 21, 1862.  His father, William Wilshire Bristow, was a native of Cumberland county, Kentucky, born July 18, 1826, but was reared in McDonough county, Illinois, whither his parents removed in his infancy.  In 1848 he crossed the plains to Oregon, and located at Pleasant Hill, Lane county.  In the spring of 1849 he started to California, but returned in the fall of the same year, and began improving his claim.  In the spring of 1850 or 1851 he taught the first school in the county.  He was married in Marion county, October 17, 1850, to Miss E. Coffey, a native of Pike county, Illinois.  During 1852-'53 he was Justice of the Peace of Pleasant Hill precinct, and for a number of years was Postmaster.  He was a delegate to the Constitutional Convention of 1857, and in June, 1858, he was elected one of the first State Senators from Lane county; he was one of the prominent actors in setting the machinery of the State Government in motion.

Mrs. Bristow died in November, 1863; she was the mother of four children, only one of whom survives, a son named Darwin.  Mr. Bristow was married again at Pleasant Hill, April 27, 1865, to Miss Martha A. McCall, who died August 18, 1868, leaving one child, Lizzie, now the widow of C. F. McCormac.  September 16, 1869, Mr. Bristow was married in Portland to Mrs. Mary J. Wells, who still survives.

He was again elected State Senator in 1872, and served with great credit to himself and his constituency through the sessions of 1872 and 1874.  He sold his farm in 1865, and went to Eugene, where he purchased a one-third interest in the mercantile business of Bristow & Co., the firm being composed of his brother Elijah L. Bristow and T. G. Hendricks; he continued an active member of the firm until his death, December 8, 1874.  He was stricken down in the prime of manhood and in the midst of his usefulness, leaving an untarnished reputation.  He was for many years a member of the Masonic fraternity.

Darwin Bristow removed with his parents to Eugene city, and after the death of his father, was taken into the family of T. G. Hendricks, administrator of the estate and guardian of the children.  At the age of fourteen years our subject began clerking in the store of Mr. Hendricks, thus securing a business education, and at the same time pursuing his studies in the University of Oregon; he was graduated from the normal department of this institution in 1884.  The autumn following he came to Cottage Grove, and in partnership with Herbert Eakin, he purchased the bankrupt stock of Luckey & Noland; they increased their stock, and by close attention to the details of the business, have built up a good trade and later have further advanced their business by the addition of a baking department and are now carrying on a successful mercantile and banking establishment.

Mr. Bristow was married at Cottage Grove, March 16, 1885, to Miss Mary L, Medley, a native of Linn county, Iowa, and a daughter of James M. Medley, who emigrated to Oregon in 1874.  Of this union have been born three children: Greta Elizabeth, William Wilshire and Darwin Darrel.  Mr. Bristow has valuable business and residence property at Cottage Grove and Eugene.  He is Master of Cottage Grove Lodge, No. 51, A. F. & A. M., and a member of Juventus Lodge, No. 48, of K. and P.  He has served two terms as Mayor of Cottage Grove, and is one of the most active and enterprising men of the city.

An Illustrated History of The State of Oregon
Rev. H. K. Hines, D. D.
The Lewis Publishing Company; 1893
Bushnell, James

James A. Bushnell, one of the representative citizens of Junction City, was born in Cattaraugus county, New York, in 1826, a son of Daniel and Ursula (Pratt) Bushnell, native of Connecticut; the parents emigrated to the State of New York about the year 1810, and there Mr. Bushnell followed farming until 1830, removing that year to Ohio, where he passed the closing days of his life.  James A., the subject of this notice, remained with his parents in Ohio until after the death of the father; then he and his mother joined the tide of Western emigration, and journeyed westward to Adair county, Missouri.  He was married in 1850, to Miss Elizabeth C. Akins, and two years later he started across the plains to the Pacific coast.  In partnership with two other men, Mr. Bushnell titted up a prairie wagon with four yokes of oxen, and made the trip in five months; arriving at Salem, they continued southward to the mines in Shasta county; they mined until the summer of 1853, with satisfactory results.  Mr. Bushnell then went to San Francisco, and thence by steamer and the Nicaragua route, returned to Missouri for his family: upon his arrival he found a cold hearthstone and empty home, as his family had already started across the plains to Oregon.  Retracing his steps, he came by steamer and the Isthmus of Panama, arriving in due course at Portland.  Proceeding up the valley he search for his loved ones, and at Springfield there was a joyous meeting.

In the fall of 1853 he located a donation claim of 320 acres, six miles south of Junction City, and engaged in general agricultural pursuits; he lived upon this place until 1865, when he sold it, and bought 800 acres bordering the Willamette river, four miles southeast of Junction City.  There he pursued the same occupation until 1875, when he removed to Junction City, where he has since resided, although he still retains his farm, and owns other agricultural lands.  Mrs. Bushnell died in 1868, leaving four children, two of whom survive: Lucy J., wife of William M. Pitney; and Helen V., wife of C. J. Ehrman.  Mr. Bushnell was married a second time in 1870, to Mrs. Sarah E. (Farrell) Powell, and they have had born to them five children, only two living, Henry C. and Myrtie G.

It was in 1874 that Mr. Bushnell built a warehouse at Junction City, and afterward bought the grain elevator, which he continues to operate.  He established the water-works in 1879, supplying the town and railroad companies.  He has taken a deep interest in the city and in developing he resources.  For four terms he has served as a member of the Council, and during two term has been Mayor.  Politically, he adheres to the principle of the Prohibition party, and in his religious faith, is a devout supporter of the doctrines of the Christian Church.  In 1892 he superintended the erection of the new church edifice.

He was one of the organizers of the Junction City Hotel Company, and is always ready and willing to join any enterprise that will tend to the best interests of the place. Having lived a life of honor and integrity, he has the respect and confidence of his fellow-men.


History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Campbell, Prince

PRINCE LUCIAN CAMPBELL

Prince Lucian Campbell, president of the University of Oregon since 1902, was born in Newmarket, Missouri, October 6, 1861, his parents being Thomas Franklin and Jane Eliza Campbell. The father, too, was a well known educator who was president of the Christian College at Monmouth, Oregon, from 1869 until 1882.

Dr. Campbell of this review won his Bachelor of Arts degree upon graduation from Christian College in 1879. He afterward became a Harvard student and the university at Cambridge conferred upon him the Bachelor of Arts degree in 1886. From Pacific University he received the LL.D. degree, as he did also from the University of Colorado. He entered the teaching profession in 1879 in connection with Christian College, where he remained for three years or until 1882. In 1890 he was called to the presidency of the Oregon State Normal School and there remained for twelve years or until 1902, when he was elected to the presidency of the University of Oregon and has continued at the head of the institution, covering a period of nineteen years. It would be tautological in this connection to enter into any series of statements showing him to be a man of broad scholarly attainment and one of the eminent educators of the northwest, for this has been shadowed forth between the lines of this review. Those who know aught of his professional career recognize the high standards that he has always maintained and the advanced ideals which he has ever followed.

Aside from his professional activities Dr. Campbell was president of the Polk County Bank from 1892 until 1905, since which time he has concentrated his attention upon the profession which he chose as a life work. He is a representative of the National Association of State Universities on the American Council on Education.  His religious faith is that of the Christian church.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Carroll, Richard

RICHARD E. CARROLL

Among the enterprising and progressive young business men of Junction City is numbered Richard E. Carroll, proprietor of one of the high class drug stores of the locality. He is a native son of Oregon, his birth having occurred at Union, Union county, October 19, 1896. He is a son of Joel Marion and Mary F. (Lenhart) Carroll, the former a native of Iowa and the latter of Missouri. The father was but three years of age when his parents crossed the plains to Oregon, casting in their lot with the pioneer settlers of this state. They were the third family to locate in Union county and there the grandfather took up a claim of government land, which by arduous and unremitting toil he at length brought to a high state of development, continuing to operate his ranch throughout his remaining years. He passed away in 1910 at the very advanced age of ninety-five years, and his wife's demise occurred in 1895, when she had reached the age of seventy-five years. They were highly esteemed and respected in their community as pioneer settlers who shared in the hardships and privations of frontier life and aided in laying broad and deep the foundation upon which has been built the present progress and prosperity of the commonwealth. Their son, Joel M. Carroll, the youngest in a family of fourteen children, was reared and educated in Union, Oregon, later completing a law course in the Oregon State University at Eugene. Following his admission to the bar he opened an office in Union and there engaged in practice the remainder of his life, being accorded an extensive clientage which his high professional attainments well merited. He was a distinguished lawyer and a man of prominence in his community, serving as mayor of Union and also holding other public offices of trust, the duties of which he discharged most efficiently. He passed away in 1900 at the comparatively early age of forty-two years, and his demise was deeply regretted by a large circle of friends, for he was a man of sterling worth whose ideals of life were high and who utilized every opportunity that enabled him to climb to their level. The mother survived him for eleven years, her demise occurring in 1911.

Richard E. Carroll was reared and educated at Union, Oregon, also pursuing his studies at Corvallis from 1906 until 1909, and then entered the high school at Junction City, from which he was graduated in 1915. He subsequently became a student in the Oregon Agricultural College, where he pursued a course in pharmacy, and was graduated from that institution of learning in 1918. He then enlisted for service in the World war, becoming cook in Machine Gun Company, Twelfth Infantry, Eighth Division, and was stationed successively at Camp Fremont, California, and Camp Mills, New York, from which point his command was transferred by boat to Camp Stewart, Virginia, and later to Camp Alexander, that state. Subsequently he was sent to Camp Lewis, Washington, where he was discharged in February, 1919. In the following April Mr. Carroll engaged in the drug business at Junction City, where he is now located. His establishment is first-class in every particular and his courteous treatment of patrons, reliability and progressive business methods have won for him a large trade.

Mr. Carroll gives his political allegiance to the republican party and his religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Christian church. He is much interested in the welfare and progress of his community and is serving as city recorder and as school clerk, and is rendering valuable service in both connections, his duties being discharged with faithfulness, promptness and efficiency. He is a member of the American Legion and fraternally is identified with the Masons, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Woodmen of the World. Mr. Carroll is an energetic and progressive young business man who well deserves the success that has come to him, for he started out in life empty-handed and working his way through college he secured a good education, which has been of inestimable benefit to him in the attainment of success. He is always loyal to any cause which he espouses and faithful to every duty and is a representative of the best type of American manhood and chivalry.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Collier, Andrew

ANDREW McCORNACK COLLIER

As president of the First National Bank at Merrill and vice president of the First National Bank at Klamath Falls, Andrew McCornack Collier occupies a leading position in the financial circles of the state. He is a native son of Oregon, having been born in Eugene on the 15th of November, 1890, and since 1913 he has made his home in Klamath Falls. His parents are Charles M. and Janet (McCornack) Collier and his grandfather Professor George H. Collier. The history of Oregon's educational system would not be complete without mention of Professor Collier, who devoted a large part of his life to the work. Professor Collier came to Oregon from Ohio, in which state his family were pioneers, and having been professor of science in Oberlin College, Ohio, he immediately stepped into a responsible position at the Pacific University, at Forest Grove, and subsequently became professor of chemistry and physics at the University of Oregon and Collier Hall on the campus of that great institution was named in his honor. The maternal ancestors of Andrew McCornack Collier are of Scotch descent and the family is an old and honored one in America. The Oregon branch of the family crossed the plains by ox teams, arriving in Oregon in the early '50s. They were among the earliest pioneers of this state and of Lane county in particular. Charles M. Collier devoted his talents to civil engineering, serving as engineer and surveyor of Lane county for twenty-seven years, and as an alert, energetic and enterprising man he carried every undertaking forward to successful completion. He is now practically retired from active work in his profession but occasionally assists the government of the United States in the survey of public lands.

In the public schools of his native city Andrew M. Collier acquired his education, later pursuing a course in the University of Oregon, from which institution he was graduated with the degree of B. A. in 1913. He majored in political economy and the year of his graduation accepted a position as bookkeeper in the First National Bank at Klamath Falls. His rise in that connection was rapid and in 1915 he was promoted to assistant cashier and became a director of the institution. Five years later he was made vice president of the bank. Mr. Collier attributes his marked success to luck but those who know him attribute it to his own determined efforts, intelligently directed. Mr. Collier is also prominently identified with the financial interests of Merrill as president of the First National Bank there. As president of the Klamath Ice and Storage Company and secretary of the Lakeside Land Company he is active in the conduct of two of the most important commercial enterprises of Klamath Falls. The latter company has played an important part in the development and improvement of Klamath county, for it put under cultivation six thousand acres of land on the lake near Malin. This land was divided into forty-acre tracts and sold to farmers under whose care it developed into valuable farm property, and to the success of this project is attributed the added increase in population and industrial progress. Mr. Collier is likewise associated with the Swan Lake Lumber Company, of which he is a director, the Associated Lumber and Box Company and numerous other business organizations.

In 1916 occurred the marriage of Mr. Collier and Miss Georgia L. Porter, a native of Iowa, and a daughter of G. F. Porter. Her father recently located in Klamath Falls, coming from Afton, Iowa, where he was postmaster for several years. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Collier: Marie Genevieve and Carolyn. In the social circles of Klamath Falls Mrs. Collier takes a prominent part. She is a member of most of the clubs in the city and takes particular Interest in the activities of the P. E. 0. sisterhood. Her home is a social center and she is readily conceded to be a gracious hostess and model mother.

The political allegiance of Mr. Collier is given to the republican party and fraternally he is identified with the Elks, being treasurer of the local order. He is treasurer and director of the Chamber of Commerce, in the interests of which he is particularly active and during the World war he took an active part in all drives, was chairman of the Victory Loan and county director for sale of War Savings Stamps drives, and in addition gave generously of his money. The family are consistent members of the Presbyterian church and Mr. Collier is chairman of its board of trustees. Although the many business interests of Mr. Collier leave him but little spare time, he is a great lover of outdoor sports and whenever possible finds enjoyment in shooting ducks and fishing. Since early childhood he has been an earnest and industrious worker and even during his college days took a prominent part in campus activities, at the same time keeping well ahead in his studies. He had the distinction of being elected manager of the Emerald, the daily paper of the student body, and of the Oregona, the University year book. Since leaving college his business ability has continued to develop and as president of the First National Bank of Merrill he very probably enjoys the distinction of being the youngest bank president in Oregon.
Mr. Collier and his associates have recently planned and erected in Klamath Falls one of the most modern store buildings on the coast. In his public-spirited manner Mr. Collier is playing a prominent part in the growth and progress of Klamath county.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Dillard, Luther

LUTHER M. DILLARD

Luther M. Dillard, who passed away in August, 1889, was for many years prominently identified with the agricultural and stock raising interests of Lane county and at the time of his death was the owner of a valuable farm comprising over three hundred and seventy acres, located about five miles south of Eugene. He was essentially a member of the class of doers, gifted with initiative and quick resolve, and he never under stress of action' faltered, hesitated nor reconsidered.

Mr. Dillard was born in Missouri, January 18, 1846, a son of Stephen M. and Julia (Renshaw) Dillard, natives of Tennessee. For a time the father followed farming in Missouri and then made his way across the country to California. In 1853 he came to Oregon, locating in Lane county, where he purchased land, which he improved and operated for many years, but his wife's health became impaired and they again took up their residence in California, where the father passed away March 30, 1867. The mother subsequently returned to Lane county and her death occurred on the 18th of February, 1896.

Luther M. Dillard was reared and educated in Lane county, Oregon, and remained under the parental roof until he attained his majority. Going to the state of Washington, he took up a soldier's claim. For some time he was busily engaged in the improvement and cultivation of that property and then came to eastern Oregon, where for three years he was engaged in the cattle business. At the end of that period he returned to Lane county and purchased land five miles south of Eugene. To his original possessions he added by purchase from time to time until at the time of his death he was the owner of over three hundred and seventy acres of valuable land, which he greatly improved by the addition of substantial barns and outbuildings and all the necessary farm machinery and equipment, everything about the place being indicative of the progressive spirit and enterprising methods of the owner. In connection with his farming operations he also engaged in the cattle business and in the conduct of a dairy, meeting with success in each line of activity. He never stopped short of the successful accomplishment of his purpose, and his purpose was always an honorable one. He was actuated in all that he did by a laudable ambition that prompted him to take a forward step when the way was open, and his ability and even-paced energy carried him forward to the goal of success.

It was on the 4th of August, 1875, that Mr. Dillard was united in marriage to Miss Samantha J. Emmons, who was born in Mercer county, Illinois, October 6, 1852, her parents being James W. and Caroline D. (Shortridge) Emmons, the latter a grandniece of Daniel Boone, the noted Indian fighter. The father was born in Indiana, January 19, 1838, and the mother's birth occurred in Little Rock, Arkansas, May 24, 1833. James W. Emmons followed farming in Illinois until 1866, when he crossed the plains to Oregon, settling in Lane county, but was permitted to enjoy his new home only for a short time, his death occurring on the 14th of February, 1868, when he was forty-one years of age. The mother survived him for many years, passing away July 2, 1919, at the advanced age of eighty-six years.

Mr. and Mrs. Dillard became the parents of four children: Earl N., the eldest of the family, was born July 23, 1876, and is now a resident of Springfield, Oregon; Walter B., born February 6, 1878, is a graduate of the University of Oregon and is an attorney by profession. He successfully engaged in teaching at Wilsoncreek, Washington, while previously he was for two years superintendent of schools of Lane county, rendering such valuable and efficient service in that connection that he was subsequently appointed assistant state superintendent of schools. He discharged the duties of that important position in a most capable and satisfactory manner and his work) in behalf of public education has been far-reaching and effective. He has also taken a prominent part in public affairs, representing his district for one term in the state legislature. He gave thoughtful and earnest consideration to all vital questions which came up for settlement and earnestly fought for the support of bills which he believed to be of benefit to the public at large; Frank C, the third in order of birth, was born December 28, 1880. He is a graduate of the University of Oregon and is a civil engineer by profession. John L., born January 14, 1884, is engaged in the abstract business at Eugene. During the recent World war he served as ensign in the navy, his period of service covering twenty-seven months.

Mr. Dillard gave his political allegiance to the republican party and in religious faith was a Presbyterian. Coming to this state in pioneer times, he was an interested witness of its development and upbuilding and at all times lent his aid and cooperation to plans and projects for the general good. Lane county was fortunate in gaining him as a citizen, for at all times he was loyal to her best Interests, and his progressiveness placed him in a prominent position among the farmers and stockmen of the district.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Dorris, George

HON. GEORGE B. DORRIS

Hon. George B. Dorris, who for over half a century engaged in the practice of law in Eugene, has lived retired since 1918 in the enjoyment of a well earned rest. His birth occurred in Nashville, Tennessee, on the 7th of March, 1832, and he is a son of Samuel F. and Susanna (Pitt) Dorris, natives of North Carolina. Following his marriage the father went to Nashville, Tennessee, and there followed the carpenter's trade, residing in that city until his death. The mother is also deceased.

George B. Dorris, the youngest of their family of twelve children, consisting of eight sons and four daughters, was reared and educated in his native city and there learned the tinner's trade, being apprenticed when about ten years of age to Snow, Treppard and Payne, of Nashville, Tennessee, where he was engaged in the business for a number of years. In 1861, when twenty-nine years of age, he sought the opportunities offered in the west and made his way to Crescent City, California, where he worked at the tinner's trade with his brother Ben, for a few years following that trade in Crescent City and during his leisure hours he studied law, for it was his desire to become a member of the bar. November 29, 1865, he came to Oregon and in the same year was admitted to practice at Eugene, passing his bar examination before Judge Riley E. Stratton, then a member of the supreme court of Oregon, and at whose request he had come to Oregon. Mr. Dorris continued in practice until the time of his retirement in 1918. He had practiced his profession continuously in Eugene for a period of fifty-four years and had the distinction of being the oldest practicing lawyer in the city. He was connected with a number of important law cases and the list of his clients was an extensive and representative one. He was always careful to conform his practice to a high standard of professional ethics, never seeking to lead the court astray in a matter of fact or law nor withholding from it the knowledge of any fact appearing in the records. His preparation of a case was always most thorough and comprehensive and he seemed not to lose sight of the smallest detail bearing upon his cause.

On the 15th of May, 1866, Mr. Dorris was united in marriage to Miss Emma A. Hoffman, at Jacksonville, Oregon, and they became the parents of three children: Emma C, who is now the wife of C. A. Hardy, a prominent attorney of Eugene; May, who married J. E. Bronaugh of Portland, Oregon; and Stella, the wife of Dr. C. A. Macrum, a resident of Mosier, Oregon.

In politics Mr. Dorris is a democrat and he has taken a prominent part in public affairs of his community and state. For one term he served as mayor of Eugene, giving to the city a most businesslike and progressive administration, characterized by many needed reforms and improvements, and for twelve years he was a member of the city council. In 1870 he was elected to the office of representative to the state legislature and as a member of that body gave thoughtful and earnest consideration to all the vital and important questions which came up for settlement, fighting earnestly for the support of bills which he believed to be of great benefit to the public at large. His fraternal connections are with the Masonic order and the Ancient Order of United Workmen and his religious faith is that of the Baptist church. Mr. Dorris is numbered among the oldest residents of Eugene, having taken up his abode here in 1865, and during the period that has since intervened he has watched with interest the city's growth and progress, with which he has been closely identified, doing everything in his power to promote its advancement along material, intellectual, social, political and moral lines. His life has been an honorable and upright one and" his example may well be followed by those who have regard for the things which are most worth while in life.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Douglass, Matthew

MATTHEW HALE DOUGLASS

Matthew Hale Douglass, librarian of the University of Oregon at Eugene, is a native of Iowa, his birth having occurred in Osage, Mitchell county, on the 16th of September, 1874. He is a son of the Rev. T. O. and Maria (Greene) Douglass, the former a Congregational minister. Mr. Douglass received the Bachelor of Arts degree from Grinnell College in 1895, while in 1898 that institution conferred upon him the degree of Master of Arts. His educational training well qualified him for the duties of librarian of Grinnell College, which position he filled from 1899 until 1908. In the latter year he was appointed librarian of the University of Oregon, and in this responsible position he is still serving. He is thoroughly efficient and capable in the discharge of the duties which devolve upon him in this connection and is a man of high intellectual attainments.

At Lexington, Nebraska, on the 25th of June, 1905, Mr. Douglass was united in marriage to Miss Minnie Griswold, a daughter of Ira P. and Lucy M. Griswold and a graduate of the Oberlin Conservatory of Music. Mrs. Douglass is a member of the faculty of the Oregon School of Music, having charge of the children's work in Piano. Mr. Douglass is independent in his political views and his religious faith is indicated  by his membership in the Congregational church.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Driver, Isaac

REV. ISAAC D. DRIVER.
 
A life of great usefulness and of far-reaching influence ended when on the 30th of October, 1907, Rev. Isaac D. Driver was called to his final home, at the age of eighty-three years. For over fifty years he devoted his attention to the study of the Bible and he became known as one of the most eminent theologians in the country as well as a debater of nation-wide prominence, frequently engaging in theological debate with Robert G. Ingersoll and other noted agnostics. He also gained prominence as a writer and lecturer and his work in behalf of the church was of untold benefit.
 
Dr. Driver was born on the Maumee river, near Fort Defiance, Ohio, August 17, 1824, a son of Thomas and Thankful (Travis) Driver, natives of Pennsylvania, and of Puritan ancestry. Emigrating to Ohio, the father became one of the pioneers of that state. He was a loyal and patriotic citizen and during the War of 1812 he served as a lieutenant under General William Henry Harrison, being stationed at Port Meigs. In 1828 he was commissioned to conduct the Indians across the Mississippi river when the fort guarded a trading post on the site of the present city of Chicago. In days of peace he worked at his trade of silversmith and also engaged in the practice of law. In 1827 he removed to Fort Wayne. Indiana, and in the following year, in company with his son, Isaac D., he explored the country near South Bend and also camped on the low-lying marsh land and open prairie which was destined to become the site of the metropolitan center of the west. At Fort Wayne Mr. Driver and his brother were largely engaged in trading with the Indians and In buying and selling land. In 1834 they removed to Goshen, Elkhart county, Indiana, where they engaged in farming and trading for a decade, and in 1844 they went to Noble county. They engaged in farming in that section of the country until 1852, when they sold their holdings and started across the plains to Oregon. They reached Iowa in the fall of that year and spent the winter in that state, continuing their journey in the spring and reaching their destination in the fall of 1853. Taking up his abode in what is now Douglas county, the father there engaged in farming and was thus active until his death in 1861, at the age of eighty-seven years. The mother however, had died in 1853, while en route to Oregon, and she was buried on the Bear river.
 
Dr. Driver was the seventh in order of birth in their family of twelve children and he attended school in Indiana to the age of thirteen years, when he began the work of carrying the mails on horseback between Fort Wayne and South Bend, Indiana. This was a very hazardous undertaking for a boy of his years, as the country was then wild and unsettled, harboring many hostile Indians and highwaymen, and for his bravery, regularity and sate discharge of duty he was allowed double wages. He worked at this task for three years and having saved a sufficient sum of money he reentered school, continuing his studies until he reached the age of twenty-two years and acquiring the best education obtainable at that period. After completing his schooling he engaged in farming and stock raising.
 
In 1848 he married Rebecca Crumley, who passed away at the end of a year, leaving a son, Samuel M., now deceased. In 1849. in company with about four hundred others. Dr. Driver crossed the plains to California, several of the company dying of cholera en route, the remainder arriving at Steep Hollow on the 1st of October of that year. In that section of the state he successfully followed mining until the spring of 1850, when he went to San Francisco, where he sailed for home, going by way of the Isthmus of Panama. On arriving in Indiana he resumed his farming operations and in 1852 was united in marriage to Mary Hardenbrook. In the fall of that year he joined his father and brothers in the trip across the plains to Oregon, the party consisting of fifteen people, four ox teams and two wagons drawn by horses. They arrived in the Willamette valley on the 14th of September, 1853, and on the 4th of October filed on their claims in the Umpqua valley, in what is now Douglas county. There Dr. Driver followed farming and stock raising until his health became impaired and then began studying for the ministry, entering upon the work of preaching the gospel in the Umpqua valley in 1857, conducting services in his home. In 1858 he united with the Oregon conference of the Methodist Episcopal church and was first assigned to Jacksonville and later to Eugene, Corvallis, The Dalles and Oregon City. In 1867 he was appointed agent of the American Bible Society for Oregon, Washington, Montana and Idaho, in which connection he traveled throughout the northwest for the purpose of locating preachers for the distribution of the Bible, and in accomplishing his work he met with many dangers and difficulties but never suffered serious injury. In 1867 he was called upon to mourn the loss of his wife, who passed away leaving five children, of whom three survive, one residing in Oregon, another in Washington and the third in California. In 1871, in Eugene, Dr. Driver was united in marriage to Leanna Iles, whose demise occurred seven months later. He became a presiding elder over the Oregon Conference of the Methodist Episcopal church and after serving for a period of seven years as agent for the American Bible Society he resigned and made a trip to the east, where he wedded Anna Northrup. He returned with his bride to Oregon and was appointed presiding elder of the Salem district, which office he filled for two years. In 1875 death again entered his household, removing therefrom his wife, who had become the mother of a daughter, Anna, who is now Mrs. Hemphill, living near Stockton, California.
 
In 1876 he was assigned to Monroe, Oregon, and in the following year he was wedded Mary E. Williams, who was born in Illinois, February 18, 1851, a daughter of Smith and Irenia (Jones) Williams, the former a native of Indiana and the latter of Illinois. The father was a farmer by occupation and in 1852 he crossed the plains from Illinois to Oregon, locating in Linn county, where he took up land east of the present site of Lebanon. This property he later sold and purchased land near Halsey, which he continued to operate throughout his remaining years. He passed away in 1870 at the age of forty-two years and the mother survived him for many years, her demise occurring in January. 1899. when she was sixty-nine years of age. To Dr. and Mrs. Driver were born eight children, namely: Grace Irene, Royal D., Livingston, Lena, Wiley A.. Paul S., Ralph A. and Frances E.
 
After his fifth marriage Dr. Driver preached the gospel at Brownsville and Eugene and for four years was presiding elder of the latter district. In 1883 he purchased a farm of one hundred and thirty-five acres near Eugene but did not engage in its active operation, the work being conducted by his sons, who also engaged very successfully in raising pure bred Clydesdale horses. Jersey cattle and Berkshire hogs. They continued to cultivate that farm for a period of twenty-five years, transforming it into a valuable and well improved property.
 
In 1886 Dr. Driver was assigned to the Centenary church at Portland, Oregon, where he accomplished much good. For over fifty years he was an earnest and faithful student of divine truths and was greatly assisted in his research work by his large library, which includes the original translation of the anti-Nicene library from Christ down through all the Apostolic Epistles. He became known as one of the most noted authorities on the Bible in the country, and in 1889 when the Secular Union in session in Chicago issued a challenge to Protestant denominations to meet them in open discussion, comparing Christianity with secularism, the Rev. Dwight L. Moody induced Dr. Driver to accept the challenge. As Dr. Moody's representative he met Charles Watts, Esq., of Toronto, Canada, the champion of free thought, in a four nights' discussion at the Princess theater in Chicago. Dr. Driver devoted over fifty years to research work in order that he might meet the arguments of infidels and agnostics and he gained recognition as an eminent theologian. Charles Watts was the editor of Secular Thought and the associate of Charles Bradlaugh and George J. Holyoke, and he was known as the foremost debater in the "free field". For three months Dr. Driver remained in Chicago, attending Dr. Moody's School of Churches, and his work in connection with Bible teaching was of great worth and lasting benefit.
 
On returning to Oregon he was appointed general agent to build the Portland Hospital, which he accomplished at an expense of one hundred thousand dollars, soliciting the subscriptions and purchasing the land. In 1906 he purchased a farm of three hundred and fifty-three acres one and a half miles south of Tangent, upon which he spent his remaining years. He passed away at the advanced age of eighty-three years but for two years prior to his demise had been in failing health as the result of his untiring and zealous labors in behalf of the Christian religion. He was a noted lecturer and writer and a strong and eloquent speaker, imbued with a firm belief in the doctrines which he taught, and as a debater he attained nation-wide prominence, having as his opponents Robert G. Ingersoll and other well known agnostics. In his political views Dr. Driver was a republican and fraternally he was a Mason, holding membership in the Royal Arch Chapter, of which for many years he served as chaplain, and in his life he exemplified the beneficent teachings of the order. He influenced many into choosing the better path of life and his good work goes on in the lives of those who came under his ministry. His name will ever be an honored one in the annals of the state and nation, and of him it may well be said: "The world is better for his having lived in it."
 
Mrs. Driver and her sons are still residing upon the home farm, and in connection with its operation they also conduct a dairy, their interests being most successfully managed. Paul S. and Ralph A., the younger sons in the family, rendered valuable aid to the country during the World war, the former serving in the navy and the latter in the army, and they are proving worthy sons of their distinguished father.

History of Oregon: Volume III
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Fergueson, John

John B. Fergueson, an Oregon pioneer of 1847, was born in Richland county, Ohio, in 1825.  His father, Samuel Fergueson, was a native of Pennsylvania, and passed his boyhood upon a farm; in early manhood he moved to Ohio, and was married in 1812 to Miss Jane Bouser.  In 1826 they moved to Illinois, settling near Quincy, where they lived until 1842; they then moved to Andrew county, Missouri, and Mr. Fergueson reclaimed a farm from the natives wilds, passing the remainder of his life there.  John B. Fergueson was married April 13, 1846, to Miss May Waldroup, and they lived with the parents during the lifetime of the latter.  In the spring of 1847 they started to Oregon with one wagon, six yoke of oxen and four cows; they arrived at the Dalles, after a comfortable trip, "without loosing a hoof."  They were met by Samuel and Jesse Fergueson, pioneers of 1844, and continued by river to Portland, the cattle being driven by the trail.  At Portland they again yoked up the oxen, and traveling overland to Tualatin plains, where they passed the winter.  In the summer of 1848 they went up the Willamette valley, and in the fall Mr. Fergueson located a claim of 640 acres, five miles west of Junction City.  He engaged in general farming and stock-raising, and has one of the best improved ranches in that section.  He also owns 480 acres in adjoining localities; 200 acres are cultivated to grain, and the rest of the land is well stocked with sheep and cattle.  In 1854 he drove cattle to eastern Oregon, and for twelve years followed the live-stock trade in that locality, making frequent trips to the Willamette valley, crossing the Cascade mountains by several trails, and fully as many trips by the Columbia river.

Mrs. Fergueson died in April, 1879, leaving a family of six children: John S., Sarah J., wife of Martin Trivet; Joseph H.; Mary a., wife of Joel Pitney; Martha E., wife of Morris Allen; and Thomas Jefferson.  Mr. Fergueson was married again in 1880, to Miss Elizabeth Hinton, a native of Oregon and a daughter of Thompson Hinton, a pioneer of 1846; they have one child, a daughter, named Josephine.  Mr. Fergueson is a member of Monroe Lodge, No. 49, A F. & A. M.  He has served one term as Commissioner of Lane county, but has given little attention to politics.  He has been devoted to the interest of the farm and of stock-raising; and has met with more than ordinary success; he is now living in the enjoyment of the fruits of his labors.

An Illustrated History of The State of Oregon
Rev. H. K. Hines, D. D.
The Lewis Publishing Company; 1893

Fisher, Charles

CHARLES H. FISHER

Charles H. Fisher has devoted his entire life to the newspaper business and in this field of endeavor has won success. He is now one of the proprietors of the Eugene Daily Guard, which ranks among the oldest newspapers of the state, having been founded as a weekly in 1866. Mr. Fisher was born in Clay county, South Dakota, August 28, 1865, a son of Jesse L. and Mary L. (Turner) Fisher. The father was an honored veteran of the Civil war. He enlisted in a Michigan regiment and after serving for some time was discharged on account of disability. He afterward went to North Dakota and in 1877 came to Oregon, taking up his abode in Roseburg, where he was engaged in various enterprises during the balance of his life, following farming, merchandising and milling. He resided in Roseburg until his death, which occurred in 1905. The mother survived him for five years, passing away in 1910.

Charles H. Fisher was twelve years of age at the time of the removal of his parents to this state and he attended the public schools of Roseburg, completing his education in the State University of Oregon. It was while attending that institution that he entered upon his journalisic career, being elected editor of the old Laurean Literary Society. After leaving the university Mr. Fisher taught school for a brief time and then with his meager savings purchased control of a little paper at Oakland, which he called the Umpqua Herald. After conducting this paper for a year or two he sought other fields of operation and went to Roseburg, Oregon, where he formed a partnership with Fred Flood for the publication of the Herald, which is said to have been the first semi-weekly published in the state. This was about 1887. Some time later the Herald was consolidated with the Review, at which time Mr. Fisher disposed of his interest therein, but later repurchased the journal. It was in the early days of the consolidated Review, when they were building it up first into a semi-weekly and then into a daily, that Mr. Fisher says he did his best journalistic work, and it was here that he gained confidence in his own ability to go into any town and publish a paper that the people would have to read. It is to this quality that he attributes his constant success. In 1896 the Review became a daily and soon afterward Mr. Fisher, retaining his interest, went to Boise, Idaho, for his health. There he organized a stock company and started the Evening Capital News, of which he became editor. Like all the other Fisher papers, this soon took hold and is today one of the leading dailies of Idaho. Upon regaining his health Mr. Fisher disposed of his Roseburg and Boise interests and purchased the Eugene Guard, which he conducted for a few years and then sold. He subsequently purchased the Salem Capital Journal, which he conducted very successfully, greatly increasing its circulation and installing modern equipment. While still at Salem Mr. Fisher, in association with J. E. Shelton, purchased the Eugene Guard, of which Mr. Shelton took charge, Mr. Fisher remaining in Salem until he disposed of the Journal, since which time he has devoted his attention to the conduct of the Guard in association with his partner, Mr. Fisher acting as editor of the paper, while Mr. Shelton has charge of the business details. The partners are men of broad experience in the newspaper field and the Guard is conceded to be one of the best papers in this section of the state. Its plant is thoroughly modern, equipped with all the latest presses and machinery, including three linotype machines, and it Is a most interesting and valuable journal to the community in which it is published. Its news is always accurate and reliable and it has therefore gained a large circulation, which makes it a valuable advertising medium.

Mr. Fisher married Miss Effie Owens and they have many friends in Eugene and vicinity. He is one of the regents of the State University of Oregon and his fraternal connections are with the Knights of Pythias, the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the Woodmen of the World. His political allegiance is given to the democratic party and in religious faith he is a Baptist. He has won success in the journalistic field through the wise utilization of time and opportunity and he has ever held to the highest standards of newspaper publication, his aid and influence being always on the side of advancement and improvement.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Frazer, George

George N. Frazer, proprietor of the Eugene Iron Works, was born in Brockport, Monroe county, New York, in 1851, a son of James Scott and Sarah Ann (Kenworthy) Frazier.  The parents were natives of Oldham, England, and the father was a molder by trade.  Emigrating to America they located in Monroe county, New York, where Mr. Frazer built a foundry; he also operated a stove store and butcher shop, which enterprises were the beginning of the town of Brockport.  He continued in business there until 1858, when on account of reverses, he sold out and removed to San Francisco.  In this city he followed his trade, with some mining speculations until 1870, and then moved to Portland, Oregon; he was accidentally drowned in the fall of 1872.

The education of George N. Frazer was very limited, as at the age of twelve years he began learning the trade of his father had followed through life.  He served his apprenticeship in the old San Francisco Iron Works and in the old Oregon Iron Works.  In 1871 he and his father rented the Eagle Iron Works at Portland, and their first contract was for the iron work for the Clackamas river railroad bridge below Oregon City.  Our subject afterward established the Pioneer Brass Foundry in Portland, which was destroyed in the great fire.  After this calamity he formed a partnership with W. J. Zimmerman, and they put in operation the iron works, and in 1875, removed to Ashland; here they operated a foundry until 1879, removing in that year to Roseburg.  In 1886 Mr. Frazer disposed of his interests in the business, and went to Eugene where in partnership with J. C. Long he started the Eugene Iron Works; at the end of the first year Mr. Long retired, and Mr. Frazer has since conducted the business alone.  The factory is well equipped with all the modern machinery necessary for the most delicate casting to those of six thousands pounds in weight.  There are no foundries south of Eugene, consequently the patronage is drawn from a wide territory.

Mr. Frazer was married in Ashland in 1877, to Miss Ella E. Jackson, a native of California.  Two children have been born to them: George N. Jr., and Arthur L. J.  The family reside on Fifth street, between Olive and Charnelton streets, where they have a pleasant home.  Mr. Frazer owns other valuable town property.  He is a member of the I. O. O. F., and has a host of friends in both business and social circles.

An Illustrated History of The State of Oregon
Rev. H. K. Hines, D. D.
The Lewis Publishing Company; 1893

Freeland, Howard

HOWARD B. FREELAND

Howard B. Freeland, one of the proprietors of the Springfield News, published at Springfield, Lane county, was born in Norfolk, Nebraska, May 17, 1894. He is a son of Henry P. and Helen M. (Buffington) Freeland, the former a native of Greene county, Indiana, while the latter was born in Le Mars, Iowa. The father went west to Nebraska and in that state worked at his trade of harness-making until 1905, when he went to Colorado and there resided until the spring of 1907, at which time he came to Oregon, locating at Salem, where he still resides. The mother also survives.

Howard B. Freeland was eleven years of age when he accompanied his parents on their removal westward to Greeley, Colorado, and his education was acquired in the schools of that city, in Nebraska and in Salem, Oregon. After his textbooks were laid aside he learned the printer's trade in the office of the Statesman and he continued to follow that trade in various parts of the state until September S, 1919, when he purchased an interest in the Springfield News. In November of that year he admitted Samuel H. Taylor as a partner in the enterprise and they have since conducted the News. They have built up a fine newspaper, and they are owners of a thoroughly modern printing plant, equipped with all the latest presses and machinery, including a linotype machine. They do a large job business, including considerable work for the county, and in the conduct of their business have ever followed the most progressive and enterprising methods.

On the 15th of June, 1919, Mr. Freeland was united in marriage to Miss Leda Mae Henderson, a daughter of James and Myrtle (Barnes) Henderson, residents of Salem, Oregon. Mr. Freeland enlisted for service in the World war on the 28th of April, 1917, and was stationed at Vancouver Barracks with the Fourth Engineers, but owing to sickness was discharged on the 28th of November of the same year. He is a member of the American Legion and his political allegiance is given to the republican party. He was reared in the faith of the Methodist Episcopal church. He is patriotic and public-spirited and is greatly interested in the development of his community, to which he has largely contributed through the medium of his paper, and his worth as a man and citizen is widely acknowledged.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Gates, Daniel

JUDGE DANIEL L. GATES.

The life of Daniel L. Gates is a story of one well spent in the upbuilding of his native state and in the advancement of the interests of his fellow citizens. He was born in Lane county, Oregon, May 7, 1857, a son of John and Sarah E. (Grice) Gates. The father was born in the blue grass section of Kentucky, coming of a family of early pioneers of that state. The mother was a native of Maryland and a member of the Grice family, whose names are frequently met on the pages of Maryland's history.

John Gates first came to Oregon in 1849, the journey being made by ox team across the plains. After a stay of two years he returned to the east by way of the Isthmus, but in a short time he again drove his team across the plains to Oregon and settled in Lane county. In 1859, shortly after the creation of Wasco county, he located there and for the succeeding thirteen years he was engaged in the stock business, at which he was quite a success. It was in 1872 that Mr. Gates moved his family to The Dalles. His wife died in 1860.

Daniel L. Gates was educated in schools of The Dalles and entered the sawmill business early in life, continuing in that line until 1886, when he became deputy sheriff of Wasco county. In 1890 he received the democratic nomination for sheriff, and although the county was strongly republican he was elected by a substantial majority, an evidence of the esteem in which he was held. His term of office is on record as being one of the most efficient the county has ever had.


In 1894 Mr. Gates purchased a large tract of timber land near Cascade Locks and went into the lumber trade. He also became interested in salmon business, operating two wheels on the Columbia river, and for a period conducted a mercantile business at Cascade Locks. During his stay in the latter place he was interested in the Cascade Locks Water Company, serving as secretary for a time. In 1910 he returned to The Dalles, where he had continuously maintained his residence, and for a period rested from business activities, but a man like Judge Gates is never permitted to fully retire, so in 1917 he was prevailed on to emerge from his retirement and accept the office of city recorder and he is now serving the people in that office with the same efficiency that has marked every movement of his business career.

In October, 1889, Judge Gates was married to Miss Alice DeHuff, of Portland, whose parents were also pioneers oŁ this state. Three children have been born to Judge and Mrs. Gates, namely: Harold DeHuff and Albert L., of The Dalles, who are connected with the Motor Service Company, in which they are stockholders; and a daughter, Ruth, who died in 1914.

Judge Gates is a member of the Knights of Pythias and has filled all the chairs in that order. He is also a member of the Woodmen of the World; the Elks; and the Masonic order, being a Knight Templar and he will encase his feet in ice and cross the hot sands of the desert with the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is popular with all classes of citizens and has ever taken a prominent part in all movements intended to promote the welfare of the people among whom he has spent his entire life.

History of Oregon: Volume III
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Handsaker, Samuel

SAMUEL HANDSAKER

In the death of Samuel Handsaker at his home in Eugene on the 5th of October, 1909, Oregon lost one of her honored pioneers, for he had come to this state in 1853. He was a native of England, his birth having occurred in Derbyshire on the 19th of November, 1831. His parents, Thomas and Mary (Faulkner) Handsaker, were also natives of England and the father, who was a carpenter by trade, passed his entire life in that country. After his demise the mother, In company with other members of the family, crossed the Atlantic to the United States in 1843. They settled near Alton, Illinois, and there the mother passed away in 1854.

Samuel Handsaker was but twelve years of age when the family emigrated to America, and in 1853, when a young man of twenty-two years, he decided to try his fortune in the west and crossed the plains with ox teams to Oregon, experiencing all of the dangers, privations and hardships endured by the early pioneers. He located in Douglas county and there took up a donation claim, which he improved and cultivated for about seven years. He then turned his attention to the butchering business, which he followed at Oakland, Oregon, for about five years. In 1871 he removed to Lane county and purchased a ferryboat and a stock of general merchandise at Lowell, conducting both enterprises until about 1880, when he disposed of his interests in that locality and purchased a farm of about two hundred acres near Dexter. He greatly improved the property and continued to cultivate his land until ill health compelled him to seek a change of occupation. Going to Pleasant Hill, Lane county, he there operated a store for a few years and subsequently spent some time on the coast. Upon his return to Pleasant Hill he again engaged in the general merchandise business for a few years, but ill health once more compelled him to give up active business life and he sold his store and took up his residence in Eugene, where he lived retired until his death, which occurred at his home at No. 630 Twelfth avenue, East, on the 5th of October, 1909, when he was seventy-eight years of age. He had served in the Indian war of 1856-7 and there was no phase of Indian fighting with which he was not familiar.

On the 27th of November, 1856, Mr. Handsaker was united in marriage to Miss Sarah J. Cannon, who was born in Lake county, Indiana, December 15, 1837, her parents being Samuel and Susanna (Eyler) Cannon, natives of Ohio. Her father was a farmer by occupation and in 1854 he crossed the plains with ox teams to Oregon, becoming one of the early pioneers of this state. His first location was in Douglas county, where he operated a farm for a short time and then removed to Lane county, taking up land which he improved and operated until the time of his death, which occurred in May, 1884, when he had reached the age of eighty years. He had long survived the mother, who passed away in 1854. To Mr. and Mrs. Handsaker were born nine children: Julia E., who died in January, 1871; George W., a resident of Portland. Oregon; Mary S., the widow of H. D. Edwards, who died in 1917; Edward B., whose home is in Veneta, Oregon; Martha, the wife of John Guiley, a resident of Dexter, Oregon; Luella, who married W. L. Bristow and resides at Pleasant Hill, Oregon; Henrietta, the wife of P. N. Laird, a resident of Jasper, Oregon; Thomas S., who is a minister of the Christian church and is now residing at San Diego, California; and John J., whose home is in Portland, Oregon.

Mr. Handsaker gave his political allegiance to the republican party and his religious faith was indicated by his attendance upon the services of the Christian church. Coming to Oregon in 1853, when the country was wild and undeveloped and the Indians far outnumbered the white settlers, he lived to see many changes and bore his full share in the work of general improvement and development. His life was one of diligence and determination and these qualities enabled him to overcome all obstacles and difficulties in his path and advance steadily toward the goal of success. He ever stood for progress and improvement along the lines of material, intellectual and moral development and his demise was the occasion of deep regret not only to his immediate family but to many friends, for he was a man whose sterling worth and excellent traits of character had gained for him the goodwill and friendship of all with whom he came into contact. Mrs. Handsaker still owns the home farm but resides with her daughter. Mrs. Edwards, at No. 690 Fourteenth avenue. East, in Eugene and is one of the honored pioneer residents of this part of the state.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Harris, John

JOHN W. HARRIS, M. D.

Dr. John W. Harris, whose scientific skill combined with his ready sympathy, endeared him to the hearts of his fellowmen and made him the loved family physician In many a household in Eugene and throughout the surrounding country, passed away June 6, 1918, at the age of sixty-four years. His life was actuated by high and honorable principles, and his course was ever directed along lines which commanded the respect and confidence of his fellowmen, including his colleagues and contemporaries in the profession.

Dr. Harris was born in Russellville, Indiana, March 2, 1854, a son of Rev. John M. and Jane (Wilson) Harris, both natives of Kentucky. The father was born April 1, 1803, and was a minister of the Christian church and in an early day he crossed the plains, preaching the gospel for a time in California. During the later period of his life he was for the greater part of the time a resident of the state of Oregon and his death occurred in Eugene, November 3, 1881, while the mother passed away near Cottage Grove, Lane county, about 1880.

Dr. Harris was reared and received his early education in Monmouth, Oregon. He followed farming for a time and also engaged in teaching school and subsequently took up the study of dentistry and also that of medicine, but was obliged to discontinue his studies, owing to ill health, and to resume the occupation of farming. In 1880 he became a student in a medical school at San Francisco, California, and completed his professional studies in the medical school of the State University of Oregon at Portland, from which he was graduated about 1883 with the M. D. degree. He first engaged in practice at Cottage Grove, Oregon, but later temporarily abandoned that pursuit, owing to ill health, and for four years was connected with the drug business at Eugene. At the end of that period he resumed the practice of medicine, opening an office in Eugene, where he continued in practice to the time of his death, which occurred on the 6th of June, 1918, when, he was sixty-four years of age. For four years he served as county coroner, ably and conscientiously discharging the duties of that office. A broad student and a deep thinker, his efforts were of the greatest value to his patients, for he was seldom, if ever, at fault in the diagnosis of a case and his sound judgment and careful study enabled him to do most excellent professional work.

On the 6th of June, 1875, Dr. Harris wedded Miss Mary R. Shortridge, a daughter of James H. and Amelia S. (Adams) Shortridge, both natives of Indiana. In 1852 her parents crossed the plains to Oregon and took up land about six miles from Cottage Grove, the mother being the first white woman in that part of the country. They continued to improve and operate their farm until 1908, when, having acquired a competence sufficient for their needs, they moved to Cottage Grove, and there passed their remaining days in the enjoyment of a well earned rest. The father whose birth occurred July I8, 1831, passed away October 26, 1916, at the venerable age of eighty-five years, while the mother died July 31, 1919, when in her eighty-fourth year. She was born February 12, 1835. Their daughter, Mrs. Harris, was born near Cottage Grove, November 22, 1857, and by her marriage she became the mother of four children: Dr. M. C, the eldest, is a well known dentist of Eugene; Edith M. is the widow of Louis C. Martin, and a resident of Portland; Edna O. is the wife of R. Claude Gray. who is connected with the First National Bank of Eugene; and George W., the youngest member of the family, is a senior in the State University at Eugene. On the 15th of July, 191S, he enlisted in the medical department of the navy and is still in the service. Dr. Harris was a member of the Oregon State and Lane County Medical Societies and for some time served as secretary of the latter organization. His fraternal connections were with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Ancient Order of United Workmen. His political allegiance was given to the republican party and his religious faith was indicated by his membership in the Christian church. Dr. Harris was a broad-minded man whose opinions were sound and who placed no fictitious value upon the things of life. He stood firmly for what he believed to be the best interests of the community at large, while he was ever most careful to conform his practice to the highest ethical standards of the medical profession. His life was ever guided by high ideals, making him a man among men - strong in his ability to plan and perform and honored for his good work and his good name.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Henderson, John

JOHN LELAND HENDERSON

John Leland Henderson, attorney at law at Tillamook city, is descended from distinguished American ancestry in both paternal and maternal lines, the names of his ancestors appearing in the history of this country from the earliest colonial days. His birth occurred in Boston, Massachusetts, in 1851, and he is a son of John and Catherine (Leland) Henderson, the former a native of Indiana. The grandfather, also named John, was one of the most distinguished lawyers of the south and was a contemporary of Clay, Calhoun and Webster. For many years he served his state in the United States senate and Daniel Webster is said to have remarked of him that Senator Henderson was without doubt the best land lawyer in America. His son John, the father of John Leland Henderson, was associated with him in connection with the legal profession.  Like his father he was a man of strong convictions and had numerous friends and enemies. During one of the political riots at the time of reconstruction in the south, he was shot while in the streets of New Orleans in February, 1866, and passed away soon afterward. The American founder of the Leland family was Henry Leland, an English gentleman, who came to this country in 1652, and our subject is a direct descendant through his son Ebenezer of Sherburne and his son Phineas Eleazer of Grafton. A grand aunt of Mr. Henderson's was Abigail Leland, who married Millard Fillmore, later president of the United States. A great aunt, Elvira Leland, married Charles Coolidge and became the great-grandmother of Calvin Coolidge, now serving as vice president of the United States. The mother of Mr. Henderson was a daughter of Judge Sherman Leland, who was for many years probate judge of Norfolk county, Massachusetts, and a member of both house and senate of the state. He was widely recognized as a representative member of the legal profession and as a citizen was always interested in any movement for the development and improvement of the general welfare. Mrs. Henderson was a woman of superior education and for many years, both before and after her marriage, was a teacher of several languages, being able to speak and write them fluently.

Until 1865 John Leland Henderson received his education by use of a fine library, together with instruction from his mother, who was his sole tutor till he entered the Jesuit College of New Orleans, Louisiana. Later he was a student in a military school at Brattleboro, Vermont, and was also for some time enrolled in Cornell University, but upon the completion of his freshman year there took up the profession of teaching on the Pacific coast. In 1870 he came to Oregon, locating in Portland, where he engaged in surveying. In 1871 he taught his first school in Eugene and afterward taught in other places in the Willamette valley. In 1879 he moved to Olympia, Washington, teaching in the Collegiate Institution. In 1891 he went to Bay St. Louis, Mississippi, where his ancestors had lived and there he studied law, being admitted to the bar in 1893. He engaged in the practice of his profession there and also conducted an abstract business until 1898, when he returned to Oregon and was admitted to practice before the bar of this state. He located in Hood River, where he resumed his practice, remaining there for eleven years, when he returned to Portland. In 1911 he located in Tillamook, where he has since resided and has gained recognition as a representative member of the legal profession throughout the state. The zeal with which he has devoted his energies to his profession, the careful regard evinced tor the interests of his clients and an assiduous and unrelaxing attention to all the details of his cases have brought him a large business and made him very successful in its conduct. In addition to his professional interests he is secretary and treasurer of the Tillamook Title & Abstract Company, one of the most complete plants of its kind in the state.

In 1873 occurred the marriage of Mr. Henderson and Miss Harriet E. Humphrey, a member of one of Oregon's representative pioneer families, and they became the parents of the following living children: Leland J., a successful engineer of Columbus, Georgia, and the father of the famous Dixie Highway, of which he is president; Louis A., who is a graduate of the University of Oregon and served for fourteen months as captain of engineers in France during the World war; Edwin A., a journalist of Seattle, Washington; Sidney E., a mining engineer, whose home is in Oklahoma and who married Lucia, the only daughter of President P. L. Campbell of the University of Oregon; and Faith, the wife of E. H. Rueppell of Portland. In 1897 Mr. Henderson married Marian I. Grimes of Rapids Parish, Louisiana, and two children have been born to this union: Robert Lynn and William E. The elder son served with the marines during the World war and William joined the navy, making a fine record in the naval school. He is now associated with his father in the operation of a one hundred and sixty acre ranch, located at Sugar Loaf Peak in Tillamook county. Mr. Henderson takes particular pride in his six grandchildren and two great-grandchildren and expects to live to see his great-great-grandchildren.

Fraternally Mr. Henderson is an Odd Fellow and Knight of Pythias, and he has filled all the chairs in both organizations. He is likewise a Mason, having attained the degrees in the chapter and council, and he is an exemplary member of that order. He has always been a great athlete and although he is now nearing the seventy mark, every Sunday he walks to his ranch, a distance of seven miles, where he works all day returning home on foot in the evening. He holds many records as a swimmer and while living in Hood River in 1908 swam the Columbia river from Hood River to Cascade locks, a distance of twenty-two miles. Mr. Henderson's life has been one of continuous activity and he has attained success in every undertaking whether along the line of his profession or in business circles. During the ten years of his residence in Tillamook he has made many friends who appreciate his sterling characteristics and genuine personal worth, and he is readily conceded to be a representative citizen of Oregon.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Hicks, William

WILLIAM WOLF HICKS, M. D.

Dr. William Wolf Hicks, a man of advanced scientific attainments, who since April, 1909, has been engaged in the practice of medicine and surgery at Junction City, was born at Ligonier, Indiana, July 21, 1872, a son of William R. and Barbara E. (Wolf) Hicks, the former a native of Yorkshire, England, while the latter was born in Ohio. The father was brought to America by his parents when but eight years of age and in the schools of this country he pursued his education. During the Civil war he proved his loyalty and devotion to his adopted country by enlisting as a member of the One Hundred and Sixty-fourth Ohio Infantry, with which he served for over four years, participating in many hotly contested battles and enduring many hardships and privations. After the close of the war he went to Indiana and there followed his trade of carpenter, builder and cabinet-maker for several years, subsequently purchasing land which he cleared and developed, erecting thereon substantial barns and outbuildings and converting it into a valuable property, which he operated the remainder of his life. He became a man of prominence in his community and was several times called to public office. He passed away in March, 1913, at the age of seventy years, while the mother's demise occurred in September, 1902, when she was fifty-nine years of age.

William W. Hicks attended the district schools in Indiana and later pursued a preparatory course in Wittenberg College at Springfield, Ohio, after which he entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Cincinnati, where he was a student for three years, completing his fourth year in the study of medicine at the State University of California at Los Angeles. Actuated by the laudable desire to obtain a good education, Dr. Hicks worked his way through college and when he arrived in Oregon on the 8th day of July, 1902, his cash capital consisted of but twenty dollars, of which amount ten dollars was required for the state examination. After his admission to practice he went to La Fayette, Yamhill county, Oregon, and there he opened an office, but remained only for a period of four months and then went to Ashland, Oregon, where he practiced until 1905. For the next two years he followed his profession at St. Johns, Oregon, and then went to Silverton, there maintaining an office until 1909. In that year he went to San Francisco and completed a postgraduate course of six months in the College of Physicians & Surgeons, thus promoting his proficiency in his profession. In April, 1909, he located for practice in Junction City, where he has remained. His long practice and his close study have developed a high degree of efficiency that places him in the front rank among the able physicians and surgeons of his section of the state and his practice is now extensive and of a most important character. He is local surgeon for the Southern Pacific Railroad Company and has ever kept in touch with the trend of modern professional thought, research and investigation through wide reading and study. Dr. Hicks has not limited his attention to his professional activities, but is a man of excellent business qualifications, identified with many of the leading mercantile interests of his section of the state, being a stockholder in the Lane County Fruit Growers Association, the Pacific States Fire Insurance Company and the Junction City Warehouse Company. He also has extensive property holdings, being the owner of a valuable ranch of one hundred and eighty-four acres and another comprising one hundred and eighty-six acres, both in Lane county. They are well improved farms and he is now leasing them and he is likewise the owner of city property, which he leases. He owns the building in which his office is situated and also his residence, which consists of eight rooms and is one of the finest and most modern homes in Junction City. He has great faith in the future of this state, which he has clearly demonstrated by his extensive investments in real estate, in which he has met with an unusual degree of success and has been instrumental in inducing several families from his home state to locate in this region. He is thoroughly familiar with the topography of the state and the countless opportunities here offered to the man of energy, ability and determination, and has made several trips over the state, traversing the country with teams before the era of the automobile, greatly appreciating the wonderful scenic beauty of Oregon.

On the 28th of January, 1917, Dr. Hicks was united in marriage to Miss Katherine E. Swank and they have a large circle of friends in the city where they reside. The Doctor is a republican in his political views and has ever been interested in the welfare and progress of his community, serving as a member of the town council. His religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Christian church, and his professional connections are with the Oregon State and Central Willamette Medical Societies and the American Medical Association. He is a patriotic and loyal American and while a resident of Indiana was a member of Company C, Indiana State Guard, with which he served for three years. During the recent war with Germany he became a member of the Volunteer Medical Corps, in which connection he rendered most important and valuable service to the country, and he was also active in promoting all local drives. Dr. Hicks is numbered among the self-made men who owe their advancement and prosperity directly to their own efforts, for he started out in life empty-handed and by his perseverance has gained the place which he now occupies as a distinguished member of the medical profession, a progressive and enterprising business man and a patriotic, public-spirited citizen.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Hovey, A. G.

Hon. A.G. Hovey
Eugene, Oregon

A.G. Hovey, son of Captain John and Abigail (Dusten) Hovey, was born at Londonderry, New Hampshire, on the 11th of July, 1830. On his father's side he is connected with a family long known and honored in the New England history, and his mother was a descendant of Mrs. Hannah Dusten, who having seen her husband and child murdered by their Indian captors, made her escape after slaying several of the Indians with their own tomahawks. The mother of the subject of this sketch was a well educated and refined woman, justly celebrated for her kindness of heart and wide charity. The son was one of eight children, and received his education in the historic town of Marietta, Ohio, to which place his father moved when our subject was but a lad.

In 1849 he joined a company of twenty men to cross the plains, and work the gold mines of California. They reached St. Joseph, Mo., safely, but while there four of their number succumbed to the cholera which raged so fiercely among the emigrants at that time. They left St. Joseph in April, and arrived in Sacramento city, Cal., in the following October. They fitted themselves for the mines, and located at Rhodis' Bar on the Cossumnie river during the fall, and later went to the diggings at Longs' Hollow in the Weaver district, where they spent the winter. Young Hovey was not particularly lucky in his mining ventures, and not being attracted by the class of men who made up the community, he embarked for Oregon by steamer from San Francisco, and landed at Portland in October, 1850. He went up the Willamette valley, and after visiting the various towns, located at Corvallis, where he taught the first school, the term commencing in December. He worked for a time for Hon. Wayman St. Clair, the pioneer merchant of the town, and early in 1851 was appointed clerk of the United States District Court for Benton county, by Judge O.C. Pratt, and later was elected county clerk. During his service in the courts Mr. Hovey studies law, and was admitted to the bar in 1853, and later to practice before the Supreme court of the State.

He never entered into the active practice of his profession, however, but moved to his claim near Corvallis, where, from 1853 to 1862, he engaged in farming with considerable success. in 1862 he was elected to the State Senate from Benton county, and served in that capacity until 1867. In 1866 to moved to Portland, Ore., but remained there only one year, and then went to Springfield, in Lane county, where he engaged in milling and mercantile business until 1879. He then removed to Eugene, in the same State, where, two years later, he, with two associates, organized and established the Lane County Bank, the firm being known as Hovey, Humphrey & Co. Mr. Hovey was elected president of the bank at the time of organization, and has held the office up to the present time. He has always taken a deep interest in all enterprises pertaining to the material welfare of the section in which he resides, and has spent considerable time and money in aiding public works, and is now taking a leading part in the construction of a railroad between Eugene and Suislan Coast.

Mr. Hovey was united in marriage in 1853 to Miss Mary Ellen Mulkey, who died in 1861, and three years later he married Miss Emily Humphery. They have three children, two sons and one daughter.

An ardent Republican, Mr. Hovey has always taken a leading part in politics, and has held many offices of honor and trust, among which may be mentioned that of State Senator and mayor of Eugene. He has been selected as a delegate of the National Republican Convention a number of times, and was appointed by President Harrison a member of the board of visitors to the annual examinations at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point in 1892. He has taken a great interest in educational institutions, and was recently appointed a member of the board of regents of the Oregon State University, of which he has been treasurer for many years. A man of strong convictions, he is positive in his character and incorruptible integrity. He is an intelligent, useful citizen, and justly takes rank as one of Oregon's leading and representative men.

A Biographical History with Portraits of Prominent Men of the Great West
Manhattan Publishing Company, Chicago, Illinois, 1894
Contributed by Shauna Williams
Jones, Walter

HON. WALTER B. JONES.

Hon. Walter B. Jones, a prominent attorney of Eugene and representative from Lane county to the upper house of the general assembly, was born in Waupaca county, Wisconsin, November 5, 1879, a son of George G. and Adeline (Rogers) Jones, also natives of the Badger state. The father followed farming in Wisconsin until about 1891, when he came west and is now living retired near Portland, Oregon. The mother passed away in July, 1918.

Walter B. Jones acquired his preliminary education in the schools of his native state and after completing the work of the grades engaged in teaching school during the winter months, while through the summer season he pursued the study of law, thus continuing for three years. He then became a student in the University of Wisconsin at Madison, working his way through that institution, and later pursued a night course in law at the University of Minnesota. In 1907 he was admitted to the bar in Minnesota and subsequently went to Spokane, Washington, where he became connected with the Diamond Ice & Fuel Company, remaining with that firm for a period of three years. In September, 1910, he came to Oregon, opening a law office in Eugene, where he has since followed his profession, and has won a place among the leading attorneys of his part of the state. He is a strong and able advocate, presenting his cause clearly and forcefully and applying legal principles with accuracy. He has built up a good clientele during his ten years' residence in Eugene and is the possessor of a valuable law library. In addition to his law practice Mr. Jones has important business interests, being secretary and treasurer of the John-Jones Coal Company of Coos county and one of the directors of the American Universal Implement Company of Portland.

On the 26th of December, 1903, Mr. Jones was united in marriage to Miss Susie B. Seaver and they have become the parents of six children, four of whom are deceased: Walter B., Jr., died in Spokane, Washington, in 1907; Rodman died in September, 1920; while two died in infancy. Those who survive are Marjorie and George.

In politics Mr. Jones is a republican and in 1917 his fellow townsmen, appreciative of his worth and ability, called him to public office as representative from Lane county to the lower house of the general assembly. That his services in this connection were entirely satisfactory to his constitutents is indicated in the fact that in 1919 he elected to represent his county in the state senate, of which he is proving an able member, giving earnest and thoughtful consideration to all the vital questions which come up for settlement. He likewise received the appointment of juvenile officer and served in that capacity for four years. Mr. Jones is also prominent in fraternal circles, holding membership in the Masonic order, the Indepedent Order of Odd Fellows, the Woodmen of the World and the Knights of Pythias, and he attends the Methodist Episcopal church. For six years he served as secretary of the Lane County Fair Association and thus in many ways has substantially contributed to the development and upbuilding of his city, county and state. Mr. Jones deserves great credit for what he has accomplished in life, for he is a self-made man who through his own efforts secured a college education, and wisely utilizing each opportunity for advancement is now entitled to classification with the leading attorneys and representative citizens of his section of the state.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922

Johnston, Clyde

Clyde N. Johnston, district attorney for Lane county, to which office he was elected in the November, 1920, election, is justly classed with the able lawyers of Oregon. He was born in Logan, Hocking county, Ohio, September 19, 1886, a son of Thomas and Josephine (Iles) Johnston, also natives of the Buckeye state. The father was likewise an attorney, who in the early days became a resident of Fostoria, Ohio, where he engaged in the practice of his profession during the remainder of his life, winning a place of distinction at the bar of the state. He passed away in November, 1913, but the mother survives.

Clyde N. Johnston was reared and educated at Fostoria, Ohio, and subsequently entered the law school of the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, from which he was graduated with the class of 1908 with the LL. B. degree. He then became associated with his father in practice at Fostoria, thus continuing for one year, and in 1909 came west to Oregon. For a year he taught school at Cove, Union county, and in 1910 and 1911 was in the employ of the Union Meat Company at Portland. He was assistant principal of the high school at Eugene from 1911 until 1915 and in the latter year removed to Junction City, where he opened a law office. He has since practiced his profession in this city and has built up a good clientage, for he has displayed marked ability in the conduct of intricate cases. In November, 1920, he was elected to the office of district attorney for Lane county, for which he was the nominee on both tickets. He is making an excellent record in office, carefully safeguarding the legal interests of his district and at all times proving worthy of the trust reposed in him by his constituents. Since 1915 he has also served in the office of city attorney and is giving excellent satisfaction in that connection, his ability in the line of his profession being widely recognized. He prepares his cases with great earnestness, thoroughness and care, presents his cause clearly and cogently, and by reason of the unmistakable logic of his deductions wins many cases.

On the 9th of September, 1908, Mr. Johnston was united in marriage to Miss Grace Hollopeter, a daughter of Dr. Charles and Eva (Hatfield) Hollopeter. the former a native of Ohio and the latter of Kentucky. The father, who was a physician, followed his profession in Fostoria for a number of years and in 1903 came west to Oregon, opening an office in Portland, where he successfully practiced his profession during his remaining years. He passed away in 1917 and the mother survived him for but a year, her death occurring in 1918. Mr. and Mrs. Johnston have become the parents of two children: Janet, who was born June 7, 1915; and Helen, born April 10, 1918.

Mr. Johnston gives his political allegiance to the republican party and has taken a most active and prominent part in public affairs of his locality, serving for one term as mayor of Junction City, and while a resident of Fostoria, Ohio, he served for eight months as chief executive of the city and also filled the office of justice of the peace. Fraternally he is identified with the Masons, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and along the line of his profession he is identified with the Oregon State Bar Association. His religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Methodist Episcopal church. While residing in Eugene Mr. Johnston devoted his summer vacation periods to work as a member of the Fire Patrol in the interests of the timber association and the government and during his connection with the high school of that city he also acted as athletic director. While the World war was in progress he served as chairman of his committee for several local drives and thus rendered valuable assistance in promoting the work of the government. The activity of Mr. Johnston in relation to the public welfare has thus been of wide scope. He has ever been loyal to any public trust reposed in him and at all times his record has been such as would bear the closest investigation and scrutiny. He has ever conformed his practice to the highest ethical standards of the profession and Lane county numbers him among her most able attorneys and valued citizens.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Kincaid, Harrison

HARRISON RITTENHOUSE KINCAID

The west has produced some of the nation's most virile citizens. Few men of Oregon have been so widely known and highly honored as Harrison Rittenhouse Kincaid, who for sixty-seven years made his home within the borders of the state, and as a journalist exerted a most marked influence upon the development of the commonwealth, aiding in shaping its policy and directing its destiny from an early period. From the driver's seat of an old wagon, directing the course of a team of oxen, he first viewed Oregon, having thus journeyed across the plains with his parents when a youth of seventeen years. For an extended period in his later life he was connected with journalism as the editor and owner of the Oregon State Journal and at various periods was called upon to fill public office, at one time filling the position of secretary of state.

Mr. Kincaid was born at Fall Creek, Indiana, January 3, 1836, and came of Scotch-Irish ancestry in the paternal line. His father was a native of Virginia but removed to Indiana in 1817, the year of the admission of that state into the Union. It was still a frontier district and in the midst of the forest he hewed out a farm and engaged in the development of the fields for many years. His son, Harrison R. Kincaid, was reared on the old homestead there and pursued his early education in the country schools, dividing his time between attendance at school and the work of the fields. In 1853 the family severed the ties that bound them to their Indiana home and started by ox teams across the country to the Willamette valley of Oregon. The difficulties and hardships of the trip were many. They had to carry provisions for the entire way, as there was not a settlement between the Missouri and Oregon City. By slow stages the oxen plodded on over the long stretches of hot sand and across the mountain ranges, H. R. Kincaid driving one of the teams the entire distance. The family settled in Eugene and from that time until his demise Mr. Kincaid made that city his home. He was employed in the mines of southern Oregon in 1855, but the hostility of the Indians caused a discontinuance of operations there and he then walked the entire distance to Crescent City, California, where he cut timber and made rails. Pioneer conditions necessitate much hard labor, but Mr. Kincaid did not falter in his efforts to gain a start in the business world. He worked for a time in the mines and on ranches in the Sierra Nevada mountains and also in the Sacramento valley and following his return to Eugene in 1858 again gave his attention to farm labor for a time.

Prompted by a laudable ambition Mr. Kincaid then entered Columbia College and during the two years of his student life there he was a classmate of Joaquin Miller, Judge J. F. Watson, W. H. Byars, later surveyor general, and others who became leaders in the political and public life of the state. His initial step in the direction of the profession to which he devoted the greater part of his life was made when he entered the office of the People's Press in Eugene, then the leading republican paper of the state. He learned to set type and wrote nearly all of the editorials during the Lincoln and Hamlin campaign and also canvassed the country in support of the republican candidates. Prom that time forward his progress as a newspaper man was continuous. In 1862 he was on the editorial staff of the State Republican and later was thus connected with the Union Crusader. He had gained a wide reputation as an editorial writer even before he issued the first number of the Oregon State Journal, which came from the press on the 12th of March, 1864. A contemporary writer said of him while he was still an active factor in the world's work, in relation to the Journal: "The course pursued by Mr. Kincaid in the conduct of his paper has been one of candor, independence, and consistency. Questions have been considered upon their merits alone, and all personalities and attacks upon the motives and private characters of individuals have been discountenanced." He made the Journal a potent influence for progress in the state along the lines of material, intellectual, social, political and moral progress, and as a private citizen and as an official as well as in his editorial capacity did he seek to promote the public good.

Mr. Kincaid filled various public offices. He was for four years county judge of Lane county and in 1868 became clerk of the United States senate, filling the position for eleven years and at the same time writing a weekly letter and most of the editorials for his paper, besides acting as Washington correspondent for the Oregonian, the Portland Bulletin and other papers of the state. He advocated the remonetization of silver in vigorous editorials in 1877, when no other paper in Oregon was the champion of the cause, and he continued to support the measure throughout his remaining days. He was one of Oregon's six delegates to the republican national convention in Chicago in 1868, when Grant was nominated for his first term, and he was also a delegate from Oregon to the national convention in Philadelphia in 1872, when President Grant was renominated. In 1870 Mr. Kincaid was made the candidate of the republican party for state printer of Oregon and received the largest vote of any man on the ticket, being defeated by his democratic opponent by only four hundred and ninety-three votes. He afterward received the unanimous support of the one hundred and sixty-three delegates in the Lane county republican convention for secretary of state of Oregon, and at the state convention, which met in Portland in April, 1894, he was also the choice of a majority of the delegates and at the succeeding election was chosen for the office, which carried with it the duties of state auditor, state insurance commissioner and member of all the state boards. He entered upon the duties of the position January 14, 1895, for a four years' term and his course fully justified the faith that had been reposed in him by his fellow citizens and members of the party throughout the state. He always opposed class legislation and every scheme to confiscate lands, property or money, whereby any person or. corporation may live upon the savings of others.

On the 29th of September, 1873, Mr. Kincaid was married to Miss Augusta A. Lockwood, a daughter of Stephen and Diana Lockwood, of Macomb county, Michigan, and they became the parents of a son, Webster L., who was born in Eugene, Oregon, September 16, 1883. He was married January 22, 1909, to Dorothy Catherine Hills, a daughter of J. A. Hills, and they have two sons, Harrison R. and Webster L., Jr. Her paternal grandfather was a pioneer of Oregon, having arrived in the state in 1849. Webster L. Kincaid makes his home in Laurelhurst and has his offices in the Henry building in Portland.

Harrison R. Kincaid had become connected with large business interests in both Eugene and Portland and was one of the extensive taxpayers of Lane county. In all business affairs and investments he manifested the same sound judgment that made his opinions upon public questions those of wisdom. Throughout his life he was keenly interested in everything that had to do with the welfare of his city and state. He gave to the University of Oregon its first printing plant and was ever a stalwart champion of the institution. He passed on to a ripe and honorable old age, his death occurring when he was in his eighty-fourth year. His demise was the passing of one whose life constituted a connecting link between the primitive past and the progressive present, and there was no man in all Oregon who contributed in more substantial and effective measure to the progress of the state. Recognizing that the newspaper publisher has a greater scope of influence than most individuals, he was extremely conscientious in expressing his opinions and at all times attempted to follow a constructive policy with regard to the individual and to the commonwealth.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company, Chicago
Portland; 1922
Knox, O. F.

O. F. Knox, a hardware merchant of Cottage Grove, was born in Schuyler county, Missouri, in 1845.  His parents, Samuel B. and Cynthia (Stockton) Knox, were natives of Kentucky and Tennessee, respectively.  Emigrating to Missouri in 1843, Mr. Knox followed farming until 1853, when with his wife and ten children he started for Oregon.  His outfit consisted of four wagons, sixteen yoke of oxen, 100 head of loose cattle and several fine mares.  The trip was successfully accomplished, losing very few cattle, and landing in the Willamette valley, by the Barlow route, in September.  Spending the first winter at Lebanon, in the spring of 1854 he came to Lane county and bought a claim of 160 acres, two miles east of Cottage Grove, to which he afterward added more than a thousand acres.  He engaged in the live-stock trade, and made a specialty of raising fine horses.  In 1876 Mrs. Knox died and he divided his property among his children, with whom he is passing the closing years of his life.  O. F. Knox was educated in the common schools, at Willamette University and at Monmouth College, Polk county, where he graduated in 1871.  He lived with his parents until 1873, when he was married in Polk county to Miss Sarah L. Churchill, who was also a graduate of Monmouth College and a daughter of William Churchill, pioneer of 1851.  After marriage Mr. Knox settled upon his farm of 370 acres, one mile east of Cottage Grove and engaged in farming and the raising of live-stock, keeping Cotswold sheep, graded Holstein cattle and a fine breed of horses.  Of his farm twelve acres are in hops, 100 acres in grain and the balance is in pasture land.  In 1881 he rented his farm and embarked in the butchering business at Cottage Grove, which he followed for five years.  He then retired until 1890, when he formed a co-partnership with I. M. White and opened a store for the sale of stoves, tin and hardware, which he still conducts.

Mr. and Mrs. Knox are the parents of six children: Mamie, Lottie, Roy, Duke, Lizzie and Frank.  Mr. Knox is a member of the Knights of Pythias, is the present Mayor of cottage Grove and is a representative citizen of the commonwealth.

An Illustrated History of The State of Oregon
Rev. H. K. Hines, D. D.
The Lewis Publishing Company; 1893
Lockwood, Charles

Charles E. Lockwood, assistant United States Attorney, is a native of the State of Pennsylvania, born at Pittsfield, Warren county, June 14, 1866.  His father, Olvin A. Lockwood, was a prominent business man and a leading merchant of that city.  His mother, Barbara (Dalrymple) Lockwood, was descended from one of the old and distinguished families of the Keystone State.  Mrs. Lockwood died in 1871, and the following year Mr. Lockwood removed to Northfield, Rice county, Minnesota, where he was engaged in mercantile pursuits for two years.  At the end of that time he removed to California and after living a short time in that State, he settled in Roseburg, Oregon, in 1876.  In 1878 he located at Eugene, where he still resides.

Charles E. Lockwood is the youngest of three children, he having two sisters, Minnie L. Washburne and Mrs. W. T. Eakin, residing at Eugene.  His primary education was received in the district schools of Minnesota, and later he attended the common schools of California and Oregon; he graduated from the public schools at Eugene in 1881, and then entered the Oregon State University; his studies were carried on there, with some interruptions, until 1886, when he took up the study of law in the office of this brother-in-law, Judge George S. Washburne, a prominent member of the bar; he studied law and continued the studies of which he was making a specialty at the university, until January, 1889, when he was appointed Clerk of the Public Land Committee of the Oregon Senate.  In March 1889, he resumed his law studies in the office of Dolph, Bellinger, Mallory & Simon, at Portland and with A. C. Woodcock, at Eugene, and also took a course in the law department of the Oregon State University, and later was graduated therein.  He was admitted to the bar in October, 1889, before the Supreme Court at Salem, after which he located at Portland and engaged in the practice of his profession.

Upon the recommendation of the United States Attorney, F. P. Mays, and the Oregon delegation in Congress, in September 1890, Mr. Lockwood was appointed by the Attorney General of United States , Assistant United States Attorney, for the District of Oregon, and is now engaged in the discharge of the duties of that office.  He has made a most efficient officer, and is rapidly winning a position among the prominent members of the bar of the State.  He belongs to Willamette Lodge, No. 2, A. F. & A. M., and for several years has been an active member of the Oregon National Guard.  He is a young man of superior ability, and has every prospect of gaining prominence in his profession.

An Illustrated History of The State of Oregon
Rev. H. K. Hines, D. D.
The Lewis Publishing Company; 1893
Martin, Nathaniel

Nathaniel Martin, who is engaged in agricultural pursuits at Royal, Lane County, Oregon, was born in Martin County, Indiana, May 2, 1828. His father, Jesse Martin, a Virginian by birth, removed to Indiana in his boyhood, and there grew to mature years. He married Miss Catherine Harris, and they continued to reside there until 1832, then moved to Illinois, during which time he followed farming. In the year 1843 they moved to Missouri, then a wild country, with few settlers, but many Indians. Nathaniel Martin remained with his parents until 1847, when he was united in marriage with Miss Nellie Allen. After this event he settled on a farm of 160 acres in Gentry county, Missouri. In 1857, with his wife and four children, he crossed the plains to California; they experienced many difficulties on the way, and much sickness prevailed among the company. It was, however, their good fortune to be just ahead of the terrible Mountain Meadow massacre. They landed in Red Bluff, Tehama county, on the 15th day of November; in the fall of 1857 they pushed on to the Rogue river valley, where Mr. martin resumed work at his old trade of blacksmithing. In 1860 he went to Eugene, which was then a small village, and followed his trade there for four years; at the end of this period he moved to his homestead north of Cottage Grove; in the spring of the following year, he abandoned this claim and went to Cottage Grove, where he went to work at his trade.

The name Cottage Grove originated with the post office first established at Fern Ridge, twelve miles distant; as it was moved from one ranch to another, the name always went with it. Mr. Martin became Postmaster upon his homestead; in the spring of 1865, with his private effects, he moved the office to the present site of Cottage Grove, where he kept the office in his blacksmith shop. He built the first business house in the place, and was the first Justice of the Peace, retaining the office ten years. In 1868 he bought 160 acres of land, five miles west of Cottage Grove, and divided his time between his ranch and shop. In 1874 he located permanently upon the ranch, which he was since increased to 215 acres.

Mr. Martin was elected to the State Legislature by the Republican party in 1872, and served on term, discharging his duties with marked ability. The summer of 1873 was spent on a Government survey in Lake county. In 1884 he was instrumental in having a post office located at his ranch, called Royal, and he continued his charge as postmaster.

Mr. and Mrs. Martin are the parents of seven children: Willard H., Jesse, Eleanor C., wife of A.J. Barlow; John S., Joel R., Ulysses S., Nathaniel H., all of whom are married and settled in life. These worthy parents were born the same year, in the same county, cared for by the same nurse, and lived in the same community to the date of their marriage. They are still in the enjoyment of excellent health, and are surrounded by all the comforts of the Nineteenth century civilization.

An Illustrated History of The State of Oregon
Rev. H. K. Hines, D. D.
The Lewis Publishing Company; 1893
Contributed by Shauna Williams
Mays, Franklin

Franklin P. Mays, United States Attorney for the District of Oregon, is a native of the State, born in Lane county, May 12, 1855.  His father, Hon. Robert Mays, now Mayor of Dalles city, was a native of Tennessee, but went to Illinois when a boy, and there attained mature years, being reared on his father's farm.  In 1849 he was married to Miss Lodemma Fowler, and in 1852 they joined the tide of Western emigration, and after a wearisome journey of six months arrived at the Dalles; they went down the Columbia river to Portland, and in the spring of 1853, took up a donation claim in Lane county.  In 1858, Mr. Mays removed to Wasco county and engaged in stock-farming.  He is still in that business although since 1873 he has resided in the Dalles.  Franklin P. Mays is the third of a family of eight children.  His education was secured under the difficulties that strongly characterize every pioneer community; the school session seldom lasted as much as three months during the year, and the rest of the time he devoted to farm labor.  Until he was seventeen years of age his opportunities were limited to the log schoolhouse, but he then entered Willamette University, as was graduated at the institution June 1, 1876.  In the fall of 1877, he entered the office of Judge William Lair Hill, a distinguished jurist then at the Dalles; each summer he attended to his usual duties at the stock-ranch, but diligently continued his studies, and was admitted to the bar before the Supreme Court, January 9, 1880.  He then formed a partnership with Judge Hill at the Dalles, which existed until 1886; in July of that year it was dissolved on account of the removal of Judge Hill to Oakland.  The firm of May, Huntington & Wilson was soon after formed, and still exists at the Dalles.

In February, 1890, Mr. Mays received the appointment of United States Attorney, and since that date has temporarily resided at Portland.

He was married at the Dalles, January 31, 1884, to Miss Genevieve G. Wilson, also a native of Oregon, and a daughter of the late Judge Joseph F. Wilson, a pioneer of 1852, Judge Wilson became prominent upon the bench as Circuit and Supreme Judge, and also represented the State in Congress.  Mr. and Mrs. Mays are the parents of two children: Wilson P. and Genevieve G.

Politically, Mr. Mays has been a staunch Republican from his boyhood, ever ready to advance his party's interests, but not an office-seeker.  He was a delegate at large to the convention at Chicago, which nominated Benjamin Harrison in 1888, and was the State Delegate on the committee selected to notify Mr. Harrison of his nomination for President of the United States.  He was the first native-born citizen of the State of Oregon elected as a delegate to attend a National convention, and the first native son to fill the position of the United States Attorney.

An Illustrated History of The State of Oregon
Rev. H. K. Hines, D. D.
The Lewis Publishing Company; 1893
Millican, Ada

ADA BRADLEY MILLICAN

Ada Bradley Millican, widow of George Millican and daughter of Kennon Wittand Elizabeth (Pierce) Bradley, was born in a log cabin on a dairy ranch, between Petaluma and Tamallis Bay, Marin county, California, March 14, 1858. Her father was a native of Tennessee, receiving his education in the south. He crossed the plains by ox team from Missouri to Oregon in 1851 and was the first settler on a government donation land claim in Coles valley, Douglas county, Oregon. Besides being a local preacher in the Methodist Episcopal church for a number of years, Mr. Bradley taught the first school in Coles valley. Among his pupils was Elizabeth Pierce, whose parents crossed the plains from Illinois in 1852. En route the oxen gave out and Elizabeth walked part of this great distance. In the little log schoolhouse with its dirt floor, Elizabeth occupied the seat of honor, a huge flat-topped rock. Their associations as teacher and pupil developed a romance and a few years later they were married and moved to California.

When Mrs. Millican was an infant her parents came back into Oregon, locating this time near Albany in Linn county, where Ella (Mrs. Busey), now living with Mrs. Millican, was born. In the spring of '65 the Bradley family moved to Walla Walla, Washington, returning a few years later to Coles valley, Oregon, at which place Mr. Bradley died in 1874.

Ada Bradley received her education in the district schools of Coles valley, with the exception of one term at Wilbur Academy, which was spent in the preparatory department. At the age of sixteen years she began teaching in the country schools of Oregon, teaching in Douglas, Linn, and Lane counties for some years. At that time the average school term was three months and the salary twenty-five dollars per month and "boarding 'round." Ada spent part of her vacations in clerking and keeping books in a country store. She was a pioneer along that line, as teaching school, housework at two dollars to two dollars and fifty cents per week, and marriage, were the only avenues open to women at that time.

On September 23d, 1881, Ada Bradley was married to George Millican at Eugene, Oregon. Several years were spent at Salem, Eugene, and at the farm on the McKenzie. A son, Scott Bradley, was born May 18th, 1890, in Eugene. This son died in 1892. After losing their home on the McKenzie she began teaching again in the rural schools of Linn and Lane counties. In October, 1899, she entered the Government Indian school department, where she taught in training schools and on Indian reservations, in the activities of academic, economic, and industrial occupations for six years. During that time she was at the following places: Whiterock, Utah, Yuma, Arizona, and Sacoton, Arizona, also Cushman (Tacoma), Washington.

During her associations with the Indians Mrs. Millican made what is possibly the best individual collection of Indian curios, along historical lines, in the northwest. Among these are several pieces of pre-historic pottery, implements and jewelry secured from the Pima Indians, on whose reservation are some of the oldest pre-historic ruins in the United States. This collection, which is comprised of specimens from eighty-seven different tribes was secured mostly from the Indians direct, except her Alaskan collection.

A source of great interest and pleasure to Mrs. Millican is working for the advancement and social welfare of the Red man. She is also a strong advocate for the preservation of the Indian names given our towns and natural locations in the west. "Preservation of Indian nomenclatures is," she says, "my hobby."

Mrs. Millican has had time among her other activities for the study of art and literature. A large collection of her paintings and sketches adorn the walls of her Wigwam in Prineville. She has been a contributor to many newspapers and periodicals. One of her best literary works is the "Heart of Oregon or Legend of the Wascos," which was published in 1914. She is considered an authority on questions dealing with Indians on the Pacific coast and for years was the only woman member of the Indian Rights Association from Oregon. Mrs. Millican has also been a member of the American Folk Lore Society and the International Society of Archaeologists, and she took active part in woman's club work, both local and state. She was a charter member of the Woman's Republican Patriotic League at Eugene. Oregon, organized at the time of President McKinley's election. She is a charter member of the Shu-mi-a Club, which she had the honor of naming, and also a member of the Ladies Annex, both Prineville organizations. At Millican she organized among the women homesteaders and named. The Sku-Ke-Leek Club and in Prineville she organized the Civic Improvement Brigade among the children, this organization being the first to clean up the town.

Mrs. Millican was the first woman in clubdom to put Central Oregon on the map. being the first delegate to the State Federation of Women's Clubs, which she represented for seven years. In 1916 she represented Oregon at the National Federation of Women's Clubs, which was held in New York. She has served as chairman of the literature committee, also on the art and legislative committees of the State Federated Clubs, for a number of years, and at present is chairman of the Indian Welfare department.

A lifelong worker for equal suffrage, Mrs. Millican was president of the Crook County Association when the bill was passed. Crook county at that time comprised Deschutes, Jefferson and Crook counties. While interested in working for the political interests of the country both local and national, Mrs. Millican never ran for office, but was elected justice of the peace in Millican precinct and served numerous times on election boards.

For many years Mrs. Millican has been an active church member, joining the Methodist Episcopal church at Eugene In 1885. She is a member and has held all of the offices in the fraternal order of the Women of Woodcraft. In 1920, she entered the University of Oregon at Eugene and took up special studies for a time.

With these many activities along social and civic lines, and the constant working for the betterment of conditions surrounding those less fortunate than herself. Mrs. Millican has been an outdoor woman, enjoying nothing better than mountain climbing, hunting and shooting game, and riding the range — the all-around typical western woman.

History of Oregon: Volume III
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company; Chicago
Portland; 1922
Millican, George

GEORGE MILLICAN

George Millican, one of the outstanding pioneers of Oregon, was born near Otsego, New York, November 22, 1834, of Scotch-English parentage. His mother was born in Edinburg, Scotland, and her maiden name was Scott, a descendant of the Scott clan of Scotland. His father, Robert, was born in England. After their marriage they immigrated to the United States and settled in New York. Their family consisted of three children the eldest of whom was George. Robert, three years younger, came to Oregon when a young man, by way of the Isthmus of Panama, and settled on the McKenzie river, where he married, and continued to live until his death a few years ago. The third child, a daughter, married a man by the name of Smock in Indiana, where she lived and spent most of her life. At an early age their father was killed by a falling tree, after which, the widow moved to Madison, Indiana, where she educated her children. Being a woman of strong religious convictions, she had her children reared in the faith of her fathers.

Madison was the seat of Hanover College, a Scotch Presbyterian Institution. The only education George ever received was a few years attendance at this college, where preparatory instruction was given at an early age. His adventurous spirit tiring of the prosy, staid surroundings of his home, he sought the west, and engaging with emigrants going west, he was paid to assist in driving a band of cattle across the plains to Sacramento valley, California. Accompanying him on the journey was a faithful shepherd dog, Nellie, whom he took boyish delight in training, and she was able to perform feats almost unbelievable. Upon arrival at the Yuba River Gold Mines, he learned that his was the only shepherd dog in northern California, but that a male shepherd dog had been shipped around the Horn and was in the southern part of the state. Nellie’s ability to handle sheep was the admiration and cause of much gambling among the miners. Nellie, however, was but one of the many dogs trained by Mr. Millican. Throughout Mr. Millican's experience in northern California, and eastern Oregon, he was widely known for his ability to train and handle dogs. He spent a great deal of time and money in the selection and the breeding of his dogs, and showed great skill and ability in the training of them.

Mr. Millican began working in the mines, and said: "I worked first with a rocker, and later with a long Tom. I struck rich ground on Rabbit creek. I averaged nearly twenty dollars per day. Of course this average was brought up by the fact that I struck a pocket of coarse gold and nuggets, from which I took out eighteen hundred dollars in a few hours. From there I went to the Yreka country, in 1854, mining on Deadwood, Indian creek. Green Bug, Humbug, Scotts Bar, Trinity, and Happy camp. I stayed in the the mines there until 1861, when I went to the Nez Perce country, Idaho, coming by way of Jacksonville, thence up through the Umpqua and Williamette valleys to Portland, and from Portland to Walla Walla, thence across the Snake river, at the mouth of Clearwater. I went first to Oro Fino, then to Pierce City, and later with a party of seven men, shared in the discovery of Florence." Among the miners was Dr. Furbur of Yreka, who was very popular with the boys. He had a daughter, eighteen years old, and they voted to name the mines Florence, in honor of his daughter.

In 1862 he went to San Francisco, taking out his gold dust and selling it at the United States mint for about fifteen thousand dollars. That fall he came to Eugene, settled on the McKenzie river, sixteen miles east of Eugene, and next year he was married to Susan Ritchey. Of this union, three children were born. Madella and Margaret were born on the McKenzie farm. In 1863 he made his initial trip to central Oregon in the Ochoco valley, making a trail and accompanying Captain Crouch of Douglas county, who was making a trip across the Cascades, on a military expedition to Boise, Idaho. He later returned to Lane county, and helped lay out the wagon road across the McKenzie, which was subsequently made a toll road, known as the Willamette valley. Salt Spring, and Cascade Wagon road. He was identified with the building and upkeep of this road until later it was turned over to Lane county.

In 1868 he crossed the mountains with a band of cattle, which was the first taken into the Crooked River country, and settled on McKay creek, two and one-half miles from the present site of Prineville, Oregon. He established the heart brand for his cattle and horses, which brand he run until he sold out five years before his death. Coming into this central Oregon country the same year, were seven other men who spent the winter together. They had some trouble with roaming tribes of Indians, who infested this country. He later moved his family out where his son Walter was born in 1870. He was the first white male child born in central Oregon. After returning to Lane county, a post office was established, of which he was the postmaster for a number of years. He named the place Walterville, in honor of his son.

The country where Prineville now stands, the Ochoco and Crooked River bottoms were waving fields of bunch and rye grass, and said he, "Where I established my stock ranch at this place, it was a stock man's paradise, and I was, like Crusoe, monarch of all I surveyed! There were no fences nor need of them at that time, other than corrals. I raised cattle and horses out here, and made semi-annual trips, driving them to my place on the McKenzie, from which place I marketed them. In the hard winter following the bones of my stock were bleaching on the lands about Prineville. We used to have lively times in that country in later days, when the Vigilantees and moonshiners operated."

"In those early days the nearest trading point was The Dalles, one hundred and twenty miles away, where we got our mail." He used to go to Eugene for his mail and supplies. It usually took about two weeks to make the trip. Civilization increasing, and the town getting too close, in 1886 he relocated on the old river bed near Pine mountain, some thirty-five miles south of Prineville, and twenty-seven miles east of Bend, where the post office of Millican is located. His wife died on the McKenzie, in 1875. In 1879 he bought in with a leading meat market on Slate street in Salem, Oregon, where he continued in business, later selling out to the late Ed. Cross. This was not a paying investment.

On September 23, 1881, George Millican was married to Miss Ada Bradley, at Eugene. Oregon. To this union a son, Scott Bradley, was born at Eugene, Oregon, in 1890. Mr. Millican devoted all his time to the raising of cattle and horses, and development of his ranch at this place. In 1873 he left the farm on the McKenzie, now owned by his nephew, Oscar Millican, and, taking his full blooded Herefords, the first to be brought to Oregon (England's Sovereign and Countess of Bedford imported from England and Augusta), shipped from Indiana some good graded Durhams
and graded Clyde horses, devoting his time to the raising of cattle and horses. He bought "Wedmore," a full blooded Clyde stallion, a prize winner, from the Ladd farm in Portland. This horse headed his horses and was the veteran of the range for over seventeen years. During this time he added several imported full blooded Shire stallions to his herd. A two thousand dollar stallion was stolen off the range during the time of trouble with cattle and horse rustlers, which raged for over six years. Mr. Millican arrested and convicted a number of both cattle and horse rustlers, who were sent to and served time at the state penitentiary. He bred and raised the largest range horses in the state. He continued in the stock industry, operating ranches at
Millican and Bear creek, some twenty-five miles distant, up to and during the time when the homesteaders, taking up the three hundred and twenty acres under the dry homestead laws settled on the High Desert. The Millicans, on account of having the only water available, were obliged to keep the travel for about five years.

The Millican valley was settled by homesteaders, whom he furnished with water until a short time before disposing of his holdings. When prospective settlers would come into the country and questioned Mr. Millican as to the prospect of the development of this country from a stock range to an agriculture country, he always replied that owing to scarcity of water and high altitude it was unadvisable. Locaters, reaping a rich harvest, continued to ply their trade, settling up the Millican valley, Hampton valley. Glass Butte valley, Fort Rock and the whole High Desert country. Many settlers, who were unable to convert "the desert to blossom as the rose" would stop on their way out and say, "Mr. Millican, you are the only one here who told us the truth, as to conditions out here in this homesteading country. We thought and were told by locaters that you and such men as the Loganes and Bill Brown wanted this country for your stock ranges." The deserted shacks of most of this country have verified Mr. Millican's predictions.

With the advent of homesteaders the Millican post office, Millican School district and Millican voting precinct were established. The first sermon ever preached on the High Desert was at the Millican Inn, by a Baptist colporter, traveling through the country.

The Millicans continued in the stock business until 1916, when he sold out his ranch holdings of about eighteen hundred acres, and stock to Frank Sloan of Stanfield, Oregon. Afterward he thought of locating in Portland, buying a home there, but a residence of over fifty years in central Oregon, where most of his life was spent, and amidst the friends and early pioneers of Prineville, he preferred to live until over-taken by the illness which uncomplainingly he endured for over six months, until his death on November 25, 1919. He was buried in the Odd Fellows’ cemetery, near the campus of the University of Oregon, at Eugene, Oregon. Leaving the ranks of the earliest pioneers of central Oregon, it might be fittingly said of him, "He had abiding faith in the honesty of his fellowman, and pioneering, as was his preference, he unafraid laid down his life, among his friends and surrounded by the evidences of a work well done."

History of Oregon: Volume III
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company; Chicago
Portland; 1922
Milliorn, T. A.

T. A. Milliorn, one of the representative citizens of Junction City, was born in Campbell county, Virginia, in August, 1828, a son of John and Mary W. (Lee)  Milliorn, who were also Virginians by birth. The father was a wagon-maker by trade, and also paid some attention to agriculture; in 1833 he removed to Monroe county, Tennessee where he lived until 1843, removing then to Jackson county, Missouri.  He crossed the plains in 1852, and arriving in Oregon he located a donation claim one mile west of Junction City, and engaged in farming.

Our subject remained with his parents until he had attained his majority; he had learned the wagon-maker's trade, and manufactured the vehicle, in which he and three companions crossed the plains to California, in the summer of 1849.  The trip was fraught with the usual hardships and dangers; on Feather river they were caught in a snowstorm, and preserved the lives of their oxen by feeding them bread and bacon cooked together. They pushed ahead, and reaching Lawson's they sold their cattle, and digging out canoes, went down the river to Sacramento City.  Here they built a skiff, and went up the Sacramento river to Marysville, where Mr. Milliorn went to work at carpentering at $12 per day; for three months he followed this occupation, and then went to the mines on Trinity river, where he passed the summer, making from $15 to $18 per day. In the fall of 1850, he bought a pack-train of sixteen animals, and until 1852 packed from Colusa to Trinity and Yreka mines. July 12, 1852, he arrived in the Willamette valley, and took up a claim west, of Junction, on which his father settled later in the year; he then made another claim of 160 acres, which became the site of Junction City, and later added 140 acres by purchase. In 1870 he sold ninety acres to Ben Holladay for railroad purposes, and afterward laid out several additions to the town, until the original claim and purchase are reduced to forty acres.  He owns 136 acres, three miles southeast of the town, where he has been engaged in agriculture; he has also followed his trade at Junction City. In 1888 he rented his land, and retired from the arduous labors, which had for so many years consumed his time and energies.

Mr. Milliorn was married in Lane county in 1863, to Miss Eliza K. Aubrey, a daughter of T. N. Aubrey, a pioneer of 1850. Mrs. Milliorn died in 1877, leaving four children: Nina A., wife of D. C. Gore; Cora Lee, wife of William Burt; Frank B., an extensive stock-dealer in eastern Oregon; and James B., who died when nearly seven years old. In 1878, Mr. Milliorn married Miss Mary L. Hill, a native of Iowa, and the result of this union is two children: Effie Gertrude and Merle. Politically, Mr. Milliorn affiliates with the Democratic party, but he has always confined his energies to private affairs. He is a member of the Masonic order, and in both business and social circles he is highly respected by the entire community.

An Illustrated History of The State of Oregon
Rev. H. K. Hines, D. D.
The Lewis Publishing Company; 1893
Morse, Percy

PERCY M. MORSE

Percy M. Morse, county surveyor of Lane county, was born in Rochelle, Illinois, October 30, 1876, his parents being Amos A. and Ellen (Keeney) Morse, natives, respectively, of New Jersey and of Michigan. It was while residing in his native state that the father volunteered for service in the Civil war, but as he had not yet attained his majority and his mother was dependent upon him for support, his offer was not accepted by the government. Going to Illinois he there became connected with railroading, thus continuing until 1889, when he was appointed general freight agent for the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company at Portland, Oregon, discharging the duties of that position in a most capable and efficient manner until 1914, or for a period of twenty-five years. He then retired, but not being content to lead a life of inactivity. he is now with the Northwestern National Bank of Portland, having charge of the safety deposit vaults. Although seventy-six years of age he is still possessed of both mental and physical vigor and his life has been one of activity and usefulness. The mother also survives and is now seventy-two years of age.

Percy M. Morse was reared and educated in Rochelle and Rockford, Illinois, and later became a student in the high school at Portland, Oregon, from which he was graduated with the class of 1897. The following year he enlisted for service in the Spanish-American war, becoming a member of the Second Oregon Volunteer Regiment, with which he went to the Philippines. In March. 1899, he received his discharge and subsequently became connected with the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company, remaining in the service of that corporation for a period of seven years. Subsequently he entered the employ of the Pacific Railroad & Navigation Company, having charge of construction work at Tillamook, Oregon, for one and a half years. From 1909 until 1916 he was city engineer at Hood River, Oregon, and then became connected with the Eugene Ice & Storage Company at Eugene, with which company he remained tor a year. Later he acted as deputy surveyor of Lane county for a period of two years, while for the past year he has filled the office of county surveyor, ably discharging the responsible duties which devolve upon him in this connection.

Mr. Morse was married in June, 1903, to Miss Margaret Godfrey and they have become the parents of four daughters, namely: Elizabeth, Katherine, Marion and Maggie Lee.

In politics Mr. Morse is a republican and he has labored earnestly for the success of the party. He is a member of the American Association of Civil Engineers and his religious faith is that of the Presbyterian church. His labors have ever been of a constructive nature, contributing in large measure to the work of improvement and upbuilding in various sections of the state, and his sterling worth of character is recognized by all with whom he has been associated.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company; Chicago
Portland; 1922
Murphy, John

JOHN E. MURPHY

John E. Murphy, a veterinarian of Junction City, where he is also operating in real estate, in which connection he is contributing in substantial measure to the upbuilding and improvement of his community, is a native son of Wisconsin, his birth having occurred in Pleasant Valley, St. Croix county, January S, 1864. He is a son of Edward J. and Mary Ann (McCue) Murphy, both of whom were born in Ireland. The paternal grandfather passed his entire life in his native country and following his demise the grandmother emigrated with her family to the new world, Edward J. Murphy being at that time but eight years of age. On leaving the eastern metropolis she made her way westward, establishing their home in Wisconsin. With courageous spirit she undertook the task of rearing her family in a strange country and was privileged to see her children attain to manhood and womanhood, passing away at St. Paul, Minnesota, at the very venerable age of ninety-seven years. Edward J. Murphy attended school in Wisconsin and on reaching mature years engaged in the occupation of farming, which he continued to follow in that state the remainder of his life, meeting death in a runaway accident in 1897. The mother, who had been brought to this country by her parents when but six years of age, survived him for nearly two decades, her demise occurring in 1917.

John E. Murphy was reared and educated in St. Croix county, Wisconsin, and resided at home until he reached the age of twenty-eight years. After a year's absence he returned and rented the home farm, which he operated for five years. On the expiration of that period he went to North Dakota, taking up land near Bowbells, which he developed and improved, continuing to reside on his farm for nine years. He then came to Oregon and turned his attention to the practice of veterinary surgery at Junction City, having previously purchased land near the town. In April, 1920, he became identified with business interests of his community, opening a real estate office, in which connection he is building up a good patronage. He is a firm believer in the future of this section of the country and through extensive advertising is endeavoring to induce residents of the east to locate here, thus greatly promoting the upbuilding and advancement of his community. He still engages to some extent in the practice of veterinary surgery, which, however, owing to the extensive use of the automobile, has become a somewhat limited field, and he is also the owner of two valuable farms which he leases, having retained possession of his North Dakota land. He is a progressive, wide-awake and energetic business man, whose plans are well formulated and promptly executed and in his vocabulary there is no such word as fail.

On the 28th of January, 1901, Mr. Murphy was united in marriage to Miss Rose C. Movius and they have become the parents of six children: Edward Lee, Mary L., Bernadetta I., James V., Willard J. and Rose Elizabeth.

In his political views Mr. Murphy is a democrat and he has taken an active and prominent part in the public affairs of his community, serving as mayor of Junction City in 1912 and 1913. His administration was a most progressive and businesslike one and during his incumbency in the office of chief executive of the city many needed improvements were made, including the paving of all streets and the establishment of a new lighting system by granting a franchise to the Oregon Power Company. His fraternal connections are with the Modern Woodmen of America and the Catholic Knights of Wisconsin, and his religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Catholic church. Mr. Murphy ever stands for all that is progressive in citizenship and has contributed in marked measure to the upbuilding, development and prosperity of the community in which he resides. He is a man of high personal standing, of marked business integrity and ability, and the sterling worth of his character is recognized by all with whom he has been associated.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company; Chicago
Portland; 1922
Nelson, Thomas

THOMAS NELSON

To many people in smaller communities and country districts the local newspaper is not only a cheerful companion and interesting entertainer, but often friend and adviser.  A paper which posses all of these qualifications is the Junction City Times, which under the able direction of Thomas Nelson has developed into one of the best and most influential newspapers in this section of the state, its editorial policy being consistent and to the point.

Mr. Nelson was born in Young America, Illinois, April 16, 1870, a son of James H. and Caroline (Snodgrass) Nelson, the former a native of Kentucky and the later of Illinois.  In Illinois the father worked at his trade of plasterer, but attracted to the west, he went to Colorado at an early period in the settlement of that state and there followed his trade for many years.  He was greatly interested in mining and prospecting and devoted a large portion of his life to that pursuit.  He was an honored veteran of the Civil War, enlisting as a member of the Tenth Illinois Infantry, with which command he served for a year and a half, when he was discharged on account of illness.  The last years of his life were spent with his son Thomas and he passed away at Cambridge, Idaho, May 8, 1915.  The mother, however, survives and is now residing in California.

Thomas Nelson pursued his education in the schools of Boulder, Colorado, later attending the State University and also a business college.  While a student at the university he learned the printer's trade and after completing his course he went to California, where he worked at his trade for about a year.  In 1888 he came to Oregon, accepting a position of foreman on the Daily Reveille, published at Baker City, with which he was connected for four years.  On the expiration of that period he went to Portland, Oregon, and for about eight months he was employed on the Oregonian and then went to John Day, in the eastern part of the state, where he established a paper of his own.  After two years he sold out, going to Heppner, Oregon, for a time working at his trade, but subsequently leased a plant, which he operated for a year.  From there he went to Pendleton, Oregon, and there conducted a job office until 1896, when he purchased a paper at Cambridge, Idaho, continuing its operation until 1919.  His next removal took him to Eugene, where he ran a job office until October 1919, at which time he came to Junction City and purchased the Junction City Times, which he is now managing.  He has greatly improved the plant, which at the time of his purchase was located in a small building.  Moving into a large modern building, he thoroughly revolutionized the plant, installing all the latest presses and linotype machines and in fact every appliance to be found in the most modern plants in the country.  He has greatly increased the size of his paper, changing it from four to an eight-page publication, which is not only representative of first-class typography but also excels on account of its terse style in setting forth the news events of the section in which it circulates.  Its local columns are full of interest and the general news of the world is clearly and completely given.  The principal policy of the Times has been to serve the public promptly and well and that Mr. Nelson has succeeded is evident from the large circulation which his publication enjoys.  All those who advertise in its columns find it worth their while and consider the investment for an advertisement in this paper a comparatively small outlay which is many time redeemed by the assured returns.

On the 28th of May, 1916, Mr. Nelson was united in marriage to Miss Bertha Watrous and the have become the parents of two children:  Thomas Vardell, whose birth occurred in February 1917; and Eugene Henry, born May, 1919.

In his political views, Mr. Nelson is a republican and his religious faith is indicated by his attendance at  and support of the Methodist Episcopal church.  His fraternal connections are with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the United Artisans and the Woodmen of the World and along the line of his profession he is identified with the Typofraphical Union.  Mr. Nelson's long connection with journalistic interests has made him thoroughly familiar with every phase of newspaper publication and in the management of the Times he is proving very successful.  He is also the owner of one of the best homes in the city and is classed with the substantial and representative citizens of his community.  Mr. Nelson secured his education entirely through his own efforts and is deserving of much credit for what he has accomplished in life.  He is interested in all that has to do with public progress in the community or the uplift of the individual and his aid and influence are always on the side of advancement and improvement.  He is a man of substantial worth, a splendid representative of American manhood and citizenship.

History of Oregon: Volume II
The Pioneer Historical Publishing Company; Chicago
Portland; 1922
Information in brackets [ ] is based on other outside sources, and was not present in the original source.

Finding ancestors

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All Rights Reserved with Full Rights Reserved for Original Contributor