Welcome to Genealogy Trails

Volunteers working to put free historical data online.

Lane County was named for General Joseph Lane, the first Territorial Governor of Oregon and created January 28, 1851, by the territorial legislature.  It then comprised "all that portion of Oregon Territory lying south of Linn County and south or so much of Benton County as is east of Umpqua County."  It's eastern boundary, presumably, was the Rocky Mountains. 

On Dec. 22, 1853, its eastern boundary was fixed at the summit of the Cascade Range, with a small portion at the mouth of the Siuslaw River on the coast. Linn and Benton Counties, created earlier, became its northern boundaries, with Lincoln County added in 1893.  On the south, much of Lane County was given a fixed boundary in January, 1852.  

General Joseph Lane, first Territorial governor of Oregon, subsequently a delegate to congress, and after the admission of Oregon into the Union, a United States Senator. 

In 1852, the original town site of Eugene City was platted and recorded, while in 1853, by a vote of the people she was established as the county seat.

Oregon Coast
-Photo courtesy of Gary Halvorson, Oregon State Archives

We regret that we are unable to do personal research

Three Sisters

-Photo courtesy of Gary Halvorson, Oregon State Archives